# Transcript of Record — AB Small Co. v. Lamborn & Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0170%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Transcript of Record
- **Published:** January 1, 1925
- **Citation:** 267 U.S. 248

## Text

gga © +o
Defendant's exceptions... ......-+--e+eseeeree reser erecees
Wem oc cccccccccccccccncsccsnccncccsecscncsecaccosces
BOABMORE 2. ccccccccccccccccesccccccccecsccccsocccnssees
Petition for writ of error......--..+seee reser ee eseesteees
Assignment of errors......--++-esseeesse seer sessesetsees
Supersedeas bond.......-+++++++- (omitted in printing)...
Bill of exceptions. .......-.cceeeeeeeseeccceeescerseecces
Correspondence ......--.sseeesseeeereeterseeeseseees
Testimony of O. H. Lamborn......-+-+++-++eereesres
Exhibit to Lamborn’s Testimony—Extracts from
Lamborn’s books showing resale of sugars

BhApped ...ceceececsccccenceccersccccsecscsces 109
Testimony of John G. Ruan......---++++eeseeeeereeee 112
J. B. Wates.....ccccccccccccccccccccces 115
R. B. Small... .....ccccccescccccseccces 117
W. EB. Small........-ececcecees txaceunk ~ ae
H. R. Alexander..........-eseeeeeeeeee 120
Exhibit in Evidence—Tabulation of refined sugar

prices, July 1-November 30. ......0:0+++seeeeeeeeees 123
Order directing verdict for plaintiff........+--++++-+5 124
Order settling bill of exceptions... ....-.0-+eeseeeeeeeeres 126
Order allowing writ of error......-. 00s ee eeee ee eee reese 127

Wit Of CFTOP.... ccc cece cece cc ce sacccerecceerecesscsess 12
Preecipe for transcript of record........+++++++eeeeeeereee 130
Order extending time..........--eee cere seen eeeeeererenes 132
Clerk’s certificate... 0.0.0... cece cence eee eee nee eeeeneees 133
Writ Of EFTOF..... ccc cccceeccccece (omitted in printing).. 184
Citation and service..........++++- (omitted in printing)... 187

{ fol. 1] IN THE

DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR THE
WESTERN DIVISION OF THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF
GEORGIA

LaMBoRN & Company, a Copartnership, Plaintiff,
~

vs.

Tue A. B. SMALL Company, Defendant
Peririon—Filed Sept. 12, 1921

To the Honorable the District Court of the United States for the
Western Division of the Southern District of Georgia:

The petition of A. H. Lamborn, G. P. Tameling, H. B. Hutchins,
N. N. Keen, George H. Logan, Karl P. Lindgren, C. C. Riggs, C. G.
Troup, W. V. Wood, B. W. Dyer, and Victor R. Hess, copartners
using the firm name and style of Lamborn & Company, respectfully
shows:

First Count

{fol.2] 1. That A. H. Lamborn is a citizen and a resident of the
State of New Jersey; G. P. Tameling is a citizen and a resident of the
State of New York: H. B. Hutchins is a citizen and a resident of
the State of New Jersey; N. N. Keen is a citizen and a resident of
the State of New Jersey; George H. Logan is a citizen and a resi-
dent of the State of New Jersey; Karl P. Lindgren is a citizen and
a resident of the State of Pennsylvania; C. C. Riggs is a citizen and
a resident of the State of New Jersey; C. G. Troup is a citizen and a
resident of the State of New Jersey; W. V. Wood is a citizen and a
resident of the State of New Jersey; B. W. Dyer is a citizen and a
resident of the State of New York; and Victor R. Hess is a citizen
and a resident of the State of New York; and that petitioners are
copartners under the firm name and style of Lamborn & Company.

2. That the A. B. Small Company, hereinafter called the defend-
ant, is a corporation duly organized and existing under the laws of
the State of Georgia, having its office and place of business in the
City of Macon, County of Bibb and State of Georgia, and in the
Western Division of the Southern District of Georgia; and for the
purpose of jurisdiction is a citizen of the State of Georgia.

3. That this suit is between citizens of different States and the
amount in controversy, exclusive of interest and costs, exceeds the
sum of Three Thousand Dollars.

4. That under date of April 30, 1920, petitioners and defendant
executed in duplicate, and each delivered to the other, a certain agree-
ment, a copy of which is hereto attached, marked “Exhibit A” and
made part hereof.

1—399

= peantonnerce . rE ORE OSES

to

5. By the terms of said agreement your petitioners sold to defend-
ant, and defendant bought from petitioners, one hundred and fifty
(150) barrels of standard Fine Granulated sugar on the basis of
25.50 cents per pound f. o. b. Savannah Refinery, Port Wentworth,
Georgia.

[fol.3] 6. By the terms of said contract, shipment of said sugar
was to be made by petitioners between July 15th and October 1,
1920; the particular date or dates of shipment within said period to
be at seller’s option, subject to delay if any.

7. That under date of May 7, 1920, petitioners and defendant
executed in duplicate, and each delivered to the other, a second cer-
tain agreement, a copy of which is hereto attached, marked “Exhibit
B” and made part hereof.

8. By the terms of said second contract, petitioners sold to defend-
ant, and defendant bought from petitioners, three hundred (300)
barrels of standard Fine Granulated sugar on the basis of 25.50
cents per pound f. o. b. Savannah Refinery, Port Wentworth, Georgia.

9. By the terms of said second contract, shipment of said sugar
was to be made by petitioners in equal quantities monthly, beginning
the last half of July and continuing through August and September,
1920, if possible; but at seller's option of shipping to suit seller's
convenience during the period mentioned, subject to delay if any.

10. Under both of said contracts, the terms of payment for said
sugars were to be cash before delivery less two (2) per cent, or cash
in seven (7) days after delivery less two (2) per cent, according as
the seller’s credit department might approve the one or the other
mode of payment.

11. By the terms of both of said contracts, petitioners agreed to
furnish said sugars packed in barrels or bags, but reserved the option
of shipping no more than fifty per cent (50%) of contract in 100-
pound bags; and agreeing but not guaranteeing to furnish 2, 5, 10,
and 25-pound bags at the ruling differential above Fine Granulated

basis if desired by the trade, provided said packages are obtainable.

12. Under the general custom and usage prevailing in the sugar
trade under which said two above mentioned contracts were made, the
[fol. 4] sugar which petitioners contracted to sell, and defendant
contracted to buy, might be furnished either in barrels containing
approximately 350 pounds net sugar, or in 100-pound bags, and
when shipped in such bags was known and regarded as in bulk;
and according to said general custom and usage said sugar might be
packed in 2, 5, 10, or 25-pound bags or packages, which smaller
packages would be enclosed in 100-pound bags, and when so packed
the sugar would be listed and referred to so as to indicate the num-
ber and weight of the several smaller packages. At the time of the
performance of the two above mentioned contracts the ruling dif-
ferential above Fine Granulated sugar, the basis named in the con-

' . ‘ 5 poe

| File endorsement omitted. }

[fol. 2814] Ly tHe Districr Court or THE UNITED STATES FOR THE
WESTERN DiviIsION OF THE SOUTHERN DisTRICT OF GEORGIA

[Title omitted }
OrpDER OVERRULING DeMuRRER—Filed May 20, 1921

The demurrer filed by the defendant to the plaintiff's petition in
the above stated case having come on regularly for hearing, and

TT ee a ee

24

having been fully argued by counsel for plaintiffs and defendant, and
the plaintiffs having amended their petition to meet the special de-
murrer filed.
It is considered, ordered and adjudged that said demurrer be, and
the same is, hereby overruled.
This the 19th day of May, 121.
Beverly D. Evans, United States Judge.

{ File endorsement omitted. |

[fol. 29] Ix rue District Court oF THE Uxrrep STATES FOR THE
WESTERN DIVISION OF THE SOUTHERN Disreict OF GEORGIA

| Title omitted |
Answer—Filed April 30, 1921

Now comes the A. B, Small Company, in the above entitled cause,
and answering the complaint of the plaintiff! in said action respect-
fully shows:

First Count

1. For want of sufficient information defendant can neither admit
nor deny the allegations of the Ist paragraph of said petition.

2. Defendant admits the allegations of the 2nd paragraph of said
petition.

3. Answering paragraph 3 of said petition, defendant admits that
it is a citizen of the State of Georgia; for want of suflicient informe.
tion defendant can neither admit nor deny the citizenship of the
plaintiff; defendant denies that it is indebted to the plaintiff in any
amount.

4. Answering paragraph 4, defendant admits the signing of a
writing, Exhibit A pe wal to said petition, but denies that such
writing constituted an enforceable contract or gave rise to any cause
of action as claimed by the plaintiff.

5. Defendant denies the allegation contained in the oth para
graph of said petition. No sule or purchase was made as therein
alleged. The alleged contract is not a mutually binding contract,
and for the reasons hereinafter pleaded, is not caleeochis against the
defendant.

6. The defendant denies the allegation of the 6th paragraph of
said petition. There never was any inding obligation on the plain-
tiff to ship any sugar to defendant nor was there ever any binding
[fol. 30] obligation on defendant to accept shipments of any suger
from the said plaintiff.

7. Answering paragra sh 7 defendant admits the signing of the
writing, Exhibit B attached to said petition, but demies that such

FER APNE 6 SEI, 64: a : &

hie iad

writing ever constituted an cnfore-able contract or gave rise to any
cause of action as claimed by the plaintiff.

8. Defendant denies the allegations contained in the Sth_para-
graph of said petition. No sale or purchase was made as therein
alleged. The said alleged contract is net a mutually binding con-
tract, and for the reasons hereinafter pleaded is not enforeible
against the defendant.

%. Defendant denies the allegations of the 9th paragraph of said
petition. There was never any binding obligation on the plaintiff
to ship any sugar to defendant, ner was there ever any binding ob-
ligation on defendant to accept shipments of any sugar from the said
plaintilf,

10, Defendant denies the allegations of the 10th paragraph of said
| petition, the terms of said alleged contracts distinetly providing that

“Terms and withdrawals subject to the approval of the seller's credit
department,” and defendant shows that the plaintiff has never as-
sented to any approval of any such terms and withdrawals.

Nor has plaintiff, so far as this defendant knows, ever accepted
the el contract by approving the terms and withdrawals and
plaintiff has never at any tine notified this defendant of its ac-
ceptance of said contract by such approval. The failure so to accept
in writing and to notify the defendant ther-of, prevents said writing
from becoming a contract and leaves the plaintiff unbound there-
under, said alleged contract being lacking in mutuality, without con-
sideration, and violative of the statute of frauds. Defendant further
shows that assent was necessary on the part of plaintiff and should
have bees in writing signed by the plaintiff and the defendant or
some one lawfully authorized by each of them, and that no approval
was signed by plaintiff or by any one authorized by it, nor was any
{fol. 81] writing accepting any such terms ever signed by defendant
or any one by it authorized.

11. Defendant denies the allegations of the 11th paragraph of said
petition. The “Terms and withdrawals” were both subject to the
seller's credit department's approval, and defendant was for the rea-
sons hereinbefore and hereinafter pleaded, never bound to designate
any number of packages, barrels or bags, and never assented to any
obligation to accept any sugar under the terms of said alleged agree-
ment, nor have plaintiffs, so far as the defendant knows, ever ac-
cepted the proposed contract by approving the terms and withdrawals
and plaintiffs have never at any time notified the defendant of the
plaintiffs’ acceptance of said coutract by such approval, The failure
so to accept in writing and to notify defendant thereunder, prevents
the said alleged contract from becoming a contract and leaves the
plaintiff unbound thereunder, said alleged contract being lacking in
—7. without consideration, and in violation of the statute of
rauds,

12. Answering paragraph 12 of said petition defendant denies that
said alleged contracts are mutually binding contracts, and says that

for the reasons hereinafter pleaded said contracts are not enfore-able
against the defendant. Defendant denies that plaintiff contracted
to sell or that defendant contracted to buy any sugar under the al-
leged contract. For want of sufficient information defendant can
neither admit nor deny the general customs in the sugar Iusiness
alleged in said paragraph, but denies that any such customs, if, any
ever existed is binding on it.

13. Answering paragraph 13 of said petition, defendant denies
that the two alleged contracts are mutually binding contracts and
says said contracts are for the reasons hereinbefore and hereinafter
pleaded not enfore-able against the defendant.

Defendant denies that any sales were made or that any purchases
were made as herein alleged, For want of sutlicient information de-
fendant can neither admit nor deny the allegations of the petition
relating to the freight rates from Port Wentworth to Macon, Ga.

