# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hornback v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1186%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1070

## Text

931391 FER 41994
“OFFICE OF THE CLERK

NO

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

ALTON B. HORNBACK,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ALTON B. HORNBACK
Petitioner, Pro Se
5650 Bloch Street

San Diego, CA 92122
(619) 453-3334

22 February 1994

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is CLASSIFIED information in a patent

application U.S. Government property?

a Does the acquisition, by the U.S.
Government, of a “proprietary interest" in
privately developed information as a

prerequisite to its classification, constitute
an eminent domain "taking" of that
information?

Je Can the U.S. Government lawfully
deprive a U.S. ecitisen of the right te
disclose, and to possess, the privately

developed information in his own _ patent

application, while it retains physical

possession of, and the right to use, that same
information, but without awarding "just
compensation" for the Fifth Amendment "taking"
of the intellectual property rights to that

information?

|

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED--------------- g é
II. JURISDICTION----------------.----- 2
ITI. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,
STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND
AUTHORITI ES--------------~~----.-~- 2
IV. STATEMENT OF CASE AND
PERTINENT FACTS------------------- 7
¥V. ARGUMENT-~--...................--.-- 10
VI. REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT----- 12
VII. APPENDIX-------------------------- al
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Constitutional Provisions
1. Fifth Amendment --------------- 2,passim
Statutes
i. 35 U.S.C. §181---------------- 2,passim
2. 35 U.S.C. §183---------------- 3,passim
Cases
1. James v. Campbell (1882) 104
US 356 26L Ed 786------------------- 12
2. Leesona Corp. v. United States
(1979) 220 Ct.Cl. 234 599 F.2d 958-- 12
Regulations and Other Authorities
l. 32 C.F.R. §159a.15(e)(3)--------- 3,10,11
2. Executive Order 12356 ----------- 4,passim

»- ii «=

Pg.

‘ P Industrial Security Manual for
Safeguarding Classified
Information (ISM)--------------- 4,passim
4. Secrecy Orders------------------ 5,passim

- iii -

NO.

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

ALTON B. HORNBACK,

Petitioner,

V.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Alton B. Hornback,
respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the DECISION
of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit.

oe te

II

JURISDICTION

1. This PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
is submitted pursuant to Rule 10.1(c).

\ - Date of entry of judgement to be
reviewed: 22 December 1993, (Appendix A).

3 Date rehearing denied: 25 January
1994, (Appendix B).

4. This Court has jurisdiction to review
the judgement in question pursuant to 28
0.8.C. 91254.

lil

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,
REGULATIONS AND AUTHORITIES

1. Fifth Amendment, (Pertinent Text)

[nJor shall private property be taken |
for public use, without just
compensation.

2. 35 U.S.C. §181. Secrecy‘) of
Certain Inventions and Withholding
of Patent, (Pertinent Text)

If, in the opinion...of the Secretary
of a Defense Department...the publication
or disclosure of the invention by the
granting of a patent therefor would be

(1) This is irrelevant to the classification
of SECRET within the meaning of E.0O. 12356.

—

ee

detrimental to the national
security...the Secretary of a Defense
Department...shall notify the
Commissioner and the Commissioner shall
order that the invention be kept secret
and shall withhold the grant of a patent
for such period as the national interest
requires and notify the applicant
thereof.

. 35 U.S.C. §183. Right to
Compensation, (Pertinent Text)

An applicant...whose patent is
withheld...shall have the right...to
apply to the head of any department or
agency who caused the order to be issued
for compensation for the damage caused by
the order of secrecy and/or for the use

of the invention by the Government,
resulting from his disclosure...A
Claimant may bring suit against the

United States...in the District Court of
the United States of tthe district in
which such claimant is a resident for an
amount which...shall constitute just
compensation for the damage and/or use of
the invention by the Government.

4.32C.F.R. §159a.15(e) (3)

A product of nongovernment research
and development that does not incorporate
Or reveal classified information to which
the producer or developer was given prior
access may not’ be classified until and
unless the government acquires a
proprietary interest in the _ product.
This prohibition does not affect the
provisions of the Patent Secrecy Act of
1952.

5. Executive Order 12356, (Excerpts)

(a) Definition of "National Security
(CLASSIFIED) Information

6.1(b) "Information" means any
information or material, regardless of
its physical form or characteristics,
that is owned by, produced by or for, or
is under the control of the United States
Government.

