# Respondents Brief — Davis v. Green

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0137%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1922
- **Citation:** 260 U.S. 349

## Text

4 r,

NY
%

IN THE

A

Drrector GENERAL AND A’

No. 182.

:

PETITIONER,
v8.
BRIEF OF RESPONDENT. —

JAMES C. DAVIS,

No Federal question involved. ......+++--+++eseeererseeereres
” Petitioner’s statement of facts not supported by record

: All evidence refutes statement of fact by petitioner as to the use
© an@4 movement of cars in its yaTds.......+.-++-. sags we tae
spe tendings cmunied und consetidated eo e0 to malate Or

-- under State or Federal law

TE vettiener in oredr tn stating cass was tried on theery that
& parties were engaged in interstate commerce

~ Petitioner plead the Federal act. Burden of proof was on peti-
ee ae Te ee

: paseement
No error in record of the trial cata’ Waaliont hn cons af action
is controlled by a State or Federal court..

SyLLaBvs.

I. Statement of petitioner not based on facts and evidence
contained in record, and is wholly at variance with
findings of fact by Mississippi Supreme Court

. No Federal question involved. Employees not engaged in
interstate commerce. Case not governed or controlled

by Federal Employers’ Liability BiR inca tucbactncace P
. Petitioner’s statement not supported by the aan

. Evidence of petitioner’s witnesses refutes his statement
of fact as to use and movement of cars in its yards....

. Petitioner in error when he charges that pleadings of re-
spondent invoke Federal Employers’ Liability Act.
Pleadings amended and consolidated so as to maintain
action under either the State or Federal law.. os

Le edccaat her aneet ta stating come wes (rind on thesey
that parties were engaged in interstate commerce....

. Petitioner plead Federal Employers’ Liability Act. Bur-
den of proof on him to show that employees were en-
gaged in interstate commerce. Proof does not estab-
lish this fact and Federal act does not apply........-+

VIII. The question as to the amount and award of damages
involves only questions of fact and is not open to con-
sideration by this court...... Gavaedseeescen ts

ii INDEX.

IX. No error in record whether the case governed and con-
trolled by State or Federal law. Petitioner obtained

-. more favorable announcement of law in trial court

.. than he should have received..............0.. aake os

Allen vy. Allegheny Co., 196 U. S.. 458; 49 L. Ed., 551

A. G. SRR. Co. y. Skotay, Ti So., 80G6...0.0..0.cecwccccccce
Allen vy. South. R. R. Co., 173 U. S., 479; 48 L. Ed., 775
Bartlett y. Lockwood, 160 U. S., 357; 40 L. Ed., 445
Chapman & D. Land Co. v. Bigelow, 206 U. S., 41; 51 L. Ed., 953.
Chicago, B. & Q. R. R. Co. v. Herrington, 241 U. S., 177
Christman vy. Miller, 197 U. S., 313

Dower v. Richard, 151 U. S., 658; 38 L. Ed.,

Erie BR. C. v. Welsh, 242 U. 8., 303; 38 L. Ed., 319

Grand Rapids & I. R. R. Co. v. Butler, 150 U. 8., 87; 40 L. Ed.,

Guardiner vy. Bonesteel, 45 L. Ed., 574
‘Hines vy. Green, 87 So., G40-G52.. 2.66. coc cece ec ccc euweceecs
Industrial Accident Commission v. Payne, Supreme Court Re-

Israel y. Arthur, 152 U. 8., 355; 38 L. Ed., 476

I. C. R. R. Co. v. Benhams, 233 U. S, 473; 58 L. Ed., 1051......

Jenkins v. Neff, 186 U. S., 230; 46 L. Ed., 1140

Johnson vy. Drew, 171 U. 8., 98; 43 L. Ed., 88

Keokuk & H. Bridge Co. v. Til., 175 U. S., 626; 42 L. Ed, 299...

Kerfoot vy. Bank, 218 U. 8., 281

Minn. St. Paul R. Co. v. Winters, 242 U. S., 353

National Foundry Works v. Oconto City Water Supply Co., 46
Ma Gaia dnp 1 oanie'shi48 09 cbs kkbe bieeubisceteearveets

Penn. Ry. vy. Donat, 239 U. 8., 50; 60 L. Ed., 139

Quimby vy. Boyd, 128 U. 8., 488; 32 L. Ed., 502

Railroad Co. v. Yonkers, 238 U. S., 489

Seaboard Air Line Ry. v. Koennecke, 239 U. S., 362; 60 L. Ed.,
SERRE SONS RAE SS Stes NER SOP GR a AN RR RE aR ekayesuns

Shanks y. R. R. Co., 239 U. 8., 556..

Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U. S., 86....... Naa ecawns ;

Western Union Tel. Co. v. Cal. Publishing Co., 181 U. 8., 92; 45
EG. Rs SO ooo adn a tales aecade ee eane pAb ChNeRWaekakyeue en

Roberts Injuries to Interstate eae Vol » baitiati 466,
Vol. 2, Roberts Federal Liability on Garrone, section 508

26
31
rs
2
29
32
2
28
31
26
29
24
34
wv
31
2
26
23
2
82

Be SS BRE BHEES

t
)
L
.
j
}
)
,

eS eel

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.
OCTOBER TERM, 1922.

No. 182.

JAMES C. DAVIS, Director GENERAL AND AGENT,
PETITIONER,

v8,

MRS. MAUD E. GREEN, Apsrnistratrix, REsPonpENT.
STATEMENT AND BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT.

I,

Statement of Petitioner Not Based on Facts and Evi-
dence Contained in Record, and is Wholly at Variance
with Findings of Fact by Mississippi Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court of Mississippi, sitting in Banc, see

Payne v. Green, 87 S. Rep., page 649, held as follows:

(a) “Where a master employs a dangerous, quar-
relsome, and vicious servant, or retains him in his
service after knowledge of his dangerous character,

1q

2

and such servant, while in the course of his employ-
ment and in furtherance of the master’s business,
commits an assault on another servant, -who is also
employed in the mastet’s business and is acting in
furtherance of the master’s business, the master is
liable for ‘the injuries resulting from the wrongful
assault.