14. Defendant denies the allegations contained in the [ith para
[fol. 32] graph of said petition. The alleged contract is not a
mutually binding contract and for the reasons hereinbefore and
hereinafter pleaded is not enfore-able against the defendant.

15. Defendant denies the allegations contained in the loth para-
graph of said petition. No shipping instructions under any valid
contract were given by defendant, nor did defendant receive any
sugar under any valid contract with the plaintiff. Said alleged con-
tract did not create binding obligations on the plaintiff or defendant
for the reasons already and hereinafter stated, which reasons were
unknown to defendant when said sugar was taken and paid for.

16. Defendant denies the allegations contained in the 16th para-
graph of said petition. No shipping instructions under any valid
contract were requested by plaintiffs nor any furnished by defend-
ant, but shipment was made over the protest of defendant, Said
alleged contracts are not mutually binding contracts, and for the rea-
sons herein pleaded, not enfore-able against the defendant, as fully
appears from facts in this answer fully pleaded, and then unknown
to defendant.

17. Defendant denies the allegations contained in the 17th para:
graph of said petition.

Defendant denies that there were any legal mutually binding con-
tracts which obligated plaintiff to ship any sugar to defendant or
which obligated defendant to furnish any shipping instructions to
plaintiff.

18. Defendant admits that it refused to accept the sugar as stated
in paragraph 18 of said petition, but denies that there was any bind-
ing agreement on defendant to accept, receive or pay for any sugar,
or any binding agreement on plaintiff to deliver any sugar. Said
alleged contracts referred to herein are not mutually binding con-
tracts for the reasons hereinafter pleaded, and not enfore-able against
the defendant.

27

19. Answering paragraph 19 of said petition, defendant denies
that it was under any binding agreement to accept and pay for any
sugar under the alleged contracts and denies that it was under any
[fol. 83] duty to give instructions or assortment for any sugar cov-
ered by said alleged contracts, and denies that said alleged contracts
are mutually binding, but says for the reasons herein pleaded said
contracts are not enfore-able against the defendant.

20. Defendant denies the allegations of the 20th paragraph of
said petition to the effect that the plaintiff requested shipping in-
structions from the defendant during the period provided in the
agreement, as the defendant denies that there ever was a contract be-
tween the plaintiff and the defendant. The defendant states that
the alleged agreements bear dates April 30th and May 7th, 1920,
and that on or about August 25th, 1920 after sugar had declined in
price below the price specitied in the said alleged agreements of April
30th and May 7th, the said plaintiff asked for assortments from de-
fendant, but never informed the defendant that the seller’s credit
department had ever approved of any terms or withdrawels, and that
the delay from April 30th and May 7th to August 26th, 1920 was
an unreasonable time for the said plaintiff to have waited before re-
questing any instructions, and the said defendant was never under
any obligation to furnish any instructions to the plaintiff in the
premises,

21. Answering paragraph 21 of said petition defendant admits
that sugar declined in price between the dates of April 30th and
May 7th and September and October Ist, 1920, but deny that there
was any binding agreement of defendant to aceept any sugar or any
binding agreement on plaintiff to deliver any sugar,

22. Answering paragraph 22 of said petition, defendant denies
“Notice within the contract time” being given to it, as defendant
denies there ever was any binding contract. Defendant admits that
on August 26th, 1920 the plaintiff wired asking for shipping instrue-
tions and admits that the defendant did not give any instructions be-
cause it Was not obligated to do so. The defendant on August 27,
1920 and on later dates notified plaintiff that the defendant was not
under any obligation to purchase any sugar from the plaintiff,

fol. 34] 238. Answering paragraph 23 of the petition defendant
denies that they ever were bound to furnish any shipping instructions
and admits that it failed to do so, Defendant denies that there
Were any contracts or any liability thereunder by defendant. to
plaintiff.

24. Answering paragraph 24 of said petition, defendant admits
that it never furnished any shipping instructions and denies the alle-
gations that there were contracts which required it to do so. On the
contrary, there never were any mutually binding contracts between

the plaintiff and the defendant for the reasons herein set forth.
25, Answering paragraph 25 of said petition, defendant denies
the allegation “with reasonable promptness after October Ist, 1920,

(aE eae SEERA

28

your petitioner re-sold the said 300 barrels of sugar for the account —
of the said defendant”. Defendant admits receiving from plaintiff
a letter on or about October 16th, 11/20 to the effect that plaintiff had
wired on October 15th, 1920 that they would sell certain sugars un-
less they received a better offer before 9 A. M., October 16th, 1920.
Defendant for want of suflicient information ean neither admit nor
deny that the plaintiff re-sold 300 barrels of sugar for the account
of ein dpa ye ee CRED cad as vans
ae Na ee ee eer: | | ie
Pree J. F. Goodson & Co., Morristown, Tenn.... Direct ........
i ew Adams Brothers Co., Macon, Ga.......... Ruan (7?) .....
Feet McCord-Stewart Co., Atlanta, Ga.......... Raley ........
Tee Kelley-Brothers Co., Atlanta, Ga.......... Raley ........
ae Cone M. Maddox Co., Atlanta, Ga......... Raley [ (2027) |*
eee Anniston Mere. Co., Anniston, Ala........ Crutchfield ....
scutes J. H. Culbreth & Co., FayetteviHe, N.C..... Direct ........
ap er Kenny, Charlotte, _2 RRS Rae
esate Kenny, Chattanooga, A ad tka tnd se lore ca.
ese ee, SN, SAB os kk ec i bas) ee bb kes
RS ae eR SO ae ene
tea Se Oe re lt ree
mr eas Kenny, Montgomery, Ala................ Dimeeb-........
ene a Se ee eer erry
roe Shipp Grocery Co., Americus, Ga......... Direct ........
eee Cone M. Maddox Co., Atlanta, Ga......... Raley [(3495)]*
anes Ragon Brothers, Evansville, Ind.......... Direct ........
tals Lexington Gro. Co., Lexington, N.C....... Direet ........

,
cca 7 te ver adan Ws 5 TBR Surge en traiehep store ge +
Pepi? Tifton Grocery Co., Fitzgerald, Ga........ LSPS PT Ge Pe

tes ah cae a Oe

SUKRA BSA EA ESAS ES

be CG 6 2A 4 WS ES

Be Se SR 6 aoe Wie aS

an 6 6 es ee OO ged

CRESCPAB AER ESD D

Cece. es 2 ee

Ceres © ee 2. ee

coe eee © © oes

as ewe oe eS Se

42.02 Oe ee 6 6 Oe'S

ee Oa ee Se ee ee

Se oe we ee ee

at ek oe a

a oe hk oe oo

Date
Oct. 8th
ws 8th
” 6th
= ie
“13th
“13th
“« Tt
“14th
“ 15th
“15th
“15th
“15th
“ 15th
“15th
“ 165th

so
[fol. 111] “At the same time we were selling this resale sugar we
were acting as brokers for the Savannah Sugar Refinery and made
sales of sugar for that company during the fall of 1920. I do not
recall how much we sold for the Savannah Sugar Refinery from
September Ist to December 31, 1920. 1 do not recall when we first

n offering the Savannah Sugar Refinery’s sugar after August
1920. This is a statement of the sale made for the Savannah Sugar
Refining Corporation by Lamborn & Company as brokers. Lamborn
& Company and the Savannah Sugar Refining Corporation had a
joint credit department.

Redirect examination.
Mr. Park:

“While we did not send out any letter we got in touch with Mr
Ruan, our broker in Macon, prior to this general letter sent out to
uite a number of brokers on October Lith, in an effort to get Mr
uan to dispose of this sugar. It is a fact that there were quite a
number of rejections of these contracts expiring on October Ist, or
September 30th. That threw into our hands a large amount of
sugar that had to be disposed of for the account of these various pur-
chasers. If we had thrown all of that sugar on the market for the
best price we could have gotten | think suger would have broken to
five cents a pound; in fact we did have bids on some of this for five
and cight cents a pound. We used our best judgment to get for
these people for whose accounts we were selling sugar the best price
obtainable. There was no discrimination in the Small case in held-
ing this sugar. These sugars were sold among the first: I had a
talk with Mr. Small and was apprised of his plan to get the whole-
sale grocers together to repudiate, and we took special pains to get rid
of his right at first.

——— =

[fol. 112] Jonx G. Reax, sworn for plaintiff:
Direct examination.

Mr. Park:

“Lam a member of the firm of Ruan & Company, doing busines
in Macon. We have a brokerage business, and among other linc«
sell sugar. That was truce in 1120. At that time I represented ax
broker Lamborn & Company and the Savannah Sugar Refining Com-

. During that year, particularly beginning with August and
running through September and October, the condition of the sugar
market was that wholesale grocers had taken in high priced A
they had big stocks and there was no demand. It was very to
sell sugar. There was no sufficient demand for sugar during the
month of September and the early part of October. The amount
that was hought was ordinarily just hand te mouth buving: a man
ealy bought what he actually needed for a short period Leewuse the

76

price was going down. That condition existed during the month of
October as well as during September. I handled the car of sugar
shipped to A. B. Small Company that arrived here early in September
for Lamborn & Company. That car was put into our warehouse on
September 22nd; it was on track and rejected; we sold it on October
11th to Kingman & Everett. I got for the ear 11.36 cents per 100
pounds net Macon.

“I think we were authorized to sell it the last of September or
about the first of October and we tried very hard to sell it then; the
first offer we could get was from Kingman & Everett on October 11th.
It was the full market price; it was a good price. Sugar could be
bought generally in the market for that price at that time. The
full amount that I sold that car for is eredited on the statement
sued on.

“T have the original documents here in my hands. IT also had to
do with the sale of the third car. We sold that car October 15th to
| fol. 113] Kingman & Everett at 11 cents net Savannah, and it was
to be shipped immediately ; it was not shipped in three days and Mr.
Kingman wired or called up Savannah and cancelled the car, stating
that he could buy it cheaper by 26 from the American. The car
had been shipped however and was diverted to us and put in our
warehouse; we sold that car on November 3rd to Kingman & Everett
at 1114 cents net Savannah; he paid us a quarter of a eent more;
sugar had gone up a little, or he could use it to better advantage.

Both the first and second prices were the full market prices; we
offered that sugar to every wholesale grocer here and that was the
besi price we could get, and I believe they could have bought other
sugar for the same price. I was familiar with the market at that
time. I had trouble in selling the car. As I remember, we we au-
thorized to sell it around October Ist, and we sold it on October 11th.
The third car was sold to Kingman & Everett the first time on No-
vember 15th; we were also authorized to sell that on November Ist.
At that time one ear of sugar was a good deal of sugar in this market.

“! am familiar with Willet & Gray's quotations. They are re-
garded as high authority in sugar. The prices quoted in Willett &
(iray’s Journal are regarded as standard prices. There is very little
difference between the quotations made by Willett & Gray from
New York and the prices obtained in Savannah, where the Savannah
Sugar Refinery is located. There is sometimes a variation of ten
points; ordinarily the New York refiners will name a price and
Savannah mects it in a day or two, The New York price is regarded
as the ruling or controlling price. There is no difference in standard
[fol. 114] fine granulated sugar. The sugar made by the American
and put up under the Domino Brand and the Savannah sugar called
Dixie Crystal is all the same. Standard fine granulated sugar is
identical, practically so.”

~3
ag

Cross-examination.

Mr. Watkins:

“I did not sell any sugar in August 1920 that I recall, nor did 1
sell any in September, 1920. We don’t keep our records ordinaril
that far back but I imagine they are in the office somewhere.
could tell from our books what sugar we sold in August and Septem-
ber, 1920. I don’t know that I could do it very easily; I don’t
think we sold any.

“I got these instructions to sell this sugar October Ist, but 1 have
not the letter with me or telegram, giving the instructions to sell
this sugar. I have those instructions somewhere—but I didn’t bring
them up here; I have told the jury you retained this file. and these
ure important parts of it; the instructions to sell this sugar. I didn’t
know it was necessary; those instructions might come in a circular
letter or over the phone or by wire. I haven't made any effort to
find those instructions. I do not think the instructions to sell this
particular sugar would come in a cireular letter, so 1 must have some
instructions to sell this particular sugar. J am still the broker for
Lamborn & Company and also for the Savannah Sugar Refinery.
Through Lamborn & Company I recall that I sold in October 1930
these two cars only. I made these particular contracts that are sued
on with Small.”’

Redirect examination.
Mr. Park:

“I said that this car was sold—both of these cars were sold—but
they were stored for a time with Ruan & Company; the statement
shows the correct storage and unloading and demurrage charges.
They were paid by us and Lamborn & Company paid it back to us
later. That is true of the storage and demurrage charges also.”