6.1(c) "National security
information" means information that has
been determined pursuant to this Order or
any predecessor orde. to require
protection against unauthorized
disclosure and that is so designated.

(b) Definition of SECRET
Classification

l.la(2) "Secret" shall be applied
to information, the unauthorized
disclosure of which reasonably could be
expected to cause serious damage to the
national security.

6. Industria’ <2" Security Manual for
Safeguarding Classified Information
(ISM), (Pertinent Text)

(2) The ISM is geared exclusively to the }
"military-industrial complex"; it makes no
provision for a private citizen to possess,
disclose, store, or transmit classified
information.

(a) Section 4-105, (Excerpts)

It should be noted, however, that
E.O. 12356 prohibits a User Agency from
Classifying information over which the
Government has no jurisdiction.
The...material submitted may not’ be
Classified by a User Agency unless...the
Government first acquires a proprietary
interest in the information.

(b) Section 2-100(c)

Before contractors are eligible for

custody (possession) of classified
material, in addition to an FCL, they
must have proper storage capability

approved by the CSO and be prepared to
apply other safeguards as required by
this Manual.

(c) Section 5-513, (Excerpts)

Contractors may disclose classified
information during visits provided the

visit is necessary for a government
purpose; the parties involved possess the
appropriate clearances and have a
need-to-know for the Classified
information; appropriate security
measures are taken aS necessary to
preclude unauthorized disclosure of

Classified information; and the number of
Classified visits is held to a minimum
consistent with contractual requirements.

7. Secrecy Orders, (Pertinent Text)

(a) 1987-1993, (Excerpts)

Publication Or disclosure of the
subject matter of the above-identified
patent application...may subject the

rae ie

ee

person publishing or disclosing the
subject matter to the penalties of 35
U.S.C. 182, 185 and 186 (1951).

The subject matter of the
above-identified application has_ been
determined to be encompassed by...E.O.

12356...and thus is subject to the (ISM).

(b) Current, 1993--, (Excerpts)

The subject matter of this
application is:

[xX] CLASSIFIED
at the level of: SECRET

[ ]}] Not classified
but would .
be CLASSIFIABLE!!)
at the level of:

Footnote

(1) The term "classifiable" as used
herein designates subject matter that is
not actually classified but is considered
sufficiently sensitive...to have been
properly classified under E.0. 12356 if
the subject matter were owned by the U.S.
government.

IV

STATEMENT OF CASE AND PERTINENT FACTS

Le On 25 April 1986, Petitioner filed
with the Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) a
patent application, S/N 06/859,033 titled
"Real Time Boresight Error Slope Sensor" -- a
device to improve the cost/effectiveness of a
missile such as the Patriot which uses a radar
terminal homing seeker, or the HARM when used
against moving targets.

2. On 16 April 1987, the U.S. Air Force
Classified the subject matter in that
application at the level of SECRET pursuant to
E.O. 12356. That subject matter remains so

Classified.

Je On 27 May 1987, the PTO issued a
document Stating that, except for
Classification markings, the application was

in condition for allowance.
4. On 24 August 1987, the PTO issued a
SECRECY ORDER on the application stating that

the subject matter was encompassed by E.O.

12356 and its implementing directive, the
ig. a

“a . ;
Z rr ie
~
i

"Industrial Security Manual for Safeguarding
Classified Information" (ISM). The SECRECY
ORDER remains in effect.

5. On 28 August 1987, Petitioner filed
an administrative claim with the U.S. Air
Force, pursuant to }§33 U.8.C. §163, tor
$10,000,000.

6. On 17 September 1987, the PTO issued
a NOTICE OF ALLOWABILITY stating that "...in
view of the secrecy order issued August 24,
1987 under 35 U.S.C.(1952) 181, this
application will be withheld from issue during
such period as the national interest
requires".

ir On 29 January 1988, Petitioner lost
his security clearance (top secret, secret,
confidential) solely as a result of

retirement.

—~+—— .

8. On 29 September 1988, the
administrative claim was denied.

9. On 22 December 1989, suit was filed
in District Court pursuant to 35 USC 183. On

2 October 1992, District Court granted the
a

Government's MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGEMENT,

effectively dismissing the case. Ga kB:
October 1992, Petitioner moved for
RECONSIDERATION. On 18 December 1992 that

motion was denied.

