# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cooper v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1069%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1019

## Text

f. Court, U.S.
\
\

99 $315 AUG 231999

DFECE OE THE CLERK

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

GORDON PAUL COOPER,

Petitioner,
VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

e

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Rocer S. Hanson, Esa.

1517 East Fourth Street

Santa Ana, California 92701

(714) 953-0638

Attorney for the Petitioner;
Member of the Bar Supreme Court
of the United States

Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Supremacy Clause of the United States
Constitution, Article VI, Clause 2, requires that federal
trial and appellate courts recognize the federal legislation
codified as 40 CFR 503, taking effect on February 19, 1993,
as to compliance by this petitioner, regulating and pro-
viding for the direct application of sewage sludge to land,
and whether, therefore, a United States citizen fully com-
plying with 40 CFR 503 can be convicted of an alleged
violation of 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(2)(A) and 1342, aiding and
abetting the unlawful disposal of sewage sludge, an
important question of federal law that has not been, but
should be, settled by this Court?

2. Whether Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 52 can
be invoked by a United States Court of Appeal to prevent
resolution of the issue of unlawful conviction of a federal
defendant by the knowing use of key, material perjury by
the Office of the United States Attorney, in violation of
Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103 thru Alcorta v. Texas, 355
U.S. 28 thru Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, 269 thru Miller
v. Pate, 386 U.S. 1 thru Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150
thru United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 103 n.8, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit deciding an
important federal question that conflicts with relevant
decisions of this Court?

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

3. Whether the rule and command of Brady v. Maryland,
373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963) is violated by an Assistant United
States Attorney willfully suppressing a key material FBI
302 investigative report that proves government witness
perjury at a federal trial, the United States Court of
Appeals deciding this important federal question in a
way that conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court?

4. Whether the willful suppression of an immunity
agreement deal made to a key, material, critical govern-
ment witness requires reversal of a federal conviction
obtained, in large, from the testimony of that witness,
who was otherwise committing perjury known to the
United States Attorney, that witness denying any deal
had been made, and the Assistant United States Attorney
failing to correct the denial and/or voluntarily admit the
existence of the deal, the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit deciding an important federal ques-
tion in a way that conflicts with relevant decisions of this
Court, or, alternately an important question of federal
law that has not been, but should be, settled by this
Court?

5. Whether the attempt to collect for services lawfully
rendered in compliance with 40 CFR 503, disposal of
sewage sludge by direct application to land, constitutes
an intent to defraud, and thus to allow an elevation of 10
points in United States Sentencing Guidelines 2 F
1.1(b)(1)(K), for a federal defendant, an important ques-
tion of federal law that has not been, but should be,
settled by this Court?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented. ...........
ee ieee au ce ace eseudes
et eee Loe Un eens dred eaee vid akeeeacs
Opinion Below ....... TaN cee eed ese =
EE ee

United States Constitutional Provisions and Statutes
AG SEO EEE GE I ee ls] aN an

ARGUMENT I

ARTICLE VI, CLAUSE 2, UNITED STATES CON-
STITUTION, THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE,
REQUIRES THAT RECOGNITION BE GIVEN TO
THE SUBSEQUENTLY AND NEWLY ENACTED 40
CFR 503 AND ITS RELEVANT SECTIONS, WHICH
ALLOW THE DIRECT APPLICATION OF SEW.
AGE SLUDGE TO LAND THAT MEETS CERTAIN
CHEMICAL MAKEUP, AND REQUIRES REVER-
SAL OF A CRIMINAL CONVICTION FOR A
CHARGE OF UNLAWFUL DISPOSITION OF SEW-
AGE SLUDGE IN THIS CASE...................

No

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

ARGUMENT II

FEDERAL RULE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 52
DOES NOT APPLY TO U.S. GOVERNMENT
ATTORNEY USE OF PERJURY IN FEDERAL TRI-
ALS, WHERE THAT PERJURY IS UNKNOWN TO
THE DEFENSE, BUT IS KNOWN, OR SHOULD BE
KNOWN, TO THE GOVERNMENT AND ITS
COUNSEL; THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
WRONGLY REFUSED TO APPLY THE COM-
MANDS OF UNITED STATES V. AGURS (1976) 427
U.S. 97, 103, AND CASES CITED THEREIN AT
FOOTNOTE 8, ASSERTING THAT THE RULE OF
“PLAIN ERROR” FORECLOSED APPELLATE
SCRUTINY OF THIS GOVERNMENT PERJURY
AND SUPPRESSION OF EVIDENCE BECAUSE
PETITIONER COOPER “DID NOT ARGUE AT
TRIAL THAT THE GOVERNMENT PRESENTED
PERFURED TESIIGIINY,..” 2 cc cccccscesecccccverns 17

ARGUMENT III

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO SET
NATIONAL FEDERAL STANDARDS THAT MUST
GOVERN MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF
“DEALS” BY ASSISTANT U.S. ATTORNEYS PRE-
SENTING KEY, MATERIAL EVIDENCE VIA
INDICTABLE FEDERAL CRIMINALS WHO
DENY, UNDER OATH, THAT ANY “DEAL” HAD
BEEN GIVEN TO THEM IN EXCHANGE FOR
THEIR TESTIMONY; SEE GIGLIO V. UNITED
STATES, 405 U.S. 150; DEMARCO V. UNITED
Dae ey Gar Crk a ene e se ckuehenecnsséantesess 24

V

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

ARGUMENT IV

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
RESOLVE AN ISSUE UNDER THE UNITED
STATES SENTENCING GUIDELINES 2 Ff

TO COLLECT FOR SEWAGE SLUDGE LAWFULLY
TRANSPORTED IN BEHALF OF A CITy AND
LAWFULLY APPLIED TO LAND UNDER FED-
ERAL LAW 40 CER 503 et. seq. CAN BE TERMED
AS AN INTENT TO DEFRAUD THAT SAME CITY
OUT OF OVER $500,000 AND THUS CAUSE AN
ELEVATION OF TEN POINTS IN THE U.S.S.G.,
AND A VERY ELEVATED FEDERAL PRISON

SNOT 6s e+i nvesceunsys seria reer 29
II Sos s5 ss'dvse decrees issas a eee 30
Appendix
(a) Opinion, U.S. Court of Appeals.............. A-1
(b) Order Denying Rehearing..................0 B-]
(c) Selected Statutes, 40 CFR 503 et on Peete Eee C-1
(d) FB.I. 302 Dated April 25, 1996 and October 22,

BPI: FEATS AS He vena day Peanut Re D-]

(e) CCF-City of San Diego Civil Contract.......__. E-1

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Alcorta v. Texas, 355 U.S. 28 (1957) ............... 18, 23
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963)............. 18, 22
DeMarco v. United States, 415 U.S. 449
SR cos 04055 64 pbksenneseusweaeernnee 12, 24, 26, 28
Donnelly v. DeChristoforo, 416 U.S. 637 (1974)........ 18

Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972)
$id d0Ne Wenuudeeseoneeneeusi pa eeeeened 12, 18, 24, 26, 28

Mesarosh v. United States, 352 U.S. 1 (1956)....... 22, 28
Reiter wv. Pale, 36 UZ. 3 CURE) « ccvcceceseceevesess 18
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).............. 27
Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103 (1935)....... 11, 18, 22
Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959).............. 18, 22
Pyle v. Kaneas, S17 US. ZEUS (CIDER 2c vcccevctenss 18, 22
United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976)....11, 17, 18, 22
United States v. Cooper, 173 F.3d 1192 (9th Cir. 1999) ..... 1
United States v. Shaw, 3 F.3d 311 (9th Cir.

BOGE vce cveveuneecceweees eeneeeeeeeee 12, 13, 30

Unitep States LAws AND STATUTES
BB CPR FOG. ccc cvcccustsetscsesaesehwesepeneans passim

l
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the Honorable William Rehnquist, Chief Justice of
the United States, and to the Honorable Associate Justices
of the United States Supreme Court:

Gordon Paul Cooper, petitioner, seeks a Writ of

Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit from the raling/opinion

entered April 9, 1999, rehearing /suggestion for
hearing En Banc denied May 28, 1999.

OPINION BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit entered its published opinion, United States v.
Gordon Paul Cooper, 173 F.3d 1192 (9th Cir. 1999), on April
9, 1999. A timely petition for rehearing/suggestion for
hearing En Banc was denied on May 28, 1999. Copies of
these opinions and orders appear in the Appendix.

JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

(i) The United States Court of Appeals affirmed the
conviction by a published opinion, 173 F.3d 1192 (9th Cir.
1999) entered April 9, 1999. A copy of that opinion
appears at Appendix A-1.

(ii) The United States Court of Appeals entered an
order denying rehearing/suggestion for hearing En Banc
on May 28, 1999. A copy of that order appears at Appen-
dix B-1.

(iii) Jurisdiction to review by certiorari a decision of
a United States Circuit Court in a criminal case is pro-
vided under 28 U.S.C. 1254.

2

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS AND STATUTES INVOLVED

SUPREMACY CLAUSE, ARTICLE VI, CLAUSE 2:

This Constitution, and the laws of the United States
which shall be made in pursuance thereof; and all treaties
made, or which shall be made, under the authority of the
United States, shall be the supreme law of the land; and the
judges in every state shall be bound thereby, any thing in
the Constitution or laws of any state to the contrary
notwithstanding.

FIFTH AMENDMENT, U.S. CONSTITUTION:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the
land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of war or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for the same offence to the twice put in
jeopardy of life or limb, nor shall be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process
of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use
without just compensation.

FEDERAL RULE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 52:

(a) Harmless Error. Any error, defect, irregularity or
variance which does not affect substantial rights shall be
disregarded.

(b) Plain Error. Plain errors or defects affecting sub-
stantial rights may be noticed although they were not
brought to the attention of the Court.

—————————

3

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS 40 CER 503
(SEE APPENDIX C)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Supremacy Clause, U.S. Constitution, Arti-
cle VI.

Petitioner Gordon Paul Cooper was an officer in
Chino Corona Farms (CCF), a southern California corpo-
ration that physically hauled sewage sludge from various
city sewage processing plants for disposal under regu-
lated conditions.

One of CCF’s clients was the City of San Diego,
California, who processed its sewage under a National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit
issued by the State of California Regional Water Quality
Board.

The sewage sludge hauling for the City of San Diego
was administered via a 1990 written contract between the
City of San Diego and CCF. (See Appendix E for that
contract.) That contract did not reference or incorporate
the NPDES permit. The contract specifically provided
that all of San Diego’s sludge was “nonhazardous.”

The contract provided that CCF transport the non-
hazardous sewage sludge to land in Thermal, California,
where it was to be “composted,” i.e., periodically turned
over in “windrows” to cause aeration, and then later sold
and applied to farmland as a fertilizer. The transport to

the Thermal land occurred for a couple years, and the
huge amount of sewage sludge eventually exceeded abil-
ity to “compost” each new day’s arrival. Fortunately,
petitioner and CCF were able to obtain an agreement
with the Republic of Mexico to directly transport some of

+

the nonhazardous sewage sludge there for direct applica-
tion to Mexican farmland as a fertilizer, and in Spring,
1992, such an arrangement was commenced, with permis-
sion and knowledge of the City of San Diego and the
State Regional Water Board.

CCF hired a Mexican citizen, Manuel Mier, to secure
drivers and trucks to accomplish the daily trek from the
City of San Diego’s processing plant at “Fiesta Island”
directly to Mexico, with border crossing from Calexico,
California to Mexicali, B.C., Mexico, and thence inland to
the receiving farms.

This arrangement existed until February, 1993, when
the United States Congress passed National legislation
governing “Standards For The Use Or Disposal Of Sew-
age Sludge,” including provisions for the legal and lawful
and scientifically sound Direct Application of Sewage
Sludge to Land. While the entire 40 CFR 503 is lengthy,
relevant key excerpts from this federal legislation are set
forth in Appendix C to this petition.

Importantly, if the sewage sludge met, and was
within, i.e., below, certain ceiling concentrations of mat-
ters deemed to be “pollutants” set forth in 40 CFR 503.13,
the City of San Diego’s nonhazardous sewage sludge
could be directly applied to farmland without any per-
ceived intermediate process such as “composting” it. This
legislation, enacted February 19, 1993, specifically pro-
vided in 40 CFR 503.2(a) that “compliance with the stan-
dards in this part shall be achieved as expeditiously as
practicable, but in no case later than February 19, 1994.”

Petitioner Cooper, and CCF, with extensive experi-
ence in sewage sludge hauling, were aware of this impen-
ding legislation, and could and did immediately comply
with it since all of the nonhazardous sewage sludge

5

treated at the City of San Diego’s “Fiesta Island” process-
ing plant met the federal scientific requirements, i.e., all
of the recognized “pollutants” enumerated in 40 CFR
503.13 were below the allowed levels, and thus the sew-
age in question could be, and was, legally and lawfully
directly applied to farmland of a farmer, one Jay Mason,
in Imperial County, California, after February 19, 1993.
Several sections of the 40 CFR 503 federal legislation
which governed the allowance of direct application of
nonhazardous sewage sludge to land are of key rele-
vance: 503.13(b) provided, under its Direct Enforcibility
clause, that “No person shall use or dispose of sewage
sludge through any practice for which requirements are
established in this part except in accordance with such
requirements.” 503.4, dealing with “Relationship to other
regulations”, provided that disposal of sewage sludge via
recognized techniques previous to this enacted legislation
that now meet the requirements of 40 CFR 503 constituted
full compliance with the Clean Water Act, and under
503.5, while the “permitting authority may impose
requirements for the use or disposal of sewage sludge” in
addition to or more stringent than the requirements, that
must be shown to “be necessary to protect public health
and the environment from any adverse effect of a pollu-
tant in the sewage sludge.”

