# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Holmberg v. City of Ramsey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1646%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 810

## Text

Supreme Court, U.8,
FILED

' 981796 MAY 11199

fil ib cu :
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993
No.

Larry Holmberg
and the Amusement Center, Inc.,
a Minnesota corporation,

Petitioner,
vs.

City of Ramsey,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI AND APPENDIX
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

RANDALL D.B. TIGUE

2620 Nicollet Avenue
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55408
(G2) 874-9903

Attorney for Petitioner

1964-EXECUTEAM/LAW DIV, 2595 N. Hamline Ave., St Paul, MN 55113 - 612-633-1443 - 800-747-8793

Questions Presented

1. Does an adult entertainment zoning ordinance
constitute impermissible content-based censorship, when it
amortizes out of existences lawful non-conforming adult
entertainment uses, solely on the basis of the content of materials
sold and exhibited, regardless of secondary effects, but permits
non-adult uses defined, solely on the basis of content, to remain in
existence in the absence of an affirmative showing of adverse
secondary effects?

2. Does an adult entertainment zoning ordinance
setisfy constitutional requirements for alternative avenues of
communication, when virtually all of the land area for permitted
adult uses is available only at the discretion of the City Council?

3. Does an adult entertainment zoning ordinance
satisfy constitutional requirements for alternative avenues of
communication, when the only area available for adult
entertainment, is vacant, undeveloped property, at which no
commercial use would be viable?

Parties and Proceedings Below

The parties to the proceeding in the District Court were
Larry Holmberg, President and sole shareholder of the Amusement
Center, Inc., a Minnesota corporation; the Amusement Center, Inc.:
and David Schneider, Jr. and Gary Holmberg, who conveyed their
interests in the subject bookstore to Petitioners Larry Holmberg and
the Amusement Center, Inc., as Plaintiffs, and the City of Ramsey,
a municipal corporation, as Defendant.

On appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit, only Larry Holmberg and the Amusement Center,
Inc.. appealed. Review is sought of the decision of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, entered December
30, 1993, and for which rehearing was denied on February 10, 1994.
The original decision is reported at 12 F. 3d 140 (8th Cir. 1993),
and is set forth in the Appendix at A.509-A.516. The order
denying the Petition for Rehearing is set forth in the Appendix at
A.520.

The Eighth Circuit opinion affirms the decision of the
United States District Court for the District of Minnesota, reported

as Schneider v. City of Ramsey, 800 F. Supp. 815 (D. Minn. 1992),

a copy of which is set forth in the Appendix at A.451 - A.468.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Parties and Proceedings Below ................2+.2-.
oe iad lik see on eens bwevexke
6 ons eS feos Dee y Is ASR e wks

Constitutional and Statutory
eS Sls, b's oo wia yee Sie ees

Argument:
I. The Eighth Circuit
opinion upholding the
disparity in the two
amortization provisions,
one for non-conforming
adult uses, defined by
content alone, and
all other uses, is at
odds with applicable
decisions of this Court
and of other courts of
appeals, within the
meaning of Rule 10.1
SEES, gb nc tb cs ce ececveveesn

eee

II. The decision upholding
the ordinance on the issue

of reasonable alternative
avenues of communication is
also in conflict with

decisions of this Court

A. The Eighth Circuit opinion

was at variance with applicable

decisions of this Court when

it upheld an ordinance which

leaves Petitioners’ right

to relocation their adult

business entirely in the

discretion of the Ramsey
eee 21

B. Even apart from the issue

of unbridled discretion, the

available real estate for the

location of adult businesses

does not satisfy constitutional

requirements, established by

this court and other United

States court of appeals ..........25 eee eens 25

Ne a eg Sg al bel ulate o. Bee We a 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
onstit
First Amendment to the United States
0 St eo re i yee 1,19,
23,26
Fourteenth Amendment to the United
CD icc ccc ctw ccccceerocescosce 1
Statutes:
Title 28 U.S.C. Section 12540) .....ccccccccccccess 1
Court Rules:
Rule 10.1 of the Supreme Court Rules...........---- 12
City Ordinances:
Ramsey City Ordinance No. 90-23 .........--++: 1,6,22
Ramsey City Ordinance
RS errr eS 6,12,17,
18,19
Ramsey City Ordinance
tec eb dee eese else ewes 1,7
Ramsey City Ordinance
Section O11.39, Subd. 3a 2. ccc ce ccc ccc c ccc ccreees 5
Ramsey City Ordinance
ee, © oe bc ccc ccececceceses 7,16,17,18

Ramsey Ordinance Section 9.50.02,

. 10

Ramsey Ordinance Section 9.50.03,

Re ae ce eer ee 10,11
Ramsey Ordinance Section 9.50.04,

Wet eeee i eeberedeccccesuceseeus 10
Ramsey Ordinance Section 9.50.31 ............... 11,23
Cases:

Alexander vy. City of Minneapolis,
928 F. 2d 278 (8th Cir. 1991) (Alexander II) .......... 28

Basiardanes v. City of Galveston, 682
De once ees eeecees 28

CLR Corp. v. Henline, 520 F. Supp. 760,
768 (W.D. Mich. 1981), aff'd,

po 20
Cascade News, Inc. v. City of eland

Case No. 1:92CV 0758 (N.D. Ohio, 1992) ............ 21
City of ewood v. Plain r Publishin

Cs ee ce Sah occu ct ss roves 24
Cleveland Board of Education v. LeFleur,

EC 20

Dumas v. City of Dallas, 648 F. Supp. 1061
(N.D. Tex. 1986), aff'd, 837 F. 2d 1298

(Sth Cir. 1988), aff'd, in part,

vacated in part, 493 U.S. 215, (1990) ............... 28
FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas,
Se EE Be OED he ce evee win deoovceeee ss K 23

vi

|
:

Forsyth County, Ga. v. Nationalist Movement,
oe, ee ee Dds SOO

i eee eeses ebb e ews 24
Kuhns v. Board of Supervisors, 128 Cal.
Fe EE Cbd cee et hU8 sb bee e's oes ae

R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul,
__U.S._, 12 S.Ct. 2538,

EBD Bat BO DUPED ccc ic ccccccrcccccecseee 18

Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim,
ee os teehee eb aven 29,30

Schneider v. City of Ramsey, 800 F. Supp.
EE nes db bee ss bnesece dose de ches ii

Southeastem Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad
ee tee eer ener es 23

Shuttlesworth vy. City of Birmingham,
ee kere e cen eeen ee 23

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ............. 20

Tollis v. San Bemardino County,
ee ee I cece cweercceseces 17

Topanga Press, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles,
989 F. 2d 1524 (9th Cir. 1993)

cert. denied, 61 U.S.L.W. 3960
Ar 26,28,29

Viandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973) ...........24.. 19

vii

Wolff v. City of Monticello,
802 F. Supp. 1568 (D. Minn. 1992)...............-. 17

Ww. Vv
2 ® | 2. |. 2 Frere 26

World Wide Video v. City of Tukwil
117 Wash. 2d 382, (1991) cert. denied,
ka PPP rrerrrerr es: 17

Y v. Ameri Mini
Gar Cee Eo we aa he bd e6s eso ctnecee 14,21,26

viii

Jurisdiction
Review is sought of a decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, entered December 30, 1993, for
which rehearing was denied on February 10, 1994. Jurisdiction is
based upon Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1254().
Constitutional and Statutory
Provisions Involved
This case involves the First and Fourteenth Amendments
to the United States Constitution, the text of which are set forth in
the Appendix at A.521, and Ramsey City Ordinance No. 90-23,
pertinent portions of which are set forth in the Appendix at A.16 -

A.56.
Statement of the Case

Petitioners are the owners of an adults-only bookstore
located in the City of Ramsey, Minnesota. The store opened on
or about April 19, 1990, at a time in which there were no
restrictions on the location of adult entertainment within the City
of Ramsey. At the time it opened and at all times subsequent
thereto, it was the only adult entertainment facility in the City of
Ramsey.’

In November of 1990, some seven months after the opening
of Petitioners’ store, the Ramsey City Council enacted Ordinance
No. 90-23, pertinent portions of which are set forth in the
Appendix at A.16 - A.56, regulating “adult uses" within the City
of Ramsey.

The ordinance, at Section 9.02, defines the term “adult
uses" as follows:

' These facts were not disputed below and were specifically found by the trial
court. See Appendix at A.452 - A.454.

|

"Adult uses include adult bookstores, adult motion
picture theaters, adult motion picture rental, adult
mini-motion picture theaters, adult massage
pariors, adult steam room/bath house/sauna
facilities, adult companionship establishments,
adult rap/conversation parlors, adult health/sports
clubs, adult cabarets, adult novelty businesses,
adult motion picture arcades, adult modeling
studios, adult hotel/motels, adult body painting
studios, and all other premises, enterprises,
establishments, businesses or places open to some
or all members of the public, at which there is an
emphasis on the presentation, display, depiction or
description of ‘specified sexual activities’ or
"specified anatomical areas’ which are capable of
being seen by members of the public." Appendix
at A.17 - A.18.

The same ordinance, in subparagraph a, defines the term
"specified anatomical areas” as:

"1. Less than completely and opaquely covered
human genitals, pubic region, buttock, anus or
female breast(s) below a point immediately above
the top of the areola; and

2. Human male genitals in a discernibly turgid
State, even if completely and opaquely covered.”
Id. at A.18.

Subparagraph (b) of the same section defines the term
"specified sexual activities” as follows:

"1. Actual or simulated sexual intercourse, oral

copulation, anal intercourse, oral-anal copulation,
beastiality (sic), direct physical stimulation of

Distances

unclothed genitals, flagellation or torture in the
context of a sexual relationship, or the use of
excretory functions in the context of a sexually
(sic) relationship, and any of the following
sexually-oriented acts or conduct; anilingus,
buggery, coprophagy, coprophilia, cunnilingus,
fellatio, necrophilia, pederasty, pedophilia,
piquerism, sapphism, zooerasty; or

2. Clearly depicted human genitals in a state of
sexual stimulation, arousal or tumescence; or

3. Use of human or animal ejaculation, sodomy,
oral copulation, coitus, or masturbation; or

4. Fondling or touching of nude human genitals,
pubic region, buttocks, or female breasts; or

5. Situations involving a person or persons, any
of whom are nude, clad in undergarments or in
sexually revealing costumes, and who are engaged
in activities involving flagellation, torture,
fettering, binding or other physical restraint of
such person;

6. Erotic or iewd touching, fondling or other
sexually-oriented contact with an animal by a
human being or

A Human excretion, urination, menstruation,
vaginal or anal irrigation.” Id. at A-18 - A-20.

The same section defines the term "adult use/bookstore” as
follows:

"A building or portion of a building used for
barter, retail or sale of items consisting of printed

3

matter, pictures, slides, records, audio tape, video
tape, or motion picture film if such building or
portion of a building is not open to the public
generally but only to one or more classes of the
public extending (sic) any minor by reason of age
or if a substantial or significant portion of such
items are distinguished or characterized on the
emphasis on the depiction or description of
"specified sexual activities’ or ‘specified
anatomical areas.’" Id. at A-20.

The same ordinance defines the term "adult use -- motion
picture arcade" as follows:

"Any place to which the public is permitted or
invited where in coin or slug-operated or
electronically or electrically or mechanically-
controlled still or motion picture machines

projectors or other image-producing devices a™ ‘
maintained to show images to five or few-r

persons per machine at one time, and where the

images so displayed are distinguished or

characterized by an emphasis on depicting or

describing ’specified sexual activities’ or ’specified

anatomical areas.’" Id. at A-22.

Finally, the definition section of the ordinance distinguishes
between "adult uses--principal," which it defines as a business
establishment having more than "ten percent of its stock in trade
or floor area allocated to, or more than 20 percent of its gross
receipts derived from, any adult use,” and "adult uses accessory,”
in which under 10 percent of the stock in trade or floor area or
under 20 percent of the gross receipts are derived from adult uses.
Id. at A-20.

The substantive restrictions on the location of adult uses
are contained in Section 9.11.19, Subd. 3a, which provides as
follows:

"Adult use-principal shall be located at least 1,000
radial feet, as measured in a straight line from the
closest point of the property line of the building
upon which the adult-use principal is located to

the property line of:
1. Residentially zoned property.
2. A licensed day care center.

3. A public or private educational facility classified as
an elementary, junior high or senior high.

4. A public library.
5. A public park.

6. Another adult use-principal.

7. An on-sale liquor establishment.

8. Any church or church related organization.” Id. at
A-31 - A-32.

At trial, Petitioners admitted that their bookstore was not
in compliance with the locational requirements of these provisions,
in that it was too close to a church, day care center, and
residentially zoned property. (T.62).

