# Amicus Curiae Brief — Walker v. City of Mesquite

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1051%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1131

## Text

<< c)

& No. 99-296

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

DEBRA WALKER, JEANETTE WASHINGTON,
HAZEL WILLIAMS, ZELMA LANG, RENITA BROWN,
LILLIE THOMPSON, TRACEY SMITH,
Petitioners,
Vv.

CITY OF MESQUITE, TX; DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING & URBAN
DEVELOPMENT; THE HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE CITY OF
DALLAS; HIGHLANDS OF McKAMY IV AND V COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION; GINGER LEE; PRESTON
HIGHLANDS HOMEOWNERS’ ASSOCIATION, INC.; DAVID BEER;
HIGHLANDS OF McKAMY IV AND V COMMUNITY
IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION;
and THE CITY OF DALLAS,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AS AMICUS CURIAE
AND BRIEF FOR THE LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE FOR CIVIL
RIGHTS UNDER LAW AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF

PETITIONERS

DANIEL F. KOLB RICHARD T. SEYMOUR
CHARLES T. LESTER, JR. CHERYL L. ZIEGLER

Co-Chairs Lawyers’ Committee for
NORMAN REDLICH Civil Rights Under Law

Trustee 1401 New York Ave., N.W., Suite 400
BARBARA R. ARNWINE Washington, DC 20005
THOMAS J. HENDERSON* (202) 662-8600

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

October 18, 1999 *Counsel of Record

Oe wma wee - EE SE EERE OM Deer mn oo

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

DEBRA WALKER, JEANETTE WASHINGTON, HAZEL
WILLIAMS, ZELMA LANG, RENITA BROWN, LILLIE
THOMPSON, TRACEY SMITH,

Petitioners,
V.

CITY OF MESQUITE, TX; DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING
& URBAN DEVELOPMENT; THE HOUSING
AUTHORITY OF THE CITY OF DALLAS; HIGHLANDS
OF McKAMY IV AND V COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION; GINGER LEE;
PRESTON HIGHLANDS HOMEOWNERS’
ASSOCIATION, INC.; DAVID BEER; HIGHLANDS OF
McKAMY IV AND V COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT
ASSOCIATION; and THE CITY OF DALLAS,

Respondents.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

The Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
moves for leave to file a brief as amicus curiae. Proposed
amicus draws on its own experience and offers analyses of the
subject matter of the petition that differ from those of
Petitioners. Petitioners and the United States, as a Respondent,
have consented to the filing of this brief. Consent has not been
received from Highlands of McKamy IV and V Community
Improvement Association, et al., who have filed a waiver of
response to the petition, or from the Housing Authority of the
City of Dallas or the City of Mesquite.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas J. Henderson

Dated: October 18, 1999

5 al

aakeambel

i.
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Amicus suggests that an alternative formulation of the
question presented might be considered by the Court, as
follows:

Whether the narrow tailoring inquiry as to a remedy order
providing for the race-conscious selection of sites for public
housing, fashioned to afford prompt and effective relief to the
victims of unconstitutional racial segregation, requires that a
court identify the particular unconstitutional conditions to be
addressed by that remedy, assess the relative effectiveness of
race-neutral site selection alternatives, and distinguish race-
conscious from race-neutral remedies.

li.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............ i
STATEMENT OF INTEREST .....cccccccccccsevees l
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........ceccecececees 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .........ccccecccccses 8
PED 0k PCa Rak 6 Chea es oss cota 9
1. The Decision of the Court of Appeals
Involves a Question of Great National
Importance. ....... 6s eee eee eeeeceeceeeees 9
2. The Decision of the Court of Appeals
Substantially Departs from This Court’s
Precedent Regarding the Obligation of
Courts to Afford Victims of a Constitutional
Violation Prompt and Effective Relief
That Is Narrowly Tailored to Remedy
Sy I ecu cuca eeeue eee saeenaeee 12
3. The Court of Appeals’ Decision in this
Case Creates a Conflict Between the
RG we nNeegevhabeeniekekedes vi0een cus 18 :
CURIE oo. ids Cokctvs ee ae 20 :