(6) “Where a conductor of a switching crew, in-
cluding an engineer, was engaged in moving an en-
gine and passenger cars from one point in the yard
to another point therein, and where to complete the
movement it is necessary to pass through a switch,
and where the engine was halted because the switch
was not thrown, and the engineer because of such
fact assaults the conductor because the switch is not
thrown, so that the engine may proceed to its destina-
"tion and where it was the conductor's duty to have
the switch thrown, the engineer and the conductor are
acting in the course of their employment, about the
master’s business, and the master is liable for a
wrongful assault by the engineer on the cohductor.

(ce) “When applicability of the Federal Employ-
ers’ Liability Act (U. 8. Comp. St., Secs. 8657-8665),
is involved or it is to be determined in a suit whether
it is applicable or not, it may generally be determined
by inquiring whether, at the time of the injury, the
employee was engaged in work so closely connected
with interstate transportation as, prattically, to be a
part of it. The facts in this case do not bring it
within this rule, as the cars being switched neither
carried interstate commerce, nor had they been used
immediately before in such commerce, but were only
used therein whenever the exigencies of the railroad
called them into service for that purpose.

3

(d) “Under the laws of this State the servant does
not assume the risk, in cases against railroad com-
panies, where the master is negligent.”

(e) “Where in a suit against a railroad company
for an injury to a servant no case for punitive dam-
ages is made, and where the eourt instructs the jury
that the rules applicant to the Federal Liability Act
(U.. 8. Comp. St., Secs. 8657-8665), governs the
amount of damages, and where the verdict is in excess
of the amount of the present cash value of that part
of the expectancy which they could recover under
such rule, but in fact the liability is governed by State
law, the verdict. will not be permitted to stand, unless
& remittitur is entered, reducing the amount to such
sum as could stand under such rule of liability.

It will be seen from the above statement in this case by
the Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi in its opinion
the. statement. of fact made by counsel for petitioner in his
brief that deceased Jesse Green was engaged in interstate
commerce at the time of his death is not supported by the
record as interpreted and construed by the Supreme Court

of Mississippi.
II.

No Federal Question Involved. Employees Not Engaged
in Interstate Commerce—Case Not Governed or Con-
trolled by Federal Employers’ Liability Act.

Petitioner respectfully submits that there is no Federal
question involved in this case for the reason that the em-
ployees were neither engaged in interstate commerce at the

4

time and place of the shooting resulting in the death of
Jesse Green, the conductor.

The record in this case will show that the Gulf and Ship
Island Railroad Company was chartered under the laws of
the State of Mississippi, and it owned and operated a line of
railroad extending from Gulfport to Jackson, both places
in the State of Mississippi, and its line of railroad at no point
extended beyond the State of Mississippi. There was no
evidence in this record to show that this railroad company
had or maintained any kind of traffic arrangements by which
it completed the carriage of either passengers or freight in
interstate commerce. It was shown in the record that this
railroad company operated passenger trains running from
Jackson to Hattiesburg and from Hattiesburg to Camp
Shelby, all within the State of Mississippi. It was shown
that many passengers were carried by this railroad at this
time on these trains, and the number of passengers was
largely increased on account of the soldiers being located at
Camp Shelby, and for this reason it was shown that extra
passenger cars were assigned to be used between Hattiesburg
and Camp Shelby and Hattiesburg and Jackson. It was
not shown that these passengers were interstate passengers
and traveling on interstate transportation.

To the contrary the testimony was that the coaches in-
volved in this suit were extra passenger coaches to be at-
tached to a passenger train operated wholly within the State
of Mississippi and to be used by such passengers as offered
themselves for transportation, principally between Camp
Shelby and Hattiesburg, there being no testimony showing
that the Gulf and Ship Island Railroad engaged in the busi-
ness of selling such passengers interstate transportation or

5

that the Gulf and Ship Island Railroad honored interstate
transportation issued by some other railroad giving con-
tinuous right of passage over its road and using the Gulf
and Ship Island Railroad as a connecting interstate carrier.

For these reasons we respectfully submit the Federal Em-
ployers’ Liability Act does not control the servants of the
Gulf and Ship Island Railroad while they were engaged in
switching these passenger coaches in the railroad yards in
Hattiesburg, Mississippi.

Ii.

Petitioner’s Statement Not Supported by the Record.

We respectfully submit that there is no evidence in the
record to support the statement made by the petitioner that
the passenger cars or coal hoist were either engaged in inter-

state commerce at the time of this injury. The Mississippi
Supreme Court states the following to be the facts relating
to said cars and their movements:

“The switching movement in the yard which was
being done at the time of the killing was a movement
of certain passenger cars and a coal loader and gon.
The coal loader was being carried to the shops for
repair and was not in use by the railroad company
immediately preceding the movement, nor was it
placed back in the service of loading cars for several
days thereafter. The passenger cars had not been
used in service on the day of the injury in any move-
ment or on any operation for the railroad company,
nor were they being carried to be cleaned for im-
mediate use, but they were in fact placed in the serv-
ice of the railroad company the day following the

fr:
ke
‘\“e.

*

_ injury. The passenger coaches were used both for
intrastate commerce and for interstate commerce, as
the needs of the railroad company called them into
service, The injury occurred in the forenoon, and
there was no purpose to use those cars during the day
of the injury, nor was there any fixed or settled pur-
pose to use them in such service at any particular
time. Their use, or whether they would be used or
not depended entirely upon the circumstances which
might arise and were not controlled by any. circum-
stance then existing, nor was there any settled pur-
pose to use them at any particular time. They were
merely used when the needs of the railroad company
required their use.”

The court will observe that there is a marked difference
between the statement of facts as given by petitioner with
reference to the use and movement of these cars and the
statement of facts as given by the Supreme Court of the
State of Mississippi.

IV.

Evidence of Petitioner’s Witnesses Refutes His State-
ment of Facts as to the Use and Movements of the
Passenger Car in Its Yards.

