# Reply Brief — Harding v. Ward

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1719%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 1177

## Text

No. 93-1049

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

WILLIAM HARDING, et ai.,
Petitioners,
V.

GARNETT WARD
AND THE COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY.
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Kentucky

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

KEVIN M. MCGUIRE REX E. LEE *

JOHN S. PALMORE CARTER G. PHILLIPS

JACKSON & KELLY TAMARA L. PREISS

175 E. Main Street SIDLEY & AUSTIN

Suite 500 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

Lexington, Kentucky 40507 Washington, D.C. 20006

(606) 255-9500 (202) 736-8000
Counsel for Petitioners

February 22, 1994 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Akers Vv. Baldwin, 736 S.W.2d 294 (Ky. 1987) ....4, 5, 6,7
Buchanan v. Watson, 290 S.W.2d 40 (Ky. 1956)... 3,5
Commerce Union Bank v. Kinkade, 540 S.W.2d
861 (Ky. 1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 915
SE ae EE Ce 5

tection Vv. No. 8 Ltd., 528 S.W.2d 684 (Ky.

a, RN RP TERS S Ble Ee” doled 6
First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987)... 8
Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290 (1967) 1
Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass’n V. DeBenedictis,

480 U.S. 470 (1987) 5
Lucas Vv. South Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct.

RI i a 2,8
Martin v. Kentucky Oak Mining Co., 429 S.W.2d

395 (Ky. 1968) sadiaceteabapeoencbieaetepinbiahiisadtcemcuaie 5
McIntire v. Marian Coal Co., 227 S.W. 298 (Ky.

I eccseutindicae ise Aeebidiiaeneaidemdeieetiaas ee, 4
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

UE Mitaranicesirenientontst ecient 4
Rudd v. Hayden, 97 S.W.2d 35 (Ky. 1936) 4

IN THE
Suprene Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-1049

WILLIAM HARDING, et al.,

7 Petitioners,

GARNETT WARD
AND THE COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY.
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Kentucky

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

Respondents’ numerous assertions do not detract from
petitioners’ central argument, viz., review by this Court
is warranted to prevent the evisceration of the Takings
and Due Process Clauses of the United States Constitu-
tion effected by the Kentucky Supreme Court’s decision
to eliminate, by judicial fiat, petitioners’ established prop-
erty rights.

1. In an attempt to downplay the importance of this
case, respondents observe that, since Justice Stewart's
concurring opinion in Hughes v. Washington, 389 US.
290, 294-98 (1967), revived the notion of “judicial tak-
ings,” only two federal courts of appeals have concluded
that a court’s actions may effect a taking. Respondents’
argument misses the point; it is because of the judicial
takings doctrine that very few state courts have retro-
actively eliminated established property rights. Petition-

2

ers cited numerous cases in which both state and federal
courts recognized that judicial decisions which work
major changes in property law may indeed constitute
“takings.” See Petition for a Writ of Certiorari (“Pet.”)
14-15. Most of these courts declined to disturb existing
precedent solely out of respect for property rights and a
desire to conform to constitutional imperatives. See, e.g.,
State v. Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., 582 P.2d 1352.
1363 (Ore. 1978) (given state of precedents, adoption
of a contrary rule “would raise serious questions about
the taking of private property for public use without
compensation”). Moreover, this Court’s recent decision
in Lucas vy. South Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct.
2886 (1992), emphasized the extent to which takings
analysis depends upon the nature of the common law of
nuisance and property. It would be curious indeed if a
property owner’s reasonable expectations about the uses
to which he can put his property hinge upon the state’s
common law, which, in turn, is subject arbitrarily to
revocation at any time by state courts. But that is pre-
cisely the result urged by respondents. See Pet. 16 n.20.

2. Respondents next argue that, regardless of the
validity of “judicial takings,” no taking occurred in this
case because petitioners had no “reasonable, investment-
backed expectations” in any right to engage in surface
mining. Leaving aside for the moment whether this states
the appropriate legal standard (see infra pp. 4-5), peti-
tioners’ “reasonable . . . expectations” could not be
plainer. The deed under which they own and lease the
mineral rights at issue in this case conveyed the right to
use the surface of the land “in any and every manner”
that the grantee “deemed necessary or convenient in the
free exercise and enjoyment of said property, rights and
privileges hereby granted or conveyed.” Pet. App. 45a
(emphasis added). If “necessary or convenient for the
exercise and enjoyment of the said property rights,” the
grant is broad enough to include, for example, “the right
to build, erect, alter and repair, maintain and operate

3

upon said land . . . any and all such buildings, structures,
appliances, machinery and equipment,” thus permitting
the mineral owner to occupy the entire surface of the
land. Id. at 46a.