However, because at the time Petitioners’ store initially
opened for business, there were no legal restrictions regulating
adult uses, Petitioners’ use became a lawful non-conforming use

under the ordinance. The basic rule conceming lawful non-
conforming uses is set forth in Ordinance 90-23 at Section 9.01.11,
Subd. 2(a) as follows:

"Except as provided below, or in this chapter, any
legal non-conforming building/structure or use
shall not be enlarged or reconstructed, but may be
continued at the existing size and in the same
manner of operation as it existed at the date when
it became classified as non-conforming.”
Appendix at A-24 - A-25.

The only exception of significance to the general rule is
that set forth in Subparagraph m of Subd. 2,? which provides, in
pertinent part as follows:

"Non-conforming buildings, structures and/or uses
which based upon documented study and evidence,
pose a danger and/or threat to the health, safety,
and general welfare of the community, shall: Upon
being identified by the City and upon the owner
being notified in writing by the City, the owner
shall provide to the City a documented time
schedule and program with rational (sic) to support
the proposed amortization of the building,
structure or use investments which will result in
the termination or correction of the non-
conformity.” Id. at A-28 - A-29.

? Subparagraphs b-1 contained exceptions and qualifications not of
significance here, such as a limitation on the extent that one can perform
alterations and repairs on non-conforming uses, a prohibition on moving non-
conforming building or structures tw other parcels of land, rules concerning partial
destruction of non-conforming uses, and rules concerning abandonment of non-
conforming uses. See Id. at A-25 - A-28.

6

i aaacianieiatanareaet trina enemmnnl

In other words, legal nonconforming uses other than adult
entertainment are permitted to remain in operation forever, unless
an affirmative showing can be made that they pose a "danger
and/or threat to the health, safety, and general welfare of the
community." In other words, an affirmative showing must be
made that the non-conforming use, in fact, causes adverse
secondary effects.

By contrast, Section 9.11.19, Subd. 5, dealing with non-
conforming adult uses, which are defined exclusively in relation to
the content of the communicative material being distributed,’ are
subject to the following amortization rules:

Non-conforming Adult Use Principal or
Accessory: Adult uses which are classified as
legal non-conforming uses may continue in
accordance with the provision of this chapter,
except that any such non-conforming use shall be
terminated and become illegal on or after 31
December 1991." Id. at A-33.

The evidence at trial plainly indicated that if the city were
required to make the showing of adverse secondary effects required
to amortize out of existence any non-conforming use, other than an
adult use, they would not have been able to make such a showing.

Edward Thurston, Senior Appraiser at the Anoka County
Assessor’s Office testified that in April of 1991, after the bookstore

* As already noted, supra, under the terms of the definitions in Section 9.02
of the Ordinance, set forth in the Appendix at A-17 - A-18; the term “adult uses”
are defined solely by “an emphasis on the presentation, display, depiction or
description of ‘specified sexual activities’ or ‘specified anatomical areas’ which
are capable of being seen by members of the public.” Thus, theaters, bookstores,
and video arcades become adult uses solely by reference to the content of the
communicative materials which they distribute or display.

7

had been in existence for a year, a group of Ramsey residents from
the Riverside West Plat, where the bookstore is located, petitioned
the Ramsey City Council, sitting as a special board of review, for
a 25 percent reduction in their property taxes, based upon the
alieged increase in crime and decline in property values caused by
the presence of Petitioners’ bookstore (T.25). The City Council,
acting as Board of Review, granted the request, (T.27).

In response thereto, Thurston in fact undertook an objective
study to determine whether any factual basis existed for a
conclusion that Petitioners’ bookstore had caused an increase in
crime and decline in property values. Thurston testified that he
examined all the sales activity in the area before and after the
establishment of the bookstore; that he talked to the Ramsey City
Assessor, reviewed Certificates of Real Estate Value filed in the
Anoka County Assessor’s office; conferred with other city officials;
and conferred with the Ramsey Police Chief, concerning any
alleged increase in crime (T.27). He concluded that there was
absolutely no evidence to support the alleged reduction in property
values, and petitioned the Anoka County Board of Equalization,
consisting of the Anoka County Board of Commissioners or their
designees, to rescind the action (T. 28). After an objective review
of the evidence, the Special Board of Equalization rescinded the
recommendation and followed Thurstons’ advice (T.34).

Thurston in fact testified that the evidence indicated that,
if anything, property values in the area surrounding Appellants’
bookstore increased during the year that his bookstore was there
(T.36). The District Court specifically found that there was no
evidence that Appellants’ bookstore had in fact contributed to a
decline in property values. See Appendix at A-459, 800 F. Supp.

at 820, n.2.‘

Likewise, the record was devoid of any showing that the
bookstore had caused an increase in crime in the surrounding
neighborhood. The city’s planning consultant, who drafted the
ordinancs, testified at trial that he specifically inquired as to all
complaints of criminal activity surrounding Petitioners’ store, for
the purpose of establishing if there was a correlation between the
store and crime within the city of Ramsey (T. 235 - 236). He
conceded that virtually all of the reports that he received
conceming criminal activity dealt with complaints from Petitioners
conceming picketers surrounding the store, or complaints about
protesters conceming Petitioners’ conduct towards them. He
conceded that the evidence did not show any increase in criminal
activity as a result of the presence of the bookstore (T. 236 - T.
242).

The undisputed testimony at trial was that the impact of the
ordinance was to relegate adult businesses tc an area consisting of
approximately 2.5 percent of the total land area in the City of
Ramsey (T. 435), virtually all of which is vacant, unplatted land.°

* A record of the proceedings, both before the Ramsey City Council and
before the Board of Adjustments reflecting the granting and subsequent reversal
of the decrease in property taxes are set forth in the Appendix at A-356 - A-368.

* In his testimony, Petitioners’ witness Brad Bjorklund testified that he was
unable to find a single building in the City of Ramsey which complied with the
trang he tamer ig se en Respondent's expert witness, Alan

rixius, testified that one of the sites included in the permitted zone contains an
cunteuch ea tnas ene cel etniai a 509), but basically conceded
unless one was willing to purchase vacant land and build from scratch, one could
not locate within the city of Ramnsey consistent with the ordinance (T.524). He
further conceded thai with the exception of a single platted lot above the Brooks
Superetie, which had already been approved for development of an off-sale liquor
store (T. 507), two lots in an industrial park, and possibly some single family
home lots, all of the permitted area for aduit uses was unplatted land, which

9

This meant that before any adult business could, as a
practical matter, locate anywhere within the City of Ramsey, it
would have to buy vacant land, and subdivide that land, pursuant
to the requirements of the Ramsey subdivision ordinance, which set
forth in the Appendix at A-385 - A-450.° Under the terms of that
ordinance, one must first submit a sketch plan for the subdivision,
and obtain Planning Commission and City Council approval
thereof’ submit a preliminary plat, and again obtain both Planning
Commission and City Council approval,’ and submit a final plat,
and again obtaining Planning Commission and City Council
approval.’

The standards by which the City Council and Planning
Commission are to judge a proposed subdivision are set forth in
Section 9.50.31, Appendix at A-410 as follows:

"The planning commission in its review of a
preliminary plat shall determine whether the
proposed subdivision is in conformity with the city

would have to be subdivided.

* In his testimony, Respondent's witness Hartley testified that one could avoid
the requirements of the subdivision ordinance by buying « single S-acre tract
(T.356). The plain language of the subdivision ordinance that not to be the case.
In particular, Section 9.50.01, Subd. 3, provides, in pertinent part: “No permit
shall be issued for the erection of any building on any tract of land described by
metes and bounds and consisting of less than 20 acres and having the width of
less than 500 feet.” Thus, even the purchase of a 5-acre tract would require
compliance with the subdivision ordinance. See Appendix at A-388.

” See Section 9.50.02, Subd. |, Appendix at A-388 - A-391.
* See Section 9.50.03, Subd. 1, Appendix at A-392 - A-394.

” See Section 9.50.04, Subds. | and 2, Appendix at A.71 - A.72.

10

code and shall take into consideration the
requirements of the community and the best use of
the land.”

Thus, in order for an adult use to locate any where within
the City of Ramsey, the same municipal bodies which specifically
found that adult uses cause a decline in property values, and cause
an increase in sex crime such as “rape, prostitution, child
molestation, indecent exposure, and other lewd and lascivious
behavior"”’ must now find that such an adult use would be
consistent with "the requirements of the community and the best
use of the land.""'

Even if that hurdle were overcome, the adult use owner
would be left with a vacant lot, far off any commercial streets,
with no surrounding businesses. In his testimony Robert
Bonynge, 8 years an adult bookstore owner, stated that, in order to
survive economically, an adult bookstore must be located in an
area with numerous people, good vehicular and pedestrian traffic,
and to be close to other businesses (T.569). He testified that the
only place within the City of Ramsey which could meet those
requirements would be along Highway 10 (T.571). Of the sites
available within the City of Ramsey, Bonynge testified that he

© See the City Council's findings upon enacting the ordinance, set forth at
Appendix at A-70.

"! In his testimony, former City Administrator Hartley admitted that such was
the case (T.360). In addition, it should be noted that Section 9.50.03, Subd. le,
set forth in the Appendix at A-392 - A393, requires a public hearing on any
preliminary plat. It is obvious that any public hearing calling for a subdivision,
in order to establish an adult entertainment use would engender the type of anti-
pornography hysteria plainly evident in the public hearing held prior to the
adoption of the ordinance in question. A transcript of that hearing is set forth in
the Appendix at A-97 - A-162.

11

would not pay 5 cents for those locations, certainly not the
$100,000.00 to $150,000.00 required to acquire and develop
them.’ Bonynge estimated that an adult business who attempted
to locate in such locations would be out of business within 4 to 6
months (T.571).

ARGUMENT

1 THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT OPINION
UPHOLDING THE DISPARITY IN THE TWO
AMORTIZATION PROVISIONS, ONE FOR NON-
CONFORMING ADULT USES, DEFINED BY CONTENT
ALONE, AND ALL OTHER USES, IS AT ODDS WITH
APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND OF
OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS, WITHIN THE MEANING
OF RULE 10.1 OF THE SUPREME COURT RULES.

As already noted, supra, under Ramsey City Ordinance
Section 9.01.11, Subd. 2, all non-conforming uses, other than adult
uses, defined solely by virtue of content, are permitted to remain
in existence, unless and until an affirmative showing is made that
such uses jeopardize public health, safety, or welfare, or, in other
words, actually cause adverse secondary effects. By contrast,
under Section 9.11.19, Subd. 5, non-conforming adult uses, defined
solely by virtue of content, a required to go out of existence in a
period slightly over one year. The Eighth Circuit opinion
upholding this distinction violates both decisions of this Court, and
is in conflict with applicable decisions of this Court and other
Courts of Appeals.

In rejecting Petitioners’ argument concerning the disparity
between the two amortization provisions, the Eighth Circuit stated:

"2 In his testimony, Brixius asserted that one could acquire and develop vacant
land for an adult bookstore, for between $123,000.00 and $173,000.00 (T.497).

12

"In a related argument, Holmberg contends the
face of the ordinance ‘plainly reflects an intent to
censor on the basis of content, rather than [a]
concen over secondary effects’ because the
ordinance treats his non-conforming sexually
oriented business differently from other non-
conforming uses in the city. Holmberg points out
correctly that the ordinance permits non-
conforming uses that do not deal in sexually
explicit materials to remain in their current
location until the city produces ‘documented
stud[ies] and evidence’ conceming adverse
secondary effects. Conversely, Holmberg contends
business must relocate without requiring the city to
make a similar showing. Holmberg’s argument
that the ordinance relieves the City of the burden
to establish its substantial interests in the
ordinances provisions targeting the secondary
effects of sexually oriented businesses is legally
frivolous. In our view Holmberg simply ignores
the District Court’s findings that the city enacted
the ordinance on the strength of thorough research,
public hearings, documented studies, and
considered deliberations, and stubbomly argues the
city must document its substantial interest for
localized studies and evidence showing that
secondary effects actually exist. Under the First
Amendment, the city was not required ’to conduct
new studies or produce new evidence independent
of that already generated by other cities’ before
enacting an ordinance that lessens sexually
oriented businesses’ secondary effects. Renton,
475 U.S. at Sl, 106 S.Ct. at 931. When the
ordinance was passed, the City Council had
reliable evidence before it that business like
Holmberg’s produce undesirable side effects.

13

Thus, the ordinance’s provisions requiring
Holmberg to relocate his business represented a
legitimate governmental response to a substantial
interest, not content-based regulation.” Appendix
at A-513 - A-5KM, 12 F. 3d at 43-144.

The Eighth Circuit’s conclusion conflicts with both
applicable decisions from other circuits and with applicable
decisions from this Court in numerous respects:

First of all, reliance upon the language of this Court in
Renton to the effect that the city was not required to conduct new
studies on the effect of Holmberg’s business, and was permitted to
rely upon studies conducted in other jurisdictions ignores the fact
that both Renton and the earlier case of Young v. American Mini
Theaters, 427 U.S. 50 (1976), dealt with situations in which cities
were considering only prospective ordinances governing location
of future businesses, not the elimination of existing businesses
through amortization provisions. Justice Stevens, in his plurality
opinion in Young specifically noted the difference when he stated
the following:

"The situation would be quite different if the
ordinance had the effect of suppressing, or greatly
restricting access to, lawful speech. Here,
however, the District Court specifically found that
*[t}he Ordinances do affect the operation of
existing establishments but only the location of
new ones.”

