# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Heyward v. Monroe

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0701%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 1036

## Text

Supreme Court, u Ss
ge bh ae D

9 $1709 APR 26 1999

Sl
+

UF THE CLERK
NO,

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1998

MAY LINDA HEYWARD,

Petitioner,

MICHAEL C. MONROE, individually and in
his official capacity as District Director of
Health Education for the South Carolina
Department of Health and Environmental
Control and SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT
OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN R. HARPER I

1545 Sumter Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29261
(803) 771-4723

Attorney for Petitioner i

EE EEE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the judgment of the Court of Appeals that
the Petitioner was not discriminated against compared to
other employees because her dismissal was not similar to
theirs in all relevant respects conflicts with decisions of
this Court and of other Courts of Appeals requiring only
that the misconduct of the plaintiff and of other employees
be of comparable seriousness.

LIST OF PARTIES TO PROCEEDING BELOW

The caption of the case contains the names of all
the parties to the proceeding in the court whose judgment
is sought to be reviewed.

There are no parent companies or nonwholly owned
subsidiaries involved in this case.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .........

LIST OF PARTIES TO PROCEEDING BELOW ... ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS ......---eeeeeeeeeee: ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........--0 ee eeeee: iV
OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW .......------ I
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ........---+-- I
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .....-.-. yf
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......--- eee ee eee: 3
ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECIDED
THE QUESTION OF WHETHER THE
PETITIONER WAS SUBJECTED TO
DISCRIMINATORY DISCIPLINARY
ACTION IN A WAY THAT CONFLICTS
WITH RELEVANT DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT AND OTHER COURTS OF
pO EE eee rr ee ee ee 7

Ce SINC ovo cin eviews eoeceveceesvaceesse 1]
Ee oe ean Ga vdhoeven keen setae eeves A-|]

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

Corley v. Jackson Police Department, 566 F.2d
SP COUN as SUPER Co ce hues DEKE & Oe cee 10

Friedel v. City of Madison, 832 F.2d 965
‘toe ss eee ow rer reer ry) 10

Garrett v. City & County of San Francisco, 818
Fo £55 Ce os AED haa wha eee 10

Hargett v. Westminster Bank, USA, 78 F.3d 836
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 84

CEE Va ec aairn whe eee TOK Ras eens 10
Lynn v. Deaconess Medical Center-West Campus,

160 F.3d 484 (8th Cir. 1998) ............. 10
McAlester v. United Air Lines, Inc., 851

F.2d 1249 (10th Cir. 1988) ............... 1]
McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transportation Co.,

tes Seki sR rere err 9
McDonnell Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

CRG Se ak ck ea EE ae oe 9
Worthy v. United States Steel Co., 616 F.2d 698

C0 Ga TOO cooks ape RCo eee hea 10

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONT'D)

Statutes Page
y BOR. Lome By.) Beprerr rere Tie yee ee 2
yo OR Came Bhs See errr ere rr cr fe 7
pi RAE Tom Ot: Beer errer eee eee cy 7
yi gOS TOM BG y eer eee ee er te tat 7
ry Beh Tam 2, < Ree errr irs ery ay ce. 5,6
42 U.S.C. § 2000] 2... cere c cece eerecescccerress 5
42 U.S.C. § 2000-2 2... cc cee cere rerereeces 2
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5 2. cece ere c ccc ceceres 7
Sup. COR. 10 occ ce ccesecsevertvecsccneceses 9

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The Magistrate Judge's Report and
Recommendation, which recommended dismissal of the
Plaintiffs’ claims in Civil Action No. 3:95-3400-23, with
the exception of Petitioner Heyward's claim for disparate
treatment under Title VII against Respondent South
Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
(DHEC), is not reported.

