# Opposition Brief — Hyundai Merchant Marine Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0619%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 963

## Text

No. 99-142

LBA RRS 2S DU DESY ADE EESSEI SEE BE NEESER SEABED EBERLE REO NASA ABE BIS V AGL PEAS EOE LLLP ES i

In the Supreme Court of the Chuited States

HYUNDAI MERCHANT MARINE COMPANY, LTD.,
PETITIONERS

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAT
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUTI

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

DAVID W (i 1)
Acting Assistant Attorney
(ye
ROBERT GREENSPAN
ALFRED MOLLIN
\fforn /
1h partment ¢ Jin f
Washington, D.C. 20580-0001

() Ly

Pig * $
EP EEL ORISA CE,

4
Ps
i]
&
i.
bad
2
ef
¥

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Oil Pollution Act of 1990, 33 U.S.C.
2701 et seq., authorizes the United States to recover
monitoring and other costs incurred by the Coast Guard
to prevent catastrophic damage to the environment
threatened as a result of the grounding of petitioners’
vessel.

2. Whether petitioners’ due process rights were
violated because they did not receive a hearing about
whether the Coast Guard’s costs were “prudent, or
necessary, or reasonable.”

3. Whether the court of appeals correctly deter-
mined that the Oil Pollution Act authorizes an award of
attorney’s fees in this action.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions DE]OW ........s.scssseesereesenerseerenseseneensnensensensnssesssenennenenneneenese
PINOT ccccccsctncsccsnceserenmmnesnscensneesscrttesegeeTetetTHetereNTeTTeTOTOCTTOIOOOTS
TREES, ccoscsccureeseteseenceseuntaretastnntennteetteUtAsOINTOSCOTTTSSTITETTRSOCOEESS
ALQuMEeNt ...0cccecsocecsrseserereesereressersrsesersrsersorereressersessssssesessssseosereveesees
6 Ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Atlantic Richfield Co. v. American Airlines, Inc.,

98 F.3d 564 (10th Cir. 1996) ......cccsereecerersssesesesneecseseseesnseees
California v. Celtor Chem. Corp., 901 F. Supp. 1481

(fae 8)
California Dep't of Toxic Substances Control v.

SnyderGeneral Corp., 876 F. Supp. 222 (E.D.

| ee
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico v. SS ZOE COLO-

COTRONI, 456 F. Supp. 1327 (D.P.R. 1978),

aff’d in part, vacated in part on other grounds,

628 F.2d 652 (1st Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450

UF BE, GAB (IGGL) ccccccevecveccevecscseveserecesssveseseseosevsscssevevsevseassoseoseeses
Concrete Pipe & Products of California, Inc. v.

Construction Laborers Pension Trust for Southern

California, 508 U.S. 602 (1993) oc cceseeeeenseeseeesnesees
Freeport Sulphur Co. v. S.S. HERMOSA,

526 F.3d 300 (Sth Cir. 1976) ........ccccccccsorverseesceeresceeersereesseses
National Cable Television Ass'n v. United States,

415 US. BBB CIGTE) ccccccreververererscreescecsesesescesesenssovsvscssesevecsores
New York v. Shore Realty Corp., 759 F.2d 1032

(2d Clr. 1985) cececccerseesceseersoreveeseesvsescoveseresscsevesenesousosrevesssroseese
Pneumo Abex Corp. v. Bessemer and Lake Erie

R.R., 936 F. Supp. 1250 (E.D. Va. 1996) ....cceccceeeesereeeneeees
Town of New Windsor v. Tesa Tuck, Inc., 935

F. Supp. 317 (S.D.N.Y. 1996) .....ccersssserserssssssssssessssesssesenes

(IIT)

~

~

~]

~

|

IV

Cases—Continued: Page

Union Petroleum Corp. v. United States, 651 F.2d
}

Gare ae Se BD sicecnsstntmensintacnsisninnetbaeiitinnnmtinisemnmieneniatiieais 13

United States v. American Cyanamid Co., ’
CM BR eee 13

United States v. Hardage, 750 F. Supp. 1460

(W.D. Okla. 1990), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 913

RN era ENT AOC CME PTE CT ey 5 A 13
United States v. Hollywood Marine, 519 F. Supp.

