# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pueschel v. Slater

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0848%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 814

## Text

mrt) Pn we
ED
BBB S | may 19 999

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DEBORAH KATZ PUESCHEL,
Petitioner,
We

RODNEY E. SLATER, SECRETARY,
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GEORGE M. CHUZI
(Counsel of Record)
KALIJARVI, CHUZI & NEWMAN, P.C.
1730 K Street, N.W.
Suite 1011
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 331-9260

Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON - Epgs PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

“ec lea ag Salta Soo AES, Sy —- sa. ait dais

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, in light of this Court’s pending decision in
Cleveland v. Policy Management Systems Corp., et al.
(No. 97-1008), the court of appeals’ holding that peti-
tioner is not entitled to accommodation under the Re-
habilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. § 791 et seq., because she had
claimed she was disabled and applied for disability bene-
fits under the Federal Employees’ Compensation Act, 5
U.S.C. § 8101 et seq., should be reversed and remanded?

2. Whether, in light of this Court’s pending decision in
Cleveland v. Policy Management Systems Corp., et al.
(No. 97-1008), the court of appeals’ holding that peti-
tioner is not “otherwise qualified for employement” under
the Rehabilitation Act because of statements she made re-
garding her disability, should be reversed and remanded?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED . 000.0000.
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..

OPINIONS BELOW ctjuniersetienciininnibe-<
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT ... sent ~

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...

I, THE COURT OF APPEALS’ HOLDING THAT
PETITIONER IS NOT “OTHERWISE QUALI-
FIED” BECAUSE SHE IS DISABLED IS
CONTROLLED BY THIS COURT’S PENDING
DECISION IN CLEVELAND »v. POLICY
MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS CORP.............

II. PETITIONER’S ASSERTION IN APRIL 1994
THAT SHE WAS TOTALLY DISABLED IS
NOT DISPOSITIVE OF HER CLAIM THAT
SHE IS A “QUALIFIED INDIVIDUAL WITH
A DISABILITY” UNDER THE REHABILI-
TATION ACT AND THEREFORE ENTITLED
TO REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION OF
IE III iciescstcntevsisecneowvontesnonasenciutienne

EE

(iii)

Page

11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Cleveland v. Policy Management Systems Corp.
£8 Be * pete inersnaee ene ne eon ee 7
Johnson v. Oregon, 141 F.3d 1210 (9th Cir. 1998) .. 7
Katz v. Dole, 709 F.2d 251 (4th Cir. 1983) _............ 3
Rascon v. US West Communications, Inc., 143
F.8d 1824 (10th Cir. 1998) .....................2..00.00- 7
Weigel v. Target Stores, 122 F.3d 461 (7th Cir.
TE tciascdahcitniecdinadiaaeneiens eccupepesanehotanenesenavmmsennenentte 8
Regulations
29 C.F.R. § 1614.208 (g) (1994) -.........2 eee eeeeeeeeeeee 10
Statutes
Be ees I II -ccscintosiscshsniiincstcaabeciinisiccithlaasiiapaieastibininiintiibiaaiiaies 8

© TAG, FB SID ccceceereycenienienerennnenecenntatnciitinineaiinions 8

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

DEBORAH KATZ PUESCHEL,

¥ Petitioner,

RODNEY E. SLATER, SECRETARY,
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Deborah Katz Pueschel, respectfully requests
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit entered in this proceeding on February 18,
1999.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals ( Appendix A)
is unreported. The decision of the district court (Ap-
pendix B), issued from the bench, also is unreported.

2

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 18, 1999. The jurisdiction of the Court is in-
voked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Section 501(b) of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as
amended, 29 U.S.C. 791(b), provides in pertinent part:

Each department, agency, and instrumentality .. .
in the executive branch shall . . . submit to the Of-
fice of Personnel Management and to the Committee
an affirmative action program plan for the hiring,
placement, and advancement of individuals with han-
dicaps in such department, agency, or instrumental-
ity. Such plan shall include a description of the ex-
tent to which and methods whereby the special needs
of handicappd employees are being met... .

Regulations of the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission, 29 C.F.R. § 1614.203 (1994), provide in
pertinent part:

(a)(6) “Qualified individual with handicaps” means
with respect to employment, a handicapped person
who, with or without reasonable accommodation,
can perform the essential functions of the position in
question without endangering the health and safety
of the individual or others and who, depending upon
the type of appointing authority being used:

(i) Meets the experience and/or education re-

quirements (which may include passing a writ-
ten test) of the position in question, or

(ii) meets the criteria for appointment under
one of the special appointing authorities for in-
dividuals with handicaps.