The first witness in behalf of petitioner, who testified as

to the use and movement of the cars being switched in the
yards, was John Gainy, a regular brakeman. He was asked:

“Q. What cars did you have that morning?
A. I did not take the numbers.

Q Did you have two or three coaches?

A. When we. were going to the south yards?

rar 7T=s=BocES

Ne

Q. Yes.

A. Yes.

Q. And were not those particular coaches used to
move soldiers to and from Camp Shelby?

A. I don’t know what they were used for, put them
on that evening and then going to Jackson and bring-
ing them back.

Q. Loaded with soldiers and nothing else—were
not used for general passengers, were they?

A. I can’t tell you.

Q. They were not used for general passengers
from Hattiesburg to Gulfport?

A. No, from Hattiesburg to Jackson (R,, p. 185).

Q. Unloaded them here with soldiers and carried
to Jackson and loaded them and brought back the
next evening?

A. Yes.

Q. That is true, is it not?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. They were not used for any other purpose ex-
cept to make those trips?

A. I don’t know.

Q. So far as you know?

A. Yes.
Q. You had been handling them day in and day
out?

A. Saturday evening.

Q. For how long a time?

A. Ever since the camp was here.

Q, At this particular time you were taking them
to the place where the cars were cleaned?

A. Yes.

Q. In order to bring them back and be loaded and
carried to Jackson?

A. Yes—carried them to the south yard.

Q. Didn’t you know that soldiers rode in those
cars when they left here and went to Jackson ?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. That is what they were used for?

A. I don’t know who they loaded in them; I would
be off duty when they were used.

Q. But you understood and knew they were the
trains the soldiers were carried in, did you not?

A. Yes, I reckon they hauled soldiers.

Q. You knew. that the coaches were set out and
stood there until they were loaded the next Saturday
night?

A. Yes.

Q. And were not used for anything except for that
trip to Jackson on Saturday night?

A. We used so many—sometimes we would have
to put coaches on other trains——

Q. You did not use those coaches down there ex-
cept to haul the soldiers with? (R., p. 136.)

A. I don’t know whether they loaded soldiers in
cars or not.

Q. But you did not use the coaches you kept down
there and handled every Saturday night and Sunday
except to haul the soldiers from the Camp to Jackson
in did you?

A. I don’t know whether they loaded soldiers in
them or not—lI want to tell the truth if I can.

Q. Were the regular passenger trains made up do
you know—were they made up here, Jackson, Gulf-
port, or where?

A. We did not make up any regular passenger
trains here—no more than one or two——

Q. Don’t you know that one makes up and starts
at Jackson and Gulfport and passes here and all you
did was to put coaches on here?

A. Yes.

Q. And those coaches were put on when they got
here and loaded and for the purpose of carrying sol-
diers?

A. No answer.”

9
It will thus be observed that this witness was without in-
formation entirely on the subject of the movements of the cars
and knew nothing further than that simple fact that he was
engaged in switching the cars in the yards when this tragedy
occurred,

The next witness who testified on this subject was Mr.
Jacons (Record, pages 191-195), from which we quote:

“Q. As derrick engineer do you keep a book in
which you keep records of the coal and other things
you use?

A. Yes, I usually keep that,

Q. When you went up to the switch engine did you
make a record of the cars and of the rolling stock
being handled by the engine at that time?

A. When the sheriff got there they pulled the en-
gine and cars on down in the yard and as they passed
me I put the numbers down.

Q. What was that engine pulling?

A. Four coaches and coal hoist and a gon.

Q. What is that coal hoist—where was it being
moved to?

A. From the Southern yard back home to the G.
& 8. I. shops,

Q. Do you know how it came to be in the South-
ern’s yards?

A. They had borrowed it.

Q. You say it was being moved back home for
what purpose?

A. I don’t know.

Q. What was it used for when it got back?

A. They put it in the shop and repaired it and sent
it to Jackson.

Q. That was used for what purpose?

A. Handling coal.

2q

10

Q. Tell the jury how it handles coal?

A. It has a big dipper and we pick coal from the
chute and throw it in and load the cars and engine
with it.

Q. What engine did you load with that hoist?

A. All of them.

Q. All of the engines?

A. At that time we were using another at the shops,
but that coal hoist had been to the Southern—but was
the same kind.

Q. I am talking about this particular coal hoist
when it was taken to the shops and repaired and was—
sent where? (R., p. 192).

A. Jackson.

Q. For what purpose?

A. To coal engines.

Q. What engines was there to coal?

A. G. & 8.1L

Q. And those engines were used for what purpose?

A. Freight and passenger and switch engine serv-
ice.

Q. What passenger coaches were in that train?

A. As I walked down the train as they roll by I
take the numbers of the coaches; the coach next to
the engine was No. 20 and the second coach from the
engine was No. 22, next one was No, 13 and next one
No, 12.

Q. Was there anything else in that train other than
the coal hoist and four coaches.

A. And the gon.

Q. What is the gon; do you know what that gon
was?

A. No, sir—I had the number, it is torn out of my
book, I put it down on that date and I see it is torn
out.

Q. When did you make that record in that book
of those coaches?

11

A. About thirty minutes after the killing.
Q That book been in your possession ever since?
A. Yes?”

Cross-examination :

Q. This coal hoist that you talk about, I understand
it was not in service at all at the time the shooting
occurred—had been borrowed by what road?

A. The Southern.

Q. Am I right in repeating that you stated it was
not in service at all?

A. Not at that time.

Q. The Southern had another coal hoist it was
using? (R., p. 193.)

A. They had been using it.

Q. But they had another they were using at this
time?

A. Not that I know of.

Q. Didn’t you say they had another?

A. The G, & S. I. had another.

Q. They had another coal hoist they were using
and this so far as the G. & S. I. was concerned had
been out of service some time?

