# Opposition Brief — Quintero v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0524%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 963

## Text

No. 99-39 Ville OF THO BLERM

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

FRANK QUINTERO, JR., PETITIONER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
JAMES K. ROBINSON
Assistant Attorney General
JOSEPH C, WYDERKO
Attorney

Departine nt of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20580-0001

(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, in applying the collateral estoppel prin-
ciple of double jeopardy analysis, a court seeking to
identify the basis for the jury’s acquittal on one count
may draw inferences from the jury’s inability to agree
on a verdict on another count containing the same ele-
ment.

2. Whether, consistent with the Constitution and res
judicata principles, when a jury is unable to reach a
verdict on particular counts, the government may ob-
tain a superseding indictment that adds new counts
that arise out of the same criminal conduct.

(I)

EE

ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SEP TIIIIIION stistininsescseisnsnnnsasdcinsetecmnasrimmmnsemmnesnstemmmmanmeanenertt 1
ITIL sdeitaiteniinanitatuamssemmanndipsbveetaneeneniviniampuremetsengmeevanseseseee l
Ea l
I laid aciacheditdiledceabeirinesdtehbivaphineedmiantmieomneiuanesedmeneaeet 7
STITT tidusitetahiatdntennutestaseptantenitioneessscsprereqperineanenrensnesserecsccesteren 20
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436 (1970) ......ccccccccesccessererereees 8,9
Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932) .......... 16
Brown ¥. Ohio, 482 U.S. 161 (1977) ...ccccccvsccssccsesceossesseeerens 16, 17
Dowling v. United States, 493 U.S. 342 (1990) ........... 8, 10, 12
Grady v. Corbin, 495 U.S. 508 (1990) .......cccccccesseeeeeeeeneees 17
Jeffers v. United States, 432 U.S. 137 (1977) ...cccccccceceeees 20
National Collegiate Athletic Ass'n v. Smith,
es ils, SE OE redasetnecersnnsceneeusecsrnsreresotsonseesemnenceceseeses 16
Rashad vy. Burt, 108 F.3d 677 (6th Cir. 1997),
cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1075 (1998) .....ccccccscocesscessseoreceseoseeees 17, 18
Rivet v. Regions Bank, 522 U.S. 470 (1998) ........ccccceeeeees 20
Sealfon v. United States, 332 U.S. 575 (1948) «0... 19
Standefer v. United States, 447 U.S. 10 (1980) ........cccceee 10
United States v. Aguilar-Aranceta, 957 F.2d 18
(1st Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 834 (1992) ....ccccccccsessseeen 10-11
United States v. Bailin, 977 F.2d 270 (7th Cir.
ee adiemaiaiine 10, 12, 13, 20
United States v. Corley, 824 F.2d 931 (11th Cir.
Ee 13
United States v. Deerman, 837 F.2d 684 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 856 (1988) .........ccccssssessersrseeesssesees 1]
United States v. Dixon, 509 U.S. 688 (1993) .......ccccceeeeees 16,17
United States v. Felix, 503 U.S. 378 (1992) .....cccccceseeeeees 12
United States v. Forman, 180 F.3d 766 (6th Cir.
STIETED eucahentindadiiniaieesbbettieentneeretetenterenpererememsensenensternsernenmmensenaeeses 18

(III)

IV
Cases—Continued: Page
United States v. Frazier, 880 F.2d 878 (6th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1083 (1990) .......ceeseseeneesees 10, 14
United States v. Maza, 983 F.2d 1004 (11th Cir.
| | cee NnCInnINe 18
United States v. Mespoulede, 597 F.2d 329 (2d Cir.
a en 12
United States v. Oppenheimer, 242 U.S. 85 (1916) .......... 19
United States v. Powell, 469 U.S. 56 (1984) .....-cccceeeeeees 10
United States v. Reed, 980 F.2d 1568 (11th Cir.),
cert. denied, 509 U.S. 9B2 (19GB) ....cccccececeeceeeeeeneenerenernnneees is
United States v. Romeo, 114 F.3d 141 (9th Cir.
DOT) ..cccccovcccccecescccsccccccecccseccccssssscrsscesoossscsosrsssossoosssonsesoessoosaess 15
United States v. Shenberg, 89 F.3d 1461 (11th Cir.
1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1117 (1997) ....-eccceceesenenerenenes 13
United States v. White, 936 F.2d 1326 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 502 U.S. G42 (1991) ...ccccccceeseeeeereeeeseeernsennencnes 1]
United States v. Williams, 155 F.3d 418 (4th Cir.),
cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 626 (1998) ......ccccccceeeeeeeneenseneneernenens 1s
Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S. 901 (1957) ........... 13
Constitution and Statutes:
U.S. Const.:
Amend. V:
Double Jeopardy Clause .......ssseseeee 2,5, 6,8, 16, 17, 18
Due Process Clause .......ccccccccssecsorssscssrsessessenssessesnessrsnsrnees 16
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act,
18 U.S.C. 1961 et seq:
1B U.S.C. 19B1(1) .-.cccccocccocccesesessseescovssovssovsesesseevesossresssouees 13
BS U.S.C. 19B1(B) ...ccrcceccccccoccvecsseccseovesessvesvesevessessesenessesers 13
18 U.S.C. 1956 (aC) ...cccccccccsccvccsssesseceseeecsesssceeesneres 2, 3, 4, 6, 7,8,9
18 U.S.C. 1956(a) 1 (ADV) ...cccceccccecersereeeeeereeeneseeeneennenensnensenenens 2,4
18 U.S.C. 1956 (aK ECB) oo... ccccccceserecsereesensennensseennssnensnennennenens 2,4
18 U.S.C. 195G6(a)(2) ...ccccccccccsscesceccssvssseresenesenssnssvsesssnsensensnnennes 2,4
18 U.S.C. 1956(aM 2) A) .....ccccesccecsesesersersersenesseseesenerseeneenenens 3,4
18 U.S.C. 1956a)(2)( BG) .....ccccsccccccreesereeeeesneneneseeneseeneenenennenens 3
18 U.S.C. 1956) ....cccccccscesceccescercessscsesssseeresenseonserssnensesseensnsesees 2,3
BS U.S.C. GBT .ccececreccseccccsesecsscnsersessorsersessesecovovernnonsossevsscseseessenes 2, 4,5

