# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Broyde v. Gotham Tower, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1398%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1128

## Text

u-reme Court, U. s. (t)
.

93161 94PR 81994

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No.

October Term, 1994

Beryl Broyde; Mirel Broyde; David Cohen;
Judith Cohen; Milton Duchan; Marion Duchan;
Phillip D. Haack; Diane Hochberg; Helen
Kuperman; Jerry T Novetsky; Elliot
Schoenig; Sarah Schoenig; Sharon K.
Teasley; Robert L. Tilden; Samuel Tron and
Doris Tron,

Petitioners

Ve

Gotham Tower, Inc.; Bell Broadcasting
Company; Marlin Broadcasting Company and
Viacom International, Inc.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DONNELLY W. HADDEN, P.C.

By: Donnelly W. Hadden
Attorney for Petitioners

301 E. Liberty St., Suite 585
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

(313) 741-5050

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Federal
Communications Act pre-empts petitioners’

state law common-law nuisance claims.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW... . 1
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .. . . 1 2 « 3
OPINIONS BELOW .. 1. 2s es ee vee 4
GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION ...... 4
STATUTES and REGULATIONS . . ron ee 4
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......-. 9
"e setattinss gs, A a a ee er ee
CONCLUSION 1.6 +s 4 be Oe ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Ackerman v Columbia Broadcasting System,
Inc., 301 F Supp 628, 631 (SD NY
1 969 ) . . . . . ° . . . , . . . . . . + 28

Ahmad v Levi, 414 F Supp 597, 603 (ED Pa
1976) + . . 7 7 . . > . >. . + . > o . 28

Belluso v Turner Communications Corp., 633
F2d 393, 397 (Sth Cir 1980) ..... 28

Buckeye Union Insurance Co. v. State of
Michigan, 383 Mich. 630, 178 NW 2d 476
( 1970) - . . > . . * _ oO ” 7 . . . . 14

Burke v Dow Chemical Co, 797 F Supp 1128
ia wee? Bees, bos C5, wruiak v souae 23

Cippolone v Liggett Group, Inc., 505 US ass
, 112 S. Ct. 2608, 120 L Ed 2d 407
(90S Pee '. che OS. LEB, BY, 90-88, 27, 29

Cleveland v Piper Aircraft Corp., 985 F2d
MR Te oe BR 8 i ey ae oe 23

Comtronics, Inc. v Puerto Rico Tel Co., 553
F2d 701, 708 ( 1977) cAa@rerere BIG. 21

Couture v Dow Chemical U.S.A., 804 F Supp
pe ee ee 22

Daley v Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc.,
309 F2d 83, 86,(7th Cir 1962)... . 28

Kilts v Board of Supervisors of Kent
County, 162 Mich 646, 127 NW 821
Dea chrchet tb ig aes cs bie 2S te eee TE OP OS

Lechtner v Brownyard, 679 F2d 322, 325 (3d
Gis SOGR). 6: 6 sa ve ge el ee 28

Margolis v United Airlines, Inc., 811 F
Sunpp..318..( ED. MI. 1908) scceuice of sens 23

New England Telephone & Telegraph Co. v
Public Utilities Comm’n, 565 F Supp 949,
955-956 (1983) . . . . > . . . . . > 27

Papas v Zoecon Corp., US ie een
Ct 3020, 120 L Ed 2d 892 (1992)... 22

Post v Payton, 323 F Supp 799, 802 (ED NY
1971) * . * . - . . . . . « . . 28

Rice v Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 US 218,
67 S Ct 1160, 91 L Ed 1468 (1947). . 16

Schnapper v Foley, 667 F2d 102, 116 (DC Cir
1981) cert den 102 S Ct 1448 .... 28

Silkwood v Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 US 238,
104 S Ct. 615, 78 L Ed 2d 443 (1984)
oe eles ata 5 Ce eee EF Lvs 8is ae

Tennessee Valley Authority v Hill, 437 US
190, 98 S Ct 2299, 57 L Ed 2d 117 (1978)
. > >. . * 7 >. * . > . . 7 . _ . . . .28

West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v

Casey; US »>3114-6 Ce 1138; 1147,
333. 4. Ba..26 GS ALGGR) + 168k fe TOE Fi in “WRF
STATUTES

Sa ees tit sere ie ee a te HTALE
ee ee a ae he ele ee Sk ee eee 10

28 USC §1346 * . . . . oJ ° . .

28 USC §1346..
ee Re i sw geo tt oe eae 10
28 BRC: GSSSC( a) s.r ee S F OU RR

47 USC §151 et seq. *. ° . . 2 . . . . 10

ee a sg ee! ee op we oe 25
OT RGHG4 TH 0A eee STS i3, 20
oe eet eta. +s ee ee tee 8 23
Mich. Stat. Ann. §27A. 2940, Mich Com. Laws
Crs 634 «. «2 4-6 #8. et * eet 15
REGU N

OF Geers. «8. 9 0 868 a me 19

49; CPR BT35318e wee we MWe 18, 19

OTHERS
1982 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2267 24

In the Matter of Federal Preemption of
State and Local Regulations Pertaining to
Amateur Radio Facilities, 1001 F.C.C. 2d
962. (1966) @ 969-960... «4.0. +.» 6489 24

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion below is’ styled
Broyde et al. v Gotham Tower, et al., 13
F3d 994 (6th Cir 1994).

