# Opposition Brief — W. R. Grace & Co.-Conn. v. Washington Department of Revenue

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0516%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 950

## Text

| tattt, ES
~ @ruan
pus 31 19%

[OER OF THE SS

ue

No. 99-31

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

W.R. GRACE & Co.—CONN. and
CHRYSLER MOTORS CORPORATION,
Petitioners.
Vv.

W ASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Washington

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE
Attorney General

State of Washington
DONALD F. COFER*
WILLIAM BERGGREN COLLINS
Assistant Attorneys General
400 General Admin. Bldg.
P.O. Box 40123

Olympia WA 98504-0123
(360) 753-5528

Counsel for Respondent

* Counsel of Record

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
este scitres be 0 5 jg CEM ALE STI EERE Rs l
a ee WE ATR El Sr l
I. Washington’s Taxes on Extracting,
Manufacturing, and Selling. ......0...cccccccccccccecececeses.. |
1. Prior Litigation Over the Extracting,
Manufacturing, and Selling B&O Taxes. ................ 3
Fr ne pitied oicrg tetra te %. 3
Fa ms 4
C. American National.Can and Digital
I tinbianiiadidiatie acne os. 5
III. Procedural History of This Case........c.ccc0.-...-........ 6
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE
SNE clsnenananiiniires tric El 1]
l. The Court Lacks Jurisdiction Because There
Is No Final Judgment. ..0.0.0.........ccccceccccscssecseseccoceee, 1]
II. Retroactive Application of the 1987 Two-Way
Credits Does Not Violate Due Process. ................ 13
A. The Court Below Erred in Giving 7yler
Pipe Retroactive Application. ........................ 13
B. Petitioners’ Argument that Retroactive
Application of the Two-Way Credits
Fails to Provide Them “Meaningful
Backward-Looking Relief” Is Meritless......... 13

C. Petitioners’ “Bait and Switch” Procedural
Due Process Argument Also Is Meritless....... 17

D. Petitioners’ Substantive Due Process

Argument Also Is Meritless. .......... Raseniedennedia 21

Ill. The Apportionment Question Petitioners Pose

Is So Explicitly Foreclosed by Prior Decisions

of This Court As To Leave No Room for Real
CVI» vsunncvescvenvelesteassstaints ndaendcidintiadiipssssced
COUIVC LAL FI AIe Cosconisccscvnnsonssgpnneh nannies idacedstadeiseaniammaaiicedaddendades 29
APP RIEP cc's ov cvsvecaecdassdabaauanneaanennelin Geatneiaeaearnaad la

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

American Mfg. Co. v. St. Louis,
EE ee tee 24, 26

American Nat'l Can Corp. vy.
Department of Rev.,
114 Wash. 2d 236, 787 P.2d 545, cert. denied, 498
U.S. Ek fea a - passim

Aponaug Mfg. Co. v. Stone,
314 U.S. 577 (1941), aff'g per
curiam 190 Miss. 805, | So. >) fl, | ree 26

Armco Inc. v. Hardesty,
|, 16

Associated Indus. v. Lohman.
SC | | men 14,18

Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise
Tax Bd., 512 U.S. 298 (1994) ooo .cccccccccccecscsecesseseeseseceesecess. 16

Benjamin Franklin Thrifi Stores, Inc.
v. Henneford, 187 Wash. 472,
EL a 19

Bond v. Burrows, 103 Wash. 2d 153,
| ec eee 19

Central Greyhound Lines v. Mealey,
I 27

Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson,
MRE Se 4

Chicago Bridge & Iron Co. v.
Department of Rev., 98 Wash. 2d 814, 659 P.2d 463.
appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal
question, 464 U.S. 1013 (1983)... ccccccccccesccecescessssceseecee. 26

iV

City of Winchester v. American
Woodmark Corp., 252 Va. 98,
FF ee I inchlntsbiiiidicianiciann ae

Commonwealth Edison Co. v.
Montana, 453 U.S. 609 (1981) .............cccccccccccscecscccseees 205 27

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn,
SP Cs Se Oe ea cncerttqeesevinenmnnninninnindiiinin 11,12

Department of Treasury v. Allied
Mills, Inc., 318 U.S. 740 (1943), aff'g per curiam 220
Ind. 340, 42 N.E.2d 34 LIFSPUIED cvcccitniicincincicsnsegsenbaiainaiipladicaie 26

Department of Treasury v. Wood
Preserving Corp., 313 U.S. 62 (1941) ..ccccccccccccccceccceccesceeee. 26

Digital Equip. Corp. v. Department of

Rev., 129 Wash. 2d 177, 916 P.2d 933 (1996), cert.

denied, RL ee 0: Rn Ce 6, passim
OD CR SN, Ge Us Fe Ca i ee ccececscanecetecvunccuateicmsiunnctinicuiiin 28
Field Enterprises v. Washington,

352 U.S. 806 (1956), aff'g per curiam 47 Wash. 2d

em | EE ee 26
Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981)..........ccccccccsscevseseveeseees 11,12

Freeman v. Hewit, 329 U.S. 249
SE eer LSS ns eee HORE Ae Ns 16

General Motors Corp. v. City & County of
San Francisco, 69 Cal. App. 4th 448,

AIEEE Te 14, 23
General Motors Corp. v. Washington,

B0F iceeinibiniicniatiatendicntnbinsieninigniaiiansibiain 25
Hagen v. Uta, S10 U.S. S99 (1DD4) ccvcecccccccssocccesovescccesscccscees 25

Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S. 306 (1983) ...........:ccccccccceeeeeereeees 25

Harper v. Virginia Dep't of Taxation,
$09 U.S. 86 (1993)......ccccccssrcccssssecccsseevsrseeerssensssssssscesnees 8, 18

Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255
(1GBD) .cncrecerscccsesccesevcsnsvevevevecesescssnscossnnsnnnsessecsesenenveserensesenens 1]

Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477
+ (1GDE)....ccccercoreccressesesorvecsvevesesseseseneesesssesesorsreoeneeaneseseonecessess 25

Heisler v. Thomas Collier Co.,
BGO U.S. 24S (192) ..coroccrcccssvseeveveevoveecersvcenvsevcvsccvonvesenssoosss 26

Hope Natural Gas Co. v. Hall,
ZTE U.S. 2B4 (1927). ..ccecsccssevesersesceccessecovocconseseessesesersenssones 26

International Harvester Co. v.
Department of Treasury,
322 U.S. 340 (1943).....ccoccovvesorserseceserovsscessesensevsenesscosensoeses 26

J.D. Adams Mfg. Co. v. Storen,
3O4 U.S. 307 (1938).....ccccccccccccrocesesosceccsvorevesssessseressscesenerees 28

James B. Beam Distilling Co. v.
Georgia, 501 U.S. 529 (1991) ..ccccceceeeeseeeeeeeeeesseetnenneeneneens 8

Jensen v. Henneford, 185 Wash. 209,
$3 P.2d GOT (1936). ccccovcrcccsescesevorsecsoscccssosescrosevencveseseneoseres 19

Lacoste v. Department of
Conservation, 263 U.S. 545 (1924) ........cccccceceeeeeeerseeeeeeeeees 26

M & Associates, Inc. v. City of
Irondale, 723 So.2d 592
(Abe. 19968) ..ccccccecceccoscrrvecesesssscvonsccsreossonsesorsesonnonsdnenseses 27, 28

McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic
Beverages & Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18 (1990) ........++. 13, passim

Moorman Mfg. Co. v. Bair,
437 U.S. 267 (1978) .cccccccovcesesseesecesevescovsvvssssessseoresevessenesveees 16

National Can Corp. v. Department of Rev., 105 Wash. 2d
327. 732 P.2d 134 (1986) (National Can 1) .....cccccccceeceeeeeeeees 4

vi

National Can Corp. v. Department of
Rev., 109 Wash. 2d 878, 749 P.2d 1286, appeal
dismissed, cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1040 (1988)
eam aes COG TED cnccesitinttniintrtantcnteieeninsiiaininaeds 4, passim

Newsweek, Inc. v. Florida Dep't of

Revenue, 522 U.S. 442 (1998) .........cccccsceeseceerereeees 17, 18,21
Nipges v. Thornton, 119 Wash. 464,

BOOT. 17 (lead viictiniemeneeaidniniinstinameole 19
Norton Co. v. Departrent of Rev.,

FOS US FIO CUTE Pchivtntiesiciciidicitcssianinaniieiemmaaaan 26
Oklahoma Tax Commission v.

Jefferson Lines, 514 U.S. 175 (1995) oo... 17, passim
Oliver Iron Mining Co. v. Lord,

yO Rg ef) + | RRR eee er ee 26
Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106 (1994) 0000s 17, 18, 21

Reynolds Metals Co. v. Washington,
65 Wash. 2d 882, 400 P.2d 310,
appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal
question, 362 U.S. 160 (1DGS) .ccccecovcvsecsscosccsescseveseovees 24, 26

Reynoldsville Cusket Co. v. Hyde,
DEG UB. POD Ciera tricctcsrstncscvatintiinehsieaaaaiagaae 18

Simpson v. State, 26 Wash. App. 687,
615 P.2d 1297, review denied,
oR 8 i, ee 19

Sonneborn Bros. v. Cureton,
BOS Uae FOO Ce Pe ildctiicattendientdiniierteicieiet ane 26

Standard Pressed Steel Co. v
Department of Rev., 419 U.S. 560
CDT a Pecceuvccenvetsisusessboniemeeniadnmainaionsaaaneaaaa 25

vil

Stone v. Stapling Machines Co., 220 Miss. 470, 71 So. 2d
205, appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal
question, 348 U.S. 802 (1954) .....ccccccceeeeeeeernereneeneenereees 26

Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576

Tyler Pipe Indus., Inc. v. Department
of Rev., 96 Wash. 2d 785,
638 P.2d 1215, 1216 (19BZ)..cccccccevccceceverscessscccevescccrecosscsoees 20

Tyler Pipe Indus., Inc. v. Department
of Rev., 105 Wash. 2d 318,
FED ede Bee ee evcctccceceesotenssstscsessevsesacesecesosossovest 4

Tyler Pipe Indus., Inc. v. Washington
State Dep't of Rev., 483 U.S. 232 (1987) ........00 2, passim

United States v. Carlton, 512 U.S. 26
(RE. SL OES AR SRE Ice 22

United States v. Hemme,
Se Oy 22

United States v. Stauffer Chem. Co.,
ks of, ee 25

Utah Power & Light Co. v. Pfost,
Y J 8 7) ae 26

Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. King,
678 S.W.2d 19 (Tenn. 1984), appeal dismissed for
want of a substantial federal question, 470 U.S. 1075
COB D ccicdeatncrsnssacitntintettemeanevinnbneanniianecetinenennenirnmnenntin 26

Woodruff v. Parham, 8 Wall. 123 (1868) ........ccccccccceeeeeeeeeee 26

Statutes
SO We eee Se ee ee. Ge. FD. .cccasavbeates eeacdedeeces 5

Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.230....5.......ccsccccsssssssrsseseererseeeeeeeenees l

Vill

ee. Ce, CD Bet siicecevinintinicctntitincinitanvatiabemmisensatiiaia l
ree, DED U. CED B Cie ucesnccccdicnsdedsccctisctovseues l

eT reer eee ee l
re es GED Bh ee ir iscecicesccesevesvodcsecevicnnnemnn 19
PUD a SAR Oe CED iccichenndinscscvenicsebeiibicaubdaniodaiione: 2
Wash. Rev. Code § $2.04.440(4).........cccccccoccsssssccsesescccssccccccesees 2
Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440(5).........cccccccccces cecvccccces 17
Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440(2)(1984)...... 22... cc cece cece eee eed
po Re kk. ee 19
pO kb nr 19
Wash. Rev. Code § 82.98.030.................ccccececcecvees 19

UR 6 NR oe ci ei ed

Be tie BSC itt rccettanntibeticncetied | cettnntialeael 1,11
Rules
Wash. Admin. Code § 458-20-19301(9)...... 0.0... ccc ccc cee eee 15
Wash. Admin. Code § 458-20-19301(8)(b)................46. 15
SRIEES TUES I WHITE tnccseecdcenecesacinsecesccenssensdemneunienntinnatie 27
Te es its tia Bis SUI ctniicceennientcnicnthidenenttadenugnbeentuniiiots 8
Treatises

R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro & K. Geller, Supreme
Court Practice
PCy CP eee nccenrentinisidistheniiusinestiinesinininaciatedadiaeniiie 11

A ee ee

JURISDICTION

This Court lacks jurisdiction over the petition because
the decision of the Supreme Court of Washington is not a
“final judgment or decree” within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §
1257(a). We discuss this jurisdictional issue at page 1 1, infra.

