# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pruitt v. National Casualty Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1364%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 950

## Text

, Supreme Court, U.S
a. Op
x JUN 21 1996
‘ No. 96-313
(
In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1996

James Pruitt
Petitioner

v.

National Casualty InsuranceCompany

On the Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To The Appellate Court,
of Illinois, Third District

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

James Pruitt
Petitioner

304 N. Broadway
Joliet, Illinois 60435
(815) 723-7586

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Do the following democrations indicate offer, acceptance,
consideration, breach and damages?

Approximately 3:30 p.m. on February 13, 1992,
Respondent for a valuable consideration, through David
McElwee, Agent from O'Dell and Wathan Insurance Agency,
Inc., entered into an agreement in writing with Petitioner, a
copy of it is attached, marked "Exhibit E" and made a part of
this petition. In it, Petitioner and Respondent agreed that
Respondent wouid insure Petitioner's property (building) and
personal property (contents) against loss by fire. Petitioner on
his part agreed to pay a down payment and balance of
premium in monthly installments. Petitioner has performed all
the conditions of the agreement on his part to be performed.

Respondent has failed to perform the agreement in that
he failed to pay $75,000 for damage to the subject building,
$50,000 for damage to Petitioners personal property and
weekly lost net business profit, or any part of that sum,
although payment demanded by Petitioner are proper.

Petitioner has been damaged by the loss of two

businesses, the use of settlement proceeds, the earned interest
from settlement proceeds and had to incur substantial court
cost to bring forth this suit to recover said insurance benefits to
which he is rightfully entitled.

2. Whether the Appellate Court of Illinois Third District
exceeded it's reviewing authority or otherwise erred in finding
that executing of the insurance contract and delivered by
Respondent to Petitioner before March 14, 1992, constituted
the only act to which the Respondent is obligated to pay
petitioner for loss of building, personal property, and loss
profits. Specifically, whether the Appellate Court applied an
improper standard or otherwise erred upholding the decision
of the Trial Court, without regard to the Illinois Insurance
Codes and based it's decision solely on the Court's reading of
the defense counsel, the two police officers, and the two
expert fire investigators histories. And in failing to set aside
the Trial Court's Judgment in favor of the Respondent and
review the case according to Illinois Civil Appellate Practice,

the Illinois Insurance Codes, the usual course of judicial
proceeding and other appeal courts on the same.

3. Whether the Trial Court abused its discretion by denying
Petitioner's Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict
or otherwise erred when Petitioner submitted all fact evidence
to indicate the Respondent's breach of said multi-peril contract.
4. Whether the Trial Court exceeded its reviewing authority
or otherwise erred in denying Petitioner's Motion for New
Trial when: all of the deliverations of the jury were tainted by
improper remarks, (by defense counsel and his withesses) or
prejudicial consideration and the court's failing to determine
that the findings of the Jury was unreasonable, arbitrary and
not based upon any of the evidence.

5. Whether the Appellate Court exceeded its reviewing
authority or otherwise erred by, considering the conflict
testimonies by the Respontent's witnesses only in it's review,
and not reviewing the facts evidence submitted to the courts
according to the Supreme Court Rules, Illinois Insurance codes
and codes of Judicial proceeding as other cases of the same

ili

has been decided.

6. Why should the respondent's Bill Of Cost be taxed
against petitioner when the courts disregarded the documents
provided by petitioner to the courts, and with disregard for the
documentation provided by petitioner to the respondent, did
unreasonable and vexatious deny said claim for property loss
in direct violation and breach of said multi-peril insurance
policy and the Illinois Revised Statutes, and result of said
vexatious deny, petitioner has had to incur substantial legal
expenses and costs to bring this suit to recover said insurance

benefits to which he is nghtful entitle.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceeding in the UNITED STATES
SUPREME COURT are those in the caption, except for the
respondent, Thomas J. Finn, represented the respondent in
Illinois Trial Court of the Twelfth District No. 93L88 and the
same in the Appellate Court of Illinois Third District No.

3-95-0221.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(QUES TILING FIREONE EID s vscnccvscscnscscssccnnnnncensnsetecsezanesens I
PARTIES FO THE PROCEEDINGS........cesesessosssscossseneeses Vv
Fame WIE PAL) BRIO Beeb vn catcsansccceccsncscecesesshinnaseapiastinnes X

STATE STATUES, REGULATIONS, GUIDELINES,

PU cinalcayiceanussadsccodasdcbatccdecsous shbndeaeecacnteneabeuleeueaeainabatien XI

PA sc sin asieusatinsenevecciecamereectsinstbaeoiasinlenereael XI
PE GAD NED SUMNI WY cncevensicnsvennacanness shsnbeuineninchiconsineaeabinenes ]
BASIS FOR JURISDICTION..................0006 snievepniinbenmaiehaien 3
PR FEE RCE GO CRUE Ce eiccnsessicvssnssnsinnsvsorenesssectuomnievanll
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............c::cceeeseeeees 7

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF THE LAW ABOUT THE
EXTENT TO WHICH CONSISTENT WITH
THE FEDERAL RULES, ILLINOIS CIVIL
APPELLATE PRACTICE CODES, ILLINOIS
INSURANCE CODES, THE UNUSUAL
COURSE OF JUDICIAL PROCEEDING

