# Opposition Brief — Robert v. Philadelphia Park

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1744%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1222

## Text

} Supreme Court; U.S.

‘ O wEL ED
APR 24 1996
No. 95-1661
ras =) ame
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

DOMINIC ROBERT, a minor, by his mother and natural
guardian, MARY ANNE ROBERT,

Petitioners,
VS.

PHILADELPHIA PARK, and BENSALEM RACING
ASSOCIATION, INC. and KEYSTONE TURF CLUB, INC.
and GREENWOOD RACING, INC. and THOROUGHBRED

RACING PROTECTIVE BUREAU, INC.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES W. CRAVEN, ESQ.

Counsel of Record

AUDREY J. COPELAND, Esq.

MARSHALL, DENNEHEY, WARNER,
COLEMAN AND GOGGIN

Attorneys for Respondent

1845 Walnut Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 575-2626

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTION
PRESENTED

Whether this Honorable Court may or should
review the decision of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court to
dismiss, as having been improvidently granted, an appeal
from the order of the Pennsylvania Superior Court
quashing, as having been taken from a currently
unappealable order, an appeal from the interlocutory order
of the trial court, which regulated the parties’ discovery by
temporarily prohibiting the petitioners’ attorneys from
disclosing to their clients the name of the confidential
informant whose information led to the petitioners’ arrest.

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners in this action are Dominic Robert, a
minor, by his mother and natural guardian, Mary Anne
Robert. Respondents in this action are Philadelphia Park
and Bensalem Racing Association, Inc. and Keystone Turf
Club, Inc. and Greenwood Racing, Inc. and Thoroughbred
Racing Protective Bureau, Inc.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTION

ay acres re ae ae er rae -i-
Le Oe ES es ire ce ee hee ee ws -li-
FA EME © oe se 8 oe ew 8 we -iii-
pe) 8 es ore :) 1. Sr era i a eine -v-
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ........... -1-
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS ........... -2-
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE ....... -2-
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ........ -5-

he

Il.

THIS HONORABLE COURT DOES NOT HAVE
JURISDICTION TO REVIEW THIS CASE: THE
ORDER PRESENTED BY THE PETITIONERS IS
NOT A FINAL ORDER, BUT AN
INTERLOCUTORY DISCOVERY ORDER, AND
THE ORDERS OF THE STATE APPELLATE
COURTS, ALTHOUGH FINAL, DO NOT
PRESENT A RULING ON THE MERITS OF
THE TRIAL COURT’S ORDER OR A
CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTION ........ -5-

EVEN IF ITS MERITS ARE REVIEWED, THE
ORDER DOES NOT ENCROACH ON FREE
SPEECH AS A PRIOR RESTRAINT AND THE
REQUIREMENTS FOR CONSTITUTIONAL

ili

ENDORSEMENT ENUNCIATED UNDER

SEATTLE TIMES V. RHINEHART

COINUCEAMMMES ha 0 6G hy Stray eee es

iV

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Vv

Gannett v. Depasqualle,
S53 5, SOe. Pe ee ee

wain V il

369 Pa. 581, 87 A.2d 314 (1952) .....

467 U.S. 20, 104 S.Ct. 2119, 81 L. Ed. 2d. 17 (1984)

Steel v. Weisberg,
347 Pa. Super. 106, 500 A.2d 428 (1985)

Ts, e. -10-

No. 95-1661
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

DOMINIC ROBERT, a minor, by his mother and
natural guardian, MARY ANNE ROBERT,
Petitioners
v.

PHILADELPHIA PARK, and BENSALEM RACING
ASSOCIATION, INC. and KEYSTONE TURF CLUB,
INC. and GREENWOOD RACING, INC. and
THOROUGHBRED RACING PROTECTIVE BUREAU,
INC.,
Respondents

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioners have invoked the jurisdiction of this
Honorable Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1257.

