# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Karatinos v. Town of Juno Beach

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1339%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1127

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

¥31556APR1 1994

OrriCe OF tric Urcin

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1993
S

APHRODITE E. KARATINOS and
NICHOLAS E. KARATINOS,

Petitioners,

TOWN OF JUNO BEACH, FLORIDA,
Respondent.
+

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The District Court Of Appeal
Of The State Of Florida Fourth District

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
¢

H. LaurENCE Cooper, Jr.

Of Counsel to

BRACKETT, Cook, SNED, WELCH,
Hewitt, D’ANcIo & Tucker, P.A.

218 Datura Street

Post Office Box 3746

West Palm Beach, Florida 33402

Telephone: (407) 655-8631

Counsel of Record for Petitioners

Aphrodite E. Karatinos and

Nicholas E. Karatinos

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

— "s _en = =D

ee a Or ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where property owners are required to exhaust
administrative remedies before both a municipality and a
state agency prior to recovery of damages for rejection of
a development plan, if the property owners ultimately
obtain compensation for a permanent taking because of
the State’s regulation, is a municipality liable for tempo-
rary damages for the period that its zoning ordinance
barred commencement of the necessary State administra-
tive proceedings and at the same time prevented any
economic use of the property?

2. Whether the Court should resolve the conflict in
decisions of the lower courts and respond to their stated
uncertainty as to when a regulation goes too far in a
takings case and causes economic injuries which are dis-
proportionately concentrated on the property owners?

ii
PARTIES INVOLVED

Other than Petitioners and Respondent, the only
other party to this case was the State of Florida, Depart-
ment of Natural Resources which, shortly prior to the
trial before the Circuit Court, purchased the subject prop-
erty and was dismissed from this case.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented ..........+.-eeee eee e ee eeeeees i
Parties Involved ............e cece cece eee eeeeeeeees ii
Opinions Below ........-.--++eeeereee eee eerereeees 1
Jurisdiction. ......... 6c cece eee rete eee ee eee ee eeees 2
Constitutional, Statutory and Administrative Provi-
sions Involved ..........eeceee cece eee ereceeeees 3
Cc cee vec est ued eesetresetoeseesvecnse 3
Reasons for Granting the Petition...........-.----- 14
CURIE oo oo cco e ce ccccesveeceenceeccessesaees 28
Appendix A........-eeee cere reer ner eneeereees App. 1
Appendix B .......... eee e cere eee e reer ee rreees App. 7
Appendix C ....... ese eee e cece eect erence ences App. 15
Appendix D........-..0eeeee cece ener creer ences App. 17
Appendix E ...........eeeee reece nent eee eeeees App. 18
Appendix F ......... eee e cere cece teen eee eeees App. 22
Appendix G....... see eee reece eee e reer eerees App. 36

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CAsEs:
A.A. Profiles, Inc. v. City of Ft. Lauderdale, 850
ae. BOGS CUE Cae, Seer sccccciveccdasecdeniees 25
Barima Inv. Co. v. United States, 771 F.Supp. 1187
GER. BOG cciccccscccesivcsictreressticertecs 25
Bigelow v. Michigan Dept. of Natural Resources,
SFO ROe 56 Gore Ge BPG ese cv ecevsaveusscderesess 24
Carpenter v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 804
Roepe. 13516 (RNG TPG sect decisencviceecss 22
City of Baltimore v. Kelso Corp., 380 A.2d 216
Fi iccnskvescatniricosmbenbatnadiseneataie 21
Dade County v. National Bulk Carriers, Inc., 450
Sea TER i. TR co oncccdcvcivececetsevieon 24, 25
Eide v. Sarasota County, 908 F.2d 716 (11th Cir.
PE Aine n5-0000dnheeebeee tp emeneenniie een euereid 24
Executive 100, Inc. v. Martin County, 922 F.2d 1536
CR, SES bdicaen pe kemmneuetbciginnndnakibesskens 25

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.
County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987)
ijadpiebes bane 64 eeethbaraiaeel 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 25

Glisson v. Alachua County, 558 So.2d 1030 (Fla. 1st
BEE Sb thos 0 0:kcdosnd enednenateaens 12, 25

Greenbriar, Ltd. v. City of Alabaster, 881 F.2d 1570
CR Rae SN a id dirk hb dere sede ease 24

Joint Ventures, Inc. v. Department of Transp., 563
ee ee a, SE ek 6s bs ke cba wawedadinnnes 25

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, 818 F.2d 1449, as

amended, 830 F.2d 968 (9th Cir. 1987)..........

Kissinger v. City of Los Angeles, 327 P.2d 10
| Serer rere rr rrrrr ery oi rr re reer er ee

Lake Lucerne Civic Ass’n v. Dolphin Stadium
Corp., 878 F.2d 1360 (11th Cir. 1989)..........

Lee County v. Morales, 557 So.2d 652 (Fla. 2nd
vt We | wer rrrrerr rr ri erie irre iy reise

Lomarch Corp. v. Mayor and Common Council of

the City of Englewood, 237 A.2d 881 (N.J. 1968) ....

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp,,
458 U.S. 419 (1982) 2.066 ccc ccc ce reece cess.

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct.
SOGE CIDER) ccc ccecdvccecadi ceriveree ir cds 15,

MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County, 477
U.S. 340, reh’g denied, 478 U.S. 1035 (1986)

Page

gb 080 R EP EE EEE EEERCEEETACUFOEA CARED EF: 2, 23, 24, 26

McNulty v. Town of Indiatlantic, 727 F.Supp. 604
(OLD. Fle. 1909) ccccccecccceccceeescederserats

Mt. Healthy City School Dist. Board of Education

v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274 (1987) ....-. 20000-2000

Monroe County v. Gonzales, 593 So.2d 1143 (Fla.

Sok TCA. BORED... caide co cde rccdvevemdrdeted ewe

Nemmers v. City of Dubuque, 716 F.2d 1194 (8th
Cir. 1983), aff’d, 764 F.2d 502 (8th Cir. 1985)...

hie: eee

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIBS — Continued

Page
New Port Largo, Inc. v. Monroe County, 985 F.2d
L406. (Lith. Cis: 190G. ec cvvecvsrivivecties tetera .
Oliver v. United States, 466 U.S. 170 (1984) ...... 27 '
'
Orlando/Orange County Expressway Auth. v. W
& F. Agrigrowth-Ferndale, Ltd., 582 So.2d 790
2 eS SS re seeesererndt veda +
Reahard v. Lee County, 968 F.2d 1131 (11th Cir
ana EE sie Epcos aco 2 Set Es 23, 24
San Antonio River Auth. v. Garrett Bros., 528
> W.2d 266 (Tex. Civ. App: 1973)... 660 ccvevies 22
Southview Associates, Ltd. v. Bongartz, 980 F.2d
Oe 0 Ce. TOS 60 0 vec i ot-eeee eeeeeeenee ern 23
Taylor Inv. Ltd. v. Upper Darby Tp., 983 F.2d 1285
‘Fe er seme tine eee ae
Town of Indiatlantic v. McNulty, 400 So.2d 1227
CEams. Siee Ee ROE Y « <2.0:05.4y-dotememeiebenebeuaes 16
Unity Ventures v. Lake County, 841 F.2d 770 (7th |
Gabe PIES 6 0 0 6:0: 0'0-4.0.5.0'k beeen eae 24

Vatalaro v. Dept. of Environmental Regulation,
601 So.2d 1223 (Fla. 5th DCA 1992).... 14, 15, 16, 18

Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan
Housing Development Corp., 429 U.S. 252
CRUE. « & «(2204049 4-40 bak bo6o ee eeaee Caen 27

Villas of Lake Jackson, Ltd. v. Leon County, 796
Fee. 1477 CRD Bits. TSMR ie on snc anceacece. 25

Williamson County Regional Planning v. Ham-
ilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985)......... 12, 23, 24, 26

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Statutes AND ReovtLATIONs:

\ 42 US.C. Sec. 1983 (1988)... 2, 3, 11
Sec. 161.941 Florida Statutes (1979). ._.. 4
Sec. 161.053(2) Florida Statutes (1979). ......... 4
Sec. 161.053(4}(b) Florida Statutes (1979) .....5, 6, 19

Sec. 161.953(8) and (19) Florida Statutes (1979).... 18

Sec. 16B-33.98(1)(c) Florida Administrative
pedddsae. rie tA & B

Sec. 5.120 Town of Juno Beach Zoning Code

4i03 Bee errr pusererei passim
Orner AUTHORITIES:

Richard A. Epstein, “Property, Speech and the

Politics of Distrust”, 59 U. of Chicago Law Review

41 (1992).... | , 27

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993
’

APHRODITE E. KARATINOS and
NICHOLAS E. KARATINOS,

Petitioners,

TOWN OF JUNO BEACH, FLORIDA,
Respondent.

oon ¢

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The District Court Of Appeal
Of The State Of Florida Fourth District
Sd

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
+

Aphrodite E. Karatinos and Nicholas E. Karatinos, by
their undersigned attorney, petition the Court to issue a
writ of certiorari to review the decision of the District
Court of Appeal Fourth District of the State of Florida in
this case.

°

OPINIONS BELOW

This action was originally filed in 1983 in the Circuit
Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida seeking
damages in inverse condemnation against the State of

Florida Department of Natural Resources [DNR] and
seeking declaratory relief and damages for a temporary
taking pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983 from the Town of
Juno Beach (Juno). App. F, infra, 22-35. Shortly before trial
the DNR purchased the subject property and was dis-
missed from the case. The case against Juno went to trial
on the Amended Supplemental Complaint before the
court without a jury on the issue of whether there had
been a temporary taking. The issue of damages was
reserved for a jury trial at a later date in the event that
the court found a taking. The trial court entered its final
judgment in favor of the defendant Juno on January 7,
1992. App. B infra, 7-14. The decision of the Fourth Dis-
trict Court of Appeal, which is reported at 621 So.2d 469
(Fla. 4th DCA 1993), App. A, infra, 1-4, was entered on
April 14, 1993 affirming the final judgment of the trial
court. The District Court of Appeal denied a timely peti-
tion for rehearing on August 11, 1993, Anstead, J. concur-
ring specially with opinion. App. A, infra, 4-6. Thereafter,
on January 21, 1994, the Supreme Court of Florida denied
a petitior. for review. App. C, infra, 15-16.

S

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked as this case
involves the construction and application by the trial and
appellate courts of the State of Florida of U.S. Constitu-
tional provisions, and the federal statutory provisions of
42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983. The Fifth Amendment protection
against the taking of private property for public use,
without just compensation, applies against the States
through the Fourteenth Amendment. See, MacDonald,

"
2
“

Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County, 477 U.S. 340, 342 n.1
(1986).

S

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND
ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIO! S INVOLVED

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United
States Constitution, 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983 (1988), selected
provisions of Chapter 161 Florida Statutes (1979), Section
16B-33.08(1)(c) of the Florida Administrative Code, and
Section 5.120 of the Zoning Code of the Town of Juno
Beach (1979). Pertinent portions of these provisions are
reprinted and attached hereto at Appendix G.

¢

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner Aphrodite E. Karatinos, and her hus-
band Emanuel, who has since passed away, purchased on
February 25, 1958 unimproved oceanfront property in
Juno in fee simple absolute, intending to develop in order
to provide income during their retirement. Mr. Karatinos
died in 1973 after a long struggle with cancer, prior to his
being able to develop the property. In 1976 Mrs. Kar-
atinos conveyed a one-half interest in the property to her
son, Petitioner Nicholas E. Karatinos, and they continued
to own the property in fee simple absolute until the fall of
1991 when it was purchased by the State of Florida in
partial settlement of the instant litigation.