eeeeereeemeceaimmmeaiiiaaiaiaiiieiieiial

lll.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
1. Cases
Page

Adarand Constructors, Inc. y. Pena,

Paw See OI Se Fear ee ds A Boies ohe 12
Alschuler v. HUD,

686 F.2d 472 (7" Cir. Te os ae 19
Bell v. Hood,

gD Pree 13
Gautreaux v. Pierce,

690 F.2d 616 (7" Cir. | RRR ene ee ee 18, 19
Hills v. Gautreaux,

AS OT) 11,18
Louisiana v. United States,

oo St.) es 13
Milliken v. Bradley,

433 U.S. 267 (1977) (Milliken | ny See oad 14
Missouri v. Jenkins,

i oar clea 14
Shannon v. HUD,

436 F.2d 809 (3d Cir. 1970).................. 19

Shaw v. Hunt,
PET GOD, dns sn esdee dnd ooo one ne ee 14

iv.

United States v. Paradise,
BP eee Seb edsvcceucsavericdrian 14

United States v. Yonkers Bd. of Ed.,
837 F.2d 1181 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied,
Ge eae PEE. Wd sie cee acdeeewne ion 18

Walker v. City of Mesquite, Tex.,
169 F.3d 973, 976 n.3 (5" Cir. 1999) ............ 2

Walker v. HUD,
No. 3:85-CV-1210-R, slip op. at 7-20 (N.D.
poe 8S eer ee eee 2

Walker v. U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Dev.,
734 F. Supp. 1231 (N.D. Tex. 1989) ........... 4

43 UB, © P61: ccccccnsbspuetneeesecvcsteeneeas 2

2. Statutes :

1.
STATEMENT OF INTEREST'

The Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
(“Lawyers' Committee”) is a national civil rights organization,
established in 1963 at the request of President Kennedy to
involve private lawyers in a national effort to assure civil rights
for all Americans. The Lawyers' Committee, enlisting the
services of hundreds of private attorneys, has represented
thousands of clients in litigation to remedy racial
discrimination, including in federally assisted housing

programs.

The Lawyers' Committee has substantial knowledge of
and experience in cases involving the de jure segregation of
public housing. It currently represents clients in three such
cases, two of which implicate race-conscious site selection
remedies, to develop public housing in white communities from
which it has been excluded. The Lawyers’ Committee also
advocates public policy urging that federal and other public
authorities effectively eliminate all vestiges of the housing
segregation they and their predecessors have established and
perpetuated in communities throughout the nation.

The Lawyers' Committee submits this brief amicus
curiae, to suggest that this Court accept review of this
important case in order to confirm that, in formulating prompt
and effective relief for unconstitutional racial. segregation in
public housing, appropriate, carefully fashioned race-conscious

' No counsel for any party had any role in authoring this brief, and
no person or entity other than the named amici curiae or their counsel have
made any monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this
brief.

J

site selection remedies satisfy narrow tailoring principles.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The factual background of this case is fully recounted
in the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari and is not repeated here.
Below, however, is a recitation of portions of the procedural
history and record relevant to the issues raised in this brief.

1. The Separate Public Housing and Section 8
Programs and the Distinct Constitutional Violations
in Each Program

The Dallas Housing Authority operates two separate and
distinct federal programs that provide low-income housing.
The first is the conventional public housing program, or
“housing units owned and operated by DHA.” App. at p. 4
n.3.’ Conventional public housing is comprised of fixed units
that are sited, developed, managed and otherwise controlled by
DHA. These units are offered to qualifying low-income
persons at a rent not exceeding 30% of their income. See 42
U.S.C. § 1437.

The second federal housing program administered by
DHA is the Section 8 program, through which DHA subsidizes
the rents of eligible low-income participants who reside in
participating privately owned housing units through the use of

? References to the decisions below are to the appendix to the
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari. The decision of the Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals, Walker v. City of Mesquite, Tex., 169 F.3d 973 (5™ Cir. 1999), is
contained at pp. 1-35. The decision of the district court, Walker v. HUD,
No. 3:85-CV-1210-R (N.D. Tex. Oct. 6, 1997), is contained at pp. 66-209.

2.

certificates and vouchers. See App. at p. 4 n.3. In order to
utilize a voucher or certificate, the participant must find a
landlord willing to enter into a lease with the participant and
DHA, subject to certain regulatory conditions. See App at 141.
The Section 8 housing program differs fundamentally from the
conventional public housing program in that the number and
location of housing units are largely beyond the control of
DHA, because the Section 8 program depends entirely upon the
availability of privately owned housing and the willingness of
its owners to lease to an eligible participant and DHA.

