# Opposition Brief — Lucas v. Gee

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1810%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 518 U.S. 1006

## Text

No. 95-1737

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1995

VINCENT A. LUCAS, Petitioner
v.

E. GORDON GEE, et al., Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO, COURT OF APPEALS

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

BETTY D. MONTGOMERY
ATTORNEY GENERAL

Jeffrey S. Sutton Steven J. McDonald*
State Solicitor Assistant Attorney General
30 East Broad Street 33 West 11th Avenue

17th Floor Suite 209

Columbus, Ohio 43215 Columbus, Ohio 43201
(614) 466-8980 (614) 292-061 1

*Counsel of Record

4
.
aie
one,
¢
t
;
iS,
— f
£
ac ty
_*
#
x
vA
aes

i

RESTATEMENT OF QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Should this Court exercise its supervisory powers to
correct an alleged factual error by a mid-level state appellate
court when the issue was not properly raised below and the
state law relevant to that issue is, as even the petitioner
concedes, already fully consistent with federal law?

2. Does a former member of an advisory university body,
who has no right to participate in or speak at its meetings,
unless the body, in its sole discretion, invites such
participation, have standing to seek an injunction to enforce
the body’s internal parliamentary rules on behalf of its
current members?

3. Does this Court have jurisdiction to consider whether a
state trial court properly interpreted and applied that state’s
rules of civil procedure?

|

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE I
INTRODUCTION l
STATEMENT OF FACTS 2
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED 6

I. Petitioner did not properly raise his
constitutional claims in the courts below. 6

II. Petitioner lacks standing to assert his
remaining claims. 8

III. This Court lacks jurisdiction to interpret
state rules of civil procedure. 9

[V. There is no "special and important
reason” for the Court to hear this case. 10

CONCLUSION 1]

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Alexander v. Yale University, 631 F.2d 178
(2d Cir. 1980) )

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) 9
Madison Joint School District v. Wisconsin
Employment Relations Commission,

429 U.S. 167 (1976) im By.

O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974) 9

Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) 9

1

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

VINCENT A. LUCAS, Petitioner
v,

E. GORDON GEE, et al., Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO, COURT OF APPEALS

The respondents, The Ohio State University; E.
Gordon Gee, the President of Ohio State and the presiding
officer of its University Senate; and James L. Nichols, the
Treasurer of Ohio State and the Parliamentarian of its
University Senate, respectfully request that this Court deny
the petition for a writ of certiorari, seeking review of the
Franklin County, Ohio, Court of Appeals’ opinion in this
case. That opinion is reported at 104 Ohio App. 3d 423,
662 N.E.2d 382 (1995), motion for review denied, 74 Ohio
St. 3d 1418, 655 N.E.2d 738 (1995), motion for
reconsideration denied, 74 Ohio St. 3d 1465, 656 N.E.2d
1300 (1995).

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

INTRODUCTION

Contrary to _ petitioner Vincent Lucas’s
characterization, this pro se petition for a writ of certiorari

2

is merely his latest step in a lengthy campaign of harassment
by litigation. It appears that, for Lucas, litigation is both a
game and an obsession. This is only one of four pro se
lawsuits that he has now filed against respondents and
various related parties on much the same issues. Indeed, just
two weeks before he filed his petition with this Court, he
refiled this very same case in the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Ohio, apparently in an effort to
prolong this litigation still further regardless of this Court’s
determination on his petition. In each case and at each stage,
he has filed countless briefs and motions and asserted, but
rarely pursued, ever-shifting theories as though he were
playing "litigation dodgeball." In what is for him typical
fashion, he served his petition for a writ of certiorari on
respondents’ counsel in an envelope that was plastered with
postage stamps honoring former President Nixon and that
bore the handwritten inscription "may the spirit of Richard
Nixon bless these briefs."

There is no need or reason for this Court to ensnare
itself in Lucas’s web of vexation and gamesmanship. Over
the course of the past two years, eleven judges sitting on
three different courts have already considered Lucas’s claims
in this case at great length and have unanimously rejected
them on no fewer than five separate occasions. In words that
are now doubly true, they have noted that "[t]he time and
effort devoted to this case by the trial court and the court of
appeals far exceed[] the legal significance of the various
allegations of wrongdoing complained of by [Lucas]." (Pet.
12a). Accordingly, and for the reasons set forth below, his
petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

STATEMENS OF FACTS

On November 5, 1993, the Board of Trustees of
respondent The Ohio State University voted to revise Ohio

3

State’s university-wide sexual harassment policy so as to
bring it into line with recent changes in the law. By its
express terms, that policy is applicable to all faculty, staff
and students at Ohio State. As such, it is also implicitly
incorporated in a provision of Ohio State’s Code of Student
Conduct prohibiting "[vjiolation of other published
University regulations, policies, or rules."