{fol 115] The plaintiff closed its testimony at this point. Defend-
ant then presented J. E. Yares, who testified on direct examination
by Mr. Watkins as follows:

“T live in Macon, Georgia, and I am in the wholesale grocery busi-
ness and was in the wholesale grocery business in August and Sep-
tember, 1920. In my business I sold sugar, and have been selling
sugar for about eighteen years, and am still engaged in the business.”

Counsel for the defendant then asked the witness questions as
follows :

Q. From your business of selling sugar in Macon in 1920, do you
know what the market price of sugar sold by wholesale grocers was
in September 1920?

To this question plaintiff’s attorney, Mr. Park, objected as follows:
“T object to the testimony as to what sugar was sold for in Macon

PEG RAPP REI eas TY COB EEE a HET” 2h Ae Ope ep wets mw a ee ee

78

by wholesale grocers. This question is a question of refiner’s prices
at the refinery and not what wholesalers may have sold for in another
and entirely different market.”

The Court then questioned the witness who stated that he wa
familiar with sugar sold by wholesale grocers to retailers and to chain
stores and knew the market price of such sales in Macon in August.
September, October, November, and December, 1920. In answer to
questions from the Court the witness stated that in former times the
wholesalers in Macon sold at from one-fourth to one-half a cent per

und above the price they paid the refiners, that from August to

mber, 1920, the market was in a very unsettled condition and
normal differences could not always be obtained.

The witness said:

“After the market broke in August and September, I got the best
[fol. 116] price of could regardless of cost.”

With the testimony in this form the Court sustained the objection
saying:

“I think it is the duty of the Court, unless there can be some
connection, to tell the jury to reject it and if 1 am going to tell
them that, then why admit it.”

To the ruling of the Court in refusing to srmit the witness to
testify his opinion as to the reasonable market price of sugar in
Macon, Georgia, in August, September, October, November and De-
cember 1920, the defendant then and there excepted, which ex-
ception was allowed, and here now excepts and the same is allowed
and ordered sealed.

The same witness was then asked to state the sales made by him of
sugar in September, 1920, The Court ruled that these sales were not
admis-able and declined to permit the witness to testify ; a
the witness would have testified that he made sales as follows:

“Beginning on September 1, 1920, a sale of 100 pounds of sugar
at a price of Ave per pound and thereafter sales during the month
of September at prices ranging from 20¢ to 15.75¢ per pound and in
amounts as high as 1,000 pounds, the latter amount fring sold on
September 25th, at 15.75¢ per pound; the last sale in September
was on the 30th and was of 100 pounds at 16¢ per pound.’

{fol 117] To the ruling of the Court in refusing to permit the
witness J. E. Yates to testify to the sales shown in the foregoing

statement defendant then and there excepted, which exception was
allowed, and here now excepts which exceptions is allowed and
ordered sealed.

—_s —=_———

R. B. SMALL was then offered as a witness as to his — of the
market value of sugar in Macon in August, Septem
November, and December, 1920, and the same ruling was made
and the same exceptions had as to the witness J. E. Yates.

To the ruling of the Court in refusing to permit R. B. Small te

79

lestify, as set out under the circumstances shown in the exceptions
with reference to J. E. Yates, the defendant then and there exce pted,
and here now excepts, which exceptions are allowed and ordered
sealed.

The witness R. B. Small was then asked to testify as to the sales
made by him in September, 1920. Objection was made that the
stles did not indicate market price and the court sustained the
objection.

he witness, if permitted to testify, would have testified of sales
as follows:

“Beginning on September Ist, 1920, a sale of 100 pounds of
sugar ata price of 19¢ per pound and thereafter sales made during
the month of September at prices ranging from 20¢ to 15%¢ per
— and in amounts as high as 2.030 pounds, the latter amount
ing sold on September 28th, at 1544¢ per pound; the last sale
in September was on the 29th, being a sale of 100 pounds at a price
of 16¢ per pound. The majority of sales were in lots of less than
300 pounds.”
(fol. 118} To the ruling of the court in refusing to permit such a
hearing of the statements showing the market value, the testimony
of R. B. Small showing his sales in September, 1920, defendant then
and there excepted, which exception was allowed, and here now
exeepts, which exception is allowed and ordered sealed, and this
defendant assigns the ruling of the Court as error,

W. E. Smtr was then offered as a witness, and was asked as to
stles made by him of sugar in September and October, 1920. The
witness testified that he was not personally in the sugar business ;
that he had bought some sugar and resold it, some to manufacturers,
some to wholesalers, and some to retailers; that he sold it to whom-
sever he could, at the best prices obtainable.

The witness testified that he made sales of sugar on the dates,
to the parties, in the amounts, and at the prices stated on the state.
ment reading:

Date Price
Imo Purchaser Quantity per lb. Amount

Sept. 17. Britt-Wirick, Atlanta, Ga...... 50) sacks— 5,000 154¢ $7,750.00
[a = sa ” were re 70. °° 7.0002 154¢ 10,850.00
«m (|* “ “d Serer 500 5.0008 154¢ 7,750.00

154. Sears Sanitary Baker, Macon.. 10 “ 1,000% 154¢ 167.50
15. Hammock-Rich Co., Coleman, Ga. 10 “ 1,000 16 ¢ 160.00
14. C. D. Kenney, Macon, Georgia... 50 “ 5,0008 154¢ 775.00

23. Sears Sanitary Pakery, Macon.. 10 “ 1,000g 154¢ 155.00

23. L. W. Rogers Co., Macon, Ga... 100 * 10,0008 154¢ = 1,500.00

23. H. PD. Adams Co., Macon........ So.“ 5,000g 15 ¢ THO.)

—- - ° oe ey ae pik yd 10,000g 15 ¢ 1,500.00

15. Dempsey Hotel, se Pee ee ae 1,000% 154¢ 155.00

17. Melts Sanitary Bakery, Macon... 10 “ 1,000 16 ¢ 160.00

‘aly 2. HL A. Kennington, Macon....... ng 1,000 28 ¢ 280.00)
Mug. 21. Peeples Mig. & Sup. Co., Timons-

OE ES ye een ere _ = 2.5002 19 ¢ 475.00

‘t. SO. Kingman & Everett, Macon..... 30 « 3.5008 14 ¢ 420.00

80

[fol. 119] Upon objection being made to the testimony that it
did not show market value applicable to this case, the Court ruled
that only sales by refiners could be admitted, and sustained the ob-
jection to the testimony of W. KE. Small. To the ruling of the
Court in sustaining such objection, defendant then and there ex-
cepted, and here now excepts, which exception was then allowed
and here now allowed and ordered sealed. The witness R. B. Small
also offered to testify that he received two letters from Lamborn &
Company, one dated April 23rd, and the other April 24th, 1920,
that in the letter of April 23rd, it was stated that:

“The Savannah Sugar Refinery is still withdrawn from the market
and will probably remain so for the next two or three weeks. Dur-
ing this time they can make no offerings at all either direetly to
the trade or through their brokers. When do do re-enter the mar-
ket it will probably be necessary for them to allocate any available
sugars to their customers, giving each regular customer his proper
percentage. We know of course, that no customer will get the
amount of sugar desired but we feel this is the only fair way the
Refinery can distribute their sugars and give satisfaction to all.”

and in the letter of April 24th that:

“The Savannah Refinery is withdrawn from the market at the
present time, having no sugars to offer either for immediate or de
ferred shipment. Should they have any sugars to offer in the near
future, they will be allocated to their regular trade on a percentage
basis. You may rest assured that our regular customers will re-
ceive their proper portion as our one aim will be to seeure and
equitable distribution.”

The witness further testiiad, the jury being out at the time, that
Mr. Ruan, broker for Lamborn & Company, told him that if he
did not buy this sugar at the time he signed the contracts and
signed the contracts, that he could-’t get any sugar from Lamborn.
Witness says he might have bought sugar from others than Lam-
born, but there was no sugar for immediate delivery offered, that
because of the statement in the letter and of the statement of Lam-
born’s broker, the witness was influenced to order sugar for future
delivery, which was not the usual custom of the plaintiff selling
sugar in Macon; that prior to the war sugars were allotted by Lam-
born & Company and other refiners without contracts.

The Court having heard the testimony of the witness Small while
the jury was absent, ruled that the testimony was inadmissable, and
sustained the objection thereto of plaintiff, to which ruling defend
ant then and there excepted, which exception was allowed, and de-
fendant here and now renews the exception, which exceptions i
allowed and sealed.

81
[fol. 120] H. R. Avexanper sworn for defendant:

Direct examination:
Mr. Saussy :

“T am a wholesale grocer in Savannah and was in 1920. I have
a tabulation there showing at what prices I sold standard fine granu-
[fol. 121] lated sugar in September and October, 1920, in quantities
from one hundred pounds up to 1,000 and 2,000 pounds. I have
the records of each sale. the original charge slips. I had known
Lamborn & Company in Savannah in 1920. Their business was
brokers in the trade. I never dealt with them as refiners of sugar.
They were not refiners of sugar in 1920. Their chief status in the
city of Savannah up to that time was brokers. The Savannah Sugar
Refinery was closed down in September, 1920,—withdrawn from
the market. The relation of our wholesale prices to the refiner’s
prices was on a normal market one cent a pound. There was not
a normal market existing on September 30, 1920,

“There were two refiners—two New York refiners—represented
in Savannah by local brokers. Those brokers were not active. I
have never heard of them making a sale for four or five years. % Peeumnmnnmeresrscrere nr. 36
Union Pacific R. Co. v. Frank, 226 Fed. 906 ............ 21
United States v. L. Cohen Gro. Co., 255 U. S. 81,
Hi I inact stcenscsensscesenenensnes 23, 34
Waskey v. Hammer, 223 U.S. 85, 56 L. ed. 359 ........ 38
Weeds, Inc., v. United States, 255 U. S. 109, 65 L.
2 a akicadnnsecinied asnnnaitntonsonctndoepennaninie 23
Wilder Mfg. Co. v. Corn Prod. Ref. Co., 236 U. S.
165, 177, 59 L. ed. 520, 527 ........-..------------ 19, 33
Williston on Sales 8661 (c) 2nd ed. ...........----.-..------ 11
Witherell & Dobbins v. United Shoe Machinery Co.,
WO Te, DID anna. scans conn nenssnnnecnscanascnanensaccnaconnehanasiion 15
Wolff Packing Co. v. Court of Industrial Rela-
tions, 262 U. S. 522, 67 L. ed. 1103, 1109, 1110 32

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1923
No. 399

THE A. B. SMALL COMPANY,
Plaintiff in Error

v

LAMBORN & COMPANY.
Defendant in Error

In Error to the District Court. of the United States
for the Southern District of Georgia

BRIEF FOR DEFENDANT IN ERROR.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is another of the many sugar cases which since
the summer of 1920 the Courts of the country have
been called upon to decide—due to the repudiation of
their contracts by buyers of sugar.

In April and May, 1920, while the price of sugar was
very high, The A. B. Small Company, a wholesale
grocer of Macon, Georgia, purchased from Lamborn
& Company through their Savannah, Georgia, office,
450 barrels of sugar at 2514 cents per pound “‘f. o. b.
Savannah Refinery, Port Wentworth, Georgia”.

(1)

4

Shipments were to be made from July 15th to October
1st. The contracts were reduced to writing and were
formally accepted by both buyer and seller. The
Savannah Office of Lamborn & Company acted as
brokers in negotiating the contract, which was accepted
by Lamborn & Company, New York, N. Y., as the
sellers. (Transcript pp. 9-11.)

Except as to dates, quantities, and time of delivery
the two contracts were indentical. For convenience
of reference, the first contract dated April 30, 1920, is
set out in full:

“Contract No. 672.
New York, N. Y., April 30, 1920.
Sold by Lamborn & Company, New York, for the
Account of Whom It May Concern

Sold to A. B. Small Co., Macon, Ga., 150 barrels
Standard Fine Granulated Sugar, on the basis
of 25.50 cents per pound f. o. b. Savannah Re-
finery, Port Wentworth, Ga., for Fine Granulated
‘Shipments to be made some time during the
period between July 15th and October 1, 1920;
but shipping is to be at sellers’ option,’ subject
to delay, if any.

Terms: Cash before delivery less 2%, or cash
in seven days less 2%. Terms and withdrawals
subject to the approval of the sellers’ Credit
Department.