In 1958, permits to improve were available from the
Town of Juno Beach, Florida, subject to a 50-foot setback
from the mean high-water line. In 1964 Juno established

its RM-2 Residential Moderate Density zoning on proper-
ties in the northern half of Juno (including the Karatinos
property) which allows up to 12 multifamily units per
acre. The Karatinos property is almost an acre in size. The
property has 209 feet of oceanfront and the western bor-
der (abutting state road A1A) is approximately 200 feet
from the water’s edge. Juno has ailowed multi-family
structures to be built on similar beachfront properties
south of the Petitioners’ property in the same RM-2 zon-
ing district.

Pursuant to Section 161.041 Florida Statutes (1979),
the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) posesses
exclusive right to issue permits on oceanfront property in
the State of Florida. Section 161.053(2) Florida Statutes
(1979) requires the establishment of “coastal construction
control lines [CCCL] . . . by the department [DNR] . . . for
the protection of upland properties and the control of
beach erosion.” DNR established the CCCL in Juno in
1979. The line runs through the Karatinos property, paral-
lel to the ocean, approximately 20 feet east of its western
border. Shortly thereafter, in 1979 Juno enacted Section
5.120 of its zoning ordinance which established a setback
line, 50 feet to the west of the CCCL, entirely landward of
and off of the Karatinos property. Section 5.120 states in
applicable part:

b. No wall, fence or other structure shall be
erected easterly of a point fifty (50) west of
the Coastal Construction Control Line
except as otherwise permitted by this sec-
tion.

c. Modifications to sections . . . 5.120b may be
granted only by the Town Commission.

Prior to hearing by the Town Commission
the following conditions shall be met;

(1) Approval of the requested modification
by the Florida Bureau of Beaches and
Shores [DNR]; .. .

The Bureau of Beaches and Shores is a part of the
DNR. Section 161.053(4)(b) Florida Statutes (1979) does
not allow the DNR to “ . . . contravene setback require-
ments, or zoning, or building codes, established by a
county or municipality which are equal to, or more strict
than those requirements provided herein.” Rule
16B-33.08(1)(c) Florida Administrative Code provides that
an application for a permit from the DNR must contain
“ .. written evidence, provided by the appropriate local
governmental agency having jurisdiction over the activ-
ity, that the proposed activity as submitted to the bureau
[Bureau of Beaches and Shores] does not contravene local
setback requirements or zoning or building codes.” Thus,
Juno’s requirement of prior DNR, Beaches and Shores
approval inherently conflicts with the State’s statutory
and regulatory requirement of prior local approval.

The Karatinos began development activities in the
summer of 1980 seeking to build two 3,500 square foot
residences on their property. This is a very modest project
in view of the property’s size (almost an acre) and the
fact that the RM-2 zoning allows up to 12 units per acre.
Oceanfront property owners in Juno immediately south
of the Karatinos property built high density multi-family,
multi-story buildings to take full advantage of the RM-2
zoning. An architect was retained to press for project
approval and complied with all of Juno’s demands during

the application process. At Juno’s request, he submitted

an application for site plan approval together with draw-

ings which showed the exact placement of the project on

the property. The site plan was presented by the architect

at a Planning and Zoning Commission regular meeting

chaired by Zoning Commissioner Don Durnell, and fol-

lowing that at a City Commission workshop. Planning

and Zoning recommended disapproval because the pro-

ject failed to comply with ordinance 5.120. App. F, infra,
25. Although not specifically noted by Planning and Zon-
ing, the provisions not complied with were the 50 foot
setback line and prior approval from Beaches and Shores
[DNR]. Then, on January 13, 1982, the architect presented
the project to the Juno Town Commission, Juno’s highest
legislative body, which followed the recommendation of
Planning and Zoning and denied site plan approval.

Petitioners did not file suit against Juno at this time
because in order to obtain a modification of its 50 foot
setback requirement ordinance 5.120 required approval of
DNR (Beaches and Shores). Accordingly, Petitioners’
experts submitted a project application to the DNR seek-
ing project approval. DNR refused to accept the project
application, relying upon the statute [Sec. 161.053(4)(b)
Florida Statutes (1979)] and regulations [Sec.
16B-33.08(1)(c), Florida Administrative Code] which
require prior project approval from a local jurisdiction.
The Karatinos appealed to the Governor, who, with the
Cabinet, collectively constitute the head of DNR, seeking
a waiver from this requirement, but were refused. Thus,
Juno’s application of its zoning ordinance created a clas-
sic “Catch-22” as neither Juno’s ordinance nor the State’s
requirements could be satisfied. App. A, infra, 3.

Following DNR’s refusal, the architect returned to
Juno and sought a waiver from the provision of ordinance
5.120 from Juno’s Zoning Commissioner, Don Durnell,
who had chaired Juno’s Planning and Zoning Commis-
sion which had reviewed the project in December 1981.
By letter of October 27, 1982, Mr. Durnell refused to
provide a statement of no objection to the project. The
architect again sought project approval from Juno, or in
the alternative, Juno’s final determination. By letter of
November 15, 1982, (App. D, infra, 17) Mr. Durnell stated:

After our meeting on November 5, 1982, I
requested an opinion from the Town attorney
regarding my letter to you dated October 27,
1982. Mr. Adams opinion is that the Juno Beach
Commissioners denial of the Karatinos request
on January 13, 1982 is final and not subject to
appeal. . . . [Emphasis supplied]

Their modest project rejected by both Juno and by the
State, in 1983 the Karatinos filed the instant lawsuit nam-
ing both Juno and the State of Florida, seeking declara-
tory relief from zoning ordinance 5.120 and damages.
Their complaint, App. F, infra, 22-35, alleged violation of
federal Constitutional provisions, Id. at 29 and 31, and of
42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983, Id. at 30.

Due to the cost of construction and the heavy burden
of exhausting all administrative remedies before Juno and
the State, the two-home project was no longer financially
viable. The project was upgraded to 6 residential units
which were still well within RM-2 density. The architect
submitted detailed construction plans to Juno which
would be sufficient to allow a contractor to bid the pro-
ject and build it.

The provisions of ordinance 5.120 remained in effect
in 1983, 1984 and 1985 which barred the filing of a project
application with the State, DNR. In addition, Juno’s Com-
prehensive Plan which showed the Karatinos property as
recreation and open space conflicted with Juno’s RM-2
zoning of the property which allowed up to 12 units per
acre. App. F, infra, 24-25. This conflict had been created
by Juno’s own action in June 1979 when Juno had enacted
its Comprehensive Plan. Despite written protests to Juno
and meeting with Juno officials by the Karatinos zoning
attorney and architect in the period July through Novem-
ber 1984, Juno refused to correct this self-created impedi-
ment and insisted that the Karatinos p: .‘°n to change
the Comprehensive Plan so that it wev' conform to
Juno’s zoning map, which they did.

On December 12, 1984, Juno’s planning consultant
issued his report acknowledging the conflict between the
Comprehensive Plan and the zoning ordinance. With a
trial date approaching, on March 6, 1985 Juno held a
public hearing on the issue of changing the Comprehen-
sive Plan to conform to the RM-2 zoning. The Plan was
amended by Juno on May 8, 1985 to correct the inconsis-
tency. On May 20, 1985, Planning and Zoning recom-
mended denial of Petitioners’ six unit project. On June 3,
1985, Petitioners’ architect was required by Juno to file an
application for “special exception/variance” prior to con-
sideration of the project by the Town Commission. The
Karatinos were seeking to build residences which were
squarely within the intent of the RM-2, moderate density
residential zoning. They were not seeking to build a
church or a gas station which would require a special
exception. Only a modification of ordinance 5.120’s 50

foot setback line and waiver of the requirement of prior
DNR approval were essential from Juno which would
allow the State permit process to begin. Despite this,
Petitioners continued to follow Juno’s instructions in the
applications process. The form was submitted, following
which a public hearing was held before the Town Com-
mission on June 10, 1985. The Town Commission sur-
prised Petitioners by issuing a resolution allowing two
units rather than the six units requested. Petitioners’
architect and attorney protested the proposed reduction
to two units as the zoning clearly allowed six units, the
lesser project was no longer financially feasible, and there
was no application pending for two units. Despite Peti-
tioners’ objections, at a public hearing on August 14,
1985, the Town Commission approved two units.

At trial in 1991, Petitioners’ experts, including an
engineer, a coastal engineer, an architect, a contractor and
construction estimator, and an appraiser together demon-
strated that a two unit structure built in accordance with
DNR requirements would not have been economically
feasible in 1985, 1987, or in 1991. App. B, infra, 9-10. Juno
offered no expert testimony in rebuttal. Mr. Karatinos
testified that the two-home project was marginally eco-
nomically feasible in 1982.

Juno rejected the six unit project despite its meeting
Juno’s RM-2 moderate density residential zoning require-
ments. On September 17, 1985, Juno by letter transmitted
its Resolution 85-10 (App. E, infra, 18-21) to the DNR
expressing the Commission’s opposition to any construc-
tion on the Karatinos property, and urging the State to
defend its Coastal Construction Control Line. Id. at 18.

10

Juno’s Resolution belied its indicated approval of two
units which is not mentioned in the Resolution. The Reso-
lution itself states, inter alia, that Juno “ . . . granted a
special exception and modification to the [Juno] setback
line . . . only because of the existing litigation and the
Town’s lack of financial resources to defend said litiga-
tion and to purchase said property should inverse con-
demnation be granted.” Id. at 20.

~ omar

2. The DNR after numerous submissions by Peti-
tioners’ experts beginning in the fall of 1985 finally on
March 13, 1986 acknowledged that the application for a
permit was complete. On May 20, 1986, the Governor and
Cabinet, sitting as head of DNR, affirmed the staff recom-
mendation and disapproved the application based upon
environmental considerations. A timely appeal was filed
and a hearing was held before a State Hearing Officer in
October 1986 who, on February 19, 1987, issued recom-
mended Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law affirm- .
ing the decision of the Governor and Cabinet. On May 1,
1987, the Governor and Cabinet adopted his findings and
finally denied the application on environmental grounds.
App. F, infra, 26-27.

Trial activity, which had been abated pending a final
administrative determination, resumed. The DNR filed a
motion for summary judgment and supporting affidavit
of Alfred Devereaux, then Chief of the Bureau of Beaches
and Shores of the DNR, who stated that it might be
possible for the DNR to approve a structure cantilevered
over the CCCL on the Karatinos property. This showed
that the DNR had not foreclosed approval of a residential
structure on the Karatinos property. Mr. Devereaux’s
sworn statement was contradicted at trial by Ralph Clark,

in |

11

a DNR coastal engineer, who testified that DNR would
never have permitted any building seaward of the
Coastal Construction Control Line on the Karatinos prop-
erty. It was not until August 31, 1991 that the DNR,
through its attorney, wrote Petitioners acknowledging
that the DNR had determined that it would not allow any
residential structure on the Karatinos property. Shortly
thereafter, the DNR purchased the Karatinos property
and was dismissed from the case.

