# Opposition Brief — Historic Green Springs, Inc. v. Virginia Vermiculite, Ltd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1751%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1066

## Text

No. 98-1289 MAW ' > UO

r fe
) Ureacr ta ime Mace
|
——e

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM. 1998

)PPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A WRIT O1
CERTIORARI

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Should this Court review a factbound application of the well-
established antitrust doctrine excluding noncommercial
restraints, which the Fourth Circuit expressly found consistent
with all other circuit decisions interpreting this doctrine,
correctly ruling that this doctrine was not satisfied on the highly
unusual facts of this case where: (a) to evade an antitrust duty to
deal, amonopolist made a donation coupled with anticompetitive
restraints foreclosing a huge market share of an input vital to the
monopolist’s only rival, (b) the anticompetitive purpose was
patent on the face of the donative restraints because they targeted
anticompetitive concerns over preservationist ones, and (c) the
donee knew its agreement was necessary to this anticompetitive
objective and received a significant financial gain for agreeing to
join the anticompetitive scheme?

2. Should this Court review a meritless claim -- which was never
raised by petitioner below and never addressed by the Fourth
Circuit or any other court -- that the application of federal
antitrust law to the unusual commercial acti-/ity in this case 1s
implicitly repealed by a federal tax provision governing

“t. +")

completely different conduct

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ... 3. e000 ee eee
STATEMENT OF THE CASE). .355 9035 3 eee |
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ............... 5

1. There Is No Conflict in Authority on the
Noncommercial Restraint Doctrine. .............. 7

—

il. The Noncommercial Restraint Doctrine Was Correctly
Applied to the Facts Here, Which Would Not Fit Even
Petitioner’s Proposed Standard and Are So Unusual They
Are Unitkely te Reel... . 6605 eee eee 16

Ill. The Argument That I.R.C. §170(h) Creates an
Implicit Exemption to the Antitrust Laws Was Not
Preserved on Appeal and Involves No Conflict in Lower
Court AMGRGIHY. . ws io es eee 20

IV. The Argument That I.R.C. §170(h) Creates an
Implicit Exemption to the Antitrust Laws Relies on a
Demonstrably False Premise About Tax Law, and Even
if Accurate About Tax Law Would Fail to Rebut the
Strong Presumption Against Implicit Antitrust
ESCMIINOONE. . oc esc cae de eeeee eee

CONCLUSION

ee 6 © € 6 6 6 *@ @€@ 8 2 Oe 2 Owe Oe) Ole eee 2.2 eee

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
Allen Bradley Co. v. Union, 325 U.S. 797 (1945) ..... ++. 13

Allied Tube v. Indian Head, 486 U.S. 492, 501 (1988) .. 9, 15
American Soc'y v. Hydrolevel,

DE SE UOEED . cus ccs viwcacrerers 8-10, 14, 20
American Tobacco v. United States, 328 U.S. 781 (1946) . 2
Apex Hosiery v. Leader, 310 U.S. 469 ( Aare 12-13

‘

Aspen Skiing v. Aspen Highlands, 472 U.S. 585 (1985) ...
Ass'n for Intercoll. Ath. v. NCAA,

735 F.2d $77 (D.C. Cir. 1984) .... 0. ccc cece reece 10
Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) ... 66. eee eee 21
Corrosion Proof Fittings v. EPA,

947 F.2d 1201 (Sth Cir.1991) ..... 2. eee eee eeees 21
Costello Pub'g v. Rotelle,

670 F.2d 1035 (D.C. Cir. 1981) .........0 00 eee: 10-11
Dedication & Everlasting Love to Animais v. Humane Society,

$0 F.3d 710 (9th Cir. 1995) .......-.- cece e eens 10, 12
Eastern R.R. Pres. Conf. v. Noerr Motor Freight,

0 eo) ee ce a oe

a

Eastman Kodak v. Image Tech., 504 U.S. 451 (1992) ....
FTC v. Indiana Federation of Dentists,

a ee i )
FTC v. Superior Court Trial Lawyers Ass 1,

“OUR ST | ce 9,15
Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 42) U.S. 773 (1975) ..... 23
Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co.,

ee | ee a
Hennessey v. NCAA, 564 F.2d | 136 (Sth Civ. 1977)... «-: 1]
Hospital Corp. v. FTC, 807 F.2d 1381 (7th Cir. 1986) .... 8
Knetsch v. United States, 364 U.S. 361 (1960) .......--. 21
Lorain Journal v. United States, 342 U.S. 143 (1951) ray

Marjorie Webster Jr. College v. Middle States Ass'n,
nae oe B50 tC. Cir. 1970) ... 2. ee eens -. 10

iV

VICM Prtnr’s v. Andrews-Bartlett,

Ge Fae Oe CT aE 6500 5600 V6 0 ee E ERS 14
Midwest Radio v. Forum Publishing,

942 F.2d 1294 (8th Cir.1991).................. re
Missouri v. NOW, 620 F.2d 1301 (8th Cir. 1980) 2.0.0... 14
NAACP vy. Claiborne Hardware, 458 U.S. 996 (1982) .... 15
National Gerimedical Hosp. & Gerontology Center vy.

Blue Cross, 452 U.S. 378 (1981) ............... 23-24
Vational Soc 'y of Professional Engr’s v. United States,

GS Ue re Che! 6 cock peace eee aeaen 9, 23-24
VCAA v. Board of Regents, 468 U.S. 85 (1984) ....... 8-10
NOW v. Scheidler, 968 F.2d 612 (7th Cir. 1992) ...... .. 12
Ozee v. Amer. Council, 110 F.3d 1082 (Sth Cir. 1997) .... 11
Patrick v. Burget, 4860 U.S. 94 (1988) ................. 24
Preservation Coalition v. Pierce,

667 F.2a 85! (9th Cw.1962Z) .. 1... ence cnvcccuce 21
Rhode Island v. Narragansett Indian Tribe,

19 F.3d 685 (ist Cir.1994) .......... cc eee ce eee 21
Silver v. NYSE, 373 U.S. 341 (1963) ......... cece cee: 24
United States v. American Tobacco, 221 U.S. 106 (1911) .. 2

United States v. Borden Co., 308 U.S. 188 (1939) .... 13-14
United States v. Brown Univ., 5 F.3d 658 (3d Cir. 1993) 9-11
United States v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical,

SIG F.20 £20 (Br Caw.) ow. ccc wc wee rsccsacucs 21
United States v. Paramount, 334 U.S. 131 (1948) ........ 14
Universal Analytics v. MacNeal-Schwendler Corp.,

