# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. United Arab Emirates

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1481%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 1007

## Text

Supremes Court, 0.8,
PILED

No. (1)

__96 4 34 SEP 17 19%

ore OF THE Cite

In THE
Suprene Cont of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1996

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES, MINISTRY OF
DEFENSE OF THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS F. O’NEtL IIT DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR.*

ADAM H. CHARNES SEAN H. DONAHUE

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS JENNER & BLOCK
CORPORATION 601 13th Street, N.W.

1133 19th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005

Washington, D.C. 20086 (202) 689-6000

(202) 872-1600 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WasnINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether promises made by a representative of a foreign
state to a United States company pledging that the foreign
state would pay debts owed by its citizens if the com-
pany agreed not to pursue legal action against them con-
stitute “commercial activity” under the Foreign Sovereign
Immunities Act, thereby subjecting the foreign state to
suit in United States courts upon breach of the promises.

(i)

ii

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

MCI Telecommunications Corporation is a wholly
owned subsidiary of MCi Communications Corporation.

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED o................c:ccceccsescescsesecessoee i
DOUPee COIS MC Pa RUN MU ila sscss ssa beware lascarennerensnce ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...n...........ccc.ccccsceccccsscsececesese iii
ERR Stand RL BRO NOMENA A Re 1
PIE Ceiba h alist cakaahateaids lbacniiiniconibtctibiliatestibiocnni 1
a ileriinsaheassseissnshicnssiinesvcnaninsenandisibiccakannsncnicecs 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASB ooo. ecceccccecceeeeeee 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......... 8

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ SWEEPING
HOLDING THAT “PROMISES THROUGH
DIPLOMATIC CHANNELS DO NOT CON-
STITUTE COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY” IS
PLAINLY WRONG AND CONFLICTS WITH
THE DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF
ae sisi nseacipstianceainsthtnss Seer cortsansese. b RA ERMa et Rac RiGee ncpaNee 2
The Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act,

28 U.S.C. § 1330 a aleianialiibuccmeibiesds 2

> RFI ior amet eMNeeenee e 5

Bt a, PLETE Sere Oe 5

Be IIIS visiseiniscssdseciasilbinniobidetiboigmiaoeininaabony 2

§ 1603 (d) .. papitata eg My i SHS 2,9, 16

Be PID ucschaesindhsivarisscanicondietdingenhduapiicsneandiaiaine 2

FID CP i csicenscmeqeepsinwenrinnel 6, 13, 14, 16

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

MISCELLANEOUS Page

H.R. Rep. No. 94-1487 (1976), reprinted in 1976

ee EE eR RE BUR aes eaters es ere ee 18, 21
Joseph W. Dellapenna, Suing Foreign Govern-

ments and their Corporations (1988) .................. 11,18
Joan E. Donoghue, Taking the “Sovereign” Out of

the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act: A Func-

tional Approach to the Commercial Activity Ex-

ception, 17 Yale J. Int’l L. 489 (1992) 0... 14
3 Richard A. Lord, Williston on Contracts (4th ed.
OE Sense sinsichectcon saigogiebnidilalesldicnd titaddieniia nie tein 20

Restatement (Second) of Contracts, § 86... 20

In THE
Sipwrene Cmut of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No.

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

- Petitioner,

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES, MINISTRY OF
DEFENSE OF THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES,
Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MCI Telecommunications Corporation (“MCI”) re-
spectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals, reported at 82
F.3d 658, is reproduced at page la of the appendix
to this petition (“Pet. App.”). The unreported order
of the United States District Court for the Western Dis-
trict of Texas denying respondents’ motion to set aside
the default judgments against them is reproduced at
Pet. App. 15a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was rendered on
May 13, 1996. The court denied MCI’s petition for

2

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc on June 19,
1996.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES

The Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act (FSIA or Act),
28 U.S.C. §§ 1330, 1602-1611, provides in relevant part:

A foreign state shall not be immune from the juris-
diction of courts of the United States or of the States
in any case—

(2) in which the action is based upon a com-
mercial activity carried on in the United States
by the foreign state; or upon an act performed
in the United States in connection with a com-
mercial activity of the foreign state elsewhere;
or upon an act outside the territory of the
United States in connection with a commercial
activity of the foreign state elsewhere and that
act causes a direct effect in the United States.

28 U.S.C. § 1605(a). The FSIA defines “commercial
activity” as

either a regular course of commercial conduct or a
particular commercial transaction or act. The com-
mercial character of an activity shall be determined
by reference to the nature of the course of conduct
or particular transaction or act. rather than by ref-
erence to its purpose.

28 U.S.C. § 1603(d).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from express promises made by officials
of the United Arab Emirates and its Ministry of Defense
(collectively, “UAE”) to MCI that the UAE would

ee ee ae

3

reimburse MCI for over $1 million in unauthorized long-
distance telephone calls placed by members of the UAE’s
“Student Battalion” while on a training assignment at a
Texas military installatior. MCI acted in reliance upon
the UAE’s promises when it opted at the urging of UAE
Officials not to pursue criminal and other remedies against
the UAE nationals in question. However, once the UAE
military personnel responsible for the unauthorized calls
were safely beyond the reach of U.S. courts, the UAE
Officials refused to honor their promise. The court below
| held that the district court lacked jurisdiction to entertain
MCT’s action to enforce the UAE’s promises to pay be-
cause the promises were not “commercial” in character,
and therefore did not defeat the UAE’s immunity under
the FSIA.

On September 23, 1986, the UAE entered into an agree-
ment with the United States Department of Defense for
_the training of UAE military under the sponsorship of the
United States Army at Fort Bliss, Texas (“Military Train-
ing Agreement”). R. Vol. II, pp. 316-23. Pursuant to
Note 5 of the Military Training Agreement, the UAE
assumed responsibility for the debts incurred by members
of Student Battalion for their personal living expenses.
Note 5 of the Agreement stated that:

Students will be responsible for payment of charges
for transportation, meals, laundry service, and any
other services or personal living expenses they incur.
Purchaser [UAE] agrees to ensure prompt payment
for such expenses.

R. Vol. Il, p. 319.

In August 1987, MCI commenced an investigation of
unauthorized calling activity made over an unbilled MCI
“maintenance circuit.” MCI’s investigation revealed that
the unauthorized calls were being placed from certain
lines in Fort Bliss, Texas to the UAE and other overseas
destinations. Information obtained from Southwestern

4

Bell, the local telephone carrier, and from United States
Army officials at Fort Bliss revealed that these unbilled
calls were being placed by members of the UAE Student
Battalion. MCI confirmed from its own records that the
identified individuals had made additional, billed calls to
the same destinations as the unauthorized calls. R. Vol. I,
pp. 92-94. MCI ultimately determined that, beginning
around October 1986, the UAE personnel had made more
than 40,000 unauthorized long-distance calls worth more
than $1 million. Pet. App. 15a, 25a.

Although MCI was prepared to press criminal charges
against the members of the Student Battalion who had
made the unauthorized calls, it opted to pursue the matter
first with the UAE government. On January 6, 1988,
MCI representatives met with the UAE’s ambassador and
military attaché in Washington, D.C. Pet. App. 21a;
R. Vol. I, pp. 75-76. At that meeting, the ambassador
told the three MCI representatives that if the unauthorized
calls were attributable to members of the Student Bat-
talion, the UAE would assume responsibility and would
pay MCI for the calls. Pet. App. 21a; R. Vol. I, pp. 76-
77. The Ambassador requested that MCI take no further
legal action with respect to the matter, and that MCI
forward to him information relating to its investigation
and its conclusion that the illegal calls were being placed
by members of the Student Battalion. Pet. App. 21a;
R. Vol. I, pp. 76-77.

As requested, MCI promptly provided the UAE’s am-
bassador with a list of the members of the Student Battal-
ion who made the unauthorized calls and with computer
printouts of the call records. Pet. App. 22a; R. Vol. I,
p. 77. On January 18, 1988, the ambassador informed
MCI that he had transferred the information to the mili-
tary attaché for investigation. On February 17, 1988,
the attaché informed an MCI manager that the UAE
would “definitely” compensate MCI for its losses if mem-
bers of the Student Battalion were involved. R. Vol. I,

i a a cc

5

p. 78. The UAE requested a written breakdown of the
unauthorized calls by destination. Pet. App. 23a; R. Vol.
I, pp. 77-78.

Texas law enforcement officials urged MCI to decide
whether it would accept restitution as a substitute for
criminal prosecution of the members of the Student Bat-
talion who had made the unauthorized calls. Accordingly,
MCI requested another meeting with the UAE ambassa-
dor. In June 1988, MCI provided the ambassador with
a detailed breakdown of the unauthorized calls which
| MCI had prepared at substantial expense, and indicated
the need to resolve the matter expeditiously. Pet. App.
23a; R. Vol. I, pp. 78-79.

At a July 1988 meeting with MCI representatives, the
ambassador and military attaché contended that MCI had
failed to provide adequate documentation that Student
Battalion members had made the illegal calls and that
they had not promised MCI any compensation. After
again reviewing records provided by MCI, the ambassador
Stated that 10% of the individuals listed by MCI were
: not members of the UAE personnel, although he acknowl-
edged that 90% of the individuals were UAE personnel.
| Pet. App. 23a-24a; R. Vol. I, p. 80.

In August 1988, the UAE informed MCI that it would
not honor its agreement to pay for the calls, and refused
to meet again with MCI. By that time, all but one of the
UAE military personnel whom MCI believed responsible
for the unauthorized calls had returned to the UAE. Pet.
App. 24a; R. Vol. I, p. 81; R. Vol. II, pp. 344-49,

On May 11, 1989, MCT filed suit in the United States
District Court for the Western District of Texas against
the UAE, the UAE Ministry of Defense, and the individ-
ual members of the UAE’s Student Battalion who had
made the telephone calls.' The complaint sought damages

} Jurisdiction was based upon 28 U.S.C. §§ 1880(a) and 18382
(a) (2).

| en ee ee

6

for the unauthorized and unpaid long distance services, on
theories including fraud, conversion, quantum meruit,
promissory estoppel, and implied contract. Pet. App.
43a-48a. The promissory estoppel and implied contract
counts rested on the UAE ambassador’s assurance that
the UAE would pay MCI for the unauthorized telephone
calls made by the members of the Student Battalion, and
MCI’s reliance on these assurances. Pet. App. 46a-48a.
MCI also sought damages under Note 5 of the Military
Training Agreement, on the theory that the UAE had
breached the agreement by failing to ensure payment by
the UAE military trainees for telecommunications services
provided to them by MCI. Pet. App. 45a-46a.

MCI was not able to obtain service on the individual
defendants.” MCI obtained service on the UAE and the
Ministry of Defense, but neither filed an answer or other-
wise responded to the complaint. At a hearing on Octo-
ber 20, 1989, MCI presented evidence on its damages and
expenses as a consequence of the unauthorized telephone
calls and the UAE’s subsequent conduct. Pet. App. 27a;
R. Vol. II, p. 286.

The district court entered default judgments against
the UAE Ministry and the UAE on November 7, 1989
and January 5, 1990, respectively. Pet. App. 28a, 29a.
More than three years later, on May 21, 1993, the UAE
and the UAE Ministry moved to vacate the default judg-
ments on the ground that the district court had lacked
subject matter jurisdiction under the FSIA. The district
court ruled that the UAE and the UAE Ministry of De-
fense were not entitled to sovereign immunity because
their actions in promising to reimburse MCI for the un-
authorized calls fell within the “commercial activity” ex-
ception to the FSIA, 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a)(2). Pet. App.
15a. The court reasoned that these promises were com-

2 One individual defendant initially entered an appearance through
counsel, but the parties stipulated to dismissal as to him after he
returned to the UAE. R. Vol. I, p. 4; R. Vol. II, pp. 344-49.

jie

7

mercial acts “because private parties would normally make
such promises while participating in the market.” Pet.
App. 17a (citing Republic of Argentina v. Weltover, Inc.,
504 U.S. 607, 613-14 (1992)).

A divided panel of the Fifth Circuit reversed. The
majority held the “commercial activity” exception inap-
plicable because the UAE’s “alleged promises” had been
made “through diplomatic channels.” Pet. App. 7a.
Despite acknowledging that contracts to procure goods
and services are ordinarily a form of commercial activity
under the FSIA, the court reasoned that “(negotiations
over the payment of illegal telephone calls” were “not
commercial in nature,” emphasizing that MCI’s purpose
in approaching respondents was to recover losses caused
by third parties. Pet. App. 8a.*

Judge Garza dissented. He concluded that there was

“nothing sovereign about UAE’s behavior—the alleged

making and breaching of a contract with MCI.” Pet.
App. 14a. According to the dissent, the UAE's promises
to MCI amounted to “simply a contract for services which
UAE felt it was morally obligated to enter into.” Pet.
App. 14a. Judge Garza reasoned that the UAEF’s actions
were not authorized by any power peculiar to a sovereign
State, but instead that “any private person could have
engaged in these actions.” Pet. App. 14a.*

*The court of appeals unanimously held that Note 5 of the
Military Training Agreement could not provide a basis for juris-
diction under the FSIA’s commercial activity exception because
the agreement as a whole did not relate to the purchase of goods
and services and because it was between “two sovereign parties” —
the United States and the UAE—rather than between the UAE and
MCI. Pet. App. 8a-9a.