Respondents respectfully suggest that the
jurisdiction provided to this Honorable Court under Article
III of the Constitution and 28 U.S.C. 1257 does not obtain
in this case. The trial court’s discovery-related order
which petitioners attempt to present to this Honorable
Court is not a final or appealable interlocutory order. The
orders of the Pennsylvania Superior Court and the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court, although final, do not

l

address the merits of the trial court’s order. Rather, the
Superior Court’s order simply holds that the trial court’s
order is not currently appealable, and the Supreme Court’s
order simply dismisses, as having been improvidently
granted, the appeal allowed from the Superior Court’s
decision to quash the petitioner’s premature appeal.

Petitioners originally filed a petition for certiorari
which was rejected by this Honorable Court as failing to
conform to the rules. Petitioners subsequently refiled what
they posit as a conforming Petition for Certiorari.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Respondents deny that any constitutional question is
presented by this case.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises out of an incident which occurred
at the Philadelphia Park racetrack on June 6, 1991.
Plaintiff-petitioner Maryanne Robert [hereinafter
collectively referred to with her son, plaintiff-petitioner
Dominic Robert, as "the Roberts"] maintains that on that
day Philadelphia Park security personnel conducted a
search of her person and her vehicle in such a manner to
cause her and her son to suffer emotional and physical
iniuries. The Roberts allege that the search was prompted
by information furnished to the security personnel by a
confidential informant.

The Roberts filed suit against defendants
Philadelphia Park and Bensalem Racing Association, Inc..,
and Keystone Turf Club, Inc. and Greenwood Racing, Inc.
and Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau, Inc.

hte tele,

[hereinafter known as "the Park"] in the Court of Common
Pleas of Bucks County.

The Roberts subsequently served interrogatories on
the Park on May 29, 1993. The Park responded by
serving objections to an interrogatory which sought the
identity of the confidential informant. The trial court
entered an order directing the Park to serve complete
answers, and the Park filed a motion for reconsideration
on August 27, 1993. In connection with this motion, the
trial judge arranged a hearing for October 19, 1993.
Counsel for both parties were heard on the issues of when
and under what circumstances the identity of the informant
could be released.

By order of November 3, 1993, the trial court
determined that the confidential informant would be
identified "in camera" and any testimony would be taken
in the presence of the court. The confidential informant
was ordered to appear before Judge Clark in chambers to
be deposed on November 23, 1993.

The Roberts subsequently subpoenaed an individual
they suspected was the informant on November 1, 1993 in
order to take his deposition on November 19, 1993. In
response, the Park filed a motion for a protective order
and a stay of proceedings, on November 18, 1993. In this
motion, the Park argued that the deposition testimony of
plaintiff Roberts’ husband, Robert Scetta, indicated that
plaintiffs suspected that the individual subpoenaed for
November 19 was the informant, and that the plaintiffs’
attempt to depose that individual was in derogation of the
court’s order calling for the informant’s deposition in
camera on November 23.

A conference was held on November 19 to
determine this motion. After counsel for the Park
identified the confidential informant at sidebar at the
request of the judge, the court issued the order which the
petitioners attempt to bring before this Honorable Court.
That order provided a schedule for discovery and
prohibited The Roberts’ counsel from disclosing the
identity of the confidential informant to anyone until
further order of the court. Contrary to the statement of
petitioners that the court ruled without evidence, the record
contained the discovery deposition testimony of Mary
Anne Robert’s boyfriend, Robert Scetta which
demonstrated a history of confrontation between the former
and the informant predating the incident; thus the Park
justifiably feared that The Roberts and Mr. Scetta would
attempt to intimidate, confront or otherwise threaten the
informant.

The confidential informant was deposed before the
trial court on April 19, 1994.

The Roberts thereafter appealed the interlocutory
discovery order to the Superior Court of Pennsylvania,
which quashed the appeal as having been taken from an
order that was not currently appealable. The Roberts then
successfully petitioned the Pennsylvania Supreme Court for
Allowance of Appeal. However, after briefing and oral
argument, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court dismissed the
appeal as improvidently granted by order of November 22,
1995. The Roberts’ Petition for Certiorari followed.