914 F.2d 1256 (9th Cir.1990) ........... Rp

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, and Rules:

Sherman Act §1, 15 U.S.C. §1 ........00.00....00... 4,8
ee FACE OO, EU ONT occ so cae the one es 12-13
IL.R.C. §170(a), (c), 26 U.S.C §170(a), (c). 2.2.2.2... . 22
ILR.C. §170(f)(3), 26 U.S.C §170(f)(3) 2.2.00 0000. 22-23
[L.R.C. §170(h), 26 U.S.C §170(b) 2... ee. 5-6, 20-23
Bee UPD. 1. ACEI ee) caccoesivvncdccssavsas ae

Il] AREEDA & TURNER, ANTITR (19
DA, ELHAUGE & HOV!
ANTITRUST LAW (1995)

{ ert ' A , | . 4¢ —_ ‘
AREEDA & HOVENKAM \ li kK { ipp o,
'
(’.J.S. AMICUS CUR
7
1 ( iplul i he } 1}

Respondent Virginia Vermiculite, Ltd., respectfully requests
that this Court deny the petition for a writ of certiorari, which
seeks review of the Fourth Circuit’s decision holding that
petitioner enjoys no immunity from antitrust suit on the
particular facts of this case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In a decision that not a single judge on the Fourth Circuit
found merited en banc review, App. 16a, a unanimous Fourth
Circuit panel correctly found that the well-established
noncommercial exception to Sherman Act §1 was not satisfied
on the highly unusual facts of this case. App. 9a-12a. Those
facts merit restating because the petition misstates those facts,
misleadingly obscures the anticompetitive scheme, falsely
characterizes the holding below and claims it recognized a
conflict with other circuits, and misleadingly implies petitione!
raised an issue below that in fact it never raised till now.

1. The Highly Unusual Facts. There are only two domestic
producers of processed vermiculite, which can be mined and
processed in only two domestic locations: South Carolina and
Virginia. App. 3a-4a. Because of the weight of raw vermiculite,
it must be processed within a few miles of the mines. App. 22a;
JA 571-72.' Grace is a vermiculite monopolist that mines and
processes vermiculite only in South Carolina. App. 4a

Although it never mined or processed vermiculite in Virginia,
Grace bought up 80% of the vermiculite deposits in Virginia in
the 1970s and proceeded to suppress their use for the next 20
years. /d. By the 1990s, Grace’s only domestic rival -- Virginia
Vermiculite -- was about to run out of its Virginia deposits and
wanted to buy Grace’s unused vermiculite deposits. /d

lhe situation left Grace in something of a bind. If Grace sold
Virginia Vermiculite the deposits, Virginia Vermiculite would
stay in business and create real competition for Grace in the

vermiculite market. But if Grace retained the deposits unused,

'“JA” refers to the Joint Appendix before the Fourth Circuit. “App.” refers

to the appendix to the petition for certiorari

tr

Grace would presumptively have faced antitrust liability under
the doctrine that a monopolist who refuses a rival access to a
useful resource violates antitrust law if motivated by the refusal’s
exclusionary effect rather than legitimate business purposes.’
Indeed, Grace would almost certainly have faced antitrust
liability under the special doctrine prohibiting a monopolist from
buying up and suppressing necessary inputs to keep them from
its rivals.’ Given that this antitrust doctrine applies even for
duplicable inputs like plants, supplies, and personnel, then it
certainly would have applied where (as here) the suppressed
inputs are nonduplicable natural resources.

To evade its antitrust duty as a monopolist, Grace had to sell
or transfer its deposits to someone else. But it knew that anyone
else who had the deposits would have financial incentives to
resell them for their most valued use: vermiculite mining. Grace
then came up with the ingenious idea of making a strategic
donation to continue Grace’s suppression of these deposits.
Pursuant to this anticompetitive scheme, Grace and petitioner
agreed that Grace would donate all the deposits to petitioner.

‘Aspen Skung v. Aspen Highlands, 472 U.S. 585 (1985); Lorain Journal \
(/nited States, 342 U.S. 143, 155 (1951); Eastman Kodak v. Image Tech., 504
U.S. 451, 483 n.32 (1992); App. 8a

‘See United States v. American Tobacco, 221 U.S. 106, 183 (1911)
(monopolization proven by the “persistent expenditure of millions upon
millions of dollars in buying out plants, not for the purpose of utilizing them,
but in order to close them up and render them useless for the purposes of
trade”), American Tobacco v. United States, 328 U.S. 781, 803-04 (1946)
(defendants monopolized by buying unneeded tobacco to keep it from rivals);
Il] AREEDA & TURNER, ANTITRUST LAW 9604, at 8 (1978) (“buying rival
plants in order to close them constitutes monopolizing behavior’); id. 97314,
at 250 (“It would clearly be exclusionary for a monopolist . . . to acquire
supplies obviously in excess of his needs”); id. 9707c, at 110 (“Acquiring

talent not to use it but to deny it to possible rivals is exclusionary”); Universal

fnalytcs v. MacNeal-Schwendler Corp., 914 F.2d 1256, 1258 (9th Cir. 1990)
(same); Midwest Radio v. Forum Publishing, 942 F.2d 1294, 1297 (8th
(ir.1991) (same)

Ww

App. 4a-5a. But Grace did not trust petitioner not to resell or
mine the property itself. Instead, as a condition of the transfer,
Grace and petitioner agreed to restraints preventing vermiculite
mining on the donated land. App. Sa.

Grace’s purpose was thus anticompetitive, which was well
known by the petitioner. App. 4a-Sa, lla. Indeed, two other
features emphasized that -- on its very face -- the patent purpose
of this duty-evading donative restraint was anticompetitive, not
preservationist. Grace and petitioner agreed to modify the
original restraint -- which would have prohibited all mining -- to
prohibit only vermiculite mining. App. 25a; JA 578-79. Since
other mining poses an equal threat to preservation, the
modification clearly indicated that petitioner wanted the freedom
to deviate from the pure preservationist principles it here
espouses, and that Grace did not really care about preservation
as long as the mining that posed a competitive threat to it
(vermiculite mining) was prohibited. Furthermore, apparently
worried that post-mining reclamation might make vermiculite
mining consistent with preservation, Grace and petitioner agreed
that the prohibition on vermiculite mining applied even 1f
reclamation eliminated preservationist objections by completely
restoring the land to its prior state. App. 24a; JA 57,

