# Opinion — Cook v. Tait

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0009%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opinion
- **Published:** January 1, 1924
- **Citation:** 265 U.S. 47

## Text

wba RoR Spr HDi ated Lee Rak a ER REED Ne ARE AR TE

Be Mohini

48 OCTOBER TERM, i923.

Argument for Plaintiff in Error. 265 U.S.

out the territorial jurisdiction of the United States and
solely within the territorial jurisdiction of the Republic
of Mexico.

A. This proposition involves solely the question of the
power to levy the tax and not the mode of its exercise.
Veazie Bank v. Fenno, 8 Wall. 533; Pollock v. Farmers’
Loan & Trust Co., 157 U.S. 429; 158 U.S. 601; Brushaber
v. Union Pac. R. R. Co., 240 U. 8S. 1; Stanton v. Baltic
Mining Co., 240 U.S. 103; Eisner v. Macomber, 252 U.S.
189; Peck & Co. v. Lowe, 247 U.S. 165; Evans v. Gore,
253 U.S. 245; Nicol v. Ames, 173 U.S. 509; United States
v. Phellis, 257 U.S. 156.

B. The power of taxation, inherent in sovereignty, is
limited to the territorial jurisdiction of the sovereign, and
the attempt to impose a tax upon property, persons or
business beyond that jurisdiction is void. I Cooley,
Taxation, p. 249; McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316;
United States v. Rice, 4 Wheat. 247; Loughborough v.
Blake, 5 Wheat. 317; State Tax on Foreign-Held Bonds,
15 Wall. 300; Dewey v. Des Moines, 173 U. 8S. 193;
De Lima v. Bidwell, 182 U. 8. 1; United States v. Hay-
ward, 2 Gall. 485; St. Louis v. The Ferry Co., 11 Wall.
423; Tappan v. Merchants’ National Bank, 19 Wall. 490;
Louisville Ferry Co. v. Kentucky, 188 U. S. 385; Union
Refrigerator Transit Co. v. Kentucky, 199 U.S. 194.

(1) The subject of the tax is the right to the rents and
profits from the property realized in the shape of income;
this is a property right having its situs in the Republic of
Mexico. Dobbins v. Commissioners of Erie County, 16
Pet. 435; Maguire v. Trefry, 253 U. S. 12; Pollock v.
Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co., 157 U.S. 429; 158 U.S. 601;
Brushaber v. Union Pac. R. R. Co., 240 U.S. 1; Gillespie
v. Oklahoma, 257 U. S. 501; Greiner v. Lewellyn, 258
U. S. 384; Eisner v. Macomber, 252 U.S. 189; Evans v.
Gore, 253 U. S. 245; Revenue Act of 1921, § 210; Six-
teenth Amendment; Nicol v. Anes, 173 U. S. 509; The
Exchange, 7 Cr. 116; Selliger v Kentucky, 213 U.S. 200;

COOK v. TAIT. 49

47 Argument for Plaintiff in Error.

Union Refrigerator Transit Co. v. Kentucky, 199 U. 8.
194; Louisville Ferry Co. v. Kentucky, 188 U. S. 385;
Thirty Hogsheads of Sugar v. Boyle, 9 Cr. 191; United
States v. Rice, 4 Wheat. 247; Fleming v. Page, 9 How. 603.

(2) The person of plaintiff in error is not within the
jurisdiction of the United States for purposes of taxation.
See authorities cited supra, under B(1).

(3) Citizenship of a native American is neither prop-
erty nor a privilege granted by Congress and therefore can-
not afford any basis for the tax in the instant case.
United States v. Rice, 4 Wheat. 247; Downes v. Bidwell,
182 U. 8. 282; Collector v. Day, 11 Wall. 113; Louisville
Ferry Co. v. Kentucky, 188 U. 8. 385; Shaffer v. Carter,
252 U.S. 37; Const., Art. I, § 8, par. 1; Art. I, § 2, el. 3;
Art. I, § 9, el. 4; Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., 220 U.S. 107;
Loan Association v. Topeka, 20 Wall. 655; Pollock v.
Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co., 157 U. S. 429; Moore, Ameri-
can Notes to Dicey on Conflict of Laws, pp. 783, 800.