The Park disagrees that any federal question was
ever preserved for review by this or any other Court.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THIS HONORABLE COURT DOES NOT
HAVE JURISDICTION TO REVIEW
THIS CASE: THE ORDER
PRESENTED BY THE PETITIONERS IS
NOT A FINAL ORDER, BUT AN
INTERLOCUTORY DISCOVERY
ORDER, AND THE ORDERS OF THE
STATE APPELLATE COURTS,
ALTHOUGH FINAL, DO NOT
PRESENT A RULING ON THE MERITS
OF THE TRIAL COURT’S ORDER OR
A CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTION

The power of this Honorable Court to review the
decisions rendered by state courts is limited.

The interlocutory discovery order which the
petitioners seek to present to this Honorable Court does
not fall within that limited jurisdiction, because that order
is not a "Final judgments or decrees rendered by the
highest court of a State” as required by 28 U.S.C. § 1257
(a). The grant or denial of a protective discovery order is
deemed interlocutory because it makes no final disposition
of the matter in controversy and is therefore not subject to
appeal. Mackowain v. Gulf Oil Corp., 369 Pa. 581, 87
A.2d 314 (1952). Orders which preclude the disclosure of
information on the grounds of privilege are not appealable
under the collateral order doctrine. Steel v. Weisberg, 347
Pa. Super. 106, 500 A.2d 428 (1985).

While the order of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
qualifies under the first clause of Section 1257 (a), that
order is not reviewable by this Honorable Court, because
that order did not decide the merits of the trial court's

5

order and, consequently, presents no justiciable or
Constitutional issue for this Honorable Court to resolve.

Likewise, for all of these reasons, the order of the
Pennsylvania Superior Court, which quashed the
petitioners’ appeal from the discovery order, does not
qualify for this Honorable Court’s limited jurisdiction.

II. EVEN IF ITS MERITS ARE
REVIEWED, THE ORDER DOES NOT
ENCROACH ON FREE SPEECH AS A
PRIOR RESTRAINT AND THE
REQUIREMENTS FOR
CONSTITUTIONAL ENDORSEMENT
ENUNCIATED UNDER SEATTLE
TIMES V. RHINEHART

Additionally, this temporary, interlocutory gag
order issued in pre-trial discovery, which prohibits
disclosure of the identity of the confidential informant, and
which was obtained after a full hearing on the merits of the
request, was open-ended and designed to be temporary.
The order left open the opportunity for plaintiff to seek
relief during discovery. The Roberts never sought further
relief after the order was granted.

The temporary gag order was well within the lower
court’s jurisdiction and discretion as an order regulating
the discovery process. It can be likened to an order
sustaining an objection at a deposition, or an objection to
an interrogatory.

Even if the merits of the order are reviewed, the
order is in no way an encroachment on free speech as a
prior restraint. Neither does this order, which meets the
requirements for constitutional endorsement enunciated

6

under Seattle Times v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20, 104 S.Ct.
2119, 81 L. Ed. 2d. 17 (1984), violate the state or federal

constitution.

No litigant has an unrestrained right to disseminate
information obtained through pre-trial discovery. Here,
the trial court’s temporary gag order was issued during
pre-trial discovery for the good cause of protecting the
informant from physical and verbal harassment and does
not violate the prohibition against orders which prevent
disclosure of information obtained outside of discovery.
The order meets every requisite set out by this Court in
Seattle Times for a constitutionally valid "gag" order.

In Seattle Times, this Court declared that there is
no unfettered right to publish information gathered in this
context and protective orders entered under the appropriate
circumstances do not offend the First Amendment. Id. at
31. It expressly distinguished orders prohibiting
dissemination of discovered information before trial as
"not the kind of classic prior restraint that requires
exacting First Amendment scrutiny." Id., at 33 (citing
Gannett v. Depasqualle, 433 U.S. 368, 399 (1970)(Powell,
J., concurring). To the contrary such limitations on a
party’s ability to disseminate information discovered in
advance of trial, implicates the First Amendment rights of
the restricted party to a far lesser extent than would
restraints in a different context. Id., at 34. This Court was
also cognizant of the possibility of exploitation under
circumstances which necessarily allow intrusion into the
private affairs of litigants and third parties. 467 U.S. at
34-35.

