# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wenzel v. Apfel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0535%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 870

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

99 5 0 MAY 10 1999

No.

prrice p —_

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

ROBERT MARSHALL WENZEL,

Petitioner,

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY
KENNETH STEVEN APFEL,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

Rosert M. WENZEL
Petitioner pro se

1162 Spanish Armada Road
Las Vegas, NV 89123

(702) 361-1226

May 6, 1999

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Commissioner’s denial of the peti-
tioner’s disability was supported by substantial evidence,
was an accordance of due process of law as mandated by
the Constitution of the United States.

Whether the Commissioner’s refusal to reopen the
petitioner’s case was again supported by substantial evi-
dence, was again an accordance of due process of law,
was justifiable under the Code of Federal Regulations.

Whether the District Court’s dismissal of this case for
lack of jurisdiction and the Court of Appeals Panel's
affirmance were decisions founded on judicial consider-
ation of the facts and application of the law, were justifi-
able under the United States Code and the case law.

Whether the Commissioner’s conduct in the adminis-
trative review process and judicial proceedings asks for
the attention of this Court.

Whether the District Court and the Panel’s decisions
have set at naught this Court’s relevant decisions.

Whether the District Court and the Panel’s proceed-
ings have so far departed from the accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings as to call for an exercise of

the supervisory power of this Court.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........--: i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........-----+eeeeeeeees iv
OPINIONS BELOW..........-:-- eee eee ree ereeeee 1
JURISDICTION .......-- ccc ee cece eee e eee eeeecees 1
CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND REGULA-
TORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ...........--+++: 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.......----+++eeeeeeees 1
b. WntroGuction ... 6. ccc vcccecesrcevesveeenneenyes 1
2. The Administrative Law Judge’s Hearing Deci-
eT PEPETCECETTTTEE CTT 2
_3. The ALJ’s “Measure” of “Non-disability”...... 2
4. The Appeals Council’s Action........-+++++++: 2
5. Wenzel’s Disability Report ........-----+++e++ 3
6. The Office of Disability Director’s Disapproval... 3
7. Wenzel’s Narrative, the First Showing of Error
on the Face of the Evidence .......-.--++++-+- +
8. The Director’s Letter...........-- eee eeeeeeees 4
9. Wenzel’s Petition for A Reopening or an Extend-
ing of Time for Filing a Court Action.......-. 5
10. The Appeals Council’s Order ......-..-+.--++- 6
11. The District Court Proceedings..........--++-+- 7
12. The Commissioner’s Points and Authorities

Statement of Facts, and Declaration of Wilbur J.
PP PPT rr ere ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
14. The Court of Appeals Proceedings ............ 18
15. The Commissioner’s Brief..................... 18

16. The Panel's MEMORANDUM of Affirmance... 19
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT AND

RCE eee Re Wed ses 6-46 sesereecrvecercess 23
DE s Succdnweseseescccscvvevecserccceseses 30
OEE ee App. 1
EEE App. 44

EE App. 102

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Bell v. Hood, 66 S.Ct. 773 (1946)......... 0... c cee eee 26
Bowen v. City of New York, 106 S.Ct. 2022 (1986)

Ee EE eee rat tenia heer sey ise nit yay 18, 28, 29
Califano v. Sanders, 97 S.Ct. 980 (1977)

ee re ern Mie Miles, sta) 13, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28
Evans v. Chater, 110 F.3d 1480 (9th Cir. 1997)

ee OR Creeper hats My TTTTTTT Tre Tk OU le
Hoye v. Sullivan, 985 F.2d 990 (9th Cir. 1992)

-caveueeesa ee eek edeedereeeaaaee 16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 28
Mathews v. Eldridge, 96 S.Ct. 893 (1976)....... 18, 27, 29
Richardson v. Perales, 91 S.Ct. 1420 (1971)............ 27
Weinberger v. Salfi, 95 S.Ct. 2457 (1975)........... 18, 27

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

re Gs GUI: Bone vse ndnvkveenvene ceaeces passim
a es Ee GED 6 feud oben a ceueksncus cecnzesesa norte |
Ft eR ep sda whe sbebisstecriesnetnucnsa he 20
Ge eee EE 69 06 ba nbadbsnesnaehete esse cece passim
ae ae Se PD Sh oe kwnacccnsnkacescevesuwenneeual 13
20 CFR Ch. HII §§ 404.988 and 989........ 1, 18, 24, 25
rook So Se Fe 8 ere eee 23
20 CFR Ch. Ill Pt. 404, Subpt. P, App. 1, 4.11....... 24

|

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
AND REQUEST FOR A SUMMARY REVERSAL

Robert Marshall Wenzel respectfully petitions for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case,
and requests a summary reversal of its decision therein.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals denying rehear-
ing (App. 40) is unreported. The decision of the Court of
Appeals affirming the decision of the District Court (App.
38) is reported at 162 F.3d 1171. The decision of the
District Court dismissing this case for lack of jurisdiction
(App. 27) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

On February 8, 1999, the Court of Appeals denied the
suggestion for rehearing en banc and the petition for
rehearing by the Panel. See Ninth Circuit Rule 35-1. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND
REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
U.S. Const., Amend. 5 (App. 41).
42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (App. 42).
20 CFR Ch. III §§ 404.988 and 404.989 (at 24 infra).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
1. Introduction

Petitioner Wenzel, on March 7, 1968, on a river patrol
boat in the Ben Tre Canal, was injured by a B-40 rocket.
He sustained a shearing of the upper left leg, a broken
femur, a severed artery, a ruptured eardrum, and a knee-

2

to-cheek embedment of shrapnel. He was hospitalized for
thirteen months, and received Social Security disability
benefits for the last seven. Wenzel’s Narrative, Pl. Ex. 17
(App. 125), contains the 1968-93 chronology. This State-
ment includes, and as necessary more fully describes, the
relevant events.

2. The Administrative Law Judge’s Hearing Decision

Wenzel, on March 18, 1974, unaccompanied by coun-
sel, appeared before ALJ William H. Yim for a hearing.
The ALJ, on May 21, 1974, issued his Hearing Decision,
Pl. Ex. 1 (App. 3).

3. The ALJ’s “Measure” of “Non-disability”

The Claimant appears well-advised in his plans
to enter college to take journalism. He seems
certain for success, particularly in that field. But
if he can go to college, he can do a desk job.
Even though that would be a waste, it is a
measure which indicates his non-disability for
Social Security purposes (App. 13 and 14).

4. The Appeals Council’s Action

Your request for review of the administrative
law judge’s decision has been carefully consid-
ered by the Appeals Council... .

The Appeals Council has concluded that this
decision is correct .. . Accordingly, the adminis-
trative law judge’s decision stands as the final

decision of the Secretary in your case (Action of
October 2, 1974: Pl. Ex. 2, App. 16).

Wenzel believed that the measure of the administra-
tive law judge would not have been set forth had there
not been basis for it in the administrative law. He under-
stood the measure to be not other than an explicit settling

Pe eee ae

3

of his case, a summary foreclosing of any possibility of a
successful administrative review or court action. He was
then going to college, intended to continue, and did so
for the next five years (App. 126, 127, 150, 151, 152): he
did not file a timely request for administrative review; he
did not file a timely court action.

5. Wenzel’s Disability Report

Wenzel, on August 1, 1988, filed a Disability Report,
Pl. Ex. 4 (App. 104). His submission did not seek retroac-
tivity (he had not yet reread the Hearing Decision); it did
not refer to any prior SSA proceedings. It acknowledged
that he did not meet the earned income requirement for
the decade preceding the year in which he last worked; it
asked for consideration of the fact that he had been in a
vocational-rehabilitation program for three of the ten
years.

His submission was tendered at that time because he
had then, on account of excessive activity, or unstable
shrapnel, or ageing process, or some combination thereof,
been back on the crutches for a time. His reckoning was
that the matter of the “measure” of “non-disability” was
then sufficiently distant: it had been nine years since he
had gone to college. His problem was that it had been
eight years since he had gone to work.

6. The Office of Disability Director’s Disapproval

We have determined that you are not entitled to
disability benefits. The reason you are not enti-
tled is that you do not meet the earnings
requirement of the law at the time you state you
became disabled or at any later date.

It is important for you to know that we have not
made any determinations as to whether or not
you are disabled within the meaning of the law.
Since you do not meet the earnings requirement,

aia: |

4

it has not been necessary to decide whether you
meet the disability requirement (Notice of Dis-
approved Claim of August 14, 1988: Pl. Ex. 5,
App. 18). )

Wenzel recognized the Catch-22 here: if he did work,

he would have no basis for a claim; if he did not work, he
would have no status for a claim. What, however, to do?
Request reconsideration of the consideration he had
already requested and been denied? He could not see
here (he had not yet reread the Hearing Decision) that he
was other than caught: he did not request reconsidera-
tion.

7. Wenzel’s Narrative, the First Showing of Error on
the Face of the Evidence

Wenzel, on May 1, 1992, sent the director a letter and
a Narrative (he had reread the Hearing Decision) that
pointed out what the reread document itself revealed: the
ALJ’s unrealizing establishment of a listed impairment,
chronic venous insufficiency. The letter asked for the
correction of error, this quite openly intentional (App. 146
and 147), on the face of the Hearing Decision’s medical
evidence declared “in evidence” (App. 12 and 13).

8. The Director’s Letter

Our records show that you were allowed a
closed period of disability for the period of
October 1968 through May 1969 and terminated
June 1969.

Our records further show that you last met
insured status March 31, 1977. There is nothing
to show that the information in our letter to you
dated August 14, 1988 has changed the decision |
in that letter (Letter of July 13, 1992: Pl. Ex. 6,
App. 20).

5

The director who had managed within two weeks to find
that Wenzel’s not meeting the earnings requirement suf-
ficed for the disapproval of his Disability Report now
needed ten to find that the requirement was as well
invocable for his letter and what was not to receive so
much as mention, his Narrative. Thus, “There is nothing
to show. .. . ” No SSA official, from that time to this, has
done other than refuse to address what the Hearing Deci-
sion shows. Not one has acknowledged the existence of
the Narrative that marks out what it shows.

9. Wenzel’s Petition for a Reopening or an Extending
of Time for Filing a Court Action

I ask that you consider, reference the Code of
Federal Regulations, whether this action [the
ALJ’s making of school attendance a “measure”
of “non-disability”] was misleading. I submit
that this was good cause for my not filing a
timely action.

I ask that you consider, reference the United
States Code, whether this Hearing Decision, one
an Appeals Council “carefully considered” “cor-
rect,” is, in and of itself, conclusive evidence of
error on the face of the evidence, of error plainly
intentional — of gross abuse of discretion.

I ask that you consider, reference the Constitu-
tion of the United States, whether I was denied
due process of law.

I declare, under penalty of pertinent law, that I
have made a true representation to the Appeals
Council.

[Signed and dated. ]

Enclosures

ALJ William H. Yim’s May 21, 1974 Hearing
Decision

Appeals Council’s October 2, 1974 Action

6

My September 30, 1995 Narrative

My 1962-63 and 1967-68 service records (Petition of
September 30, 1995: Pl. Ex. 16, App. 157 and 158).

10. The Appeals Council’s Order

In accordance with Social Security Administra-
tion regulations, the Appeals Council may,
where good cause is shown, extend the time in
which to commence a civil action (20 CFR
404.982-911).

From its review of this case, the Council notes
that you received the denial notice timely and
you were aware of the 60-day time limit for
— filing a civil action. Your contention that you did

file [sic] a civil action because you believed the

Administrative Law Judge’s decision was cor-

rect and you now are of the opinion the decision

was incorrect does not constitute good cause to
extend the filing limit for filing a civil action, in
accordance with the above-cited regulations.

Moreover, contrary to your assertion, the

Administrative Law Judge’s consideration of

your ability to attend college is required by

section 404.1529 which requires the consider-
ation of daily activities in assessing the cred-
ibility of an individual’s subjective complaints.

After carefully considering the circumstances in

this case, the Appeals Council is not persuaded

that good cause for an extension of the time in

which to commence a civil action has been
shown. The request is, therefore, denied (Order

of March 6, 1996: Pl. Ex. 24, App. 22).

The Appeals Council that would not for five months
respond to the Petition then did so only because Wenzel
had written to a special assistant to the President (Letter
and Attachment of January 8, 1996: Pl. Exs. 19, 20, App.
159, 160, 161, 162, 163), who wrote to the SSA chief of staff.

:
:
:
|

7

The Appeals Council that would falsely construct
“Your contention” simply joined what Wenzel “believed”
in the Petition’s third paragraph to what a 1974 Appeals
Council considered “correct” in its fifth (App. 157 and
158).

The Appeals Council that would not speak to the
ALJ's self-evident considerations of altering, synonymiz-
ing, and expunging evidence that indicated a listed
impairment, would not speak to the ALJ’s establishment
of that which he denied, would speak to the ALJ’s requi-
site consideration: this toward an assessment of “the
credibility of an individual’s subjective complaints.”

The Appeals Council of an agency that provides ben-
efits and funding for school attendance for a substantial
number of those it has assigned “disability” would now
attempt to defend an ALJ’s making of school attendance a
“measure” of “non-disability.”

11. The District Court Proceedings

Wenzel, on November 15, 1996, as plaintiff pro se in
Case CV-S-96-01063-HDM-(LRL) in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Nevada, filed Complaint.