CCF fully analyzed the City of San Diego sewage
sludge prior to its direct application to California farm-
land on or after February 19, 1993, and it fully complied
with 40 CFR 503.13, as well as the “vector” and “patho-
gen” mandates of 503.15, 503.32(a) and 503. 33(b)(1) thru
(b)(8). All sewage sludge applied directly to the farmland
of farmer Jay Mason in Imperial County, California, was

6

legally and lawfully applied pursuant to the federal sci-
entific and chemical standerds of 40 CFR 503, and the
U.S. Court of Appeals, at A-5 and A-10-11, found that
“expert testimony” presented at trial established that the
Fiesta Island sewage sludge met federal standards for
direct land application. There were, therefore, no other
government standards necessary to “protect public health
and the environment.” Surely none were introduced by
the government at trial.

A final key area is contained in 40 CFR 503.10:

(a) This subpart applies to any person who
prepares sewage sludge that is applied to the
land, to any person who applies sewage sludge
to the land, to sewage sludge applied to the
land, and to the land on which sewage sludge is
applied, and

(b) Bulk Sewage Sludge. The general require-
ments in 503.12 and the management practices in
503.14 do not apply when bulk sewage sludge is
applied to the land if the bulk sewage meets the
pollutant concentrations in 503.13(b)(3), the Class
A Pathogen requirements in 503.32(a), and one of
the vector attraction reduction requirements in
503.33(b)(1) through (b)(8).

Since the City of San Diego nonhazardous sewage
sludge fully met all federal requirements in 40 CFR 503 to
directly apply it to land, the General Requirements in
503.12, and specifically its notice requirements at 40 CFR
503.12(j), did not have to be met:

Any person who applies bulk sewage
sludge subject to the cumulative pollutant load-
ing rates in 503.13(b)(2) on the land shall pro-
vide written notice, prior to the initial
application of bulk sewage sludge to a land
application site by the applier, to the permitting
authority for the State in which the bulk sewage
sludge will be applied and the permitting

7

authority shall retain and provide access to the
notice.

The notice shall include: (1) the location, by
either street address or latitude and longitude,
of the land application site. (2) The name,
address, telephone number, and National Pollu-
tant Discharge Elimination System permit
number (if appropriate) of the person who will
apply the sewage sludge.”
Petitioner Cooper was convicted of violating the
NPDES permit by failing to advise the City of the direct
deposit of sludge to the land.

Thus petitioner and CCF need not have first notified
the California State Regional Water Board, nor the City of
San Diego, prior to fully complying with the new federal
laws contained in 40 CFR 503 when the nonhazardous,
benign City of San Diego sewage sludge was applied to
the farmland of Imperial County.

At issue in this Petition for Certiorari is whether the
nationally and subsequently enacted governing legisla-
tion at 40 CFR 503, enacted and becoming effective on
February 19, 1993, became the supreme law of the land
pursuant to Article VI, clause 2, of the United States
Constitution, and whether, therefore, petitioner Cooper
could be convicted of “unlawful disposal of sewage
sludge” pursuant to 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(2)(A) and 1342, and
“conspiracy” to do so under 18 U.S.C. 371 when he had
fully complied with the supreme law of the land, and, as
here, this sludge was nonhazardous.

The U.S. Ninth Circuit tersely held that the nationally
governing legislation 40 CFR 503 in no way superseded
the so called NPDES permit, the latter of which was never
incorporated in, or mentioned, or made a part of peti-
tioner’s contact to simply transport and dispose of the

8

sewage sludge generated by the City of San Diego. See
A-12-A-16 inclusive, Appendix A, opinion, U.S. Ninth
Circuit (173 F.3d 1192, __ (9th Cir. 1991)).

B. The mail fraud conviction, 18 U.S.C. 1341.

Petitioner and CCF obtained payment for the trans-
port of sewage sludge by tonnage removal and disposal.
Of necessity, therefore, each truckload was weighed, both
at the Fiesta Island processing plant by the City of San
Diego officers (skip-load weighing as the truck was
filled), and later at a commercial scale. These scale
receipts were mailed to the City of San Diego to obtain
payment. It is of significant interest that the City’s own
weighing processes at its Fiesta Island processing plant
closely verified the amounts billed to the City by CCF.

Matters went well until Mexican citizen Manuel Mier
was hired at $500/week to arrange for and supervise the
transportation of the sludge into the Republic of Mexico
during a period from Spring, 1992, through February 19,
1993, this latter date being the commencement of allow-
ing the direct application of the nonhazardous sewage
sludge to land under the newly enacted, nationally gov-
erning federal legislation at 40 CFR 503.

Mier was to be paid $5.00 per truckload to pay for the
commercial weighing of each truck. The petitioner and
CCF physically made these payments, believing that Mier
was honestly causing each truck to be weighed. Instead,
Mier privately arranged to have a print shop make up
false and phony weigh slips without petitioner Cooper
being aware of his fraud, and he thus was able to fill out
a false weight slip for each load and pocket the $5.00.

When the City learned of the deposit of the non-
hazardous sludge at the farm of Jay Mason, although that

9

deposit fully complied with the nationally governing 40
CFR 503 mandates, they refused to pay for some $566,000
in fees due to CCF, and the weight slips falsely printed by
Mier and personally filled out by him and later mailed to
the City by CCF were examined, disclosing that they
were sequentially numbered, a result incongruent with
the normal commercial scale weigh master certificates,
since other vehicles would, logically, be weighed in
between the trucks of CCF, thus destroying the numerical
tandem sequence.

Manuel Mier, apparently threatened with prosecution
by the FBI and the office of United States Attorney,
Southern District of California, became the key witness
for the government at petitioner’s trial, as to the 18 U.S.C.
1341 charges.

Mier, in a formal interview report to the FBI in
March, 1996, stated that he, Mier, did not know where the
“weigh slips” came from, but he, Mier, had personally
witnessed petitioner Cooper enter a then non-named
Mexicali print ship, Mier not entering, and a couple days
later, petitioner Cooper gave him a box of completed false
weigh slips. However, on April 4, 1996, AUSA Melanie
Pierson placed Mier before the U.S. Grand Jury, seeking
petitioner’s indictment, and permitted Mier to testify that
Mier and Cooper went into a then non-named print shop in
Mexicali, B.C., and they jointly ordered the phony “weigh
slips,” Mier translating English-Spanish for petitioner
Cooper, who is not bilingual. Having access to the March,
1996, FBI report stating a rather different scenario, AUSA
Pierson made no effort to correct the Mier testimony, vis-
a-vis the March, 1996, FBI report, one version of which
must be perjury. If the March 1996, report was perjured,
Mier is guilty of an 18 U.S.C. 1001 violation. If the Grand

10

Jury testimony was perjured, 18 U.S.C. 1623 was violated.
Apparently, following Mier’s cooperation with AUSA
Pierson before the grand jury, she derived from him that
the Mexicali print shop claimed to be the situs of printing
was called “Impremex,” located at 2088 Maderos, Mex-
icali, B.C. Mexico, and the FBI visited it on April 25, 1996,
learning from officials thereat that no such printing had
been done there. This report was suppressed from the
defense by AUSA Pierson, and was never disclosed until
after the trial was concluded. At trial, having in mind the
suppressed FBI report showing false the story of Mier
regarding the genesis of the “weigh slips,” AUSA
Melanie Pierson permitted Mier to tell a yet different
under oath tale of weigh slip origin: that he, Mier, peti-
tioner Cooper, and one “Barilla,” or “Padilla,” had jointly
gone to the now-named Imp :emex print shop and had
arranged for the printing ci the weigh slips. At this time
AUSA Pierson, representing the United States at trial, still
suppressed the April 25, 1996, FBI report showing that
the printing had not been done at “Impremex.”

No matter which of these 3 false stories the jury
might have accepted, all of them asserted that petitioner
Cooper was either personally, or jointly, involved in the
false printing, but the government attorney willfully sup-
pressed from the jury that the FBI had learned that it had
never occurred at all where Mier claimed it to have been
done. See FBI 302 reports, April 25, 1996 and October 19,
1996, Appendix D.

The United States Court of Appeals at A-16-A-20
asserts that it can not deal with this blatant governmental
perjury since petitioner and his lawyer failed to assert

perjury at trial, and thus the “plain error” doctrine of F.R.

11

Criminal Procedure 52 precluded dealing with the com-
manding law of United States v. Agurs, 427, U.S. 97, 103,
and footnote 8.

At issue is whether governmental suppressed evi-
dence proving perjury, that evidence of perjury being
first and only discovered after trial, allows the rule of
“plain error” to be invoked, or whether the long line of
cases uniformly condemning government perjury stem-
ming from Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103 through United
States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 103, n.8 require the grant of
Certiorari to elucidate this Ninth Circuit misconception.
Plain error applied here as to prosecution perjury discov-
ered after trial appears to be a case of first impression.

C. The failure to reveal the “deal” or immunity
agreement, formal or informal, accorded to key
government witness Manuel Mier.

At A-19-A-20, C. Immunity Agreement, the U.S. Ninth
Circuit somehow forgives the failure of the government
to reveal that they had agreed to not indict, arrest, and
try Manuel Mier for his series of crimes, including 18
U.S.C. 1001, material false statements to the FBI, 18 U.S.C.
1623, material false testimony before a federal grand jury,
and obviously false trial testimony regarding printing of
the weigh slips, as well as his admitted personal falsifica-
tion of weigh slips, never having weighed the trucks at
any time after he assumed responsibility for the hauling
to Mexico and the February, 1993 hauling to the farm of
Jay Mason. At no time has Manuel Mier been arrested,
charged, indicted, or tried for these many crimes. It is
clear that the government, either formally or informally,
made an immunity agreement with Mier, suppressed it
from the defense at trial, and refused to either disclose it,

12

or correct Mier’s perjury when he denied any such agree-
ment. This technique, perhaps a new and innovative gov-
ernmental effort to escape the consequence of Giglio v.
United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972) and DeMarco v. United
States, 415 U.S. 449 (1974), should cause the grant of
Certiorari to further elucidate the government's obliga-
tions under Giglio. This governmental technique creates,
apparently, a case of first impression, if not governed by
Giglio and DeMarco.

D. Sentencing Issues:

Under the U.S.S.G., and cases there interpreting, a
federal defendant can be charged with the larger of what
he actually defrauded someone out of, or what he intended
to defraud that party out of. See, e.g., United States v.
Shaw, 3 F.3d 311 (9th Cir. 1993).

At bar, the figure $566,000, the amount CCF billed the
City of San Diego for nonhazardous sewage sludge
removed after February 19, 1993, and lawfully (40 CFR
503) applied directly to the farmland of Jay Mason in
Imperial County, for which the City refused to pay CCF,
was deemed an “intended loss” for sentence enhance-
ments. Clearly, since the City refused to pay, the City
actually lost nothing.

This figure, a desire to get reimbursed for a fully
legitimate billing for nonhazardous sewage sludge truly
removed and lawfully deposited directly on the land
pursuant to 40 CFR 503, caused a ten-level sentencing
enhancement under U.S.S.G. 2F1.1(b)(1)(K). At A-25-
A-28, the U.S. Ninth Circuit, in its circuitry of reasoning,
held petitioner fully liable for an “intended loss” of

13

$566,000 to the City where, here, the nonhazardous sew-
age sludge was lawfully removed and disposed of pur-
suant to 40 CFR 503, and petitioner and CCF legitimately
billed for these services, petitioner being unaware of
Manuel Mier’s falsifications, and not learning of the per-
jury until after trial.

Certiorari should be granted to analyze and elucidate
the U.S.S.G. in “actual” v. “intended” losses. See United
States v. Shaw, 3 F.3d 311 (9th Cir. 1993). This appears to
be a case of first impression and should cause the grant of
certiorari.

ARGUMENT I

ARTICLE VI, CLAUSE 2, UNITED STATES CONSTITU-
TION, THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE, REQUIRES THAT
RECOGNITION BE GIVEN TO THE SUBSEQUENTLY
AND NEWLY ENACTED 40 CFR 503 AND ITS RELE-
VANT SECTIONS, WHICH ALLOW THE DIRECT
APPLICATION OF SEWAGE SLUDGE TO LAND THAT
MEETS CERTAIN CHEMICAL MAKEUP, AND
REQUIRES REVERSAL OF A CRIMINAL CONVIC-
TION FOR A CHARGE OF UNLAWFUL DISPOSITION
OF SEWAGE SLUDGE IN THIS CASE.

The advancement of scientific study and improve-
ments in the disposal of sewage sludge bore fruit in the
United States when, effective February 19, 1993, the Con-
gress enacted 40 CFR 503, STANDARDS FOR THE USE
OR DISPOSAL OF SEWAGE SLUDGE.

Petitioner attaches relevant sections of that legisla-
tion as Appendix C.

Importantly, the legislation provided that in 503.2(a),
“compliance with the standards in this part shall be

achieved as expeditiously as practicable, but in no case
later than February 19, 1994.”

