# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shoffeitt v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1833%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1246

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

pe LL ED
j

951806 MAR 7 199%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No, 95-

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

JOHN HENRY SHOFFEITT,
Petitioner,
vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Submitted By
John Henry Shoffeitt, Pro se
Reg. No. 43933-019
P.O. Box 150160
Lakewood Station
Atlanta, Georgia 30315

(i)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does this Court's ruling in Cox vs. Louisiana, 379 US
559 and Raley vs. Ohio, 360 US 423 hold for the proposi-
tion that only prosecuting government could mislead the
defendant as to the illegality of his conduct to warrant a
defense of entrapment by estopple ?

2. Should a defendant be entitled to separate instructions
specifically charging the jury on his theory of defense, when
his theory of defense has a legal and evidentiary foundation?

3. Can a defendant rely on the theory of entrapment by
estopple when State Officials and Federal Appeals Court's
misinterpreting of federal laws could have mislead the
defendant to believe in good faith that his conduct was not
against any laws of the United States, until their interpreta-
tions have been explicitly changed by a ruling from this
Court, to warrant requested jury instructions on his theory of
defense ?

(ii)

1. Cathy Morris Alterman, Attorney for Appellant;
2. Janis Gordon, Assistant United States Attorney;
3. Bruce S. Harvey, Attorney for Appellant;

4. Honorable William C. O'Kelley, Judge, United States
District Court;

5. Douglas McDonald, Trial attorney for Appellant;

4 > rer en pg gmeeeme REEDS resrey ape mee a

6. John Henry Shoffeitt, Petitioner;

7. United States of America.

ee

John Henry Shoffeitt, Pro se

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 0.0... ceocccccccseceseeeeoeees cc. i

pe a Nigh. 6 oy: ce iii
I l
oa Seek Sen 2
ee ED 2
I et a er ae” 3
be 5 LEST a 3
Statement of Relevant Facts ........... 0... 3,4
Finding of the Appeals Court........................ 4,5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... 5

SAS 10

(iv )
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Beecham vs. United States,

eo Rel be ge 0 re te eon are 5,7
Cox vs. Louisiana,

es EE fs Gr vba kee nee dod wee 3,5
Dickerson vs. New- Banner Institute,

ee ED io pk oo nie ve en Sees a eae 8
Perez vs. United States,

ey ae Ee Ce: CO, SOO) i nie ow ne XR Ss Hs )
Raley vs. Ohio,

ee MD > as ss ab ues ta ih PL Oe 3,5
United States vs. Albertini,

830 F. 2d 985 (9th. Cir. 1987) ............... 6,7
United States vs Bruscantini,

rR oe ks Se} ) re ~ Tae |
United States vs. Edwards,

ee ae Gee ee Oe PE ck chases ee ues 6
United States vs. Geyler,

Dak i, ae Le ee GE, BRD) ccc wweccssceees 6
United States vs. Silverman,

(bw ER Fhb) Re a! Rees 9
United States vs. Swanson,

Oy F. 20 90 Ge Ce ESI) nc cc ccc ceed 6,7
eS 0 EE ore ee ee ae a ae a elie ne 8

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 95

JOHN HENRY SHOFFEITT,
Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

OPINION BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals in Shoffeitt vs. United
States, (App. A, pp. 1a-2a, infra) is not reported. Petition
for rehearing denied, (App. B. pp. 1).

JURISDICTION
The decision of the court of appeals in the instant case was
rendered on October 17, 1995. Petition for rehearing or sug-
gestion for rehearing was denied on January 26, 1996. The
Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals had jurisdiction pursuant
to Title 28 U.S.C. § 1291. This court has jurisdiction pur-
suant to Title 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

STATUTES INVOLVED
Section 922 (g) of Title 18 provides as follows:
(g) It shall be unlawful for any person —

(1) who has been convicted in any court of a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year;

(2) who is a fugitive from justice;

(3) who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any
controlled substance (as defined in Section 102 of the
Controlled Substance Act (21 U.S.C. 802);

(4) who has been adjudicated as a mental defective

or has beencommitted to a mental institution;

(5) who, being an alien, is illegally or unlawfully in
the United States;

(6) who has been discharged from the Armed Forces
under dishonorable conditions; or

(7) who, having been a citizen of the United States
has renounced his citizenship.

ia |

STATEMENT

Introduction

This petition brings before this Court an issue of
Federal and State law that the Court of Appeals has no guid-
ance of the issues herein. The decision by this court in, Cox
vs. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 559, 85 S.Ct. 476, 13 LEd 2d 487
(1965); and Raley vs Ohio, 360 U:S. 423, 79 S.Ct. 1257, 3 L
Ed 2d 1344 (1959), does not address the interpretation of
one law enforcement entity interpreting criminal statute of
the other law enforcement entity, such as Federal vs. State
criminal liability, to warrant requested jury instruction as
entrapment by estopple.