The distinction was also noted by the Ninth Circuit in

Walnut Properties, Inc. v. City of Whittier, 861 F. 2d 1102 (9th Cir.
1988), in which that court noted:

14

"[T}he plurality in Young relied on the fact that
the ordinance would ‘not affect the operation of
existing estabiishments but only the location of
new ones.’ [Citation omitted.) As we have
previously noted, ‘there is little doubt that a
majority would have questioned an ordinance
putting all existing theaters out of business.’
[Citation omitted.) Yet that is precisely the effect
of Whittier’s ordinance. Enforcement of the
ordinance as to Walnut’s theater would force the
only existing adult theater in Whittier to close at
its present location with no definite prospect of a
place to relocate. This effect makes the case
markedly different from Young where the Detroit
ordinance applied prospectively only and did not
affect existing theaters. The Eighth Circuit in
Alexander distinguished the Minneapolis
ordinance at issue there from the Detroit one in
Young on a similar basis, noting that enforcement
of the Minneapolis Ordinance would force
relocation of all five adult theaters in the city and
between 7 and 9 of the 10 adult bookstores
[citation omitted. ]

We note that there is nothing in the Renton
opinion which indicates the Court would uphold
an ordinance which would eliminate all adult
businesses in existence at the time the ordinance
was passed. The Court simply was not faced with
those circumstances in that case. The ordinance at
issue in Renton was directed towards adult theaters
only, and at the time the ordinance was passed no
adult theaters were located in Renton. [Citation
omitted.] Thus, it had a prospective effect only.”
Id. at 110.

As a result, while it may be perfectly reasonable, as was

15

the case in Renton, for a city which has no existing adult business
and wishes merely to limit the location of future adult businesses,
to rely upon the studies from other jurisdictions as to adverse
secondary effects, the total elimination of existing businesses is an
altogether different proposition. Clearly, if an existing businesses,
particularly one of long standing, is not shown to cause any
adverse secondary effects, and the city chooses to force it to go out
of business at its present location, simply because other businesses
and other cities may be shown to cause such effects, then it is clear
that the content-based distinction is just that, and secondary effects
justification is clearly pretextual.

Secondly, the ordinance, on its face, is not limited to those
uses for which such "documented study” would justify
amortization. As already noted, supra, Section 9.11.19, Subd. 5
amortizes out of existence, not only adult uses-principal, but also
adult uses-accessory, defined in section, 9.02, as establishments
having more than 10 percent of their stock in trade or floor space
allocated to or more than 20 percent of its gross receipts derived
from, any adult use. Thus, a video store having one percent of
the floor space or stock devoted to an adults-only video section, if
rendered non-conforming, must go out of existence, regardless of
any showing of secondary effects. Likewise, if the video store’s
floor space amounted to ll percent, it would be an adult use
principal and likewise required to be amortized out of existence.
The exhibits relied upon for the "documented study” by Licht and
the City Council were all received in evidence, and the most
pertinent are set forth in the Appendix at A-74 - A-303.
Examination of all of them will plainly reveal that absolutely no
evidence was presented to the Council or to Licht that general
video stores having 1, ll, 15 or even 20 percent devoted to adult
uses caused any adverse secondary effects whatsoever.

16

Nonetheless, amortization of these uses is compelled by Section
9.11.19, Subd. 5. Those types of restrictions on small adult uses
have been repeatedly invalidated. See, for example, World Wide
Video v. City of Tukwila, 117 Wash. 2d 382, (1991) cert. denied, 112
S.Ct. 1672 (1992); Kuhns v. Board of Supervisors, 128 Cal. App. 3d
369, (1982), invalidating a requirement that a bookstore have no
more than 20 percent of its stock in trade in adult materials, in
order to comply with a similar zoning ordinance; Wolff v. City of
Monticello, 802 F. Supp. 1568 (D. Minn. 1992), specifically
invalidating a licensing requirement for adult-use secondary, with
the identical definition, on the ground that no showing had been
made that such uses caused any of the adverse secondary effects
set forth in Renton; and Tollis v. San Bernardino County, 827 F.
2d 1329 (9th Cir. 1987), invalidating an ordinance in which the
single showing of an adult film would render the theater an "adult
use.”

Thirdly, if the concern were control of adverse secondary
effects, Section 9.01.11, Subd. 2m provides an absolutely content-
neutral method of achieving such an end. If in fact a non-
conforming adult use were posing a threat to the health, safety, and
general welfare of the community, the absolutely content-neutral
provisions of that ordinance would absolutely permit appropriate
action by the City Council to amortize the non-conforming use out
of existence. The only conceivable reason for a separate provision,
amortizing adult uses out of existence, regardless of whether or not
they cause secondary effects, would be to engage in content-based
censorship.

This Court has plainly indicated that the presence of a
content-neutral alternative method of dealing with adverse
secondary effects clearly undermines any asserted justification for
a content-based distinction. In R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul,

17

__U.S.__, 12 S.Ct. 2538, 120 L.Ed. 2d 305 (1992), this Court
invalidated the "cross buming” ordinance of the City of St. Paul,
despite asserted justifications that the purpose of the ordinance was
to combat adverse secondary effects of speech-related conduct, and
to assist victims of discrimination. In declaring the ordinance
invalid, Justice Scalia, writing for the majority, stated the
following:

"The existence of adequate content-neutral
alternatives thus ‘undercut[s] significantly’ any
defense of such a statute, [citation omitted.],
casting considerable doubt on the government’s
protestations that ‘the asserted justification is in
fact an accurate description of the purpose and
effect of the law,’ [citations omitted.]”" 112 S.Ct. at
2550.

Likewise, the existence of the plainly adequate content-
neutral alternative contained in Section 9.01.11, Subd. 2m plainly
exposes as pretextual the asserted justification for the content-based
provisions in Section 9.11.19, Subd. 5.

Finally, the Eighth Circuit opinion ignores what is perhaps
the most significant difference between the two amortization
provisions. Because the general amortization provision in Section
9.01.11, Subd. 2m requires the city to make an affirmative showing
of a threat to health, safety, and welfare, it gives to every non-
conforming use, other than an adult use, the right to litigate
whether such threat is actually caused. By contrast, no such right
to litigate is granted to adult uses, solely by virtue of the content
of the material they sell or exhibit; adverse secondary effects are

18

Ai Wl Oo nce

conclusively presumed by virtue of such content.’®

Even apart from the compelling First Amendment
considerations present in the instant case, this Court has repeatedly
invalidated such conclusive presumptions. In Vlandis v. Kline,
412 U.S. 441 (1973), this Court invalidated an irrebuttable
presumption of non-residency for the purpose of qualifying reduced
tuition at a state university. In so doing the Court stated:

"(PJermanent irrebuttable presumptions have long
been disfavored under the Due Process Clauses of
the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.” 412 U.S.
at 446.

The Court went on to state:

"(I]t is forbidden by the Due Process Clause to
deny an individual the resident rates on the basis
of a permanent and irrebuttable presumption of
nonresidence, when that presumption is not
necessarily or universally true in fact, and when
the state has reasonable altemative means of
making the crucial determination." Id. at 452.

This Court reiterated the principle in Stanley v. Dlinois,
405 U.S. 645 (1972), and Cleveland Board of Education v. LeFleur,
414 U.S. 632 (1974).

Similarly, the evidence in this case plainly indicates that
the presumption that adult bookstores pose a threat to the health,
safety, and welfare, is neither necessarily nor universally true. The
District Court’s own findings plainly indicate that the evidence at
trial established "no evidence of decreased property values in the

13 Indeed, the District Court expressly made such a finding. See Appendix
at A-458, 800 F. Supp. at 820.

19

vicinity of the adult business (footnote omitted).” Appendix at A-
459, 800 F. Supp. at 820. The evidence also indicated that, apart
from complaints between protesters and Petitioner Larry Holmberg
conceming the conduct of picketing, there was no evidence of
increased criminal activity in the surrounding neighborhood.
Appendix at A-456, 800 F. Supp. at 819."

Thus, far from being “legally frivolous,” Petitioners’
position on the invalidity of the disparity between the two
amortization provisions is clearly compelled by applicable
decisions of this Court, as well as decisions from other Courts of
Appeals.

Il. THE DECISION UPHOLDING THE
ORDINANCE ON THE ISSUE OF REASONABLE
ALTERNATIVE AVENUES OF COMMUNICATION IS

“ To be sure, the District Court did find adverse secondary effects to have
occurred in shat an administrative law judge determined that high risk sexual
conduct took place between customers on the premises. See Appendix at A-459,
800 F. Supp. at 820. However, this finding hardly justifies the enactment of the
ordinance for at least the following reasons: First of all, there is no evidence that
the City of Ramsey relied on illegal sexual activity between customers on
premises as an adverse “secondary effect” at the time it enacted the ordinance,
thus precluding it from advancing it as a justification post-hoc. Compare CLR
Corp. v. Henline, 520 F. Supp. 760, 768 (W.D. Mich. 1981), aff'd, 702 F. 2d 637
(6th Cir. 1983). Secondly, because illegal sexual conduct between customers on
premises is just as illegal and unhealthy regardless of where the store is located,
the alleged “secondary effect” is irrelevant to zoning. Indeed, one of the very
reports relied upon by Licht made exactly the same point concerning on-premises
prostitution in health clubs. See Appendix at A-250. Finally, the fact that illegal
sexual activity took place between customers behind closed doors on the premises
is plainly obviated by a state court’s issuance, during the pendency of the District
Court proceedings, of an order compelling Petitioner to remove the doors from
his motion picture viewing booth. See Appendix at A-47] - A-474. Compare
Cascade News, Inc. v. City of Cleveland, Case No. 1:92CV 0758 (N.D. Ohio,
1992), a copy of which is set forth in the Appendix at A-494 A-500.

20

ALSO IN CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
AND WITH OTHER UNITED STATES COURTS OF
APPEALS.

A. THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT OPINION WAS AT
VARIANCE WITH APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT WHEN IT UPHELD AN ORDINANCE WHICH
LEAVES PETITIONERS’ RIGHT TO RELOCATE THEIR
ADULT BUSINESS ENTIRELY IN THE DISCRETION OF
THE RAMSEY CITY COUNCIL.

In Young v. American Mini-Theatres, Inc., supra, 427 U.S.
50 (1976), both the plurality opinion of Justice Stevens and the
concurring opinion of Justice Powell upheld Detroit’s adult
entertainment zoning ordinance, only upon a factual showing being
made that the ordinance would not have an overall negative impact
upon the continuing availability of adult entertainment to the
residents of the City of Detroit. Writing for the plurality, Justice
Stevens stated:

"The ordinances are not challenged on the ground
that they impose a limit on the total of adult
theaters which may operate in the city of Detroit.
There is no claim that distributors or exhibitors of
adult films are denied access to the market or,
conversely, that the viewing public is unable to
satisfy its appetite for sexually explicit fare.
Viewed as an entity, the market for this
commodity is essentially unrestrained.” 427 U.S.
at 62.

In rejecting Petitioners’ argument that the ordinance in the
instant case would have the effect of suppressing or greatly
reducing access to lawfully sexually explicit speech, the Eighth
Circuit asserted that adult businesses “have access to 35 percent of

21

the city’s land zoned for commercial uses, which includes both
developed and undeveloped land." Appendix at A-515, 12 F. 3d at
144.

In point of fact, the undisputed evidence in the District
Court was that virtually all of the land available was undeveloped,
vacant farm land. Petitioners’ witness Bradley Bjorklund testified
that he was unable to find a single building in the City of Ramsey
which complied with the provisions of Ordinance No. 90-23 (T.
149). Respondent's expert witness, Alan Brixus, fundamentally did
not dispute this claim, but testified that one of the sites included in
the permitted zone contained an abandoned farm house and some
out buildings (T. 509). However, he conceded that unless one
was willing to purchase vacant land and build from scratch, it was
impossible to locate an adult entertainment business in the City of
Ramsey consistent with the requirements of the ordinance (T. 524).

Respondent’s own witness conceded that with the
exception of a single platted lot, above the Brooks Superette, which
had already been approved for development as an off-sale liquor
store (T. 507), and two platted lots and industrial park, all of the
permitted area for adult uses under the ordinance was vacant,
unplatted land which would have to be subdivided.

As already noted, supra, in order to approve a proposed
subdivision, the Planning Commission and City Council are
required "to take into consideration the requirements of a
community and best use of the land." Ramsey Ordinance Section
9.50.31, Appendix at A-410.