In short, the restraints attached to the duty-evading donation
were modified to prohibit vermiculite mining even when it doe:
not cause preservation problems and to permit non-vermiculit
mining even when it does. The anticompetitive purpose of the
transaction was thus obvious on the face of the donative restraint

Further, petitioner had a clear financial interest in thi
transaction. In return for agreeing to help Grace achieve it
anticompetitive purpose, petitioner received nearly 1400 acres of
land, much of which it re-sold for monetary gain. App. 4a-5a
7a-8a, 1 la. The agreement also furthered the financial interests
of petitioner’s management and members, who owned property
whose value would have suffered if the agreement had not

prevented hundreds of acres from being added to the local supply

4

of marketable property. App. 7a-8a, 11a; JA 575. Indeed, as the
Fourth Circuit observed, the mere fact that the parties found it
necessary to prohibit petitioner from engaging in vermiculite
mining suggested petitioner had goals other than eliminating
such mining. App. 8a.*

2. The Proceedings Below. The Fourth Circuit below
correctly held that these facts alleged an agreement in restraint
of trade, and that petitioner enjoyed no antitrust immunity under
the doctrine excluding noncommercial restraints. App. 6a-1 2a.
But petitioner is wrong to repeatedly -- and falsely -- assert that
the Fourth Circuit acknowledged its decision conflicts with
decisions from cther circuits. Pet. 2, 7. The Fourth Circuit did
no such thing. To the contrary, it explicitly considered these
decisions from other circuits and concluded that its decision was
fully consistent with them. App. 10a. The Fourth Circuit
recognized that these other circuits were correct that the plain
language of Sherman Act §1 does not cover “noncommercial
behavior.” /d. The Fourth Circuit simply made a fact-specific
determination that the behavior in the case at hand was
commercial, and thus not within the doctrine excluding restraints
on noncommercial activity that the Fourth Circuit joined other
circuits in recognizing. App. 10a-12a.

*The Fourth Circuit decision reviewed a complaint dismissal and thus
properly decided the case based on the facts alleged in that complaint. In
contrast, the petition for certiorari improperly goes outside the appellate
record to assert facts that are not contained in the complaint and that Virginia
Vermiculite vigorously disputes. For example, the petition asserts that: (1)
petitioner's motive was not financial but rather solely to preserve and protect
the land; (2) petitioner's agreement prevented a form of strip-mining that
would cause irreparable harm to preservationist values; and (3) the actual
purpose for bringing this suit was to drive petitioner out of existence rather
than to correct the anticompetitive harm. Pet. 1, 2, 4, 18, 27. These
unilaterally asserted facts are neither true nor part of the appellate record, and
thus cannot form a basis for this Court’s certiorari review,

5

Petitioner is also wrong to mischaracterize the Fourth Circuit
as holding that a nonprofit’s “mere” acceptance of a donation for
noncommercial purposes is commercial conduct subject to
antitrust scrutiny. Pet. 7-9. Instead, the Fourth Circuit decision
emphasized that: (a) this was no “mere” donation but a donation
that evaded a monopolist’s antitrust duty to deal and was coupled
with anticompetitive restraints foreclosing a huge market share
to the monopolist’s only nval; and (b) the transaction did not
involve “mere” noncommercial purposes because the transaction
had an anticompetitive purpose that the donee knew about and
had a financial interest in furthering, given that the donee
received significant financial gains for agreeing to help the
monopolist further that anticompetitive purpose. App. 4a-Sa, 8a,
1 la-12a.

Petitioner also misleadingly implies that below it raised the
issue Of whether I.R.C. §170(h) precludes the application of
federal antitrust law to its conduct. Pet. 19-20. In fact, petitioner
never raised this issue below. Instead, the issue was raised
below only in an amicus brief, and was thus properly never
considered or discussed by the Fourth Circuit.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

It is not surprising that no judge on the Fourth Circuit either
dissented from this opinion or found it worthy of en banc review.
This case involves the correct but factbound application of an
undisputed legal standard to particular facts that are so unusual
they are highly unlikely to recur.

There is even more reason why the petition for certiorari
should be denied. U.S. SUPREME COURT RULE 10 counsels that
normally certiorari is appropriate only when there is a legal
conflict either between the lower appellate courts or between one
such court and decisions of this Court. There is no such conflict
in this case. On the noncommercial restraint issue, the Fourth
Circuit decision instead correctly ruled that its decision was
completely consistent with all rulings in other federal circuits.

6

App. 10a-12a. On the purported tax exception issue, petitioner
does not even allege such a conflict, nor could it since no court
(including the one below) has ever ruled on this issue.

This is simply not the sort of case that merits an allocation of
the scarce resources this Court has to devote to reconciling
conflicting lower court decisions. Even less can we say that the
case presents issues that have percolated in the lower courts and
reached a stage where the existence of multiple decisions and
extensive legal analysis renders a conflict ripe for this Court’s
consideration. All the circuits recognize the doctrine excluding
noncommercial restraints, but the Fourth Circuit 1s the only one
to consider whether that doctrine applies to the unusual sorts of
facts alleged here. And no circuit -- including the Fourth -- has
ever rendered an opinion on the purported issue of whether
| R.C. §170¢h) ever impliedly repeals some applications of
federal antitrust law.

Even if this Court were in the business of deciding issues
before any lower-court conflict had arisen, the issues here would
not be appropriate for this Court’s review. On the doctrine
excluding noncommercial restraints, petitioner argues that a mere
donation with purely noncommercial purposes should not be
deemed commercial. Pet. 7-9. But this would be an extremely
poor test case to develop this proposition for petitioner does not
meet its own proposed standard. Rather, it is basically arguing
that the Fourth Circuit was wrong to conclude that the
transaction here involved neither a mere donation nor purely
noncommercial purposes. “A petition for certiorari is rarely
vranted when the asserted error consists of... the misapplication
ofa properly stated rule of law” See U.S. SUPREME COURT RULE
10. On the alleged antitrust exemption created by ILR.C.
$170(h), there was no discussion tn the lower court at all because
the issue was never raised by petitioner. The issue was thus not
properly preserved on appeal, and in any event has not received
the sort of briefing below that would make it appropriate for
review by this Court.

7

Finally, even if the issues were appropriate for decision by
this Court, petitioner is manifestly wrong on both issues. While
donations to charities are normally noncommercial, the Fourth
Circuit was clearly correct that this transaction differed from a
normal donation in way that made it essentially commercial.
Donations do not normally: evade a donor-monopolist’s antitrust
duty, come coupled with restraints that patently further not
charitable goals but the anticompetitive goal of foreclosing a
huge market share to rivals, and involve a financial payoff to the
receiving charity for agreeing to join the anticompetitive scheme
This case appears to be the only one of its kind The decision
below in no way threatens normal noncommercial donations that
do not have these peculiar features.