STATEMENT OF RELEVANT FACTS

On June 2, 1993 in the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Georgia, Gainesville Division,
the petitioner was indicted for a violation of 21 U.S.C. § 861
and 21 U.S.C. § 846. A Superseding indictment was filed
against petitioner on July 7, 1994, charging him with addi-
tional violation of Title 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(1), i.e. posses-
sion of a firearm by a convicted felon.

Petitioner entered a plea of not guilty to all counts in
the indictment and proceeded to trial. Trial commenced
before a jury on February 1, 1994. Petitioner requested an
instruction on entrapment by estopple. The government con-
ceded that there was sufficient evidence to warrant an

4
entrapment instruction. The government then requested an
instruction that a firearm permit is not a defense to a 922 (g)
charge. On the morning of closing arguments, petitioner's
counsel made an incomplete request to withdraw either the
entrapment charge or the equal access charge. The district
court promised however, in response to a clarification
request by the government, that, "regardless", if entrapment
was argued, an entrapment instruction would be given to the
jury. Petitioner argued good faith reliance on the State of
Georgia in issuing the firearm permit and licensing him to
become a bondsman. No entrapment instruction was given.
The district court did however instruct the jury on the gov-
ernment's theory of the case by charging that a firearm per-
mit issued by the State or county was no defense to the
firearm charge.

When the jury was unable to reach a verdict on the
drug charges, a mistrial was declared as to those charges
only. The jury found the petitioner guilty on count 14, the
firearm possession charge. Petitioner subsequently entered a
plea of guilty to one count of possession of cocaine with
intent to distribute. Petitioner was sentenced to 33 months
incarceration and is presently incarcerated in the Atlanta
Federal Prison Camp.

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT'S OPINION
The panel, Judges, Kravitch, Hatchett and Cox, in its
per curiam opinion, found Petitioner’s felony conviction was

S.
a federal conviction, and therefore he had no viable
entrapment by estoppel defense based upon the conduct of
Georgia officials. See Beecham vs. United States, 128 L.
Ed 2d 383 (1994); United States vs. Bruscantini, 761 F. 2d
640 (llth. Cir. 1985). The instructions the court gave, there-
fore, were not erroneous, and the court did not err in declin-
ing to instruct the jury as Shoffeitt (petitioner) requested.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court's decision in Cox vs. Louisiana, 379 U.S.
559 (1965); and Raley vs. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959) does
not address whether a person could rely on state law
enforcement's interpretation of a federal law, that such con-
duct is not against the law, in order to pursue a defense of
entrapment by estopple. This Court's ruling in Cox, supra,
relying on it's earlier ruling in Raley, supra, that Due
Process Clause prevented conviction of a person for refusing
to answer questions of a state investigating commission
when they relied upon assurances of the commission, either
expressed or implied, that they had a privilege under state
law to refuse to answer, though in fact this privilege was not
available to them.

In the instant case, the petitioner gave good faith reliance on
State official’s issuance of his firearm permit and their inter-
pretation of federal law to warrant the reliance on his
defense of entrapment by estopple to warrant the requested
instructions.

6.

Not only were the actions of the State of Georgia
relied on by the petitioner, there were published appeals and
court rulings that drew nationwide attention, that allowed
convicted felons to possess firearms after their release from
any supervision; i.e. United States vs. Geyler, 932 F. 2d
1330 (9th. Cir. 1991); United States vs. Edwards, 946 F. 2d
1347 (8th. Cir. 1991); United States vs. Swanson, 947 F. 2d
914 (llth. Cir. 1991); the aforementioned cases dealt with the
restoration of civil nghts. See Title 18 U.S.C. § 921 (a)(20).
In United States vs. Geyler, supra, the ruling dealt with per-
sons being previously convicted of a federal crime and the
Ninth Circuit found that 18 U.S.C. § 921 (a)(20) applied and
vacated the conviction.