APPLIED TO ALL CIVIL CASES, BUT THE

OUT COME OF THIS CASE IS DIFFERENT,

ey

TABLE OF CONTENTS- ( CONTINUED)
a. The Appellate Court of Ilinois Third District Erred in
Failing to Make a Separate Determination of the Trial
Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit, that the Insurance
Policy Indicated Offer, Acceptance, and Consideration
Provisions, and Plaintiff's Statement Cause of Action
as Evidence.
Ht THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS THIRD
DISTRICT ERRED IN AFFIRMING THE JUDGMENT
ENTERED BY THE TRIAL COURT OF ILLINOIS
TWELFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IN FAVOR OF THE
DEFENDANT AND IN FAILING TO DETERMINE
WHETHER THE VERDICT WAS IN ACCORDANCE
WITH THE PLEADING SET FORTH IN............0cccce0000- 13
A. Plaintiff's Complaint, "Breach of Contract”:
B. The Defendant's Rejected Proof of Loss Statemtns
and Letter of Pleadings Exhibit [, ................ pp. 89 -91
fil THE APPELLATE COURT DECISION UPHOLDING
THE JUDGMENT OF THE CIRCUIT COURT OF WILL

vii

TABLE OF CONTENTS (CONTINUED)
COUNTY, ILLINOIS CONFLICTS WITH PRECEDENTS
OF ILLINOIS CIVIL APPELLATE PRACTICE, ILLINOIS
INSURANCE CODES, AND PRECEDENTS OF THIS
RIN Wi sinsictban aietbaichacsLakslaciiven soectnuanscpemabeeeeneatecesssoiegid paaiieaesoiaat 19
A. The Appellate Court Erred in Failing to Make a
Separate Determination of Whether the Conflicting
Testimonies by the Defendant's Witnesses were within the
Complaint and Pleadings of the Case where there was no
Evidence Submitted by the Witnesses or the Defendant of the
Alleged Objections and Refusal to Pay Over the Insurance
PR I oasis Bisssh csdsicienictanerinnsadtoaeaiee cabiees 19
B. The Appellate Court Erred in Upholding the Judgment
Entered by the Trial Court in Favor of the Defendant. And in
Failing to Make a Separate Determination of Whether "All of
the Evidence, when Viewed in its Aspect Most Favorable to
the Opponent, So Overwhelmingly Favors Movant that no

Contrart Verdict on that Evidence Could Ever Stand", and....... 24

TABLE OF CONTENTS - (CONTINUED)

Contrary Verdict Based on that Evidence Could Ever Stand”,

aS The Appellate Court Erred in Upholding that the Trial
Court Property Denied Plaintiff's Motion for New Trial when
the Finding of the Jury was Unreasonable, Arbitrary and not
Based upon any of the Evidence...........cccccccceceeceeeseeses.... 26
IV. ASIDE FROM THE DOCTRINAL IMPORTANCE
OF THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED, AN ADDITIONAL
REASON TO GRANT THE PETITION IS THE
DRAMATIC IMPACT THE DECISION BELOW WILL
HAVE ON THE ENTIRE COURT'S DECISION OF AN
INSURANCE COMPANY'S EXECUTING AND
DELIVERING AN INSURANCE CONTRACT, AND
REFUSAL TO PAY OVER THE POLICY PROCEEDS.
THIS COURT'S DECISIONS UPHOLDING THE
ILLINOIS'S INSURANCE CODE, AND THE USUAL
COURSE OF APPELLANT PROCEEDINGS ARE
ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS. ........cccccccesccoseseeeeesce.. 28

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

U.S. - Hall v. Time Insurance Co., M.D. GA., 671 F. Supp.

Latex Glove Co., Inc., v. Alfred J. Giraen, 146 Ill. App. 3d
GR, BT, BE, BoB cresccccsncctcnasttnnniitetvitininnnmensnichinpiiniis 7
Rodney K. Mohr v. Dix Mutual County Fire Insurance
Company, 143 Ill App. 3d 989, 97 Til. Dec. 831.................... 8
Beddow v. Hicks, 303 Il. App. 247, 25 N.E. 2d 93............... 8
F.E. Homes & Son Const. Co., Inc., v. Giualdoni, Electric
Service, Inc. 61 Ill. Dec. 883; 435 N.E. 2d 724, 105 Il App......8
City of Cleveland v. Petr Kiewit Sons’ Co., 624 F. 2d 749 (6th
RR Fee cecnscncenssocanentnsnanisnemisndescnnsebiemonstdennnians ebiinepinnennin 11
Harms v. Zurich Insurance Co., 527 F 2d $28 (8th Cir. 1975)..11
Peterson v. Durand Farmers Mkt. Five Insurance Co., 30..3 IL
U.S. - Time Oil Co.v. Cigna Property & Casualty Insurance Co.,
SecA COMg SUP Es CUMNIA iO linctnnessctncsereneechenthsousesteuionepusen 13
PL | a

Evidence 222 (1)

ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - (CONTINUED)
Villa, 202 Ill. App. 3d at 1089, 148 Ill. Dec. 372, 560 N.E. 2d
969; Accord Topp v. Logan (1990), 197 Ill. App 3d 285, 298,
143 Ill. Dec. $19, 554 N.E. 2d 454; Monier v. Winkler
(1987), 158 Il. App. 3d 724, 729, 110 IL Dec. 411. $11,
PRE GH te isieneicbndinnnpaidiibatibiiaincicbcscmatiiie sen in et 18
MO. - Continental Casualty Co. v. Monarch Transfer &
Storage Co., 23 S. W. 2d 209; Vt. - Aseltine v. Perry, 54 A.
190, 75 Vt. 208; U.S. - Gilbane v. Fidelity & kCasualty Co. of
N. Yn., R.L, 163 F. 673, 90 C.C.A. 265; Neb - Bleicher v.
Heater, 4 N.W. 2d 897, 141 Neb. 787..0.0....-ccccccccceseceecees. 19
Frank A. Queen et al. v. Vermont Mutual Insurance
Company, 32 Mass. App. Ct. 343..........cccccccccccessoseccoceeeee. 20

R. Stern and E. Gressman, Supreme Court Practice 208-09

Ly Ser OMG ee 21
GF SER CCR EE Medan ed eee 12
Ag BERSRRSUA LA ee Gee PR sen ees 11
ot Sy 08 SAR aeese A. aaNet UIE af 12
OI 12

TABLE OF AUTHRORITIES- (CONTINUED)

I a idee a sea 7
NRIIED Th IU isrssensscsnichcisenicsenessaitvichesaninniehciiesnsieheiathtbaniblacaipidiiediia diets 13
UINEE TITER. SERIE BD cincccikncctinirinehesnindsiedebscnniosiianieadietitiate tabla 6
Se | aera smn eve Paras Ny se Te 6
SG Bee ecnscttvenisausricnnsnintnssinnceneendiinnidebitinignintieaiinmblaeidaua: 7
I Be Ge cectetnsncsuvinsctcciencestcnieaiaeieundcamaeasna ine 19
IN Tie viinistinascnesnishhsnepsnaatinnisiaantagspatinemicsamainainnn 13
8 ne ee RI SO NY fue ene 13
Pe RUNING BR cicicicsmncniconiceann adovsbianiasualiaiiaiiiials 12
RED: FOR ennernrienssernianiohiaaaaaaaaaa 10
PENI GRE D .cesaininuinerstnirinneneestnnianintitetndatniaaiaanae 7
SOIR WET 8 Diinrceenssxscersnnecennssunnenianennninenanbanaaiiane 7
EINE STI A FF cctsvesionsersywinsrantntsvinsinaacininaiaesiaemeanen 8
IRIN GER. OO C8 vnrcisanrermnttsennenhaeniniiaaees x

AGOOTE SRG NET FEE CE is oicccsicsiccomnrerraaa 12

TABLE OF CONTENTS (CONTINUED)
APPENDICES:

A ORDER OF APPELLATE COURT... App. 1
Files November 16, 1995

B PETITION FOR REHEARING............... App. 11
Filed December 4, 1995

C APPELLATE COURT DENIED PETITION FOR

Filed December 30, 1995

E PETITION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL... App. 46
Filed January 11, 1996

F THE SUPREME COURT NOTICE, NENIED

a cscs csscsssecsansess........ App. 72
Filed April 2, 1996

G PLAINTIFF'S COMPLAINT....................., App. 73

Filed July14, 1993

TABLE OF CONTENTS (CONTINUED)
H AMENDED COMPLAINT........:.:s:ssesseesssesseeeses App. 75
Filed September 27, 1993 27, 1993
I RESPONDENT'S PLEADING. .........ccscessessees0eeee App. 88
Filed, October 28, 1992
3 POST Wanal TION sect App. 93
Filed February 22, 1995

K CIRCUIT CLERK DENYING POST TRIAL MOTION

Filed March 6, 1995

OPINIONS BELOW

On February 8, 1995 , the Will County Circuit Court
granted Respondent, National Casualty Insurance Company a
Jury Verdict against Petitioner's complaint which sets forth
Cause of Action for Breach of Contract. Petitioner, filed a
Notice to Respondent for post-trial or a new trial February 22,
1994, and filed Motion for a Post Trial or an New Trial and
Judgment Notwithstanding Verdict on February 22, 1995. On
March 3, 1995, an Amended Motion was filed. On March 6,
1995, Petitioner's Post Trial Motion, Motion for a New Trial
and Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding Verdict was
denied. On March 27, 1995, a Notice of Appeal was filed.

On November 16, 1995, the Appellate Court of the Third
District, Will County, Illinois affirmed the judgment of Trial
Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Will County Dlinois, A
true and Accurate copy of Opinion is attached, AL. EX. A. P.

1-8.