Statutes—Continued: Page

LE Cee | | | 6
D1 U.S.C. BAG caeccereeseernecoveseesenseoornnnrernnnernnesennsnennsnnesnnnneeeet 2
SL. 2,3

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 99-39
FRANK QUINTERO, JR., PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-
A13) is reported at 165 F.3d 831. The opinion of the
district court (Pet. App. C1-C16) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 22, 1999. A petition for rehearing was denied
on April 2, 1999 (Pet. App. B1-B2). The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on July 1, 1999. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT
A grand jury sitting in the Southern District of
Florida returned a third superseding indictment charg-
ing petitioner with conspiracy to import cocaine, in

(1)

2

violation of 21 U.S.C. 963; conspiracy to engage in
money laundering, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1956(h);
eight counts of money laundering, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 1956(a)(1)(B)(i); six counts of money laundering,
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1)(A)(i); and one count
of money laundering, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1957.
Petitioner moved to dismiss the indictment on the
ground, inter alia, that the collateral estoppel aspect of
the Fifth Amendment’s Double Jeopardy Clause barred
the prosecution. The district court granted the motion
in part and denied it in part. Pet. App. C1-C15. On
cross-appeals by petitioner and the government, the
court of appeals affirmed in part, vacated in part, and
remanded for further proceedings. /d. at Al-A13.

1. In December 1995, the grand jury returned a
second superseding indictment charging petitioner and
13 co-defendants with conspiracy to import and distrib-
ute cocaine and to launder the proceeds through a
series of financial transactions. The indictment alleged
that petitioner, a criminal defense attorney, assisted
the drug traffickers by forming front corporations,
opening Swiss bank accounts for transfers of money to
and from the United States, and traveling to Switzer-
land to make deposits into those accounts. Pet. App.
A2-A3; id. at C2.

Count 2 charged petitioner with conspiracy to import
cocaine, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 963, and Count 3
charged him with conspiracy to possess cocaine with
intent to distribute it, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 846.
Count 18 charged him with conspiracy to violate three
substantive provisions of the money-laundering stat-
utes: Count 18(a) alleged that he conspired to violate 18
U.S.C. 1956(a)(1), Count 18(b) alleged that he conspired
to violate 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(2), and Count 18(c) alleged
that he conspired to violate 18 U.S.C. 1957. He was also

el

3

charged with seven substantive counts of money laun-
dering (Counts 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, and 26), in violation
of 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1). Pet. App. A3.

Petitioner stood trial alone. The jury acquitted him
on Counts 3, 18(a), and 21 through 26. After the jury
failed to reach a verdict on Counts 2, 1&(b), 18(c), and
19, the district court declared a mistrial as to those
counts. Pet. App. A3.

Petitioner moved for a judgment of acquittal on each
of the mistried counts. The district court granted the
motion with respect to Count 2, ruling that the govern-
ment had failed to prove that petitioner knowingly
participated in the conspiracy to import cocaine. The
court denied the motion with respect to the money-
laundering conspiracies charged in Counts 18(b) and
18(c) and the substantive money-laundering offense
charged in Count 19. Pet. App. A3-A4; id. at C2.