The argument that a tax subsidy creates an antitrust
exemption utterly fails to rebut this Court’s heavy presumption
against implicit antitrust exemptions. Indeed, it rests on the
palpably false premise that, to get its tax deduction, Grace had to
impose restrictions on the property it gave petitioner. In fact, the
mere giving away of property to a charity is clearly sufficient to
get a tax deduction, as anyone who has given property to a
charity knows. The tax code cited by petitioner applies instead
to the entirely different situation where the party seeking the tax
deduction keeps the property, and donates away only a partial
interest (like an easement) on that property. In such cases, the
tax code quite sensibly requires some proof that the easement
imposes a real restriction on the purported donor who retains the
property. This provision does not apply where, as here, the
donor gives away its entire interest in the property.

I. There Is No Conflict in Authority on the
Noncommercial Restraint Doctrine. The circuits all agree that
the Sherman Act excludes restraints on noncommercial activity.
This case just involves the factbound question of whether this
particular restraint fits within this doctrine. To avoid this
problem, petitioner tries to frame the decision below as in

8

conflict with a purported doctrine that nonprofits acting with
noncommercial purposes are immune from antitrust scrutiny for
any restraint of trade coupled with a donation. Pet. 7-8. But no
case has ever so held, and thus there is no conflict in authority on
the issue petitioner raises. To the contrary, the cases uniformly
hold that noncommercial restraint doctrine turns not on whether
a party has nonprofit status or noncommercial motives but rather
on whether the activity restrained is noncommercial. Nor does
antitrust law confer any immunity on conspirators clever enough
to attach the sheep’s clothing of a donation to their wolfish
anticompetitive restraints of trade.

fhe text of the sherman Act contains no exemption for
nonprofits, however noncommercial _ their motives or
disinterested their incentives. Rather, Sherman Act § | states:
“Every contract, combination . . . or conspiracy, in restraint of
trade or commerce ... is... illegal,” and applies this prohibition
to “fe]very person” entering such an agreement. Further,
Sherman Act §8 defines “person” to include all “corporations”
authorized by state law, which would include nonprofit
corporations. Nor does the text provide any language excluding
of restraints of trade that are attached to donations.

Accordingly, this Court has explicitly held that nonprofits are
fully subject to the Sherman Act. See NCAA v. Board of
Regents, 468 U.S. 85, 100 n.22 (1984); American Soc y v.
Hydrolevel, 456 U.S. 556, 576 (1982).5 This Court has also

‘ ‘This conclusion is not only dictated by the statutory text but supported by
sound policy. “Non-profit status affects the method of financing . . . and the
form in which profits... are distributed... But no one has shown that it
makes the enterprise unwilling to cooperate in reducing competition . . which
nonprofit enterprises may dislike on ideological as well as selfish grounds.”
Hospital Corp. v. FTC, 807 F.2d 1381, 1390 (7th Cir. 1986) (Posner, J.).
Accord ARFEDA & HOVENKAMP, ANTITRUST LAW 9232.2, at 354-60 (Supp.
1997) (same, adding that “{iJf the behavior is anticompetitive, the
consequences are equally detrimental whether or not the actor” ts a
nonprofit).

a ee eee

9

repeatedly held that noncommercial motives do not save an
otherwise illegal restraint -- even if the entity with the
noncommercial motive is a nonprofit or any other public-spirited
organization.® Indeed, this Court has held that nonprofits are
liable for participating in a restraint of trade or commerce even
when they receive no benefit (financial or otherwise) for
participating in the restraint.’

The doctrine excluding noncommercial restraints does not
deviate from the statutory text or these well-established
precedents. Rather, as the Fourth Circuit correctly observed, it
rests squarely on the statutory language that the “restraint” must
be “of trade or commerce,” and thus excludes cases only where
the activity restrained is noncommercial, not where the entity
that engages in the restraint (or its motive) is noncommercial.
App. 10a. Petitioner falsely claims the circuits are in conflict,
but in fact the Fourth Circuit is correct that all cases hew to this
distinction between a noncommercial restraint and a

® See NCAA, 468 U.S. at 101 n.23 (rejecting defense that nonprofit had
social objective of preserving amateur sports because “good motives will not
validate an otherwise anticompetitive practice”); National Soc'y of
Professional Engr’s v. United States, 435 U.S. 679, 681 (1978) (professional
association liable for ethical canon even though its “purpose” was to protect
“public safety”); FTC v. Indiana Federation of Dentists, 476 U.S. 447, 462-
63 (1986) (professional association liable even though its purpose was a
“legal, moral, and ethical policy of quality dental care”); FTC v. Superior
Court Trial Lawyers Ass'n, 493 U.S. 411, 421-24, 427 & n.11 (1990)
(professional association liable even though purpose was to vindicate Sixth
Amendment rights because the Sherman Act provides no “immunity from
prosecution on the basis of their good intent”). See also United States v
Brown Univ., 5 F.3d 658, 666 n.7 (3d Cir. 1993) (nonprofit is not exempt for
restraint on commerce even if nonprofit had a “beneficent objective’).

’Hydrolevel, 456 U.S. at 560-62, 74 (holding nonprofit liable for issuing
a letter that, without any benefit to the nonprofit, interpreted a safety standard
in a way that restrained trade); Allied Tube v. Indian Head, 486 U.S. 492, 501
(1988) (stating antitrust rule of reason would apply to safety standard setting
by financially disinterested nonprofit associations).