On December 4, 1995, a Petition for Rehearing was
filed in the Appellate Court. A true and Accurate copy is
attached PL. EX. B.P.9-19. On December 20, 1995, said

Petition for Rehearing and Certificate of Importance was
denied by the Appellate Court. A true and accurate copy is
attached PL.EX.C. P. 20. On December 30, 1995, Petitioner
filed an Affidavit of Intent to File a Petition for Leave to
Appeal. A true and accurate copy is attached, PL.EX. D.P. 21.
Basis for Jurisdiction
Tire Appellate Court of Illinois Third District affirmed the
decision of the Circuit Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit,
Will County, Llinois November 16, 1995. The Appellate
Court, on December 20, 1995 denied Petition for Rehearing
and Petition for Certificate of Importance. On April 3, 1996,
The Supreme Court of the State of Illinois Denied Petition for
Leave to Appeal. On April 22, 1996, a request was filed with
the Illinois Supreme Court to Stay of Mandate and Notice of
Filing a Wnt of Certiorarito the United States Supreme Court.
The United States Supreme Court has Jurisdiction to
review this Judgment under 28 U.S.C. 1257, which states in
part, “[F]inal" Judgments... renderéd by the highest court of a

2

Basis for Jurisdiction
state in which a decision could be had, may be reviewed by the
Supreme Court by Writ of Certiorari...where any title, right,
privilege, or immunity is... claimed under the Constitution or
Statutes of...the United States." In the present case, a “right under
the Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

compensatory, consequential, and punitive damages for fraud,
vexatious delay in settling his claim, and breach of contract. The
Circuit Court, Will County, Illinois, Edwin B. Grabick, Jr., entered
Judgment in favor of Respondent and Petitioner appealed March
27, 1995, in the Appellate Court of Illinois Third District.

November 16, 1995, the Order of the Court was filed in the
Clerk's Office, Ex. A pp. 1-8.

December 4, 1995, a Petition for Rehearing was filed, Ex. G3

3

pp. 9 - 26.

December 20, 1995, the Appellate Court overruled and denied
Petition. Ex. C. p. 27.

January 11, 1996, a Petition for Leave to Appeal in the State of
Illinois SupremeCourt, eas filed Ex. J.PP. 57 - 75.

Apail 3, 1996, The Supreme Court of Tlinois denied Petition Ex.K. p 76.

Petitioner was for three years, from 1989 - 1992, a business
owner duly organized and existed under the laws of the State of
Illinois. The Petitioner owned and operated a restaurant and lounge
under the nave of "The Other Place” upon the premises and
building located at 738-740 Collins Street, Joliet, Will County,

The Petitioner maintained and had in effect a special multi-peril
insurance policy which on February 13, 1992, approximately 3:30
p.m. at Appellant's business, David McElwee, Agent of O'Dell and
Watham Insurance Agency, Inc. sat together and executed a
contract.

On March 14, 1992, Respondent, National Casualty Insurance
Company executed and delivered to Petitioner his insurance policy

4

No. MP 002 170. Under the terms Respondent insured

Petitioner against loss or damages by fire to the premises
described in the policy in the amount of $75,000 for the
building and $50,000 for personal property of the term of
March 14, 1992, until March 14, 1993.

On April 27, 1992, while the policy was in fulll force, a fire
occured upon the premises and building of the subject
property there by destroying said building, Petitioner's personal
property, and business. The total loss sustained as a result of
this denial was more than the$75,000 for the building and the
$50,000 for insured personal property, the amount of the
policy in force at the time of the fire.

The Petitioner promptly performed all the conditions of
the policy of insurance on his part to be performed, with
giving immediate written notice of such loss and furnishing
swom proof of loss.

On October 28, 1992, six months later, the Respondent
denied the rejected Petitioner's claim for fire loss and property
damage for the following reasons:

5

A. Intentionally setting or procuring the setting of the fire
in question;

At the trial two fire investigation experts testified that the
fire had been started when someone poured flammable liquid
on the floor and ignited the liquid. Laboratory tests were
negative. No witness was called at the trial to testify and no
other evidence or proof was submitted to the Court for this
cause.

B. Falsely swearing in Petitioner's examination under oath;

C. Lack of an insurable interest in the property (building
and contents) at the time of the loss. A true and accurate copy
of Defendant's pleadings is attached as Exhibit J.P. 46 - 48.

This issue of Petitioner's Insurable Interest in the property
was not presented to the jury nor were any jury instructions
regarding this defense tendered, see Trial 251.

No part of the $75,000 for the building nor the $50,000
for Petitioner's personal property, the amount of the insurance
payable under the terms of the policy in case of loss, has been

paid.

As a direct and proximate result of said vexation denied,
Petitioner has lost his businesses, has been denied the sue of
the settlement proceeds, has been denied the interest camed
from said settlement proceeds, and has had to incur substantial

Genial of insurance claim, by filing a complaint for Breach of

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF LAW, ABOUT THE EXTENT TO
WHICH, CONSISTENT WITH THE FEDERAL
RULES, ILLINOIS CIviz. APPELLATE PRACTICE

7

CODES, ILLINOIS INSURANCE CODES, AND THE

USUAL COURSE OF JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS

APPLIED TO ALL CIVIL CASES, BUT, THE

OUTCOME OF THIS CASE IS DIFFERENT.

A The Appellant Court of Illinois Third District Erred in
Failing to Make a Separate Determination of the Trial
Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit, that the Insurance
Policy Indicated Offer, Acceptance and Consideration
as well as Petitioner Performance of all Contractural
Provisions, set forth in the amended complaint as
Evidence, Ex. H., pp. 48 - 53.

This case presents the important question of the Rule,
Insurance § 559, 559 (1), if the Company denies liability for a
loss, and : sfuses to pay it either for that or another reason,
placing it's refusal on a definite ground other than want of

notice and proof of loss or a defect in their form or substance,

it waves the right to insist on the failure to give notice and
make requisite proof as a defense to an action on the policy,

U.S. - Hall v. Time Insurance Co., M.D. Ga., 671 F. Supp.