Re | RR ae re ree eee eee ee 13
United States v. Lowe, 118 F.3d 399 (5th Cir.

SUPE ciecicinieieaneinedaepa iinet ca a 7
United States v. MORANIA BARGE 200, 1983

Amer. Maritime Cases 2761 (E.D.N.C. 1982) .o..cccceeeeeeee 13
United States v. Rohm and Haas Co., 2 F.3d 1265

eC BERD. ceciantnntansdintinnnneanitesasbiviiialpenieiinintaiititaiitaiai 7,8,9
United States v. R.W. Meyer, Inc., 889 F.2d 1497

(6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1057 (1990) ........... 13
United States v. Slade, Inc., 447 F. Supp. 638 (E.D.

pA PRD REET RUN nent a CME He mew LRT OOLE TS eR eNO 13
Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231 (1976) ..........cccscceccesseees 10

Statutes:

Act of Oct. 19, 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-324, Tit. XI,

§ 1142(d), 110 Stat. 3991 (33 U.S.C. 2715(¢)

GENUS ie NU sateenertesicenerestenpssietcetemnctianiistneeettiibianiatiaatediinniaien 13-14
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensa-

tion and Liability Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. 9607

CTD cincieionsiibaieiateateiiiitgescteciansieanateiiailidcitat aaa a ian seal 7
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C.
1251 et seq.:
§ 311, 33 U.S.C, 1321 (1994 & Supp. IIT 1997) ......00.... 12
§ 311(c), 33 U.S.C. 1321(c) (1994 & Supp. III]
| RESELL Tecan ee ee Pa ek eee ve 2
§ 31](c)(1)(B)(i), 33 U.S.C. 1321(e)(1)(B)(i) 2... eeeeeeee 2
§ 311(¢)(1)(B)(ii), 33 U.S.C. 1321(¢)(1)(B)(ii) «0... 2, 12

Statutes—Continued: Page
Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of

1980, Pub. L. No. 96-364, 94 Stat. 1208 ........... viniiaiosiaaii 11

Oil Pollution Act of 1990, 33 U.S.C. 2701 et seq. 2... l

§ 1001(31), 33 U.S.C. 270181) ........crecccccrsscesseeserrereeseerereeees 2

§ 1002(a), 33 U.S.C. 2702(a) .......ccrccccsrscesrereeeresnseees 2, 7, 11, 12

§ 1002(b), 33 U.S.C. 2702) ...ceccecccrecrccocrerescrerecrersserereroeees 12

§ 1002(b)(1)(A), 33 U.S.C. 2702(D)(L)(A) ...ccccccsecseceereenennees 2,12

§ 1015, BB UG.C. STIG .ncecccorcecrcsseevevecsevscsevsccsevecssovevessessesessees 5

BD USC. ROBE) ceccccnessecerneesserseererseseenrenmeinnevennevemmncomonnrensnse 11

Miscellaneous:

David A. Bagwell, Hazardous and Noxious
Substances, 62 Tul. L. Rev. 433 (1988) ........cccccsseerereeeeeees 13
S. Rep. No. 94, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. (1990) .....csssseseseseeesees 13

i

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 99-142

HYUNDAI MERCHANT MARINE COMPANY, LTD., ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-14) is
reported at 172 F.3d 1187. The findings of fact and
conclusions of law of the district court (Pet. App. 39-71)
are reported at 1997 Amer. Maritime Cases 2333.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
April 20, 1999. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on July 19, 1999. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Congress enacted the Oil Pollution Act of 1990
(OPA or Act), 33 U.S.C. 2701 et seq., to place the costs

(1)

2

of oil pollution upon those “responsible * * * fora
vessel * * * from which oil is discharged, or which
poses the substantial threat of a discharge of oil” into
United States waters. 33 U.S.C. 2702(a). Section
1002(b)(1)(A) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. 2702(b)(1)(A), makes
those responsible for threatened or actual pollution
liable for the “removal costs and damages” incurred by
the United States in carrying out certain of its obliga-
tions under Section 311(c) of the Federal Water Pollu-
tion Control Act (FWPCA), 33 U.S.C. 1321(c) (1994 &
Supp. III 1997). The Act defines removal costs to in-
clude “the costs of removal that are incurred after a
discharge of oil has occurred or, in any case in which
there is a substantial threat of a discharge of oil, the
costs to prevent, minimize, or mitigate oil pollution
from such an incident.” 33 U.S.C. 2701(31). The activi-
ties under the FWPCA for which such removal costs
must be paid include, among other things, “mitigat[ing]
or prevent{ing] a substantial threat of a discharge
* * * land] direct{ing] or monitor[ing] all Federal,
State, and private actions to remove a discharge.” 3:
U.S.C. 1321(¢)(1)(B)(i) and (ii).