10. On 14 January 1993, Petitioner filed
NOTICE OF APPEAL in U.S.Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit. Appeal was transferred to
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
on 16 July 1993. On 22 December 1993, the
Federal Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed
District Court's ORDER GRANTING SUMMARY
JUDGEMENT, (Appendix A). And on 29 December
1993 Petitioner filed PETITION FOR REHEARING.
On 25 January 1994 that PETITION was denied,
(Appendix B).

ll. Basis for Federal Jurisdiction

in Court of First Instance

The statutory basis for this action in
district court is 35 U.S.C. §183. The basis
for jurisdiction in the District Court in the
Southern District of California is that

Petitioner is now, and for the past 32 years
a oe

has been, a legal resident of San Diego
County, California, which is encompassed by
the Southern District of California.

V

ARGUMENT

The current SECRECY ORDER specifies that
the subject matter in Petitioner's patent
application is CLASSIFIED SECRET, as opposed
to being simply "classifiable". It goes on to
define "Classifiable" Subject matter as
"Subject matter that is not actually
Classified but is considered sufficiently
sensitive...to have been properly classified

under E.O. 12356 if the subject matter were

owned by the U.S. government”. (emphasis

added). This indicates that information which

has actually been CLASSIFIED is, ipso facto,

“owned by the U.S. government". This
interpretation is reinforced by the
requirement in both Section 4-105 of the ISM
and 32 C.F.R. 159a.15(e)(3) that privately
developed information may not be classified

unless the Government first acquires a
——? oe

OO)

"proprietary interest" in that information.

Accordingly, Petitioner contends that the
SECRECY ORDER, the ISM, and the C.F.R. all
provide authority for an eminent domain
"taking" claim within the framework of 35
U.S.C. §183 and that that "taking" is the
damage caused by the SECRECY ORDER.

Despite the fact that the subject matter
has been classified SECRET and the patent
withheld for over 6 years, the Government,

nevertheless, argues that Petitioner is not

entitled to any compensation whatsoever,
because: (i) there was no "taking" because
the Government lacks Jurisdiction over
privately developed information, and

therefore, the classification was invalid,
(ii) a Fifth Amendment "taking" argument is
inappropriate because 35 USC 183 provides the
exclusive remedy for damage caused by a
secrecy order, and (iii) case law requires a
showing of “actual” damage for recovery under
ao Bee: 383. With that first argument, all

eminent domain condemnations would be invalid!

Moreover, the SECRECY ORDER, which is based on
that alleged invalid classification, has been
renewed each year since 1987.

VI

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT

Over 100 years ago, in James v. Campbell
(1882) 104 US 356 26L Ed 786, the court held:
"United States could not appropriate or use
invention without just compensation, in any
different way than it could appropriate er ase
any other article owned by a private citizen".
Also in Leesona Corp. v. United States (1979)
220 Ct.Cl. 234, 599 F.2d 958, the court held:
"[w]hen the government has infringed, it is
deemed to have '‘'taken' patent license under
eminent domain theory, and compensation is
just compensation required by Fifth
Amendment". However, no precedent has been
cited which addresses the issue of the
acquisition of a "proprietary interest" in the
information in a patent application as a

arerequisite to its classification.

Although the DECISION by Appeals Court
iy), ee

makes frequent reference to the secrecy order,

it is totally devoid of any language
addressing the cardinal issue of

Classification, including the very fact of the

Classification itself. This, together with

the absolute silence by both Appeals Court and

District Court regarding Executive Order
12356, suggests that the issue of
Classification and the acquisition of a

"proprietary interest" in privately developed
information as a prerequisite to that
Classification were too onerous’ for either
lower Court to handle. The Courts here must
do much more than simply take "judicial
notice" of an executive order; the secrecy
Order, by an Act of Congress, provides for
heavy civil and Criminal penalties for
violation of Executive Order 12356.

If that DECISION is allowed to stand, the

Government henceforth will be able,
indefinitely, to appropriate and use any
invention described in a pending patent
application while circumventing the "just

“>; oo

compensation" clause of the Fifth Amendment by
using the following four-step procedure: (i)

Classify that patent application pursuant to

E.O. 12356 before applicant has expended funds
otherwise recoverable as "actual" damage and,
with that classification, insure that an
uncleared applicant can not prove unauthorized
use. (ii) Impose a secrecy order on that
application pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 181 which
prohibits, under heavy civil and criminal
penalties, an uncleared inventor from
possessing or disclosing the information in
his own patent application,- and which
withholds the patent from issue “during such
period as the national interest requires".
(iii) Argue that a Fifth Amendment "taking"
argument is inappropriate because 35 U.S.C.
§183 provides the exclusive remedy for damage
caused by a secrecy order. (iv) And then
assert that applicant has shown no proof of
use or “actual” damage allegedly required by
35 U.S.C. §183 - a fact guaranteed by the

Government's preemptive strike in Step (i)}.
—.

