# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Intervine Outdoor Advertising, Inc. v. Gloucester City Zoning Board of Adjustment

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1593%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 1090

## Text

‘fe Ses Ceri Os.
& FILED

96 559 0CT 7 19%

No. OFFICE OF THe cue;
IN THE ;

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

INTERVINE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING, INC.,

Petitioner.
VS.

CITY OF GLOUCESTER CITY ZONING BOARD OF
ADJUSTMENT & CITY OF GLOUCESTER CITY,

Respondents

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
WITH APPENDIX

LEWIS KATZ, Esa.
MARTIN S. ETTIN, Esq.
KATZ, ETTIN, LEVINE, KURZWEIL
& WEBER, P.A.
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
Counsel for Petitioner
905 North Kings Highway
Cherry Hill, New Jersey 08034
(609) 667-6440
On the Brief:
ANDREW S. GENETTA, ESQ.
ROBERT SALTZMAN, ESQ.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1) Whether a recent Gloucester City, New Jersey, billboard
speech ban conflicts with this Court’s decision in Metromedia
v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 499, (1981) and its progeny, thereby
permitting broad, municipal-level censorship of commercial
and non-commercial sign speech.

2) Whether the New Jersey Supreme Court committed re-
versible error in concluding that a simple severance of the
time restrictions from Section 1604.12 of the Gloucester City,
New Jersey, Zoning Ordinance, ruled by that Court to be un-
constitutional, renders the remaining portion of the Ordi-
nance’s ban on outdoor sign speech constitutional, when the
sign Ordinance is still impermissibly content-specific and
fails to satisfy the strict scrutiny test.

3) In the alternative, if the said Opinion of the New Jersey
Supreme Court is interpreted to require severance and dele-
tion of Ordinance Section 1604.12 in its entirety from the
Gloucester City Zoning Ordinance, whether the New Jersey
Supreme Court committed reversible error by permitting
Gloucester City to completely prohibit all off-site non-
commercial outdoor sign speech.

CITATIONS OF THE CASE BELOW

The Judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court is found at
page Al of the Appendix; there was no formal written Opin-
ion because the Court relied upon the written Opinion of the
Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division, found be-
ginning at page A2 of the Appendix.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Jurisdiction of this Honorable Court is conferred by 28
U.S.C. § 1257. The date of the Order sought to be reviewed is
July 10, 1996 and the date same was filed is July 11, 1996.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

City of Gloucester City, New Jersey Zoning Ordinance Ar-
ticle 1601 et seq. is found at Page All of the Appendix.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MIIIITIT tele hiabihnetAcsklbsbaiaaeessbuibciacecdatienissnansionesesesnnanns
CONCLUSION/RELIEF REQUESTED...............0....
Ian ie EIT asiccscetntetiedsdnaniendadbisehintbdsieasenssasocesanevne

PETITIONERS APPENDIX/TABLE OF
CONTENTS

1. Unreported Opinion of the New Jersey Supreme
Court C-1232 September Term 1995 42,339......

2. Opinion of the New Jersey Superior Court,
Appellate Division NO. A-005193-94T3 ............

3. Gloucester City New Jersey Zoning Ordinance
8 RSS RI ca

A-1

A-|

A-2

A-1]

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
Federal
City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network,

FOE Oo BE Cee Rinibdinstadidliniecrepenidicnccneiiagnien 9
City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1994) 0.0.0.0... 5, 6, 7,9
Metromedia v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 490 (1981)........ . 4. 7,9,

10
Perry Education Association v. Perry Local

Educator's Association, 460 U.S. 37 (1983).......... 7
Rappa v. State of Delaware, 18 F. 3d 1043

CE Sn ED inliidenaniiasscicasicietisseinplaelcindilabilieatuenasiiie 7, 8,9
San Diego Gas & Electric v. San Diego,

Be Cia SER 1 i cicelnchinitnioncmincnee. 11
44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island, __US.___,

BD Se. GR. Se 6 ee cctintsinseinninitsensieniasnabiniansdaes 8

State
Bell v. Twp. of Stafford, 541 A. 2d 692

EOC i. GENUI Eks. II kcsietcihderntnscencilerhsinsniesbaanntidiandanmacin 3, 4, 10
Deal Gardens, Inc. v. Board of Trustees of Lock

Arbor, 226 A. 2d 607 (N.J. Sup. Ct. 1967)............ 10
Exxon Co., U.S.A. v. Livingston Township in Essex

County, 489 A. 2d 1218

(NJ. Super. Ct., Ape. Div. 1965) .....0...cccssssosnscsere 10
Gardens v. City of Passaic, 327 A. 2d 250

(N.J. Super. Ct., Law Div. 1974) ...........ccsscccossceees i)
Horizon Health Center v. Felicissimo,

638 A. 2d 1260 (N.J. Sup. Ct. 1994) oo. 7

lla

Page

N.J. Chapt.; Am 1.P. v. N.J. State Bd. of Prof.

Planners, 227 A. 2d 313 (N.J. Sup. Ct. 1967)....... 9
STC Corp. v. Planning Board of Hillsborough,

476 A. 2d 888 (N.J. Super. Ct., App. Div. 1984) .. 10
STATUTES
ETE racineaninssiesapnnnitieheichctsnisinaiechanihaicantacuiibidiaes oy
a I nic tiincniemnesniastiveinasreianianeonisaiiiliaiiines 10
ee Ne cilnstuitinaicinsnesisha\dibadciniiestiiecstaibas 2
LEGAL ANNOTATIONS
44 Hastings Law Journal, 881 (1993) .........::cccccc0es 6
CONSTITUTIONS
United States Constitution, First Amendment........... 2

New Jersey State Constitution, Article I, para. 6....... 2

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1996

INTERVINE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING, INC.,

Petitioner,
VS.