It is undisputed that for decades the defendants in this
case committed distinct constitutional violations in both the
conventional public housing program and the Section 8
program in Dallas. See id. at p. 5. Through its various orders
in this case, the district court fashioned relief to remedy those
two separate and distinct constitutional violations. See id at
72-85.

Specifically, conventional family public housing was
originally sited and built only in minority neighborhoods and,
in order to keep such housing and its residents out of non-
minority neighborhoods, DHA refused to build any new family
public housing in Dallas from 1955 until the construction of
100 units pursuant to the 1987 consent decree in this case. See
id. at p. 78. Asa result of its racially discriminatory siting
practices and refusal to develop public housing, as of
September 27, 1994, 6,133 of the 6,411 units in DHA’s family
public housing projects were located in predominantly black or
minority concentrated areas. See id at p. 86.

With regard to the Section 8 program, it is undisputed
that DHA and the City of Dallas developed and implemented

4.

policies to steer minority Section 8 families to housing in
minority areas and to keep them in segregated public housing.
See id. at pp. 84-85. For example, in the 1970s, DHA allowed
only a few tenants to use Section 8 certificates in the suburbs
and then completely halted the practice. See id. at p. 84. In
addition, city inspectors consistently approved units for black
families in black neighborhoods that were in serious violation
of HUD’s housing quality standards. See id. at pp. 84-85. As
a result, as of September 27, 1994, approximately 60% of the
black households in the Section 8 program lived in
predominantly black or racially concentrated areas. See id. at
p. 86.

y & The Race-Neutral Remedies in the Consent Decree
and Their Failure to Remedy the Violations

A consent decree addressing the distinct constitutional
violations in the public housing program and the Section 8
program was approved by the district court in 1987 The relief
provided in that decree for each of the violations was generally
race-neutral. See Walker, 734 F. Supp. at 1247-62 (N.D. Tex.
1989). Specifically, as to the public housing site selection
violation, the decree required, inter alia, the demolition of
approximately 2600 units of public housing and their
replacement on a one-to-one basis with additional public
housing units and Section 8 certificates and vouchers. See id.
Of the replacement public housing units, 100 were required to
be sited in non-minority areas. No race-conscious criteria were
required with respect to the remaining replacement units. See

> The Consent Decree is contained as Appendix A in Walker v.
U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Dev., 734 F. Supp. 1231, 1247 (N.D. Tex.
1989).

5.

id. App. at 92. As to the violations with respect to the Section
8 program, the decree required the establishment of a Section
8 mobility plan to assist families in finding available private
housing. The objectives of the Section 8 mobility program
were race-neutral; to facilitate the use of vouchers and
certificates in non-Section 8 impacted areas of Dallas. See id.
at 1259-60.

The race-neutral remedies of the consent decree failed
to remedy the violations in either the public housing program
or the Section 8 program. With regard to public housing site
selection, DHA refused to develop public housing units in
white areas even after entry of the 1987 consent decree. DHA
violated its obligation to develop the 100 units required to be
sited in white areas, requiring the district court to order the
siting of those units. See App. at 81, 92. Moreover, the
defendants “continued to propose the development of all
additional new public housing units in the predominantly
minority West Dallas area.” Jd. at 92. Efforts to site public
housing in white areas were met with “strenuous and effective
neighborhood and political opposition.” Jd.

With regard to the Section 8 program, the mobility
remedy did achieve its race-neutral goal of utilization of 50%
of the certificates and vouchers in non-Section 8 impacted
census tracts. See id. at p. 99. But, as the district court noted,
“[t]his accomplishment did not erase the effects of
discrimination.” Jd The race-neutral mobility program largely
replaced one set of Section 8 impacted minority census tracts
with another set of such tracts. See id at p. 99-100. Although
some progress toward desegregation was made, the Section 8
program remained predominantly segregated. “While the
overall racial concentration of DHA’s certificate holders has

6.

improved somewhat, less than 21% of the black families on the
program live in predominantly white areas while over 45% of
white DHA white [sic] Section 8 families live in such areas.”
Id. at p. 100.