Given the breadth of the rights conveyed, it comes as
no surprise that the actual language of the deed appears
nowhere in respondents’ brief. Their assertion that the
holding below “simply restored the parties to their rights
pre-Buchanan” because the deed conveyed only the right
to mine by deep mining methods conveniently ignores the
unequivocal language of the instrument itself, which
formed the basis of 50 years of judicial construction. See
Opp. 20-21. Not only is there no ambiguity to warrant
a judicial inquiry into the “intent of the parties,” it is
difficult to imagine a more clearly expressed intent to
convey the right to use the surface in any way incident
to the mining of coal.’

' Respondents also contend that the Hardings could not have
formed any “reasonable, investment-backed expectations” about the
right to surface mine because they acquired their mineral interests
prior to Buchanan v. Watson, 290 S.W.2d 40 (Ky. 1956), which
clearly established the right of owners of mineral rights under
broad form deeds to engage in surface mining. Regardless of when
they first obtained these rights, however, the Hardings retained
the mineral rights in the years since Buchanan with the ex pecta-
tion of using them when they saw fit, and with no expectation
whatsoever that these rights would be nullified by subsequent judi-
cial action. In fact, the mineral rights were leased to the petitioner
Lash Coal Co. in 1982, long after Buchanan. Pet. App. 49a. It is
no accident that a coal company, which quite obviously leased the
rights with a “reasonable, investment-backed expectation” that it
could mine the coal, is a petitioner in this case. Respondents
assert that Lash’s claim is moot, based solely on their reading,
in isolation, of a single provision of the lease. This issue has never
been litigated in any court, and, in any event, Lash remains a
party to this case by virtue of its interest in the contract. Under
these circumstances, respondents’ mootness claim is nothing more
than a bald effort to avoid review.

Moreover, review of cases decided prior to Buchanan reveals
that Buchanan represented the culmination of, rather than a de-
parture from, case law regarding the relative rights of surface

4

Respondents also contend that the action of the court
below does not constitute a taking because the court’s
decision destroyed just one “strand” in petitioners’
“bundle of property rights.” Opp. 21-24. Respondents’
analysis is ill-conceived, both factually and legally. First,
it is flatly wrong to call the contention that the coal can
be removed only by surface or strip mining an “unsup-
ported allegation.” See id. at 21. The affidavit of Wil-
liam Harding established that it is economically infeasible
to mine the Hardings’ coal by any method other than
surface mining.” Pet. 17-19. The facts of Harding’s affi-
davit were accepted as true by the Kentucky Supreme
Court for the purposes of its decision in this case and are
not subject to challenge here. /d. at 6.

Second, as a matter of law, and despite respondents’
arguments to the contrary, there is no question that this
case fits squarely within this Court’s takings jurispru-
dence. In Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S.
393, 414 (1922), the Court held that the right to coal
carries with it the right to mine it, and thus “[t]o make
it commercially impracticable to mine certain coal has
very nearly the same effect for constitutional purposes as
appropriating or destroying it.” Respondents do not, and
cannot, distinguish this case from Pennsylvania Coal, be-

and mineral owners. See, e.g., McIntire v. Marian Coal Co., 227
S.W. 298 (Ky. 1921) (mineral grantee may use as much of the
surface as is necessary or convenient to the mining business, in-
cluding use and occupancy of the entire surface) ; Rudd v. Hayden,
97 S.W.2d 35 (Ky. 1936) (rights of mineral owner to use the
surface may include surface mining); Treadway v. Wilson, 192
S.W.2d 949 (Ky. 1946) (dominance of mineral estate permits
mineral owners to engage in surface mining); see generally Akers
V. Baldwin, 736 S.W.2d 294, 298-300 (Ky. 1987) (discussing pre-
Buchanan cases).

* Somewhat disingenuously, respondents speculate at one point
that new mining methods developed in the future might allow
petitioners to remove their coal without disturbing the surface,
then, in the next breath, respondents reiterate that petitioners have
no rights to engage in any mining method not in existence at the
time of the original conveyance. Opp. 24.

5

cause the unrebutted facts confirm that it is commercially
impracticable for the Hardings to mine their coal by
methods other than surface mining and the only purpose
of the state’s law is to shift a property right held by one
private person to another. For this reason, the holding of
Pennsylvania Coal requires reversal of the decision
below.* See Pet. 17-19.