* * * *

3

(g) Reassignment. When a non-probationary em-
ployee becomes unable the essential functions of her
position even with reasonable accommodation due
to a handicap, an agency shall offer to reassign the
individual to a funded vacant position located in the
same commuting area and serviced by the same ap-
pointing authority, and at the same grade or level,
the essential functions of which the individual would
be able to perform with reasonable accommodation
if necessary unless the agency can demonstrate that
the reassignment would impose an undue hardship
on the operation of its program. In the absence of
a position at the same grade or level, an offer of re-
assignment to a vacant position at the highest avail-
able grade or level below the employee’s current
grade or level shall be required, but availability of
such a vacancy shall not affect the employee’s en-
titlement, if any, to disability retirement pursuant to
5 U.S.C. § 8337 or 5 U.S.C. § 8451....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At all times relevant to this case, petitioner was an Air
Traffic Controller at the Washington Air Route Traffic
Control Center, in Leesburg, Virginia, outside Washing-
ton, D.C. Petitioner’s employer was the Federal Aviation
Administration (FAA), an agency of the United States
Government.

Petitioner was one of the first female Air Traffic Con-
trollers at Leesburg. In 1979, she alleged that she had
been the victim of a sustained pattern of sexual harass-
ment by her male supervisors and colleagues. The United
States Court of Appeals upheld her claim, holding that
the sexually abusive language to which petitioner repeat-
edly had been subjected constituted a sexually hostile
working environment. Katz v. Dole, 709 F.2d 251 (4th
Cir. 1983).

4

’ The period following the court of appeals’ decision was
marked by continued hostility directed against petitioner
at Leesburg, and she began to suffer physically. Over the
years, petitioner has been diagnosed with asthma, sarcoi-
dosis, pitting edema, and fibromyalgia. She nevertheless
continued to work and uniformly received fully satisfac-
tory performance evaluations.

In 1991, petitioner began to suffer from fatigue and
edema; at the advice of the Mayo Clinic she consulted
with an internist, who prescribed a fixed shift, 6 a.m. to
4 p.m. The FAA approved that shift, and petitioner re-
mained on it through April 1994.

In late 1993, petitioner’s supervisors and colleagues
decided that her shift would be changed in two significant
ways. First, instead of 6 a.m. to 4 p.m., her shift would
be 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. This would have the effect of increas-
ing the periods of heavy traffic for which petitioner would
be responsible; the resulting increased stress on her was
inconsistent with her treatment. The second change was
to impose a Monday through Friday work week on peti-
tioner, rather than the Wednesday through Sunday week
she had previously been granted. Because traffic in the
Washington area is lighter on weekends, this change
would also have the effect of increasing traffic and stress.

Petitioner appealed to the FAA to allow her to retain
the shift which enabled her to work, but the FAA refused.
Faced with the prospect of having to work at a shift her
doctors had told her would not be good for her, on April
5, 1994 petitioner broke down and left the facility. She
subsequently presented the FAA with an April 6, 1994
note from her doctor that said, “Due to physical and
mental problems at the patient’s employment, she is not

-— According to the court of appeals, petitioner suffered a “stress-
related episode”, which required her to leave work. App. A at 2a.

eS)

snegent for any work at, this time and until further no-

’. App. G at 34a, In November 1995, petitioner’s doc-
- modified his recommendation to state that petitioner
was “disqualified . . . for an.active position as an air
traffic controller”. Id. at 32a, In June 1997, when deposed
in connection with this case, petitioner’s doctor. testified
that petitioner was “capable of administrative work in any
capacity”. App. E at 31a.

Petitioner timely initiated an administrative complaint
of discrimination in which she claimed, inter alia, that the
FAA violated her rights under the Rehabilitation Act by
failing to continue her special shift as an accommodation
of her disabilities. When the FAA rejected the elaine
petitioner initiated the instant action. 3

The district court granted summary judgment for re-
spondent. With respect to petitioner’s claim under the
Rehabilitation Act, the district court held that petitioner
“was not qualified for the position” based upon her doc-
tor’s statement in April 1994. App. B at 17a. The
court noted that petitioner had filed a claim for disability
benefits with the OWCP, and cited the apparent contra-
diction between her claim that she was disabled and her
assertion under the Rehabilitation Act that she could work
with accommodation, admonishing that “she can’t have it
both ways. That’s not right”. Id. |

2 Petitioner did not return to work under the conditions imposed
upon her by the FAA, and she filed a claim for disability compen-
sation with the federal Office of Worker Compensation Programs
(OWCP), U.S. Department of Labor. On September 23, 1998,
OWCP ruled that petitioner’s absence from work after April 5,
1994 was due to disability caused by her employment. App. D
at 27a.