3. The matter was litigated before the trial court
seeking damages from Juno for a temporary taking pur-
suant to 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983 and federal Constitutional
provisions. App. A, infra, 2, 5. The trial court held that
Petitioners had exhausted their administrative remedies
before Juno and thus reached the merits of the “taking”
claim. App. B, infra, 11. Standing at the end of the admin-
istrative process, the Court found ” .. . that there was no
possible way that the Plaintiffs were ever going to get
approval from the State to build inside the coastal con-
struction control line.” Id. at 10. The court determined
that the project was “ . . . doomed, regardless of the
Town’s actions.” Id. at 10. The Court held it unessential to
determine whether Juno had misapplied its administra-
tive procedures in insisting upon either a modification or
a variance in consideration of Petitioners’ projects, and
did not reach the issue of Juno’s down-zoning of the
property to two units as the number of units did not
matter in view of the factual holding that Petitioners
“ .. stood no chance of getting State approval.” Id. at 11.
Finally, the Court held that Juno’s error on its land use
maps vis a vis the zoning ordinance (“recreational” versus
RM-2) did not result in a denial of property rights as Juno

12

took adequate steps to correct its error, and that despite
its “recreational” designation of the property, Juno did
not seek it as such. Id. at 11. The Court denied the request
for damages, stating:

Section 5.120(b) of the Town’s Ordinances (50’

setback) is not an improper or unlawful exercise |
of the Town’s police power. This regulation is
not so onerous that it in effect appropriates the

property. It had no known diminution in the
investment-profit contemplated (since the

D.N.R. killed all Plaintiffs’ plans). The fact that

the Plaintiffs’ property is entirely inside the set-

back, is not dispositive. There is a variance or

modification procedure and the regulation when

viewed in light of its purpose, its generic effect

and economic impact, is not an invalid exercise

of police power. E.g., Williamson Co. Regional

Planning v. Hamilton Bank, 105 S. Ct. 3108 (1985),

Glisson v. Alachua County, 558 So. 2d 1030 (Fla. 1

D.C.A. 1990), McNulty v. Town of Indialantic (sic),

727 F.Supp. 604 (M.D. Fla. 1989). Id. at 13.

Thus, the trial court rejected the federal Constitutional
and federal statutory matters presented to it.

4. All of the federal Constitutional and federal stat-
utory matters presented to the trial court were raised
again to the appellate tribunal which affirmed the lower
court, acknowledging that the Karatinos were caught in
“a classic Catch-22” between Juno and the State, App. A,
infra, 2-3, but noting, inter alia:

In 1991 DNR purchased the Karatinos’ property,

but the Karatinos continued their claim against

the town, claiming they were improperly

deprived of all use of their property by the town
from 1982, when the town first turned their

a aaaeaeteenaeninniann eae

13

project down, to 1985, when the town approved
two units. The town denied that it did anything
improper and, in the alternative, argued that if
its actions were improper they were not the
cause of the Karatinos’ damages. We agree with
the town’s alternative argument and therefore
need not decide whether it acted properly. Id. at
4.

The Appellate Court accepted the lower court's factual
finding that Petitioners would never have gotten
approval from DNR to build seaward of the Coastal Con-
struction Control Line and that accordingly the project
“ ... was doomed, regardless of the Town’s action.” Id. at
4. The Court acknowledged that since DNR did not pur-
chase the property until 1991, there was a possibility that
DNR would have approved their project during 1982 to
1985. Id. at 4. The Court concluded, “[WJhile this may
have been a possibility, it cannot be the basis to reverse
findings of fact supported by competent evidence that
DNR would never have allowed anything to be built on
the property.” Id. at 4.

Petitioners’ motion for rehearing was denied,
Anstead, J., concurring specially. Judge Anstead termed
Juno’s insistence upon applying its ordinance provision
to the property requiring prior state approval in the
period January 1982 through September 1985 a
“ .. snafu that was eventually worked out.” Id. at 6. He
finds “. . . no doubt that the town’s ordinance and action
delayed the owners’ attempt to get a final answer to their
request to develop.” Id. at 5. Judge Anstead stated fur-
ther:

14

... | would place this delay more in the category
of the “normal delays” created by the myriad of
governmental procedures mentioned by the
Supreme Court in First English Evangelical
Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S.
304, 321 ..., as not giving rise to a temporary
taking or entitlement to compensation. Obvi-
ously, not every delay in the development pro-
cess attributable to the government results in a
“temporary taking”. This is true even where the
delay is the “fault” of the government. Id. at 5-6.

5. The Supreme Court of the State of Florida denied
Petitioners’ Request for Review on January 21, 1994. App.
C, infra, 15.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The factual finding by the Trial Court was that Peti-
tioners’ project was “doomed” because of the State
Coastal Construction Control Line (CCCL). App. B, infra,
10. Because of that, Petitioners ultimately received per-
manent taking damages in a settlement with the State. Id.
at 9. The Town of Juno Beach denied the Petitioners’
application for project approval in January, 1982 but the
State, DNR did not finally deny Petitioners’ application
until May, 1987. Under established precedent in Florida,
Vatalaro v. Dept. of Environmental Regulation, 601 So.2d
1223 (Fla. 5th DCA 1992), the actual “taking” did not
occur until Petitioners had exhausted their administrative
remedies before the Town and the State by getting a final
order from the Governor and Cabinet of the State of
Florida on May 1, 1987, following specific findings of fact

15

in a State administrative hearing. In Lucas v. South Caro-
lina Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct. 2886 (1992) it was held that
the mere possibility that a permit could be awarded was
sufficient to require exhaustion of all administrative
remedies. The holding that Petitioners suffered no dam-
age from the Town’s denial because they were never
going to get a permit from DNR, conflicts with the hold-
ings that a taking does not occur until denial of the
landowners’ permit application. The decision in this case
rolls back the effect of the DNR taking to a much earlier
date.

In deciding this case on the facts alone the lower
Courts have overlooked the application not only of Lucas
and Vatalaro, but also First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) in
which this Court held that a property owner is entitled to
compensation where a regulation, even though tempo-
rary, deprives the property owner of all beneficial use of
its property. Juno’s ordinance 5.120, of course, deprived
the property owners of all beneficial use of this property,
absent a modification, but inherent within the ordinance
itself was a bar to Petitioners ever obtaining a modifica-
tion because of the “Catch 22” the ordinance created with
the State regulation. Petitioners in this case are entitled to
compensation because the municipal ordinance made it
impossible for the Petitioners to even seek permanent
taking damages from the State at any time prior to the
time when the Town finally permitted the Petitioners to
complete their application for the State permit.

As set forth infra, at pp. 22-25, the U.S. Courts of
Appeals and the Florida courts have stated their uncer-
tainty as to when a regulation goes too far in takings

16

cases, finding that takings decisions depend largely upon
the particular circumstances in each case which are to be
decided on an ad hoc, factual basis. As the courts, gov-
ernment and property owners have become more experi-
enced in dealing with “takings” issues, it may be
appropriate to provide guidance as to when a govern-
mental regulation goes too far in a takings case and
causes economic injuries which are disproportionately
concentrated on the property owners. Clarity on this
point would avoid the delay which often occurs in tak-
ings cases, and the potential for economic losses to gov-
ernment and property owners, in which, as here, the
Petitioners were required to deal with both state and local
government, and could not even reach the State as Juno,
using various tactics of delay, refused for almost four
years to release Petitioners’ project application.

1. In 1982, a complaint against only the DNR alleg-
ing that the State had “doomed” any habitable project
would have been promptly dismissed had Petitioners not
first fully exhausted their administrative remedies before
both Juno and the State. See, e.g., Town of Indiatlantic v.
McNulty, 400 So.2d 1227 (Fla. 5th DCA 1981). Thus, the
ruling in this case that one can look to the end of the
administrative process and determine that a project was
“doomed” ab initio turns the law on its head and is
inconsistent with extant takings precedent. See, e.g.,
Vatalaro v. Dept. of Environmental Regulation, 601 So.2d at
1223, which held that no taking occurred until the
Department denied the landowner’s permit application.
Moreover, in Lucas, 112 S. Ct. at 2286, Lucas filed suit
without submitting a development plan, as the South
Carolina coastal act from 1988 to 1990 did not provide for

17

an exception to its coastal control line. The Court
accepted the controversy as ripe and considered the case
on its merits, finding a taking. Upon remand, the Court
required Lucas to seek to secure a special permit for
project approval pursuant to an amendment to the coastal
act passed in 1990 which provided for a variance pro-
cedure. The Court did not speculate whether South Caro-
lina had ever made an exception to its coastal act — the
mere possibility that a permit could be awarded was
sufficient to require full exhaustion of all administrative
remedies, including the submission of a development
plan to the political authorities, giving them an oppor-
tunity to approve or to reject it.

As the record in this case demonstrates, Petitioners
were careful to comply with all requests of Juno and of
the State in the administrative process. In January 1982,
they received a final determination from Juno’s Town
Commission, Juno’s highest legislative body, which
rejected the project, applying ordinance 5.120 which is
facially inconsistent with extant state laws and regula-
tions. This created a “Catch 22” which Juno’s agent, Zon-
ing Commissioner Don Durnell, by letter reaffirmed as
“final”. App. D, infra, 17. Having received a “final” denial
of their modest two home project, the Karatinos were
squarely within the holding of First English Evangelical
Lutheran Church, 482 U.S. at 321, wherein the Court
stated:

We merely hold that where the government’s
activities have already worked a taking of all
use of property, no subsequent action by the
government can relieve it of the duty to provide
compensation for the period during which the

18

taking was effective. .. . the ordinance in ques-
tion denied appellant all use of its property.

; Accord, Lucas, 112 S. Ct. at 2901, fn. 17 of the majority
opinion. Thus, Juno’s subsequent approval of 2 units in
August, 1985 should not relieve it from providing com-
pensation for its earlier, “final” denial of a permit for
reasonable use of the property. The holding in First
English in part was intended to prevent the very abuse
which occurred here, to prevent an overregulating gov-
ernment from escaping a compensation claim by simply
withdrawing it where it appeared that the regulatory
action would result in liability.

After Juno issued Resolution 85-10, App. E, infra,
18-21, in August, 1985, the administrative process shifted
to the State, DNR. The heavy burden of exhaustion of
administrative remedies required that a project deter-
mination be secured from the Governor and Cabinet who
together sit as the head of the DNR as they have legal
discretion to approve a project which encroaches upon
the CCCL. See Sec. 161.053(8) and (10) Florida Statutes
(1979). It was not possible to know in advance that the
Governor and Cabinet would deny project approval. The
rulings in this case in reliance upon a factual holding that
the Governor and Cabinet had “doomed” any habitable
structure prior to being put to the test represents a signif-
icant change in extant law and places an impossible bur-
den on the property owners who under extant law must
initially exhaust administrative remedies. See Vatalaro,
Lucas, and First English Evangelical Lutheran Church cited
above.

iim

19

ae. ee... ee ee

Even though the State in 1991 finally decided that it
would not allow any habitable structures on its property,
and thus “doomed” any project, the law does not excuse
Juno from the application of the temporary takings hold-
ings of this Court. Under Florida law, [Sec. 161.053(4)(b)
Florida Statutes (1979), Sec. 16B-33.08(1)(c) Florida
Administrative Code] Juno initially possessed sole con-
trol over the permit process as Florida’s coastal legisla-
tion requires local approval prior to the State’s
consideration of a permit. Juno’s “final” denial of the
modest two home project in 1982 was a taking which,
even if subsequently modified, could not nullify the
requirement to compensate for the temporary taking. A
holding in hindsight that the State in 1991 ultimately
“doomed” the project cannot be a defense to Juno’s
“final” denial of project approval in 1982 during a period
in which the State had no control over the permit process
and which was based upon Juno’s self-created conflict of
its ordinance with State law.