Such a situation clearly violates this Court’s repeatedly
pronouncements prohibiting First Amendment rights being left to
the unfettered discretion of governmental officials, without definite,
objective standards to guide that discretion. See, for example,

22

Shuttlesworth_v. City of Birmingham, 395 U.S. 147 (1969);
Southeastem Promotions, Lid. v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546 (1975); and
FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215 (1990).

The Eighth Circuit rejected this argument, by asserting:
"As the City reads the ordinance, sexually oriented
businesses can locate anywhere within the
authorized commercial zones, provides, the
location is at least 1,000 feet from the protected
uses. The City thus concedes that it could not use
the challenged language to deny Holmberg’s
request to subdivide a larger tract of land because
Holmberg would not relocate his sexually oriented
business on the subdivided land. We conclude
the city’s interpretation alleviates Holmberg’s
concem." Appendix at A.7, 12 F. 3d at 144

However, nothing on the face of the subdivision ordinance
mandates the "interpretation" advanced by Respondent in the face
of constitutional challenge. What both the City and the Eighth
Circuit therefore rely upon is the good faith of city officials not to
exercise the discretion given them in the subdivision ordinance to
deny Appellants their constitutional rights.

It is precisely such reliance which this Court has repeatedly
held to be constitutionally impermissible. In City of Lakewood v.
Plain Dealer Publishing Co., 486 U.S. 750, (1988), this Court
stated:

"The city asks us to presume that the mayor will
deny a permit application only for reasons related
to the health, safety, or welfare of Lakewood
citizens, and that additional terms and conditions
will be imposed only for similar reasons. This
presumes the Mayor will act in good faith and

23

adhere to standards absent from the statute's face.
But this is the very presumption that the doctrine
forbidding unbridled discretion disallows.
[Citation omitted.) The doctrine requires that the
limits that the City claims are implicit in its law
be made explicit by textual incorporation, binding
judicial or administrative construction, or well-
established practice. [Citations omitted.} This
Court will not write nonbinding limits into a silent
State statute (footnote omitted).”

The principle was most recently reaffirmed in Forsyth

County, Ga. _v. Nationalist Movement, __ U.S.___, ll2 S.Ct.
2395, 120 L.Ed. 2d 101 (1992), in which this Court invalidated a

county parade permit ordinance, on the ground of excessive
discretion. In so doing, this Court stated:

"The District Court’s finding that in this instance
the Forsyth County Administrator applied
legitimate, content-neutral criteria, even if correct,
is irrelevant to this facial challenge. Facial attacks
on the discretion granted a decision maker are not
dependent on the facts surrounding any particular
decision [citation omitted.] ‘It is not merely the
sporadic abuse of power by the censor but the
pervasive threat inherent in its very existence that
constitutes the danger to freedom of discussion.’
[Citation omitted.] Accordingly, the success of a
facial challenge on the grounds that an ordinance
delegates overly broad discretion to the decision
maker rests not on whether the administrator has
exercised his discretion in a content-based manner,
but whether there is anything in the ordinance
preventing him from doing so.” 112 S.Ct. at 2395,
at 2403, n.10.

eS ee es

Likewise, because nothing on the face of the subdivision
ordinance prevents its being applied in a censorial manner, the
Eighth Circuit Opinion upholding the validity of the zoning scheme
is inconsistent with prior opinions of this Court, thus justifying a
grant of certiorari.

B. EVEN APART FROM THE ISSUE OF
UNBRIDLED DISCRETION, THE AVAILABLE REAL
ESTATE FOR THE LOCATION OF ADULT BUSINESSES
DOES NOT SATISFY CONSTITUTIONAL
REQUIREMENTS, ESTABLISHED BY THIS COURT AND
OTHER UNITED STATES COURTS OF APPEALS.

Even assuming the ordinance gave Petitioners the right to
locate, as a matter of right, in the permitted area, leaving nothing
to the discretion of the City Council, the ordinance would still fall
short of the constitutional requirement established in Young that
the market in adult entertainment be essentially restrained. As
already noted, supra, the land available for adult entertainment
under the ordinance consists of approximately 2.5 percent of the
entire land area, all of which is vacant, undeveloped farm land, and
an abandoned airport, far off the main commercial highway of the
city. At least two other courts of appeals have held that such a
zoning scheme fails to meet minimal constitutional standards.

In Woodall v. City of El Paso, 959 F. 2d 1305 (Sth Cir.
1992), held that in order for an adult entertainment zoning
ordinance to pass constitutional muster, under the First
Amendment, the land available for relocation of adult businesses
must be both legally and physically suitable for adult businesses.
In Woodall, the court noted that the Renton Court contemplated the
existence of a market "in which businesses could purchase or lease
real property on which business could be conducted. (Emphasis

25

supplied)” 959 F. 2d at 1306. it is undisputed that the ordinance
at issue in the instant case does not provide such a market. The
city’s own witnesses, including its expert witness Mr. Brixius,
conceded that an individual wishing to lease a commercial building
for an adult entertainment use could find no such use legally
permitted anywhere in the City of Ramsey, because the deliberate
choices of the Ramsey City Council excluded all such uses.
However, even more instructive on the issue of the
sufficiency of locations is the more recent decision of Topanga

Press, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 989 F. 2d 1524 (9th Cir. 1993),
cert denied, 61 U.S.L.W. 3690 (April 18, 1994). The Topanga court
rejected the distinction made in Woodall between legal and
physical availability, on the one hand, and economic availability,
on the other hand stating:

"The problem...is that the distinction between
economically unsuitably and physically or
practically unsuitable land is difficult to maintain.
Nearly all forms of physical and legal unsuitability
may be couched in terms of economic
unsuitability. Conversely, problems of economic
unsuitability may be couched in terms of physical
unsuitability. For example, in the instant case,
some of the definitionally ‘available’ land is
currently used as runways for the Los Angeles
airport. One could argue that this land is
physically unsuitable for a business. On the other
hand, one could argue that it is merely
economically unsuitable, since there is nothing to
prevent an adult business from physically
relocating to this site; rather it is being prevented
by a consideration of the cost of tearing down part
of an air strip and then building a store front.”

26

:

The Topanga court resolved the distinction as follows:

"[W]e do not think that Renton forbids a court to
consider economics when evaluating whether a
particular relocation site is in fact part of the real
estate market. For purposes of Renton, the
distinction is between consideration of economic
impact within an actual business real estate market
and consideration of costs to determine whether a
specific relocation site is part of a relevant market
(emphasis in original). A court may consider the
former, but it may not consider the latter when
determining whether a specific site is reasonably
suitable for the operation of a business.” Id. at
1530.

In setting forth the factors which determine whether or not
land is in fact part of the actual real estate market which may be
considered, the court in Topanga examined the decision of the
Eighth Circuit in Alexander v. City of Minneapolis, 928 F. 2d 278
(8th Cir. 1991) (Alexander II); the decision in Dumas v. City of
Dallas, 648 F. Supp. 1061 (N.D. Tex. 1986), aff'd, 837 F. 2d 1298
(Sth Cir. 1988), aff'd, in part, vacated in part, 493 U.S. 215, (1990);
and the earlier Fifth Circuit decision in Basiardanes v. City of
Galveston, 682 F. 2d 1203 (Sth Cir. 1982).

The court in Topanga then went on to hold:

"The courts’ findings in these cases lead us to hold
that a particular relocation site may be considered
part of the relevant real estate market when the
following conditions are met. First, although
Renton stressed the fact the First Amendment only
requires a relocation site to be potentially
available, rather than actually available, the
requirement of potentiality connotes genuine
possibility...Here we need determine that property
is not only ‘potentially’ available when it is

27

unreasonable to believe that it would ever become
available to any commercial enterprise.

Second and focusing our attention on the
relocation sites which are in manufacturing or
industrial zones, relocation sites that are
reasonably accessible to the general public may
also be part of the market. Third, areas in the
manufacturing zones which have a proper infra-
structure such as sidewalks, roads and lighting
may be included in the market. Fourth, when a
relocation site suits some generic commerical
enterprise, although not every particular enterprise,
it too may be said to be part of the real estate
market. While it is constitutionally irrelevant
whether relocation sites located in industrial or
manufacturing zones suit the particular needs of
adult business, potential sites must be reasonable
relocation sites for some commercial enterprise
before they can be considered part of the relevant
market. Consequently whether one defines a
warehouse, a swamp or a sewage treatment plant
as physically or economically unsuitable, it is not
reasonable to define these sites as part of the real
estate market that any business would choose
(foomote omitted, emphasis by the court).” Id. at
1531.

It is clear that that virtually all of the real estate involved
as potential relocation sites for Petitioner’s business fails the
Topanga test of whether they are actually part of the relevant
market. Obviously, farm land totally inaccessible by roads and the
middle of an abandoned airport are hardly areas which it is
reasonable to believe would ever be available to any commercial
business. None of the area has the infrastructure spoken of in
Topanga. Virtually none is a site which is reasonable for any

28

De ee es teiytnde Min

commercial business to locate on. Clearly this Court should find
that such real estate is constitutionally inadequate as a matter of
law.

CONCLUSION

In Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61 (1981),
this Court held that it was constitutionally impermissible for a city

legally to zone adult entertainment entirely out of a city. If,
however, as here, a city is allowed to take a pre-existing adult
business, absolutely lawful at its inception, amortize it out of
existence based solely upon the content of publications sold,
regardless of whether it causes secondary effects in fact, and then
leave it no place to locate except vacant farm lands and abandoned
airports at which no commercial business could survive, the city
will have done exactly what this Court prohibited it from doing in
Schad.

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Randall D.B. Tigue
Attomey for Petitioner
2620 Nicollet Avenue
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55408
(612) 874-9903

Dated: May 6, 1994.

29

ODN aA tt alte te an a

APPENDIX INDEX
Plaintiffs’ Fourth Amended Complaint ............. A-1
Text of pertinent part of Ramsey
EN oven cut ke teceneececsseeed A-16
Defendant’s Answer to Plaintifs’ Fourth-

Ee aes weuueeycessvesoeess A-57
Se PUES oS cca cccecescccsccnces A-62
Ramecy Ordinance 92-09 ... 0... ccc ccc ccc ccccces A-66
Findings of the Planning Commission in

adopting Ordinance No. 90-23................000. A-68
Minutes of the Planning Commission of

October 22, 1990 eeeeveeveveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeseees A-74
Report of David Licht on Ramsey Adult Use

CR A-78
Transcript of public hearing, 5/2990 .............. A-97

Report of Attorney General's Working Group
on the Regulation of Sexually Oriented

DET TN ce we cb cob cee esse reccccccecece A-164
Adult Entertainment -- A 40-Acre Study

GUA Dad ok ccs bPddweheebea ee terceccsces A-220
Licht memo seeking information, 6/8/90 .......... A-304
City’s adult use opportunity calculations........... A-305
Development costs, as estimated by City .......... A-307

A-i

Findings of Administrative Law Judge in

follow up 4flO/P1 ow... ccc cece eee eee eeeee

EE ee Pee REE

EWES OWE wee eres sere sucvccccccccccs

Brad Bjorklund report on adult use locations
in the City of Ramscy ........0cccccecccecees

Text of Ramsey subdivision ordinance ............

District Court Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order
for Judgment, 8/17/92 .. 1... 6. eee ce eee eee

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Amended Findings and
Alternative Motion for Injunction Pending
RIT ccc ccc ccc ctesccccceccccces

Order of Anoka County District Court in

City of Ramsey v. Amusement Center, Inc.,
GU Seer covcecccce

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
i ‘ walk v

in Cleveland's P.M., on the Boardwalk v.
City of Cleveland, Case No. 1:92 Civ. 1412
UME Soccer ececeseveccccccecoees

Memorandum and Order in Cascade News, Inc.
y. City of Cleveland, Case No. 1:92 Civ. 0785

GUD. Cile, BRE). cccccccccccecctescccccess A-4ad
Memorandum Opinion and Order on Plaintiffs

Post-trial Motions, IIP/92 ..... 6... 6 ee eee eee eee A-501
Opinion and Appeal, United States Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, 12/30/93 ........... A-509
Appellants’ Petition for Rehearing by the

Panel with a suggestion for rehearing

GAG, TE Sadbetes cecsceseesesescecocs A-517
Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing en banc, 2/04 .......... A-520
Text of constitutional provisions involved .......... A-521

; A-iii

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA
FOURTH DIVISION
David J. Schneider, Jr.;
Garry Holmberg; Larry
Holmberg; the Amusement
Center, Inc., a
Minnesota corporation,
PLAINTIFFS’ FOURTH
Plaintiffs, AMENDED COMPLAINT

vs.

File No. 4-90 Civ. 320
The City of Ramsey, a
municipal corporation,

Defendant.

JURISDICTION
1. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under the

laws of the United States, and in particular, Title 28 U.S. C.
Sections 1343(3), 2201 and 2202; Title 42 U.S.C. Section 1983,
and the Constitution of the United States, in particular, under the
First and Fourteenth Amendments thereto, this being an action
authorized by law to redress the deprivation under color of state
law, statute, ordinance, regulation, custom and usage of rights,
privileges, and immunities guaranteed to Plaintiffs under the
Constitution of the United States.