C. The United States not having the power to impose
the tax, its imposition and collection is a mere extortion
under the guise of taxation and violates the rights of the
plaintiff in error guaranteed him under the Fifth Amend-
ment. State Tax on Foreign-Held Bonds, 15 Wall. 300;
Union Refrigerator Transit Co. v. Kentucky, 199 U. 8.
194; Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37; Dewey v. Des Moines,
173 U.S. 193.

D. The tax is in violation of the natural and inherent
rights of plaintiff in error and is contrary to the rights re-
served—independently of citizenship—by the first ten
amendments to the Constitution, and especially the Fifth,
Ninth and Tenth Amendments. Downes v. Bidwell, 182
U.S. 282; Fong Yue Ting v. United States, 149 U.S. 715.

II. The tax assessed is not within the statute.

A. The statute does not contain express declaration of
authority to impose the tax and will be strictly construed
in favor of the taxpayer. Revenue Act, 1921, § 210, 42

2080°—24—-—4

we ae

Leer se ee ee dees

50 OCTOBER TERM, 1923.

Argument for Defendant in Error. 265 U.S.

Stat. 233; Revenue Act, 1913, § 2-A, Subdiv. 1, 38 Stat.
166; Revenue Act, 1916, § 1—-A, 39 Stat. 756; Revenue
Act, 1918, § 210, 40 Stat. 1057; Mutual Benefit Life Ins.
Co. v. Herold, 198 Fed. 199; s. ¢., 201 Fed. 918; Eidman v.
Martinez, 184 U. 8S. 578; United States v. Goelet, 232
U. S. 298.

B. The statute must be construed as including only
property and persons within the constitutional power of
Congress to reach, so as to keep the statute in harmony
with the Constitution. McCullough v. Virginia, 172 U.S.
102; Sedgwick, Construction (Pomeroy), 2d ed., p. 206.

Mr. Solicitor General Beck for defendant in error.

I. The Constitution confers on Congress a broad power
to lay and collect taxes.

Referring to this power, this Court said in the License
Tax Cases, 5 Wall. 462: “It is given in the Constitution
with only one exception and only two qualifications.
Congress can not tax exports, and it must impose direct
taxes by the rule of apportionment, and indirect taxes by
the rule of uniformity. Thus limited, and thus only, it
reaches every subject, and may be exercised at discretion.”

The rule announced in these cases was restated and
affirmed in Pollock v. Farmers’ Loan & Trust Co., 157
U. S$. 429. To the same effect are Nicol v. Ames, 173
U.S. 509; Knowlton v. Moore, 178 U. S. 41; and Flint
v. Stone Tracy Co., 220 U. S. 107. See Brushaber v.
Union Pacific R. R. Co., 240 U.S. 1.

II. The tax imposed on the plaintiff is not unconstitu-
tional because it applies to income from property outside
of the United States.

This Court has decided (Brushaber Case, supra) that
even before the adoption of the Sixteenth Amendment
Congress might tax all property and the income from all
property. Stanton v. Baltic Mining Co., 240 U. S. 103.

All taxes are personal obligations of the citizen, even
though measured in amount by his property or the income

meg ay

COOK v. TAIT. 51

47 Argument for Defendant in Error.

thereof. Taxes are not imposed upon property as such
but upon its owner.

The contention that taxing the income is not author-
ized by the Sixteenth Amendment, if well founded, would
apply equally to a citizen residing in the United States,
and deriving his entire income from sources outside of
the United States; and yet unquestionably Congress has
such power of taxation over citizens residing within the
United States. How can the duty of the citizen to sup-
port the government which protects him depend upon
his place of residence? Wherein does the Constitution
impose such a limitation upon the power of Congress to
tax?

