# Motion to Dismiss — Home Telephone & Telegraph Co. of Spokane v. Kuykendall

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0027%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1924
- **Citation:** 265 U.S. 206

## Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

>

OCTOBER TERM, 1923

THE HoME TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH |

CoMPANY OF SPOKANE, a corporation,
Appellant,
v.

E. V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Pub-
lic Works of Washington, Hance H.
CLELAND, as Supervisor of Public
Utilities of Washington, and Frank} No. 539
R. SPINNING, as Supervisor of Trans-
portation of Washington, the persons
constituting the Department of Pub-
lic Works of the State of Washington,
and JoHN H. Dunbar, Attorney Gen-
eral of the State of Washington.

Appellees. -

MOTION TO DISMISS

JoHN H. DuNBAR,
Attorney General of the State of Washington,

Raymonp W. CLIFrorp,
Assistant Attorney General of the State of Washington,

H. C. Broptr,
Counsel for Appellees.

‘Sit ainda tush

Ee a ee es ee

INDEX.
Page
Acknowledgment of Service............... 3
eee ian ea Kaos ew As «RAE 5)
SN Be ERM 5 0s 5.6 soos dace Ke ae 7
ES DO RE OES Pee ee ery 8
ee en ere ee 11

Cases cited:

American Book Co. v. Kansas, 193 U.S.
UAE RE ae enn Pare 11

Atherton Mills v. Johnston, 259 U.S. 16 11

Brownlow v. Schwartz, 67 L. Ed. 288.... 11

Heitmuller v. Stokes, 256 U.S.399..... 11

Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651........... 11

Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U, 8S. 87, 64 L. Ed.
| RO eee OC Pe re uray wee 11

In the Supreme Court of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1923

THE HOME TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH |
COMPANY OF SPOKANE, a corporation, y
Appellant, |
v. | No. 539
E. V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Pub-
lic Works of Washington, et a/.,
Appellees.

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF SERVICE

Service of a copy of the within Notice, Motion
to Dismiss, Statement and Argument is hereby ad-
mitted by the undersigned at Seattle, Washington,
this 11th day of February, 1924.

C. M. BRACELEN,

Orro B. Rupp,

H. D. PILussury,

FraNK T. Post,

W. V. TANNER,
Counsel for Appellant.

PAL ASP NIG Ve Aka lS BRAID So I RR dh eA ee *

In the Supreme Court of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1923

THE HomrE TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH |
COMPANY OF SPOKANE, a corporation,
Appellant,

v. + No. 539 :
E. V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Pub- :
lic Works of Washington, et al.,

Appellees.

NOTICE

To THe Home TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH COMPANY
oF SPOKANE, a corporation, Appellant, and to
(. M. BraceLen, Orro B. Rupp, H. D. PrLusBury,

Frank T. Post and W. V. TANNER, counsel for
appellant:

Please take notice that on Monday, March 24,
1924, at 12 o’clock, noon, or as soon thereafter as
counsel may be heard, the appellees herein will sub-
mit to the consideration of the court their motion to
dismiss, copy of which is attached.

JOHN H. DunsBark,

Attorney General of the State of Washington,

Raymonp W. C.irrorpb,
Assistant Attorney Generai of the State of Washington,

H. C. Bropte,

Counsel for Appellees.

emp

a es - _ - ct +t
——— Ns Aah ARRAS al

In the Supreme Court of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1923

THE HoMrE TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH )
COMPANY OF SPOKANE, a corporation,
Appellant,
Vv. + No. 539
EK. V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Pub-
lie Works of Washington, et al.,
Appellees.)

MOTION TO DISMISS

Now come the appellees herein and move the
court to dismiss the appeal from an order denying
an interlocutory injunction herein upon the follow-
ing grounds:

I.

That this court will not review the order denying
an interlocutory injunction for the reason that the
question of relief pendente lite has become moot by
dismissal of the complaint therein.

JoHN H. DuNBarR,
Attorney General of the State of Washington,

RayMonp W. CLirrorp,
Assistant Attorney General of the State of Washington,

H. C. Bropie,
Counsel for Appellees.

at

On

STATEMENT.