PARTIES
2. Plaintiff Larry Holmberg is a citizen of the United

A-l

States and of the State of Minnesota. He is the owner of real
estate located within the City of Ramsey, County of Anoka, located
at 6710 Highway 10 Northeast. He is the purchaser of an
executory contract of the interest of Plaintiff Garry Holmberg in an
adults-only bookstore at that location. Plaintiff Larry Holmberg
reacquired his interest in the real estate as a result of the
abandonment of an attempted purchase of said real estate by
Plaintiff David J. Schneider, Jr.

3. Plaintiff Amusement Center, Inc., is a corporation
organized under the laws of the State of Minnesota. Its sole
officer and shareholder is plaintiff Larry Holmberg. It currently
operates an adults-only bookstore located in the real estate owned
by Plaintiff Larry Holmberg.

4. Defendant City of Ramsey is a municipal
corporation, organized under the laws of the State of Minnesota.
As such, it has the authority to enact municipal ordinances
regulating the licensing and zoning of businesses, and to impose
Criminal penalties to enforce such ordinances.

CAUSE OF ACTION

5. On or about March 15, 1990, Plaintiff Garry
Holmberg applied for and received from Defendant City of Ramsey
a license to operate an amusement center at the building owned by
Plaintiff at 6710 Highway 10 Northwest, Ramsey, Minnesota. A
copy of said license is attached hereto as Exhibit A and
incorporated by reference as fully set forth herein.

6. On or about April 19, 1990, pursuant to the license
issued by Defendant City of Ramsey, Plaintiff Garry Holmberg
opened an amusement center at said address, featuring
coin-operated motion picture viewing machines for viewing of
adults-only motion picture films on the premises. Also featured on
the premises was the sale of adults-only books and magazines.

A-2

7. On or about May 11, 1990, Plaintiff Garry
Holmberg entered into an executory agreement to convey his
interest in the adult bookstore business w Plaintiff Larry
Holmberg, said agreement to become effective, upon the transfer
of the license to operate said business to Larry Holmberg.

8. The foregoing activities engaged in by Plaintiffs
Garry Holmberg and Larry Holmberg are entitled to protection
under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of
the United States.

9. The adult bookstore and entertainment center
operated by Plaintiffs Garry Holmberg in the building owned by
Plaintiff Larry Holmberg is the only building within Defendant
City of Ramsey offering adults-only motion pictures for viewing
on the premises and adults-only books and magazines.

10. On April 23, 1990, solely in response to the
opening of the adult bookstore and amusement center on Plaintiffs’
premises, Defendant City of Ramsey adopted ordinance No. 90-7,
a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit B and incorporated
by reference as if fully set forth herein.

11. Said ordinance provided as follows:

SECTION 1. PREAMBLE.

Whereas, the Council finds that a business
advertising itself as an ‘adult bookstores’ (sic) is
contemplated doing business in the City of Ramsey in the
City’s B-1 business district zone; and
Whereas, the Council finds that proper planning for the
citing of Adult Bookstore within the City is necessary in
order to protect the City’s planning process and the health,
safety and welfare of the city; and

Whereas, the Council finds that an interim
ordinance placing a moratorium on the sighting and/or use

A-3

of any property within the City as an Adult Bookstore is
necessary in order to permit the planning process to take
place; and

Whereas, the Council finds that it is necessary for
an immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
morals, safety and welfare that an emergency interim
ordinance be adopted prohibiting the sighting,
maintaining and operating of Adult Bookstore within the
City pending completion of the planning process relating
thereto.

SECTION 2. AUTHORITY.

This ordinance is adopted pursuant to thal
authority granted the City in MSA 462.355 Subd. 4
entitled ‘Interim Ordinance’ and City Charter Provision
Section 3.06 entitled ‘Emergency Ordinance’.
SECTION 3. DEFINITIONS.

a. ADULT BOOKSTORE.

A business engaging in the barter, rental, or sale of
items consisting of printed matter, slides, records, audio
tapes, video tapes or motion picture film, if such shop is
not open to the public generally but only to one or more
classes of the public, excluding any minor by reason of
age, or if a substantial or significant portion of such items
are distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on the
depiction or description of ‘specified sexual activities’ or
“specified anatomical areas.”

b. SPECIFIED ANATOMICAL AREAS:

1. Less than completely and opaquely
covered human genitals, pubic region, buttocks, anus, or
female breast(s) below a point immediately above the top
of the areola; and,

A-4

2. Human male genitals in a discemibly
turgid state, even if completely and opaquely covered.
c. SPECIFIED SEXUAL ACTIVITY:

1. Actual or simulated sexual intercourse, oral
copulation, anal intercourse, oral-anal copulating, bestiality,
direct physical stimulation of unclothed genitals,
flagellation or torture in the context of the sexual
relationship, or the use of excretory functions in the
context of the sexual relationship and any of the following
sexually-oriented acts or conduct; anilingus, buggery,
pederasty, pedophilia, piguerism, sapphism, zooerasty; or

2. Clearly depicted human genitals in the
state of sexual stimulation, arousal or tumescence; or

3. Use of human or animal ejaculation,
sodomy, oral copulation, coitus, or masturbation; or

4. Fondling or touching of nude human
genitals, pubic region, buttocks, or female breasts; or

5. Situations involving a person or persons,
any of whom are nude, clad in undergarments or in
sexually revealing costumes, and who are engaged in
binding or other physical restraint of any such person; or

6. Erotic or lewd touching, fondling or other
sexually-oriented contact with any animal; or

7. Human excretion, urination, menstruation,
vaginal or anal irrigation.

SECTION 4. PUBLIC HEARING AND STUDY.

The City Council hereby directs city staff to study
the citing of each adult bookstore as above defined and
schedule a public hearing for May 29, 1990, at which time

A-5

public comment will be accepted and received regarding
the placement and location of Adult Bookstores within the
City.

SECTION 5. PROHIBITION.

During the term of this ordinance no adult
bookstores shall be cited, operated or maintained or
otherwise do business within the City of Ramsey.
SECTION 6. EFFECTIVE DATE.

This Emergency Ordinance becomes effective upon
it (sic) passage and shall be in effect for a period of 180
days from the date hereof.

SECTION 7. VIOLATION.

A violation of any portion of this ordinance shall
be construed a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment
for up to 90 days and a fine of $700.00, or both. Each
day that a violation occurs shall be considered a separate
offense.

12. Said ordinance took effect on April 24, 1990.

13. On May 11, 1990, this Court issued a temporary
restraining order prohibiting enforcement of Ramsey Ordinance No.
90-7, pending a hearing on a motion for preliminary injunction.

14. Subsequent to the issuance of the Temporary
Restraining Order, Plaintiff Larry Holmberg acquired the interests
of Plaintiffs Schneider and Garry Holmberg, and incorporated the
operation of his business as Plaintiff Amusement Center, Inc.

15. On May 22, 1990, Defendant amended Ramsey
Ordinance 90-7 and substituted in its place, Ramsey Ordinance
90-9, a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit C, and
incorporated by reference as if fully set forth herein.

16. Said ordinance, by its own terms, expired on
November 18, 1990.

A-6

17. On November 13, 1990, prior to the expiration of
Ordinance No. 90-9, the city council of Defendant City of Ramsey
enacted Ordinance No. 90-23, a copy of which is attached hereto
as Exhibit D, and incorporated by reference as if fully set forth
herein, which ordinance constituted a permanent ordinance
regulating the location of adult entertainment within the City of
Ramsey.
18. Section 2 of Ordinance No. 90-23 amends Section
9.02 of the Ramsey City Code to define "adult uses” as follows:

"Adult uses include adult bookstores, adult motion picture
theaters, adult motion picture rental, adult mini-motion
picture theaters, adult massage parlors, adult steam room
bathhouse/sauna facilities, adult companionship
establishments, adult rap/conversation parlors, adult
health/sports clubs, adult cabarets, adult novelty businesses,
adult motion picture arcades, adult modeling studios, adult
hotels/motels, adult body painting studios, and other
premises, enterprises, establishments, or businesses open to
some or all members of the public, at which or in which
there is an emphasis on the presentation, display, depiction
or description of ‘specific sexual activities’ or ‘specified
anatomical areas’ which are capable of being seen by
members of the public.”

19. An "adult bookstore” is defined in the same section
of the code, under Ordinance 90-23 as follows:

"A building or portion of a building used for the barter,

rental or sale of items consisting of printed matter,

pictures, slides, records, audio tape, or motion picture film
if such building or portion of a building is not open to the
public generally that only to one or more classes of the

public extending any minor by reason of age or if a

A-7

substantial or significant portion of such items are

distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on the

depiction of a description of ‘specified sexual activities’ or

‘specified anatomical areas.’”

20. The same section of the ordinance defines an "adult
motion picture arcade” as follows:

"Any place to which the public is permitted or invited
wherein coin or slug-Operated or electronically, electrically
or mechanically controlled or operated still or motion
picture machines, projectors or other image-producing
devices are maintained to show images to five or fewer
persons per machine at any one time, and where the
images so displayed are distinguished or characterized by
an emphasis of depicting or describing ‘specified sexual
activities’ or ‘specified anatomical areas’.”

21. The same section defines the term "adult use --
novelty business” as follows:

"A business which has as a principal activity the sale of

devices which stimulate human genitals or devices which

are designed for sexual stimulation.”

22. Section 8 of the ordinance amends Section 9.10 of
the Ramsey Code of Ordinances t© impose the following
restrictions on adult businesses within the City of Ramsey:

a. Adult use-principal shall be located at least 1,000

radial feet, as measured in a straight line from the closest

point of the property line of the building upon which the
adult use-principle is located to the property line of:
1. Residentially zoned property.
2. A licensed day care center.
3. A public or private educational facility
Classified as an elementary, junior high or senior

A-8

high.
4. A public library.
5. A public park.

6. Another adult use - principal.
7. An on-sale liquor establishment.

b. Adult use-principal activities as defined in this

chapter shall be classified as one use. No two adult

uses-principal shall be located in the same building or
upon the same property and each shall be subject to this
section.

é. Adult use-principal shall adhere to the following

signing regulations.

1. Sign messages shall be generic in nature
and shall only identify the type of business which
is being conducted.

2. Sign messages shall not contained material
Classified as advertising.

3. Signs shall comply with the requirements
of size and number for the district in which they
are located.”

23. Plaintiffs’ current operation of their adults-only
bookstore at its current location violates the ordinance in at least
the following respects:

a. Plaintiffs’ current operation features three separate
and distinct adult uses, to-wit: an adults-only bookstore, an adults-
only movie arcade, and an adult business--noveities, in the same
building, in violation of Section 9.1119, Subd. 3b.

b. The location of the premises violates Subd. 3(a) of
the same section, in that it is within 1,000 feet of residentially
zoned property and a license day care center.

24. Plaintiffs’ current operation is a lawful

A-9

non-conforming use, in that it was lawfully in operation prior to
the enactment of either Ordinance Nos. 90-7, 90-9, or 90-23. As
such, Plaintiffs’ operation is governed by the provisions of Section
9.11.19 of Ordinance No. 90-23, which provides as follows:
"Adult uses which are classified as legal non-conforming
uses may continue in accordance with the provision of this
chapter, except that any such non-conforming use shall be
terminated and become illegal on and after 31 December
1991. To the extent possible, the City shall attempt to
identify all such uses which become classified as
non-conforming under the provisions of this subdivision
and shall notify the proper owners and operators of such
uses in writing of the change in status and the terms and
conditions which apply. The owner of any property on
which an adult use is located may apply to the Council for
an extension of the termination date. Any such application
shall be in writing and received by the City no later than
1 October 1991. Failure to submit a timely extension
application shall constitute a waiver of the right to request
an exception, if upon the council’s determination, the
applicant demonstrates that the amortization period is an
unreasonable burden upon the business and does not allow
adequate time to recover a reasonable retum upon the
business investment. The applicant shall have the burden
of proof to demonstrate hardship with the established
termination date and also the time required for an
extension. In making its decision, the Council may
consider any factor relevant to the issue, including but not
limited to:
(a) The degree or magnitude of the threat to public
health, safety and general welfare posed by the secondary

A-10

te i i aly RP Tis toh 8 al

Rae tht A Se Sam.

impacts of the operation.

(b) The length of time that the adult use has been

operating.

(c) The ease by which the property could be converted

into a conforming use.

(d) The nature and character of the surrounding

neighborhood.

(e) The value and condition of the improvements on

the property.

(f) The amount of the applicant’s investment in the

business.

(g) The amount of investment already realized.

(h) The cost of relocating the adult use.”