CITY OF GLOUCESTER CITY ZONING BOARD OF
ADJUSTMENT & CITY OF GLOUCESTER CITY,

Respondents.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
WITH APPENDIX

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The parties to this proceeding are fully identified in the
caption of the case in this Court. Petitioner, Intervine Outdoor
Advertising, Inc. (“Intervine”) of Cherry Hill, New Jersey,
entered into an agreement with Holt Cargo Systems (“Holt”)
to lease certain premises located immediately adjacent to the
Walt Whitman Bridge, an interstate highway over the Dela-
ware River connecting Philadelphia with South Jersey, in or-
der to construct three, free-standing, double faced, 960 square
feet outdoor pole signs to display both commercial and non-
commercial messages directly and only to Bridge traffic.
Gloucester City has totally banned the billboards here and
elsewhere throughout the City. The signs’ proposed location
is exclusively within the City’s Industrial/Port & Cargo
Zones, having no residences, but replete with huge

a gn anal

container-cargo ships, cranes, Holt’s marine terminal complex
and warehouses and the interstate highway system of the Walt
Whitman Bridge. The pole signs stand approximately 160 feet
tall and are designed to be visible only to passing Bridge traf-
fic, and not visible to persons in Gloucester City. There are
currently signs on the Philadelphia side of the Bridge.

Intervine formally applied for size, lighting, etc. variances
under N.J.S.A. 40:55D-70 from the Gloucester City Zoning
Board of Adjustment Sign Ordinance (See Page A-11 of Ap-
pendix). The Zoning Board rejected Intervine’s Application
and Intervine filed a Complaint in Lieu of Prerogative Writ;
the Law Division issued a final written Order dismissing In-
tervine’s Complaint. Intervine filed a Notice of Appeal with
the Appellate Division of the Superior Court of New Jersey;
the Appellate Division held that portions of the Ordinance’s
speech ban were indeed unconstitutional but ruled that sever-
ance of the offending portions cured the constitutional defect
(See Page A-2 of Appendix). A Notice of Appeal with a Peti-
tion for Certification was filed in the New Jersey Supreme
Court, which denied Intervine’s Petition for Certification and
dismissed its Appeal on July 11, 1996 in reliance upon the
Appellate Division’s Opinion (See Page A-1 of Appendix).

In its original Complaint in Lieu of Prerogative Writ, in
each Brief before each Court below, and during all oral argu-
ments, Intervine preserved for appeal before this Court its
constitutional arguments: Intervine posited that the instant
Gloucester City Zoning Ordinance is fatally flawed because
the City’s almost complete ban upon all off-premises sign ad-
vertising speech is unconstitutional pursuant to the U.S.
Constitution, First Amendment and the N.J. Constitution, Ar-
ticle I, paragraph 6. Each Court below considered these con-
stitutional issues beginning at the Trial Court level and found
at the Superior Court, Appellate Division’s Opinion at page
A-2 of the attached Appendix; and at the New Jersey Supreme
Court’s Judgment found at page A-1 of the attached Appen-
dix.

.
|

3

The Appellate Division and the Supreme Court both upheld
Intervine’s position that the determination of the constitu-
tionality of the instant Zoning Ordinance vis-a-vis non-
commercial usage was indeed ripe, contrary to the Respon-
dents’ arguments and the determination of the Trial Court.
The two Courts also supported Intervine’s position that the
proposed signs clearly display non-commercial speech includ-
ing the New Jersey State Tax Amnesty Program, Blood
Drives, Political Campaigns, New Jersey State Aquarium and
multiple social, political and charitable causes.

Moreover, the two Lower Courts upheld Intervine’s posi-
tion that the instant Zoning Ordinance as it relates to non-
commercial speech is indeed unconstitutional: both Courts
ruled that the Ordinance Section 1604.12 time limitation upon
non-commercial speech, not found on City commercial
speech regulations, was unnecessary and constituted an un-
constitutional infringement upon protected non-commercial
speech. However, the New Jersey Supreme Court committed
reversible error by ruling that a simple severance of the of-
fending time restrictions from the Zoning Ordinance would
render the remaining parts constitutional as they relate to non-
commercial speech.

Lastly, the Appellate Division and the New Jersey Supreme
Court in reliance thereupon, upheld Intervine’s position that
Section 1604.12 of the Zoning Ordinance was content-
specific and therefore subject to the Court’s most exacting
scrutiny. But the lower Courts improperly concluded that the
instant Zoning Ordinance was the least restrictive means
available to advance a compelling governmental interest since
there is no evidence that traffic, aesthetics or safety are genu-
inely disadvantaged or that less restrictive alternatives were
considered. The Court conducted a “Be//’” hearing pursuant to
Bell v. Twp. of Stafford, 541 A. 2d 692 (N.J. Sup. Ct. 1988) in
which Gloucester City offered testimony as to the rationale
behind its Ordinance which, subject to very limited excep-
tions, effectively prohibits all off-site outdoor sign speech in-
side the City. Testimony elicited established the City
considered no other alternatives to the present broad ban. The

t

New Jersey Supreme Court ruled in Bei/ that such a ban was
unconstitutional. Because the City did mot evaluate any other
‘jess restrictive means to reach its goals this case is essentially
identical to the outdoor sign ban held unconstitutional in
Metromedia v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 490 (1981).

ARGUMENT FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT
OF CERTIORARI

Where a municipality in the State of New Jersey effectively
bans a regulated, taxed, and lawful industry, which displays
both commercial and non-commercial speech via outdoor
signs, substantial questions under both the United States and
the New Jersey Constitutions are implicated. If the City of
Gloucester City, a fully urban locale with use-compatible In-
dustrial/Port & Cargo Zones, abutting a major interstate river
artery utilized only for heavy commercial transportation and
spanned by an interstate highway bridge, is permitted to en-
force an overly broad sign speech ban predicated upon

and unsubstantiated notions of traffic safety and
aesthetics, then all such speech in New Jersey, and elsewhere,
is threatened by localized, ad hoc censorship and elimination.
This outright ban severely limits the First Amendment ex-
pression of commercial and non-commercial speech, the pro-
motion of regional commerce, property rights, and raises
public policy and other substantial issues which must be re-
solved by this Honorable Court.

Judicial review should determine whether any municipality
in New Jersey has the unilateral ability to select and eliminate
broad categories of speech within its borders even when such
messages are not visible to its inhabitants. The New Jersey
State Legislature declared at N.J.S.A. 27:5-6 that regulation of
Outdoor Signs must balance “safety and natural scenic
beauty” with “promoting development and economic vitality
and facilitating the flow of speech and expression of which
providing messages of commercial, public and social value
conveyed through the medium of roadside signs and outdoor
advertising.” Gloucester City’s ban does not satisfy this test.