The Sixteenth Amendment made it immaterial whether
income were or were not derived from property.

III. The courts have clearly indicated that Congress
may tax the income of one who is subject to its jurisdic-
tion, although that income is derived from sources outside
of the United States. Nevada Bank v. Sedgwick, 104
U.S. 111; Memphis & Charleston R. R. Co. v. United
States, 108 U. S. 228; 26 R. C. L., pp. 85, 86; United
States v. Erie Ry. Co., 106 U. 8. 327; United States v.
Goelet, 232 U.S. 293; United States v. Bennett, 232 U.S.
299; Porto Rico Coal Co. v. Edwards, 275 Fed. 104.

IV. Decisions relating to state legislation taxing persons
or property beyond the borders of those States are in-
applicable. United States v. Bennett, supra.

V. The jurisdiction of a national sovereign over its sub-
jects is not confined to its territorial domain. I Hyde, Int.
Law, pp. 410-412, 423, 435-446. Treason may be pun-
ished no matter where the treasonable acts have occurred.
35 Henry VIII, c. 2; Criminal Code, § 1. This is also true
of conspiracy, United States v. Bowman, 260 U. S. 94;
of cannibalism, Regina v. Dudley, 15 Cox C. C. 624; and
by English law it is true of offenses by Crown officials.
11 William ITI, e. 12; 42 Geo. IIT, ¢. 85, $1. Subjects who
go to uncivilized countries take their national law with

lee has a Haak AA EL

Mi BI I Bi AIST AES SLEEPERS a BES

eat 4
SREB

52 OCTOBER TERM, 1923.

Argument for Defendant in Error. 265 U.S.

them. I Hyde, supra, p. 451. Our Criminal Code ($§
308, 309) forbids the sale of arms, liquors, or opium to
the aboriginal natives of Pacific islands which are not in
the possession of or under the protection of any civilized
power; and an act of Congress (March 3, 1915, c. 74, $$
1-13, 38 Stat. 817) regulates the practice of pharmacy and
the sale of poisons in consular districts in China. Under
treaties the United States has established consular courts
for American citizens in several countries. So also, per-
sonal representatives of a sovereign, members of the diplo-
matic corps, carry their national law with them, and they
are immune from the operation of the laws of the country
to which they are sent. I Hyde, supra, pp. 746-763.

Counsel for the plaintiff urge that the imposition of
such a tax upon him would be subversive of the sov-
ereignty of Mexico. The rules of international law, how-
ever, indicate that there is no subversion of the sovereignty
of the country when a resident alien obeys the command
of his own national sovereign, unless the command of his
sovereign conflicts with the command of the local sov-
ereign.

VI. The leading text writers upon international law
concede that a national sovereign has the power to impose
taxes upon its nonresident citizens regardless of the
sources from which such incomes are derived. I Oppen-
heim, Int. Law, p. 195; Bar, Int. Law, 2d ed., p. 247;
Story, Conflict of Laws, 7th ed., pp. 21, 22, 682; I West-
lake, Int. Law, pp. 111, 112, 206, 208; I Hyde, Int. Law,
p. 362; Webster, The Law of Citizenship, 1891, pp.
167, 168.

The payment of an income tax by a nonresident citizen
is looked upon as prima facie evidence of citizenship. The
failure to pay such an income tax is, inter alia, of con-
siderable weight in determining that the nonresident
citizen has given up his allegiance to the United States.
Borchard, Diplomatic Protection of Citizens Abroad, pp.
694-697, 706, 728 et seq.; Mr. Fish, Secretary of State,

COOK v. TAIT. 53

47 Opinion of the Court.

to Mr. MacVeagh, December 13, 1870, Foreign Relations,
1871, pp. 887-888; The Charming Betsy, 2 Cr. 64.

As pointed out in Minor v. Happersett, 21 Wall. 162,
a citizen owes allegiance to his nation and is entitled to its
protection.