25. By contrast, under Ramsey Code of Ordinances
Section 9.11, also adopted as part of Ordinance No. 90-23, all
other non-conforming uses in the city are permitted to continue
indefinitely, unless there exists a "documented study in evidence,"
demonstrating that such non-conforming uses “pose a danger
and/or threat to the health, safety and general welfare of the
community,” in which event an amortization period of up to five
years is permitted.

26. Ramsey Ordinance No. 90-7, the initial moratorium
ordinance enacted by the Ramsey City Council on April 23, 1990,
was facially unconstitutional and unconstitutional as applied to
Plaintiffs for the followings reasons:

a. Because the ordinance was enacted without any
factual support as to its necessity to combat adverse secondary
effects, the ordinance was not a content-neutral regulation of
location, but rather an impermissible content-based aliempt at
censorship, in violation of Plaintiffs’ rights under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

A-11

b. Because the ordinance did not merely regulate
the location of adults-only businesses, but totally banned them
from the city of Ramsey, the Ordinance had the effect of
substantially curtailing the availability of adult entertainment within
the City of Ramsey, and as such, constituted an unlawful prior
restraint upon Plaintiffs’ rights to freedom of speech and of the
press, as guaranteed by the First and Fourteenth Amendments to
the United States Constitution.

27. Ramsey Ordinance 90-23, enacted to replace the
moratorium ordinances, is facially unconstitutional and
unconstitutional as applied to Plaintiffs for the following reasons:

a. The ordinance was enacted without sufficient
empirical support as to its necessity to combat adverse secondary
effects, rendering the ordinance not a content-neutral location of
location, but rather an impermissible content-based atiempt at
censorship, in violation of Plaintiffs’ rights under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

b. The operation and effect of the ordinance will be
to ban adult entertainment totally from the City of Ramsey, or at
least substantially curtail its availability, in that it will outlaw
Plaintiff's existing adults-only operation, prevent him as a matter
of law from relocating that operation as presently constituted
anywhere in the city, and preclude him, as a practical matter, from
relocating any part of that business anywhere within the City of
Ramsey.

c. Because the ordinance was clearly intended to
effect an absolute ban on adult business, rather than mere
locational regulation, its stated purpose is merely pretextual and it
was enacted for the purpose of censorship rather than zoning.

d. Because the ordinance amortizes out of existence
Plaintiffs’ adult businesses in a manner not done to any other

A-12

non-conforming use, the ordinance deprives Plaintiffs of equal
protection of the laws in violation of the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution.

e. The sign regulations in the ordinance constitute
impermissible content-based censorship, in violation of the First
and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

EQUITY AND IRREPARABLE INJURY

28. Plaintiffs re-allege the allegations set forth in
Paragraphs 1-26, supra.

29. Unless enforcement of Ramsey Ordinance No.
90-23 is temporarily and permanently enjoined, Plaintiffs will
suffer irreparable injury, in that they will be restrained from the
exercise of rights guaranteed by the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution.

DAMAGES

30. Plaintiffs re-allege the allegations set forth in
Paragraphs 1-26, supra.

31. As a result of the enactment of the original
ordinance 90-7, Plaintiffs’ predecessor, not wishing to face
the issuance of a temporary restraining order on May 11, 1990,
resulting in a loss of income yet to be determined.

32. As part of his agreement with Plaintiff Garry
Holmberg, Plaintiff Larry Holmberg received from Plaintiff Garry
Holmberg any and all interest in money damages under the present
lawsuit.

33. Plaintiff Larry Holmberg is entitled to
compensatory damages for said lost income.

WHEREFORE Plaintiff requests the judgment and decree
of this Court as follows:

a That this Court enter a declaratory judgmem

A-13

declaring Ramsey City Ordinance No. 90-23 to be facially
unconstitutional and unconstitutional as applied to Plaintiffs, as a
violation of the First and Fourteenth Amendments tw the United
States Constitution.

b. That the Court enter a preliminary and permanent
injunction, and until a hearing on a preliminary injunction can be
had, a temporary restraining ordcr, restraining and enjoining
Defendant, its agents, officers, employees, and persons acting under
its direction and control from taking any action to enforce the
provisions of Ramsey City Ordinance No. 90-23 against Plaintiffs.

Cc. That Plaintiffs be awarded damages against
Defendant commensurate with any income loss occasioned by the
unconstitutional ordinances in question.

d. That Plaintiffs be awarded their reasonable costs,
disbursements, and attomey'’s fees pursuant to Title 42 U.S.C.
Section 1988.

e. The Court grant such other and further relief as it
may deem just, fair and equitable.

Ss
Randall D. B. Tigue

Attomey for Plaintiffs

2620 Nicollet Avenuc

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55408
Dated: March 18, 1991. (612) 874-9903

A-14

ee Bit ms et

VERIFICATION
STATE OF MINNESOTA _)

ss
COUNTY OF HENNEPIN )

Larry Holmberg, individually and in his capacity as
President of Plaintiff Adult Amusement Center, Inc., being first
duly sworn on oath, hereby deposes and says that he is one of the
Plaintiffs and the President of the corporate Plaintiff in the
above-entitled action, that he has read the foregoing Complaint,
and acknowledges it to be true to the best of his knowledge and
belief.

Ls/
Larry Holmberg

Sworn to and subscribed to before
me this 19th day of March, 1991.

a
Notary Public
RANDALL D.B. TIGUE
NOTARY PUBLIC - MINNESOTA, County Of Ramsey
My Commission Expires 1-29-96

A-15

ORDINANCE NO. 90-23
CITY OF RAMSEY
ANOKA COUNTY, MINNESOTA

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 9 OF THE CITY
CODE OF THE CITY OF RAMSEY RELATING TO THE
RULES OF CONSTRUCTION AND INTERPRETATION; THE
DEFINITION OF ADULT USES, AMORTIZATION,
NONCONFORMING USE AND NONCONFORMING
STRUCTURE; PROCESSING COSTS; THE PROCEDURAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR CONDITIONAL USE PERMITS AND
VARIAINCES; THE PROCEDURAL REQUIREMENTS AND
MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT AND
APPEALS; PROCESSING COSTS FOR CONDITIONAL USE
PERMITS AND VARIANCES; THE REGLTATION OF
NON-CONFORMING BUILDINGS, STRUCTURES AND USES;
PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR ADULT USES; THE
REVISION OF ACTIVITIES WITHIN THE B-1, B-2, RB, 1, AND
RI ZONING DISTRICTS; PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR
NON-RESIDENTIAL USES; THE REPEAL OF DUPLICATE
REFERENCES IN ALL ZONING DISTRICTS; THE CREATION
OF THE B-3, HIGHWAY BUSINESS DISTRICT AND THE
B-W, BUSINESS/WAREHOUSING DISTRICT, AND THE
REZONING OF CERTAIN LANDS TO B-W AND B-3 ZONING
DISTRICTS.

i a te

a tn ae anaes

Se ee a ae a

The City of Ramsey ordains:

Section 1. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9.01.06 Rules shall
be amended to read as follows:
9.01.06 Rules of construction and interpretation

Subdivision 1. Conflicting conditions. Where the conditions
imposed by any provision of this Chapter are cither more or less
restrictive than comparable conditions by another provision of this
Chapter or by other Chapters of the City Code, rule or registration
of the City, the provision which imposes the more restrictive
condition, standard, or requirement shall prevail.

Subd. 2. Language rules of construction. The language set
forth in the text of this chapter shall be interpreted in accordance
with the following rules of construction:

4 The singular number includes the plural, and the

plural the singular.

b. The present tense includes the past and future
tenses, and the future the present.

c. The word “shall” is mandatory while the word
“may” is per missive.

d. The masculine gender includes the feminine and
neuter.

e. Whenever a word or term defined hereinafter
appears in the text of this chapter, its meaning
shall be construed as set forth in the Definitions
section of this chapter.

f. All measured distances expressed in feet shall be
the nearest tenth of a foot.

Section 2. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9.02 Definitions of
the City Code shall be amended to add the followiiig definitions:
Adult Uses: Adult uses include adult bookstores,

A-17

adult motion picture theaters, adult motion picture rental, adult
mini-motion picture theaters, adult massage parlors, adult steam
room/bathhouse/sauna facilities, adult companionship
establishments, adult rap/conversation pariors, adult health/sport
clubs, adult cabarets, adult novelty businesses, adult motion picture
arcades, adult modeling studios, adult hotels/motels, adult body
painting studios, and other premises, enterprises, establishments,
businesses or places open to some or all members of the public, at
or in which there is an emphasis on the presentation, display,
depiction or description of “specified sexual activities" or
"specified anatomical areas” which are capable of being seen by
members of the public.

a. Specified Anatomical Areas:
1. Less than completely and
opaquely covered human genitals,

pubic region, buttock, anus, or
female breast(s) below a point
immediately above the top of the
areola; and

2. human male genitals in a
discernibly turgid state, even if
completely and opaquely covered.

b. Specified Sexual Activities:

1. Acwal or simulated sexual
intercourse, oral copulation, anal
intercourse, oral-anal copulation,
beastiality, direct physical
stimulation of unclothed genitals,
flagellation or torwre in the
context of a sexual relationship, or
the use of excretory functions in

A-18

the context of a sexual
relationship, and any of the
following sexually-oriented acts or
conduct: anilingus, buggery,
coprophagy, coprophilia,
| cunnilingus, fellatio, necrophilia,
; pederasty, pedophilia, piquerism,
sapphism, zooerasty; or

; 2. Clearly depicted human genitals in
/ the state of sexual stimulation,

arousal or tumescence; or
3. Use of human or animal
ejaculation, sodomy, oral

| copulation, coitus, or

masturbation; or

: 4. Fondling or touching of nude

human genitals, pubic region,

buttocks, or female breast; or

3. Situations involving a person or

persons, any of whom are nude,

; clad in undergarments or in

sexually revealing costumes, and

who are engaged in activities

involving the flagellation, torture,

fettering, binding or other physical
restraint of any such persons; or

6. Erotic or lewd touching, fondling
or other sexually-oriented contact
with an animal by a human being;
or

a Human excretion, urination,

- i ‘ i

A-19

menstruation, vaginal or anal
irrigation.

Adult Uses - Accessory: A use, business, or
establishment having 10% or less of its stock in trade or floor area
allocated to, or 20% or less of its gross receipts derived from
movie rentals or magazine sales.

Adult Uses - Principal: A use, business, or
establishment having more than 10% of its stock in trade or floor
area allocated to, or more than 20% of its gross receipts derived
from, any adult use.

Adult Use Body Painting Studio. An establishment
or business which provides the service of applying paint or other
substance, whether transparent or non-transparent, to or on the
body of a patron when such body is wholly or partially nude in
terms of "specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use - Bookstore. A building or portion of a
building used for the barter, rental or sale of items consisting of
printed matter, pictures, slides, records, audio tape, videotape, or
motion picture film if such building or portion of a building is not
open to the public generally but only to one or more classes of the
public extending any minor by reason of age or if a substantial or
significant portion of such items are distinguished or characterized
by an emphasis on the depiction or description of "specified sexual
activities” or “specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use - Cabaret. A building or portion of a
building used for providing dancing or other live entertainment, if
such building or portion of a building excludes minors by virtue of
age or if such dancing or other live entertainment is distinguished
or characterized by an emphasis on the presentation, display,
depiction or description of “specified sexual activities” or
“specified anatomical areas”.

A-20

Pete,

Adult Use Companionship Establishment. A
companionship establishment which excludes minors by reason of
age, or which provides the service of engaging in or listening to
conversation, talk or discussion between an employee of the
establishment and a customer, if such service is distinguished or
characterized by an emphasis on “specified sexual activities” or “
“specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use Conversation/Rap Parlor. A
conversation/rap parlor which excludes minors by reason of age,
or which provides the service of engaging in or listening two
conversation, talk, or discussion, if such service is distinguished or
characterized by an emphasis on "specified sexual activities” or
"specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use - Health/Sport Club. A health/sport club
which excludes minors by reason of age, or if such club is
distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on "specified sexual
activities” or “specifled anatomical areas”.

Adult Use - Hotel or Motel. Adult hotel or motel
means a hotel or motel from which minors are specifically
excluded from patronage and wherein material is presented which
is distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on matter
depicting, describing or relating to "specified sexually activities” or
“specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use Massage Parlor, Health Club. A massage
parior or health club which restricts minors by reason of age, and
which provides the services of massage, if such service is
distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on "specified sexual
activities” or "specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use Mini-Motion Picture Theater. A building
or portion of a building with a capacity for less than 50 persons
used for presenting material if such building or portion of a

A-21

building as a prevailing practice excludes minors by virtue of age,
or if such material is distingtusned or characterized by an emphasis
on "specified sexual activities” or “specified anatomical areas” for
observation by patrons therein.

Adult Use - Modeling Studio. An establishment
whose major business is the provision t customers, of figure
models who are so provided with the intent of providing sexual
stimulation or sexual gratification to such customers and who
engage in “specified sexual activities” or display “specified
anatomical areas" while being observed, painted, painted upon,
sketched, drawn, sculptured, photographed, or otherwise depicted
by such customers.