Judge Anstead in his specially concurring opinion,
App. A, infra, 5-6, places the delay of almost four years in
the category of the “normal delays” mentioned in First
English, 482 U.S. at 321, that “we limit our holding to the
facts presented, and, of course, do not deal with the quite
different questions that would arise from normal delays
in obtaining building permits, changes in zoning ordi-
nances, variances and the like which are not before us.”
Had the Town granted Petitioners’ request for a letter of
no objection in late 1982 or even had the Town responded
in 1983 when the allegations of the Complaint again
informed it of the problem, the factual situation might
have met the language of this Court, but here the Town

20

made no effort until late 1985 to change its zoning ordi-
nance, was not conducting any investigation and was not
doing anything to alleviate the problem which it created.

First, Juno continued to stand on the provisions of
ordinance 5.120 which were facially defective in requiring
prior state approval of any project. This barred the filing
of any project application with the state for almost four
years until waived by Juno in the fall of 1985.

Second, Juno, when it enacted its Comprehensive
Plan in 1979, created an inconsistency between its land
use map which showed the Karatinos property as recre-
ation and open space, and its zoning ordinance which
allowed up to 12 units per acre on the property. Juno was
asked to waive its self-created inconsistency, but refused.
Designating the Karatinos property as a recreational area
is the clearest kind of taking as it directly substitutes
public enjoyment of property for private property use
and enjoyment. Rather than accepting its obligation to
govern, Juno shifted the burden to the Karatinos, placing
it on the wrong party. Juno’s action delayed the Karatinos
approximately nine additional months, increased their
costs, and was a taking of their property. See, e.g.,
Lomarch Corp. v. Mayor and Common Council of the City of
Englewood, 237 A.2d 881 (N.J. 1968) where a one-year
reservation for park and playgrounds was held a taking.
In order for the court to uphold the constitutionality of
the statute, it engrafted a requirement that the city pay
the equivalent of an option payment for the property.

Third, Juno insisted that Petitioners file for a “special
exception/variance” for their 6 unit project in 1984-85.
The process of site plan review utilized by Juno in 1982 in

21

evaluating the two home project was well adapted to
reaching a determination for project approval as the
architect’s plans showing the exact placement of the pro-
posed building on the site allowed an effective review by
Juno. Requiring a “special exception/variance” for the 6
residential units was facially unnecessary as the RM-2
zoning allowed residences and Petitioners were seeking
to build residences. They had not sought to build, for
example, a church or a gas station, which would have
required a “special exception/variance.”

Fourth, Juno in 1985 decided to down-zone the prop-
erty, reducing the project from six units to two units even
though the RM-2 zoning allowed up to 12 residences per
acre, no application was pending for two units, and Juno
had been informed by the Karatinos attorney and archi-
tect that two units was no longer financially feasible.
Down zoning is unlawful if the intent is to limit potential
liability in litigation. See Kissinger v. City of Los Angeles,
327 P.2d 10, 16 (1958); City of Baltimore v. Kelso Corp., 380
A.2d 216, 220 (1977). In this regard, Juno’s intent to limit
its liability is manifest in its Resolution 85-10:

... the Town... granted the Karatinos a special
exception and modification to the set back line-

. . only because of the existing litigation and
the Town’s lack of financial resources to defend
said litigation and to purchase said property
should inverse condemnation be granted. App.
E, infra, 19-20.

In the context of all of Juno’s actions, including the
transparent rationalization of Resolution 85-10, and
Juno’s reliance upon a succession of self-created mistakes
and inconsistencies to delay the project, was the delay a

22

“normal” one, or was Juno seeking to reduce its liability
in the face of takings litigation and its desire to preserve
the Karatinos property for its own purposes? See, e.g.,
Nemmers v. City of Dubuque, 716 F.2d 1194, 1195-96 (8th
Cir. 1983), aff’d 764 F.2d 502 (8th Cir. 1985) where the city
annexed land already zoned for industrial park purposes
and scheduled for private development and then the city
proceeded for over a four year period to change its
municipal mind four times as to its preferred use; San
Antonio River Auth. v. Garrett Bros., 528 S.W.2d 266, 274
(Tex. Civ. App. 1975) where the city attempted to “rig”
the market in its favor under the guise of the police
power by withholding permits and otherwise interrupt-
ing private development.

Both the trial court and the intermediate appellate
court appear influenced by the fact that the property was
sold to the State of Florida to satisfy a permanent taking.
Damages should be available from Juno for a temporary
taking which occurred during a finite time prior to the
sale of the property during which Juno had sole control
over the permit process. See Carpenter v. Tahoe Regional
Planning Agency, 804 F.Supp. 1316, 1322 (D.Nev. 1992)
where the court concluded as a matter of law that the sale
of plaintiff’s property to the State for “fair market value”
did not waive any rights she had to sue for compensation
for a temporary taking of land that she did not any longer
own.

2. When does government regulation go too far in
depriving a property owner of the use of her property
resulting in a taking? The Court has held that takings
challenges are not ripe unless the property owner has

ee eT ea ee ae Tee ee me

23

given local land-planning authorities the opportunity to
render a final decision on the nature and extent of the
impact of the zoning ordinances on the property. See
Williamson Planning Comm. v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172,
193 (1985). In MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County,
477 U.S. 340, 351-52 (1986) the property owner’s claim
was found to be premature because, even though the
plan’s rejection was appealed, the property owner had
not submitted less intensive development plans with the
planning commission which left open the possibility that
some development would be permitted. In dissent Justice
White offered his own view of the finality issue:

For example, if a landowner applies to develop
its land in a relatively intensive manner that is
consistent with the applicable zoning require-
ments and if the governmental body denies that
application, explaining that all development will
be barrec under its interpretation of the zoning
ordinance, I would find that a final decision
barring all development has been made - even
though the landowner did not apply for a less
intensive development.

The Eleventh and Second Circuits in Reahard v. Lee
County, 968 F.2d 1131, 1135 (11th Cir. 1992), cert. den., 61
USLW 1365, and Southview Associates, Ltd. v. Bongartz, 980
F.2d 84, 105 (2d Cir. 1992) state that there has been much
confusion as to when a regulation goes too far in takings
cases which are decided largely upon the particular cir-
cumstances in each case on an ad hoc, factual basis. The
Third Circuit in Taylor Inv. Ltd. v. Upper Darby Tp., 983
F.2d 1285, 1291 (3rd Cir. 1993) after reviewing the takings

24

cases concluded that “ .. . neither Williamson nor Mac-
Donald explained whether the finality rule applies to chal-
lenges to land use decisions under any constitutional
theory or only takings-type claims.”

The Seventh and Ninth Circuits recognize a “futility
exception” in determining ripeness issues, but require the
submission of one meaningful zoning application. Unity
Ventures v. Lake County, 841 F.2d 770, 775 (7th Cir. 1988),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 891 (1988); Kinzli v. City of Santa
Cruz, 818 F.2d 1449, as amended, 830 F.2d 968 (9th Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1043 (1988). The Eleventh
Circuit appears to be in accord. See, e.g., Reahard, 968 F.2d
at 1135 n.7; Eide v. Sarasota County, 908 F.2d 716, 725 (11th
Cir. 1990); but compare Greenbriar, Ltd. v. City of Alabaster,
881 F.2d 1570, 1576 (11th Cir. 1989), stating in dicta, that it
is “not at all clear” that a final decision requirement
should apply to a substantive due process claim premised
on an arbitrary zoning decision. The Sixth Circuit does
not require a project application if it would be futile,
finding that “ . . . a procedural due process claim is
instantly cognizable in federal court without requiring a
final decision on a proposed development from the
responsible municipal agency.” Bigelow v. Michigan Dept.
of Natural Resources, 970 F.2d 154, 159 (6th Cir. 1992).

New Port Largo, Inc. v. Monroe County, 985 F.2d 1488,
1493-94 (11th Cir. 1993), U.S. app. pendg., reviewed the
current status of the Florida takings cases which reflect
the uncertainty of the federal cases. The court, Id. 1493,
noted that as recently as 1984 Florida courts did not
recognize damages claims arising from regulatory tak-
ings. See Dade County v. National Bulk Carriers, Inc., 450
So.2d 213, 216 (Fla.1984). The Court stated further, 985
F.2d 1493-94, n. 12:

25

Eleventh Circuit panels disagree as to whether
Florida now recognizes a cause of action for
damages wrought by regulatory takings. Com-
pare Lake Lucerne Civic Ass’n v. Dolphin Stadium
Corp., 878 F.2d 1360, 1370 (11th Cir. 1989) (no
cause of action), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1079), A.A.
Profiles, Inc. v. City of Ft. Lauderdale, 850 F.2d
1483, 1486-88 & n.3 (11th Cir. 1988) (same), cert.
denied, 490 U.S. 1020, and Corn II, 816 F.2d at
1520 (same) with Executive 100, Inc. v. Martin
County, 922 F.2d 1536, 1542 (11th Cir.) (citing
Joint Ventures, Inc. v. Department of Transp., 563
So.2d 622, 622 (Fla. 1990), as recognizing inverse
condemnation action), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 55;
see also Villas of Lake Jackson, Ltd. v. Leon County,
796 F.Supp. 1477, 1481-83 (N.D.Fla.) (recogniz-
ing Corn II, but following Executive 100); Barima
Inv. Co. v. United States, 771 F.Supp. 1187, 1189
(S.D.Fla.1991), aff'd, 959 F.2d 972 (11th Cir. 1992).

Similarly, Florida District Courts of Appeal have
not settled on a single rule. Compare Monroe
County v. Gonzales, 593 So.2d 1143, 1145
(Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1992) (finding inverse condem-
nation remedy), Orlando/Orange County Express-
way Auth. v. W. & F. Agrigrowth-Fernfield, Ltd.,
582 So.2d 790 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.) (axiomatic that
inverse condemnation exists under United
States Constitution), review denied, 591 So.2d 183
(1991) and Glisson v. Alachua County, 558 So.2d
1030, 1035 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.), review denied, 570
So.2d 1304 (Fla.1990) with Lee County v. Morales,
557 So.2d 652, 656 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.), (without
reference to First English, applied National Bulk
Carriers to reject inverse condemnation claim),
review denied, 564 So.2d 1086 (Fla.1990).

26

Petitioners’ project applications, particularly the ini-
tial application in 1981 for two homes tc be placed on
property almost an acre in size, were modest in nature,
met Juno’s density requirements and the residential
intent of the RM-2 zoning, and were the kind of “less
ambitious plan” that Juno should have approved. Mac-
Donald, Frates, 477 U.S. 352-53 at fns. 8 and 9. Petitioners
complied with all of Juno’s requirements during the
application for site plan approval in 1981 including draw-
ings prepared by their architect showing the exact place-
ment of their modest project on the property. Juno’s
rejection of the initial project in January 1982, reaffirmed
as “final” by Zoning Commissioner Durnell, App. D,
infra, 17, was based upon Juno ordinance 5.120 which was
facially inconsistent with state law and regulation sover-
eign to it. In these circumstances, the Petitioners appear
to have met the requirement of “finality” in Williamson,
473 U.S. at 193-94, in that they submitted at least one
meaningful project application which was rejected as
“final” by Juno.

The lower courts in this case should have held that a
temporary taking occurred from the time Juno applied its
facially unlawful ordinance to Petitioners’ modest project,
and engaged in a succession of pretextual acts seeking
delay and to limit its liability, until the fall of 1985 when
Juno finally waived its application. Much of the delay in
Juno’s handling of Petitioners’ project applications could
have been avoided if the law were clear that upon the
submission of an appropriate project application, the bur-
den shifts to government to apply all of its ordinances,
laws and regulations, however conflicting, to its project

27

determination.! This is not an unreasonable burden as
government is expert in the handling and consideration
of its own project application procedures. Once the bur-
den has shifted to government, it can offer at least two
justifications for an uncompensated taking; (1) that the
regulation is reasonably calculated to prevent the inflic-
tion of some present or threatened harm to others, or (2)
that the in-kind benefits the regulation provides the land-
owner offset the losses that it imposes.