3 The Distinct Race-Conscious Remedies Ordered by
the District Court and Their Effectiveness

In light of the failures of the consent decree and the
defendants’ violations of its terms, the district court vacated the
decree, determined the defendants’ liability ,and formulated a
its own remedial orders that included race-conscious remedies.
With regard to public housing, the remedial order affecting
DHA required the development of all new public housing units
in predominantly white areas until the number of units in white
areas equaled the number of units in minority areas. “These
units, and any others allocated in the future, must be developed
in predominantly white areas until there are approximately as
many non-elderly public housing units in those areas as in
minority areas.” See id. at p. 87. In addition, the remedial
order contained provisions to ensure that the public housing
units were maintained, and to afford nearby property owners a
role in the planning and management of new public housing.
See id. at p.88.

With regard to the Section 8 program, the remedial
order required mobility counseling for African-American
families in the Section 8 program to assist them in finding
available private housing in predominantly white areas. “The
mobility services are to be provided to black DHA participants
for the purpose of achieving and maintaining a percentage of

aa

A

DHA’s Section 8 in predominantly white areas.” Jd at p. 91.
Under that program, “[w]hite families do not get the mobility
services required under the decree” and “[b]lack Section 8
Participants do not get the use of mobility services to help
locate housing in minority areas.” Jd

The white homeowners’ challenge was essentially
directed at the provisions in the remedial orders requiring the
Siting of new public housing units in predominately white areas
until equal to the number of units in minority areas. In rejecting
that challenge, the district court considered alternatives to the
race-conscious site selection required in its remedial order and
found that none of those alternatives would remedy the
violations in the public housing program in this case. As the
court noted, allowing or requiring new public housing units in
minority or racially integrated areas would only perpetuate the
vestiges of prior Segregation and the unequal conditions and
opportunities afforded white families and black families. See
id. at pp. 100-01. The district court also considered, and
rejected, the alternatives Proposed by the defendants and the
white homeowners (which included, inter alia, non race-
conscious site selection methods and conversion of public
housing allocation to Section 8 vouchers and certificates)
because those plans would not remedy the segregation in the
public housing Program. See id. at pp. 101-11. The district
court specifically found that without race-conscious remedial
measures, desegregation would not be accomplished. See id at
pp. 100-14. As the court explained, any new public housing
developed by DHA will be placed in either a white area,
minority area, or racially mixed area. See id at p. 106.
Because placing such housing in either a minority or racially
mixed area would only serve to continue the racial segregation
that is at issue, the only option available to remedy the
segregation is to require the placement of such housing in a

white area. See id. at p. 107.
SP
4. The Court of Appeals’ Decision

The only issue presented on appeal was the
constitutionality of the race-conscious site selection relief in the
district court’s remedial order affecting DHA, providing that
construction of new public housing units be in predominantly
white areas of Dallas. See App. at p. 2. The Court of Appeals
held the race-conscious site selection criteria unconstitutional
and directed the district court to employ only race-neutral site
selection criteria to the development of new and replacement
public housing. See id. at p. 27. In reaching its decision, the
court of appeals did not review, analyze, set-aside or disturb the
fact findings of the district court that race-neutral site selection
criteria had not been, and would not be, effective in remedying
the public housing site selection violation. The court of appeals
summarily concluded that: “The district court’s concern that if
it does not attach a race-conscious site selection criterion to
new construction, then the new units will end up in minority
areas and, as a consequence, Dallas’s public housing projects
will almost all remain in minority areas, is unfounded.” Jd.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court should review the decision of the court of
appeals because decisions regarding segregation in the federal
public housing program affect a vast number of families,
hundreds of local government authorities, and federal policy.
This case represents a rare opportunity to review a judgment on
the question of appropriate remedies in this area, and presents
a thoroughly developed record.

9.

The test of narrowly tailoring articulated and applied by
the court of appeals departs substantially from that established
in this Court’s jurisprudence. This Court should grant review
to correct and provide further guidance to the courts and public
authorities regarding the purpose, elements, and application of
the narrow tailoring inquiry.

This Court should accept review to resolve a conflict in
the courts of appeals regarding the proper consideration of race
in remedying, and preventing, discrimination in public housing.

ARGUMENT

i. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Involves a
Question of Great National Importance.