Adult Use - Motion Picture Arcade. Any place to
which the public is permitted or invited wherein coin or
slug-operated or electronically, electrically or mecnanically
controlled or operated still or motor picture machines, projectors
or other image-producing devices are maintained to show images
to five or fewer persons per machine at any one time, and where
the images so displayed are distinguished or characterized by an
emphasis on depicting or describing “specified sexual activities” or
“specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use - Motion Picture Theater. A building or
portion of a building with a capacity of SO or more persons used
for presenting material if such building or portion of a building as
a prevailing practice excludes minors by virtue of age or if such
material is distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on
“specified sexual activities” or “specified anatomical areas” for
observation by patrons therein.

Adult Use - Novelty Business. A business which
has as a principal activity the sale of devices which stimulate
human genitals or devices which are designed for sexual

A-22

Ea A As oP ta Aa ta > git Pn A Di

es

stimulation.

Adult Use - Sauna’ A sauna which excludes
minors by reason of age, or which provides a steam bath or heat
bathing room used for the purpose of bathing, relaxation, or
reducing, utilizing steam or hot air as a cleaning, relaxing or
reducing agent, if the service provided by the sauna is
distinguished of characterized by an emphasis on “specified sexual
activities” or “specified anatomical areas”.

Adult Use Steam Room/Bathhouse Facility. A
building or portion of a building used for providing a steam bath
or heat bathing room used for the purpose of pleasure, bathing,
relaxation, or reducing, utilizing steam or hot air as a cleaning,
relaxing or reducing agent if such building or portion of a building
restricts minors by reason of age of if the service provided by the
steam room/hathhouse facility is distinguished or characterized by
an emphasis on “specified sexual activities” or “specified
anatomical areas”.

Amortization: The establishment of a time
schedule over which the cost of an investment is depreciated.

Nonconforming structure: A building or structure
which is a Nonconforming use as defined in this section.

Nonconforming use: A _ building, structure,
premise, or use which does not comply or conform with the
applicable conditions or provisions of this Chapter.

a. Nonconforming use - Illegal: A building,
structure, premise, or use which at the
time of its establishment did not comply
or conform with the applicable conditions
or provisions of the City Code which were
in effect at such date, and which continues
such noncompliance and nonconformance

A-23

with the present City Code.

b. Nonconforming use - Legal: A building,
structure, premise, or use which at the
time of its establishment was in
compliance and conformance with the
applicable conditions and provisions of the
City Code which were in effect at such
date, but which does not now comply or
conform to conditions and provisions of
the current City Code.

Section 7. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9.01.11 Subdivision
Non-Conforming Uses shall be amended to read as follows:
9.01.11 Non-Conforming Buildings, Structures and Uses

Subdivision 1. Intent: It is the purpose of this section to
provide for the regulation of non-conforming buildings, structures
and uses and to specify those requirements, circumstances and
conditions under which non-conforming buildings, structures and
uses will be operated and maintained. This Chapter establishes
separate districts, each of which is an appropriate area for the
location of uses which are allowed in that district. It is necessary
and consistent with the establishment of these districts that
non-conforming buildings, structures and uses not be allowed to
continue without restriction. Furthermore, it is the intent of this
section that all non-conforming uses shall be eventually brought
into conformity or terminated.

Subd 2. Regulations:

a. Except as provided below, or in this
Chapter, any legal non-conforming
building/structure or use shall not be
enlarged or reconstructed, but may be
continued at the existing size and in the

A-24

eee

~

nr lit Pe

same manner of operation as existed at the
date when it became classified as
nonconforming.

Any proposed structure which will, under
this section become non-conforming but
for which a building permit has been
lawfully granted prior to the effective date
of this Chapter may be completed in
accordance with the approved plans;
provided construction is started before
January 1, 1991, is not abandoned for a
period of more than 120 days, and
continues t0 completion within two years.
Such structure and use shall thereafter be
a legally nonconforming structure and use.
Normal maintenance of a building or other
structure containing or related to a lawful
nonconforming use is permitted, including
necessary non-structural repairs and
incidental alterations which do not
physically extend or intensify the non
conforming use.

Alterations may be made tw a building
containing lawful non-conforming
residential units when they will improve
the livability thereof, provided they will
not increase the number of dwelling units
or size or volume of the building except
as provided below. A dwelling may not,
however, be demolished and a new
dwelling constructed unless the new

A-25

dwelling is in full compliance with this
Chapter.

Legally non conforming, non-income
producing single family residential units
which violate setback standards may be
expanded tw improve livability when
approved by the Zoning Administrator,
provided that the nonconformity is not
increased beyond the existing conditions
upon the parcel and no other deviations
within the Zoning Chapter are created.
Nothing in this section shall prevent the
placing of a structure in safe condition
when said structure is declared unsafe by
the City Building Official provided the
necessary repairs shall not constitute more
than 50% of fair market value of cach
structure. Said value shall be determined
by the City Assessor.

No non-conforming building, structure or
use shall be moved to another parcel or to
any other part of the parcel of land upon
which the same was constructed or was
conducted unless such relocation shall
bring the non-conformance into
substantially closer compliance with the
requirements of this Chapter.

When any lawful non-conforming use of
any structure or land in any district has
been changed to a conforming use, it shall
not thereafter be changed to a non-

A-26

conforming use.

i. A lawful non-conforming structure or
parcel of land may be changed to lessen
the nonconformity. Once 2 nonconforming
structure or parcel of land has been
changed, it shall not thereafter be so
altered to increase the nonconformity.

j. If at any time a non-conforming building,
structure or use shall be destroyed to the
extent of more than 50% of its fair market
value, said value to be determined by the
City Assessor, then without further action
by the Council, the building and the land
on which such building was located or
maintained shall, from and after the date
of said destruction, be subject to all the
regulations specified by those zoning
regulations for the district in which such

| land and buildings are located. Any

building which is damaged to an extent of
less than 50% of its value may be restored
to its former extent if it is reconstructed
within 12 months after the date of said
damage. Estimate of the extent of damage
or destruction shall be made by the City

. Building Official.

k. Whenever a lawful non-conforming use of

3 a structure or land is discontinued for a

continuous period of six months, any

| future use of said structure or lands shall
be made to conform with the provisions of

A-27

this Chapter.

Except where sanitary sewer has not been
provided w «a parcel, a lot of record
existing as of November 1, 1990 in a
Residential District, which does not meet
the requirements of this Chapter as to area
or width may be utilized for single family
detached dwelling purposes provided the
measurements of such area or width are
within 75% of the requirements of this
Chapter. This section is not intended to
allow reduction in setbacks and required
yards. In the event that measurements of
such area or width are less than 75% of

and upon the owner being notified in
writing by the City, the owner shall
provide to the City a documented time
schedule and program with rational w
support the proposed amortization of the
building, structure, or use investments

A-28

which wil result in the termination or

correction of the nonconformity.

1. The termination/correction time
schedule shall be based upon, but
not limited to, factors such as the
initial investment and the degree
of threat or danger being posed.

2. The acceptability of the time
schedule shall be determined by

the Zoning Administrator with
right of appeal. The Zoning
Administrator shall use the

(a) The length of time that the use

(g) The cost of relocating the use.
3. In no case shall a time schedule exceed

five years from the date of notification.
Section 8. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9.10 Performance

A-29

Standards shall be amended to add the following subsection:
9.11.19 Adult Uses.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The nature of adult uses is such
that they are recognized as having adverse secondary
characteristics, particularly when they are accessible to minors and
located near residential property or related residential uses such as
schools, day care centers, libraries or parks. Furthermore, the
concentration of adult uses has an adverse effect upon the use and
enjoyment of adjacent areas. The nature of adult uses requires that
they not be allowed within certain zoning districts, or within
minimum distances from each other or residential uses. Special
regulation of adult uses is necessary to ensure that the adverse
secondary effects would not contribute or enhance criminal activity
in the area of such uses nor will it contribute to the blighting or
downgrading of the surrounding property and lessening of its
value.

Subd. 2. General. Adult uses as defined in this Chapter
shall be subject to the following general provisions:

a. Activities classified as obscene are not
permitted and are prohibited.

b. Adult uses, cither principal or accessory,
shall be prohibited from locating in any
building which is also utilized for
residential purposes.

c. Adult uses, cither principal or accessory,
shall be prohibited from locating in any
place which is also used to dispense or
consume alcoholic beverages.

d. An adult use which does not quallify as an

accessory use pursuant to Subdivision 4.a.
of this sub-section, shall be classified as

A-30

Anan lS

—t tne ie

am lt ee ee eee

POR Oe ee Ba Be so

an adult use - principal.

Subd. 3. Adult Uses Principal:

Adult use-principal shall be located at

least 1,000 radial feet, as measured in a

straight line from the closest point of the

property line of the building upon wiiich

the adult use-principal is located to the

property line of:

1. Residentially zoned property

2. A licensed day care center

3. A public or private educational

facility classified as an

elementary, junior high or senior

high

A public library

A public park

Another adult use - principal

An on-sale liquor establishment

Any church or church related

organization.

Adult use-principal activities, as defined

by this Chapter, shall be classified as one

use. No two adult uses-principal shall be

located in the same building or upon the

Same property and cach use shall be

subject to this Section.

Adult use-principal shall adhere tw the

following signing regulations.

1. Sign messages shall be generic in
nature and shall only identify the
type of business which is being

en~ Pe &

A-31

conducted.

y A Sign messages shall not contain
material classified as advertising.

3. Signs shall comply with the
requirements of size and number
for the district in which they are
located.

d. Adult use-principal shall be limited to
7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. for its hours of
operation. A differing time schedule may
be approved by the Zoning Administrator,
subject to Council appeal, if it can be
satisfactorily demonstrated by the operator
to the City that extended operational hours
will:

1. Not adversely impact or affect
uses or activities within 1,000
feet.

2. Will not result in_ increased

3. Is critical to the operation of the
business.

Subd 4. Adult Uses - Accessory:

a. Adult use-accessory shall:

1. Comprise no more than 10% of
the floor area of the establishment
in which it is located.

2. Comprise no more than 20% of
the gross receipts of the entire
business operation.

3. Not involve or include any

A-32

a hla i ee ae eT ee ee) eee Rai wt a A RR

activity except the sale or rental
of merchandise.

b. Adult use-accessory shall be restricted
from and prohibit access to minors by the
physical separation of such items from
areas of general public access:

1. Movie Rentals. Display areas shall
be restricted from general view
and shall be located within a
separate room, the access of
which is in clear view and under
the control of the persons
responsible for the operation.

2. be covered with a wrapper or

other means to prevent display of
any material other than the

publication title.

3. Other Use. Adult uses-accessory
not specifically cited shall comply
with the intent of this section
subject to the approval of the
Zoning Administrator.

c. Adult use-accessory shall be prohibited
from both internal and extemal advertising
and signing of adult materials and
products.

Subd. 5. Nonconforming Adult Use - Principal or
Accessory: Adult uses which are classified as legal nonconforming
uses may continue in accordance with the provision of this chapter,
except that any such nonconforming use shall be terminated and
become illegal on and after 31 December 1991. To the extent

A-33

possible, the City shall attempt to identify all such uses which
become classified as nonconforming under the provisions of this
subdivision and shall notify the property owners and operators of
such uses in writing of the change in status and the terms and
conditions which apply. The owner of any property on which an
adult use is located may apply to the Council for an extension of
the termination date. Any such application shall be in writing and
be received by the City no later than 1 October 1991. Failure to
submit a timely extension application shall constitute a waiver of
the right to request an exception, if upon the Council's
determination, the applicant demonstrates that the amortization
period is an unreasonable burden upon the business and does not
allow adequate time t recover a reasonable retum upon the
business investment. The applicant shall have the burden of proof
to demonstrate hardship with the established termination date and
also the time required for an extension. In making its decision, the
Council may consider any factor relevant to the issue, including
but not limited to:

a. The degree or magnitude of threat to the
public health, safety and general welfare
posed by the secondary impacts of the
operation.

b. The length of time that the adult use has
been operating.

c. The ease by which the property could be
converted to a conforming use.

d. The mature and character of the
surrounding neighborhood.

e. The value and condition of the
improvements on the property.

f. The amount of the applicant’s investment

A-34

in the business.
g. The amount of investment already
realized.
h. The cost of relocating the adult use.
Section 10. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9.20.03. Districts
shall be amended to read as follows:
9.20.03 Districts. For the purpose of this chapter, the City
of Ramsey is divided in the following zoning districts.

Subdivision 1. R-1R Residential: The intent of this district
is to accommodate single family dwelling units on suitable land
outside of the Urban Service Area of the City.

Subd. 2. R-1U Residential: The intent of this district is
to accommodate single family dwelling units in the Urban Area of
the City.

Subd. 3. R-2U Residential: The intent of this district is
to accommodate two family dwelling units in the Urban Area of
the City.