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The opinion sought to be reviewed
was filed January 14th 1994. No rehearing
was sought or granted, nor any extension of
time within which to file the petition for
writ of certiorari.

Review is sought because the
United States Court of Appeals decision in
this case has decided a federal question in
a way that conflicts with applicable
47 USC §414 decisions of the Supreme Court
and is in conflict with the decisions of
other United States Courts of Appeals on

the same matter.

STATUTES and REGULATIONS
Michigan Statutes Annotated
§27A.2940, (Michigan Compiled Laws

§600.2940). Claims based on or to abate
nuisances.

(1) All claims based on or to abate

nuisance may be brought in the circuit
court. The circuit court may grant
injunctions to stay and prevent nuisance.

(2) When the plaintiff prevails on a
claim based on a private nuisance, he may
have judgment for damages and may have a
judgment that the nuisance be abated and
removed unless the judge finds that the

abatement of the nuisance is unnecessary.

28 USC §1331. Federal Question

The district courts shall have
original jurisdicticn of all civil actions
arising under the Constitution, laws, or

treaties of the United States.

28 USC §1441. Actions removable

generally
(a) Except as otherwise expressly
provided by Act of Congress, any civil
action brought in a State court of which
the district courts of the United States
have original jurisdiction, may be removed
by the defendant or the defendants, to the
district court of the United States for the
district and division embracing the place

where such action is pending.

475 USC §151. Purposes; Federal
Communications Commission created
For the purpose of regulating
interstate and foreign commerce in
communication by wire and radio so as to
make available, as far as possible, to all
the people of the United States a rapid,
efficient, nationwide, and worldwide wire
and radio communication service with
adequate facilities at reasonable charges,
for the purpose of national defense, for
the purpose of promoting safety of life and
property through the use of wire and radio
communication, and for the purpose of
securing more effective execution of this
policy by centralizing authority heretofore
granted by law to several agencies and by
granting additional authority with respect
to interstate and foreign commerce in wire
and radio communication, there is hereby
created a commission to be known as the
"Federal Communications Commission", which
shall be constituted as hereinafter
provided, and which shall execute and

enforce the provisions of this act.

47 USC §303 Powers and duties

of Commission

(b) Assign bands of frequencies to
the various classes of stations, and assign
frequencies for each individual station and
determine the power which each station
shall use and the time during which it may
operate.

(f) Make such regulations not
inconsistent with law as it may deem
necessary to prevent interference between
stations and to carry out the provisions of
this Act:...

47 USC §302a Devices which

interfere with radio reception
(a) Regulations. The Commission
may, consistent with the public interest,
convenience, and necessity, make reasonable
regulations (1) governing the interference
potential of devices which in their
operation are capable of emitting radio
frequency by radiation, conduction, or
other means in sufficient degree to cause
harmful interference to radio
communications; and (b) establishing
minimum performance standards for home
electronic equipment and systems to reduce
their susceptibility to interference from

radio frequency energy. Such regulations

9

shall be applicable to the manufacture,

import, sale, offer for sale, or shipment
of such devices and home electronic
equipment and systems, and to the use of

such devices.

47 CFR §73.310 FM technical
definitions.

Blanketing is that form of

interference to the reception of

other broadcast stations which

is caused by the presence of an

FM broadcast signal...

47 CFR §73.318 FM Blanketing

interference.

Areas adjacent to the transmitting
antenna that receive a signal with a
strength of 115 dBu (562 mV/m) or greater
will be assumed to be blanketed. In
determining the blanketed area, the 115 dBu
contour is determined by calculating the
inverse distance field using the effective
radiated power of the maximum radiated lobe
of the antenna without considering its

vertical radiation pattern or height. For

10

directional antennas, the effective

radiated power in the pertinent bearing
shall be used.

47 USC §414 Exclusiveness of

Act
Nothing in this Act shall in any way
abridge or alter the remedies now existing
at common law or by statute, but the
provisions of this act are in addition to

such remedies.

STA NT OF THE CASE

Petitioners Beryl Broyde and 15
other individuals seek a Writ of Certiorari
to the decision below, which affirmed a
grant of summary judgment in favor of
defendants in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Michigan.

The subject matter of this case is a
claim by residents in the city of Oak Park,
Michigan that radio signals broadcast by
four FM radio stations who concurrently
broadcast from a single antenna tower owned
by Gotham Tower, Inc. quite near their

homes create conditions in their homes

11

en

which amount to a nuisance under the common
law of Michigan. They commenced this suit
in the state court of Michigan, alleging
that conduct of the defendants constituted
a nuisance as to them and seeking both
damages at law and equitatle relief.
Defendants-respondents removed the case
under 28 USC §1441 alleging that the case
presented a federal question and that the
United States court has jurisdiction under
28 USC §1331. The district court dismissed
their cases on the grounds that plaintiffs’
claims were pre-empted by the Federal
Communications Commission Act, 47 USC §151
et seq.