14

Petitioner originally in 1990 operated under a civil
contract with the City of San Diego, California, said City
operating under an older National Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System permit (NPDES) to process its sewage.
That contract provided that petitioner’s company, Chino
Corona Farms (CCF), would subject the sewage to com-
posting on a reservation near Thermal, California. How-
ever, after several months of this operation, the huge
amount of sewage sludge being brought each day for
composting caused a backlog and in late Spring, 1992,
petitioner and CCF had the chance to transport some of
the excess sludge directly from the city’s sewage process-
ing plant at Fiesta Island, San Diego, to Mexicali, Mexico,
without composting it. In Mexicali, the sludge was used
as a fertilizer, and the City of San Diego acquiesced in
this Mexicali site because they decided that they had no
jurisdiction over it, and if the Mexican facility accepted it
for use as a fertilizer, no violations of laws of the United
States would ensue.

An important provision of the original contract

between the City of San Diego and CCF was:
“Contractor (CCF) hereby agrees to comply
with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as
amended, the California Fair Employment Prac-
tices Act, and any other applicable federal or state
laws and regulations hereinafter enacted, as well as
those requirements addressed by the City of San
Diego’s Equal Opportunity Program, recorded
with the City Clerk as Document RR-262633.”
That contract did not provide for criminal prosecu-
tion if it was breached, but instead went on to require:
“Contractor (CCF) understands that failure
to comply with the above cited laws and regula-
tions and/or falsely submitting information
under same laws and regulations may result in

15

termination of this contract and debarment from
awards of future city contracts for a period of
not less than one (1) nor more than two (2)
years.” (Govt. Trial Exhibit 2)

Returning, then, to the 40 CFR 503 legislation which
took effect 2-19-93, but which allowed a compliance
period of a year to the potential direct application of the
sewage sludge to land, it is important to note that this
was “federal law and regulation” enacted after the CCF-
City of San Diego contract, and after 2-19-93, petitioner
applied conforming, nonhazardous sewage sludge
directly to farmland in Imperial County, California.

Clearly the sewage sludge met the chemical require-
ments of Sections 503.10(a), (b)(1), 503.12, 503.13 (b)(3),
503.14, as found by the U.S. Ninth Circuit opinion at A-12:

“At trial, the district court allowed Cooper
to testify that he had relied on the federal regu-
lations, and to present expert testimony that the
Fiesta Island sewage sludge met federal stan-
dards for direct land application.”

Inasmuch as 40 CFR 503.10 (b)(1) provides:

“The general requirements in 503.12 and the
management practices in 503.14 do not apply
when bulk sewage sludge is applied to the land if the
bulk sewage sludge meets the pollutant concentra-
tions in 503.13(b)(3), the class A pathogen require-
ments in 503.32(a) and one of the vector attraction
reduction requirements in 503.33 (b)(1) through
(b)(8),”

as found by the U.S. Ninth Circuit supra, the sewage
sludge deposited after February 19, 1993, directly to the
farmland of Imperial County, California, met all chemi-
cal-pathogen-vector requirements, and thus the General
Requirements of 503.12 were waived, as were the man-
agement practices of 503.14.

16

The 40 CFR 503 federal legislation was newly
enacted, was lawfully complied with by petitioner on and
after Feb. 19, 1993, and it became the newly enacted law
of the land per the Supremacy Clause of Article VI of the
U.S. Constitution, which provides:

This Constitution, and the laws of the United

States which shall be made in pursuance thereof; and

all treaties made, or which shall be made, under

the authority of the United States, shall be the

supreme law of the land; and the judges in every

state shall be found thereby, any thing in the

Constitution or laws of any state to the contrary

notwithstanding.

Petitioner thus complied with the newly enacted law
of the land in 40 CFR 503 Sections 10, 12, & 14, and thus
was not in violation of the new law which now allowed
direct application of conforming sewage sludge to farm-
land as a fertilizer. Importantly the City need not have
been notified of the direct application.

Moreover, petitioner’s contract with the City of San
Diego set forth in Appendix “E,” specifically provided
that petitioner would comply with “any other applicable
federal laws and regulations hereinafter enacted.”

Certiorari should be granted to resolve that Article
VI, clause 2 of the U.S. Constitution permits, and indeed
requires, that the newly enacted, and chemical and scien-
tifically supported, federal law at 40 CFR 503 be accorded
full faith and credit as the law of the land. It is question-
able whether any thing other than a simple breach of
contract, of the CCF-City of San Diego Contract,
occurred, if that is even demonstrated, by petitioner’s
direct deposit of chemically benign sewage sludge to the
farmland of Imperial County California, after February
19, 1993.

17

Petitioner was convicted of an alleged violation of
the older NPDES permit by directly applying nonhazar-
dous, fully treated and conforming sewage sludge to
farmland without notifying the City. However, the subse-
quent national law under 40 CFR 503 excuses such notifica-
tion and allows said direct application.

Thus no federal law was violated by petitioner, and
federal law permitted petitioner’s direct application to
farmland.

Certiorari should be granted in this first interpreta-
tion of 40 CFR 503 and the supremacy clause of the
United States Constitution, a key and highly relevant
issue in the environmental legislation today.

ARGUMENT II

FEDERAL RULE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 52
DOES NOT APPLY TO U.S. GOVERNMENT ATTOR-
NEY USE OF PERJURY IN FEDERAL TRIALS, WHERE
THAT PERJURY IS UNKNOWN TO THE DEFENSE,
BUT IS KNOWN, OR SHOULD BE KNOWN, TO THE
GOVERNMENT AND ITS COUNSEL; THE U.S.
COURT OF APPEALS WRONGLY REFUSED TO APPLY
THE COMMANDS OF UNITED STATES v. AGURS
(1976) 427 U.S. 97, 103, AND CASES CITED THEREIN
AT FOOTNOTE 8, ASSERTING THAT THE RULE OF
“PLAIN ERROR” FORECLOSED APPELLATE SCRU-
TINY OF THIS GOVERNMENT PERJURY AND SUP-
PRESSION OF EVIDENCE BECAUSE PETITIONER
COOPER “DID NOT ARGUE AT TRIAL THAT THE
GOVERNMENT PRESENTED PERJURED TESTI-
MONY.”

Very tundamental and inconsistent reasoning
allowed the U.S. Ninth Circuit to circumvent analysis of
clear government witness perjury by its use of rule 52,
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, i.e.:

18
FEDERAL RULE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 32:

(a) Harmless error. Any error, defect, irreg-
ularity or variance which does not affect sub-
stantial rights shall be disregarded.

(b) Plain error. Plain errors or defects
affecting substantial rights may be noticed
although they were not brought to the attention
of the Court.

In fact, this clear government known perjury must be
evaluated by the continuous command of this court in
United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 103:

The rule of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 83
S.Ct. 1194, 10 L.Ed.2d 215, arguably applies in
three quite different situations. Each involves
the discovery, after trial, of information which
had been known to the prosecution but
unknown to the defense.

In the first situation, typified by Mooney v. Holo-
han, 294 U.S. 103, 55 S.Ct. 340, 79 L.Ed. 791, the
undisclosed evidence demonstrates that the
prosecution’s case includes perjured testimony,
and that the prosecution knew, or should have
known, of the perjury. In a series of subsequent
cases, the Court has consistently held that a
conviction obtained by the knowing use of per-
jury is fundamentally unfair,5 and must be set
aside if there is any reasonable likelihood that the
false testimony could have affected the judgment of
the jury.”

8 Pyle v. Kansas, 317 U.S. 213, 63 S.Ct. 177, 87 L.Ed. 214;
Alcorta v. Texas, 355 U.S. 28, 78 S.Ct. 103, 2 L.Ed.2d 9; Napue v.
Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, 79 S.Ct. 1173, 3 L.Ed.2d 1217; Miller v. Pate,
386 U.S. 1, 87 S.Ct. 785, 17 L.Ed.2d 690; Giglio v. United States,
405 U.S. 150, 92 S.Ct. 763, 31 L.Ed.2d 104; Donnelly v.
DeChristoforo, 416 U.S. 637, 94 S.Ct. 273, 38 L.Ed.2d 216.

19

The U.S. Ninth Circuit, in tersely dealing with this
key, material prejudicial perjury, and failure to correct it,
and the suppression of an F.B.I. report that proved it
perjured, stated at page A-9:

B. Perjured Testimony

[11] “If a prosecutor knowingly uses per-
jured testimony or knowingly fails to disclose
that testimony is false, the conviction must be
set aside if there is any reasonable likelihood
that the false testimony could have affected the
jury verdict.” Ortiz v. Stewart, 149 F.3d 923, 936
(9th Cir. 1998). Because Cooper did not argue at
trial that the government presented perjured
testimony, this court may review only if there
was plain error affecting substantial rights. Peo-
ple of Territory of Guam v. Veloria, 136 F.3d 648,
652 (9th Cir. 1998). If those conditions are met,
the appellate court may exercise its discretion to
review an error “only if... the error seriously
affects the fairness, integrity, or public reputa-
tion of judicial proceedings.” Id. (citing Johnson
v. United States, 520 U.S. 461, 467 (1997)).

[12] Here, even if we assume that Mier
committed perjury and the government knew of
it, the prejudice to Cooper was not great. Coo-
per’s attorney was able to impeach Mier exten-
sively with inconsistent statements. There was
no plain error.

Petitioner reviews these undisputed facts which
should show the significance and high materiality to this
perjury:

(1) Inter alia, petitioner was charged and convicted
of mail fraud occasioned by his company’s employees
mailing allegedly fraudulent “weigh slips” via the U.S.
Mails to the City of San Diego to secure, or attempt to

20

secure, payment for some $566,000 in fees due his corpo-
ration for actually hauling that much benign, nonhazar-
dous sewage sludge away from the City’s sewage
processing facility and depositing it, in full conformity
with the newly enacted 40 CFR 503 laws, directly on
farmland in Imperial County.

2. The government contended that petitioner will-
fully falsified the billing of this sewage sludge in a crimi-
nal agreement with the key chief government witness,
Manuel Mier, by causing the production and the mailing
of “weigh slips” for trucks that never had been weighed.

3. As stated at page A-9, the U.S. Ninth Circuit
found:

When the case went to trial, Mier was one of
the key witnesses against Cooper. On cross-
examination, the defense established that Mier
had told at least three conflicting stories about
how and where he had obtained the blank
weighmaster certificates used for the Mexicali
operation. First, in an FBI report from March
1996, Mier said that Cooper went to a print shop
in Mexicali by himself and later gave Mier a box
of weighmaster certificates. Second, testifying
before the grand jury in April 1996, Mier said
that he went into a print shop in Mexicali with
Cooper, translated for Cooper, and helped order
the weighmaster certificates. Third, at trial, Mier
testified that he went to a Mexicali print shop
with Cooper and another person (either “Bar-
illa” or “Padilla”), and that the three men
arranged for printing the certificates.

4. Irrespective of which one of these versions the
jury accepted, the true facts were that the F.B.I. had sent 3
agents to that print shop, and had learned that the print-
ing had not been done at that shop. This F.B.I. 302 report

21

of April 25, 1996, was suppressed from the defense at
trial, and was not discovered until current counsel
(appeal/certiorari) made inquiry of government trial
counsel, AUSA Melanie Pierson, why the F.B.I. had not
gone to that print shop and secured evidence that Mier
and petitioner had indeed had the printing of the weigh
slips done there. Upon this inquiry, AUSA Pierson ini-
tially disclosed the said F.B.I. report of April 25, 1996,
well after petitioner’s conviction.

It is clear that this report would have established key
government witness Manuel Mier a perjurer on any one
of the 3 different stories, all of which claimed to establish
petitioner as the securer of false weigh slips at that print
shop. (See appendix D for the April 25, 1996, F.B.I. 302
report suppressed from the defense, only disclosed after
trial, and for a companion 302, dated October 19, 1996,
establishing that the FBI had been told by Mier of the
identity, known to be false, of the situs of publishing).

While the U.S. Ninth Circuit addressed the “missing
document”, it, seemingly, was loathe to lay a perjury
finding on the heads of the government. It was to other-
wise claim that the suppressed FBI report was “not mate-
rial,” and because the defense was able to “impeach Mier
extensively,” there could be no added benefit to peti-
tioner and his counsel by use of an FBI report which
proved Mier a liar, with government knowledge, on any
one of the three stories, all of which claimed petitioner
had personally arranged for the false weigh slips. The
defense was, of course, that Mier had, apparently, with-
out petitioner’s knowledge, personally arranged for the
printing of the slips, had never caused the trucks to be
weighed, had received $5.00 per truck from petitioner,
and had pocketed the money. Indeed, petitioner

22

advanced $5.00 per each truck to be weighed, and fully
assumed that the lying government witness was causing
them to be weighed, because that was the only way that
petitioner could be paid for each ton of sewage sludge
removed from the City of San Diego.

The issue of the false weigh slips was, clearly, a trial
credibility issue between government perjurer Manuel
Mier and petitioner as to the mail counts, and, quite
plainly, the government, virtually solely via use of Mier,
illegally and unlawfully caused petitioner’s conviction.
This case travelled, therefore, under the U.S. v. Agurs-
Mooney v. Holohan-Brady v. Maryland canopy, which
requires this conviction to be set aside “if there is any
reasonable likelihood that the false testimony (and suppressed
FBI 302 report) could have affected the judgment of the jury.”
It is, clearly, not a F.R. Criminal Procedure 52 “plain
error” case, and certiorari should be granted to, once
again, make plain that government witness perjury will
not be tolerated. See, also, Mesarosh v. United States, 352
U.S. 1, 1 L.Ed.2d 1, 77 S.Ct. 1 (1956) for requirements
involving this Honorable Court’s Supervisory role over
the lower federal Courts.