5

The Opinion of the Appellate Division of the Superior
Court of New Jersey, and the New Jersey Supreme Court in
reliance thereupon, ruled that indeed the relevant portions of
the Zoning Ordinance sub judice were unconstitutional and
that the Zoning Ordinance improperly derogated non-
commercial speech, the most protected form of speech. How-
ever, neither lower Court went far enough since the Zoning
Ordinance at issue is still impermissibly content-specific,
subject to exacting scrutiny to determine if it both genuinely
serves compelling governmental interests and is truly in the
least restrictive means possible drawn.

Gloucester City’s Master Plan/Zoning Ordinance includes
Sub-Section XVI, “Permitted Signs”, within the confines of
the City. The instant sign Ordinance creates a total ban on all
off-premises commercial and non-commercial signs, thereaf-
ter enumerating very limited exceptions to the ban. (See Part
Ill of Appendix).

The Appellate Division, and the New Jersey Supreme
Court in reliance thereupon, ruled Section 1604.12 of the
Zoning Ordinance was clearly suspect because it categorizes
and enumerates “acceptable” non-commercial speech and
then the Courts ruled, unconstitutionally confines same to a
limited time period. Erroneously, the lower Courts ruled that a
simple severance of the offending temporal portion of that
Ordinance cures the constitutional defect. However, severing
the time limitations does not make the Ordinance any less
content-specific and it remains constitutionally invalid: the
municipality still selects only that non-commercial speech
which formally “announces or advertises” a specific
“political, educational, charitable, civic, professional, relig-
ious or like campaign or event”. The protest sign which was
permitted in City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1944)
(“Peace in the Gulf”) would clearly not be permitted under
this Ordinance. The Ordinance permits “announcing or ad-
vertising” an “event or campaign” but is limited to a specific
and/or formal fundraiser or meeting; the non commercial
message upheld in Ladue, supra was simply one person’s in-
formal, unsanctioned, commentary about the day’s headlines.

6

In Gloucester City, however, the local politicians or even a
town clerk arbitrarily act as self-appointed speech censors,
choosing what is a specific “campaign or event”; what is
“religious, civic, political, etc.”; and what is an
“announcement or advertisement.” Such a regime cannot
withstand the enacting scrutiny of this Honorable Court in the
application of established precedents.

There is no allowance in Zoning Ordinance Section
1604.12 for outdoor signs of, for example, an unusual or pri-
vate comment: a sign: “Happy Valentine’s Day to my Wife of
Fifty Years” is not permitted under the Ordinance since is not
“political, educational, charitable, etc.” A sign: “Gloucester
City Town Fathers Always Raise Taxes Too Much” would
not be permitted since it is not announcing a specific
“campaign or event”; however, ‘t does constitute an on-going
informal commentary of general, personal dissatisfaction ex-
actly like the message upheld in Ladue, supra. Although dis-
tasteful, would a sign: “Worship Satan” be permitted? Is it a
“religion”? How is it an “event or campaign”? Although un-
usual, would a sign: “O.J. Simpson is Great!” be permitted; is
it an event; is it political, educational, etc.? What goal does
the City promote by affirmatively enumerating the speech it
finds useful; why does it not simply permit ai// non-
commercial speech? Allowing only speech which
“announces or advertises” a specific “campaign or event” sets
the City up as speech-content arbiter but not allowing all
other speech is a fatal flaw.

“Today the central organizing concept of First Amendment
doctrine is the distinction between content-based regulations
and content-neutral ones. Content-based regulations will be
almost never constitutional...” 44 Hastings Law Journal, 881
(1993). Content-specific Ordinances shall be closely scruti-
nized since the government selects the topics of public dis-
course and such regulation is strictly construed under both the
United States Constitution and the New Jersey State Consti-
tution. “For a content-based restriction in a traditional public
forum to be valid, the restriction must pass muster under the
strictest scrutiny: it must be necessary to serve a compelling

7

State interest...narrowily drawn to achieve that end”. Horizon
Health Center v. Felicissimo, 638 A. 2d. 1260 (N.J. Sup. Ct.
1994), quoting Perry Education Association v. Perry Local
Educator's Association, 460 U.S. 37 (1983).

The Appellate Division’s Opinion, and thus the New Jersey
Supreme Court’s reliance thereupon is not clear: it appears on
the one hand to state that severing the time restrictions only
from Ordinance Section 1604.12 is sufficient and on the other
hand, the last full sentence appears to hold that the entire Or-
dinance Section 1604.12 should be severed (last full sentence
of the Appellate Division’s Opinion). If the Opinion is inter-
preted to delete Ordinance Section 1604.12 entirely, then all
off-site non-commercial speech (permitted only via Section
1604.12) is totally excluded City-wide and the Ordinance
must be held to be facially invalid as a total ban. The Zoning
Ordinance must give non-commercial speech the same lati-
tude and freedom as commercial speech and the City clearly
cannot prefer commercial speech over non-commercial
speech. Metromedia, supra.; Rappa v. State of Delaware, 18
F. 3d. 1043 (3rd Cir. 1994).

Conversely, if the Opinion is interpreted to delete the rele-
vant temporal restrictions only and leave intact the remainder
of Zoning Ordinance Section 1604.12, (thereby permitting the
enumerated non-commercial speech but without time restric-
tions,) the Ordinance remains invalid since it still improperly
enumerates “acceptable” non-commercial speech. Gloucester
City selectively censors which speech it will permit and de-
cides what is “political, religious, etc.,” and further decides
what is a specific “campaign or event” and what is an
“announcement or advertisement”.

This Court, using the strict scrutiny test, enunciated in
Ladue, supra. should find that no compelling Gloucester City
governmental interest is genuinely served by this total speech
ban and that the instant Zoning Ordinance is not narrowly
drawn. Excluding personal speech but permitting arbitrarily
defined speech is illogical and does not serve any compelling
interest. Further, excluding constitutionality-protected speech

in the City’s Industrial/Port & Cargo Zones, with huge ships,
cranes and marine warehouses, hardly serves the proffered
interests of traffic safety, property values or aesthetics, par-
ticularly when such speech is only visible to bridge traffic on
an interstate highway.