The basis for federal
jurisdiction in the US District Court was
28 USC §1331. Petitioners do not agree that
there is federal jurisdiction here. They
moved to remand which was denied.

Plaintiff-petitioners live or operate
business in a certain area of Oakland
County near the defendant FM stations’
broadcast antennas, all of which are
affixed to a structure known as the Gotham
Tower. The signals from these stations,

when combined together, interfere with

12

appliances and devices which are normal,

even essential, attributes of modern urban
life. In some instances things are
activated or de-activated remotely by the
interference; in other cases the item is
rendered unusable by the signals. For
example; plaintiffs expect to prove that
the defendants cause excessively intense
interference with television reception,
telephones, garage door openers, recording
devices, stereos and VCR’s.

Plaintiffs are not broadcasters nor do
they claim that there is any interference
as between broadcasters. They do not claim
that any licensed defendant is, by itself,
causing them any problems. Rather, they
claim that the signals, broadcast by the
station defendants together from the tower
all of them use interferes with their use
and enjoyment of their homes. They claim
that those signals interfere with their use
of telephones, television, recording
devices, stereos, VCRs and cause electric
garage doors to open and close "by
themselves" to the detriment of their
personal security, and other phenomena so
bothersome to their quality of life that it

constitutes a nuisance.

13

It is important to note what
plaintiffs do not claim. They do not claim
that the defendant stations interfere with
any signals that plaintiffs wish to
broadcast. They do not claim that
defendants’ transmissions interfered with
or distorted the transmissions of other
licensed FM stations. They only claim that
conditions existing at defendants’ point of
broadcast interfere with their normal use
and enjoyment of their homes or businesses.

Several plaintiffs have complained to |
the FCC but it asserted that it has no
authority to act where the interference is
not with another FM station.

Petitioners claim that these
constitute a private nuisance per accidens |
as to them and sue to assert their common-

law rights under that theory.

ARGUMENT

Petitioners’ argument is organized

around four main rules:
le There is a presumption against
pre-emption. Plaintiffs’ claims are not

pre-empted because federal law does not

14

a

pre-empt common law damages actions unless
the congress specifically so mandates,
which it has not done here.

2. The Federal Communications
Commission Act has a savings clause, 47 USC
§414, which preserves to plaintiffs their
common-law remedies. This indicates that
the U. S. Congress did not intend to occupy
the entire field of radio broadcast
litigation.

3. There is no federal pre-emption
here because the state law is not an
obstacle to accomplishing the purposes of
congress. Compliance with both state
common-law and federal law is possible, and
desirable.

4. The federal law regulates between
licensees, not between licensees and the
petitioners. The federal law provides no
remedy for them, especially as to their

damages claims.

Petitioners’ theory: common-law

nuisance.

In Kilts v Board of Supervisors of
Kent County, 162 Mich 646, 127 NW 821

(1910) the court said that a condition

which: »
..- deprives his neighbor of the
reasonable and comfortable
enjoyment and use of his

property, or which violates the
unwritten but accepted law of
decency, or which endangers or
renders insecure the life and
health of his neighbor is a
nuisance. (162 Mich @ 652)

"

Nuisance is in Michigan a kind of “‘no-

fault" tort. In Buckeye Union Insurance Co.

v. State of Michigan, 383 Mich. 630, 178 NW

2d 476 (1970) a building owned by **: state

was held to have been a fire hazard
nuisance to plaintiff’s adjoining property.

The court distinguished negligence cases !
from nuisance cases, and as to nuisance,

defined it as follows; (p. 636).

Primarily, muisance is a
condition. Liability is not
predicated on tortious conduct
through action or inaction on
the part of those responsible
for the condition. Nuisance may
result from want of due care...,
but may still exist as A
dangerous, offensive or
hazardous condition even with
the best of care.

Plaintiff-appellants allege that radio

transmissions from defendants’ operations

16

iain

cross over plaintiffs’ properties at high
levels of intensity which either exceed
federal blanketing interference standards
",..0r are otherwise excessively intense."
Their Complaint alleges that such
transmissions by defendants "seriously and
substantially interferes with the use and
enjoyment of plaintiffs’ property, and
",,.,.,constitute a continuing nuisance ...and
a nuisance per se."

Here there is A condition at
defendants’ facility which broadcasts a
force which interferes with plaintiffs’ use
and enjoyment of their homes and
businesses. They have a viable claim at
common law in Michigan. The Michigan
circuit court has jurisdiction to award
damages and/or grant injunctions to stay
nuisances, Mich. Stat. Ann. 827A. 2940,
Mich Com. Laws §600.2940.

The issue is whether the federal
government has taken that right away from
them through the Federal Communications

Act. It has not, as is explained within.

The presumption against pre-emption of

common law remedies is not overcome by

17

congress here.

The controlling authority now on
federal pre-emption of state law damage
actions is Cippolone v Liggett Group, Inc.,
505 US ____, 112 S. Ct. 2608, 120 L Ed2d
407 (1992). This case holds that federal
statutes do not pre-empt state court tort
damage claims unless it is the clear intent
of the congress to do so, and to provide an
alternate remedy. The methodology for
analysis of pre-emption questions is laid
out.