* Judge Garza also complained that the majority had improperly
failed to place the burden of proof for establishing sovereign im-
munity under the FSIA upon the defendants. Pet. App. lla.

The court of appeals denied MCI’s petition for rehear-
ing and suggestion for rehearing en banc on June 19,
1996. Pet. App. 18a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents important issues concerning the ap-
plication of the FSIA’s commercial activity exception, the
“most significant” of the grounds enumerated in the FSIA
upon which United States courts may entertain an action
against a foreign state or its instrumentality. See Welt-
over, 594 U.S. at 611-12. “The determination of whether
particular behavior is ‘commercial’ is perhaps the most
important decision a court faces in an FSIA suit.” Texas
Trading & Milling Corp. v. Federal Republic of Nigeria,
647 F.2d 300, 308 (2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454
U.S. 1148 (1982).

The Fifth Circuit’s interpretation of the “commercial
activity” exception conflicts with the text of the FSIA,
with this Court’s teachings in Weltover and Saudi Arabia
v. Nelson, 507 U.S. 349 (1993), and with the law of
other circuits. It creates broad and wholly novel restric-
tions on the commercial activity exception, and corre-
spondingly expands foreign states’ immunity in ways not
contemplated by Congress. In a few bold strokes, the
court created new propositions of “commercial activity
exception” jurisprudence that set the Fifth Circuit apart
from the law prevailing in other circuits. In particular,
it is now Fifth Circuit law that

* a foreign government’s promise to pay is not a

commercial act within the meaning of the FSIA if the
promise is “made through diplomatic channels”;

* a foreign government’s promise to pay its citizen-
employees’ debts to United States citizens is a sov-
ereign act, and cannot be enforced in United States
courts;

* a foreign government’s promise to undertake an

obligation owed by another is not a commercial ac-

9

tivity unless there is a preexisting contractual relation-
ship between the government and the promisee;

* negotiation, formation, and breach of a contract
between a foreign government and a private party
is not “commercial activity” unless the parties have
an overall commercial relationship or “nexus”;

* negotiations between a foreign government and a

private party that lack a profit motive—such as nego-
tiations seeking restitution for “illegal” use of serv-
ices—are not “commercial” within the meaning of
the Act.

At the same time, the Fifth Circuit failed to heed the
FSIA’s instruction, elaborated in Weltover, that “Tt}he
commercial character of an activity shall be determined
by reference to the nature of the course of conduct or
particular transaction or act, rather than by reference to
its purpose,” 28 U.S.C. § 1603(d). The Fifth Circuit
also flouted this Court’s teaching in Weltover that the
central inquiry in commercial activity exception cases
is whether the “particular actions that the foreign state
performs . . . are the type of actions by which a private
party engages in ‘trade and traffic or commerce.’” 504
U.S. at 614 (emphasis in original) (citation omitted).

The decision below introduces needless confusion into
the interpretation of a provision that already presents
ample difficulty for courts, see Nelson, 507 U.S. at 359:
Export Group v. Reef Indus., 54 F.3d 1466, 1473 (9th
Cir. 1995), and is likely to lead the Fifth Circuit to re-
sults that will diverge sharply from the restrictive view
of foreign sovereign immunity that prevails in other cir-
cuits. To begin with, the Fifth Circuit is now flatly at
odds with the Ninth and District of Columbia Circuits
on the issue whether activity undertaken through diplo-
matic channels can be “commercial” within the meaning
of the FSIA. See Joseph v. Office of the Consulate Gen.,
830 F.2d 1018 (9th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 USS.
905 (1988); Transamerican S.S. v. Somali Democratic

10

Republic, 767 F.2d 998 (D.C. Cir. 1985). The Fifth
Circuit is also in conflict with the Second and Seventh
Circuits as to whether a foreign government’s agreement
to guarantee the legal obligations of a third party can
be “commercial” activity for FSIA purposes. See Rush-
Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center v. Hellenic Re-
public, 877 F.2d 574 (7th Cir. 1989); Gemini Shipping,
Inc. v. Foreign Trade Org. for Chem. & Foodstuffs, 647
F.2d 317 (2d Cir. 1981).

The particular issues presented by this case are likely
to recur with some frequency. Indeed, it is to be expected
that promises by diplomatic officials to guarantee the obli-
gations of foreign nationals and foreign corporations will
be the subject of continuing litigation in United States
courts. More broadly, the Fifth Circuit has set itself on
a course likely to lead to a significant expansion of the
scope of FSIA immunity in cases arising within its
borders. The rules of law announced in the decision below
will have application far beyond the particular facts pre-
sented here, and will likely bring the Fifth Circuit into
conflict with the law prevailing in other circuits on a host
of particular FSIA questions. In light of the strong public
interest in clear standards in foreign sovereign immunity
matters—an interest that gave rise to the FSIA’s enact-
ment, see, e.g., Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria,
461 U.S. 480, 488 (1983)—review by this Court is
plainly warranted.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ SWEEPING HOLDING
THAT “PROMISES THROUGH DIPLOMATIC
CHANNELS DO NOT CONSTITUTE COMMERCIAL
ACTIVITY” IS PLAINLY WRONG AND CONFLICTS
WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF
APPEALS.

The Fifth Circuit stated a flat rule that “alleged prom-
ises made through diplomatic channels do not constitute
commercial activity.” Pet. App. 7a.° That rule departs

5 The court’s observation that the promises here were merely
“alleged”—in the sense that they were never proven at trial—is

11

Sharply from the general FSIA principle that the “com-
mercial” or “noncommercial” status of the relevant foreign
government entity at issue is irrelevant to the immunity
question, which instead turns on whether the “cause of
action arose out of . . . a commercial act.” Joseph W.
Dellapenna, Suing Foreign Governments and Their Cor-
porations 148 (1988) (emphasis added). The mere fact
that a promisor is a “diplomatic” official or entity clearly
does not defeat immunity, as other Circuits have con-
cluded. E.g., Holden v. Canadian Consulate, 1996 U.S.
App. LEXIS 20064 (9th Cir. Aug. 9, '1996) (denying
consulate’s claim of immunity in employment discrimina-
tion case because employee’s job resembled private post);
Joseph v. Office of the Consulate Gen., 830 F.2d 1018
(9th Cir. 1987) (rejecting claim of immunity from suit
on consulate’s lease of private residence for use by con-
sular officials), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 905 ( 1988);
Transamerican S.S. v. Somali Democratic Republic, 767
F.2d 998, 1003 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (Somali embassy’s
affirmative efforts to assist Somali agency in dispute with
American shipping company defeated immunity under
commercial activities exception ).

It would be odd indeed to cloak the actions of am-
bassadors and other diplomatic representatives with im-
munity because they transact business through “diplomatic
channels,” while denying immunity to foreign entities that
transact business by means of legislation, executive decree,
or administrative order—avenues no less sovereign in
nature than the agreements of diplomats. Cf. Weltover,

true but immaterial. The court iself recognized that, by opting not
to respond to MCI’s suit and taking a default judgment instead,
the UAE had “los[t] its right to defend on the merits.” Pet.
App. 6a (citing Practical Concepts, Inc. v. Republic of Bolivia,
811 F.2d 1543, 1547 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (R. B. Ginsburg, J.)
and insurance Corp. of Ireland, Ltd. v. Compagnie des Bauxites de
Guinee, 456 U.S. 694, 706 (1982)). In this light, the court was
obligated to take MCI’s allegations as true.

12

504 U.S. at 615 (denying immunity based on acts of
Argentinean “government”); Janini v. Kuwait Univ., 43
F.3d 1534 (D.C. Cir. 1995) (denying immunity for
abrogation of employment contract even though it was
accomplished by a governmental decree voiding all em-
ployment contracts with non-nationals). The focus is not
on which governmental official undertakes the allegedly
commercial act; as Weltover makes clear, the immunity
question turns on the “nature” of the act itself. 504 U.S.
at 615.

In Transamerican, 767 F.2d 998, the D.C. Circuit re-
jected an argument strikingly similar to that embraced
by the panel majority here. There, a Somali-government-
owned agency sought to impose special fees on an Amer-
ican shipper for delivering grain at a Somali port. The
shipper claimed these fees were unlawful, but decided to
pay them in order to free its vessel from detention by the
agency, and delivered a check made out to the agency
to the Somali embassy in the United States. The em-
bassy, however, refused to accept a check made out to the
agency, and instructed that the shipper transfer the funds
directly into Somalia’s commercial account. The court of
appeals in Transamerican rejected the claim that the Somali
embassy had played a merely “diplomatic” role, and held
that the Somali government was subject to suit based on
the embassy’s commercial activities ir helping to collect
the payment for the agency. The court explained that
“[t]he embassy took an active rather than a_ passive
role in the transaction by refusing to accept payment by
a check made out to the Agency and insisting instead on an
electronic transfer of funds directly into [Somalia’s] own
commercial bank account in Washington.” 767 F.2d at
1003. The embassy’s actions were not the impartial ac-
tions of a distinctively governmental “diplomatic” nature,
but were “normal commercial functions” of the sort that
private banks and collection agencies perform routinely;
thus they were not entitled to immunity. Jd. See also
Holden, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 20064 at *9.

13

The Fifth Circuit’s decision in the present case is
squarely at odds with the D.C. Circuit’s approach in Trans-
american. The UAE ambassador’s actions here were more
clearly “commercial” in character than the Somali em-
bassy’s actions in that case. The UAE’s ambassador
and its military attaché made promises directly to MCI,
a private party, for the purpose of inducing MCI to take
specific course of action—refraining from legal action
against UAE nationals. This was “active” participation
of the plainest sort. As the district court and the dissent-
ing circuit judge recognized, the UAE’s actions in promis-
ing to pay restitution closely resembled those of a private
employer that sought to extricate its overseas employees
from legal difficulties in their host country.

The use of “diplomatic channels” might sometimes be
relevant to the “commercial activity” question, but it
should not have the per se immunizing effect it now has
in the Fifth Circuit. The panel majority’s holding that an
ambassador’s explicit promise to pay money to a private
party is an act of “diplomacy” cloaked with sovereign
immunity confirms that its sweeping language immuniz-
ing “promises made through diplomatic channels” was
no slip of the tongue. Under the decision below, for-
eign government will be able to escape responsibility
for otherwise actionable promises by making them through
“diplomatic channels.” Equally unfortunate, United
States citizens will be loathe to rely on promises by foreign
diplomats. The decision below transformed a statute in-
tended to ensure that United States “citizens will have
access to the courts in order to resolve ordinary legal
disputes,” H.R. Rep. No. 94-1487, at 6 (1976), reprinted
in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 6604, into a means for foreign
diplomats to shield their nationals from having to answer
in United States courts for ordinary legal wrongs. This
result is plainly inconsistent with the statute, this Court’s
decisions, and the decisions of other circuits.

14

II. THE COURT BELOW APPLIED A NOVEL “COM-
MERCIAL ACTIVITY” TEST THAT HAS NO BASIS
IN THE ACT AND THAT CONFLICTS WITH
WELTOVER, NELSON, AND THE DECISIONS OF
NUMEROUS COURTS OF APPEALS.

A. Failure to Apply the “Private Person” Test. A state
“engages in commercial activity” under § 1605(a)(2)
“where it exercises only those powers that can also be
exercised by private citizens, as distinct from those powers
peculiar to sovereigns.” Nelson, 507 U.S. at 360 (cita-
tion and internal quotation marks omitted); accord Welt-
over, 504 U.S. 607; Texas Trading & Milling Corp., 647
F.2d at 309 (“if the activity is one in which a private
person could engage, it is not entitled to immunity”).
Courts and commentators have referred to this standard
as the “private person” test. E.g., Rush-Presbyterian-St.
Luke’s Medical Center v. Hellenic Republic, 877 F.2d
574, 578 & n.4 (7th Cir. 1989); Joan E. Donoghue,
Taking the “Sovereign” Out of the Foreign Sovereign Im-
munities Act: A Functional Approach to the Commercial
Activity Exception, 17 Yale J. Intl L. 489, 505-12
(1992).

The panel majority below made a reference to the
private person test, Pet. App. 7a & n.5, but never applied
it. It did not even purport to consider whether the UAE’s
actions in promising to pay MCI for the unauthorized
telephone calls are “the type of actions by which a private
party engages in ‘trade and traffic or commerce.’” Welt-
over, 504 U.S. at 416 (emphasis in original, citation
omitted). If the court had conducted the proper inquiry,
it would necessarily have concluded, as Judge Garza con-
cluded in dissent, Pet. App. 12a-14a, that the UAE’s ac-
tions here plainly qualify as “commercial activity” under
the Act.

Indeed, this is a textbook case in which the complaint
describes conduct in which private parties regularly en-

15

gage.° The relevant causes of actions against the UAE—
MCT’s claims of promissory estoppel and implied contract
—turn upon the ambassador’s and attaché’s promises to
pay the telephone charges in question in exchange for
MCI’s agreement to forgo legal action, and on MCI’s re-
liance on those promises. As with the issuance of bonds
in Weltover, there is nothing distinctively governmental
about the UAE’s conduct here “(other than perhaps its
purpose) that would cause it always to be classified as
jure imperii.” Weltover, 504 U.S. at 615. The UAE's
promises here were “garden variety” offers to settle a dis-
pute. See ibid.

