# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Konkel v. Bob Evans Farms, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0653%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 877

## Text

FILED.
99 180 Jui 26 09,

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

(1 \

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CAROL M. KONKEL,
Petitioner,

V.

BOB EVANS FARMS, INCORPORATED,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT. OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT T. MITCHELL, Jr.
Counsel of Record
JAMES A. KLENKAR
HALL, MONAHAN, ENGLE,
MAHAN & MITCHELL
Attorneys for Petitioner
Nine East Boscawen Street
P.O. Box 848
Winchester, Virginia 22604
(540) 662-3200

@) Counsel Press LLC
FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES
(800) 274-3321 +» (800) 359-6859

PO PCR sce

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Did the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals violate the
Petitioner’s Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial when it
ordered a remittitur of a federal jur_;’s compensatory damages
award from $1 million to $25,000?

Did the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals violate the
Petitioner’s Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial when it
decided it need not even consider whether the Petitioner was
entitled to punitive damages?

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Ecolab, Inc., was originally a defendant in this case.
However, Petitioner dismissed her claims against Ecolab,
Inc. prior to trial. Ecolab, Inc. was not a party to the appeal
to the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and is not a party to
this proceeding.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee CL a yew da bi ieeeb see
PUTUCS OO GO PYOCCCGING 4. wee cece cceces
ee
Table of Cited Authorities .........ccceccceces
ES oc ee Cid vides week eees coe
i rece. eee visct ye ohesteceese

Statement of Jurisdiction .....................

BE Re ere err eT reer re
B. Mrs. Konkel’s Punitive Damages Claim ...
Reasons for Granting the Writ .................

I. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The
Fourth Circuit’s Decision To Substitute Its
Judgment For That Of The Jury As To The
Amount Of Compensatory Damages
Violates The Seventh Amendment. .......

Page

ill

1X

11

II.

Ill.

Contents

The Petition Should Be Granted Because In
Substituting Its Judgment For That Of The
Jury As To The Amount Of Compensatory
Damages, The Fourth Circuit Ignored The
Applicable Substantive Law As Set Forth In
The Decisions Of The Pennsylvania Supreme
WE ovdc newts reeswackeewenonaues ia

The Petition Should Be Granted Because The
Fourth Circuit Also Violated Fed. R. Civ. P.
54(c), Fed. R. Civ. P. 56, And Mrs. Konkel’s
Seventh Amendment Right To Have A Jury
Hear Her Punitive Damages Claim. .......

Rn a a ee

Page

14

23

28

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Avitia v. Metropolitan Club of Chicago, Inc.,

ee Beit y, fe Ber ree 24
Botek v. Mine Safety Appliance Corp., 531 Pa. 160,

G13 A.26 19746 (1992) ..cvecccvess 15, 16, 18, 19, 20
Brown v. Paxton, 2 A.2d 729 (Pa. 1938) ......... 22
Carminati v. Philadelphia Transp. Co., 405 Pa. 500,

FS B26 OOO CISEE 0 sn eke cn cicscercsarecen 19, 20

Catalano v. Bujak, 537 Pa. 155, 642 A.2d 448 (1994)
steaboesdtvneesesécsenuuenseeuseuareee 14, 15, 16

Commercial Union Insurance Company v. Walbrook
Insurance Company, Ltd., 41 F.3d 764 (ist Cir.

WE; sci erase ae 25

Dimick v. Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474, 79 L. Ed. 603, 55
eee. tt.) re 12, 13, 23, 28

Felce v. Fiedler, 974 F.2d 1484 (7th Cir. 1992)... 24

Feldman v. Philadelphia Housing Authority, 43 F.3d
ate fy | 6 errr en 25

Feltner v. Columbia Pictures Television, Inc., 523
U.S. 340, 140 L. Ed. 2d 438 (1998) .. 4, 12, 13, 23, 28

Cited Authorities

Page

Gasperini v. Center for Humanities, Inc., 518 U.S.
4135, 035 L. Bd. 28 GSS (IGSE) «ow cc cccccscccvceces
+2 ivendee ba ereeenen 4, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 23, 28

Gilbane Building Co. v. Federal Reserve Bank of
Richmond, 80 F.3d 895 (4th Cir. 1996) ........ 23, 24

Haines v. Raven Arms, Donn’s, Inc., 536 Pa. 452,
640 A.2d 367 (1994) ................ 15, 16, 20, 21

Hetzel v. Prince William County, 118 S. Ct. 1210
(UDUED 00o.8s000sse esse eee 4, 12, 13, 28

International Harvest Credit Corp. v. East Coast
Truck, 547 F.2d 888 (Sth Cir. 1977) .......... 25

Ivins v. Celotex Corp., 115 F.R.D. 159 (E.D. Pa.
EDO) vies civcccns dep sdben eee eeCee 8, 10

Kemp v. Philadelphia Transp. Co., 239 Pa. Super.
379, SOL AZO SEB (CIGAR) 2... ccccccvvaevess 20, 22

Kiser v. Schulte, 538 Pa. 219, 648 A.2d 1 (1994) .. 15, 16

Meholiff v. River Transit Co.,20 A.2d 762 (Pa. 1941)

Mineo v. Tancini, 349 Pa. Super. 115, 502 A.2d 1300
GUSUED + dcses cvackenebsueeu eee 20

vii

Cited Authorities
Page
New Amsterdam Casualty Co. v. Waller, 323 F.2d
20 (4th Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 376 U.S. 963
oo ee eee eee rE errr 24
North Alamo Water Supply Corp. v. San Juan, 90
Fe OE Ce Ge SED os havc eeukteesnccena 25
Rodriguez v. Doral Mortgage Corp., 57 F.3d 1168
be er pre Pepe 24, 25

Smith v. Coy, 460 F.2d 1226 (3rd Cir. 1992)
Pig MATEO AS, 4, 11, 13, 20

Stoughton v. Kinzey, 299 Pa. Super. 499, 455 A.2d
RED 6b. Sb cbenaubassteuusbareveun 20, 21, 22

Tulewicz v. Southeastern Pennsylvania
Transportation Authority, 529 Pa. 584, 606 A.2d
425 (1991), rev'd on other grounds 529 Pa. 588,

Geer Sua ET COOOED oc ccc anetcctcvesatawsss 22
Statutes:
yg Se | re er es ree l
Be ae OF BE 0:5 6 6ebd0bceeshsedecsakisueee 8

I OU oie ab recta 8

vill

Cited Authorities
Page

United States Constitution:

Seventh Amendment ... i, 2, 4, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 27, 28

Rules:

Pe EF cd's dene bceetdexe puke a 26
Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c) ....... 2, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28
oo ee es 3, 10, 23, 27, 28
POU. COW. B. FOURD nnn cccnccccnavevees 1, 6, 16, 28

Os Was COU. FH, DUE ooo vb vinvccwecevedeccvn: 2

ix

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court
Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Dated And
Deeciied Fammary 4, SFP ccc cccccvcccccens

Appendix B — Order Of Judgment Of
The United States District Court For The Western
District Of Virginia, Harrisonburg Division Dated,
Entered And Filed April 24, 1997 ............

Appendix C — Final Order Of Judgment
Of The United States District Court For The
Western District Of Virginia, Harrisonburg
Division Dated, Entered And Filed May 23, 1997

@e¢aece@ewreseeeuese tw seeoe@ese~aseestewbeeeseaeceeaeeeeeseee @

Appendix D — Memorandum Opinion
Of The United States District Court For The
Western District Of Virginia, Harrisonburg
Division Dated, Entered And Filed May 23, 1997

eer eeoespeeereaeetecseeeceoeveaeweeceecee@esteees@seeoe eaeeor ee 6 @

Appendix E — Order Of The United States District
Court For The Western District Of Virginia,
Harrisonburg Division Dated, Entered And Filed
ee ME 6 ea kaa stave saneveen ses 4

Appendix F — Excerpts From Transcript Of Hearing
Of The United States District Court For The
Western District Of Virginia, Harrisonburg
Division On Cross-Motions For Summary
Judgment Dated February 7, 1997 ............

Page

la

18a

20a

22a

28a

x
Appendices

Page

Appendix G — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Denying

Petition For Rehearing Dated And Filed April 26,
FO vevincnsuvedeundiaesonereelioe ee 4la
Appendix H — Relevant Rule ................. 43a

]

Petitioner, Carol M. Konkel (“Mrs. Konkel”),
respectfully requests that a writ of certiorari be issued to
review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit in this case against Bob Evans Farms,
Inc. (“Bob Evans”).

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit (“Fourth Circuit”) is reported at Konkel
v. Bob Evans Farms, Inc., 165 F.3d 275 (4th Cir. 1999)
(App. A.) The Order denying Mrs. Konkel’s petition for
rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en banc is not
published, but is attached as Appendix G. The opinion and
order of the federal district court in Konkel v. Bob Evans
Farms, Inc., Civ. No. CA-96-20-H, denying Bob Evans’
Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a) motion for a new trial on the grounds
of verdict excessiveness are not published, but are attached
as Appendix C and D. The relevant hearing transcript
excerpts and order of the federal district court denying Mrs.
Konkel’s motion for summary judgment and granting Bob
Evans’ motion in limine with respect to Mrs. Konkel’s claim
for punitive damages are attached as Appendix E and F.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of a panel of the Fourth Circuit was
entered on January 4, 1999. On April 26, 1999, the Fourth
Circuit denied a timely petition for rehearing and suggestion
for rehearing en banc. The vote on the petition for rehearing
en banc was 9 to 4.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND
RULES INVOLVED

The Seventh Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides:

In suits at common law, where the value in
controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right
of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no fact
tried by the jury shall be otherwise re-examined
in any Court of the United States, than according
to the rules of the common law.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 59(a)(1) provides:

A new trial may be granted to all or any of the
parties and on all or part of the issues (1) in an
action in which there has been a trial by jury, for
any of the reasons for which new trials have
heretofore been granted in actions at law in the
Courts of the United States. . . .

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 54(c) provides:

A judgment by default shall not be different in
kind from or exceed in amount that prayed for in
the demand for judgment. Except as to a party
against whom a judgment is entered by default,
any final judgment shall grant the relief to which
the party in whose favor it is rendered is entitled,
even if the party has not demanded such relief in
the party’s pleading.

3

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Rule 56 provides in pertinent
part:'

(a) A party seeking to recover upon a claim...
may ... move with or without supporting
affidavits for a summary judgment in the party’s
favor upon all or any part thereof.

(c) ... The judgment sought shall be rendered
forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers
to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and that the
moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter
of law....

(e) ... When a motion for summary judgment is
made and supplied as provided in this rule, an
adverse party may not rest upon the new
allegations or demands of the adverse party’s
pleading, but the adverse party’s response, by
affidavits or as otherwise provided in this rule,
must set forth specific facts showing there is a
genuine issue for trial. If the adverse party does
not so respond, summary judgment if appropriate,
shall be entered against the adverse party.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Mrs. Konkel’s Compensatory Damages Award

The fundamental issue with respect to Mrs. Konkel’s
compensatory damages award is whether the Seventh

1. The full text is set forth in Appendix H.

4

Amendment requires that she is entitled to have her
compensatory damages for pain and suffering determined
by a jury, or whether a Court of Appeals may substitute its
own judgment for that of the jury. By remittitur, the Fourth
Circuit reduced the federal jury’s award of $1,000,000 to
$25,000, an unheard of reduction of more than 97%. The
Fourth Circuit’s decision is in direct conflict with this Court’s
admonitions with respect to the Seventh Amendment right
to a jury trial in Gasperini v. Center for Humanities, Inc.,
518 U.S. 415, 135 L. Ed. 2d 659 (1996); Feltner v. Columbia
Pictures Television, Inc., 523 U.S. 340, 140 L. Ed. 2d 438
(1998) and Hetzel v. Prince William County, 118 S. Ct. 1210
(1998). The Fourth Circuit’s decision also conflicts with the
Third Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision in Smith v. Coy,
460 F.2d 1226 (3rd Cir. 1992). The Fourth Circuit’s decision
also conflicts with the applicable law as set forth in the
decisions of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. Finally, the
Fourth Circuit’s decision also deviates so substantially from
the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as to
require that this Court exercise its supervisory power to
reverse the decision and reinstate the jury’s verdict.