A. Yes.

Q. And had not yet been returned to service?

A. Yes.

Q. The Company finally decided it would send this
coal hoist to Jackson after repairing it?

A. It went up that week.

Q. After it went to Jackson did you say it was
used in loading coal on the cars, etc.?

A. Yes, sir.

Redirect examination:

Q. You were asked if the coal hoist was in service—
where was it being carried at the time?

12

A. It. was, put in the local next to the caboose and
went north and sometime after that I was there
and——

Q. Where was it being carried with that engine?

A. From the Southern’s yard to the shops.

Q. Why to the shops?

A. I don’t know, but they required it before it
went up to Jackson.

Q. After they carried it to the shops what did
they do with it?

A. Repaired it,

Q. And after being repaired what happened to it?

A. Sent it up the road.

Q. And you saw it at what point?

A. Jackson, (R., p. 194.)

~ What did you see it doing at Jackson?

A. Coaling engines.” (R., p. 195.)

The third and last witness on this subject was Mr. W. L.
Oakey, whose testimony we quote in full. (R., pp. 198-
201.)

“Q. Your name is W. L. Oakley?

A. Yes, sir

Q. What position do you occupy?

A. Chief Dispatcher, G. & 8. I.

Q. How long have you been Chief Dispatcher?

A. Sinee March 13, 1917—the last time.

Q. I will ask you if you have a record of coaches
No. 20, 22, 13, and 12 of their movement, and for

hat purpose they were used?

A. we have a record in the office showing these

e train they operated on, and for what

ox Kidew coaches M. D. K. and for what
were used about August 5, 1918?
I know the numbers.

13

Q. Take coaches No, 21, 12, 13 and 22? .

A. Used on regular line—coaches operated on all
rails using the G. & S. I. R. R. for any passenger
business that they may be called upon to transport.

Q. They, then operated in the regular trains and
regularly used for transportation?

A, They were used as regular cars or extra cars
either as the occasion required.

Q. Have you the record with you? (R., p. 198.)

A. No, sir, did not bring any records with me—
the train sheets are at the office.

Q. Take coaches No, 12, 13, and 20, what were they
used for on the day preceding August 5, 1918, and for
what purpose were they used on August 4, and on
August 6, 1918?

A. They were used for the regular passenger serv-
ice of the G. & S. 1. R. R.

Q. In the regular passenger service what passen-
gers were carried from Hattiesburg on August 4 and
6, 1918?

A. I would say that the cars were used in the regu-
lar passenger travel of the G. & S. I. R. R. As to
dates, some of the passengers went to G. & S. I. points
and possibly some went beyond the G. & S. I. R. R.

I will state that some of the passengers went
to G. & S. I. points and some went beyond the G. &
8. I. points.

Q. I will ask you to state whether or not those
coaches were used regularly in transporting inter-
state passengers over the G. & S. 1.?

A. Yes, they were used on the railroad for trans-
porting all kinds of travel.

Q. What was located here with respect to the con-
centration of interstate passengers?

A. I don’t understand,

Q Was there any occasion at the time for the

ee

14

handling of interstate passengers other than the ordi-
nary time?

A. During that period we enjoyed a camp and we
kept our extra equipment here for emergencies which
would arise from time to time.

Q. Those coaches being left here and it is in evi-
dence they were being carried down at the time to be
cleaned and prepared to go back in service—were put
in service to accommodate what passenger demand?
(R., p. 199.)

A. Any passenger demand that the railroad might
be called upon to handle.

Q. What would be the occasion of extra passenger
coaches being handled from Hattiesburg at that time?

A. Because of the Camp—bringing a vast number
of people here and it required more than the regualr
coaches on the train at the time to carry the people
who presented themselves for transportation.

Q Do you mean soldiers?

A. Not exclusively—both. |

Q. Did you handle soldiers at that time in these |

cvaches?

A. Yes, we handled both going and coming on all
trains and coaches.

Q. And those passengers were being transported
largely from what points to Camp Shelby?

A. I can’t state off-hand from what points, but we
received a vast number from the I. C.

Q Were those interstate passengers or intrastate
passengers?

A. Some of them were interstate, while others were
intrastate.

Q. I will ask you if you can state, if you know, P

that the occasion of those coaches being left here, be-
ing the regular coaches, was for the purpose of han-

, ~~ ~~ > —~_— pee bale’ RT

15

dling the intrastate passengers, being the soldiers lo-
cated at Camp Shelby, in bringing them in and car-
rying them back?

A. That is what we kept the cars here for. (R., p.
200.)

Q. And they were used for that purpose?

A. Yes.” (R., p. 201.)

Counsel states that the passenger coaches when moving
were used for soldiers and that soldiers came from Indiana,
West Virginia, and Kentucky, and when moving out they
were destined for the Atlantic Seaboard transportation to the
battle front in France.

We submit that this statement is without foundation in
fact. There is no evidence that these coaches came in the
morning of the day of the accident loaded with soldiers or
that they were to move out loaded with soldiers, or that they
were being prepared for use to transport soldiers to another
State or nation. To the contrary that statement of facts by
the Supreme Court of Mississippi in every respect is fully
justified and warranted by the record in this case, There is
nothing in this case to show on what kind or character of
tickets the soldiers or other passengers were carried. It is
not shown that the soldiers paid for their tickets or that the
Government paid for their tickets, or where the soldiers were
destined to be delivered or received. The Record stops after
showing that soldiers were carried, leaving the court to infer
every other material fact.

The record is positive that these coaches when used were
for the purpose of accomodating any and all persons who

offered themselves as passengers on said road, whether civilian _

or soldiers.

16

We therefore submit on the facts in this case there was 116
showing that the passenger coach involved in this controversy
or the servant of the railroad company while moving them
were engaged in interstate commerce.

V,

Petitioner in Error when It Charges that the Pleadings
of Appellee Invokes Federal Employers’ Liability Act.
The Pleadings were Amended and Consolidated so as
te Maintain Action under Either the State or Federal
Law.