2. In May 1997, the grand jury returned a third
superseding indictment against petitioner. Pet. App.
A4; id. at C3.

Count 2 of the third superseding indictment charged
petitioner with conspiracy to import cocaine, in vio-
lation of 21 U.S.C. 963. Count 18, which charged peti-
tioner under 18 U.S.C. 1956(h) with conspiracy to
engage in money laundering, was divided into three
parts. Count 1&8(a) alleged that petitioner conspired to
violate 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(2)(A), which prohibits trans-
porting funds out of the United States with the intent
to promote an unlawful activity. Count 1&8(b) alleged
that petitioner conspired to violate 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(2)
(B)G), which prohibits transporting funds out of the
United States, knowing that the funds are the proceeds
of unlawful activity and that the transportation is
designed to conceal the nature, location, source, owner-
ship, or control of the funds. Count 18(c) alleged that

4

petitioner conspired to violate 18 U.S.C. 1957, which
prohibits “knowingly engag|ing] * * * in a monetary
transaction in criminally derived property of a value
greater than $10,000.” Petitioner was also charged
with 15 substantive counts of money laundering: eight
counts under 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1)(B)(i) (Counts 19, 23,
25, 27, 30, 31, 33, and 34), six counts under 18 U.S.C.
1956(a)(1)(A)(i) (Counts 20, 24, 26, 29, 32, and 35), and
one count under 18 U.S.C. 1957 (Count 28). Pet. App.
A4 & n.5; Third Superseding Indictment 2-5, 16-19, 21-
32.

Petitioner moved to dismiss the indictment on, inter
alia, double jeopardy grounds. The district court held
that the collateral estoppel rule of double jeopardy
analysis did not bar prosecution of the money-launder-
ing conspiracies charged in Counts 18(b) and 18(c) and
the substantive money-laundering offense charged in
Count 19. Pet. App. C3-C4. Noting that those counts
were “based on the identical conduct that formed the
basis of the three charges that resulted in a hung jury”
at the first trial, the court concluded that “[njeither the
Double Jeopardy Clause nor the collateral estoppel doc-
trine prevents the Government from retrying a de-
fendant on mistried charges.” Jd. at C4.'

' Count 18(b) of the second superseding indictment, which
charged a conspiracy to commit money laundering in violation of 18
U.S.C. 1956(a)(2), was divided in the third superseding indictment
into Count 18(a), which charged a conspiracy to violate Section
1956(a)(2)(A), and Count 18(b), which charged a conspiracy to
violate Section 1956(a)(2)(B)\(i). Count 18(c) charged a conspiracy
to violate 18 U.S.C. 1957 in both the second and third superseding
indictments. Count 19 charged the same substantive money laun-
dering offense under 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1) in both the second and
third superseding indictments. Pet. App. A4 & n.5.

5

The district court held that collateral estoppel did,
however, bar prosecution of the money-laundering con-
spiracy charged in Count 18(a) and the substantive
money-laundering offenses charged in Counts 23
through 27 and Counts 29 through 35. Pet. App. C4-C7.
The court reasoned that the jury’s verdicts of acquittal
at the first trial—on one of the three money-laundering
conspiracy charges and six of the seven substantive
money-laundering charges—must have been based on
the jury’s finding that petitioner lacked the requisite
criminal intent. Jd. at C6. The court concluded that,
because “the acquittals in the first trial established for
all time [petitioner’s] lack of intent to break the law
while committing the acts in question,” the government
was precluded from establishing the essential intent
elements of Counts 18(a), 23 through 27, and 29 through
35. Id. at C6-C7.

Petitioner appealed the denial of his motion to dis-
miss Counts 18(b), 18(c), and 19, and the government
cross-appealed the dismissals of Counts 18(a), 25, 27, 30,
31, 33, and 34. Pet. App. A4-A5.

4. The court of appeals affirmed in part, vacated in
part, and remanded for further proceedings. Pet. App.
A1-A13.

First, the court of appeals held, although for different
reasons than those stated by the district court, that the

2 The court dismissed Counts 2, 20, and 28 on other grounds.
The court concluded that Count 2 violated the Double Jeopardy
Clause because it was identical to the previous Count 2 on which
the court had granted a judgment of acquittal. Pet. App. C3 & n.2.
The court concluded that Counts 19 and 20 charged the same
offense twice and dismissed Count 20 as multiplicitous. Jd. at C7-
C9. The court dismissed Count 28 for failure to state an offense
under 18 U.S.C. 1957. Pet. App. C9-C10. The government did not
challenge those rulings on appeal.

6

Double Jeopardy Clause does not bar prosecution of
the money-laundering conspiracies charged in Counts
18(b) and 18(c), and the substantive money-laundering
offense charged in Count 19. Pet. App. A6-A10. The
court did not conclude that the government may always
retry a mistried count, notwithstanding the jury’s ac-
quittals on other counts. But the court found that the
government could retry the three counts on which the
jury failed to reach a verdict in this case, because the
jury (and the district court in granting the judgment of
acquittal on the deadlocked drug conspiracy count) did
not necessarily find an essential element of any of those
counts against the government. /d. at A8-A9.