2. On September 24, 1991, petitioners’ vessel, the
Hyundai, left Portland, Oregon, with a cargo of 24,000
tons of grain. The Hyundai’s fuel tanks were located in
the very bottom of the vessel beneath the cargo holds
and carried 200,000 gallons of a type of heavy fuel oil
particularly dangerous to the environment. Pet. App.
41-42.

On October 2, 1991, petitioners’ vessel ran aground in
the Shumagin Islands of Alaska, a part of the Alaska
Maritime National Wildlife Refuge and an area “of
great environmental sensitivity.” Pet. App. 42. Soon
after the ship ran aground, at least three forward
ballast tanks and one fuel tank ruptured, and “there

3

was a very great risk of serious environmental dam-
age.” Id. at 44. The Hyundai's owners and insurers
“assumed responsibility for the salvage and any neces-
sary cleanup.” Jd. at 48. Nevertheless, for the first
eight days of the pollution threat, the Hyundai’s
owners and insurers had “no vessel on scene capable of
dealing with a catastrophic situation.” /bid. At no time
did the Hyundai’s owners have equipment in place suf-
- ficient to “manage[] both a break-up of [the Hyundaz]
and a spill of fuel in a storm.” /d. at 50. The salvage
operation planned by the Hyundai’s owners involved
the use of grain evacuators to lighten the ship so that it
could be refloated, but such devices sufficient to the
task did not arrive on the scene until October 11, 1991,
fully ten days after the vessel ran aground. /d. at 51-
52. On October 12, 1991, the pollution threat finally
abated when the Hyundai was refloated and towed to a
temporary anchorage for repairs. /d. at 53.

The Coast Guard responded immediately to the
Hyundai's grounding, with the first vessel and helicop-
ter arriving within hours. Pet. App. 43. The Coast
Guard deployed additional ships and aircraft and, by
October 5, 1991, had put in place specialized oil spill
recovery equipment sufficient to deal with a serious oil
spill. Jd. at 47. The threat of a serious spill was
substantial. The Hyundai was perched upon rocks and,
on the fifth and sixth days after the grounding, a gale
force Gulf of Alaska storm twisted and swung the ship
105 degrees around the rocks, causing additional dam-
age to the Hyundai's hull and an oil leakage visible ina
sheen over 2000 feet long. Jd. at 3,51. There was “at
all times a moderate risk that the [Hyundai] would
break up.” Jd. at 47. Accordingly, to defend aga.nst
this serious threat, the Coast Guard kept its equipment
in place until efforts to refloat the H yundai on October

12 were successful. Given the threat of an oil spill that
could not have been contained by the Hyundai’s
owners, the district court concluded that “it would have
been irresponsible for the Coast Guard not to have
undertaken the actions which it took, even though the
owners and insurers assumed responsibility for the
incident.” Jd. at 48-49.' The cost to the Coast Guard
for maintaining its oil spill equipment at the scene until
the threat of a major spill abated was $1.1 million. Jd.
at 70.

The United States brought this action to recover its
costs pursuant to the OPA. The district court made
findings of all relevant facts and conclusions of law.
Pet. App. 39-71. The court noted that “the parties
agree with the general proposition that the arbitrary
and capricious standard be used to evaluate the [Coast
Guard’s] decisions.” Jd. at 35. The court thus concluded
that the OPA authorized the recovery of removal costs
from a responsible party if the costs were rationally
incurred. /bid. The court then reviewed de novo the
actions taken by the Coast Guard and held that the
claimed costs were “neither arbitrary nor capricious,
and, under the extreme and sensitive circumstances of
this * * * [incident], were also reasonable and neces-
sary costs.” Jd. at 62. It calculated the government’s
removal costs as $1,109,963, and awarded the govern-
ment that sum plus interest. Jd. at 70. In addition, the
court awarded the government approximately $104,000
in attorney’s fees. /d. at 72.