Wenzel, on January 15, 1997, the SUMMONS of a
United States District Court having simply been ignored
by the Commissioner of Social Security, filed Motion for
entry of default.

The Commissioner, on January 16, 1997, proffered
Stipulation for Extension of Time to Answer (App. 46 and
47), the extension sought “due to a delay in the prepara-
tion of the Administrative Records and suggested
Answer to the Complaint.” (Wenzel assented.)

The District Court, on February 10, 1997, because
Wenzel’s copy of the Motion for default received by the
U.S. Attorney was addressed to her, was not addressed to
her Civil Process Clerk, entered ORDER (App. 24) deny-
ing the Motion.

v——— mmm nema

8

The Commissioner, on March 6, 1997, filed Motion
for Remand (App. 48), wherein “The Appeals Council
wishes to take further administrative action in this case”
(App. 50), wherein “voluntary” remand was sought in
order to find Wenzel’s “missing” claim file (App. 51).

Wenzel, on March 14, 1997, filed Response to Motion
for remand, which asked for a denying of remand.

The District Court, on April 21, 1997, entered ORDER
(App. 25) granting remand.

The Commissioner, on September 17, 1997, filed
Motion to Dismiss Plaintiff's Complaint (App. 53), this
incorporating Points and Authorities Statement of Facts,
wherein was made known the fact that what had been
“missing” six months earlier was now “destroyed” (App.
55); and Declaration of Wilbur J. Laub, wherein the Chief
of Court Case Preparation and Review Branch 1 acknowl-
edged (App. 66) that in fact he held what was rendered a
reconstruction and presented as Def. Ex. 5 (App. 70):
Wenzel’s Disability Report.

The Commissioner concurrently filed Motion to
Vacate this Honorable Court’s ORDER of April 24 [sic],
1997, and to Reopen the Instant Civil Action (App. 85).

The District Court, on November 4, 1997, entered
ORDER (App. 26) vacating remand, and giving Wenzel
sixteen days from that day to file a response to Motion to
dismiss.

Wenzel, on November 14, 1997, concurrently filed
Response to Motion to dismiss and Motion for decision
on the merits of this case.

The District Court, on February 24, 1998, entered
ORDER (App. 27) granting Motion to dismiss this case.

20s Ritabige

9

12. The Commissionér’s Points and Authorities State-
ment of Facts, and Declaration of Wilbur J. Laub

On May 21, 1974, an Administrative Law Judge
issued a decision finding that the Plaintiff is
[sic] not under a disability (Exhibit 3 of Declara-
tion (pages 7ff are unavailable)). On October 2,
1974, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s
request for review of that decision. Although
advised of the right to commence a civil action
within 60 days of receipt of the notice, such
action was not commenced (Exhibit 4 of Decla-
ration) (App. 56).

The Commissioner’s modus operandi, well-nigh mes-
merizing in the beauty of its simplicity, would be in the
judicial proceedings what it was in the administrative
review process. Make mention of the procedural: an ALJ
denied disability; make no mention of the substantive: an
ALJ at once established what he denied.

What an ALJ did do in place, what Wenzel within
sixty days did not do is then the only issue at hand. The
modus developed: if there is no need for consideration of
substantive fact, then there is no need for consideration
of relevant law, such as the one that provides for the
Commissioner’s tolling of filing periods, 42 U.S.C.
§ 405(g).

How did the Commissioner happen to have the Hear-
ing Decision (Def. Ex. 3)? Have this particular document
from “the official files” of Wenzel’s 1972 claim, these then
“unavailable,” indeed, “destroyed”? Have that from what
was in the fourth month of judicial proceedings reported
“missing” and in the tenth reported “destroyed”?

The Commissioner does not say in “Points,” nor does
the Chief say in “Declaration,” just when these official
files were destroyed. Just when, on whatever date, will

10

but affirm one of two possibilities: there was false repre-
sentation to a United States District Court or there was
destruction of evidence during its proceedings.

The Commissioner happened to have the Hearing
Decision, less one page that was “unavailable,” received
(with Wenzel’s Petition) by the Appeals Council. What
page was now the missing page? The one with the ALJ’s
signature.

What is also missing, in the Commissioner’s recital of
the procedural facts that an ALJ denied disability and an
Appeals Council denied review, is mention of what was
stated by the Appeals Council: its denial was a “final
decision.” What is missing is what would be somewhat
harmful to his argument that indeed there has been no
“final decision.”

The Plaintiff has failed to exhaust his adminis-
trative remedies with respect to his claim for
benefits and, therefore, there has been no “final
decision” of the Commissioner as contemplated

by Section 205(g) of the Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g)
(App. 55).

Just where the plaintiff failed to exhaust his adminis-

trative remedies:

On August 2, 1988, Plaintiff filed his third appli-
cation for disability insurance benefits, alleging
onset of disability commencing March 12, 1980
(Exhibit 5 of Declaration). This application was
denied by notice dated August 14, 1988.
Although advised of the right to request recon-
sideration of the determination within 60 days
of receipt of the notice, such request was not
made. Plaintiff was also advised by notice dated
June 27, 1988, that he is [sic] ineligible for sup-
plemental security income benefits (Exhibit 6 of
Declaration) (App. 56).

The Commissioner who would refuse to acknowl-
edge the District Court’s SUMMONS for two months,

ad A INS. a Tah

11

who would “hen need an extension of two months, who
would then need a remand of six months, who would
need ten months to find something that might provide a
basis for an argument, would find that something in what
he had by then known for nine years: Wenzel had not
requested reconsideration of the disapproval of his Dis-
ability Report.

Concerning the above four statements in the Com-
missioner’s Statement of Facts, last first. Wenzel has never
applied for SSI: it is neither mentioned nor alluded to in
anything ever received from him by the Commissioner.
The fact that he has never applied, a matter of nonrecord,
becomes elsewhere, in a certain expedient Reconstruction
(App. 73), by a forgetful reconstructor, a matter of record.

The unsigned “notice dated June 27, 1988” is nonsen-
sical even in its date: Wenzel had no communication with
the SSA from October of 1974 to August of 1988. (A
number of things in this particular venture of the Com-
missioner went awry: the director’s disapproval of the
Disability Report is his Exhibit 6; the fabrication dated
June 27, 1988 —- App. 83 - is not labeled as an Exhibit.)

Wenzel’s Disability Report (App. 104) does not allege
disability commencing March 12, 1980. It unequivocally
states (App. 105 and 106) what his medical record and
work-history (not to mention an ALJ’s Hearing Decision)
unequivocally show: his disability did not commence in
March of 1980, it commenced in March of 1968.

The Commissioner’s Disability-Report reconstruc-
tion, this proffered when he knew that the original had
been received as Pl. Ex. 4 by the District Court, when
indeed the original was acknowledged to be held by an
unmindful Chief, the reconstruction replete with a photo-
static imposition of Wenzel’s signature (App. 81), is the
Commissioner’s attempt to make this case two cases: to
then make all turn on one.

The one to serve as pivot is the one in which there is
the second showing of what Wenzel within sixty days did

12

not do. If there has been no exhaustion of administrative
remedies in, then there has been no “final decision” in,
the second case. Does this not indeed invalidate the “final
decision” in the first?

Regarding whether there were in fact in the second
any administrative remedies to exhaust, Wenzel’s not
requesting within sixty days reconsideration of the disap-
proval of his Disability Report revisited. He did not
request reconsideration of the consideration he had
already requested (App. 123) and, within two weeks and
without so much as its mention, been denied (App. 18).
He was accorded one, and only one, consideration:
“{Y]ou do not meet the earnings requirement of the law.”

Wenzel, in his Disability-Report acknowledgment
that he did not have insured status, asked for consider-
ation of what he believed to be the considerable aspect of
his nonstatus, did not ask for a conferment of retroactive
status. That aspect summarily denied consideration, the
only thing that he could have asked for in a request for
reconsideration would have been a conferment.

The Commissioner who would so confer would have
broken the law; the claimant who would ask him to do so
might well have. Thus, the character of the Commis-
sioner’s ten-months-in-the-finding basis for an argument,
Wenzel’s failure to exhaust his administrative remedies.

Does the Commissioner’s argument indeed make two
cases, with the second’s “no final decision” rendering
inoperative the first’s “final decision”? There is the Com-
missioner’s answer in April of 1996, and there is his
answer in September of 1997.

The Commissioner who would not, in March of 1996,
in his Order denying reopening, find it necessary to
attempt to make two cases, to even make mention of what
was and was not done over August-October of 1988:

On March 6, 1996, the Appeals Council denied a
request for an extension of time to file a civil

CRAIG 5 Bit EATS,

ape eee ee —_

13

action and a request for reopening. The Council
has now received your letter dated March 18,
1996.

The Appeals Council considered the contentions
raised in your letter but concluded that these
contentions do not provide a basis for vacating
its previous action in this case.

The Council has decided there is no basis to
grant the request for an extension of time to file
a civil action nor is there any basis for reopening
the hearing decision dated May 21, 1974.
Accordingly, that decision stands as the final
decision of the Commissioner on the application
dated September 13, 1972 (Letter of April 15,
1996: Pl. Ex. 29, App. 23).

The Commissioner who would, in September of 1997,
in his Motion to dismiss, find it necessary:

The Plaintiff herein has failed to pursue and
exhaust those remedies with respect to his claim
for benefits provided by the Act and Regula-
tions promulgated thereunder as set forth
above.

Since there has been no hearing before an
Administrative Law Judge in this case, no “final
decision” of the Commissioner has been ren-
dered. Thus, there is no decision subject to judi-
cial review. . . . [Citations omitted.]

This need for administrative exhaustion and
strict application of Section 205(g) of the Act

was clearly upheld in the case of Califano v.
Sanders, 430 U.S. 99, 108 (1977) (App. 61).

13. The District Court’‘s ORDER of Dismissal

This is an action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. sec.
405(g) and 42 U.S.C. sec. 1383(c) for judicial
review of the denial of the plaintiff’s claim for

14

benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act.
This matter is before the court on defendant’s
motion to dismiss for failure to exhaust adminis-
trative remedies (#10) (App. 28).

The District Court, in its first sentence on its first
page, in making successful the Commissioner’s venture
to insert SSI into this case, discloses what is manifest
right through to its last on its last: it would not be
bothered to make so much as pretension to judicialness.

What would be the District Court’s response to hav-
ing been shown, in Wenzel’s Complaint and thirty-three
Plaintiff Exhibits, to having again been shown, in the
Commissioner’s profferings, the latter’s modus operandi?
Its response would be to take the modus, entire, and
make it its own.

The ORDER of dismissal will take the structure of the
Motion to dismiss, right down the line, and make it its
own. The facts as stated by the District Court will be,
except for one, the facts as stated by the Commissioner.
Indeed, the very language of the one will seldom stray
from close paraphrase of that of the other.

The District Court will, in “Administrative Proceed-
ings,” recite the record. Its record will include, as a verify-
ing (the word of its preeminent authority sufficing) of a
certain entering, this entry: “On June 27, 1988, the admin-
istration notified Wenzel that he was ineligible for sup-
plemental security income benefits” (App. 29).

It will next, in “Discussion,” cite “in pertinent part”
Section 205(g) of the Social Security Act.

Any individual, after any final decision of the
Commissioner of Social Security made after a
hearing to which he was a party, irrespective of
the amount in controversy, may obtain a review
of such decision by a civil action commenced
within sixty days after the mailing to him of
notice of such decision or within such further

15

time as the Commissioner of Social Security may

allow (App. 30).

The District Court will see as pertinent part this
section’s first sentence, to which it supplies emphasis; it
will not see as pertinent part its fifth, in which abides a
certain corollary: “The findings of the Commissioner as to
any fact, if supported by substantial evidence, shall be
conclusive... . ”

It will then allocate one of its six pages to a discus-
sion of what is and is not a final decision. Just why the
District Court would see this as necessary is not readily
apparent: it will, on its next page, find that in this case
there both is and is not a final decision.

The District Court will here, Section 205(g)’s first
sentence at hand, repeat Administrative Proceedings’
received operative facts. It will, the procedural elements
of the facts and the pertinent part of the law in place,
render judgment.

On the second application, Judge Yim found

that the plaintiff was not under a disability. On

October 2, 1974, the Appeals Council denied a

Request for Review, which then became the

administration’s final decision. The plaintiff had

60 days from the date he received notice of the

decision to seek judicial review. Because the

plaintiff failed to file a complaint within the
specified time period, he is barred from seeking

judicial review of that decision (App. 31).

It will now, in its one departure from the Commis-
sioner’s script, find that there is a final decision (it will,
in its next paragraph, find that there is not a final deci-
sion). No matter: Wenzel is barred, and there is no need
to provide precedent for the barring, from seeking judi-
cial review of the final decision.

The fact of error on the face of the evidence? The
regulations that directly speak to such fact? The law
whose fifth sentence’s corollary is that the findings of the

16

Commissioner as to any fact, if not supported by substan-
tial evidence, shall not be conclusive? The case law estab-
lished by long-standing decisions of the Supreme Court
that provide definitive precedent for the judicial tolling of
filing periods?

If the substantiveness of the first question is not
allowed (“Judge Yim found that the plaintiff was not
under a disability”), then there is no first question and
there are no further questions. If there is no allowance of
substantive fact, then there are no pertinent parts of
regulation, law, and case law.