The question presented in the Petition for Certiorari is
of great national importance. There are 1,238,490 units of
public housing in this nation, in 14,814 public housing projects,
administered by 1,926 public housing authorities.’ HUD funds
and oversees the operation of this public housing, administered
on a local level by housing authorities. Judicial decisions
regarding the administration of the nation’s public housing
program therefore affect an enormous number of families,
nearly two thousand local housing authorities, and the policies
and actions of the federal government.

This vast public housing program is racially segregated.
According to HUD: “African-American public housing

4

Goering, Kamely, and Richardson, U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development, The Location and Racial Composition
of Public Housing in the United States 12 (1994).

10.

residents typically live in African-American neighborhoods;
white public housing residents live in white neighborhoods;”
and “. .. African American residents living in family projects
are housed in segregated projects in severely poor
neighborhoods.”* This segregation is not fortuitous. Public
housing was established pursuant to local and federal policies
of de jure segregation.® De jure segregation in public housing
largely has been perpetuated through federal and local policies
and, to the limited extent that federal and local officials have
acted to relieve that segregation, they have been “largely
ineffective.”’ HUD leadership in administrations of both
political parties have acknowledged the obligation to remedy
the conditions and effects of this segregation, and recognized
that federal and local housing officials must have available the
full range of lawful remedial measures if that objective is to be

> Id. at 1, 78.

° See Discrimination in Federally Assisted Housing Programs,

1986: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on Housing and Community
Development of the Comm. on Banking, Finance and Urban Affairs, House
of Representatives, 99th Cong. (1986), particularly 16-19 (statement of
HUD General Counsel John Knapp) and 15-16 (statement of HUD
Secretary Pierce); Achtenberg, Keynote Address, Symposium Shaping
American Communities: Segregation, Housing & the Urban Poor, 143 U.
Pa. L. Rev. 1191, 1193 (1995) (“That the federal government, including
HUD, has a long history of having precipitated and perpetuated housing
discrimination, there can be no question. At their inception, federal housing
programs incorporated many of the prevailing practices of the private
housing market and were explicitly discriminatory as a result.”); Statement
of the President on Federal Policies Relative to Equal Housing Opportunity,
1 FH-FL 5121 (June 11, 1971).

’ Achtenberg, supra note 6 at 1193; See 62 Fed. Reg. 1026,
1028 (January 7, 1997); Hearings, supra, at 15 - 16 (statement of Knapp).

er ceeaceaceemaencatmaiaiiaiiiiiiiiii ial

1].

accomplished.*® Accordingly, the substantial limitations on the
availability of race-conscious remedial measures expressed in
the decision of the court of appeals can profoundly affect the
capacity of federal and local officials to address longstanding
segregation.

As the most recent pronouncement of a court of appeals
on the subject, and one that suggests that the applicable law has
changed since this Court’s decision in Hills v. Gautreaux, 425
U.S. 284 (1976), there is a significant risk, in the absence of
review by this Court, that HUD and other federal officials will
apply nationally the result reached by the court of appeals in
this case. So, too, local housing authorities may well conclude
that they are without the ability to consider race in any effort to
remedy, or to prevent, further racial segregation. It is not
unlikely that the decision of the court of appeals will, therefore,
affect the obligations of hundreds of local housing authorities
and the fate of tens of thousands of families, without further
Opportunity for review by any court.

This case is an ideal vehicle for this Court’s review of
the permissible consideration of Trace to remedy constitutional
violations regarding federally assisted housing. Cases
challenging racially discriminatory public housing site selection
are difficult and expensive because they require an extensive
examination of evidence of the decisions and actions taken by
federal and local government authorities over decades.
Therefore, despite the prevalence of racial Segregation in public

* See Achtenberg, supra note 6: Hearings, supra note 6 at 15 -
16 (statement of Pierce); Memorandum from HUD Secretary Pierce
Concerning Public Housing Desegregation, | FH-FL 5133, 5134 (February
28, 1984). See also Statement of the President, supra, 1 FH-FL at 5129.

12.

housing nationally, relatively few cases are litigated, and even
fewer are brought to a litigated conclusion. Thus, this case
presents a rare opportunity to address an issue affecting large
numbers of local governing authorities and the housing
conditions of tens of thousands of families. Moreover, the
extensive record in this case, the parties’ attempt to remedy the
violations through race-neutral means embodied in the consent
decree, and the courts’ subsequent assessment of the propriety
of race-conscious relief offer a thoroughly developed record on
which to decide squarely the question presented.

2. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Substantially
Departs from This Court’s Precedent Regarding the
Obligation of Courts to Afford Victims of a
Constitutional Violation Prompt and Effective Relief
That Is Narrowly Tailored to Remedy the Violation.

The court of appeals formulated and applied a narrow
tailoring analysis that profoundly confuses both the analysis to
be undertaken and the factors to be assessed. If left
unreviewed, its approach would transform the narrow tailoring
inquiry from one designed to ensure that race-conscious relief
is reasonably necessary, remedial in nature, and fashioned
substantially to address the conditions resulting from the
violation, into a flat prohibition on race-conscious relief where
any race-neutral alternative exists, even if it is clear that the
race-neutral alternative will not remedy the violation. The
analysis of the court of appeals would constrain courts and
public bodies considering race-conscious remedies in a manner
that would deny to many victims any effective relief. Such a
standard of narrow tailoring defies this Court’s admonition that
strict scrutiny is not “strict in theory, but fatal in fact.” Adarand
Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 202 (1995).

The court of appeals’ approach to narrow tailoring

aac iiiaiitiiiiaiilia

13.

incorporates several fundamental errors. F irst, the court failed
to identify the particular, distinct, unconstitutional conditions
to be addressed by the remedial order. This failure caused the
court to consider two distinct remedies for two distinct
violations in two distinct housing programs as though they were
competing alternative remedies for a single violation. Second,
the court did not assess the relative effectiveness of race-
neutral, as compared to race-conscious, public housing site
selection criteria. This failure led the court to enjoin the use of
race-conscious site selection criteria, despite undisturbed
findings that race-neutral criteria had not, and would not,
effectively cure the unconstitutional conditions resulting from
racially discriminatory site selection violations. Third, the
court failed to distinguish race-conscious from race-neutral
relief, leading it to assess one of the distinct race-conscious
remedies as though it was a race-neutral alternative to the other
distinct race-conscious remedy. This resulted in the court’s
failure to apply an appropriate narrow tailoring analysis to
either of the two remedies ordered by the district court. It also
resulted in the court’s erroneous conclusion that the distinct
remedy it mistakenly perceived to be “race-neutral” should be
substituted as a race-neutral alternative for the distinct remedy
it did recognize to be race-conscious. Accordingly, this Court
should grant certiorari to correct and clarify the formulation and
application of the standards of narrow tailoring in fashioning
prompt and effective relief for constitutional violations.

The court of appeals’ analysis loses sight of the
fundamental obligation to fashion prompt and effective relief
for constitutional violations. “[W]here federally protected
rights have been invaded, it has been the rule from the
beginning that courts will be alert to adjust their remedies so as
to grant the necessary relief.” Beil y. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 684
(1946). This court in Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145,
154 (1965), stated that where racial discrimination is involved,
“the court has not merely the power but the duty to render a
decree which will so far as possible eliminate the

14.

discriminatory effects of the past as well as bar like
discrimination in the future.” In Missouri v. Jenkins, 515 U.S.
70 (1995), this Court reiterated a three-part framework
regarding the exercise of remedial authority. The Court
required district courts to consider the following: “[1)] the
nature of the desegregation remedy is to be determined by the
nature and scope of the constitutional violation. . . . [; 2)] the
decree must indeed be remedial in nature, that is, it must be
designed as nearly as possible ‘to restore the victims of
discriminatory conduct to the position they would have
occupied in the absence of such conduct’. . . . [; and 3)] federal
courts in devising a remedy must take into account the interests
of state and local authorities in managing their own affairs,
consistent with the Constitution.” Jd. at 88 (quoting Milliken v.
Bradley, 433 U.S. 267 (1977) (Milliken IT)) (emphasis in
original); United States v. Paradise, 480 U.S. 149 (1987); see
also Shaw v. Hunt, 517 U.S. 899, 915-916 (1996);. The
analysis set forth by the court of appeals fails to follow this
long-established precedent in evaluating the relief ordered by
a district court.

More specifically, with respect to the first of the court
of appeals’ fundamental errors, it failed to examine closely the
violations to be remedied, the distinct character of the two
housing programs affected by the constitutional violations, and
the purposes to be served by the two remedies. This failure led
it to misperceive the remedial objective as simply “moving
black families into white areas” through the Section 8 program,
App. at p. 26, ignoring the nearly complete segregation of
existing public housing units in minority areas and the need to
ensure that further segregation did not result from the siting of
new public housing. This formulation of the “narrow tailoring”
inquiry is ill-founded because the remedy does not address the
nature of the violation, and instead compares apples with
oranges with respect to the efficacy of alternatives.