STATEMENT

We begin with a brief description of the taxes at issue
in this case and prior litigation concerning those taxes. We will
then discuss the procedural history of this case.

I. Washington’s Taxes on Extracting, Manufacturing,
and Selling.

This case concerns Washington’s business and
occupation (B&O) taxes on the activities of extracting,
manufacturing, and selling. The extracting and manufacturing
taxes are imposed on the activities of extracting or
manufacturing in Washington. The measure of both taxes is
the “value of the products” extracted or manufactured in
Washington. Wash. Rev. Code §§ 82.04.230, .240. B&O
taxes also are imposed on the activity of selling, either at
wholesale or retail. The measure of the selling taxes is the
“gross proceeds of sales” in Washington. Wash. Rev. Code §§
82.04.250, .270.

It is important to understand that the extracting,
manufacturing, and selling B&O taxes are imposed only when
those activities take place in Washington. For example, a
business located in Washington does not pay any
manufacturing B&O tax with respect to products it
manufactures in another state or any selling B&O tax with
respect to products it sells in another state. Washington does
not have jurisdiction to tax extracting, manufacturing, or
selling activities that take place in other states. In this respect,
the B&O taxes differ from net income taxes that include within
their measure al! ©" @ business’s net income from every

*

jurisdiction derived “sm every business activity.

2

The B&O tax system now includes the two-way system
of credits suggested by this Court in 7yler Pipe Indus., Inc. v.
Washington State Dep't of Rev., 483 U.S. 232, 246 (1987).
Under the two-way credit system, all persons engaged in
extracting or manufacturing activities in Washington must pay
an extracting or manufacturing B&O tax. All persons engaged
in selling in Washington must pay a retailing or wholesaling
B&O tax.

Under the two-way credit mechanism, both local and
interstate businesses are entitled to a tax credit against
Washington's selling tax. The Washington B&O tax imposed
on the sale of a product may be reduced by the amount of any
extracting or manufacturing tax paid to Washington or another
jurisdiction on the activities of extracting or manufacturing the
product. Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440(2).

A credit also is available for Washington extractors or
manufacturers selling in interstate commerce. This is a credit
against Washington’s extracting or manufacturing tax. The
Washington tax imposed on the activities of extracting or
manufacturing a product may be reduced by the amount of any
selling tax paid to another jurisdiction on the activity of selling
the product. This credit is available only for selling taxes paid
to jurisdictions other than Washington. Wash. Rev. Code §
82.04.440(4).'

The two-way credit system ensures that interstate and
local businesses will bear the same tax burden on their
extracting, manufacturing, and selling activities.

' Citing the opinion of the court below, petitioners state that other
jurisdictions’ taxes must be “identical” to Washington’s taxes to qualify for
the two-way credits. Pet. 4. That is neither an accurate paraphrase of the
court's opinion nor an accurate description of Washington’s statute.
Petitioners’ description at pages 4-6 of the petition of the requirements for
claiming credits also is misleading. We discuss this point at page 15, infra.

|

3

Il. Prior Litigation Over the Extracting, Manufac-
turing, and Selling B&O Taxes.

A. Tyler Pipe.

Beginning in 1984, taxpayers brought over 300 actions
challenging the extracting, manufacturing, and selling B&O
taxes on Commerce Clause grounds. Petitioners W.R. Grace &
Co. (Grace) and Chrysler Motors Corporation (Chrysler) were
among a group of 71 appellants in 7yler Pipe, 483 U.S. 232
(1987). At that time, the B&O tax system did not have the
current two-way credit system. Instead, there was a “multiple
activities exemption,” which provided that “[p]ersons taxable
under [the Washington retailing or wholesaling taxes] shall not
be taxable under [the Washington extracting or manufacturing
taxes] with respect to extracting or manufacturing of the
products so sold.” Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440(2) (1984).
The former multiple activities exemption thus applied only to
local commerce.

In Tyler Pipe, this Court held “Washington’s multiple
activities exemption invalid.” 483 U.S. at 253. The multiple
activities exemption was defective because it applied only if a
business paid a Washington selling B&O tax. It did not apply
if a similar selling tax was paid to another state. This violated
the principle of internal consistency—‘that is the [tax] must be
such that, if applied by every jurisdiction, there would be no
impermissible interference with free trade.” Jd. at 247.

If every state imposed the extracting, manufacturing,
and selling taxes at issue in Tyler Pipe, an interstate
manufacturer would pay multiple taxes. For example, an
interstate manufacturer would pay a manufacturing B&O tax to
Washington and a selling gross receipts tax to another state
because the multiple activities exemption would not apply. A
local manufacturer would only pay Washington’s selling B&O
tax because the multiple activities exemption would apply to
excuse the manufacturing B&O tax.

4

An integral part of Tyler Pipe was the Court’s
explanation of how to repair the system. Washington could
make the multiple activities exemption internally consistent by
extending equivalent benefits to interstate commerce.
According to the Court: “The parallel condition precedent for
a valid multiple activities exemption eliminating exposure to
the burden of a multiple tax on manufacturing and wholesaling
would provide a credit against Washington tax liability for
wholesale taxes paid by local manufacturers to any State, not
just Washington.” /d. at 246. This credit prescription was
repeated later in the opinion when the Court stated that “an
expansion of the multiple activities exemption to provide out-
of-state manufacturers with a credit for manufacturing taxes
paid to another State would presumably cure the
discrimination.” /d. at 249.

A second significant holding in Tyler Pipe concerned
apportionment. This Court affirmed the Washington Supreme
Court’s holding that the selling B&O taxes paid by Tyler Pipe,
Grace, Chrysler, and many other petitioning taxpayers were
fairly apportioned. Ja. at 248-51.

B. National Can II.

Washington argued in 7yler Pipe that any decision
adverse to the State should have only prospective application.
Brief for Appellee at 44-48, Tr. of Oral Arg. at 44, Tyler Pipe
(Nos. 85-1963 and 85-2006). Acknowledging the argument,
this Court vacated the Washington Supreme Court’s judgments
in Tyler Pipe Indus., Inc. vy. Department of Rev., 105 Wash. 2d
318, 715 P.2d 123 (1986), and National Can Corp. vy.
Department of Rev., 105 Wash. 2d 327, 732 P.2d 134 (1986)
(National Can I), and remanded for further proceedings not
inconsistent with its opinion. 483 U.S. at 251-53.

On remand, the Washington Supreme Court held this
Court’s discrimination holding applied purely prospectively,
employing the federal civil retroactivity analysis of Chevron
Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971). National Can Corp. v.
Department of Rev., 109 Wash. 2d 878, 749 P.2d 1286, appeal

ow Pl ot adnaa

5

dismissed, cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1040 (1988) (National Can
Il). The Tyler Pipe plaintiffs therefore were denied any
refunds for taxable activities before June 23, 1987, the date of
this Court’s decision. The Tyler Pipe decision was purely
prospective because the decision did not apply retroactively to
the litigants in that case.

After the ruling in National Can IJ, hundreds of other
taxpayers dismissed their refund claims for tax periods before
the 7yler Pipe decision.

C. American National Can and Digital Equipment.

Tyler Pipe was handed down on June 23, 1987. Seven
weeks later, on August 11, 1987, Washington enacted the two-
way credit system suggested by this Court in 7yler Pipe to
eliminate the constitutional defects of the multiple activities
exemption. Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440; 1987 Wash. Laws,
2d Ex. Sess., ch. 3 (App. la-4a).

Under section 3 of the 1987 law, if a court determined
that relief was appropriate regarding the former multiple
activities exemption for any periods before the law’s August
12, 1987 effective date, refunds based on the two-way credits
were to be the exclusive relief available to taxpayers. Since
Tyler Pipe was purely prospective, no relief was appropriate
under section 3 for any periods before that decision. (App. 4a).

In American Nat'l Can Corp. v. Department of Rev.,
114 Wash. 2d 236, 787 P.2d 545, cert. denied, 498 U.S. 880
(1990), a large group of corporations, including Grace and
Chrysler, next challenged the 1987 two-way credit law, as weil
as its retroactive application to the seven-week “interim
period” after the Tyler Pipe decision from June 23 through
August 11, 1987. They claimed the 1987 law discriminated
against interstate commerce and violated principles of equal
protection and due process of law. /d at 241. In American
Nat'l Can, the Washington Supreme Court upheld the
constitutionality of the 1987 two-way credit law and applied it
retroactively to the seven-week interim period.

6

In Digital Equip. Corp. v. Department of Rev., 129
Wash. 2d 177, 916 P.2d 933 (1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S.
12735 (1997), the Washington Supreme Court reaffirmed its
holding in American Nat'l Can that retroactive application of
the two-way credits to the seven-week interim period was
constitutional. In Digital, five members of the court
questioned the court's earlier decision in National Can II that
Tyler Pipe should be given prospective application. Three
justices, in the lead opinion, concluded that the court in
National Can I] erroneously addressed an issue that was not
left open by the mandate. 129 Wash. 2d at 183-89, 194, 916
P.2d at 936-38, 941. Two other justices disagreed with this
conclusion, but stated in dictum that they disagreed with the
prospectivity holding in National Can Il. Id. at 195 & n.76,
916 P.2d at 942 & n.i. Four justices disagreed with the lead
opinion and would have followed National Can Il. They
concluded that departing from National Can I] would result in
selective prospectivity, which this Court has rejected. /d. at
205-10, 916 P.2d at 947-49.

Although the Digital court was divided over the
prospective application of Tyler Pipe, the justices agreed that
retroactive application of credits for gross receipts taxes paid to
other jurisdictions was a constitutional way to correct any
discrimination caused by the multiple activities exemption.’

Ill. Procedural History of This Case.

In July 1993, the Washington State Department of
Revenue (Department) issued three final tax assessments
against Grace, covering tax periods from January 1980 through
December 1990, for unpaid taxes and interest. Instead of
paying the assessments, Grace filed in the superior court a
complaint for declaratory judgment, injunctive relief, and
damages against the Governor, the Attorney General, the
Director of the Department, and the Department. The

> A more detailed summary of the Digital case, including the three
opinions of the Washington Supreme Court, appears at pages 6-10 of the
Department’s conditional cross-petition in Supreme Court No. 99-233.

i :

complaint alleged that, as to taxes assessed for periods through
June 23, 1987, the defendants were seeking to collect taxes this
Court had declared in 7yler Pipe to be in violation of the
Commerce Clause. The complaint further alleged that, as to
taxes assessed for periods after June 23, 1987, the defendants
were seeking to collect taxes that, despite the 1987 amendment
of Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440, continued to violate the
Commerce Clause. The Department asserted a counterclaim
for the unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties. Grace later
voluntarily dismissed the three individual defendants.

In February 1994, the Department issued tax
assessments against Chrysler for unpaid taxes and interest
covering tax periods from January 1984 through June 1988. In
July 1994, while its administrative appeal of the assessments
was still pending, Chrysler filed in the superior court a
complaint similar to the complaint in Grace for declaratory
judgment, injunctive relief, and damages against the Attorney
General, the Director of the Department, and the Department.
Chrysler later withdrew its administrative appeal and filed an
amended complaint seeking declaratory and injunctive relief
only against the Department, alleging Commerce Clause
violations similar to those alleged in Grace. As in Grace, the
Department asserted a counterclaim for the unpaid taxes,
interest, and penalties.

The taxpayers and the Department filed cross-motions
for partial summary judgment in both actions. The
Department’s motions sought dismissal of all claims of the
taxpayers with prejudice on the basis of issue preclusion. The
taxpayers’ motions sought orders declaring (1) that Tyler Pipe
applied retroactively, (2) that taxes imposed for any periods
before June 23, 1987 were “void and unenforceable,” (3) that
taxes imposed for any later periods discriminated against
interstate commerce, and (4) that neither claim preclusion nor
. issue preclusion barred the taxpayers’ requested relief.

. In opposing the taxpayers’ motions, the Department
argued, among other things, that the Tyler Pipe discrimination

Ee See oe ea eee

8

holding was not applied to the litigants in that case, and that
Grace and Chrysler were therefore urging as a choice-of-law
rule a form of selective prospectivity preciuded by James B.
Beam Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 501 U.S. 529 (1991), and
Harper v. Virginia Dep't of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86 (1993).

The trial court issued memorandum opinions in the two>
actions, which (1) denied the Department’s motions for partial
summary judgment based on issue preclusion, (2) denied the
taxpayers’ motions except for granting them partial summary
judgment that 7yler Pipe applied retroactively, and (3) sua
sponte granted the Department partial summary judgment that
the two-way credit law, when applied retroactively and
prospectively to all the assessment periods, was constitutional.