Petitioner states in his brief that the declaration and the
pleas having been constructed on the theory that the plain-
tiff was employed in interstate commerce, and the defendant
so engaged, the trial proceeded on that thory without spe-
cifie proof having been introduced on this point. This
statement is incorrect on both propositions. It is true that
on the third day of October, 1919, Mrs. Maud E. Green and
her four children brought suit to recover for the death of
Jesse Green, and it is true the petitioner filed a plea to this
declaration setting out that the master and the deceased
conductor and engineer were engaged in interstate com-
mérce at the time of the difficulty, and it is true that appel-
lant plead and answered to this declaration that deceased
Green assumed the risk. While the case was in this attitude
and after the respondent had filed replications to petitioner's
plea, in which it was denied that the deceased Green or the
engineer were engaged in interstate commerce, or that Green
had assumed the risk, the case was continued by the court,
and it is true that Mrs. Maud E. Green was appointed ad-

17

ministratrix of the estate of Jesse Green, deceased, and it is
true that another suit was filed by her against appellant for
the death of Jesse Green, but it is not true that this declara-
tion was filed on the theory that they were engaged in inter-
state commerce. To the contrary, it was not stated in the
above declaration nor was it stated in any count of the first
declaration that the deceased Green or other employees were
engaged in interstate commerce at the time of the accident.
As soon as Mrs. Maud E. Green had been appointed ad-
ministratrix a motion was filed asking leave of the court to
amend the first declaration by substituting her as adminis-
tratrix as the plaintiff in lieu of herself as next of kin, and
as next friend of her minor children. This motion was sus-
tained and the two suits were each in the name of the ad-
ministratrix, and each being based on the same cause of
action another motion was filed asking that the two suits be
consolidated. This motion was also sustained without ob-

jection or exception. Now the purpose of this amendment
and the purpose of the new suit was not as stated by appel-
lant to charge that deceased Green or appellant were engaged
in interstate commerce at the time. The amendment and

consolidation were for the reason that under the State law
the suit may be brought either by the next of kin or in the
name of the legal representative, at the option of the parties
suing. The Federal Employers’ Liability Act provides that
the suit must be brought in the name of the legal repre-
sentative and if this cause had been prosecuted in the name
_of the next of kin the appellant would have had two oppor-
tunities to defeat the action, to wit:

(1) That the deceased was engaged in interstate com-
_ merce.

18

(2) That the deceased assumed the risk.

If the deceased was engaged in interstate commerce at the
time this alone would be sufficient, as the suit was in the name
of the next of kin, who would have had no title to the cause
of action in such case, and this would be a good plea in bar
to the cause of action brought in the name of the next of kin.

If petitioner could show that the deceased assumed the
risk this would also be « sufficient plea and bar to the action.
Now if the petitioner and the deceased were engaged in inter-
state commerce and if the suit had been brought in the name
of the administrator, the simple fact that they were engaged
in interstate commerce would not be a good defense in bar
to the action. Therefore in order to avoid and to prevent
the petitioner having the advantage of pleading that the
deceased was engaged in interstate ecommerce as a bar to the
action, the suit was changed from a suit in the name of the
next of kin to a suit in the name of the administratrix. We
repeat there is no allegation in either one of the three counts
of the first declaration nor is there any allegation in the
amended declaration that deceased Green or the engineer or
the appellant were engaged in interstate commerce at the
time of the accident.

VL

Petitioner is in Error in Stating Case was Tried on
Theory that Parties were Engaged in Interstate Com-
meree.

On this question the Mississippi Supreme Court in this
case, 87 Southern, 652, says:
“The plaintiff contended in the court below that
the liability was governed by a State law and contends
in this court that this is true.”

19

The fact is respondent contended in the trial court thet
petitioner's liability was to be determined by the tele lew,
and that the Employers’ Liability Act would not control.
The trial court, however, held that in the facts as developed
at the trial that deceased and petitioner were engaged in
interstate commerce at the time of the killing end reepemt
ent’s case should be tried under the provisions of the Dae
ployers’ Liability Act, and respondent wae forced by te
ruling of the court to continue the trial in sccordance with
the trial court's finding on this question.

To further show that the question of fact a w whether
or not the deceased Green and the appellant vere omgaee!
in interstate commerce was treated by the trial court and by
the Supreme Court of the State of Miamanpp: a: an seme of
fact in the case, appellant introdured witnemes om thu pues
tion. We have heretofore quoted from the txtimeny of
such witnemes and these witnesses were crumenemeserd! am!
on the facts as developed from these witeamer aed set fromm
the pleading as stated by counsel, the trial comrt held Uber
the parties were engaged in interviate commmerre After the
case had been tried, and while it wae on appease! before he
State Supreme Court, appellees continued to imeut om ‘hue
court that her cause of action should be tried by the Stene
law and that the parties were not engage! in interstate com
merce. Petitioner replied to thie eomteniion by Gag Ge
court to the facts in the case, never, ot any Gee, eens
that this question was settled by the plewdemg snd Seal);
on this question of plesding end om thie ewe of fect Ge
State Supreme Court held, as heretefers quested. set omy
that this issue of fact was property met by the plemdng. emt
_ that the respondent on the pleading bed « right t leet

20

that her cause of action be tried under the State law, but the
court went further and sustained her contention that the
parties were not engaged in interstate commerce at the time
of the killing.

We submit to the court that on all questions of pleading
the ruling of the State Supreme Court will be final and that
the State Supreme Court has held in this case that the plead-
ings properly presented the question as to whether or not
the parties were engaged in interstate commerce, and in ad-
dition to that also held that the facts in the case demon-
strated that the parties were not engaged in interstate com-
merce. It may be that this ruling of the State court on this
question of fact might be reviewed in this court, and the
ruling of the State court on the question of pleading, that
is, as to whether or not the pleadings presented an issue of
fact as to whether or not the parties were engaged in inter-
state commerce was purely @ question of procedure in the
State court, and the ruling of the State Supreme Court on
that subject would be final.

We therefore submit petitioner is in error when he states
in his brief that the pleading settled the question as to
whether or not the parties were engaged in interstate com-
merce, and that it was not necessary for him to inrtoduce
proof on that question in the trial court.

21

Vit.

Petitioner Pleaded the Federal Act and Therefore the
Burden of Proof was on Him to Show that the Em-
ployees were Engaged in Interstate Commerce.