With the foregoing procedure the

Government, for over 6 years, has successfully
avoided the payment of any compensation
whatsoever to Petitioner for his valuable
contribution to the science of missile
guidance.

WHEREFORE, this Petitioner respectfully
pleads for the mercy of this Court to reverse
the DECISION of the U.S. Court of Appeals for
the Federal Circuit dated 22 December 1993
which grants the United Stated Government a
license to circumvent the "just compensation"
Clause of the Fifth Amendment whenever that
Government wishes to appropriate or use an
invention described in a pending patent

application.

Date 199 _Libbn BMertback

Alton B. Hornback
Petitioner, Pro Se

VIII

APPENDIX

DECISION, U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit, Dated

24 BDOeCGenber T9OS cceeaenscecenancesce

ORDER DENYING REHEARING
Dated 25 January 1994----------

- al -

APPENDIX A

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. a ea ys F

this disposition is not citable as
precedent. It is a public record. The
disposition will appear in tables

published periodically.

United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

93-1462
ALTON B. HORNBACK,
Plaintiff-Appellant
Vv.
THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

DECIDED: December 22, 1993

Before ARCHER, Circuit Judge, COWEN, Senior
Circuit Judge, and MAYER, Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM
DECISION
Mr. Hornback appeals from an order of
the United States District Court for the
Southern District of California, entered
October 2, 1992, in Civil Action No.
89-1914-R-(M), which dismissed his complaint

and granted summary judgment in favor of the

- O22 «

United States. On December 18, 1992, the
district court denied Hornback's motion for
reconsideration of the order granting summary
judgment (Civil Action No. 89-1914-R(P).

In April, 1986, the United States Patent
and Trademark Office (PTO) received a patent
application for a missile guidance system
designed by Hornback. At the request of the
Air Force, the PTO issued a secrecy order on
Hornback's patent application on August 24,
1987. The secrecy order is still in effect
and prohibits the publication or disclosure
of the subject matter of the application to
any person, except those specifically
authorized in the order or those having the
requisite clearances on a need-to-know basis.

In August, 1987, Hornback submitted a
Claim to the Air Force under 35 U.S.C. §183,
for damages allegedly caused by the secrecy
order. The claim was denied on September 29,
1988.

Hornback then filed his complaint in the

- a3 -

district court under 35 U.S.C. §183 for use

of the invention and also for damages caused
by the secrecy order. Under a stipulation
which was incorporated in the court's order,
Hornback formally elected not to pursue his
Claim for use of his invention by the United
States for as long as_ the secrecy order
imposed on his pending patent application
remains in effect. As a result, the parties
agreed that the action in the district court
would proceed solely on Hornback's claim for
damages allegedly caused by the secrecy
Order.

The district court held: (1) Mr.
Hornback failed to present a genuine issue of
fact regarding the damages claimed by him,
and (2) his Fifth Amendment taking argument
is inappropriate, because 35 U.S.C. §183
provides the exclusive remedy to
inventor-owners for damages claimed as the
result of a secrecy order imposed by the

government.

After a careful review of the record in
this case, we affirm the decision of the
district court on the basis of the district
court's order of October 2, 1992.

93-1462 _

APPENDIX B

United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

ORDER

Before ARCHER, Circuit Judge, COWEN, Senior
Circuit Judge, and MAYER, Circuit Judge.

A petition for rehearing having been
filed by the APPELLANT,
UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is
ORDERED that the petition for rehearing
ce, and the same hereby is, DENIED.
The mandate will issue February 1, 1994.
FOR THE COURT,

FRANCIS X. GINDHART,
CLERK

by {[s/
Diane M. Frye
Chief Deputy Clerk

Dated: January 25, 1994

cc: ALTON B. HORNBACK STAMP
EDWARD H. RICE
Jan 25 1994
HORNBACK V US, 93-1462
(DCT - 89-CV-1914)

KkKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKhKkKhKhKkkhhhhkhhhkhkehheehekhheheere
Note: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this

Order is not citable as precedent. It is a

public record.
KkakkKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKkhhkhkkkhhhhhkhhhhhhhhkekeeee

- a6 -

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1186%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