VII. The imposition of the tax is not in derogation of
any rights of the plaintiff under the first ten amendments.
Brushaber v. Union Pacific R. R. Co., 240 U. S. 1, 24;
Heald v. District of Columbia, 259 U. 8. 114, 124.

VIII. The Revenue Act of 1921 applies to the plaintiff.

Mr. Justice McKenna delivered the opinion of the
Court.

Action by plaintiff in error, he will be referred to as
plaintiff, to recover the sum of $298.34 as the first install-
ment of an income tax paid, it is charged, under the
threats and demands of Tait.

The tax was imposed under the Revenue Act of 1921,
which provides by § 210 (42 Stat. 227, 233): “That, in
lieu of the tax imposed by section 210 of the Revenue Act
of 1918, there shall be levied, collected, and paid for each
taxable year upon the net income of every individual a
normal tax of 8 per centum of the amount of the net
income in excess of the credits provided in section 216:
Provided, That in the case of a citizen or resident of the
United States the rate upon the first $4,000 of such excess
amount shall be 4 per centum.”’?

*The following regulation, No. 62, promulgated by the Commis-
sioner of Internal Revenue under the Revenue Act of 1921, provides
in Article 3: “ Citizens of the United States except those entitled to
the benefits of section 262 . . . wherever resident, are liable to
the tax. It makes no difference that they may own no assets within
the United States and may receive no income from sources within
the United States. Every resident alien individual is liable to the
tax, even though his income 's wholly from sources outside the United
States. Every nonresident alien individual is liable to the tax on
his income from sources within the United States.”

54 OCTOBER TERM, 1923.

Opinion of the Court. 265 U.S.

Plaintiff is a native citizen of the United States and was
such when he took up his residence and became domiciled
in the City of Mexico. A demand was made upon him
by defendant in error, designated defendant, to make a
return of his income for the purpose of taxation under the
Revenue Laws of the United States. Plaintiff complied
with the demand, but under protest, the income having
been derived from property situated in the City of Mex-
ico. A tax was assessed against him in the sum of
$1,193.38, the first installment of which he paid, and for
it, as we have said, this action was brought.

The question in the case, and which was presented by
the demurrer to the declaration is, as expressed by plain-
tiff, whether Congress has power to impose a tax upon
income received by a native citizen of the United States
who, at the time the income was received, was perma-
nently resident and domiciled in the City of Mexico, the
income being from real and personal property located in
Mexico.

Plaintiff assigns against the power not only his rights
under the Constitution of the United States but under
international law, and in support of the assignments cites
many cases. It will be observed that the foundation of
the assignments is the fact that the citizen receiving the
income, and the property of which it is the product, are
outside of the territorial limits of the United States.
These two facts, the contention is, exclude the existence
of the power to tax. Or to put the contention another
way, as to the existence of the power and its exercise, the
person receiving the income, and the property from which
he receives it, must both be within the territorial limits of
the United States to be within the taxing power of the
United States. The contention is not justified, and that
it is not justified is the necessary deduction of recent
cases. In United States v. Bennett, 232 U. S. 299, the
power of the United States to tax a foreign built yacht
owned and used during the taxing period outside of the

COOK v. TAIT. 55
47 Opinion of the Court.

United States by a citizen domiciled in the United States
was sustained. The tax passed on was imposed by a
tariff act,’ but necessarily the power does not depend
upon the form by which it is exerted.

It will be observed that the case contained only one
of the conditions of the present case, the property taxed
was outside of the United States. In United States v.
Goelet, 232 U.S. 293, the yacht taxed was outside of the
Enited States but owned by a citizen of the United States
who was “permanently resident and domiciled in a for-
eign country.” It was decided that the yacht was not
subject to the tax—but this as a matter of construction.
Pains were taken to say that the question of power was
determined “ wholly irrespective” of the owner’s “ perma-
nent domicile in a foreign country.” And the Court put
out of view the situs of the yacht. That the Court had
no doubt of the power to tax was illustrated by reference
to the income tax laws of prior years and their express
extension to those domiciled abroad. The illustration
has pertinence to the case at bar, for the case at bar is
concerned with an income tax, and the power to impose it.