The petitioner, in the trial court and in the Supreme
Court of Mississippi, never suggested, argued or contended
that the pleadings in the cause were such as to remove the
necessity of any proof as to whether the deceased, Green, was
engaged in interstate commerce. In the State court the
petitioner requested the trial court to instruct the jury
peremptorily that the employees were engaged in interstate
commerce at the time this cause of action arose, and over the
objection of appellee this instruction was granted, not on the
ground that no proof was necessary, but on the ground that
the testimony introduced was sufficient to show that they
were so engaged at the time and place of the injury com-
plained of.

We therefore insist that the burden of proof under the
law was on the petitioner to show by the record that the
parties were so engaged at the time. Counsel states in his
brief, on page 2:

“The declaration and the plea having been con-
structed on the theory that the plaintiff was employed
in interstate commerce and the defendant so engaged
the trial proceeded on that theory without specific
proof having been introduced on this point.”

We submit that this statement by counsel for petitioner
confesses that the proof introduced on the question as to

22

whether or not the parties were engaged in interstate com-
merce at the time was insufficint.

We therefore submit to the court that on the record in
this case, petitioner is incorrect when he assumed that. this
question was settled by the pleading and he is also in error
when he assumed that the burden of proof was not on him
to maintain this allegation of fact.

We also submit that in any case the question as to whether
or not the Employers’ Liability Act is to control the cause
of action must always be determined by the facts in the case
and no agreement, stipulation, or pleading will ever settle or
control this question, the court in every instance looking
to the facts in the case to find if the parties were engaged in
interstate commerce and allow the facts to settle under what
law each cause of action must be tried.

VIII.

No Federal Question Involved in Award of Damages.

On the question of damages the verdict in this case was
for $35,000. The petitioner having objected to the amount
of the verdict on the ground that it was excessive, the State
court in its opinion, after first calling attention to the differ-
ence: between the State law and Employers’ Liability Act
on the elements of damage which could be considered and
on a comparison of the elements of damage which might be
considered under each act, held that a much larger verdict
might be sustained under the State Statute than could be
sustained under the Federal. Statute, and that since the State
court had adopted the Federal Statute as standard, the State-

23

court would consider the appellant’s objection on the ground
as to whether or not the verdict was excessive in accordance
with this rule and held that the verdict was excessive,
measured by this rule, and reduced the verdict to an amount
much less than would have been sustained under the State
Statute. Because of this fact the court’s opinion then pro-
vided if appellee did not wish to accept this reduction in so
far as the damages were concerned, same would be reversed
and a jury impaneled to award the damages in accordance
with the State Statute. In no place in this opinion can the
appellant cite the court where the State court sustained a
theory propounded by petitioner in this court that deceased,
Green, was engaged in interstate commerce at the time of his
death.

ARGUMENT.
VIII.

Petitioner in His Brief Assumes and States Facts Not
Supported by the Record. Pleadings of Appellee
Amended and Consolidated in Trial Court in Order to
Maintain Cause Either under the State or Federal
Law.

The respondent would respectfully show that the appel-
lant continues in his brief to reassert the errors of fact con-
tained in the original petition, and on the basis of such errors
of fact proceeds to argue questions of law that appellee con-
tends do not arise in this case. It is asserted as a fact in his
brief that the declaration was filed under the Federal Em-
ployers’ Liability Act, and it is asserted that the declaration

24

alleged that the deceased, Green, was engaged in interstate
commerce, whereas, as a matter of fact, no such allegations
are contained in the declaration. To the contrary, it was
charged in one of appellant’s pleas only, that deceased,
Green, was engaged in interstate commerce, and this fact
was denied by the appellee’s replication, and this denial was
held to be sufficient by the Supreme Court of the State.

The court, in Hines vs. Green, 87 So., 649, says in part
as follows:

“The original declaration was filed in three counts,
alleging that the engineer was an unsafe and dan-
gerous man to be employed and with whom to work,
on account of his quarrelsome, dangerous, and
vicious habits and character, which were known to,
or by the exercise of reasonable diligence ought to
have been known to, the appellant.

“The appellant defended under the general issue,
and filed certain special pleas. Among other pleas,
it. pleaded that the deceased and the engineer were at
the time of the killing engaged in interstate com-
merce for the appellant, and that the liability of the
appellant was covered by the Federal Employers’ Lia-
bility Act (U. S. Comp St., secs. 8657-8665), and
that under this act there was no liability upon the
appellant for the death of the appellee’s intestate.
When this plea was filed by the defendant a new suit
was filed by the appellee as administratrix under the
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, in which the acts
alleged in the other suit were declared on, and it was
alleged that at the time of the injury the deceased
and the engineer were engaged in the business of the
master and in furtherance of the master’s business,
bringing the case under the Federal Employers’ Lia-
bility Act, and then, upon motion of the appellee,

25

the two suits were consolidated by the circuit court
without objection, and the case proceeded to judg-
ment, resulting in a verdict and judgment of $35,000
in favor of the appellee as administratrix.

* * ¥* “The plaintiff contended in the court
below that the liability was governed by the State
law, and contends in this court that this is true.”

We therefore submit that, in so far as the question of
pleading is concerned, there are three answers to petitioner’s
position. The first is that petitioner’s contention is not sup-
ported by the facts in the case, and as to this, appellee re-
spectfully submits that the declaration did not allege, as
charged in the petition, that deceased, Green, was engaged
in interstate commerce, nor did the appellee in filing and
prosecuting her action proceed on this theory. The record
also shows that only one plea was filed by the petitioner in
which it is charged that deceased, Green, was engaged in
interstate commerce at the time of his death, the other two
pleas being the general issue and a special plea undertaking
to set up assumption of risk. The record shows that peti-
tioner filed replications to each special plea and took issue
with same, and the issue was properly joined on these
questions.