If, however, there is procedural fact, then there is
indeed pertinent case law:

On Wenzel’s third and final application, the

administration made the initial determination

that he did not meet the earnings requirement
under the Social Security Act. Although the

plaintiff was advised of the right to file a

Request for Reconsideration at the time the

administration denied his application, he failed

to do so. Thus, there is no “final decision” of the

Commissioner. Because the plaintiff failed to

exhaust his administrative remedies, this court

is without jurisdiction to review the administra-

tion’s decision. Hoye v. Sullivan, 985 F.2d 990,

991 (9th Cir. 1992) (App. 32).

The District Court will, in its return to its guide, find
that there is not a “final decision.” It will do so when it
knows the fact: the only administrative remedy available
to the plaintiff had been requested and denied, had been
exhausted; when it knows the law: the requirement that
administrative remedies be exhausted, one of the two
elements in the final decision requirement, is the one that,
toward District Court jurisdiction, can be equitably
tolled. It will, in a case where a claimant “refused to
appear at a scheduled hearing” (Hoye at 990), find prece-
dent for its misstating of both fact and law.

17

The plaintiff also seeks judicial review of his
petition to re-open his case or, in the alternative,
an extension of time within which to file a court
action. In an order, dated March 6, 1996, the
Appeals Council denied both of plaintiff’s
requests. The plaintiff cannot seek judicial
review of this decision. In Califano v. Sanders, the
Supreme Court held “an interpretation that
would allow a claimant judicial review simply
by filing - and being denied - a petition to re-
open his claim would frustrate the congressional
purpose, plainly evidenced in section 205(g), to
impose a 60-day limitation upon judicial review
of the Secretary’s final decision denying [sic] the
initial claim for benefits.” 430 U.S. 899 [sic] 108.

Accordingly, the defendant’s motion to dismiss
is granted (App. 32).

The District Court will, in its close, see as pertinent part
one sentence in Sanders’ seven pages. It will do so when it
knows that this sentence and the one following are a
specific address to repetitive filings of frivolous petitions
to reopen; when it knows that the Supreme Court's close,
this directly following the address invoked, reemphasizes
that judicial review of a denial of a petition to reopen,
when there is a colorable constitutional claim, is not
barred: it is presumed.

It will not see as pertinent parts two sentences at 983
of Sanders. The claimant had not, it was found in his first
claim, “demonstrated a relevant disability of sufficient
severity.” Nor could he in his second. The ALJ who then
denied reopening, whose findings were not seen by the
Supreme Court as controversial, had concluded that there
was no new and material evidence, that there were “no
errors on the face of the evidence.”

18

This claimant’s demonstration of an establishment of
a listed impairment in a Hearing Decision: of error on the
face of the evidence? (It does not matter if it is not
mentioned.)

14. The Court of Appeals Proceedings

Wenzel, on June 18, 1998, as appellant pro se in Case
98-15857 in the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit, filed Informal Brief. —

The Commissioner, on July 9, 1998, filed Brief (App.
87).

Wenzel, on July 22, 1998, filed Reply Brief.

The Court of Appeals Panel, on October 26, 1998,
entered MEMORANDUM? affirming the District Court's
dismissal. *Footnote: “This disposition is not appropriate
for publication. ... ” (App. 38).

Wenzel, on December 10, 1998, filed Petition for
Rehearing With a Suggestion of Appropriateness of
Rehearing En Banc.

The Panel, on February 8, 1999, entered ORDER
rejecting suggestion and denying rehearing (App. 40).
15. The Commissioner’s Brief |

The Commissioner runs to the fore twenty 20 CFR
Chapter III regulations, §§ 404.988 and 404.989 not in the

running. He will come no closer than § 404.968, in the
pertinent twenty, to the nonpertinent two (App. 90).

He cites sixteen pertinent, when not indeed analo-
gous, cases, Weinberger v. Salfi, Mathews v. Eldridge, and
Bowen v. City of New York in the citing. (Not to mention
Califano v. Sanders and Hoye v. Sullivan) (App. 89).

The Commissioner’s argument before the Court of
Appeals is in the main a belaboring of the one before the
District Court. The one variation is that he does here

19

defer to the District Court, in the one instance of role-
reversal, in allowing that there is, at the same time aver-
ring that there is not, a “final decision.”

The one addition is that he does now make mention
of what he did not make mention of to the District Court
(the Commissioner’s nonmention quite sufficient for the
District Court’s nonmention), the matter of whether or
not Wenzel has a constitutional claim. The Commissioner
will now say that Wenzel has no such claim.

This Court, in applying the rule enunciated in
Califano v. Sanders, has held that in circum-
stances virtually identical to those presented in
this case, a district court has no jurisdiction to
review the Secretary’s discretionary refusal to
reopen a claim which has become adminis-
tratively final, to consider an untimely request
for review or to grant an extension of time to
seek review unless a colorable constitutional
violation is alleged. [Citations omitted.] Plain-
tiff’s due process claim (at p. 4 [sic] of his infor-
mal brief) is totally without any substantiation
and is entirely meritless. Thus, the constitu-
tional claim clearly is not colorable and “is
made solely for the purpose of obtaining juris-
diction.” Hoye v. Sullivan . . . at 991-992. Accord-
ingly, the district court’s action dismissing the
civil action for lack of jurisdiction was correct
and consistent with the caselaw of this Circuit

(App. 99).

16. The Panel’s MEMORANDUM of Affirmance

Robert M. Wenzel appeals pro se the district
court’s dismissal for lack of subject-matter juris-
diction of his appeal from the Commissioner’s
denial of Wenzel’s September 1972 application
for disability benefits and his motion to reopen
f his disability application for that year. We have

20

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. We
review de novo, see Evans v. Chater, 110 F.3d
1480, 1481 (9th Cir. 1997), and we affirm.
Because Wenzel’s attempt to seek judicial review
of the Commissioner’s denial of his September
1972 application for disability benefits was
untimely, the district court properly concluded
that it lacked subject-matter jurisdiction over
this claim. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (App. 38).

The Panel will not, right after the operative modus of
the Commissioner and the District Court, address the fact
that it has been shown, that the findings of the Commis-
sioner in the September 1972 application that resulted in
the May 1974 Hearing Decision were not just unsup-
ported by substantial evidence: they were, however inad-
vertently, patently confuted in the Hearing Decision. (The
Commissioner and the District Court would, as pro-
cedural fact, make mention of the Hearing Decision; the
Panel will show them how it ought to be done: make no
mention.)

It will, per the expedient modus, address the fact that
the seeking of judicial review was untimely, will then
advise on what ought to be seen. Does it matter that
§ 405(g) speaks to both of the facts? That there is no law
or case law that provides for the waiving of the one? That
there is case law that provides for the waiving of the
other? (Not if the one is not mentioned.)

Because the Commissioner’s denial of Wenzel’s

motion to reopen his 1972 application for bene-

fits was not a final reviewable order under

§ 405(g), the district court also correctly dis-

missed this claim. See Evans . . . at 1482 (App.

39).

The Panel that will not mention what was in 1974
(this being reaffirmed in 1996) a “final decision” will
mention what was not (in 1996) a “final reviewable
order,” will then point to what needs to be seen. The term

21

is not to be seen in § 405(g): the apropos “final” appears
once, the word that follows is “decision.” Nor is it to be
seen in Evans.

Thus does the Panel, here evasively, there termi-
nologically, maneuver: the better to stand clear of the
reckoning of the District Court, this then allowed by the
heretofore evasive Commissioner, that there both is and is
not a “final decision” in this case.

Moreover, Wenzel failed to raise a colorable con-
stitutional claim to enable the district court to
review the denial of his motion to reopen. See
Hoye . . . [at] 991-992 . . . (per curiam); cf.
Evans .. . at 1482-84 (concluding that appellant's
due process claim, which asserted that he had
been denied a meaningful opportunity to be
heard, conferred jurisdiction upon the district
court to address this claim).

AFFIRMED.! (App. 39).

What is to be seen, concerning what Wenzel failed to
raise for the District Court, this being what the thought-
ful Panel would find for the District Court, what the
unthoughtful latter had not found for itself, is the case of
Mr. Stewart Hoye, who had his case dismissed because he
refused to appear at a scheduled hearing. The case of one
who appeared at a scheduled hearing, who received a
Hearing Decision flawed in almost every imaginable
way? (It does not matter if it is not mentioned.)

What is to be compared is the case in which the
Ninth Circuit found that a District Court erred in its
conclusion that “it lacked jurisdiction” because “a refusal
to reopen was not a final decision under 42 U.S.C.
§ 405(g)” (Evans at 1481), found that “the district court
had jurisdiction to consider Evans’ constitutional due
process claim on the merits” (Ibid. at 1483); is the case in
which it found that the District Court did not err in its
alternative conclusion (perhaps made ready in the event

22

that it did not lack jurisdiction) that Evans had no consti-
tutional due process claim on the merits. (Evans at
1483-84).

What is to be compared is the case of Mr. Alton
Evans, in which this Ninth Circuit sum and substance:
The record demonstrates that the Commissioner
considered and weighed the medical evidence in
reaching her determination. . . . The district court
did not err in its alternative conclusion that the
Commissioner’s refusal to reopen is supported

by substantial evidence. (Ibid. at 1484).

The case in which the record demonstrates that the
Commissioner would not even mention the medical evi-
dence, that his refusal to reopen is not supported by any
evidence? (As before.)

What would be given only footnote treatment in the
Panel’s MEMORANDUM is what had been more promi-
nent in the District Court’s ORDER of dismissal, the
concocted argument in the Commissioner’s Motion to
dismiss.

"To the extent that Wenzel contends that the

district court erred by dismissing his appeal

from the Commissioner’s denial of his August ~

1988 application for disability benefits, we reject

this contention because Wenzel failed to exhaust

his administrative remedies with respect to this

claim. See Hoye... at 991 (App. 39).

The Panel that reviewed de novo knew, if it reviewed
Wenzel’s Complaint and the Commissioner’s “Points” in
his Motion to dismiss, that this was not, to any extent,
Wenzel’s contention; that this was, to the extent of being
the ten-months-in-the-finding basis for his argument, the
Commissioner’s construction. It knew, if it reviewed
Wenzel’s Disability Report and its summary Disapproval,
what the Commissioner and the District Court knew: that
Wenzel had indeed exhausted his one possible adminis-
trative remedy.

23

What would be given rather more prominent place in
the Panel’s MEMORANDUM of affirmance is what had
not been given any place in the District Court’s ORDER
or the Commissioner’s Motion, what had only later taken
place in the Commissioner’s Brief, what the Panel would
then make its centerpiece: “Wenzel failed to raise a color-
able constitutional claim... . ”

The Panel would deal with the issue of Wenzel’s
constitutional due process claim by simply saying, after
the Commissioner, in its NOT-FOR-PUBLICATION MEM-
ORANDUM, that he has none. His having none in place,
its precedent is at hand. Not to matter that in the two
FOR-PUBLICATION cases that it cites, as in all others,
the plaintiffs’ having or not having such claim is not
simply told, it is requisitely shown.

Thus, the Statement. The basis for federal jurisdiction
in the court of first instance is 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

REASONS FOR GRANTING
THE WRIT AND REQUEST

The Administrative Law Judge who in his Hearing
Decision (App. 3) denied Wenzel’s disability at once, in
his presentation of the medical evidence, in his reproduc-
tion of “superficial varicosities” and “stasis dermatitis”
and “venous ulcer” (App. 12), established, unwittingly
enough, Wenzel’s listed impairment of chronic venous
insufficiency.

20 CFR Ch. III, § 404.1520 Evaluation of disabil-
ity in general...
(d) When your impairment(s) meets or equals a
listed impairment in appendix 1. If you have an
impairment(s) which meets the duration
requirement and is listed in appendix 1 or is
equal to a listed impairment(s), we will find you
disabled without considering your age, educa-
tion, and work experience.

24

Appendix 1, Part 404, Subpart P.. .

4.11 Chronic venous insufficiency of a lower

extremity. With incompetency or obstruction of

the deep venous system and one of the follow-

ing:

A. Extensive brawny edema; OR
B. Superficial varicosities, stasis der-
matitis, and recurrent or persistent ulceration

which has not healed following at least 3

months of prescribed medical or surgical ther-

apy.

The ALJ’s open tampering with the medical evidence
and his making of Wenzel’s school attendance an illicit
“measure” of “non-disability,” these aspects and a
number of others marked in Wenzel’s Narrative (App.
130-155), make plain that this was an intentional error,
that this was a deliberate deprival of due process of law.

§ 404.988 Conditions for reopening

A determination, revised determination, deci-

sion, or revised decision may be reopened -...

(c) At any time if-...

(8) It is wholly or partially unfavorable to a

party, but only to correct clerical error or an

error that appears on the face of the evidence
that was considered when the determination or
decision was made.

§ 404.989 Good cause for reopening

(a) We will find that there is good cause to

reopen a determination or decision if —.. .

(3) The evidence that was considered in mak-

ing the determination or decision clearly shows

on its face that an error was made.

The Appeals Council that in its Order (App. 21)
denied reopening would not even try to controvert what
it had been shown, error on the face of the evidence. It
would, while refusing to see and hear, speak:

25

On October 2, 1974, the Appeals Council denied
a request for review of an Administrative Law
Judge’s decision on this case. The Council has
now received a request for reopening of the
decision and, if reopening is declined, a request
for an extension of time in which to commence a
civil action.

In accordance with Social Security Administra-
tion Regulations, a decision may be reopened
within specified time limits on the basis of new
and material evidence or if the evidence consid-
ered in making the decision clearly shows on its
face that an error was made (20 CFR 404.987-
989).

