# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Evans v. United Arab Shipping Co. S. A. G.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1692%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 1116

## Text

A €) Bupreme Court, ae
: OD «: | FITTED

DEC 211993 |

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

October Term. 1993

WILLIAM W. EVANS.

Petitioner.

U.

LINITED ARAB SHIPPING COMPANY
S.A.G.; M/V AL WATTYAH, her
engines, boilers, etc., in rem.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

‘Edward V. Cattell, Jr.
Jeffrey S. Moller
CLARK, LADNER, FORTENBAUGH
& YOUNG
Woodland Falls Corporate Park
200 Lake Drive East, Suite 300
Cherry Hill, NJ 08022
(609) 779-0900
Attorneys for Petitioner

“Counsel of Record

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 1617 JFK BOULEVARD, PHILA, PA 19103 (215) 563-9000

v7
yr iA

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Did the Court of Appeals err in its reversal of the
district court, which found that the petitioner, a state-
licensed vessel pilot, had the requisite “employment
related connection” to the vessel being piloted to be
entitled to the protection of the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. app.
§ 688(a)?

2. What is the nature and scope of the “employment
related connection to a vessel in navigation” that is
required in order to invoke the Jones Act?

3. If maritime workers on U.S. navigable waters are
to be placed into one of only two categories, i.e., Jones
Act seamen or longshore/harbor workers, into which
category shouid the pilot, the “quintessential seaman”,
be placed?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ...... i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................... iv
THE OPINIONS BELOW...................... 1
PP HM 065 000000845 eco dente y 4
STATUTES INVOLVED .........cccccccccccese 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................. ys
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........ 3

1. The personal injury remedies of a vital cat-
egory of seaman, the vessel pilot, have been
left in a state of confusion by the split among
CR COIS 566-555-045 ee 3

2. The case squarely presents the critical issue
vis a vis Jones Act entitlement left unde-
cided in this Court’s jurisprudence, to wit,
the requisite nature and scope of the
“employment-related connection” between

the worker and the vessel................ 10
CRIP PR aA) 6009 65 osenkeeeeel ee ee 19
APPENDIX:

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit, dated August 13, 1993..... A-1

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the
United States District Court for the District of

New Jersey, dated July 30, 1991............ A-30
Judgment of the Court of Appeals, dated August 13,

ROMs i whee ko sev detainee A-51
Order of the Court of Appeals denying rehearing,

dated September 22, 1993 ................. A-53
Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. app. § | nee fa A-55

li

ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS — (Continued)

Page

Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act,
ee bes We Pe Pe, DOS ceccccceccsvees A-55
Delaware Code Ann., tit. 23, § 121 (1987)....... A-61

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Bach v. Trident Steamship Co., 920 F.2d 322,
vacated, 499 U.S. ___, 111 S. Ct. 2253, af-
firmed, 947 F.2d 1290 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert.
denied, 504 USS. mee Sade Gg CY. 1606

(ROME 5060 095 Cbd eubuaese ec ee 7, 8, 11, 12
The CHINA, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 53 (1868)......... 7
Clark v. Solomon Navigation Ltd., 631 F. Supp.

BOIS CBTP ICY. WDB). ooo ococccivcescns,. 9
Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 299

(NE NS whine heh oes dd sso mis cuceuee A. 4
Cosmopolitan Shipping Co. v. McAllister, 337 U.S.

WO SU oa Sed cave seecuece. cae 6, 13, 16, 17

Evans v. United Arab Shipping Company S.A.G.
and M/V Al Wattyah, 767 F. Supp. 1284
(D.N.J. 1991), related opinion, 790 F. Supp.
516 (D.N.J. 1992), rev'd, 4 F.3d 207 (3d Cir.
WOON Se bck di ecene bee vedas te et ee ek a

Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Co., 521 F.2d
31 (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1054

OE ewer ueNner ears stan ieee eo 12
Guidry v. South Louisiana Contractors, Inc., 614
F.2d 447 (Sth Cir. BERR aE Nie a eae EI ea 8

Harwood v. Partredereit A.F. 15.5.81, 944 F.2d
1187 (4th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, ___ U.S.

» 112 S. Ct. 1265 (1992)......0000. 8,9
Haskins v. Point Towing Co., 421 F.2d 532 (3d Cir.
1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 834 to ee 14

Homer Ramsdell Transportation Co. v. La Com-
pagnie Generale T; ransatlantique, 182 U.S. 406
(RN th tn oedin ka keoSiknb acess ee 6, 7

iv

ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Cases: Page

International Stevedoring Company v. Haverty,
rae Bs Be fy: ee ee ree roe eee 18

Longshoreman’s Act (Opinion #22), 1928 AMC 263
(U.S. Employee Comp. Comm’n 1927) ....... 6, 9

Mach v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 317 F.2d 761
Ce ee ES eevee Sooke ee eee 12

Mahramas v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines,
Inc., 475 F.2d 165 (2d Cir. 1973) ......... iu a?