Two months later, the trial court entered what purported
to be “final judgments” pursuant to Wash. Super. Ct. Civ. R.
54(b) based on its memorandum opinions. (Pet. App. 72a-
91a). Both the Department and the taxpayers filed motions for
reconsideration, asking the trial court to reconsider its “final
judgments.” The taxpayers filed appeals to the Washington
Supreme Court in July 1996, long before the trial court heard
argument on the parties’ motions for reconsideration. The
Washington Supreme Court on its own initiative ordered the
two cases consolidated for purposes of appellate review and
granted the taxpayers’ motion for a stay until the trial court
resolved the motions for reconsideration.

While the parties’ motions for reconsideration were still
pending in the trial court, the Washington Supreme Court
issued its decision in Digital. The trial court then requested
additional briefing on the effect of that decision in Grace and
Chrysler. In a joint letter opinion and order issued in
December 1996 in Grace and Chrysler, the trial court
eventually denied the parties’ motions for reconsideration and
concluded that Digital confirmed its earlier ruling that 7yler
Pipe applies retroactively. (Pet. App. 60a-66a) In January
1997, the Department filed timely appeals to the Washington

ee ee a ee

9

Supreme Court, seeking review of the joint letter opinion and
order and the two “final judgments” entered in June 1996.

At that point the trial court still had not resolved the
Department's cross-claims in Grace and Chrysler. After
determining the amounts of the Department's judgments
against Grace and Chrysler, which involved deciding the
amounts of credits to which they were entitled, the trial court
entered in June 1997 final summary judgment orders in the two
cases. In substance, the trial court awarded Chrysler $125,000
in injunctive relief based on the two-way credits. Since Grace
did not pay any gross receipts taxes qualifying for the credits, it
received no injunctive relief. (Pet. App. 67a-7la; Cross-Pet.
App. la-Sa)

In July 1997, the Department filed timely supplemental
appeals to the Washington Supreme Court in both cases.
seeking review of the June 1997 final summary judgment
orders. Neither Grace nor Chrysler appealed from those final
orders.

Although Grace/Chrysler and Buffelen/Anheuser-Busch
were separately briefed and argued, the Washington Supreme
Court issued a single opinion to resolve the two consolidated
appeals. In its opinion, the court affirmed three key rulings of
the trial court. First, the court decided that Tyler Pipe applies
retroactively based only on “principles of stare decisis,”
concluding that a majority of the court had so held in Digital.
137 Wash. 2d at 592-93, 973 P.2d at 1017 (Pet. App. | 2a-13a).
Second, the current B&O tax system with its two-way credit
system complies with all Commerce Clause requirements. /d
at 596-98, 973 P.2d at 1018-19 (Pet. App. 16a-18a). Third,
retroactive application of the two-way credits to cure the
discrimination caused by the former multiple activities
exemption did not violate due process. /d at 598-603, 973
P.2d at 1019-22 (Pet. App. 18a-24a).

The court did not decide, however, several other federal
and state law questions raised by the Department. Instead, it
“preserv[ed]” those issues “for trial court resolution on

10

remand|.}” /d. at 584, 973 P.2d at 1013 (Pet. App. at 2a).
Although the court declined to decide those issues, the court
commented that they were “plainly the most significant and
meritorious” of the issues presented in the Department's cross-
appeals. /d. at 591, 973 P.2d at 1016 (Pet. App. 10a).

The court noted in particular that “Grace and Chrysler
were parties in both National Can I/Tyler Pipe and American
Nat'l Can.” Id. It explained that “[t]he former case rejected
the taxpayers’ apportionment argument” and that American
Nat'l Can both “noted the resolution of the apportionment
claim in 7yler Pipe” and “rejected taxpayers’ constitutional
challenges to Washington's amended B&O tax scheme.” /d. It
further noted that the taxpayers in American Nat'l Can,
including Grace and Chrysler, “conceded Washington's B&O
tax is fairly apportioned.” /d. at 591 n.7, 973 P.2d at 1016 n.7
(Pet. App. 10a). In conclusion, it stated:

Thus, with respect to many of the issues raised by the
taxpayers, they may well have had their day in court on
those issues, although the taxpayers assert that the
United States Supreme Court jurisprudence on taxation
and the Commerce Clause requires these issues to be
re-examined.

Id. at 591, 973 P.2d at 1016 (Pet. App. 10a).

The court explained that “given our disposition of this
case” (remand to the trial court for further action consistent
with its opinion), the court deemed it “unnecessary at this
time” to address the issue preclusion questions “decided by the
trial court in Grace/Chrysler.” Id. at 592 n.8, 973 P.2d at 1017
n.8 (Pet. App. Ila). The court underscored, however, that its
review of these issues was “specifically reserved . . . should
further review be required.” /d.

After briefly addressing the 7yler Pipe retroactivity
issue raised by the Department and then rejecting all the
taxpayers’ constitutional arguments, the court stated in
conclusion it was “affirm[ing] the trial court judgments on

these key points” and “remand[ing] the cases to the trial court
for further action consistent with this opinion.” Jd. at 604, 973
P.2d at 1022 (Pet. App. 25a).

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

There is no basis for review in this case. The decision
of the Washington Supreme Court is correct, and petitioners
have not cited any decision of this Court or any other court in
conflict with the decision below. In fact the questions
presented by petitioners have long been settled. Moreover,
petitioners are trying to relitigate issues they lost in Tyler Pipe
and American Nat'l Can. The Court should not encourage this
kind of behavior. The petition should be denied.

I. The Court Lacks Jurisdiction Because There Is No
Final Judgment.

This Court has jurisdiction over “{f]inal judgments or
decrees rendered by the highest court of a State in which a
decision could be had[.]” 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). If the decision
of the highest state court is not a final judgment, this Court
lacks jurisdiction over the case. Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619
(1981). Traditionally, the Court requires state court judgments
to be final as to all of the legal and factual issues in the case,
not just the important ones or the federal ones. R. Stern, E.
Gressman, S. Shapiro & K. Geller, Supreme Court Practice 94
(7th ed. 1993). The controversy is not completely resolved
because the Washington Supreme Court “remand[ed] the cases
to the trial court for further action consistent with this opinion.”
137 Wash. 2d at 604, 973 P.2d at 1022 (Pet. 25a). See Hathorn
v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255, 262 (1982).

Under the Washington Supreme Court’s opinion, the
trial court must resolve federal and state law questions of issue
preclusion based on the judgments in 7yler Pipe and American
Nat'l Can. See 137 Wash. 2d at 584, 592, 973 P.2d at 1013.
1016-17 (Pet. App. 2a, 10a-1 1a).

This case does not fall within Cox Broadcasting ¢ ‘orp.
v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975), which holds that a decision may

12
be a final judgment even though the case is remanded to a trial
court for further proceedings. First, under Cox a decision is
final if “the federal issue is conclusive or the outcome of
further proceedings preordained.” /d. at 479. The remaining
issues in this case are not controlled or preordained by the
Washington Supreme Court's decision sustaining the validity
of the B&O tax and the two-way credit, as petitioners argued
below.

Second, a decision is final if the federal issue “will
survive and require decision regardless of the outcome of
future state-court proceedings.” /d. at 480. In this case, at least
two of the constitutional issues will not survive if Washington
prevails on issue preclusion.

Third, a decision is final if “later review of the federal
issue cannot be had, whatever the ultimate outcome of the
case.” /d. at 481. In this case, all of the federal issues would
be preserved if petitioners prevail on the issue preclusion
questions remanded to the trial court.

Finally, the Court occasionally considers a decision
final where “reversal of the state court on the federal issue
would be preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant
cause of action{.]” /d. at 482-83. The Court has applied this
exception only when there were “identifiable federal statutory
or constitutional policies which would have been undermined
by the continuation of the litigation in the state courts.” . Flynt
v. Ohio, 451 U.S. at 622. In this case, there are no federal
policies that would be undermined by continuation of the
litigation. Indeed, as we have pointed out, this case involves
long-settled law.

13

Il. Retroactive Application of the 1987 Two-Way
Credits Does Not Violate Due Process.

A. The Court Below Erred in Giving Tyler Pipe
Retroactive Application.

Grace and Chrysler present four questions in their
petition. The first three involve objections under the Due
Process Clause to the retroactive application of the 1987 two-
way credit law to periods before June 23, 1987, the date of
Tyler Pipe, as the exclusive relief for retroactive application of
the Commerce Clause discrimination holding in Tyler Pipe.
Grace and Chrysler obviously are entitled to no relief under the
Due Process Clause for pre-7y/er Pipe periods unless the B&O
taxes assessed against them for such periods impermissibly
discriminated against interstate commerce. Thus, retroactive
application of 7yler Pipe is a necessary premise underlying
each of the petitioners’ Due Process questions.

The Washington Supreme Court erred in giving 7yler
Pipe retroactive application in this case. This question is
addressed in the Department's conditional cross-petition,
Supreme Court No. 99-233.

B. Petitioners’ Argument that Retroactive
Application of the Two-Way Credits Fails to
Provide Them “Meaningful Backward-
Looking Relief” Is Meritless.

Petitioners first argue that retroactive application of the
1987 two-way credit statute violates the Due Process Clause as
interpreted in McKesson Corp. vy. Division of Alcoholic
Beverages & Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18 (1990). Pet. 8-16. The
court beiow correctly concluded that this argument is meritless.
137 Wash. 2d at 594-98, 973 P.2d at 1018-19 (Pet. App. 14a-
18a).

As the court below recognized, and as petitioners now
are forced to concede, the McKesson line of cases holds that a

14

“State found to have imposed an impermissibly discriminatory
tax retains flexibility in responding to this determination,” and
that the Due Process Clause demands only that, “to cure the
illegality of the tax as originally imposed,” the State must
“ultimately collect a tax for the contested tax period” that no
longer impermissibly discriminates. 137 Wash. 2d at 594-95,
973 P.2d at 1018 (Pet. App. 14a-15a) (quoting McKesson, 496
U.S. at 39-40, and Associated Indus. v. Lohman, 511 U.S. 641,
656 (1994)). Retroactively extending the benefit of the two-
way credits to petitioners does exactly that, by completely
eliminating their “exposure to the burden of a multiple tax on
manufacturing and wholesaling.” Tyler Pipe, 483 U.S. at 246.”

Because petitioners must concede that the two-way
credit system provides a “clear and certain remedy” if it
“creates in hindsight a nondiscriminatory scheme,” their Due
Process Clause argument quickly changes to an argument that
the current system “discriminates against interstate commerce
today.” Pet. 11. The court below was familiar with
petitioners’ Commerce Clause discrimination arguments,
having answered the arguments previously when petitioners
made them in American Nat'l] Can. See 137 Wash. 2d at 586,
591, 5%, 973 P.2d at 1014, 1016, 1019 (Pet. App. 4a, 9a,
15a).

* Petitioners’ reliance on General Motors Corp. v. City & County
of San Francisco, 69 Cal. App. 4th 448, 81 Cal. Rptr. 2d 544 (1999), is
misplaced. The California court reasoned that the two-way credits this
Court suggested in Tyler Pipe (which Washington quickly adopted) “would
effectively make local and out-of-state manufacturers equally subject to
selling taxes and exempt from manufacturing taxes.” /d at 456, 81 Cal.
Rptr. 2d at 548-49. In contrast, the credits San Francisco proposed “would
not fully eliminate the discrimination suffered by General Motors[.]” /d
Rather than supporting petitioners’ argument, General Motors actually
undercuts it.

* Grace and Chrysler were parties in American Nat'l Can. Under
State issue preclusion rules, they should have been precluded from
relitigating this Commerce Clause discrimination issue—the necessary
foundation for the Due Process Clause question they are now attempting to

ar elt Pe MR Rt el ads tl ~

15

First, petitioners wrongly claim’ that the two-way credit
involves burdensome recordkeeping requirements, including
special records to trace which specific products manufactured
elsewhere are sold in Washington. Pet. 12. Washington only
requires the normal records maintained by a business, such as
sales contracts, shipping documents, and tax returns. Wash.
Admin. Code § 458-20-19301(9). App. 15a-l6a. There is no
requirement for special records to trace specific products.
Instead, the Department authorizes taking credits based on a
“test period, formulary, or volume percentage basis{.|” Wash.
Admin. Code § 458-20-19301(8)(b). (App. 15a).

The trial court awarded Chrysler injunctive relief in the
amount of $125,000, based on prospective and retroactive
application of the two-way credits. The court did so without
requiring Chrysler to submit special records to trace which
specific products it manufactured elsewhere were sold in
Washington. Instead, Chrysler’s relief was based only on
general business records showing it paid a qualifying
manufacturing tax to the State of Delaware during the
contested periods. The parties stipulated to the amount based
on a formula estimating sales in Washington from Delaware.