In this case Juno’s project denial, reaffirmed as
“final” by Zoning Commissioner Durnell, based as it was

1 In First Amendment cases the Court has shifted the bur-
den to government o. ce the person seeking relief has shown
that his/her conduct was constitutionally protected and was a
motivating factor in the government’s actions. Thereafter, the
government is required to show by a preponderance of the
evidence that it would have reached the same decision even in
the absence of the protected conduct. See Mt. Healthy City School
Dist. Board of Education v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 287 (1987). The
same test is used where proof of a racially discriminatory intent
or purpose is required to show a violation of the Equal Protec-
tion Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. See Village of
Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Corp., 429
U.S. 252, 270-71 (1977). Motivation normally need not be shown
in a takings case in which government action alone may be
sufficient to demonstrate that government has gone too far. See,
e.g., Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419
(1982); however one commentator has suggested that the equi-
ties inherent in property and speech parallel. Richard A. Ep-
stein, “Property, Speech and the Politics of Distrust”, 59 U. of
Chicago Law Review, 41, 59 (1992). Further, a principled standard
might be based upon Fourth Amendment jurisprudence which
protects people against unreasonable searches and seizures but
is not limited to physical invasions or trespass. Cf. Oliver v.
United States, 466 U.S. 170, 176-80 (1984).

28

upon a facially defective ordinance, which Juno would
not waive for almost four years, was a brick wall that
Petitioners could not breach, and should have been suffi-
cient to trigger a “takings” liability. Juno’s series of
actions to impede and delay the project constituted a
taking, warranting further review which would provide
additional guidance to property owners, government and
the lower courts in takings cases in which government
action goes too far and causes economic injury dispropor-
tionately concentrated upon the property owner.

.

CONCLUSION

The petitioners respectfully submit that a writ of
certiorari should be granted. In the event the Court
accepts this matter, we will respectfully request that the
decision of the Florida Fourth District Court of Appeal be
reversed and the case remanded for further proceedings
with directions.

H. Laurence Cooper, Jr.

Counsel for Petitioners

Of Counsel to Brackett, Cook,
Sned, Welsch, Hewitt, D’Angio &
Tucker, P.A.

App. 1

APPENDIX A

Aphrodite E. KARATINOS and Nicholas
E. Karatinos, Appellants,

Vv.

TOWN OF JUNO BEACH, Florida, and
Florida Department of Natural
Resources, Appellees.

No. 92-0673.

District Court of Appea! of Florida,
Fourth District.

April 14, 1993.

On Motion for Rehearing
Aug. 11, 1993.

Owners of unimproved oceanfront property sued
town and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR),
contending they were being deprived of all use of their
property as result of prohibitions against seaside build-
ing. The DNR purchased the property and was dismissed
from case. The Circuit Court, Palm Beach County, Edward
H. Fine, J., found that DNR never would have allowed
any building on the property and, thus, town ordinance
was not result of owners’ damages. Owners appealed.
The District Court of Appeal, Klein, J., held that mere
possibility that DNR might have allowed the building
project could not serve as basis reversing trial court's
finding of fact.

Affirmed.

Anstead, J., concurred specially with opinion on
denial of motion for rehearing.

App. 2

H. Laurence Cooper, Jr., West Palm Beach, for appel-
lants.

Bernard A. Conko of Cohen, Chernay, Norris, Morici,
Weinberger & Harris, North Palm Beach, for appellee-
Town of Juno Beach, Florida.

KLEIN, Judge.

The Karatinos, who owned unimproved oceanfront
property, sued the Town of Juno Beach and the Florida
Department of Natural Resources (DNR), contending
they were being deprived of all use of their property.
Their claim against DNR was for inverse condemnation,
and their claim against the town was for declaratory
relief and damages pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. In 1991
DNR purchased the property and was then dismissed
from the case. The Karatinos tried their claim for dam-
ages against the town alleging they were deprived of the
use of their property from 1982 to 1985 as a result of the
town’s wrongful refusal to allow them to build. The trial
court found against them, and we affirm.

The Karatinos purchased their property in 1958,
intending to build rental units or a small motel in the
future. The property has 209 feet of oceanfront and the
western border (abutting A1A) is approximately 200 feet
from the water’s edge.

In 1979 DNR established its Coastal Construction
Control Line in Palm Beach County, prohibiting construc-
tion east of the line unless DNR granted a permit. This
line ran approximately 20 feet east of the western border

2

App. 3

of the Karatinos’ property, leaving no room for develop-
ment. Adding insult to injury, the town, shortly thereaf-
ter, established a setback line, 50 feet to the west of
DNR’s Coastal Construction Control Line, which was, of
course, off the property.

In December, 1981, the Karatinos submitted an appli-
cation to the town for site plan approval showing alterna-
tive developments of from two to ten units, all of which
violated the town’s setback line. The town disapproved
for that reason. The town setback ordinance had a pro-
cedure for obtaining modification; however one of the
requirements was approval from DNR. The Karatinos
then filed an application with DNR for permission to
build over the Coastal Construction Control Line, but
DNR refused to process the application until the Kar-
atinos received approval from the town. A classic
Catch-22.

In 1983 the Karatinos filed this lawsuit. In 1984 the
Karatinos sought permission from the town to construct a
six-unit project, and in 1985 the town approved two units
for the property. In May, 1986, and again in May, 1987,
DNR formally considered and denied appellants’ applica-
tion to build on their property.

In 1991 DNR purchased the Karatinos’ property, but
the Karatinos continued their claim against the town,
claiming they were improperly deprived of all use of
their property by the town from 1982, when the town first
turned their project down, to 1985, when the town
approved two units. The town denied that it did anything
improper and, in the alternative, argued that if its actions
were improper they were not the cause of the Karatinos’

App. 4

damages. We agree with the town’s alternative argument
and therefore need not decide whether it acted properly.

Ralph Clark, a coastal engineer with DNR who
administered Florida’s coastal construction regulatory
program during the years involved here, testified that
DNR would never have permitted any building seaward
of the Coastal Construction Control Line on this property.
In the final judgment the court found as a matter of fact
that the Karatinos would never have gotten approval
from DNR to build seaward of the Coastal Construction
Control Line and that accordingly the Karatinos’ project
“was doomed, regardless of the Town’s action.”

The Karatinos acknowledge there was evidence that
DNR would never have allowed them to build, but argue
that this does not preclude them from recovering dam-
ages for a temporary taking from 1982 to 1985. They
argue that since DNR did not purchase the property until
1991, there was a possibility that DNR would have
approved their project during 1982 to 1985. While this
may have been a possibility, it cannot be the basis to
reverse findings of fact supported by competent evidence
that DNR would never have allowed anything to be built
on this property.

Affirmed.
GLICKSTEIN, C.J., and ANSTEAD, J., concur.

ON MOTION FOR REHEARING
PER CURIAM.

Motion for rehearing is denied.

App. 5
GLICKSTEIN and KLEIN, JJ., concur.
ANSTEAD, J., concurs specially with opinion.
ANSTEAD, Judge, concurring specially.
I concur in the denial of rehearing.

The appellants take issue, of course, with our holding
that the trial court did not err in concluding they are
entitled to no relief for the alleged “temporary taking” of
their property by virtue of the confusion and delay cre-
ated by the town in having the state consider the appel-
lants’ attempts to build. However, the town ordinance in
question did not facially prohibit all development; rather,
it made consideration of a request for development
dependent upon the owner’s securing state approval.
Hence, there was a provision for development although it
was confusing, because it had the approval procedure
reversed from the procedure employed by the state.
However, once that was straightened out, the town per-
mitted development, whereas the state subsequently
refused any development. Appellants, of course, were
compensated by the state in a settlement.

There is no doubt that the town’s ordinance and
action delayed the owners’ attempt to get a final answer
to their request to develop. However, I would place this
delay more in the category of the “normal delays” created
by the myriad of governmental procedures mentioned by
the Supreme Court in First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 321, 107 S.Ct.
2378, 2389, 96 L.Ed.2d 250 (1987), as not giving rise to a

7

App. 6

temporary taking or entitlement to compensation. Obvi-
ously, not every delay in the development process attrib-
utable to the government results in a “temporary taking.”
This is true even where the delay is the “fault” of the
government. Here there was a snafu that was eventually
worked out. In reality, and in the final analysis, it was the
state’s restriction on development, both by statute and by
rule that prevented the owners from using their land, and
not the actions of the town.

App. 7

APPENDIX B

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF
FLORIDA, IN AND FOR PALM
BEACH COUNTY.

CIVIL DIVISION.

CASE NO. CL-83-2696-AN

APHRODITE E. KARATINOS and
NICHOLAS R. KARATINOS,

Plaintiffs,

Vs.

TOWN OF JUNO BEACH,
FLORIDA, and FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES,

Defendants.

FINAL JUDGMENT

This is an action by the Plaintiffs against the Town for
compensation claiming that the Town temporarily
deprived them of the use of their land and seeking dam-
ages and declaratory and injunctive relief.

The land in question is a lot, aptly described as
Seadunes, Lot Number 1. In actuality it consists of a 200
foot stretch of the coastal dune and beach. The lot runs
from the top of the dune eastward to the ocean, a distance
of about 200 feet. On the top of the dune, at the property
line, is the road right of way for AlA now known as
Ocean Boulevard.

——

App. 8

The dune is an important barrier in the event of a
large hurricane or a 100 year storm. In such storms, the
dune protects the people who live to its west side. In
addition, the dune protects the beaches from erosion. In
Summer, sand is accumulated on the beach and on the
dune. In Winter, large storms wash sand away from the
beach and the dune into sand bars. The sand bars protect
the beach. And then in Summer the sand is redeposited
on the beach.

The dune is held in place by native vegetation, such
as seagrapes, seaoats and miscellaneous vines. The vege-
tation depends upon an incompletely understood micro-
biological relationship. This vegetation is essential to
preserve the integrity of the dune.

In 1979 the State of Florida, through the Department
of Natural Resources, laid its coastal construction control
line across this part of Palm Beach County. It is a line
determined by scientific analysis that sets back construc-
tion a sufficient distance from the ocean to protect the
beaches and shores.

Within the boundaries of the lot in question, this line
runs parallel to AlA roughly twenty feet inside the lot.
The lot in question runs 209 feet abutting the edge of
A1A. About 180 feet of the 200 foot east-west depth of
this lot lies inside, that is to the ocean side of the coastal
construction control line. At material times in this action
the Town of Juno Beach has had a zoning ordinance that
prohibits construction within 50 feet of the coastal con-
struction control line. In other words, on the portion of
the sand dune in question, the Town’s setback extends

ae

ee ee eee eer ee eee

a et

a ae

App. 9

into A1A and there is no portion of the Plaintiffs’ prop-
erty that is buildable because most of it lies within the
coastal construction line and what little does not lies
within the Town’s 50 foot setback.

The present action was originally brought against the
Town and the Department of Natural Resources, however
apparently the D.N.R. has settled, and at this juncture the
action is against the Town for a temporary taking up until
the date of the final order of the Department of Natural
Resources denying any right to build inside the coastal
construction control line, the date of that order being May
1, 1987.