The specified time limits for reopening a deci-
sion are four years from the date of the initial
determination. In this case, the initial deter-
mination was made over 20 years ago. Clearly,
there is no regulatory basis to reopen and revise
the initial determination denying your applica-
tion for a period of disability and disability
insurance benefits (App. 21).

The Appeals Council’s refusal to address what it had
been shown and its false representation of the regulations
make clear that this was a calculated deprival of due
process of law.

The District Court that dismissed this case for lack of
jurisdiction proceeded to its lack by refusing to make
mention of the substantive attributes of the procedural
facts that Wenzel’s disability and reopening of his case
had been denied. It then had no reason to make mention
of “due process of law” or “colorable constitutional
claim” or anything of the kind.

The Court of Appeals Panel that affirmed the dis-
missal arrived at its decision by refusing to allow the
elemental merits that the District Court had refused to
allow. It then, prompted by the Commissioner in his

26

Brief, came to an understood-as-decisive finding in its
MEMORANDUM, found for the District Court what that
Court, having had no reason, had not found in its
ORDER: “Wenzel failed to raise a colorable constitutional
claim to enable the district court to review the denial of
his motion to reopen.”

Concerning this state of affairs, this Court:

For it is well settled that the failure to state a
Proper cause of action calls for a judgment on
the merits and not for a dismissal for want of
jurisdiction. Whether the complaint states a 4
cause of action on which relief could be granted
is a question of law and just as issues of fact it
must be decided after and not before the court
has assumed jurisdiction over the controversy. If
the court does later exercise its jurisdiction to
determine that the allegations in the complaint
do not state a ground for relief, then dismissal
of the case would be on the merits, not for want
of jurisdiction. [Citations omitted.] The previ-
ously carved out exceptions are that a suit may
sometimes be dismissed for want of jurisdiction
where the alleged claim under the Constitution
or federal statutes clearly appears to be imma-
terial and made solely for the purpose of obtain-
ing jurisdiction or where such a claim is wholly
insubstantial and frivolous. The accuracy of call-
ing these dismissals jurisdictional has been
questioned. (Citations omitted.)

(Bell v. Hood, 66 S.Ct. 773 (1946), at 776.) P

This Court, in its reversal of the Ninth Circuit in this i
case, made plain that a speaking of insubstantiality must :
be accompanied by a showing, that saying it is so does
not make it so. This Circuit’s Panel, that did nothing more
in its MEMORANDUM than say what the Commissioner
simply said in his Brief, would now make plain that
saying it is so does make it so.

27

It is for the District Court now to determine

whether the Secretary’s findings, in the light of

all material proffered and admissible, are sup-

ported by “substantial evidence” within the

command of § 205(g). (Richardson v. Perales, 91

S.Ct. 1420 (1971), at 1432.)

The District Court, in its referencing of § 205(g),
would only mention its first sentence, this found to be the
“pertinent part.” Its fifth, in which abides what is com-
manding, on the word of this Court, would be utterly
ignored by that Court.

The Panel, in its referencing, would find the pertinent
part the part so found by the District Court. “The Com-
missioner’s findings” and “supported by substantial evi-
dence,” phrases not to be found in the District Court's
ORDER, are not to be found in the Panel’s MEMORAN-
DUM.

[A] decision denying § 205(g) jurisdiction in

Salfi or Eldridge would effectively have closed

the federal forum to the adjudication of color-

able constitutional claims. Thus those cases

merely adhered to the well-established principle
that when constitutional questions are in issue,

the availability of judicial review is presumed,

and we will not read a statutory scheme to take

the “extraordinary” step of foreclosing jurisdic-

tion unless Congress’ intent to do so is mani-

fested by “” ‘clear and convincing’ ” evidence.

[Citations omitted.]

This is not one of those rare instances where the

Secretary’s denial of a petition to reopen is chal-

lenged on constitutional grounds. Respondent

seeks only an additional opportunity to estab-
lish that he satisfies the Social Security Act's
eligibility standards for disability benefits.
Therefore, § 205(g) does not afford subject-mat-
ter jurisdiction in this case. (Califano v. Sanders,
97 S.Ct. 980 (1977), at 986.)

28

The Commissioner who would speak of this case, in
which the claimant had never demonstrated a “relevant
disability,” to both the District Court and the Panel would
only to the latter speak of “constitutional claim.” His
appraisal in the citing for the former would speak of
“administrative exhaustion” and “final decision”; the one
in the one for the latter would speak of “final decision”
and “constitutional violation.” He would then apprise the
latter that the circumstances of Sanders’ case and those of
Wenzel’s case are “virtually identical.”

The District Court that would speak of this case
would not speak of “constitutional claim.” Its precedent
would be found in one sentence, the one that addresses
repetitive filings of insubstantial claims. It would then,
effectively, make the showing of an establishment of a
listed impairment in a Hearing Decision analogous to the

seeking of an Opportunity to establish a disability in a
judicial review.

The Panel that would not speak of this case would
speak of “constitutional claim.” Its precedent would be
found in two cases, one in which the claimant “refused to
appear at a scheduled hearing,” and one in which it was
Shown that the claimant had never demonstrated a “men-
tal incapacity.” The Panel would then, unwilling to make
Precedent, unable to find it, simply impose it.

We must determine, therefore, whether equita-

ble tolling is consistent with Congress’ intent in

enacting § 405(g), and whether tolling is appro-

priate on these facts. The statute of limitations

we construe in this case is contained in a statute

that Congress designed to be “unusually protec-_

tive” of claimants. Heckler v. Day, 467 U.S., at

106, 104 S.Ct., at 2251. Moreover, Congress has

authorized the Secretary to toll the 60-day limit,

thus expressing its clear intention to allow toll-

ing in some cases. While in most cases the Secre-

tary will make the determination whether it is

29

proper to extend the period within which
review must be sought, cases may arise where
the equities in favor of tolling the limitations
period are “so great that deference to the
agency’s judgment is inappropriate.” Eldridge,
424 U.S., at 330, 96 S.Ct., at 900. As in Honda v.
Clark, we conclude that application of a “tradi-
tional equitable tolling principle” to the 60-day
requirement of § 405(g) is fully “consistent with
the overall congressional purpose” and is
“nowhere eschewed by Congress.” 386 U.S., at
501, 87 S.Ct., at 1197. (Bowen v. City of New York,
106 S.Ct. 2022 (1986), at 2030.)

This Court, after its consideration of the facts of the
SSA’s “secretive conduct,” then determined that equitable
tolling was appropriate in this case. The District Court
and the Panel, after their nonconsideration of the facts of
the agency’s overt conduct, then had no reason to deter-
mine whether equitable tolling was appropriate in
Wenzel’s case.

Thus has the Commissioner who refuses to do what
the regulatory provision states that he will do been
accommodated, both in this and in his refusal to do what
the statutory provision at once authorizes and commands
him to do. His conduct, not other than a set-piece scorn-
ing of the constitutional provision, asks for the attention
of this Court.

The District Court and the Panel’s accommodative
decisions have effectively nullified this Court’s relevant
decisions.

The District Court and the Panel’s unjudicial pro-
ceedings, wherein their selective disallowance of the rele-
vant facts allows their here ignoring of and there
misstating of the applicable law, call for an exercise of the
supervisory power of this Court.

30
CONCLUSION

The findings of the Commissioner are not just unsup-
ported by substantial evidence: they are categorically
refuted by, beginning with the Hearing Decision’s medi-
cal evidence, all of the evidence. This is the fact that the
Commissioner has never even tried to deny, is one of the
facts that the District Court and the Panel elected to
disallow.

For the foregoing reasons, these constituting a mani-
fest injustice to the petitioner, the petition for writ of

certiorari and request for summary reversal should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert M. WENZEL
Petitioner pro se

1162 Spanish Armada Road
Las Vegas, NV 89123

(702) 361-1226

May 6, 1999

App. 1

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ROBERT MARSHALL WENZEL, Petitioner,
v.

Commissioner of Social Security
KENNETH STEVEN APFEL, Respondent

APPENDIX A

Plaintiff Exhibits 1, 2, 5, 6, 24, and 29 of Appendix A
were submitted with Complaint of November 15, 1996 in:

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

ROBERT M. WENZEL, Plaintiff,
v.

SHIRLEY S. CHATER, Commissioner of
Social Security, Defendant.

No. CV-S-96-01063-HDM(LRL)

App. 2

APPENDIX A INDEX

Page
Hearing Decision of Administrative Law Judge

Rrra ue el ee ee RD App. 3
Action sustaining decision of Appeals Council (PI.

PR paar Re ae RET an ae aN App. 16
Notice of Disapproved Claim of Disability Direc-

Oe ee OM nnn beh dS0 besos en swkddececcss App. 18
Letter of Director (Pl. Ex. 6)................... App. 20
Order denying reopening of Appeals Council (P1.

ee GN iedies anideueartediecereses rene App. 21
Letter of Appeals Council (Pl. Ex. 29).......... App. 23
ORDER denying default of District Court...... App. 24
ORDER of remand of District Court ........... App. 25
ORDER vacating remand of District Court ..... App. 26
ORDER of dismissal of District Court:......... App. 27
Pe GND ois. o'n b taicdncage needy iekssewcessnes App. 34
MEMORANDUM affirming dismissal of Ninth-

COE WEE <5 kab onuawessauesurdvonssanenel App. 38
ORDER denying rehearing of Panel............ App. 40
US. Comet, Amend. $....0cccccccocccccerccces App. 41

Te Cis BG dca cbiecsacvanicceioucescuses App.

42

App. 3

DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH, EDUCATION, AND WELFARE
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION
BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

To:

a

Mr. Robert M. Wenzel
P. O. Box 8089
Honolulu, Hawaii 96815

NOTICE OF DECISION PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

If you disagree, in whole or in part, with the enclosed
decision you may request the Appeals Council to review
it. However, your request for review must be filed within
60 days following the date shown below.

You, or your representative, may file the request for
review at the nearest office of the Social Security Admin-
istration, or you may file the request for review with the
hearing office or the Appeals Council.

Unless you file a timely request for review by the
Appeals Council, you may not obtain a court review of
your case under sections 205(g) and 1869(b) of the Social
Security Act.

This notice and enclosed copy of
hearing decision mailed
May 21, 1974

CC:

Name and Address of Representative:

In the case

of

Robert M. Wenzel

App. 4

DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH, EDUCATION, AND WELFARE
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION
BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

HEARING DECISION
Claim for

Period of Disability
and Disability Insurance

(Claimant)

Benefits

264-50-3342

(Wage Earner) (Leave
blank if same
as above)

Nm ee ee ee ee ee eee”

The Claim

This case arises out of an Application for Dis-
ability Insurance Benefits filed under sections
216(i) and 223 of the Social Security Act (Public
Law 271, 74th Cong., 49 Stat. 620, as amended)
on September 13, 1972 by Mr. Robert M. Wenzel,
the Claimant, which is regarded as claiming that
he has been unable to engage in any substantial
gainful activity since April 11, 1972 by reason of
a medically determinable circulatory impair-
ment in his left leg resulting from a battle injury
he sustained while serving in the Navy during
the Vietnam War. The claimant has represented
that he was born on March 11, 1937; that he left
school after the 10th grade but had been deter-
mined to have a “one year college equivalency”
in a test he had taken in the Navy; that he had
enlisted in the Navy in 1954, when he was 17,
taken a radarman’s course, risen to radarman

(Social Security Number)

App. 5

first class (the counterpart of a technical ser-
geant in the Army) and been assigned to the
master of arms in charge of two river patrol
boats, when he was wounded by an enemy
rocket in 1968; that he was medically discharged
from the Navy in August of 1971; that he had
worked as a security guard at a ski resort from
December of 1971 until the skiing season closed
in April of 1972; that after that, he had unsuc-
cessfully sought employment through the Cali-
fornia State Employment Service; that he had
then moved to Hawaii, where, after he had been
hospitalized for five days in August of 1972 for
evaluation of a complication resulting from one
of his wounds, he had gone on the labor pool
rolls of a temporary help enterprise until Octo-
ber of 1972, during which he put in a total of
about 80 hours driving new cars from the piers
to new car dealers’ showrooms and doing var-
ious warehouseman’s type jobs; that in late Jan-
uary of 1974, he began a nine weeks college
entry brush-up course for veterans at a college
under a federal program administered by the
State’s vocational rehabilitation agency which
pays him $210 to $215 monthly allowance for
living expenses; and that his intent was to go to
college to study journalism.

The Applicable Law

The following provisions of the Social Security
Act are of particular significance in this case:

The portion of section 223(a)(1) which provides
that an individual “who (A) is insured for dis-
ability insurance benefits (as determined under
subsection (c)(1)), (B) has not attained the age of
sixty-five, (C) has filed application for disability

App. 6

insurance benefits, and (D) is under a disability
(as defined in subsection (d))” shall be entitled
to disability insurance benefits.

The portions of sections 216(i)(1) and 223(d)(1)
which define “di ability” to mean “inability to
engage in any substantial gainful activity by
reasons of a medically determinable physical or
mental impairment which can be expected to
result in death or which has lasted or can be
expected to last for a continuous period of not
less than 12 months.”