The reason the trial court denied any injunctive relief to
Grace was not due to the absence of adequate records. Rather,
the corporate records obtained by the Department through
discovery showed conclusively that Grace, in contrast to
Chrysler, had paid no qualifying gross receipts taxes to any
other jurisdiction during any contested periods, including the

bring before this Court. The Washington Supreme Court remanded the case
to the trial court to reconsider this state law issue preclusion question.

* Petitioners are well aware that the Department does not require
special records because they made the same claim in American Nat'l Can.
In response, the Department submitted affidavits explaining what records
are required and how a test period is used to establish a claim for credits.
See App. 18a-26a. These affidavits were submitted in this case as part of
the Department’s argument that issue preclusion bars these petitioners, who
were parties in American Nat'l Can, from relitigating the validity of the
two-way credit under the Commerce Clause.

16

three tax years after enactment of the two-way credit statute in
1987. .

Second, petitioners rely on their own failure to qualify
for large amounts of credits and meaningless statistics to
contend that the two-way credit system discriminates against
interstate commerce “as a practical matter.” Pet. 12-14. This
argument was answered in American Nat'l Can, where similar
statistics were offered to prove the “continuing discriminatory
effect of Washington’s law.” 114 Wash. 2d at 240, 246-47,
787 P.2d at 547, 550. The statistics simply reflect the fact that
few states other than Washington currently impose gross
receipts taxes on businesses. That other sovereign states have
made different tax choices does not render Washington's tax
system discriminatory. The validity of one state’s tax system
does not depend on the tax laws of other states. Moorman Mfg.
Co. v. Bair, 437 U.S. 267, 277 n.12 (1978); Freeman v. Hewit,
329 U.S. 249, 256 (1946); see also Barclays Bank PLC vy.
Franchise Tax Bd., 512 U.S. 298, 338 (1994) (O’Connor, J.,
concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in part)
(recognizing the “well-established proposition that States need
not conform their taxing practices to those of their
neighbors”).°

* This Court applies the hypothetical internal consistency test
precisely because “[{a]ny other rule would mean that the constitutionality of
{a State’s] tax laws would depend on the shifting complexities of the tax
codes of 49 other States[.]” Tyler Pipe, 483 U.S. at 247 (quoting Armco
Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638, 644-45 (1984)). Washington's two-way
credit system obviously is internally consistent. Furthermore, if every other
state actually imposed some form of gross receipts taxes on manufacturing
activities, at higher rates than Washington’s B&O taxes on selling activities,
an out-of-state manufacturer, such as Grace or Chrysler, would be “entitled
to an automatic, 100% credit” for its manufacturing taxes “against its B&O
selling taxes.” Without changing any feature of its tax system, Washington
would then provide “automatic credits” to interstate businesses. Pet. 11-12.
This demonstrates that the “comparative economic disadvantage for
interstate businesses” allegedly engendered by Washington’s two-way
credit system is the product of other states’ tax policy choices, not anything
inherent in the 1987 two-way credit law.

ee

17

Third, petitioners argue that the two-way credit system
discriminates because interstate taxpayers “must prove that the
tax imposed by another jurisdiction” is “identical to
Washington’s B&O tax.” Pet. 14. This is petitioners’ way of
saying that the credits apply only to gross receipts taxes, not to
net income taxes, value added taxes, or franchise taxes. See
Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.440(5). When presented with this
same argument in American Nat'l Can, the Washington
Supreme Court explained in detail why this “cannot constitute
facial discrimination.” 114 Wash. 2d at 241-44, 787 P.2d at
547-49. See Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Jefferson Lines,
514 U.S. 175, at 192 n.6 (1995) (discussing the requirement
that if states provide credits for payment of “in-state taxes,”
they must extend such credits to payment of “equivalent out-
of-state taxes”).

In short, neither the Due Process Clause question nor
the disguised Commerce Clause discrimination question
presented by petitioners is a substantial federal question.

oc Petitioners’ “Bait and Switch” Procedural
Due Process Argument Also Is Meritless.

Petitioners also argue the Washington Supreme Court’s
retroactive application of the 1987 two-way credit statute, as
the appropriate relief for the Washington court’s retroactive
application of 7yler Pipe’s discrimination ruling, conflicts with
this Court’s decisions in Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106 (1994),
and Newsweek, Inc. v. Florida Dep't of Rev., 522 U.S. 442
(1998). Pet. 16-19. As the court below correctly concluded,
petitioners’ reliance on Reich and Newsweek as support for
their “bait and switch” attack on the 1987 credit statute is
misplaced. 137 Wash. 2d at 593-96, 598-99, 973 P.2d at 1017-
18, 1019-20 (Pet. App. 13a-15a, 18a-20a).

In Reich, the Georgia Supreme Court interpreted a
broadly worded statute authorizing a taxpayer to claim a refund
of “any and all taxes or fees which are determined to have been
erroneously or illegally assessed and collected from him” as
inapplicable when a tax statute is declared unconstitutional.

18

513 U.S. at 109. Therefore, the Georgia court dismissed the
refund action without addressing the merits of Reich’s federal
claims. /d. at 110. This Court reversed, holding that the Due
Process Clause did not permit Georgia to hold out a “clear and
certain” postpayment procedural remedy in the form of a
refund action and then, after taxpayers had paid disputed taxes,
to declare no such procedural remedy ever existed. /d. at 111.

In Newsweek, the Florida District Court of Appeal,
failing to consider this Court’s holding in Reich, interpreted
Florida law as permitting prepayment tax challenges and
therefore dismissed Newsweek’s postpayment refund action to
contest sales taxes the Florida Supreme Court earlier had held
to violate the First Amendment: This Court summarily
reversed, explaining that under Florida law there was a
longstanding practice of permitting taxpayers to bring refund
actions for taxes paid under an unconstitutional statute and that
the State did not dispute “this settled understanding” of Florida
law. Based on Reich, this Court held that Newsweek was
entitled to a clear and certain remedy and thus it could “use the
refund procedures to adjudicate the merits of its claim.”

The problem in Reich and Newsweek was that the state
went from a post-deprivation refund remedy to an exclusive
pre-deprivation remedy. Thus, it was impossible to challenge
taxes that had already been paid. Washington’s two-way credit
law did not “switch” the post-deprivation refund remedy to a
pre-deprivation remedy. The two-way credit law authorized
either refunds or injunctive relief necessary to cure the
constitutional defect in the multiple activities exemption. This
Court has recognized that states have the authority to tailor a
refund remedy to cure constitutional defects in their tax
systems. McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic Beverages
& Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18, 39-41, 44 n.27 (1990); Harper v.
Virginia Dep't of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86, 100-02 (1993);
Associated Indus. v. Lohman, 511 U.S. 641, 656 (1994);
Reynoldsville Casket Co. v. Hyde, 514 U.S. 749, 755-56
(1995).

:
2
.
&

19

Washington law offered these petitioners a choice of
either a prepayment procedural remedy (an injunction action
under Wash. Rev. Code § 82.32.150) or a postpayment
procedural remedy (a refund action under Wash. Rev. Code §
82.32.180). Petitioners chose to file injunction actions. In
sharp contrast to what occurred in Reich and Newsweek, the
courts below adjudicated the merits of their claims. That is all
the “process” petitioners were “due” in this situation. There
was no “bait and switch.” Petitioners received precisely the
prepayment procedural remedy promised by Washington law.

Petitioners’ apparent assertion that unii! August 1987
Washington law promised them complete injunctive relief on
demand-regardless of the merits of their constitutional claims-—
obviously is incorrect. The statute petitioners allegedly relied
upon (Pet. 18-19), Wash. Rev. Code § 82.32.150, provides no
direction to the courts as to what form or degree of anticipatory
relief, if any, is appropriate when a tax statute or its application
is declared unconstitutionally discriminatory. Such a question
of appropriate relief always has been determined on a case-by-
case basis by considering all pertinent provisions of federal and
state law, including any applicable state statutes enacted before
the action is concluded. See, e.g., American Nat'l Can, 114
Wash. 2d 236, 249-53 & n.4, 787 P.2d 545, 551-53 & n.4, cert.
denied, 498 U.S. 880 (1990); Bond v. Burrows, 103 Wash. 2d
153, 161-63, 690 P.2d 1168, 1172-73 (1984); Benjamin
Franklin Thrift Stores, Inc. v. Henneford, 187 Wash. 472, 484-
88, 60 P.2d 86, 91-93 (1936); Jensen v. Henneford, i85 Wash.
209, 220, 53 P.2d 607 (1936); Nipges v. Thornton, 119 Wash.
464, 467-68, 206 P. 17, 18-19 (1922); Simpsen v. State, 26
Wash. App. 687, 695-96, 615 P.2d 1297, 1301-02, review
denied, 94 Wash. 2d 1022 (1980); Wash. Rev. Code §
82.98.030.

Wash. Rev. Code § 82.32.150 is nothing more than a
procedural statute, conditionally waiving the State’s sovereign
immunity pursuant to Wash. Const. art. Il, § 26, which
provides that the Washington Legislature “shall direct by law,

SS LL Le PS ee TT ET eT
20

in what manner, and in what courts, suits may be brought
against the state.” The statute merely authorizes a court, in an
appropriate case, to issue an injunction on state or federal
grounds, notwithstanding the existence of an adequate legal
remedy in the form of a refund action. See Tyler Pipe Indus.,
Inc. v. Department of Rev., 96 Wash. 2d 785, 791, 638 P.2d
1213, 1216 (1982).’

Nor could petitioners reasonably believe they would
receive complete injunctive relief based on the vague dictum*®
in National Can II: “lf the taxes were collected in violation of
the constitution, then the state refund statutes would mandate
refunds.” 109 Wash.2d at 880-81, 749 P.2d at 1286. In that
dictum, the Washington court did not say that state law would
mandate full refunds if Tyler Pipe were applied retroactively; it
said “refunds” would be required. Two years after National
Can II, when the court actually confronted the question of
appropriate relief under Washington law for the Commerce
Clause discrimination holding in Tyler Pipe, the court squarely
held that “[fJull refunds are not appropriate” and that the
taxpayers instead were entitled to more limited refunds based
on the retroactive application of the two-way credit law.
American Nat'l Can, 114 Wash. 2d at 253, 787 P.2d at 583.

’ Petitioners also cite Wash. Rev. Code § 82.04.4286 in support of
their “bait and switch” argument. Pet. 18. That statute, which merely
expresses a legislative intent not to impose any tax that the constitution
would prohibit it from imposing, has no application in this case. By
retroactively curing the constitutional defects of the “multiple activities
exemption,” the Legislature was no longer “prohibited from taxing”
petitioners “under . . . the constitution or laws of the United States.” Thus,
in light of the McKesson line of cases, petitioners’ argument based on this
statute must fail as circular.

* As explained at page 4-5, supra, the Washington Supreme Court
held in National Can II that the discrimination ruling announced in Tyler
Pipe applied purely prospectively. Because the Washington Supreme Court
held the former multiple activities exemption was constitutional during all
the tax periods at issue in National Can II, see 109 Wash. 2d at 881, any
discussion of what would otherwise be appropriate retroactive relief in that
case obviously was unnecessary to the court’s decision.

Jette

21

Thus, in referring to “refunds” in National Can II, the court
probably meant refunds based on retroactive application of the
1985 and 1987 credit statutes.’

Even if petitioners’ characterization of Washington law
before August 1987 were accurate, however, it is immaterial.
Neither Reich nor Newsweek overruled the McKesson line of
cases, which permitted the State of Washington to retroactively
“reformulate and enforce” its B&O taxes “during the contested
tax period[s] in any way that treats petitioner[s! and [their]
competitors in a manner consistent with the dictates of the
Commerce Clause.” McKesson, 496 U.S. at 40. That is
precisely what the Washington Legislature did in 1987 and
what the Supreme Court of Washington did below. Reich and
Newsweek are consistent with the McKesson line of cases
because the changes from a post-deprivation remedy to a pre-
deprivation remedy in Reich and Newsweek were unrelated to
curing the underlying discrimination problems with the taxes at
issue.

In short, this Due Process Clause question presented by
petitioners is not a substantial federal question.

D. Petitioners’ Substantive Due Process
Argument Also Is Meritless.

Petitioners also argue the Washington Supreme Court’s
retroactive application of the 1987 two-way credit statute, as
the appropriate relief for the Washington court’s retroactive
application of Tyler Pipe’s discrimination ruling, violates
substantive due process limitations on retroactive legislation.
Pet. 20-23. Without citing any relevant supporting authority,
petitioners contend that section 3 of the 1987 statute (App. 4a)
is unsupported by any legitimate legislative purpose and is
“applied so far back in time” as to violate the Due Process

” Unlike the taxpayers in Reich and Newsweek, it is hard to fathom
how the court’s dictum in National Can II could have induced these
petitioners to take any actions they otherwise would not have taken. Even
now, they still have not paid the taxes assessed against them.