The first rule is that there is a
presumption against pre-emption. Every
analysis of the pre-emption issue must
begin with recognition of the underlying
presumption against pre-emption.
Consideration of pre-emption issues start
with the assumption that the historic
powers of the states are not to be
superseded by federal act unless that is
the clear and manifest intent of the
congress, Rice v Santa Fe Elevator Corp.,
331 US 218, 67 S Ct 1160, 91 L Ed 1468
(1947).

The fact that state common-law damage

18

actions may incidentally regulate conduct
by discouraging tortfeasance does not mean
such actions are pre-empted by federal
regulatory statutes, Silkwood v Kerr-McGee
Corp., 464 US 238, 104 S Ct. 615, 78 L Ed
2d 443 (1984). The court there also found
it particularly significant that congress
had failed to provide a federal remedy for
those injured by conduct violating federal
standards. Id. @ 623 ("It is difficult to
believe that congress’ would, without
comment, remove all means of. judicial
recourse for those injured by illegal
conduct.” ) The incidental regulatory
consecuences of tort damage awards under
state law was something that congress was
willing to accept. If did not, then it is
obliged to say so clearly. Id. @ 625.
Justice Blackmun, concurring in the
Cippolone case said, "...we cannot find the
state common-law damages claims at issue in
this case pre-empted by federal law in the
absence of clear and unambiguous evidence
that congress intended that result.” (120
L Ed 2d @ pg 442) The majority opinion
reviews the logical progression analysis

that must be used with every pre-emption

19

contention. At pg 420, the only three ways
of overcoming the presumption against pre-
emption are stated.

This presumption can be overcome only
where there is either (1) express language
in a federal statute saying so, or (2)
federal law occupies the entire field of
regulation leaving no room for state law,
or (3) when compliance with both state and
federal law is impossible [-or- that state
law stands as an obstacle to accomplishing
the purposes of congress. ]

The Court of Appeals based its holding
on the third ground, saying that there is,
",..an irreconcilable conflict between the
FCC’s exercise of exclusive jurisdiction
over the regulation of radio frequency
interference and the imposition of common
law standards in a damages action.”

Because "The radio signal interference
at issue falls within the FCC’s technical
domain." the presumption against pre-
emption, it said, is overcome.

That is not a recognized basis for
casting aside the presumption against pre-
emption.

47 CFR 873.318 prescribes a numerical

standard for "FM blanketing interference.”

20

But "FM Blanketing" is defined in 47 CFR
§73.310:

Blanketing is that form of
interference to the reception of

other broadcast stations which

is caused by the presence of an

FM broadcast signal... (emphasis

supplied)

Plaintiff-petitioners do not complain that
any of these radio stations is blanketing
any other broadcast station, but rather
that together they are blanketing
appliances, devices, communications and
entertainment in their homes.

The Federal Regulations only address
problems where FM_~ stations’ signals
interfere with the reception of signals
broadcast by other FM stations. There is no
federal regulation of interference by FM
Signals with anything else. 47 CFR §73.318
describes a blanketed area as one which
receives a signal with a strength above 115
dBu. Plaintiffs here receive several
signals. Indeed, the Federal Communications
Comnission has declined to assist
plaintiffs in resolving their problems,
citing lack of authority. Plaintiffs do not
seek to regulate interference between

stations. That is the province of the FCC.

21

Plaintiffs seek compensation for
interference between stations and
themselves. That is beyond the scope of the
FCC.

Federal law does not occupy the field,

as shown by the savings clause.

A savings clause in the FCC Act shows
that congress intended not to pre-empt the
field. The courts may not substitute their
intent to pre-empt instead.

In the Cippolone case the U.S. Supreme
Court has sounded the death knell for
judicial pre-emption: where congress "has
included in the enacted legislation a
provision explicitly addressing” pre-
emption, "there is no need to infer
congressional intent to pre-empt state laws
from the substantive provisions." (120 L Ed
2d @ 423) In the instant case congress did
explicitly address pre-emption.

The Federal Communications Commission
Act contains a "savings clause at 47 USC
§414 which reads:

Nothing in this Act contained
shall abridge or alter’ the
remedies now existing at common

22

law or by statute, but the

provisions of the Act are in

addition to such remedies.
This section of the statute clearly
recognizes the existence of more, non-FCC,
remedies. See, e.g., Comtronics, Inc. v
Puerto Rico Tel Co., 553 F2d 701, 708 (
1977) (8 414 preserves "causes of action
for breaches of duties distinguishable from
those created under the Act.”) In order for
there to be pre-emption there must be some
explicit expression of the manifest intent
of congress to obliterate state law
remedies. The existence of the savings
clause indicates that congress disclaimed
any interest in promoting the development
and utilization of FM radio frequencies "by
means that fail to provide adequate
remedies for those who are injured..."
Silkwood v Kerr-McGee Corp, supra at 625.
In Cippolone, supra, it has been made clear
that courts may not veto state tort law
under the guise of "implied pre-emption.”
Yet that is what the Court of Appeals has
done here. It is in error.