The clearly applicable law, long ago, and consistently,
enunciated by this court, can be summarized from Napue
v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, 269 (1959):

First, it is established that a conviction
obtained through use of false evidence, known
to be such by representatives of the State, must
fall under the Fourteenth Amendment, Mooney
v. Holohan, 394 U.S. 103; Pyle v. Kansas, 317 U.S.
213; Curran v. Delaware, 359 F.2d 707. See New
York ex rel. Whitman v. Wilson, 318 U.S. 688, and
White v. Ragen, 324 U.S. 760. Compare Jones v.

;
4

23

Commonwealth, 97 F.2d 335, 338, with In re Saw-
yer’s Petition, 229 F.2d 805, 809. Cf. Mesarosh v.
United States, 352 U.S. 1. The same result obtains
when the State, although not soliciting false evi-
dence, allows it to go uncorrected when it
appears. Alcorta v. Texas, 355 U.S 28; United
States ex rel. Thompson v. Dye, 221 F.2d 763;
United States ex rel. Almeida v. Baldi, 195 F.2d 815;
United States ex rel. Montgomery v. Ragen, 86
F.Supp. 382. See generally annotation, 2 L.Ed.2d
1575.

The principle that a State may not know-
ingly use false evidence, including false testi-
mony, to obtain a tainted conviction, implicit in
any concept of ordered liberty does not cease to
apply merely because the false testimony goes
only to the credibility of the witness. The jury’s
estimate of the truthfulness and reliability of a
given witness may well be determinative of
guilt or innocence, and it is upon such subtle
factors as the possible interest of the witness in
testifying falsely that a defendant's life or lib-
erty may depend. As stated by the New York
Court of Appeals in a case very similar to this
one, People v. Savvides, 1 N.Y.2d 554, 557: 136
N.E.2d 853, 854-855; 154 N.Y.S.2d 885, 887:

“It is of no consequence that the false-
hood bore upon the witness’ credibility
rather than directly upon defendant's guilt.
A lie is a lie, no matter what its subject, and,
if it is in any way relevant to the case, the
district attorney has the responsibility and
duty to correct what he knows to be false
and elicit the truth. . . . That the district
attorney’s silence was not the result of guile
or a desire to prejudice matters little, for its
impact was the same, preventing, as it did, a

24

trial that could in any real sense be termed
fair.”

In reality, the issue of the false “weigh slips” was
simply a trial credibility issue between petitioner and
Manuel Mier, and government perjury and suppression
of evidence affecting Mier’s credibility must lead to the
conclusion that “there is a reasonable, likelihood that the
false testimony could have affected the judgment of the
jury,” a standard that the U.S. Ninth Circuit failed to
address due to their erroneous diversion to F.R. Criminal
Procedure 52.

Certiorari should be granted to enunciate, on a
national basis, whether F.R.Crim. Proc. 52 applies at all to
deny an appellate attack on prosecution witness perjury,
that perjury only being discovered, after trial and convic-
tion.

This appears to be a case of first impression in review
of federal convictions obtained in part by the knowing
use of perjury.

ARGUMENT III

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO SET
NATIONAL FEDERAL STANDARDS THAT MUST
GOVERN MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF “DEALS”
BY ASSISTANT U.S. ATTORNEYS PRESENTING KEY,
MATERIAL EVIDENCE VIA INDICTABLE FEDERAL
CRIMINALS WHO DENY, UNDER OATH, THAT ANY
“DEAL” HAD BEEN GIVEN TO THEM IN EXCHANGE
FOR THEIR TESTIMONY; SEE GIGLIO v. UNITED
STATES, 405 U.S. 150; DEMARCO v. UNITED STATES,
415 U.S. 449.

The government prosecuted petitioner Cooper on key
counts of his trial largely, and solely, via one Manuel

Mier, the person hired to supervise the hauling of sewage

©
~
&
»
=

25

sludge from San Diego into the Republic of Mexico in
1992. While petitioner was not prosecuted for illegal
transport of sewage sludge into Mexico, for the avowed
rationale of no jurisdiction as to any claim of illegal
deposit in a foreign country, petitioner was charged with
counts of 18 U.S.C. 1341, mail fraud, stemming from his
mailing of allegedly fraudulent “weigh slips” to the City
of San Diego to obtain payment for transporting of this
sewage sludge. As the Ninth Circuit opinion makes clear,
Manuel Mier “faced potential criminal prosecution in the
United States” for his several crimes, including 18 U.S.C.
1001, lying to the FBI as to the circumstances of how the
weigh slips were printed; 18 U.S.C. 1623, his lying to the
Grand Jury; and his admission, at trial, of falsely filling
out literally dozens and dozens of weigh slips without
causing the weighing of the trucks in 1992-1993.

The assistant U.S. Attorney in this case, Melanie K.
Pierson, had the FBI subpoena Mier from Mexico to San
Diego, California, on two separate occasions: (i) for his
April 4, 1996, testimony before the grand jury, and (ii) his
testimony at petitioner’s 1997 trial. On each occasion
AUSA Pierson knew of indictable crimes admittedly com-
mitted by Manuel Mier, and at both the grand jury and at
trial, willfully allowed Mier to commit perjury, knowing
that perjury to be occurring. At no time was Mier
arrested, charged, indicted, or tried for his admitted
crime of falsifying weigh slips, nor for his known crimes
of 18 U.S.C. 1001, lying to the FBI, 18 U.S.C. 1623, lying
before the grand jury, and his lying at the trial of this
petitioner.

When asked about any “deal,” Mier denied that such
a “deal” had been made to him. AUSA Pierson failed to
correct this perjury, for it is clear that AUSA Pierson and

26

her superior, the U.S. Attorney for the Southern District
of California, San Diego, had made a decision to not
charge Manuel Mier for any crime at all, in turn for his
known perjured testimony before the U.S. grand jury on
April 4, 1996, and for his 1997 trial testimony leading to
the convictions of this petitioner.

It is unconscionable to believe that the government
would bring Mexican citizen Mier into the United States
on two occasions, knowing him to be indictable for
already committed crimes, and then eliciting perjury
from him at petitioner’s trial, and failing to disclose that
the government had already decided that they were not
going to arrest him, charge him, indict him, or bring him
to trial for any of these crimes.

While the Assistant U.S. Attorney knew the truth, she
failed to disclose these facts to the trial jury, allowed Mier
to deny any “deal” had been made to him, and thus
violated the general tenets of Giglio v. United States, 405
U.S. 150, 154 (1972) and DeMarco v. United States, 415 U.S.
449 (1974). A new government ploy may readily be seen
to surface here — the government does not overtly tell a
prospective witness of his/her serious criminal viola-
:ons, and thus, as here, leads an ignorant foreigner to not
realize his extensive criminal behavior and potential
charges and indictments, and thus need never give him
an “overt” deal; but the lay jury is not made aware of this
decision, and is thus falsely led to believe the key mate-
rial government witness is telling the truth because he,
himself, is admitting to some criminal behavior, in spite
of, potentially awaiting to be charged with those crimes

upon his conclusion of testimony.

27

In view of the clear-cut indication that the govern-
ment had made a “deal” with Manuel Mier, even assum-
ing that their decision was not formally conveyed to Mier
(one would think that Mier should have at least received
warnings pursuant to Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S.
436 before he was interrogated before the jury, confessing
his criminal behavior, if the government had decided to
prosecute him!!), the U.S. Ninth Circuit tersely held at
page A-19, C. Immunity Agreement:

“Cooper contends that the government
improperly failed to disclose an immunity
agreement with Mier. The government denies
that it had an agreement with Mier. This court
reviews de novo alleged violations of the gov-
ernment’s obligation to disclose leniency agree-
ments with prosecution witnesses. United States
v. Brady, 67 F.3d 1421, 1428 (9th Cir. 1995); see
Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150, 154 (1972).

As the defense established at trial, Mier’s cred-
ibility was shaky at best. He faced potential criminal
prosecution in the United States, so it seems unlikely
that he would return to testify only because he
wanted to tell the truth. This, however, is at most
circumstantial evidence of an immunity agree-
ment with Mier. A defendant must present more
direct evidence of an agreement to justify rever-
sal on this ground. See United States v. Ramirez,

608 F.2d 1261, 1266-67 (9th Cir. 1979).”

The only problem with this highly questionable
“analysis” is that only two people knew and held the
truth - Mier and Assistant U.S. Attorney Pierson, and one
denied the agreement, the second remained mute; balanc-
ing this conspiracy of silence is the fact that Mier “faced
potential prosecution in the United States,” and was
never, never, never arrested, indicted, or tried, and in this
month of August, 1999, some 6 years later, he has never

28

been so charged, a grateful United States embracing his
perjury against petitioner with thanks and no criminal
charges. Where, as here, the defense is not privy to the
agreement, and it is suppressed, certiorari should be
granted to provide nationwide guidelines that require
disclosure of any inter-office U.S. Attorney agreement not
to prosecute an obvious criminal called as a government
witness, whether or not any overt agreement was con-
veyed to that perjuring witness or not.

A key and material re-examination and extension of
Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150, 154 is in order.

In this resolution of suppression of a “deal,” the
United States Court of Appeals has decided an important
federal question in a way that conflicts with the general
scope of Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150, 154 (1972), as
to call for this Court’s supervisory power, within the
meaning of Mesarosh v. United States, 352 U.S. 1, 1 L.Ed.2d
1, 77 S.Ct. 1 (1956).

Certiorari should be granted, as a significant and
misapprehended distortion of the Giglio-DeMarco man-

date is presented in this published opinion of the U.S.
Ninth Circuit.

29
ARGUMENT IV

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE
AN ISSUE UNDER THE UNITED STATES SENTENC-
ING GUIDELINES 2 F 1.1(b)(1)(K), AN ISSUE OF
FIRST IMPRESSION THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT
SHOULD BE SETTLED BY THIS COURT: WHETHER
AN EFFORT TO COLLECT FOR SEWAGE SLUDGE
LAWFULLY TRANSPORTED IN BEHALF OF A CITY
AND LAWFULLY APPLIED TO LAND UNDER FED-
ERAL LAW 40 CFR 503 et seq. CAN BE TERMED AS
AN INTENT TO DEFRAUD THAT SAME CITY OUT
OF OVER $500,000 AND THUS CAUSE AN ELEVA-
TION OF TEN POINTS IN THE U.S.S.G., AND A VERY
ELEVATED FEDERAL PRISON SENTENCE?

While the United States Court of Appeals embraced
many different and separate elevations in the ultimate
sentence imposed on petitioner, one of these stands out —
an elevation of 10 points for the “intent” to defraud the
City out of over $500,000 in fees owed to petitioner’s
corporation, Chino Corona Farms, for the true removal of
that amount of sewage sludge and the deposit of it on
farmland of Imperial County, California in conformance
with and pursuant to the federal statutes which took
effect on February 19, 1993, 40 CFR 503, petitioner imme-
diately being able to comply with that statute.

The law of the environment is, of course, of great
interest today, and this petition raises issues which
should elucidate key and newly enacted federal laws
which effect all sewage disposal throughout the United
States. Petitioner has addressed the failure of the lower

federal courts to honor the Supremacy Clause in relegat-
ing 40 CFR 503 to a subservient position to a so-called
“permit”, where 40 CFR 503 specifically addresses that
NPDES permit in excusing the notification section of the
permit where, as here, the sewage sludge met the chemi-
cal, pathogen, and vector limits of 503.

30

Here the great and significant sentence imposed on
this petitioner for a crime that he did not commit because
of the superseding law is addressed, requiring an inter-
pretation of section 2 F 1.1 (b)(1)(K) of the guidelines, an
important question of federal law that has not been, but
should be, settled by this Court. A panel of the Ninth
Circuit, inter alia, has ruled that a federal defendant
convicted of a crime involving fraud can be sentenced
under the larger of what actually was taken vis-a-vis what
was intended to be taken. See, e.g., United States v. Shaw, 3
F.3d 311 (9th Cir. 1993). At bar, clearly the City of San
Diego was not defrauded out of anything, since they
refused to pay petitioner’s bills; the error stems from a
claim that petitioner’s effort to collect his lawfully earned
money is somehow an “intent to defraud”, and that he
should, therefore, be elevated 10 points in the sentencing
table.

This clear error requires a grant of Certiorari to inter-

pret this section, and others, of the U.S.S.G. that affected
the imposed sentence of 51 months.

CONCLUSION

For any one of the four key and de novo issues of this
Petition, all raising important questions of federal law
that has not been, but should be, settled by this court,
Certiorari should be granted to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Dated: August 20, 1999
Respectfully submitted,

Rocer S. HANSON
Counsel to Petitioner
Member of the Bar
United States
Supreme Court

A-1

APPENDIX A
FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-50296
UNitep States OF AMERICA, :

Plaintiff-Appellee, D.C. No.
96-0804-JNK
v.
OPINION

Gordon Paut Cooper,
Defendant-Appellant.

eee eee eee

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of California
Judith N. Keep, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
May 8, 1998 - Pasadena, California
Filed April 9, 1999

Before: William C. Canby, Jr. and Andrew J. Kleinfeld,
Circuit Judges, and Owen M. Panner, District Judge.*

Opinion by Judge Panner

COUNSEL

Roger S. Hanson, Santa Ana, California, for the defen-
dant-appellant.