The court of appeals rejected as “clearly erroneous”
the district court’s determination that the jury ac-
quitted petitioner on certain of the money-laundering
counts because the jury found that “he did not have the
requisite criminal intent.” Pet. App. A9. “If a lack
of intent had been the reason for [petitioner’s] ac-
quittals,” the court explained, “the jury should also
have acquitted him of the substantive money laun-
dering charge (Count 19),” but, instead, the jury failed
to reach a verdict on that count. Jbid. The court
concluded, based on the district court’s jury instruc-
tions and the jury’s failure to reach a verdict on Count
19, that the jury must have had a different reason for
acquitting petitioner of conspiracy to engage in money
laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1958(a)(1)—-namely,
“the government’s failure to prove that [petitioner]
knowingly entered into an agreement to violate
§ 1956(a)(1) as charged in the second superseding
indictment.” Ibid. Accordingly, because an agreement
to violate Section 1956(a)(1) is not an essential element
or an “ultimate fact” of the offenses charged in Counts
18(b), 18(c), and 19 of the third superseding indictment,

7

the court held that the government is not precluded
from prosecuting those counts. Jd. at A10.

Second, the court of appeals held, for similar reasons,
that the government is not precluded from prosecuting
the seven counts charged for the first time in the third
superseding indictment, i.e., the money-laundering con-
spiracy charged in Count 18(a) and the substantive
money-laundering offenses charged in Counts 25, 27, 30,
31, 33, and 34. Pet. App. Al0-A13. The court noted
that the substantive money-laundering offenses in the
third superseding indictment involve different acts
(e.g., different financial transactions) than did the
substantive money-laundering offenses in the second
superseding indictment. “Thus,” the court explained,
“there was no issue or fact in these added counts which
was necessarily decided in [petitioner’s] favor in the
first trial.” Jd. at Al2. The court also concluded that
the jury’s determination that petitioner did not agree
to participate in the conspiracy to violate 18 U.S.C.
1956(a)(1) does not bar his prosecution on the newly
added counts, because such an agreement “is not an
ultimate fact or element of a conspiracy to violate
§ 1956(a)(2)(A),” the conspiracy charged in Count
18(a), or of the substantive Section 1956(a)(1) offenses
charged in the six remaining counts. Pet. App. A13.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 6-13) that the doctrine
of collateral estoppel bars his prosecution for the
money-laundering conspiracies charged in Count 18 and
the substantive money-laundering offenses charged in
Counts 19, 25, 27, 30, 31, 33, and 34 of the third super-
seding indictment. He further argues that the circuits
are in conflict over whether a court may consider a
jury’s failure to reach a verdict on one count in deter-

Ss

mining the basis for the jury’s acquittal on a related
count. Those claims lack merit, and this Court’s review
is not warranted.

a. The Double Jeopardy Clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment incorporates the doctrine of collateral estoppel, or
issue preclusion, which bars a prosecution that would
require the relitigation of ultimate factual issues that
were resolved against the government in an earlier
prosecution. Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436, 445 (1970).
A jury’s acquittal of a defendant on one charge pre-
cludes the government from proceeding against him on
a second charge, however, only if the jury necessarily
found a fact in the defendant’s favor that is an essential
element of the second charge (7.e., a fact that the gov-
ernment must prove beyond a reasonable doubt). See
Ashe, 397 U.S. at 443-445; Dowling v. United States,
493 U.S. 342, 347-348, 350-352 (1990). The defendant
bears the burden of identifying the factual issue neces-
sarily decided at the first trial that precludes a second
trial. Dowling, 493 U.S. at 350-351.

Here, the court of appeals correctly concluded that
the jury at petitioner’s trial on the second superseding
indictment did not necessarily find any fact in peti-
tioner’s favor that is an essential element of the of-
fenses charged in Counts 18, 19, 25, 27, 30, 31, 33, and 34
of the third superseding indictment. The court, rec-
ognizing that the jury had acquitted petitioner on some.
counts but had failed to reach verdicts on other counts,
sought to ascertain the basis for the verdicts of
acquittal. Pet. App. A6, A8-A9, All. The court
determined that “the only logical conclusion which
reconciles the jury’s acquittal on Count 18(a) [con-
spiracy to engage in money laundering, in violation of
18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1)] with the jury’s failure to reach a
verdict on Count 19 [substantive money laundering, in

9

violation of 18 U.S.C. 1956(a)(1)|” was that “the jury
must have based its acquittal on the § 1956(a)(1) con-
spiracy charge (Count 18(a)) on the government’s fail-
ure to prove that [petitioner] knowingly entered into an
agreement to violate § 1956(a)(1).” Pet. App. AY. Ac-
cordingly, because an agreement to violate Section
1956(a)(1) is not an essential element of the offenses
charged in Counts 18, 19, 25, 27, 30, 31, 33, and 34 of the
third superseding indictment, the doctrine of issue
preclusion does not bar the prosecution of those counts.