According to MCI’s complaint (Pet. App. 46a-47a),
the UAE offered to pay restitution to MCI in exchange
for MCI’s agreement to refrain from proceeding against
UAE citizen-soldiers. This was a promise of the sort
that a private employer might well make to a person
injured by one of its employees. Private parties commonly
insure or assume others’ debts, and they do so both before
and after the debts are incurred. A private employer in a
foreign country would be particularly likely to agree to
debts incurred by its employees, in order to preserve
good relations with the host nation or to avoid dis-
ruption of its operations.’ Many parents could be ex-
pected to offer payment for illegal or overdue telephone
calls placed by their children.

* The court below did not question that, if the UAE’s promise to
repay was a commercial act, MCI’s suit was “based upon” a com-
mercial activity within the meaning of § 1605 ( a) (2). In Nelson,
the Court explained that an action is “based upon” the elements
necessary to establish the claim. 504 U.S. at 615.

7 As the district court observed, “fijn the private arena, if a
company sent several employees to a foreign nation and those em-
ployees engaged in the subject activity, the corporation would likely
make similar promises as those made by Ambassador Makarrab and
Colonel Mubarak [the military attaché] to protect its image and
standing in the foreign nation.” Pet. App. 17a.

16

The panel majority reasoned that because the telephone
calls at issue had been “illegal,” the UAE’s promise to
pay for the calls could not be “commercial in nature.”
Pet. App. 8a. But this notion has no support in the
Act or in judicial precedent under it.* The settlement of
claimed legal wrongs—even of those that are potentially
criminal—is a staple of private commerce. Because
agreement to pay restitution for an employee’s, an asso-
ciate’s, or a family member’s unlawful acts is plainly the
sort of act in which private parties can and do engage,
the UAE’s conduct here should plainly have been classified
as “commercial” for purposes of § 1605(a)(2).

Although the court referred to the negotiations be-
tween the UAE and MCI as “clothed with a diplomatic
nature,” Pet. App. 8a, it never explained how the UAE’s
promises to MCI could embody any power “peculiar to
sovereigns,” Nelson, 507 U.S. at 360. In fact, as Judge
Garza noted, no essentially sovereign power was impli-
cated here. The fact that a government-to-government
arrangement concerning military training was “in the
background,” Transamerican, 767 F.2d at 1003, did not
alter the commercial nature of the UAE’s specific acts
any more than did the sovereign uses to which Argentina
put the money raised by the bonds at issue in Weltover.

B. Improper Reliance on Purpose. The panel major-
ity’s decision directly conflicts with the statutory com-
mand that the nature of the specific acts in question,
and not their overall purpose, is the determinative factor
under § 1605(a)(2). See Weltover, 504 U.S. at 617.
Indeed, the court of appeals’ error was particularly fla-
grant, for the court relied on private party MCI’s purpose

8In Transamerican, 767 F.2d 998, for example, the court did not
hesitate to find “commercial activity” even though the surcharges
the Somali embassy had helped collect were alleged to be unlawful;
nor did the court in Joseph, 830 F.2d 1018, consider it relevant that
the destruction of property alleged to be the basis of the breach of
contract was probably both tortious and criminal.

17

in concluding that the UAE’s acts were not “commercial.”
The court reasoned that “MCI approached the [UAE] not
to form a contract for goods or services, but to try and
recover its losses from the unauthorized use of its services
by third parties.” Pet. App. 8a. Under the plain lan-
guage of 28 U.S.C. § 1603(d), the parties’ purposes and
motives are simply “irrelevant to the question of [their]
activity’s commercial character.” Nelson, 507 USS. at
363.

As for the court of appeals’ statement that MCI was
seeking to “recover its losses” rather than “form a con-
tract for goods or services,” this Court specifically stated
in Weltover that “commercial activity” need not have a
“profit motive.” 504 U.S. at 614; accord Rush, 877 F.2d
at 578 n.4 (observing that a profit motive requirement
would “virtually eliminate” the commercial activity excep-
tion). “[T]he use of profit motive as a threshold require-

Ment for applying the commercial activity exception would

inconsistent with the FSIA’s focus on the nature of the
transaction at issue rather than its purpose.” Joseph, 830
F.2d at 1024.

C. The “Nexus” Requirement. The court of appeals
never denied that a contract existed between the UAE and
MCI (indeed, in the face of MCI’s allegations and the
UAE’s default, such a finding would have been difficult
to sustain).’ Instead, the court declared that it could find
“no nexus between MCI and Defendants-Appellants sufti-
cient to find a contract or agreement that would be ‘com-
mercial’ in nature so as to constitute commercial activity.”
Pet. App. 8a. The Fifth Circuit’s new “nexus” require-
ment is unprecedented and unwarranted: the question is
not the larger relationship between MCI and the UAE,
but whether the UAE’s “particular actions,” Weltover,

® Judge Garza concluded that, according to MCI’s allegations con-
cerning the ambassador’s promises, a contract had been formed and
breached. Pet. App. 14a.

18

504 U.S. at 614, were the kind of actions that private
parties perform in the market. Before the decision below,
it was “clearly settled” that “the conduct of the foreign
state giving rise to the claim must be part of a commer-
cial act, but the relationship on which the suit is based
need not be commercial, if by commercial one means a
relationship involving commerce.” Dellapenna, supra, at
148 (emphasis added).

Courts of appeals have recognized that contracts be-
tween foreign states and United States nationals for the
purchase of goods or services presumptively count as “com-
mercial activity” under the Act, with the possible excep-
tion of instances in which the subject matter of the
contract is inherently governmental. See Rush, 877 F.2d
at 578-79. But cf. Weltover, 504 U.S. at 614-15 (a
government’s execution of contract to purchase “army
boots or even bullets” is commercial activity, because
private companies use contracts to acquire goods). The
panel majority’s decision simply ignored this analytical
framework. The court’s new “nexus” requirement creates
a phantom class of contracts that, while neither based on
any articulable sovereign attribute nor dealing in a subject
that is inherently governmental, nonetheless fall outside
the “commercial activity” exception.”® In this respect as
well, the decision below is bound to sow confusion.

© The contract between the UAE and MCI can reasonably be char-
acterized as a contract for the telecommunications services that
had been utilized by the UAE soldiers. See Pet. App. 14a (Garza,
J., dissenting). In any event, the commercial! nature of the UAE's
actions does not depend on whether the ambassador’s promise to
MCI involved a sale of “goods” or “services.” Although courts
frequently refer to such contracts as the paradigm “commercial”
contract, e.g., Weltover, 504 U.S. at 614-15, such contracts plainly
do not exhaust the realm of commercial activities under the FSIA.
E.g., Joseph, 830 F.2d 1018 (lease); H.R. Rep. No. 94-1487, at
16-17 (1976), reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 6604, 6615-16 (pur-
chasing securities is a commercial activity).

19

D. Settlement of Third Party Debts. The court of ap-
peals concluded that the UAE’s “alleged promises” could
not be “commercial” in character because the debt owed
to MCI was for “services provided to third parties.” Pet.
App. 8a. But this distinction, once again unsupported
by any authority, is flatly inconsistent with the “commer-
cial activity” test as elaborated in Weltover, Nelson, and
numerous court of appeals decisions. Those decisions
make clear that the governing test is whether the activity
is one in which private parties could engage in the market.
E.g., Nelson, 507 U.S. at 360; Weltover, 504 U.S. at 613:
Holden, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 20064 at *4-*8; Janini,
43 F.3d at 1536. If the answer to that question is in
the affirmative, the activity is “commercial” regardless
of whether a third party is involved. If the panel ma-
jority’s emphasis on the “third party” aspect of this trans-
action was a demand for conformity with common-law
contract requirements, it was in direct conflict with Welt-
over, in which this Court observed that “[e]ngaging in a
commercial act does not require the receipt of fair value,
or even compliance with the common-law requirements
of consideration.” 504 U.S. at 615."

™ The court’s reference to the affected UAE military. personnel
as “third parties” ignores the close practical and legal relationship
between military personnel stationed overseas and their govern-
ment. Because of its major financial, logistical, and reputational
stake in its soldiers’ fate while stationed in the United States, the
UAE itself clearly secured a benefit for its promise to pay for the
student Battalion members’ telephone calls—avoiding the cost and
embarrassment of having more than 20 of its soldiers hailed into
court in a foreign land. That benefit would very likely have been
sufficient to qualify as legal consideration for the UAE’s promise.
The UAE’s clear obligation under Note 5 of the Military Training
Agreement to ensure payment by UAE military trainees’ personal
debts further illustrates that the UAE benefited by virtue of its
promise to reimburse MCI—by reimbursing MCI for the unauthor-
ized calls, the UAE would avoid responsibility to the Department
of Defense under Note 5.

20

Under the “private person” standard, the UAE’s promise
was plainly commercial in character even if one regards
the Student Battalion as “third parties.” Private parties
often undertake to pay or insure others’ debts. And while
common-law enforceability is not a requirement for a
commercial act under § 1605(a)(2), Weltover, 504 U.S.
at 611, it is notable that the UAE here received concrete
benefits in exchange for assuming this “third party” debt,
and that the promisee, MCI, detrimentally relied on the
UAE’s promise.

Contrary to the court of appeals’ view here, Pet.
App. 8a, the fact that the UAE did not have a pre-
existing contractual relationship with MCI did not defeat
MCT’s claim that the UAE’s promise to pay the Student
Battalion members’ debts was itself a commercial act.
Once again, the panel majority’s did not apply the appro-
priate test: whether the UAE’s actions were of the sort
in which private parties can engage. Promises to assume
responsibility for a preexisting debt are regularly made
and honored by private parties. E.g., 3 Richard A. Lord,
Williston on Contracts § 7.31 (4th ed. 1992); Restate-
ment (Second) of Contracts, § 86.

The court’s insistence upon a preexisting contractual
relationship as a precondition for finding “commercial
activity” has no support in decisions under the FSIA. It
is also flatly inconsistent with Gemini Shipping, Inc. v. For-
eign Trade Org. for Chem. & Foodstuffs, 647 F.2d 317
(2d Cir. 1981), in which the court held the commercial
activity exception applicable on the basis of Syrian gov-
ernment agencies’ guarantee that they would pay demur-
rages incurred by the private shipper plaintiff (which had
no contractual relationship with the agencies) if the
shipper was detained at port while executing a contract
with another private entity to deliver grain to Syria. See
id. at 318-19.

21

The FSIA leaves it to the courts to “work out progres-
sively, on a case-by-case basis . . . the distinction between
commercial and governmental” activities. Texas Trading,
647 F.2d at 308-09. Case-by-case adjudication will in-
evitably produce arguably anomalous results. In many
cases, disparities among results—necessary by-products of
applying the FSIA’s vague language in diverse circum-
stances—will not require intervention by this Court. Pe-
titioner submits, however, that the decision below merits
review because it departs from the entire framework gov-
erning “commercial activity” cases, fails to apply the
standards recently set forth by this Court in Weltover and
Nelson, and introduces a number of wide-ranging new
principles that have no basis in the FSIA and are likely
to distort the future growth of the law.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
THOMAS F, O’NeEt III DONALD B, VERRILLI, JR.*
ADAM H. CHARNES SEAN H. DONAHUE
MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS JENNER & BLOCK
CORPORATION 601 18th Street, N.W.
1183 19th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005
Washington, D.C. 20086 (202) 639-6000

(202) 872-1600
September 17, 1996

* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-50161

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
Vv.

SUBHI ALHADHOOD, Captain, et al.,
Defendants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas

May 13, 1996

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, EMILIO M. GARZA and
BENAVIDES, Circuit udges.

BENAVIDES, Circuit Judge:

Defendants-Appellants appeal the district court’s order
denying their motion to vacate default judgment on the
basis of their sovereign immunity under the Foreign Sover-
eign Immunities Act (“FSIA”). The district court found
that Defendants-Appellants made promises to Plaintiff-
Appellee MCI Telecommunications Corporation (“MCT”)
that qualified as commercial activity under the commercial
activity exception of the FSIA, 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a) (2)

2a

because private parties would normally make such prom-
ises while participating in the market. We reverse based
on our finding that the actions of Defendants-Appellants
did not constitute commercial activity under the FSIA.

I. BACKGROUND

On September 26, 1986, Defendant-Appellant United
Arab Emirates (“UAE”) entered into an agreement/
contract with the United States Department of Defense
for the training of UAE military personnel (“Student
Battalion”) under the sponsorship of the U.S. Army at
Fort Bliss, Texas. Note 5 of the agreement addressed
the expenses covered by the Student Battalion:

Students will be responsible for payment of charges
for transportation, meals, laundry service, and any
other services or personal living expenses they incur.
Purchaser agrees to ensure prompt payment for such
expenses.

In August 1987, MCI instituted an investigation of
unauthorized and unbillable calling activity reported by
MCTI’s Richardson, Texas office. Through its investiga-
tion, MCI established that, beginning approximately
October 1986, in excess of $1 million in telephone calls
using unauthorized codes and dial-up numbers were
placed by members of the Student Battalion to the UAE
and other overseas locations.