Melanie K. Pierson, Assistant United States Attorney, San
Diego, California, for the plaintiff-appellee.

* The Honorable Owen M. Panner, Senior United States
District Judge for the District of Oregon, sitting by designation

~

A-2

OPINION
PANNER, District Judge:

Gordon Paul Cooper appeals his convictions and sen-
tence after a jury found him guilty of conspiracy, 18
U.S.C. § 371; aiding and abetting the unlawful disposal of
sewage sludge, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1319(c)(2)(A) and 1342; and
mail fraud, 18 U.S.C. § 1341. Cooper contends that he
complied with federal regulations governing sewage
sludge; that he cannot be criminally liable for violating a
permit to which he was not a party; that the Clean Water
Act is void for vagueness as applied; that the prosecution
failed to disclose an exculpatory FBI report; that a gov-
ernment witness falsely testified that he had no agree-
ment with the government; that the prosecutor
committed misconduct during final argument; and that
the district court improperly enhanced the sentence.

We affirm.

BACKGROUND

Cooper has been in the business of hauling sewage
sludge for more than thirty years. In 1986, Cooper and
Larry Vaughan incorporated Chino Corona Farms (CCF)
in San Juan Capistrano, California. CCF transported,
composted, and sold sewage sludge from several small
cities.

Cooper was CCF’s secretary-treasurer and Vaughan
was its president. The district court described Cooper as

A-3

the “nuts-and-bolts guy” who knew the business of han-
dling sewage sludge, while Vaughan was the “book-
keeper partner” who stayed in CCF’s office handling the
finances.

The City of San Diego (the City) was shipping its raw
sewage to a treatment site on Fiesta Island, where the
sewage was partially dried but not composted. The City
processed its sewage under a National Pollutant Dis-
charge Elimination System (NPDES) permit issued by the
California Regional Water Quality Board, San Diego
Region (the Water Board). The NPDES permit required
that the City “give prior written notice .. . of any
change(s) planned in the discharger’s [i.e., the City’s]
sludge use or disposal practice.” The NPDES permit also
required that the City regularly report on its disposal of
sewage sludge, describing the location, the rate of appli-
cation in pounds per acre per year, and subsequent uses
of the land.

In 1990, the City awarded CCF a contract to remove
sewage sludge from Fiesta Island. CCF agreed to trans-
port sewage sludge for about $20 per ton (later raised to
about $24 at CCF’s request) to Thermal, California, where
CCF would compost the sludge. Because the City paid
CCF by weight, the contract required that CCF submit
weighmaster certificates (also called weigh or weight
tickets) to verify the weight of sludge in each truckload.
Weighmaster certificates are an official record of a truck’s
gross weight and the weight of its cargo. Valid weighmas-
ter certificates are produced by a licensed scale and
signed by the scale’s operator. Cooper was convicted of
mail fraud partly because CCF used false weighmaster
certificates.

A-4

The contract required that CCF “obtain City approval
to haul to the proposed site for which the required docu-
mentation has been submitted.” CCF was required to
submit bills of lading to show each truckload’s ultimate
destination. The contract did not refer to the City’s
NPDES permit.

CCF retained an attorney, James W. Anderson, who
had experience on a Water Board, to determine whether
CCF needed a permit to treat sewage sludge at its Ther-
mal site. Anderson, who worked with Cooper, negotiated
a memorandum of agreement with the governing Water
Board. No permit was required. CCF voluntarily agreed
to take precautions, such as building berms and drainage
controls, to keep sewage sludge from entering surface or
ground waters.

Soon after it began hauling for the City, CCF was
overwhelmed by the volume of sewage sludge. CCF’s site
manager testified at trial that CCF received more sewage
sludge each day at the Thermal site than it could compost
in a month.

To prevent a further backlog of sewage sludge at the
Thermal site, Cooper arranged to haul sludge directly
from Fiesta Island to Mexicali, Mexico, without compost-
ing it at Thermal. In late spring 1992, after obtaining
permission from authorities in Mexico, Cooper sought
approval from the City and the Water Board. The City
and Water Board accepted the Mexicali site because they
decided they had no jurisdiction over it.

Cooper hired Manuel Mier, a citizen of Mexico, to
supervise truckers hauling sludge from Fiesta Island to

:
1
:
:
|

A-5

Mexicali. CCF paid Mier $500 a week plus expenses. Mier
reported only to Cooper.

When CCF first hired a trucking company to haul
sludge from Fiesta Island to its Thermal site, CCF paid by
weight and required weighmaster certificates. According
to Mier, however, that changed when CCF began hauling
sludge to Mexicali. Mier testified that Cooper told him
not to have the trucks weighed. Instead, Cooper
instructed him to create phony weighmaster certificates
using blank forms Cooper supplied. Mier was to write in
a fabricated cargo weight so that the gross weight of the
truck would be no more than 80,000 pounds, which Mier
understood to be the maximum allowed by California
law. Mier (or others who helped him) wrote in Mier’s
name and signature as the deputy weighmaster. Mier
then used the false weighmaster certificates to prepare
invoices for billing the City.

Mier also testified that he mailed or personally deliv-
ered completed weighmaster certificates and invoices to
Cooper. Cooper testified that he often received envelopes
from Mier, but never looked at the weighmaster certifi-
cates inside them.

In spring 1993, after Mexican authorities detained
trucks carrying sewage sludge for CCF, Cooper decided
that he needed a different site for sludge disposal.
Cooper knew that in February 1993, effective February
1994, the United States Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) had issued new regulations governing the land
application of sewage sludge. 40 C.F.R. Part 503. The new
regulations provided that if sewage sludge met standards
for pathogens, trace minerals, and “vector attraction”

A-6

(i.e., attraction to rats or insects), the sludge could be
applied directly to agricultural land as fertilizer with few
restrictions. Cooper obtained an analysis of Fiesta Island
sewage sludge, showing that the sludge met the new
regulations’ highest standards for sludge. Cooper con-
cluded that the federal regulations authorized him to
apply the sewage sludge directly to agricultural land.

For his new site, Cooper chose a farm owned by Jay
Mason near Seeley, California, in Imperial County. Mason
had purchased hundreds of tons of composted sludge
from CCF’s Thermal site. Cooper did not notify the City
or the Water Board of his new site. Cooper testified that
he did telephone the EPA’s regional “sludge coordinator”
about obtaining a permit for the Mason farm operation,
and was told that no permit was required. There was no
documentation or follow-up correspondence concerning
Cooper's telephone call to the EPA.

The Planning Director for Imperial County, Urich
Heuberger, testified that in spring 1993, CCF had asked
about obtaining a conditional use permit for applying
composted sewage sludge from CCF’s Thermal site to
certain agricultural land in the county. When Heuberger
learned about the application of uncomposted sewage
sludge at the Mason farm, he ordered CCF to stop apply-
ing sludge to county farm land without a permit.

By shipping sewage sludge directly from Fiesta
Island to Mason’s farm, CCF saved the expense of com-
posting the sludge at the Thermal site, as well as the cost
of shipping to and from Thermal. Cooper told Mason that
rather than charge him for the sewage sludge, CCF would
pay five dollars for each ton applied to his farm. Cooper

A-7

assured Mason that he had permits for the sludge and
that it was harmless.

Cooper arranged for trucks to leave Fiesta Island in
the late afternoon so they arrived at the Mason farm
during twilight. The sludge was immediately worked into
the soil. Cooper testified that CCF hauled sludge at night
to avoid traffic and to prevent sunlight from dissipating
nitrogen.

During the several weeks in March and April 1993
that CCF shipped Fiesta Island sewage sludge to the
Mason farm, Mier submitted weighmaster certificates to
CCF indicating that the sludge was still being shipped to
Mexicali. Mier testified that he did so under orders from
Cooper. CCF sent the false weighmaster certificates to the
City to support its invoices.

The owners of the two trucking companies that
hauled sewage sludge for CCF to the Mason farm testi-
fied that Cooper paid them by the truckload, not by
weight. Cooper did not ask them to weigh the truckloads.
A foreman for one of the trucking companies testified
that Cooper refused his offer to weigh trucks.

In late April 1993, acting on a tip from Russell Rod-
vold, the owner of a trucking company, city employees
followed a truck hauling sewage sludge for CCF from
Fiesta Island to the farm in Imperial County. When the
City’s auditors discovered that CCF had lied about the
Sludge’s destination, they examined CCF’s invoices and
realized that the weighmaster certificates were false. The
City Auditor found that out of about 1,500 weighmaster
certificates submitted by CCF listing truckloads sent to

A-8

Mexicali, about 425 truckloads, or 10,000 tons of sewage
sludge, were dumped at the Mason farm.

When the City canceled its contract with CCF,
Vaughan and others at CCF immediately blamed Cooper
for the fiasco. A letter dated May 4, 1993, signed by
Cooper and addressed to Vaughan, CCF’s president,
stated:

Due to the problems with Contract # B1216/90
with the City of San Diego, problems which
have arisen directly through my actions, I
hereby tender my resignation as Director and
officer of Chino-Corona Farms, Inc., a California
corporation, efefective [sic] immediately.

I acknowledge that the decisions I made with
regard to the diversion of wet biosolids material
from the City of San Diego directly to agri-
cultural users in Imperial [C]ounty were my
own and done without the knowledge of the
other directors or officers of Chino-Corona
Farms, Inc.

At trial, Cooper testified that he did not write the letter
and that its statements were false. He said that he signed
the letter only because Vaughan told him the City would
pay CCF about $566,000 for outstanding invoices if
Cooper resigned. The letter did not save CCF. When the
City wouldn’t pay CCF, CCF couldn’t pay what it owed
the trucking companies, and it was forced out of busi-
ness.

The FBI investigated CCF. During a search of CCF’s
offices pursuant to a warrant, an FBI agent, Jennifer
Esposito, showed Cooper a copy of the City’s NPDES
permit. Esposito testified at trial that Cooper thumbed

cid eRe 5 aceite Mie Da 38

A-9

through the NPDES permit and appeared familiar with it,
referring to it as a Water Board permit. Esposito testified
that Cooper said “he was aware that Chino Corona Farms
was required to report all sites where they dumped
sludge taken from Fiesta Island to the Regional Water
Quality Control Board and the City of San Diego.”

When the case went to trial, Mier was one of the key
Witnesses against Cooper. On cross-examination, the
defense established that Mier had told at least three con-
flicting stories about how and where he had obtained the
blank weighmaster certificates used for the Mexicali
operation. First, in an FBI report from March 1996, Mier
said that Cooper went to a print shop in Mexicali by
himself and later gave Mier a box of weighmaster certifi-
cates. Second, testifying before the grand jury in April
1996, Mier said that he went into a print shop in Mexicali
with Cooper, translated for Cooper, and helped order the
weighmaster certificates. Third, at trial, Mier testified
that he went to a Mexicali print shop with Cooper and
another person (either “Barilla” or “Padilla”), and that
the three men arranged for printing the certificates.

Mier conceded that he had signed weighmaster cer-
tificates knowing that they were false. The defense also
pointed out that Mier testified to the grand jury that he
had estimated truckload weights without Cooper's
knowledge on the assumption that Cooper would
approve. The defense showed that CCF reimbursed Mier
$5.00 for each truckload weighed, giving Mier an incen-
tive to use false weighmaster certificates and pocket up to
$200 a day. Mier admitted that during the Mason farm
project, he had driven a truck himself, earning $300 per

A-10

truckload, even though as supervisor he should not have
been driving.

The detense was missing a document that would
have further impeached Mier: an FBI report stating that a
Mexicali print shop, identified by Mier as having pro-
duced the weighmaster certificates, had no records or
knowledge of the certificates. The defense did not learn
about the FBI report until after the trial.

Cooper testified at trial. He denied telling Mier to
make false entries in weighmaster certificates. Cooper
testified that he never looked at the weighmaster certifi-
cates before they were sent to the City with invoices. He
stated that anyone familiar with legitimate weighmaster
certificates would have noticed obvious discrepancies in
those submitted by Mier. For example, Mier’s certificates
gave weights in single pound increments, more accu-
rately than any truck scale. They were also numbered in
sequence, while certificates normally would have gaps in
the sequence because of other trucks being weighed.

Cooper denied seeking permission to transport sew-
age sludge to Mexicali. Witnesses from the City and
Water Board contradicted that testimony, and the pros-
ecution produced a letter from the Water Board, dated
June 1992, addressed personally to Cooper at CCF. The
letter stated that it was “in response to your verbal [i.e.,
oral] request for approval to transport sewage sludge to
Mexico.” Cooper also denied talking to Heuberger, the
planner for Imperial County.

Cooper denied telling Esposito, the FBI agent, that he
was familiar with the City’s NPDES permit. As the dis-
trict court summarized Cooper’s testimony, Cooper

wt Rae? Say ied Sal Nate ride

A-11

blamed Mier and Vaughan for the false weighmaster cer-
tificates, while depicting himself as “just the dummy that
they all danced around.”