Sellers to furnish sugars packed in barrels or
bags, but sellers have option of shipping no more
than 50% of contract in 100-lb. bags. Sellers
will furnish 2, 5, 10 and 25 lb. bags at the ruling
differential above Fine Granulated basis, if de-
sired by the trade, provided these packages are
obtainable, but do not guarantee to furnish said
packages.

Sellers will not be responsible under this con-
tract if shipment is prevented or delayed by war

(2)

conditions, strikes, labor difficulties, accidents,
embargoes, regulations or restrictions imposed by
any Government or Governmental agencies, fire ©
or any other cause beyond the sellers’ control,
or if the supply of raw material of the refinery
manufacturing the sugar described in this agree-
ment shall be interrupted by any such cause.

Option of routing is reserved by sellers. De-
livery will be considered complete on receipt of
goods by carrier.

This purchase to be invoiced and paid for at
contract price. No allowances whatever for de-
clines in market. If shipment is made freight pre-
paid, the ruling prepaid freight basis to destina-
tion in effect on date of shipment will govern.
Assortments against contract must be furnished
when called for by sellers. All additional import
duties, excise or other taxes hereafter levied on
the Raw or Refined Sugar necessary to fill this
contract at buyer’s expense in addition to price
specified.

Kindly sign and return one copy confirming
purchase.

Lamborn & Company, Savannah, Ga., Brokers.

This contract is accepted: Buyer—

Signed: A. B. Small Co.

This contract is accepted: Seller—

Lamborn & Company, New York, N. Y.,
Signed by G. G. Bond.”
(Transcript pp. 9, 10.)

The second contract executed on May 7, 1920, was
for 300 barrels and contained this clause with reference
to delivery: “delivery of equal quantities monthly
beginning the last half of July and continuing through
August and September of 1920, if possible. Sellers’
option of shipping to suit sellers’ convenience during
the period mentioned, subject to delay, if any.”

(Transcript p. 10.)

(3)

A portion of the sugar covered by each contract was
shipped, accepted and paid for by the buyer. The
second installment was also shipped but the buyer
repudiated the contracts, denied liability thereunder
and refused to take the sugar. At its suggestion the
sugar was stored at the point of delivery “for the
account of whom it may concern.” The buyer re-
fused to order out the third installment. At the time
of the shipment of the second installment the sugar
market was steadily declining and at that time the
market price was already considerably below the
contract price. The market continued to decline
steadily and rapidly.

(Petition and answer. Transcript pp. 3 and
26.)

On September 27th, shortly before the delivery
period expired, the sellers called on the buyer to fur-
nish assortments and shipping directions within forty-
eight hours, advising that on failure to do so they would
treat the contracts as breached and would sell the
sugar for the buyer’s account and hold it for the
difference between the contract price and the amount
realized on the resale. (Transcript p. 64.) The
buyer continuing to repudiate the contracts, the sugar
was sold for its account and this suit was brought to
recover the damages sustained through the breach
of the contracts.

The complaint was in two counts which were identical
save as to the admeasurement of the damages. In
the first, recovery was sought for the difference be-
tween the contract price and the price obtained on
resale; in the second, for the difference between the
contract price and the market price at the time and
place of delivery.

(4)

The Defendant, by demurrer, attacked the validity
of the contracts as being unilateral and not mutually
binding. This was overruled. Certain special de-
murrers calling for additional particulars, were met
by amendment to the petition and were also over-
ruled.

The Defendant’s answer admitted the execution
of the contracts, that a portion of the sugar sold had
been delivered under each of them, and that the con-
tracts had been repudiated. As a defense it was
alleged in the answer that the contracts were unilateral
and not binding for that reason. The Defendant
also pleaded as a special defense that the Plaintiffs
and others combined and conspired in violation of the
Anti-Trust Acts of Congress for the purpose of re-
stricting interstate trade and competition in the sale
of sugar. By an amendment to the answer the Defend-
ant also set up that the sales were in violation of the
Food Control, or Lever Act of Congress. On demurrer
the paragraphs of the answer alleging that the con-
tracts were not mutually binding and all the affirmative
defenses were stricken by the Court for insufficiency
and as constituting no defense to the action.

Upon the trial the contracts and the breach thereof
being admitted, the resales with resulting damages
were proved. Defendant offered certain testimony,
which it claimed tended to establish that the market
price was greater than that received by the Plaintiffs
on the resale. This evidence the Court refused to
admit.

(Transcript pp. 77-80.)

The Plaintiffs having proved their case as laid and
there being no evidence to the contrary, the Court
directed a verdict for the Plaintiffs for the amount

(5)

claimed in the first count, in which the damages were
measured at the difference between the contract
price and the amount realized on the sale of the sugar
for the Defendant’s account. (Transcript p. 85.)

This writ of error challenges the correctness of these
rulings.

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR

The fourteen assignments of error may be divided into
five groups:

(1) That the contracts declared on were
without mutuality of obligation and were
therefore unenforceable.

Assignments 5, 6, 7 and 8, (Transcript p.
57).

(2) That the plea setting up violations of
the Anti-Trust Act was improperly stricken.
Assignments 3 and 4 (Transcript p. 56).

(3) That the amended answer setting up
alleged violations of the Lever Act and the
regulations of the Food Administration were
improperly stricken.

Assignments 1 and 2 (Transcript p. 56).

(4) That certain evidence offered by De-
fendant was improperly excluded.
Assignments 9, 10, 11 and 12 (Transcript

p. 58).

(5) That the case should have been sub-
mitted to the jury and it was error to direct
a verdict for the Plaintiffs.
Assignment 13 (Transcript p. 58).

(6)

| BRIEF OF THE ARGUMENT
|
MUTUALITY OF THE CONTRACT

Defendant demurred to the petition upon the
| ground that the contracts upon which suit was entered
were not mutually binding upon the parties, or in the
vernacular of the profession in Georgia, were unilateral.
The same contention was made in the answer. The
Court overruled the demurrer to the petition and
sustained Plaintiffs’ demurrer to the answer, striking
the paragraphs thereof which set up this defense.

The clauses in the contract which are relied upon
by the Defendant were as follows:

“Terms and withdrawals subject to the approval
of the sellers’ credit department.”

And

“Seller will not be responsible under this con-
tract if shipment is prevented or delayed by war
conditions, strikes, labor difficulties, accidents,
embargoes, regulations or restrictions imposed
by any Government or Governmental agencies,
fire or any other cause beyond the sellers’ control,
or if the supply of raw material of the refinery
manufacturing the sugar described in this agree-
ment shall be interrupted by any such cause.”’

Contract (Transcript p. 9); Answer (Trans-
script p. 25); Demurrer (Transcript p.p.
16, 17).

The contracts purport to be completed sales for the
delivery of a specific quantity of sugar at a definite
price and are signed by both parties. Under the
first contract :

(7)

<r ome

‘Shipments (were), to be made sometime during
the period between July 15 and Oct. 1, 1920, but
shipping is to be at sellers’ option, subject to de-
lay, if any.”

(Transcript p. 9.)

Under the second contract

“Delivery (was to be), of equal quantities,
monthly beginning the last half of July and con-
tinuing through August and September of 1920,
if possible; sellers’ option of shipping to suit sellers’
convenience during the period mentioned, subject
to delay, if any.”

(Transcript p. 10.)
Both contracts contained the clause

“Terms—Cash before delivery, less 2%, or
cash in seven days, less 2%.”
(Transcript pp. 9, 10.)
Under both contracts, the purchaser was to furnish
assortments against the contract when called for by
sellers.

It is contended that the clause, “terms and with-
drawals subject to the approval of the sellers’ credit
department” make it optional with the Plaintiffs
whether the contract would be complied with or not,
for it is said the sellers’ credit department might not
approve the terms, or agree for the sugar to be with-
drawn.

The terms, as stated in the contract, were either
“cash before delivery less 2%, or cash in seven days
less 2%.” The seller was given the right to elect,
when shipment was to be made, as between the two
alternative terms of payment. The sellers could not
arbitrarily refuse to fix one or the other of these terms

(8)

for the contract of sale was complete. The sellers
could have declined to ship unless cash was paid in
advance, i. e., before delivery, or if they choose to do
so, the sugar could be shipped without demanding
cash, in which event, the buyer would be expected to
pay in seven days; the cash discount of 2% being
allowed in either event.

A similar option, though generally given to the
buyer rather than the seller, is not only usual but well
nigh universal. “‘Terms cash, less 2% in thirty
days” gives the buyer the option of paying within
30 days at a discount, or paying the full face of the
invoice after the discount period. Such an option
does not destroy the mutuality of the contract of
sale.

The Circuit Court of Appeals of the Third Circuit
had occasion to construe a contract of sale containing
this provision:

“Terms strictly 2° cash, 10 days from date
of invoice, or 30 days net, f. o. b. * * * * Appli-
cation of these terms subject to the approval a our
credit department.”

The Court held that this did not mean that the terms
of payment were subject to the approval of the sellers’
credit department at will during the life of the con-
tract, but meant a right to be exercised only before the
sellers performed by making deliveries. When so
exercised, the credit was fixed and became an estab-
lished term of the contract.

McLain-Hadden-Simpers Co. v. Trent Rub-

ber Co. (C. C. A. 3rd Cir.), 275 Fed. 831.

“Withdrawals” of sugar were also subject to the
approval of sellers’ credit department. It is contended
that this meant that “delivery” of the sugar was

(9)

be peome a

optional and that the sellers could refuse to deliver
without breaching the contract. The term “with-
drawals” in commercial contracts for future delivery
is of very general use. It indicates the amount or
quantity which may be ordered out by a buyer at any
one time and removed from the entire lot or amount
contracted for. These contracts were for the sale
of a comparatively large quantity of sugar for future
delivery; the buyer having the right from time to
time to “withdraw”, or order out, specific quantities
within the contract period of delivery. Such “with-
drawals” were to be subject to the approval of the
sellers’ credit department. The expression, reasonably
construed as it is commonly used in the commercial
world, does not mean that the sellers could refuse to
make delivery within the time provided in the con-
tract. The term “withdrawal” is not synonymous
with “delivery”. “Withdrawal” is the buyers’ privi-
lege. ‘‘Delivery”’ is the seiler’s obligation. Without
such a provision in the contract, if the buyer ordered
out an unreasonably large quantity of the sugar to be
shipped upon a particular day and the sellers found
themselves unable to deliver the entire amount as
ordered on that day, it might have been construed by
the buyer that such inability on the part of the sellers
to ship on that day amounted to a breach of the con-
tract and relieved the buyer from any further obliga-
tion. The “withdrawal” clause in the contract merely
prevented the buyer from making demands with which
the sellers might not be able to comply, with due
regard to their obligations to other customers. The
buyer’s withdrawals, therefore, during the contract
period for delivery were to be subject to approval of
the sellers’ credit department.

(10)

TT sa

The clause relieving the sellers from performing,
for causes beyond their control, is so usual and custom-
ary that a discussion thereof seems superfluous. Such
clauses have been uniformly upheld.

13 C. J. 337,
37 Cyc. 247, 248,
Williston on Sales 8661 (c), Sec. Ed.

We do not understand that the Defendant contends
that the customary clause relieving the seller from
performing for causes beyond his control would pre-
vent the contract from being mutual. The contention,
as we understand it, is that the clause in these particular
contracts is broader than is customary, particularly
that clause relieving the seller,

“Tf the supply of raw material of the refinery
manufacturing the sugar should be interrupted
by any such cause.”

It is said that the sellers might select some sugar
refinery whose supply of sugar had been interfered with
and claiming that such refinery was the one from which
it was expected to obtain the sugar thus relieve them-
selves from all liability under the contract. It is
submitted that this is a most strained and unnatural
construction. Before the sellers could be relieved
under this clause, it would be necessary for them to
show that they have made a valid subsisting contract
with a refinery to manufacture the sugar to be delivered
to the buyer under the contract, and that the supply
of raw material of this particular refinery had been
interrupted by war, strike, accident, fire or other
causes beyond control. As was said by the Court of
Appeals of Georgia construing this identical language:

(11)

“This provision must be given a reasonable
construction and will not be construed as in-
tended to permit the seller to perform a palpably
dishonest act and perpetrate a fraud upon the
purchaser by selecting a refinery crippled and
incapacitated in the manner described.”

Slater v. Savannah Sugar Refining Corpora-
tion, 28 Ga. App. 280, 284, 110 S. E. 759,
761.

Contracts in the same form as those in the instant
ease have been attacked upon precisely the same
grounds as are here urged and have been uniformly
held to be bilateral and mutually binding.

LaGrange Grocery Company V. Lamborn &
Company (C. C. A. 5th Cir.), 283 Fed.
869, 872, affirming District Judge Sibley
of the Northern District of Georgia.