We may make further exposition of the national power
as the case depends upon it. It was illustrated at once in
United States v. Bennett by a contrast with the power of a
State. It was pointed out that there were limitations
upon the latter that were not on the national power. The
taxing power of a State, it was decided, encountered at its
borders the taxing power of other States and was limited
by them. There was no such limitation, it was pointed

*Section 37, Tariff Act of August 5, 1909, c. 6, 36 Stat. 11, 112,
provided in part as follows: “There shall be levied and collected
annually on the first day of September by the collector of customs
of the district nearest the residence of the managing owner, upon the
use of every foreign-built yacht, pleasure-boat or vessel, not used or
intended to be used for trade, now or hereafter owned or chartered
for more than six months by any citizen or citizens of the United
States, a sum equivalent to a tonnage tax of seven dollars per gross
ton.”

Sekiiaiss Mas

RAL DOLLS CORR Bae RG Leta SABES iT ERE gr BAP SOMA 48 ELEC TTA,

56 OCTOBER TERM, 1923.

Opinion of the Court. 265 U-S.

out, upon the national power; and the limitation upon the
States affords, it was said, no ground for constructing a
barrier around the United States “ shutting that govern-
ment off from the exertion of powers which inherently
belong to it by virtue of its sovereignty.”

The contention was rejected that a citizen’s property
without the limits of the United States derives no benefit
from the United States. The contention, it was said, came
from the confusion of thought in “ mistaking the scope
and extent of the sovereign power of the United States as
a nation and its relations to its citizens and their relations
to it.’ And that power in its scope and extent, it was
decided, is based on the presumption that government by
its very nature benefits the citizen and his property
wherever found, and that opposition to it holds on to
citizenship while it “ belittles and destroys its advantages
and blessings by denying the possession by government of
an essential power required to make citizenship com-
pletely beneficial.” In other words, the principle was de-
clared that the government, by its very nature, benefits
the citizen and his property wherever found and, there-
fore, has the power to make the benefit complete. Or to
express it another way, the basis of the power to tax was
not and cannot be made dependent upon the situs of the
property in all cases, it being in or out of the United

States, and was not and cannot be made dependent upon
the domicile of the citizen, that being in or out of the
United States, but upon his relation as citizen to the
United States and the relation of the latter to him as
citizen. The consequence of the relations is that the
native citizen who is taxed may have domicile, and the
property from which his income is derived may have
situs, in a foreign country and the tax be legal—the
government having power to impose the tax.

Judgment affirmed.

Mr. Justice McReyNnotps took no part in the con-
sideration or decision of this case.

sags Sha ae

COOK v. TAIT, UNITED STATES COLLECTOR OF
INTERNAL REVENUE FOR THE DISTRICT OF
MARYLAND.

ERROR TO THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR
THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND.

No. 220. Argued April 15, 1924.-Deeided May 5, 1924.

Congress has power to tax the income received by a native citizen
of the United States domiciled abroad from property situated
abroad. P. 54

286 Fed. 409, affirmed.

Error to a judgment of the District Court, dismissing
on demurrer an action to recover money paid, under
protest, as income taxes.

Mr. Charles Claflin Allen, Jr., gnd Mr. Charles Claflin
Allen, with whom Mr. Frederic N. Watriss was on the
briefs, for plaintiff in error.

I. Congress has no power to impose a tax upon income
received by a native citizen of the United States who
was at the time when the income was received perma-
nently resident and domiciled in the Republic of Mexico,
when such income was derived solely from real and
personal property permanently located at all times with-

aR

ge CLIVE RAINEY TT

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0009%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