Respondent also submits that it was on this theory the
petitioner introduced proof in the trial court, and it was on
this theory that respondent objected to the trial court’s rul-
ing that the testimony introduced was sufficient to show that
deceased, Green, was engaged in interstate commerce, and
continued to press this objection in the Supreme Court, and
in discussing that objection in the Supreme Court of Missis-
sippi argued only questions of fact, and it was on this theory

4q

26

that the appellant in replying to respondent’s objection and
argument in that court also undertook to justify such ruling
by also referring to the facts, never at any time making the
argument in that court as he seeks to do in this, that because
of the condition of the pleading no proof was necessary on
the question as to whether or not the deceased, Green, was
engaged in interstate commerce. Petitioner undertook to
prove it in order to support his plea, and he failed to do so.
Therefore, as contended by respondent in all the courts, the
State law should prevail. The second answer to petitioner's
position in this regard is that the Supreme Court of the State
of Mississippi in its opinion in this case on the record before
it decided that there was an issue on this question properly
presented by the pleadings, and appellant in filing a sugges-
tion of error in that court, at no time ever suggested to the
Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi that it was in error
as to that part of its decision. The third answer to petition-
er’s position is that the decision of the Supreme Court of the
State on this question of pleading is non-Federal and final,
and this court is bound by the ruling of the State court in
regard to such pleading.

In National Foundry Works v. Oconto City Water Supply
Co., 46 L, Ed., 157, the court hold?:

“That questions of pleading when considered solely
as questions of State practice are outside the scope of
review on writ of error to a State court.”

Grand Rapids & I. R. Co. v, Butler, 159 U. S.,
87; 40 Law Ed., 85.
Johnson v, Drew, 171 U. 8., 93; 43 L. Ed., 88.

Also, in the case of Allen v. Alleghany Co., 196 U. 8.,
458; 49 L. Ed., 551, it is again held by this court that the

27
decision of a State Supreme Court on questions of pleading
is non-Federal and final.

Since the Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi has
decided that the issue was properly joined, in so far as the
question of whether or not the deceased, Green, was engaged
in interstate commerce at the time of his death in accord-
ance with the rules of pleading and practice in that State,
appellee respectfully submits that this rule of law completely
answers his petition on the question as to whether it was
necessary for proof to be introduced to show that deceased,
Green, was engaged in interstate commerce at the time of his
death.

The next question presented is based on the contention
that the testimony in the case shows that deceased, Green,
was engaged in interstate commerce at the time of his death.
On this ptoposition appellee respectfully submits that there
are two separate, distinct, and complete answers; the first
answer is that in any view of the case this is a question of
fact and not a question of law, and the decision of the Su-
preme Court of the State on questions of fact is non-Federal
and final. The sécond answer is that the finding of the
Supreme Coutt of the State on this question is supported by
the uncontradicted testimony in the record, and for this
reason the writ should be denied without regard to the ques-
tion as to whether it had final jurisdiction on questions of
fact.

On the first proposition, we call the court’s attention to
the case of Allen v. Southern R: R: Co., 173 U. S., 479; 43
L, Ed., 775, in which this court says:

“In inquiring whether jurisdiction to review a de-
cree of a State court may be declined because such

28

decree may be sustainable on an independent no-
federal ground, the Supreme Court of the United
States considered only the final action of the highest
court of the State in disposing of the controversy, and
is not concerned with the conclusion of the trial court

or of a department of such highest court.”

The record in this case shows that the Supreme Court of
Mississippi decided what the facts were with regard to
whether the deceased, Green, was or was not engaged in inter-
state commerce at the time of his death, and in making this
statement we do not mean that the Supreme Court held as
a conclusion that the deceased, Green, was not engaged in
interstate commerce at the time, but we mean to say that the
facts were found by the court and are stated by the court in
its opinion in the record, and from these facts the court con-
cluded that the deceased, Green, was not engaged in inter-
state commerce at the time of his death, and the point we
make is not that this court is bound by the conclusion
reached by the Supreme Court of the State, that the de-
ceased was not engaged in interstate commerce at the time
of his death, but that this court is bound on the finding of
the Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi as to what the
facts were in this record.

For authority on this proposition we respectfully call the
court’s attention to the case of Dower v. Richard, 151 U. &.,
658; 38 L. Ed., 305, in which it is said:

“The reasons against the exercise by the U. S. Su-
preme Court of its jurisdiction to review a judgment
of a State court which rests on an independent ground
of law, not involving a federal question, are as strong
if not stronger when the decision of the State court
proceeds upon matter of fact only.”

29

In the case of Gardiner v. Bonesteel, 45 L. Ed., 574, the
court held:
“The Supreme Court in the review of action from

the State court will follow the findings of facts of this
court.”

We understand the rule to be that this court accepts as
binding the findings upon issues of fact duly made in the
court of last resort in the State.

Waters-Pierce Oil Company v. Texas, 212 U. S., 86.
Rankin v. Emigh, 218 U. S., 27.
Kerfoot v. Bank, 218 U. S., 281.

In Christman v. Miller, 197 U. 8., 313, it is said:

“Findings of fact are conclusive on the Supreme
Court of the United States in cases coming up from
the State court.”

In Chapman & D. Land Co. v, Bigelow, 206 U. S., 41; 51
L, Ed., 953, the court held:

“The decision of State court upon questions of fact
are not reviewable by writ of error to those courts from
the Supreme Court of the United States.”

And to the same effect may be found the following cases:
Keokuk & H. Bridge Co. v. Ill., 175 U. 8., 626; 42
L. Ed., 299.
Jenkins v. Neff, 186 U. S., 230; 46 L. Ed., 1140.
Western Union Tel. Co. v. Call Publishing Co., 181
U. S., 92; 45 L. Ed., 765.
Bartlett v. Lockwood, 160 U. S., 357; 40 L, Ed., 445.

30

“Alleged errors of a State court, which involves
questions either of fact or of State law and not Federal
law, are not reviewable in the United States Supreme
Court on writ of error.”

Quimby v. Boyd, 128 U. S., 488; 32 L. Ed.,
502.

“Tn actions at law this court has no jurisdiction to
reverse the decision of the highest court of a State
upon a question of fact, although a Federal question
might arise, if the question of fact were decided in
a particular way.”

Israel v. Arthur, 152 U. S., 355; 38 L. Ed.,
476.

Many other cases could be cited along the same line. We
submit the above should be sufficient to sustain the proposi-
tion that the finding of the Supreme Court of the State as to
the facts in this case is final.