The Order of the United States District Court in
Civil Action No. 3:95-3400-23, adopting in part the Report
and Recommendation of the United States Magistrate
Judge, and entering summary judgment for the
Respondents on all claims, is not reported.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit issued an unpublished per curiam opinion in Case
No. 97-2430 affirming the decision of the United States
District Court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit issued an unpublished opinion in Case No. 97-
2430 denying the Petitioner's petition for rehearing.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit sought to be reviewed was entered
on December 7, 1998. The judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit denying the
Petitioner's petition for rehearing was entered on January

]

ee a eae ae ee

25, 1999. This Court has jurisdiction to review the
judgment of the Court of Appeals pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §
1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) provides, in pertinent part,
as follows:

(a) Employer practices. It shall be an
unlawful employment practice for an
employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or
to discharge any individual,
or otherwise to discriminate
against any individual with
respect to his compensation,
terms, conditions, or
privileges of employment,
because of such individual's
race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or
classify his employees or
applicants for employment in
any way which would deprive
or tend to deprive any
individual of employment
opportunities or otherwise
adversely affect his status as

2

an employee, because of such
individual's race, color,
religion, sex, or national
origin.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

May Linda Heyward (Heyward) is a black female
who was employed by Respondent South Carolina
Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC)
continuously from September 17, 1987 until her
termination in January 1992. During her tenure at DHEC,
Heyward had an excellent employment record and a
reputation for dependability, loyalty, diligence, and
progressive approaches, as well as for her community
contributions.

In November 1988, Heyward sought a promotion,
but the position was given to Respondent Monroe, a white
male who was no better qualified than Heyward and who
had less or no seniority in the department in which the
vacancy existed, while Heyward did have seniority in that
department. From about the time that Monroe became
Heyward's supervisor, he harassed her and subjected her
to discriminatory treatment. On March 16, 1989, for
example, Monroe issued Heyward a written reprimand for
attending a meeting which was an integral part of her job
duties, but which he had instructed her not to attend "due
to the higher priority" of meeting with him concerning her
performance appraisal. In April/May 1991, similarly,
Monroe gave Heyward an action plan notifying her that
she was strictly to account for where and with whom she

3

would be at all times and that he would be checking on her
whereabouts. In fact, Monroe continuously monitored
Heyward, almost to the point of stalking. On November
15, 1991, Monroe issued another reprimand on Heyward
for negligence in following rules.

In April 1989, Heyward complained to the State
Human Affairs Commission, which contacted DHEC and
attempted to informally resolve the matter.
Notwithstanding those efforts by the Commission to
resolve the matter, Monroe continued his discriminatory
treatment of Heyward. Ultimately, at the first technical
opportunity to do so, he terminated Heyward's
employment on January 27, 1992, based on the allegation
that she had abandoned her position by not coming to
work for three consecutive days. Heyward's absence from
employment on January 22-24, 1992 was due to an illness
which was sufficiently severe that she was unable to report
to work. Under DHEC's Employee Handbook, an
employee who cannot report to work due to illness is to
notify his or her supervisor "as soon as possible." On
January 22, Heyward informed Monroe's secretary that
Heyward would be unable to report to work. On January
23 and 24, Heyward continued her efforts to speak directly
with one or more of her supervisors, but was unable to do
so as a result of their unavailability. Notwithstanding the
fact that Heyward had directly notified Monroe's secretary
of her absence and the reason therefor, Monroe terminated
Heyward from her employment on January 27, stating as
his basis that Heyward had failed to contact her work area
during the three-day period and had, accordingly,
abandoned her employment.

The Employee Handbook provides only that if an
employee cannot report to work because of illness, the
supervisor should be notified "as soon as possible."
Whatever the formal policy, the informal policy was one
of leniency. During the pe ‘od of Heyward's employment,
seven other employees of DHEC were terminated for job
abandonment, but under circumstances in which, unlike in
Heyward's case, they were given reasonable notice and an
opportunity to explain their absence from work. For
example, one white female employee who failed to return
to work under similar circumstances, with the difference
that she was given written notice that she would be
terminated if she did not return by a particular date, was
not terminated until a full week after the designated date.
Another white employee, who failed for three weeks to
either return to work or respond to a letter of inquiry
concerning her return, was then terminated, not as of the
date of the letter but as of two days thereafter.

