# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Johnston v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1495%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 950

## Text

Supreme Oourt, U.g. "
FILED i,

96 449 yu 2 4 1996
-™ OFFICE 0; THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1995

S

BERYLE JOHNSTON,

Petitioner,
VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit

°

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

F. Westey BLANKNER, Jr., Esq.
217 E. Ivanhoe Blvd., North
Orlando, Florida 32804
(407) 894-0341

Fl. Bar No.: 241784

Attorney for the Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (600) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

\\

~ ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the prosecution violated the dictates of
Doyle v. Ohio, by questioning and cross-examining wit-
nesses and the accused on the accused’s post-arrest
silence?

2. Whether this Court should expand the Doyle v.
Ohio decision to include within its limitation of cross-
examination questioning and prosecutorial comment on
the accused’s post-arrest silence to cover not only
post-Miranda time frame but pre-Miranda?

3. Whether the prosecution failed to present suffi-
cient evidence showing the accused’s predisposition to
commit the crimes charged under the requirements of the
Jacobson decision?

4. Whether the trial court erred in failing to permit
the accused to submit extrinsic evidence of facts and
circumstances of a prior misdemeanor conviction placed
before the jury by the prosecution?

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PARTIES AND
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The undersigned counsel on behalf of Petitioner,
BERYLE JOHNSTON, hereby certifies that to the best of
his knowledge and belief, the following is an accurate
listing of all persons and entities with an interest in the
outcome of this case.

Beryle Johnston, Petitioner
c/o Jeff Johnston

P.O. Box 844

Papillion, NE 68046

Jerry Woody

c/o Bruce A. Nants
Counsel of Record
P.O. Box 247871
Orlando, Florida 32854

Hon. Anne C. Conway
United States District Judge
Middle District of Florida
80 N. Hughey Ave.
Orlando, Florida 32801

Cynthia Hawkins Collazo
Assistant U.S. Attorney
Middle District of Florida
80 N. Hughey Ave.
Orlando, Florida 32801

Tamara Phipps

Vickie L. Johnson

Susan Hollis Rothstein

Assistant United States Attorneys
500 Zack Street

Tampa, Florida 33602

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented for Review ................... i
Certificate of Interested Persons and Corporate Dis-
PRIOR EF or tee eee ii
ee ND. 0s sho ncign ou cc dsb ckanned ec cebea iv
I 6S hs 6 144.05 «b45' 6 64 eh bd CE RaR LAS OSA 1
ER sas SVN Sa ac WEN Mik cid ie oh bao oh we Gas 1
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions ............ 2
ES ME MEE in a on nk dh a GUA. KeKS Gob aoa Reece 2
er OO WUNOUS 5a bse bc'n sc x ych waa tabady 2

ii. Course Proceedings in the Court Below.... 9

iii. Basis for Federal Jurisdiction.............. 11
Reasons for Granting the Writ I ................... 11
Reasons for Granting the Writ II................... 18
a traces C0 Cree ce ss yk ¥esrekeehoiwend 26

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 620, 96 S.Ct. 2240, 49

Eceae OE LISP cick st eiie aac ke kan ene 12, 17, 18
Greer v. Miller, 483 U.S. 764, 107 S.Ct. 3102, 3108

CRED x's sccias oka a Pin CUS NRA a ee med Oda eR ELE OR Sees 14
Jacobson v. United States, 503 U.S. 540, 112 S.Ct.

TDS, AAG Una E7e CRIED. snes cscnss 18, 19, 20, 21
Lindgren v. Lane, 925 F.2d 198 (7th Cir. 1990)........ 14
Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 94 S.Ct. 2357, 41

A Gag | Sie: pera epee ners Nn oem 13
Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369 (1958) ........ 19
Sorrells v. United States, 287 U.S. 435 (1935) ......... 19

United States v. Aibejeris, 28 F.3d 97 (11th Cir. 1994) .... 23
United States v. Barnes, 622 F.2d 107 (5th Cir. 1980) .... 24
United States v. Carter, 953 F.2d 1449 (5th Cir. 1992) .... 24

United States v. Evans, 924 F.2d 714 (7th Cir. 1991) 20, 22
United States v. Fairchild, 505 F.2d 1378 (5th Cir.
Ge Se Sak eR aks ko ERWARAA EE a 13
SNE + u's bn cl baad ante MERRLAw ae heehee escent 25

United States v. Hollingsworth, 27 F.3d 1196 (7th
RE. | Serra nenrr a Serie a ree Tere 19,. 21

United States v. Mach, 811 F.2d 991 (7th Cir. 1987) .... 25
United States v. Mealy, 851 F.2d 890 (7th Cir. 1988) .... 25

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
United States v. Mena, 863 F.2d 1522 (11th Cir.
BUUREN AN-55 05 FRRRAEA ESAS CEREAL BARR Eek Cha 12
United States v. Motley, 940 F.2d 1079 (7th Cir.
ROPES: kk 50a $4 es bbe Hk Phe a ee ea Ske 24
United States v. Pandozzi, 878 F.2d 1526 (11th Cir.
SNPS bad veer che Sis £04 SR Osteo Sp eek 25

United States v. Rivera Espinoza, 905 F.2d 156 (7th
Res SPOE 5 544 cWA RaW OS e ey dE WEE CREATES ae kao 20

United States v. Stubbs, 944 F.2d 828 (11th Cir. 1991) .... 13

United States v. Tenorio, 69 F.3d 1103 (11th Cir. Nov.
ls SUE ohn ond ocean kek renee eekevenes 16, 17, 18

eee

+ 0 NORE OIE mame

OPINION BELOW

On February 13, 1996, the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit Per Curiam Affirmed the
conviction of Beryle Johnston. (Appx A.)

On March 5, 1996 Beryle Johnston filed his Sugges-
tion for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc. On April 24,
1996 the Eleventh Circuit denied that combined petition.

(Appx B.)