The portion of section 223(d)(2) which reads:
“an individual shall be determined to be under
a disability only if his physical or mental
impairment or impairments are of such severity
that he is not only unable to do his previous
work but cannot, considering his age, education,
and work experience, engage in any other kind
of substantial gainful work which exists in the
national economy, regardless of whether such
work exists in the immediate area in which he
lives, or whether a specific job vacancy exists for
him, or whether he would be hired if he applied
for work. For purposes of the preceding sen-
tence (with respect to any individual), ‘work
which exists in the national economy’ means
work which exists in significant numbers either
in the region where such individual lives or in
several regions of the county.”

The portion of section 223(d)(3) which defines a
“physical or mental impairment” as “an impair-
ment that results from anatomical, physiologi-
cal, or psychological abnormalities which are
demonstrable by medically acceptable clinical
and laboratory diagnostic techniques.”

App. 7

Section 223(d)(5) which reads: “An individual
shall not be considered to be under a disability
unless he furnishes such medical and other evi-
dence of the existence thereof as the Secretary
may require.”

The portion of section 216(i)(2)(D) which pro-
vides that a period of disability “shall end with
the close of the second month following the
month in which the disability ceases” and the
portion of section 223(a)(1) which provides that
an individual who is under a disability shall be
entitled to disability insurance benefits “ending
with the month preceding the third month fol-
lowing the month in which his disability
ceases.”

The following provisions of Social Security
Administration Regulations Number 4 (20 C.F.R.
404) are also of special importance:

The portion of section 1501(c) which reads:
“Statements of the applicant, including his own
description of his impairment (symptoms) are,
alone, insufficient to establish the presence of a
physical or mental impairment.”

The portion of section 1523 which reads: “An
individual who has filed an application for the
establishment of a period of disability or for
disability insurance benefits shall submit medi-
cal evidence showing the nature and extent of
such individual’s impairment or impairments
during the time he alleges he was under a dis-
ability.”

The portion of section 1524 which reads: “Medi-
cal evidence of an individual’s mental or physi-
cal impairment shall include (a) A report signed
by a duly licensed physician; (b) A (certified)

App. 8

copy of, or abstract from, the medical records, if
any, of a hospital, clinic, institution, or san-
atorium, or public or private agency, . . . or (c)
Other medical evidence of probative value.
Medical reports, copies of medical records or
other medical evidence submitted to substanti-
ate an allegation that an individual is under a
disability shall include reports of clinical find-
ings (such as the individual’s medical history,
physical or mental status examinations or both),
laboratory findings, diagnosis, and treatment
prescribed and response; . . . The clinical and
laboratory findings shall be sufficiently compre-
hensive and detailed to permit the making of
independent determinations by the Administra-
tion or by a State agency as to the nature and
limiting effects of the individual’s physical or
mental impairment or impairments for the
period in question, his ability to engage in phys-
ical and mental activities, and the probable
duration of such impairment.”

The Issues

The record of this case contains nothing which
suggests that the Social Security Administration
questions or should question the presence of the
so-called “non-disability factors” - the insured
status, age and application-filing requirements -
for entitlement to the benefits sought by the
Application from the date on which the Claim-
ant allegedly became unable to work through
the date of this Decision.

The record indicates that the important points
that are to be regarded as being questioned in
this case are: (1) Whether the so-called “disabil-
ity factors” — the requirements of the medically

App. 9

determinable physical or mental impairment,
the inability to engage in any substantial gainful
activity, the causal connection between the
impairment and the inability to engage in any
substantial gainful activity, and either the rea-
sonable expectation that the impairment will
result in death or the actual or reasonably
expected 12 months minimum continued dura-
tion of the inability to work by reason of the
impairment - for entitlement to the benefits
sought have been met; (2) If they have been met,
when they were first met and whether they have
continued to be met through the date of this
Decision; and (3) If they have been met but have
not continued to be met through the date of this
Decision, when they ceased to be met.

The Hearing

Following initial and reconsidered denials of the
claim, the Claimant filed a timely request for a
hearing on it. The hearing officer conducted a
hearing in Honolulu, Hawaii on March 18, 1974.
The Claimant was present and testified. Various
documents marked as “exhibits” for identifica-
tion purposes were admitted into evidence. A
list of the exhibits has been prepared and a copy
of it will be sent to the Claimant along with a
copy of this Decision.

The Rationale

The hearing officer respects and admires and is
grateful to the Claimant for his service in our
country’s armed forces in time of war and the
battle wounds he sustained in such service, but
the hearing officer cannot allow this claim on
the evidence at hand.

App. 10

The evidence clearly showed that the Claimant
had sustained multiple shell fragment wounds
to the left side of his face, his left arm, his chest,
and his left leg with artery, vein and nerve
involvement in the Vietnam War in March of
1968. The documentary evidence established
that the had been allowed a period of disability
and monthly disability insurance benefits under
the Social Security Act through May of 1969,
after which they were terminated, on a prior
Application for Disability Insurance Benefits.

The Claimant testified that the ski resort secu-
rity job he had held from December of 1971 to
April of 1972 required him to be on his feet most
of the time, which aggravated the circulation in
his left leg; that he was hospitalized for an eval-
uation of that condition at the Army’s Tripler
General Hospital in Hawaii, where he had been
given a support stocking and told to keep his
leg elevated as much as possible, in August of
1972.

The Claimant further testified that while he had
been given a 60% disability rating on his dis-
charge from the Navy in 1971 and had thereafter
been awarded a 50% disability rating by the
Veterans Administration, he had applied for a
reevaluation of his rating by the Veterans
Administration, had been examined at its Hon-
olulu Clinic in November of 1972, had his dis-
ability rating increased to 70% and had been
allowed an additional 30% for “deemed unem-
ployability”, making for a 100% disability,
which began paying him $495 a month in vet-
eran’s disability benefits in April of 1973.

The Claimant also testified that in sitting
through the five hours a day, five days a week

App. 11

schooling he was undergoing, he would prop
his left leg up on another chair, extending it
parallel to the floor, to keep down the flash
cramps and pains in the leg and swelling in the
foot which would come on any time his leg was
below his torso - he was sitting, standing or
walking - continuously for as long as 12 to 16
hours. He explained that propping his leg 45 °
above a horizontal plane by leaning back in a
chair as he did in his apartment made for
greater comfort but was not practical in a class-
room. He claimed that the “disesthesia sensa-
tions” in the leg had increased recently and that
the dermatitis on the ankle, which was caused
by poor circulation resulting from loss of a part
of an artery and other blood vessels, had dou-
bled in size over the past two years and that
bloody fluids would collect in the ankle area,
discolor it and occasionally drain through an
opening in the skin. But he acknowledged that
aside from salves and powders for the der-
matitis, he was taking no medications and that
he was not seeing any doctors for the condition
on a regular basis; that he could drive; and that
he had made trips to California in October of
1972 and November of 1973 since coming to
Hawaii.

The Claimant said that he had “no affinity for
technical work” even though he had been a
radarman in the Navy; that civilian jobs similar
to that work were scarce; and that he had done
sedentary work as a public relations clerk on a
voluntary basis while he was awaiting his medi-
cal discharge from the Navy, but that he had
had to put his leg up on his desk for relief from
time to time. He stated that he did not think he

App. 12

could do a security guard’s job any more
because of his leg condition.

The only medical reports in evidence relating to
the Claimant's condition since April of 1972 con-
sisted of a Tripler Hospital narrative summary
on his August 1972 five day stay there and the
clinical record on his November 1972 Veterans
Administration 1972 evaluation.

The Tripler record mentioned that the Claimant
had been “admitted for impending venous ulcer
of the left lower extremity”. It listed the physical
findings relating to his left leg: “Extremities;
there are good pulses throughout; on the medial
aspect, just above the malleolus of the left lower
extremity, there is an area of hyper-pigmenta-
tion healing skin indicative of stasis dermatitis,
approximately 5 x 5 cm in diameter. There is
some superficial erosion. There is a trace of
pedal edema of the left side. There are extensive
superficial varicosities of both lower extremi-
ties.” It explained, “Plan will be to continue to
treat the area of stasis dermatitis locaily and
have the patient fitted with a Jobst stocking for
a therapeutic trial.” It noted that he was “to be
followed in Vascular Clinic”. A November 1972
request by the so-called State Agency which
assists the Social Security Administration in
evaluating its Hawaii disability cases to Tripler
for outpatient treatment records for the Claim-
ant was responded to by a note which read:
“Transit patient. Was not followed on OP basis.”

The Veterans Administration clinical record
mentioned that the Claimant had the following
deficiencies in his left lower extremity: flexion
limitation in his knee, tenderness on pressure on
the knee cap, some motion limitation in the

App. 13

ankle, an area of stasis dermatitis on the ankle
measuring 5" by 2", diminished pedal pulsation,
some quadriceps weakness, no elicitation of
ankle reflex, hypesthesia to pin prick from the
thigh to foot, a normal gait but some difficulty
toe to heel walking and inability to squat fully.

Although the evidence indicates that the Claim-
ant does experience some discomfort in his left
leg on being active, it also indicates that he is
much too able bodied and minded not to be up
and about like a normal person. He is 6'2" in
height and weighs the 190 to 200 pounds that he
weighed before he was wounded. His letters in
evidence were very well written and his testi-
mony was very well spoken and his letters and
testimony indicated he is very intelligent and
knowledgeable. He has easily had the residual
functional capacity to satisfactorily engage in a
wide variety of at least light and sedentary
work.

The hearing officer can fault no man who has
served in our country’s armed forces and been
wounded in battle for fully exploring the bene-
fits available to him because of his injuries. The
Claimant remains, however, too well equipped a
man to be held qualified for Social Security dis-
ability insurance benefits, that is to say, unable
for a period of not less than 12 months to
engage in any substantial gainful activity by
reason of the remaining effects of his wounds, at
any time since April of 1972.

The Claimant appears well-advised in his plans
to enter college to take journalism. He seems
certain for success, particularly in that field. But
if he can go to college, he can do a desk job.
Even though that would be a waste, it is a

App. 14

measure which indicates his non-disability for
Social Security purposes.

The Findings and Conclusions

The hearing officer, accordingly, makes the fol-
lowing findings of fact and conclusions of law:

1. The Claimant met the so-called non-disabil-
ity factors - the insured status, age and applica-
tion filing requirements - for entitlement to a
period of disability and monthly disability pay-
ments under sections 216(i) and 223 of the Social
Security Act on April 11, 1972, the date when
the Claimant allegedly became unable to engage
in any substantial gainful activity and which is
hereinafter referred to as “the alleged disability
onset date”, and has continued to meet them
through the date of this Decision.

2. The so-called disability factors for entitle-
ment to such disability insurance benefits which
the Claimant appears to have had the best possi-
bility of meeting involve an inability to engage
in any substantial gainful activity by reason of
medically determinable impairments for a con-
tinuous period of not less than 12 months or
being now so incapacitated with such inca-

pacitation reasonably expected to continue for
such a period.

3. The Claimant’s age, education and work
experience, at least for the purposes of this case,
are as represented by the Claimant and summa-
rized on the first page of this Decision.

4. Since the alleged disability onset date, the
Claimant has had the following significant med-
ically determinable impairments: shrapnel frag-
ments and artery and nerve involvement in his

App. 15

left leg and dermatitis with an occasional drain-
ing skin lesion on his left ankle as residuals of
battle wounds sustained while serving in the
Navy in the Vietnam War.

5. By reason of those impairments, the Claim-
ant has not been unable to engage satisfactorily
in any substantial gainful activity for what has
been a continuous period of not less than 12
months at any time since the alleged disability
onset date, nor is the Claimant now so incapaci-
tated with such incapacitation reasonably
expected to continue for what will eventually be
such a period.

6. The Claimant, consequently, has not been at
any time since the alleged disability onset date,
and is not now, under a disability, as that term is
defined in sections 216(i) and 223 of the Social
Security Act for purposes of obtaining a period
of disability and monthly disability insurance
benefits payments under the Act.

-O-

It is, therefore, the decision of the hearing offi-
cer that, on the basis of the application for Dis-
ability Insurance Benefits filed by or on behalf
of the Claimant on September 13, 1972, the
Claimant is not entitled to a period of disability
or to monthly disability insurance benefits pay-
ments under the Social Security Act.

Dated: May 21, 1974 /s/ William H. Yim

William H. Yim

Administrative Law Judge

Ri Siok aac. ea ae

App. 16

(Seal) DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, EDUCATION,
AND WELFARE
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION
P.O. Box 2518, WASHINGTON, D.C. 20013

REFER TO: IHA-2 BUREAU OF
264-50-3342 HEARINGS AND APPEALS

2 OCT 1974

ACTION OF APPEALS COUNCIL ON
REQUEST FOR REVIEW

Mr. Robert M. Wenzel
Box 8089
Honolulu, Hawaii 96815

Dear Mr. Wenzel:

Your request for review of the administrative law judge’s
decision has been carefully considered by the Appeals
Council. The Council's consideration of your request has
included all the evidence in your case, the law and regu-
lations applicable to your claim, the evaluation of the
facts and the reasoning in this decision, and your reasons
for believing your claim should be allowed.

The Appeals Council has concluded that this decision is
correct. Further action by the Council would not, there-
fore, result in any change which would be of advantage
to you. Accordingly, the administrative law judge’s deci-
sion stands as the final decision of the Secretary in your
case.

If you desire a review of the decision by a court, you
may commence a civil action in the district court of the
United States in the judicial district in which you reside
within sixty (60) days from this date. See section 205(g) of
the Social Security Act, as amended (section 405(g), Title

App. 17

42, United States Code). If such action is commenced, the
Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare is the proper
defendant.