As this Court recently found in 44 Liguormart, Inc. v.
Rhode Island, U.S. __, 116 S. Ct. 1495 (1996) the regu-
lating body bears the burden of showing not merely that its
regulation will advance its interest, but also that it will do so
to a material degree. Likewise, there is no justification for
such broad sign speech limitations everywhere in Gloucester
City, particularly the proposed fully industrialized location
and especially when the signs are not visible to Gloucester’s
residents. And as noted above, the Gloucester City Planning
Board concedes that it never even considered a less restrictive
means to target its goals.

Further illustrating the lower New Jersey Court’s misappli-
cation of the law to the Ordinance, they ignore the companion
Gloucester City Zoning Ordinance Section 1604.1 which
permits ail “signs erected by governmental agencies”. Such a
broad exception favoring government signs was considered
improper under Rappa, supra; the Third Circuit found the
government had no greater ability to post all of its signs than
would a private user and that it did not have a monopoly on
censorship of signs such that every governmental sign would
be permitted regardless of content or need. However, severing
Section 1604.1 would not render the instant Zoning Ordi-
nance constitutional since doing so would effectively prohibit
all government signs; only amendment will work.

The Gloucester City Zoning Ordinance at companion Sec-
tion 1604.6 also improperly favors one form commercial
speech over another by permitting signs for construction work
being done on a premises. That Ordinance favors construction
work but does not permit, for example, an architect, account-
ant or roofer to place a sign at the location where he/she is
doing a great deal of work. There is scant logic in permitting
such broad commercial speech in residential areas for home

9

contractors when all other such residential or other Zone
speech/advertising is banned in terms of aesthetics, etc. This
Ordinance speech exception is similar to the issue raised in
City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network 502 U.S. 410 (1993),
in which this Court held that a partial ban on commercial
speech did not genuinely serve aesthetics or safety. Zoning
Ordinance Section 1604.6 clearly favors commercial speech
over non-commercial speech and certain types of commercial
speech over other types, also contrary to Metromedia, supra.
Severing Section 1604.6 would not render the Ordinance
constitutional; only amendment will work.

With respect to the lower Court’s proposed “solution” of
severance, the validity of a Zoning Ordinance from which a
provision has been severed is contingent upon whether the
remaining portion is functionally self-sufficient and still con-
tains the essentials of a complete enactment. Gardens v. City
of Passaic, 327 A.2d 250 (N.J. Super. Ct., L. Div. 1974); N.J.
Chapt.; Am LP. v. N.J. State Bd. of Prof. Planners, 227 A. 2d
313 (N.J. Sup. Ct. 1962).

But as the Third Circuit stated in Rappa, supra, at 1072:
“eliminating the offending exception (to a speech ban) would
mean that we would be requiring the State to restrict more
speech than it currently does...To our knowledge, no Court
has mandated issuance of an injunction such as that, and we
decline to be first.” And as this Court stated in Ladue, supra
at _, 114 S. Ct. 2038 at 2043: “...the City might theoreti-
cally remove the defects in the Ordinance by simply repealing
all the exemptions. If, however, the Ordinance is also vulner-
able because it prohibits too much speech, that solution would
not save it.” Assuming arguendo the Gloucester City Zoning
Ordinance may permissibly enumerate non-commercial
speech, the City can do so only by formal amendment and not
by severance; however, Intervine’s rights are vested and re-
mand to permit amendment should not be allowed at this late
date.

Only the intervention of this Honorable Court can redress
the wrongs done below and bring the Gloucester C ity, New

| ae me

10

Jersey Ordinance into conformity with the settled law of the
land as embodied in Metromedia, supra. and its progeny.

CONCLUSION/RELIEF REQUESTED

Petitioner seeks a determination that the Gloucester City
Ordinance, as interpreted by the Lower Courts, is unconstitu-
tional and that this case be remanded for entry of an appro-
priate Order providing for the variance sought by Petitioner in
its original Application. If the Gloucester City Zoning Ordi-
nance under which Intervine made its variance Application is
held unconstitutionally void, Intervine is entitled to the relief
requested therein and the status of the Gloucester City Master
Plan/Zoning Ordinance at the time of the Application is con-
trolling. If the City now adopts a new Zoning Ordinance re-
stricting the use or bulk requirements necessary to permit the
proposed use, then those requirements will simply constitute a
non-conforming but vested, permitted use such as provided in
N.J.S.A. 40:55D-68.

In Bell, supra, the New Jersey Supreme Court invalidated a
similar Zoning Ordinance and noted that Stafford Township
was not prevented from enacting an Ordinance satisfying the
constitutional imperatives; however, the Court did not stay its
decision pending reenactment of such an Ordinance; see also
STC Corp. v. Planning Board of Hillsborough, 476 A. 2d 888
(N.J. Super. Ct., App. Div. 1984) in support.

There is no legal or equitable requirement that this Court
make available to Gloucester City an additional opportunity
to revise or reexamine its Zoning Ordinance to cure the inva-
lidity. Here, Intervine first applied for use and other variances
and has exhausted all of its administrative remedies before the
Zoning Board of Adjustment and only then appealed. The
situation is unlike and distinguishable from those in either
Exxon Co., U.S.A. v. Livingston Township in Essex County,
489 A. 2d 1218 (N.J. Super. Ct., App. Div. 1985), or the Deal
Gardens, Inc. v. Board of Trustees of Lock Arbor, 226 A. 2d
607 (N.J. Sup. Ct. 1967) case upon which it relies in which
those Courts permitted amendment.

il

Vesting will avoid what Justice Brennan, in San Diego Gas
& Electric v. San Diego, 450 U.S. 621 (1987), said was ad-
vice given to the City attorney about how to respond (and
frustrate an Applicant) when a land use regulation is stricken
by a Court: “if all else fails, merely amend the regulation and
start over again.”