McDermott International, Inc. v. Wilander, 498
Sie. re CRE Ds ooo eeeennss bees eeatern 5, 7, 10

Ex Parte McNeil, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 624 (1871)... 4

Ringering v. Compania Maritima De-La-Mancha,
670 F. Supp. 301 (D. Or. 1987), affd mem., 848

eee ae | pry 9
Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85

RN ce teeveeeeeseenae cme peda 9,17, 18
South Chicago Coal & Dock Co. v. Bassett, 309 U.S.

Fo SR ear ee Pp meaner rare REN PL? 9
Weiss v. Central Railroad Co., 235 F.2d 309 (2d Cir.

cn) na ar at Pam me ny mon th 5
Statutes:
Delaware Code, Ann. tit. 23, § 121 (1987)........ 6
Oe Whee 6 US is h0 0k see eee 2
Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act

Fe Whee ee ee OP Oo oie cad eueaeusee 5, 8, 9
Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. App. § 688(a)........... passim
Miscelianeous:

Grant Gilmore and Charles Black, The Law of
Admiralty, § 6-21(a), (2d ed. 1975). 14, 15, 16, 17

Vv

No.____

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

WILLIAM W. EVANS,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED ARAB SHIPPING COMPANY
S.A.G.; M/V AL WATTYAH, her
engines, boilers, etc., in rem,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THE OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of a panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit in Evans v. United Arab Shipping
Company S.A.G. and M/V Al Wattyah is reported at 4
F.3d 207 (3d Cir. 1993) and appears in the Appendix
beginning at A-1. The dissenting opinion of Judge
Nygaard begins at A-23. The Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law issued by Judge Stanley S. Brotman

1

2

of the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey
on July 30, 1991, are reported at 767 F.Supp. 1284
(D.N.J. 1991) and appear in the Appendix beginning at
A-30.!

JURISDICTION

The decision and judgment of the U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit was rendered on August
13, 1993. The court of appeals denied petitioner’s appli-
cation for rehearing by its Order entered September 22,
1993. (A-53). The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to
review the judgment of the court of appeals is conferred
upon the Court by 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

STATUTES INVOLVED

46 U.S.C. app. § 688(a)
33 U.S.C. $§ 902, 905
Delaware Code Ann. tit. 23, § 121 (1987)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner William W. Evans, a vessel pilot licensed
by the State of Delaware and the U.S. Coast Guard,
brought this action in the United States District Court
for the District of New Jersey pursuant to the general
maritime law and the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. app.
§ 688(a). The jurisdiction of the district court was
founded on 28 U.S.C. § 1333 and the Foreign Sovereign
Immunities Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1330. Petitioner sought
recovery for personal injuries sustained as a result of the
negligence of the defendant, United Arab Shipping
Company, as well as of the unseaworthiness of defen-
dant’s vessel. The district court held that petitioner was
covered by the Jones Act, concluding that a river pilot
was a “seaman” and that the petitioner had a sufficient

1. Arelated opinion of the district court, not ruled upon by the
court of appeals and not a subject of this petition, is reported at 790
F. Supp. 516 (D.N.J. 1992).

3

employment-related connection to the subject vessel at
the time of his injury. (A-43).2

The district court found as a fact that the negligence
of the defendant proximately caused an aggravation of
petitioner’s preexisting neurological condition. (A-48).
However, its finding was specifically premised upon the
lightened burden of proof as to causation to which Jones
Act plaintiffs are entitled. Pilot Evans appealed the
district court’s assignment of the burden of proof on the
aggravation issue and United Arab Shipping Company
cross-appealed the district court’s determination that
petitioner was entitled to the protections of the Jones
Act.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
reversed the district court’s finding that Pilot Evans was
entitled to the protection of the Jones Act, which had the
effect of avoiding the review of the district court’s
burden of proof assignment. (A-3). Circuit Judge Nyga-
ard dissented. (A-23).

The court of appeals’ opinion and judgment were
entered on August 13, 1993. William Evans submitted a
petition for rehearing, which was denied by the court of
appeals on September 22, 1993. (A-53).

This Petition for a Writ of Certiorari followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The personal injury remedies of a vital cate-
gory of seaman, the vessel pilot, have been left
in a state of confusion by the split among the
circuits.