JURISDICTION

Grounds for invoking the jurisdiction of this Court:

i. The judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit of which review is now
sought, was entered on February 13, 1996 (Appx A.) and
the Petition for Rehearing, and Suggestion for Rehearing
En Banc was denied on April 24, 1996. (Appx B.)

ii. This petition is timely filed within the prescribed
ninety days from denial of the combined Petition for
Rehearing, Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, pursuant
to United States Supreme Court Rule 13.4. This Court’s
jurisdiction is invoked under Title 28, United States Code
§ 1354(1).

iii. This petition was returned for correc*ion by the
United States Supreme Court on July 24, 1996 with an
allowance of 60 days for correction and resubmission.

(Appx C.)

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Federal Rules of Evidence, §608(b) Specific Instances of
Conduct

Federal Rules of Evidence, §609(a) General Rule
Federal Statutes, Title 18 §1956 (a)(1)

United States Constitutional Provisions, Amendment V
United States Constitutional Provisions, Amendment VI
United States Constitutional Provisions, Amendment XIV

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14.1(f), these constitu-
tional provisions and statutes are quoted verbatim in the
appendix to this Petition.

¢

STATEMENT OF CASE
i. STATEMENT OF THE FACTS.

A Government Sting Operation began in June 1993
when Agents of the Metropolitan Bureau of Investigation
in Orlando, Florida, and the Drug Enforcement Adminis-
tration, began a Money Laundering Investigation
(R7-125-129).

Petitioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON, was a business man
from Papillion, Nebraska. He flew to Orlando on July 7,
1993 and took part in discussions with Jerry Woody and
the undercover agents representing themselves to be
Columbian drug cartel members of the Calli Cartel wish- !
ing to launder two (2) million dollars. Petitioner appeared
willing to engage in a money laundering deal the terms of

ia

which were never accomplished and although the Peti-
tioner did exhibit clear signs of reluctance during the
single meeting. it was Petitioner’s position, throughout
the trial below, that he was not a money launderer on July
7, 1993, or at any other time, and that he was not aware
that he was meeting with anyone for a money laundering
transaction, until he met with undercover agents repre-
senting themselves to be Cartel members. He had arrived
in Orlando to initially negotiate a loan of two (2) million
dollars at a favorable interest rate. (R10-27).

The Undercover Sting Operation began in June 1993
when JERRY WOODY and TERRENCE FURGUS, his
partner, who was acquainted with AL PALACIO, a Confi-
dential Informant, introduced the undercover agents to
FURGUS and WOODY. Specifically, in June 1993, posing
as an agent of the Calli Drug Cartel, Undercover Agent
RUSSELL PERMAUL, met with JERRY WOODY and TER-
RENCE FURGUS, in Orlando, Florida (R7-133; 10-296).
During the first meeting, Permaul told WOODY and
FURGUS that the agent needed to launder Ten Million
Dollars ($10,000,000) which was the proceeds of cocaine
distribution (R7-157). Permaul represented himself to be a
Columbian Drug Trafficker, a member of the Calli Cartel
(R7-139; 10-280).

WOODY jumped at the opportunity to assist Permaul
and both he and FURGUS tried to convince Permaul they
were capable of laundering funds. Both WOODY and
FURGUS stated that they understood the money was
from cocaine proceeds but they were not interested in
where the money came from (R7-157). WOODY made
numerous fantastical claims to the agent in order to con-
vince him of his money laundering abilities. He told

Permaul that for a million dollars, he could become a part
of their “inner-circle” with attorneys from the Bank of
Liechtenstein and that they had pilots and planes to
provide transportation thereto (R8-289). WOODY
explained to Permaul their method of “cleaning” the cur-
rency through foreign banks and returning the funds
through a loan. He offered to launder Permaul’s money
for a ten percent (10%) commission and Twenty-Five
Thousand Dollars ($25,000) expense money (R7-139). At
the conclusion of this meeting, WOODY asked if the
Undercover Agent Permaul had any funds currently in
the United States that needed to be laundered. It was
agreed upon between WOODY, and the Undercover
Agent that Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000) in small
denominations would be collected and turned over to
WOODY to be laundered through WOODY’s alleged
banking contacts. Thus the sting thereafter focused on the
laundering of Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000) in the
United States. WOODY indicated that he would be in
contact with Permaul in the next few days to arrange the
details of this plan (R7-158).

On June 30, 1993, Undercover Agents arranged a
meeting with JERRY WOODY at the Omni Hotel in
Orlando, Florida. WOODY was observed accompanied by
an elderly individual later identified as JOHN VELDER
arriving at the Omni Hotel. VELDER remained in the
lobby while WOODY proceeded to a room to meet with
the Undercover Agents. WOODY then proceeded to dis-
cuss the laundering of Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000)
through his contacts in Nebraska. He then suggested use
of other persons to launder the money WOODY indicated
that Petitioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON, could launder the

Undercover Agent’s money and offer certain land parcels
as collateral until the money was successfully “cleaned”
(R7-201). The agents requested that the deal be made with
Petitioner Johnston.

On July 7, 1993, WOODY and VELDER were fol-
lowed by Undercover Agents to Orlando International
Airport. At the airport, VELDER went inside the airport
terminal and met with Appellant, BERYLE JOHNSTON,
who had arrived on an American Airlines flight from
Omaha, Nebraska (R9-108-109). VELDER and JOHN-
STON then exited the terminal and entered a car driven
by WOODY (R9-110).

At approximately 4:15 p.m., on July 7, 1993, WOODY,
JOHNSTON and VELDER arrived at the Twin Towers
Hotel, in Orlando, as instructed by the Undercover Agent
(R8-243). Undercover Agents met with WOODY, JOHN-
STON and VELDER in the hotel lobby. After a brief
conversation, Undercover Agents invited WOODY and
JOHNSTON to a hotel room. VELDER remained in the
lobby. Once inside the hotel room, WOODY explained to
Undercover Agents how the Two Million Dollars
($2,000,000) was going to be laundered (R8-149). After
some discussions, Appellant stated:

I see some apprehension here, and I, two million
bucks is a lot of money, I understand that. And
that farm probably means more to me than your
two, three millions dollars means to you. Well,
let’s do this. I send you, or I will get to Jerry,
let's not do anything today, o.k.? Because if its a
problem for you — let’s just not do anything.
And I'll get you the legal description and you

can type them, or you type them — you bring the
form to the table...