22

Clause. The court below, applying this Court’s precedents,
correctly concluded that these arguments have no substance.
137 Wash. 2d at 599-603, 973 P.2d at 1020-21 (Pet. App. 20a-
24a).

United States v. Carlton, 512 U.S. 26 (1994), clarifies
that a retroactive tax provision violates substantive due process
limitations only if the provision fails the usual minimal
rationality due process test applied to economic legislation
generally. /d. at 35; see id. at 40 (Scalia, J., concurring in the
judgment). That is, the retroactive application of a new tax
provision must be so arbitrary and irrational as to be wholly
unrelated to any legitimate purpose.

In American Nat'l Can, the Washington Supreme Court
previously answered the similar argument of Grace and
Chrysler questioning the Legislature’s motivation behind the
1987 statute, stating:

[T]he State’s desire to maintain its revenues is proper.
Indeed, the Supreme Court has repeatedly stated that
the commerce clause does not relieve those engaged in
interstate commerce from their just share of state tax
burden even though it increases the cost of doing
business. State tax revenues fund every beneficial
action the state takes.

114 Wash. 2d at 247, 787 P.2d at 550.

As for petitioners’ argument that the period of
retroactivity is excessive, it is important to remember that the
1987 statute was curative legislation that offered relief to
interstate manufacturers. The statute did not increase even one
taxpayer’s tax burden. Even before Carlton, this Court had
held that before a retroactive tax provision could be challenged
under the Due Process Clause, the tax provision must, as a
threshold matter, at least leave the taxpayer “worse off” than
the taxpayer would have been under the prior tax law. See
United States v. Hemme, 476 U.S. 558, 568-71 (1986). The
1987 statute did not defeat any reasonable expectations of these

23

petitioners. Grace’s tax obligations remained the same as
before the legislation; Chrysler’s were reduced by $125,000.'°

In short, this Due Process Clause question presented by
petitioners is not a substantia! federal question.

fll. The Apportionment Question Petitioners Pose Is So
Explicitly Foreclosed by Prior Decisions of This
Court As To Leave No Room for Real Controversy.

Petitioners argue their petition should be granted “to
confirm that apportionment of gross receipts taxes is a
constitutional mandate to taxing states.” Pet. 29. Petitioners
state the question as “Is the Commerce Clause violated by the
State of Washington’s imposition of an unconstitutional gross
receipts tax scheme and discriminatory tax credit without
apportioning the tax as this Court requires under Oklahoma
Tax Commission v. Jefferson Lines, Inc., 514 U.S. 175
(1995)?” Pet. i.

Petitioners’ question misstates Washington law.
Washington does not impose its B&O tax system “without
apportioning the tax[es].” Washington taxes only extracting,
manufacturing, and selling activities that take place in this
state. If a Washington business manufactures a product in

'° Petitioners’ reliance in regard to this question on General
Motors Corp. v. City & County of San Francisco, 69 Cal. App. 4th 448, 81
Cal. Rptr. 2d 544 (1999), is somewhat ironic. When the California court
discussed the Washington Supreme Court’s approval in Digital of
retroactively applying the two-way credits, it distinguished Digital as
involving “recent tax years” (August 1987 credits applied retroactively to
January 1983) and a taxpayer that candidly conceded “it had not been
double taxed.” /d Thus, the California court did not perceive its holding to
be in conflict with that of the Washington Supreme Court in Digital. Here,
in Chrysler’s case, the two-way credits were applied retroactively only back
to January 1984. And in Grace’s case, although Grace refused to concede
the point, the Department proved conclusively that it, like Digital, had not
been “double taxed.” Based on the evidence submitted, applying a
summary judgment standard, the trial court found that Grace was “not
entitled to any multiple activities tax credit for the period January 1, 1980,
through December 31, 1990.” Cross-Pet. App. 3a (No. 99-233).

RT CNR SRR OME SO BORET MIN ER. OR AE AED RE ED COME RT GR RCN SNORE Or ACES CE ee OO RE NET en NEES
24

California and sells it in Oregon, not one cent of the gross
receipts from those activities will be subject to B&O tax. None
of Washington’s B&O taxes are unapportioned. Its extracting,
manufacturing, and selling B&O taxes all are inherently
apportioned because the taxes apply only when those taxed
activities (extracting, manufacturing, or sales) occur in
Washington.

The petition of Grace and Chrysler is vague as to which
of these B&O taxes they are challenging as_ unfairly
apportioned. In the assessments that it attacked below,
Chrysler was assessed only for unpaid selling B&O taxes.
Consequently, these were the only B&O taxes it challenged (or
had standing to challenge) on apportionment grounds. In the
assessments it attacked, Grace was assessed primarily for
unpaid selling B&O taxes, but also for a relatively small
amount of unpaid manufacturing B&O taxes for one of its
division’s manufacturing operations in Washington. In the
courts below, Grace, like Chrysler, directed its apportionment
arguments only to the selling B&O taxes, the same taxes both
of them previously challenged unsuccessfully in Tyler Pipe."'
Therefore, we will assume petitioners’ apportionment question
is limited to Washington’s selling B&O taxes.’

'' This also was the only apportionment issue addressed in the
Washington Supreme Court’s opinion below. The court below stated that
petitioners “ask us to ignore our own and the United States Supreme
Court’s rulings and revisit the apportionment issue.” 137 Wash. 2d at 596,
973 P.2d at 1019 (Pet. App. 16a-17a). The court cited none of this Court’s
or its own decisions involving apportionment challenges to manufacturing
taxes, e.g., American Mfg. Co. v. St. Louis, 250 U.S. 459 (1919); Reynolds
Metals Co. v. Washington, 65 Wash. 2d 882, 400 P.2d 310, appeal
dismissed for want of a substantial federal question, 382 U.S. 160 (1965),
which suggests that the court was not addressing such a question.

'? The only hint in their petition that petitioners might also be
attempting to challenge Washington’s manufacturing B&O tax on
apportionment grounds is their citation to a trade journal article discussing
“an unapportioned manufacturing tax measured by gross receipts.” Pet. 26-
27. In reviewing state court decisions under 28 U.S.C. § 1257, however,
this Court will not consider a federal question unless it was either addressed

25

As_ petitioners acknowledge, Pet. 24, this Court
unanimously upheld Washington’s selling B&O taxes as fairly
apportioned in Tyler Pipe be se

the activity of wholes«ing—whether by an in-state or
an out-of-state manufacturer—must be viewed as a
Separate activity conducted wholly within Washington
that no other State has jurisdiction to tax. See
Moorman Mfg. Co. v. Bair, 437 U.S., at 280-81 (gross
receipts tax on sales to customers within State would be
“plainly valid”); Standard Pressed Steel Co. vy.
Washington Revenue Dept., 419 U.S., at 564 (selling
tax measured by gross proceeds of sales is “apportioned
exactly to the activities taxed”).

483 U.S. at 251.7

In rejecting the apportionment challenge renewed by
Grace and Chrysler here,'* this Court in Tyler Pipe applied
settled Commerce Clause case law. For well over a century,
this Court has upheld nondiscriminatory gross receipts taxes on
interstate sales of goods imposed by the state of destination.
Standard Pressed Steel Co. y. Department of Rev., 419 U.S.
560 (1975); General Motors Corp. v. Washington, 377 U.S.

by or properly presented to the state courts. Street v. New York, 394 U.S.
576, 581-85 (1969).

"i rejecting the apportionment argument of Grace and Chrysler
in Tyler Pipe, this Court correctly observed that it rested “on the erroneous
assumption that through the B&O tax, Washington is taxing the unitary
activity of f manufacturing and wholesaling.” 483 U.S. at 251.

* Grace and Chrysler were parties in National Can I, No. 85-2006,
and litigated in Tyler Pipe whether Washington’s B&O selling taxes are
fairly apportioned. Therefore, federal common law rules of issue preclusion
should have prevented them from relitigating this same issue in the courts
below. See, e.g., Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477, 488 n.9 (1994): United
States v. Stauffer Chem. Co., 464 U.S. 165 (1984). If this Court were to
review the fourth question presented by petitioners, it would first need to
address this threshold federal issue preclusion question. See, e. g., Hagen v.
Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 409 (1994); Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S. 306, 313-17
(1983).

26

436 (1964); Field Enters., Inc. v. Washington, 352 U.S. 806
(1956), aff'g per curiam 47 Wash. 2d 852, 289 P.2d 1010
(1955); Norton Co. v. Department of Rev., 340 U.S. 534
(1951); /nternational Harvester Co. v. Department of Treasury,
322 U.S. 340 (1944); Department of Treasury v. Allied Mills,
Inc., 318 U.S. 740 (1943), aff'g per curiam 220 Ind. 340, 42
N.E.2d 34 (1942); Department of Treasury v. Wood Preserving
Corp., 313 U.S. 62 (1941); Sonneborn Bros. v. Cureton, 262
U.S. 506 (1923); Woodruff v. Parham, 8 Wall. 123 (1868); see
also Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v. King, 678 S.W.2d 19 (Tenn.
1984), appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal
question, 470 U.S. 1075 (1985); Chicago Bridge & Iron Co. v.
Department of Rev., 98 Wash. 2d 814, 659 P.2d 463, appeal
dismissed for want of a substantial federal question, 464 U.S.
1013 (1983); Stone v. Stapling Machs. Co., 220 Miss. 470, 71
So. 2d 205, appeal dismissed for want of a substantial federal
question, 348 U.S. 802 (1954).

For nearly a century, this Court also has consistently
rejected Commerce Clause challenges to state or local gross
receipts taxes on manufacturing, extracting, and producing
activities measured, like Washington’s B&O taxes, by the
value of the products. Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Montana,
453 U.S. 609, 617 & n.7 (1981) (extracting); Aponaug Mfg.
Co. v. Stone, 314 U.S. 577 (1941), aff’g per curiam 190 Miss.
805, 1 So. 2d 763 (1941) (manufacturing); Utah Power & Light
Co. v. Pfost, 286 U.S. 165 (1932) (generating electricity); Hope
Natural Gas Co. v. Hall, 274 U.S. 284 (1927) (extracting);
Lacoste v. Department of Conservation, 263 U.S. 545 (1924)
(extracting); Oliver Iron Mining Co. v. Lord, 262 U.S. 172
(1923) (extracting); Heisler v. Thomas Colliery Co., 260 U.S.
245 (1922) (extracting); American Mfg. Co. v. St. Louis, 250
U.S. 459 (1919) (manufacturing); see also Reynolds Metals Co.
v. Washington, 65 Wash. 2d 882, 400 P.2d 310, appeal
dismissed for want of a substantial federal question, 382 U.S.
160 (1965) (manufacturing).

eerie

27

Petitioners seem to contend that this Court overruled
both these lines of cases sub silentio in Oklahoma Tax Comm'n
v. Jefferson Lines, Inc., 514 U.S. 175 (1995). See Pet. 24-26.
In Jefferson Lines, this Court upheld Oklahoma’s sales tax on
the full price of a ticket for interstate transportation services as
consistent with the Commerce Clause. 514 U.S. at 177, 200.
Jefferson Lines might have rendered “suspect” the continuing
authority of Central Greyhound Lines, Inc. v. Mealey, 334 U.S.
653 (1948), see Jefferson Lines, 514 U.S. at 179, 189-92 &
nn.5-6, 195-96 & n.7; id. at 200-01 (Scalia, J., concurring in
the judgment); id. at 201-06 (Breyer, J., dissenting), but it did
not undermine in the slightest the above lines of cases
concerning taxes imposed on production or sales of goods.
Indeed, in Jefferson Lines, this Court cited Commonwealth
Edison, International Harvester, and Tyler Pipe, without
questioning their holdings or their reasoning. See id. at 183,
188-89, 192 n.6, 199-200. The Washington Supreme Court
below simply followed settled apportionment rules applied in
this Court’s controlling precedents, as was its duty.

Petitioners state that “subsequent to Jefferson Lines, the
Supreme Courts of Alabama and Virginia have struck down
unapportioned gross receipts taxes on interstate manufacturers”
on Commerce Clause grounds, citing M & Assocs., Inc. v. City
of Irondale, 723 So.2d 592 (Ala. 1998), and City of Winchester
v. American Woodmark Corp., 252 Va. 98, 471 S.E.2d 495
(1996). Pet. 26. The decision below is not in conflict with
either of those decisions. There is no suggestion whatsoever in
either M & Assocs. or American Woodmark that Jefferson
Lines undermined this Court’s apportionment holding in Tyler
Pipe.