The petitioner in this case was a state-licensed pilot,
serving the ports on the waters of the Delaware Bay and

2. However, the district court concluded that it was petition-
er’s burden to prove the extent to which his shipboard accident had
aggravated a preexisting neurological condition and ultimately
refused to award damages for aggravation of this condition. The
issue of the assignment of the burden of proof to the plaintiff was
appealed to, but not decided by, the court of appeals. (A-3, 29).

4

River and its tributaries. He was specialiy trained and
licensed under the laws of the State of Delaware to guide
large commercial vessels between the Atlantic Ocean
and their destinations. Many of these vessels were
fully-laden tank ships which call at the refineries in the
Delaware Valley region.

There are more than 1,000 state-licensed pilots in
the United States. There are also a significant number of
federally-licensed pilots who work exclusively aboard
U.S. flag vessels in coastwise commerce. Each of these
individuals is specially qualified to navigate a vessel
during the most hazardous portion of its journey, while
in the confined and congested waters of our ports, bays
and rivers. The pilot’s job is strictly one of navigation, so
in that sense, he or she is the quintessential seaman. As
Justice Curtis wrote in Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53
U.S. (12 How.) 299 (1852):

Now, a pilot, so far as respects the navigation of the
vessel in that part of the voyage which is his pilotage
ground, is the temporary master charged with the
safety of the vessel and cargo, and of the lives of
those on board, and intrusted with the command of
the crew. He is not only one of the persons engaged
in navigation, but he occupies the most important
and responsible place among those thus engaged.

53 U.S. at 316.

In Ex Farte McNeil, Justice Swayne wrote that
pilots were:

as much a part of the commercial marine as the hull
of the ship and the helm by which it is guided . . .
Pilots are a meritorious class, and the service in
which they are engaged is one of great importance
to the public. It is frequently full of hardship, and
sometimes of peril; night and day, in winter and
summer, in tempest and calm, they must be present
at their proper places and ready to perform the
duties of their vocation.

80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 624, 625 (1871).

|

5

The question presented in this appeal is whether or
not this vital class of mariner is entitled to the remedies
provided by the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. app. § 688(a), as
against the owner/operator of the vessel which has
employed him. In attempting to fashion an answer to
this question, the lower courts, including the Courts of
Appeals for the Third, Fourth, Fifth and N‘nth Circuits,
have left the law in a confused state. It is important that
this Court seize the current opportunity to set out a
uniform rule defining the personal injury rights and
remedies to which the members of this critical class of
mariner are entitled. As will be explained below (Reason
#2), this case also offers a perfect opportunity to provide
guidance and, perhaps, to definitively answer what may
be the last remaining general question regarding Jones
Act entitlement: the exact nature and scope of the
requisite worker/vessel connection.

The courts which have to date been asked to define
the pilot’s personal injury remedies have steered variant
analytical courses. Moreover, in several important re-
spects, these courts have reached different destinations.
In the case at bar, for example, the district court relied
upon this Court’s decision iin McDermott International,
Inc. v. Wilander, 498 U.S. 337 (1991), in finding that,
given the essential role played by the pilot in the safe
navigation of a vessel and his receipt of remuneration for
his services, the petitioner was a “seaman” with a
sufficient “employment-related connection” to the de-
fendant’s vessel to be entitled to Jones Act remedies.3

3. It was significant to the district court that, according to the
McDermott decision, a maritime worker who has been excluded
from receiving benefits under the Longshore and Harbor Workers’
Compensation Act (33 U.S.C. §§ 901-905 er seq.) (“LHWCA”) as
being a “master or member of the crew of a vessel” was, by
definition, entitled to Jones Act seaman’s Status, (A-41), citing
McDermott, 498 U.S. at 349. And, as the district court pointed out,
an early but vital decision of the federal Employee’s Compensation
Commission had determined that pilots were, indeed. excluded

6

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals took a different
analytical tack in the course of reversing that decision.
The Third Circuit acknowledged that under its prece-
dents a person who “performs the core function of a
seaman aboard a vessel in navigation”, might not need a
permanent connection to the vessel. (A-13 n.7). How-
ever, the panel majority* paradoxically held that:

“[b]ecause we conclude a compulsory river pilot
such as Evans is not an employee of the vessel he
pilots, he would be unable to recover under the Jones
Act even if he is a seaman.”

(A-13) (emphasis added).