On the discussion of the second proposition, it is necessary
for the Court to compare the finding of the State Supreme
Court as to the facts with the record in this case upon which
such finding was made.

The testimony in the record is very short and is copied in
our statement of fact, to which we respectfully refer the court.

We respectfully submit that this testimony shows that the
deceased, Green, and the other employees, were not engaged
in interstate commerce at the time when and the place where
Green was killed, None of the cars were loaded with any
kind of freight. The passenger cars were used and were to
be used in trains which ran from the city of Hattiesburg to
Camp Shelby or to Gulfport and Jackson, points in Missis-
sippi. This engine and these coaches were in no sense being

31

used as interstate conveyances at the time and place of the
tragedy. Even while they were in active use on the main line
of defendant, they crossed no State line, and the fact, if it
is a fact, that passengers occasionally rode therein on a jour-
ney to other States, did not make them interstate convey-
ances in the yards of petitioner while they were empty and
being cleaned.

Volume 2, Roberts Federal Liability on Carriers, Sec. 503,
states the rule to be:

“The ordinary and usual test in determining
whether switching crews employed in railroad yards
are engaged in interstate commerce or whether at the
very moment of the accident they are assisting in
moving interstate traffic, that is, cars either loaded or
empty originating in one State and destined to a
place in another State, territory or foreign country.”

Seo Erie R. C. v. Welsh, 242 U. S., 303; 61
L. Ed., 319.

Seaboard Air Line Ry. v. Koennecke, 239
U. S., 352; 60 L. Ed., 324.

Penn. Ry. Co. v. Donat, 239 U. S., 50; 60 L.
Ed., 139,

I. C. R. R. Co. v. Benhams, 233 U. S., 473;
58 L, Ed., 1051.

A. G. 8. R. R. Co. v. Skotzy, 7 So., 335.

IX.

The Petitioner Pleaded Federal Employers’ Liability
Act. Burden was on It to Prove Act Applied. No
Such Proof was Made, Therefore Act Does Not Apply.

“When the defendant seeks to prevent recovery
under the State law by showing the Federal Act con-

32

trols, the defendant has the burden of proof, and that
the employee was engaged in interstate commerce st
the time of the injury.”
Roberts’ Injuries to Interstate Employees, Vol.
1, Section 466, page 808.

In Chicago, B. & Q. R. R. Co. ». Harrington, 2A1 U. 8,
177, the court held:

“Unless the injured employee of an interstate and
intrastate carrier is engaged in interstate commerce
at the time of the injury the Federal Employery
Liability Act does not apply, and it is immaterial
whether such employee had previously been, or in
the immediate future was to be, engaged therein.”

In Railroad Company v. Yorknis, 238 U. 8., 439, the
court held:

“An employee of a carrier engaged in removing
coal from storage tracks to coal chutes, is not engaged
in interstate commerce even though the coal had been
previously brought from another State and was to be
used by locomotives in interstate hauls.”

In Shauks v. R. R. Co., 239 U. 8., 556, the court held:

“The Federal Employers’ Liability Act refers t
interstate commerce in a practical sense, and the tet
is whether the employee at the time of the injury w=
engaged in interstate transportation or in work =
oe, thereto as to be practically « part

In Minn., St. Paul R. Co. ». Winters, 22 U. 8., 353, the
court held:

i

ito

ae

HL

seid
Hr

|

| a tie
i fii lid
a i Vile
i a

“ft

itt
ft

Use

34

sen v. Delaware, L. & W. R. Co., 229 U. 8., 146, 151;
33 Sup. Ct., 648; 57 L. Ed., 1125; Ann. Cas., 1914C,
153, 3 N.C. C. A., 779; Shanks v. Delaware, L. and
W. R. Co., 239 U. S., 556; 36 Sup. Ct., 188; 60 L. Ed,
436, 438; L. R. A., 1916C, 797; New York C. R. Co.
v. Porter, 249 U. 8., 168; 39 Sup. Ct., 188; 63 L. Ed.,
536; Kinzell v. Chicago, M. & St. P. R. Co., 250 U.S.,
130, 133; 39 Sup. Ct., 412; 63 L. Ed., 893, 896. In
Industrial Accident Commission v. Payne, No. 224
Supreme Court Reporter, 489.

“Measured by this test, the facts do not bring the
case within the Federal Employers’ Liability Act,
for the reason that none of the things being operated
and moved at the time of the injury were being then
used in interstate commerce, nor were they intended
to be so used immediately upon being placed in con-
dition for use, nor was there any fixed time or pur-
pose for their early use so as to make them so in-
timately connected with interstate commerce as to be

- practically a part thereof.”

We respectfully submit that this announcement of the
law is applicable to the facts as shown by the record in this
case is correct.

x.

No Error in Record of the Trial Court Whether Cause
of Action is Controlled by State or Federal Court.

We respectfully submit that this case viewed from any
standpoint, whether governed by the State or the Federal
law was properly tried in the court below, the trial court.
As a matter of fact the appellant sought and obtained in the
trial court s more favorable announcement of the law than

35

it was entitled to receive. On this point the Mississippi Su-
preme Court, 87 Southern, 652, says:

“There are a number of assignments of error as to
instructions complained of by the appellant, but the
errors, if any, are favorable to the appellant, and re-
quire more facts to be found to render liability against
the appellant than the law required.”

In conclusion we wish to thank the court for having
granted permission for us to file this reply brief. Petitioner
having failed to file his brief within the time provided by
the rules of this court has made it impossible for us to pre-
pare and present our side of this case as carefully as we
should like to have done, but we feel confident that the
justice of our cause will in the end be our best organ.

We respectfully request the court to affirm the judgment
rendered by the Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi
and to allow interest and damages as provided for by law and
the rules of this court in such cases.

E. L. DENT,
J. W. CASSEDY,

Attorneys for Respondent.

I hereby certify that I have this day personally handed to
Hon. T. J. Willis, Attorney of Receiver for respondent, a
true and correct copy of the above and foregoing statement
of facts and brief.

This November 25, 1922.

E. L. DENT,

Attorney for Respondent.

(7877)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386005_0137%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