MCI contends that it first attemped to recover its dam-
ages through diplomatic channels by meeting with UAE
Ambassador Ahmed Salim Al Mokarrab and UAE Mili-
tary Attache Colonel Mubarak Rashid Al Ghafli at the
UAE Embassay in Washington, D.C. on January 6, 1988.
MCI asserts that at that meeting Ambassador Mokarrab
explicitly told representatives of MCI that if the unau-
thorized calls were attributable to the Student Battalion
the UAE would assume responsibility and pay MCI their
damages. MCI contends that the Ambassador requested

3a

that MCI take no further legal action, but instead forward
information to him on MCI’s investigation.

MCI contends that it took no further legal action in
reliance on the Ambassador’s statements at the January 6,
1988 meeting.’ Throughout the early part of 1988, MCI
forwarded detailed information regarding the members of
the Student Battalion allegedly involved in the unauthor-
ized telephone activity. MCI claims that Ambassador
Mokarrab repeatedly delayed any further meetings until
July 6, 1988, when Colonel Mubarak stated that he would
not assist MCI because MCI failed to prove that any
individual Student Battalion member made any of the
unauthorized calls. MCI also contends that at that same
meeting Ambassador Mokarrab stated that he had never
promised MCI compensation. Then in August 1988, the
UAE officially informed MCI that it would not compen-
sate MCI for any of the telephone calls.

_ On May 11, 1989, MCI filed a complaint against the
UAE, the UAE Ministry of Defense (“Ministry”) and
the individual members of the Student Battalion identified
as having made the unauthorized calls. Service was ob-
tained upon the UAE and the Ministry only.” One of the
individual members of the Student Battalion filed an an-
swer, but neither the UAE or the Ministry filed an answer.
Because neither the UAE nor the Ministry answered or
responded within the required time, default judgments
were entered against the Ministry on November 8, 1989
and against the UAE on January 8, 1990.°

1 Five years later, Ambassador Mokarrab executed an affidavit
denying that he made any promises to pay MCI for the unauthor-
ized telephone calls.

2 All the individual defendants were later dismissed.

3 Prior to entering default judgments against the UAE and the
Ministry, the district court held a hearing at which MCI presented
evidence as to the amount of damages suffered and expenses in-
curred by MCI. MCI also filed a memorandum of law in support of
its motion for default judgment on the issue of immunity under
the FSIA at the court’s request.

4a

On May 21, 1993, the UAE and the Ministry moved
to vacate the default judgments on the ground that they
were immune from suit under the FSIA. The district
court entered an order on February 10, 1995 denying the
motion, finding that the UAE and the Ministry were not
able to assert sovereign immunity for the unauthor-
ized calls because the promises made by Ambassador
Mokarrab and Colonel Mubarak to MCI to pay for the
calls qualified as “commercial activity” under that excep-
tion to the FSIA. Both the UAE and the Ministry now

appeal.
Il. JURISDICTION

This appeal arises from a denial of a motion to vacate
default judgments entered against Defendants-Appellants.
Separate default judgments were entered against the
Ministry on November 8, 1989 and against the UAE on
January 8, 1990. Defendants-Appellants filed their mo-
tion to vacate on May 21, 1993, more than three years
after the last default judgment was entered. In their
motion to vacate the default judgments, Defendants-
Appellants claimed immunity from suit under the FSIA,
and the district court denied the motion based on its find-
ing that their actions fell under the “commercial activity”
exception to the FSIA. Immediate appeal, under the col-
lateral order doctrine, is permitted from an order denying
sovereign immunity under the FSIA because it raises the
issue of the court’s subject matter jurisdiction. Stena
Rederi AB v. Comision de Contratos, 923 F.2d 380, 385
(Sth Cir.1991). However, the question raised from the
appeal in the instant case is whether entry of default
judgment prior to Defendants-Appellants claim of sover-
eign immunity under the FSIA waives their right to claim
immunity or challenge the default judgment entered by
the district court on the same ground.

This Court has held in the context of the FSIA that

[w]hen a defendant foreign state has appeared and
asserts legal defenses, albeit after a default judgment

Sa

has been entered, it is important that those defenses
be considered carefully and, if possible, that the dis-
pute be resolved on the basis of all relevant legal
argument.

Hester Intern’tl Corp. v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, 879
F.2d 170, 175 (5th Cir.1989) (quoting Practical Con-
cepts, Inc. v. Republic of Bolivia, 811 F.2d 1543, 1552
(D.C.Cir. 1987)). A claim of sovereign immunity under
the FSIA is waived only when the sovereign state fails to
assert immunity in a responsive pleading. See Rodriquez
v. Transnave Inc., 8 F.3d 284, 287 (Sth Cir.1993); Fore-
most-McKesson, Inc. v. Islamic Republic of Tran, 905
F.2d 438, 443 (D.C.Cir.1990). Thus, a waiver of sov-
ereign immunity cannot be implied from a foreign state’s
failure to appear. Such a waiver would be inconsistent
with section 1608(e) of the FSIA, which requires the court
to satisfy itself that jurisdiction exists prior to entering a
default judgment.* “[E]ven if the foreign state does not
enter an appearance to assert an immunity defense, a dis-
trict court still must determine that immunity is unavail-
able under the Act.” Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of
Nigeria, 461 U.S. 480, 493-94 n. 20, 103 S.Ct. 1962,
1971 n. 20, 76 L.Ed.2d 81 (1983).

Neither does the FSIA or its legislative history state
when sovereign immunity must be raised. The D.C. Cir-
cuit has concluded that a foreign state’s failure to appear,
even after default judgment has been entered, does not
constitute a waiver. Practical Concepts, 811 F.2d at 1547.
In Practical Concepts, the Court states that a defendant
sovereign state that believes the district court lacks juris-

4 Section 1608(e) provides in pertinent part:
No judgment by default shall be entered by a court of the
United States or of a State against a foreign state, a political
subdivision thereof, or an agency or instrumentality of a for-
eign state, unless the claimant establishes his claim or right to
relief by evidence satisfactory to the court.

28 U.S.C. § 1608(c).

6a

diction may choose one of two paths; it may appear, raise
the jurisdiction objection, and ultimately pursue it on di-
rect appeal; or it may challenge the court’s jurisdiction in
a collateral proceeding by refraining from appearing,
thereby exposing itself to the risk of a default judgment,
and asserting the jurisdictional objection when enforce-
ment of the default judgment is attempted. Jd. See also
Insurance Corp. of Ireland, Ltd. v. Compagnie des Baux-
ites de Guinee, 456 U.S. 694, 706, 102 S.Ct. 2099, 2106,
72 L.Ed.2d 492 (1982) (“A defendant is always free to
ignore the judicial proceedings, risk a default judgment,
and then challenge that judgment on jurisdictional grounds
in a collateral proceeding.”). By deferring its jurisdic-
tional challenge, the foreign state only loses its right to
defend on the merits. 7d. In the instant case, Defendants-
Appellants did not file a responsive pleading prior to en-
try of default judgment; they elected to wait and see if a
default judgment would be entered against them. Defend-
ant-Appellants then asserted their claim of sovereign im-
munity in a collateral proceeding through a motion to
vacate the default judgments. Although their appearance
might otherwise be characterized as “untimely,” we can-
not infer a waiver of immunity from Defendants-Appel-
lants’ rouch delayed appearance in this case.

Il. COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY EXCEPTION
TO THE FSIA

“We review the district court’s conclusions about sov-
ereign immunity de novo.” Walter Fuller Aircraft Sales,
Inc. v. Republic of the Philippines, 965 F.2d 1375, 1383
(Sth Cir.1992) (citing Stena, 923 F.2d at 386). The
FSIA provides foreign states immunity from suit in fed-
eral and state courts unless a specified exception applies.
28 U.S.C. § 1604. One such exception, “commercial ac-
tivity,” is defined under the Act as “either a regular trans-
action or act.” 28 U.S.C. § 1603(d). “The commercial
character of an activity shall be determined by reference
to the nature of the course of conduct or particular trans-

7a

action or act, rather than by reference to its purpose.” /d.
See also Republic of Argentina v. Weltover, Inc., 504
U.S. 607, 614, 112 S.Ct. 2160, 2166, 119 L.Ed.2d 394
(1992). We have stated “that an activity has a commer-
cial nature for purposes of FSIA immunity if it ‘is a type
that a private person would customarily engage in for
profit.” Walter Fuller, 965 F.2d at 1384 (Sth Cir.1992)
(quoting Callejo v. Bancomer, S.A., 764 F.2d 1101, 1108
n. 6 (5th Cir.1985)).°

A. Promises to Pay

Defendants-Appellants contend that their alleged prom-
ises to pay MCI for the unauthorized calls did not make
them private players within the market, as defined by the
U.S. Supreme Court in Weltover, because the non-com-
mercial activity of stealing telephone services did not
create a “market” to which their alleged promises could
relate. On the other hand, MCI asserts that Defendants-
Appellants’ promises to pay were made in the context of
their attempt to resolve a private dispute, which is ex-
actly the type of activity in which private parties engage.
See United States v. Moats, 961 F.2d 1198, 1205 (Sth
Cir.1992) (“[t]he negotiation of contracts, including en-
try into a settlements agreement, clearly is the type of act
performed by private persons”). Thus, MCI argues, the
Defendants-Appellants’ express promises to pay consti-
tuted “commercial activity” within the meaning of
§ 1605(a) (2).

We find that alleged promises made through diplomatic
channels do not constitute commercial activity. As we
stated in Walter Fuller, “courts typically hold that con-
tracts for the procurement of goods and services are com-

5 This approach has been approved by the U.S. Supreme Court
in Weltover, 504 U.S. at 614, 112 S.Ct. at 2166 (“the issue is
whether the particular actions that the foreign state performs
(whatever the motive behind them) are the type of actions by
which a private party engages in ‘trade and traffic or commerce’ ’’).

mercial rather than governmental in nature.” 965 F.2d
at 1384 (internal citations omitted). Negotiations over
the payment of illegal telephone calls, however, are not
commercial in nature. Private parties may engage in talks,
negotiations, and may even make promises to resolve dis-
putes, but not all such activity will be deemed “commer-
cial.” See Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center v.
Hellenic Republic, 877 F.2d 574, 578-79 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 493 U.S. 937, 110 S.Ct. 333, 107 L.Ed.2d 322
(1989). MCI approached Defendants-Appellants not to
form a contract for goods or services, but to try and re-
cover its losses from the unauthorized use of its services
by third parties. Thus, we find no nexus between MCI
and Defendants-Appellants sufficient to find a contract or
agreement that would be “commercial” in nature so to
constitute commercial activity. In addition, any attempt
to resolve the dispute related to services provided to third
parties, and not Defendants-Appellants in this instance,
and are clothed with a diplomatic nature, not a commer-
cial one.*

B. Contract for Personal Living Expenses

Addressed as an alternative argument for affirming the
district court’s judgment, MCI contends that Note 5 of the
military training agreement between the UAE and the
United States expressly makes the UAE a guarantor of the
payment of personal expenses incurred by the Student Bat-
talion. MCI argues that by agreeing to act as a guarantor
for debts incurred by the Student Battalion, which in-
cludes telephone calls, the UAE is, like a private party,
engaging in commercial activity. Relying on Weltover,
MCI asserts that the agreement constitutes commercial

*In this regard we note that MCI admits that instead of filing
criminal charges against the Student Battalion members who made
the unauthorized calls, it sought to recover its losses through
“diplomatic channels” at the UAE Embassy. The negotiations were
not related to any contract for services between the UAE and MCI,
as no such contract was ever in existence.

9a

activity not for its “purpose,” but by its “nature”; al-
though the agreement has a governmental purpose, the
guarantee contained in Note 5 constitutes commercial ac-
tivity. See Weltover, 504 U.S. at 614, 112 S.Ct. at 2166.
MCI also argues that the guaranty in Note 5 is unam-
biguously written without any limitation for the benefit of
all creditors providing services of a personal nature to the
Student Battlion. Thus, under Texas law, MCI claims it-
self as a third-party beneficiary under the agreement." We
find no merit in MCI’s arguments.

The cases relied on by MCI are inapplicable in that
they involve contracts or agreements between a sovereign
state and the complaining party for either the sale of
goods or services.” The contract in this case involves a
military training agreement between two sovereign parties,
the United States and the UAE. No goods or services
were purchased or required to be purchased from MCI
under the terms of the contract. Therefore, we find noth-
ing in the nature of this agreement, even considering the
provisions of Note 5, that would constitute commercial
activity.

C. Unauthorized Telephone Calls

As a second alternative argument, MCI contends that
because the procuring of telephone services is a basic ac-
tivity undertaken by private persons on a daily basis, the
placing of long distance telephone calls by members of the
Student Battalion constitutes “commercial activity” within
the meaning of the FSIA. MCI argues that each use of
MCI’s authorization codes created federal tariff obliga-
tions on the caller to pay MCI for the long distance tele-

TSee United States v. Allstate Ins. Co., 910 F.2d 1281, 1284
(5th Cir.1990) (citing Hermann Hosp. v. Liberty Life Assurance
Co. of Boston, 696 S.W.2d 87 (Tex.App.—Ilous.1985, error refused
n.r.e.)).