Plaintiffs have whatever is saved for
them at common law to assert in their

behalf, and the common law is not pre-

23

empted.

The state common-law is not an
obstacle to any congressional purpose.

Compliance with both is possible.

The Court of Appeals found pre-emption
anywa, because it opined that the state law
of nuisance conflicts with federal law.
There are two reasons expressed for this.
First, the court says, "The radio signal
interference at issue here falls within the
FCC’s technical domain." "Technical domain"
is not a recognized basis for federal pre-
emption. State courts are perfectly capable
of understanding technical matters as
relate to private damage lawsuits. Consider
the "technical domain" involved in several
cases where pre-emption has been denied.

Papas v Zoecon Corp., ___ US . san
S Ct 3020, 120 L Ed 2d 892 (1992) remanding

to the 1lith Circuit a case involving

pesticide exposure. Organic chemistry and
toxicology must have been involved, but
this is no reason for federal pre-emption.
Consider also Couture v Dow Chemical
U.S.A., 804 F Supp 1298 (D Mont 1992) and

24

Burke v Dow Chemical Co, 797 F Supp 1128
(ED NY 1992) [herbicides, organic
chemistry, not pre-empted by FIFRA].
Margolis v United Airlines, Inc., 811 F
Supp 318 (ED MI 1993) and Cleveland v Piper
Aircraft Corp., 985 F2d 1438 (10th Cir
1993) involved the “technical domain" of
aeronautical engineering and maintenance,
yet it was held there was no pre-emption by
the Federal Aviation Act. The FAA contains
a savings clause (49 USC §81305(a))
identical to the one in the Federal
Communications Commission Act.

In Silkwood v Kerr-McGee, supra, there
was no federal pre-emption despite the case
involving the technical domain of
radioactive radiation hazards. The F.C.C.
itself has declined to pr-empt all state
and local regulation in areas falling
within its "technical domain" even when
presented opportunities to do so. For
example, the F.C.C. declined a request to
pre-empt "all local ordinances which
provably preclude or significantly inhibit
effective reliable amateur radio
communications.” The F.C.C. determined that

"a reasonable accommodation may be made

25

between legitimate local interest in
regulating the health, safety and general
welfare of the community and the federal
interest in promoting amateur radio
operations,” and held that local
regulations involving placement, screening,
or height of antennas based on health,
safety or aesthetic amateur communications
are not pre-empted. In the Matter of
Federal Preemption of State and Local
Regulations Pertaining to Amateur Radio
Facilities, 1001 F.C.C. 2d 952 (1985) @
959-960.

Simply because evidence in a case may
fall with the "technical domain” of some
federal regulatory agency is not a
recognized basis for federal pre-emption.
Such A rule would pre-empt almost
everything in modern society.

Also, the Court of Appeals held that
because a Conference Report by the congress
expressed a belief that, "..-radio
transmitter operators should not be subject
to fines, forfeitures, or other liability
imposed by any local or state authority as
a result of interference appearing in home

electronic equipment or systems.", 1982

26

U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2267, plaintiffs™
case is pre-empted by federal law. This is
the most dangerous part of the opinion
below.

It is legislation by committee. The
court below would imply pre-emption from a
committee report, bootstrapping that report
into the law of the land. Where statutory
language is plain and unambiguous, it
meaning is discerned from the statutory
text alone and not from the statements of
individual legislators or committees. West
Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. 4
Casey, : 2222 U6 * 2.) 2° 490'8 Ot 14398, 1147,
113 L Ed 2d 68 (1991). There is nothing in
the amendatory language expressly repealing
the savings clause. The statute (47 USC
§302a) authorizes the regulation of things
which emit radio energy (which plaintiffs
do not do) and the setting of standards for
the manufacture of home electronics to
reduce their susceptibility to radio
energy. (Plaintiffs don’t do this either. )
The statute does not say what remedies are
provided if the emissions are excessive and
the home electronics still susceptible. The

statute does not say what the conferees

27

believed. It does not expressly pre-empt
local or state liability. The savings
clause has not been repealed.
~~ To hold that the common-law nuisance
claims are pre-empted on the basis of a
committee report violates the "cardinal
rule" against repeal by implication in
Tennessee Valley Authority v Hill, 437 US
190, 98 S Ct 2299, 57 L Ed 2d 117 (1978).
There is no clear and unambiguous
language in the statute that congress
intended to pre-empt state law nuisance

damage claims. The committee comments are

" "

-+-in the enacted legislation..." as
required by the Cippolone rule (120 L Ed 2d
@ 423). The courts must follow statutes

not,

enacted by congress, but for the courts to
adopt as federal law a report issued by
only a committee of congress, and hold that
to be a manifest intent to obliterate state
law remedies, is implied pre-emption by the
courts of precisely the kind forbidden by
Cippolone.

Respondents must comply with federal
regulation and can also pay damages claims
if they create A nuisance, without

upsetting any grand regulatory scheme. It

28

merely gives them an option, a choice of
behavior as described by Justices Blackmun,
Kennedy and Souter in Cippolone, 120 L Ed
2d @ 435.