On the evening of March 22, 1992, Mrs. Konkel suffered
severe, permanent injuries to her esophagus when she was
served a caustic chemical cleaner instead of hot water for
her tea at a Bob Evans restaurant in Carlisle, Pennsylvania.
Bob Evans admitted in its Answer that the product Mrs.
Konkel swallowed, known as “Finish”, is a high alkali,
caustic, industrial strength cleaner. The cleaner was used in
a highly concentrated form to remove stains from Bob Evans’
coffee pots. Mrs. Konkel was injured when a Bob Evans
waitress refilled Mrs. Konkel’s tea carafe with what appeared
to be hot water from a coffee pot sitting in the food
preparation area of the restaurant. Unfortunately for Mrs.

5

Konkel, the coffee pot did not contain clean hot water.
Instead, because it was in the process of being destained, it
contained a highly concentrated solution of the high alkali,
caustic chemical cleaner.

The moment she swallowed the caustic cleaner, Mrs.
Konkel’s esophagus was irreparably and permanently
damaged. She immediately felt a burning pain radiating in
her chest from her esophageal chemical burns, which
continued as Poison Control was called. The burning pain
continued as she was diagnosed and treated for her
esophageal chemical burns a short time later by a board
certified emergency room physician.

Mrs. Konkel’s treating physician, Dr. Nicholas Snow,
who is board certified in both internal medicine and
gastroenterology, testified that a battery of objective tests
ruled out reflux disease, cancer, esophagitis, and benign
tumors, and established that Mrs. Konkel’s continuing pain
is caused by heightened visceral nociception (“HVN”) of
the esophagus caused by her ingestion of the caustic cleaner.
HVN is a condition in which the pain nerves in Mrs. Konkel’s
esophagus send pain impulses to her despite receiving only
the most ordinary stimuli. Eating or drinking anything other
than the most bland foods causes Mrs. Konkel’s damaged
pain nerves to start firing, and the pain continues for hours,
days, or weeks. Once the burning sensation starts, there is
nothing she can do to stop it. Mrs. Konkel’s condition is
getting worse as the damaged nerves “recruit” surrounding
tissues, causing them to send additional pain impulses.

At the time of the trial, over three years after the event
at the Bob Evans restaurant, Mrs. Konkel’s condition had
gotten progressively worse. She has chronic burning in her

6

chest. If she drinks or eats she has pain. The pain is best
reduced if she does not eat anything. Mrs. Konkel’s diet is
limited to soggy cereal flakes, plain yogurt, soft bananas,
mashed potatoes, noodles, and creamy rice. She cannot drink
most beverages, including soft drinks, fruit juices, lemonade,
beer or wine.

There is no cure for Mrs. Konkel’s condition. Even Bob
Evans’ medical expert, Dr. Kalloo, admitted at trial that the
“cure” for Mrs. Konkel’s HVN condition is to avoid those
foods that cause her pain, which is virtually everything she
used to eat. Over her remaining life expectancy of almost 30
years, Mrs. Konkel will never again eat a normal meal
without experiencing pain.

For two days, seven jurors and a federal trial court judge
had the opportunity to hear and observe Mrs. Konkel, her
treating physician (Dr. Snow), and several other witnesses
testify about the devastating effects of her injuries. The jury
was instructed — without objection — that under
Pennsylvania law, Mrs. Konkel was entitled to compensation
for each of the following elements of her damages: past,
present and future physical pain, mental anguish,
embarrassment, humiliation, inconvenience, and loss of
enjoyment of life. After due deliberation, the jurors awarded
Mrs. Konkel $1 million for these damages.

The jurors’ unanimous verdict was reviewed by the trial
court judge under a Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a) motion for excessive
verdict. In his decision, the trial court judge explained in
detail that the verdict was appropriate, noting that the jury
had properly concluded that Mrs. Konkel had suffered a
permanent, devastating physical injury and had compensated
her accordingly. Significantly, the trial court judge

7

specifically ruled that the award was appropriate even in the

absence of so-called special damages, stating:

Furthermore, the court does not accept the
defendant’s contention that plaintiff's election not
to present medical specials renders the jury verdict
excessive. There is no dispute that plaintiff visited
an emergency room, had follow-up treating care
and saw outside specialists for her condition. Even
the defendant's consulting physician could not tell
the jury that the emergency room diagnosis [of
esophageal chemical burns] was wrong. In fact,
he steered clear of such assertion. Moreover, there
was evidence, which the jury had the right to
accept and apparently did accept, that showed
plaintiff suffered a serious but essentially
untreatable condition whose duration was
indefinite but likely permanent.

The defendant had a right to assail the absence of
any special damages when its counsel argued the
matter before the jury and, in fact, asked the jury
to assess that in arriving at its verdict. However,
the absence of special damages does not
necessarily, and certainly does not legally,
denigrate the magnitude of the impact plaintiff's
medical condition has on her life. Obviously the
jury concluded the impact was great and
compensated her accordingly.

(App. D at 24a-25a) (emphasis added).

On January 4, 1999, a panel of the Fourth Circuit

reversed the trial court judge’s affirmation of the

8

compensatory damages award, and instead ordered a
reduction of the $1 million award to $25,000, an unheard of
reduction of more than 97%. On April 26, 1999, by a9to4
vote, Mrs. Konkel’s petition for rehearing with suggestion
for rehearing en banc was denied. This timely petition for
writ of certiorari follows.

B. Mrs. Konkel’s Punitive Damages Claim

In the original motion for judgment filed in state court
in this case, Mrs. Konkel alleged that Bob Evans “recklessly”
served Mrs. Konkel with what Bob Evans admitted in its
answer is a “high alkali caustic industrial strength cleaner
containing numerous hazardous materials.” Mrs. Konkel
asked for compensatory damages and all other relief to which
she was entitled, but did not specifically request punitive
damages in the ad damnum of her initial pleading. The case
was removed pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1332 and 1441 to the
federal district court for the Western District of Virginia.

The parties agree that Pennsylvania law applies as to
liability and damages. “Reckless” behavior is sufficient for
an award of punitive damages under Pennsylvania law;
willful misconduct is not required. Ivins v. Celotex Corp.,
115 F.R.D. 159 (E.D. Pa. 1986.)

The packet of “Finish” served to Mrs. Konkel contained
numerous warnings that the product causes severe burns, is
harmful if swallowed, and should be kept away from skin,
eyes and mucous membranes. The “Finish” chemical cleaner
in solution has the appearance of ordinary tap water. During
his deposition and at trial, Richard Giardullo, the Bob Evans
manager in charge of the restaurant where Mrs. Konkel was
injured, testified that the “Finish” chemical cleaner was used

9

to destain coffee pots not back in the sink area, away from
where food was being prepared, but by placing the chemical
in the coffee maker basket and “brewing” the Finish at the
very same coffee stations where beverages were being
prepared to be served to customers. Mr. Giardullo testified
that this same “cleaning-by-brewing” procedure had been in
place since the restaurant had opened.

During pretrial discovery, Carl Kinderwater, the
chemical manufacturer’s representative in charge of servicing
the Bob Evans restaurant in Carlisle, testified in deposition
that he specifically told Bob Evans’ employees, including
restaurant manager Richard Giardullo, that if “Finish” was
to be used to destain coffee pots, the destaining should be
done in a sink in the back room of the restaurant, not in the
food service area.

In addition to Mr. Kinderwater’s deposition testimony,
documents produced in discovery established that more than
a year before Mrs. Konkel was injured, Bob Evans had a
written procedure that coffee pots were to be destained in
the back sink area, away from the food preparation area,
where they were to be soaked overnight, rinsed, and then
put through the automatic dishwashers before being brought
back to the food service area.

Shortly after discovering in Mr. Kinderwater’s
deposition that Bob Evans’ restaurant manager had been
specifically instructed to use the “Finish” chemical cleaner
in the back sink area, and before Bob Evans had taken the
deposition of Mrs. Konkel, Mrs. Konkel supplemented her
interrogatory answers to state that she was also seeking
punitive damages against Bob Evans to the maximum extent
permitted by law.

10

After the close of discovery, Mrs. Konkel filed a Fed.
R. Civ. P. 56 motion for summary judgment with respect to
Bob Evans, including a motion for summary judgment with
respect to punitive damages. In her motion, Mrs. Konkel
pointed out that it was undisputed that Bob Evans knew that
the “Finish” chemical solution could cause severe burns,
knew that the “Finish” chemical solution was visually
indistinguishable from plain tap water, and knew that the
coffee pots were being destained by brewing the “Finish”
solution next to other coffee pots being used to serve
customers. Mrs. Konkel argued that she was entitled to
punitive damages as a matter of Pennsylvania law for this
reckless conduct. /vins v. Celotex, supra.

In response, Bob Evans simply asserted that Mrs. Konkel
was not entitled to punitive damages because she had not
requested them in the ad damnum of her initial complaint,
and that she was not entitled to punitive damages unless she
was first awarded compensatory damages. Bob Evans offered
no other opposition to Mrs. Konkel’s motion for summary
judgment with respect to punitive damages.

At the hearing on the parties’ cross-motions for summary
judgment, the district court denied Mrs. Konkel’s summary
judgment motion on punitive damages, and held that Fed.
R. Civ. P. 54(c) did not permit Mrs. Konkel to seek punitive
damages if they had not been specifically requested in the
ad damnum of her original complaint. The district court then
denied Mrs. Konkel’s immediate oral motion at the hearing
for leave to amend her ad damnum to seek punitive damages.
(Appendix F at 37a.) !

In its January 4, 1999 Order, the Fourth Circuit declined
to address in any substantive manner Mrs. Konkel’s cross-

1]

appeal with respect to her claim for punitive damages.
Instead, in a footnote, the Fourth Circuit stated that it need
not even consider the punitive damages issues raised because
it had decided, without the benefit of any trial on the matter,
that it was “obvious” that the “facts” would not justify an
award of punitive damages. On April 26, 1999, by a 9 to 4
vote, Mrs. Konkel’s petition for rehearing with suggestion
for rehearing en banc was denied. This timely petition for
writ of certiorari follows.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION TO SUBSTITUTE
ITS JUDGMENT FOR THAT OF THE JURY AS TO THE
AMOUNT OF COMPENSATORY DAMAGES
VIOLATES THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT.

The Fourth Circuit’s 97% remittitur of the federal jury’s
compensatory damages award violates the Seventh
Amendment, prior decisions of this Court, the decision of
the Third Circuit in Smith, and the generally accepted and
usual course of judicial proceedings. If left to stand, it will
signal that Courts of Appeals, not federal juries, are free to
make their own de novo determinations of unliquidated
damages to be awarded to injured persons.

In Gasperini, this Court reaffirmed the Seventh
Amendment right to a jury trial, and expressly held that a
federal trial judge’s determination whether a jury’s
compensatory damages award is excessive is to be reviewed
by an appellate court solely for abuse of discretion, giving

12

“the benefit of every doubt to the judgment of the trial judge”.
135 L. Ed. 2d at 679. In Gasperini, the Court specifically
noted the special role federal trial court judges, and not
appellate courts, have in reviewing verdicts for
excessiveness: “Trial judges have the ‘unique opportunity
to consider the evidence in the living courtroom context’
... While appellate judges see only the ‘cold paper record.”
Id. at 680 (citations omitted). The Court made clear that
appellate review of the trial court’s decision on excessive
verdict claims was extremely limited; anything more would
violate the Seventh Amendment.

Just last year, this Court once again emphasized the
importance of allowing juries to make determinations of
compensatory damages under the Seventh Amendment:

It has long been recognized that “by the law the
jury are judges of the damages... .” (citations
omitted). Thus in [1935] the [Supreme] Court
stated that “the common law rule as it existed at
the time of the adoption of the Constitution” was
that “in cases where the amount of damages was
uncertain [,] their assessment was a matter so
peculiarly within the province of the jury that the
Court should not alter it.”

Feltner, supra, 140 L. Ed. 2d at 448-49, citing Dimick vy.
Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474, 79 L. Ed. 603, 55 S. Ct. 296 (1935)
(emphasis added). Neither Feltner nor Gasperini overturned
the longstanding principal stated in the 1935 decision in
Dimick that juries, not appellate courts, are to determine the
amount of compensatory damages in cases such as this.
Indeed, in Heizel, this Court specifically instructed the Fourth
Circuit that the Seventh Amendment requires jury
determinations of compensatory damages.

13

As the Third Circuit has noted, “it is not our privilege to
substitute our judgment for that of the trial court as to the
maximum amount which will provide fair recompense for
injuries which cannot be equated in any mathematical way
with any number of dollars. . . .” Smith, supra, 460 F.2d at
1228 (citation omitted).