Despite the fact that Pilot Evans was hired by the vessel
owner, was paid for his navigation services, and was
injured in the course of his employment while debarking
from the ship, the Third Circuit overturned the district
court’s finding of a sufficient “employment-related con-
nection”. (A-15). Contrary to the specific pronounce-
ment of this Court, the Third Circuit demanded a strict
“employer/employee” relationship as defined by com-
mon law rules of vicarious liability. (A-15). 5 The Third
Circuit noted that under Delaware law the defendant
was obliged to receive a pilot citing Del. Code Ann. tit.
23, § 1211. (A-16). The court then cited the decision in
Homer Ramsdell Transportation Co. v. La Compagnie

from LHWCA benefits because they were “masters or members of
a crew”, (A-42), citing Longshoremen’s Act, Opinion #22, 1928
AMC 263 (U.S. Employee Comp. Comm’n 1927).

4. Circuit Judge Richard L. Nygaard wrote a dissenting
opinion. (A-23).

5. This was in direct contravention of the decision in Cosmo-
politan Shipping Co. v. McAllister, 337 U.S. 783 (1949), which held
that “Congress intended that the purposes of [FELA and the Jones
Act] should not be restricted by common-law concepts of control so
as to bar from welfare legislation as independent contractors
persons who were as a matter of economic reality part of the
processes and dependent upon the businesses to which they
rendered service.” 337 U.S. at 790.

>

Generale Transatlantique, 182 U.S. 406 (1901), which
had held that a shipowner was not liable in personam for
the negligence of a compulsory pilot because of a lack of
discretion in selection of the individual. Applying the
Homer Ramsdeil reasoning, the Third Circuit decided
that, although a compulsory pilot may well be a
“seaman”, injuries occurring to him while aboard ship
do not occur “in the course of his employ”, in a Jones Act
sense.°®

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has approached
the identical issue in an altogether different fashion.
Refusing to make an exception due to the nature of the
pilot’s shipboard work, and without raising any issue
pertaining to employer/employee control, the Fifth Cir-
cuit in Bach v. Trident Steamship Co., 920 F.2d 322 (Sth
Cir.), vacated and remanded, 499 Ricinus. GO Oe Ge
2253, aff'd, 947 F.2d 1290 (5th Cir. 1991), cert. denied,
504 U.S.__, 112 S.Ct. 1996 (1992), held that a pilot
does not qualify as a Jones Act seaman because he is not
permanently attached to a vessel or a particular fleet of
vessels. Bach, 920 F.2d at 326. However, as the late
Judge John Brown pointed out in dissent, the permanent
attachment prong of the Fifth Circuit’s Jones Act enti-
tlement test arose to cope with suits brought by persons
employed in the offshore oil industry whose job descrip-
tions were not comparable to those of the personnel
engaged aboard traditional vessels. Bach, 920 F.2d at
333 (Brown, J., dissenting). Thus, the Bach case yields

6. Of course ‘he approach taken by the Third Circuit over-
looks the import of this Court’s decision in The CHINA, 74 U.S. (7
Wall.) 53 (1868), entirely. In that case it was held that the ship in
rem is vicariously liable for the acts of its compulsory pilot. The state
Statute at issue and the amount of actual control exercisable by the
master over the pilot was in all relevant respects identical to those
factors present in Homer Ramsdell, but the Court focused upon the
relationship of the pilot to the ship. Of course, Jones Act rights
depend, according to the McDermott case, only upon the existence
of a “connection to a vessel in navigation.” 499 U.S. at 355.
Emphasis added.

8

the anomalous result that the most important navigator
aboard the vessel is not given the same personal injury
remedies as the lowest-rated deck hand or dishwasher.
This result is based upon the rather unsatisfying “per-
manency or substantial work” test which apparently
requires some minimum term of employment.

The personal injury remedies left available to a pilot
in the Fifth Circuit are not altogether clear. The plaintiff
in Bach had, for example, asserted a claim in terms of
the general maritime law warranty of seaworthiness,
which claim cannot be asserted by workers covered by
the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act,
33 U.S.C. § 905. (A-60). The Fifth Circuit recognizes
that maritime workers on the navigable waters of the
United States ought to be covered by either the LHWCA
or the Jones Act. See Guidry v. South Louisiana Con-
tractors, Inc., 614 F.2d 447, 452 n.2 (Sth Cir. 1980)
(“seaman” and “member of crew” are interchangeable
terms). However, the Bach court was plainly perplexed
by the situation presented by the compulsory pilot: “The
LHWCA covers those ‘engaged in maritime employ-
ment’. 33 U.S.C. §§ 902(3), 903. The record does not
clearly show that Bach was the employee of anyone. It is,
therefore, unclear whether the LHWCA covered him.”
920 F.2d at 327 n.5.