(R8-262; Transcript at 26). JOHNSTON also had left the
room with WOODY for what amounted to a twenty (20)
minute break (R-281). In the lobby, WOODY stated to
Appellant: “Beryle, this is a big drug cartel. You're not
going to leave because they have men in place...
(R10-100). JOHNSTON and WOODY then returned to the
hotel room.

JOHNSTON and WOODY explained to the Under-
cover Agents that the Two Million Dollars ($2,000,000)
could be laundered by being turned into Two Hundred
($200) and Three Hundred Dollar ($300) denomination
money orders (R8-149).

At the conclusion of the meeting, WOODY, JOHN-
STON and VELDER were apprehended (R8-278-279).
Appellant, BERYLE JOHNSTON, advised an Undercover
Agent that he was in Orlando to negotiate a six percent
interest (6%) loan (R9-160-161). No money was ever
shown to JOHNSTON. No money changed hands, no
laundering occurred. The case against JOHNSTON was
based solely on the single tape recorded meeting and
conversations between JOHNSTON, WOODY and the
undercover agents.

The character of Petitioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON,
became an issue at trial. James W. Langley, a Papillion,
Nebraska, Veterinarian, who had known Petitioner
JOHNSTON for fifteen (15) years, testified that there was
never a question of Petitioner’s integrity or honesty in
the community, and that he had intended to fly with
Johnston to Orlando for the loan negotiations. Petitioner

ee ge "

had a good reputation for truth and veracity (R9-217-221).
John Dinsdale, who also known Petitioner JOHNSTON
for fifteen (15) years and purchased a bank from him,
stated that “Petitioner’s reputation with anybody that |
have dealt with has been above approach” (R9-238).
Harold Young, a Papillion, Nebraska, Real Estate Broker,
who created the Fleetwood Farms Partnership with Peti-
tioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON, testified that Petitioner had
a good reputation for truth, veracity, honesty and square
dealings (R9-200). The evidence presented at trial
strongly suggested that Appellant JOHNSTON, a
respected member of his Nebraska business community,
had been set up by a cash starved mountebank named
JERRY WOODY. In fact, the Government adduced no
evidence at the trial below that there was any contact
between BERYLE JOHNSTON and WOODY before
VELDER and WOODY picked up Appellant at the
Orlando Airport on July 7, 1993, except one taped conver-
sation involving WOODY, Appellant JOHNSTON, and
the agents (R8-262).

During the early part of the investigation, WOODY
made numerous fantastical claims in pursuit of his
Twenty Five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) in “expense
money” from Permaul (R7-188, 8-231). WOODY initially
stated that a plane would leave and take the money from
Bogota to Liechtenstein. WOODY stated that the night
before one meeting he had laundered Ten Million Dollars
($10,000,000) in Taiwan (R8-333). WOODY stated that one
such plane had crashed in the past with Two and One-
half Million Dollars. ($2,500,000) of gold on it, off Belize,
(R7-165 & 265; R8-307; R8-320). While claiming to be a

wealthy man with access to Swiss Bank Accounts, busi-
ness in the Bahamas (R8-294,299), dealings with General
Noriega in Panama (R8-328), and an inter-circle of law-
yers and international transportation, and being in the
process of obtaining Sixty Seven Million Dollars
($67,000,000) in Italian Lire (R8-310), WOODY, the brag-
gadocio, was apparently living off VELDER’s girlfriend’s
credit cards (R9-165). While WOODY claimed Appellant
JOHNSTON had purchased eighteen (18) 1965 Mustangs
from him, this was untrue (R7-169-170; 9-35). While
WOODY claimed Appellant JOHNSTON owned his own
planes, Appellant arrived on a commercial flight (R9-5).
WOODY emphasized to Permaul that he did not want
FURGUS to know what he was doing (R7-204), and stated
he could “get the Rambo People after Permaul” if neces-
sary (R8-305).

Given the nature of WOODY’s numerous fantastical
claims, his constant averment “my word is my bible”
should have been viewed with considerable skepticism
(R7-204) by the agents conducting the investigation.

For his part, JOHN VELDER, who made the initial
contact with Appellant, BERYLE JOHNSTON, and was
acquitted of charges stemming from the arrest, on July 7,
1993, testified that WOODY told him that he had met
some people who inherited Twenty Million Dollars
($20,000,000). VELDER was never present at the earlier
meetings between WOODY, FURGUS and Permaul
(R8-290). VELDER stated WOODY “couldn’t afford to
buy his cigarettes” (R9-289). VELDER added that “JERRY
WOODY doesn’t have any money. He has never had any
money that I know of for the last ten (10) years.”
(R9-291). Even Agent Permaul conceded that WOODY

never paid for his cheap hotel rooms (R8-293; 331) drove
a older model Mercedes, which was not his (R8-306), and
could not pay his own telephone bill (R8-310). VELDER
testified that WOODY had him contact Petitioner
BERYLE JOHNSTON, rather than with Woody himself, to
see whether JOHNSTON was interested in borrowing the
money (R9-276; 280-281). VELDER never heard the con-
versations WOODY had with Permaul, and VELDER was,
in fact, acquitted of charges stemming from the same
’ Indictment as Petitioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON (R9-281).

Nothing in the investigation indicated JERRY
WOODY had ever had any contact with Petitioner,
BERYLE JOHNSTON, before July 7, 1993, (R8-283). How-
ever, to impeach Appellant’s credibility at trial, the Gov-
ernment resorted to two tactics. First, it elicited testimony
as to Appellant’s post-arrest silence (R98-134). Second,
the Government brought to the jury’s attention the fact
that Appellant had been previously convicted of a Misde-
meanor, “making a false statement to the United States
Department of Education” (R10-205-209). See, also,
(R9-22; 9-246; 9-259). In the former, the District Court
denied Appellant’s motion for a mistrial (R9-157). In the
latter, the District Court denied Appellant an opportunity
to explain the circumstances surrounding a minor Misde-
meanor (R10-209) involving a conflict of interest with a
bank at which he was an Officer.

ii. Course of the Proceedings in the Court Below.

Petitioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON, was named in both
counts of a two count indictment returned by the Grand

10

Jury in the Middle District of Florida at Orlando, on
August 5, 1993.

Count I of the Indictment charges that between on
and about June, 1993 and on or about July 7, 1993, in
Orange County, Florida, BERYLE JOHNSTON, JERRY
WOODY, TERRENCE FURGUS AND JOHN VELDER,
conspired to commit money laundering in violation of 18
U.S.C. 1956(a)(3) and (2).

Count II of the Indictment charged that on or about
July 7, 1993 in Orange County, Florida BERYLE JOHN-
STON, JERRY WOODY AND JOHN VELDER, attempted
to commit money laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C.
1956(a)(3)(B) and (2). (R1-29).

A Jury Trial proceeding as to Petitioner, BERYLE
JOHNSTON, commenced on December 1, 1993 and on
December 7, 1993, BERYLE JOHNSTON, was found
guilty as to Counts I and II. (R2-140). On February 28,
1994, the Petitioner was sentenced to seventy eight (78)
months imprisonment. (R-12). An appeal was thereinafter
instituted in the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals. Appel-
lant’s Initial Brief and Reply Brief were then filed. Oral
Argument was heard on February 2, 1996 and the deci-
sion of the jury and sentence imposed by the Trial Court
was “Per Curiam Affirmed” on February 13, 1996 by the
11th Circuit Court of appeals. Thereafter the Petitioner
filed a timely Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion of En
Banc Consideration. The 11th Circuit Court of Appeals
accepted the Petition as timely filed and ruled on April
24, 1996 that the Petition for rehearing be denied and the
Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc be denied. Therefore
the Petitioner for Writ of Certiorari herein follows.

11

iii. Basis for Federal Jurisdiction.

Jurisdiction before the Eleventh Circuit was invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. This petition follows pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

¢

I. REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

It is the position of the Petitioner/ Accused, BERYLE
JOHNSTON, that the prosecution improperly placed evi-
dence of his “silence” at the time of his arrest and post-
arrest unfairly, improperly and in violation of his due
process rights under the 5th, 6th, and 14th Amendments
to the United States Constitution before the jury as evi-
dence of Johnston’s guilt.

Counsel for the prosecution, while conducting the
direct examination of its witness, Special Agent Stephen
Collins, directly questioned Collins on the silence of
BERYLE JOHNSTON immediately after he was taken into
custody and arrested by DEA Agents. (R9-134). Defense
counsel immediately moved for a mistrial (R9-155). The
District Court denied the mistrial motion. (R9-157). The
error was further compounded by the prosecution’s
cross-examination of BERYLE JOHNSTON on this point
and again revisited by the prosecution in its closing argu-
ment to the jury. (R9-285-286; R10-204). The error was
doubly prejudicial because, given the closeness of the
evidence in this Record and the questions of credibility
involved, the prejudicial testimony as to Appellant’s
post-arrest silence may have indeed been seen by the jury
as evidence of guilt.

12

The District Court erred in not granting a mistrial.
This was not a case of inadvertent error by the prosecu-
tion nor mistake by the witress- The prosecution point-
edly and by leading question/statement to the agent
asked whether after Mr. JOHNSTON was taken into cus-
tody by the DEA Agents and they identified themselves
to him, he said “Thank God, you’re here”. The Agent
advised the prosecution in response that Mr. JOHNSTON
said no such thing, in fact, he made no mention what-
soever of the laundering scheme or the drug dealers.
(R9-154). The obvious purpose of this scenario of ques-
tion and answer was to point out emphatically that an
otherwise innocent person would certainly have made
mention to the agents of the criminal nature of the meet-
ing and would not have remained silent on this issue.

The prosecutor later cross-examined the Defendant,
JOHNSTON, on this point and made significant mention
of it in closing argument (R9-285-286), R10-204).

It is clear that the prosecutor’s purpose and intent in
focusing on the accused’s silence after being taken into
custody was to invite the jury to infer guilt from the
silence. United States v. Mena, 863 F.2d 1522 (11th Cir.
1989). In Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 620, 96 S.Ct. 2240, 49
L.Ed.2d 91 (1976), the United States Supreme Court ruled
that the prosecution committed reversible error by cross-
examining a Defendant on his silence subsequent to his
arrest and after Miranda warnings were read. The Court
reasoned that silence in the wake of post-arrest and Mir-
anda warnings may be only an exercise of an individual’s
constitutional right and no evidence of guilt. The Court
stated:

13

[2-6] Despite the importance of cross-examina-
tion, we have concluded that the Miranda deci-
sion compels rejection of the State’s position.
The warnings mandated by that case, as a pro-
phylactic means of safeguarding Fifth Amend-
ment Rights, see Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433,
443-444, 94 S.Ct. 2357, 2363-2364, 41 L.Ed.2d 182
(1974), require that a person taken into custody
be advised immediately that he has the right to
remain silent, that anything he says may be used
against him, and that he has a right to retain or
appoint counsel before submitting to interroga-
tion. Silence in the wake of these warnings may
be nothing more than the arrestee’s exercise of
these Miranda rights. Thus, every post-arrest
silence is insolubly ambiguous because of what
the State is required to advise the person
arrested .. .

The Supreme Court reiterated their holding that use of an
accused person’s post-arrest silence at the time of arrest
and after receiving Miranda warnings, violated the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. See also,
United States v. Fairchild, 505 F.2d 1378 (5th Cir. 1975).

In United States v. Stubbs, 944 F.2d 828, 835 (11th Cir.
1991), this Court addressed the issue of a Defendant’s
post-arrest silence and the proscription of cross-examin-
ing on that particular issue. This Court stated:

[7] While a single comment alone may some-
times constitute a Doyle violation, the Supreme
Court’s opinion in Greer makes clear that a sin-
gle mention does not automatically suffice to
violate defendant's rights when the government
does not specifically and expressly attempt to
use, as was attempted in Doyle and in Greer, the
improper comment to impeach the defendant.