<7 cy

The petitioner was indicted and tried on February 1,

1994, before this Court rendered it's decision in Beecham

vs. United States, 128 L. Ed 2d 383 (1994), that foreclosed

the restoration of civil nights defense, when the previous

conviction resulted in a federal conviction. Beecham, supra,

was decided on May 16, 1994, some months after the peti-

tioner was arrested for the charged conduct. Therefore, the

petitioner could have reasonably believed that the actions

from the State of Georgia and the Appeals Courts opinions

were correct and still in effect at the time of his criminal

conduct, to warrant the requested instructions of entrapment '

by estopple. .
The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, found in United

States vs. Albertini, 830 F. 2d 985 (9th. Cir. 1987), a case

close to point. "A peace protester while in conduct of leaflet-

if
ting navalbase had been tried in court and vindicated on

appeal could rely upon appellate court's decision in repeat-
ing the same conduct after receiving the appellate judgment,
before the supreme Court's reversal of that decision.
U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 5; U.S.C.A. Const, Art. 1, § 9, cl.
3; art 1, § 10, cl 1."

Not only did the State of Georgia issue the petitioner
a permit for a firearm, the published Court of Appeals opin-
ions in the Eleventh Circuit, in a published opinion, United
States vs. Swanson, supra, found that the language in Title
18 U.S.C.§ 921 (a)(20), "unless expressly provides that
the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive
firearm” the federal law does not apply. The issuance of the
firearm permit, clearly shows that the petitioner was not
restricted by the State, and the federal appeals Court's opin-
ion clearly so held that he was not under any disability.
Until this Court's opinion in Beecham, supra the petitioner
could so rely on the earlier rulings, to reasonably believe his
conduct was not against the law, Albertini, supra, and his
theory of defense, warranted the requested instructions
entrapment by estopple.

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, relied upon
United States vs. Bruscantini, 761 F- 2d 640 for the propo-
sition that the actions of a state judge and prosecutor who
had told a defendant that he was not a convicted felon after
he entered a plea of nolo did not establish a valid estoppel
defense.

8.

The ruling in Bruscantini, supra, dealt with prior
firearm laws, Title 18 U.S.C. § 922 (b) (1982). At that time
this court's ruling in Dickerson vs. Dew Banner Institute,
460 U.S. 310 was good law. Since the new firearm amend-
ment, Firearm Owner Protection Act, Pub. L. 99-508, effec-
tively overruled Dickerson, supra.

The rule on Cox and Raley is a narrow exception to
the general principle that ignorance of the law is no defense.
It was prompted by this court's observation that permitting
the government to prosecute individuals who reasonably rely
upon government's interpretation of the law would constitute
a kind of entrapment.

The lower court has interpreted Cox and Raley for
narrow proposition, that the benefit of estoppel defense is
that it encourages government officials to better know and
articulate the law, that benefit is not present where applica-
tion of the defense would penalize the wrong government;
the government that prosecuted the defendant rather then the
government that mistakenly and misleadingly interpreted the
law. This interpretation would be correct, if, federal law
allowed only for prosecution of Federal crimes and State
law allowed for only prosecution of state crimes. But
Congress in its legislation of the Comprehensive Drug
Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970 enacted federal
laws that corresponded with laws of the States. This is more
apparent in the laws concerning firearms. Congress has
become more aware of this, by its legislation of the Firearm
Owner's Protection Act, Pub. L. 99-308 when Congress

9.
allowed the states to determine the status of their felons for
purposes of their firearm laws. Tidle 18 U.S.C. 921 (a)(20).
Moreover, the inclusion in the statute of § 921, that allowed
states to determine the status of their felons, could not have

been accidental and Congress was certainly aware of it. See
Special Project, The Collateral Consequences of a
Criminal Conviction, 23 Vand. L. Rev. 929, 1143 (1970).
The issue before this court, is not whether the peti-
tioner’s rights were restored under § 921 (a) (20), but
whether the petitioner could have reasonably relied on state
official advice that he could legally possess a firearm, to
warrant a requested instruction of estopple by entrapment.
Petitioner's total theory of his defense was based upon the
issuance of the firearm permit by the state. "It is elementary
law that the defendant in a criminal case is entitled to have
presented instructions relating to a theory of defense for
which there is any foundation in the evidence". Perez vs.
United States, 297 F. 2d 12 (Sth. Cir. 1961) “The defendant
is entitled to a separate instruction specifically charging the
jury on his theory of defense if the theory has legal and evi-
dent-iary foundation". United States vs. Silverman, 745 F.
2d 1586 (lith. Cir. 1984) Surely, petitioner was entitled to
an instructions that related to his only theory of defense.
The petitioner had been issued a firearm license, and
licensed to act as a bondsman with the full knowledge of the
officials of the State of Georgia. Whether he reasonably
could have believed that he had been relieved of his firearm
disability was a fact for the jury; a fact which the jury

