# Petitioners Brief — Hecht v. Malley (No. 99-101-119)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0020%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1923

## Text

Lee

oo) ¢

| N OS. ~g O¢ =] 0 0: 101 ym, g ‘sTeeseuer

‘Supreme Court er the United States - ry

- October Term, 1922
Nos. 50Q@pRRaet

SIMON HECHT AND SUMMIT L. HECHT ~
TRUSTEES |
Rg \ ; vV. 2 ‘ :
JOHN F, MALLEY, FORMER COLLECTOR
“OF INTERNAL. KEVENUE

ARTHUR L. HOWARD AND ROBERT S.
BARLOW, TRUSTEES .-
pays: v.
JOHN F. MALLEY, FORMER COLLECTOR
OF INTERNAL REVENUE

ARTHUR L. HOWARD AND ROBERT S.
| BARLOW, TRUSTEES
v.. ed
ANDREW J. CASEY, FORMER ACTING ©
COLLECTOR OF INTERNAL REVENUE |

Brief: for Petitioners

WILLIAM H. DUNBAR _ .

_ EDWARD F. McCLENNEN,

ALLISON L. NEWTON, .
Attorneys for the Petitioners.

TABLE OF STATUTES

Pages
August 5, 1909 — 36 Stat. Ch. 6, Sec. 38, pt. 1, p. 1126, 10, 11
October 3, 1913 — 38 Stat. Ch. 16, Sec. 2, Par. G, pt. 1,

p. 172 14
October 22, 1914 — 38 Stat. Ch. 331, pt. 1, p. 759 15
September 8, 1916 — 39 Stat. Ch. 463, pt. 1, p. 756 16
March 3, 1917 — 39 Stat. Ch. 159, pt. 1, p. 1000 21
October 3, 1917 — 40 Stat. Ch. 63, pt. 1, p. 300 21
February 24, 1919 — 40 Stat. Ch. 18, pt. 1, p. 1057 22

TABLE OF CASES

American Net and Twine Co. v. Worthington, 141 U.S. 468 26, 31
Arthur v. Lahey, 96 U.S. 112 at 116 31
Arthur v. Zimmerman, 96 U.S. 124 31
Benziger v. United States, 192 U.S. 38 26
Buck Stove Co. v. Vickers, 226 U.S. 205, 213 25
Crocker v. Malley, 249 U. 8. 223 14, 15, 20, 28, 29, 33
Dana ». Treasurer and Receiver General, 227 Mass. 562, 565 9
Edwards v. Warren Linoline and Gasolene Works, 168 Mass. 564 9
Eidman v. Martinez, 174 U.S. 578, 583 26
Eliot v. Freeman, 220 U.S. 178 — 2, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, 18, 23, 28, 33
Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., 220 U.S. 107 6, 11, 12
Frost ». Thompson, 219 Mass. 360 9
Gleason ». McKay, 134 Mass. 419 9
Gould v. Gould, 245 U.S. 151 26
Haiku Sugar Co. rv. Johnstone, 249 Fed. 103 (C.C.A. 9th) 26
Hartranft ». Wiegmann, 121 U. 8. 609 26
Hoadley ». County Commissioners, 106 Mass. 519 9
Horgan v. Morgan, 233 Mass. 381 9
Hussey v. Arnold, 185 Mass. 202 9
In re Guggenheim Smelting Co. 121 Fed. 153 (C.C.D. N. J) 26
Kelley ». Snow, 185 Mass. 288 29
Latimer v. United States, 223 U. 8. 501 26
Logan v. United States, 144 U. S. 263, 302 25

Se! SLES RE OR aaa

il TABLE OF CASES

Mackernan v. Fox, 220 Mass. 197

“Malley v. Bowditch, 259 Fed. 809

MeDonald v. Hovey, 110 U. 8. 619, 628, 629

Movius v. Arthur, 95 U. S. 144

Parkview Bldg. and Loan Assn. v. Herold 203 Fed. 876
(D.C. D. N.Y.); affirmed 210 Fed. 577 (C.C.A. 3d)

Peabody v. Treasurer and Receiver General, 215 Mass. 129

Phillips v. Blatchford, 137 Mass. 510

Ricker v. American Loan and Trust Co., 140 Mass. 346

Roberts v. Anderson, 226 Fed. 7

Schmidt v. United States, 133 Fed. 257 (C.C.A. 9th)

Scott v. Western Pacifie Ry. Co., 246 Fed. 545 (C.C.A. 9th)

Smith v. Anderson (Ct. of App.), 15 Ch. Div. 273

Spreckels Sugar Ref. Co. v. McClain, 192 U.S. 397

Stratton’s Independence v. Howbert, 231 U. 8. 399

Swan and Finch Co. v. United States, 190 U. S. 143

Taber v. Breck, 192 Mass. 355

The “ Abbotsford,” 98 U. 8. 440

United States v. Coulby, 251 Fed. 982 (D.C. N.D. Ohio, E.D.);
affirmed 258 Fed. 27 (C.C.A. 6th)

United States v. Isham, 34 U. 8. 496, 504

United States v. Sixty-Five Terra-Cotta Vases, etc., 18 Fed.
508 (C.C. S.D. N.Y.)

United States v. Trans-Missouri Frt. Assn. et al., 58 Fed. 58
(C.C.A. 8th)

United States v. Wigglesworth, 2 Story, 369; 28 Fed. Cas. No.
16,690

Williams v. Boston, 208 Mass. 497

Williams v. Milton, 215 Mass. 1.

ages
29

——

|
| TABLE OF CASES ili
|

SUMMARY Pages

Statement of the Case 1

Statement of Facts 9

ARGUMENT

The Capital Stock Tax is an Excise on a Special Privilege 6
These trusts enjoy no Special Privileges under Massachusetts

laws, common or statutory 6

Although no Special Privileges are given, under the laws

either of the United States or of Massachusetts, to share-

holders in these trusts, they are in certain cases subject

to personal liability 9
The Excise Tax Act of 1909 laid an excise upon those bodies

only which were organized under law and so enjoyed

a Special Privilege 10
The Excise Tax of 1909 was dropped in the Income Tax

Act of 1913 14
The unauthorized attempt by Treasury Regulation in 1914

to tax trusts as associations 14

The Income and Excise Tax Act of 1916 restored the Excise
Tax of 1909 as to the bodies subject to the Capital

Stock Excise 16
Income and War-Profits Tax Act of 1917 21

The Revenue Act of 1918 did not change the Act of 1909 or

the Act of 1916 as to the bodies subject to the Capital

Stock Excise 22
The attempt by Treasury Regulation to impose the Cor-

poration Excise on trusts merely because the share-

holders have control by vote, is unauthorized 28
The plaintiffs are trustees and not associations 31

LEAN SESP DE ETHNAOL NE ORES EWM LE ALAA TAY LOA NR IEE NE a

bic

F

n

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroserR TERM, 1922.
Nos. 532, 533, 534

SIMON HECHT anp SUMMIT L. HECHT, TrustTEEs,
v.