14

See Lindgren v. Lane, 925 F.2d 198, 201 (7th Cir.
1991). (“As explained in Greer v. Miller, it is the
use of an accused’s silence against him at trial
by way of specific inquiry or impeachment that
forms the basis for a violation of the Fourteenth
Amendment.”). (Emphasis added). As was the
case in Greer, the prosecutor here “was not
allowed to undertake impeachment on, or per-
mitted to call attention to [defendant's] silence.”
Greer, 483 U.S. at 764, 107 S.Ct. at 3108 (citation
omitted). The prosecution made no “specific
inquiry or argument” about defendant’s post-
arrest silence. Id. Accordingly, we conclude
there was no Doyle violation in the case. . .

At the time of BERYLE JOHNSTON’S arrest, he was in
unfamiliar territory and in custody of Government
Agents having engaged in a discussion of criminal law
violations with other agents representing themselves to
be dangerous drug smugglers of a Colombian Cartel. His
right to remain silent at the time of arrest had attached.
Clearly, Miranda warnings had not been given. But his
right against such incrimination had attached and his
silence should not have been used to draw inferences of
possible guilt! In this case, the prosecution violated the
Defendant’s right when the prosecutor pointedly
addressed the issue with Agent Collins, re-addressed the
issue on cross-examination of BERYLE JOHNSTON and
discussed it significantly in closing argument. The pros-
ecution’s need to effectively cross-examine a witness did
not outweigh the undue prejudice and confusion which
attached by focusing on the Defendant's silence at the

time of arrest.

15

We believe the Trial Court erred in permitting the
prosecution to illicit from Agent Collins the fact that
Beryle Johnston remained silent and “did not say Thank
God you are here” to the agents after the accused was
arrested and taken into custody and agents identified
themselves as law enforcement officers.

The following excerpt of Supervising Agent Collins’
testimony at trial page 154 of transcript... .

“A. Well, the meeting is concluding and the agents
are walking towards the door of the hotel room with Mr.
Johnston and Mr. Woody. When the door is opened, there
are several agents outside the door. We then enter the
room, and actually physically take Mr. Johnston and Mr.
Woody into custody.

Q. And as the agents enter the room, are you there
to hear what they’re saying?

A. Yes.
Q. Do these agents identify themselves?

A. Yes. As police officers. They’re under arrest.
They all had identifying, what we call a raid jacket. It’s a
wind breaker with a badge and police written across the
front.

Q. And at that point, do you hear defendant John-
ston indicate that, Thank God you’re here to rescue me,
something to that, of that vein?

A. No.”

Later on page 158 of transcript Agent Collins admits
he gives Johnston Miranda Warning after identifying

16

himself as a government agent within minutes in the
hotel room.

“Q. Now, Special Agent Collins, subsequent to the —
well, let’s go back to July 7th. At some point, you actually
approach the Defendant, Beryle Johnston; correct?

A: Te oe

Q. And how long is that after the initial sort of
entry in to the room by the other agents?

A. Not very long after. A few minutes.

Q. And what do you say to Mr. Johnston?

A. I identify myself as a special agent with D.E.A.
Q. Anything else?

A. Yes. I advised him that he was under arrest for
violation of law. Money Laundering violation. I advised
him of his rights.

Q. Now when you say rights, what do you mean?
A. His, what we refer to as his Miranda Warnings.

The attack on Johnston’s silence at the point of his
arrest by the prosecution we suggest is violative of John-
ston’s constitutional due process rights and the above
questions by the prosecution to Agent Collins also vio-
lates Johnston's constitutional right to remain silent.

In United States v. Tenorio, 69 F.3d 1103 (11th Cir. Nov.
29, 1995) the Court held it was error for the prosecution
to attack the accused on his post-arrest silence when in
closing argument the prosecutor stated that an innocent
courier would have given an explanation at the time of |

iinet

17

discovery of the drugs and not have waited 22 hours after
his arrest to come up with a story.

The Court determined that the prosecution failed to
properly word its inquiry to cover only the time frame
prior to Miranda warnings thereby clearly violating the
dictates of Doyle v. Ohio. The Court reversed the convic-
tion finding the error to be harmful.

In Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 620, 96 S.Ct. 2240, 49
L.Ed.2d 91 (1976) this Court ruled that the prosecution
committed reversible error by cross-examining a defen-
dant on his post-arrest silence after “Miranda” warnings
were read. We believe that it is now time for this Court to
address and determine whether post-arrest silence prior
to formal reading cf “Miranda” warning should likewise
be condemned as an inappropriate comment on an
accused person’s right to remain silent in the face of
actual and physical arrest. We suggest that this issue is a
significant one which has far-reaching and material
implications. We would note that most recently the 11th
Circuit Court of appeals addressed the issue of the pros-
ecution’s cross-examination of an accused on his silence
after arrest. United States v. Tenorio, supra. The Court
struggled with the problem of trying to determine
whether the prosecutor’s questions and/or statements by
implication commented not only on the accused’s post-
arrest and pre-Miranda warnings silence but also on his
post-Miranda silence. The Court concluded that the ques-
tions of the prosecution by clear implication unfairly and
improperly covered the “Post-Miranda” time frame
thereby prejudicing the accused. We suggest the time has
arrived for this Court to expand Doyle v. Ohio doctrine to

18

include the post-arrest and pre-Miranda time frame
period.

We believe the rationale laid down in Doyle, supra,
making it a violation of due process to comment on an
accused person's silence after arrest and after “Miranda”
Warnings applies equally to an accused person's
“silence” at or after arrest and prior to formal reading of
one’s “Miranda” warnings. In today’s enlightened age of
mass communication and television trials and television
shows of police operations and arrests, i.e., “America’s
Most Wanted”, “Hard Copy” and “COPS”, is it not
believable and likely that persons arrested and being
taken into custody are unaware of their right and right to
consult with a lawyer before saying anything to the
police. We believe that there exists no fundamental rea-
son to make a distinction between pre-Miranda and
post-Miranda silence after arrest. The difficulties which
arose for the 11th Circuit Court of Appeal in Tenorio,
supra, could clearly be avoided by a ruling from this
Court that one’s post-arrest silence before or after formal
reading of Miranda warnings is not a proper subject for
cross-examination or comment by the prosecution.