In discarding the jury’s verdict and imposing its own
view of the appropriate amount of Mrs. Konkel’s
compensatory damages for her injuries, the Fourth Circuit
usurped the role of the jury and the trial court judge. The
Fourth Circuit’s decision in this case is in direct conflict
with the Seventh Amendment. It is in direct conflict with
the prior decisions of this Court in Gasperini, Feltner,
Dimick, and Hetzel. It is in conflict with the decision of the
Third Circuit in Smith. If left to stand, it will permit Courts
of Appeal to run roughshod over the Seventh Amendment.”

2. The alternative of offering Mrs. Konkel a-new trial instead
of accepting the Fourth Circuit’s remittitur does not cure the Seventh
Amendment violation. A Court of Appeals should not be permitted
under Gasperini or the Seventh Amendment to substitute its opinion
of an appropriate compensatory damage award for the decision of a
federal jury, and then insulate that decision by offering the person
whose Seventh Amendment rights have been violated the “option”
of a new trial.

14

II.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE IN
SUBSTITUTING ITS JUDGMENT FOR THAT OF THE
JURY AS TO THE AMOUNT OF COMPENSATORY
DAMAGES, THE FOURTH CIRCUIT IGNORED THE
APPLICABLE SUBSTANTIVE LAW AS SET FORTH IN
THE DECISIONS OF THE PENNSYLVANIA
SUPREME COURT.

Under Gasperini, a federal trial court judge’s review of
a verdict for excessiveness is done by application of state
law. Here, because the injury occurred in Pennsylvania,
Pennsylvania law applies. The Fourth Circuit’s 97%
remittitur conflicts with the applicable substantive law as
set forth in the controlling decisions of the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court. Pennsylvania law provides that a jury’s
verdict is to be affirmed by the trial court judge unless it is
SO Outrageous as to shock the trial court’s conscience. That
is precisely the standard the federal trial court judge followed
in this case, and the Seventh Amendment and Gasperini
require that his decision be affirmed.

In Catalano v. Bujak, 537 Pa. 155, 642 A.2d 448 (1994),
the Pennsylvania Supreme Court made clear that jurors’
verdicts are to be affirmed by the trial court judge unless
they “shock the conscience” of the trial court judge:

The Court is not warranted in setting aside,
reducing, or modifying verdicts for personal
injuries unless unfairness, mistake, partiality,
prejudice, or corruption is shown, or the damages
appear to be grossly exorbitant. The verdict must
be clearly and immoderately excessive to justify

15

the granting of a new trial. The amount must not
only be greater than that which the Court would
have awarded, but so excessive as to offend the
conscience and judgment of the Court.

642 A.2d at 451 (emphasis added). The Pennsylvania
Supreme Court in Catalano, like this Court in Gasperini,
emphasized the deference to be given trial court judges:

It is the duty of the lower Court to control the
amount of the verdict. It is in possession of all of
the facts as well as the atmosphere of the case,
which will enable it to do more even-handed
justice between the parties than can an appellate
court.

Id. at 450 (citation omitted). Other decisions of the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court are in accord. Haines v. Raven
Arms, Donn’s, Inc., 536 Pa. 452, 455, 640 A.2d 367, 369
(1994) (“[T]he excessiveness of the verdict is peculiarly
within the discretion of the trial court... .”), and Kiser v.
Schulte, 538 Pa. 219, 225, 648 A.2d 1, 4 (1994) (“If the
verdict bears a reasonable resemblance to the proven
damages, it is not the function of the court to substitute its
judgment for the jury’s.”) (Emphasis added.)

In Botek v. Mine Safety Appliance Corp., 531 Pa. 160,
611 A.2d 1174 (1992), the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
emphasized that the trial court judge is in the best position
to determine whether the jury’s verdict is excessive:

We have held on numerous occasions that whether
to grant a new trial because of excessiveness or
inadequacy of the verdict is a matter within the

16

sound and peculiar discretion of the trial court,
which has observed the demeanor of the
witnesses. ...

611 A.2d at 1176. The Botek court’s admonition is
particularly instructive in the present case:

[T]he reason the [appellate court] felt free to
substitute their judgment for that of the trial court
and grant the drastic remittitur they did in this
case was that they did not regard Plaintiff-
Appellant’s emotional and psychological injuries
as serious or as entailing real pain and suffering.
We think that this was an erroneous usurpation
of the primary function of the jury and the trial
court. It is simple black letter law that a tortfea
or must take its victim as it finds him. Plaintiff-
Appellant suffered objective measurable
observable physical injuries here (although they
were relatively mild). All of the consequent
psychological and emotional pain and suffering
is compensable in that situation, and our law has
long so held under the so-called “impact rule.”

Id. at 1177 (emphasis added).

Catalano, Haines, Kiser, and Botek, all recent
Pennsylvania Supreme Court cases cited by Mrs. Konkel to
the Fourth Circuit, were neither cited nor distinguished in
the Fourth Circuit’s January 4, 1999 decision.

Here, the federal trial court judge, in reviewing the jury’s
verdict on a Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a) motion, stated in detail the
specific reasons why the jury’s award was appropriate, not

17

excessive, and why he was “convinced” that the verdict was
not a miscarriage of justice. He specifically addressed the
medical evidence, the evidence of her damages, and the issue
of medical specials. His refusal to overturn or reduce the
jury’s verdict was consistent with Pennsylvania law, was well
within his discretion, and should have been affirmed. Instead,
by substituting its own view of an appropriate award, the
Fourth Circuit ignored Pennsylvania law as set forth in
controlling Pennsylvania Supreme Court decisions. In doing
so, the Fourth Circuit violated the Seventh Amendment and
Gasperini, and deviated completely from the accepted and
usual course of judicial proceedings.

The Fourth Circuit attached significance to the fact that
Mrs. Konkel chose not to seek to recover for her medical
expenses. Mrs. Konkel’s permanent injuries occurred the
instant she swallowed the chemical solution. While Mrs.
Konkel introduced evidence of the numerous medical tests
performed on her by various physicians, those tests were
diagnostic in nature and ruled out other possible causes of
her esophageal pain. She chose not to introduce in evidence
the expenses she incurred for those medical services, did
not seek to have the jury compensate her for those medical
expenses, and the damages instruction to the jury did not
list medical expenses as an item to be involved inthe jury’s
award of damages. The fact that Mrs. Konkel did not ask the
jury to compensate her for the medical expenses she incurred
does not diminish the uncontradicted evidence of her pain
and suffering, permanent injury, and the devastating impact
that the injuries have had on her life, which is the evidence
the jury relied upon in making its compensatory award. The
Fourth Circuit’s focus on so-called specials was in direct
conflict with controlling Pennsylvania Supreme Court
decisions.

18

In particular, the Fourth Circuit completely ignored
Botek, supra, which specifically affirmed a jury’s award of
significant compensatory damages despite the absence of any
wage loss evidence, significant medical specials, or
“objective” medical evidence. In Botek, the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court reinstated a jury’s compensatory damage
award of $350,000 for emotional distress. The plaintiff in
Botek passed out when exposed to carbon monoxide and, as
a result, was subsequently diagnosed as having post-
traumatic stress disorder. At the time of his trial, he had been
suffering from nervousness, insomnia, and emotional ills for
approximately seven years. His special damages were less
than $800. He had no wage loss claim. He did not consult a
physician until one year after the incident. There was no
evidence of organic brain dysfunction, and “no objective
scientific tests” to confirm the existence of any injury to him.
His evidence of damages was his own testimony and that of
an expert psychiatrist who testified that the plaintiff suffered
from post-traumatic stress disorder. The evidence was that
his emotional difficulties were not permanent, but could be
cured in the future with therapy. The jury awarded
compensatory damages in the amount of $350,000, and the
trial court judge denied the defendant’s motion to set aside
the verdict as excessive. An intermediate appellate court
ruled that the damages were excessive.

In reversing the intermediate appellate court and
reinstating the jury verdict, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
in Botek held:

The jury in the instant case listened to
uncontradicted expert medical witnesses . . . They
heard Plaintiff-Appellant testify, and they
concluded that Plaintiff-Appellant suffered

19

substantial long-term mental and emotional ills
as a result of [the defendant’s] admitted
negligence. They decided to compensate him for
that suffering at the rate of $50,000 per year. That
was reasonable and that is where the matter
should have ended.

611 A.2d at 1177 (emphasis added).

Botek is directly on point, but was not even cited or
discussed in the Fourth Circuit’s January 4, 1999 decision.
It is simply inconceivable to suggest that the federal trial
court judge abused his discretion in this case by following
the very same analysis approved by the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court in Botek. Instead, it is clear that the Fourth
Circuit ignored Botek and simply substituted its own
judgment as to the amount of damages Mrs. Konkel should
be awarded.

Thirty years prior to Botek, the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court had expressly rejected the suggestion that the amount
of compensatory damages is somehow linked to the amount
of special damages in Carminati v. Philadelphia Transp. Co.,
405 Pa. 500, 176 A.2d 440 (1962). The Carminati court
affirmed a compensatory damages award of almost $80,000
in 1962 dollars for pain and suffering even though the
medical expenses were less than $200. The Carminati court
rejected the defendant’s attempt “to prove excessiveness [of
the verdict] by making a comparison between the medical
expense incurred and the amount of the verdict,” specifically
stating that “[]his type of comparison may be as unreliable
as an elastic ruler.” Id. (emphasis added.)

20

As in Carminati, the federal trial court judge here also
properly declined to make the “unreliable as an elastic ruler”
comparison between the amount of so-called specials and
Mrs. Konkel’s injuries when he correctly ruled that “the
absence of special damages does not necessarily, and
certainly does not legally, denigrate the magnitude of the
impact Plaintiff’s medical condition has on her life.”
(Appendix D at 25a.)

The Fourth Circuit’s suggestion that special damages
are a prerequisite to recovery of significant compensatory
damages conflicts with the Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s
decisions in Botek and Carminati, supra. It also conflicts
with the three Pennsylvania intermediate appeals court cases
cited by the Fourth Circuit in its January 4, 1999 decision,
Mineo v. Tancini, 349 Pa. Super. 115, 502 A.2d 1300 (1985),
Kemp v. Philadelphia Transp. Co., 239 Pa. Super. 379, 361
A.2d 362 (1976) and Stoughton v. Kinzey, 299 Pa. Super.
499, 455 A.2d 1240 (1982). Mineo made clear that the six
factors cited in Kemp and focused on by the Fourth Circuit
do not constitute some sort of checklist against which a
verdict must be tested. Indeed, in 1994, the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court in Haines made it quite clear that focusing
on so-called special damages and the six factors listed in
Kemp is not proper. Instead, what is required is an
explanation by the trial court judge as to the reasons the
verdict does or does not “shock the conscience”, which is
precisely what the federal trial court judge provided in this

3. The Third Circuit’s holding in Smith, supra, also applying
Pennsylvania law, is in accord. (“This case is one which ‘injuries
. .. Cannot be equated in any mathematical way with any number of
dollars. ...’ There is room for reasonable disagreement as to ...
the amount ... But this verdict is not so greatly excessive as to
shock the conscience of the court.”) 460 F.2d at 1228.

21

case. 640 A.2d at 369. (Haines was also not discussed in the
Fourth Circuit’s January 4, 1999 decision.)

Stoughton, supra, an intermediate appellate opinion cited
by the Fourth Circuit, actually supports the trial court judge’s
decision in the instant case:

The issue of the amount of damages that a person
is to be awarded for pain and suffering, both past
and future, is primarily a jury question . . . A jury
is justified in awarding substantial damages for
pain and suffering where the injuries are
permanent and cause pain . . . Appellant’s ability
to continue her employment is not relevant in this
case because the jury was instructed not to
consider her lost wages in arriving at a damage
figure .. . In regard to the disparity between the
amount of out of pocket expenses and the amount
of the verdict, this is only one factor to be
considered and does not, in and of itself, justify
granting a new trial on the ground that the verdict
was excessive.

455 A.2d at 1242 (emphasis added). Significantly, the
Stoughton court reinstated the jury’s verdict, expressly
rejecting the assertion that so-called “subjective” pain is not
compensable:

Appellee contends that appellant’s testimony
regarding her pain was not a proper basis for the
award of damages because there was no objective
documentation of it. In a personal injury action,
however, it is totally within the jury’s province
to disbelieve or believe all or part of the testimony

22

of any witness and to arrive at a verdict of
damages which it determines will compensate a
plaintiff for his loss.