JOHN F. MALLEY, Former Couiector or INTERNAL
REVENUE.

ARTHUR L. HOWARD anv ROBERT 8. BARLOW,
TRUSTEES,
v.
JOHN F. MALLEY, Former Co.iector or INTERNAL
REVENUE

ARTHUR L. HOWARD anv ROBERT 8. BARLOW,
TRUSTEES,
v.
ANDREW J. CASEY, Former Actinc COLLECTOR OF
INTERNAL REVENUE.

Brief for Petitioners

Statement of the Case

These three cases come before this court on a writ
of certiorari to the Circuit Court of Appeals for the First
Circuit granted on the petition of the plaintiffs. The suits

-
were begun in the District Court of the United States
for the District of Massachusetts against former Collectors
of Internal Revenue for refunds of capital stock excises
paid under protest.

The plaintiffs are Simon Hecht and Summit L. Hecht,
Trustees of the Hecht Real Estate Trust, and Arthur L.
Howard and Robert 8. Barlow, Trustees of the Haymarket
Trust.

These excises were assessed in part under the Revenue
Act of 1916 and in part under the Revenue Act of 1918.

The District Court held that the plaintiffs were Trustees
of trusts and were not corporations, joint stock companies
or associations with a capital stock, and that the class of
bodies subjected to this excise by the Acts of 1916 and
1918 had not been changed from what it was under the
Act of 1909, under which the Supreme Court held, in
Eliot v. Freeman, 220 U. 8. 178, that such trusts as those
at bar were trusts and could hardly be said to be “ organ-
ized” and certainly were not organized ‘under law”
and enjoyed no “privilege.” The District Court gave
judgment for the refunds to the plaintiffs. The Circuit
Court of Appeals reversed this judgment.

The petitioners contended below and now contend
that they are trustees and not a corporation, joint stock
company or association with a capital stock, created or
organized under law, enjoying any privilege or subject to
the capital stock excise.

Statement of Facts

The Declarations of Trust under which these ‘Trustees
act and the methods by which the terms of the trusts
are carried out are set out in the opinion of the District
Court (Record, pp. 20, 52, 25) and in the statement of
facts found (Record, pp. 67, 8).

a

ia, PUENTE ee dig OETA Sat IG oe BENS AD LA Mah NETRA ee RO AA AL IMD Ee BASAL PLCAD TE ATLL AD ILE
3

The Hecht Trust: Members of the Hecht family
holding title as tenants in common to real estate con-
veyed it in 1899 to Jacob H. Hecht to hold in trust for
the beneficiaries named, and their assigns. Certificates
for one thousand (1,000) shares were issued to the
beneficiaries severally in accordance with their pro-
portionate interests. The shares are for one thousandths
of the beneficial interest and have no par or unit value.
The trustee and his successors have managed the property
since and distributed the net rentals to the shareholders.
No meetings of the shareholders have been held. No
amendment of the trust had been made when this case
was tried. Some shares have been transferred. Annual

| statements have been sent to shareholders. The books
contain, among others, a capital account and a surplus
account. Transfers have been made from surplus to
capital. Shareholders in their individual income-tax
returns have treated the distributions from the trust in
the same manner as dividends from a corporation. The
trustees under protest have filed returns as required by
the Commissioner of Internal Revenue and paid the
assessments in question, levied by him as a capital-
stock tax (Record, pp. 95 to 105). The indenture of
trust (Record, pp. 76 to 87) declares that the trust
shall be known as the Hecht Real Estate Trust; that it
shall continue for twenty years after Jacob H. Hecht’s
death; that transferable certificates shall be issued to
the beneficiaries, to be offered to the trustee before any
sale except to a member of the Hecht family; that the
trustee shall have full powers of management, includ-
ing sale of the trust property and purchase of other, and
power to borrow and to mortgage, but no power to
create any personal liability on the shareholders; that
the trustee may appoint one or more co-trustees; that
the trustee shall fill all vacancies except that Louis

eres |

4

Hecht, Jr., and Marcus H. Hecht, successively, shall
succeed Jacob H. Hecht; that the shareholders may
direct an increase in the number of trustees or remove
a trustee by a deed executed by the holders of three-
fourths of the shares, and may, if there is no trustee
to make the appointment, appoint a new trustee by a
deed executed by the holders of three-fifths of the
shares, and may modify or terminate the trust or give
instructions to the trustee by deed executed by the
holders of three-fifths of the shares. The shareholders
have no powers of control.

The Haymarket Trust: In September, 1900, joint
owners of a building in Boston gave a broker an option
to purchase it. At his suggestion, John V. Bryant and
Frank E. Sweetser, as trustees, drew an indenture of
trust to be signed by them and by subscribing share-
holders who should furnish the money to make the
purchase. The money was subscribed. The trustees
acquired the property under the option and paid the
broker $2,500 for obtaining the subscriptions. The
trustees issued certificates for transferable shares to
the subscribers. The trustees and their successors
have managed the property and distributed the income.
They have made annual statements. Annual share-
holders’ meetings have been held. Vaeancies caused
by death and by resignation have been filled by the elec-
tion of new trustees by the shareholders. Shares have
been transferred. The trustees, under protest, have filed
returns as required by the Commissioner of Internal
Revenue and paid the assessments in question levied
by him as a capital-stock tax (Record, pp. 10 to 26).
The indenture of trust (Record, pp. 34 to 42) declares
that the trustees shall be known as Trustees of the
Haymarket Trust; that the trustees shall have general
powers of management including powers of mortgage

Sa al ae LONER AL LOT Uy OMAR. AE OTL LTTE BERNIE —
FY ; HKG

°

and sale, and to invest any surplus, but no power to
bind the shareholders personally; that persons contract-
ing with the trustees should look only to the trust
property; that shareholders shall receive transferable
certificates; that income above five per cent shall go
into a sinking fund to retire mortgages; that annual
meetings of shareholders shall be called, and special
meetings may be; that at meetings the holders of a major-
ity of the entire number of shares may fill any vacancy
in the number of trustees, may depose any trustee and
elect others, may authorize the sale of the property,
and may amend the agreement and may decide on
matters properly coming before them; that the trust
shall continue for twenty years after the death of the
last survivor of named individuals.