Traub v. Savannah Sugar Refining Corpora-
tion, 28 Ga. App. 285, 110 S. E. 761, and

Slater v. ‘Savannah Sugar Refining Corpora-
tion, 28 Ga. App. 280, 110 S. E. 759, affirm-
ing Judge Meldrim of the Eastern Circuit
of Georgia.

In the last cited case it was well said:

“Where an instrument in writing, purporting
to be a bilateral contract, contains mutual
promises, which without more and when taken
independently of certain subsidiary provisions
in the instrument would render the instrument
valid as a contract, such subsidiary provisions
will not, unless their terms imperatively demand
it, be given a construction that will nullify and

(12)

Da dei PNET Dp A AD SS Nt NO I Mi NCI Soe See aeE Bein te CAI TANT EA TORI oe AR hn Ge ag ARE dea

completely destroy the entire obligation of either
party under the instrument and thus render the
instrument lacking in mutuality and void.”’

The general rule, as gleaned from a number of
decisions, is stated in Corpus Juris as follows:

“Where a particular word or words, or the
contract as a whole is susceptible of two meanings,
one of which will uphold the contract or render it
valid and the other of which will destroy it or
render it invalid, the former will be adopted so as
to uphold the contract. So a contract should be
construed in favor of mutuality and of certainty.”

13 C. J. 539.
I].

THE DEFENSE BASED ON THE SHERMAN
ANTI-TRUST ACT

The Defendant filed a special plea (paragraph 30
of the answer, transcript p. 30), in which it under-
took to set up that the contracts upon which suit was
entered and the conduct of the Plaintiffs, of which
these contracts were a part were

“In violation of the laws of the United States,
and especially of the anti-trust laws of the United
States; and said contracts directly affected inter-
state commerce and were conspiracies in violation
of the laws of the United States, the enforcement
of which contracts in this case would be to make
effectual such conspiracies.”

While it is not clear from the answer, it appears
from the assignments of error and Defendant’s brief
that the law referred to is the Act of July 2, 1890,
known as the Sherman Anti-Trust law. From a

(13)

q

cursory reading of the answer, it is apparent that the
allegations do not measure up to the requirements
of a good plea under the rulings of this Court.

Briefly summarized the answer alleges that the
Plaintiffs conspired, combined, and confederated with
the Savannah Sugar Refining Corporation and “other
refiners of sugar unknown to the Defendant”’ for the
purpose of restraining trade and competition in the
sale of sugar in the Southeastern States. No facts in
support of this allegation are pleaded. It is alleged
that in pursuance of this conspiracy and in order to
unduly increase the price of sugar in inter-state com-
merce, Plaintiffs and other sugar refiners changed
their method of doing business and instead of making
allotments of sugar to wholesale grocers as they had
theretofore done, they partially discontinued allot-
ments and required contracts for future delivery of
sugar; that the Savannah Sugar Refining Corpora-
tion declined to sell to the Defendant and advised
the Defendant and others that there was a shortage
of sugar and that contracts for future delivery should
be entered into if the buyers wished to fill their require-
ments; that Plaintifis, theretofore brokers became
sellers of refined sugar, bought large quantities of
raw sugar in Cuba and stored it at the refineries; that
the conspirators created the impression that there
was a shortage of sugar and were able in this way to
make an unreasonable profit on their sales.

This is the extent of the allegations with reference to
the Acts of Congress which it is charged Plaintiffs
violated.

It may be observed in the first place that the sales
in question were not in inter-state commerce. The
contracts were made in Georgia; the sugar was to be

(14)

SA ERE ER Ace te ct a RAE I NS TLE ORE ALINE EDE SD ata LOE ke RE ROAR Ae Net SMT EBD: Sly YR LNA al nth te SH San et lle el

delivered in that State; the price was f. o. b. Savannah
Refinery, Port Wentworth, Georgia, indicating that it
was to be shipped from that point. In the usual
course of transportation, the shipment would not move
beyond the limits of the State. It seems apparent,
therefore, that inter-state trade or commerce could not
be affected by the contracts which are under attack.
The allegations as to the illegal combination, or
conspiracy are mere conclusions of the pleader, with-
out one single fact being stated upon which the con-
clusions can be based. They are, therefore, wholly
insufficient.
Witherell & Dobbins v. United Shoe Machin-
ro! Company (C. C. A. Ist Cir.), 267 Fed.

The mere fact that sellers of sugar discontinued the
practice of making allotments of sugar is of no con-
sequence. The system was inaugurated and main-
tained by direction of the Food Administration. It
was discontinued by reason of legislative enactment.
By the Act of December 31, 1919 (41 Stat. L. 386),
the zone system for the distribution of sugar under
which allotments were made, was formally and definite-
ly abandoned. But even if the change in the method
of doing business had not been brought about by reason
of government control, the mere fact that sellers of
sugar, whether acting individually or in concert,
decided to change from one legal method to another
equally lawful, would not impair or affect the validity
of contracts made under the new method.

The allegations of monopoly and restraint of trade
are entirely insufficient. Like those as to the con-
spiracy, they are mere conclusions of the pleader, no
facts being alleged upon which to base such conclusions.

(15)

st Wn R a SO PRR He

What proportion of the available supply of refined
sugar was, or could have been, controlled, is not
alleged. The effect which the alleged conspiracy
might have had upon the available supply cannot be
determined from any allegations in the pleadings.

But if the answer had set up facts sufficient to
show that there was a conspiracy and that the effect
of the conspiracy was to create monopoly, or restrain
inter-state trade, the plea would still be demurrable
because. there appears to be no connection, or relation,
between the alleged unlawful conspiracy and the sales
of sugar involved in this case. The Defendant’s con-
tention appears to be that a conspiracy was entered
into to restrain the supply and thereby enhance the
price of refined sugar; that sellers withdrew sugar from
the market and in some instances refused to make
contracts with wholesale grocers. A sale of sugar, °
such as that involved in the present case, does not
effectuate and could not be in furtherance of such a
conspiracy. On the contrary, it directly defeated the
purpose of the conspiracy. Instead of tending to a
monopoly its manifest tendency was directly the op-
pesite. Sales break markets. It is certainly a para-
dox to say that by selling sugar to the Defendant for
future delivery, a conspiracy to monopolize the com-
modity is furthered. Even, if it should be conceded
that the allegations are sufficient to show a conspiracy
in restraint of trade, the facts with regard to these
contracts and their relation to the supposed con-

-spiracies, bring the case squarely within the rule

cates Le

announced by this Court in the Connolly case. A
short extract from the opinion delivered by Mr.
Justice Harlan, we think, establishes the correctness
of our position beyond controversy:

(16)

he hamaesten LLL AEE ERED ARE STL ETI

“If the contract between the plaintiff cor-
poration and the other named corporations, persons
and companies, or the combination thereby formed,
was illegal under the Act of Congress, then all
those persons, corporations, or associations directly
connected therewith, became subject to the penal-
ties prescribed by Congress. But the Act does
not declare illegal or void any sale made by such
combination or by its agents, of property acquired
or which came into its possession for the purpose
of being sold,—such property not being at the
time in the course of transportation from one
state to another or to a foreign country. The
buyer could not refuse to comply with his con-
tract of purchase upon the ground that the-seller
was an illegal combination which might be re-
strained or suppressed in the mode prescribed
by the Act of Congress; for Congress did not
declare that a combination illegally formed under
the Act of 1890 should not, in the conduct of its
business, become the owner of property which
it might sell to whomsoever wished to buy it.
So that there is no necessary legal connection
here between the sale of pipe to the defendants
by the plaintiff corporation and the alleged arrange-
ment made by it with other corporations, com-
panies, and firms. The contracts under which the
pipe in question was sold were as already said,
collateral to the arrangement for the combination
referred to, and this is not an action to enforce
the terms of such arrangement. That combina-
tion may have been illegal, and yet the sale to
the defendants was valid.”

Connolly v. Union Sewer Pipe Company,

184 U. S. 540, 550, 46 L. ed. 679, 686.
Defendant contends that the Connolly case has been
modified by the Continental Wall Paper Company
case and that the facts set up in the answer bring the

(17)

ach i vale Die ad

. OR = SRE SDE Yh ge?

case within the ruling of the latter decision. We
connot agree with either contention. The Wall Paper
ease was decided on its own peculiar facts. Mr.
Justice Harlan, who spoke for the majority of the
Court referred at length to the Connolly case as
stating the correct rule of law. He distinguished
the Wall Paper case saying:

“The present suit is not based upon an implied
contract of the defendant company to pay a
reasonable price for goods that it purchased, but
upon agreements, to which both the plaintiff and
the defendant were parties, and pursuant to which
the accounts sued on were made out, and which
had for their object, and which it is admitted had
directly the effect, to accomplish the illegal ends
for which the Continental Wall Paper Company
was organized. If judgment be given for the
plaintiff the result, beyond all question, will be to
give the aid of the court in making effective the
illegal agreements that constituted the forbidden
combination. These considerations make it evi-
dent that the present case is different from the
Connolly case.”

Continental Wall Paper Company Vv. Louis
Voight & Sons Co., 212 U. S. 227, 261, 53
L. ed. 486, 505.

If any doubt existed as to the effect of the Wall
Paper case on the rule announced in the Connolly
ease, it was set at rest by the decision in the Corn
Products Refining Company case. An effort was made
in that case to draw a distinction between the Wall
Paper and Connolly decisions and to come within the
ruling announced in the Wall Paper case. Pointing
out the fallacy of the reasoning of Counsel, Mr. Chief
Justice White delivering the opinion of the unanimous
court, said:

(18)

ee ee

“But, in substance, this only assumes that it
was held in the Continental Wall Paper case that
that which was inherently legal can be rendered
illegal by considering in connection with it some-
thing which there is no right to consider at all.
But it is apparent on the face of the opinion in the
Continental Wall Paper case that it affords no
ground for the extreme and contradictory con-
clusion thus deduced from it, since the ruling in
that case was based not upon any supposed right
to import into a legal and valid contract elements
of wrong which there was no right to consider,
but was rested exclusively upon elements of
illegality inhering in the particular contract of sale
in that case, which elements of illegality may be
thus summarized: (a) the relations of the con-
tracting parties to the goods sold, (b) the want
of real ownership in the seller, (c) the peculiar
obligations which were imposed upon the buyer,
and (d) the fact that to allow the nominal seller
to enforce the payment of the price would have
been, in and of itself, directly to sanction and give
effect to a violation of-the anti-trust act inhering
in the sale. It is not necessary to analyze the
facts and issues in the case for the purpose of
pointing out how completely they are covered by
the statement just made, because the opinion of

the court and the reasons stated by the members ~

of the court who dissented, without more make
that fact perfectly clear. Indeeed, not only
does this statement make clear the fact that there
is no conflict between the Connolly case and the
Continental Wall Paper case, but it also establishes
that both cases, the first directly and the other
by a negative pregnant, demonstrate the want of
merit in the contentions here insisted upon.”

D. R. Wilder Manufacturing Co. v. Corn
Products Refining Co., 236 U. S. 165, 177,
59 L. ed. 520, 527.

(19)

It is obvious that none of the elements of illegality
existing in the contract in the Wall Paper case can be
found in the case sub judice. There is nothing in-
herently unlawful in selling sugar. There were no
relations between the contracting parties other than
that of buyer and seller. It is not alleged that the
seller did not own the sugar. No obligations whatever
were exacted of the buyer, save the payment of the
agreed price for the sugar purchased. To allow the
seller to enforce payment of the price would not be to
sanction, or to give effect to any supposed violation
of the Anti-Trust Acts. The facts pleaded show
no relation between the sales and the alleged illegal acts.
The pleadings here were not as strong from the stand-
point of the Defendant as in the Connolly case. They
do not go nearly to the extent of those in the Wilder
case. They fall far short of the allegations in the
Wall Paper case.

These decisions establish that the Sherman Anti-
Trust Act “does not invalidate or prevent a recovery
for the breach of a collateral contract for the manu-
facture and sale of goods by a member of a combina-
tion formed for the purpose of restraining inter-state
trade in such goods.”’

Hadley Dean Plate Glass Co. v. Highland
Glass Co. (C. C. A. 8th Cir., Van Devanter,
Circuit Judge), 143 Fed. 242 (4).