There is no merit to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 6-7) that
the court of appeals erred by taking into account the
jury’s failure to reach verdicts on certain counts, as well
as the jury’s acquittals on other counts, in ascertaining
what facts the jury necessarily found in petitioner’s
favor. As this Court has explained, to determine
whether a defendant’s prosecution is barred by col-
lateral estoppel, a court must “examine the record of
[the] prior proceeding, taking into account the plead-
ings, evidence, charge, and other relevant matter, and
conclude whether a rational jury could have grounded
its verdict upon an issue other than that which the
defendant seeks to foreclose from consideration.” Ashe,
397 U.S. at 444. The court’s “inquiry must be set in a
practical frame and viewed with an eye to all the cir-
cumstances of the proceedings.” Jbid. (internal
quotation marks omitted). A jury’s failure to reach a
verdict on certain counts, while acquitting the de-
fendant on other counts, is among the “relevant matter”
that a court may consider in determining what facts the
jury necessarily found in the defendant’s favor. Other-
wise, the courts in many cases, such as this one, would
be required to assume that the jury acted irrationally in
reaching a mixed verdict, contrary to this Court’s re-
cognition that collateral estoppel is “predicated on the

10

assumption that the jury acted rationally.” United
States v. Powell, 469 U.S. 56, 68 (1984).’

The Eleventh Circuit’s approach to the issue pre-
clusion question in this case is similar to the approach
taken by the First and D.C. Circuits. See United States
v. Aguilar-Aranceta, 957 F.2d 18, 24-25 (1st Cir.), cert.

% In our view, that analysis indicates that collateral estoppel
should never bar the government from retrying a defendant on a
count on which a jury was unable to reach a verdict when the same
jury acquitted him on another count. There are only two possible
explanations for such a mixed verdict. First, the jury may have
found that the government failed to prove a fact that, while
essential for conviction on the count on which the defendant was
acquitted, was not essential for conviction on the count on which
the jury was deadlocked. As explained above, if the jury did not
find an essential fact in the defendant’s favor on the acquitted
count that would have to be proved in retrying the defendant on
the “hung” count, collateral estoppel does not bar retrial on the
latter count. See Dowling, 493 U.S. at 347-348. Second, the jury
may have found that the government failed to prove a fact that
was essential for conviction on both counts. In that case, the jury’s
failure to acquit on one count would be inconsistent with the jury’s
acquittal on the other count. As this Court has recognized,
“principles of collateral estoppel—which are predicated on the
assumption that the jury acted rationally and found certain facts in
reaching its verdict—are no longer useful” when the jury’s verdict
is inconsistent. Powell, 469 U.S. at 68; see Standefer v. United
States, 447 U.S. 10, 23 n.17 (1980) (inconsistency in jury verdicts “is
reason, in itself, for not giving preclusive effect to the acquittals”).
Accordingly, under either explanation for the jury’s verdict of
acquittal on one count, the government would not be precluded
from retrying the defendant on another count on which the jury
was deadlocked. To date, the courts of appeals have not agreed
with that analysis. See, e.g., United States v. Bailin, 977 F.2d 270,
275-280, 282-283 (7th Cir. 1992); United States v. Frazier, 880 F.2d
878, 882-883 (6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1083 (1990). Ac-
ceptance of that analysis, however, is not essential to the judgment
in this case.

1]

denied, 506 U.S. 834 (1992); United States v. White, 936
F.2d 1326, 1328-1329 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S.
942 (1991). In those cases, the defendant was charged
with multiple counts that involved a common issue,
such as the defendant’s knowledge or intent. The jury
acquitted the defendant on one count and deadlocked on
another count. The courts of appeals, taking into
account both the jury’s verdict of acquittal on one count
and the jury’s failure to reach a verdict on the other
count, declined to hold that the verdict of acquittal
rested on a finding in the defendant’s favor on the com-
mon issue. The courts instead reasoned that the verdict
of acquittal could more rationally be explained as
resting on the jury’s finding on an issue that was not
common to both counts. Aguilar-Aranceta, 957 F.2d at
24-25; White, 936 F.2d at 1329; accord United States v.
Deerman, 837 F.2d 684, 690-691 (5th Cir.) (in econ-
sidering whether the government was precluded
from prosecuting the defendants on drug importation
charges, the court considered both the jury’s verdicts of
acquittal on drug possession charges and the jury’s
failure to reach verdicts on drug importation charges),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 856 (1988).

b. Petitioner contends (Pet. 7-11) that the decision
below conflicts with the decisions of four other circuits.
While there is some tension between the approach of
the court of appeals in this case, which sought to
reconcile the jury’s acquittals on some counts with its
failure to reach verdicts on other counts, and the rea-
soning applied in some other circuits, which have de-
clined to consider whether a determination that a jury’s
acquittal on one count rested on a particular ground
would be consistent with the jury’s failure to reach a
verdict on a related count, there is not at this time a

12

square conflict in the circuits on the proper collateral
estoppel analysis in such cases.