The Plaintiffs are seeking declaratory and injunctive
relief, and damages from the Town. The Town enacted a
comprehensive land use plan and a comprehensive zon-
ing plan in 1979. This lot was zoned RM2 which permit-
ted up to 12 units per acre. On the land use plan it was
shown as “recreational”. There was no precise zoning
classification as “recreational”. The closest was “recre-
ational and open spaces” which was limited for public
use and could not have been used by a private land
owner. One of the claims of the Plaintiffs is that until this
was corrected, which was in May of 1985, they were
temporarily deprived of the ability to develop their land.
Another claim of the Plaintiffs is that eventually they
were granted what the Town describes as a combination
variance and modification of the Town’s zoning ordi-
nance and setback requirement, but from that point the
Town only authorized the construction of two residential
units on the property, even though its zoning classifica-
tion permitted 12 units. They claim that two units were

I i hi Ne is Bi is i i el el te

App. 10

economically unfeasible, and damages arose from the
denial of their request to build six units.

For the reasons stated below the Court finds in favor
of the Town and against the Plaintiffs.

Though the evidence was disputed, the Court finds
that the evidence conclusively established that there was
no possible way that the Plaintiffs were ever going to get
approval from the State to build inside the coastal con-
struction control line. Every single plan that the Plaintiffs
submitted to the Town for construction on their land
required constructing the entire foundation on the ocean
side of the coastal construction control line. So the Plain-
tiffs’ project was doomed, regardless of the Town’s
actions.*

The Town’s actions re. the twenty foot swath, con-
trolled by the Town’s setback line, between A1A and the
coastal construction control line, had no effect on the
D.N.R. decision denying permission to the Plaintiffs to
build their project on their property.

The error on the land use maps vis a vis the zoning
ordinance (“recreational” versus MR2) had nothing to do
with the inability of the Plaintiffs to develop their land.
There was nothing in the evidence indicating that any of
the Town’s actions were in the least affected by this

*This was apparently to some extent foreseen by the Plaintiffs.
See, Defendant’s exhibit 10, and transcript of 8/19/85 town
meeting, wherein the Plaintiffs, in trying to get approval from
the Town, explain that their project is contingent on D.N.R.
approval. There is no single instance of the D.N.R. ever permit-
ting construction of entirely new buildings and foundations
inside the coastal construction control line.

———aaaEEeEeEeEeEeEeGee

a eee ee eT

ae ee ee ee

i es

App. 11

inconsistency. In fact, as soon as the error was brought to
the Town’s attention by the attorney for the Plaintiffs, the
Town took adequately prompt steps to correct the incon-
sistency.

The original site plan was unanimously turned down
by the Town in January of 1982 because it was not in
accord with setback requirements of the zoning ordi-
nances and the Plaintiffs had not obtained a variance to
submit along with that site plan. There is some dispute as
to whether what was needed was a “variance” or a “mod-
ification” but the Court under these facts considers this to
be unessential to today’s decision.

The parties raised an issue whether all remedies had
been exhausted under the Town’s Zoning Code and in
this context a distinction was made between a modifica-
tion and a variance. The Court’s decision is based on the
belief that all such remedies were exhausted regardless of
which designation is used.

A second distinction made by the parties was
whether under a modification, the Town had the author-
ity to cut the number of units it would approve from six
to two, but it did not matter whether the Plaintiffs wished
to build two units, six units, ten units or twelve units. The
evidence is clear that they stood no chance of getting
State approval.

The Town was advised by their attorney that they
either had to permit construction, buy the property or get
involved in litigation, so the Town gave up and in August
of 1985, granted a special exception from their setback
requirement, but only for two units. At that point the

App. 12

Town had relinquished its power to control the develop-
ment of two units on this property at that point became a
mere supplicant to the State, whom they implored to
deny any construction seaward of the coastal construc-
tion control line.

The D.N.R. found that construction on this lot would
be from the top of the sand dune down the ocean side
slope of the sand dune and the completed structure
would destroy the vegetation, degrade the dune, endan-
ger adjacent properties, and in a severe storm, knock out
an evacuation route. Under these circumstances, the
D.N.R. made it quite clear that there was no contingency
under which they would permit construction of a new
foundation and building on this sand dune.

Another issue raised by the Plaintiffs was that the
Town had some designs on this lot. The Court finds to the
contrary. The Town is small but already has 1 1/2 miles of
ocean frontage. Immediately next door to this property is
Loggerhead Park. Prior to 1983 when the Loggerhead
Park property was purchased by the County and turned
into Loggerhead Park, its beach was readily available to
the public. Loggerhead Park has complete beach access,
rest rooms and picnic facilities. The Town has no history
of trying to lure the public to its beaches and the Town
has had a continual history of having lots of ocean front
beach available for residents.

To the extent that the complaint and the evidence
seek to review and discredit the basis of the Town’s
denial of the Plaintiffs’ various requests for development,
these are matters not presently within this Court's juris-
diction. Such matters were quasi judicial decisions, not

i
’ -}

App. 13

reviewable de novo, but only reviewable by certiorari. Flor-
ida Appellate Rule, 9.030(c)(1)(c), e.g., Walgreen Co. v. Polk
County, 524 So. 2d 1119 (Fla. 2 D.C.A. 1988), Transamerican
Properties v. City of Riviera Beach, 400 So. 2d 803 (Fla. 4
D.C.A. 1981).

However, there is authority indicating the Court has
jurisdiction to hear facts de novo in declaratory judgment
suits over zoning disputes. Coral Gables Federal Savings
and Loan Association v. City of Lighthouse Point, 444 So. 2d
92 (Fla. 4 D.C.A. 1984).

In other words, the Court must declare the rights of
the parties. Therefore the Court declares that:

Section 5.120(b) of the Town’s Ordinances (50’ set-
back) is not an improper or unlawful exercise of the
Town’s police power. This regulation is not so onerous
that it in effect appropriates the property. It has no
known diminution in the investment-profit contemplated
(since the D.N.R. killed all Plaintiffs’ plans). The fact that
the Plaintiffs’ property is entirely inside the setback, is
not dispositive. There is a variance or modification pro-
cedure and the regulation when viewed in light of its
purpose, its generic effect and economic impact, is not an
invalid exercise of police power. E.g., Williamson Co.
Regional Planning v. Hamilton Bank, 105 S. Ct. 3108 (1985),
Glisson v. Alachua County, 558 So. 2d 1030 (Fla. 1 D.C.A.
1990), McNulty v. Town of Indialantic, 727 F. Supp. 604
(M.D. Fla. 1989).

The application of the ordinance in this case does not
amount to a taking or a misuse of police power.

App. 14

As to Count One: the Plaintiffs’ request for declara-
tory, and supplemental relief is denied.

As to Count Two: the Plaintiffs’ request for dam-
ages is denied.

Therefore it is the Final Judgment of the Court that
the Plaintiffs, Aphrodite Karatinos and Nicholas E. Kar-
atinos, shall take nothing by this action from the Defen-
dant, Town of Juno Beach, Florida.

ORDERED at West Palm Beach, Florida, this 7 day of
January, 1992.

/s/ Edward Fine
EDWARD FINE
Circuit Judge

Copies furnished:

H. L. Cooper, Jr., Esq.

Post Office Box 3746

West Palm Beach, FL 33402

Bernard A. Conko, Esq.
Post Office Box 1629
West Palm Beach, FL 33402

Dana Wiehle, Asst. Gen. Counsel
Dept. of Natural Resources

3900 Commonwealth Blvd.

Mail Station 35

Tallahassee, FL 32399

John W. Costigan, Esq.
Dept. of Natural Resources
3900 Commonwealth Blvd.
Mail Station 35
Tallahassee, FL 32399

App. 15

APPENDIX C
SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
FRIDAY, JANUARY 21, 1994

APHRODITE E.
KARATINOS, ET AL.,

Petiti CASE NO. 82,385
etitioners,

District Court of Appeal,
4th District - No. 92-0673

V.

TOWN OF JUNO BEACH,
FLORIDA, ET AL.,

Respondents.

hha abbann nna LELLLLLLLL LTT eT

* © 6 6.84 64 28 * «#

This cause having heretofore been submitted to the
Court on jurisdictional briefs and portions of the record
deemed necessary to reflect jurisdiction under Article V,
Section 3(b), Florida Constitution (1980), and the court
having determined that it should decline to accept juris-
diction, it is ordered that the Petition for Review is
denied.

No Motion for Rehearing will be entertained by the
court. See Fla. R. App. P. 9.330(d).

OVERTON, MCDONALD, GRIMES, KOGAN and HARD-
ING, JJ., concur

A True Copy
TEST:

Sid J. White
Clerk, Supreme Court

By: /s/ Betsey Hill
Deputy Clerk

App. 16

[SEAL]

BAH

cc: Hon. Marilyn Beuttenmuller, Clerk
Hon. Edward H. Fine, Judge
Hon. Dorothy H. Wilken, Clerk

Mr. H. Lawrence Cooper, Jr.
Mr. Bernard A. Conko
Ms. Dana Wiehle

Mr. John W. Costigan

App. 17

APPENDIX D

THE TOWN OF JUNO BEACH
841 OCEAN DRIVE - PHONE 626-1122
PALM BEACH COUNTY
FLORIDA 33408

[LOGO]
Wo) Geer errr ere 26° - 55' N
Fe oe ls Per err er rr rrr ree 80° - 4. W
AVERAGE TEMPERATURE ............... 75°

SUN SHINES 265 DAYS PER YEAR
November 15, 1982

Palm Beach Design Group, Inc.
2560 RCA Bivd., Suite 106
Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. 33410

Re: Karatinos Property
Attention: R.M. Arsenicos

Dear Mr. Arsenicos:

After our meeting on November 5, 1982, I requested
an opinion from the Town Attorney regarding my letter
to you dated October 17, 1982. Mr. Adams opinion is that
the Juno Beach Commissioners denial of the Karatinos
request on January 13, 1982 is final and not subject to
appeal under section 12.00 of Juno Beach Ordinance No.
207.

Your truly,

/s/ Don D. Durnell
Don D. Durnell
Commissioner of Planning &
Zoning
Juno Beach, Fla.
DDD/fmp

App. 18

APPENDIX E
RESOLUTION NO. 85-10

A RESOLUTION OF THE TOWN OF JUNO
BEACH. FLORIDA, EXPRESSING ITS OPPOSI-
TION TO ANY CONSTRUCTION ON THE
KARATINOS PROPERTY, WHICH PROPERTY
LIES EAST OF THE COASTAL CONSTRUC-
TION CONTROL LINE; SETTING FORTH REA-
SONS FOR APPROVING SPECIAL EXCEPTION
AND MODIFICATION; REQUESTING THE
STATE OF FLORIDA TO DEFEND ITS
COASTAL CONSTRUCTION CONTROL LINE;
DIRECTING THAT A COPY OF THIS RESOLU-
TION BE FORWARDED TO THE APPROPRI-
ATE AGENCIES OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA;
PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, there is pending in the Circuit Court of
Palm Beach County, Florida, a suit by Aphrodite Kar-
atinos against the Town of Juno Beach and the State of
Florida, Department of Natural Resources, et al. Case No.
83-2696 CA(L)B; and

WHEREAS, said lawsuit alleges, in part, that the
governmental actions of the Town of Juno Beach and the
State of Florida have the effect of denying Mrs. Karatinos
any beneficial use of the property in question and there-
fore constitute an inverse condemnation; and

WHEREAS, the State of Florida adopted a “Coastal
Construction Control Line” in an effort to discourage new
construction between the ocean and said “control line”;
and

App. 19

WHEREAS, the Town of Juno Beach in its Compre-
hensive Plan originally assigned to the Karatinos prop-
erty a designation which would have prevented
construction eastward of the State’s Coastal Construction
Control Line; and

WHEREAS, the Town Attorney advised the Town of
Juno Beach that the legal defense of the State’s Coastal
Construction Control Line would be very costly and the
result in court could require the Town of Juno Beach to
purchase the Karatinos property at a price to be deter-
mined by a jury; and

WHEREAS, the Town Commission of Juno Beach
determined that the Town did not have adequate finan-
cial resources to defend said lawsuit or to purchase the
Karatinos property should the Karatinos lawsuit be suc-
cessful; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Juno Beach on June 12, 1985
revised its Comprehensive Plan so that the Karatinos
property could be used for residential purposes, even
though it is located east of the Coastal Construction Con-
trol Line; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Juno Beach does not feel that
the proposed Karatinos development should be approved
nor does it believe that the development would be in the
best interest of the Town of Juno Beach; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Juno Beach on August 14,
1985 granted the Karatinos a special exception and mod-
ification to the set back line referred to above only
because of the existing litigation and the Town’s lack of

App. 20

financial resources to defend said litigation and to pur-
chase said property should inverse condemnation be
granted.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE
TOWN COMMISSION OF THE TOWN OF JUNO
BEACH, PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA, that:

Section 1. The Town of Juno Beach does hereby
express its opposition to any construction on the Kar-
atinos property, which property lies east of the Coastal
Construction Control line and which property may not be
safe for habitation due to its location and the likelihood
of severe flooding in any major hurricane.