768; see also Insurance 559 (1), 560 (3), (1).

The Appellate Court failed to determine the denial and delay
of the Respondent case. The Appellate Court overlooked
Illinois Insurance Rule, Contract 332 (1), Complaint which
sets forth cause of action for breach of contract must allege
facts sufficient to indicate offer, acceptance and consideration
as well as Petitioner's performance of all contractural
provisions, fact of Respontent’s alleged breach, and existence
of damages as consequence thereof. The Appellate Court's
failing to apply this rule to this case, conflicted with the
Appellate Court of Illinois First District, Third Division in
Lates Glove Co, Inc. v. Alfred J. Gruen, 146 IIL App. 3d 868,
100 Ill Dec. 488. The Appellate Court of Iinois Third
District decision in the instant case is in conflict with the
Appellate Court of Iinois, Fourth District dicision. Given the
importance of the questions presented and the possibility of a
conflict among the two Appellate Courts is that the Appellate
Court of Illinois Third District overlooked Illinois Insurance

Rule 602.3, in determining the Petitioner could recover

damages for profit lost due to the Respondent's allegedly
vexatious delaying settling his claim arising when
property and personal property was destroyed by fire. In
Rodney K. Mohr v. Dix Mutual County Fire Insurance
Company, 143 Ill. App. 3d 989, 97 Ill. Dec. 831, Illinois
Appellate Court Fourth District held that insured could
recover damages for profit lost due to insurer's allegedly
vexatious delay in settling his claim arising when farm
equipment was destroyed by fire. The conflict between
the two Appellate Courts is an additional reason for
granting certiorari. The Appellate Court of Illinois Third
District failed to determine Illinois Insurance Code,
Damages 147, 163 (1) complaint seeking damages for
loss of profits due of contract must allege facts which
show that allegedly lost profit can be proved with
reasonable certainty, were proximately caused by
wrongful act of Respondent and were reasonable within
contemplation of parties at time contract was formed.
The Appellate Court of Illinois Fourth District held

10

that: when lost profits sought in breach of contract action arise
out of collateral transaction, Petitioner must established
damages 11

with reasonable certainty and also show lost profit were within
contemplation of the parties at time they entered the
agreement. The Appellate Court of Illinois overlooked Illinois
Insurance 602.3, and failed to determine whether the
Defendant has engaged in vexatious and unreasonable delay in
settling claim, as progibited by Insurance Code. The Court
failed to consider that Petitioner was forced to file suit to
recover and that Petitioner was deprived of use of his property.
This question was resolved in Rodney K. Mohr v. Dix Mutual
County Fire Insurance Company by the Appellate Court of
Illinois. Fourth District where the Appellate Court of Illinois
Appellate practice and the usual course of judicial proceedings,
in this case see Insurance 602.10 1, see also FE. Homes &
Son Const. Co., Inc., v. Gualdaoni Elec. Service, Inc. 61 IIL
Dec. 883, 435 N.E. 2d 724, 105 Il. App. 3d 1135. This Case

11

also presents the important question of why, in Beddow v
Hicks, 303 IL App. 247, 25 N.E. 2d 93, did the Appellate
Court of Illinois Third District hold, Insurance 114, the insured
is entitled to recover under a fire policy when he has an
“Insurable Interest" for losses under term of the policy not
exceeding the amount for which he is unsured, and in this case
the same court overlooked, or failed to determine the Rule. In
Rodney K. Mohr v. Dix Mutual County Fire Insurance
Company,Appellate Court of Mlinois Fourth District,
Defendant's conduct constituted a violation of Section 155 of
the Illinois Insurance Code (Ill Rev. Stat. 1983, Ch. 73 Par.
767).

The Appellate Court of Illinois Third District, ORDER,
stated, “when the Petitioner's property was destroyed by fire,
the Respondent refused to pay over the policy proceeds". The
Appellate Court erred in determining whether the Respondent
violated Section 155 of Illinois Insurance Code (IIL Rev. Stat.
1983, Ch 73, Par. 767), which conflicted with Illinois
Appellate Court's ORDER, also stated, "The Petitioner sued

12

aT

|
f
:
'

Appellate Court's ORDER, also stated, "The Petitioner sued
the Respondent for breach of contract” The Appellate Court

II. THE APPELLANT COURT OF ILLINOIS THIRD
DISTRICT ERRED IN AFFIRMING THE JUDG-
MENT ENTERED BY THE TRIAL COURT OF
ILLINOIS TWELFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IN
FAVOR OF THE DEFENDANT AND IN FAILING
TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE VERDICT WAS

IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PLEADINSET FORTH.
13

A. Respondent's Complaint, "Breach of Contract".
Exhibit H, pp. 48 - 53.

As a general rule Contract 332 (1), "Complaint which sets
forth cause for breach of contract must allege facts suffricient
to indicate offer, acceptance, and consideration, as well as
plaintiffs performance of all contractural provisions, facts of
defendant's alleged breach and existence of damage as
consequence thereof", as Petitioner did in the complaint,
Exhibit., pp. 48 - 53. The Illinois Appellant Court rendered a
decision in conflict with this rule and with the Appellant Court
of Dlinois First District, Third Division, in Latex Glove Co.
Inc., v. Alfred J. Gruen, 146 Il. App. 3d 868, 100 IIL Dec.
488 (1986).