The earliest case cited by petitioner, United States v.
Mespoulede, 597 F.2d 329 (2d Cir. 1979), is not on point.
In that case, the jury acquitted the defendant on a drug
possession charge, but failed to reach a verdict on a
drug conspiracy charge. The government retried the
defendant on the conspiracy charge, presenting evi-
dence of his drug possession as proof of the conspiracy,
and the jury found the defendant guilty of that charge.
- The court of appeals reversed the conviction, holding
that the government was precluded from seeking to
prove the conspiracy charge with evidence that the
defendant possessed the drug, because the jury’s ac-
quittal on the drug possession charge at the first trial
necessarily determined that he did not. Jd. at 332-336.
Contrary to petitioner’s assertion (Pet. 7), Mespoulede
did not “rule[] that the government was estopped from
retrying the defendant on the conspiracy count.” It
determined instead what evidence was admissible at an
undisputably permissible retrial. Cf. United States v.
Felix, 503 U.S. 378, 389 (1992) (double jeopardy does
not bar prosecution of a conspiracy charge after pre-
vious prosecution for related substantive offenses). In
any event, Mespoulede has been effectively overruled
by this Court’s decision in Dowling, which held that
collateral estoppel does not bar the admission of evi-
dence of a fact resolved in a defendant’s favor at the
first trial, provided that the government is not seeking
to prove that fact beyond a reasonable doubt at the
second trial. Compare Dowling, 493 U.S. at 347-350,
with Mespoulede, 597 F.2d at 334-335; see also United
States v. Bailin, 977 F.2d 270, 277 n.9 (7th Cir. 1992)
(noting that “Mespoulede, insofar as it held that issue

13

preclusion applies to evidentiary as well as ultimate
facts, has been partially overruled by Dowling”).'

In Bailin, the jury was unable to reach a verdict
on the counts charging violations of the Racketeer
Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), but
it acquitted the defendant on some of the other counts,
which charged offenses that were also among the pre-
dicate racketeering acts alleged in the RICO counts.
See 18 U.S.C. 1961(1) and (5) (defining “racketeering
activity” and “pattern of racketeering activity” under
RICO). The Seventh Circuit held that, although the
government could retry the defendant on the RICO
counts (and other counts on which the jury had dead-
locked), the government could not base the RICO
counts on predicate acts of which the defendant was
acquitted. 977 F.2d at 275-283. In so holding, the
Seventh Circuit, consistent with the Eleventh Circuit
here, recognized that the government is not precluded
from retrying a defendant on a count on which the jury
failed to reach a verdict, unless the defendant has met
the “extremely difficult” burden of establishing that, in

4 Petitioner also asserts (Pet. 10) that the decision below
conflicts with United States v. Corley, 824 F.2d 931 (11th Cir.
1987). An intracircuit conflict does not, however, warrant this
Court’s review. See Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S. 901, 902
(1957) (per curiam). Nor does any such conflict exist. Like
Mespoulede, Corley involved the exclusion of evidence, which
related to a count on which the defendant had been acquitted, at a
retrial on another count on which the jury had failed to reach a
verdict. And like Mespoulede, Corley has been effectively over-
ruled by Dowling. See also United States v. Shenberg, 89 F.3d
1461, 1480 n.23 (11th Cir. 1996) (circuit precedent “hold[ing] that
the doctrine of collateral estoppel bars the government from intro-
ducing the underlying evidence of acquitted substantive counts in
the retrial of the mistried conspiracy” “no longer constitutes good
law” after Dowling), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1117 (1997).

14

rendering an acquittal on a different count, the jury
“necessarily determined” an essential element of the
count to be retried. /d. at 282. The government did not
dispute that the jury, in acquitting the defendant on
certain counts that doubled as RICO predicate acts,
necessarily decided that the defendant did not commit
those acts. While the court rejected the government’s
argument that collateral estoppel never applies to a
retrial of counts on which the jury failed to reach a
verdict, and expressed the view that the jury’s failure
to agree on a verdict is “too inconclusive” to support an
argument that hung counts are necessarily “incon-
sistent” with acquitted counts, see id. at 275-280, 282-
283; note 3, supra, the court was not required in Bailin,
as in this case, to ascertain the ground on which the
jury acquitted the defendant on certain counts of an
indictment. No conflict thus exists between this case
and Bailin.

In United States v. Frazier, 880 F.2d 878 (6th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1083 (1990), the court held,
among other things, that the defendants could not be
retried on a charge of making false entries with respect
to one loan, on which the jury had deadlocked, because
the jury had acquitted the defendants on a charge of
misapplication of bank funds with respect to the same
loan. The court reasoned that the only disputed evi-
dence on the misapplication count related to the issue of
intent to defraud, and that a jury could not find that the
defendants lacked the requisite intent on the mis-
application count without also finding that they lacked
the requisite intent on the related false entries count.
Id. at 886. No similar circumstances, in which the jury’s
verdict of acquittal on one count could be explained
only on a ground inconsistent with the jury’s failure to
reach a verdict on another count, exist in this case.