On October 16, 1995, Heyward filed a complaint in
the United States District Court of the District of South
Carolina, Columbia Division. The complaint stated a
number of causes of action, including claims that the
Respondents discriminated against Heyward because of
her race and gender in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 2000e
(Title VII) and 42 U.S.C. § 1983, that the Respondents had
retaliated against her for filing an informal complaint with
the South Carolina Human Affairs Commission
concerning her treatment by her immediate supervisor,
Respondent Michael C. Monroe, in violation of Title VII,
and that the Respondents deprived Heyward of various
constitutional rights in violation of § 1983. The complaint
also raised several state law claims for breach of contract,
breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair

, a

dealing contained in her contract, and violation of the
public policy of South Carolina, as well as a claim by Earl
Samuel, Heyward's husband, for loss of consortium.

The case was assigned to the Honorable Joseph R.
McCrorey, Magistrate Judge. On January 16, 1997, Judge
McCrorey filed a Report and Recommendation in which
he concluded that the Petitioner's § 1983 claims and state
law claims should be dismissed as being barred by the
statute of limitations. (A-21.) He also recommended
dismissal of Heyward's claim for a violation of the public
policy of South Carolina as not stating a viable cause of
action, and the dismissal of Samuel's loss of consortium
claim on the ground that Samuel and Heyward were not
married at the time of the injury. The Magistrate did,
however, recommend the denial of the Respondents'
motion for summary judgment as to Heyward's Title VII
claim of discrimination based on race and gender, but
recommended dismissal of Respondent Monroe in his
individual capacity.

On September 16, 1997, the United States District
Court, adopting in part the Report and Recommendation
of the Magistrate Judge, entered an Order granting
summary judgment in favor of the Respondents on all
counts. (A-11.)

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit affirmed the decision of the United States District
Court on December 7, 1998 (A-2), and denied the
Petitioner's petition for rehearing on January 25, 1999.
(A-1.)

%

The district court had subject-matter jurisdiction
over this matter by virtue of 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f)(3) and
28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343, and the court's supplemental
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1367.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECIDED
THE QUESTION OF WHETHER THE
PETITIONER WAS SUBJECTED TO
DISCRIMINATORY DISCIPLINARY
ACTION IN A WAY THAT
CONFLICTS WITH RELEVANT
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND
OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS.

In its decision affirming the summary judgment
granted to the Respondents on all counts, the Court of
Appeals acknowledged that '[e}vidence showed that other
employees were treated more leniently than Heyward."
(A-6.) The Court was referring to the seven other
employees of the DHEC who were terminated for
abandonment during the period of Heyward's employment.

As noted by the Court of Appeals, Heyward
contends that the other similarly situated white employees
and male employees were provided with notice of pending
termination for abandonment and were given more time to
resolve the matter. (A-5.) The Court agreed that the white
employees and the male employees, although eventually
terminated, were either given notice of pending
termination or more time to resolve the matter. (A-6.)

7

eee

The Court upheld dismissal of the discriminatory
termination claims, however, on the ground that these
employees who were treated more favorably than Heyward
were not similarly situated to Heyward.

In deciding that Heyward was not similarly situated
to the more favorably treated employees, the Court of
Appeals compared Heyward's circumstances especially to
those of the two white female employees. The Court
observed that one of these employees was on leave of
absence status due to a family illness, and the other
employee went on medical leave without pay due to a
work-related injury. (A-7.) The Court then stated
erroneously that "Heyward, on the other hand, did not
provide her employer any reason for her absence." (A-7.)