8 See Hellenic Republic, supra; Gemini Shipping v. Foreign Trade
Org., 647 F.2d 817 (2d Cir.1981).

10a

phone services procured, and such activity is commercial,
even in the context of an implied rather than express con-
tract. MCI asserts that this argument is even stronger in
the instant case because the implied agreement to pay
MCI for its provision of tariffed telephone services is not
permeated by any overriding governmental function or

purpose.

We find no merit in MCI’s contentions. At first glance,
this argument appears as an attempt to apply the “tortious
activities” exception to the FSIA, since it involves the ac-
tions of the UAE’s “employees” (i.e., the Student Batta-
lion).® Clearly, the making of unauthorized long distance
telephone is not within the Student Battalion’s scope of
employment. See Moran v. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, 27
F.3d 169, 173 (Sth Cir.1994). Even if we were to at-
tempt to apply the commercial activity exception, the na-
ture of the calls, which are stolen, could not be found to
be “commercial.”

IV. CONCLUSION

Finding Defendants-Appellants’ actions did not con-
stitute “commercial activity” so that Defendants-Appel-
lants are entitled to immunity from suit under the FSIA,
we VACATE the default judgment of the district court
and DISMISS the case for lack of subject matter juris-
diction.

®* The “tortious activities” exception provides in pertinent part:

(a) A foreign state shall not be immune form the jurisdiction
of courts of the United States or of the States in any case—
(5) ...in which money damages are sought against a foreign
state for personal injury or death, or damage to or loss of
property, occurring in the United States and caused by the
tortious act or omission of that foreign state or of any official
or employee of that foreign state while acting within the
scope of his office or employment... .

28 U.S.C. § 1605 (a) (5).

lla

EMILIO M. GARZA, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

The majority in Part LII.A. holds that UAE’s actions—
“its promises to pay”—did not constitute “commercial ac-
tivity” under the commercial activity exception of the
FSIA, 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a)(2). Because I believe that
UAE and MCI’s alleged contract negotiations constituted
“commercial activity” under the FSIA, I dissent.’

My disagreement with the majority opinion begins with
its failure to address the burden of proof. Under the
FSIA, “[o]nce the defendant alleges that it is a ‘foreign
state’, the plaintiff must produce some facts to show that
the commercial activity exception to immunity applies, but
the defendant retains the ultimate burden of proof on im-
munity.” Arriba Ltd. v. Petroleos Mexicanos, 962 F.2d
528, 533 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 956, 113
S.Ct. 413, 121 L.Ed.2d 337 (1992). In this case, UAE
has the burden of proving that it is immune from suit un-
der the FSIA. However, instead of analyzing whether
UAE has met this burden, the majority opinion focuses
solely on discrediting MCI’s arguments.

“The commercial character of an activity shall be de-
termined by reference to the nature of the course of con-
duct or particular transaction or act, rather than by refer-
ence to its purpose.” Republic of Argentina v. Weltover,
Inc., 504 U.S. 607, 614, S.Ct. 2160, 2166, 119 L.Ed.2d
394 (1992). The Court in Weltover emphasized that the
“commercial activity” exception to the FSIA embodies the
restrictive rather than the absolute view of foreign sover-
eign immunity. /d. at 613, 112 S.Ct. at 2165. Pursuant
to this restrictive theory, the Court held that “when a for-
eign government acts, not as regulator of a market, but in
the manner of a private player within it, the foreign sov-
ereign’s actions are ‘commercial’ within the meaning of
the FSIA.” 7d. at 614, 112 S.Ct. at 2166. The determi-

1] concur in Part II and Parts III.B. and C. of the majority
opinion.

12a

native factor is not whether the foreign government is act-
ing to fulfill uniquely sovereign objectives. “Rather, the
issue is whether the particular actions that the foreign
state performs (whatever the motive behind them) are the
type of actions by which a private party engages in ‘trade
and traffic or commerce.’” /d. (quoting Black’s Law Dic-
tionary 270 (6th ed. 1990) ).

Applying this rule, the Weltover Court held that Argen-
tina had “participated in the bond market in the manner
of a private actor,” and therefore engaged in a “commer-
cial activity,” when it issued bonds to restructure debt. /d.
at 615-19, 112 S.Ct. at 2167-68. Focusing on the nature
of the Argentine government’s behavior, not its purpose,
the Court rejected the argument that the context in which
the Argentine government created the bonds—to fulfill its
obligations under a foreign exchange program designed to
address a domestic credit crisis and to control the nation’s
critical shortage of foreign exchange—made these bonds
“sovereign” instead of “commercial” in nature. Jd. at 615,
112 S.Ct. at 2167. The Court stated that “it is irrelevant
why Argentina participated in the bond market in the

manner of a private actor; it matters only that it did so.”
Id.’

Because the focus is on the nature of the foreign sover-
eign’s behavior, most contracts entered into by a foreign
sovereign will fall within the commercial activity excep-
tion.* We have previously noted the commercial nature of

2 Applying Weltover, the Court in Saudi Arabia v. Nelson, 507
U.S. 349, 118 S.Ct. 1471, 123 L.Ed.2d 47 (1993) stressed that a
state engages in commercial! activity only when it exercises powers
that can also be exercised by private citizens, as distinct from
those powers that are peculiar to sovereigns. Jd. at 360, 113 S.Ct.
at 1479. Applying this logic, the Court held that Saudi Arabia’s
alleged wrongful arrest, imprisonment and torture of the plaintiff
constituted an abuse of the state’s police power, the exercise of
which is “peculiarly sovereign in nature.” /d.

8 The legislative history of the FSIA specifically states that “a
single contract, if of the same character as a contract which might

13a

the making or breaching of a contract. See Walter Fuller
Aircraft Sales, Inc. v. Republic of Philippines, 965 F.2d
1375, 1386 (Sth Cir.1992) holding that the breach of a
contract for the sale of aircraft is a commercial activity);
United States v. Moats, 961 F.2d 1198, 1205 (Sth Cir.
1992) (“The negotiation of contracts, including entry into
a settlement agreement, clearly is the type of act performed
by private persons”); Stena Rederi AB v. Comision de
Contratos del Comite, 923 F.2d 380, 389 n. 11 (Sth Cir.
1991) (“A single contract or course of dealing executed
within this nation’s boundaries typically will constitute
commercial activity carried on in the United States.” ).

Other circuits have also noted that a foreign govern-
ment’s formation or breach of a contract will typically
constitute commercial activity. In Rush-Presbyterian-St.
Luke’s Med. Ctr. v. Hellenic Rep., 877 F.2d 574 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 937, 110 S.Ct. 333, 107
L.Ed.2d 322 (1989), the Seventh Circuit stated that al-
though “contracts for purchase or sale of goods or services
are presumptively ‘commercial activities,’ . . . certain con-
tracts, although generally of a type in which a private per-
son could enter, are by their nature governmental, since
only a sovereign entity deals in the particular kind of
goods or services.” 877 F.2d at 578. Examples of non-
commercial contracts that the court cited included a con-
tract to allow a private party a license to exploit the
State’s natural resources and employment contracts be-
tween a state and its civil servants or military personnel.
Id. at 578-79. In Janini v. Kuwait University, 43 F.3d
1534, 1537 (D.C.Cir.1995), the D.C. Circuit held that
the Kuwait University’s unilateral termination of employ-
ment contracts was a commercial activity, despite the fact
that it was accomplished by a formal decree of abrogation
as the result of the Iraqui invasion of Kuwait.

be made by a private person,” is an example of the type of behavior
that the “commercial activity” exception was designed to encompass
H.R.Rep. No. 1487, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 16 (1976), U.S.C.C.A.N.
1976, at 6615.

14a

In this case, there is nothing sovereign about UAE’s be-
havior—the alleged making and breaching of a contract
with MCI. This is simply a contract for services which
UAE felt it was morally obligated to enter into. The fact
that the telephone calls were unauthorized, or that UAE
had a military training agreement with the United States
is irrelevant to the nature of UAE’s actions. UAE’s ac-
tions were not authorized by a power peculiar to a for-
eign state; the making and breaching of this contract was
not the result of UAE’s exercise of its police powers or
power over the state’s resources, or even its power over
the military. Instead, any private person could have en-
gaged in these actions.

For the foregoing reasons, I respectfully dissent from the
majority opinion, and I would hold that UAE’s alleged
making and breaching of a contract with MCI constituted
“commercial activity” under 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a) (2).

15a
APPENDIX B
[Filed Feb. 10, 1995]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

No. EP-89-CA-164-H

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,
Plaintiff,
v.

MEDHAT JAssiIM ALSoorI,
Defendant.

ORDER REGARDING MOTION TO VACATE
DEFAULT JUDGMENT

This is a civil action for damages for commercial torts
allegedly committed by several members of the United
Arab Emirates’ armed forces (the “Individual Defend-
ants”). Plaintiff MCI Telecommunications Corporation
(“MCI”) alleged the Individual Defendants made 41,057
unauthorized international and domestic long distance
phone calls through MCI’s network from Fort Bliss in
El Paso, Texas. The Individual Defendants were at Fort
Bliss pursuant to a military training agreement between
the United Arab Emirates and the United States. MCI
also sued the United Arab Emirates (the “UAE”) and
the Ministry of Defense of the United Arab Emirates (the
“Ministry of Defense”) alleging they were answerable for
the unauthorized phone calls.

Only one defendant, Medhat Jassim Alsoori, is left in
the case. The Court dismissed the other Individual De-
fendants for lack of service of process pursuant to Rule

16a

4(j) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The UAE
and the Ministry of Defense are no longer parties because
they never filed answers. The Court entered a default
judgment against the Ministry of Defense on November
11, 1989 and against the UAE on January 5, 1990. The
UAE and the Ministry of Defense finally responded to the
default judgments three and a half years later on May 21,
1993 when they filed a motion to vacate the default judg-
ments entered against them pursuant to Rule 60(b) (4).
They base the motion on the claim that the UAE and the
Ministry of Defense are immune to suit under the Foreign
Sovereign Immunities Act (“FSIA”), 42 U.S.C. § 1602,
et seq. This motion is now before the Court for decision.

If a foreign state is entitled to immunity under the
FSIA, a court lacks both personal and subject matter jur-
isdiction over any suit brought against the foreign state
and default judgments against it are void. De Sanchez v.
Banco Central de Nicaragua, 770 F.2d 1385, 1389 (Sth
Cir. 1985). The FSIA gives foreign states immunity from
suit in the United States unless, among other exceptions,
the foreign state engaged in commercial activity. 28
U.S.C. § 1605(a)(2). A foreign state engages in com-
mercial activity if it acts, not as a regulator of a market,
but in the manner of a private player within the market.
Republic of Argentina v. Weltover, Inc., U.S. q
112 S.Ct. 2160, 2166 (1992).

In the instant case, the Court finds the UAE and the
Ministry of Defense are not entitled to foreign sovereign
immunity, and, therefore, the default judgments were
proper. Ambassador Mokarrab, the UAE’s ambassador
to the United States, and Colonel Mubarak, the UAE’s
military attaché in Washington, made certain promises to
MCI that qualify as commercial activity on the part of the
UAE and the Ministry of Defense. They promised to pay
for the unauthorized phone calls made by UAE military
personnel if MCI did not seek legal action against the per-
sonnel and did not publicize what happened. The prom-

17a

ises were commercial acts because private parties would
normally make such promises while participating in the
market. See Republic of Argentina v. Weltover, Inc.,
supra at 2166, In the private arena, if a company sent
several employees to a foreign nation and those employees
engaged in the subject activity, the corporation would
likely make similar promises as those made by Ambassador
Mokarrab and Colonel Mubarak to protect its image and
standing in the foreign nation. The UAE’s ambassador
and military attache did nothing other than what any pri-
vate employer would do if its reputation and business de-
pended on the promises. See United States v. Moats, 961
F.2d 1198, 1205 (Sth Cir. 1992).

It is therefore ORDERED that the motion of Defend-
ants United Arab Emirates and the Ministry of Defense
of the United Arab Emirates to vacate the default judg-
ments against them, be, and it is hereby, DENIED.

. SIGNED AND ENTERED this 10th day of February,
1995.

/s/ Harry Lee Hudspeth
Harry LEE HUDSPETH
United States District Judge

18a

APPENDIX C
[Filed Jun. 19, 1996]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-50161

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,
Plaintiff-A ppellee
Vv.