Besides Mier’s testimony, the prosecution presented
evidence and testimony that contradicted Cooper’s testi-
mony. Russell Rodvold, the trucking company owner
who later tipped off the City that CCF was shipping
sludge to the Mason farm, had hauled sludge for CCF to
the Thermal site when CCF was paying by weight. Rod-
vold testified that when he complained to Cooper that it
was taking too long to dump sludge, Cooper suggested
that Rodvold drive his trucks over the scales more than
once to generate false weighmaster certificates for addi-
tional payments. Rodvold refused, considering the prac-
tice fraudulent. At trial, Cooper admitted making the
suggestion.

The manager for another trucking company testified
that she was surprised to learn that CCF had used her
business address as the address of the certified scale on
weighmaster certificates. When she confronted Cooper,
he told her that he was aware of it and that she should
not worry. At trial, Cooper denied talking to the owner
about the certificate.

The jury convicted Cooper on all five counts of the
indictment. After a sentencing hearing, the district court
adopted the presentence report's recommendations and
sentenced Cooper to fifty-one months’ imprisonment.

A-12

DISCUSSION
I. Preliminary Legal Issues

The district court denied Cooper’s motion to dismiss
the indictment. This court reviews the district court's
rulings on legal issues de novo. United States v. Lester, 85
F.3d 1409, 1410 (9th Cir. 1996).

A. Federal Regulations Do Not Supersede the
NPDES Permit

Cooper argues that he did not need approval from
the City or the Water Board to apply sewage sludge
directly to the Mason farm because federal regulations
preempted or superseded the notice requirements of the
City’s NPDES permit. At trial, the district court allowed
Cooper to testify that he had relied on the federal regula-
tions, and to present expert testimony that the Fiesta
Island sewage sludge met federal standards for direct
land application.

We agree with the district court that Cooper erro-
neously assumes that the federal sewage sludge regula-
tions relieved him of a duty to comply with the City’s
NPDES permit. By their own terms, the regulations do
not usurp local control over the disposal of sewage
sludge. See 40 C.F.R. § 503.5(b) (“Nothing in this part
precludes a State or political subdivision thereof... from
imposing requirements for the use or disposal of sewage
sludge more stringent than the requirements in this part
or from imposing additional requirements for the use or

A-13

disposal of sewage sludge.”). The Clean Water Act pre-
serves local control. See 33 U.S.C. § 1345(e) (“The deter-
mination of the manner of disposal or use of sludge is a
local determination.”). The regulations encourage direct
land application of sewage sludge, but they do not
require that states or local governments allow it. See
Welch v. Board of Supervisors, 888 F.Supp. 753, 758 (W.D.
Va. 1995) (EPA’s “mere preference [for land application] is
vastly different from legislation forcing states and
localities to permit land application”). The district court
properly concluded that the federal regulations do not
supersede the NPDES permit.

B. Non-Permittees May Be Liable for Violating a
Permit
Cooper argues that he cannot be liable for violating
the City’s NPDES permit because he was not a party to
the permit. He contends that the government has crimi-
nalized conduct that at worst was a breach of CCF’s
contract with the City.

The Clean Water Act imposes criminal liability on
“[ajny person who knowingly violates . . . any permit
condition or limitation implementing any of such sections
[of the Act] in a permit issued under section 1342 of this
title.” 33 U.S.C. § 1319(c)(2)(A). For Cooper to be crimi-
nally liable, there first must be a valid NPDES permit.
The government presented evidence that the Water
Board, acting under authority delegated by the EPA,
properly issued the City’s NPDES permit. See 33 U.S.C.
§ 1342(b) (state or regional agency may administer
NPDES permits if state or regional regulatory scheme

A-14

meets federal criteria); Russian River Watershed Protection
Comm. v. City of Santa Rosa, 142 F.3d 1136, 1138-39 (9th
Cir. 1998) (describing statutory authority for Water
Board).

The statute imposes criminal liability on “/a]ny person
who knowingly violates” a permit condition. 33 U.S.C.
§ 1319(c)(2) (emphasis added). The phrase “any person”
is broad enough to cover permittees and non-permittees
alike. See United States v. Brittain, 931 F.2d 1413, 1419 (10th
Cir. 1991); United States v. Iverson, 162 F.3d 1015, 1025 (9th
Cir. 1998) (“person” includes “any responsible corporate
officer,” 33 U.S.C. § 1319(c)(6), which includes a person
who “has authority to exercise control over the corpora-
tion’s activity that is causing the discharges”).

The government also had to establish beyond a rea-
sonable doubt that Cooper knowingly violated a condi-
tion of the NPDES permit. We need not resolve whether
our law requires the government to prove that Cooper,
who was not the permittee, knew of the permit and its
requirements. See United States v. Weitzenhoff, 35 F.3d
1275, 1284 n.5 (9th Cir. 1994) (as amended). Here, the
district court held the government to the higher standard,
instructing the jury that Cooper “must know his conduct
violates the City’s permit.”

Under this higher standard, there was ample evi-
dence of Cooper’s knowledge of the NPDES permit and
its application to his conduct. Municipal sources of sew-
age sludge must operate under NPDES permits. Cooper,
who had transported sewage sludge for thirty years and
considered himself an expert on the subject, could hardly

:

A-15

be ignorant of NPDES permits. Cf. United States v. Interna-
tional Minerals & Chem. Corp., 402 U.S. 558, 565 (1971)
(persons dealing with “obnoxious waste materials” “must
be presumed” to be aware of applicable regulations).
Cooper obtained legal advice to determine whether a
permit was required when CCF was composting Fiesta
Island sewage sludge at its Thermal site. Cooper sought
approval from the City and the Water Board when he
wanted to transport sludge to Mexicali, evidence that he
knew about the NPDES permit and its application to him.
An FBI agent testified that when she showed Cooper the
City’s NPDES permit, he thumbed through it and said he
knew what it was. The evidence was sufficient to estab-
lish that Cooper knowingly caused a violation of the
City’s NPDES permit, making him criminally liable under
§ 1319(c)(2).

C. The Clean Water Act Provisions Are Not Vague
as Applied
Cooper argues that 33 U.S.C. §§ 1319 and 1342 are
void for vagueness as applied because the statutes do not
distinguish between different grades of sewage sludge,
which range from raw sewage to the more processed
sewage sludge at issue here.

This court reviews de novo whether a law is void for
vagueness. United States v. Hockings, 129 F.3d 1069, 1070
(9th Cir. 1997). “A criminal Statute is not vague if a
‘reasonable person of ordinary intelligence’ would under-
stand what conduct the statute prohibits.” Iverson, 162
F.3d at 1021 (quoting Easyriders Freedom F.1.G.H.T. v.
Hannigan, 92 F.3d 1486, 1493 (9th Cir. 1996)). “[W]here, as

ee

A-16

here, a criminal statute regulates economic activity, it
generally ‘is subject to a less strict vagueness test,
because its subject matter is more often narrow and
because businesses can be expected to consult relevant
legislation in advance of action.’” Id. (quoting United
States v. Doremus, 888 F.2d 630, 634 (9th Cir. 1989)). “[A]
scienter requirement may mitigate a law’s vagueness,
especially with respect to the adequacy of notice to the
complainant that his conduct is proscribed.” Village of
Hoffman Estates v. Flipside Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S.
489, 499 (1982).

The Clean Water Act defines “sewage sludge” as a
“pollutant.” 33 U.S.C. § 1362(6). A reasonable person who
read the statutory definition and the City’s NPDES per-
mit would not conclude that the federal regulations
encouraging land application of sewage sludge create an
ambiguity in the statutory definition. The district court
correctly concluded that § 1319(c)(2)(A) was not void for
vagueness as applied.

Cooper argues that CCF’s contract with the City
requires that CCF comply with later enacted federal regu-
lations. This argument is meritless. Cooper's actions did
not comply with the new regulations because the new
regulations did not supersede the City’s NPDES permit
requirements.

II. Use of Manuel Mier as a Witness

Cooper contends that the government’s use of Mier
as a witness requires reversal because (1) the government
failed to turn over an exculpatory FBI report concerning
Mier, violating its obligation under Brady v. Maryland, 373

A-17

U.S. 83 (1963); (2) the government allowed Mier to com-
mit perjury; and (3) the government failed to disclose an
immunity agreement with Mier.

A. FBI Report

Cooper claims that the government violated his
rights under Brady by concealing an exculpatory FBI
report. The government contends that the FBI report was
available before trial for defense review, and that the
report was not material.

To prevail on his Brady claim, Cooper must show that
“(1) the evidence was exculpatory or impeaching; (2) it
should have been, but was not produced; and (3) the
suppressed evidence was material to his guilt or punish-
ment.” Paradis v. Arave, 130 F.3d 385, 392 (9th Cir. 1997)
(citing United States v. Steinberg, 99 F.3d 1486, 1489 (9th
Cir. 1996)). Evidence is material under Brady only if there
is a reasonable probability that the result of the proceed-
ing would have been different had it been disclosed to
the defense. United States v. Service Deli, Inc., 151 F.3d 938,
943 (9th Cir. 1998). “The question is not whether the
defendant would more likely than not have received a
different verdict with the evidence, but whether in its
absence he received a fair trial, understood as a trial
resulting in a verdict worthy of confidence.” Kyles v.
Whitley, 514 U.S. 419, 434 (1995).

Here, the FBI report stated that an investigation of
the Mexicali print shop identified by Mier as the source
of weighmaster certificates revealed no evidence that the
print shop had ever printed for Cooper, Mier, or CCF. The

A-18

report would have impeached Mier, a government wit-
ness, so the first part of the Brady test is met. Service Deli,
151 F.3d at 943.

The parties dispute whether the government prop-
erly disclosed the report. The district court was not able
to resolve the factual dispute.

Remand for an evidentiary hearing on disclosure is
unnecessary, however, because the FBI report was not
material. The defense was able to impeach Mier exten-
sively. The defense established both through cross-exam-
ining Mier and through direct examination of Strange
that Mier gave conflicting versions of events to FBI
agents, to the grand jury, and at trial. The defense showed
that Mier had an economic motive for falsifying the
weighmaster certificates. The defense was also able to
argue that Mier was lying when he denied the existence
of an agreement with the government. One additional
item of impeachment, showing that Mier lied about the
source of blank weighmaster certificates, could not dam-
age Mier’s credibility much more than it already had
been.

There was ample evidence of Cooper’s guilt even
without Mier’s testimony. Given the already extensive
impeachment of Mier and the independent evidence of
Cooper’s guilt, we conclude that the FBI report does not
“put the whole case in such a different light as to under-
mine confidence in the verdict.” Kyles, 514 U.S. at 435.
The government’s case did not rise or fall on Mier’s
credibility.

A-19

B. Perjured Testimony

“If a prosecutor knowingly uses perjured testimony
or knowingly fails to disclose that testimony is false, the
conviction must be set aside if there is any reasonable
likelihood that the false testimony could have affected the
jury verdict.” Ortiz v. Stewart, 149 F.3d 923, 936 (9th Cir.
1998). Because Cooper did not argue at trial that the
government presented perjured testimony, this court may
review only if there was plain error affecting substantial
rights. People of Territory of Guam v. Veloria, 136 F.3d 648,
652 (9th Cir. 1998). If those conditions are met, the appel-
late court may exercise its discretion to review an error
“only if... the error seriously affects the fairness, integ-
rity, or public reputation of judicial proceedings.” Id.
(citing Johnson v. United States, 520 US. 461, 467 (1997)).

Here, even if we assume that Mier committed perjury
and the government knew of it, the prejudice to Cooper
was not great. Cooper’s attorney was able to impeach
Mier extensively with inconsistent statements. There was
no plain error.

C. Immunity Agreement

Cooper contends that the government improperly
failed to disclose an immunity agreement with Mier. The
government denies that it had an agreement with Mier.

This court reviews de novo alleged violations of the
government's obligation to disclose leniency agreements
with prosecution witnesses. United States v. Bracy, 67 F.3d
1421, 1428 (9th Cir. 1995); see Giglio v. United States, 405
U.S. 150, 154 (1972).

A-20

As the defense established at trial, Mier’s credibility
was shaky at best. He faced potential criminal prosecu-
tion in the United States, so it seems unlikely that he
would return to testify only because he wanted to tell the
truth. This, however, is at most circumstantial evidence of
an immunity agreement with Mier. A defendant must
present more direct evidence of an agreement to justify
reversal on this ground. See United States v. Ramirez, 608
F.2d 1261, 1266-67 (9th Cir. 1979).

Ill. Prosecutorial Misconduct

Cooper contends that the prosecutor twice commit-
ted misconduct during closing argument. This court
reviews claims of prosecutorial misconduct for plain
error when the defendant did not object at trial, and for
abuse of discretion when the district court denied an
objection to closing argument. United States v. Etsitty, 130
F.3d 420, 424 (9th Cir. 1997), amended in part on other
grounds, 140 F.3d 1274 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 515
(1998). Cooper must show that it is “ ‘more probable than
not that the misconduct materially affected the verdict.’ ”
United States v. Peterson, 140 F.3d 819, 821 (9th Cir. 1998)
(quoting United States v. Hinton, 31 F.3d 817, 824 (9th Cir.
1994)).

In the first incident, the prosecutor stated during
closing:

What else did [Cooper] admit to you? Well, he
admitted that he knew that those invoices and
weight tickets contained false statements.

(Pause)

A-21

He also admitted that he let known false state-
ments be sent to the City of San Diego.

Defense counsel objected, contending that the prosecutor
had misstated the evidence. The district court responded
that the jury would make its own evaluation of the evi-
dence.