Respectfully submitted,

KATZ, ETTIN, LEVINE, KURZWEIL
& WEBER, P.C.
Attorneys for Petitioner

Lewis yc Esq {
By: VY

MARTIN S. ETTIN, ESQUIRE

DATED: Bet, % 1996
/

1

APPENDIX

A-1

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY
C-1232 September Term 1995
42,339

INTERVINE OUTDOOR
ADVERTISING, INC.,

Plaintiff-Petitioner,
V. ON PETITION FOR

CITY OF GLOUCESTER CITY CERTIFICATION
ZONING BOARD OF

ADJUSTMENT, CITY OF

GLOUCESTER CITY,

Defendants-Respondents.

To the Appellate Division, Superior Court:

A petition for certification of the judgment in A-5193-94
having been submitted to this Court, and the Court having
considered the same;

It is ORDERED that the petition for certification is denied,
with costs; and it is further

ORDERED that the appeal filed in the within matter is
dismissed pursuant to Rule 2:12-9.

WITNESS, the Honorable Alan B. Handler, Presiding Jus-
tice, at Trenton, this 10th day of July, 1996.

/s/ Stephen W. Townsend
CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

A-2

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
A-5193-94T3

INTERVINE OUTDOOR
ADVERTISING, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
V.

CITY OF GLOUCESTER CITY
ZONING BOARD OF
ADJUSTMENT and CITY OF
GLOUCESTER CITY,

Defendants-Respondents.

Argued March 26, 1996 - Decided May 02 1996
Before Judges Michels, Villanueva, and Kimmelman.

On appeal from the Superior Court of New Jersey,
Law Division, Camden County.

Martin S. Ettin argued the cause for appellant (Katz,
Ettin, Levine, Kurzweil & Weber, attorneys; Andrew
S. Genetta and Mr. Ettin, on the brief).

Barry J. Beran argued the cause for respondent City of
Gloucester City Zoning Board of Adjustment (Beran
& Beran, attorneys; Gail R. Beran and Mr. Beran, on
the brief).

A-3

M. James Maley, Jr. argued the cause for respondent
City of Gloucester City (Maley, Williamson, Hayden
& Gmerek, attorneys; Mr. Maley and Charles W.
Wigginton, on the brief).

The opinion of the court was delivered by
KIMMELMAN, J.A.D (temporarily assigned).

Plaintiff Intervine Outdoor Advertising, Inc. appeals from a
judgment of the Law Division which affirmed the denial by
defendant City of Gloucester City Zoning Board of Adjust-
ment (Board) of plaintiff's application for a use and bulk vari-
ance to construct three freestanding billboards on property it
intends to lease adjacent to the New Jersey approach to the
Walt Whitman Bridge. Plaintiff's complaint in lieu of pre-
rogative writs also joined as a defendant the City of Glouces-
ter City (City), contending that the zoning ordinance was
invalid because the City had not reexamined its master plan
and zoning regulations within six years as required by
N.J.S.A, 40:55D-89, and that, if not invalid, the zoning ordi-
nance was otherwise unconstitutional. The Law Division re-
jected these claims, upholding the validity of the zoning
ordinance.

We affirm the denial of plaintiff's application for a use and
bulk variance and affirm that portion of the judgment entered
April 14, 1995, which upheld the City’s compliance with
N.J.S.A. 40:55D-89 and which also upheld the constitutional-
ity of the zoning ordinance insofar as it regulates commercial
speech with respect to the sign regulations. The trial court did
not reach the question as to the constitutionality of the sign
regulations applicable to noncommercial speech. However,
we find unconstitutional that part of the sign regulations
which limits noncommercial speech contained in signs to a
temporary basis not to exceed a consecutive period of sixty
days in any calendar year. Since we do not find the constitu-
tional defect to require invalidation of the entirety of the sign
regulations contained in the zoning ordinance, but only to re-
quire severance of the offending language from the noncom-
mercial sign regulations, the remaining provisions survive.

A-4

Plaintiff is a company engaged in erecting and maintaining
freestanding, outdoor advertising structures. It has entered
into an arrangement with Holt Cargo Systems, Inc., the owner
of the subject property, to lease the property for the erection
of billboards. The property site is located in the Port and
Cargo Handling Zone of the City’s zoning ordinance, wherein
the permitted uses pertain to the maintenance of piers, ware-
houses, and like facilities for the operation of businesses re-
lated to the receipt, temporary storage, and transfer of cargo.
A use not specifically permitted in that particular zone, such
as the erection and maintenance of signs, is prohibited under
the ordinance. The site is also located in the Shoreline Over-
lay District, which includes lands within 500 feet of the
Delaware River shorelines. Among the stated purposes for
creating this district are the encouragement of public use and
enjoyment of the shorelines and the enhancement and increase
of views and access to the water. An objective of the City’s
1985 master plan is eventually to rezone the waterfront area
from industrial to mixed-use development and to clean up and
beautify the entrances to the City by various techniques,
which include prohibiting new billboards and attempting to
retire old ones.

Plaintiff proposes to construct three double-faced, steel,
freestanding pole signs, one on the south side of the Walt
Whitman Bridge and two on the north side. Each sign would
be externally lit at the bottom, measuring 16 feet by 60 feet,
and would be located approximately 30 feet above the bridge
roadway, approximately 90 feet above the ground, and ap-
proximately 30 feet from the bridge rights-of-way. In addition
to commercial advertisements, plaintiff proposes to use the
reverse side of the signs for noncommercial advertisements
and messages such as promoting the New Jersey State
Aquarium, the New Jersey State Tax Amnesty Program, the
Franklin Institute, and political campaigns. Similar noncom-
mercial billboards are located adjacent to the bridge on the
Pennsylvania side.

After considering the application and the testimony pre-
sented in support and against thereof, the Board concluded

A-5

that plaintiff's application was a substantial departure from
the signage requirements of the zoning ordinance, that the
application could not be granted without substantial detriment
to the public health, safety, and welfare of the City, and that
plaintiff had not shown any special reasons why the applica-
tion should be granted in view of the detriments. See N.J.S.A.
40:55D-70d.