SUBHI ALHADHOOD, Captain; AL Bousui, Captain;
MuSsTASA IBRAHIM, Captain; AHMED ABBAS, Major;
MOHAMMED SAID HASSAN, Major; MOHAMMED SAEED,
Sergeant; ABDULLAH AL-SHAMSI, Sergeant, ALY SALEM
SreF, Sergeant; MOHAMMED SAEED, Private; ABDUL-
LATEAF, Private; KHLFAN, Private; KHALED, Private;
ABDULLAH ABDUL ALHAMMADI; SALEH ALMANSOUR;
JEHAD HASSAN; AYAD HASSAN; MOHAMMED BAKRAD;
KOTYBAH AZUAR; MEDHAT JASSIM ALSOORI; SAEED
SALEM AL BAAD; MOHAMMED ALISALEH ALAKAR;
SALEM ALKAABI; ANGELOS PAPPAS; MOHAMMED ALI;
HussAN SAYED HASHEM,

Defendants
and

THE MINISTRY OF DEFENSE OF THE UNITED ARAB
EMIRATES; STATE OF THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES,
Defendants-A ppellants

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas, El] Paso

19a
ON SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(June 19, 1996)

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, EMILIO M. GARZA and
BENAVIDES, Circuit Judges. PER CURIAM:

(“) Treating the Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc as
a Petition for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Re-
hearing is DENIED. No member of the panel nor judge
in regular active service of the court having requested that
the court be polled on Rehearing En Banc (FRAP and
Local Rule 35), the Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc
is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ [Illegible]
United States Circuit Judge

20a

APPENDIX D
[Filed Aug. 2, 1993]
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
EL PASO DIVISION

No. EP-89-CA-164H

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

” Plaintiff,

CAPTAIN ALHADHOOD, et al.,
Defendants.

AFFIDAVIT
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ) SS.

JOHN M. SCORCE, being duly sworn, deposes and
says:

1. I am Director of International Regulatory Affairs for
Plaintiff MCI Telecommunications Corporation (“MCT”).
My office is located at 1801 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.,
Washington, D.C. 20006. The facts that I attest to herein
are made upon my personal knowledge and, if called to
testify as to these facts in a court of law, I could and
would be able to testify competently as to these facts.

2. I submit this Affidavit in support of MCI’s Opposi-
tion to the Motion of Defendant The United Arab Emi-
rates (“UAE”) To Vacate Default Judgments in the
above-captioned action.

3. After MCI discovered that the perpetrators of the
unauthorized telephone calls were members of the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE (“Student Bat-
talion”) at Fort Bliss, Texas, I was asked by MCI Assist-
ant General Counsel John A. Fraser to attempt to deal
with this matter on a diplomatic level. The diplomatic ap-

2la

proach was favored for the following reasons. First, MCI
was concerned because the social and military rank of
some of the personnel involved could cause unwanted pub-
licity for the UAE, a nation friendly to the United States.
Second, MCI was concerned that the enforcement of
United States law might disrupt the training schedules for
the Student Battalion, thus involving the Departments of
Justice, State, and Defense and perhaps raising issues of
federal cooperation with Texas officials. Third, the United
States Secret Service, through a high-ranking director, re-
quested that MCI consider a diplomatic approach prior to
any direct law enforcement contact with UAE personnel.

4. On January 6, 1988, Mr. Fraser, Hassan Shatah,
MCI’s Manager for the Middle East and South Asia, and
I met with Mr. Ahmed Salim Al Mokarrab, who then was
Ambassador to the United States for the UAE and Mu-
barak Rashid Al Ghafli, who then was the Military At-
taché at the UAE Embassy, to discuss the matter of the
unauthorized calls by the members of the Student Batta-
lion. The meeting was held at the UAE Embassy at 600
New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., in Washington, D.C.

5. We informed Ambassador Moka‘rab of the losses
and expenses incurred by MCI as a result of the unauth-
orized telephone calls made by the members of the Student
Battalion and of how the calls were made.

6. Contrary to the statement in his Affidavit, Ambas-
sador Mokarrab explicitly told us that if the unauthorized
telephone calls were attributable to the members of the
Student Battalion, the UAE would assume responsibility
for the calls and would pay MCI for such services. At the
same time, Ambassador Mokarrab, contrary to the state-
ments made in his Affidavit, specifically requested that
MCI take no further legal action with respect to this mat-
ter and, instead, that it forward to him information relat-
ing to its investigation and its claim that the unauthorized
calls were placed by officers and enlisted men of the Stu-
dent Battalion. Ambassador Mokarrab did not say at this

wr
4

22a

meeting, or, at any other time before August 1988, that
the UAE did not hold itself legally responsible to MCI
for the unauthorized telephone calls made by the members
of the Student Battalion.

7. Relying on Ambassador Mokarrab’s representation
at the meeting on January 6, 1988, MCI agreed to for-
bear bringing legal action against the members of the
Student Battalion.

8. On January 12, 1988, I sent Ambassador Mokarrab
a list of the 35 members of the Student Battalion who
made the unauthorized telephone calls and computer
printouts of the call records contained in two volumes.
Each volume of the call records had a “key” taped to its
insider cover and contained tapes that added up the cost
of each unauthorized telephone call.

9. My cover letter submitted with the information dis-
cussed in paragraph 8 above again detailed for Ambassa-
dor Mokarrab the results of MCI’s investigation into the
unauthorized calls. My January 12, 1988 letter with the
list of Student Battalion members attached is attached
hereto as Exhibit 1. Due to their size, the two volumes
ci call records are not attached to Exhibit 1. MCI will
bring these materials to the hearing.

10. On January 18, 1988, Ambassador Mokarrab
called me and told me that he had turned the information
submitted by MCI over to Colonel Mubarak for investi-
gation.

11. On February 25, 1988, Marcel Scheidegger, an
MCI International Senior Manager, and I met with Colo-
nel Mubarak to explain to him MCI’s proof that the mem-
bers of the Student Battalion had made the unauthorized
telephone calls. During this meeting, Colonel Mubarak
requested a written breakdown of the unauthorized tele-
phone calls by destination.

23a

12. Although preparing a written breakdown of the
unauthorized telephone calls by destination was very ex-
pensive and time consuming, MCI prepared the data and
delivered it to Ambassador Mokarrab on June 10, 1988.
The new data was contained in two reports. As requested
by Colonel Mubarak, Report No. | sorted the fraudulent
telephone calls by the telephone number called and Re-
port No. 2 sorted the calls by date. In addition, both
reports contained a listing of the MCI authorization code
used, the date the call was made, the digits dialed, and
the duration of the call in minutes. |

13. While MCI was working with the UAE Embassy
to resolve this matter, the law enforcement authorities
were fully prepared to arrest the members of the Student
Battalion and they were pressuring MCI to make a deci-
sion regarding restitution. Since MCI feared that it might
lose its chance at both restitution and prosecuting the
members of the Student Battalion, MCI pressed for an-
other meeting with Ambassador Mokarrab. However,
Ambassador Mokarrab repeatedly delayed scheduling a
meeting with MCI, purportedly because Colonel Mubarak
was not available.

14. On June 10, 1988, I sent a Ambassador Mokarrab
a letter explaining that due to pressure from law enforce-
ment authorities to prosecute certain members of the Stu-
dent Battalion, MCI was anxious to resolve this matter
quickly. Enclosed with this letter was the data requested
by Colonel Mubarak at the February 25, 1988 meeting
which is discussed in paragraphs 11-12 above. Mr. Scorce’s
June 10, 1988 letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 2. Due
to its large size, the data requested by Colonel Mubarak
is not attached to Mr. Scorce’s letter, MCI will bring this
data to the hearing.

15. Prior to Ambassador Mokarrab’s arrival at the
meeting, Colonel Mubarak stated that MCI had failed to
prove that any individual Student Battalion member made
any of the unauthorized telephone calls. He suggested
that MCI simply send the Student Battalion members bills

24a

for the calls. Finally, Colonel Mubarak stated that he
would not assist MCI due to the lack of proof.

16. When Ambassador Mokarrab arrived at the meet-
ing, he stated that he had never promised MCI any com-
pensation and that MCI’s failure to provide proof that the
members of the Student Battalion made the calls was
“serious.”

17. Mr. Fraser and I again reviewed MCI’s proof
against the list of Student Battalion members which MCI
had provided to the Ambassador in January 1988. After
reviewing the list, Ambassador Mokarrab and Colonel
Mubarak left the room and compared the list with some
other list of UAE personnel. After returning to the room,
Ambassador Mokarrab stated that 10% of the individuals
on MCT’s list were not UAE personnel. When asked to
respond as to the 90% who were UAE personnel, he said
that they had not been prepared for the meeting and that
he wanted to adjourn the meeting for four weeks to review
the situation. Ambassador Mokarrab never disputed that
90% of the individuals on the list were in fact members
of the UAE Student Battalion.

20. In or about August 1988, the UAE informed MCI
that the UAE would not honor its agreement to MCI that
it would assume responsibility for the use of the unauth-
orized codes by the officers and enlisted men of the Stu-
dent Battalion, as previously represented. Ambassador
Mokarrab refused to meet again with MCI to discuss this
matter.

21. By the time that the UAE informed MCI that it
would not honor its agreement to MCT, the officers and
enlisted men of the Student Battalion who had made the
unauthorized telephone calls had been rotated back to the
UAE—where no United States court could obtain per-
sonal jurisdiction over them.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NOT.

/s/ John M. Scorce
JOHN M. SCORCE

aia iii iii

25a
APPENDIX E
[Filed Jun. 11, 1992]
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
EL PASO DIVISION

No. EP-89-CA-164H

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,
Plaintiff,
Vv.

CAPTAIN ALHADHOOD, ef al...
Defendant.

EX PARTE ORDER OF ATTACHMENT
AND EXECUTION

On January 5, 1990, this Court entered Judgment in
this action in favor of Plaintiff MCI TELECOMMUNI.
CATIONS CORPORATION (“MCIT”) and against De-
fendant UNITED ARAB EMIRATES in the amount of
$1,155,010.39 plus costs of court and post-judgment in-
terests at the prevailing rate from the date of judgment
until paid (“Judgment”). The Judgment provided that
MCIT shall have “all writs of execution and other process
necessary to enforce this judgment.” On May 7, 1990,
the Judgment was properly served upon Defendant
UNITED ARAB EMIRATES pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1608.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1610(c), the Court has deter-
mined that a reasonable period of time has elapsed follow-
ing entry of the Judgment against the UNITED ARAB
EMIRATES and service of the Judgment upon said De-

26a

fendant and that MCIT may therefore attach the property
of the UNITED EMIRATES in the United States in aid
of execution and may execute upon said property in satis-
faction of the Judgment. It is therefore

ORDERED that MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS
CORPORATION may attach the property of Defend-
ant UNITED ARAB EMIRATES in the United States in
aid of execution to the extent provided for in 28 U.S.C.
§ 1610 and may execute upon said property in order to
satisfy the Judgment.

Dated this 10th day of June, 1992.

/s/ Harry Lee Hudspeth
United States District Judge

27a
APPENDIX F
[Filed Jan. 5, 1990]
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
EL PASO DIVISION

No. EP-89-CA-164H

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,
Plaintiff,
Vv.

CAPTAIN SUBHI ALHADHOOD, et al.,
Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND ORDER

On the Sth day of January, 1990, came on to be heard
the application of Plaintiff MCI TELECOMMUNICA-
TIONS CORPORATION (“MCIT”) for entry of judg-
ment against UNITED ARAB EMIRATES. MCIT had
previously moved for entry of default against UNITED
ARAB EMIRATES and a default was entered by the
clerk of the Court on December 7, 1989. The Court
finds that at a hearing held on October 20, 1989 in sup-
port of MCIT’s Motion for Judgment against the MIN-
ISTRY OF DEFENSE OF THE UNITED ARAB
EMIRATES, MCIT appeared through counsel and pre-
sented both testimonial and documentary evidence as to
the amount of damages it suffered and the expenses it
incurred as a consequence of the conduct of the MIN-
ISTRY OF THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES. Based
upon the pleadings and official records on file in this
cause, the Court entered judgment against the MIN-

28a

ISTRY OF DEFENSE OF THE UNITED ARAB
EMIRATES and in favor of MCIT in the amount of
$1,155,010.39.

The Court having found that the same testimony and
documentary evidence introduced on October 20, 1989
supports the entry of default against UNITED ARAB
EMIRATES, one of the Defendants herein. It is therefore

ORDERED that judgment be entered against UNITED
ARAB EMIRATES in favor of MCI TELECOMMU-
NICATIONS CORPORATION in the amount of
$1,155,010.39. It is further

ORDERED that Plaintiff be granted judgment for post-
judgment interest at the prevailing rate from date of
judgment until paid and costs of Court. It is further

ORDERED that nothing contained herein shall affect
Plaintiff's causes of action against any of the other De-
fendants named in this cause. It is further

ORDERED that there being no just reason for delay,

this final judgment shall be entered against UNITED
ARAB EMIRATES pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b).
It is further

ORDERED that Plaintiff have all writs of execution
and other process necessary to enforce this judgment.

/s/ Harry Lee Hudspeth
Harry LEE HUDSPETH
United States District Judge

DATED: January 5, 1990

SERPS ARYA, IO es

29a
APPENDIX G
[Filed Aug. 28, 1989]
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
EL PASO DIVISION

No. EP-89-CA-164H

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,
Plaintiff,
Vv.

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES, ef al.,
Defendants.

CLERK’S ENTRY OF DEFAULT
AGAINST THE MINISTRY OF DEFENSE
OF THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
AND MEDHAT JASSIM ALSOORI

On the 28th day of August, 1989, came on to be heard
Plaintiff's Motion for Entry of Partial Default Judgment
against The Ministry of Defense of the United Arab
Emirates and Bedhat Jassim Alsoori and Affidavit in
Support. Based upon same as well as my review of the
pleadings in this matter, I find as follows:

1. On May 11, 1989, MCT filed with this Court a
Complaint for Damages against The Ministry of Defense
of the United Arab Emirates, Medhat Jassim Alsoori, and
others.