Il. REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

It is the position of the Petitioner/ Accused, BERYLE
JOHNSTON, he was entrapped into violating the law. The
prosecution failed to present sufficient evidence of his
“predisposition” to commit the crime of money launder-
ing under Title 18 U.S.C. 1956 as pronounced by the
Supreme Court in Jacobson v. United States, 503 U.S. 540,
112 S.Ct. 1535, 118 L.Ed.2d 174 (1992). And the Trial

19

Court's failure to permit the Petitioner to present evi-
dence of a mitigating nature of the lone prior misde-
meanor conviction of Beryle Johnston characterized as
“Giving False Information to the Department of Educa-
tion” was clear error and harmful especially in light of
the significance of one’s prior criminal record on the issue
of “pre-disposition” to commit the crime charged.

We suggest that anytime the government through its
agents or law enforcement authorities conduct what is
known as a “sting operation” or an undercover action
where government personnel portray themselves as crim-
inals in order to induce or flush out criminal activity by
others the issue of entrapment is necessarily raised. We
believe the Jacobson, supra, decision by this Court and the
later opinion of the 7th Circuit Court of Appeals in United
States v. Hollingsworth, 27 F.3d 1196 (7th Cir 1994) stand
for the belief that a defendant who raises a colorable
defense of entrapment requires the government to prove
beyond a reasonable doubt that the accused was in fact
not entrapped and was therefore predisposed to commit
the crime charged.

The entrapment defense is based on the premise that
“the function of law enforcement officials . . . does not
include the manufacturing of crime”. Sherman v. United
States, 356 U.S. 369, 372 (1958). Accordingly, government
agents may not implant in the mind of an innocent per-
son the disposition to commit the alleged offense and
induce its commission in order that they may prosecute.
Sorrells v. United States, 287 U.S. 435, 442 (1932).

The defense of entrapment is designed to “prevent
the police from turning a law abiding person into a

20

criminal”. United States v. Evans, 924 F.2d 714, 717 (7th
Cir. 1991).

Entrapment is established if: (1) the defendant shows
that he was induced to commit the crime; and (2) the
government cannot prove, beyond a reasonable doubt,
that the defendant was disposed to commit the crime
prior to being approached by the government or the
government’s agents. Jacobson v. United States, supra. On
the present record, there is substantial evidence of
inducement presented by the government's activities.
Hence, the sole issue in this case is Petitioner BERYLE
JOHNSTON'S predisposition. See Jacobson, supra, pages
1540-41 & 42. “When government does not dispute
inducement, the sole issue is whether the government
carries its burden on predisposition.” The burden was on
the government below to establish beyond a reasonable
doubt JOHNSTON’S predisposition to engage in money
laundering. Jacobson, supra, page 1540.

In determining whether a defendant was predisposed
to commit an offense, the Courts have relied on factors
such as an overall assessment of the defendant's charac-
ter, evidence of prior offenses, an apparent reluctance to
commit the crime, and the nature of the government's
inducement. United States v. Rivera Espinoza, 905 F.2d 156,
158 (7th Cir. 1990). The first factor here weighs heavily
against the finding of a predisposition. The government
presented no evidence below that JOHNSTON had ever
been involved in, arrested for, or convicted of any money
laundering offense. There is no question that the Govern-
ment initiated negotiations to launder money. It was not
even investigating JOHNSTON when the undercover

21

operation was initiated . . . it had no information that
JOHNSTON was involved in money laundering.

Next, the government did not present sufficient evi-
dence to support a finding that JOHNSTON was predis-
posed to commit money laundering. The question below
was whether JOHNSTON was or was not the type of
person “who, if left to his own devices, probably would
never have run afoul of the law”. Hollingsworth, 27 F.3d at
1199, quoting Jacobson, supra, at 1543. The inquiry is not
whether JOHNSTON ultimately became an active and
willing participant in any money laundering but whether
he was predisposed to be involved regardless of govern-
ment intervention. Hollingsworth, 27 F.3d at 1202. The
words and behavior at the July 7 meeting - behavior that
is fully documented by the government’s own tape
exhibits — belies Agent Permaul’s testimony that JOHN-
STON was easily amenable to arranging money launder-
ing. The tapes should have raised a reasonable doubt in
the mind of a rational jury concerning what JOHNSTON
may have said or done. The statements do not reasonably
appear to be those of an experienced money launderer
who already had strong connections and who was
already interested in pursuing transactions. Rather, the
statements appear to be those of a confused and ambiva-
lent person. (R9-203-205).

Facts about the July 7th conversation raise reasonable
doubts concerning JOHNSTON’s predisposition. First,
the conversations show JOHNSTON was clearly unable
or unwilling to assign his actual interest in Fleetwood
Farms. But assuming arguendo JOHNSTON was viewed
as ultimately becoming an active participant in money

22

laundering, that fact alone would not support a conclu-
sion that he was predisposed to participate in the crime
absent additional evidence of prior criminal activities of a
similar nature. United States v. Evans, 924 F.2d 714, 716
(7th Cir. 1991), the Court stated: If Defendant “was
indeed entrapped, it is irrelevant that the entrapment was
so effective as to make him not only a willing but an
eager participant.” Court deserves a second and thorough
look at the entrapment issue presented. Petitioner John-
ston never laundered anything in this case. He never
received anything to launder. The agents running the
sting operation had no previous knowledge of Beryle
Johnston. They relied upon a “super” liar totally unbe-
lievable charlatan, Jerry Woody, to work his magic and
somehow coax Johnston to come to a “one time meeting”
with the undercover agents which lead to Johnston’s
arrest herein.

During the video taped meeting with undercover
agents, Permaul and Collozzo, acting as drug cartel mem-
bers and Jerry Woody, Beryle Johnston showed apparent
willingness to launder proceeds although he certainly
attempted to end the meeting half-way through by sug-
gesting that each side go their own separate ways and
meet later and not rush it. The agents of course pro-
ceeded onward, their goal was to make their case. Inter-
estingly the agents as part of this operation were
requiring Johnston to give them collateral (an assignment
of his real estate interest) for the proceeds he was sup-
pose to launder. Why would a cartel want an invalid
assignment for an illegal venture? They certainly could
not prevail in a court of law if Johnston stole or lost their
money? A contract to do an illegal thing is certainly not

23

enforceable. Clearly, only a novice midwestern, family
man, and small businessman like Beryle Johnston would
not recognize the government traps. This was a prepos-
terous and unnecessary investigation and it failed to
uncover real criminal wrongdoings.