B. The Respondend rejected Proof of Loss Statement
and Letter of Pleadings, Exhibit I, pp. 54 - 56.

As a general rule, Insurance § 544, the issue of action on
insurance policy are confined to such matter as are
affirmatively alleged on the one side and surriciently denied on
the other. Matters constituting an affirmative defense not

14

City of Cleveland vy. Peter Kiewit Sons’ Co., 624 F. 2d 749

he sustained as a result of the fire". The Appellate Court erred
in upholding the remark of the Respondent without proof or
evidence, and erred in failing to determine Whether the
remarks was justified on the grounds of Illinois Insurance
Code, and the usual course of judicial Proceedings.

The Appellate court of Iiinois Third District erred in

affirming the Judgment entered by the Trial Court of Illinois
15

Twelfth Judicial Circuit without determining whether the
verdict was in accordance with the pleadings, evidence, or
findings, which conflicts with Ilinois Insurance 188 (3). _ The
Appellate Court is in direct conflict with Ilinois usual course
of judicial proceedings and Illinois Civil Appellate Practice
3451, which sets forth that " if there is no evidence on even as
essential issue in favor of the party holding the burden of proof
in an issue, the Court should direct a verdict. A court property
directs a verdict when the opposing party has failed to produce
some required element of proof in support of its cause of
action.

Petitioner Complaint, Ex. H., pp. 48 - 53, set forth cause
of action for the Respondent breach of contract. February 8,
1995, judgment was entered in favor of the Respondent,
February 22, 1995, an Amended Motion was filed. The issue
raised by the motion is whether there is a total failure of proof
on any necessary clement of the Petitioner's case; and since
they submitted no proof of evidence of his pleadings, was the
judgment of a legal presumption? The Trial Court denied

16

© eee

Petitioner's motion was completely abusive and was not proper
according to Illinois Civil Practice (2.4), (2.5), S$ 4098. See
Fed. R. Civ. P. 50 (6). See also Appeal and Error 302 (1).

March 27, 1995, Petitioner filed an Appeal in the
Appellate Court of Illinois Third District. Petitioner submitted
all fact evidence to the Court that would give the Court
reasons to determine the case according to Dlinois Insurance
Codes, Ilinois Civil Appellate Practice and the usual course of
judicial proceedings. After the Appellate Court Review, the
Order was in error in affirming the Judgment of the Trial
Court that conflicted with all Illinois Insurance Code. The
Appellate Court erred in failing to determine the case
according to Illinois Civil Appellate Practice. The Appellate
Court Decision «onflicted with other Illinois Appeal Courts of
the same matter.

Appellate Court rendered a decision in conflict with Illinois
"Fire Insurance § 254", fire insurance in a personal contract
with the insured, and not a contract in rem. It's purpose is not
to insure property against fire, but to insure the owner of the

17

property against loss by fire. U.S. - Time Oil Co. v. Cigna
Property & Cas. Ins. Co., W.D.Wash., 743 F. Supp. 1400.

See Insurance 124. In the Appellate Court's ORDER, " The
Petitioner, James Pruitt, insured his business against the risk of
fire by purchasing an insurance policy from the Respondent,
National Casualty Insurance Company, the Appellate Court
erred in failing to determine that Petitioner was rightfully
entitled to recover under a fire policy, when he has an
"Insurable interest" for losses under terms of policy and Illinois
Insurance Code 114. The Appellate Court's decision, Ex. A.
p. 1, stated, "The insurance policy at issue became effective in
March, 1992. It provided coverage for the building housing
the Plaintiff's business,, a restaurant and lounge called "The
Other Place", as well as coverage for the building’s contents”.
A serious controversy arises here. The Appellate Court error
in failing to determine the Petitioner is entitled to recover from
the policy. This issue conflicts with the Appellate Court of
Illinois Second Division in Patterson v. Durand Farmers Mut.

Fire Ins. Co., 303 Il. App. 128, whereof the Court held that

18

the Company having refused to pay the suit resulted in a
judgment in favor of Petitioner. The Appellate Court of
Hinois Third District rendered a decision in conflict with
Ilinois Insurance 128 (1) which sets forth cause of action of
establishing an insurance contract between insured and insurer.
Ii. THE APPELLATE COURT DECISION
UPHOLDING THE JUDGMENT OF THE
CIRCUIT COURT OF WILL COUNTY,
ILLINOIS CONFLICTS WITH
PRECEDENTS OF ILLINOIS CIVIL
APPELLATE PRACTICE, ILEINOIS
INSURANCE CODES, AND PRECEDENTS
OF THIS COURT.
A. The Appellate Court erred in failing to made
a separate determination of whether the
conflicting testimonies by Respondent's
Witnesses were within the complaint and
pleadings of the case where there was no
evidence submitted by the insurance policy

19

proceeds;