For the purpose of the motion hereinbefore set

out, the facts involved may be stated as follows:
The Home Telephone and Telegraph Company of
Spokane, on the 24th day of April, 1925, filed in the
district court of the United States, for the western dis-
trict of Washington, southern division, its bill of com-
plaint against the appellees herein. In said complaint,
in addition to other matters, the appellants prayed for
a temporary injunction to restrain the appellees
herein from enforcing a certain rate order of the de-
partment of public works of the state of Washing-
ton. On April 30, 1923, the application of the ap-
pellant for an interlocutory injunction came on to
be heard before the statutory court of three judges
provided for in section 266 of the Judicial Code, and
said application was denied, and from said order this
appeal was prosecuted to this court,
Thereafter such proceedings were had in said
case in the district court as resulted in the entry of
an order dismissing the bill of complaint therein by
the said court on the 5th day of January, 1924. From
said order of dismissal, an appeal has been taken to
this court and is now pending herein as cause No.
aiadiedait The transcript of record in said appeal from
said final order has not yet been printed, but for the
information of the court in passing on this motion,
said order of dismissal is set forth in full as follows:

' (ih Soh a Reb AREER Sa AALAND
a
4

9
In the District Court of the United
States, for the Western District
of Washington :
SOUTHERN DIVISION
IN EQUITY, No. 167-E

THe Home 'TRLEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH }

Plaintiff, |
¥. |
KE. V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Pub- |

lie Works of Washington, Hance H. |

CLELAND, as Supervisor of Public |

Utilities of Washington, and Frank } DECREE

R. SPINNING, as Supervisor of Trans-

portation of Washington, the persons

constituting the Department of Pub- |

lie Works of the State of Washington, |

and Joux H. Dexpar, Attorney Gen- |

eral of the State of Washington.
Defendants. 3

This cause having come on regularly for hearing

TS

in this court on the 31st day of December, 1923, upon
the defendants” motion to dismiss the bill of com-
plaint filed herein, plaintiff being represented by
Messrs. Otto B. Rupp and W. V. Tanner, its solici-
tors, and the defendants being represented by John
H. Dunbar, Attorney General of the State of Wash-
ington, and Raymond W. Clifford, his assistant, and
Messrs. H. C. Brodie, Thomas J. L. Kennedy,
KE. K. Murray, J. M. Geraghty and Alex M.

10

Winston, their solicitors, and after hearing § the
arguments of counsel for the respective parties, the
court having announced its oral opinion and decision
that the motion to dismiss should be sustained upon
the grounds that the bill of complaint herein does not
state any matters of equity entitling the complainant
to the relief prayed for; that said bill of complaint
does not state facts sufficient to entitle complainant
to any relief against the defendants; and that said
bill has been prematurely brought, by reason of the
failure to exhaust the right of plaintiff to relief in
the superior and supreme courts of the state of Wash-
ington;

Now, on this 5th day of January, 1924, the
parties herein now appearing by their respective
counsel, on motion of the defendants, pursuant to
such decision of the court, it is by the court hereby
Orperep, Apsupcep and Decrrep that said motion
to dismiss be and it is hereby granted, and that said
bill of complaint and this cause of action be and the
same hereby are dismissed, and that the defendants
have and recover their costs and disbursements
herein.

To the foregoing, and each and every part
thereof, the plaintiff excepts, and its exception is al-
lowed.

Done in open court this 5th day of January,
1924.

Epwarp E. Cusi MAN,
Judge.

11

ARGUMENT.
1.
The application for an interlocutory injunction
was an application for relief pendente lite, and upon
the dismissal of the litigation by the foregoing final

order, no relief pendente lite could be afforded and
the question of such relief becomes a moot question,

and under innumerable decisions of this court, a
moot question will not be passed upon.

Brownlow v. Schwartz, 67 L. ed. 288,

Atherton Mills v. Johnston, 259 U.S. 16,

Heitmuller v. Stokes, 256 U.S. 359,

American Book Company v. Kansas, 193
U.S. 49,

Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651,

and numerous other cases cited in the above cases.

If.

When an appeal has been taken from an order
denying an interlocutory injunction, and thereafter
an order is entered dismissing the complaint and an
appeal is prosecuted from such final order of dis-
missal, the interlocutory appeal should be dismissed
and the case considered on the appeal from the final
order of dismissal.

Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37, 64 L. ed, 445.

LEG BEGIN NRT DELLE LESTE LOIRE LONI AEN Fo a LO ORES SNE

babel tinted

12
It is therefore respectfully submitted that the
motion to dismiss the appeal from the order denying

an interlocutory injunction should be g ‘anted.