3 Petitioner initially filed this action in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Columbia. That court transferred
to the case to the Eastern District of Virginia in 1997.

With respect to the change in petitioner’s shift imposed
by the FAA, the district court found that the new shift
was “reasonable”. Jd. at 17a. While citing the testimony
of one of petitioner’s doctors that the two-hour difference
in the shift appeared inconsequential, the district court
ignored the testimony of petitioner’s other doctor that pe-
titioner’s fibromyalgia “is worse with stress . . . [and] any-
thing that increased stress would be more hazardous.”
App. E at 30a.

Petitioner appealed the grant of summary judgment to
the Fourth Circuit, which affirmed the district court. With
respect to petitioner’s Rehabilitation Act claim, the court
of appeals held as follows:

It is uncontradicted that Pueschel’s physician wrote
on April 6, 1994 that until further notice, Pueschel’s
medical condition precluded her from working. Pue-
schel has not worked for the FAA since April 5,
1994, and has not provided the FAA with notice of
her availability to work. The evidence establishes
that at the time Pueschel brought the action and
throughout the litigation, her illness precluded her
from working as an Air Traftic Controller. Conse-
quently, the Rehabilitation Act imposes no liability
on the Department of Transportation. In short, she
is not “otherwise qualified for employment.” DOE
v. Univ. of MD. Med. Sys. Corp., 50 F.3d 1261,
1265 (4th Cir. 1995); 29 C.F.R. § 1614.203(a)
(6).

App. A at Sa.

Petitioner has timely petitioned for a writ of certiorari.

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ HOLDING THAT PE-
TITIONER IS NOT “OTHERWISE QUALIFIED”
BECAUSE SHE IS DISABLED IS CONTROLLED
BY THIS COURT’S PENDING DECISION IN
CLEVELAND v. POLICY. MANAGEMENT SYS-
TEMS CORP.

The court of appeals held that petitioner is not entitled
to the protections of the Rehabi.tation Act because “her
illness precluded her from working as an air traffic con-
troller”. App. A at 5a. The: validity of that holding will
be controlled by the Court’s pending decision in Cleveland
v. Policy Management Systems Corp. (No. 97-1008),
which has been argued but not yet issued as of the date
of this Petition.

The first question in Cleveland is whether an employ-
ee’s application for disability benefits under the Social
Security Act creates a rebuttable presumption that the
employee is judicially estopped from claiming that she is
a “qualified individual with a disability” under the Amer-
icans with Disabilities Act.*

The majority of courts of appeals have rejected the
presumption that an employee’s assertion of a disability
‘under a benefits statute estops her from simultaneously
claiming the protection of the ADA. See, e.g., Rascon v.
US West Communications, Inc., 143 F.3d 1324, 1330-32
(10th Cir. 1998); Johnson v. Oregon, 141 F.3d 1210,
1212 (9th Cir. 1998). These courts have recognized that
the standards utilized by employment and benefits statutes

4The second quesion in Cleveland, discussed infra, is, in the
event a presumption is not created, the weight (if any) to be given
to the employee’s statements on the application regarding her dis-
ability if she also claims to the employer that she is a “qualified
individual with a disability”.

are different, and findings under one are not conclusive
as to the other. See Weigel v. Target Stores, 122 F.3d
461, 468 (7th Cir. 1997) (claims for disability benefits
under SSA are not “conclusive as to the ADA” qualifica-
tion issue).

The identical reasoning applies in this case. The dis-
trict court found that petitioner could not be “qualified”
under the Rehabilitation Act because she had applied for
disability benefits with OWCP.® According to the district
court, petitioner “can’t have it both ways. That’s not
right.” App. B at 17a. The court of appeals did not
reject that finding.