Subd. 4. R-3U Residential: The intent of this district is
to accommodate multiple dwellings, multiple dwelling complexes,
and apartment multiple dwellings (and office and commercial
developments in accordance with planned unit development
requirements) in the Urban Area of the City.

Subd. 5. MR Multiple Residential: The intent of this
district is t© accommodate mid-density residenti.. housing (and
office and commercial developments in accordance with planned
unit development requirements) intended to act as a transition use
between lower density residential districts and the B-1 and B-2
Business Districts.

Subd. 6. B-1 Business District: The intent of the B-1,
Business District is to provide for areas of commercial
development which accommodate shopper type goods and services

A-35

as contrasted to auto oriented highway commercial activities.

Subd. 7. B-2 Business District: The intent of this district
is t© accommodate certain restricted business uses to act as a
transition between intense nonresidential districts and residential
districts. These uses are to provide services and goods only for the
surrounding neighborhoods and are not intended to draw customers
from the entire community.

Subd. 8. B-3 Highway Business District. The Intent of the
B-3, Highway Business District is to provide for and limit the
establishment of motor vehicle oriented or dependent and
convenience type, high intensity commercial and service activities
characteristically located along major traffic carriers.

Subd. 9. B-W Business/Warehousing District. The Intent
of the B-W, Business/Warehousing District is to provide for the
mix of typically large volumes or bulk commercial goods and
services, and wholesale/warehouse activities. The overall character
of the "B-W” District is intended to be transitional in nature, thus
industrial type of activities allowed within this district shall be
limited to those which can compatibly exist with and be adjacent
to commercial retail uses.

Subd. 10. I-1 Industrial District: The intent of this district
is t© accommodate general industrial activities.

Subd. 11. RB Rural Business District: The intent of this
district is to permit certain restricted business uses in areas outside
of the City’s urban sewer service area.

Subd. 12. RI Rural Industrial District: The intent of this
district is t0 permit certain restricted industrial uses in areas outside
of the City's urban sewer service area.

Subd. 13. PUD Planned Unit Development: The intent of
this district is to allow for flexibility in density and usage.

Subd. 14. A Agriculture: The intent of this district is to

A-3%

accommodate agricultural uses and property in the City.

Subd. 15. Overlay Districts: The intent of Overlay
Districts is to add additional standards and requirements to land
and/or uses where the need for such additional standards and
requirements is to protect the public health and safety or to
preserve environmentally sensitive areas. The following Overiay
Districts exist in the City of Ramsey.

a. Environmental Protection and Critical
Rivers Regulations: Certain areas in all
districts may be located’ within
Environmental Protection and Critical
Rivers areas and are subject to additional
regulations as specffied in $9.21.

b. Floodplain Regulations: Certain areas if
all may be located within designated
floodplains and are subject to additional
regulations as specified in $9.22.

c. Scenic Rivers Regulations: Certain areas
in all stricts may be located within Scenic
Rivers areas and are subject to additional
regulations as specified in §9.23.

Section 18. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9-20.21, B-1, Business
District shall be amended to read as follows:
9.20.21 B-1 Business District.

Subdivision 1. Intent: The purpose of the B-1, Business
District is t© provide for areas of commercial development which
accommodate shopper type goods and services as contrasted to
auto oriented highway commercial activities.

Subd. 2. Permitted Uses: (Subject to general requirements
and performance standards as specified by this Chapter.)

a Retail business.

A-37

Eating and drinking establishments.

Offices and banks.

Personal and professional services.

Funeral homes.

Medical clinics.

Animal clinics.

Adult uses-accessory.

Subd. 3. Accessory Uses:

a. Commercial or business buildings and
structures for a use accessory to the
principal use but such use shall not exceed
30% of the gross floor space of the
principal use.

b. Off-street parking including semi-trailer
trucks, as regulated and required by this
Chapter.

Off-street loading as regulated and
required by this Chapter.

d. Signing as regulated by the City Code.

Subd. 4. Conditional Uses: (Requires a conditional use
permit based upon procedures set forth in and regulated by

§9.03.04 of this Chapter.)

a. Other commercial retail or service uses

may be allowed provided that:

1. The use does not involve outside
sales, service, rental or storage
which exceeds 10% of the
property.

2. The use meets the intent of the
District as stated in this Section.

3. The provisions of §9.03.04, Subd.

remem ans

A-38

Subd. 5. Standards:
Minimum lot area: ............. 1/2 acre
Minimum lot width: ............ 100 feet
Minimum lot depth: ............ 150 feet
Setbacks:
De seeded des de VESTA 35 feet
rr Py PP reerr rs. 10 feet (No side yard is
required where a common wall
is provided between two buildings
which meet the fire safety standards.)
Side for comer lot: ........ 20 feet
ee vee cere sees 35 feet

From thoroughfares: .. 110 feet from center line or 50
feet from right-of-way,

whichever is greater
From service road: ........ 35 feet
From residential district: 35 feet
Maximum building height: ........ 35 feet
Maximum lot coverage ............. 35%

Business uses shall not be located closer to an R-1R, R-1U, R-2U
District than the distance specified below:

Minimum side/rear setback if abutting R-1R, R-TU, R-2U District
Use:

Stacking of vehicles shall not be permitted on a public street.
There shall be no off-street parking within 10 feet of any street
right-of-way.
Section 20. Amendment. That Chapter 9, §9-20 Districts shall be
amended to add the following highway-oriented commercial zoning
district, regulations, and performance standards:
9.21.23 B-3 Highway Business District

Subdivision 1. Intent: The purpose of the B-3, Highway
Business District is to provide for and limit the establishment of
motor vehicle oriented or dependent and convenience type, high
intensity commercial and service activities characteristically located
along major traffic carriers.

Subd. 2. Permitted Uses: (Subject to general requirements

and performance standards as specified by this Chapter.)

a. Restaurants, cafes, on and off-sale liquor.

b. Private clubs or lodges serving food and
beverages.

c. Commercial recreational uses.

d. Governmental and public utility buildings and
structures.

e. Motels, motor hotels and hotels provided that the
lot area contains not less than 500 square feet of
lot area per unit.

f. Motor vehicle, implement, and recreation
accessory thereto.

g. Auto accessory store.

A-40

chines, Rie ee ne ated

Se TS. Se ey «Be ee. Le Nd Or tek onl e Beiaclate 1S alain ah nla enw A entre a Ih Cerwin + Cart Aadiled at Sa ena te

h. Adult uses-principal and adult uses-accessory.
Subd. 3. Accessory Uses:
a. Commercial or business buildings and structures

for a use accessory to the principal use but such
use shall not exceed 30% of the gross floor space

of the principal use.

b. Off-street parking including semi-trailer trucks, as
regulated and required by this Chapter.

6. Off-street loading as regulated and required by this
Chapter.

d. Signing as regulated by the City Code.

Subd. 4. Conditional Uses: (Requires a conditional use
permit based upon procedures set forth in and regulated by
§9.03.04 of this Chapter.)

a. Drive-in and convenience, fast food

establishments, provided that:
1.

The architectural appearance and
functional plan of the building and site
shali not be so dissimilar to the existing
buildings or area sO aS © cause
impairment in property values or
constitute a blighting influence within a
reasonable distance of the lot and shall
comply with the architecwral control
provisions of this section.

Each light standard island and all islands
in the parking lot landscaped or covered.
Parking areas and driveways shall be
curbed with continuous curbs not less than
6 inches high above the parking or
driveway grade.

A-41

Vehicular access points shall be limited,
shall create a minimum of conilict with
through traffic movements, and shall be
subject to the approval of the City
Engineer.

The entire site shall have a drainage
system which is subject to the approval of
the City Engineer.

The entire area other than occupied by
buildings or structures or planting shall be
surfaced with asphalt or concrete matcrials
which will control dust and drainage and
which is subject to the approval of the
City Engineer.

All signing and information or visual
communication devices shall be in
compliance with the applicable provisions
of the City Code.

The provisions of §9.03.04, Subd. 4g are
considered and are satisfactorily met.

Commercial car washes (drive through, mechanical
and self-service) provided that:

1.

The architectural appearance and
functional plan of the building and site
shall not be so dissimilar to the existing
buildings or areas as t0 Cause impairment
in property values or constitute a blighting
influence and shall comply with the
architectural control provisions of this
section.

Magazining or stacking space is

A-42

a

10.

constructed to accommodate that number
of vehicles which can be washed during a
maximum 30 minute period and shall be
subject to the approval of the City
Engineer.

Each light standard island and all islands
in the parking lot landscaped or covered.
Pasking or car magazine storage space
shall be screened from view of abutting
residential districts.

The entire area other than occupied by the
building or plantings shall be surfaced
with asphalt or concrete materials which
will control dust and drainage which is
subject to the approval of the City
Engineez.

The entire area shall have a drainage
system which is subject to the approval of
the City.

Vehicular access points shall be limited,
shall create a minimum of conflict with
through traffic movement and shall be
subject to the approval of the City
Engineer.

All signing and informational or visual
communication devices shall be in
of the City Code.

Provisions are made to control and reduce
noise.

The provisions of §9.03.04, Subd. 4g are

A-43

considered and are satisfactorily met.

Gas station, truck stop, auto repair-minor, and tire
and battery stores and service provided that:

Regardless of whether the dispensing, sale
or offering for sale of motor fuels and/or
oil is incidental to the conduct of the use
or business, the standards and
requirements imposed by this Chapter for
motor fuel stations shall apply. These
standards and requirements are, however,
in addition to other requirements which
are imposed for other uses of the property.
The architectural appearance and
functional plan of the building and site
shall not be so dissimilar to the existing
buildings or areas as to cause impairment
in property values or constitute a blighting
influence within a reasonable distance of
the lot and shall comply with the
architectural control provisions of this
section.

The entire site other than that taken up by
a building, structure or plantings shall be
surfaced with asphalt or concrete material
to control dust and drainage which is
subject t© the approval of the City
Engineer.

A drainage system subject to the approval
of the City Engineer shail be installed.
A curb not less than 6 inches above grade

shall separate the public pedestrian way

A-44

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

from motor vehicle sea-ice areas.
Wherever fuel pumps are to be installed,
pump islands shall be installed.

Each light standard base shall be
landscaped.

Parking or car magazine storage space
shall be screened from view of abutting
residential distncts.

Vehicular access points shall create a
minimum of conflict with through traffic
movement and shall be subject to the
approval of the City Engineer.

All signing and informational or visual
communication devices shall be
minimized and shall be in compliance
with the applicable provisions of the City
Code.

Provisions are made to control and reduce
noise.

No outside storage except as allowed in
compliance with this Section.

Sale of products other than those
specifically mentioned in this section be
subject to a conditional use permit and be
in compliance with §9.03.04 of this
Chapter.

All conditions pertaining to a specific site
are subject to change when the Council,
upon investigation in relation to a formal
request, finds that the general welfare and

A-45

0

public betterment can be served as well or
better by modifying the conditions.

15. The provisions of §9.03.04, Subd. 4g are
considered and are satisfactorily met.

d. Convenience Store with Gasoline: Grocery and/or
food operations, with convenience gas (no vehicle
service or repair), provided that:

‘ The retail sales involve uses or activities
which are allowed in a B-1 District.

2 Convenience/deli food is of the take-out
type only and that no provision for seating
or consumption on the premises is
provided. Furthermore, that the enclosed
area devoted to such activity, use and
merchandise shall not exceed 15% of the
gross floor area.

3. That any saic of food items is subject to
the approval of the City Building Official
who shall provide specific written sanitary
requirements for each proposed sale
location based upon applicable State and
County regulations.

4. That the non-automotive sales shall
qualify for and subsequently be granted
on an annual food handling, license by
Anoka County, or other license, as
circumstances shall require, in addition to
the conditional use permit.

5. That the approximate area and location
devoted tO non-automatic merchandise
sales shall be specifled in general terms in

A-46

the application and in the conditional use
permit. Exterior sales, storage, and/or
displays shall be subject to a separate
conditional use permit.

The hours of operation shall be limited to
6:00 AM to 12:00 PM, unless extended
by the Council.

Motor fuel activities are installed in
accordance with State and City standards.
Additionally, adequate space shall be
provided to access gas pumps and allow
maneuverability around the pumps.
Underground fuel storage tanks are to be
positioned to allow adequate access by
motor fuel transports and unloading
operations do not conflict with circulation,
access and other activities on the site.
Fuel pumps shall be installed on pump
islands.

A protective canopy located over pump
island may be an accessory structure on
the property and may be located 20 feet
or more from the front lot line, provided
adequate visibility both on and off site is
maintained.

The architectural appearance and
functional plan of the building and site
shall not be so dissimilar to the existing
buildings or area as to cause impairment
in property values or constitute a blighting
influence within a reasonable distance of

A-47

|

the lot. All sides of the principal and
accessory structures are to have essentially
the same or a coordinated, harmonious
finish treatment and shall comply with tne
architectura

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1646%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