We are satisfied, based upon the thorough and well-
reasoned letter opinion of Judge Theodore Z. Davis, that the
Board’s denial of plaintiff's application for a use and bulk
variance finds support in the evidence and was not arbitrary,
capricious, or unreasonable. Booth v. Board of Adj. of Rocka-
way, 50 N.J. 302, 306 (1967). Judge Davis also correctly held
that the City had complied with N.J.S.A. 40:55D-89, which

provides in pertinent part:

The governing body shall, at least every six
years, provide for a general reexamination of its
master plan and development regulations by the
planning board, which shall prepare and adopt by
resolution a report on the findings of such reexami-
nation, a copy of which report and resolution shall
be sent to the county planning board and the mu-
nicipal clerk of each adjoining municipality. . . .

On April 15, 1991, within the six-year statutory period, the
City adopted resolution #67, which reads:

WHEREAS, the Planning Board of the City of
Gloucester City has conducted a review and re-
examination of the existing Master Plan for the City
of Gloucester City;

WHEREAS, the Planning Board of the City of
Gloucester City has recommended that the Mayor
and Council of the City approve and adopt the exist-
ing Master Plan for the City;

WHEREAS, the Mayor and Council is satisfied
that the Planning Board has conducted a general re-
examination of the City’s Master Plan and

4%

A-6

Development Regulations and has reported to
Mayor and Council its recommendation that the
existing Master Plan be readopted;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by
Mayor and Council of the City of Gloucester City
that the existing Master Plan is hereby readopted in
accordance with N.J.S.A. 40:55D-89 and that the
Master Plan shall continue in full force and effect
unless otherwise provided by law.

Although proof was not submitted that the planning board
had prepared a formal report and that a copy of the report had
been submitted to the county planning board, sufficient evi-
dence was submitted to the trial court showing that the master
plan and zoning ordinance had been reviewed and examined
continually by the planning board over the years in question.
Such proof raised a debatable question as to the reexamina-
tion of the master plan and zoning regulations and, therefore,
was sufficient to overcome the statutory rebuttable presump-
tion of unreasonableness required by N.J.S.A. 40:55D-89.1.
The rebuttable presumption of unreasonableness having been
overcome, the presumption of validity inherent in the munici-
pal enactment then reattaches, as found by Judge Davis. See
Lionshead Woods Corp. v. Kaplan Bros., 243 N.J. Super. 678,
684-85 (Law Div. 1990).

With respect to the constitutionality of the sign regulations,
we agree with Judge Davis’s reasoning and conclusion that
the sign regulations applicable to commercial speech were not
constitutionally infirm. Judge Davis held a so-called “Bell
hearing” pursuant to Beil v. Stafford Township, 110 N.J. 384,
396-97 (1988), and determined that there were compelling
governmental interests that supported the regulations appli-
cable to commercial signs. Judge Davis did not reach the
question as to whether the City’s sign regulations applicable
to noncommercial speech pass constitutional muster. How-
ever, we find the sign regulations applicable to noncommer-
cial speech to be unconstitutional.

st At be ifs boats

A-7

The City’s zoning ordinance, Section 1604, subsection 12,
applicable to noncommercial signs other than governmental,
directional, and traffic control signs and devices, permits:

Temporary signs announcing or advertising any
political, educational, charitable, civic, professional,
religious, or like campaign or event for a consecu-
tive period not to exceed sixty (60) days in any cal-
endar year, providing they do not exceed fifty (50)
square feet in size.

[Gloucester City, N.J., Ordinance 81 (April 2,
1987).]

Thus, noncommercial signs and billboards conveying a
political message or, for example, promoting the New Jersey
Tax Amnesty program or urging visits to the New Jersey
State Aquarium must be temporary in nature, not to exceed
sixty days in any calendar year. The zoning ordinance im-
poses no time limitation, however, upon commercial signs. In
effect, the zoning ordinance does not give noncommercial
speech the same latitude or freedom as afforded to commer-
cial speech. While we have no quarrel with defendants’
overall desire to restrict the erection of billboards because of
their generalized concern for safety and aesthetic purposes,
see Bell v. Stafford Tp., supra, 110 N.J. at 393 (1988); State v.
Miller, 83 N.J. 402, 409 (1980); United Advertising Corp. v.
Borough of Metuchen, 42 N.J. 1, 5-6 (1964), we must ques-
tion the limitation on the right of free speech implicit in the
requirement that noncommercial signs be temporary in nature.

In weighing the constitutionality of the zoning ordinance as
applied to noncommercial signs, a court must focus upon
whether the temporal restrictions imposed by the municipality
upon noncommercial signs are content-neutral or content-
based. Rappa v. New Castle County, 18 F.3d 1043, 1053 (3d
Cir. 1994),

If the restriction is content-based, then the regulation is
subjected to the most exacting scrutiny, and the municipality
is required to show that the regulation is necessary to serve a

A-8

compelling municipal interest and that it is narrowly drawn to
achieve that end. Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 321, 108 S. Ct.
1157, 1164, 99 L. Ed. 2d 333, 344-45 (1988); Whitton v. City
of Gladstone, MO., 54 F.3d 1400, 1408 (8th Cir. 1995); Hori-
zon Health Ctr. v. Felicissimo, 135 N.J. 126, 140 (1994). If
the restriction is content-neutral, then it is analyzed under a
time, place and manner standard to determine whether it
serves a significant governmental interest and leaves open
ample alternative channels for communication of the infor-
mation. Virginia State Bd. of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens
Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748, 771, 96 S. Ct. 1817,
1830, 48 L. Ed. 2d 346, 363-64 (1976); Whitton, supra, 54 F-
3d at 1403; Rappa, supra, 18 F. 3d at 1054; McCormack v.
Township of Clinton, 872 F. Supp. 1320, 1323 (D.N.J. 1994);
State v. Miller; supra, 83 N.J. at 412.

Here, the temporal restrictions placed upon noncommercial
speech clearly impose a content-based regulation on subsec-
tion 12 of Section 1604 of the zoning ordinance. It is the
wording or message sought to be conveyed by a given sign
that dictates the durational life of the sign. Hence, the regula-
tion in question is clearly content-based. Metromedia, Inc. v.
City of San Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 516, 101 S. Ct. 2882, 2897,
69 L. Ed. 2d 800, 820 (1981); Whitton, supra, 54 F. 3d 1403-
04; Rappa, supra; National Advertising Co. v. Town of
Babylon, 703 F. Supp. 228, 238-39 (E.D.N.Y. 1989), aff'd in
part, rev'd in part, 900 F.2d 551 (2d Cir. 1990), cert. denied,
498 U.S. 852, 111 S. Ct. 146, 112 L. Ed. 2d 112 (1990).