Sincerely yours,

/s/ Carl Monk
Carl Monk
Member, Appeals Council

App. 18

Social Security Administration
Retirement, Survivors and Disability Insurance
Notice of Disapproved Claim

Office of Disability Operations
1500 Woodlawn Drive
Baltimore, Maryland 21241

Date: AUG. 14, 1988
Claim Number: 264-50-3342 HA

ROBERT M WENZEL
3989 CEDAREDGE CT
LAS VEGAS NV 89120

We have determined that you are not entitled to disability
benefits. The reason you are not entitled is that you do
not meet the earnings requirement of the law at the time
you state you became disabled or at any later date.

It is important for you to know that we have not made
any determinations as to whether or not you are disabled
within the meaning of the law. Since you do not meet the
earnings requirement, it has not been necessary to decide
whether you meet the disability requirement.

In addition you are not entitled to any other benefit based
on the application you filed.

If you believe this determination is not correct, you may
request that your case be reexamined. If you want this
reconsideration, you must request it not later than 60
days from the date you receive this notice. You may make
your request through any Social Security office. If addi-
tional evidence is available, you should submit it with
your request.

3
3
:
;
3
By
:
a
2

o App. 19

If you have any questions, you should call, write or visit
any Social Security office. If you visit an office, please
bring this letter. It will help us answer your questions.

/s/ Joseph R. Muffolett
Joseph R. Muffolett
Director

Office of Disability Operations
Enclosure:

SSA-10058
SSA-10072

—————————

App. 20

SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Office of Disability and
International Operations
1500 Woodlawn Drive
Baltimore, Maryiand 21241

JUL 13 1992

Refer to: S2HA222
264-50-3342

Mr. Robert Wenzel
1162 Spanish Armada Road
Las Vegas, Nevada 89123

Dear Mr. Wenzel:

This is in response to your letter concerning Social Secu-
rity benefits that you have not received.

Our records show that you were allowed a closed period
of disability for the period of October 1968 through May
1969 and terminated June 1969.

Our records further show that you last met insured status
March 31, 1977. There is nothing to show that the infor-
mation in our letter to you dated August 14, 1988 has
changed the decision in that letter.

We apologize for the delay in responding to your letter.

Sincerely,
/s/ Joseph R. Muffolett
Joseph R. Muffolett

Director

App. 21

(Logo) SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Refer to: TAHBK Office of Hearings and Appeals
264-50-3342 5107 Leesburg Pike
Falls Church, VA 22041-3255

MAR -6 1996

ORDER OF APPEALS COUNCIL DENYING
REQUEST FOR EXTENSION OF
TIME TO FILE CIVIL ACTION AND
REQUEST FOR REOPENING

Mr. Robert M. Wenzel
1162 Spanish Armada Road
Las Vegas, NV 89123

Dear Mr. Wenzel:

On October 2, 1974, the Appeals Council denied a request
for review of an Administrative Law Judge’s decision on
this case. The Council has now received a request for
reopening of the decision and, if reopening is declined, a
request for an extension of time in which to commence a
civil action.

In accordance with Social Security Administration Regu-
lations, a decision may be reopened within specified time
limits on the basis of new and material evidence or if the
evidence considered in making the decision clearly shows
on its face that an error was made (20 CFR 404.987-989).

The specified time limits for reopening a decision are four
years from the date of the initial determination. In this
case, the initial determination was made over 20 years
ago. Clearly, there is no regulatory basis to reopen and
revise the initial determination denying your application

App. 22

for a period of disability and disability insurance bene-
fits.

In accordance with Social Security Administration regula-
tions, the Appeals Council may, where good cause is
shown, extend the time in which to commence a civil
action (20 CFR 404.982-911).

From its review of this case, the Council notes that you
received the denial notice timely and you were aware of
the 60-day time limit for filing a civil action. Your conten-
tion that you did file a civil action because you believed
the Administrative Law Judge’s decision was correct and
you now are of the opinion the decision was incorrect
does not constitute good cause to extend the filing limit
for filing a civil action, in accordance with the above-
cited regulations. Moreover, contrary to your assertion,
the Administrative Law Judge’s consideration of your
ability to attend college is required by section 404.1529
which requires the consideration of daily activities in
assessing the credibility of an individual’s subjective
complaints.

After carefully considering the circumstances in this case,
the Appeals Council is not persuaded that good cause for
an extension of the time in which to commence a civil
action has been shown. The request is, therefore, denied.

Sincerely yours,

/s/ Peter A. Greenlee
Peter A. Greenlee
Administrative Appeals Judge

J

App. 23

(Logo) SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Refer to: TAHBK Office of Hearings and Appeals
264-50-3342 5107 Leesburg Pike
Falls Church, VA 22041-3255

APR 15 1996

Mr. Robert M. Wenzel
1162 Spanish Armada Road
Las Vegas, NV 89123

Dear Mr. Wenzel:

On March 6, 1996, the Appeals Council denied a request
fer an extension of time to file a civil action and a request
for reopening. The Council has now received your letter
dated March 18, 1996.

The Appeals Council considered the contentions raised in
your letter but concluded that these contentions do not
provide a basis for vacating its previous action in this
case.

The Council has decided there is no basis to grant the
request for an extension of time to file a civil action nor is
there any basis for reopening the hearing decision dated
May 21, 1974. Accordingly, that decision stands as the
final decision of the Commissioner on the application
dated September 13, 1972.

Sincerely yours,

/s/ Peter A. Greenlee
Peter A. Greenlee
Administrative Appeals Judge

Si

App. 24

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

ROBERT M. WENZEL, CV-S-96-01063-HDM
Plaintiff, (LRL)
VS. ORDER

SHIRLEY S. CHATER,

Commissioner of Social Security (Filed Feb. 10, 1996)

Defendant.
/

Plaintiff filed a motion for entry of default against
the defendant (#3) for failure to timely answer the com-
plaint. While there is evidence in the record that plaintiff
served the United States attorney for the District of Ne-
vada by registered mail, the service was improper pur-
suant to F.R.C.P. 4(i)(1)(A). Authorized mail service must
be specifically addressed to the civil process clerk of the
office of the United States attorney. Accordingly, plain-
tiff’s motion is denied. Plaintiff is granted leave to effect
proper service.

It is so ORDERED.

Dated this 10th day of February, 1996.

/s/ Howard D. McKibben
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 25

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

ROBERT M. WENZEL, CV-S-96-
SSN 264-50-3342, 1063-HDM(LRL)
Plaintiff, ORDER

VS.

JOHN J. CALLAHAN,
Commissioner
of Social Security,

(Filed Apr. 21, 1997)

Defendants.

The motion of the United States to remand (#6) is
granted pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 205(9).

It is so ORDERED.

Dated this 17th day of April, 1997. ©

/s/ Howard D. McKibben
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

a

App. 26

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

ROBERT WENZEL, CV-S-96-1063-
SSN: 264-50-3342, HDM(LRL)

Plaintiff, ORDER
VS.

Acting Commissioner of Social
Security Administration,

Defendant.
/

The court’s order of April 24, 1997 remanding this
action (#9) is vacated upon petition of the defendant. The
defendant has filed a motion to dismiss (#11). The plain-
tiff shall have until November 20, 1997 to file a response
to the motion.

It is so ORDERED.
Dated this 29th day of October, 1997.

— s/ Howard D. McKibben
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 27

United States District Court

- DISTRICT OF NEVADA
ROBERT M. WENZEL, JUDGMENT IN A

Plaintiff, CIVIL CASE

V. (Filed Feb. 24, 1998)

SHIRLEY S. CHATER,
CASE NUMBER: CV-
Defendant. S-96-1063-HDM(LRL)

Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a
trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury
has rendered its verdict.

XX Decision by Court. This action came to /be consid-
ered by the Court. The issues have been /considered
and a decision has been rendered.

[T IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that defendant's
motion to dismiss is granted; SO THEREFORE, judg-
ment is entered in favor of defendant and against
the plaintiff.

February 24, 1998 LANCE S. WILSON
Date Clerk

/s/ Ullegible
(By) Deputy Clerk

App. 28

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

ROBERT M. WENZEL, CV-S-96-01063-
aaa HDM (LRL)
Plaintiff,

VS. ORDER

KENNETH S. APFEL,

Commissioner of Social Security, (Filed Feb. 12, 1998)

Defendant.
/

This is an action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. sec. 405 (g)
and 42 U.S.C. sec. 1383 (c) for judicial review of the denial
of the plaintiff’s claim for benefits under Title II of the
Social Security Act. This matter is before the court on
defendant’s motion to dismiss for failure to exhaust
administrative remedies (#10).

Administrative Proceedings

In October of 1968, the plaintiff, Robert M. Wenzel,
filed an application for disability insurance benefits. The
Social Security Administration found that he was under a
disability for the period October 1968 through May 1969.
Wenzel subsequently filed another application for disabil-
ity insurance benefits on September 13, 1972, which was
denied. The plaintiff filed a Request for Reconsideration
and, upon reconsideration, the claim was denied. After
timely filing a Request for Hearing, an evidentiary hear-
ing was held before Administrative Law Judge William
H. Yim. Judge Yim issued a decision on May 21, 1974,
finding that the plaintiff was not under a disability. On
October 2, 1974, the Appeals Council denied a Request

App. 29

for Review, which constitutes the administration’s final
decision.

Wenzel filed a third application for disability insur-
ance benefits in August 1988, alleging onset of disability
commencing in March 1980. On August 14, 1988, the
administration notified Wenzel that his application was
denied because he did not meet the earnings requirement
under the Social Security Act. The notice advised Wenzel
of his right to request reconsideration of the determina-
tion within 60 days of receipt of the notice. Wenzel failed
to file a Request for Reconsideration. On June 27, 1988,
the administration notified Wenzel that he was ineligible
for supplemental security income benefits.

Wenzel wrote to the Social Security Administration
regarding the status of his social security benefits. The
administration responded and advised Wenzel that he
last met the insured status requirements of the Act on
March 31, 1977, and that there was no basis for changing
the previous determinations denying plaintiff’s claim for
disability insurance benefits.

Wenzel again wrote to the administration concerning
his eligibility to receive disability insurance benefits. The
administration again advised the plaintiff that there was
no basis for reopening the prior determinations made in
his case, and that his right to file a court action had
passed. On January 4, 1993, Wenzel inquired about his
claim and the conditions under which a decision may be
re-opened. On April 1, 1993, the administration wrote to
Wenzel and provided a narrative history of his case, an

explanation of the calculation of his last date insured, and

App. 30

the three regulatory bases for re-opening a prior deter-
mination.

On September 30, 1995, Wenzel petitioned to re-open
the administration’s previous decisions or, in the alterna-
tive, an extension of time in which to file a civil action.
On March 6, 1996, the Appeals Council issued an order
denying the plaintiff's requests. Unsatisfied, the plaintiff
again requested a re-opening and an extension of time.
On April 15, 1996, the Appeals Council affirmed its deci-
sion to deny the requests. On November 15, 1996, the
plaintiff commenced this action.

Discussion

Judicial review of actions arising under Title II of the
Social Security Act is expressly limited to the provisions
of 205(g) of the Act. 42 U.S.C. sec. 405(g) and (h). Section
205(g) reads, in pertinent part,:

Any individual, after any final decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security made after a

hearing to which he was a party, irrespective of

the amount in controversy, may obtain a review

of such decision by a civil action commenced

within sixty days after the mailing to him of

notice of such decision or within such further
time as the Commissioner of Social Security may
allow. :

The Social Security Administration sets forth the
administrative procedures under the Act by which a
claimant may obtain a “final decision” of the Commis-
sioner. Following an initial determination on a claim, a
dissatisfied claimant may file a Request for Reconsidera-
tion. 20 C.F.R. secs. 404.907-909. After reconsideration, the

App. 31

claimant may then request a hearing before an Adminis-
trative Law Judge. 20 C.F.R. secs. 404.929-33.

The Administrative law Judge may grant or dismiss a
request for a hearing. 20 C.F.R. 404.957. A dismissal is
final and binding, unless vacated by the Appeals Council
of the Social Security Administration, either on its own
motion or upon request by the claimant, within 60 days
after the order of dismissal is issued. 20 C.F.R. sec.
404.959. If a hearing is granted, the claimant may request
that the Appeals Council review the decision of the
Administrative Law Judge. The request for review must
be made in writing within 60 days from the date of
receipt of notice of the decision. 20 C.F.R. sec. 404.968(a).
Upon written request, the Appeals Council may extend
this time for good cause. 20 C.F.R. sec. 404.968(b).

Thus, there are two applicable situations which
would constitute a final and binding decision by the
administration in this case: (1) if thé Appeals Council
declines review of a decision made after a hearing; or (2)
if the Appeals Council grants a request for review and
renders a decision thereon. 20 C.F.R. sec. 404.955. Only
after a request is made to the Appeals Council to review
the decision of the Administrative Law Judge and such
request has been acted upon, can there be a “final deci-
sion” of the Commissioner subject to judicial review
within the meaning of section 205(g) of the Act. 20 C.F.R.
sec. 404.981.

Here, the plaintiff submitted three applications for
disability insurance benefits. The plaintiff does not take
issue with the administration’s decision on his first appli-
cation. On the second application, Judge Yim found that

Se ee

App. 32

the plaintiff was not under a disability. On October 2,
1974, the Appeals Council denied a Request for Review,
which then became the administratior’s final decision.
The plaintiff had 60 days from the date he received notice
of the decision to seek judicial review. Because the plain-
tiff failed to file a complaint within the specified time
period, he is barred from seeking judicial review of that

decision.