The Jury in this case did not hear conflicting testimony as
to the Respondent breach of contract which Petitioner
complaint sets forth cause of action, they heard conflicting
testimony as to the time Petitioner closed and left to check in
the motel prior to going to breakfast. NIP’S-Cab, owned and
driven by L.B. Pruitt, stated that he received a call to pick up
the Petitioner approximately 2:15 a.m., arriving around 2:30
a.m., waited approximately 15 minutes for the Partitioner to
appear. Several minutes later the Petitioner appeared.
According to the cab driver's testimony, it was about 3:00 a.m.
or after before Petitioner left. The police officer drove past
the building and noticed smoke coming from the building, in
his written report stated that he passed the building about 2:45
a.m. and noticed a Circle Cab parked in front. He did not see
Nip's Cab parked there at 2:45 a.m. but approsimately at 3:08
a.m. he noticed smoke coming from the building by being on a
call about 1/2 block past Petitioner’s business. L.B. Pruitt

testified that when he left from in front of Petitioner's business

20

approximately 3:00 a.m. or later, there was no sign of smoke
or fire to be observed. This is one conflict of testimony of the
Respondents.

Petitioner testified that he closed his business at 12:00 a.m.
as usual on Sunday night. After a birthday party ending at
approximately 12:30 a.m. in his lounge. A friend helped clean
up and stock the beer coolers, finishing approximately at 1:30
a.m. Because Petitioner's car had been hit by a drunk driver
and totaled Friday night before the fire occurred, his girlfriend
called a cab while Petitioner was changing clothes. The cab
came right away and his girlfriend went out to the cab so that
the cab would not leave. At approximately 1:45 a.m..
Petitioner came out, he and the friend who helped to clean up.
The cab driver took us to the parking lot joined by the hotel
and restaurant where we had breakfast before walking to the
motel and checking in at 3:08 a.m. A written statement of
Petitioner's girlfriend and friend who helped clean up were
taken by the Defendant's private investigation officer weeks
after the fire, and submitted to the Court for evidence.

21

Another police officer testified that he had interviewed

Petitioner following the fire and Petitioner stated that he had

taken by the Defendant's private investigation officer weeks .

after the fire, and submitted to the Court for evidence.

ate ath a on ee

Another police officer testified that he had interviewed
Petitioner following the fire and Petitioner stated that he had
interviewed Petitioner following the fire and Petitioner stated
that he had checked into the motel prior to going to breakfast.
The police officer did not submit a written statement to the
Court for evidence that he had even talked to Petitioner. This
is another conflict in the case of the Respondent's witnesses.

In petitioner's girlfriend's written statement, the city
inspector, the imsurance agent; who sold Petitioner the
insurance contract, the Petitioner and all of the other witnesses
called, all testified that Petitioner and girlfriend lived in one

apartment above the lounge. The police officer testified that

the building contained no furniture, as if they were supposed
to see furniture and clothes after the building was destroyed by

”~ fire; no floor or roof was left on the building after the fire.

a ~
ee

uty
Pe

LO te ge ee

Petitioner also submitted photograph taken by the guest who
had the birthday party the night business bumed up, to the
Court for evidence of stock that was there after Petitioner
closed and left the business.

The Respondent called two Fire investigation experts, each
testified that flammable liquid had been poured on the floor
and ignited because of the holes in the floor, although

laboratory test for petroleum based accelerates were negative.
This is another conflict in testimony by the Respondent's
witness who had no evidence to submit to the Court
Petitioner testified that where the experts claimed the holes
were burned in the floor is where the friend who helped clean
up put the garbage to be taken out Monday when Petitioner
returned to open the business.

If the Courts would have weighed the evidence submitted
and set aside the verdict for the Respondent, it would have
been able to determine that the Jury's verdict was contrary to
the manifest weight of evidence as set forth in Appeal and
Error 281 (1), and would have ordered a new trial. The

Appellate
23

Court erred by not reviewing the evidence and using the
conflicting testimony of the Respondent's witnesses to
determine its decision to affirm the judgment of the Circuit
Court, Will County, Illinois.

B. The Appellant Court erred in upholding the Judgment
entered by the Trial Court in favor of the Respondent
and in failing to make a separate determination of

whether “all of the evidence, when viewed in it
aspect most favorable to the opponent, so over-
whelmingty favors movant that no contrary verdict
based on the evidence could ever stand”.

At trial Petitioner's complaint of breach of contract; and
Respondent's pleading that the Petitioner intentionally set the
fire and made material misrepresentation about the losses be
sustained as a result of the fire was never introduced by the
trial judge as issues and did not determine those issues, in the
instructions submitted by the Respondent and given to Jury.
The issues raised at trial by the defense counsel was only
statement tendered to establish and disprove material facts of

24

Tan

a ee

Petitioner. See Evidence 222 (1).

The Appellate Court erred in overlooking the fact that the

Petitioner proved all of the clement of a prima facie case,
including duty, breach, proximate cause, and the extent of
damage, whereas the trial court did not so conclude.
Mizowek, 64 Ill. 2d at 310, Ill. Dec. 23, 356 N.E. 2d 32.
At trial the Jury did not have any evidence submitted to the
court of the Respondent statements as to the denial of
insurance covered by the insurance policy executed and
delivered March 14, 1992.

At trial Judgment N.O.V. was unproperty denied because
‘Petitioner submitted the insurance policy as the contract
entered into between Petitioner and the Respondent and
complaint which set forth cause of action for breach of
contract, to the courts for evidence to be viewed in its aspect
most favorable.