We fail to discern the compelling governmental interest
sought to be protected by the blanket restriction making tem-
porary all forms of noncommercial signs. In our view, the
relegation of all noncommercial signs to a temporary life cre-
ates an impermissible distinction between commercial and
noncommercial speech. Metromedia, Inc., supra.

As said in National Advertising Co., supra,

[I]n order to pass constitutional muster, a sign ordi-
nance, to the extent that it regulates non-commercial
speech, may neither regulate such speech more

A-9

stringently than it does commercial speech nor
demonstrate a preference for the subject matter of
certain non-commercial speech over other non-
commercial speech.

(703 F. Supp. at 237.]

Accordingly, the temporal restrictions contained in subsec-
tion 12 of section 1604 of the sign provisions of the zoning
ordinance are unconstitutional U.S. Const. amend. I; NJ.
Const. art. 1, § 6; Metromedia, Inc., supra, Whitton, supra;
Rappa, supra; National Advertising Co., supra.

We make no ruling with respect to the square-footage
limitation imposed on noncommercial signs. That issue has
not been raised or argued. However, we do note a pertinent
statement in State v. Miller, supra:

Limitations on the size of a sign may be imposed
if the allowable square footage is not determined in
an arbitrary manner. The size limits, if any, must be
large enough to permit viewing from the road, both
by persons in vehicles and on foot. Inadequate sign
dimensions may strongly impair the free flow of
protected speech.

[83 NJ. at 416.]

The United States District Court in National Advertising
Company, supra, rather than striking the entirety of the mu-
nicipal ordinance found to make an unconstitutional distinc-
tion between commercial and noncommercial speech,
narrowly tailored its constitutionally-based injunctive relief,
holding only that the municipality may not enforce that por-
tion of the ordinance that disadvantaged noncommercial
speech. 703 F. Supp. at 240. On appeal, the Second Circuit
reversed the District Court only with respect to the limitation
of the constitutional ban to that portion of the ordinance that
disfavored noncommercial speech. There was no severability
clause in the ordinance that would justify saving the remain-
ing portions, and hence, the entire ordinance was struck down.
900 F.2d at 557.

A-10

Fortunately for defendants, the ordinance in question be-
fore the court does have a severance clause which provides:

Should any section or provision of this Ordinance
for any reason be declared invalid by the Courts,
such decision shall not effect [sic] the validity of
this Ordinance as a whole or any other part thereof.

The presence of such a clause raises, at the minimum, a re-
buttable presumption of severability. Helmsley v. Borough of
Fort Lee, 78 N.J. 200, 237 (1978), appeal dismissed, 440 U.S.
978, 99 S. Ct. 1782, 60 L. Ed. 2d 237 (1979), clarified, 82
N.J. 128 (1980). We believe the commercial sign provisions
of the ordinance can stand in the absence of the time restric-
tions contained in the noncommercial sign provision. In ef-
fect, the absence of the temporal restrictions contained in
subsection 12 of Section 1604 will not preclude noncommer-
cial signs and will not truncate the entirety of the sign provi-
sions into incomprehensibility. We shall observe the
severance clause.

For the reasons set forth, we affirm the judgment of April
14, 1995, entered by Judge Davis, but find subsection 12 of
Section 1604 of the City’s zoning ordinance to be unconstitu-
tional and, therefore, unenforceable.

A-l1

ARTICLE XVI
SIGNS

SECTION 1601. PURPOSE. The purpose for this Article
shall be the creation of a system of regulations for the review,
erection and maintenance of signs within the City of
Gloucester City.

SECTION 1602. DEFINITIONS. For the purpose of this
Article the following definitions shall apply:

l.

Banner sign. A temporary sign composed of light-
weight material either enclosed or not enclosed in a
rigid form secured or mounted so as to allow move-
ment of the sign caused by movement in the atmos-
phere.

Building facade and building facade area. That portion
of any exterior elevation of a building extended from
grade to the top of the parapet wall or eaves and the
entire width of the building elevation.

Changeable copy sign. A sign on which any manual,
mechanical, or lightning effects can have its copy or
message changed from any reworking of the sign.

Free standing sign. A pole, ground, or pylon sign not
attached to a building or structure.

Functional sign. A directional sign; a sign indicating
the location of rest rooms, telephones, first aid sta-
tions, and similar public convenience facilities: and
signs located on mechanical dispensing equipment
that identifies a product.

Marquee or canopy sign. Any sign attached to a fixed
shelter or roof extending over a building line which is
supported by the building to which it is attached.

Mobile sign. A sign not permanently attached to the
ground or a building including any sign mounted on or
attached to a vehicle which is not capable of

10.

ll.

12.

13.

14.

A-12

self-propulsion and registered with the New Jersey
Division of Motor Vehicles.

Parapet. The portion of a building wall that rises
above the roof level.

Pole or pylon sign. A sign mounted on, or supported
by or suspended from a free-standing column, pipe or

pole.

Projected sign. A sign casted, reflected or shown on a
wall screen, or other surface whether for a continuous
period or not.

Roof sign. A sign erected upon, against, or directly
above a roof or on top of or above the parapet of a
building.

Sign. A name, identification, description, illustration,
or any other visual display which is affixed to, painted
on, or represented directly or indirectly, upon any
building, structure or land and which directs attention
to an organization, business, product, service or indi-
vidual.

Sign area. The entire space within a sign’s continuous
perimeter enclosing the extreme limits of all words,
devices, or emblems but not passing through or be-
tween any adjacent elements. In computing the area of
a sign with two (2) display surfaces, the area of the
larger surface shall be considered the sign area. The
area shall be computed by adding the total surface area
of the sign and dividing by the number of display sur-
faces utilized by the sign. The display surface of a sign
shall mean all side and faces of a sign that can be
viewed from one (1) location.

Under canopy signs. A sign attached to the underside
of a canopy.