This case is of great or exceptional importance
because of the need for courts to examine closely the use
of government “sting” type operations to ferret out crimi-
nal activity and to fairly balance that need against the
potential of ensnaring an otherwise innocent individual.
We believe the Courts should be very skeptical of permit-
ting a conviction to be upheld on a single conversation of
the Petitioner’s supposed intentions without the actual
act.

In United States v. Aibejeris, 28 F.3d 97 (11th Cir. 1994)
the Court concluded that it is not a precondition to con-
ducting an investigation of the accused that the govern-
ment have evidence of that person’s predisposition to
violate the particular law. But the Court concluded that
government had to prove beyond a reasonable doubt at
trial that the accused was actually predisposed to commit
the underlying crime prior to its commission and absent
the government’s role in assisting such commission.

The Circuit Court of Appeal finding in favor of pre-
disposition on the accused part noted that Aibejeris had
been previously convicted of money laundering prior to
government intervention. And also noted that there was
direct testimony of government witness, Carmen Cruz, if
believed was that accused had previously engaged in
money laundering activity.

24

In Johnston’s case the facts are strikingly different.
He has no conviction of a crime similar to money laun-
dering. The evidence failed to show any past criminal
activity by Johnston except for the misdemeanor charge
of “false statement to the Department of Education”. The
evidence at trial showed Johnston to be the owner of a
small finance company with his son Jeff and to have a
good reputation for honesty and fair dealing with the
community at large. His one mistake in case was taking a
plane trip to Orlando and showing up for the video taped
meeting. We believe that it was clear error by the Trial
Court in failing to permit the accused to present mitigat-
ing evidence surrounding his conviction for a Misde-
meanor of “making a false statement to the U.S.
Department of Education”.

The Court in ruling that Petitioner, BERYLE JOHN-
STON, would not be permitted to discuss the charge, plea
agreement and/or judgment and sentence not to intro-
duce the pertinent plea agreement and sentence docu-
ments, and to explore his overall involvement or his lack
of involvement In the crime charged, relied upon Federal
Rules of Evidence 608 and 609 pertaining to impeachment
by prior conviction. It is suggested that Rule 609, limiting
the admission of prior convictions and its details, is
meant to protect the Defendant from any unfair prejudice
which might arise from the submission of such evidence
to a jury by the prosecution. United States v. Barnes, 622
F.2d 107 (5th Cir. 1980); United States v. Carter, 953 F.2d
1449 (5th Cir. 1992); and United States v. Motley, 940 F.2d
1079 (7th Cir. 1991).

Thus rule of evidence was never intended to be used
to prevent a criminal defendant, whose conviction is

25

already before the jury through Government cross-exam-
ination, from being able to explain its circumstances in
order to mitigate the effect on the jury that the Defen-
dant’s prior conviction would have.

In United States v. Pandozzi, 878 F.2d 1526, 1533 (11th
Cir. 1989), the trial court was upheld in preventing a
cross-examination into a prior conviction of a government
witness (not the Defendant) about the fact that the prior
conviction for sexual assault involved a child victim. The
Court in so ruling, considered the fact that the prior
conviction excluding the fact that the alleged victim of the
sexual assault conviction was a child. The Court noted
and considered that Rule 609(a)(1), Federal Rules of Evi-
dence, permits the Court to exclude evidence of a witness
prior conviction only if it is prejudicial to the Defendant,
not if it is prejudicial to the witness. Therefore, clearly,
this Rule is meant to protect the accused against unfair
prejudice.

Also, numerous cases have permitted the prosecution
to place before the jury the facts and circumstances sur-
rounding a cooperating witness conviction and plea
agreement even prior to impeachment of the witness by
the defense on the theory that a party is permitted to
present reasonable background information relative to a
witness in order that the trier of fact get a complete
picture of its witness. United States v. Mealy, 851 F.2d 890
(7th Cir. 1988); United States v. Mach, 811 F.2d 991 (7th Cir.
1987) and United States v. Hilltop, 772 F.2d 783, 787 (11th
Cir. 1985).

Similarly, the jury in Petitioner BERYLE JOHN-
STON’S case was left with the erroneous and false

26

impression that the prior conviction involved bank fraud,
a potentially serious matter, and the Court's failure to
permit rehabilitation through direct examination of
Defendant, BERYLE JOHNSTON, on the circumstances of
his prior conviction for a misdemeanor and the Court's
failure to permit him to introduce the accompanying plea
agreement, judgment and sentence was harmful error.
The Court should consider that the credibility of Peti-
tioner, BERYLE JOHNSTON, was critical to his defense
herein. .

Finally, the jury may have been left with the erro-
neous and false impression that Johnston was “predis-
posed” to commit the charged crimes, which prejudiced
his entrapment defense. A full understanding by the jury
of the circumstances of the charge and conviction would
have mitigated it’s effect on Johnston.

Neither the Appellant or Appellee found a case fed-
erally direct on point. We believe that this issue is of great
importance in guiding future trial courts on this issue of
limiting the accused to present mitigation evidence relat-
ing a prior criminal conviction placed before the jury by
the prosecution. We believe in this case that the trial court
abused its discretion especially in light of the entrapment
defense presented to the jury and jury instructions
thereon regarding predisposition.

¢

CONCLUSION

In conclusion, the Petitioner respectfully requests
that this Honorable Court accept jurisdiction of his cause
and the issues stated herein. It is our belief that the

27

Petitioner has been denied due process of law by the
prosecution’s attack on the Petitioner’s post-arrest silence
as evidences of his guilt and for failure of the prosecution
to prove beyond a reasonable doubt by competent evi-
dence that the Petitioner was predisposed to commit the
crimes charged. We request that this Court reverse the
conviction and remand for a new trial.

Respectfully submitted, this 20th
day of September, 1996.