The Wilder case is authority for the proposition
that the Sherman Act prescribed its own penalties and
provides its own remedies for enforcement, and that
these penalties and these remedies are exclusive. “The
Act does not provide that contacts made by the
members of an illegal combination are unenforceable

(20)

and the Court will not undertake to add this additional
penalty. It is only when the contract is an integral
part of the combination and its enforcement will
directly further the combination, that the Court will
refuse to compel a party not a member of the combina-
tion to comply with his contracts. The remedy pro-
vided by the Act is to be enforced on behalf of the
whole public through the Department of Justice.
It was never intended that private individuals in their
own interest, should enforce the Act or claim relief
from their contracts on account of the illegality of the
combination in no way concerned with the contract
itself. The opinion in the Corn Products case follows
a long line of decisions by this Court, in which these
principles have been thoroughly established.

It is now the settled law that the remedies provided
by the Anti-Trust Act of 1890 for enforcing the rights
created by it are exclusive. Thus it has been held that
a bill filed by minority stockholders to set aside a sale
of all the property, of every kind, of a mining company
because the purchase was made in pursuit of the pur-
pose of the purchaser and its associates to monopolize
the production of copper, and to restrain the sale of it
in inter-state commerce in the markets of the world,
will not be entertained.

Geddes v. Anaconda Copper Mining Co.,
254 U. S. 590, 593, 65 L. ed. 425, 430.

See also:

Union Pacific R. Co. v. Frank (C. C. A. 8th
Cir.), 226 Fed. 906.

III.
DEFENSES BASED ON THE LEVER ACT
Defendant amended its answer (Transcript p. 41),

(21)

and set up at great length certain alleged violations of
rules 6, 7, 8 and 10 of the Food Administration, pur-
porting to have been passed pursuant to the authority of
the National Defense, or Lever Act, approved August
17, 1917. (40 Stat. C. 53 p. 276, Comp. St. 1918, and
Sup. 1919, 3115! ¢e,—3115! skk, 3115! gl, —3115! ev.)
It was charged that the Plaintiffs, who had theretofore
been brokers, purchased a large quantity of sugar
from the Savannah Sugar Refining Corporation, which
they resold to the former customers of the Refining
Corporation, this being in pursuance of a conspiracy
between the Plaintiffs and the Refining Corporation
and “others unknown” to withdraw the Refinery
from the market, create the impression that there was
a scarcity of sugar and thereby secure an unreasonable
profit.

1.

Attention is directed to the facts stated in the
several paragraphs of the amended answer. Stripped
of the conclusions of the pleader and the unsupported
insinuations and charges, the facts alleged do not show
any violation of the rules of the Food Administration
which are invoked. Plaintiffs made certain sales to
Defendant at what are charged to be excessive and
unreasonable prices. These sales ‘kept the commodity
moving to the customer in a direct lit and could not
be a violation of Rule 6. In makir | the sales Plain-
tiffs ‘held themselves out as merchauts’ and, therefore,
did not violate Rule 7. The sale was to a jobber, and
not to another broker, hence there could be no viola-
tion of Rule 8. The sale while it is charged to have
been at an unreasonable price was not “for the purpose
of unreasonably increasing the price, or restricting the

(22)

ee a ee ee ees 7 -
—

supply or monopolizing the commodity"’, which prac-
tices are forbidden by Rule 10.

Paragraphs F and L of the amended answer attempt
to charge a conspiracy with the Savannah Sugar
Refining Corporation “and other persons unknown”
for the purpose of hoarding sugar in violation of Section
5 of the Lever Act. But the act complained of is the
sale to the Defendant. Selling is the antithesis of
hoarding. (Transcript pp. 45, 47.)

Paragraph K alleges that the President fixed a
profit of one cent per pound on refined sugar and that
the Plaintiffs exacted a profit of from eight cents to
ten cents a pound. (Transcript p. 47.)

All these allegations amount to is that Plaintiffs sold
sugar at an unreasonable profit and at a profit in
excess of that fixed in the President's order.

2

That part of Section 4 of the Lever Act, as re-enacted
October 22, 1919, making it unlawful for any person
willfully “to make any unjust or unreasonable rate
in handling or dealing in or with any necessaries”,
has been held to be unconstitutional as it fixed no
ascertainable standard of guilt, but “penalized and
punished all acts detrimental to the public interest
when unjust and unreasonable in the estimation of
the Court and jury.”
United States v. L. Cohen Grocery Co., 255
U.S. 81, 65 L. ed. 516.
And the provision penalizing a conspiracy “to
exact excessive prices for any necessaries" was like-
wise held unconstitutional for the same reason.
Weeds, Inc., v. United States, 255 U. S. 109,
65 L. ed. 537.

(23)

nf te gs NM ELE RIG ANAT IIE. SUE NO MBDCE NIE Ma ah DEL A i TENG el ETI Ay BB

But it is insisted that these were criminal cases
and that while the provisions of the statute were held
to be unconstitutional as too vague and indefinite to
constitute crimes, they are nevertheless valid and
enforceable as civil regulations. We do not so under-
stand the effect of the decisions.

An Act of Congress in violation of the Constitution
is

“‘as inoperative as if it had never been passed,
for an unconstitutional act is not a law, and can
neither confer a right or immunity nor operate to
supersede any existing valid law.”

No purpose can be manifested by an unconstitutional
statute “‘since it is not law for any purpose”’.

Chicago I. L. R. Co. v. Hackett, 228 U. S. 559,
567, 57 L. ed. 966, 969.

In the oft quoted language of Mr. Justice Field:

“An unconstitutional Act is not law; it confers
no right; it imposes no duty; it affords no protec-
tion; it creates no office; it is, in legal contempla-
tion, as inoperative as though it had never been

Norton v. Shelby County, 118 U. S. 425, 30
L. ed. 178, 185.

An unconstitutional law “‘is void and is as no
law. An offense created by it is not acrime. A
conviction under it is not merely erroneous but
is illegal and void.”

Ex Parte Siebold, 100 U. S. 371, 25 L. ed.
717, 719.

Counsel for Plaintiff in Error in their brief say:

“The fact that this Court in U. S. v. Cohen
held the Lever Act to be void as a criminal statute

(24)

does not, as said by this Court in Levy Leasing
Co. v. Siegel, 258 U. S. 242, make invalid the
statute as a civil regulation.”’

(Plaintiffs’ brief pp. 6 and 7.)

The Court did not say in the Siegel case that the
Lever Act was good as a civil regulation. The Court
distinguished the Cohen case, saying that case “deal-
ing with definitions of crime, is not applicable”.
This is the only reference to the case in the opinion.
We do not construe this as an intimation that this
unconstitutional statute is valid in any particular or
for any purpose.

Counsel also say that the Court in Addy Co. v.
United States, 264 U. S._—, 68 L. ed. 348 “recognized
the validity of the Lever Act and of the President’s
regulations thereunder.” (Plaintiffs’ brief p. 6.) In
the Addy case the Court was considering Section 25
of the Lever Act and not Section 4, which alone was
involved in the Cohen Company and Weeds cases,
but so far from recognizing the constitutionality of the
Section then under consideration the Court purposely
adopted a construction which enabled it to avoid
deciding its constitutionality. Said Mr. Justice Mc-
Reynolds:

“If it (the order of the Fuel Administration),
be construed as applying to the sales of coal
purchased by petitioners prior to August 23rd
we must decide a grave constitutional question.
Not necessary to consider if another view be
accepted. * * * If this difficulty can be eliminated

by some reasonable construction of the order,
it should be accepted. ”’

And again he said:
“We are not unmindful of the forceful argument
(25)

to the contrary and we consciously refrain from
indicating an opinion respecting the validity of
the order as interpreted.”

Plaintiff cites a number of cases holding the Lever
Act to be valid. Only one of these, Henrikson v.
Pacific Coast Packing Co., 187 Pacific, 377, was based
on Section 4 of the Act. The Henrikson case was
decided a year before the Cohen Grocery Company
case. Doubtless the Supreme Court of Washington
would have followed the Cohen Grocery Company case
had it been decided when the Henrickson case was
under consideration.

The case of Detroit Edison Co. v. Wyatt Coal Co.,
293 Fed. 489 was based on the Twenty-fifth section
of the Act. And Ayulo v. Mollen Thompson & James
Co., 283 Fed. 863 and the other cases cited on page 7
of the Plaintiffs’ brief held that a seller of necessaries
who under Section 5 of the Act and the proclamations
of the President was required to be licensed could not
recover the price of necessaries sold where no license
had been obtained.

No case has been cited, nor do we think any can be
found since the decision in the Cohen Grocery Company
case, which upholds for any purpose those portions
of Section 4 which this Court has declared unconsti-
tutional.

The contention urged in this case, that the Lever
Act while unconstitutional as a penal statute is valid
as a civil regulation, has been well answered by the
Court of Appeals of New York. The Court, speaking
through Cardozo, J. said:

“The United States Supreme Court has held
the prohibition of the Lever Act a nullity be-

(26)

cause too vague to be intelligible. The con-
sequences of its decision are not limited to criminal
prosecutions but apply to civil suits as well.”

‘Standard Chemical Corp. v. Waugh Chemical
Corp., 231 N. Y. 51, 131 N. E. 566.

A similar conclusion was reached by the Court of
Civil Appeals of Texas in

Dunman v. South Texas Lumber Co., 252
S. W. 274.

The Sections of the Act with reference to unreason-
able profits and the fixing of prices and conspiracies
with regard thereto being inoperative and invalid, the
proclamations of the President and the regulations of
the Food Administration passed pursuant to these
invalid provisions are themselves invalid and of no
force, and Plaintiffs cannot be called into account
criminally nor do they lose any rights civilly on ac-
count of the violation of any of these administrative
regulations.

3.

It may be suggested that the authority of the
President ‘to make regulations and issue orders essential
to the national security and defense, to secure an
adequate supply and an equitable distribution of
foods’ was derived from the first Section of the Act,
and that the licensing system was provided for in the
fifth Section, neither of which have been declared
invalid by this Court.

The first Section is the preamble of the Act, stating
in general terms its purpose and the necessity for
its adoption and conferring upon the President the
authority to issue such orders as were essentfal to

(27);

accomplish the results proposed. This Section did
not give the President any power to fix prices. The
only provision on the subject, in the entire Act so far
as foods are concerned, are the two clauses of the fourth
Section which the Court has declared to be invalid.

This contention also has been considered by the
Court of Appeals of New York in the Standard Chem-
ical Company case, supra. Said Judge Cardozo:

“The promulgation by the President of an
order fixing prices did not save the statute which
it was intended to effectuate. The provision
‘to make such regulations and issue such orders
as are essential effectively to carry out the pro-
visions of this Act’ cannot be read as a delegation
of guthority to fix the prices for all articles which
the statute classifies as necessaries. Congress
prohibited inequitable and unreasonable conduct
but there is no evidence that in doing so it made
the President its delegate to design and standard-
ize the patterns of equity and reason.”’

And the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit said:

“The Food Administration could not under
the provision of the Act of Congress (citing the
several sections of the Lever Act), which created
it, arbitrarily fix the price at which future sales
should be made.”’

Pharr & Sons Ltd. v. C. D. Kenny Co., 272
Fed. 37, 41.

In this case a certiorari was denied.
Pharr & Sons Ltd. v. C. D. Kenny Co., 257
U. S. 649, 66 L. ed. 415.

In a suit brought by the Plaintiffs in the instant
case upon a similar contract, the Defendant being

(28)

represented by the same distinguished Counsel who °
now appear for the Defendant in the case sub judice,
defenses in parctically the same terms were interposed,
and the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
sustained an order of District Judge Evans striking the
defenses on demurrer. The Court speaking through
King, Circuit Judge, said:

“Defendant further pleaded that under the
Lever Act the United States controlled the price
of sugar and that the President had fixed a profit
of one cent per pound on sales of sugar at whole-
sale, and that therefore the only profit in contem-
plation of the parties was one cent per pound.
We think this defense was properly stricken on
demurrer under the ruling of this Court in Pharr
& Sons Ltd. v. Kenny Co., 272 Fed. 37, 41.

“The special pleas alleging violations of the
Lever Act as grounds for nonliability of the de-
fendant under its contract for the purchase of
sugar from plaintiffs afforded no ground of defense,
and the demurrers thereto were properly sus-
tained. There were no facts alleged which showed
that the contracts were entered into otherwise
than voluntarily by the defendant, nor any
sufficient allegations of any fraudulent misrepre-
sentation of facts by which its agreement was
induced. The defendant was therefore bound by
the agreements made with plaintiffs. Wilder Mfg.
Co. v. Corn Products Co., 11 Ga. App. 588, 75
S. E. 918; id. 236 U. S. 165, 35 Sup. Ct. 398, 59
L. ed. 520, Ann. Cas. 1916 A, 118.”