In its discussion of the comparison between the
disciplinary treatment of Heyward and the white
employees and male employees of DHEC who were
disciplined for job abandonment, the Court of Appeals
proceeded on the erroneous premise that "she [Heyward]
must show that they [the other employees] are similar in
all relevant respects." (A-7.) Accordingly, the Court of
Appeals placed undue emphasis on the fact that different
supervisors were involved in Heyward's situation and that
of the other employees. The Court also stressed
inconsequential differences between Heyward's case and
those of two white female employees, even though all
three cases arose from sick leave or leave due to illness in
the family. Such a "similar in all respects" standard
adopted by the Court of Appeals is in conflict with the less
rigid standard of "comparability" which has been accepted
by this Court.

This Court has stated:

Of course, precise equivalence in culpability
between employees is not the ultimate
question: as we indicated in McDonnell
Douglas, an allegation that other
"employees involved in acts against [the
employer] of comparable seriousness . . .
were nevertheless retained . . ." is adequate
to plead an inferential case that the
employer's reliance on his discharged
employee's misconduct as grounds for
terminating him was merely a pretext. 41]
U.S., at 804, 93 S.Ct., at 1825 (emphasis
added).

McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transportation Co., 427 US.
273, 283 n.11 (1976).

The Court of Appeals’ use of the more demanding
"similar in all respects" test in this case was in conflict
with the "comparability" test adopted by this Court in
McDonnell Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973), and
McDonald. This error led directly to an erroneous
affirmance of the dismissal of Heyward's Title VII claims
on summary judgment. Under Rule 10(c) of the Rules of
the Supreme Court of the United States, this conflict
between the Court of Appeals’ decision in this case and
relevant decisions of this Court on an important question
of federal civil rights law affecting many pending and
future claims under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, weighs in favor of granting this Petition.

Moreover, the Petitioner invokes Rule 10(a) of the
same rules in support of her Petition, since the Court of
Appeals’ application of a "similar in all respects" standard
in this case is at odds with the "comparability" test which
other Courts of Appeals have employed in cases of this
kind. See Hargett v. Westminster Bank, USA, 78 F.3d 836,
839-40 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 84 (1996)
(comparable seriousness test allows consideration of
positions held by employees, as well as acts committed by
them); Worthy v. United States Steel Co., 616 F.2d 698,
703-04 (3d Cir. 1980) (claim alleging discriminatory
suspension and demotion remanded for findings as to
whether conduct of white workers was of comparable
seriousness to conduct of black plaintiff); Corley v.
Jackson Police Department, 566 F.2d 994, 998-99 (Sth
Cir. 1978) (district court erroneously ruled for defendants
in discriminatory discharge case brought by black
employee without considering evidence that white
employees committing acts of comparable seriousness
were not investigated or discharged); Friedel v. City of
Madison, 832 F.2d 965, 974 (7th Cir. 1987) (white police
recruits dismissed for cheating on exams did not show that
employer knew that minority or female recruits were
engaged in acts against employer of comparable
seriousness); Lynn v. Deaconess Medical Center-West
Campus, 160 F.3d 484, 487-88 (8th Cir. 1998) (male nurse
alleging discriminatory termination produced sufficient
evidence to survive summary judgment; evidence showed
that female nurse who engaged in misconduct that was
different in type but of comparable seriousness to
plaintiffs misconduct was treated more leniently); Garrett
v. City & County of San Francisco, 818 F.2d 1515, 1519
(9th Cir. 1987) (district court erred in denying discovery
motion filed by black plaintiff seeking personnel records

10

to show that white employees who engaged in misconduct
of comparable seriousness as plaintiff's misconduct were
treated more favorably); McAlester v. United Air Lines,
Inc., 851 F.2d 1249, 1261 (10th Cir. 1988) (airline's
termination of minority employee for alleged rule violation
was pretext for race discrimination; "The fact that...
other employees did not commit the exact same offense as
McAlester, does not prohibit consideration of their
testimony. It is sufficient if these employees did acts of
comparable seriousness.").

CONCLUSION
For reasons discussed herein, the Petitioner
respectfully requests that this Honorable Court grant her

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

a

John R. Harper I

1545 Sumter Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201
(803) 771-4723

Attorney for Petitioner

11

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0701%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