Id. at 1243 (emphasis added). See also Tulewicz v.
Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority, 529
Pa. 584, 588, 606 A.2d 425, 426 (1991), rev'd on other
grounds 529 Pa. 588, 606 A.2d 427 (1992) (“Absent
unfairness or impartiality, the jury is entitled to the last
word.”)4

The three cases “surveyed” by the Fourth Circuit as the
basis for its opinion of the proper award hardly apply. The
first case, Brown v. Paxton, 2 A.2d 729 (Pa. 1938), was a
1938 Pennsylvania automobile whiplash case in which the
plaintiff sought no medical treatment at the time of her
accident, made no contemporaneous complaint of injury, and
where the plaintiff s treating physicians did not even testify.
The plaintiff in the second case, Meholiff v. River Transit
Co., 20 A.2d 762 (Pa. 1941), a 1941 case cited by the Fourth
Circuit, had a minor, curable, knee injury that had no
significant effect on his life. Kemp, the only other case cited
by the Fourth Circuit, involved a slip and fall plaintiff whose
injury consisted of a claim that “her back hurt her
occasionally when the weather was bad, damp, or cold.” 361
A.2d at 363. Not one of these cases presented facts even
remotely similar to the evidence presented to the federal jury
and trial court judge in Mrs. Konkel’s case.

In this case, the jurors, as well as the federal trial court
judge, but not the Fourth Circuit, heard virtually

4. Tulewicz was also cited by Mrs. Konkel in her post-argument
supplemental citation, but it too was not addressed in the Fourth
Circuit’s January 4, 1999 decision.

23

uncontroverted evidence of Mrs. Konkel’s damages. The
jurors, as well as the federal trial court judge, but not the
Fourth Circuit, had the opportunity to evaluate the evidence
of Mrs. Konkel’s permanent, painful, life-altering injury. The
decision of the jury and the federal trial court judge should
be affirmed. The Fourth Circuit’s decision to substitute its
own opinion of Mrs. Konkel’s damages, in disregard of
controlling applicable Pennsylvania law, was a violation of
Mrs. Konkel’s right to a jury trial under the Seventh
Amendment and this Court’s holdings in Gasperini, Dimick,
and Feltner, and should be reversed.

Il.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT ALSO VIOLATED FED. R.
CIV. P. 54(c), FED. R. CIV. P. 56, AND MRS. KONKEL’S
SEVENTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO HAVE A JURY
HEAR HER PUNITIVE DAMAGES CLAIM.

The Fourth Circuit also erred in refusing even to consider
Mrs. Konkel’s cross-appeal with respect to punitive damages.
The district court barred Mrs. Konkel from pursing punitive
damages prior to trial simply because punitive damages had
not been specifically demanded in the ad damnum of her
original complaint. The Fourth Circuit’s decision to let that
ruling stand conflicts with Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c), with its
own decision in Gilbane Building Co. v. Federal Reserve
Bank of Richmond, 80 F.3d 895 (4th Cir. 1996), and with
the decisions of the Courts of Appeal of the First, Third,
Fifth, and Seventh Circuits. If not overturned, litigants will
be required to request punitive damages in every case in order
to avoid being barred from seeking them should information
developed during discovery show they are appropriate.

24

In Gilbane, the Fourth Circuit expressly held that Rule
54(c) “authorizes recovery under any theory supported by
the facts proven at trial.” /d. at 900. The Fourth Circuit made
clear that Rule 54(c) is not an exception to the general rules
of pleading, but is merely a “clarification of the fundamental
point... that the relief to which a claimant is entitled is not
limited to the relief it requested in its original demand for
judgment.” Jd. at 901, citing New Amsterdam Casualty Co.
v. Waller, 323 F.2d 20, 24-25 (4th Cir. 1963), cert. denied,
376 U.S. 963 (1964). The Fourth Circuit noted in Gilbane
that Rule 54(c) contains a mandatory requirement that the
trial court “shall grant the relief to which the party whose
favor it is rendered is entitled, even if the party has not
demanded such relief in the party’s pleadings.” Jd. at 901
(emphasis in original.)

Gilbane makes clear that Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c) requires
that the trial court judge give a party all relief to which she
is entitled, regardless of what is requested in the party’s
pleadings.

Decisions of the Courts of Appeal for the First, Third,
Fifth, and Seventh Circuits are in accord. In Felce v. Fiedler,
974 F.2d 1484, 1501 (7th Cir. 1992) the Seventh Circuit held
that “Rule 54(c) ‘has been liberally construed leaving no
question that it is the court’s duty to grant whatever relief is
appropriate in the case on the facts proved.’ This includes
injunctive relief when appropriate, and even when not
specifically requested.” Jd. at 1501, citations omitted.
See also Avitia v. Metropolitan Club of Chicago, Inc.,
49 F.3d 1219, 1226 (7th Cir. 1995).

The holding in Gilbane is also consistent with the First
Circuit’s decisions in Rodriguez v. Doral Mortgage Corp.,

25

57 F.3d 1168, 1173 (1st Cir. 1995) and Commercial Union
Insurance Company v. Walbrook Insurance Company, Ltd.,
41 F.3d 764, 773, n.15 (1st Cir. 1994), and with the Third
Circuit’s decision in Feldman v. Philadelphia Housing
Authority, 43 F.3d 823 (3rd Cir. 1994). In Feldman, the Third
Circuit held that Rule 54(c) entitled the trial court to award
front pay in a Title VII case, even where the plaintiff in her
pleadings had requested reinstatement. As the Third Circuit
noted, “Relief is determined by the merits of the case, not
by the pleadings.” /d. at 832, citing Rule 54(c).

Likewise, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has also
held that Rule 54(c) “vests district courts with broad
discretion to fashion a remedy, even if the remedy awarded
is not specifically requested in the prayer for relief.” North
Alamo Water Supply Corp. v. San Juan, 90 F.3d 910, 918

(Sth Cir. 1996), citing International Harvest Credit Corp. v.
East Coast Truck, 547 F.2d 888, 891 (Sth Cir. 1977).

The foregoing authority demonstrates that Mrs. Konkel
was not required to request punitive damages in the ad
damnum of her complaint in order to be able to pursue them
at trial. Indeed, in its memorandum in support of its motion
in limine to bar any request for punitive damages, Bob Evans
expressly conceded the point:

. .. [A] failure to specifically plead and demand
exemplary damages will not bar an award of such
damages under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
54(c)....

Because Mrs. Konkel was not required under Fed. R.
Civ. P. 54(c) to have specifically requested punitive damages
in order to be entitled to recover them, it was error for the

26

federal court judge to grant Bob Evans’ motion in limine
precluding Mrs. Konkel from seeking punitive damages at
trial simply because she had not requested them in the
ad damnum of her original complaint. Instead, the district
court should have denfed the motion in limine.

When the district court ruled that Mrs. Konkel was
required to seek punitive damages in the ad damnum of her
complaint, Mrs. Konkel moved orally, pursuant to Fed. R.
Civ. P. 15, for leave to amend the ad damnum of her
complaint to seek punitive damages. The district court denied
the motion. Although no such motion should have been
required because of Rule 54(c), it was error for the district
court to deny the motion to amend.

Moreover, Mrs. Konkel had moved for summary
judgment with respect to punitive damages. That motion for
summary judgment was opposed by Bob Evans on only two
grounds. First, Bob Evans asserted that punitive damages
were barred because Mrs. Konkel had not requested them in
the ad damnum of her complaint. Second, Bob Evans asserted
that Mrs. Konkel was only entitled to punitive damages if
she established that she was entitled to compensatory
damages. Bob Evans filed no other opposition to Mrs.
Konkel’s motion for summary judgment.

Under Rule 54(c), Bob Evans’ first ground was not
proper. Moreover, because Mrs. Konkel is entitled to
compensatory damages, Bob Evans’ only other basis for
opposing Mrs. Konkel’s summary judgment motion on
punitive damages is also without foundation. Accordingly,
because there was no legitimate opposition to Mrs. Konkel’s
motion for summary judgment, that motion should have been
granted and she should have received punitive damages in
an amount determined by a jury.

27

In its January 4, 1999 decision, however, the Fourth
Circuit failed to address any of these arguments. Instead, in
a footnote, the Fourth Circuit stated that it need not even
consider Mrs. Konkel’s cross-appeal of the punitive damages
issue because it had decided that it was “obvious” to the
Fourth Circuit that the “facts” in this case would not sustain
an award of punitive damages. That was a violation of the ,
Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial. The Pennsylvania
case cited in the Fourth Circuit’s footnote makes clear that
punitive damages may be awarded for “reckless” conduct
under Pennsylvania law, which is precisely v. hat Mrs. Konkel
alleged in her complaint, and which is what she argued in
her motion for summary judgment the evidence established.
In particular, the evidence obtained during discovery showed
that Bob Evans ignored specific instructions from the
manufacturer to keep the caustic cleaner (which Bob Evans
knew would cause severe burns) away from the food
preparation area, and back in the sink area. Instead, Bob
Evans personnel used this caustic cleaner in the food
preparation area, and placed it in the coffee filter basket as
they brewed the colorless caustic cleaner in the coffee pots
next to the ones being used to serve customers hot water for
tea. The Fourth Circuit’s decision that it is “obvious” that
such reckless misconduct cannot give rise to a claim for
punitive damages violated Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c), 56, and Mrs.
Konkel’s Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial.

If the Fourth Circuit’s decision is permitted to stand,
this Court will be encouraging every personal injury plaintiff
to request punitive damages at the time suit is filed, even if
there is no real basis for doing so, simply to ensure that such
damages will not be held to have been waived.

28

CONCLUSION

Carol Konkel suffered a life-altering, permanent
esophageal injury which resulted in her never again being
able to eat a normal meal without pain. She exercised her
Seventh Amendment right to submit her case to a federal
jury. The jury heard extensive evidence about the injury and
its impact on Mrs. Konkel’s life. The federal trial court judge
carefully reviewed the jury’s compensatory award on a
Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a) motion, and gave clear reasons why
the award was proper. In substituting its own opinion for the
jury’s determination, the Fourth Circuit usurped the function
of the jury and the trial court judge, ignored the admonitions
of this Court in Gasperini, Feltner, Dimick, and Hetzel of
the importance of jury determinations of compensatory
damages under the Seventh Amendment, and ignored the
applicable law as set forth in controlling Pennsylvania
Supreme Court decisions. The result was a violation of Mrs.
Konkel’s Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial. Moreover,
the decision that Mrs. Konkel was not entitled to punitive
damages because she had not requested them in the ad
damnum of her complaint was also a violation of her Seventh
Amendment right to a jury trial, as well as a violation of
Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c) and 56.

The Court should grant this petition because failure to
do so will encourage Courts of Appeals to ignore the Seventh
Amendment and this Court’s prior decisions in Gasperini,
Feltner, Dimick, and Hetzel, and to impose their own
opinions as to compensatory damages without the benefit of
hearing a single witness. The Court should also grant the
petition with respect to punitive damages to ensure that future
litigants do not seek punitive damages simply out of fear

29

that such damages might be deemed to be waived if not
sought at the time the initial complaint is filed.

For each of the foregoing reasons, Mrs. Konkel
respectfully requests that her petition for writ of certiorari
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT T. MITCHELL, Jr.
Counsel of Record

JAMES A. KLENKAR

HALL, MONAHAN, ENGLE,
MAHAN & MITCHELL
Attorneys for Petitioner
Nine East Boscawen Street
P.O. Box 848

Winchester, Virginia 22604
(540) 662-3200

APPENDIX

er

‘¥

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
DATED AND DECIDED JANUARY 4, 1999

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-1824
CAROL M. KONKEL,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
V.
BOB EVANS FARMS INCORPORATED,
Defendant-Appellant,
and
ECOLAB, INCORPORATED,
Defendant.
No. 97-1867

CAROL M. KONKEL,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

2a

Appendix A

BOB EVANS FARMS INCORPORATED,
Defendant-Appellee,
and

ECOLAB, INCORPORATED,

Defendant.
Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Virginia, at Harrisonburg.
B. Waugh Crigler, Magistrate Judge.
(CA-96-20-H)
Argued: September 24, 1998
Decided: January 4, 1999

Before MURNAGHAN and HAMILTON, Circuit Judges,
and MAGILL, Senior Circuit Judge of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, Sitting by
designation.