At the time of the revision of the university-wide
policy, the Student Code also contained a short, express
sexual harassment provision, and the University determined
to replace it with the revised policy. In accordance with its
informal tradition of seeking wide consultation on such
matters, the University brought the proposed revision before
the University Senate for an advisory vote on April 9, 1994.
The University Senate is composed of administrators, faculty
and students and, under University rules, is empowered to
"make recommendations" to the Board of Trustees.

Prior to the meeting, appellant Vincent Lucas, a
student member of the Senate, submitted a 12-page
memorandum detailing various objections to the proposed
revision, together with a proposed amendment. Copies of
both documents were distributed to each member of the
Senate before the meeting. During the meeting, Lucas spoke
a number of times and at some length concerning his views
on the proposed revision -- in fact, he spoke more, and more
often, on the subject than any other member of the Senate.
Among other things, Lucas presented his proposed
amendment, addressed his reasons for making it, stated his
belief that the proposed revision was unconstitutional and
referred the Senate to his lengthy memorandum for further
detail.

As the meeting progressed, however, Lucas became
increasingly disruptive, and it became increasingly clear that

4

he sought to obstruct consideration of the proposed revision,
not to further it. Accordingly, respondent E. Gordon Gee,
who, as Ohio State’s President, serves as the presiding
officer of the Senate, eventually brought the discussion to a
close and called for a vote. The Senate then voted to
endorse the Student Code revision by the resounding margin
of 69-10.

Soon thereafter, Lucas filed a pro se, class action
lawsuit in the Franklin County, Ohio, Court of Common
Pleas against Ohio State, Gee and the Senate’s
Parliamentarian (collectively, "Ohio State"). Lucas’s
complaint alleged that these respondents had “blatantly
disregarded" Robert’s Rules of Order and thereby committed
some 17 technical violations of parliamentary procedure at
the Senate meeting. On that basis, and that basis alone,
Lucas asked the trial court to declare the Senate vote "null
and void" "pursuant to Robert’s Rules of Order," to enjoin
Gee from engaging in further such "violations," and to award
Lucas his costs and "attorney fees." Despite Lucas’s
professed belief that the new sexual harassment policy was
unconstitutional, he did not challenge it in any way.

On June 6, 1994, Ohio State moved to dismiss
Lucas’s complaint for failure to state a claim upon which
relief may be granted -- specifically, that Robert’s Rules of
Order and other such forms of internal parliamentary
procedure do not have the status of law and are not judicially
enforceable. Ohio State also noted that Lucas’s lawsuit
would have no practical effect even if Lucas were to prevail.
Because the university-wide sexual harassment policy would
remain in effect regardless of the outcome of Lucas’s
lawsuit, Ohio State’s students would continue to be subject
to it no matter what happened to the vote on the Student
Code provision. On July 6, 1994, the trial court notified the
parties that it was converting the motion to dismiss into a

5

motion for summary judgment and asked them to address the
latter issue in more detail.

While Ohio State’s motion was pending, two
additional events of relevance occurred. First, on June 3,
1994, Ohio State’s Board of Trustees voted unanimously to
replace the old Student Code sexual harassment provision
with the new university-wide sexual harassment policy.
Second, soon after Lucas filed his complaint, the University
Senate held its last meeting of the academic year and Lucas’s
term of office came to an end. Although Lucas subsequently
sought another term, he was not reelected. On the basis of
these two events, Ohio State also sought the dismissal of
Lucas’s complaint on the grounds that his challenge to the
Senate vote had been mooted by the independent action of
the Board of Trustees and that, having lost office, he no
longer had standing to seek prospective injunctive relief to
enforce Senate rules.’

On August 10, 1994, the trial court granted Ohio
State’s dispositive motion. In its opinion, the trial court held
that the university-wide policy would continue to apply
"irrespective of whether or not . . . Gee violated Robert’s
Rules of Order" with respect to the Student Code provision
and that there was therefore no real case or controversy to be
resolved; that the courts lack jurisdiction to interfere with
matters of internal parliamentary procedure; and that, in any
event, the case was mooted by the June 3, 1994, adoption of
the Student Code provision by Ohio State’s Board of

In what was apparently an effort to resurrect his standing, Lucas then filed an
original action in quo warranio in the Franklin County, Ohio, Court of Appeals
against the student who was named the alternate for the student who succeeded
Lucas as a student Senator. When the Court of Appeals dismissed that case for
failure to state a claim upon which relief could be granted, Lucas refiled it as a
mandamus action against Ohio State and the student in the Franklin County,
Ohio, Court of Common Pleas. That case was also dismissed.