The trustees of each of these trusts hold Massachusetts
real estate. The trust indentures were executed in Massa-
chusetts by Massachusetts parties. They are Massachu-
setts trusts.

LRA RIND OMEN BSE BE ATS Fe ee an TE ie Rie a Pe Ory AR MEDS
are ! ot) ate

6

Argument

In Eliot v. Freeman, 290 U. 8. 178 this court decided
that the Cushing Real Estate Trust and the Department
Store Trust, which had features in common with the
trusts now before the Court, were trusts and not cor-
porations, joint stock companies or associations liable
to the corporate excise tax under the Act of August 5,
1909. This decision is conclusive of the cases at bar
unless the later capital stock tax acts have so changed
the law as to require a different decision. It is submitted
that they have not.

The Capital Stock Tax is an Excise on a Special Privilege

The capital stock tax is not and has not been an income
tax. It is an excise on a special privilege.

Flint v. Stone and Tracy Co., 220 U.S. 107,
145, 150, 151.

This is shown by the history of the Acts of Congress -
hereinafter referred to in detail, and by the decisions of
this Court in the light of which the later acts were
passed.

These Trusts enjoy no Special Privilege under Massa-
chusetts Laws, Common or Statutory

These trustees have no franchise. The law gives them
no protection not shared by all citizens. The trusts were
established by deeds of trust of the long-time familiar
type. No lawyer would think of them as corporations or
quasi-corporations. They are naturally classified as trusts.
No statute gives them any special powers.

Not only do they have no corporate powers and
privileges, but, on the contrary, the absence of any

—

7

possibility of obtaining such powers and privileges,
under Massachusetts laws, was the occasion for drawing
such trust deeds. At the inception of the trusts now before
the court, there was no general statute in Massachusetts
for the organization of corporations to deal in real estate.
Such an artificial entity, and the attendant absence of
personal liability on the part of the shareholders, was
not Open under general laws to those desirous of becom-
ing shareholders in a real estate business. This privilege,
open to shareholders in other classes of business, was
denied them.

The Cireuit Court of Appeals, of its own initiative,
refers, in the case at bar, to the statutes of Massachusetts
imposing special duties upon trustees of trusts with
transferable shares. Two things are noteworthy: one,
that none of these statutes give any privileges, anc the
other that they were in existence before 1911 and governed
the bodies held not to be subject to the tax in Eliot v.
Freeman.

On May 24, 1909, Massachusetts enacted chapter 441
of the acts of that year, which provided that —

“Section 1. Trustees of a voluntary associa-
tion under a written instrument or declaration of
trust the beneficial interest under which is divided
into transferable certificates of participation or
shares, shall file a copy of such written instrument
or declaration of trust with the commissioner of
corporations and with the clerk of every city or
town in which such association has a usual place
of business.”

This act followed a poliey to provide record evi-
dence of the constituency of business concerns. In
1907, chapter 539, it had been provided that ---

; .

“Section 1. Any person or persons conducting
or transacting business in this Commonwealth
under any name, designation or title other than
the real name or names of the person or persons
conducting or transacting such business, whether
individually or as a firm or partnership, shall file
in the office of the Clerk of the city or town in
which the place or places of business or office or
offices of any such person, firm or partnership may
be situated, a certificate stating the full name and
residence of each person engaged in or transacting
such business.”

Section 2 of this act exempted certain bodies, inelud-
ing —

8

“Any firm, partnership, joint-stock company or
association the business of which is conducted or
transacted by trustees under a written instrument
or declaration of trust, provided that the names
of such trustees with a reference to such instrument
or declaration of trust shall be filed as provided in
Section 1.”

The title of chapter 441 of the acts of 1909, in force
when Eliot v. Freeman was decided, was ‘An Act Rela-
tive to Voluntary Associations Under Written Instru-
ments.” This act without significant change is now
codified in General Laws of Massachusetts, chapter 182,
sections 1 and 2, now in force. The Massachusetts act
of 1916, chapter 184, provided that such a body may be
sued in an action at law for debts and other obligations
or liabilities, and also that its property should be subject
to attachment in like manner as if it were a corporation.
This is now General Laws, chapter 182, section 6. No
rights or privileges were given.

he VE OR Tee WR

9

Although no Special Privileges are given, under the
laws either of the United States or of Massachusetts,
to shareholders in such trusts, they are in certain
cases subject to personal liability.

The decisions in Massachusetts have classified such
trusts into strict trusts and partnership trusts for pur-
poses of taxation and for liability for debts. If the entire
control is in the trustees, they are trusts. If a sufficient
degree of control is in the shareholders, the property of
the trust may be taxed as partnership property and the
shareholders may have the liability of partners, for debts.

Williams v. Milton, 215 Mass. 1.

Horgan v. Morgan, 233 Mass. 381.

Dana v. Treasurer, 227 Mass. 563, 565.

Frost v. Thompson, 219 Mass. 360.

Taber v. Breck, 192 Mass. 355.

Williams v. Boston, 208 Mass. 497.

Hoadley v. County Commissioners, 105 Mass. 519.

Gleason v. McKay, 134 Mass. 419.

Phillips v. Blatchford, 137 Mass. 510.

Ricker v. American Loan and Trust Co., 140 Mass
346.

Edwards v. Warren Linoline Works, 168 Mass.
566.

Hussey v. Arnold, 185 Mass. 202.

Peabody v. Treasurer and Receiver General, 215
Mass. 129.

Under Massachusetts law, no extent of control on the
part of the shareholders converts these trusts into cor-
porations, joint stock companies or associations. They
are either trusts or partnerships. If they are partner-
ships, the shareholders are under the unlimited liability
of partners for debts. There is no special privilege.

saeaeaeaasememanenaaaes tants
: $s Pe EEG TN SE OM BENE LEELA LETT NG MIT EN EN NN DN
Lapeaem RONNIE AY

10

The Excise Tax Act of 1909 laid an excise upon those
bodies only which were organized under law and so
enjoyed a Special Privilege.