On Wenzel’s third and final application, the adminis-
tration made the initial determination that he did not
meet the earnings requirement under the Social Security
Act. Although the plaintiff was advised of the right to file
a Request for Reconsideration at the time the administra-
tion denied his application, he failed to do so. Thus, there
is no “final decision” of the Commissioner. Because the
plaintiff failed to exhaust his administrative remedies,
this court is without jurisdiction to review the adminis-
tration’s decision. Hoye v. Sullivan, 985 F.2d 990, 991 (9th
Cir. 1992).

The plaintiff also seeks judicial review of his petition |
to re-open his case or, in the alternative, an extension of
time within which to file a court action. In an order, dated
March 6, 1996, the Appeals Council denied both of plain- °
tiff’s requests. The plaintiff cannot seek judicial review of

this decision. In Califano v. Sanders, the Supreme Court
held “an interpretation that would allow a claimant judi-
cial review simply by filing - and being denied - a
petition to re-open his claim would frustrate the congres-
sional purpose, plainly evidenced in section 205(g), to
impose a 60-day limitation upon judicial review of the

Secretary's final decision denying the initial claim for
benefits.” 430 U.S. 899, 108.

App. 33

Accordingly, the defendant’s motion to dismiss is
granted.

It is so ORDERED.

Dated this 6th day of February, 1998.

/s/ Howard D. McKibben
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

ye ee ta eta

te he Daa

App. 34

DATE FILED: 11/15/96 N/S: 863 DISTRICT:
0978 ILLEGIBLE

DATE ILLEGIBLE: / / J: 2 ORD: 1
PD: 7 DD: 7 R23: 4 DMND: ILLEGIBLE

I. CAUSE

42 405 (G) - AN ABUSE OF DISCRETION BY THE
DEFENDANT

NOT EXEMPT FROM FRCP 16(b)

FILING FEES PAID - RECEIPT 14496

Il. UPPER ATTORNEY

WENZEL, ROBERT M. Plaintiff

ROBERT M WENZEL - PRO SE
1162 Spanish Armada Road

Las Vegas, NV 89123

(702) 896-2431

Ill. LOWER ATTORNEY

CHATER, SHIRLEY S Defendant

KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
United States Attorney
District of Nevada
Assistant United States A
702 East Bridger, 8th Floor
Las Vegas, NV 89101

(702) 388-6336

DATE NR
11-15-96 1

1/15/97 2

1/24/97 3

2/10/97 4

2/24/97 5
3/6/97 6
3/14/97 7
3/25/97 8
Illegible
4/21/97 9
4/24/97 -

09/17/97 10

- 11

eee

App. 35

PROCEEDINGS
COMPLAINT. fj
SUMMONS issd P(1). (AT) fj
Filing fees paid. fj
JS-5 (AT) ff

STATEMENT of the entry of default as to
obo P. jr

STIPULATION/ORDER(LRL) ORD that D
has to 3/24/97 to fl an answr or resp
pldng. (AT) Cps dist. jr

ORDER (HDM) ORD that Ps mtn (#2) is
denied. P is granted lv to effect propr srvc.
(AT) Cps dist. jr

SERVICE obo P- re U.S. Atty-LV,NV serv
serv 2/19/97. efm

MOTION for remand obo D. (m) (AT) jr
(DISPO: resp #7 granted Illegible

RESPONSE to Mtn for remand obo P. (nss)
(AT) jr

AFFIDAVIT of service re #7 obo P. jr

ORDER (HDM) ORD that the mtn of US
to remand (#6) is granted purs to U.S.C.
§ 205 (9). (AT) Cps dist. jr (EOD 4/24/97)
JS-6. (AT) jr

MOTION to dism obo D. (m) (AT) 1g resp
#16B

MOTION to vacat Ord #9 & reopn civil
actn obo D. (m) (AT) 1g

App. 36

10/23/97 - sub to mdm #I1C illegible

11/4/97 12 ORDER(HDM) ORD that the crts ord of
4/24/97 remanding this actn (#9) is
vacated upon petn of the D. The D has fld
a mtn to dism (#11). The P shall have to
11/20/97 to fl a resp to the mtn. (AT) Cps
dist. jr

tA#}4rt{DISPO: Stricken per #15

- +4 RESPONSE+e-Ds-mtn-te-dism+16}- obe-P
(r33}-+At-r Stricken per #15
2/8/97, 15 ORDER STRIKING FILE DDOCUMENT
[sic] #13 & #14(LRL) ORD that the clk
shall strike the ref doc’s #13 & #14 frm the
rec, notify cnsl of same & retain doc’s in
the official file. (AT) Cps dist. jr

?/14/97 16 AFFIDAVIT/SERVICE re Ps respnse of
11/14/97 & mtn of 11/14/ mid w/green
receipts obo P. efm

7/2/97 17 RECEIPT (yellow) serv on A.G., Wash.
DOC 11/19/97 (no explanation as to what
was served. efim

7/1/97, 18 ORDER(LRL) ORD that this crt’s ord
(#15) striking Ps flngs #13 & #14 because
they were mot accompanied by proof of
service is hereby rescinded. Ps mtn (#14) &
resp #14 shall be deemed fld as of
11/24/97. (AT) Cps dsit. jr

OF DATE ORDER***

?/24/97 16A MOTION to render a decsn obo P. (m)
(AT) jr (DISPO:

16B RESPONSE to Ds mtn to dism (#10) obo P.
(m) (AT) jr

?/8-97

?/0-97
?/0/97
2/2/98

2/4/98

2/2/98

?/?/98

ti es ROE ota ae adaaa aden

19

24

App. 37

RECEIPT (yellow) serv on Appeals Coun-
cil, Falls Church, VA 11-17-97 (no explana-
tion as to what was served. fj

JS-5 (AT) fj
Illegible

ORDER(HDM) ORD that Ds mtn to dism
(#10) is granted. (AT) Cps dist. jr (EOD
2/24/98)

IUDGMENT(LSW/jr) ORDER AND
ADJUDGED THAT os mtn to dism is

granted and judgmnt is entered in favor of
D. (AT) Cps dist. jr (EOD 2/24/98)

JS__6. (AT) jr
NOTICE/APPEAL re #20 obo P. (AT) jr
FEES PAID - RECEIPT #23898. jr

LETTER(COPY) to Clk of C/A frm D/C
Clk re notc/appeal. Orig to C/A w/cpy
dkt sht, & cpy dkt sht, to cnsl. (AT) jr

DOCKET FEE PAYMENT NOTIFICA-
TION FOR(COPY) C/A & D/C/ fees pd.
Orig to C/A. jr

CERTIFICATE OF RECORD (COPY) Rec
complete for appeal. Orig to C/A. Cps
dist. jr

LETTER(COPY) to Clk C/A frm Clk D/C
re cert/rec & rec reten. Orig to C/A cpys
to cv cnsl w/cpy dkt sht, desig form. (AT)
jr

DOCKET SHEET(CC) Clks rec retained by
D/C. jr

App. 38°

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT M.
WENZEL,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
V.

KENNETH S.

APFEL, Commissioner

of the Social
Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee

'

|
|
|

No. 98-15857

D.C. No.
CV-96-01063-HDM

MEMORANDUM*
(Filed Oct. 26, 1998)

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Nevada
Howard D. McKibben, District Judge, Presiding

Submitted October 20, 1998**
Before: T.G. NELSON, KLEINFELD, and HAWKINS,

Circuit Judges.

Robert M. Wenzel appeals pro se the district court's
dismissal for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction of his

appeal from the Commissioner’s denial of Wenzel’s Sep-
tember 1972 application for disability benefits and his
motion to reopen his disability application for that year.

*This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not
be cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as may be

provided by 9th Cir. R. 36-3.

**The panel unanimously finds this case suitable for decision
without oral argument. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a); 9th Cir. R. 34-4.

|

ennai

App. 39

We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. We
review de novo, see Evans v. Chater, 110 F.3d 1480, 1481
(9th Cir. 1997), and we affirm.

Because Wenzel’s attempt to seek judicial review of
the Commissioner’s denial of his September 1972 applica-
tion for disability benefits was untimely, the district court
properly concluded that it lacked subject-matter jurisdic-
tion over this claim. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

Because the Commissioner’s denial of Wenzel’s

motion to reopen his 1972 application for benefits was not

a final reviewable order under § 405(), the district court

| also correctly dismissed this claim. See Evans, 110 F.3d at

| 1482. Moreover, Wenzel failed to raise a colorable consti-

tutional claim to enable the district court to review the

denial of his motion to reopen. See Hoye v. Sullivan, 985

F.2d 990, 991-92 (9th Cir. 1993) (per curiam); cf. Evans, 110

F.3d at 1482-84 (concluding that appellant’s due process

claim, which asserted that he had been denied a meaning-

| ful opportunity to be heard, conferred jurisdiction upon
the district court to address this claim).

AFFIRMED.'

' To the extent that Wenzel contends that the district court
erred by dismissing his appeal from the Commissioner's denial
of his August 1988 application for disability benefits, we reject
this contention because Wenzel failed to exhaust his
administrative remedies with respect to this claim. See Hoye, 985
F.2d at 991.

App. 40

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT M ) No. 98-15857
WENZEL, ) DC#
Plaintiff-Appellant, CV-96-01063-HDM
7 District of Nevada
| (Las Vegas)
KENNETH S. ) aaa
APFEL, Commissioner, )
) tiled Fe 99
Defendant-Appellee. ) (Filed Feb. 8, 1999)
ES a Oe

Before: T.G. NELSON, KLEINFELD, and HAWKINS,

Circuit Judges.

rhe panel has voted to deny appellant's petition for
rehearing and to reject the suggestion for rehearing en

banc

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for
rehearing en banc, and no judge has requested a vote on
whether to rehear the matter en banc. See Fed. R. App. P.
35.

Che petition for rehearing is denied, and the sugges-
tion for rehearing en banc is rejected. No further filings

will be accepted in this closed appeal.

App. 41

The Constitution of the United States
Amendment 5

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or other-
wise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indict-
ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land
or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in
time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of
life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to
be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.

App. 42

42 United States Code
Section 405(g)

Any individual, after any final decision of the Secretary
made after a hearing to which he was a party, irrespective
of the amount in controversy, may obtain a review of
such decision by a civil action commenced within sixty
days after the mailing to him of notice of such decision or
within such further time as the Secretary may allow. Such
action shall be brought in the district court of the United
States for the judicial district in which the plaintiff
resides, or has his principal place of business, or, if he
does not reside or have his principal place of business
within any such judicial district in the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia. As part of his
answer the Secretary shall file a certified copy of the
transcript of the record imcluding the evidence upon
which the findings and decision complained of are based.
The court shall have power to enter, upon the pleadings
and transcript of the record, a judgment affirming, mod-
ifying, or reversing the decision of the Secretary, with or
without remanding the cause for a rehearing. The find-
ings of the Secretary as to any fact, if supported by
substantial evidence, shall be conclusive, and where a
claim has been denied by the Secretary or a decision is
rendered under subsection (b) of this section which is
adverse to an individual who was a party to the hearing
before the Secretary, because of failure of the claimant or
such individual to submit proof in conformity with any
regulation prescribed under subsection (a) of this section,
the court shall review only the question of conformity
with such regulations and the validity of such regula-
tions. The court may, on motion of the Secretary made for

App. 43

good cause shown before he files his answer, remand the
case to the Secretary for further action by the Secretary,
and it may at any time order additional evidence to be
taken before the Secretary, but only upon a showing that
there is new evidence which is material and that there is
good cause for the failure to incorporate such evidence
into the record in a prior proceeding; and the Secretary
shall, after the case is remanded, and after hearing such
additional evidence if so ordered, modify or affirm his
findings of fact or his decision, or both, and shall file with
the court any such additional and modified findings of
fact and decision, and a transcript of the additional
record and testimony upon which his action in modifying
or affirming was based. Such additional or modified find-
ings of fact and decision shall be reviewable only to the
extent provided for review of the original findings of fact
and decision. The judgment of the court shall be final
except that it shall be subject to review in the same
manner as a judgment in other civil actions. Any action
instituted in accordance with this subsection shall survive
notwithstanding any change in the person occupying the
office of Secretary or any vacancy in such office.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ROBERT MARSHALL WENZEL, Petitioner,
v.

Commissioner of Social Security
KENNETH STEVEN APFEL, Respondent

APPENDIX B

Defendant Exhibit 5 of Appendix B was submitted
with Motion to dismiss of September 17, 1997 in:

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA
ROBERT M. WENZEL, Plaintiff,

v

JOHN J. CALLAHAN, Acting Commissioner
of Social Security, Defendant.

No. CV-S-96-01063-HDM(LRL)

ri

App. 45

APPENDIX B INDEX

Stipulation for Extension of Time to Answer ...App. 46
eee TOF GUID oo cov vsccnccescscccesetssens App. 48

Motion to dismiss (incorporating Points and
Authorities Statement of Facts, and Declaration
Se te ED eed cuviecscouuceass ee Oe

Reconstruction of Disability Report (Def. Ex. 5)... App. 70

Construction of Supplemental Security Income

ESE R AE IE EE EEE ee App. 83
Motion to vacate .......... ag Wah eaee App. 85
eal te ee er Leen de App. 87

App. 46

KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
United States Attorney

District of Nevada -
CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
Assistant United States Attorney
702 East Bridger, 8th Floor

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
Telephone: (702) 388-6336

Attorneys for Federal Defendant
Shirley S. Chater

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

CHATER, Commissioner

of Social Security, (Filed Jan. 24, 1997)

Defendant.