Conscious of these concerns, this Court proscribed
that a valid gag or protective order: (1) must be based
upon "a showing of good cause"; (2) be "limited to the

7

context of pre-trial civil discovery"; and, (3) that it "not
restrict dissemination of information if gained from other
sources." Id., 467 U.S. at 37.

The Park has repeatedly shown "good cause" for
the order throughout the course of this discovery dispute
by demonstrating that the disclosure of this information
would be chaotic to the Philadelphia Park racing
community and destructive of the informant’s safety, well-
being and livelihood, particularly given the nature of the
horse racing business and the sensitive nature of the
information. Testimony of record does support
defendant’s assertions: according to the plaintiff's own
deposition and the deposition of witness Robert Scetta,
there was a history of confrontation between Mr. Scetta
and [the confidential informant] predating the subject
incident. It was feared plaintiff and her boyfriend, Mr.
Scetta would attempt to intimidate, confront or otherwise
threaten the informant.

Secondly, Seattle Times requires that orders be
limited to the context of pre-trial civil discovery in order
to be constitutionally sound. The order, which was issued
in the pre-trial phase of this case, and which governed
information obtained through interrogatories, the noticing
of a deposition and other procedural devices, conclusively
met this requirement.

Also, the order merely states that the identity of the
confidential informant temporarily may not be disclosed by
the attorneys for either party in this case until "further
notice" of the court. By its plain terms, and by the
context in which it was issued, the order is conspicuously
limited to the context of pre-trial discovery and clearly
contemplates that further order of the court will review
and/or release it at an appropriate time. The Park never

8

requested, nor did the trial court actually order, an
absolute, permanent bar of disclosure of the identity of the
information and discovery information therefrom.

Moreover, The Roberts never inquired of the trial
court what the duration of the order, objected its perceived
duration, suggested a different time period for which the
order would be in effect, or have since attempted to have it
lifted.

The informant’s identity was released to the court
and The Roberts’ counsel. The deposition was held, and
the right to question the informant was in no way impeded.
The gag order simply, and temporarily, protected the
informant from the very real threat of physical and verbal
abuse that would be caused by the release of his name.

Finally, the order meets the third prong of the
Seattle Times test. First, the information about the
existence and identity of a confidential source was
obtained, or at least confirmed through pre-trial discovery.
Were The Roberts allowed to disseminate the informant’s
identity of the confidential informant, simply because they
may have previously suspected his identity, the gag order
would be toothless.

The Roberts, through their attorney, were given
access to the informant for deposition and have the
substance of the information that he provided to the track,
from the Park’ answers to interrogatories. In short, they
were given the ability to learn anything relevant about the
informant or the information that he provided that they
might need to prosecute their case. In fact they were
given the opportunity to learn this information from the
informant himself, in person, under oath and in the
presence of the trial court. Just as in Seattle Times the

9

protective order here still allows The Roberts to prepare
for and try their case without impingement. And, again,
even if it did not it is not prior restraint.

The lower court’s order amply satisfies the
requisites of Seattle Times for a constitutionally valid
protective order. Consequently, the lower court’s order
may be affirmed.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES W. CRAVEN, ESQ.
Counsel of Record

AUDREY J. COPELAND, ESQ.
MARSHALL, DENNEHEY,
WARNER, COLEMAN & GOGGIN
Attorneys for Respondents

1845 Walnut Street

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 575-2600

10

SON GC RRRRARA ROR DAI PPA TREAE RIS REC IENGS ME PEGE BOR WE Pre gee EIA sO) DET RAID ERR ECan REF AAP RT ERSTE IRE WENT ITS
PVE . Ee rary ORR SS om IK ee i ha ll oN ~ = " re x x

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1744%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