The special privilege taxed by this law was that of
doing business by authority of law as an artificial entity
with freedom from general partnership liability. This
was a new tax imposed in 1909.

President Taft, soon after his inaugurat ion on March 4,
1909, sent Congress a message (44 Congressional Record,
p. 3344) in the course of which he said:

“T therefore recommend an amendment to the
tariff bill imposing on all corporations and joint
stock companies for profit an excise tax measured
by 2% of the net income of such corporations.
This is an excise tax upon the privilege of doing
business as an artificial entity and of freedom
from a general partnership liability enjoyed by
those who own the stock.”

On August 5, 1909, evidently in consequence of this
message, an act was passed which provided that —

“Every corporation, joint stock company oF
association, organized for profit and having a capi-
tal stock represented by shares, and every insur-
ance company, now or hereafter organized under
the laws of the United States or of any State or
Territory of the United States or under the Acts
of Congress applicable to Alaska or the District
of Columbia, or now or hereafter organized under
the laws of any foreign country and engaged in
business in any State or Territory of the United
States or in Alaska or in the District of Columbia,
shall be subject to pay annually a special excise tax

<a

11

with respect to the carrying on or doing business
by such corporation, joint stock company or asso-
citation, or insurance company, equivalent to one
per centum upon the entire net income over and
above five thousand dollars received by it from all,
sources during such year, exclusive of amounts
received by it as dividends upon stock of other
corporations, joint stock companies or associa-
tions, or insurance companies, subject to the tax
hereby imposed; or if organized under the laws
of any foreign country, upon the amount of net
income over and above five thousand dollars received
by it from business transacted and capital invested
within the United States and its Territories, Alaska,
and the District of Columbia during such year,
exclusive of amounts so received by it as divi-
dends upon stock of other corporations joint stock
companies or associations, or insurance companies,
subject to the tax hereby imposed.” (36 U. S. St.
at L., ec. 6, sec. 38.)

On March 29, 1910, the Attorney-General gave an
opinion that a partnership having a limited liability by
law was a joint-stock company within this act (28 Opin-
ions of the Atty.-Gen. 189, 192; Treasury Decisions No.
1606, vol. 19, No. 13, p. 32).

On March 13, 1911, the act was construed in two
decisions by this Court — Flint vy. Stone Tracy Co.,
220 U. S. 107, and Eliot v. Freeman, 220 U. 8. 178.

In Eliot vy. Freeman all the trusts involved were
subject to the Massachusetts statute law above quoted.
Two of these trusts, the Cushing Real Estate Trust
and the Department Store Trust, had features in com-
mon with the trusts now before the Court. The Depart-
ment Store Trust had all the elements to make it a

Se cee A As a Ses a a a

RERSIA

partnership or association (in distinction from a trust),
which can be found in either of the trusts now before the
Court.

Flint v. Stone Tracy Co. upheld the constitutionality
of the tax, against an attack upon it as a tax upon
income. The Court held that it was not an income
tax, but that the tax, although measured by income as
a reasonable method, was an excise tax. The Court
said (145, 150 and 151):

“That is, when imposed in this manner it is
a tax upon the doing of business with the advan-
tages which inhere in the peculiarities of corporate
or joint stock organizations of the character described.
As the latter organizations share many benefits of
corporate organization it may be described gen-
erally as a tax upon the doing of business in a
corporate capacity.”

“4 tax upon business done in a corporate capac-
ity.”

“The tax under consideration, as we have con-
strued the statute, may be described as an excise
upon the particular privilege of doing business
in a corporate capacity, i.e., with the advantages
which arise from corporate or quasi-corporate
organization.”

“The requirement to pay such taxes involves
the exercise of privileges.” (192 U. 8S. 363.)

The same view was expressed again, much later, in
Stratton’s Independence v. Howbert, 231 U.S. 399, 416.

In Eliot v. Freeman, decided at the same time with
Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., the Court, in holding the
trusts before the Court (a fortiori the trusts now before

—
13

the Court) to be trusts and not subject to this excise
tax, said (186):

“The language of the Act ‘. . . now or hereafter
organized under the laws of the United States,’
ete., imports an organization deriving power from
statutory enactment.”’

“A trust of the character of those here involved
ean hardly be said to be organized, within the
ordinary meaning of that term; it certainly is not
organized under statutory laws as corporations
are.”

“There is an essential difference between a
joint stock company as it exists at common law
and a joint stock company having extensive stat-
utory powers conferred upon it by the State within
which it is organized. The latter kind of joint
stock company is found in England and in the
State of New York.” (Cook on Corporations,
see. 505.)

In this opinion two grounds are assigned, either of
which is sufficient to hold that these trustees are not
subject to this excise tax, namely, one, that they are
not created under law, and the other, that they are
not organized. This interpretation, in Eliot v. Free-
man, of the language used in the Excise Tax Act of
1909, in the light of which the subsequent acts have
been framed, has never been modified. There has been
no change in the language used by the Congress in the
subsequent acts imposing this excise tax which indicates
an intention to make so radical a change as to impose a
privilege tax upon bodies that do not enjoy any privilege.

ALE SS EET PORT SD vos ne

14

The Excise Tax of 1909 was dropped in the Income Tax
Act of 1913

The first income tax act, of October 3, 1913 (38 Stats.
c. 16, sec. 2), dropped the excise tax on corporations and
imposed an income tax on individuals as well as on
corporations. Section 2, paragraph G, imposing on
corporations the same tax as the normal tax imposed on
individuals, defined corporations as follows:

“Every corporation, joint stock company or
association and every insurance company organ-
ized in the United States, no matter how created
or organized, but not including partnerships, but
if organized, authorized or existing under the laws
of any foreign country, then upon the amount of
net income accruing from business transacted and
capital invested within the United States during
such year.’ (Italics not in original.)

This was not an excise tax. No more was imposed on
corporations than on individuals. The classification
affected the method of levying the tax rather than the
substance of the tax.

Notwithstanding these italicized words, a typical real
estate trust even with transferable shares is not an
association.

Crocker v. Malley, 249 U. 8. 228.