Undaunted by the fact that state-licensed pilots
have no employers other than those who own or operate
the ships upon which they work, the Fourth Circuit has
specifically held that pilots are “maritime workers” cov-
ered by the LHWCA. This conclusion led to the deter-
mination that pilots are barred by the LHWCA from
asserting an action for unseaworthiness against the
shipowner. Harwood v. Partredereit A.F. 15.5.81, 944
F.2d 1187 (4th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, __. U.S. __,
112 S. Ct. 1265 (1992). Employing a very broad con-
struction of the LHWCA and the amplifying Supreme
Court precedent, the Fourth Circuit held that because
he was injured upon navigable waters, the pilot, irre-
spective of the nature of his job duties, must have been

|

9

intended by Congress to be limited to compensation
benefits under the LHWCA. 944 F. 2d at 1190-91. As
pointed out by the dissenting judge, the Harwood deci-
sion directly contradicts the determination made by the
Employee’s Compensation Commission in 1927 (see
n.3, supra) that pilots are not covered by the LHWCA,
which decision is to be given pre-eminent authoritative
weight per South Chicago Coal & Dock Co. v. Bassett,
309 U.S. 251 (1939). 944 F.2d at 1194 (Ervin, C.J.,
dissenting.) At bottom, the Harwood decision fails to
properly recognize that pilots are quintessential seamen.
Most importantly, because pilots have no other employ-
ers but the owner/operator of the vessel being piloted,
the LHWCA compensation scheme provides absolutely
no benefit for them.

This last point was made by the court in Clark v.
Solomon Navigation Ltd., 631 F. Supp. 1275, 1283
(S.D.N.Y. 1986). The Clark court arrived at yet another
conclusion as to the causes of action available to the
pilot. Chief Judge Motley held that the Jones Act was not
applicable, the pilot not being “permanently” attached to
any particular vessel, but that the pilot was undeniably
engaged in seaman-like work. Asserting that the doc-
trine of Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85
(1946), had retained its vitality vis-a-vis those persons
not falling within the ambit of the LHWCA, the Clark
court concluded that river pilots are entitled to the
warranty of seaworthiness.

Finally, in Ringering v. Compania Maritima De-La-
Mancha, 670 F. Supp. 301 (D. Or. 1987), aff'd mem.,
848 F.2d 1243 (9th Cir. 1988), the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals affirmed a district court decision which had
squarely held that river pilots were entitled to the
protection of both the Jones Act and the warranty of
seaworthiness.

In summary, the jurisprudence with respect to the
personal injury remedies owing to a pilot is in total
chaos. In the Ninth Circuit, pilots enjoy the protection of
the Jones Act and the warranty of seaworthiness; in the

10

Fourth Circuit, they are entitled to neither, but are
harbor workers without benefits. In the Second Circuit,
pilots do not receive Jones Act protection but they are
entitled to the warranty of seaworthiness. In the Fifth
Circuit a pilot is not a “seaman”, is therefore not entitled
to recover under the Jones Act, may or may not be a
harbor worker and may or may not have a warranty of
seaworthiness. In the Third Circuit a pilot is not entitled
to the Jones Act whether he/she qualifies as a “seaman”
or not. Depending upon the forum selected, a pilot could
be a Jones Act seaman, a self-employed LHWCA em-
ployee, or a “Sieracki seaman.”

Although the sheer numbers of pilots in the United
States is not great, the importance of this class of
mariner to the country’s water-borne commerce and of
this issue to this class of seaman cannot be .‘verstated.
The time and judicial resources expended bt ?’is Court
toward establishing a uniform rule to cover piicts will be
well spent.

2. This case squarely presents the critical issue
vis-a-vis Jones Act entitlement left undecided
in this Court’s jurisprudence, to wit, the req-
uisite nature and scope of the “employment-
related connection” between the worker and a
vessel.

In McDermott International, Inc. v. Wilander, su-
pra, it was recognized that this Court's prior decisional
law pertaining to Jones Act entitlement had “led the
lower courts to a ‘myriad of standards and lack of
uniformity in administering the elements of seaman
Status’ ”, creating a legal labyrinth in which the lower
courts were lost. 498 U.S. at 355. In McDermott, the
specific holding was that the plaintiff need not have
been directly engaged in the navigation of a vessel in
order to qualify as a Jones Act seaman. This made it
clear that so long as a claimant had an “employment-
related connection to a vessel in navigation”, he or she
was entitled to the Jones Act remedy. The McDermott

11

decision recognized some residual ambiguity, however.
“The key to seaman status”, wrote Justice O’Connor on
behalf of the unanimous Court, “is employment-related
connection to a vessel in navigation. We are not called
upon here to define this connection in all details, but we
hold that a necessary element of the connection is that a
seaman perform the work of a vessel.” 498 U.S. at 355
(emphasis added).