Se re ae es ee ee ee

A-13

15. Wall sign or facade sign. A sign attached to or erected
against the wall of a building with the face in a paral-
lel plane to the place of the building wall.

SECTION 1603. GENERAL REGULATIONS. The fol-
lowing regulation shall govern signs for all uses within the

City:

1. All signs shall be subject to the provisions of the
building, construction, maintenance, and fire codes of
the City.

2. The text of all signs shall be limited to identification
and functional purposes only. Identification signs shall
contain the principal name of the establishment, firm
or proprietor, its address, and a brief description of the
goods or services offered. The text of a sign may also
include a logogram or symbol of the use which it
identifies.

3. The provisions of this Article shall not apply to works
of art, statues, sculpture, fountains, holiday decora-
tions and similar objects which do not fall within the
definition of a sign contained in Section 1402 of this
Article.

4. Maintenance. The area surrounding a sign shall be
kept clean, free of litter, and landscaped. Whenever a
sign shall become structurally unsound or a hazard to
the public or a building, the building inspector shall
order that the sign be made safe or removed. Such or-
der shall be complied with within ten (10) days of the
receipt therof by the person owning or using the

5. No sign except functional signs, shall be located
within twenty (20) feet of the existing or proposed
right-of-way of any public road or street.

; 6. No sign shall exceed twenty (20) feet in height.

7. No wall sign shall extend beyond the building facade
on which it is mounted.

10.

11.

12.

A-14

All signs shall conform to the provisions of Title 27 of
the New Jersey State Statues.

No sign shall be erected or placed in a position which
will cause danger to traffic on a street or within a
parking lot by limiting the vision of drivers or ob-
structing the flow of traffic.

Signs advertising or identifying a business or use no
longer in existence or a product no longer available
shall be promptly removed.

No sign shall be erected containing information on it
which states or implies that a property may be used for
any purpose not permitted under the provisions of the
City’s Zoning Ordinance as it applies to the property
on which the sign is located.

No sign shall be illuminated between the hours of 10
p.m. and 7 a.m. the following morning, unless the
business or use so advertised is open to the public later
than 10 p.m. in which case the establishment may
keep its sign illuminated until the business closes, but
not after.

SECTION 1604. PERMITTED SIGNS. the following signs
shall be permitted within the City of Gloucester in accordance
with the provisions of this Article:

es

Signs erected by governmental agencies; court or
public notices; traffic control devices approved or in-
stalled by the appropriate governmental agencies; and
flags, emblems, and insignias of governmental and re-
ligious institutions.

One (1) non-illuminated or white light sign not ex-
ceeding nine (9) inches by eighteen (18) inches and
either free standing or affixed to a building which:

a. Contains a message of caution, pertains to
tresspassing, identifies a driveway or bears a relatd
cautionary text.

A-15

b. Identifies the name and occupation of the practitio-
ner of a profession or trade.

- One (1) non-illuminated or white-lighted non-flashing
sign for schools, churches, hospitals, clubs, lodges, or
other similar use provided that the size of any one (1)
side of the sign shall not exceed twelve (12) feet.
When a building or lot fronts on more than one (1)
street, an additional sign may be erected which meets
the requirements of this paragraph.

. One (1) non-illuminated real estate sign advertising
the sale or rental of a building or lot provided such
sign does not exceed twelve (12) square feet. When a
building or lot fronts on more than one (1) street, an
additional sign may be erected which meets the re-
quirements of this paragraph.

. One (1) non-illuminated real estate sign bearing the
word “SOLD” or “RENTED” with the name of the
person or firm affecting the sale or rental, provided
such sign does not exceed twelve (12) square feet.

. One (1) non-illuminated sign bearing the name and
profession or trade for each person or firm performing
construction or repair work on the premises, provided
such individual signs do not exceed twelve (12) square
feet in area, and are promptly removed upon comple-
tion of the work.

. For business, office, commercial/industrial, and insti-

tutional uses: functional signs as defined in Section
1601, provided that no functional sign shall exceed
twelve (12) square feet in sign area and that no func-
tional sign shall contain advertising. 7

. For business, office, commercial and institutional and
building which faces an approved public street pro-
vided that the sign area does not exceed five (5) per-
cent of the building facade area as defined in Section
1602 on which it is mounted.

10.

11.

12.

13.

A-16

For business, office, commercial and industrial uses:
One (1) free-standing sign provided that the sign area
does not exceed ten (10) percent of the builing facade
area as defined in Section 1602, which it adjoins, or a
maximum sign area of one hundred (100) square feet.
No shopping center, office complex, or other business
or industrial development or property shall have more
than one (1) free-standing sign.

For shopping centers or strip stores: One (1) under-
canopy sign for each business use provided that the
dimensions of the sign shall not exceed non (1) foot in
weight or four (4) feet in length.

For movie theaters, theaters, and sports areas: those
signs permitted by paragraphs 8 and 9 above, plus one
(1) changeable copy sign with a maximum sign area of
one hundred (100) square feet.

Temporary signs announcing or advertising any politi-
cal, educational, charitable, civic, professional, relig-
ious, or like campaign or event for a consecutive
period not to exceed sixty (60) days in any calendar
year, providing they do not exceed fifty (50) square
feet in size.

Signs identifying a residential area or apartment com-
plex provided that not more than one (1) sign shall be
located at each principal entrance to the project, not
more than three (3) signs permitted for any one (1)
project and that the sign contain only the name of the
development and a logogram or symbol and that its
size not exceed forty (40) square feet in size area.

SECTION 1605. PROHIBITED SIGNS. Although it should
be understood that any sign not complying with the provi-
sions of this Article is prohibited, the following types of signs
are specifically prohibited.:

l.

Flashing, moving, or apparent moving signs except the

changeable copy signs permitted by Section 1604. and time
and temperature signs.

A-17

2. Signs with any lighting or control mechanism which
may cause radio or television interference.

3. Any series of two (2) or more signs or sign units
placed in a line along a roadway or in similar fashion
all carrying a single message part of which is con-
tained or each sign.

4. No signs shall be erected, located, affixed or painted
on trees, rocks, curbs, walks, or utility poles.
(Amended October 3, 1991)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1593%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