15

Finally, in United States v. Romeo, 114 F.3d 141 (9th
Cir. 1997), the court of appeals held that the defendant's
acquittal on a drug possession count barred his retrial
on a drug importation count on which the jury failed to
reach a verdict. The court concluded that “a rational
jury could [not] have grounded its verdict upon an issue
other than that which the defendant seeks to foreclose
from consideration,” i.e., that the defendant did not
know that marijuana was in the trunk of the car that he
drove from Mexico to the United States. Jd. at 143.
The court rejected the dissent’s argument that the
verdict of acquittal must have rested on another
ground—that the defendant lacked intent to distribute
marijuana—because the jury should have acquitted on
both counts if it found that the defendant lacked
knowledge of the marijuana. The court reasoned that
its interpretation of the jury’s verdict of acquittal
“attributes much less irrationality to the jury than does
the dissent’s reading,” because a “necessary corollary”
of the dissent’s interpretation was that, “although [the
defendant] knowingly possessed the marijuana, he pos-
sessed the 188 pounds of marijuana without the intent
to distribute it.” Jd. at 144.

This case is distinguishable from Romeo. The
Eleventh Circuit’s reading of the jury’s verdict of
acquittal as resting on the absence of an agreement to
engage in money laundering does not imply that the
jury irrationally rejected inferences from the evidence.
It is true that the Ninth Circuit’s statement in Romeo
that “[t]he inquiry under Ashe is what the jury actually
decided when it reached its verdict, not on why the jury
could not agree on the deadlocked count,” 114 F.3d at
144, is in tension with the Eleventh Circuit's approach
here in assessing the basis for the jury’s verdict of
acquittal. But neither Romeo nor any other case cited

16

by petitioner holds that a jury’s failure to reach a ver-
dict on one count is always irrelevant in determining
what facts the jury necessarily found in acquitting the
defendant on another count. Accordingly, because no
square conflict has yet arisen among the circuits with
respect to the application of collateral estoppel in cases
involving mixed verdicts, this Court’s review is not
warranted.

2. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 14-24) that the new
counts included in the third superseding indictment
(Counts 25, 27, 30, 31, 33, and 34) are barred by the
Double Jeopardy Clause, the Due Process Clause, and
res judicata. The Eleventh Circuit did not address
those contentions, as petitioner concedes (Pet. 6). This
Court ordinarily does not consider arguments not ex-
pressly ruled upon by the courts below. See, ¢.g.,
National Collegiate Athletic Ass’n v. Smith, 1198S. Ct.
924, 930 (1999) (citing additional cases). In any event,
petitioner’s contentions lack merit.

Petitioner’s double jeopardy claim is foreclosed by
lnited States v. Dixon, 509 U.S. 688, 703-704 (1993).
The Court held in Dixon that the sole test for deter-
mining whether two offenses are separate for double
jeopardy purposes is that set forth in Blockburger v.
United States, 284 U.S. 299, 304 (1932), 7.e., “whether
each offense contains an element not contained in the
other.” Dixon, 509 U.S. at 696. Because petitioner does
not, and cannot, contend that any of the new counts are
not separate offenses under the Blockburger test, his
double jeopardy claim necessarily fails.

Relying on Brown v. Ohio, 432 U.S. 161 (1977), peti-
tioner nonetheless argues (Pet. 16-17) that the Double
Jeopardy Clause and the Due Process Clause bar a
successive prosecution when the government could
have brought all the charges in a single prosecution by

17

exercising “due diligence.” That argument rests on a
misreading of Brown. Applying the Blockburger test,
the Court held in Brown that the Double Jeopardy
Clause “forbids successive prosecution and cumulative
punishment for a greater and lesser included offense.”
432 U.S. at 169. The Court then noted that “{aln ex-
ception may exist where the State is unable to proceed
on the more serious charge at the outset because the
additional facts necessary to sustain that charge have
not occurred or have not been discovered despite the
exercise of due diligence.” /d. at 169 n.7. Petitioner's
argument would turn that exception on its head by
imposing a “due diligence” requirement on the govern-
ment’s ability to bring a second prosecution otherwise
permitted by Blockburger. That rule would simply
reformulate the “same conduct” test of Grady v. Cor-
bin, 495 U.S. 508 (1990), which was explicitly overruled
in Dixon. See Dixon, 509 U.S. at 705 (recognizing that
the Double Jeopardy Clause leaves the government
“entirely free to bring [its prosecutions] separately”).
Petitioner claims support for his reading of Brown
in Rashad vy. Burt, 108 F.3d 677 (6th Cir. 1997), cert.
denied, 522 U.S. 1075 (1998), a decision that is incon-
sistent with this Court’s precedents, that has been
severely limited by the Sixth Circuit itself, and that is
distinguishable from the present case. In Rashad, the
defendant was successively prosecuted for possession
with intent to deliver two quantities of cocaine that
were seized at the same time from his house and his car.
In holding that the second prosecution, which involved
the cocaine found in the car, was barred by the Double
Jeopardy Clause, the Sixth Circuit purported to state
“(t]he proper standard for determining * * * if the
two prosecutions violate double jeopardy”: “whether
the actual evidence needed to convict the defendant in