10

noncommercial entity/motive. App. 9a-10a. The cases deny
immunity to nonprofits with noncommercial objectives
whenever their restraint is on commercial activities. See NCAA,
468 U.S. at 92-93 (no immunity for nonprofit with
noncommercial motive that restrained the sale of broadcast
rights); /fvdrolevel, 456 U.S. at 574, 576 (no immunity for
nonprofit with noncommercial motive that restrained the sale of
boilers); Brown, 5 F.3d at 666-68 (no immunity for nonprofit
with noncommercial motive that restrained the sale of
education). The cases grant noncommercial immunity to
nonprofits only when their restraints are on noncommercial
activities. In Marjorie Webster Jr. College v. Middle States
Ass'n, 432 F.2d 650 (D.C. Cir. 1970), the restraint was on
granting free accreditation to educational institutions. The
absence of any charge for the accreditation meant jt was a
noncommercial activity, and thus that restraints on that activity
were noncommercial. In Dedication & Everlasting Love to
fnimals v. Humane Society, 50 F.3d 710, 712 (9th Cir. 1995),
the restraint was on soliciting donations. Because soliciting
donations did not involve any sale of products or services, it too
was not a commercial activity being restrained. Likewise, if two
philanthropists agree to divide the “market” for giving charity to
the homeless by each taking care of a different side of a city,
App. 36a, the restraint would be on giving charity, which is a
noncommercial activity. Indeed, far from supporting the
proposition that noncommercial nonprofits enjoy any immunity
to engage in activities that restrain commercial activities, these
cases explicitly reject this proposition. Dedication, 50 F.3d at
713; Marjorie Webster, 432 F.2d at 654-55 & n.21.8 In this

“Though Marjorie Webster in dicta refers to whether the nonprofit had a
“commercial motive,” subsequent cases in that circuit repudiate any notion

that anoncommercial motive affords any exemption to a nonprofit’s restraint
on a commercial activity. See Ass'n for Intercoll. Ath. v. NCAA, 735 F.2d
$77, 583 & n.6(D.C. Cir. 1984): Costello Pub'g v. Rotelle, 670 F.2d 1035,

1]

case, although the transaction includes a donation, the alleged
restraint of trade is not on the solicitation or giving of donations
Rather, the restraint is on aclearly commercial activity -- mining
vermiculite -- and the anticompetitive effect on that commercial
activity was patent on the face of the transfer documents.

If one follows the above precedent and thus properly puts
aside petitioner’s nonprofit status and allegedly noncommercial!
purposes, the only remaining factor that petitioner argues
affirmatively justifies its assertion of immunity is thai the
transaction here was coupled to a donation. Pet. 7-i0. But there
is no authority supporting the proposition that any transaction
involving a donation is noncommercial. Such an immunity
would, contrary to law, preclude all antitrust review of
Microsoft’s coupling of Windows 95 and its Internet Explorer on
the ground that the latter was “donated.” See X AREEDA,
ELHAUGE & HOVENKAMP, ANTITRUST LAW 41758, at 341 & n.2
(1995) (antitrust tying doctrine applies even if the tying or tied
products are given free of charge). Indeed, the only circuit other
than the Fourth Circuit to consider whether there should be an
antitrust immunity for donations to nonprofits explicitly rejected
that proposition. See Ozee v. Amer. Council, 110 F.3d 1082,
1093 (Sth Cir. 1997). That case held that a donation to charity
is acommercial transaction when the donor receives an “annuity,
substantial tax advantage, and the satisfaction of having given to
charity.” /d. The Fourth Circuit decision below is clearly
consistent with this ruling since here the donor (Grace) received
the tax advantage and satisfaction as well as a suppression of
competition far more valuable than any annuity. Moreover,
creating a new judicial safe harbor for donations would be
unwise since it would merely encourage parties to do what Grace
did here, restructure its restraints of trade in the guise of a
donation

1056 (1) ¢ Cu 198] ). See li B) MN | $d at 66 ) 6» He NnNeSsse

NCAA, 564 F.2d 1136, 1148-49 (Sth Cir.19

12

Contrary to petitioner, Dedication & Everlasting Love does
not support a doctrine providing antitrust immunity to all
restraints of trade involving donations to a nonprofit. Pet. 9-10.
It merely held that a restraint on the solicitation of donations was
not covered because the restrained activity -- soliciting
donations -- was not a commercial activity. 50 F.3d at 712.
There was no claim in that case that the solicitations were
restraining commercial activity, and the opinion nowhere held
that a nonprofit would be immune if it obtained a donation under
conditions that restrained some other commercial activity. There
is thus no inter-Circuit conflict on this issue.

Petitioner also wrongly asserts that the Fourth Circuit's
decision below conflicts with the Seventh Circuit’s decision in
NOW v. Scheidler, 968 F.2d 612 (7th Cir. 1992). Pet. 11-12, 15.
But what that case held, relying on Apex Hosiery v. Leader, 310
U.S. 469, 482-501 (1940), was that conspiracies to trespass,
seize, or vandalize property, or to harass, block, or injure
persons, are not restraints of trade even though directed at a
business and resulting in a reduction of its output. See Scheidler,
968 F.2d 612, 615-17, 622. This is clearly correct. A successful
conspiracy to kill Bill Gates would no doubt reduce Microsoft’s
output, but would be a conspiracy to murder, not a conspiracy to
restrain trade. But again the reason is that this sort of activity
does not fit within the statutory language of Sherman Act §1, not
that the actors are nonprofits with noncommercial purposes.
Indeed, neither Apex nor Scheidler involved nonprofit
defendants, and the Apex labor union was financially interested
in making the employer accede to its demands. The activities
were held not to be agreements in “restraint of trade” because
they involved no agreement to restrict competition or production,
or to withhold the marketing of goods or services. Apex, 310
U.S. at 494-95, 497 (“restraint of trade” must involve “some
form of restraint upon commercial competition in the marketing
of goods or services” or restrict “production”); Scheidler, 968
F.2d at 622 (defendants were engaging in “violent

13

‘reprehensible’ conduct,” not “exercising market power’’).”
Those cases have nothing to do with this case, which challenges
not violent conduct but an agreement to transfer property on the
condition that the recipient not deal with the transferor’s rivals,
which has the effect of directly restricting vermiculite
production, evading a monopolist’s antitrust duty to deal, and
closely resembles tying and exclusive dealing agreements
traditionally covered by antitrust law.

Consistent with the logic of the statutory language, none of
the above decisions applying the noncommercial restraint
doctrine has ever held that it renders only one of the co-
conspirators immune from antitrust suit. Either the restraint 1s
“of trade or commerce,” and neither conspirator is immune, or
the restraint is not “of trade or commerce,” and neither
conspirator is covered. Yet a mixed holding is precisely what
petitioner seeks, for it does not deny that the statute covers
Grace. Nor could it since Grace is a for-profit that was acting for
totally commercial and anticompetitive purposes in restraining
competition by its only rival. Petitioner instead seeks a holding
that it is immune from suit even though its co-conspirator, Grace,
is not. Pet. 6, App. 9a. Petitioner’s position thus conflicts with
the logic of the doctrine, which turns on the commercial nature
of the restraint, not of the conspirators. Petitioner’s position also
conflicts, as the Fourth Circuit noted, with the well-established
doctrine that an otherwise exempt actor loses its antitrust
exemption if it conspires with a nonexempt party. See Allen
Bradley Co. v. Union, 325 U.S. 797, 809-10 (1945); United

*4pex also stated that, though its facts did not involve an agreement to
withhold labor, id. at 504, such an agreement would not be a restraint of trade
or commerce, but here it relied on Clayton Act §6, which explicitly defines
“labor” as not being “commerce.” /d. at 502-04. In contrast, an agreement
not to buy a firm’s products -- even though also involving a union pursuing
the very same objectives -- was a restraint of trade or commerce. Id. at 505-
07 (“the objective of the restraint... was . . . immaterial because . . . the
restraint itself’ was “offensive’’).