The gross receipts taxes the Virginia and Alabama
courts struck down in American Woodmark and M & Assocs.

'S Petitioners do not explicitly argue that the court below has
decided an “important federal question” in a way that “conflicts” with
Jefferson Lines, M & Assocs., or American Woodmark, within the meaning
of Rule 10. It obviously has not.

a ee ea ae ee ee a
28

differed dramatically from the Washington selling B&O taxes,
which apply only to sales that take place in Washington. In
American Woodmark, the city attempted to apply its gross
receipts tax to 100% of the company’s nationwide gross
revenues, merely because the company’s headquarters building
was in the city. 471 S.E.2d at 496, 498. The company
operated 24 facilities in 13 different states, including
manufacturing plants, distribution centers, and service and
sales offices. None of those facilities were located in the city
and almost none of the company’s customers were either. /d.

Similarly, in M & Assocs., the city attempted to apply
its gross receipts tax to all the company’s receipts from sales,
including sales in other states, again merely because the
company’s headquarters building was in the city. 723 So. 2d at
592-93. The Alabama court correctly held that the city’s tax
failed the “internal consistency” test. Jd. at 598-99. Thus. the
local gross receipts taxes in American Woodmark and M &
Associates truly were unapportioned.

In contrast, the selling B&O taxes this Court upheld in
Tyler Pipe (when Grace and Chrysler previously litigated this
question) are inherently apportioned because they are imposed
only on sales in Washington. No other state could
constitutionally impose a similar gross receipts tax on the same
sales. See, e.g., Evco v. Jones, 409 U.S. 91 (1972); J.D. Adams
Mfg. Co. v. Storen, 304 U.S. 307 (1938).

Despite petitioners’ strained arguments to the contrary,
Pet. 28-29, Washington’s selling B&O taxes, as well as the
B&O tax system as a whole with the two-way credits,
obviously are internally consistent and externally consistent.

In short, the Commerce Clause apportionment question
presented by petitioners is not a substantial federal question.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari

should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

August 30, 1999

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE
Attorney General

State of Washington

DONALD F. COFER*

WILLIAM BERGGREN COLLINS
Assistant Attorneys General
Counsel for Respondent

*Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

Oe

la

1987 WASH. LAWS, 2ND EX. SESS. CH. 3

BUSINES’ AND OCCUPATION TAX-—
| MULTIPLE ACTIVITIES-TAX CREDITS

; AN ACT Relating to business and occupation taxation
: of multiple activities; amending RCW 82.04.440; creating new
sections; and declaring an emergency.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Washington:

NEW SECTION. Sec. 1. The legislature finds that the
invalidation of the multiple activities exemption contained in
RCW 82.04.440 by the United States Supreme Court now
requires adjustments to the state’s business and occupation tax
to achieve constitutional equality between Washington
taxpayers who have conducted and will continue to conduct
business in interstate and intrastate commerce. It is the intent
of this act to preserve the integrity of Washington’s business
and occupation tax system and impose only that financial
burden upon the state necessary to establish parity in taxation
between such taxpayers.

cab aitnalianeed Maret

Thus, this act extends the system of credits originated in
RCW 82.04.440 in 1985 to provide for equal treatment of
taxpayers engaging in extracting, manufacturing or selling
regardless of the location in which any of such activities
occurs. It is further intended that RCW 82.04.440, as amended
by section 2 of this act, shall be construed and applied in a
manner that will eliminate unconstitutional discrimination
between taxpayers and ensure the preservation and collection
of revenues from the conduct of multiple activities in which
taxpayers in this state may engage.

Sec. 2. Section 82.04.440, chapter 15, Laws of 1961 as
last amended by section 1, chapter 190, Laws of 1985 and
RCW 82.04.440 are each amended to read as follows:

Pleiadian Pal ala ee Rie alan 5 it Rt Scale Dainty

Se NES Ab RRL DS STI Ps i

(1) ((Bxeeptas- provided ta subsections 2) and 43464
this—section,)) Every person engaged in activities which are

dierent

2a

within the purview of the provisions of two or more of sections
RCW 82.04.230 to 82.04.290, inclusive, shall be taxable under
each paragraph applicable to the activities engaged in.

(2) Persons taxable under RCW 82.04.250 or
SOA 2 shall Het tet ttt he ttt Ee

; ; ; > >
. av. 7 : OD ot;
~ -- -

preducis-se-seld)) be allowed a credit against those taxes for
any (a) manufacturing taxes paid with respect to the

manufacturing of products so sold in this state, and/or (b)

extracting taxes paid with respect to the extracting of products

so sold in this state or ingredients of products so sold in this
state. Extracting taxes taken as credit under section (3) of this

section may also be taken under this subsection, if otherwise
allowable under this subsection. The amount of the credit shall
not exceed the tax liability arising under this chapter with
respect to the sale of those products.

(3) Persons taxable under RCW 82.04.240 or
82.04.260 subsection (4) shall ((net-be+taxable-under RCW
$2-04.230)) be allowed a credit against those taxes for any
extracting taxes paid with respect to extracting the ingredients
of the products so manufactured in this state. The amount of

the credit shall not exceed the tax liability arising under this
chapter with respect to the manufacturing of those products.

( aay ;
sasriedi Nts 2 a eaeaggien yt agpedien a dae

{
e

3a

(6}-As-previded-ina}-of this-subsection;)) Persons
taxable under RCW 82.04.230, 82.04.240, or subsection (2),

(3), (4), (5), or (7) of RCW 82.04.260 with respect to extracting
or manufacturing products in this state shall be allowed a credit
against those taxes for any (i) gross receipts taxes paid to
another state with respect to the sales of the products so
extracted or manufactured in this state, (11) manufacturing taxes
paid with respect to the manufacturing of products using

ingredients so extracted in this state, or (iii) manufacturing

taxes paid with respect to manufacturing activities completed
in another state for products so manufactured in this state. The
amount of the credit shall not exceed the tax liability arising
under this chapter with respect to the extraction or
manufacturing of those products.

((¢})) (5) For the purpose of this ((subsectien;))
section:

(a) “Gross receipts tax” means a tax:

(i) Which is imposed on or measured by the gross
volume of business, in terms of gross receipts or in other terms,
and in the determination of which the deductions allowed
would not constitute the tax an income tax or value added tax,
and

(ii) Which is also not, pursuant to law or custom,
separately stated from the sales price.

(( He) eee the pe pe tt atte |) Cb) State

means (i) the state of Washington, (ii) a state of the United
States other than Washington, or any political subdivision
((thereef-or)) of such other state, (iii) the District of Columbia,
and (iv) any foreign country or political subdivision thereof.

(c) “Manufacturing tax” means a gross receipts tax
imposed on the act or privilege of engaging in business as a
manufacturer, and includes (i) the taxes imposed in RCW
82.04.240 and subsections (2), (3). (4), (5), and (7) of RCW
82.04.260, and (ii) similar gross receipts taxes paid to other

States.

4a

(d) “Extracting tax” means a gross receipts tax

imposed on the act or privilege of engaging in business as an

extractor, and includes the tax imposed in RCW 82.04.230 and
similar gross receipts taxes paid to other states.

> «666 29 «66

(e) “Business”, “manufacturer”, “extractor”, and other
terms used in this section have the meanings given in RCW
82.04.020 through 82.04.212, notwithstanding the use of those
terms in the context of describing taxes imposed by other
states.

NEW SECTION. Sec. 3. If it is determined by a court
of competent jurisdiction, in a judgment not subject to review,
that relief is appropriate for any tax reporting periods before
the effective date of this act, in respect to RCW 82.04.440 as it
existed before the effective date of this act, it is the intent of the
legislature that the credits provided in RCW 82.04.440 as
amended by section 2 of this act shall be applied to such
reporting periods and that relief for such periods be limited to
the granting of such credits.

NEW SECTION. Sec. 4. If any provision of this act or
its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid,
the remainder of the act or the application of the provision to
other persons or circumstances is not affected.

NEW SECTION. Sec. 5. This act is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, and safety,
the support of the state government and its existing public
institutions, and shall take effect immediately.

Passed the Senate August 10, 1987.

Pass the House August 10, 1987.
Approved by the Governor August 11, 1987.
Filed in Office of Secretary of State August 11, 1987.

eS eS s.

Sa

WAC 458-20-19301 Multiple activities tax credits.
(1) Introduction. Under the provisions of RCW 82.04.440 as
amended effective August 12, 1987, Washington state’s
business and occupation taxes imposed under chapter 82.04
RCW were adjusted to achieve constitutional equality in the
tax treatment of persons engaged in intrastate commerce
(within this state only) and interstate commerce (between
Washington and other states). The business and occupation tax
system taxes the privilege of engaging in specified business
activities based upon “gross proceeds of sales” (RCW
82.04.070) and the “value of products” (RCW 82.04.450)
produced in this state. In order to maintain the integrity of this
taxing system, to eliminate the possibility of discrimination
between taxpayers, and to provide equal and uniform treatment
of persons engaged in extracting, manufacturing, and/or selling
activities regardless of where performed, a statutory system of
internal and external tax credits was adopted, effective August
12, 1987. This tax credits system replaces the multiple
activities exemption which, formerly, assured that the gross
receipts tax would be paid only once by persons engaged in
more than one taxable activity in this state in connection with
the same end products. Unlike the multiple activities
exemption which only prevented multiple taxation from within
this state, the credits of the new system apply for gross receipts
taxes paid to other taxing jurisdictions outside this state as
well.

(2) Definitions. For purposes of this section the
following terms will apply.

(a) “Credits” means the multiple activities tax credit(s)
authorized under this statutory system also referred to as
MATC.

(b) “Gross receipts tax” means a tax:

(i) Which is imposed on or measured by the gross
volume of business, in terms of gross receipts or in other terms,
and in the determination of which the deductions allowed

Ee ee Ne ie SL TL ON eT A Me pe rs eae SO ce OR ee
6a

would not constitute the tax an income tax or value added tax;
and

(11) Which is not, pursuant to law or custom, separately
stated from the selling price.

(c) “Extracting tax” means a gross receipts tax imposed
on the act or privilege of engaging in business as an extractor,
and includes the tax imposed by RCW 82.04.230 (tax on
extractors) and similar gross receipts taxes paid to other states.

(d) “Manufacturing tax” means a gross receipts tax
imposed on the act or privilege of engaging in business as a
manufacturer, and includes:

(i) The taxes imposed in RCW 82.04.240 (tax on

manufacturers) and subsections (2) through (5) and (7) of
RCW 82.04.260 (tax on special manufacturing activities) and

(11) Similar gross receipts taxes paid to other states.

The term “manufacturing tax,” by nature, includes a
gross receipts tax upon the combination of printing and
publishing activities when performed by the same person.

(e) “Selling tax” means a gross receipts tax imposed on
the act or privilege of engaging in business as a wholesaler or
retailer of tangible personal property in this state or any other
state. The term “selling” has its common and ordinary
meaning and includes the acts of making either wholesale sales
or retail sales or both.

(f) “State” means:

(i) The state of Washington,

(ii) A state of the United States other than Washington
or any political subdivision of such other state,

(iii) The District of Columbia,

(iv) Territories and possessions of the United States,

and

Ta

(v) Any foreign country or political subdivision
thereof.

(g) “Taxes paid” means taxes legally imposed and
actually paid in terms of money, credits, or other emoluments
to a taxing authority of any “state.” The term does not include
taxes for which liability for payment has accrued but for which
payment has not actually been made. This term also includes
business and occupation taxes being paid to Washington state
together with the same combined excise tax return upon which
MATC are taken.

(h) “Business,” “manufacturer,” “extractor.” and other
terms expressly defined in RCW 82.04.020 through 82.04.212
have the meanings given in those statutory sections regardless
of how the terms may be used for other states’ taxing purposes.

99 66

(3) Scope of credits. This integrated tax credits system
is intended to assure that gross receipts from sales or the value
of products determined by such gross receipts are taxed only
one time, whether the activities occur entirely within this state
or both within and outside this state. External tax credits arise
when activities are taxed in this state and similar activities with
respect to the same products produced and sold are also subject
to similar taxes outside this state. There are five ways in which
external tax credits may arise because of taxes paid in other
states.

(a) Products or ingredients are extracted (taken from
the ground) in this state and are manufactured or sold and
delivered in another state which imposes a gross receipts tax on
the latter activity(s). The credit created by payment of the
other state’s tax may be used to offset the Washington
extracting tax liability.

(b) Products are manufactured, in whole or in part, in
this state and sold and delivered in another state which imposes
a gross receipts tax on the selling activity. Again, payment of
the other state’s tax may be taken as a credit against the
Washington manufacturing tax liability.