OPINION

HAMILTON, Circuit Judge:

Bob Evans Farms, Inc. (Bob Evans), owner of a restaurant
in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, appeals from a $1,000,000

3a
Appendix A

judgment in favor of one of its customers, Carol Konkel
(Konkel), as compensation for her physical and emotional
damages flowing from her ingestion of hot tea, contaminated
with Eco-line Finish cleaning detergent, served to her at Bob
Evans.' The principal issue presented in this appeal is
whether the magistrate judge abused his discretion in denying
Bob Evans’ motion pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 59(a) for a new trial based upon the alleged
excessiveness of the jury’s compensatory damage award.
Concluding that $25,000 in compensatory damages is the
outermost award that could be sustained, we reduce the award
to $25,000 or grant a new trial nisi remittitur at Konkel’s
option. With regard to the additional issues presented on
appeal, we affirm the magistrate judge’s denial of Bob Evans’
alternative motions under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
50(b) for judgment as a matter of law or for a new trial, his
denial of Bob Evans’ motion for relief from judgment
pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b)(6), his
denial of Konkel’s motion to amend the ad damnum clause
of her complaint to add a request for punitive damages, and
his grant of Bob Evans’ motion in limine to exclude evidence
to support a claim for punitive damages.

|

On March 22, 1994, Konkel had dinner at Bob Evans and
ordered hot tea with her meal. The waitress brought Konkel

1. Ecolab, Inc., the manufacturer of Eco-line Finish cleaning
detergent, was originally also a defendant in this action. However,
Konkel dismissed her claims against Ecolab, Inc. prior to trial.
Ecolab, Inc. is not a party in this appeal.

4a

Appendix A

a carafe full of hot water, a tea bag, and a mug.’ After
allowing the tea to steep in the carafe, Konkel poured herself
a full mug of hot tea and drank it. Shortly thereafter, the
waitress inquired as to whether Konkel wanted a refill of
hot water so that she could have a second mug of hot tea.
Upon Konkel’s affirmative response, the waitress poured hot
water from a coffee pot into Konkel’s carafe.

Konkel waited for the tea to steep in the carafe, poured herself
a second mug of hot tea, and then swallowed one mouthful
of it. Upon swallowing, Konkel noticed that the hot tea tasted
soapy, and she felt a burning sensation in her throat. Konkel
notified Bob Evans’ staff that her hot tea tasted soapy, and
the waitress and the manager smelled the hot tea and stated
that the hot tea smelled like the Eco-line Finish cleaning
detergent that Bob Evans used to clean its coffee pots: The
manager concluded that the waitress had accidentally served
Konkel from a coffee pot that contained a packet of Eco-
line Finish cleaning detergent.

After leaving Bob Evans, Konkel continued to suffer pain in
her chest and therefore visited the emergency room. At the
emergency room, Dr. Lawrence Boyler, an emergency room
physician, examined Konkel, diagnosed her slightly red
throat as esophageal chemical burn, and estimated that she
would recover rapidly. Almost a year after the incident at
Bob Evans, Konkel suffered chest discomfort and visited
her family physician, Dr. Edward Cullen, who performed
tests producing normal results. Thereafter, Konkel visited

2. The carafe and the mug each could hold approximately one
cup of liquid.

Sa

Appendix A

two gastroenterology specialists who performed tests also
producing normal results.

Despite the fact that all the tests on Konkel produced normal
results, one of the specialists, Dr. Nicholas Snow, diagnosed
Konkel as suffering from heightened visceral nociception
(HVN)’ of the esophagus and prescribed her anti-depressants
to numb the nerves in her esophagus. Dr. Snow concluded
that Konkel’s condition was the result of her ingestion of
the “mouthful” of hot tea containing Eco-line Finish cleaning
detergent at Bob Evans a year and a half earlier.

Thereafter, Konkel filed a complaint against Bob Evans in
the Circuit Court of Clarke County, Virginia, alleging that
Bob Evans acted negligently and in breach of its express
and implied warranties “that the food and beverages served
at [Bob Evans] were safe and fit for human consumption”
when it served Konkel hot tea containing Eco-line Finish
cleaning detergent. (J.A. 20). In her complaint, Konkel
requested $1,000,000 in compensatory damages on each of
her claims, but did not request punitive damages. Bob Evans
subsequently removed the case to the United States District
Court for the Western District of Virginia based upon
diversity jurisdiction. See 28 U.S.C. § 1332. The case
proceeded into the discovery phase, with the parties agreeing
that the law of Pennsylvania applied to all substantive issues
in the case.

3. Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 1141, 1831-32,
(28th ed. 1994), defines “nociception” as “pain sense” and “visceral”
as pertaining to “any large interior organ in any one of the three
great cavities of the body, especially in the abdomen.”

6a

Appendix A

Three days before the end of discovery, in supplemental
answers to Bob Evans’ interrogatories, Konkel requested
punitive damages. In response, Bob Evans moved in limine
to exclude evidence to support a claim for punitive damages
because Konkel did not aver them in her complaint.
Following the close of discovery, Konkel moved for
summary judgment on all counts.

During a hearing on the motions, Konkel orally moved for
leave to amend her ad damnum clause to request punitive
damages, but the magistrate judge denied her motion. At the
conclusion of the hearing, the magistrate judge denied
Konkel’s motion for summary judgment as to her negligence
claim, but granted the motion as to her breach of warranties
claim with respect to liability only. The magistrate judge
granted Bob Evans’ motion in limine to exclude evidence of
punitive damages because Konkel did not allege sufficient
facts in her complaint to give Bob Evans notice of her claim
for punitive damages, and leave to amend at such a late date
would prejudice Bob Evans.

The case proceeded to trial before a jury on the issue of
damages for Bob Evans’ breach of warranties and on the
issue of whether Bob Evans’ conduct constituted negligence.
By consent of the parties, a magistrate judge presided over
the trial. See 28 U.S.C. § 636(c). At trial, Konkel’s theory of
the case was that, as evidenced by Dr. Snow’s expert
testimony, Bob Evans’ conduct caused her serious,
substantial, and permanent physical injury that had a
devastating impact on her life. Konkel testified that her HVN
caused her to severely restrict her diet, thereby affecting her
relationships with her husband, her family, and her friends.

7a

Appendix A

In response to Konkel’s evidence, Bob Evans introduced the
testimony of Dr. Anthony Kalloo. Dr. Kalloo acknowledged
that HVN was a medical condition, but opined that the data
was insufficient to diagnose Konkel with HVN and that
Konkel’s esophagus was normal.

At the close of Konkel’s evidence, Bob Evans moved for
judgment as a matter of law under Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 50(a) because Konkel had not submitted medical
bills or records and the only evidence of causation was Dr.
Snow’s testimony. The magistrate judge granted Bob Evans’
motion in part, excluding testimony of any medical expenses
Konkel incurred in the past or expected to incur in the future
and also excluding any instruction to the jury regarding
medical expenses.

At the close of evidence, Konkel moved for judgment as a
matter of law pursuant to Rule 50(a) on her negligence claim.
The magistrate judge granted the motion in part, concluding
that as a matter of law Bob Evans had breached its duty of
care, but the magistrate judge sent to the jury the issue of
what compensatory damages were proximately caused by
Bob Evans’ conduct. Specifically, on the issue of damages,
the magistrate judge instructed the jury to determine whether
Konkel had suffered or would suffer damages — past or
future physical pain, mental anguish, humiliation,
embarrassment, inconvenience, or loss of enjoyment of life
— and if so, the amount of those damages. Following its
deliberations, the jury found that Konkel suffered damages
in the amount of $1,000,000 as a proximate result of Bob
Evans’ conduct.

8a

Appendix A

Subsequently, Bob Evans moved for a new trial pursuant to
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 59(a) based upon the alleged
excessiveness of the jury’s compensatory damage award.
Specifically, Bob Evans contended that the jury’s
compensatory damage award was excessive because Konkel
had not submitted objective medical evidence of injury,
medical expenses, lost wages, lost earning capacity, or loss
of employment opportunities. Bob Evans also moved for
judgment as a matter of law or in the alternative for a new
trial pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 50(b). The
magistrate judge issued a joint order denying the Rule 59(a)
and the Rule 50(b) alternative motions because Dr. Snow’s
testimony provided “a legally sufficient evidentiary basis
for the jury’s verdict.” (J.A. 552). Additionally, the
magistrate judge concluded that the jury’s verdict was “not
against the clear weight of the evidence,” and “the outcome
was not a miscarriage of justice.” Jd. Accordingly, the
magistrate judge entered judgment in favor of Konkel in the
amount of $1,000,000.

Thereafter, Bob Evans moved for relief from judgment
pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b)(6) based
on jury misconduct. In support of its motion, Bob Evans
attached an affidavit from Bob Evans’ counsel’s secretary.
In the affidavit, the secretary stated that she had spoken to
the foreman of the jury, who told her that the jury had
performed an experiment in the jury room “to determine the
amount of liquid that was in the coffee pot at Bob Evans”
when the waitress refilled Konkel’s carafe, and in performing
the experiment, had used a cup not admitted into evidence.
(J.A. 566). The magistrate judge denied Bob Evans’ Rule
60(b)(6) motion, concluding the jury’s experiment did not

OO

9a

Appendix A

constitute jury misconduct, because the experiment was
merely an examination of the admitted evidence and an
application of the admitted testimony regarding the
concentration of the detergent in the hot water served to
Konkel.

Bob Evans subsequently filed a timely notice of appeal, and
Konkel filed a timely notice of cross-appeal. On appeal, Bob
Evans contends that the magistrate judge erred in denying
its Rule 50(b) motion for judgment as a matter of law, its
alternative Rule 50(b) motion for a new trial, its Rule 59(a)
motion for a new trial, and its Rule 60(b)(6) motion for relief
from judgment. On cross-appeal, Konkel alleges that the
magistrate judge erred in denying her oral motion to amend
her ad damnum clause to add a request for punitive damages
and in granting Bob Evans’ motion in limine to exclude
evidence related to punitive damages.

I]

First, we address Bob Evans’ argument that the evidence
was not sufficient to support the jury’s findings of causation,
including its obvious finding that Konkel suffered from HVN
as a result of Bob Evans’ conduct, and that therefore, the
magistrate judge erred in denying its alternative motions
under Rule 50(b) for judgment as a matter of law or for a
new trial. We review a district court’s denial of a Rule 50(b)
motion for judgment as a matter of law de novo. See White
v. County of Newberry, 985 F.2d 168, 172 (4th Cir. 1993).
A Rule 50(b) motion should be granted if a district court
determines, without weighing the evidence or considering
the credibility of the witnesses, that substantial evidence does

10a
Appendix A

not support the jury’s findings. See id. In reviewing a district
court’s decision on a Rule 50(b) motion, we view all the
evidence in the light most favorable to the prevailing party
and draw all reasonable inferences in his or her favor. See
Austin v. Torrington Co., 810 F.2d 416, 420 (4th Cir. 1987).
We review a denial of a motion for a new trial under Rule
50(b) for abuse of discretion. See Bristol Steel & Iron Works,
Inc. v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 41 F.3d 182, 186 (4th Cir.
1994).

The question before us is whether Konkel presented sufficient
evidence to support the jury’s finding that she suffered
damages that were proximately caused by Bob Evans’
conduct. In order to establish proximate cause under
Pennsylvania law, the plaintiff must show by a
preponderance of the evidence that the defendant’s acts or
omissions were a substantial factor in causing the plaintiff's
harm. See First v. Zem Zem Temple, 686 A.2d 18, 21 (Pa.
Super. 1996).

Konkel presented the testimony of Dr. Snow that the likely
permanent HVN she suffered was caused by Bob Evans’
conduct. In response, Bob Evans presented the testimony of
Dr. Kalloo, who opined that the data was insufficient to
diagnose Konkel with HVN and that Konkel’s esophagus
was normal. Obviously, it was up to the jury to decide which
expert — Dr. Snow or Dr. Kalloo — was more credible.
Through its verdict, it is evident that the jury found Dr. Snow
more credible, and we are in no position to take issue with
that finding. In short, Dr. Snow’s testimony was sufficient
to support a reasonable jury’s finding that Bob Evans’
conduct was a substantial factor in causing Konkel’s HVN.

mane eee Oe

es

lla
Appendix A

Accordingly, we conclude that the magistrate judge’s denial
of Bob Evans’ motion for judgment as a matter of law under
Rule 50(b) was proper.‘

Ii]

Next, we address Bob Evans’ contention that the $1,000,000
compensatory damage award is excessive, and therefore, the
magistrate judge erred in denying its Rule 59(a) motion for
a new trial based upon the alleged excessiveness of the jury’s
compensatory damage award.