10.
could not address without the necessary guidance (jury
instruction from the court) - to frame the question.
Therefore, the petitioner should be entitled to a new trial
with instructions that an entrapment charge be given and
necessary for a fair trial.

The petitioner respectfully prays that this honorable
court will grant certiorari to revisit its earlier ruling in Cox
and Raley, supra, to allow consideration of the defense of
entrapment by estopple when State Officials and Federal
Appeals Court’s misinterpretations of federal laws, could
mislead a defendant to believe in good faith that his conduct
is not against any laws of the United States, until their inter-
pretations has been explicitly changed by a ruling from this
Court, to warrant requested jury instructions as entrapment

by estopple.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the writ of certiorari
should be granted.
Respectfully submitted
John Henry Shoffeitt, Pro se

Reg. No. 43933-019
P.O. Box 150160
Atlanta, Georgia 30315

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I hereby certify that I have caused on this 10th day of May,
1996, a copy of the foregoing to be sent by United States
mail to the Solicitor General’ s office, 10th. & Constitutional
Ave. Washington, D.C. 20530.

App. A, pp. 1a

[Filed October 17, 1995]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

NO. 94-8646
Non-Argument Calendar

D. C. Docket No. 2:93-cr-013-1-WCO

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
versus
JOHN HENRY SHOFFEITT,
Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Georgia

(October 17, 1995)

Before KRAVITCH, HATCHETT and COX, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

App. A, pp. 2a

John Henry Shoffeitt was convicted, following a jury trial,
for being a convicted felon in possession of a firearm in vio-
latidn of 18 U.S.C. S 922(g). He appeals.

Shoffeitt contends that the trial court erred in failing to give
his requested jury instruction on entrapment by estoppel.
Construed liberally, Shoffeitt’s brief also asserts that the trial
court erred in instructing the jury that a firearms permit
issued by a state or county agency is no defense to the
offense charged. (Appellant's Br. at 24.)

Shoffeitt’s felony conviction was a federal conviction, and
therefore he had no viable entrapment by estoppel defense
based upon the conduct of Georgia officials. See Beecham v.
United ____ US. , 114 S. Ct. 1669 (1994); United
States v. Bruscantini, 761 F.2d 640 (llth Cir. 1985). The
instruction the court gave, therefore was not erroneous, and
the court did not err in declining to instruct the jury as
Shoffeitt requested.

AFFIRMED.

App B, ppib

United States Court of Appeals
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-8646
Non-Argument Calendar
D.C. Docket No. 2:93-cr-013-B
[Filed October 17, 1995]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JOHN HENRY SHOFFEITT,
Defendant-Appellant.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Georgia

weer ere eed

Before: KRAVITCH, HATCHETT, and COX, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Georgia, and was taken under submission by the
Court upon the record and briefs on file, pursuant to
Eleventh Circuit Rule 34-3;

UPON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now
hereby ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment
of conviction of the said District Court in this cause be and
the same is hereby AFFIRMED.

Entered: October 17, 1995
For the Court: Miguel J. Cortez, Clerk
. Vi

Deputy Clerk
ISSUED AS MANDATE: 2-7-96

App B, pp2b
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-8646
[Filed January 26, 1996]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
versus |
JOHN HENRY SHOFFEITT, |
Defendant-Appellant.
On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Georgia

N PE ES-

(Opinion , 11th Cir.,

19 ae )

Before: KRAVITCH, HATCHETT, and COX, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition (s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no
member of this panel nor other Judge in regular active
service on the Court having requested that the Court be
polled on rehearing en banc (rule 35, Federal Rules of
Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), the
Suggestion (s) of Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

Phyllis Kravitch
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

ORD-42
(6/95)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1833%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