Joun H. DUNBAR,
Attorney General of the State of Washington,

Raymonp W. CLIFFORD,
Assistant Attorney General of the State of Washington,
H. C. Bropir,
Counsel for Appellees.

RARE eS PARAL DAM Bd Se RT ae Sea een hee Kits

In the Supreme Court of the United States,
OCTOBER TERM, 1923.

THE HOME TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH COM-

PANY OF SPOKANE, a corporation, Appellant,
v.

E.V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Public Works of Wash-
ington, HANCE H. CLELAND, as Supervisor of Public
Utilities of Washington, and FRANK R. SPINNING, as
Supervisor of Transportation of Washington, the persons
constituting the Department of Public Works of the State
of Washington, and JOHN H. DUNBAR, Attorney General
of the State of Washington, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM AN ORDER DENYING AN
INTERLOCUTORY INJUNCTION.

Brief of Appellant in Opposition to Motion
to Dismiss Appeal.

Otto B. Rupp,
C. M. BRACELEN, FRANK T. Post,
W. V. TANNER, H. D. Prctssury,

Of Counsel. Solicitors for Appellant.

Law Brief Printing Co., Seattle

Sk seR ee ERA SOM Ik RBs ec Like SADA TC Ra

Re peiain ah a ede aA veer Sc ep 2 eS wee RS

Hh Ke ATL Ra NE iis PIONS Le A TOOL AE CLEAR EEO

No. 339.

In the Supreme Court of the United States,
OCTOBER TERM, 1923,

THE HOME TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH COM-
PANY OF SPOKANE, a corporation, Appellant,
Vv.
E. V. KUYKENDALL, as Director of Public Works of Wash-
ington, HANCE H. CLELAND, as Supervisor of Public
Utilities of Washington, and FRANK R. SPINNING, as
Supervisor of Transportation of Washington, the persons
constituting the Department of Public Works of the State
of Washington, and JOHN H. DUNBAR, Attorney General
of the State of Washington, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM AN ORDER DENYING AN
INTERLOCUTORY INJUNCTION.

Brief of Appellant in Opposition to Motion
to Dismiss Appeal.

- Statement.

This case is a companion of a suit pending in
this court entitled The Pacific Telephone and Tele-
graph Company, a corporation, Appellant, v. Kuy-
kendall, et al, Appellees, same being cause No. 540.

ee ae

2

This is an appeal from an order entered April
30, 1923, by a statutory court convened pursuant
to section 266 of the Judicial Code denying an ap-
plication of The Home Telephone and Telegraph
Company of Spokane, appellant here, for an inter-
locutory injunction to restrain the appeilees from
enforcing a confiscatory rate order of the Depart-
ment of Public Works of the State of Washington.
This denial was not on the merits but upon the sole
ground that appellant had not as yet exhausted its
purported legislative remedies in the state courts
of Washington.

After the denial of the interlocutory injunction,
the District Judge refused to proceed in the main
ease, Thereupon, The Pacific Telephone and Tele-
graph Company, which had a like case pending in
the same court, made an application to the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit for a writ
of mandamus commanding the District Judge to
proceed in the case brought by The Pacific Tele-
phone and Telegraph Company. The writ was
granted. (Pacific Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Cushman, Dis-
trict Judge, 292 Fed. 930.) Thereafter, the Dis-
trict Judge did proceed in this case, and on Janu-
ary 5, 1924, entered a decree dismissing the com-
plaint in this case. From this decree of dismissal,

3

an appeal was likewise taken to this court and is
now pending herein as cause No. 789. On motion
an order was made on February 25, 1924, advanc-
ing this cause No. 539 and the related cause No.
799 on the ealendar, and setting them down for
argument together on April 14, 1924.

Meanwhile the appellees on February 11, 1924,
moved to dismiss the appeal in this cause, arguing
that the question therein involved had become moot.
This motion was noted for argument for March
24, 1924.

In view of this court’s order advancing this
cause and cause No. 789 for argument on the
merits on April 14, 1924, it would seem desirable
that the whole argument in these two related cases
be had on the same day rather than piecemeal, and
that therefore the motion to dismiss the appeal
should be passed for consideration until April 14th.