! A Coast Guard cutter accompanied the Hyundai to its tempo-
rary anchorage, where it was learned that there were a “total of
133 cracks in the hull of the vessel, one of which was 6 feet wide
and 42 feet long.” Pet. App. 53.

5

3. The court of appeals affirmed. Petitioners argued
that the OPA authorized only the recovery of costs
actually incurred in removing oil from the water. The

. court of appeals noted that “Hyundai’s emphasis on

I actual removal unduly minimizes the importance of the

Coast Guard’s emergency stand-by operation, which

” qualifies as an act of ‘prevention,’ the cost of which is
clearly recoverable under the terms of the definition [of
‘removal costs’] as it applies to the liability imposed by
§ 2702 [of the OPA].” Pet. App. 7. Petitioners also
challenged the assessment of what it termed “monitor-
ing costs,” relying on National Cable Television Ass’n
v. United States, 415 U.S. 336 (1974) (NCTA). How-
ever, the court of appeals noted that this Court’s deci-
sion in NCTA was not apposite, because NCTA
“reminded Congress that it may not delegate away its
taxing power to an executive agency * * * [but] [t]he
OPA authorizes recovery of costs, not taxation.” Pet.
App. 7-8 (internal citations omitted). Finally, the court
of appeals rejected petitioners’ claim that attorney’s
fees are not warranted under the OPA. The court of
appeals noted that 33 U.S.C. 2715 authorizes the pay-
ment of attorney’s fees to the United States in actions
brought to recover the payment of removal costs in
these circumstances.

ARGUMENT

The decision below is correct and does not conflict
with any decision of this Court or any other court of
appeals. Accordingly, further review is not warranted.

1. Petitioners assert that a conflict exists among the
circuits on the application of this Court’s decision in
National Cable Television Ass’n v. United States, 415
U.S. 336 (1974). They contend that NCTA states a rule
of general applicability concerning when a regulatory

6

statute should be construed to permit an agency to
recover certain operating costs from a party, and that
the Third and Ninth Circuits have applied NCTA in
conflicting ways to “costs incurred by the Government
in monitoring environmental response operations.” Pet.
7. Those contentions are without merit. To manufac-
ture a conflict, petitioners misinterpret NCTA and
overlook important distinctions between the costs at
issue in the Third and Ninth Circuit decisions.

NCTA concerned “fees” that the Federal Communi-
cations Commission (FCC) imposed upon all cable tele-
vision licensees. This Court held that the term “fee”
implies a notion of a benefit conferred, and it concluded
that a “fee” calculated to reimburse the FCC for all of
its operating expenses for the regulation of cable
television, rather than to pay for value received by the
regulated party, was in the nature of a tax, not a “fee.”
To avoid the necessity to decide the constitutional
question of the adequacy of such a delegation of the
taxing power, the Court read the statute narrowly, as
not having delegated Congress’s taxing authority to the
agency, and remanded to the FCC for reconsideration
of the fee. See 415 U.S. at 348.

The court of appeals correctly rejected petitioners’
contention that NCTA controls this case, holding that
NCTA does not apply because the OPA “authorizes
recovery of costs, not taxation.” Pet. App. 8. The
district court carefully determined the actual costs
incurred by the Coast Guard and correctly concluded
that the plain language of OPA requires “each responsi-
ble party for a vessel or a facility from which oil is
discharged, or which poses the substantial threat of a
discharge of oil” to be “liable for the removal costs and
damages specified in subsection (b) that result from

such incident.” Pet. App. 63 (quoting 33 U.S.C.
2702(a)).