The unauthorized attempt by Treasury Regulation in
1914 to tax trusts as Associations
On June 5, 1914, a treasury regulation was issued which
provided that

“ ‘eorporations’ as used in these regulations shall be
construed to include all corporations, joint stock
companies or associations and all insurance com-
panies coming within the terms of the law and such

—_—_

15

organizations will hereinafter be referred to as

‘corporations,’ ’’ and

“it is immaterial how such corporations are created

or organized,” and the term,

‘“ “ioint stock companies or associations’ shall
| include associations, real estate trusts, or by what-
ever name known, which carry on or do business in
an organized capacity, whether organized under and
pursuant to state laws, trust agreements, declara-
tions of trust, or otherwise, the net income of which,
if any, is distributed or distributable among the
members or shareholders on the basis of the capital
stock which each holds, or when there is no capital
stock, on the basis of the proportionate share of
capital which each has invested in the business and
all of which joint stock companies or associations
shall, in their organized capacity, be subject to the
tax imposed by this act.’” Reg. 33 Art. 78, 79.

?

In Crocker v. Malley, 249 U. 8. 223 (March 17, 1919)
this court held that a trust much like those now at bar
and clearly within the language of this regulation was
not an association. This decision disclosed that the
regulation was unauthorized.

On October 22, 1914, Congress imposed a tax on the
transfer of shares in ‘corporations, associations and
companies”’ without any further definition. The tax
here imposed was not on existence as an association.
It was on transfers of shares. The transfer was the privi-
lege taxed. Malley v. Bowditch, 259 Fed. 809.

On July 21, 1915, the United States Express Com-
pany, which enjoys special privileges under the statutes
of New York, was held to be an association or joint stock
company.

Roberts v. Anderson, 226 Fed. 7.

PLEAD RLS LON IT ALTE ISM Sy). ee se en Eas

16

The Income and Excise Tax Act of 1916 restored the
Excise Tax of 1909 as to the bodies subject to
the Capital Stock Excise

On September 8, 1916, Congress enacted the Income
Tax Act, following the act of 1913, and also re-enacted
the Excise Tax, which had first come into existence in
1909 and had been abandoned in 1913. The excise
at this time was changed from one based on income to
one based on the value of the capital stock. This act,
in defining corporations for income-tax purposes, carried
forward substantially the language of the act of 1913;
and in defining corporations for excise-tax purposes,
carried forward substantially the language of the act
of 1909. This was an enactment of the interpretation
which in Eliot v. Freeman the Supreme Court had put
upon the language of the act of 1909.

Title I, section 10 — the income-tax section — required
the payment of the tax—

“By every corporation, joint-stock company or
association, or insurance company, organized in
the United States, no matter how created or organ-
ized but not including partnerships, . . . by every
corporation, joint-stock company or association,
or insurance company organized, authorized, or
existing under the laws of any foreign country.”
(Italies not in original. )

Title IV, section 407 — the excise-tax section — pro-
vided that —

“Every corporation, joint-stock company OF
association, [now or hereafter] organized |in the
United States] for profit and having a capital
stock represented by shares, and every insurance
company, now or hereafter organized under the

PETS eke Te Peet . . soe
OIE IP EE EN RN Na NY ee pre ae ai ZOLTRS e RR

) —

laws of the United States, or any State or Terri-
tory of the United States, shall pay annually a special
excise tax with respect to carrying on or doing
business by such corporation, joint-stock company
or association, or insurance company, equivalent
to fifty cents for each one thousand dollars of the
fair value of its capital stock and in estimating
the value of capital stock the surplus and undivided
profits shall be included. . . .

‘Every corporation, joint-stock company or asso-
ciation, or insurance company, now or hereafter
organized for profit under the laws of any foreign
country and engaged in business in the United
States shall pay . ” (Italies and brackets not
in original.)

The only change in this language from that of the
act of 1909 was in adding, after the word “association,”
the words ‘‘now or hereafter,” and in adding, after the
word ‘‘organized,”’ the words “in the United States.”
There is no change in the comma after insurance company.
If the words in the brackets are omitted, the description
in this act is the same as that in the act of 1909. The
reason for the addition of these bracketed words is appar-
ent on observing the form in which the tax was imposed
on the domestic corporation and on’ the foreign cor-
poration in the two sections, respectively. In the act
of 1909 the corporate and quasi-corporate bodies were
defined , once for all, at the beginning of the section —
whether they were domestic or foreign. The subsequent
parts of the section fixed the amount of the tax in accord-
ance with the place of organization — whether domestic
or foreign — but did not repeat the words “corporation,
joint-stock company, association or insurance company.”
In the act of 1916 foreign and domestic corporations,

yer SE AAP RET IE L N LONENE M
CVA INLETS LET TTY Ee ae ‘

18

respectively, were thrown into separate paragraphs of
the section, and the words ‘corporation, joint-stock
company, association or insurance company ” are repeated
in the second paragraph. This accounts for the inclu-
sion of the words ‘in the United States” in the first
paragraph. The words “organized under the laws of the
United States or of any State or Territory of the United
States,’ construed in Eliot v. Freeman, appear in the act
of 1916, preceded by the same comma to separate them
from insurance company, and in exactly the same place
in which they appeared in the act of 1909. The Court
had held in Eliot v. Freeman that these words applied
not merely to insurance companies, but also to cor-
porations, joint-stock companies and associations. When
re-enacted in 1916, in the same position, these words had
the same application. They qualified associations.
It is respectfully submitted that if this section stood
alone, it would be clear that it was a re-enactment of
the act of 1909, as interpreted in Eliot v. Freeman; but
the section does not stand alone. The rest of the act
makes the conclusion even clearer, because Congress,
in section 10, when not imposing a privilege tax, but
merely defining the method of application of a general
income tax, used the words ‘‘no matter how created or
organized,” and left out the words “organized under the
laws of the United States or any State or Territory of the
United States.” The words “‘no matter how created or
organized” in the income-tax section were probably
adopted because of the decision in Eliot v. Freeman
and with the intention of imposing the income tax on
associations as a group instead of levying it on the indi-
vidual members of the association. This was a con-
venient method, and did not increase or diminish the
tax. It was not a privilege tax. The Congress which
used these words and omitted the words ‘organized

—
19

under the laws of the United States or any State or
Territory of the United States” in the income-tax
section and reversed the process in the excise-tax sec-
tion must have meant something. What was meant
was not to impose a privilege tax on bodies that enjoy
no privilege.