For this reason the court of appeals did not assess the

15.

effectiveness of race-neutral versus race-conscious site
selection standards, but compared only race-conscious site
selection standards to the mobility program regarding the use
of Section 8 certificates and vouchers:

Based on the relative success of DHA in moving blacks
into predominately white areas via its Section 8
program between 1994 and 1996, the Walker plaintiffs,
HUD, and DHA have produced insufficient evidence to
show that the district court’s race-conscious site
selection criterion is necessary to remedy the effects of
past discrimination.

App. at p. 26 (emphasis added). The Section 8 mobility
program, however, is a wholly distinct remedy designed to
address the separate violation of DHA’s discriminatory
administration of the Section 8 program. The Section 8
mobility program neither speaks to, nor is capable of affecting,
the selection of sites for the ongoing construction of new public
housing. Whatever the effectiveness of the Section 8 mobility
program, it simply does not answer the question whether race-
neutral, as opposed to race-conscious, site selection criteria will
effectively remedy the site selection violation with respect to
the new public housing that will be constructed.

The court of appeals was largely consumed with the
suggestion by the white homeowners that the Section 8
program alone could remedy both the public housing site
selection and the Section 8 steering violations. On that
question, the court of appeals “neither accept[ed] nor
attempt([ed] to reject the factual findings” of the district court
that both the Section 8 mobility program and race-conscious
site selection for the construction or acquisition of new public
housing were necessary to remedy the violations in the two
housing programs. App. At p. 24. Instead, focusing solely on
the fact that an additional 285 black families had used Section

16.

8 vouchers in white areas in the two-year period between 1994
and 1996, see App. at pp. 22-26, the court of appeals reached its
conclusion, quoted above, that the district court erred in
determining that race-conscious site selection criteria were
necessary for new public housing to be constructed in Dallas.
To the extent that the court of appeals was attempting to
undertake the narrowly tailoring inquiry of the efficacy of
alternative remedies, as noted above, it failed to comprehend
that the Section 8 mobility program has no effect on the
selection of sites for the new public housing that is being
developed.

With regard to the second fundamental error, beyond
the distractions and incongruities of its analysis of the Section
8 mobility program as an alternative remedy, on the specific
question of whether race-conscious site selection criteria were
necessary to remedy the public housing violation, the court of
appeals not only failed to undertake an analysis of that
question, but reached a conclusion contrary to the express
findings of the district court that race-conscious site selection
criteria were necessary. In less than one paragraph, the court of
appeals suggested that site selection criteria based on
geography or poverty levels were available and, without any
analysis or discussion of the application or effectiveness of
those criteria or the district court’s findings on the issue, simply
concluded that the district court’s concern that, absent race-
conscious criteria, “the new units will end up in minority areas
and, as a consequence, Dallas’ public housing will almost all
remain in minority areas, is unfounded.” App. at p. 26.

Thus, the court made no examination of the
effectiveness of race-neutral site selection standards and
ignored, but left undisturbed, the careful and appropriate
analysis of the relevant factors and record facts bearing on that
question through which the district court determined that race-
neutral site selection criteria had been and would continue to be
ineffective. Yet, the court of appeals determined that race-

17.

conscious site selection criteria were not narrowly tailored
because race-neutral criteria were available. See App. at p. 27,
28. That race-neutral measures are available, as they will
always be, does not answer the question the narrow tailoring
inquiry demands - will the race-neutral measures promptly and
effectively remedy the violation. Thus, the court of appeals’
standard of narrowly tailoring fails the essential test applied to
the formulation of any remedy - whether it will effectively cure
the violation.

Regarding the third error, the “narrow tailoring” analysis
of the court of appeals fails to apply a consistent definition of
race-consciousness to remedies it considered as alternatives.
Simply stated, the analysis fails to recognize that both the
public housing site selection criteria and the Section 8 mobility
program ordered by the district court are race-conscious. The
court of appeals’ formulation of the narrow tailoring inquiry is
fatally flawed because it considered the Section 8 mobility
program to be “a race-neutral measure,” App. at p. 26, and
therefore assessed it as an “option[{] . . . [that] should be
explored and tested before adopting a race-conscious remedy as
a last resort.” /d. at p. 27. Because the Section 8 remedy was
race-conscious, the court of appeals lacked a basis on which to
Suggest that it was a race-neutral alternative to race-conscious
site selection criteria. This failure to recognize the race-
conscious character of the Section 8 remedy therefore
undermines the essential basis on which the court rejected race-
conscious site selection criteria as an appropriate remedy.