When the prosecutor resumed her argument, she
explained that the “false statements .. . sent to the City”
referred to Cooper’s letter of resignation, which Cooper
had admitted contained false statements. Cooper argues
that he was prejudiced because the mail fraud counts
were not based on the letter of resignation. The indict-
ment, the evidence at trial, and final argument on the
mail fraud counts all focused on the false weighmaster
certificates, so the jury could not have been confused by
this reference to the resignation letter. See Hinton, 31 F.3d
at 824 (“The prosecution’s alleged misconduct must be
viewed in the context of the entire trial.”).

The prosecutor’s reference to Cooper’s testimony on
the weighmaster certificates is more troublesome. The
Prosecutor arguably implied that Cooper admitted know-
ing the weighmaster certificates were falsified before CCF
mailed them to the City. The jury should not have been
misled, however, because it heard Cooper testify emphat-
ically that he never looked at the certificates before they
were mailed, and that he did not learn the certificates
were false until after the City questioned their validity.
Any remaining prejudice was eliminated by the court’s
instruction.

A-22

Cooper also contends that the prosecutor committed
misconduct when she argued that if a hypothetical “eco-
terrorist” who ruptured a sewage pipe flowing into the
ocean would be responsible for causing a violation of an
NPDES permit, then Cooper should be responsible for
causing a violation the City’s permit by depositing sew-
age sludge on an unauthorized site. Defense counsel did
not object.

Considered in context, the prosecutor’s analogy was
not out of line. She was attempting to refute Cooper’s
argument that a non-permittee may not be criminally
liable for causing a violation of a permit. To the extent
that the term “ecoterrorist” could be prejudicial, the prej-
udice was not so egregious as to seriously affect the
fairness or integrity of the trial. See United States v.
Rewald, 889 F.2d 836, 862 (9th Cir. 1989) (prosecutor’s
reference to defendant as a nine-headed monster not
misconduct), amended in part on other grounds, 902 F.2d 18
(9th Cir. 1990).

IV. Sentencing Issues

This court reviews the district court’s findings of fact
at sentencing for clear error. United States v. Shannon, 137
F.3d 1112, 1119 (9th Cir.) (per curiam), cert. denied, 118
S.Ct. 2390 (1998). The court’s application of the law to the
facts is reviewed for abuse of discretion. United States v.
Barnes, 125 F.3d 1287, 1290 (9th Cir. 1997). This court
reviews the district court’s interpretations of the Sentenc-
ing Guidelines de novo. United States v. Blitz, 151 F.3d
1002, 1009 (9th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Marie v. United
States, 119 S.Ct. 567 (1998).

A-23

A. Obstruction of Justice

The district court found that Cooper had willfully
testified falsely on material facts, justifying a two-level
enhancement for obstruction of justice. U.S.S.G. § 3C1.1
(citations are to the Nov. 1995 edition). At sentencing, the
court stated that Cooper’s testimony “didn’t make any
sense — not only was he not convincing on it, but it didn’t
make any sense that it was all Vaughan and all Mier, and
he didn’t do anything, didn’t know anything. .. . And
then when you look in the right context, of all of those
denials that he made, . . . it was clearly testimony on very
material facts that was not . . . credible, was not accurate,
was not truthful.”

The district court may enhance a sentence for
obstruction of justice if the defendant's testimony was
false, material, and willful. Shannon, 137 F.3d at 1119
(citing United States v. Dunnigan, 507 U.S. 87, 94 (1993)).
“Mere dispute or disagreement as to a defendant's per-
ception of facts, without more, should not give rise to a
charge of perjury in the context of sentencing.” Id. at 1119
n.3.

The district court saw Cooper testify and supported
the obstruction of justice enhancement with the proper
findings of fact. The record supports those findings. The
two-level upward enhancement for obstruction of justice
was not error.

B. Discharge of a Pollutant

The district court ruled that because the Clean Water
Act defines sewage sludge as a “pollutant,” 33 US<

ee

A-24

§ 1362(6), Cooper should receive a six-level enhancement
for discharging a pollutant. See U.S.S.G. § 2Q1.3(b)(1)(A)
(enhancement for “ongoing, continuous, or repetitive dis-
charge, release, or emission of a pollutant into the envi-
ronment”). Cooper contends that the enhancement
doesn’t apply because the sewage sludge met the federal
regulatory requirements for land application.

The district court was correct that the statutory defi-
nition of “pollutant” controls. The federal regulations on
land application did not implicitly amend the statutory
definition. Cf. United States v. West Indies Transp., Inc., 127
F.3d 299, 315 (3d Cir. 1997) (rejecting contention that raw
sewage was not a pollutant because it was fully biode-
gradable), cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 700 (1998). Under
Cooper’s direction, CCF dumped about 10,000 tons of
uncomposted sewage sludge on the Mason farm. That
dumping was “actual environmental contamination” as
required by the guidelines. See U.S.S.G. § 2Q1.3 appl. n. 4;
United States v. Ferrin, 994 F.2d 658, 664 (9th Cir. 1993)
(interpreting identically worded application note 5 to
U.S.S.G. § 2Q1.2 and holding that “a finding that the
hazardous waste came into contact with land... is the
appropriate predicate for an enhancement”). The
enhancement requires “actual environmental contamina-
tion,” not actual environmental harm. See Ferrin, 994 F.2d
at 664 (defining “contaminate” as “ ‘to soil, stain, or infect
by contact or association’ or ‘to make . . . impure by
admixture’ ”) (quoting Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary
245 (1977)); United States v. Bogas, 920 F.2d 363, 368 (6th
Cir. 1990) (concluding that enhancement under U.S.S.G.
§ 2Q1.2 applied even though “[t]here may have been no
actual harm”). Cf. Welch v. Board of Supervisors, 888

A-25

F.Supp. 753, 756 (W.D. Va. 1995) (“the regulations also
make clear that land application of sewage sludge still
carries with it some risks; it is, after all, a pollutant.”).
The background note to U.S.S.G. § 2Q1.3 explains that it
“parallels § 2Q1.2 but applies to substances which are not
pesticides and are not designated as hazardous or toxic.”
Thus the guideline applied here is for nonhazardous pol-
lutants, and the parallel guideline is for designated haz-
ardous pollutants. A substance therefore can be classified
as a pollutant even though it is not designated as hazard-
ous. That this sludge may have been class A, nonhazar-
dous and permissible under appropriate conditions for
application to farmland, does not avoid application of the
guideline for nonhazardous pollutants.

C. Permit Violation

The district court applied a four-level enhancement
for “a discharge . . . in violation of a permit.” U.S.S.G.
§ 2Q1.3(b)(4). Cooper contends that the enhancement
should not apply because he was not required to secure a
permit. This court rejected a similar argument in Ferrin,
994 F.2d at 664-65. Here, as in Ferrin, Cooper was con-
victed of a crime whose elements include violating a
condition of a permit.

D. Amount of Loss

The presentence report calculated the intended loss
caused by Cooper’s conduct as $566,000, based on the
amount of money CCF billed the City for shipments of
sewage sludge to the Mason farm. The district court,
which adopted both the presentence report’s calculation

A-26

of loss and an alternative calculation suggested by the
prosecutor, imposed a ten-level enhancement for a loss of
more than $500,000. U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1(b)(1)(K).

The Sentencing Guidelines define loss as “the value
of money, property, or services unlawfully taken.”
U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1, appl. n.7. “[T]he loss need not be deter-
mined with precision. The court need only make a rea-
sonable estimate of the loss, given the available
information.” U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1, appl. n. 8; United States v.
Watson, 118 F.3d 1315, 1319 (9th Cir. 1997). “[I]ntended
loss is a proper measure to use in fraud cases.” Blitz, 151
F.3d at 1009.

Cooper contends that CCF, not the City, lost money.
He argues that because CCF did haul sludge from Fiesta
Island, the City benefited from CCF’s services. See Blitz,
151 F.3d at 1012 (because a defendant's services may have
some value although part of a fraudulent scheme, the
district court when calculating intended loss “should give
credit for any legitimate services rendered to the vic-
tims”).

The district court reasoned, however, that “removal
is not the sine qua non of whether [Cooper] should be
paid” because CCF was required to compost the sludge,
and was not authorized to dump sludge wherever it
pleased. The district court stated, “There has to be a
procedure [for hauling sewage sludge] that complies with
the law. And that’s why [Cooper] gets paid a lot of huge
dollars to remove this stuff.” (An auditor testified that
the City paid CCF about $8 million over the two-plus

years of the contract.)

A-27

‘ In United States v. Frank, 156 F.3d 332, 335-36 (2d Cir.
1998), cert. denied, 1999 WL 86965 (U.S. Mar. 22, 1999) (No.
98-1329), the Second Circuit dealt with a similar issue.
There, the defendants agreed to ship sewage sludge by
barge and dump it at sea 106 miles from shore. Instead,
the defendants dumped the sludge well short of the
required distance, and sent falsified invoices. The defen-
dants were convicted of mail fraud.

On appeal, the defendants argued that the evidence
was insufficient because “the municipalities got precisely
what they bargained for — sludge disposal - and that,
accordingly, the [defendants] neither intended nor caused
the municipalities any harm.” Id. at 335. The Second
Circuit rejected this argument, reasoning that the
defrauded municipalities paid defendants a premium for
the full 106-mile transport, and that the defendants’
“short-dumping” could have subjected the municipalities
to fines and the loss of permits.

Here, CCF’s removal of sludge from Fiesta Island had
some value to the City, but that value was offset by the
harm caused by CCF’s failure to compost and legally
dispose of the sludge. CCF’s actions exposed the City to
potential clean-up liability and to the loss of its NPDES
permit. See 33 U.S.C. §§ 1319, 1342(b)(7) (permit holder
subject to enforcement action for failure to comply with
conditions of permit). These costs, while almost impossi-
ble to quantify, cannot be dismissed as phantoms. The
district court noted that the City

should be able to control where [the sewage
sludge is] going to go — so [the City doesn’t] get
stuck with that legal mess — the time, the energy,
the legal fees, and the bad publicity . . . - can

A-28

you imagine how the people of Imperial
[County] would feel if they are told that the City
is illegally dumping its sewage waste on their
farmland? All sorts of political problems.

The district court faced a daunting task in attempting
to calculate the amount of the City’s loss. Using the
invoiced amount for the shipments of sludge to the
Mason farm was in this case a reasonable, if rough,
estimate of the intended loss. We cannot say that the
district court’s calculation was clearly erroneous.

E. More Than Minimal Planning

The district court applied a two-level enhancement for
more than minimal planning. U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1(b)(2)(A). At
sentencing, the court stated, “this was an ongoing scheme to
submit false weighmaster certificates to the City. It was
extensive. It was sophisticated.”

“ “More than minimal planning’ is deemed present in
any case involving repeated acts over a period of time,
unless it is clear that each instance was purely oppor-
tune.” U.S.S.G. § 1B1.1, appl. n.(f). The district court did
not clearly err in applying the enhancement.

F. Role in the Offense

The district court applied a two-level enhancement
because of Cooper’s role in the offense as a leader, man-
ager, or supervisor. U.S.S.G. § 3B1.1. The court found that
Cooper owned half of CCF, would have benefited more
than others from the offense, knew about the CCF’s day-
to-day activities, and located a farmer to accept sludge.

——

A-29

When a defendant supervises other participants, he
need exercise authority over only one of the other partici-
pants to merit the adjustment. United States v. Camper, 66
F.3d 229, 231 (9th Cir. 1995) (citing United States v. Barnes,
993 F.2d 680, 685 (9th Cir. 1993)). Here, the evidence
supported the district court’s finding that Cooper super-
vised at least one other participant. Cf. United States v.
Lopez-Sandoval, 146 F.3d 712, 717 (9th Cir. 1998). The court
did not err in applying the enhancement.

AFFIRMED.

b-1

APPENDIX “B”
NOT FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

May 28, 1999)

UNITED STATES OF ) No. 97-50296
AMERICA, ) D.C. No.
Plaintiff-Appellee, / CR-96-00804-JNK
v. ) ORDER
GORDON PAUL COOPER, ‘ (Filed
)

Defendant-Appellant.
)

Before: CANBY and KLEINFELD, Circuit Judges, and
PANNER!, District Judge.

The panel has voted to deny the petition for rehear-
ing. Judge Kleinfeld has voted to reject the suggestion for
rehearing en banc, and Judges Canby and Panner have so
recommended.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for
rehearing en banc, and no active judge of the court has
requested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc.
Fed. R. App. P. 35 (b).

The petition for rehearing is DENIED and the sugges-
tion for rehearing en banc is REJECTED.

' The Honorable Owen M. Panner, Senior United States
District Judge for the District of Oregon, sitting by designation.

C-1

APPENDIX “C”
CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS

Protection of
Environment

40

PARTS 425 TO 699
Revised as of July 1, 1995

[LOGO]

Relevant 40 C.F.R. 503 Law, Direct Application of Sewage
Sludge to Land

PART 503 - STANDARDS FOR THE USE OR DIS-
POSAL OF SEWAGE SLUDGE

Source: 58 FR 9387, Feb. 19, 1993, unless otherwise
noted.

Subpart A - General Provisions
§ 503.1 Purpose and applicability.