3. Respondents also contend that, regardless of the
significance of the right to surface mine relative to peti-
tioners’ “bundle” of property rights, the decision of the
Kentucky Supreme Court to overrule Buchanan v. Wat-
son, 290 S.W.2d 40 (Ky. 1956), does not represent the
type of abrupt and unpredictable change in state law that
might effect a “taking,” because Buchanan had been
under attack for almost 40 years. This argument simply
mischaracterizes precedent by relying solely on dissenting
opinions in Akers v. Baldwin, 736 S.W.2d 294 (Ky.
1987), and Martin v. Kentucky Oak Mining Co., 429
S.W.2d 395 (Ky. 1968), a concurring opinion in Com-
merce Union Bank v. Kinkade, 540 S.W.2d 861 (Ky.
1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 915 (1977), and the opin-
ion below. Opp. 24-31.

The logical fallacy inherent in citing the opinion below
for the proposition that the opinion below works no sea
change in the law requires no comment. The truth re-
mains that the continuing validity of Buchanan has been
affirmed in a long line of cases, including those cited by
respondents. See, e.g., Kinkade, 540 S.W.2d at 864
(broad form deeds grant “such overwhelming mining
rights that the mineral owner in fact has the right to use
the surface of the land, part or all of it, in recovering
the coal acquired by the deeds”); Martin, 429 S.W.2d
at 399 (refusing to reconsider Buchanan; landowners’

* To the extent that this Court’s decision in Keystone Bituminous
Coal Ass’n V. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470 (1987), restricts the
sweep of Pennsylvania Coal, this case provides the Court with the
opportunity to clarify the relationship between the two cases. See
Pet. 18-19.

6

arguments cannot prevail against “the long entrenched
rule of our previous cases in reliance upon which prop-
erty rights have vested”) (emphasis added); Pet. 4 n.3.
Moreover, the Kentucky Supreme Court has twice re-
jected on constitutional grounds legislative efforts to over-
rule Buchanan. See Akers v. Baldwin, 736 S.W.2d 294
(Ky. 1987); Department for Natural Resources & Envil.
Protection v. No. 8 Ltd., 528 S.W.2d 684 (Ky. 1975);
Pet. 6-8.*

Most surprising, perhaps, is respondents’ reliance on
Akers, decided while this case was pending in the lower
Kentucky courts. Respondents make much of the Akers
court’s decision to modify that part of Buchanan that
denied damages to surface owners for destruction of the
land as a result of surface mining, but they seem obliv-
ious to the fact that Akers expressly left intact the right
of mineral owners under broad form deeds to engage in
surface mining.” 736 S.W.2d at 304-05. The court ex-
plicitly rejected the surface owners’ argument that the
deeds did not convey this right because surface mining
was not contemplated at the time the deed was executed:

4 Respondents incorrectly state that Akers was decided solely on
separation of powers grounds. Opp. 27 n.6. Following the separa-
tion of powers discussion, the court held that “[a] statute that
functions retroactively to determine the meaning of a preexisting
deed or lease is constitutionally impermissible because this impairs
the obligation of a contract,” and therefore “declare{d| that part
of the legislation unconstitutional.” Akers, 736 S.W.2d at 310
(emphasis added). The court found it unnecessary to reach the
other grounds of alleged unconstitutionality, i.e., that the statute
deprived mineral owners of their property without due process of
law and that it effected a taking without just compensation. /d.;
see also Pet. 7-8 & n.9.

5 It is the right to mine in the first place, not liability for dam-
ages, that is at issue here, but it is worth noting that the Akers
court excluded from its ruling on damages all conveyances by
broad form deed, and leases and mining efforts under broad form
deed, made between the date of the Buchanan decision and the
date of the Akers decision. Akers, 736 S.W.2d at 307. This exemp-
tion applies to the Hardings, who leased their mineral rights in
1982. See Pet. App. 49a.

7

The provisions in typical broad form deeds are, be-
yond cavil, clear and unambiguous. They are, in
fact, overwhelming in their language to demonstrate
an intent to convey away the rights to the minerals
described. The right to the minerals carries with it
the right to mine them. That a certain method of
mining was known at the time the document was
executed 1s simply not relevant.

Id. In this case, the Kentucky Supreme Court avoided
the clear mandates of its earlier decisions only by a judi-
cial sleight of hand—it mooted the constitutional ques-
tions presented by first eliminating the property rights
at issue, thereby creating the new constitutional question
presented in the petition. See Pet. 8-9.°

4. Having exhausted their arguments that no taking
has occurred, respondents turn to the question of relief,
contending that the Hardings have sought the wrong
remedy and that the proper course is to file an inverse
condemnation suit in Kentucky state court. The irony
in counselling petitioners that they must seek “just com-
pensation” for their lost property rights from the same
courts which effected that taking is apparent. But the
law does not compel such a futile undertaking.