F. WesLey BLANKNER, Jr., Esq.
217 E. Ivanhoe Blvd., North
Orlando, Florida 32804
(407) 894-0341

Fl. Bar No.: 241784

Attorney for the Petitioner

App. i

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Decision U.S. District Court of
od eee ERE TOR POE PEPE Ae Mee Appendix A, App. 1

Decision on Petition For Rehearing and Sugges-
tion of Rehearing En Banc....... Appendix B, App. 3

Letter U.S. Supreme Court returning original peti-
tion and granting 60 days to correct and resub-
WE ss on eed ecane nn NbCER EROS RE WRS Appendix C, App. 5

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions
MOON 6S Sie cin euaccneeunces Appendix D, App. 7

pe

me
oe

*
‘

aie

App. 1

APPENDIX A
[DO NOT PUBLISH]
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-2273
Non-Argument Calendar

D. C. Docket No. 93-130-CR-ORL-22

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

BERYLE JOHNSTON;
JERRY WOODY,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Florida

(Filed February 13, 1996)
Before ANDERSON and BLACK, Circuit Judges, and

HENDERSON, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

AFFIRMED. See 11th Circuit Rule 36-1.

App. 2

Judgment Entered: February 13, 1996
For the Court: Miguel J. Cortez,
Clerk

By: /s/ Matt Davidson
Deputy Clerk

ISSUED AS MANDATE: 5/7/96

App. 3

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-2273

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

versus

Plaintiff-Appellee, -

BERYLE JOHNSTON;
JERRY WOODY,

Defendants-Appellants.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Florida

(Filed April 24, 1996)

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING AND SUGGES-

TION(S) OF REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion

, 11th Cir, 19, __F.2d__).

Before: ANDERSON and BLACK, Circuit Judges, and
HENDERSON, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no mem-
ber of this panel nor other Judge in regular active service
on the Court having requested that the Court be polled
on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

App. 4

Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), the Suggestion(s)
of Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.
ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ R. Lanier Anderson III
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

App. 5

APPENDIX C

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
WASHINGTON, DC 20543-0001

WILLIAM K. SUTER AREA CODE 202
CLERK OF THE COURT 479-3011

July 24, 1996

F. Wesley Blankner Jr.
217 East Ivanhoe Blvd. North
Orlando, FL 32804-6486

RE: Johnston v. United States
Dear Mr. Blankner:

The above-entitled petition for writ of certiorari was
received July 24, 1996. The papers are returned for the
following reason(s):

No motion for leave to proceed in forma pau-
peris, signed by the petitioner or by counsel, is
attached. Rules 33.2 and 39. The motion must be
signed.

No notarized affidavit or declaration of indi-
gency is attached. Rule 39. You may use the
enclosed form.

The petition fails to comply with the content
requirements of Rule 14, in that the petition
does not contain:

The questions presented for review. Rule
14.1(a).

Please correct and resubmit as soon as possible.
Unless the petition is received by this Office in
corrected form within 60 days of the date of this
letter; the petition will not be filed. Rule 14.5.

App. 6

A copy of the corrected petition must be served
on opposing counsel.

You must provide an original and 10 copies of
your petition for a writ of certiorari and motion
for leave to proceed in forma pauperis. Rule
12.2.

Sincerely,

William K. Suter, Clerk

By: /s/ Troy D. Cahill
Troy D. Cahill
(202) 479-3044

Enclosures

App. 7

APPENDIX D

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

FEDERAL RULES OF EVIDENCE
§608(b) Specific instances of conduct.

Specific instances of the conduct of a witness, for the
purpose of attacking or supporting the witness’ cred-
ibility, other than conviction of crime as provided in Rule
609, may not be proved by extrinsic evidence. They may,
however, in the discretion of the court, if probative of
truthfulness or untruthfulness, be inquired into on cross-
examination of the witness (1) concerning the witness’
character for truthfulness or untruthfulness, or (2) con-
cerning the character for truthfulness or untruthfulness of
another witness as to which character the witness being
cross-examined has testified.

FEDERAL RULES OF EVIDENCE
§609(a) General rule.

For the purpose of attacking the credibility of a wit-
ness, evidence that the witness has been convicted of a
crime shall be admitted if elicited from the witness or
established by public record during cross-examination
but only if the crime (1) was punishable by death or
imprisonment in excess of one year under the law under
which the witness was convicted, and the court deter-
mines that the probative value of admitting this evidence
outweighs its prejudicial effect to the defendant, or (2)
involved dishonesty or false statement, regardless of the
punishment.

App. 8

FEDERAL STATUTES
Title 18 §1956- (a)(1)

Whoever, knowing that the property involved in a
financial transaction represents the proceeds of some
form of unlawful activity, conducts or attempts to con-
duct such a financial transaction which in fact involves
the proceeds of specified unlawful activity -

(A)(i) with the intent to promote the carrying on of
specified unlawful activity; or

(3) Whoever, with the intent -

(A) to promote the carrying on of specified
unlawful activity;

(B) to conceal or disguise the nature, location,
source, ownership, or control of property
believed to be the proceeds of specified unlaw-
ful activity; or

(C) to avoid a transaction reporting require-
ment under State or Federal law,

conducts or attempts to conduct a financial transaction
involving property represented by a law enforcement
officer to be the proceeds of specified unlawful activity,
or property used to conduct or facilitate specified unlaw-
ful activity, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned
for not more than 20 years, or both. For purposes of this
paragraph, the term “represented” means any representa-
tion made by a law enforcement officer or by another
person at the direction of, or with the approval of, a
Federal official authorized to investigate or prosecute
violations of this section.

App. 9

U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
5th AMENDMENT

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the
land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for the same offense to be twice put in
jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process
of law, nor shall private property be taken for public use,
without just compensation.

U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
6th AMENDMENT

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury
of the State or district wherein the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and
cause of the accusation, to be confronted with the wit-
nesses against him; to have compulsory process for
obtaining witnesses against him; to have compulsory pro-
cess for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the
assistance of Counsel for his defense.

App. 10

U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
14th AMENDMENT

All persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they reside. No
state shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges and immunities of the citizens of the
United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of
life, liberty or property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal pro-
tection of the laws.

OE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1495%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