Petitioners contend that a Third Circuit decision
applying the NCTA doctrine to the government’s “costs
incurred in overseeing a private removal [of pollution]
under * * * CERCLA [the Comprehensive Environ-
mental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of
1980, 42 U.S.C. 9607 (1988)]” conflicts with the decision
below. See Pet. 6 (citing United States v. Rohm and
Haas Co., 2 F.3d 1265 (3d Cir. 1993)). That contention
is incorrect. First, Rohm and Haas arose under a dif-
ferent statute from OPA, with different statutory
mechanisms and requirements for the recovery of
governmental costs.” Second, it is doubtful whether,
even under Rohm and Haas, the Third Circuit would
have decided this case differently. Rohm and Haas
concerned “costs incurred by the government in moni-
toring private parties’ compliance with their legal
obligations.” 2 F.3d at 1273. The Rohm and Haas
defendants had spent 15 years cleaning up a hazardous
waste site pursuant to an order by the Environmental

2 Even within the context of CERCLA, the Third Circuit’s
Rohm and Haas decision has been widely rejected by courts that
subsequently have considered the issue. See, e.g., United States v.
Lowe, 118 F.3d 399, 401 n.2 (5th Cir. 1997) (Rohm’s reliance on
NCTA “represented a significant departure from prior case law”);
Atlantic Richfield Co. v. American Airlines, Inc., 98 F.3d 564, 567
(10th Cir. 1996); Pnewmo Abex Corp. v. Bessemer & Lake Erie
R.R., 936 F. Supp. 1250, 1261-1262 (E.D. Va. 1996); Town of New
Windsor v. Tesa Tuck, Inc., 935 F. Supp. 317, 324-327 (S.D.N.Y.
1996); California v. Celtor Chem. Corp., 901 F. Supp. 1481, 1489-
1490 (N.D. Cal. 1995); California Dep’t of Toxic Substances Con-
trol v. SnyderGeneral Corp., 876 F. Supp. 222, 225 (E.D. Cal. 1994).
See also New York v. Shore Realty, 759 F.2d 1032, 1043 (2d Cir.
1985) (holding that remand costs of the type rejected by Rohm and
Haas court could be recovered under CERCLA).

8

Protection Agency (EPA) made under its CERCLA
authority. Jd. at 1268. The EPA oversaw the post-spill
clean-up efforts and subsequently sought reimburse-
ment for its oversight costs, relying upon a CERCLA
provision that allowed recovery of “removal costs” it
incurred. Unlike the monitoring and cleanup costs at
issue here, which were directed at prevention and
mitigation of a potential disaster in the making, the
actual release of pollutants in Rohm and Haas had long
since passed when the contested post-spill monitoring
and oversight costs were incurred.

In construing the CERCLA provisions relating to
the EPA’s post-spill administrative oversight costs, the
Third Circuit invoked NCTA, concluding that an
agency’s imposition of costs for the oversight of a
polluter’s post-spill clean-up was in the nature of a tax.
Relying upon NCTA for the proposition that statutes
imposing tax-like obligations must be construed nar-
rowly, the court interpreted the specific CERCLA
provisions not to include the types of administrative
and oversight costs at issue there. The court, however,
was careful to distinguish from its holding the kinds
of removal costs at issue in this case, noting that
CERCLA authorizes recovery of removal costs for
“actual monitoring of a release or threat of release.”
9 F.3d at 1275. As the court further explained:

To assist the district court in carrying out this
task, we conclude our discussion regarding over-
sight costs by further elucidating what we perceive
to be the statutory distinction between recoverable
and non-recoverable costs. Where the government
takes direct action to investigate, evaluate, or moni-
tor a release, threat of release, or a danger posed by
such a problem, the activity is a “removal” and its

costs are recoverable. See 42 U.S.C. § 9604(b)
(1988). This includes the costs, no matter at what
stage incurred, of ascertaining whether and to what
extent the risk has been reduced or eliminated by
the chosen response. Similarly, if the activity is
intended to enable EPA to formulate a position on
what would be the most appropriate response action
at a given facility, the cost is recoverable.

Id. at 1278.

Because this case concerns costs incurred in the
Coast Guard’s monitoring Gfsiige ongoing substantial
threat of a major spill from a vessel still in danger of
breaking up, there is no reason to suppose that the
Rohm and Haas court would have decided this case
differently than did the court below. As the district
court noted, for the first eight days of the incident the
petitioners had no credible pollution response vessels
on scene. On day nine petitioners’ salvage tug finally
arrived; on day eleven the grain cargo evacuators
began their work of lightening the vessel’s load; and
only on day twelve, October 12th, was the Hyundai
floated off the rocks and the pollution threat sub-
stantially lessened. See pp. 2-4, supra.