The argument in this case is identical with the
argument made on behalf of The Pacific Telephone
and Telegraph Company in case No. 540. For con-
venience sake only, we reprint that argument here.

Argument.

In order to determine whether appellees’ motion
to dismiss the appeal on the ground that the ques-
tion has become moot, is well taken, the precise
nature of the question involved in this appeal and
the status of the litigation must be considered.

The only question before the court on this appeal
from the order denying an injunction pendente lite
is whether appellant had the right to sue in the
United States court at the time it filed its complaint,
or whether as a condition precedent appellant was
first required to exhaust its alleged legislative
remedies in the state courts of Washington.

As already stated the statutory court did not
pass on the merits. Hence, on this appeal, this
court will determine the jurisdictional question
only, and if it holds that the statutory court was
wrong in refusing to pass on the merits of the
application, will remand the cause to the statutory
court for that purpose.

An analogous situation was presented in Okla-
homa Natural Gas Co. v. Russell, 261 U.S. 299, 293,
where, after determining that the statutory court

~
3)

erred in refusing to pass on the merits of the ap-
plication for an interlocutory injunction, this court
said:

“As in our opinion the District Court had juris-
diction and a duty to try the question whether pre-
liminary injunctions should issue, and as that ques-
tion has not yet been considered, the cases should
be remanded to that Court, with directions to
proceed to the trial. Generally it is not desirable
that we should pass upon such matters until they
have been dealt with below.”

As, therefore, this court will not in general pass
on the merits of the application for relief pendente
lite before that question has been considered below,
there is in this appeal no question of injunctive
relief but merely a jurisdictional question.

Clearly, the argument of the appellees, that the
question is moot because no relief pendente lite may
be granted, is unsound because no relief pendente
lite would be granted by this court in any event.
Hence it cannot be said that the case is moot on the
usual ground that a decree would be wholly inef-
fectual and inoperative. If moot at all, it must
be on some other ground. But this cause can only
be moot if the adjudication of the jurisdictional
question has become wholly immaterial. Has it?
The answer is that question depends upon whether

6

the litigation has ceased or is still pending. If the
litigation is still pending, then the question of juris-
diction in this case, as in every other case, is stili
a vital one; in fact, it is the sine qua non of the suit.
Although after the present appeal from the order
of the statutory court denying relief pendente lite,
the trial judge during subsequent proceedings in the
main cause below dismissed the complaint, yet an
appeal from the decree was immediately taken.
That a cause on appeal is still a pending cause
hardly requires citation of authority.

Ex parte Craig, 274 Fed. 177, 187;

Gore v. Stacpoole, 1 Dow. (H. L.) 18, 31;

Holland v. Fox, 3 El. & Bl. 977, 985;

Howell v. Bowers, 2 Cr. M. & R. 621,

Brasch v. Brasch, 50 Neb. 73;

Boone v. Boone, 160 Iowa 284;

Hupp v. Hocking Oil & Natural Gas Co., 88
Ohio St. 61;

Ex parte James Mumford, 57 Mo. 603, 606;

In re Egan, 24 S. D. 301;

State Board of Examiners v. Hart, 104 Minn.
88;

Pemberton v. Pemberton, 169 Ky. 476.

As the cause is still pending, the jurisdictional
question must be determined. The motion to dis-

7

miss this appeal, therefore, raises only a question
of practice: whether the jurisdictional question
will be determined on this appeal from the order of
the statutory court, or on the appeal from the
decree of dismissal of the District Judge. The ques-
tion not being moot and section 266 of the Judicial
Code having provided for a separate appeal from
an order denying the interlocutory injunction, it
would seem that the question should be determined
in the appeal where it is first raised.

Counsel rely upon Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U. S.
37, but they misconstrue the effect of that decision.
In that case there were two appeals from a single
decree rendered in a suit in equity heard before a
statutory court. The statutory court not only
denied the application for the interlocutory injunc-
tion, but also dismissed the complaint by the same
decree. Assuming that the statutory court which,
under section 266, is expressly given only the power
to grant or deny an interlocutory injunction, also
has the power to dismiss the complaint for want of
equity, still in that case there was only one decree,
a final decree, in which was merged the order deny-
ing the interlocutory injunction. Obviously an
appeal could not be taken from that final decree on
the theory that it was interlocutory but only on the

theory that the decree was final. That case is,

a 3 a |

8

therefore, merely authority for the proposition that
where a statutory court (convened pursuant to sec-
tion 266) in addition to denying the application for
an interlocutory injunction dismisses the complaint
in the same decree, an appeal should be taken from
the final decree of dismissal under section 238 of
the Judicial Code.