Section 2. The Town of Juno Beach granted the var-
ious approvals referred to above only because of the
existing litigation and its lack of financial resources to
defend said litigation and to purchase said property
should inverse condemnation be granted; said approvals
were not granted because the Town “approved” of the
proposed Karatinos development or believed to be in the
best interest of the Town of Juno Beach.

Section 3. That this Resolution be forwarded to the
appropriate agencies of the State of Florida in the hope
that the State will choose to defend its own Coastal
Construction Control line, since the State has the financial
resources which the Town lacks.

Section 4. This Resolution shall take effect imme-
diately upon its passage.

App. 21
PASSED AND ADOPTED this 14th day of August ,
1985.
APPROVED:
/s/ Kollner
Mayor
SEAL
ATTEST:

/s/ Gail F. Nelson
Town Clerk

App. 22

APPENDIX F

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA
IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY
CIVIL ACTION
CASE NO. 83-2696 CA (L) N

APHRODITE E. KARATINOS and
NICHOLAS E. KARATINOS
Plaintiffs

VS.

]
]
]
J
J
TOWN OF JUNO BEACH,
FLORIDA, and FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL !
RESOURCES |

]

Defendants

AMENDED SUPPLEMENTAL COMPLAINT

Plaintiffs, APHRODITE E. KARATINOS and
NICHOLAS E. KARATINOS, by and through their under-
signed attorney, file this their Amended Supplemental
Complaint against Defendants, TOWN OF JUNO BEACH,
FLORIDA, and FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, and allege:

GENERAL ALLEGATIONS

1) These General Allegations are incorporated in
and form a part of each of the counts hereinafter set forth.

2) Plaintiff APHRODITE E. KARATINOS is a resi-
dent of the State of Florida and Plaintiff NICHOLAS E.
KARATINOS is a resident of the State of Maryland. At all

SSS

App. 23

material times herein, Plaintiffs have owned the follow-
ing described property located within the municipal
limits of the Defendant TOWN OF JUNO BEACH, Palm
Beach County, Florida, to-wit:

Lot 1, less the South 5 feet thereof, Sea Dunes, a
subdivision to the Town of Juno Beach, Florida,
according to the plat thereof on file in the office
of the Clerk of the Circuit Court, Palm Beach
County, Florida, as in Plat Book 25, Page 20. (Sea
Dunes being a replat of the South 200 feet of the
North 1050 feet of Government Lot 5, Section 21,
Township 41 South, Range 43 East, Palm Beach
County, Florida.)

TOGETHER with all riparian rights appertain-
ing thereto, TOGETHER with an easement over
the North 5 feet of the South 10 feet of the East
39 feet of Lot 20, Sea Dunes, for the placing of a
well, pump, and necessary pipes for water sup-
ply to Lot 1, Sea Dunes, which easement runs to
the grantees herein, or their successors in title.

3) Defendant, TOWN OF JUNO BEACH, is a munic-
ipality duly organized and existing under the laws of the
State of Florida and located in the County of Palm Beach.
Defendant, FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, is a department within the Executive
Branch of the State Government of Florida.

4) Plaintiff, APHRODITE E. KARATINOS, and her
deceased husband, EMANUEL N. KARATINOS, pur-
chased the above-described property, which borders the
waters of the Atlantic Ocean, in February of 1958. The
property was owned by them as tenants by the entireties
from 1958 until the death of EMANUEL N. KARATINOS

App. 24

in 1973. The property was solely in the name of APHRO-
DITE E. KARATINOS until February 1976 when she con-
veyed an undivided one-half interest to her son, Plaintiff,
NICHOLAS E. KARATINOS. Plaintiffs have not built any
structure on the property and it is now vacant land. The
property is within a residential multifamily zoning dis-
trict.

5) In 1979, Defendant, TOWN OF JUNO BEACH,
adopted a Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance, Ordinance
No. 207. Sec. 5.120 thereof prohibits erection of any struc-
ture eastwardly of a point west of the Coastal Construc-
tion Control Line without approval of the Town
Commission. A copy of Sec. 5.120 is attached to the
Complaint in this cause marked EXHIBIT “B”. Sec. 5.120
of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance has been in full
force and effect at all times since 1979 and has not been
amended or repealed in any manner affecting Plaintiffs’
above-described property.

6) Also in 1979 Defendant, TOWN OF JUNO
BEACH, adopted a Comprehensive Plan. In that Compre-
hensive Plan, the property of the Plaintiffs was desig-
nated on the proposed Land Use Map (Exhibit 3.1.1) as
recreation and shown on the Recreation and Open Space
Map (Exhibit 10.1.1) as open space, both of which desig-
nations are inconsistent with any economic use of Plain-
tiffs’ property. Sec. 10.6 of the plan sets a specific
objective:

“To protect the existing open space along the
beaches . . . from any encroachment from devel-
opment”,

App. 25

which likewise deprives the property of any economic
use.

7) On December 21, 1981, Plaintiffs applied to Juno
Beach Planning and Zoning Board for approval of a site
plan which would have permitted construction of two
residential units on the property.

8) On January 4, 1982, the Juno Beach Planning and
Zoning Board recommended to the Juno Beach Town
Commission that the site plan be denied because “It is not
in accordance with the Comprehensive Zoning Ordi-
nance, reference Paragraph 5.120.” See copy of “Recom-
mendation to Commission” from Juno Beach Planning
and Zoning Board dated January 4, 1982, attached to the
Complaint herein marked EXHIBIT “A”.

9) On January 13, 1982, the Juno Beach Town Com-
mission accepted the Planning and Zoning Board’s rec-
ommendation and denied approval of the project.

10) On or about February 12, 1982, Plaintiffs,
through their authorized agent, made application to the
Defendant, FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, in order to obtain a permit to construct on
their property seaward of the established Coastal Con-
struction Control Line.

11) After some correspondence, Defendant, FLOR-
IDA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, on or
about June 3, 1982 refused to process the application
citing Section 16 B 33.08(1)(c), Florida Administrative
Code, which states in pertinent part as follows:

“ .. . an application form must contain...
written evidence, provided by the appropriate

App. 26

local governmental agency having jurisdiction
over the activity, that the proposed activity, as
submitted to the Bureau does not contravene
local setback requirements or zoning or building
codes.”

12) As a result of the Defendant FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES’ refusal to
process Plaintiffs’ application, the Plaintiffs were pre-
cluded by Section 5.120(c) of the Town of Juno Beach
Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance from petitioning the
Juno Beach Town Commission for a modification of Sec-
tion 5.120(b) by virtue of the provisions of Sec. 5.120(c)(1)
which requires that the Defendant, FLORIDA DEPART-
MENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, Bureau of Beaches
and Shores, first approve the modification.

13) After extended proceedings more specifically
described hereinafter in COUNT I, the Town of Juno
Beach, on August 14, 1985, granted a special exception
and modification to the setback line authorizing construc-
tion of two dwelling units and passed Resolution 85-10, a
copy of which is attached to the Supplemental Complaint
in this cause marked EXHIBIT “C”, by virtue of which the
Plaintiffs could again petition the Defendant, FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, for a permit
to build seaward of the Coastal Construction Control
Line.

14) Finally, on March 13, 1986, Defendant, FLOR-
IDA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES,
acknowledged that Plaintiffs’ application for a permit to
build east of the Coastal Construction Control Line was
complete and on May 20, 1986 denied it. Plaintiffs there-
after, pursuant to the provisions of Chap. 120, Fla. Stat.,

App. 27

petitioned for a formal hearing and on February 19, 1987
the Hearing Officer issued his Recommended Order
including Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Reco-
mendation, [sic] and on May 1, 1987, the Defendant,
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES,
entered its Final Order denying Petitioners’ application.
The Final Order constitutes final agency action.

15)(a) Due to the location of the Coastal Construc-
tion Control Line upon the Plaintiffs’ above-described
property there is no beneficial use to which the property
can be put if construction seaward of the Coastal Con-
struction Control Line is prohibited. (b) Due to the
restriction of the Town of Juno Beach setback require-
ments as to Plaintiffs’ property there is no beneficial use
to which the property can be put if construction seaward
of the setback line is prohibited.

COUNT I

16) This is an action for declaratory relief pursuant
to Florida Statute 86.011 et seq. and for injunctive relief.

17) The General Allegations contained in Para-
graphs 1 through 15 are realleged and included herein.

18) Sec. 5.120 of the Town of Juno Beach Compre-
hensive Zoning Ordinance is arbitrary and capricious and
an improper exercise of police power in that the setback
line specified in Sec. 5.120(b) constitutes an unreasonable
and overly burdensome requirement which has no rea-
sonable relation to the purpose of the section, to-wit: “To
prevent deterioration of the vegetation or structural qual-
ity of the coastal dune.”

App. 28

19) As applied to Plaintiffs’ property, Sec. 5.120(b)
amounts to an improper and unlawful exercise of the
police power delegated to the Town of Juno Beach in that
the language of said section prohibits Plaintiffs from
making any use or [sic] their property for any purpose.

20) Plaintiffs presently want to improve their prop-
erty above-described, and have submitted detailed plans
with an application for a permit therefor to the Defendant
Town of Juno Beach for the construction of a six-unit
townhouse residential structure which complies in all
other respects with the building codes and zoning ordi-
nances of the Town of Juno Beach; however, the said
Defendant Town has refused to permit the development
as proposed by the Plaintiffs due to the provisions of Sec.
5.120 of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance though it
has indicated a willingness to allow generally the con-
struction of a two-unit residential structure.

21) The reasons given by the Defendant Town for
refusing Plaintiffs’ application and plans for the construc-
tion of a six-unit structure but willingness to allow a two-
unit structure, as evidenced by the Resolution, copy of
which is attached to the Supplemental Complaint marked
EXHIBIT “C”, are legally not supportable and amount to
an improper, arbitrary, capricious, and discriminatory
exercise of the police power, the propriety of which is not
fairly debatable.