We review a district court’s denial of a Rule 59(a) motion
for a new trial based upon the alleged excessiveness of the
jury’s compensatory damage award for abuse of discretion,
giving “the benefit of every doubt to the judgment of the
trial judge.” Gasperini v. Center for Humanities, Inc., 518
U.S. 415, 438-39 (1996). Whether a jury award is excessive
is a question of law. See id. at 436-38. If we find a jury’s
damage award excessive, we may “grant a new trial nisi
remittitur, which gives the plaintiff the option of accepting
the remittitur or of submitting to a new trial.” Cline v. Wal-
Mart Stores, Inc., 144 F.3d 294, 305 n.2 (4th Cir. 1998).

The Supreme Court in Gasperini addressed the appropriate
standard under which a district court must evaluate a Rule
59(a) motion for a new trial based upon the alleged

4. For the reasons stated above, we conclude that the magistrate
judge’s denial of Bob Evans’ alternative Rule 50(b) motion for a
new trial was not an abuse of discretion. See James v. Jacobson,
6 F.3d 233, 239 (4th Cir. 1993).

12a

Appendix A

excessiveness of the jury’s compensatory damage award. See
Gasperini, 518 U.S. at 438-39. The Supreme Court
determined that because the doctrine of Erie R.R. Co. v.
Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), “precludes a recovery in
federal court significantly larger than the recovery that would
have been tolerated in state court,” Gasperini, 518 U.S. at
430-31, a district court sitting in diversity must apply state
law standards when it considers a Rule 59(a) motion for a
new trial based upon the alleged excessiveness of the jury’s
compensatory damage award. See id. at 438-39.

Gasperini overruled our circuit precedent that called for
district courts sitting in diversity to apply federal law in
determining the merits of a motion pursuant to Rule 59(a)
for a new trial based upon the alleged excessiveness of the
jury’s verdict. See Johnson v. Parrish, 827 F.2d 988, 991
(4th Cir. 1987). Specifically, in our circuit prior to Gasperini,
a district court was required to set aside a jury’s verdict as
excessive “even when such a verdict is supported by
substantial evidence ‘if [it] is of the opinion that the verdict
is against the clear weight of the evidence, or is based upon
evidence which is false, or will result in a miscarriage of
justice.” ” Johnson, 827 F.2d at 991 (quoting Aetna Cas. &
Sur. Co. v. Yeatts, 122 F.2d 350, 352 (4th Cir. 1941)).

Under the Supreme Court’s mandate in Gasperini, the
magistrate judge was required to apply Pennsylvania law in
determining whether the jury’s $1,000,000 compensatory
damage award in favor of Konkel was excessive. Under
Pennsylvania law, a jury’s damage award is considered
excessive if it does not fall “within the necessarily uncertain
limits of fair and reasonable compensation in the particular

13a
Appendix A

case” or if the award “so shocks the sense of justice as to
compel the conclusion that the jury [was] influenced by
partiality, prejudice, mistake, or corruption.” Carminati v.
Philadelphia Transp. Co., 176 A.2d 440, 445 (Pa. 1962).

Here, the magistrate judge applied federal law in testing the
jury’s compensatory damage award for excessiveness,
concluding that it was not against the clear weight of the
evidence and was not a miscarriage of justice. Such
application was erroneous in light of Gasperini. Because the
magistrate judge applied the wrong standard in testing the
jury’s compensatory damage award for excessiveness, a
remand is required unless we conclude that the magistrate
judge would have reached the same result applying
Pennsylvania law as he did applying federal law.

Applying federal law, the magistrate judge concluded that
the jury’s compensatory damage award was not against the
clear weight of the evidence and was not so excessive as to
be a miscarriageof justice. Because the federal excessiveness
standard is analogous to the Pennsylvania excessiveness
standard, to say that the magistrate judge would not have
concluded that the jury’s compensatory damage award was
“within the necessarily uncertain limits of fair and reasonable
compensation in the particular case” and was not so
extravagant that it “so shocks the sense of justice as to compel
the conclusion that the jury [was] influenced by partiality,
prejudice, mistake, or corruption,” Carminati, 176 A.2d at
445, would strain credulity. Therefore, because the magistrate
judge would have reached the same result applying
Pennsylvania law as he did applying federal law, a remand
is not only unwarranted but would be a waste of judicial

14a

Appendix A

resources. Accordingly, we turn to consider whether the
magistrate judge’s denial of Bob Evans’ motion for a new
trial based upon the alleged excessiveness of the jury’s
compensatory damage award was an abuse of discretion.

The Pennsylvania courts apply the following factors when
determining whether a jury’s damage award is excessive:
“(1) the severity of the injury; (2) whether the injury is
demonstrated by objective physical evidence or subjective
evidence; (3) whether the injury is permanent; (4) the
plaintiff's ability to continue employment; (5) disparity
between the out of pocket expenses and the amount of the
verdict; and (6) damages plaintiff requested in his
complaint.” Stoughton v. Kinzey, 445 A.2d 1240, 1242 (Pa.
Super. 1982). As Pennsylvania courts have recognized,
because the circumstances of each case are unique, only those
factors relevant to the particular case at issue should be
considered. See Mineo v. Tancini, 502 A.2d 1300, 1305 (Pa.
Super. 1986).

In this case, we believe the jury’s compensatory damage
award is not “within the necessarily uncertain limits of fair
and reasonable compensation.” Carminati, 176 A.2d at 445.
Although the testimony of Dr. Snow indicates that Konkel’s
likely permanent HVN was caused by Bob Evans’ conduct,
Konkel produced no objective physical evidence concerning
her injury, no evidence of lost wages, no evidence of lost
future earning capacity, no evidence of loss of future
employment, and no evidence of out-of-pocket expenses.
When the lack of this evidence is viewed in connection with
Konkel’s evidence concerning the severity and permanency
of her injury, it becomes evident that Pennsylvania courts

15a

Appendix A

would view this compensatory damage award as excessive.
See also Kemp v. Philadelphia Transp. Co., 361 A.2d 362,
364-66 (Pa. Super. 1976) (finding damage award of $15,000
excessive where woman complained of knee and back pain
but there was no objective medical evidence, no evidence of
permanency, no evidence of lost earning capacity, and whose
out-of-pocket expense were only $535) (citing Meholiff v.
River Transit Co., 20 A.2d 762, 764-65 (Pa. 1941) (reducing
verdict when prediction of permanency was based upon
plaintiff's subjective claims of pain); Brown v. Paxton,
2 A.2d 729, 730-31 (Pa. 1938) (reducing verdict when
evidence showed that plaintiff continued at same
employment with no lost earning capacity)). In our view,
taking into account the relevant factors under Pennsylvania
law, an award of $25,000 is the outermost award that could
be sustained. We, therefore, reduce the jury’s compensatory
damage award to $25,000 or grant a new trial nisi remittitur
at Konkel’s option.

IV

Next, we turn to Bob Evans’ allegation that the magistrate
judge erred in denying its motion for relief from judgment
under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b)(6) based upon
jury misconduct. According to Bob Evans, the jury’s
experiment using a cup not admitted into evidence
constituted jury misconduct.

This Court will not disturb a district court’s denial of a Rule
60(b)(6) motion absent an abuse of discretion. See National
Org. for Women v. Operation Rescue, 47 F.3d 667, 669 (4th
Cir. 1995). We conclude that the magistrate judge did not

l6a
Appendix A

abuse his discretion in denying Bob Evans’ Rule 60(b)(6)
motion. Accordingly, we affirm on this issue.

Experiments performed by juries, “which have the effect of
putting them in possession of evidence not offered at trial,”
constitute jury misconduct requiring a new trial, unless no
prejudice results. See United States v. Beach, 296 F.2d 153,
158 (4th Cir. 1961). However, jury experiments that are
merely more critical examinations of exhibits than the
examinations made during the trial are not objectionable.
See id. at 158-59.

The affidavit submitted by Bob Evans indicates that the jury
performed an experiment “to determine the amount of liquid
that was in the coffee pot” containing the packet of Eco-line
Finish cleaning detergent. (J.A. 566). In performing this
experiment, the jury, according to the affidavit, used the
coffee pot and carafe, which were both exhibits, and a cup,
which had not been admitted into evidence. The jury then
“read the directions off the packet of detergent that was an
exhibit and found that the liquid solution swallowed by

[Konkel] was twelve times stronger than it was supposed to
be.” Id.

We conclude that the jury’s experiment did not constitute
jury misconduct. The jury simply examined the coffee pot,
carafe, and packet of detergent that were admitted into
evidence and applied the testimony that coffee pots at Bob
Evans were cleaned with one packet of detergent, the
testimony that the carafe was practically empty when the
waitress refilled it with water from the coffee pot, and the
testimony that the mug from which Konkel drank the soapy
solution could hold approximately one cup of liquid. Because
the jury simply applied the testimony concerning the size of

ee ae

17a

Appendix ‘A

Konkel’s mug, the jury’s experiment did not place it in
possession of evidence not presented at trial. Accordingly,
we conclude that the jury’s experiment using a cup not
admitted into evidence did not constitute jury misconduct.
We therefore affirm the magistrate judge’s denial of Bob
Evans’ Rule 60(b)(6) motion.

V

For the reasons stated above, we reduce the jury’s
compensatory damage award to $25,000 or grant a new trial
nisi remittitur at Konkel’s option. In accord with /n re Board
of County Supervisors, 143 F.3d 835, 842 (4th Cir. 1998),
the new trial may be “ ‘upon the whole case’ ” or limited to
the issue of damages alone, at the election of Konkel. /d.
(quoting Kennon v. Gilmer, 131 U.S. 22, 30 (1889)). In all
other respects, we affirm the judgment.

AFFIRMED IN PART, VACATED
IN PART, AND REMANDED

5. To the extent that Konkel raises on cross-appeal that the
magistrate judge erred in denying her oral motion to add a request
for punitive damages in her ad damnum clause and the magistrate
judge erred in granting Bob Evans’ motion in limine to exclude
evidence of punitive damages because Konkel did not aver punitive
damages in her complaint, we conclude that we need not address
her claims because, as is obvious, the facts in this case could not
Sustain an award for punitive damages under Pennsylvania law, and
Konkel has proffered no evidence in this regard. See Feld v.
Merriam, 485 A.2d 742, 747-48 (Pa. 1984) (noting that punitive
damages may be awarded in Pennsylvania for conduct that is
“malicious, wanton, reckless, willful, or oppressive”) (internal
quotation marks omitted).

18a
APPENDIX B — ORDER OF JUDGMENT OF
THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA,

HARRISONBURG DIVISION DATED, ENTERED
AND FILED APRIL 24, 1997

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
HARRISONBURG DIVISION
CIVIL ACTION NUMBER 96-0020-H
CAROL M. KONKEL,
Plaintiff
v.
BOB EVANS FARMS, INC., ET AL.,
Defendants

ORDER OF JUDGMENT

By: B. Waugh Crigler
U.S. Magistrate Judge

Upon return of the verdict of the jury on April 16, 1997,
it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that plaintiff shall have and recover compensatory damages
against defendant Bob Evans Farms, Inc., in the amount of

19a

Appendix B

One Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00) together with interest
at the statutory judgment rate from the date hereof.

The Clerk of the Court shall remove this case from the
active docket of the court.

The Clerk of the Court is hereby directed to send a
certified copy of this Order to all counsel of record.

ENTERED: s/ B. Waugh Crigler
- United States Magistrate Judge

April 24, 1997
Date

20a
APPENDIX C — FINAL ORDER OF JUDGMENT
OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA,

HARRISONBURG DIVISION DATED, ENTERED AND
FILED MAY 23, 1997

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
HARRISONBURG DIVISION
CIVIL ACTION NUMBER 96-0020-H
CAROL M. KONKEL,
Plaintiff
v.

BOB EVANS FARMS, INC., ET AL.,

Defendants

FINAL ORDER OF JUDGMENT

By: B. Waugh Crigler
U.S. Magistrate Judge

For the reasons set forth in the Memorandum Opinion
of even date, it is

ORDERED

as follows:

2la

Appendix C

(1) Defendant’s April 28, 1997 motion for judgment as
a matter of law or in the alternative for a new trial pursuant
to Rule 50(b)(1)(B)-(C) hereby is DENIED.

(2) Defendant’s April 28, 1997 motion for a new trial
pursuant to Rule 59(a) or in the alternative to amend the
judgment hereby is DENIED.

(3) Plaintiff's April 23, 1997 motion for delay damages
hereby is GRANTED. In addition to the damages set forth
in this court’s April 24, 1997 Order of Judgment, plaintiff
shall have and recover delay damages from defendant Bob
Evans Farms, Inc. in the amount of $5,336.54.