14

States v. Borden Co., 308 U.S. 188, 204-05 (1939); App. 1 la.
Finally, petitioner's notion that its different motive should save
it from antitrust liability also conflicts with the well-established
doctrine that knowing participation in an anticompetitive scheme
suffices for liability even if one does not share the
anticompetitive motive of the co-conspirator.” Petitioner offers
no answer to these fatal defects in its legal theory.

In“ short, the decision below by the Fourth Circuit ts
completely consistent with all decisions involving nonprofits and
the noncommercial restraint doctrine that have been rendered by
this Court or other circuits, including the above decisions by the
Third, Fifth, Seventh, Ninth and District of Columbia Circuits.

Finally, petitioner tries to manufacture a conflict with other
decisions that did not concern the noncommercial restraint
doctrine at all, but rather concerned the Noerr and First
Amendment protections for political petitioning. For example,
petitioner claims a conflict with the Eighth Circuit decision in
Missouri v. NOW, 620 F.2d 1301 (8th Cir. 1980). Pet. 12. But
that decision expressly relied not on the noncommercial nature
of the restraint but on the fact that it involved political
petitioning: “we do not rest our decision in this case upon the
basis that the boycott was noncommercial and non-economic.
Our decision is based upon the right to use political activities to
petition the government... .” 620 F.2d at 1315 n.16 (emphasis

" Hydrolevel, 456 U.S. at 573-74 (holding nonprofit liable for participating
in a restraint that financially benefits a co-conspirator even though the
nonprofit neither engages in the restrained business nor financially benefits
from the restraint); United States v. Paramount, 334 U.S. 131, 160-61 (1948)
(“acquiescence in an illegal scheme is as much a violation of the Sherman Act
as the creation and promotion of one”); MCM Prtnr’s v. Andrews-Bartlett, 62
F.3d 967, 972-75 (7th Cir.1995) (collecting cases and finding liable a party
coerced into exclusive dealing harming its financial interests); App. | la.
There is also the practical problem that petitioner now holds all the deposits.
Thus, any remedy limited to Grace would leave in place the suppression of
deposits that was Grace's anticompetitive goal.

SE

16

II. The Noncommercial Restraint Doctrine Was Correctly
Applied to the Facts Here, Which Would Not Fit Even
Petitioner’s Proposed Standard and Are So Unusual They
Are Unlikely to Recur. It would of course be wrong to
conclude that every agreement to donate land to a nonprofit for
noncommercial purposes was a commercial transaction covered
by antitrust law. But the Fourth Circuit reached no such
conclusion, and this is no such case. The very facts that explain
why the Fourth Circuit’s decision was correct also make clear
why this situation was so unusual and unlikely to recur, and why
it does not even fit the legal standard petitioner proposes.

The Fourth Circuit decision below relied on a combination of
unusual factors in reaching its conclusion that the restraint here
was commercial. It noted that the restraint foreclosed a
significant market share of the supply of a commercial product.
App. lla. It reasoned that the donor was in the unusual position
of using a donation to evade an antitrust duty to deal. App. 8a.
It stressed that petitioner knew that it was joining a conspiracy
to restrain trade that furthered the anticompetitive motives of its
commercial co-conspirator. App. | la-12a. And it observed that,
by joining the conspiracy, petitioner received a large pecuniary
gain and furthered the commercial interests of its management
and members. App. 1 la.

Thus, this was no ordinary donation. Donations are not
ordinarily coupled with anticompetitive restraints that foreclose
a huge market share to the monopolists’ only rival. This one
was. Donations are not ordinarily given to evade antitrust duties.
This one involved a monopolist who bought up and suppressed
resources necessary for competition for twenty years and then,
to evade its antitrust duty to make those resources available to
rivals, donated away the resources subject to that duty.
Donations normally do not (and could not) further any
anticompetitive purpose. Here the anticompetitive purpose of
the donative restraint was well-known to the donee and patent on
its face because it targeted competitors instead of preservationist

a ae

17

concerns. And while donees do normally benefit by the receipt
of a donation, they do not normally agree to join an
anticompetitive scheme in exchange for hundreds of acres of
land, some of which they sell for profit and the rest of which they
keep off the market to maintain the market price of property
owned by their management and members.

If there are other donations that have been strategically
designed to restrain trade, they must be rare and have certainly
escaped our attention. This may well be the first strategic
donation of its kind. Indeed, it is very difficult to even think of
other hypotheticals where a firm could further its market position
by giving away its productive resources.

First, to have such a hypothetical one must have a donation
coupled with a condition that forecloses a significant market
share of a commercial product. The number of a donations
coupled with similar conditions 1s minor; the number that do so
in a way that forecloses a significant market share 1s minuscule
For example, even a donation of all of Hilton Head with a
condition prohibiting its use as a resort would not restrain trade
because it would not foreclose any significant share of the
market for resorts. Here, a huge 80% of the relevant market fo1
deposits were foreclosed to a monopolist’s only rival."”

Second, even in ihose cases where a firm does own land
controlling a significant market share of a commercial product,
it will rarely be the case that a firm can advance its market
position and restrain trade by giving that land away with
restrictive covenants. Normally, the best way for a firm to
further its market position and lessen competition is to retain

resources that confer a significant market share, not to give those

‘The market for vermiculite deposits in Virginia is the relevant market
because that 1s the only market to which a rival with its processing plant in
Virginia can turn given the high costs of transporting raw vermiculite. Se
7

App. 22a; JA 571-72. Moreover, even if the U.S. market were the relevant

yne. the restraints foreclosed 40% of U.S. vermiculite deposits. App. 4a

18

resources away. What makes this case different (and unusual) 1s
that here the controlling firm was a monopolist who had bought
up and suppressed the resources for twenty years, had never used
those resources or even built a processing plant in the same state
to make mining possible, and was now under an antitrust duty to
allow use by its rival unless it could somehow unload the
property to someone else. Such cases must be exceedingly rare.