The test of narrowly tailoring constructed by the court
of appeals is one that dispenses with the need to identify the
precise conditions that offend the Constitution and are to be
remedied, abandons any inquiry into whether race-neutral
alternatives will be effective in remedying the violation, and
foregoes the need to identify relief as race-conscious or to
distinguish race-conscious from race-neutral relief. This Court
should grant review in this case to provide further guidance in

18.

the purpose of the narrowly tailoring inquiry in assessing
appropriate, effective relief and to clarify the factors to be
considered in the inquiry and the proper analysis of those
factors.

3. The Court of Appeals’ Decision in this Case Creates
a Conflict Between the Circuits.

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit is in conflict with decisions of other circuits on the
propriety and availability of race-conscious site selection
criteria as a remedy for the unconstitutionally segregated
location of public housing. In United States v. Yonkers Bd. of
Educ., 837 F.2d 1181, 1184, 1236-37 (2d Cir. 1987), cert.
denied, 486 U.S. 1055 (1988), the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit explicitly approved an order to build federally
funded low-income housing only outside of minority areas as
an appropriate remedy for de jure segregation in public housing
site selection. In that case, the Court found that such an order
was “closely tailored” to the constitutional violations to be
remedied.’ In Gautreaux v. Pierce, 690 F.2d 616, 622-23 (7"
Cir. 1982), the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
affirmed the approval of a consent decree under which HUD
was obligated to develop public and assisted housing
opportunities in non-minority areas.

In addition, although the appropriateness of utilizing a
race-conscious remedy was not squarely before this Court in the
Hills case, this Court observed that it was “entirely appropriate”

* The Fifth Circuit erroneously characterizes the Yonkers decision
as an example of race-neutral site selection based only on geographical
regions. See App. at p. 27. In that case, the Second Circuit recognized that
the geographical region designated was identified by reference to its white
population, from which subsidized housing had been excluded. See
Yonkers, 837 F.2d at 1184.

19.

for the Chicago Housing Authority and HUD to be ordered to
create housing opportunities in the predominantly white
Chicago suburbs as a remedy for the unlawful concentration of
most public housing in poor, black neighborhoods. 425 U.S. at
299-301.

The Court of Appeals’ decision in this case also
conflicts with decisions of other circuits that have held that race
may be considered in remedying unconstitutional racial
discrimination in housing programs. See Alschuler v. HUD,
686 F.2d 472, 482 (7" Cir. 1982) (“As part of HUD’s duty
under the Fair Housing Act, an approved housing project must
not be located in an area of undue minority concentration,
which would have the effect of perpetuating racial
segregation.”); Shannon v. HUD, 436 F.2d 809, 821 (3d Cir.
1970) (holding that HUD “must utilize some institutionalized
method whereby, in considering site selection or type selection,
it has before it the relevant racial and socio-economic
information necessary for compliance with its duties under the
1964 and 1968 Civil Rights Acts”).

The decision of the Fifth Circuit in this case stands
alone in reaching the result that race-conscious site selection
criteria may not be utilized in remedying the segregation
resulting from purposefully discriminating siting decisions.
Accordingly, this Court should grant certiorari in order to
resolve the conflict between the Fifth Circuit decision in this
case and the decisions of other circuits, and with this Court’s
decision in the Gautreaux case.

20.

CONCLUSION

On basis on the foregoing, Amicus respectfully suggest
that this court grant the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

October 18, 1999

Respectfully submitted,

Daniel F. Kolb, Co-chair

Charles T. Lester, Jr., Co-chair

Norman Redlich, Trustee

Barbara R. Arnwine

Thomas J. Henderson*

Richard T. Seymour

Cheryl] L. Ziegler

Lawyers’ Committee for
Civil Rights Under Law

1401 New York Ave., N.W.

Suite 400

Washington, DC 20005

(202) 662-8600

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_1051%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