(4) Plaintiff's April 28, 1997 Bill of Costs hereby is
GRANTED. The Clerk hereby is directed to tax as costs
against defendant Bob Evans Farms, Inc. the sum of
$2,962.80.

The Clerk of the Court hereby is directed to remove this
case from the docket of the court and to send a certified copy
of this Order to all counsel of record.

ENTERED: s/ B. Waugh Crigler
United States Magistrate Judge

May 23, 1997
Date

22a
APPENDIX D — MEMORANDUM OPINION
OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA,
HARRISONBURG DIVISION DATED, ENTERED
AND FILED MAY 23, 1997
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
HARRISONBURG DIVISION
CIVIL ACTION NUMBER 96-0020-H
CAROL M. KONKEL,
Plaintiff
v.
BOB EVANS FARMS, INC., ET AL.,
Defendants

MEMORANDUM OPINION

By: B. Waugh Crigler
U.S. Magistrate Judge

Before this court are defendant's April 28, 1997 motions
for judgment as a matter of law, to amend judgment, and for
a new trial under Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b) and 59 as well as
plaintiff's April 23, 1997 motion for delay damages and April
25. 1997 motion for the award of costs. For the reasons set
forth herein, an Order will enter denying defendant’s motions
for judgment as a matter of law, to amend judgment, and for

23a
Appendix D

a new trial, but granting plaintiff's motions for delay damages
and for the award of costs.

Defendant asserts that the verdict was not supported by
the evidence and that judgment should be granted in its favor.
Defendant further asserts that the court should grant a new
trial, in short, because the verdict was grossly
disproportionate to plaintiff's evidence of injury. In support
of its assertions, defendant notes that plaintiff failed to offer
any evidence of special damages such as medical bills or
lost wages and that there was no objective medical evidence
to support plaintiff's complaints of pain and discomfort.

The court must grant judgment as a matter of law when
“a party has been fully heard ... and there is no legally
sufficient evidentiary basis for a reasonable jury to find for
that party.” Towler v. Sayles, 76 F.3d 579, 581 (4th Cir. 1996)
(quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(a)(1)). On a motion for a new
trial under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59, the court must set aside the
verdict and grant a new trial if it determines that
“[1] the verdict is against the clear weight of the evidence,
or [2] is based upon evidence which is false, or [3] will result
in a miscarriage of justice, even though there may be
substantial evidence which would prevent the direction of a
verdict.” Atlas Food Systems and Serv. y. Crane Nat'l
Vendors, 99 F.3d 587, 594 (4th Cir. 1996). This court is of
the view that there is a legally sufficient evidentiary basis
for the jury’s verdict in this case, is satisfied that the jury’s
verdict is not against the clear weight of the evidence,
believes the verdict is based on truthful evidence, and is
convinced that the outcome was not a miscarriage of justice.

24a
Appendix D

There was competent, and now what can be seen in the
jury’s mind, credible evidence that plaintiff suffered a
diagnosable neurologic condition that was caused by
ingesting chemicals served to her by defendant. Plaintiff's
treating physician set forth the bases of his opinions,
explaining fully the nature of the condition and its likely
causes and effects. Remarkably, defendant's expert could
not deny that plaintiff suffered from the condition. He simply
testified that he would have performed a different test to
determine the condition’s existence. Plaintiff's physician,
on the other hand, explained that such test would likely
exacerbate plaintiff's condition and her symptoms and that
such test was not necessary to diagnose the condition.

The court believes that a jury was entitled to give greater
weight to a treating doctor’s diagnosis and opinions than to
a specially retained expert. This is so because the treating
physician has observed the patient over a longer period of
time. In essence, the jury had before it a highly qualified
treating clinician and a highly qualified teaching physician
who had no dispute over whether there was such a condition
as heightened visceral nociception, but who simply disagreed
as to how the diagnosis should have been made in this case.
A more classic case for resolution by a jury could not be
presented. That it was resolved adversely to defendant
provides no legal grounds for relief at this juncture.

Furthermore, the court does not accept defendant's
contention that plaintiffs election not to present medical
specials renders the jury verdict excessive. There is no
dispute that plaintiff visited an emergency room, had
follow-up treating care and saw outside specialists for her

25a
Appendix D

condition. Even the defendant’s consulting physician could
not tell the jury that the emergency room diagnosis was
wrong. In fact, he steered clear of such assertion. Moreover,
there was evidence, which the jury had the right to accept
and apparently did accept, that showed plaintiff suffered a
serious but essentially untreatable condition whose duration
was indefinite but likely permanent.

The defendant had a right to assail the absence of any
special damages when its counsel argued the matter before
the jury and, in fact, asked the jury to assess that in arriving
at its verdict. However, the absence of special damages does
not necessarily, and certainly does not legally, denigrate the
magnitude of the impact plaintiff's medical condition has
had on her life. Obviously the jury concluded the impact
was great and compensated her accordingly.

Defendant also disputes whether Rule 238 of the
Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure should be applied
here to allow plaintiff's recovery of delay damages. Federal
courts sitting in diversity cases must apply the substantive
law, including the conflict of law rules, of the forum state.
Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 487 (1941).
Under Virginia conflict of law rules, as conceded by the
parties, the substantive law of Pennsylvania applies.
However, defendant asserts that Pennsylvania Rule 238 is
procedural in nature and, thus, should not be applied in this
diversity action. The greater weight of authority persuades
the court that the Pennsylvania delay damage rule is
substantive and not procedural and, therefore, must apply.

Rule 238 essentially provides for prejudgment interest
in Cases involving bodily injury for the period beginning one

26a
Appendix D

year after plaintiff filed her complaint until the date of
verdict. Yohannon v. Keene Corp., 924 F.2d 1255, 1263-64
(3d Cir. 1991). State law governs damage awards because
damages are a matter of substantive law. See Gasperint v.
Center for Humanities, Inc., _ U.S. __, 116 S. Ct. 2211,
2220 (1996) (statutory cap on damages is substantive law
for Erie purposes); Browning-Ferris Industries v. Kilco
Disposal, 492 U.S. 257, 278 (1989) (award of punitive
damages is a matter of substantive law); Mattison v. Dallas
Carrier Corp., 947 F.2d 95, 99 (4th Cir. 1991) (federal court
sitting in diversity must apply state law regarding punitive
damages). Prejudgment interest is considered to be an
element of damages. Library of Congress v. Shaw, 478 U.S.
310, 321 (1986). Thus, this court is bound by state law to
apply Pennsylvania Rule 238 which compels the award of
prejudgment interest in this case. Accord Thornhill v.
Donnkenny, Inc., 823 F.2d 782, 787 (4th Cir. 1987) (district
court must apply New York’s law on prejudgment interest
in a diversity case governed by New York substantive law);
see also Monessen Southwestern Ry. Co. v. Morgan, 486
U.S. 330 (1988) (holding in an FELA action that prejudgment
interest under Rule 238 constitutes too substantial a part of
a defendant's potential liability to be a mere local rule of
procedure).

Finally, the court concludes that the costs set forth in
plaintiff's bill of costs are reasonable and were necessarily
incurred in the presentation of the case. Plaintiff shall be
awarded these costs which come to $2,962.80 under 28
U.S.C. § 1920(1)-(2).

An Order will enter accordingly.

27a

Appendix D

The Clerk of the Court is hereby directed to send a
certified copy of this Memorandum Opinion to all counsel
of record.

ENTERED: s/ B. Waugh Crigler
United States Magistrate Judge

May 23, 1997
Date

28a
APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT
OF VIRGINIA, HARRISONBURG DIVISION DATED,
ENTERED AND FILED FEBRUARY 24, 1997
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
HARRISONBURG DIVISION
CIVIL ACTION NUMBER 96-0020-H
CAROL M. KONKEL,
Plaintiff
v.

BOB EVANS FARMS, INC., ET AL.,

Defendants

ORDER

By: B. Waugh Crigler
U.S. Magistrate Judge

For the reasons set forth from the bench on February 7,
1997, it is

ORDERED

as follows:

29a

Appendix E

(1) Plaintiff's verbal motion to amend the ad damnum
to request punitive damages from defendant Bob Evans
Farms, Inc., (“Bob Evans”) hereby is DENIED.

(2) The January 16, 1997 motion in limine to bar any
claim for punitive damages against Bob Evans hereby is
GRANTED.

(3) Plaintiff's January 17, 1997 motion for summary
judgment against Bob Evans hereby is GRANTED, in part,
and DENIED, in part. Summary judgment hereby is
GRANTED in favor of plaintiff on COUNT II, Breach of
Warranty, with respect to liability only. Summary judgment
hereby is DENIED on the issue of damages on COUNT II
and on all other claims against Bob Evans.

(4) Plaintiff's January 17, 1997 motion for summary
judgment against Ecolab, Inc.., (“Ecolab”) hereby is
DENIED.

(5) The motion for summary judgment filed by Bob
Evans on January 16, 1997 hereby is DENIED.

(6) The motion for summary judgment filed by Ecolab
on January 17, 1997 hereby is DENIED.

(7) The motion to exclude plaintiff's expert testimony
filed by Bob Evans on January 16, 1997 hereby is DENIED.

(8) By agreement of counsel, and with the concurrence
of the court, this case shall be tried before the undersigned
and a seven-member jury on April 14, 15, and 16, in the

30a
Appendix E

United States District Court, Harrisonburg, Virginia, with
the proceedings to commence at 9:30 a.m. each day.

(9) Plaintiff's January 17, 1997 motion for use of
deposition in lieu of appearance hereby is GRANTED.

The Clerk of the Court is hereby directed to send a
certified copy of this Order to all counsel of record.

ENTERED: s/ B. Waugh Crigler
United States Magistrate Judge

February 24, 1997
Date

3la

APPENDIX F — EXCERPTS FROM TRANSCRIPT OF
HEARING OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF
VIRGINIA, HARRISONBURG DIVISION ON CROSS-
MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
DATED FEBRUARY 7, 1997

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
HARRISONBURG DIVISION

Civil Action No.
696-0020-H

CAROL M. KONKEL,
Plaintiff,
VS
BOB EVANS FARMS, INC., and ECOLAB, INC.,
Defendants.
Harrisonburg, VA

February 7, 1997
9:30 a.m.

TRANSCRIPT OF HEARING ON
CROSS-MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
BEFORE THE HONORABLE B. WAUGH CRIGLER
UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

* * *

32a

Appendix F

[67] THE COURT: Well, I think to turn that around,
your position is that a restaurateur exercising reasonable care
would not serve a product containing this cleaner.

MR. KLENKAR:

Oh, last issue, on punitive damages, Your Honor. We
have moved for summary judgment that there be a finding
that Bob Evans’ conduct as a matter of law was so reckless
that it establishes punitive damages in an amount to be
determined by the jury. It’s appropriate under Rule 56 that
the Court can make partial determinations, under 56(c) and
(d), as to certain facts. If you can find that no reasonable
jury could conclude that their conduct was not reckless,
you're entitled to punitive damages. We'll have evidence
on that.

They've suggested in their motion in limine to exclude
that, which is incorporated by reference in [69] their brief in
opposition to our motion for summary judgment, that we
cannot seek punitive damages against Bob Evans because,
in our original complaint, we did not request punitive
damages. Rule 54(c) does not require that and specifically
provides that a party can recover damages relief not asked
for in the pleadings. Their whole brief is premised on
the —

THE COURT: Well, only to the extent that the evidence
is conformed to the pleadings after the evidence has been
introduced. Would you agree?

33a

Appendix F

MR. KLENKAR: Yes, Your Honor, and the evidence
here —

THE COURT: Okay. Now, see, we have a different
setting. That's after all of the evidence has come in in the
trial and nobody has raised Cain about it and you stand up
and you say, “Your Honor, I want to conform the pleadings
to the proof in the case that has been received into evidence

without objection, and that proof would allow me to recover
» thy

Now, that’s the context in which Rule 54, conforming
the pleadings to the proof, is made, unless I’m just out to
lunch, but that’s what I remember.

MR. KLENKAR: You're not out to lunch.

[70] THE COURT: I haven’t had this issue in a long
time.

MR. KLENKAR: The important issue, Your Honor, is
the suggestion that Bob Evans makes that we would need to
amend our pleading prior to seeking punitive damages is
simply wrong, and on that I need you to understand a couple
of factual issues.