W. H. Goff Co. v. Lamborn & Co., 281 Fed.
613, 617.

This Court denied a certiorari in this case also.

W. H. Goff Co. v. Lamborn & Co., 260 U. S.
734, 67 L. ed. 487.

(29)

4,

Section 5 of the Lever Act authoritizes the licensing
of dealers in commodities classed as necessaries, and
provides as the penalty for a violation of the rules
governing licensees, the revocation of the license.

This Section further provides:

‘‘Whenever the President shall find that any
storage charge, commission, profit, or practice of
any licensee is unjust, or unreasonable, or dis-
criminatory and unfair, or wasteful, and shall
order such licensee, within a reasonable time
fixed in the order, to discontinue the same, unless
such order, which shall recite the facts found, is
revoked or suspended, such licensee shall, within
the time prescribed in the order, discontinue
such unjust, unreasonable, discriminatory and
unfair storage charge, commission, profit or prac-
tice. The President may, in lieu of any such
unjust, unreasonable, discriminatory and unfair
storage charge, commission, profit or practice,
find what is a just reasonable, non-discriminatory
and fair storage charge, commission, profit or
practice, and in any proceeding brought in any
court such order of the President shall be prima
facie evidence.”’ (Emphasis ours.)

It is manifest from this Section that it was not
the purpose of Congress to confer upon the President
the authority to fix by general rule the profit at which
future sales of necessaries could be made. It was a
condition precedent to the exercise of authority by the
President that he should find a licensee to be making
an unjust or unreasonable charge or profit. There is
no suggestion that in the case sub judice he ever so
found as to the Plaintiff. The finding of the President
as to what is a just or reasonable profit was not in-

(30)

EUR Generate eae

tended to be general in its application but was to
apply only to the particular ‘icensee who had there-
tofore been exacting, or attempting to exact, an un-
reasonable or unjust rate or charge. The language of
the Act is that whenever the President finds that the
profit “of any licensee”’ (not of sellers generally), is
unjust or unreasonable, he may order “such licensee”
to discontinue the same but his order must recite the
facts found. This contemplates an investigation as to
the conditions under which the particular licensee was

doing business and as to the profit charged.
If the Act had authorized the arbitrary fixing of a

profit to be charged, it would have violated the due
process clause of the Constitution, for,

“The due process clause requires that every
man shall have the protection of his day in court
and the benefit of the general law—a law which
hears before it condemns, which proceeds not
arbitrarily or capriciously, but upon inquiry, and
renders judgment only after trial, sothat any citizen
shall hold his life, liberty, property and immunities
under the protection of the general rules which
govern society.”

Truax v. Corrigan, 257 U. S. 312, 332, 66 L.
ed. 254, 263.

“The right to contract about his own affairs
is part of the liberty of the individual protected by
the due process clause of the Federal Constitu-
tion.”

Adkins v. Childrens’ Hospital, 261 U. S.
525, 67 L. ed. 785.

Plaintiffs’ business is not clothed with a public use
so as to be subject to regulations by the public.
McFarland v. American Sugar Ref. Co., 241
U.S. 79, 60 L. ed. 899.

(31)

“Tt has never been supposed, since the adoption
of the Constitution, that the business of the
butcher, or the baker, the tailor, the wood chopper,
the mining operator, or the miner was clothed with
such a public interest that the price of his product
or his wages could be fixed by state regulation. * * *

“An ordinary producer, manufacturer, or shop-
keeper may sell or not sell, as he likes; and while
this feature does not necessarily exclude businesses
from the class clothed with a public interest, it
usually distinguishes private from quasi public
occupations. * * *

“But never has regulation of food preparation
been extended to fixing wages or the prices to the
public, as in the cases cited above, where fear of
monopoly prompted, and was held to justify,
regulation of rates. There is no monopoly in the
preparation of foods. The prices charged by plaintiff
in error are, it is conceded, fixed by competition
throughout the country at large.”’

Wolff Packing Co. v. Court of Industrial
Relations, 262 U. S. 522, 67 L. ed. 1103,
1109, 1110.

We think it is clear, therefore, that the rules of the
Food Administration so far as they attempt to fix
the price of commodities classed as necessaries can
derive no force either from the First or the Fifth Sec-
tions of the Act. Whatever validity it may have been
thought they possessed was by virtue of the Fourth
Section, the unconstitutionality of which has been
finally established by the decisions in the Cohen
Grocery Company and Weeds cases.

(32)

5.

But it may be contended that some of the rules
of the Food Administration, which the Plaintiffs are
charged with violating, were made with a view to
preventing the hoarding of necessaries, and that the
Food Administration had the right to adopt these
rules under the licensing provisions of the Fifth Section
and the provisions against hoarding in the Sixth Sec-
tion.

Both of these Sections provide penalties for their
violation. Neither of them undertake to declare con-
tracts made in violation of them to be invalid. Since
the statute creates the right and provides a special
remedy for its violation, that remedy is exclusive.

“Where a statute creates a new right or offense,
and provides a specific remedy or punishment,
they alone apply. Such provisions are exclusive.”

Barnet v. Muncie National Bank, 98 U. S.
555, 25 L. ed. 212.

Wilder Mfg. Co. v. Corn Prod. Co. 236 U. S.
165, 59 L. ed. 520;

Oates v. First National Bank, 100 U. S. 239,
25 L. ed. 580.

6.

There is a popular notion that Congress under the
War Powers may do virtually anything it pleases
without regard to Constitutional limitations or the
guarantees for the protection of the citizen. This
Court has set its face firmly against any such doctrine.
The theory was advanced in the Cohen Grocery Co.
case to sustain the price fixing regulations of this Act,
but said Mr. Chief Justice White:

(33)

“We are of opinion that the court below was
clearly right in ruling that the decisions of this
court indisputably establish that the mere existence
of a state of war could not suspend or change the
operation upon the power of Congress of the
guaranties and limitations of the 5th and 6th
Amendments as to questions such as we are here
passing upon. Ex parte Milligan, 4 Wall. 2,
121-127, 18 L. ed. 281, 295-297; Monongahela
Nav. Co. v. United States, 148 U. S. 312, 336,
37 L. ed. 463, 471, 13 Sup. Ct. Rep. 622; United
States v. Joint Traffic Asso. 171 U. S. 505,
571, 43 L. ed. 259, 288, 19 Sup. Ct. Rep. 25;
McCray v. United States, 195 U. S. 27, 61, 49
L. ed. 78, 97, 24 Sup. Ct. Rep. 769, 1 Ann. Cas.
561; United States v. Cress, 243 U. S. 316, 326,
61 L. ed. 746, 752, 37 Sup. Ct. Rep. 380; Hamil-
ton v. Kentucky Distilleries & Warehouse Co.
251 U. S. 146, 156, 64 L. ed. 194, 199, 40 Sup.
Ct. Rep. 106. It follows that, in testing the
operation of the Constitution upon the subject
here involved, the question of the existence or
nonexistence of a state of war becomes negligible,
and we put it out of view.”’

United States v. Cohen Gro. Co., 255, U. S.
81, 88, 65 L. ed. 516, 520.

#

Even if any valid constitutional provision of the
Act or regulation of the Food Administration based
thereon can be found which the facts alleged show the
Plaintiffs violated (and it is significant that the able
counsel for the Defendant has not attempted to point
out any such provision or regulation), there is nothing
to indicate that Congress intended the violation of
the Act should render contracts of sale void and the
purchase money uncollectible.

(34)

“Where a statute prohibits an act or annexes a
penalty to its commission, it is true that the act
is made unlawful, but it does not follow that the
unlawfulness of the act was meant by the Legis-
lature to avoid a contract made in contravention
of it.”

Harris v. Runnels, 12 Howard, 78, 13 L. ed.
901.
The rule announced in this case has been repeatedly
applied by this Court and has become an established
canon of interpretation.

Fritts v. Palmer, 132 U. S. 282, 33 L. ed. 317.
Logan County Bank v. Townsend, 139 U. S.

67; 35 L. ed. 107.
Dunlop v. Mercer (C. C. A. 8th Cir.), 156 Fed.
545.

Before a contract can be held illegal as violative
of a penal statute it must be clearly within the pro-
hibitions of the law and if there is a fair doubt as to
whether it is embraced within such prohibitions the
doubt will be resolved in favor of the contract.

In re Johnson, 224 Fed. 180, 185, 186.
Guffey-Gillespie Oil Co. v. Wright, 281 Fed.
787.

It is now well settled that when a statute imposes
specific penalties for its violation, and the object of the
statute can be accomplished without declaring invalid
contracts in violation of its prohibitions, the inference
is, that it was not the legislative intent to render such
contracts illegal and unenforceable.

Adams Express Co. v. Darden, 286 Fed. 65.

“The statute does not declare such a security
void. It is silent upon the subject. If Congress
so meant, it would have been easy to say so; and

(35)

it is hardly to be believed that this would not have
been done, instead of leaving the question to be
settled by the uncertain result of litigation and
judicial decision.”
Union National Bank v. Matthews, 98 U. S.
621, 627; 25 L. ed. 188, 189.

This is the well established rule. Where the penalties
for violation of an act are prescribed but none of them
includes the invalidation of contracts, generally they
are not invalid where the act is violated.

v. St. Nicholas Bank, 146 U. S.
240, 36 L. ed. 956.
Hanover National Bank v. First National
Bank, 109 Fed. 421, 426.
Border National Bank v. American National
Bank, 282 Fed. 73, 75.

While considering the question of legislative intent
it should be borne in mind that by the Act of December
31, 1919 (41 Stat. L. 386), Congress in terms enacted
that sugar should be permitted to be sold and to
circulate freely in every portion of the United States.
The contracts involved in the case sub judice were
made in the summer of 1920, after this Act had gone
into effect.

The situation then is this: Section 4 of the Lever
Act so far as applicable to the facts of the instant case
has been declared unconstitutional; Sections 5 and 6,
as did Section 4, provide specific penalties for their
violation which may well be considered as exclusive.
Congress did not expressly declare that sales made in
violation of the Act should be void; Congress did
declare that after December 31, 1919, sugar should be
permitted to be sold and to circulate freely in every
portion of the United States.

(36)

%

It is hardly conceivable that through an Act as
indefinite and uncertain in its terms as the Food
Control Act it could have been intended by Congress
to call in question before juries over the country the
legality of every contract entered into for the sale of a
necessary of life. Surely, the business world would
never have consented to make sales had this been recog-
nized as the legislative intent. Even if it had been
so intended by the original Act, it seems clear that
since the amendment of 1919, mentioned above,
Congress has put the question beyond the possibility
of debate.

If the Defendant's contention should besustained, it
would follow that a purchaser could take goods worth
hundreds of thousands of dollars, keep them and use
them as his own, or sell and dispose of them, refuse to
pay, and successfully resist all efforts to collect the
purchase price.

The remedy provided by Section 5 for an unfair
practice or the exaction of an excessive rate or charge
is revocation of the license. The remedy so provided
is exclusive, and the Court should not add a further
penalty by declaring contracts of this character void.
Think of the inequalities that would arise! On a small
contract, the seller might be punished by the loss of a
modest sum. On a large contract, the penalty might
be millions of dollars.

The following language of Sir George Jessel, M. R.,
in Printing, Ete.,Co. v. Sampson, L. R. 19 Eq. 465, has
been quoted with approval by this Court:

“It must not be forgotten that you are not to
extend arbitrarily those rules which say that a
given contract is void as being against public
policy, because if there is one thing which more

(37)

than another public policy requires it is that men
of full age and competent understanding shall
have the utmost liberty of contracting, and that
their contracts when entered into freely and
voluntarily, shall be held sacred and _ shall be
enforced by courts of justice. Therefore, you
have this paramount public policy to consider—
that you are not lightly to interfere with this
freedom of contract.”’

Baltimore & Ohio Ry. v. Voight, 176 U. S.
498, 505, 44 L. ed. 560, 565.

It will be remembered that the illegality declared
by the Food Control Act was not an illegality of a
contract of sale—the act does not prohibit the sale of
necessaries. On the contrary, it was intended to
encourage them. Sales in violation of the Act were
not made unlawful. The illegality only inhered (if
at all), in the excessive rate of charge. It differs,
therefore, from such Acts as forbade the sale of in-
toxicating liquor, without complying with certain
conditions precedent to the right of sale, such as the
obtaining of a license. For these reasons cases like
Miller v. Ammon, 145 U. S. 421, 36 L. ed. 759, cited
by Defendant are not in point.