2. On May 11, 1989, this Court issued a summons to
be served on Defendant Medhat Jassim Alsoori. Said
summons was served on this Defendant on July 11, 1989,

30a

The original summons is and has been made an official
part of the Court’s record in this matter.

3. On May 11, 1989, this Court issued a summons
to be served on Defendant The Ministry of Defense of
the United Arab Emirates pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1608
(a)(3). A certified mail receipt was received and re-
turned on May 25, 1989 as is reflected by item 2 on the
Court’s docket sheet in this matter. The original certified
mail receipt is and has been made an official part of the
Court’s record in this matter.

4. Over thirty (30) days have passed since Medhat
Jassim Alsoori was served and over sixty (60) days have
passed since The Ministry of Defense of the United Arab
Emirates and Medhat Jassim Alsoori were served with
the summons or Complaint in this action. Neither has
answered, moved, or otherwise responded to the summons
and Complaints.

Accordingly, MCI is entitled to have a default entered
against Defendants The Ministry of Defense of the United
Arab Emirates and Medhat Jassim Alsoori.

SIGNED AND ENTERED this 28th day of August,
1989.

/s/ William T. [Illegible]
Deputy Clerk of the
United States District Court
for the Western District of
Texas, El] Paso Division

3la
APPENDIX H

[Filed Jan. 11, 1989]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
EL PASO DIVISION

Civil Action No. EP-89-CA-164
JuRY TRIAL DEMANDED

MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,
v.

CAPTAIN SUBHI ALHADHOOD, CAPTAIN AL-Bousul, Cap-

TAIN MUSTASA IBRAHIM, MAyor AHMED ABBAS, Ma-
JOR MOHAMMED Salp HASSAN, SERGEANT MOHAMMED
SAEED, SERGEANT ABDULLAH AL-SHAMSI, SERGEANT
ALI SALEM SIEF, PRIVATE MOHAMMED SAEED, PRIVATE
ABDULLATEAF, PRIVATE KHLFAN, PRIVATE KHALED,
ABDULLAH ABDUL ALHAMMaADI, SALEH ALMANSOUR,
JEHAD Hassan, Ayap HASSAN, MOHAMMED BAKRAD,
KOTYBAH AZUAR, MEDHAT JAssIM ALSooRI, SAEED
SALEM AL Baap, MOHAMMED ALISALEH ALAKAR,
SALEM ALKAABI, ANGELOS Pappas, MOHAMMED ALI,
Hussan SAYED HASHEM, THE MINISTRY OF DEFENSE
OF THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES, STATE OF THE
UNITED ARAB EMIRATES,

COMPLAINT FOR DAMAGES

MCI Telecommunications Corporation (“MCI”), by
and through its counsel of record, complains against the
individual defendants named above, the Ministry of De-

32a

fense of The United Emirates (“Ministry of Defense”)
and the State of the United Arab Emirates (“UAE”)
representing as follows:

INTRODUCTION

1. This is an action for injury suffered by MCI as a
result of the activities of the individual defendants in
their capacity as agents for the Ministry of Defense and
the UAE in conspiring to defraud MCI in connection
with their obtaining long distance telephone service and
converting property of MCI and the refusal of the UAE
to ensure payment of the services incurred as required
under a written agreement entered into between the United
States Department of Defense and the UAE. It is also
an action against the individual defendants, the Ministry
of Defense and the UAE for money damages suffered by
MCI on the basis of services provided to the individual
defendants and for damages suffered by MCI as the result
of representations made by the UAE with respect to the
payment for telephone services improperly obtained by
the individual defendants.

PARTIES

2. MCI is a Delaware corporation organized and exist-
ing under the laws of the state of Delaware with its cor-
porate offices located at 1133 19th Street, N.W., Wash-
ington, D.C. 20036. MCI is duly authorized to do busi-
ness within the state of Texas and at all times pertinent
to the Complaint was conducting business within the
state.

3. Upon information and belief, CAPTAIN SUBHI
ALHADHOOD is an officer in the armed forces of the
UAE who is or was previously assigned to the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss,
El Paso, Texas.

4. Upon information and belief, CAPTAIN AL-
BOUSHI is an officer in the armed forces of the UAE

33a

who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battalion,
Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

5. Upon information and belief, CAPTAIN MUS-
TASA IBRAHIM is an officer in the armed forces of the
UAE who is or was previously assigned to the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss,
El Paso, Texas.

6. Upon information and belief, MAJOR AHMED
ABBAS is an officer in the armed forces of the UAE who
is or was previously assigned to the Student Battalion,
Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

7. Upon information and belief, MAJOR MOHAM-
MED SAID HASSAN is an officer in the armed forces
of the UAE who is or was previously assigned to the
Student Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE, at Fort
- Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

8. Upon information and belief, SERGEANT MO-
HAMMED SAEED is a member in the armed forces of
the UAE who is or was previously assigned to the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss,
El Paso, Texas.

9. Upon information and belief, SERGEANT AB-
DULLAH AL-SHAMSI is a member in the armed forces
of the UAE who is or was previously assigned to the
Student Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort
Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

10. Upon information and belief, SERGEANT ALI
SALEM SIEF is a member of the armed forces of the
UAE who is or was previously assigned to the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss,
El Paso, Texas.

11. Upon information and belief, PRIVATE MO-
HAMMED SAEED is a member of the armed forces of

34a

the UAE who is or was previously assigned to the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss,
El Paso, Texas.

12. Upon information and belief, PRIVATE ABDUL-
LATEAF is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battalion,
Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

13. Upon information and belief, PRIVATE KHLFAN
is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who is or
was previously assigned to the Student Battalion, Air
Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

14. Upon information and _ belief, PRIVATE
KHALED is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battal-
ion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

15. Upon information and belief, ABDULLA ABDUL
ALHAMMADI is a member of the armed forces of the
UAE who is or was previously assigned to the Student
Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss,
El Paso, Texas.

16. Upon information and belief, SALEH ALMAN-
SOUR is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who
is Or was previously assigned to the Student Battalion,
Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

17. Upon information and belief, JEHAD HASSAN
is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who is or
was previously assigned to the Student Battalion, Air
Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

18. Upon information and belief, AYAD HASSAN
is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who is or
was previously assigned to the Student Battalion, Air
Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

35a

19. Upon information and belief, MOHAMMED
BAKRAD is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battal-
ion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

20. Upon information and belief, KOTYBAH
AZUAR is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battal-
ion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

21. Upon information and belief, MEDHAT JASSIM
ALSOORI is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battal-
ion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

22. Upon information and belief, SAEED SALEM
AL BAAD is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
- who is or was previously asigned to the Student Battalion,
Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

23. Upon information and belief, MOHAMMED
ALISALEH ALAKAR is a member of the armed forces
of the UAE who is or was previously assigned to the
Student Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort
Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

24. Upon information and belief, SALEM ALKAABI
is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who is or
was previously assigned to the Student Battalion, Air
Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

25. Upon information and belief, ANGELOS PAP-
PAS is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who
is Or was previously assigned to the Student Battalion,
Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

26. Upon information and belief, MOHAMMED ALI
is a member of the armed forces of the UAE who is or

36a

was previously assigned to the Student Battalion, Air De-
fense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas.

27. Upon information and belief, HUSSAN SAYED
HASHEM is a member of the armed forces of the UAE
who is or was previously assigned to the Student Battal-
ion, Air Defense Command, UAE at Fort Bliss, El Paso,
Texas.

28. THE MINISTRY OF DEFENSE is an agency or
instrumentaiity of the UAE. The Student Battalion, Air
Defense Command, UAE is, upon information and belief,
a component of the UAE armed forces under the direct
control of the Ministry of Defense. The Student Battal-
ion, Air Defense Command, UAE is presently located
at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas, and the above-referenced
individuals are or have been assigned to the Student Bat-
talion in connection with their status as members of the
armed forces of the UAE.

29. THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES is a foreign
state which maintains personnel, agencies and instruinen-
talities within the United States.

JURISDICTION

30. This Court has jurisdiction over this action with
respect to the individual defendants pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1332(a)(2), in that the individual defendants are, upon
information and belief, citizens or subjects of a foreign
state and the amount in dispute exceeds $10,000. This
Court has jurisdiction over the Ministry of Defense and
the UAE pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1330(a) in that the
Ministry of Defense is an agency or instrumentality of
the UAE and the UAE is a foreign state which, under
28 U.S.C. § 1605-1607, is not entitled to immunity for
the acts complained of herein.

31. Venue in this Court with respect to the individual
defendants is appropriate pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1391
(a) and (d) in that this is the district in which the claims

a ee ee ee en ee mr

37a

arose and, upon information and belief, each of the in-
dividual defendants is an alien. Venue in this Court is
appropriate as to the Ministry of Defense and the UAE
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1391(f)(1), in that this is the
district in which a substantial portion of the events giving
rise to this action occurred.

FACTS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS

32. MCI is engaged in the business of selling long
distance telephone services to the general public. Among
the telephone services which MCI makes available to its
customers is a service known as “MCI Dial-Up Service”.
Customers who subscribe to this service agree to pay a
prescribed rate for telephone calls made by them through
this service and such customers are provided by MCI
with a unique, confidential code number (the “authoriza-
tion code”) which enables them to enter into the system.

33. B entering an authorization code into MCTI’s
cyumputer records through the key-pad of a touch tone
telephone, MCI customers may obtain long distance tele-
phone service to any foreign country throughout the
world and to any area within the United States. Once an
authorization code is activated, charges for long distance
calls made by an authorized customer will be billed by
MCT to that customer’s account.

34. Upon information and belief, beginning in approx-
imately October, 1986, officers and enlisted men of the
Student Battalion, Air Defense Command, UAE (“Stu-
dent Battalion, UAE”) at Fort Bliss, Texas, including the
above named defendants and others, came into possession
of one or more MCI authorization codes without the
knowledge, consent or authorization of MCI (the “un-
authorized codes” ).

35. At or about the same time, the officers and en-
listed men of the Student Battalion, UAE and others came
into possession of a number for a maintenance circuit
within the MCI telephone system without the knowledge,

38a

consent or authorization of MCI (the “unauthorized cir-
cuit”). Because telephone calls made through a mainte-
nance circuit are not charged to a customer of MCI, the
telephone calls made by the officers and enlisted men of
the Student Battalion, UAE and others using the un-
authorized code numbers and entered through the mainte-
nance circuit went undetected for a substantial period of
time.

36. On or about August 17, 1987, MCT first began
to investigate the high level of calling activity through the
maintenance circuit which had been noted by MCI per-
sonnel and which could not be attributed to a particular
customer. In connection with its investigation of a poten-
tial unauthorized use of MCI’s facilities, MCI obtained a
trap trace through Southwestern Bell Telephone Company
which revealed that telephone calls using the unauthorized
codes and unauthorized circuit were being made from
telephones maintained in the names of the individual de-
fendants, other telephones located at the Student Battal-
ion, UAE at Fort Bliss, as well as telephones maintained
by other individuals in the El Paso community. In addi-
tion, as a result of its investigation, MCI was able to
establish that during the period from October, 1986
through March, 1988, more than $1,500,000 in calls
using the unauthorized codes and unauthorized circuit
were placed from the El Paso, Texas area to the UAE
and other overseas locations.

37. Because the unauthorized codes were being utilized
in connection with an unauthorized circuit, the unauthor-
ized telephone activity was not easily detectable and MCI
had no reasonable basis to suspect that its facilities were
being improperly and illegally utilized until it began its
investigation in August of 1987. During the period from
August, 1987 through March, 1988, MCI undertook vari-
ous measures to prevent individuals who had obtained
access to the unauthorized codes from utilizing such codes
in the MCT system.

Role ere + APA

OO le 8 AS alge NB NE BEA, OBIE GME ER AEE GE A CL * Sp Rs IGG CELE LER DOME LIE 8 GSA ipl M8 Sy

39a

38. The officers and enlisted men of the Student Bat-
talion, UAE agreed to and used one or more of the
unauthorized codes and the unauthorized circuit to obtain
long distance telephone services without paying MCI for
the services and with the intent not to pay for these
services.

39. Upon information and belief, the officers and en-
listed men of the Student Battalion, UAE, and others at
various times gave and transferred the unauthorized code
numbers and instructions on their use to other persons,
both known and unknown, who used the unauthorized
code numbers to obtain long distance telephone services
for themselves from MCI without paying for such serv-
ices. Upon information and belief, those same individuals
gave and transferred the unauthorized code numbers and
instructions on their use to other individuals who also
used the unauthorized code numbers to obtain phone
services and/or transferred the unauthorized code num-
bers in a continuing chain of unauthorized use.

40. Each use of one of the unauthorized code num-
bers described above constituted a representation to MCI
by the user that he was a duly authorized user of the
account to which the authorization code was assigned and
that the service obtained from MCI through such an au-
thorization code would be paid. In reliance upon this
implied representation, MCI was induced to provide, with-
out compensation, long distance telephone services for
which it is entitled to receive compensation in an amount
which is yet unknown but which exceeds the minimal
jurisdictional limits of this Court.