We pled that their conduct was reckless, which is enough
to state a claim under Pennsylvania law. You don’t have to
have the intention or willful conduct. Reckless does it. Bob
Evans knew that the Pennsylvania law applied from the time
that we first filed this motion for judgment in state court.
They suggest that we let them know at a very late stage in

34a

Appendix F

the game that we were seeking punitive damages. It is true
that we did let them know right at the end of the discovery
period, but it was before they took the plaintiffs deposition.
It was three days before they took the plaintiff's deposition.
They cannot claim surprise. They’ve got plenty of time to
prepare for trial.

The only Bob Evans witness, there was one Bob Evans
witness who had testified, and that Bob Evans witness, |
don’t think they’re going to say that he would have changed
all his testimony as to what [71] factually happened if he
had known there was a punitive damages claim. I don’t think
prejudice is relevant because I think that only applies under
a Rule 15 motion to amend. But even if it did apply and if it
were relevant, they’re not prejudiced.

We're seeking punitive damages. There’s no real
discovery to be conducted on punitive damages. If there is,
you can ask the plaintiff the basis for it, and they took the
deposition after the claim for punitive damages.

THE COURT: Actually, the conforming the pleadings
to the evidence is Rule 15, not 54.

MR. KLENKAR: Well, I was trying to be polite, Your
Honor. I knew you would look up the two rules. 54(c) I cited
in my memorandum in opposition —

THE COURT: But 54(c) has to do with judgment.

MR. KLENKAR: Right, right. You don’t have to have
the pleadings changed to get the relief. If that were the case,

35a

Appendix F

under 54(c), 54(c) would say, if you want to do that, then
see Rule 15. It doesn’t. It Says it doesn’t matter what
the pleadings say. You can get the relief to which you are
entitled.

We’re going to be entitled to punitive damages. [72] I
submit, for purposes of summary judgment, we’ve shown
enough to establish right now that we’re entitled to punitive
damages. But there’s no requirement that we amend our
pleading at all, and so I would reject their motion that the
punitive damages claim should be thrown out because we
haven’t amended. We don’t have to amend under Rule 15. If
you take that view, 54(c) is irrelevant.

THE COURT: Well, I’m going to resolve that right now.
It’s my opinion that 54(c) deals with an award of damages
more than what was prayed for but at least consistent with
the form of relief that was prayed for, and it essentially says,
“Except as to a party against whom a judgment is entered by
default” — we understand why that is — “every final
judgment shall grant the relief to which the party in whose
favor it is rendered is entitled, even if the party has not
demanded such relief in the party's pleadings.”

When it comes to matters of punitive damages, though,
it is this Court’s belief that a defendant is entitled to notice
that that kind of relief is being sought. It is more than just
simply saying, “Are you going to grant full relief?” It is a
notice issue, because there are defenses to punitive damages
that [73] essentially now have become constitutional defenses
that can be raised and not raised. And I think if we use Rule
54 to allow an assessment of punitive damages, when it’s

36a
Appendix F

never been prayed for to begin with and the defendants are
not on notice that punitive damages are asked for specifically,
even if the pleadings contain words like “reckless” or
“careless” or “malicious” or things like that, if punitive
damages are not prayed for, defendants have a right to rely
on that in the development of their case, that they are free
from punitive damages because that has not been asked for,
nor has an amendment been sought to allow for it. I mean,
that’s just my view.

MR. KLENKAR: Your Honor, before you — if I may
cite two cases to you which are directly —

THE COURT: Are they Fourth Circuit cases?

MR. KLENKAR: One is the Eastern District of
Virginia, Norfolk Division, 1987.

THE COURT: Who’s the judge? Is it Judge Hoffman?
MR. KLENKAR: Judge Clarke.
THE COURT: What did he say?

MR. KLENKAR: He rejected the argument that if you
don’t plead punitive damages, specifically ask [74] for it,

you’re not entitled, and Judge-Ctarke-sided with the —

THE COURT: Can I just cite one thing? I have a lot of
respect for Judge Clarke. I’ve known him for years. I played
football with his son. He and I played next to each other on
the football team. But I want to say this: A lot of water has

37a

Appendix F

gone over the dam about what are and aren’t punitive
damages since that decision was rendered and about what
kind of effects punitive damages have in these kinds of cases
and what defenses can be asserted against them. And I don’t
think that that was decided in the same legal context that
punitive damages now can be awarded when Judge Clarke
decided that case a long time ago. That wasn’t long after he
went on the bench.

MR. KLENKAR: The only point I would add to that,
Your Honor, is that the case that Judge Clarke cites for
authority is the first one I’ve attached to my memorandum
in Opposition to that motion in limine. It’s a Griffith case.
It’s a Southern District of New York case. It’s exactly and
directly on point, and what it —

THE COURT: And | appreciate it, and I’m not saying
that I own the book or that I’m right [75] about it, but I want
to tell you, I just want you to know what my position is,
because | think at this juncture, if you haven’t asked for
punitive damages and you’re not asking to amend your
complaint or anything like that, and summary judgment may
be too late for that anyway, I think I need to rule that you’re
not entitled to punitive damages as a matter of law.

MR. KLENKAR: If that is the Court’s position, I would
move at this point, Your Honor, orally for leave to amend
our addendum to request punitive damages against Bob
Evans.

THE COURT: And I would deny it.

38a

Appendix F

MR. KLENKAR: I believe that’s all I have, Your Honor,
with respect to our motion for summary judgment and
responding to the defendants.

THE COURT: Lori, make sure you make a note about
that, because I need to cover this. This case, I thought maybe
I would be able to announce what I was going to be able to
do from the bench, but I’m not so sure. There’s no trial date
set, right?

MR. KLENKAR: Yes, there is, Your Honor.
MR. BANCROFT: Yes.

MR. MORGAN: April, I believe it’s the 14th or
thereabouts, Your Honor.

* ~ *

(Recess from 11:22 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.)

THE COURT: The case is before the Court on cross-
motions for summary judgment, the plaintiff moving for
summary judgment on the issues of liability for negligence
and breach of warranty and seeking an award of summary
judgment on the question of punitive damages.

I’m going to take that up first, because I indicated what
I would do earlier, and I do want this record to reflect that
I’m announcing this decision [93] from the bench, as laconic
as it may be, because of two reasons. First of all, if the parties
essentially do consent and the case is transferred, then the

39a
Append’x F

matter is dealt with and they know where they’re going. And
even if they don’t consent, then I’ve put my thoughts on the
record, and the only thing I would follow up with is a brief
report and recommendation adopting what I’ve done here in
open court.

The punitive damage issue, it is this Court’s belief that
punitive damages were never sought in a complaint or an
amended complaint, that the type of conformity that Rule
54 talks about is not granting relief that has not been prayed
for specially in the sense of punitive damages but granting
greater relief of the same character that is prayed for in the
complaint. Whereas Rule 15 allows the amendment of a
complaint to conform to the proof, it is this Court’s
considered opinion that punitive damages have become by
decisional authority a category of damages that needs to be
sought against which the defendants have notice so that they
may file defenses, even constitutional defenses, that they may
have. And so therefore I believe, under the circumstances of
this case, it would be error for this Court either to {94} permit
the recovery in general of punitive damages or plaintiff to
seek them before the jury or to certainly award them in
summary judgment, and I decline to do either. Yeah?

MR. KLENKAR: Your Honor, that is solely with
respect to defendant Bob Evans.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. KLENKAR: Is that — that is correct, counsel? |
mean, we did plead them as to the defendant Ecolab.

40a

Appendix F

THE COURT: As to Bob Evans, this is the plaintiff
against Bob Evans.

MR. BANCROFT: Right.

MR. KLENKAR: Thank you, Your Honor, for that
clarification.

THE COURT: You’re not moving for summary
judgment on Ecolab except as to punitive damages.

MR. KLENKAR: Well, no. With respect to Ecolab, I’m
moving for summary judgment solely on this strict liability
claim.

THE COURT: Oh, okay, right, but not on damages.
MR. KLENKAR: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Right. So this is as to Bob Evans. As to
negligence, these are my thoughts: ...

* * cd *

4la

APPENDIX G — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING DATED
AND FILED APRIL 26, 1999

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-1824
CA-96-20-H

CAROL M. KONKEL

Plaintiff — Appellee
v.

BOB EVANS FARMS, INCORPORATED

Defendant — Appellant
and

ECOLAB, INCORPORATED

Defendant

No. 97-1867
CA-96-20-H

CAROL M. KONKEL

Plaintiff — Appellant
V.

BOB EVANS FARMS, INCORPORATED

Defendant — Appellee

42a

Appendix G

and
ECOLAB, INCORPORATED
Defendant
On Petition for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc

The appellee/cross-appellant has filed a petition for
rehearing and rehearing en banc.

Judges Murnaghan, Judge Hamilton and Senior Circuit
Judge MaGill, of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit sitting by designation voted to deny the
petition for rehearing.

A member of the Court requested a poll on the petition
for rehearing en banc. The poll failed to produce a majority
of judges in active service in favor of rehearing en banc.
Judges Widener, Wilkins, Michael and King voted to rehear
the case en banc, and Chief Judge Wilkinson, and Judges
Murnaghan, Ervin, Niemeyer, Hamilton, Luttig, Williams,
Motz and Traxler voted against rehearing en banc.

The Court denies the petition for rehearing and rehearing
en banc.

Entered at the direction of Judge Hamilton for the Court.

For the Court,

/s/ Patricia S. Connor
CLERK

43a

APPENDIX H — RELEVANT RULE
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56
Rule 56. Summary Judgment

(a) For Claimant. A party seeking to recover upon a
claim, counterclaim, or cross-claim or to obtain a declaratory
judgment may, at any time after the expiration of 20 days
from the commencement of the action or after service of a
motion for summary judgment by the adverse party, move
with or without supporting affidavits for a summary judgment
in the party’s favor upon all or any part thereof.

(b) For Defending Party. A party against whom a
claim, counterclaim, or cross-claim is asserted or a
declaratory judgment is sought may, at any time, move with
or without supporting affidavits for a summary judgment in
the party’s favor as to all or any part thereof.

(c) Motion and Proceedings Thereon. The motion
shall be served at least 10 days before the time fixed for the
hearing. The adverse party prior to the day of hearing may
serve opposing affidavits. The judgment sought shall be
rendered forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the
affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to
any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a
judgment as a matter of law. A summary judgment,
interlocutory in character, may be rendered on the issue of
liability alone although there is a genuine issue as to the
amount of damages.

(d) Case Not Fully Adjudicated on Motion. If on
motion under this rule judgment is not rendered upon the

44a
Appendix H

whole case or for all the relief asked and a trial is necessary,
the court at the hearing of the motion, by examining the
pleadings and the evidence before it and by interrogating
counsel, shall if practicable ascertain what material facts exist
without substantial controversy and what material facts are
actually and in good faith controverted. It shall thereupon
make an order specifying the facts that appear without
substantial controversy, including the extent to which the
amount of damages or other relief is not in controversy, and
directing such further proceedings in the action as are just.
Upon the trial of the action the facts so specified shall be
deemed established, and the trial shall be conducted
accordingly.

(e) Form of Affidavits; Further Testimony; Defense
Required. Supporting and opposing affidavits shall be made
on personal knowledge, shall set forth such facts as would
be admissible in evidence, and shall show affirmatively that
the affiant is competent to testify to the matters stated therein.
Sworn or certified copies of all papers or parts thereof
referred to in an affidavit shall be attached thereto or served
therewith. The court may permit affidavits to be
supplemented or opposed by depositions, answers to
interrogatories, or further affidavits. When a motion for
summary judgment is made and supported as provided in
this rule, an adverse party may not rest upon the mere
allegations or denials of the adverse party’s pleading, but
the adverse party’s response, by affidavits or as otherwise
provided in this rule, must set forth specific facts showing
that there is a genuine issue for trial. If the adverse party
does not so respond, summary judgment, if appropriate, shall
be entered against the adverse party.

45a
Appendix H

(f) When Affidavits are Unavailable. Should it appear
from the affidavits of a party opposing the motion that the
party cannot for reasons stated present by affidavit facts
essential to justify the party’s opposition, the court may
refuse the application for judgment or may order a
continuance to permit affidavits to be obtained or depositions
to be taken or discovery to be had or may make such other
order as is just.

(g) Affidavits Made in Bad Faith. Should it appear
to the satisfaction of the court at any time that any of the
affidavits presented pursuant to this rule are presented in
bad faith or solely for the purpose of delay, the court shall
forthwith order the party employing them to pay to the other
party the amount of the reasonable expenses which the filing
of the affidavits caused the other party to incur, including
reasonable attorney’s fees, and any offending party or
attorney may be adjudged guilty of contempt.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0653%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