(a) Purpose. (1) This part establishes standards,
which consist of general requirements, pollutant limits,
management practices, and operational standards, for the
final use or disposal of sewage sludge generated during
the treatment of domestic sewage in a treatment works.
Standards are included in this part for sewage sludge
applied to the land, placed on a surface disposal site, or
fired in a sewage sludge incinerator. Also included in this
part are pathogen and alternative vector attraction reduc-
tion requirements for sewage sludge applied to the land
or placed on a surface disposal site.

C-2

(b) Applicability. (1) This part applies to any person
who prepares sewage sludge, applies sewage sludge to
the land, or fires sewage sludge in a sewage sludge
incinerator and to the owner/operator of a surface dis-
posal site.

(2) This part applies to sewage sludge applied to
the land, placed on a surface disposal site, or fired in a
sewage sludge incinerator.

§ 503.2 Compliance period.

(a) Compliance with the standards in this part shall be
achieved as expeditiously as practicable, but in no case later
than February 19, 1994. When compliance with the stan-
dards requires construction of new pollution control facil-
ities, compliance with the standards shall be achieved as
expeditiously as practicable, but in no case later than
February 19, 1995.

(b) The requirements for frequency of monitoring,
recordkeeping, and reporting in this part for total hydro-
carbons in the exit gas from sewage sludge incinerator
are effective February 19, 1994, or, if compliance with the
operational standard for total hydrocarbons in this part
requires the construction of new pollution control facili-
ties, February 19, 1995.

(c) All other requirements for frequency of monitoring,
recordkeeping, and reporting in this part are effective on July
20, 1993.

C-3

§ 503.3

(b) Direct enforceability. No person shall use or dispose
of sewage sludge through any practice for which requirements
are established in this part except in accordance with such
requirements.

§ 503.5 Additional or more stringent requirements.

(a) Ona case-by-case basis, the permitting authority
may impose requirements for the use or disposal of sew-
age sludge in addition to or more Stringent than the
requirements in this part when necessary to protect pub-
lic health and the environment from any adverse effect of
a pollutant in the sewage sludge.

§ 503.8 Sampling and analysis.

(a) Sampling. Representative samples of sewage sludge
that is applied to the land, placed on a surface disposal site, or
fired in a sewage sludge incinerator shall be collected and
analyzed.

Subpart B - Land Application
§ 503.10 Applicability.

(a) This subpart applies to any person who prepares
sewage sludge that is applied to the land, to any person who
applies sewage sludge to the land, to sewage sludge applied to
the land, and to the land on which sewage sludge is applied.

(b)(1) Bulk sewage sludge. The general requirements in
§ 503.12 and the management practices in § 503.14 do not
apply when bulk sewage sludge is applied to the land if the bulk

C-4

sewage sludge meets the pollutant concentrations in
§ 503.13(b)(3), the Class A pathogen requirements in
§ 503.32(a), and one of the vector attraction reduction require-
ments in § 503.33 (b)(1) through (b)(8).

(c)(1) The general requirements in § 503.12 and the
management practices in § 503.14 do not apply when a bulk
material derived from sewage sludge is applied to the land if
the derived bulk material meets the pollutant concentrations in
§ 503.13(b)(3), the Class A pathogen requirements in
§ 503.32(a), and one of the vector attraction reduction require-
ments in § 503.33 (b)(1) through (b)(8).

§ 503.12 General requirements.

(a) No person shall apply sewage sludge to the land
except in accordance with the requirements in this subpart.

(j) Any person who applies bulk sewage sludge subject to
the cumulative pollutant loading rates in § 503.13(b)(2) to the
land shall provide written notice, prior to the initial applica-
tion of bulk sewage sludge to a land application site by the
applier, to the permitting authority for the State in which the
bulk sewage sludge will be applied and the permitting author-
ity shall retain and provide access to the notice. The notice
shall include:

(1) The location, by either street address or latitude and
longitude, of the land application site.

(2) The name, address, telephone number, and National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit number (if

C-5

appropriate) of the person who will apply the bulk sewage
sludge.

§ 503.15 Operational standards - pathogens and vector
attraction reduction.

(a) Pathogens ~ sewage sludge. (1) The Class A patho-
gen requirements in § 503.32(a) or the Class B pathogen
requirements and site restrictions in § 503.32(b) shall be
met when bulk sewage sludge is applied to agricultural
land, forest, a public contact site, or a reclamation site.

D-1

APPENDIX D
FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION
Date of transcription 5/9/96

VICTOR TORRES-MOLINA, Sales Manager, Impremex,
S.A. Maderos 2088, Colonia Libertad, Mexicali, Baja Califor-
nia, telephone number 011-52-65-54-51-65, was interviewed
at his business place by Liaison Officer (LO) ALFONSO M.
VILLEGAS regarding any weighmaster certificates printed
for MANUEL MIER or GORDON COOPER.

LO VILLEGAS was accompanied by two Mexicali
Judicial State Police Agents, JOAQUIN RODRIGUEZ
TORRES and JAVIER MARTINEZ NAVARRETE.

TORRES-MOLINA stated that he has worked for
Impremex for the past fifteen (15) years and oversees all
sales arrangements for the print shop. TORRES-MOLINA
also identified his wife’s brother in law, ENRIQUE A.
ANAYA Q., as the owner of the business. TORRES-
MOLINA added that ANAYA has been unavailable due to
illness and has been away from the print shop since
March 1, 1996.

TORRES-MOLINA stated that he did not recognize
the names of MANUEL MIER, GORDON COOPER or
CHINO CORONA FARMS.

TORRES-MOLINA acknowledged that they did some
printing jobs in English, but not many. TORRES-MOLINA
was given the opportunity to view copies of the docu-
ments labelled: Chino-Corona Farms, Inc. Invoice
Number 0446; Calexico Scales Co, dated 04-11-93 and
Calexico, California Quality Scales, 2686. After viewing
the copies, TORRES-MOLINA said that those documents

D-2

had not been printed at Impremex. TORRES-MOLINA
also advised that they did not mark the documents they
printed in anyway.

TORRES-MOLINA also stated that they did not
retain the master copy of any documented they print.

TORRES-MOLINA allowed agents VILLEGAS,
RODRIGUEZ and MARTINEZ to view what available
past printing invoices they had to determine if MIER or
COOPER had ever placed a printing order. No invoices
made out to the subjects were found.

Investigation on 4/25/96 at Mexicali, BC, Mexico
File # 249-SD-52258

by LO Alfonso M. Villegas/Id Date dictated 4/30/96

TORRES-MOLINA also advised that he had never
heard of a print shop by the name of Emermex.

TORRES-MOLINA did not provide any other infor-
mation and the interview was concluded.

TORRES-MOLINA was identified from the interview
as follows:

Sex: Male
Race: White
DOB: 12/23/40
POB: Mexico

D-3

FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION
Date of Transcription 10/22/96

On October 19, 1996, MANUEL MIER, Hispanic male,
date of birth 3/23/60, who resides at Calle Ezquivel
Chavez #720, Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, was
advised of the identity of the interviewing Agent and the
nature of the interview. He provided the following infor-
mation:

MIER advised that since the last time he spoke with
SA STRANGE he has not had any contact with GORDON
COOPER or anyone associated with Chino Corona Farms.
He further advised that he went to the print shop in
Mexicali where he went with GORDON COOPER during
the time he worked for Chino Corona Farms. He stated
that the print shop is called LITO IMPREMEX S.A.,
located on Madereros 2088, Mexicali, Colonia Libertad.
He provided SA STRANGE with a business card from
Enrique A Anaya Q., a salesman from this business. He
stated that he was positive that this was the same place
he and COOPER bought the Quality Scales weighmaster
certificates. He did not know where the Calexico Scales
weighmaster certificates were printed. He did state that
the only person he knew of who could have assisted
COOPER in having the other set of weighmaster certifi-
cates made was HUMBERTO PADILLA. MIER stated that
PADILLA and COOPER were associates during this oper-
ation and PADILLA would know where to get the certifi-
cates printed. MIER further advised that PADILLA is
currently working for the Mexican Electoral Board, which

D-4

ensures legitimate elections and voting practices in Mex-
ico. He doesn’t have PADILLA’s phone number, but occa-
sionaly sees him and MIER will attempt to contact him
soon and advise him to contact SA STRANGE as soon as
possible.

MIER was given a trial subpoena requesting his pres-
ence at the trial United States vs. GORDON COOPER
which is scheduled to begin on December 3, 1996. MIER
promised to be present for this trial.

Investigation on 10/19/96 at El Centro, CA

File # 249-SD-52258

by _SA David Strange Date dictated n/a

E-1

APPENDIX “E”

Purchasing Contract
Bid No. B1216/90

CONTRACT

THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO, a municipal corporation,
hereinafter called “City”, and

CHINO-CORONA FARMS, INC.

hereinafter called “Contractor”, agree as follows:

Contractor shall furnish and deliver services in accor-
dance with the specifications on file in the office of the
Purchasing Agent of City, all of which are expressly
referred to, incorporated by reference, adopted and made
a part of this contract as though fully set forth herein,
City’s requirements for REMOVAL AND DISPOSAL OF
AN ESTIMATED 120,000 TONS OF DIGESTED SLUDGE,
as may be required for the period of one (1) year begin-
ning August 1, 1990 through July 31, 1991, hereinafter
called “services.”

Contractor hereby agrees to comply with Title VII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, the California
Fair Employment Practices Act, and any other applicable
federal and state laws and regulations hereinafter enacted, as
well as those requirements addressed by the City of San
Diego’s Equal Opportunity Program, recorded with the
City Clerk as Document RR-262633. Contractor under-
stands that failure to comply with the above cited laws

E-2

and regulations and/or falsely submitting information
required under same laws and regulations may result in
termination of this contract and debarment from awards of
future City contracts for a period of not less than one (1) nor
more than two (2) years.

AMOUNT AWARDED: APPROXIMATELY 80,000 TONS
SEE PAGE 2a FOR PRICES.

SEE PAGE 3 FOR OPTIONS.

INSURANCE: See Page 8.

Terms: .05% 10 days

SEE ATTACHED PAGES FOR CONTRACT SPECIFICA-
TIONS.

Contractor shall perform services as required per
City’s purchase order therefor. The date of performance is
an essential condition of this contract and failure to per-
form within the agreed upon time shall be grounds for
termination by City.

City shall pay for Services at the aforesaid prices
within thirty (30) days following delivery thereof.

The failure of either party to insist upon strict perfor-
mance of any term of this contract in one or more
instances shall not be construed as a waiver of any such
term, and the same shall remain in full force and effect.

Contractor shall not assign this contract, or any right
or interest hereunder, without the prior consent in writ-
ing of City.

Dated July 12, 1990.

CHINO-CORONA FARMS, INC.
Contractor

By /s/ Larry Vaughn
Title President
THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO

By /s/ Ralph Shackelford
Purchasing Agent

I HEREBY APPROVE the form and legality of the
foregoing Contract this 24th day of July 1990.
JOHN W. WITT, City Attorney
By /s/ M. Jackson
Deputy

(461 Tons/Day)
Alternate IV - Composting Option A

EST. OTY. Cost Per Ten / Extension
120,000 tons $18.53 / $2,223,600
(230 Tons/Day)

Option B

COST PER TON EXTENSION

$20.78 $1,246,800

Disposal Site: (not specified in contract)

Type of Trucks to be used: 3 Axle Tractors Pulling 37’
Semi-end Dump Trailers

Number of Trucks available: 10

Bidder’s P.U.C. Permit Class and No.: 126605

E-4

SPECIFICATIONS

The City of San Diego requires the removal and ultimate
disposal of approximately 120,000 tons of digested
municipal sewage sludge as may be required for the
period of May 1, 1990 through April 30, 1991. The sludge
is currently stockpiled at the City of San Diego’s Fiesta
Island Sludge Drying Facility. The sludge has been certi-
fied “NON HAZARDOUS” by either the City of San
Diego’s Chemistry Laboratory, the County of San Diego’s
Health Services or both. The successful bidder, or bid-
ders, will be responsible for the loading, hauling, applica-
tion process and final disposal of the sludge product.
Disposal options may include any, or all, of the processes
referred to in the following alternatives:

Alternative I - Direct Burial in an Approved Sanitary
Landfill

Alternative II - Land Application

Alternative III -— Chemical Fixation/Stabilization

Alternative IV - Composting

Alternative V - _—_[ncineration/Cogeneration

Options II, III, and IV specifically exclude direct burial at
a land fill of any type; however, disposal as “daily cover”
or “final cover” in the reclamation of a landfill is an
acceptable disposal option.

The City recognizes the beneficial nature of sludge and
will encourage reuse, as much as possible, within cost
and regulatory constraints.

It is possible, should other options become available, that
no contract will be awarded at this time.

E-5

The City retains the right to cancel a contract should
new sludge disposal regulations be adopted that cause a
disposal option to become illegal or unworkable. There is
a strong possibility that this may occur in the case of the
land application and the composting alternative.

The successful bidder must coordinate his/her work so as
not to interfere with or jeopardize the routine operation
of the sludge drying facility or the operations of any
other contractor operating at the facility.

The process proposed must be in accordance with any
State of California Regulatory Agency or United States
Environmental Protection Agency rules and regulations
relating to said process. Bidder shall obtain written per-
mission from the above named agencies, as well as any
other regulatory agencies that may have jurisdiction, to
use City of San Diego sludge as proposed. This written
permission must be submitted with the bid. If written
permission is not provided at the time of bid opening,
bidder’s proposal will be declared invalid.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1069%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