In Williamson County Regional Planning Commission
Vv. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985), upon which

® Respondents’ mischaracterizations extend to their description
of the proceedings below: their contention that the continuing
validity of Buehanan was an issue before the Kentucky Supreme
Court is flatly wrong. In his brief to the supreme court, the
Attorney General expressly stated that he was intervening for
“the limited purpose of addressing the validity under the United
States Constitution of subsection 2 of the Kentucky Constitution,
Section 19 [the broad form deed amendment].” See Brief of
Attorney General, at (i). Buchanan and Akers were not at issue
because the parties naturally assumed that the amendment itself
overturned the holdings in those cases. See also Pet. App. 23a
(dissenting opinion of Justice Leibson notes that “the parties have
not raised the issue and presented compelling reasons to believe
[the court’s] previous decisions erred”).

8

respondents rely, this Court held that “if a State provides
an adequate procedure for seeking just compensation, the
property Owner cannot claim a violation of the Just Com-
pensation Clause until it has used the procedure and
been denied just compensation.” Jd. at 195 (emphasis
added). No Kentucky state court proceeding will be
“adequate” to provide just compensation to petitioners
because the state’s highest court has just held that peti-
tioners have no property to “take.” Lucas v. South Caro-
lina Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct. 2886 (1992), makes
clear, moreover, that review of a takings claim is not con-
ditioned upon exhaustion of meaningless state court rem-
edies. In that case, the Court found that. “given the
breadth of the South Carolina Supreme Court's holding
and judgment, [the property owner] would plainly be
unable . . . to obtain further state-court adjudication,”
without this Court’s intervention, and held that the takings
claim was ripe for review. Id. at 2891-92. Here, as in
Lucas, the breadth of the decision of the state supreme
court regarding the property rights at issue renders fur-
ther resort to state courts pointless.

Moreover, petitioners are seeking not compensation,
but a declaration that their contract rights are in fact
property rights. /f this Court were to grant review, and
if the Hardings were to prevail on the merits. then the
case would return to the Kentucky Supreme Court, which
would then determine the constitutionality of the broad
form deed amendment in a manner consistent with the
property rights established by this Court’s decision. if
the Kentucky Supreme Court declared the amendment
unconstitutional (a result mandated by that court's pre-
vious decisions in No. 8 Ltd. and Akers), then the Com-
monwealth of Kentucky may elect to rescind the amend-
ment, thus avoiding the need to compensate mineral own-
ers such as the Hardings for the permanent deprivation
of their property. See First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 US. 304, 321
(1987). Only if the Commonwealth chooses continued

ee

9

enforcement of the amendment does the exercise of emi-
nent domain take place, triggering the just compensation
requirement. Respondents’ argument, therefore, has put
the cart several steps before the horse in a disingenuous
effort to avoid review of the breathtaking ruling of the
Kentucky Supreme Court in this case.

5. Finally, respondents assert that petitioners are seek-
ing an advisory opinion because the petition did not seek
this Court’s review of the broad deed amendment. This
formulation begs the question at issue here—this Court
cannot review, because the Kentucky Supreme Court never
decided, whether the broad form deed amendment effects
an unconstitutional taking of petitioners’ property. The
Kentucky court neatly avoided this issue arbitrarily by
redefining away the property rights at issue; therefore, the
only remedy available to petitioners is a decision by this
Court that the state court’s action was itself unconstitu-
tional. Only by resolving the issue presented can this
Court force the Kentucky Supreme Court to resolve the
constitutional challenge to the broad form deed amend-
ment. As indicated above, under the settled rulings in
Kentucky the outcome of that challenge is readily pre-
dictable, which is why the court below eviscerated peti-
tioners’ property interests to avoid having to decide the
constitutional issue that was before the court.

* * * *

At the end of the day, respondents cannot dispute that
the existence and substance of the “judicial takings” doc-
trine is a matter of recurring importance, both in prac-
tice and in legal theory, which this Court has not ad-
dressed. Nor can respondents dispute that the judicial
action here poses the question of the validity of that doc-
trine as starkly as any state court decision could. Fifty
years of unbending judicial opinion creating vested rights
on which property owners have relied in commercial trans-
actions affecting hundreds of miilions of dollars were
swept away by a single pronouncement from four state

10

Supreme court justices. Respondents seek to distract the
Court from the issue squarely presented by that holding
by positing mootness and ripeness concerns that simply
have nothing to do with the proper disposition of this
case. Because respondents have done nothing to under-
mine the compelling reasons offered by petitioners for
review of the decision below, the petition should be

granted.
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

KEVIN M. MCGUIRE REX E. LEE *

JOHN S. PALMORE CARTER G. PHILLIPS
JACKSON & KELLY TAMARA L. PREISS

175 E. Main Street SIDLEY & AUSTIN

Suite 500 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
Lexington, Kentucky 40507 Washington, D.C. 20006
(606) 255-9500 (202) 736-8000

Counsel for Petitioners

February 22, 1994 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1719%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