;

Trustees. (Pet. 18a-22a).

Lucas appealed to the Franklin County, Ohio, Court
of Appeals, which affirmed the trial court’s ruling on June 1,
1995. Lucas v. Gee, 104 Ohio App. 3d 423, 662 N.E.2d
382 (Franklin Cty. 1995) (Pet. la-10a). In its opinion, the
court of appeals specifically held that Lucas’s "first
assignment of error regarding a denial of First and
Fourteenth Amendment rights is not reviewable on this
appeal as plaintiff did not raise these questions in the trial
court." Id., 104 Ohio App. 3d at 426, 662 N.E.2d at 384
(Pei. 4a) (emphasis added). The court of appeals also denied
Lucas’s subsequent motion for reconsideration (Pet. 1 la-
13a), and the Ohio Supreme Court denied Lucas’s motion for
discretionary review, Lucas v. Gee, 74 Ohio St. 3d 1418,
655 N.E.2d 738 (1995), and yet another motion for
reconsideration, Lucas v. Gee, 74 Ohio St. 3d 1465, 656
N.E.2d 1300 (1995).

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

i. PETITIONER DID NOT PROPERLY RAISE HIS
CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS IN THE COURTS BELOW.

In his petition, Lucas’s central proposition appears to
be that pro se plaintiffs are entitled to "leeway" in their
pleadings, particularly when federal constitutional rights are
at stake, and that he therefore should have been permitted to
proceed with a First Amendment claim against the
respondents notwithstanding the serious shortcomings of his
complaint. While perhaps unexceptional in the abstract, that
proposition has nothing whatever to do with the facts of this
case and is not properly before this Court.

As the courts below found, the facts stated in Lucas’
complaint cannot fairly be stretched to encompass an

7

individual constitutional challenge to Ohio State’s actions.
Rather, what that complaint states, plainly and at
considerable length, is simply that, at a meeting of the
University Senate, Gee made a series of parliamentary
rulings that Lucas believes to have "blatantly disregarded"
Robert’s Rules of Order in no fewer than 17 separate ways.
(Pet. 49a-52a).

Nowhere in his lengthy and highly specific exposition
did Lucas in any way mention the First Amendment or any
other provision of federal law, nor can any such federal
claims reasonably be read into his complaint by inference.
As Lucas made clear from the very first paragraph of his
complaint, the claims that he asserted were all class claims.
Lucas’s eleventh-hour assertion that he was deprived of his
own First Amendment rights, on the other hand, was plainly
personal and individual in nature. Moreover, Lucas’s new-
found claim was not even remotely connected to the relief
that he sought. In his prayer for relief, Lucas asked only
that the trial court invalidate certain votes taken at the Senate
meeting "pursuant to Robert’s Rules of Order" and enjoin
Gee to comply with those rules in the future. (Pet. 52a).
Such relief has nothing whatever to do with Lucas’s supposed
constitutional claim. Had he actually asserted such a claim,
he could reasonably have been expected to have sought a
corresponding remedy.”

>In any event, contrary to Lucas’s apparent beliefs, there is no constitutional
right to filibuster. In Madison Joint School District v. Wisconsin Employment
Relations Commission, 429 U.S. 167 (1976), this Court expressly held that,
notwithstanding the First Amendment, “[p]lainly, public bodies may confine their
meetings to specified subject matter.” /d. at 175 n.8. Moreover, the applicable
rules of parliamentary procedure specifically provide that a member of the Senate
has no right to speak more than twice or for more than ten minutes total on any
given issue, that a member cannot make a second speech on an issue until all
other members who wish to do so have had an opportunity to speak once, and
that, if it appears that a member is engaged in disruptive or obstructive behavior,
the chair need not recognize him at all and may properly rule his motions out of
order. The uncontroverted evidence below established that Gee acted in

8

The fact that Lucas is proceeding pro se makes no
difference. Lucas did not properly raise that issue in the
courts below, and it has never been expressly ruled upon.
Indeed, until his motion for reconsideration in the court of
appeals, he instead asserted that he possesses "proficiency in
legal research and writing and a superior understanding of
legal jurisprudence," that he is "vastly more qualified than
the average layman," and that he therefore "possess[es] the
skills necessary to prosecute the case." In any event,
Lucas’s petition amply demonstrates that he is in no need of
any further "leeway" from the courts.