Third, here the strategic anticompetitive purpose of the
donation was well-known to the preservationist group and patent
on the face of the donation. Why else insert documentary
provisions that prohibit vermiculite mining even when it does
not cause preservation problems and permit non-vermiculite
mining even when it does? See Statement of Facts. Few, if any,
donations are on their face so blatant about targeting a
nonopolist’s rival and prohibiting only dealings with that rival.
_ ny donation with such an obvious anticompetitive purpose and
effect clearly signals the recipient to decline it and its
anticompetitive conditions. There is no risk that prohibiting such
patently anticompetitive donative restraints would chill petitioner
or other charities from accepting normal donations.

Moreover, even if petitioner were correct that a nonprofit
should never be liable in antitrust for receiving a donation when
its Own purposes are purely noncommercial, this would be an
extremely poor test case to develop that proposition. For
petitioner does not meet its own proposed standard. Petitioner
was not acting only or mainly to further noncommercial purposes
-- petitioner had financially interests it was furthering. App. | la.
Namely, petitioner received hundreds of acres of land for joining
an antitrust scheme that also furthered the financial interests of
its members and management. /d.'* Certiorari review should

"Petitioner is correct that its financial interest should not determine whether
the restraint is commercial, for any nonprofit soliciting a donation has a
financial interest in getting that donation, Pet. 14, and the transaction here
would be commercial even if petitioner were financially disinterested. But

19

hardly be granted to consider adopting a legal standard that the
petitioner itself fails to satisfy.

In its own description of its pecuniary gain, Pet 17, petitioner
omits the fact that it resold some of the donated land for
monetary gain -- and remains free to sell the rest. App. 7a-8a,
lla. Petitioner knew that it would not get this land, and the
financial proceeds that followed, unless it joined a conspiracy
that it knew had an anticompetitive purpose and effect.
Petitioner also omits mentioning that purely preservationist
purposes cannot possibly explain the restraints actually agreed to
-- both because those restraints would have been unnecessary if
petitioner really would never allow vermiculite mining, App. 8a,
and because the restraints were deliberately modified to prohibit
vermiculite mining even when it does not cause preservation
problems and permitted non-vermiculite mining even when it
does cause preservation problems. See Statement of Facts.

Petitioner also suggests that the only financial benefit to its
management and members was the attenuated benefit of deriving
satisfaction from having the historic surroundings preserved. Pet
18. But maintaining property values by preventing nearby
mining is not at all an attenuated financial benefit -- it is large
and concrete. Moreover, the agreement here also directly
suppressed an increase in the local supply of marketable land that
otherwise would have lowered the market price of the land these

petitioner is wrong to suggest the Fourth Circuit issued a ruling that a
financial interest always makes a restraint commercial. The Fourth Circuit
merely held that, on the entire complex of facts, the restraint here was
commercial. Since petitioner below argued that it should be immune because
it was financially disinterested, it made sense to respond in part with the
observation that petitioner in fact had a strong financial interest. App. | la.
One need not believe a financial interest suffices to make a transaction
commercial to believe that it is surely commercial to have such a financial
interest in knowingly helping a monopolist evade an antitrust duty to deal and
foreclose a huge market share to its only rival through restraints patently

designed to target that rival rather than any charitable purpose.

20

management and members owned. This financial interest in
protecting the market price of their land from increased
competition is clearly not attenuated or noncommercial. Thus,
even if petitioner itself did not benefit financially, these financial
benefits to its management and members clearly suffice to hold
petitioner liable for joining an anticompetitive conspiracy. See
Hydrolevel, 456 U.S. at 573-74 (holding nonprofit liable even if
its agents benefitted themselves rather than the nonprofit).

In short, each piece of property petitioner received for
agrecing to join the anticompetitive scheme was either: (1) resold
to the direct financial gain of petitioner or (2) kept off the market
to maintain the market price of property owned by petitioner’s
management and members. The financial interest was plain.

These factors clearly suffice to make the challenged
agreement commercial. They also suffice to distinguish
petitioner’s parade of horribles, for hardly any donations of
preservation land to nonprofits will: (1) be coupled with
conditions that foreclose a significant market share, (2) evade an
monopolist-donor’s antitrust duty to deal, (3) further a donor’s
commercial motive in restraining trade that is known to the
nonprofit and blatant on the face of the donative restraint, and (4)
be motivated by the financial gain the nonprofit and its
management and members receives for joining in_ the
anticompetitive scheme. Except for odd cases that replicate the
unusual circumstances of this case, donations to preservationist
groups and other charities will be completely unaffected by the
decision below. When those unusual circumstances do exist, the
donative restraint is properly deemed commercial and
anticompetitive, and charities should know better than to join
such patently anticompetitive schemes.

Ill. The Argument That I.R.C. §170(h) Creates an
Implicit Exemption to the Antitrust Laws Was Not Preserved
on Appeal and Involves No Conflict in Lower Court
Authority. Before the Fourth Circuit, petitioner never raised the

21

rn

purported issue of whether I.R.C. §170(h) precludes the
application of federal antitrust law to its conduct. That purported
issue was raised only in an amicus brief, and was thus quite
properly never considered or discussed by the Fourth Circuit."
Having failed to properly preserve this issue on appeal, petitioner
cannot now raise it for the first time in this Court.

Further, even if petitioner had preserved the issue, petitioner
points to no conflict in judicial authority. Instead petitioner
alleges a conflict between the decision below and a statute,
L.R.C. §170(h). See Pet. 19 (claiming Fourth Circuit's
interpretation of the Sherman Act conflicts with §170(h).) But
this is not the sort of conflict approved as a ground for certiorari
review under U.S. SUPREME COURT RULE 10, which cites only
conflicts between judicial authority. And there is a very good
reason why Rule 10 does not include conflicts between a
decision and a statute. A claim of such conflicts is
indistinguishable from a claim that a particular court
misinterpreted the statute. If this Court were to become a court
of errors in every case involving a statutory interpretation, Its
docket would quickly be swamped by such cases. Thus, as Rule
10 plainly provides, this Court sensibly prefers to wait until
judicial authority conflicts on some federal question, including
the federal question of how to interpret a federal statute.