8a

(c) Conversely, products or ingredients are extracted
outside this state upon which a gross receipts tax is paid in the
state of extracting, and which are sold and delivered to buyers
here. The other state tax payment may be taken as a credit
against Washington’s selling taxes.

(d) Similarly, products are manufactured, in whole or
in part outside this state and sold and delivered to buyers here.
Any other state’s gross receipts tax on manufacturing may be
taken as a credit against Washington’s selling tax.

(e) Products are partly manufactured in this state and
partly in another state and are sold and delivered here or in
another state. The combination of all other states’ gross
receipts taxes paid may be taken as credits against
Washington’s manufacturing and/or selling taxes.

Thus, the external tax credits may arise in the flow of
commerce, either upstream or downstream from the taxable
activity in this state, or both. Products extracted in another
state, manufactured in Washington state, and sold and
delivered in a third state may derive credits for taxes paid on
both of the out of state activities.

Internal tax credits arise from multiple business
activities performed entirely within this state, all of which are
now subject to tax, but with the integrated credits offsetting the
liabilities so that tax is only paid once on gross receipts. Under
this system Washington extractors and manufacturers who sell
their products in this state at wholesale and/or retail must report
the value of products or gross receipts under each applicable
tax classification. Credits may then be taken in the amount of
the extracting and/or manufacturing tax paid to offset the
selling taxes due. There are three ways in which credits may
arise because of taxes paid exclusively in this state.

(f) Products are extracted in Washington and directly
sold in Washington. Extracting business and occupation tax
and selling business and occupation tax must both be reported
but the payment of the former is a credit against the latter.

9a

(g) Similarly, ingredients are extracted in Washington
and manufactured into new products in this state. The
extracting business and occupation tax reported and paid may
be taken as a credit against manufacturing tax reported.

(h) Products manufactured in Washington are sold in
Washington. Again, the payment of the manufacturing tax
reported may be credited against the selling tax (wholesaling
and/or retailing business and occupation tax) reported.

All of the external and internal tax credits derived from
any flow of commerce may be used, repeatedly if necessary, to
offset other tax liabilities related to the production and sale of
the same products.

(4) Eligibility for taking credits. Statutory law places
the following eligibility requirements and limitations upon the
MATC system.

(a) The amount of the credit(s), however derived, may
not exceed the Washington tax liability against which the
credit(s) may be used. Any excess of credit(s) over liability
may not be carried over or used for any purpose.

(b) The person claiming the credit(s) must be the same
person who is legally obligated to pay both the taxes which
give rise to the credit(s) and the taxes against which the credit
is claamed. The MATC is not assignable.

(c) The taxes which give rise to the credit(s) must be
actually paid before credit may be claimed against any other
tax liability. Tax liability merely accrued is not creditable.

(d) The business activity subject to tax, and against
which credit(s) is claimed, must involve the same ingredients
or product upon which the tax giving rise to the credit(s) was
paid. The credits must be product-specific.

(e) The effective date for developing and claiming
credit(s) for products manufactured in Washington state and
sold and delivered in other states which impose gross receipts
selling taxes is June 1, 1987.

eee:
10a

(f) The effective date for developing and claiming all
credits other than those explained in subsection (e) above, is
August 12, 1987.

(g) Persons who are engaged only in making wholesale
or retail sales of tangible personal property which they have not
extracted or manufactured are not entitled to claim MATC.
Also, persons engaged in rendering services in this state are not
so entitled, even if such services have been defined as “retail
sales” under RCW 82.04.050. (See WAC 458-20-194 for rules
governing apportionment of gross receipts from interstate
services. )

(5) Other states’ qualifying taxes. The law defines
“gross receipts tax” paid to other states to exclude income
taxes, value added taxes, retail sales taxes, use taxes, or other
taxes which are generally stated separately from the selling
price of products sold. Only those taxes imposed by other
states which include gross receipts of a business activity within
their measure or base are qualified for these credit(s). The
burden rests with the person claiming any MATC for other
states’ taxes paid to show that the other states’ tax was a tax on
gross receipts as defined herein. Gross receipts taxes generally
include:

(a) Business and occupation privileges taxes upon
extracting, manufacturing, and selling activities which are
similar to those imposed in Washington state in that the tax
measure or base is not reduced by any allocation,
apportionment, or other formulary method resulting in a
downward adjustment of the tax base. If costs of doing
business may be generally or routinely deducted from the tax
base, the tax is not one which is similar to Washington state’s
gross receipts tax.

(b) Severance taxes measured by the selling price of
the ingredients or products severed (oil, logs, minerals, natural
products, etc.) rather than measured by costs of production,
stumpage values, the volume or number of units produced, or
some other formulary tax base.

ee A AP Cae SER ie ae

ee ee ee ke

lla

(c) Business franchise or licensing taxes measured by
the gross volume of business in terms of gross receipts or other
financial terms rather than units of production or the volume of
units sold.

Other states’ tax payments claimed for MATC must be
identifiable with the same ingredients or products which
incurred tax liability in Washington state, i.e., they must be
product specific.

(d) The department will periodically publish an excise
tax bulletin listing current taxes in other jurisdictions which are
either qualified or disqualified for credit under the MATC
system.

(6) Deductions in combination with MATC. Effective
August 12, 1987, with the enactment of the MATC system, the
liability for actual payment of tax by persons who extract,
manufacture, and sell products in this state was shifted from
the selling activity (wholesaling or retailing) to the production
activity (extracting and/or manufacturing). As explained, the
payment of the production taxes may now be credited against
the liability for selling taxes on the same products. However,
the deductions from tax provided by chapter 82.04 RCW
(business and occupation tax deductions) may still be taken
before tax credits are computed and used, with noted
exceptions. In order for the MATC system to result in the
correct computation of tax liabilities and credit applications,
the tax deductions which may apply for any reporting period
must be taken equally against both levels of tax liability
reported, i.e., at both the production and selling levels. Failure
to report tax deductions in this manner will result in
overreporting tax due and may result in overpayment of tax.
Thus, with the exceptions noted below, tax deductions formerly
reported only against selling activities should now be reported -
against production activities as well. All such deductions, the
result of which is to reduce the measure of tax reported, should
be taken against both the production taxes (extracting or

——— ee eee PE ee NS ON, FEF ON SENET

12a

manufacturing) and the selling taxes (wholesaling and/or
retailing equally.

(a) Example:

(i) A company manufactures products in Washington
which it also sells at wholesale for $5,000 and delivers to a
buyer in this state. The buyer defaults on part of the payment
and the seller incurs a $2,000 credit loss which it writes off as a
bad debt during the tax reporting period. The bad debt
deduction provided by RCW 82.04.4284 must be shown on
both the manufacturing-other line and the wholesaling-other
line of the combined excise tax return. Taking the deduction
on only one of those activities results in overreported tax
liability on the $2,000 loss.

(b) Exceptions. The deductions generally provided by
RCW 82.04.4286, for interstate or foreign sales (where goods
are sold and delivered outside this state) may not be taken
against tax reported at the production level (extracting or
manufacturing). This is because the MATC system itself
provides for tax credits instead of tax deductions on gross
receipts from transactions involving goods produced in this
state and sold in interstate or foreign commerce. Thus,
deductions which eliminate transactions from tax reporting
may be taken only against selling taxes.

(c) Applicable deductions should be shown on the front
of the combined excise tax return (Column #3) on each
applicable tax classification line and detailed on the back side
of the return, as usual, before MATC is taken.

(d) It is not the intent of the MATC law to invalidate or
nullify the business and occupation tax exemption for taxable
amounts below minimum (see WAC 458-20-104). Thus any
person whose gross receipts or value of products reported
under any single tax classification with respect to the
production and sale of any product is less than the minimum
taxable amount will not incur tax liability merely because of
the requirement to report those gross receipts or value of

13a

products on the same product under other tax classifications as
well.

(i) Example: A person both manufactures and sells at
wholesale $2,000 worth of widgets in the first quarter of a tax
year. The requirement to report the $2,000 tax measure under
both the manufacturing-other classification and the whole-
saling-other classification gives the false appearance of $4,000
in gross receipts during this quarter. However, only the
amount reported under the manufacturing-other classification
need be considered to determine eligibility for the amount-
below-minimum exemption.

(7) How and when to take MATC. The credits
available under the MATC system are all to be taken on the
combined excise tax return beginning in August, 1987 and
thereafter. The return form has been modified to accommodate
these credits. Each tax return upon which MATC has been
taken must be accompanied by a completed Schedule C. This
schedule details the business activities and credits
computations. The line by line instructions insure that no more
or no less credits are claimed than are authorized under the law.

(8) Consolidation of tax liabilities and credits. Under
the MATC system a person’s Washington tax liability for all
activities involved in that person’s production and sale of the
same ingredients or products (extracting, and/or manufacturing,
and/or selling) is to be reported only at the time of the sale of
such products or at the time of that person’s own use of such
products for commercial or industrial consumption. All of the
taxable activities are to be reported on that same periodic
excise tax return. Also, all external and internal tax credits
derived from the payment of any gross receipts taxes on any of
these activities are to be taken at that time. Thus, the taxable
activities and the tax credits are procedurally consolidated for
reporting. This consolidation generally overcomes any need to
track ingredients or products from their extraction to their sale.
It also overcomes any need to report and pay Washington tax
liability during one reporting period and to take credits against

14a

that tax liability in a different reporting period. Thus, except as
noted below, there can be no credit carryovers or carrybacks
under this system.

(a) Exception. Where different tax periods are
assigned by Washington state and another state to a company
doing business both within and outside Washington state, the
other state’s gross receipts tax on the same products may not
yet have been paid when the Washington tax is due for
reporting and payment. In such cases the Washington tax due
must be timely reported and paid during the period in which
the sale is made. The external credit arising later, when the
other state’s tax is paid, may be taken as a credit against any
Washington business and occupation tax reported during that
later period. Thus, the limitation that the MATC must be
product-specific by being limited to the amount of Washington
tax paid on the same products does not mean that the credit(s)
can only be used against precisely those same Washington
taxes paid.

(i) In the situation described in subsection (a) above, if
there is not sufficient Washington business and occupation tax
due for payment in the later period, when the external tax credit
arises, to allow for utilization of the entire credit, the amount of
any overage may be carried forward and taken against
Washington taxes reported in subsequent reporting periods
until fully used.

When filing such exception returns, the full amount of
any credits should be claimed, even though that credit amount
will exceed the amount of tax liability reported for that period.
The department of revenue itself will make the necessary
adjustments and will perform the carrying over of any excess
credits into future reporting periods.

(ii) In the same situation, if the person entitled to claim
such credit overage is no longer engaged in taxable business in
this state or for any other reason does not incur sufficient
Washington business and occupation tax liability to fully
utilize the perfected credit overage, a tax refund will be issued.

ef bag Siete yer een each) Sh tae eee a eed

15a

(iii) No tax refunds, MATC carryovers, or MATC
carrybacks will be allowed under any circumstances other than
those explained above.

(b) Special circumstances may arise where it is not
possible to specifically identify ingredients or products as they
move from production to sale (e.g., fungible commodities from
various sources stored in a common warehouse). In such cases
the taxpayer should seek advance approval from the
department, in writing, for tax reporting and credit taking on a
test period, formulary, or volume percentage basis, subject to
audit verification.

(9) Recordkeeping requirements. Persons claiming the
MATC must keep and preserve such records and documents as
may be necessary to prove their entitlement to any credits taken
under this system (RCW 82.32.070). It is not required to
submit copies of such proofs when credits are claimed or
together with the Schedule C detail. Rather, such records must
be kept for a period no less than five years from the date of the
tax return upon which the related tax credits are claimed. Such
records are fully subject to audit for confirmation of the
validity and amounts of credits taken. Records which must be
preserved by persons claiming external tax credits include:

(a) Copies of sales contracts, or other written or
memorialized evidence of any sales agreements, including
purchase and billing invoices showing the origin state and
destination state of products sold.

(b) Copies of shipping or other delivery documents
identifying the products sold and delivered, reconcilable with
the selling documents of subsection (a) above, if appropriate.

(c) Copies of production reports, transfer orders, and

. similar such documents which will reflect the intercompany or

interdepartmental movement of extracted ingredients or
manufactured products where no sale has occurred.

l6a

(d) Copies of tax returns or reports filed with other
States’ taxing authorities showing the kinds and amounts of
taxes paid to such other states for which MATC is claimed.

(e) Copies of cancelled checks or other proofs of actual
tax payment to the other state(s) giving rise to the MATC
claimed.