41. On September 23, 1986 the UAE entered into a
contract with the United States Department of Defense
for the training of the members of the UAE Armed
Forces (“Agreement”). Note 5 to the Agreement pro-
vided that the UAE would ensure prompt payment of any
personal expenses incurred by its officers and enlisted men
in the United States.

40a

42. The actions by the officers and the enlisted men
of the Student Battalion, UAE in obtaining long distance
phone services through the use of unauthorized access
codes and the UAE’s agreement to ensure payment of
personal expenses incurred by its officers and enlisted
men constitute commercial activity of the Ministry of
Defense and the UAE undertaken by its duly authorized
agents.

43. As a result of the actions of the officers and en-
listed men of the Student Battalion, UAE, MCI has in-
curred, in addition to the cost of the unauthorized
services, additional costs, including, without limitation,
costs for replacement of authorization codes which it
would not have incurred but for the aforementioned
conduct.

COUNT I

CONSPIRACY TO DEFRAUD

44. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations of para-
graphs 1-43 as if specifically set forth herein.

45. The officers and enlisted men of the Student Bat-
talion, UAE, acting in their canacity as agents of the
Ministry of Defense and the UAE, as well as others, con-
spired together to defraud MCI by obtaining and utilizing
access codes for MCI telephone service which they knew
were unauthorized, by making the unauthorized codes
available to other individuals, by concealing their actions
from MCI and by continuing the conspiracy at MCI’s
expense.

46. Defendants and the other persons to whom un-
authorized code numbers were transferred knew that MCI
would not provide the long distance telephone services,
if MCI knew that the telephone services were being ob-
tained through the use of the unauthorized codes and the
unauthorized circuit.

47. Defendants, and the other persons to whom the
unauthorized code numbers were transferred, conspired

4la

to misrepresent and conceal the use of the unauthorized
codes and the unauthorized circuit from MCI in order
to obtain unlawfully long distance telephone services from

MCI without paying MCI for the telephone services.

48. Defendants, and the other persons to whom the
unauthorized code numbers were transferred, continue to
participate in the conspiracy by attempting to conceal the
existence of the conspiracy from MCI.

49. As a direct and proximate result of the conspiracy
and the acts of the individual defendants, MCI has suf-
fered damage for which each of the individual defendants,
the Ministry of Defense and the UAE are jointly and
severally liable to MCI in an amount equal to the cost
of the services provided by MCI.

50. In addition, because defendants knowingly, inten-
tionally and maliciously sought to defraud MCI, MCI is
entitled to recover punitive damages in an amount to be
determined by the trier of fact.

COUNT II
CONSPIRACY TO CONVERT PROPERTY OF MCI

51. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations of para-
graphs 1-50 as if specifically set forth herein.

52. The officers and enlisted men of the Student Bat-
talion, UAE, acting in their Capacity as agents of the
Ministry of Defense and the UAE, conspired together to
unlawfully convert property of MCI by exercising domin-
ion over such property and placing unauthorized calls
through MCT’s long distance telephone system, by conceal-
ing their actions from MCI and by continuing the con-
spiracy at MCI’s expense.

53. Each authorization code is the property of MCI
and MCT is the leasee or owner of certain equipment and
facilities through which the long distance calls were placed
by each individual defendant and each of the other per-

42a

sons to whom the unauthorized code numbers as described
above were transmitted.

54. Each use of the unauthorized code numbers of
MCI equipment and facilities as described above consti-
tuted an unlawful and unauthorized act of dominion over
the property of MCI inconsistent with the rights of MCI.

55. Defendants, and others to whom the unauthorized
codes were transferred, continue to participate in the con-
spiracy to convert property of MCI by attemtping to con-
ceal the existence of the conspiracy from MCI.

56. As a direct and proximate result of the con-
spiracy to convert property of MCI, MCI has suffered
damages for which each individual defendant, the Min-
istry of Defense and the UAE are jointly and severally
liable to MCI in an amount equal to the cost of the serv-
ices provided by MCI.

57. In addition, because defendants knowingly, inten-
tionally and maliciously sought to convert property of
MCI, MCI is entitled to recover punitive damages in an
amount to be determined by the trier of fact.

COUNT Iii

AIDING AND IN ABETTING FRAUD
AND CONVERSION

58. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations of para-
graphs 1-57 as if specifically set forth herein.

59. Having received unauthorized codes, the officers
and enlisted men of the Student Battalion, UAE had ac-
tual knowledge that the codes were unauthorized and that
use of the codes constituted a fraud against MCI and
conversion of its property. By agreeing to and by trans-
ferring the unauthorized code numbers and instructions
on their use to other individuals, both known and un-
known, the individual defendants substantially aided and
abetted these other individuals in defrauding MCI and
converting property belonging to MCI.

43a

60. The individual defendants acted knowingly in
aiding and abetting other individuals to defraud MCI and
to convert its property.

61. MCI was injured as a direct and proximate result
of the defendants’ tortuous activity and MCI has suffered
damages for which each individual defendant, the Min-
istry of Defense and the UAE are jointly and severally
liable to MCI in an amount equal to the cost of the
services provided by MCI.

62. In addition, because defendants knowingly and
intentionally aided and abetted others to defraud MCI
and convert its property, MCI is entitled to recover puni-
tive damages in an amount to be determined by the trier
of fact.

COUNT IV

FRAUD

63. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations set forth
in paragraphs 1-62 as if specifically set forth herein.

64. Each of the individual defendants herein repre-
sented to MCI that he was a duly authorized user of its
authorization codes and that the services obtained from
MCT through such use would be paid.

65. These material representations to MCI were false
when made and were known by the individual defendants
to be false at the time they obtained long distance tele-
phone services through the use of the unauthorized code
numbers.

66. Each individual defendant misrepresented said
material facts to MCI for the specific purpose of induc-
ing MCI to provide long distance telephone services
without paying MCI for the services.

67. MCI reasonably relied upon the material misrep-
resentations of each individual defendant by providing
long distance telephone services to each such defendant.

44a

68. As a direct and proximate result of the material
misrepresentation of each individual defendant, MCI has
suffered damages for which each individual defendant, the
Ministry of Defense and the UAE are jointly and severally
liable to MCI in an amount equal to the cost of the
services provided by MCI.

69. In addition, because defendants knowingly, inten-
tionally and maliciously made such misrepresentations,
MCT is entitled to recover punitive damages in an amount
to be determined by the trier of fact.

COUNT V
CONVERSION

70. MCI repeats and realleges the allegation set forth
in paragraphs 1-69 as if specifically set forth herein.

71. Each authorization code utilized by the individual
defendants is the property of MCI.

72. Each use of the unauthorized codes constituted an
unlawful and unauthorized act of dominion over the prop-
erty of MCI inconsistent with the rights of MCI. As a
result of these activities, each of the individual defendants
has converted and/or misappropriated the property of
MCT to his own use and benefit.

73. As a direct and proximate result of the activities
of the defendants, MCI has suffered damages for which
each individual defendant, the Ministry of Defense and
the UAE are jointly and severally liable to MCI in an
amount equal to the cost of the services provided by MCI.

74. In addition, because defendants acted knowingly,
intentionally and maliciously, MCI is entitled to punitive

damages in an amount to be determined by the trier of
fact.

45a

COUNT VI

QUANTUM MERUIT

75. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations set forth
in paragraphs 1-74 as if specifically set forth herein.

76. During the period from October of 1986 through
March of 1988, MCI provided long distance telephone
Services to each of the individual defendants at the re-
quest of various members of the Student Battalion, UAE,
and each of the officers and enlisted men in their capacity
as agents of the Ministry of Defense and the UAE im-
plicitly agreed to pay MCI the charges lawfully imposed
for services pursuant to tariffs duly filed.

77. During the period from October of 1986 through
March of 1988, the individual defendants, in their capac-
ities as officers and enlisted men of the Student Battalion,
UAE, enjoyed the benefits of long distance telephone
services provided to them by MCI. Each individual de-
fendant, the Ministry of Defense and the UAE has failed
to and refused to pay MCI for the services provided to
the officers and enlisted men of the Student Battalion,
UAE.

78. As a direct result thereof, MCI has suffered dam-
ages for which each individual defendant, the Ministry of
Defense and the UAE is jointly and severally liable to
MCI in an amount equal to the value of the services pro-
vided by MCI.

COUNT VII

MONEY DUE AND OWING

79. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations set forth
in paragraphs 1-78 as if specifically set forth herein.

80. Pursuant to Note 5 of the Agreement between the
UAE and the United States Department of Defense, the
UAE agreed to ensure payment of personal expenses in-
curred by individuals training in the United States under
the Agreement.

46a

81. During the period from October 26, 1986 through
March 1988, the individual defendants, in their capacities
as officers and enlisted men of the Student Battalion, UAE
enjoyed the benefits of long distance telephone service
provided by MCI. Despite demand, the UAE has failed
to ensure payment to MCI for the services provided to the
officers and enlisted men of the Student Battalion, UAE
as represented in the Agreement between the UAE and
the United States Department of Defense.

82. As a direct result thereof, MCI has suffered dam-
ages for which the UAE is liable to MCI in an amount
equal to the value of the services provided by MCI.

COUNT VIII
PROMISSORY ESTOPPEL

83. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations set forth
in paragraphs 1-82 as if specifically set forth herein.

84. MCI having discovered, as a result of its investi-
gation, that the officers and enlisted men of the Student
Battalion, UAE made extensive use of unauthorized codes
to place long distance telephone calls through MCI’s
communications system, MCI in early 1988 sought to
obtain restitution directly from the UAE.

85. In January of 1988, representatives of MCI’s In-
ternational Division met with The Honorable Ahmed
Al-Mokarrab, the UAE Ambassador to the United States.
At this meeting, the Ambassador told the representatives
of MCI that, if the unauthorized telephone calls were
attributable to the members of the Student Battalion,
UAE, the UAE would assume responsibility for the un-
authorized telephone services and pay MCI for such
services. At the same time, the Ambassador requested
that MCI take no further legal action with respect to this
matter and, instead, that it forward to the Ambassador
information relating to its investigation and its claim

|

RES alg Yar pn re pee 2

47a

that the unauthorized calls were placed by officers and
enlisted men of the Student Battalion, UAE.

86. These representations were reaffirmed by the Am-
bassador and by Colonel Mubarak, the military attache
for the UAE, between January 1988 and June 1988.

87. As a result of the representations made by Am-
bassador Al-Mokarrab and Colonel Mubarak, MCI re-
frained from continuing to pursue its legal rights against
the officers and enlisted men in the Student Battalion,
UAE and the UAE.

88. In July 1988, a further meeting was held be-
tween representatives of MCI and The Honorable Ahmed
Al-Mokarrab and Colonel Mubarak. At this meeting the
Ambassador requested that MCI refrain from taking ac-
tion in the case for another month in order for the
Ambassador to attempt to finally resolve the matter. In
or about August 1988, the UAE informed MCI that the
UAE would not honor its agreement to MCI that it
would assume responsibility for the use of the unau-
thorized codes by the officers and enlisted men of the
Student Battalion, UAE, as previously represented.

89. Having agreed to assume responsibility for and
pay for the unauthorized calls attributable to the officers
and enlisted men of the Student Battalion, UAE, the
UAE is bound by the actions of Ambassador Al-Mokarrab
and Colonel Mubarak, and MCI is entitled to recovery
from the UAE an amount equal to the cost of the services
provided by MCI.

COUNT IX
IMPLIED CONTRACT

90. MCI repeats and realleges the allegations set forth
in paragraphs 1-89 as if specifically set forth herein.

91. Having specifically agreed to assume responsibility
for and to pay for the unauthorized calls attributable

48a

to the officers and enlisted men of the Student Battalion,
UAE, the UAE assumed full responsibility for the unau-
thorized telephone service and MCI is entitled to recover
from the UAE an amount equal to the value of the
services provided by MCI.

WHEREFORE, MCI prays this Court to enter judg-
ment as follows:

A. As to Counts I-VI, MCI demands the follow-
ing relief against each of the individual defendants,
the Ministry of Defense and the UAE jointly and
severally:

1. Money damages in excess of $1,500,000
and in such amount as will be determined at

trial;

2. Punitive damages in an amount to be deter-
mined at trial;

3. Attorney’s fees, pre-judgment interest and
costs;

4. Such other and further relief as this Court
shall deem appropriate and just.

B. As to Counts VII-[IX, MCI demands the fol-
lowing relief against the UAE:

1. Damages in an amount in excess of
$1,500,000 and in such amount as will be
determined at trial; and

2. Attorney’s fees, pre-judgment interest and
costs;

3. Such other and further relief as this Court
shall deem appropriate and just.

49a
Respectfully submitted,

MCI Telecommunications Corporation

LAXALT, WASHINGTON, PERITO & Dusuc

By: /s/ John P. Wintrol
JOHN P. WINTROL
Robert E. Pokusa
1120 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 857-4000

and

ScoTT, HULSE, MARSHALL, FEUILLE,
FINGER & THURMOND, P.C.

By: /s/ Stuart R. Schwartz
STUART R. SCHWARTZ
Texas Commerce Bank Building
11th Floor
201 E. Main Street
El Paso, Texas 79901
(915) 533-2493

50a

JURY DEMAND

Plaintiff demands a trial by jury as to all appropriate
claims and issues.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1481%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