The case of Burck v. Taylor, 152 U. S. 634, 38 L.
ed. 578, cited by opposing counsel, seems also to be
inapposite. In that case the Court had no statute
before it for construction but only the terms of a con-
tract, and it was clearly recognized that not every
contract in contravention of a statute is void, and the
courts will search the language of the statute to see
whether it was the intent of the makers that a con-
tract in contravention of it should be void or not.

The case of Waskey v. Hammer, 223 U. S. 85, 56 L.
ed. 359, involved two placer mining claims in Alaska,

(38)

which had been claimed by a United States Mineral
Surveyor in violation of an Act of Congress which
prohibited employees of the Land Office from entering
or becoming interested directly in any of the public
lands of the United States. Such statutes, of course,
should be construed broadly in the interest of the general
government.

Cases which hold that contracts for the sale of
commodities for which licenses were required under the
5th Section of the Lever Act and the Proclamations
of the President passed pursuant thereto are controlled
by the principle announced in Miller v. Ammon,
supra. The 5th Section provides that no person shall
engage in or carry on any business for which a license
is required unless he shall secure and hold a license
issued pursuant to the Section, and the engaging in
business by an unlicensed dealer is punishable by
fine and imprisonment. Congress deemed it necessary
for the winning of the war that government control
over necessaries should be established. It therefore
provided for the licensing of dealers in these necessaries
and made the obtaining of a license a prerequisite to
engaging in business. The securing of a license was
a definite, specific act. The failure to procure it was
illegal and it has therefore been held that contracts
made by an unlicensed dealer were illegal and unen-
forceable. But this is altogether different from the
acts complained of in the instant case. Here it is
charged that the Plaintiffs, licensed dealers, made an
illegal profit and the contracts are sought to be set
aside upon this ground. The difficulty of applying
the statute can be no better stated than in the language

of the Chief Justice in the Cohen Grocery Company
case:

(39)

“Observe that the section forbids no specific
or definite act. It confines the subject-matter of
the investigations which it authorizes to no
element essentially inhering in the transaction as
to which it provides. It leaves open, therefore,
the widest conceivable inquiry, the scope of
which no one can foresee, and the result of which
no one can foreshadow or adequately guard
against. In fact, we see no reason to doubt the
soundness of the observation of the court below
in its opinion, to the effect that, to attempt to
enforce the section would be the exact equivalent of
an effort to carry out a statute which in terms
merely penalized and punished all acts detri-
mental to the public interest when unjust and
unreasonable in the estimation of the court and
jury. And that this is not a mere abstraction
finds abundant ‘emonstration in the cases now
before us; since in the briefs in these cases the
conflicting results which have arisen from the
painstaking attempts of enlightened judges in
seeking to carry out the statute in cases brought
before them are vividly portrayed. * * * This condi-
tion would be additionally obvious if we stopped
to recur to the persistent efforts which, the records
disclose, were made by administrative officers,
doubtless inspired by a zealous effort to discharge
their duty, to establish a standard of their own tobe
used as a basis to render the section possible of
execution.”

Surely it was not the purpose of Congress to declare
void and unenforceable contracts which a Court or jury
might perhaps conclude were made in violation of
such a standard, or rather we should say, where there
was no standard capable of enforcement.

In the language of the Court of Appeals of New
York:

“A prohibition so indefinite as to be unin-

(40)

ety

! Se es

Oot mm hehe 1 men QO SS CD he PR

Oo Oo

telligible is not a prohibition by which conduct
can be governed. It is not a rule at all; it is
merely exhortation and entreaty. The Act, as
the Supreme Court construes it, rejects all ob-
jective standards, all determinate or determinable
criteria, the test of practice or precedent or the
market or the vicinage. Rejecting these, it sets
the individual adrift upon the unchartered sea
of subjective prejudice and favor. The arbitrium
boni viri, unrestrained and undirected, becomes the
test of right and wrong. I donot say that the law-
making body is incompetent, in time of war, to
compel the trade to accept such prices for his
commodities as juries may consider fair. That
question is not here. I am concerned now with
the question whether there is an offense against
the public order, bringing down upon his contracts,
as a consequence, the penalty of illegality and
forfeiture if he fails to adjust behavior to ideals
of equity and wisdom as varied as the minds of
men. Offending contracts are not merely modified,
their exactions scaled down to conform to the find-
ing of right reason as declared by court or jury
after the event. They are wiped out altogether,
their exactions adjudged illegal, their makers
viewed as malefactors, for failure to conform to
the unknown and unknowable. I do not attempt
to consider whether the act might have been so
restricted or interpreted as to save its validity
either wholly or in part. Since the decision of the
Supreme Court, the fact of indefiniteness is no
longer open to inquiry. The lack of any standard,
either expressly established, or ascertaniable with
approximate certainty from sources allunde is to
be accepted as a datum. Disobedience is im-
possible unless there is something to be obeyed.’’

Standard Chem., Etc., Corp. v. Waugh Chem-
ical Corp., 231 N. Y. 51, 131 N. E. 566, 567.

(41)

IV.
THE REJECTED EVIDENCE

The Defendant attempted to prove by its President
and also by another of its officers and by a local jobber
specific sales of sugar made by them to the retail
trade in and around Macon, Georgia, furing the period
following the rejection of the sugar by the Defendant
and its resale by the Plaintiffs. This evidence was
excluded.

The suit involved 300 barrels of sugar, a barrel con-
taining 350 pounds, or 105,000 pounds. The question
was whether the Plaintiffs exercised proper diligencein
the resale of this sugar after its rejection by the De-
fendant. The Plaintiffs introduced market quotations
from the standard trade journal (Willett & Gray’s
Sugar Bulletin), and proved by two uncontradicted
witnesses that the prices quoted obtained in the
Macon market during the period in question. The
resales realized the full market price as shown by these
quotations.

The testimony offered by the Defendant and ex-
cluded by the Court tended to establish at what
prices certain local jobbers sold small lots to retail
customers. It could not illustrate the market price
of sugar in thewholesaletrade, thatis, refiners’ prices to
wholesale customers. Defendant endeavored to show
that jobbers added a small percentage to the refiners’
prices and that by deducting this percentage the re-
finers’ price could be established. But its witnesses
admitted that during the period in question the market
was so demoralized that there was no standard, the
witnesses stating that they sold sugar for what they

(42)

could get regardless of what it cost them. There was
therefore no basis of calculation. The testimony was
without probative value and could only have tended
to confuse the jury and furnish a false basis of calcula-
tion.

It has frequently been held that market reports in
standard trade journals are recognized authority for
the determination of market values.

“Market reports in newspapers, such as the
commercial world rely upon, are competent as
evidence of state of markets. Such reports,
which are based upon a general survey of the whole
market, and are constantly received and acted
upon by dealers, are far more satisfactory and
reliable than individual entries, or individual
sales or inquiries.”

Sisson v. Cleveland R. R. Co., 14 Mich. 489,
90 Amer. Dec. 252.

“Where prices of grain on the open market with
specific dates are properly shown by authentic
publications or trade bulletins accepted by grain
dealers generally as standards, testimony of a
grain dealer as to individual transactions or bar-
gains on the board of trade is not admissible on
the issue of market prices.”

Fahey v. Updike Elevator Co. (Neb.), 166
N. W. 622.

Gerhart v. Harris County (Texas Civil Ap-
peals), 244 S. W. 1103.

The question was not whether the sugar brought
its full market price but only whether the salefor the
account of the Defendant was fairly conducted after
Proper notice to the Defendant and with an honest
effort to get the best price obtainable. Plaintiffs’
witnesses detailed at considerable length the efforts
which they made to dispose of the sugar. They des-
tribed the chaotic condition which existed in the sugar

(43)

trade, the extreme difficulty in disposing of any large
quantity for the reason that most dealers had con-
siderable stocks of high priced sugar which they were
endeavoring to sell on a rapidly declining market
to save themselves from as much loss as possible, the
fact that buying was altogether “hand to mouth”.
But in spite of these conditions the sugar was sold at
the market price as shown by the recognized market
quotations. It is submitted that the fact that the
Defendant may have sold to certain retail customers
a few hundred pounds at a slightly increased price did
not show, or tend to show, that Plaintiffs did not
exercise due diligence and make reasonable efforts to
obtain a fair price for the sugar sold.

“Tf the vendee in a sale of goods refuses to
take and pay for them, the vendor may sell the
property, acting for this purpose as agent of the
vendee, and recover the difference between the
contract price and the price of resale. When the
vendee is notified by the vendor of the intention
to resell, and after such notice a sale is properly
made, the vendee is conclusively bound by the
resale and the amount realized under it.”

Mendel v. Miller & Sons, 126 Ga. 834 (1);

Green v. Ansley, 92 Ga. 647;

Davis Sulphur Ore Co. v. Atlanta Guano Co.,
109 Ga. 607, 609.

V.
THE VERDICT WAS PROPERLY DIRECTED

The Defendant’s whole case was planted on the
invalidity of the contracts which it admitted executing
and breaching. After the sugar was rejected notice
was given of Plaintiffs’ intention to resell and the

(44)

prices which were offered for the sugar were submitted
to the Defendant and it was given an opportunity to
raise these offers. The sales were made at the prices
of which Defendant was advised and the Defendant
was given credit for the amount received.

Defendant contends that it is a question for the
jury as to whether or not the resales werehadwithin a
reasonable time after the sugar was rejected. This is
of course true, if under the circumstances surrounding
the transaction there could be any question as to the
reasonableness of the time. But there was no such
question in this case.

The sugar was deliverable in installments. The
July installment was shipped, accepted and paid for.
The August shipment was actually made in accordance
with shipping instructions given by Defendant. But
when this shipment arrived Defendant refused to
accept it. At Defendant’s suggestion it was stored
“for the good of whom it may concern.” The De-
fendant continued to decline to accept this shipment
or to order out the September installment.

On September 27th, Plaintiffs requested shipping
instructions for the September portions of the con-
tracts and notified Defendant that failure to order out
the sugar within forty-eight hours would be treated
as a breach of the contracts and the sugar would be
sold for its account.

September 30th was the last delivery day under
the contracts. On October 11th Plaintiffs secured a
bid for the sugar already shipped and communicated
this bid by wire to Defendant. Defendant declining
to raise the bid, the offer was accepted and the sugar
sold. On October 15th, Plaintiffs received an offer
for the remainder of the sugar, which it also promptly

(45)

communicated to the Defendant. Defendant making
no better offer, this bid was accepted, and the sugar
sold. There was a slight delay in shipping the sugar,
however, and the purchaser declined to take it. It
was held at destination for a few days but finally
sold to the same customer at one-fourth cent per
pound over the bid of October 15th, Defendant being
given benefit of this increase in the price.

As was said by the Court in directing the verdict:

“There was no obligation to sell the sugar
before the first of October. The sale was made
one-half on the 11th and one-half on the 16th of
October. Therewasevidence on the part of the
Plaintiffs, that of Mr. Ruan and Mr. Lamborn,
as to the various efforts which were made to sell
the sugar. It was shown that with this most
unusual condition of the sugar market, and
particularly with this Plaintiff—there is no evi-
dence as I recall that contradicts their testimony
as to the facts or the diligence they exercised, or
to show affirmatively, or impliedly, that what
they did was not reasonable diligence under all
the circumstances.”

There being no evidence to sustain a verdict for
the Defendant, the Court properly directed the jury
to find for the Plaintiffs.

Empire State Cattle Co. v. Atchison etc. R.
Co. 210 U. S. 1, 52 L. ed. 931.

Where the evidence is so conclusive that it would
be the duty of the Court to set aside a verdict in favor
of the other party a verdict should be directed. The
rule as to a scintilla or modicum of issuable testimony
which prevails in some of the states does not apply
in the Federal Courts.

McQuire v. Blount, 199 U. S. 142, 148; 50 L.
ed. 125, 130.

(46)

~ ag v. Lamborn & Co., 281 Fed. 614 (10),

18;

-_ v. I. C. R. R. Co., 268 Fed. 915 (3),
17.

OTHER ASSIGNMENTS ABANDONED

There were other assignments of error but the
ease is controlled by the questions already discussed.
The Defendant in its brief makes no reference to the
other assignments and we understand they are aban-
doned.

Home Benefit Association v. Sargent, 142
U. S. 691, 35 L. ed. 1160, 1164.

Respectfully submitted,

ORVILLE A. PARK,
ARCHIBALD B. LOVETT,
Attorneys for Defendant in Error.

JONES, PARK & JOHNSTON,
HITCH, DENMARK & LOVETT,
Of Counsel

—aV=S- : Te w= 6

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0170%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