This marked distinction between the income-tax sec-
tion and the excise section is emphasized by the course
of the act through Congress. The Fill as read in the
House provided for an income tax, but for no corporate
excise tax (Congressional Record, 64th Congress, Ist
Session, vol. 53, p. 10663). In reporting the bill with
amendments to the Senate, the chairman, Senator
Simmons, said: ‘‘We have also provided for imposing a
small tax upon corporations in the nature of a license
tax for doing business.’’ (Senate Reports, 64th Con-
gress, Ist Session, vol. 3, Miscl. 3, Rep. 793, p. 2.) The
section so reported was as follows:

“Section 56. That on and after January first,
nineteen hundred and seventeen, special taxes
shall be and hereby are, imposed annually as follows,
that is to say:

“First. Corporations, joint stock companies, and
associations shall pay 50 cents for each $1000
of capital, surplus, and undivided profits used in
any of the activities or functions of their business,
including such sums as may be invested in or
loaned upon stock, bonds, mortgages, real estate,
or other securities. The amount of such annual tax
shall in all cases be computed on the basis of the
capital, surplus, and undivided profits for the pre-
ceding fiscal year. Every corporation, joint stock
company, or association as defined and limited in
Section ten, Title 1 of this Act, shall be liable to
this tax: ...”

20

Title I, section 10, so referred to, imposed the income
tax and had in it the words ‘no matter how created or
organized.” Apparently the House was unwilling to
make this extension of this excise tax so as to cover
bodies that had no special privilege. The Conference
report is ‘Agreed to Senate amendment #206 and in
lieu of matter inserted by said amendment, insert the
following.” Then follows the title IV, section 407, as
finally enacted, leaving in the words “organized under
the laws of the United States or any State or Territory of
the United States” and leaving out the words “no matter
how created or organized.” With the distinction clearly
brought to its attention, Congress decided not to impose
a privilege tax upon bodies that enjoyed no privileges.

Notwithstanding this, an attempt was made to cover
such trusts as those at bar by Treasury Regulation No.
38, Article 2, which provided that:

“The tax applies to every corporation, joint-
stock company or association (except insurance
companies), now or hereafter organized in the
United States for profit and having a capital stock
represented by shares, irrespective of whether it is
the creature of statute or of contract. A corporation
is organized for profit if its stockholders or members
may benefit pecuniarily from its operations. Joint-
stock associations not organized under any statute
and so-called Massachusetts trusts are subject to
the tax.”

There had been no change in the law from that of
1909 which would warrant such 4 regulation. ‘The inva-
lidity of such a regulation was subsequently shown by the
decision in Crocker v. Malley, 249 U. 8. 223.

—

21

Income and War-Profits Tax Act of 1917

The act of March 3, 1917, made no change of impor-
tance in the present connection, from that of 1916.

The act of October 3, 1917, imposed the war-profits
tax, amended the act of 1916 as to the amount of income
tax, and brought forward the stamp tax. This act did
nothing to the excise-tax law. That law remained as it
was under the act of 1916. The act of 1917 introduced
a definition section (200). This section is in Title IT,
“War Excess Profits Tax.” It provides that:

“Section 200. That when used in this title —

“The term ‘corporation’ includes joint-stock com-
panies or associations and insurance companies;

“The term ‘domestic’ means created under the
law of the United States, or of any State, Territory
or District thereof, and the term ‘foreign’ means
created under the law of any other possession of
the United States or of any foreign country or
government.”

It is evident that this section contemplates nothing
as a corporation, joint-stock company, association or
insurance company unless it is either domestic or foreign.
To be either of these it must be ‘created under the laws
of. Accordingly, this act does not include in this
classification a body formed by voluntary indenture of
trust without any privileges granted by law. It will be
noted that the word “‘ereated’”’ is here used as including
“organized.” The word “‘organized”’ plays no part in
the definition.

22

The Revenue Act of 1918 did not change the Act of 1909
or the Act of 1916 as to the bodies subject to
the Capital Stock Excise

The Revenue Act of 1918, enacted February 24, 1919,
covered war profit, excess profit, income, excise, and
many other taxes. This act has a definition section for
all purposes of the act. The definition is apparently
derived from the act of 1917. It provides that:

“Seetion 1. That when used in this act. . .

“The term ‘person’ includes partnerships and
corporations, as well as individuals; =,

“The term ‘corporation’ includes associations,
joint-stock companies, and insurance companies;

“The term ‘domestic’? when applied to a cor-
poration or partnership means created or organized
in the United States; the term ‘foreign’ when
applied to a corporation or partnership means
created or organized outside the United States.”

Some change in phraseology from the act of 1917
was necessary, even if no change in meaning was intended,
because the definition section covered partnerships as
well as corporations. It would not have been appropri-
ate, in defining ‘domestic’ and “foreign” partnerships,
to speak of them as ‘organized under the laws rl
Therefore, the word “‘in’’ is used as a word which is
applicable both to partnerships and to corporations.
The idea that a corporation could be organized except
“under the laws of” is inconceivable. A general defini-
tion section without more would not be enough to make
a radical change in the character of a tax imposed by a
particular section, couched in language not itself signifi-
cant of any intention to change the nature of the tax.

This act, in imposing the excise tax, shows clearly

we a a ie tia a Pi i li Sia la lla i

—

23

an intention to apply it to the same class of bodies as
had been described in the excise section of the act of
1916, above quoted. It provides that:

“Section 1000 (a). That on and after July 1,
1918 in lieu of the tax imposed by the first subdivision
of section 407 of the Revenue Act of 1916 —

(1) Every ‘domestic’ corporation shall pay
annually a special excise tax with respect to carry-
ing on or doing business, equivalent to one dollar
for each one thousand dollars of so much of the
fair average value of its capital stock for the pre-
ceding year ending June 30th as is in excess of

| five thousand dollars. In estimating the value of
| capital stock the surplus and undivided profits shall
| be included;

‘““(2) Every ‘foreign’ corporation shall pay annu-

ally . . . of the average amount of capital employed
in the transaction of its business in the United
States... ” (Italics not in original.)