There is no other forum for

petitioners.

Lastly, the Court of Appeals said that
plaintiffs are not left without a forum. It
held that plaintiff can file petitions
within the FCC to resolve their complaints.
This holding conflicts with decisions by
other United States courts of appeals on
the same issue.

Except for certain actions against
common carriers), the Federal
Communications Act does not expressly
authorize private enforcement actions or
citizens’ suits. Federal courts which have
considered the question have generally held
that the act does not confer an implied

private cause of action for either damages

or injunctive relief. New England Telephone

I See sections 206 and 207 of

the Federal Communications Act, 47
USC 206 & 207.

29

& Telegraph Co. v Public Utilities Comm’n,
565 F Supp 949, 955-956 (1983). These
courts have reasoned that congress simply
did not intend to create any private
remedies other than those explicitly set
forth in the act because congress vested
regulatory and criminal enforcement of the
act in the FCC. Lechtner v Brownyard, 679
F2d 322, 325 (3d Cir 1982). See also
Schnapper v Foley, 667 F2d 102, 116 (DC Cir
1981) cert den 102 S Ct 1448; Belluso v
Turner Communications Corp., 633 F2d 393,
397 (5th Cir 1980), Daley v Columbia
Broadcasting System, Inc., 309 F2d 83,
86,(7th Cir 1962); Ahmad v Levi, 414 F Supp
597, 603 (ED Pa 1976); Post v Payton, 323
F Supp 799, 802 (ED NY 1971) and Ackerman
v Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 301
F Supp 628, 631 (SD NY 1969), all cited in
Lechtner, supra. Whatever private causes of
action exist are those saved by section
414.

And even the court below does not
suggest that the FCC can assess and grant
damages at law for the nuisance inflicted
up to now. Under state law petitioners can

claim these.

30

ee ee

In Cippolone it was held that the word
"regulation" refers to positive statutory
enactments by state legislatures, etc., not
to common-law damages actions. "There is no
general, inherent conflict between federal
pre-emption of state warning requirements
and the continued vitality of state common
law damages actions." (120 L Ed 2d @ 424.)

What we have in this Broyd case is a
situation where state law occupies a field
not touched upon by federal law and where
the state common law provides sanctions for
behavior not regulated by federal law, and
different from any under federal law. A
state may do this. A claim based upon such

state law is not pre-empted.

CONCLUSION

Petitioners have stated causes of
action under state law that are not pre-
empted by federal statutes. The Court of
Appeals decision conflicts with opinions of
the Supreme Court and with those of other
courts of appeal. The court below implied

pre-emption, which it is forbidden to do,

31

from a committee report. This is erroneous
and dangerous precedent. Petitioners
respectfully request that this court grant
a writ of certiorari in this matter.

Respectfully ; sepairentouania

“Ponnelly W. Hadden
Attorney for Petitioners
301 E. Liberty St., Suite 585
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
(313) 741-5050

April 7, 1994

32

APPENDIX

1. Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-

TEXT PUBLICATION

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 24

ELECTRONIC CITATION: 1994 FED App. 0007P (6th Cir.)
File Name: 94A0007P.06

No. 92-2395

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BERYL BROYDE; MIREL BROYDE; |
DAVID COHEN; JUDITH COHEN;
NATHAN COHEN; MILTON
DUCHAN; MARION DUCHAN;
PuHitip D. HAACK; DIANE
HOCHBERG; ICEK KUPERMAN;
HELEN KUPERMAN; JERRY J.
NOVETSKY; ELLIOT SHOENIG;
SARAH SHOENIG; SHARON K.
TEASLEY; ROBERT L. TILDEN;
SAMUEL TRON; and Doris TRON,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

GOTHAM TOWER, INC; BELL
BROADCASTING COMPANY; HOKER!
BROADCASTING, INC.; MARLIN
BROADCASTING COMPANY; and
VIACOM INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

. On APPEAL from the
United States District

Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan

ll Nh el a _

—
ae

ee ee ee SS eee ee ee ed

2 Broyde, et al. v. Gotham Tower, et al. No. 92-2395

Decided and Filed January 14, 1994

Before: MARTIN and BOGGS, Circuit Judges; and
HULL, District Judge.

BOYCE F. MARTIN, JR., Circuit Judge. In this action
predicated on common law nuisance, plaintiffs, all
residents of Oak Park, Michigan, allege that the
defendants’ radio signals interfere with the nae ngs of
home electronic equipment, thereby disrupting
plaintiffs’ use and enjoyment of their property. Pleintiffs
now appeal from an order of the district court dismissing
their complaint pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
12(b)(6) for ilure to state a claim upon which relief can
be granted. For the following reasons, we affirm the
district court.

Defendant Gotham Tower, Inc. operates an eight-
hundred-foot tall radio tower in Oak Park from which
defendants Bell Broadcastin Company, Marlin

from this location and now regulates the frequency, timing,
and power of the defendants’ transmissions.

The plaintiffs, residents of a nearby nei

ut Sik oa send ig xf fiom sous pow

pee as ge TE sa ving behind a wake of malfunctioning
The plaintiffs allege that these

signals interfere with television and radio reception,

“The Honorable Thomas G. Hull, United States District Judge for
the Eastern District of Tennessee, sitting by designation.