(f) Copies of any other state(s) taxing statutes, laws,
ordinances, and other appropriate legal authorities necessary to
establish the nature of the other states’ tax as a gross receipts
tax, as defined in this section.

(g) Failure to keep and preserve proofs of entitlement
to the MATC will result in the denial of credits claimed and the
assessment of all taxes offset or reduced by such credits as well
as the additional assessment of interest and penalties as
required by law. (See RCW 82.32.050.)

(10) MATC in combination with other credits. The tax
credits authorized under this system may be taken in
combination with other tax credits available under Washington
law. Such other credit programs, however, authorize credit
carryovers from reporting period to period until the credits are
fully utilized. Thus, the MATC must be computed and used to
offset business and occupation tax liabilities during any tax
reporting period before any other program credits to which a
claimant may be entitled are claimed or applied. Failure to
compute and take the MATC before applying other available
credits may result in the loss of the other credit benefits.

(11) Superseding provisions. The MATC provisions of
this section supersede and control the provisions of other
sections of chapter 458-20 WAC (other tax rules) relating to
intrastate, interstate, and foreign transactions to the extent that
such provisions are or appear to be contrary or conflicting.

(12) Unique or special credit situations—-Appeals. The
provisions of this section generally explain the nature of the
MATC system and the tax credit qualifications, limitations, and
claiming procedures. The complexity of the integrated tax

:
;
:
q

17a

reporting and credit taking procedures may develop situations
or questions which are not addressed herein. Such matters and
requests for specialized rulings should be submitted to the
department of revenue for prior determination before credits
are claimed. Generally, prior determinations will be provided
within sixty days after the department receives the information
necessary to make such a ruling. Adverse rulings, tax credit
denials, or tax assessments resulting from audits or other
examinations of returns upon which the MATC is claimed may
be administratively appealed under the provisions of chapter

82.32 RCW and WAC 458-20-100.

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE
OF WASHINGTON

FOR THURSTON COUNTY
AMERICAN NATIONAL _ )
CAN CORPORATION, )
et al., )
)
Plaintiffs, ) NO. 88-2-00680-3
)
VS. )
) AFFIDAVIT OF
STATE OF WASHINGTON,) FRED DANG IN
DEPARTMENT OF ) RESPECT TO
REVENUE, and WILLIAM _ ) DETERMINATION OF
R. WILKERSON, ) MULTIPLE TAX
) CREDIT
Defendants. )
)
STATE OF WASHINGTON )
) Ss.

County of Thurston )

FRED DANG, having been first duly sworn on oath,
deposes and says:

l. I am a Revenue Auditor employed by the
Washington State Department of Revenue and have served in
that position during the times pertinent to this affidavit. I am
over the age of eighteen, competent to testify in this matter,
and have personal knowledge of all matters set forth in this
affidavit.

2. In 1988 I conducted an excise tax audit of the
plaintiff taxpayer identified under the terms of a protective
order in this matter as No. 46. The audit of this taxpayer
resulted from the Department of Revenue’s usual audit

19a

;

selection process and was conducted for the taxable periods
January 1, 1984 through December 31, 1987.

3. During the course of audit I noted that no claim
had been made by the taxpayer for the business and occupation
multiple activities tax credit (MATC credit) for which the
taxpayer might otherwise be eligible for the limited interval
July 1, 1987 through December 31, 1987 included in my audit
period.

4. In conducting the audit examination |
determined that the taxpayer might be entitled to the MATC
credit with respect to products manufactured within the state of
Washington and which were subjected to selling gross receipts
taxes in the states of Indiana and Hawaii.

5. For purposes of confirming the MATC credit
allowable to the taxpayer I audited the existing records of the
corporation as follows:

(a) I utilized a test period which contained portions
of the months of October and November 1987.

(b) I then made reference to the taxpayer’s existing
records summarizing sales of manufactured products made into
the various states including Indiana and Hawaii.

(c) From existing sales invoices and product
numbers examined for the test period I determined that 54.65%
of the product volume sold into Indiana was produced in
Washington. I further determined that the comparable
percentage for Hawaii sales from Washington manufacturing
sources was 20.62%.

(d) _I then calculated the Indiana and Hawaii taxes
payable on this apportioned volume of sales within the two
states from Washington sources, thereby producing the
allowable MATC credit.

6. My audit was conducted by examining records
compiled and maintained by the taxpayer for purposes other
than the computation of the MATC credit. The MATC credit
allowed for the Indiana tax as a result of my audit was $7,211.
The credit was allowed for the period June through December
1987. On an annualized basis, this credit closely approximates

a oe ee ene ee
20a

what the taxpayer has identified in paragraph 8 of its affidavit,
which I have read, as its credit entitlement based upon a review
of its “production, distribution and sales system” records. The
MATC credit allowed for taxes paid to Hawaii, which are not
mentioned in the taxpayer’s affidavit, was $810.

/s/ Fred Dang
FRED DANG

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this 19th
day of July, 1989.

/s/ LoRay W. Walker

NOTARY PUBLIC in and for the
State of Washington, residing

at Olympia.

My commission expires: 10-1-89

: 2la

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE
OF WASHINGTON
FOR THURSTON COUNTY

AMERICAN NATIONAL
CAN CORPORATION,
et al.,

Plaintiffs, NO. 88-2-00680-3

VS.

STATE OF WASHINGTON LES JASTER IN
DEPARTMENT OF RESPECT TO
REVENUE, and WILLIAM THE MULTIPLE
R. WILKERSON, ACTIVITIES TAX
CREDIT
Defendants.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF
:)
)
)
)
)
)
)

STATE OF WASHINGTON )
) SS.
County of Thurston )

LES JASTER, having been first duly sworn on oath
deposes and says:

i. I am a regional audit manager of the
Washington State Department of Revenue and previously
served as the supervisor of Audit Review for such agency. |
am over the age of eighteen, competent to testify in this matter,
and have personal knowledge of all matters set forth in this

affidavit.

y A I have been employed by the Department of
Revenue for approximately twenty-one years.

3. My responsibilities in the position of regional

audit manager and supervisor of Audit Review require that |
provide advice and instructions to the agency’s tax auditors in

4
ey
RE

22a

the administration and application of the Washington multiple
activities credit (hereinafter the “MATC credit”) which is
allowed as a credit against Washington business and
occupation taxes for certain gross receipts taxes paid to other
states and jurisdictions. These responsibilities include the
giving of similar advice and instructions to auditors in regard to
the application of the Department of Revenue’s administrative
rule (WAC 458-20-19301) which implements the statutory
credit.

4. In connection with the above-referenced action |
have recently examined affidavits submitted by several of the
plaintiffs herein which are generally titled “Affidavit
Regarding Potential Claim for the Washington Multiple
Activities Credit”. Because of the protective order obtained by
plaintiffs | am required to identify the corporate taxpayers
submitting these affidavits by number rather than by name. I
am informed and therefore believe that the court has been
provided with an index to identify these taxpayers. The
taxpayer affidavits which I have reviewed are as follows;

Taxpayer Nos. 4 15 34 50 64

10 17 39 52 67

11 18 46 56 57

12 23 49 59 72
I have also reviewed the initial affidavits submitted by these
taxpayers with the exception of two taxpayers which did not
submit such initial affidavits.

5. A substantial number of the affidavits contain
the same language which states that based upon the taxpayers’
analysis of their production, distribution and sales records they
believe themselves to be eligible for MATC credits, in amounts
they specifically state, for gross receipts taxes paid to other
jurisdictions. Such affidavits, however, proceed to say that the
requirements of the law, as administered by the Department of
Revenue preclude their claim of the MATC credit because the
costs of “identifying, producing and preserving” the
documentation required by the Department of Revenue
significantly exceed the financial benefit of the credit. Certain

23a

of the affidavits allege, in conclusionary fashion and without
detail, the costs that would be incurred in setting up a unique
accounting system to be able to claim such credits.

6. The representations contained in these affidavits
misconstrue the requirements of the law for claiming credits as
the law is administered by the Department of Revenue.

rd The recordkeeping requirements set forth in the
Department’s administrative rule (WAC 458-20-19301) pertain
to records that a taxpayer generates in the ordinary course of
business. The rule does not require the independent generation
of records for the sole purpose of establishing qualification for
the MATC credit.

8. The affidavits submitted by taxpayers further
imply that the Department requires the exact tracing of any and
all manufactured items from their place of origin to destination
before consideration will be given to allowance of tax credit.
This is inaccurate.

9. Further, the affidavits suggest that by reference
to the records maintained by the taxpayers in the ordinary
course of business relating to their production, distribution and
sales systems, the taxpayers could calculate an appropriate
MATC credit, but the Department’s recordkeeping
requirements and methods of administering the tax credit
would disallow the benefit. This, too, is in error.

10. The Department will utilize records otherwise
maintained by the taxpayer which may permit the tracing of
goods to determine the movement from point of manufacture
or extraction to sale for purposes of confirming the allowable
MATC credit. The Department will analyze such records for a
given taxpayer agreed upon by the Department and the
taxpayer (e.g., one or more months) and apply the results of
that test period to the entire audit period.

11. However, where existing or readily obtainable
records do not permit the identification of specific products
from their places of origin to ultimate destination, the
Department is prepared to accept statistical evidence

Ce a ee nS Te ee

24a

maintained in the ordinary course of business as confirmation
of the taxpayers’ entitlement to credit.

12. For example, a manufacturing business can
demonstrate from records it otherwise maintains that 10% of
the products it manufactures outside of Washington is
attributable to jurisdictions that impose a gross receipts
manufacturing tax that would qualify as a credit against the tax
imposed for sales made to Washington customers. The
taxpayer’s records further demonstrate that of its total
production outside Washington, 5% of the production is sold
into Washington. The taxpayer neither generates nor maintains
records in the ordinary course of business to establish from
which manufacturing sources the Washington products
emanated and in what amounts. In such circumstances the
Department would deem 10% of the Washington products to
have had their origin in that jurisdiction imposing the gross
receipts manufacturing tax which may be used as a credit
against Washington’s selling tax.

13. The administration of the rule in this manner for
purposes of the MATC credit is consistent with the adjustments
the Department allows in certain comparable situations
exemplified by the following:

(a) Bad Debts (RCW 82.04.4284). A company can
demonstrate from its existing records that a given percentage of
its accounts receivable on a nationwide basis results in bad
debts. It can determine from such records what portion of its
accounts are generated in Washington, but has no records to
demonstrate the exact dollar amount of Washington bad debts.
The Department will allow a deduction for bad debts computed
by applying the nationwide percentage to the known
Washington accounts.

(b) Manufactured and Purchased Products. A
Washington manufacturer is required from time to time to
supplement its manufactured products by purchasing the same
products in order to fulfill its sales commitments. It makes
sales within and outside of Washington. If such purchased
products are used to fill out-of-state orders, the taxpayer has no

25a

obligation for Washington’s selling business and occupation
tax. Conversely, a selling tax will be paid on sales made in-
state. Correspondingly, manufacturing tax must be paid with
respect to products manufactured within the state and used to
fill out-of-state orders. The taxpayer maintains no records in
the ordinary course of business which show what specific
products sold within and outside the state are attributable to the
manufacturing and purchasing activities. In the absence of
such records, the Department will not disallow an exemption
from tax for some part of the out-of-state sale orders which
may, in fact, have been filled by purchased products but will
deem that result to have taken place by apportioning out-of-
state sales by reference to the taxpayer’s records of total
manufacturing and purchasing activity.

14. The administration of the MATC credit by the
Department of Revenue in the manner described in J 10-12 of
this affidavit is exemplified by recent audits of two plaintiff
taxpayers who have filed affidavits concerning the multiple
activities credit (taxpayer Nos. 15 and 46). The court is
referred to the affidavits of Robert M. Beith and Fred Dang,
filed concurrently with this affidavit, which describe the audits
of these two taxpayers respectively.

15. Such use of existing records for purposes of
supporting and confirming the entitlement to the MATC credits
will not in my judgment necessitate the creation of unique and
elaborate accounting systems alleged by the taxpayers in their
affidavits nor the generation of additional accounting records
designed solely for the purposes of establishing entitlement to
the credit.

16. Having noted the representations contained in
the affidavits of the taxpayers identified in | 4, to the best of
my knowledge the Department of Revenue has not required a
taxpayer, including any of the plaintiffs, to establish a claim for .
the MATC credit by the introduction of a new accounting
system or the separate development of records which would

26a

require the identification or tracking of specific manufactured
or extracted products from their place of origin to destination.

/s/ Les Jaster
LES JASTER

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this 20th
day of July, 1989.

/s/ LoRay W. Walker
NOTARY PUBLIC in and for the
State of Washington, residing
at Olympia.

My commission expires: 10-1-89

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0516%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