This is a corporation excise. There is no change in
phraseology sufficient to indicate an intention to impose
a privilege tax on a body that did not enjoy a privilege
and which would not be taxed under the earlier acts.
Nine years before, the tax had come into existence as a
privilege tax after the President’s recommendation to
impose a tax upon “‘the privilege of doing business as an
artificial entity and of freedom from a general partnership
liability enjoyed by those who own the stock.” The law
had been interpreted by this Court in Eliot v. Freeman
as imposing the tax only as a privilege tax. That defi-
nition had been known for seven years. If the Congress
had any intention to change the nature of the tax, it was
easy to express it. There has been no such expression.

24

That there was no intention to enlarge or to make
any change from the 1916 law in that respect is con-
firmed by the statement of Mr. Kitchin, the House
chairman, in laying the Committee's report before the
House. He said: ““We have made a very important
change in the rates and in the exemptions of what is
known as the corporation capital stock tax that has been
on the statute books for two years. The tax is now
50 cents on each thousand dollars of so much of the
fair average value of its capital stock for the preceding
year as is in excess of 99,000. The fair average value
is the language of existing law and is earried in this
bill. We make the tax $1.00 on each $1,000 of the
‘fair average value’ of the stock in excess of $5,000”
(Congressional Record, vol. 56, part 12, 65th Congress,
2d Session, Appendix, p. 698). Senator Simmons, the
Senate chairman, in his report (65th Congress, 3d _ Ses-
sion, 1918-1919, Senate Reports, vol. 1, No. 617,
p. 17) said: ‘‘The House Bill provided for the continu-
ance of the capital stock tax on the basis of the fair average
value of the capital stock of the corporation for the
preceding year. The determination of fair average value
has proved in administration to be very difficult. The
committee has accordingly provided that the basis of
the tax shall be the amount of the net assets of the
corporation as shown by its books, ete.” The use of the
word “continuance” does not indicate an intention to
tax different bodies from those taxed under the earlier
act. If there had been any intention to make a change
in the class of bodies to be taxed, it would have been
mentioned.

As the act of 1918 consolidated so many different
tax acts which had received prior judicial construction,
the principle announced by this Court becomes appli-
cable, that —

a

25

‘Even where inadvertent changes have been
made by incorporating different statutes together,
it has been held not to change their original con-
struction. Thus, in New Jersey, where several
English statutes had been consolidated, a proviso
in one of them, broad enough in its terms to affect
the whole consolidated law, was held to affect only
those sections with which it had been originally
connected... . ”

“So, upon a revision of statutes, a different inter-
pretation is not to be given to them without some
substantial change of phraseology — some change
other than what may have been necessary to abbrevi-
ate the form of the law.”’

McDonald v. Hovey, 110 U. 8. 619, 628, 629.

“Tt is not to be inferred that Congress, in revising
and consolidating the statutes, intended to change
their effect, unless an intention to do so is clearly
expressed.”

Logan v. United States, 144 U. 8S. 263, 302.

“At the time of the revision in 1872, Section 22
was divided into several shorter sections and included
in the revision according to an arrangement, adopted
for purposes of convenience only, whereby the several
parts of the original section became more or less
separated; but that, in the absence of some sub-
stantial change in phraseology, did not work any
change in their purpose or meaning.”

Buck Stove Co. v. Vickers, 226 U. 8. 205, 213.

It is a general principle of statutory construction
that a re-enactment or an‘enactment of language which
has received an authoritative interpretation by the
Supreme Court is virtually an enactment of that inter-

oO

26

pretation, and also that a change is not to be inferred in

the absence of clear language requiring it.

The ‘ Abbotsford,” 98 U.S. 440.

Latimer v. United States, 223 U. 5. 501.

United States v. Sixty-F ive Terra-Cotta Vases,
etc., 18 Fed. 508 (C.C. 8.D. N.Y).

United States v. Trans-Missouri Freight Asso-
ciation, et al., 58 Fed. 58 (C.C.A. 8th).

In re Guggenheim Smelting Co., 121 Fed. 153
(Cc. C. D. N.J.).

Schmidt v. United States, 133 Fed. 257 (C.C.A.

9th).

Also, it is well settled that an ambiguity in a tax
statute is to be resolved in favor of the taxpayer rather
than in favor of the Government.

Gould v. Gould, 245 U.S. 151.

United States v. Isham, 34 U.S. 496, 504.

Hartranft v. Wiegmann 121 U. 8. 609.

American Net and Twine Co. v. Worthington,
141 U. S. 468.

Eidman v. Martinez, 184 U. 8. 578, 583.

Swan and Finch Co. v. United States, 190 U.S.
143.

Benziger v. United States, 192 U. 5. 38.

Parkview Bldg. and Loan Assn. V. Herold, 203
Fed. 876 (D.C. D. N.Y.), affirmed 210 Fed.

577 (C.C.A. 3d).
Haiku Sugar Co. Vv. Johnstone, 249 Fed. 103

(C.C.A. 9th).
United States v. Coulby, 251 Fed. 982 (D.C.
N.D. Ohio, E.D.), affirmed 258 Fed. 27

(C.C.A. 6th).

—— Re OOP ote my ae ROPE
a . GE

_—

27
Scott v. Western Pacific Ry. Co., 246 Fed. 545
(C.C.A. 9th).
Spreckels Sugar Ref. Co. v. McClain, 192 U. 8.
397.

United States v. Wigglesworth, 2 Story, 369, 28
Fed. Cas. No. 16,690.

The act of 1918 discloses no intention to change the
class of bodies subjected to this privilege excise.

28

The attempt by Treasury Regulation to impose the
Corporation Excise on trusts, merely because the
shareholders have control by vote, is unauthorized.

By the regulation of June 5, 1914, and by Treasury
Regulation No. 38 (above quoted), under the Act of
19.6, an attempt was made to classify real estate trusts,
particularly Massachusetts Trust, as associations sub-
ject to the capital stock excise even if formed by trust
deeds and not organized under any law, if the income was
distributable among the shareholders in proportion to
their interest in the capital of the trust.

On March 17, 1919 the decision in Crocker v. Malley,
249 U. S. 223, disclosed that this attempt was not
warranted by law.