The case now before the Court, that of a state-
licensed pilot’s suit against the owner/operator of a
vessel engaging his services, cries out for a uniform
definition of the “details” of the employment-related
connection. The circuit courts are in disagreement as to
the nature and length of the employment relationship
required for Jones Act “seaman” status.

The petitioner in this case came aboard the vessel
for the sole purpose of navigating it in exchange for pay,
and had no employer other than the defendant vessel
owner. Based upon those facts, the district court found
that the requisite “employment-related connection to a
vessel” existed. In its decision in Bach, the Fifth Circuit
required a showing that the claimant had a “permanent
attachment to or substantial work on a vessel or identi-
fiable fleet of vessels.” 920 F.2d at 324. The Bach court
refused to make an exception to that test for the worker,
such as a pilot, whose work is entirely navigation-
oriented. 920 F.2d at 326. However, other courts have
held that so long as the claimant was employed aboard a
vessel in navigation in furtherance of that vessel’s pur-
pose, the length of time of his service is irrelevant. See,
e.g., Weiss v. Central Railroad Co., 235 F.2d 309 (2d Cir.
1956).

The late Judge John R. Brown, former Chief Judge
of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, wrote a provocative
dissent to the decision of the panel in Bach v. Trident
Steamship Co. He pointed out that the “more or less
permanent connection” element of the Jones Act test
had crept into the Fifth Circuit’s jurisprudence in re-
sponse to the problems inherent in classification of the

12

numerous types of job descriptions found in the offshore
oil industry. 920 F.2d at 333, (Brown, C. J., dissenting).
Judge Brown argued in his Bach dissent that the pilot, as
the quintessential seaman, was a critical member of the
ship’s complement, irrespective of the length of time of
his employ or the manner in which he was paid.”

Although many circuits have incorporated the
“more or less permanent attachment” test, others have
not. Prior to the instant case, the Third Circuit Court of
Appeals had placed a foot in each camp. In its decisions
in Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Co., 521 F.2d 31
(3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1054 (1976), and
Mach v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 317 F.2d 761 (3d
Cir. 1963), the Third Circuit essentially defines a sliding
scale depending upon the nature of the claimant’s work.

In Mach v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., the plaintiff's
job was to go aboard coal barges stationed at his employ-
er’s pier ard, utilizing winches and mooring lines, move
the barge; along the pier for discharge. The owners of
the barges upon which he worked were not identified in
the case, but it was clear that the claimant had no
definite or permanent connection with any barge or
group of barges. The Mach court held, nevertheless,

7. Judge Brown actually wrote two dissenting opinions in
Bach. In response to a Petition for Writ of Certiorari, the Fifth
Circuit was directed to reconsider Bach in light of the then-recent
McDermott decision. 499 U.S. ___, 1991 AMC 2701 (June 3, 1991).
Unlike the panel’s majority, Judge Brown saw that McDermott
contained a great deal of language in support of a pilot’s Jones Act
status. Bach v. Trident Steamship Co., 947 F.2d 1290 (Sth Cir.
1991), cert. denied, 504 U.S.___, 112 S.Ct. 1996 (1992) (Brown,
C.J., dissenting).

8. In Mach, the plaintiff was deemed to have a Jones Act
remedy against his employer, Pennsylvania Railroad Co., which was
the owner of a waterfront terminal. Critical to this determination
was the fact that the plaintiff worked aboard vessels docked at the
terminal, but it is curious that the court paid absolutely no attention
to whether or not plaintiffs employer owned or controlled these
vessels.

13

that the claimant was entitled tc sue under the Jones
Act, stating that:

The duration of service for and upon a vessel may
determine whether shipboard work which is not
normally performed by a ship’s company makes the
worker a crewman, but lack of long continued
attachment to the vessel cannot, as a matter of law,
serve to deny seaman’s status under the Jones Act to
an employee who is injured while assigned to and
performing normal crew service.

317 F.2d at 763-64.

In so holding, the court cited the Second Circuit’s
decision in Weiss v. Central Railroad, 235 F.2d 309 (2d
Cir. 1956), in which that court had stated that it knew of
no instance in which a worker whose job it was to
actually steer and navigate a vessel had been denied
Jones Act protection merely because the duration of his
service was short.

In Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Co., supra, how-
ever, the Third Circuit distinguished Mach in a case
where the plaintiff, a member of the steel company’s
labor pool, had been temporarily assigned docktender
duties which required him to go aboard barges from time
to time. The plaintiff in Griffith was never engaged in
vessel maneuvering and spent as much or more time
working at jobs within the mill as he did alongside the
dock.