4 See, e.g., Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 531 n. 13 (1979) (court has no
occasion to consider issue raised by amicus but not raised or preserved for
appeal by party); Knetsch v. United States, 364 U.S. 361, 370 (1960) (same),
Preservation Coalition v. Pierce, 667 F.2d 851, 861-62 (9th Cir.1982) (very
same amicus as in this case tried to raise issue not raised by parties; held 1t
cannot); Rhode Island v. Narragansett Indian Tribe, 19 F.3d 685, 705 n.22
(1st Cir.1994) (“In the court of appeals, amici cannot. . . introduce new issues
or issues not properly preserved for appeal.”); Corrosion Proof Fittings v
EPA. 947 F.2d 1201, 1208 (Sth Cir.1991) (court cannot consider issues raised
only by amici); United States v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical, 810 F.2d 726,
732 n.3 (8th Cir. 1986) (“Syntex, as amicus, cannot raise issues not raised by
the parties.”); 3 C.J.S. AMICUS CURIAE §3, at 1052 (“a new question raised
only in a brief filed by an amicus curiae . . . will not be considered.’ *)

>
[here is no such conflict in this case. Indeed. we are unable
to find any published opinion that has ever considered the issue
of a conflict between the Sherman Act and 8170(h) at all --

probably because, as described next, the issue is entirely bogus

IV. The Argument That I.R.C. §170(h) Creates an
Implicit Exemption to the Antitrust Laws Relies on a
Demonstrably False Premise About Tax Law, and Even If
Accurate About Tax Law Would Fail to Rebut the Strong
Presumption Against Implicit Antitrust Exemptions.
Petitioner’s purported conflict between the Sherman Act and the
[ax Code is bogus because it relies on a demonstrably false
premise about tax law. Petitioner’s premise is that, absent the
anticompetitive restraints Grace imposed on subsequent use of
the commercial property it donated, Grace would not have
received a tax deduction. Pet. 22. This premise is plainly false.
If one gives a charity some property -- be that property money,
a Monet painting, or a toxic waste dump that the charity resells --
that donation is deductible to the full market value of the donated
property. See I.R.C. §170(a), (c); §26C.F.R. 1.170A-1(c) (1999)
(amount of contribution measured by property’s market value).
A donor need not impose any restriction at all on the charity’s
use of the donated property to get the deduction. Any
restrictions are provided by the tax law defining a charity, which
guarantees that any proceeds from market value bestowed on a
charity will be used for charitable purposes

L.R.C. §170(h) deals with the entirely separate problem of
taxpayers who try to get a deduction when they give away a
partial property interest, like an easement on the property, and
retain the rest of the property. In those situations, the Tax Code
is quite sensibly worried about giving a tax deduction to a donor
who may not have really given away anything of value. The Tax
Code thus denies a charitable deduction in those cases, see I.R.C.
§ 1 70(f)(3), unless the donation meets certain exceptions like the
“qualified conservation contribution,” which is later defined in

Nm
LW

I.R.C. §170(h). The combination of §170(f)(3) and ILR.C
) 1 70(h) assures that donors who give partial property interests
lor a purported conservation purpose get a charitable tax
deduction only if they have imposed real restrictions on their use
of the retained property interest. By its express terms, §170(f)(3)
applies only to contributions that “consist of less than the
taxpayer's entire interest in such property.”” Thus, donors who
give away their entire interest in the property, as Grace did here.
do not fall within §170(f)(3), and need never meet the
requirements of I.R.C. §170(h).'* In short, the tax benefits to
Grace from its donation in no way hinged upon it imposing the
anticompetitive restraints prohibiting vermiculite mining by its
rivals

In any event, favorable tax treatment hardly provides an
exemption from antitrust law. Otherwise, firms could
horizontally fix prices of capital assets in order to create the
capital gains that tax law gives favorable treatment. A tax
subsidy for a general class of activities has never been thought to
implicitly repeal the application of antitrust law to particular
forms of that activities that are anticompetitive.

After all, as this Court has stressed: “our cases have
repeatedly established that there is a heavy presumption against
implicit exemptions” to antitrust law. Goldfarb v. Virginia Stat
Bar, 421 U.S. 773, 787 (1975). As one scholar put it:

[he Supreme Court’s rules for finding exemptions to
antitrust policy testify to the dominance of Sherman
\ct policy: the Court disclaims its authority to create
antitrust exemptions, see National Soc’y of
Professional Engr’s v. United States, 435 U.S. 679.
692 (1978), is reluctant to imply them, see National

it is irrelevant whether others have an interest in the same property. All
t matters is that Grace gave away all of the interest it had in the property

‘ ‘ - r —" ‘ seT hl 5 27\ L, . nea no
means its donation was not within 91 /0(1)(3) and thus not need not

;
(nh) to receive a tax dedu

t10n

24

Gerimedical Hosp. & Gerontology Center v. Blue
Cross, 452 U.S. 378, 388-89 (1981); and construes
express exemptions narrowly -- often remarkably so,
see, e.g., Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug
Co., 440 U.S. 205 (1979).
Wiley, A Capture Theory of Antitrust Federalism, 99 HARV. L.
REV. 713, 713 n.1 (1986).

Accordingly, an antitrust exemption can be “implied only if
necessary to make the [non-antitrust statute] work, and even then
only to the minimum extent necessary.” Silver v. NYSE, 373 U.S.
341, 357 (1963) (emphasis added). That standard is clearly not
met here. I.R.C. §170(h) has nothing to do with the conduct in
this case. And even if it did, granting an antitrust exemption to
the conduct here would in no sense be necessary to make the tax
code work. For all the reasons stressed above, the conduct here
is extremely unusual and in no way implicates normal donations
or efforts to dedicate land for conservation. Providing antitrust
immunity to such unusual -- and manifestly anticompetitive --
conduct is thus not at all necessary to the law providing
favorable tax treatment for qualified conservation contributions,
which normally do not implicate antitrust law at all. Indeed,
there is no conflict even on the particular facts of this case since
the anticompetitive restraints attached to the donation in question
were entirely unnecessary to obtain the desired tax benefit.

This Court has repeatedly told parties that they must go to
Congress, not the courts, if they want a special exemption from
the Sherman Act. Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94, 105-06 (1988)
(physicians must ask Congress for exception to further medical
goals); Professional Eng'rs, 435 U.S. at 692, 695 (same for
public safety goals). Judges have neither the authority nor any
principled standards for undertaking the political task of
balancing the benefits of competition against its harm to other
social goals. If Congress wishes to prohibit vermiculite mining,
or grant a special antitrust exemption to groups opposed to such
mining, Congress may. But Congress has not done so, and thus

CONCLUSION

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1751%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