Thereafter these regulations were modified so as to
exclude such real estate trusts where the beneficiaries
had no control but to include them where the beneficiaries
had control. Treasury Regulation No. 50, as revised,
provides that:

‘Art. 7. Massachusetts trusts. — The test of lia-
bility in all cases involving trusts of the Massach-
setts type is whether the cestuis que trustent have
by the terms of the trust agreement a voice in the
management or control of the trust. Where the
trustees are in complete control of the business,
the beneficiaries having no control except the right
of filling vacancies among the trustees or of con-
senting to a modification of the terms of the trust
or of dissolving the trust, no association exists. If,
however, the cestuis que tructent have a voice in
the control or management of the business of the
trust, whether through the right to elect trustees
periodically or to remove the trustees or to restrict
the trustees as to the management of the trust or

eas

29

otherwise, the trust is an association within the
meaning of the statute. Where the trustees hold in
their own right a sufficient number of the certificates
of beneficial interest to constitute control as between
the beneficiaries, the trust will be held to be an
association regardless of the powers conferred upon
the trustee by the instrument creating the trust.”

It is submitted that there is no warrant for this attempt
to limit the effect of the decision in Crocker v. Malley to
those trusts only in which the beneficiaries do not have
control. The shareholders in the Department Store
Trust which was held in Eliot v. Freeman to be a trust
not subject to a capital-stock excise, had a voting control
of the affairs of the trust.

If a trust in which the beneficial interests are repre-
sented by transferable certificates, is, as was held in
Crocker v. Malley, not an association but a trust, it does
not cease to be a trust and become an association merely
because the shareholders have voting powers.

The fact that a trust may be amended or even termi-
nated does not make it any the less a trust.

Kelley v. Snow, 185 Mass. 288.
Mackernan v. Fox, 220 Mass. 197.

In Crocker v. Malley this Court distinguishes clearly
between an ‘‘association” and a “trust,” saying:

“On the other hand, the trustees by themselves
cannot be a joint-stock association within the
meaning of the act unless all trustees with discre-
tionary powers are such, and the special provision
for trustees in D, is to be made meaningless. We
perceive no ground for grouping the two — bene-

30

ficiaries and trustees — together, in order to turn
them into an ‘association,’ by uniting their con-
trasted functions and powers, although they are in
no proper sense associated. It seems to be an un-
natural perversion of a well-known institution of the
law.”

If the distinction attempted by the Treasury Regu-
lation were valid, it would produce this extraordinary
result: Under the laws of Massachusetts, if there is no
control in the shareholders the trust is a trust and the
shareholders are not personally liable. On the other hand,
if there is full control in the shareholders they are under
a general partnership liability. Under the Treasury
Regulation, if the shareholders are not in control, and,
therefore, not personally liable, the trust is not subject
to the capital stock excise, but if the shareholders are in
control, and, therefore, personally liable, the trust is
subject to this excise. Thus, the whole scheme of the
excise law is overturned. This tax came into existence
as an excise upon “‘the privilege of doing business as an
artificial entity and with freedom from general partnership
liability.’ It would take very clear language to indicate
that Congress intended such an inverted result. There is
nothing in the language used which indicates such at
intention.

oe _—

31

The Plaintiffs are Trustees and Not Associations.

The act of 1918 recognizes for purposes of taxation at
least four different taxable bodies, namely, (1) individu-
als, (2) partnerships, (3) corporations (including quasi-
corporations), and (4) trustees. ‘‘ Association” is a loose
general term which has no such well-defined meaning as
“corporation,” ‘joint stock company,” ‘‘partnership”’
or ‘“‘trust.”” (Smith v. Anderson, (Ct. of App.) 15 Ch.
Div. 273.)

It gets its definition from its context, and may well
have a different meaning in different parts of the same
act, as called for by the context. For instance, a gift to
an association that has no special privileges may be a
proper deduction as a charitable gift. Notwithstanding
this, the association may not be subject to an excise tax.

It is a general principle of tax interpretation that where,
in any tax act, there are general and specific descriptions
which in any manner conflict, the tax will be levied
under the more exact description.

Arthur v. Zimmerman, 96 U. 8. 124.

Movius v. Arthur, 95 U.S. 144.

Arthur v. Lahey, 96 U.S. 112 at 116.

American Net and Twine Co. v. Worthington,
141 U.S. 468.

Of the four classes described in the Act of 1918, the
plaintiff trustees naturally fall in to the class of ‘‘ truStees”’
and not into that of “corporations.” The usual char-
acteristics of a trust exist. They were launched by
an indenture of trust. The legal title is in the trustees.
They administer the trust. This is true even if they
could be said to be so far subject to the control of the
beneficiaries that the beneficiaries are subject to the
liability of partners.

32

In the normal use of language it would not occur to
anybody to speak of Louis Hecht and Simon Hecht, or
of Howard and Barlow, as associations. They are trustees.
They enjoy no special privileges. They manage the
real estate in the way that typical trustees under a will
would manage it. They are liable, as contractors would
be at common law. They may bargain for exemption
from liability, but if they obtain it, they obtain it by
voluntary agreement of those who contract with them.
Their liability for damages sustained by others in the
use of the property, and their liability for debts is the
same as that imposed by the law on other owners and
debtors.

Contractual provisions as to the transferability of
shares do not make the relations any the less those of
trustee and beneficiary. Vested beneficial interests under
a trust are usually transferable, in the absence of spend-
thrift restrictions. The transferability is not created by
the certificates which the trustees issue. They are the
letters which the trustees under a will may properly send
to their beneficiaries informing them of the extent of
their interests.

Even with the enlargement of an imported definition,
it is a distortion of language to speak of these trustees
as a “corporation” to be taxed on its ‘capital stock.”
These are words of the law of corporations and not of
trusts.

It is unnecessary to consider whether, because of any
control in the beneficiaries imposing a personal liability
under the Massachusetts decisions, these trusts should
be called partnerships and so, under the second classi-
fication. Partnerships are not subject to the capital
stock excise.

There has been no change in the law indicating an
intention to impose this privilege tax ona body that does

33

not have any special privileges. There has been no
change in the law rendering inapplicable the decisions
in Malley v. Crocker and Eliot v. Freeman.

In the ordinary use of the terms, (1) the trustees are
trustees (2) they are not an association, (3) they are not
organized, (4) they are not created under any law, and
(5) they have no special privilege.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM H. DUNBAR,

EDWARD F. McCLENNEN,

ALLISON L. NEWTON,
Attorneys for Petitioners.

February 1923.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0020%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