-o00-
ROBERT M. ) CV-S-96-01063-
WENZEL, ) HDM-(LRL)
SSN 264-50-3342 STIPULATION FOR
Plaintiff, ) EXTENSION OF
; ) TIME TO
) ANSWER
SHIRLEY S. (First Request)
)
)
)
)

IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED, by and between the
parties, Robert M. Wenzel, in proper person, and Carlos
A. Gonzalez, Assistant United States Attorney, counsel
for Defendant Shirley S. Chater, Commissioner of Social
Security, that the Defendant, Shirley S. Chater, Commis-
sioner of Social Security, shall have an additional sixty
days (60), to and including March 24, 1997, to file an
Answer or responsive pleading herein.

i eee le

_—

App. 47

This extension of time is sought due to a delay in the
preparation of the Administrative Records and suggested
Answer to the Complaint from the Social Security
Administration, Answer Staff, Falls Church, Virginia. At
the present time, Defendant’s deadline to answer or oth-
erwise plead to Plaintiff's Complaint is Tuesday, January
21, 1997.

This is the first request for an extension of time to file
an answer or responsive pleading herein.

DATED this 16th day of January, 1997.

KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
United States Attorney

/s/ Robert M. Wenzel
ROBERT M. WENZEL
In Pro Per

/s/ Carlos A. Gonzalez
CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
Assistant U.S. Attorney
Counsel for Defendant

IT IS SO ORDERED.

-/s/ Megible
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

DATED: 1/24/97

aa Re Ce RE RE eS ET NU Eo. a

App. 48

KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
United States Attorney

District of Nevada

“CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
Assistant United States Attorney
702 East Bridger, 8th Floor

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
Telephone: (702) 388-6336

Attorneys for Defendant

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA
-o00-
ROBERT M. WENZEL,
SSN: 264-50-3342
Plaintiff,

CV-S-96-01063-HDM-(LRL)

)
) MOTION FOR
} REMAND
¥. )
JOHN J. CALLAHAN,! |)
Commissioner of Social )
Security,
)
)

Defendant.

COMES NOW the United States of America, by and
through its attorneys, Kathryn E. Landreth, United States

' President Clinton appointed John J. Callahan to serve as |
Acting Commission [sic] of Social Security, effective March 1, |
1997, to succeed Shirley S. Chater. Pursuant to Rule 25(d)(1) of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, John J. Callahan should be
substituted, therefore, for Shirley S. Chater, as the defendant in
this suit. No further action need to be taken to continue this suit
by reason of the last sentence of § 205(g) of the Social Security
Act. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

App. 49

Attorney for the District of Nevada, and Carlos A.
Gonzales, Assistant United States Attorney, and repre-
senting John J. Callahan, Commissioner of Social Security,
moves this Honorable Court for an order for remand.

This Motion is based on the letter received by this
office from the Office of the General Counsel, Social
Security, on Thursday, March 6, 1997, attached hereto and
incorporated herein as Exhibit 1.

| DATED this 6th day of March, 1997.

Respectfully submitted,

: KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
United States Attorney

/s/ Carlos A. Gonzalez
CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
Assistant United States Attorney

App. 50

[SEAL]
SOCIAL SECURITY
Office of the General Counsel

March 6, 1997

Answer Staff

5107 Leesburg Pike

Room 1704 Skyline Tower
Falls Church, VA 22041-3255.
(703) 305-0551

(703) 305-1271 (FAX)

Honorable Kathryn E. Landreth
United States Attorney

Post Office Box 16030

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Re: Robert Wenzel v. Callahan!
(NV, Civil CV-S-96-01063-
HDM(LRL))

(SSN: 264-50-3342)
(GC:SS:K. Vazquez)

Dear Ms. Landreth:

The Appeals Council wishes to take further administra-
tive action in this case. Therefore, we request that you file
a motion to remand this case to the defendant for further
administrative action pursuant to sentence 6 of section

' President Clinton appointed John J. Callahan to serve as
Acting Commissioner of Social Security, effective March 1, 1997,
to succeed Shirley S. Chater. Pursuant to Rule 25(d)(1) of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, John J. Callahan should be
substituted, therefore, for Shirley S. Chater, as the defendant in
this suit. No further action need be taken to continue this suit by
reason of the last sentence of section 205(g) of the Social Security
Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

App. 51

205(g) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 405(g) which
provides that:

“*** The court may, on motion of the commis-
sioner made for good cause shown before he
files his answer, remand the case to the Commis-
sioner for further action by the Commis-
sioner ** * ”

See Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501 U.S. 89, 101 n.2 (1991);
Shalala v. Schafer, 113 S.Ct. 2625, 2629 n.2 (1993).

The joint conference committee of Congress in reporting
upon the Social Security Disability Amendments of 1980
(to the Social Security Act) stated that in some cases
procedural difficulties, such as an inaudible hearing tape
or a lost file, necessitate a request for remand by the
Commissioner. The intent of the committee was that such
procedural defects be considered “good cause” for
remand. The committee states:

“* * * Such a situation is an example of what
could be considered ‘good cause’ for remand.
Where, for example, the tape recording of the
claimant’s oral hearing is lost or inaudible, or
cannot otherwise be transcribed, or where the
claimant's files cannot be located or are incom-
plete, good cause would exist to remand the
claim to the Commissioner for appropriate
action to produce a record * * * ” (H.R. Rep. No.
96-944, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 59 (1980)).

We have now been informed by the Office of Hearings
and Appeals that the Appeals Council seeks voluntary
remand to locate the missing claim file. If unable to locate

App. 52

within a reasonable amount of time, procedures to recon-
struct the missing file will be initiated. Therefore, good
cause exists to support this request for remand.

The Answer Section of the Office of General Counsel,
located in Falls Church, Virginia is responsible for follow-
ing up to be sure that a remand order is entered by the
Court or that comments are provided to your office if a
plaintiff files objections to the motion to dismiss. There-
fore, please be sure to promptly forward a copy of any order or
pleading filed with regard to this motion to remand (preferably
by fax) to the Answer Section in Falls Church, Virginia.

Sincerely yours,

By /s/ Peter S. Krynski /kev
Peter S. Krynski
Supervisory Attorney

cc: Region IX
GS:SS:K. Vazquez

App. 53

KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
United States Attorney

District of Nevada

CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
Assistant United States Attorney
701 East Bridger, 8th Floor

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
Telephone: (702) 388-6336

Attorneys for Defendant
Social Security Administration

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEVADA

Security Administration,

Defendant.

-oO00-
ROBERT WENZEL, ) CV-S-96-01063-
SSN: 264-50-3342 ) | DWH-(LRL)
—o ) DEFENDANT'S
= ) MOTION TO
JOHN J. CALLAHAN, Acting ) DISMISS
Commissioner of Social ) PLAINTIFF'S
) COMPLAINT
)
)
)

COMES NOW, Defendant, John J. Callahan, Acting
Commissioner of Social Security Administration, by and
through his attorneys, Kathryn E. Landreth, United States
Attorney for the District of Nevada, and Carlos A.
Gonzalez, Assistant United States Attorney, and files
Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Plaintiff's Complaint.

App. 54

This Motion is based on the Points and Authorities
attached hereto and incorporated herein.

DATED this 17th day of September, 1997.

Respectfully submitted,

KATHRYN E. LANDRETH
United States Attorney

/s/ Carlos A. Gonzalez
CARLOS A. GONZALEZ
Assistant U.S. Attorney

App. 55

* * *

POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

Statement of Facts

This is an action brought by Plaintiff for judicial
review of the denial of his claim for benefits under Title II
of the Social Security Act (hereinafter referred to as the
Act). The Plaintiff has failed to exhaust his administrative
remedies with respect to his claim for benefits and, there-
fore, there has been no “final decision” of the Commis-
sioner as contemplated by Section 205(g) of the Act, 42
U.S.C. § 405(g). Thus, this Court is without jurisdiction
over the subject matter of the action.

The declaration of the office of Hearings and
Appeals, Social Security Administration, attached hereto,
sets forth the procedural history in this matter.

The Social Security Administration Instructions Man-
ual System sets forth the current policy regarding the
storage and destruction of inactive claim folders. The
current instructions regarding the storage and destruc-
tion of inactive disability claim files are contained in
§ DIB-01.01.00 (Exhibit 1 of Declaration).

Requests for Records Disposition Authority,
approved on February 3, 1988, revised the retention
period to five years after the event date the inactive claim
was denied (disallowed) or terminated. Any inactive
claim file which, having already served the requisite five-
year retention period, has been destroyed (Exhibit 2 of
Declaration.

The Plaintiff filed an application for disability insur-
ance benefits in October 1968, and was found under a

App. 56

disability for the period October 1968 through May 1969
{Exhibit 10 of Declaration).

Plaintiff filed an application for disability insurance
benefits on September 13, 1972. This claim was denied
initially and upon reconsideration. On May 21, 1974, an
Administrative Law Judge issued a decision finding that
the Plaintiff is not under a disability (Exhibit 3 of Declara-
tion (pages 7ff are unavailable)). On October 2, 1974, the
Appeals Council denied Plaintiff's request for review of
that decision. Although advised of the right to commence
a civil action within 60 days of receipt of the notice, such
action was not commenced (Exhibit 4 of Declaration).

On August 2, 1988, Plaintiff filed his third application
for disability insurance benefits, alleging onset of disabil-
ity commencing March 12, 1980 (Exhibit 5 of Declaration).
This application was denied by notice dated August 14,
1988. Although advised of the right to request recon-
sideration of the determination within 60 days of receipt
of the notice, such request was not made. Plaintiff was
also advised by notice dated June 27, 1988, that he is
ineligible for supplemental security income benefits
(Exhibit 6 of Declaration).

Plaintiff sent the Social Security Administration a
letter concerning Social Security benefits. By letter dated
July 13, 1992, Plaintiff was advised that he last met the
insured status requirements of the Act on March 31, 1977,
and there is no basis for changing the determination
dated August 14, 1988, denying Plaintiff’s claim for dis-
ability insurance benefits (Exhibit 7 of Declaration). On
August 27, 1992, after a complete investigation of Plain-
tiff’s earnings record, it was affirmed that insured status

One *

App. 57

was last met on March 31, 1977. Plaintiff's prior period of
disability, and his earnings for 1978, 1979, and 1980 did
not extend the date last insured (Exhibit 8 of Declaration).

Plaintiff submitted a letter concerning his eligibility
to receive disability insurance benefits. In a letter dated
September 4, 1992, Plaintiff was again advised that there
is no basis for reopening the prior determinations made
in his case (Exhibit 9 of Declaration). On January 4, 1993,
Plaintiff inquired about his claim. By letter dated April 1,
1993, Plaintiff was provided a narrative history of his
case, an explanation of the calculation of his date last
insured, and three regulatory bases for reopening prior
determinations (Exhibit 10 of Declaration). Plaintiff
requested reopening of the Administrative Law Judge’s
decision and an extension of time in which to file a civil
action. On March 6, 1996, the Appeals Council issued an
order denying Plaintiff's request for an extension of time
in which to commence a civil action, as well as Plaintiff's
request for reopening (Exhibit 11 of Declaration). In
Plaintiff’s letter dated March 18, 1996, he again requested
reopening and an extension of time. By letter dated April
15, 1996, the Appeals Council affirmed its decision to
deny Plaintiff's requests (Exhibit 12 of Declaration).

On November 15, 1996, Plaintiff commenced a civil
action in the United States District Court for the District
of Nevada.

Judicial review of cases arising under Title II of the
Social Security Act is provided in, and expressly limited
by, § 205(g) and (h) of the Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) and (h).
The remedy provided therein is exclusive. It is well set-
tled that the United States is immune from suit except as

SS

App. 58

it specifically consents to be sued and that the terms of
such consent define the jurisdiction of any court in which
such suit properly can be brought. United States v. Sher-
wood, 312 U.S. 584 (1941). Where a right is a creature of
statute, herein the right to sue, and the statute provides a
special remedy, as Section 205(g), infra, provides, that
remedy is exclusive. United States v. Babcock, 250 U.S. 328

(1919).

Section 205(g) reads in pertinent part as follows:

Any individual, after any final decision of the
Commissioner made after a hearing to which he
_ Was a party, irrespective of the amount in con-
troversy, may obtain a review of such decision
by a civil action commenced within sixty days
after the mailing to him of notice of such deci-
sion or within such further time as the Commis-
sioner may allow. ... As part of his answer the
Commissioner shall file a certified copy of the
transcript of the record including the evidence
upon which the findings and decision com-
plained of are based. The court shall have power
to enter, upon the pleadings and transcript of
the record, a judgment affirming, modifying or
reversing the decision of the Commissioner with
or without remanding the case for a rehearing.
The findings of the Commissioner as to any fact,
if supported by substantial evidence, shall be
concluding... .

Section 205(h) reads in pertinent part as follows: .

... No findings of fact or decision of the Com-
missioner shall be reviewed by any person, tri-
bunal, or governmental agency except as herein
provided. No action against the United States,
the Commissione

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0535%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