During that period the Coast Guard vessels, equip-
ment, aircraft, and personnel were on the scene and
incurring the monitoring costs at issue. As the district
court found, the possibility that the Hyundai would
break up and cause a massive spill during that period
posed a “real, significant risk.” Pet. App. 52. There-
fore, the Coast Guard was guarding against the con-
tinued threat of a pollutant release, not merely monitor-
ing post-spill clean-up activities, as in Rohm and Haas.

2. Petitioners argue that they were deprived of due
process by the manner in which the Coast Guard sought

10

to recover its removal costs. Petitioners complain that
they had no opportunity for administrative review of
the Coast Guard’s decisions, with review available only
in the district court. Pet. 10. Petitioners then assert:

Because [petitioners] had no prior opportunity to
challenge the Coast Guard’s cost bill 7.7) ae
application of the arbitrary and capricious standard
by the District court without regard to whether the
costs were necessary, deprived [petitioners] of
meaningful review * * *.

* * * Deferring to the [Coast Guard’s] decisions
by applying the arbitrary and capricious standard
during that initial review [by the district court]
deprives the responsible party of meaningful
review.

Pet. 10-11. Petitioners did not raise that issue in the
courts below.’ Indeed, the district court found that “the
parties agree with the general proposition that the
arbitrary and capricious standard be used to evaluate
the [cost] decisions.” Pet. App. 35. That issue therefore
is not properly before this Court. See, e.g., Youakim v.
Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976).

Second, petitioners invoke this Court’s decision in
Concrete Pipe and Products of California, Inc. v. Con-
struction Laborers Pension Trust for Southern Califor-
nia, 508 U.S. 602 (1993), for the proposition that “an
agency action that is essentially non-adjudicative in
character cannot, as a constitutional matter, be afforded
deference during the initial review by a neutral adju-

3 Petitioners state that they did argue this issue to the Ninth
Circuit, Pet. 11 n.3, but provide no citation to any part of their
briefs that raised this issue, nor are we aware of any.

11

dicator.” Pet. 12.4 Petitioners in fact received full, de
novo review in the district court. In making its factual
findings, the district court “appl[ied] the preponderance
of the evidence rule as to the party (the United States)
having the burden of proof.” Pet App. 44 n.4. The dis-
trict court made extensive, well reasoned findings on all
relevant facts. Id. at 39-62. The court then determined
de novo whether the actions found as a fact to have
occurred were rationally taken by the Coast Guard. /d.
at 62. The court expressly found that the Coast Guard’s
actions and costs were neither arbitrary nor capricious
and, “under the extreme and sensitive circumstances of
this [marine environment pollution] project, were also
reasonable and necessary costs.” /bid.

Petitioners’ contention that they are entitled to
review of whether any particular cost is “prudent, or
necessary” (Pet. 10) finds no support in the text of the
OPA, which contains no such limitation. See 33 U.S.C.
2702(a). The court of appeals thus correctly held that
OPA “does not authorize the imposition of any higher
standard” than whether the recovery of removal costs
sought by the United States is “arbitrary or capri-
cious.” Pet. App. 10.

3. Petitioners contend that the courts below erred in
allowing for the recovery of monitoring costs, “base
costs,” and attorney’s fees. Pet. 13-16. The court of

4 In Concrete Pipe, this Court held that provisions of the
Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980, Pub. L. No.
96-364, 94 Stat. 1208, do not violate due process through judicial
review of an arbitrator’s determinations when in such judicial
review “there shall be a presumption, rebuttable only by a clear
preponderance of the evidence, that the findings of fact made by
the arbitrator were correct.” 508 U.S. at 611 (quoting 29 U.S.C.
1401(c)).

a

12

appeals properly decided those issues under the OPA,
and no other court of appeals has addressed them.