18

the first trial is the same as the evidence needed to
obtain the second conviction * * * irrespective of
whether the convictions are under statutes that satisfy
Blockburger’s ‘same elements’ test.” 108 F.3d at 680.
The court did not acknowledge or discuss this Court’s
decision in Dixon, which overruled Grady’s “same con-
duct” test for successive prosecutions and held that the
only applicable test was that set forth in Blockburger.
See United States v. Williams, 155 F.3d 418, 421 (4th
Cir.) (rejecting Rashad as “inconsistent with a wealth
of Supreme Court authority” including Dixon), cert.
denied, 119 S. Ct. 626 (1998). The Sixth Circuit has
since “narrowly” read Rashad as applying only “to cir-
cumstances such as were present in that case,” 7e.,
“where the concern is whether the prosecution has
impermissibly divided the defendant’s conduct so that it
may bring repeated prosecutions under the same
statute.” United States v. Forman, 180 F.3d 766, 770
(1999). This case does not involve those particular con-
cerns.”

Nor is there any merit to petitioner’s claim that res
judicata requires the government to bring all related
charges against a defendant in a single proceeding. In
criminal cases, the doctrine of res judicata, or claim

* Petitioner also relies on the Eleventh Circuit’s own decision
in United States v. Reed, 980 F.2d 1568, cert. denied, 509 U.S. 932
(1993). In that case, after holding that the Double Jeopardy Clause
barred the defendant’s prosecution on a continuing criminal enter-
prise charge, the court stated in dicta that the prosecution would
also have been barred by a due diligence requirement, because the
government knew or should have known of the facts underlying
that charge at the time of the defendant’s prior prosecution. Jd. at
1580-1581. The Eleventh Circuit, however, has since made clear
that Brown imposes no such due diligence requirement. United
States v. Maza, 983 F.2d 1004, 1008 & n.8 (1993).

19

preclusion, has been said to mean that, “[wJhere a
criminal charge has been adjudicated upon by a court
having jurisdiction to hear and determine it, that
adjudication * * * jig final as to the matter so
adjudicated upon, and may be pleaded in bar to any
subsequent prosecution for the same offense.” United
States v. Oppenheimer, 242 U.S. 85, 88 (1916); see
Sealfon v. United States, 332 U.S. 575, 578 (1948).°
Petitioner offers no authority applying res judicata in
the criminal context to preclude a defendant’s subse-
quent prosecution not only for an offense that was
charged in a previous prosecution but also for a
separate offense that could have been charged but was
not. Such a rule would effectively resurrect Grad y
under the rubric of res judicata. Nor would such a rule
necessarily benefit petitioner in any event. Res
judicata applies in the civil context only after a case has

° In Oppenheimer, the Court held that an indictment for
conspiracy to conceal assets from a bankruptcy trustee was barred
by res judicata because a previous indictment for the same offense
had been dismissed on statute of limitation grounds. 242 USS. at
87-88. The Court explained that “{a] plea of the statute of limita-
tions is a plea to the merits, * * * and however the issue was
raised in the former case, after judgment upon it, it could not be
reopened in a later prosecution.” Jbid. In Sealfon, the Court held
that the defendant’s acquittal on a conspiracy charge at his first
trial required reversal of his conviction for aiding and abetting at
his second trial, because both prosecutions were based on proof of
an agreement between the defendant and a co-defendant that “was
necessarily adjudicated in the former trial to be non-existent.” 332
U.S. at 580. Sealfon thus involved an application of issue pre-
clusion. Although the Court in Sealfon stated that res judicata
“operate[d] to conclude those matters in issue which the verdict
determined though the offenses be different,” id. at 578, the Court
was obviously using the term “res judicata” to include issue, as
well as claim, preclusion.

20

been fully and finally adjudicated. Rivet v. Regions
Bank, 522 U.S. 470, 476 (1998). This case does not
invclve a second separate prosecution of petitioner, but
rather a continuation of his first prosecution, which has
not yet been fully and finally adjudicated. Cf. Bailin,
977 F.2d at 276 (recognizing that a retrial on a dead-
locked count is, for double jeopardy purposes, viewed as
“a ‘continuation’ of the first trial”) (citing Jeffers v.
United States, 432 U.S. 137, 152 (1977)).
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

JAMES K. ROBINSON
Assistant Attorney General

JOSEPH C. WYDERKO
Attorney

OCTOBER 1999

4

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0524%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