2

No. 92-2395 Broyde, et al. v. Gotham Tower, et al. 3

activate garage door openers, and render certain
telephones, stereos, and recording devices unusable.
Maintaining that the intensity of the defendants’ signals
"regularly exceed{s] the federal standard for F.M.
blanketing interference,” the plaintiffs filed suit on common

law nuisanee grounds in County Circuit Court on
July 7, 1992. In their complaint, the plaintiffs sought both
injunctive relief and damages.

On July 27, the defendants removed the case to federal
district court and, shortly thereafter, moved to dismiss the
complaint pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
12(b)(6) for failure to state a claim upon which relief can
be ted. Specifically, the defendants contended that the
Federal Communications Act of 1934, 47 U.S.C. §§ 151-
613, preempts the plaintiffs’ nuisance claim.

In reaching its decision, the district court first noted the
consistent finding of ion by all courts that have
considered the interaction of common law nuisance claims
and the Federal Communications Act. See Still v.
Michaels, 791 Ai Supp. oe (D. Ariz. ay ay
action preem mmunications - v.
Michaels, 303 P.2d 124 (Ariz. 1990) (FCC has exclusive
jurisdiction over resolution of radio signal interference
nuisance claims); Smith v. Educational
Broadcasting Network, 783 S.W.2d 533 (Mo. Ct. App.
1990) (F Communications Act preempts state
nuisance action based on radio signal interference with
electrical liances); Blackburn v. Doubleday
Broadcasting Co., Inc., 353 N.W.2d 550 (Minn. 1984)
(radio transmission nuisance claims under exclusive
jurisdiction of FCC). The district court then held that
Judicial resolution of the plaintiffs’ nuisance claim would be
inconsistent with the FCC’s exercise of exclusive
jurisdiction over the broadcast industry. On October 21,
the district court dismissed the plaintiffs’ case. The
plaintiffs, in turn, filed this timely appeal.

In this Court, a "motion under Rule 12(b)(6) tests
whether a claim has been adequately stated in the

4 Broyde, et al. v. Gotham Tower, et al. No. 92-2395

complaint. The basic a eae new for a pleading are set
out in Rule 8(a) and call for ‘a short and statement of
the claim showing that the pleader is entitled to relief.’ In

cones Sie 12(b)(6) motion, the court must accept
as true all $s in the laint." Nishiyama

v. Dickson County, Tenn., 814 F.2d , 279 (6th Cir.
1987) (en banc) ew leetions omitted). A’ Rule 12(b)(6)
motion should only be granted if "it open ve hash ge
that the plaintiff[s can prove N0 set

(their) mse which would entitle [them] - to S etiel, :
Hospital Bldg. 5. v. age og Rex Hosp., 425 U.S.

we 746 (1 Here, the oa assert that wo
Supreme Ba ; “recent opinion in Cipollone v. Ligget
Group, Inc., _. U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. , 120 L.Ed.
407 (1992), alters federal preemption sis, authorizes
their common law nuisance suit, and reversal of

the district court’s grant of defendant’s Rule 12(b)(6)
motion. We are not persuaded.

Initially, plaintiffs note correctly that Cipollone reaffirms
the presumption against federal preemption of state law.
The Court’s opinion, limited to consideration of the Federal
Cigarette Labeling and Raa g Act and the Public

1969, held that the

legislation did not certain state law damage
actions. Cipollone, 112 S.Ct. at 2625. In reaching this
conclusion, the Court emphasized that ” enactment
of provisions in the legislati ici the
ive reach of the statutes meant that "matters _
that reach are not pre ." Cipollone, 112 S.
specific preemption provision [lower tat ent sch
it turn to an i
preemption analysis. tar As the Court’s jones

pr Bowls apace prado gawrear congressional
command, state law is that law actually

conflicts with federal law, peter, 1 Bem Resceere
a legislative field ‘os W inlthe vensenie Cie
inference that left no room for the States to

supplement it.’” Jd. at 2617 (citations omitted).

No. 92-2395 Broyde, et al. v. Gotham Tower, etal. 5

Such an implied preemption analysis is appropriate here.
The Federal Communications Act does not contain an

explicit provision defining the legislation’s ive
scope that limits this Court’s inquiry. Rather, this

is required to determine whether the plaintiffs’ state law
nuisance action actually conflicts with the Act or if
— claim is necessarily displaced because the Act

y occupies the field.

The plaintiffs raise four challenges to the district court’s
judgment that the Federal Communications Act preempts
common law actions to remedy a nuisance caused by radio
signals. First, the plaintiffs assert that there is no language
in the Act that expressly preempts state nuisance suits.
Next, the plaintiffs. sae bch veoh savings clause, 47
U.S.C. § 414, demonstrates clear congressional intent to
preserve state claims and, thus, that the Act does not
occupy the field. Third, the tiffs maintain that there
is no actual conflict between provisions of the Act and
their common law nuisance action. Finally, the plaintiffs
contend that they are entitled to bring their nuisance action
to enforce state standards that exceed the obligations
imposed upon defendants under the Act.