In the case at bar, the Third Circuit seemed to
recognize that its prior decisions had placed it inside a
jurisprudential box of sorts. The court realized that a
Strict application of Mach might have required a finding
of Jones Act entitlement, but the court avoided the
application of Mach by examining in some detail the
nature of the relationship between a pilot and an em-
ploying vessel owner. (A-15). In spite of this Court’s
admonition in Cosmopolitan Shipping Co. v. McAllister
that “Congress intended that the purposes of [the Jones
Act] should not be restricted by common-law concepts of

14

control so as to bar from welfare legislation as indepen-
dent contractors persons who were as a matter of
economic reality part of the processes and dependent
upon the businesses to which they rendered service”,
337 U.S. at 790, the Third Circuit applied the general
rules of agency or vicarious liability to the Evans case.
(A-15).

Without entering a full discussion of the merits at
this juncture, it can be said that although the pilot's
relationship to the vessel is somewhat unique, the case
at bar presents an important opportunity to define the
nature of the requisite “employment-related connec-
tion”. Is it appropriate, for example, to utilize a common
law master/servant test when the issue is the breadth of
beneficent legislation as opposed to the limits of vicari-
ous liability to third persons? Of what import is the
duration of the connection? Captain Evans was aboard
the defendant’s vessel for nearly eight hours; it is quite
common for shipowners to hire “night mates”, tempo-
rary officers who are hired out of the local union hall, to
stand in-port watches. Why would the pilot, who is
arguably more important to the vessel and has less
control over his working conditions, be deserving of less
protection? Should not the nature of the claimant's
shipboard work have a bearing on the question, as the
Third Circuit cases suggest?

Given the tack taken by the Third Circuit in the
instant case, a number of important questions are
brought to the fore pertaining to the identification of the
appropriate Jones Act defendant. The presumption
among the circuits is that a Jones Act claimant can sue
only his “employer” and that he can have only one such
“employer’.? The eminent admiralty law scholars, Pro-

9. See, e.g., Haskins v. Point Towing Co., 421 F.2d 532, 536
(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 834 (1970), in which the Third
Circuit dismissed an action filed by an illiterate tugboat captain who
had made a mistake in selecting between two related corporations.

15

fessors Grant Gilmore and Charles L. Black, Jr., have
directly challenged these presumptions. In discussing
the identity of the appropriate Jones Act defendant,
Gilmore and Black begin as follows:

In the normal situation the Jones Act defendant is a)
the plaintiffs employer, and b) the operator of the
ship on which the plaintiff was injured. Suppose,
however, that the employer has no control over the
operation of the ship (the Jones Act being restricted
to injuries caused by operating negligence.) Can the
operator be sued under the Jones Act although he is
not the plaintiffs employer? Alternatively, can the
employer be sued under the Jones Act although he
does not operate the ship? And, if the non-operating
employer can be sued under the Jones Act, is he
liable only for his own negligence or is he liable for
the operator’s negligence as well? The Jones Act
case law does not clearly answer any of these
questions.

Grant Gilmore and Charles L. Black, Jr., The Law of
Admiralty § 6-21(a) at 335 (2d ed. 1975).

Gilmore and Black go on to discuss the Second
Circuit’s decision in Mahramas v. American Export
Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., 475 F.2d 165 (2d Cir. 1973),
which had grappled with the proposed questions in
concluding that a hairdresser, who worked in a ship-
board shop operated by her employer, a concessionaire,
could not sue the shipowner under the Jones Act.
Gilmore and Black then comment:

There are a great many maritime workers who
qualify as “seamen” and who suffer work-related
injuries on vessels operated by persons who may not
be, technically, their employers. The issues warrant
further analysis — in particular, the basic holding in
Mahramas that Jones Act actions can be brought
only against an “employer” and that the plaintiff can
have only one employer at « time.

16

According to Judge Anderson’s Mahramas opinion,
“there has never been any question that the Jones
Act applies only between employees and their em-
ployers.” That proposition has, indeed, been re-
peated hundreds, if not thousands, of times in
judicial opinions and in the academic literature. On
the other hand, nothing about the Jones Act is either
true or false until the Supreme Court has held it to
be so. Cosmopolitan Shipping Co. v. McAllister is
regularly cited as having so held.

Gilmore and Black, supra, at 336-37.