22) Pursuant to the provisions of the zoning ordi-
nances of the Defendant Town of Juno Beach the Plaintiffs
would be entitled to construct up to a total of ten dwell-
ing units upon their said property and the proposed
construction of six said units is a reasonable, feasible and

App. 29

proper use of Plaintiffs’ property in full compliance with
all municipal zoning ordinances, building codes and
other rules and regulations with the sole exception of the
setback provisions of Section 5.120(b) of the Comprehen-
sive Zoning Ordinance.

23) Since the application of the setback require-
ments of section 5.120(b) of the Comprehensive Zoning
Code would constitute an unlawful taking of Plaintiffs’
property without just compensation and without due pro-
cess of law, contrary to the Federal and State Constitu-
tions, the conditioning of a permit to construct at
variance from the requirements of the setback line upon a
reduction from six to two dwelling units for the reasons
given by the Defendant Town are not supportable upon
any theory of law.

24) A bona fide justiciable dispute exists between
the Plaintiffs and the Defendant TOWN OF JUNO
BEACH as to the right of said Town to reduce the number
of units to be permitted upon the property of the Plain-
tiffs from six to two and Plaintiffs are in doubt as to the
constitutionality of the application of Section 5.120 of the
Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance of the Town of June
Beach in order to prevent or restrict construction upon
their property.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray that this Court enter its
judgment as follows:

(A) Declaring that Section 5.120 of the Comprehen-
sive Zoning Ordinances of the Defendant TOWN OF
JUNO BEACH may not constitutionally be applied to
prohibit construction upon Plaintiffs’ property.

Ann. 2

(B) By way of supplemental relief, enjoining the
enforcement of Section 5.120 as applied to Plaintiffs’
property.

(C) Declaring that Defendant TOWN OF JUNO
BEACH may not lawfully condition a permit to construct
upon Plaintiffs’ property upon a limitation of such con-
struction to two dwelling units.

(D) By way of supplemental relief, enjoining the
Defendant TOWN OF JUNO BEACH from imposing a
two-dwelling unit limitation upon any construction upon
Plaintiffs’ property.

(E) Awarding to the Plaintiffs such other and fur-
ther relief as is just in the premises.

Plaintiffs request trial by jury of all issves triable of
right by jury in this cause.

COUNT II

25) This is an action for damages for deprivation of
civil rights in violation of Title 42 U.S.C. Section 1983.

26) Plaintiffs reallege the allegations contained in
the General Allegations Paragraphs 1 through 15.

27) On January 13, 1982 when the Juno Beach Town
Commission denied approval of the Plaintiffs’ project, it
was acting in an executive, administrative and quasi judi-
cial capacity.

28) The decision of the Town Commission of the
Town of Juno Beach on January 13, 1982 to deny a mod-
ification or variance was made under color of title within
the meaning of 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, and had the effect

App. 31

of depriving Plaintiffs of their property without just com-
pensation and without due process of law in violation of
the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution
of the United States of America and Section 9, Article I,
and Section 6, Article X, of the Constitution of the State of
Florida.

29) The described actions of the Town Commission
of the TOWN OF JUNO BEACH denied the Plaintiffs any
economically viable use of their property and substan-
tially ousted the Plaintiffs and deprived them of all bene-
ficial enjoyment of their property.

30) The Comprehensive Plan of the Town of Juno
Beach as described in Paragraph 5 dictated that the Plain-
tiffs’ property be reserved for public open space and
recreation use.

31) Florida Statute, Chap. 163.3194(3)(a) provides
that the restrictions promulgated by a comprehensive
plan shall not take private property without due process
of law and the payment of just compensation.

32) The provisions of the Comprehensive Plan
described above constituted a confiscation of Plaintiffs’
property and constituted a taking.

33) The provision of the Comprehensive Zoning
Ordinance, Section 5.120, has also taken Plaintiff's private
property without due process of law and the payment of
just compensation.

34) Defendant TOWN OF JUNO BEACH should
have known since the adoption of its Comprehensive
Plan and Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance in 1979, and
affirmatively knew since Plaintiffs original application in

App. 32

1981 and its denial in 1982 that its Comprehensive Plan
and its Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance prevented any
economically viable use of Plaintiffs’ property and that its
Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance as written and as ini-
tially applied by the Town prevented any modification of
its coastal setback.

35) Despite a realistic opportunity and reasonable
time withing [sic] which to review its Comprehensive
Plan and Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance vis-a-vis the
Plaintiffs’ property, and correct the inequity, the Defen-
dant TOWN OF JUNO BEACH did not amend its Com-
prehensive Plan until the Plaintiffs brought this action
and filed an application with the Town requesting such
amendment after employing architects, zoning consul-
tants, and attorneys, all at great expense to the Plaintiffs,
and did not make such amendment to its Comprehensive
Plan, correcting its error until June 12, 1985.

36) The failure to correct these constitutional viola-
tions has resulted in a temporary taking of the Plaintiffs’
property as well as a permanent deprivation of their right
to use the property in a manner otherwise permitted by
the now amended Comprehensive Plan and the Zoning
Ordinances of Defendant Town, all in violation of Plain-
tiffs’ constitutionally protected civil property rights, all to i
the damage of the Plaintiffs in an amount in excess of |
$5,000.00. |

a ereeeenteen aee

37) By virtue of these land use applications and this
suit, Plaintiffs have requested the Defendant TOWN OF
JUNO BEACH to pay them just compensation for the
taking of their property, but Defendant TOWN has failed
and refused to do so.

aan

App. 33

38) Plaintiffs have retained their undersigned attor-
ney to bring this action and they have agreed to pay said
attorney a reasonable fee for legal services rendered
herein. In addition to the foregoing described experts in
connection with Plaintiffs’ applications to the TOWN OF
JUNO BEACH to construct a multifamily dwelling upon
the subject property, Plaintiffs have also retained engi-
neering firms, a real estate appraiser and economic con-
sultant to prepare plans, specifications, engineering
reports and other data required in connection therewith
and have and will pay substantial sums for al! of such
services.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray that this Court enter
judgment against Defendant TOWN OF JUNO BEACH,
for an amount in excess of $5,000.00 for a temporary
taking and permanent impairment of property in the
amount of the fair market value of Plaintiffs’ loss of use
of their property in the past and in the future as a result
of the actions of the Defendant TOWN, together with
their costs and reasonable attorney’s fees as authorized
by 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, and request trial of this cause

by jury.

COUNT III

39) This is an action for damages in inverse con-
demnation.

40) Plaintiffs reallege the allegations contained in
the General Allegations Paragraphs 1 through 15.

—= .

App. 34

41) Defendant FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF NATU-
RAL RESOURCES is a department within the Executive
Branch of the Government of the State of Florida.

42) Defendant FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF NATU-
RAL RESOURCES is an agency of the State of Florida and
has the power of eminent domain.

43) The establishment of the Coastal Construction
Control Line and refusal of the Defendant FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES to issue a
permit to the Plaintiffs to build on their property seaward
of the Coastal Construction Control Line constitutes an
unlawful taking of Plaintiffs’ property without just com-
pensation contrary to the provisions of the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitu-
tion and Article X, Section 6, of the Constitution of the
State of Florida.

44) That the taking of the Plaintiffs’ property as
aforesaid is for the stated public purpose of preserving
the beaches and dune system along the coasts of the State
of Florida.

45) Plaintiffs have been required to employ their
undersigned attorney in order to protect their rights in
the premises and have agreed to pay a reasonable fee for
his services, and have also been required to retain archi-
tectural, coastal engineering, structural engineering, zon-
ing, appraisal and economic experts and consultants and
will be required to retain additional experts in prepara-

tion for the trial of this cause.

App. 35

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray that this Court enter its
judgment declaring an unconstitutional taking of Plain-
tiffs’ property without just compensation and awarding
damages to the Plaintiffs in an amount in excess of
$5,000.00, severance damages, if applicable, damages for
the period of time Plaintiffs have been wrongfully
deprived of the use of their property, plus their reason-
able attorney’s fees and costs, plus such other and further
relief as the Court may deem just in the premises.

Plaintiffs request trial of this cause by jury.

I hereby certify that copy hereof has been furnished
BERNARD A. CONKO, ESQ., Gibson & Adams, P. O. Box
1629, West Palm Beach, FL 33402, DEAN C.
KOWALCHYK, ESQ., Assistant Attorney General, the
Capitol, Suite LL04, Tallahassee, FL 32399, and ANDREW
S. GRAYSON, ESQ., Assistant General Counsel, Depart-
ment of Natural Resources, 3900 Commonwealth Blvd,
Tallahasse, FL 32302, by mail, this 3 day of June 1987.

H. LAURENCE COOPER, JR.

8th Fl — Clearlake Plaza

500 Australian Avenue

West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Ph. 305/655-8131

Fla. Bar No. 015492

By /s/ H. L. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney for Plaintiffs

App. 36

APPENDIX G

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND
ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 161.041, Florida Statutes (1979) provides:

If any person, . . . shall desire to make any
coastal construction . . . a coastal construction
permit must be obtained from the Department
of Natural Resources [DNR] prior to the com-
mencement of such work.

Section 161.053(2), Florida Statutes (1979) provides:

Coastal construction control lines shall be estab-
lished by the department [DNR] . . . necessary
for the protection of upland properties and the
control of beach erosion.

Section 161.053(4)(b), Florida Statutes (1979) provides:

The Department [DNR] shall not contravene set-
back requirements or zoning or building codes
established by a county or municipality which
are equal to, or more strict than, those require-
ments provided herein.

Section 161.053(8) and (10), Florida Statutes (1979)
provide:

(8) The Department may by regulation exempt
specifically described portions of the coastline
from the provisions of this section when in its
judgement such portions of coastline because of
their nature are not subject to erosion of a sub-
stantially damaging effect to the public.

(10) The coastal construction control require-
ments ... shall not apply to any modification,
maintenance, or repair to any existing structure
within limits of the existing foundation which

App. 37

does not require, involve, or include any addi-
tions to, or modification of, the existing founda-
tion of that structure... .

5. Section 16B-33.08(1)(c), Florida Administrative Code
provides that an application for a permit from the
DNR must contain:

... written evidence, provided by the appropri-
ate local governmental agency having jurisdic-
tion over the activity, that the proposed activity
as submitted to the Bureau [DNR] does not con-
travene local setback requirements or zoning or
building codes.

6. Section 5.120 (1979) of the Town of Juno Beach Zoning
Code provides:

Protection of Coastal Ridge. It is the intent of this
section of this ordinance to prevent the deterio-
ration of the vegetation or structural quality of
the coastal dune as it occurs in the Town of Juno
Beach. Therefore:

a. No soil, sand, rock or vegetation shall
be east of the Coastal Construction Control
Line unless otherwise permitted by this sec-
tion.

b. No wall, fence or other structure shall
be erected eastwardly of a point fifty (50)
feet west of the Coastal Construction Con-
trol Line except as otherwise permitted by
this section.

c. Modifications to Sections 5.120a and
5.120b may be granted only by the Town
Commission. Prior to hearing by the Town
Commission the following conditions shall
be met:

App. 38

(1) approval of the requested mod-
ification by the Florida Bureau of
Beaches and Shores [DNR];

(2) review and approval by the Plan-
ning and Zoning Board;

(3) public hearing with due public
notice as provided for in Chapter 163
F.S. for all zoning actions.

7. 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983 (1988) states:

Every person who, under color of any statute,
ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any
State or Territory or the District of Columbia,
subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of
the United States or other person within the
jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the
party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,
or other proper proceeding for redress.

8. Article V of the United States Constitution provides
in relevant part:

[P]rivate property [shall not] be taken for public
use, without just compensation.

9. Article XIV of the United States Constitution provides
in relevant part:

... No State shall . . . deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

———— ==

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1339%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