First, with respect to monitoring costs, Congress
provided in OPA Section 2702(a) that persons whose
vessels discharge or “which pose[] the substantial
threat of a discharge of oil” are liable for “all removal
costs incurred by the United States.” 33 U.S.C.
2702(b)(1)(A). In Section 2702(b), Congress provided
for recovery of “all removal costs incurred by the
United States * * * under subsection (c), (d), (e),
or (l) of [the FWPA, 33 U.S.C. 1321].” 33 U.S.C.
2702(b)(1)(A). Under the FWPCA, in turn, the United
States may recover costs for “monitor[ing] all Federal,
State, and private actions to remove a discharge.” 33
U.S.C. 1321(c)(1)(B\(ii). See Pet. App. 4-7. OPA thus
specifically included monitoring within the scope of
recoverable removal activities, and the court of appeals
concluded that the Coast Guard’s monitoring of the
Hyundai was undertaken as part of “its effort to
prevent or minimize a threatened oil discharge.” Jd. at
, A

Second, with regard to base costs, the court of
appeals noted that “[t]he fact that, if this near-disaster
had not occurred, the personnel would have been paid
to perform some other task does not alter the reality
that the mishap did occur and [the] Coast Guard per-
sonnel were paid to monitor a potential spill.” Pet.
App. 10-11. The court then noted that “[bJase costs
represent real costs to the United States and are re-
coverable to the extent they are allocable to a response
to an oil spill.” Jd. at 11. The court’s conclusion is
consistent with the FWPCA case law used by Congress

13

as the foundation of the OPA,’ as well as consistent
with case law under other environmental statutes and
the general maritime law, all of which allow recovery of
base costs and administrative costs and overhead
allocable to the event.°

Finally, petitioners claim that attorney’s fees are not
properly awarded here because, they contend, this is
not an action to recover removal costs paid from the Oil
Spill Liability Trust Fund, as required by 33 U.S.C.

° Congress expressly looked to the case law under the FWPCA
(also referred to as the Clean Water Act) as the framework for the
OPA. See S. Rep. No. 94, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. 10-12 (1990).
Under the FWPCA, the United States’ recovery is not conditioned
upon any proof of “necessity” or even “reasonableness.” See, ¢.g.,
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico v. SS ZOE COLOCOTRONI, 456
F.Supp. 1327, 1347 (D.P.R. 1978) (recovery is “measured by the
Government’s actual costs regardless of their reasonableness”),
aff'd in part, vacated in part on other grounds, 628 F.2d 652 (1st
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 912 (1981). Under the FWPCA,
administrative and overhead costs are recoverable. See, e.g.,
United States v. MORANIA BARGE 200, 1983 Amer. Maritime
Cases 2761, 2764 (E.D.N.C. 1982) (FWPCA costs include Coast
Guard internal costs for personnel, material, equipment, supplies,
overhead, and other internal costs); United States v. Slade, Inc.,
447 F. Supp. 638 (E.D. Tex. 1978); United States v. Hollywood
Marine, Inc., 519 F.Supp. 688, 692 (S.D. Tex. 1981); David A.
Bagwell, Hazardous and Noxious Substances, 62 Tul. L.Rev. 433,
443 (1988). See also Union Petroleum Corp. v. United States, 651
F.2d 734, 744 (Ct. Cl. 1981) (holding polluter liable for govern-
ment’s costs).

® See, e.g., United States v. R.W. Meyer, Inc., 889 F.2d 1497,
1502-1504 (6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1057 (1990)
(CERCLA); United States v. American Cyanamid Co., 786 F.
Supp. 152, 156 (D.R.I. 1992) (same); United States v. Hardage, 750
F. Supp. 1460, 1504 (W.D. Okla. 1990) (same), cert. denied, 510 U.S.
913 (1993). See also Freeport Sulphur Co. v. S.S. HERMOSA, 526
F.2d 300, 303-304 (5th Cir. 1976) (general maritime law).

14

2715(c) (Supp. III 1997). Petitioners concede, however,
that the recovery of funds in this case will be paid into
the Oil Spill Liability Trust Fund. Pet. App. 12. Ac-
cordingly, as the court of appeals noted, any argument
based upon the “happenstance that, as a matter of
accounting, the Fund paid for the removal costs after,
rather than before, the claim against the responsible
party was litigated,” would defeat the purposes of the
OPA by elevating form over substance. Ibid.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
DAVID W. OGDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
ROBERT GREENSPAN
ALFRED MOLLIN
Attorneys

SEPTEMBER 1999

‘
t
"
oan
's.
%
Be
y. q
as
®

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0619%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