Cosmopolitan Shipping arose in a wartime context
in which ships had been commandeered by the United
States government and crewmen had signed papers
indicating that the government was to be their “em-
ployer”. Mr. McAllister apparently desired a jury trial
and, therefore, brought his case instead against the
ship’s former owner, Cosmopolitan. Cosmopolitan re-
tained, as “general agent”, a considerable amount of
administrative responsibility with regard to the ship’s
operation. In deciding the case, Justice Reed first noted
that the U.S. Government was the plaintiffs technical
employer, but nonetheless pursued a lengthy discussion
of the responsibilities of Cosmopolitan vis-a-vis ship-
board operating conditions. According to Gilmore and
Black:

What McAllister comes down to is that Cosmopoli-
tan could not be sued under the Jones Act because
a) it was not McAllister’s employer and b) it was not
the operator of the ship. McAllister (which was a 5-4
decision) tells us nothing about what the Supreme
Court majority might have held if it had concluded
that Cosmopolitan, although not the employer, was
the operator. Thus, Justice Reed’s remarks about
the employment relationship rank as dictum and his
lengthy demonstration of the fact that Cosmopolitan
did not operate the ship (but merely “managed a
certain shoreside business”) suggests that even the

17

McAllister majority regarded the question as open
and unsettled. And if McAllister did not hold that the
Jones Act defendant must be the plaintiffs one and
only employer (which it did not), then no other
Supreme Court case comes even close to establish-
ing that proposition.

The Jones Act was designed to remove the bar
created by the fourth proposition in The OSCEOLA
[citation omitted] and to allow seamen to recover
damages for work-related injuries caused by ship-
board negligence. On policy grounds, there seems to
be no good reason for limiting the recovery to actions
against “employers”; this is particularly true in light
of the fact that the action for unseaworthiness,
which has become the identical twin of the Jones
Act action, is not so limited. The longstanding
assumption that the only possible Jones Act defen-
dant is the plaintiff's one and only employer should
be reconsidered. As Judge Oakes’ Mahramas dissent
Suggests, there are two ways of going about this
reconsideration. One is to conclude that in
Mahramas-type situations, the plaintiff has two em-
ployers: at least for purposes of the Jones Act, there
is no reason why a seaman cannot serve two mas-
ters. The other is to conclude that Jones Act liability
rests essentially on control of the ship’s operation

and not on the employment relationship — an
approach which the McAllister case certainly leaves
open.

Gilmore and Black, supra, at 338-39 (emphasis added;
footnotes omitted).

It is time for this Court to address the issues posed
by Professors Gilmore and Black in 1975 and presented
now in this case.

Aside from the academic authorities, this Court has
itself held that a shipowner’s liabilities to one who acts as
a seaman aboard his vessel arise irrespective of the

18

existence of any contractual-type employment relation-
ship. In Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85
(1946), a shipowner was held to be liable to a longshore-
man under the doctrine of unseaworthiness. It was there
held, endorsing the analytical approach taken in J/nter-
national Stevedoring Company v. Haverty, 272 U.S. 50
(1926), that it is not an employer/employee relationship
which gives rise to the shipowner’s duties, but the
contro! which the shipowner has over the shipboard
working environment. The court was discussing the
warranty of seaworthiness in Sieracki, but the rationale
used to reject the arguments of the shipowner was born
in the Haverty case, which had allowed Jones Act
protection to a longshoreman working aboard ship. A
strong argument can be made that the precedential
effects of Sieracki and Haverty survive to this day,
notwithstanding the 1972 amendments to the Long-
shore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, for those
workers who, like Captain Evans, fall outside the scope
of the LHWCA.

There has never been any contest of the fact that
United Arab, the defendant below, controlled the ship-
board conditions to which the petitioner was subjected.
Captain Evans was not merely a visitor or business
invitee aboard the vessel. He had a definite and impor-
tant employment-related connection to defendant’s ves-
sel. He was a seaman, and as such was entitled to the
protection of the Jones Act. He was undoubtedly injured
“in the course of his employment aboard the vessel” and
is deserving of a recovery against the ship’s operator
whether or not a common law master/servant relation-
ship existed between them. This Court should issue the
requested Writ in order to decide these issues.

19
CONCLUSION

Left unreviewed, the decision of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit leaves continuing
confusion in the maritime law on the status of pilots.
The various circuit courts have held pilots to be harbor
workers, to be maritime workers who are neither Jones
Act seamen nor harbor workers, to be maritime workers
entitled to the protection of the warranty of seaworthi-
ness, or not so entitled, depending on the court. There is
neither certainty nor consistency about the nature or the
scope of the requisite employment related connection for
Jones Act status. The purpose for which the Jones Act
was passed, the protection of American seafarers, upon
whom the mercantile commerce and the defense of the
nation depends, will continue to be frustrated. The Writ
of Certiorari should be granted and the decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit reviewed to effect
a resolution of this unsatisfactory situation.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD V. CATTELL, JR.

JEFFREY S. MOLLER

CLARK, LADNER, FORTENBAUGH & YOUNG
Woodland Falls Corporate Park

200 Lake Drive East, Suite 300

Cherry Hill, N.J. 08002

(609) 779-0900

Attorneys for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1692%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