This Court has carefully considered each of the plaintiffs’
arguments. Resolution of this matter, however, turns on a
single issue: the existence of an irreconcilable conflict
between the FCC’s exercise of exclusive jurisdiction over
the regulation of radio frequency interference and the
An ae Oe =! Court prod a FCC urisdicti

upreme recognizes, sj on

“over technical matters” associated with the transmission of
radio signals “is clearly exclusive." Head v. New Mexico
an a ee to 374 U.S. 424, 430 n.6
(1963); of. In Re ‘or Distance Telecommunications
Litigation, 831 F.2d 633 (6th Cir. 1987) oO pl
claims for fraud and deceit are Fe
Communications Act because fall wthise ~
conventional experience of judges” nd "do not require
agency expertise for their treatment"). The radio signal

po ee a

ae eS ee

6 Broyde, et al. v. Gotham Tower, et al. No. 92-2395

interference at issue here falls within the FCC’s technical
domain.

To promote exclusive FCC jurisdiction over radio signal
poms Phe i and systems, the Act
empowers to adopt regulations “establishing
minimum performance standards for home electronic
equipment and systems to reduce their ate
og ingest roe 47 U.S.C. §
302a (a)(2). In ratifying section in 1982, the
Conference Report that the amendments were:

intended to clarify the reservation of exclusive
jurisdiction to the Federal Communications
Commission over matters involving RFI [radio
freq interference]. Such matters shall not be
regulated by local or sae law, nor shall radi
transmitting apparatus ject to or state
regulation as part of any effort to resolve an RFI
complaint. The Conferees believe that radio
transmitter operators should not be subject to fines,
forfeitures, or other liability imposed by any local or
state authority as a result of interference appearing in
home electronic poe or systems. , the
Conferees intend regulation of RFI phenomena
shall be imposed only by the Commission.

— U.S. ne & Ad. News — Given =
explicit congressi pronouncements, enforcement o
plaintiffs’ state law nuisance action would frustrate the
objectives of the Act. yeaa the district court
properly granted defendants’ Rule 12(b)(6) motion.

The plaintiffs are not, however, left without a forum in
which to raise their radio one age interference
complaints. The residents may lodge informal written
complaints, y ogg ree setting forth the nature and
duration of interference, with the Gotham Tower
stations, the local FCC field office, and the FM Branch of
the Mass Media Bureau. See In Re Application of

Calvary
Educational Broadcasting Network, Inc., 7 F.C.C.R. 4037
(1992) (noting that FCC action followed the filing by local

No. 92-2395 Broyde, et al. v. Gotham Tower, et al. 7

residents of more than nine hundred blanketing interference
complaints); 47 C.F.R. § 1.41 a The residents may
also file petitions to y license or renewal
applications filed with the F the Gotham Tower
stations. 47 U.S.C. f 3090); 4 at kidesrt idlanicadt
Nite Sie ay ae

Network, Inc., hare POOR OR 4037 (1992) (1992)
(designating station's application for renewal of license for
pio ar Moai Sagem a yen Day ane soc
wil have an taking such steps, moreover, the plaintiffs

cules. “Under te AM tate Petes cay ak

ma
coviser of decielaas dad odie alae C in the United
States Court of for the District of Columbia
Circuit. 47 U.S.C. ); see also FCC v. ITT World

Communications, Inc. , U.S. 463, 468 (1984).

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district
court is affirmed.

a. Affidavit of Petitioner Jerry Novetsky
filed below.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN
SOUTHERN DIVISION
BERYL BROYD et al.,
Plaintiffs
vs. No. 92 CV 74176 DT
Hon. Lawrence Zatkoff
GOTHAM TOWER, INC. et al.,

Defendants.

State of Michigan )
) ss
County of Washtenaw )
JERRY NOVETSKY being first duly sworn
deposes and says:
1. I am a plaintiff in this cause.
Se On many occasions during 1990 I

complained to the Federal Communications

ii

Commission about interference from Gotham
Tower stations with various electric and
electronic devices and appliances in my
home. I spoke many times on the telephone
with Mr. James A. Bridgewater, Electronic
Engineer, Enforcement Division, Federal
Communications Commission Field Operations
Bureau, 24897 Hathaway St., Farmington
Hills, MI 48331-1398. On one occasion Mr.
Bridgewater came to my home to investigate,
and acknowledged the problems.

Je Mr. Bridgewater stated repeatedly
that there is, "...nothing the FCC can do
about your problem.” and stated that it is
not the function of the FCC to resolve
these kinds of problems. He said, “It is
not the function of the FCC to help
individuals who have interference from
stations, only where other transmitters
have interference.”

4. The FCC has done nothing to

iii

resolve my complaints about these stations.
It has taken no action regarding them. It
has taken no action regarding the other

complaints either.

s/
Jerry Novetsky

Subscribed and sworn to before

me this 9th day of October, 1992.

s/

Genevieve Greenfield, Notary Public
Washtenaw County, Michigan
My Commission Expires: 12-6-95

iv

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1398%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