Finally, as even Lucas concedes, Ohio law on these
issues is fully consistent with established federal standards.
(Pet. 13-18). Indeed, Lucas himself argues that the Ohio
Supreme Court and every federal circuit that has ever
considered these issues are in complete agreement on the
relevant law. (/d.). Accordingly, even if the court of
appeals had misapplied Ohio law "contrary to the facts of
this case" (Pet. 12), that factual "mistake" would not warrant
this Court’s review. This Court does not sit to determine
whether the "ruling [of a mid-level Ohio court] conflicts with
the decisions of the . . . Ohio Supreme Court." (Pet. 22).

Il. PETITIONER LACKS STANDING TO ASSERT HIS REMAINING
CLAIMS.

Apparently conceding that the vote of Ohio State’s
Board of Trustees to adopt the Student Code sexual
harassment provision mooted his claim for retrospective
relief, Lucas nevertheless continues to argue that he is
entitled to injunctive relief "requiring [Gee] to comply with
the Senate’s rules of debate and procedure" in the future.
(Pet. 29). Contrary to Lucas’s assertions, however, there is

accordance with these provisions at the April 9, 1994, Senate meeting.

————— <<

9

no evidence whatever in the record to suggest that such
"violations" are rampant at Ohio State, and Lucas, who is no
longer a member of the Senate, cannot enforce the rights of
current Senators in any event.

It is not enough for Lucas to assert a belief that a
"law" may somehow be violated at some point in the future;
"an asserted right to have the Government act in accordance
with law is not sufficient." Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737,
754 (1984). Rather, "a plaintiff . . . must allege specific,
concrete facts demonstrating that the challenged practices
harm him, and that he would personally benefit in a tangible
way from the Court’s intervention." Warth v. Seldin, 422
U.S. 490, 508 (1975) (emphasis in original; footnote
omitted). "Past exposure to [allegedly] illegal conduct does
not in itself show a present case or controversy regarding
injunctive relief . . . if unaccompanied by any continuing,
present adverse effects." O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488,
495-96 (1974). In short, because Lucas is no longer a
member of the’Senate and has no right to participate in its
future meetings,’ "the requested relief [would not] aid [him]
in the slightest," and he therefore lacks standing to pursue it.
Alexander v. Yale University, 631 F.2d 178, 184 (2d Cir.
1980).

Il. THIS COURT LACKS JURISDICTION TO INTERPRET STATE
RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE.

Lucas’s final Question Presented asks this Court to
interpret a provision of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure

> While meetings of the Senate are open to the public, visitors have no floor
privileges. They may not introduce or vote on any matter before the Senate, and
they may speak only upon invitation and upon such terms and conditions as the
Senate, in its discretion, may set. In any event, Lucas has attended only a single
meeting of the Senate in the nearly two years since his term expired and, even
then, made no effort to participate.

10

and to hold that the Ohio courts applied it improperly in this
case. That issue, which Lucas never raised below, is purely
a matter of state law and is not within the scope of this
Court’s jurisdiction.

IV. | THERE IS NO "SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT REASON" FOR THE
COURT TO HEAR THIS CASE.

For the reasons stated above, there is no federal
question at all in this case, let alone a substantial one.
Moreover, Lucas does not claim that there is any conflict at
all among the courts on the legal issues that he considers
relevant. Rather, this case presents, at most, an alleged
factual error by a mid-level state court in applying a state
law standard that, as even Lucas himself concedes, is in full
accord with widely established federal law.

Moreover, the internal workings of a purely advisory
university body are of little consequence either within or
outside of the ivory tower. Indeed, the issue is of no real
consequence even to Lucas. Notwithstanding his professed
concern for the integrity of Senate proceedings, Lucas has
attended only a single meeting of the Senate in the nearly two
years since his term expired, and did so then only after his
lack of interest became an issue in the Ohio Supreme Court.
He has pursued this lengthy litigation for strictly vindictive
reasons.

11

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

BETTY D. MONTGOMERY
OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL

Jeffrey S. Sutton

State Solicitor

30 East Broad Street
17th Floor

Columbus, Ohio 43215
(614) 466-8980

Steven J. McDonald*

Assistant Attorney General

33 West 11th Avenue, Suite 209
Columbus, Ohio 43201

(614) 292-0611

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1810%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