In fact, petitioner is permitted to argue to the OWCP
that she is disabled because of factors related to her em-
ployment, while at the same time argue to her employer
that she can work if her disability is accommodated. In-
deed, the OWCP anticipated the argument and instructed
petitioner to ask respondent “whether light or limited duty
work is available” or “whether [her] usual job can be
changed to meet [her] work limitations due to the in-
jury”. App. C at 2la. Thus, not only is petitioner not
estopped from arguing that she is “otherwise qualified” to
perform her duties, she is required to seek accommoda-
tion in the form of a modification of her duties in order
to retain her eligibility for disability benefits.®

5 The Department of Labor’s OWCP administers the Federal
Employees’ Compensation Act, 5 U.S.C. § 8101 et seq. The pur-
pose of the Act is to provide for “compensation . .. for the dis-
ability or death of a [federal] employee resulting from personal
injury sustained while in the performance of his duty”. Id.
§ 8102(a).

6 Petitioner’s request that she be permitted to retain her special
shift in 1993 satisfied her obligation under both Acts. In any
event, respondent never offered petitioner any “light or limited
duty work”, or any work she could perform.

9

In the event the Court holds in Cleveland that an em-
ployee’s assertion of disability under a benefits statute
does not estop her from arguing to her employer that she
is capable of working with reasonable accommodation, the
decision below should be reversed and the case remanded
for further consideration.

II. PETITIONER’S ASSERTION IN APRIL 1994 THAT
SHE WAS TOTALLY DISABLED IS NOT DISPOSI-
TIVE OF HER CLAIM THAT SHE IS A “QUALI-
FIED INDIVIDUAL WITH A DISABLILTY” UN-
DER THE REHABILITATION ACT AND THERE-
FORE ENTITLED TO REASONABLE ACCOMMO-
DATION OF HER CONDITION.

It is undisputed that on April 5, 1994, when petitioner
learned that respondent was altering her shift in a man-
ner inconsistent with her doctors’ advice, petitioner suf-
fered a “stress-related episode”, App. A at 2a, and left
work. The next day, petitioner submitted a note from
her doctor stating that “due to physical and mental prob-
lems at her place of employment”, petitioner was not cap-
able of performing any work. App. G at 34a. Based on
this statement, both the district court, App. B at 17a, and
the court of appeals, App. A at 5a, held that petitioner
could not claim the protection of the Rehabilitation Act
because she is not “otherwise qualified” to work.

That holding will also be controlled by the pending
decision in Cleveland. The court of appeals’ decision in
Cleveland held that the employee’s statements in her ap-
plication that she was totally disabled were dispositive of
her subsequent assertion that she was qualified under the
ADA and capable of working. The validity of that hold-
ing is one of the questions to be decided in Cleveland.
For the same reasons that an employee’s application for
disability benefits cannot control her entitlement to relief

—

10

under the Rehabilitation Act or ADA, the employee’s
statements in support of her application cannot be dis-
positive of her status under those Acts.

This is particularly true in this case because the medi-
cal evidence cited by both the district court and the court
of appeals demonstrated that the Rehabilitation Act ap-
plied to petitioner. While it is true that in April 1994, pe-
titioner’s doctor advised respondent that petitioner could
not work at “any” job with respondent because of her
“physical and mental condition”, App. G at 34a, in No-
vember 1995, petitioner’s doctor advised respondent that
his limitation on petitioner’s employment then extended
only to her service in “an active position as an air traffic
controller”. Id. at 32a. Moreover, at his deposition in
June 1997, cited to the district court and the court of
appeals, the doctor testified in response to questioning by
respondent that petitioner was fully capable of working in
an administrative capacity. App. E at 31a.

The court of appeals erred when it relied on the doc-
tor’s assertion that petitioner could not work as an air
traffic controller as dispositive of her entitlement to the
protections of the Rehabilitation Act. The regulations of
the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission require
federal agencies to “offer to reassign” an employee to a
position she can perform if she “becomes unable to per-
form the essential functions of her position even with
reasonable accommodation”. 29 C.F.R. § 1614.203(g).?
It is hard to reconcile the court of appeals’ finding that
respondent cannot be liable under the Rehabilitation Act,
with respondent’s clear failure to comply with the Act’s

7 This requirement is fully consistent with OWCP’s requirement
that the employer of a disabled federal employee “consider light or
limited duty work”. App. C at 21a.

iia leillaniacllac

‘11

requirement that it attempt to reassign petitioner to a
position she could perform.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner requests that her petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE M. CHUZI
(Counsel of Record)
KALIJARVI, CHUZI & NEWMAN, P.C.
1730 K Street, N.W.
Suite 1011
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 331-9260

Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0848%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