Here the situation is entirely different. In this
case an appeal is taken, pursuant to section 266,
from an order of the statutory court, denying re-
lief pendente lite, and eight months later the Dis-
trict Judge, in whose court the main case was pend-
ing, entered a decree of dismissal from which an
appeal is taken. Here it ean hardly be said that
an order of the statutory court is merged in the
final decree of the District Judge. There can be no
merger under such circumstances. If, therefor?,
the question involved in the appeal from the inter-
locutory injunction is not moot and if the order of
the statutory court is not merged in the decree of
dismissal of the District Judge, then the appeal in
this cause cannot be dismissed but it must be de-
termined in due course.

In the case of Male v. The Atchison, Topeka &
Santa Fe Railroad Company, 240 U. S. 97, a motion

Bi
ae

9

was made to dismiss an appeal for want of juris- t
diction. The reason assigned for the motion was
that the question involved on the appeal had become
moot in that after the rendition of the order of
the lower court declining to take jurisdiction, the f
appellant had sued upon the same alleged cause of
action in the Supreme Court of the State of New

York, where a final judgment on the merits was
entered dismissing the complaint. This court re- :
fused to dismiss the appeal, assigning as its reason |
for its refusal that it was concerned with the juris- E
dictional question only, and that the motion to dis- .
miss was based on matter going to the merits. This
court, therefore, proceeded to determine the ques-
tion as to whether the lower court as a United :
States court had power to entertain the cause.

So in the present case the question before this :
court is whether the statutory court as a United i

States court should have entertained the cause and
passed upon the question of relief pendente Lite.
This question still remains regardless of the decree
of dismissal of the District Judge, from which an
appeal has also been taken.

It may possibly be that if, after the decree of
dismissal was entered in this cause by the District
Judge, no appeal had been taken therefrom, and the

10

time for appeal had expired, this court might not
adjudicate the question whether the statutory court
should have assumed jurisdiction, but such is not

the case.

The case of the City of Wallace v. Deane (Idaho)
69 Pac. 62 is in point. In that case an appeal was
taken from an order of the District Court dissolving
a temporary injunction. Subsequently in the main
cause below a final judgment was entered in favor
of the defendant, from which final judgment no
appeal was taken and the time for appeal had ev-
pired. Upon this ground the motion to dismiss the
appeal was sustained since the controversy had com-
pletely ceased. Applying that reasoning to the pres-
ent case, it follows that where an appeal has been
taken from a final judgment dismissing the com-
plaint, the controversy has not ceased and an ap-
peal from an order denying a temporary injune-
tion still presents a justiciable question.

Should this court, however, be of the opinion that
the jurisdictional question should not be separately
considered upon the present appeal, it will and must
consider that question upon appeal from the final
decree of the District Judge dismissing the com-
plaint. This is true because this court must in
any event determine the jurisdictional question, and

11

secondly because if the appeal from the denial of
the interlocutory injunction will not be separately
considered, still upon appeal from the final decree
every interlocutory order affecting the rights of
the parties regarding the matters in question be-
tween them, is subject to review in the appellate

court and will be decided at the same time.

Central Trust Company v. Seasongood, 130
U. S. 482;

Perkins v. Fourniquet, 6 How. 206, 209;
Forgay v. Conrad, 6 How. 201;

Texas Company v. Central Fuel Oil Co., 194
Fed. 1, 22;

Western Union Telegraph Co. v. The U. S.
and Mexican Trust Company, 221 Fed.
545, 551.

While the rule of these cases ordinarily applies
only where no separate appeal is provided by stat-
ute from an interlocutory order, still if in the
opinion of this court the condition of this cause is
now such that the appeal from the interlocutory
order should no longer be separately considered,
then the rule applies with full force and this court

will, upon appeal from the final decree, consider the

Peo A RVETA

12
question of whether the interlocutory order was

properly made.
Respectfully submitted,

OTTO B. RUPP,
FRANK T. POST,
H. D. PILLSBURY,

Solicitors for Appellant.
W. V. TANNER,

C. M. BRACELEN,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0027%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