At tal the Respondent submitted no evidence for the
Court to weigh, nor did the Respondent call a witness to testify
on behalf of his statement in his pleadings. The police

25

officers, and the two fire investigation experts only testified as
to the time of the fire, the extent of damage, and the amount

of damage. None of them submitted any evidence to the
- Court, other than the laboratory test for petroleum-based
accelerate which were negative.

C. The Appellate Court erred in holding that the trial
court properly denied plaintiff's motion for new trial
when the finding of the jury was unreasonable,
arbitrary and not based upon any of the evidence.

The verdict was against the manifest weight of evidence
because the finding of the Jury was unreasonable, arbitrary
and was not based upon any of defendant's evidence, and it is
affirmatively shown that the Trial Court clearly abused its
discretion. Villa, 202 Il. App. 3d at 1089, 148 IIL Dec. 372,
560 N.E. 2d 969; Accord Topp v. Logan (1990), 197 Ill. App.
3d 285, 298, 143 Ill Dec. 519, 554 N.E. 2d 454; Monier v.
Winkler (1987), 158 IL App. 3d 724, 729, 110 IIL Dec. 411,
511 N.E. 2d 246.

The Appellate Court erred by not determining that the

SOP E eT Het sae rt mye mn

26

Complaint did set forth cause of action of Respondent's breach
of contract.

The defense counsel tendered Proposed instructions for
ihe Jury, all of which was given and not one of the allogedty
breach of contract, or Respondent's objections although, the

tendered and proposed was motivated by nothing more than a
desire to curtail expression of a particular point of view on
The instructions did not tract the language of Insurance
188 (3) “Instructions given in such an action for premiums,
must be in accordance with, and be appropriate under, the
pleading in the case". MO.-Continental Casualty Co. v.
Monarch Transfer & Storage Co., 23 S. W. 2d 209;
Vt-Aseltine V. Perry, 54 A. 190, 75 Vt. 208; U.S. - Gilbane v.
Fidelity & Casualty Co. of N.Y., RL, 163 F. 673, 90 C.C.A.
265; Neb - Bleicher v. Heater, 4 N.W. 2d 897, 141 Neb. 787.
The Court of Appeals, after finding that the LP.L
instructions are sufficient to inform the Jury of the principles
of law involved in the case, failed separately to inquire as to
whether the L.P.L instruction did or not tract the language set
forth in Ex. H., pp. 48 - 53 or Ex. L, pp. 54 - 46.
IV ASIDE FROM THE DOCTRINAL IMPORTANCE
OF THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED, AN
ADDITIONAL REASON TO GRANT THE

28

Aside from the doctrinal importance of the questions
presented, an additional reason to grant the petition is the dramatic
impact the decision below will have on the entire Court's decision of
an insurance company’s executing and delivering and insurance
contract and refusal to pay over the policy proceeds. The Court's
decision upholding the Illinois Insurance Code, and the Usual Course
of appellate proceedings.

The Appellate Court's decision, if left in place, will cast
into doubt of what the Insurance Code actually meant, and what Appellate
2

Courts actually represent. The Appellate Court's decision in the
instant case is in conflict with the appeal Court of Massachusetts,
Middlesex decisions to recover from a fire loss. Frank A. Queen v.
Vermont Mutual Insurance Company, 32 Mass. App. Ct 343. The
Conflict between the two Appeal Courts is an additional reason for
granting certiorari See R. Stem and E. Gressman, Supreme
Court, the approach adopted by the Appellate Court of Ilinois Third
Dstnct will Significantly impair future attempts by Appeals Courts to
provide solutions to other insurance problems. Review by the Court
is essential to correct the decision by the Appellate Court of Ilinois

CONCLUSION

In order to obtain uniformity in construction of
constitution and to obtain equality for persons in the several
_ states in the rights and protections secured by the Constitution,
Petitioner prays this Court issue its writ of Certiorari and
Accept Jurisdiction over this Cause.

Tel.: 815-723-7586
30

He

APPENBICES

APPENDIX A
[FILED NOVEMBER 16, 1995]
IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
THIRD DISTRICT
NO. 3-95-0225
JAMES PRUITT,
Petitioner

Versus

NATIONAL CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent

ON APPEAL from the Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial
Circuit

Will County, Illinois.
Before: GRABIEC, Circuit Judge

ORDER OF APPELLATE COURT

ORDER

The Plaintiff, James Pruitt, insured his business against the
risk of fire by purchasing and insurance policy from the
defendant, National Casualty Insurance Company. When the
plaintiffs property was destroyed by fire, the defendant
refused to pay over the policy proceeds. According to the
defendant, the plaintiff intentionally set the fire and made
material misrepresentations about the losses he sustained as a
result of the fire. The plaintiff sued the defendant for breach
of contract. After a jury trial, judgment was entered in favor
of the defendant. We affirm.

The insurance policy at issue became effective in March
1992. It provided coverage for the building housing the
plaintiff's business, a restaurant and lounge called "The Other
Place," as well as coverage for the building's contents. In the
early morning hours of April 27, 1992, the building was
destroyed by fire.

App. 2

At trial, the plaintiff, preceeding pro se, called two wittnesses
who had been in the lounge the evening before the fire.
These witnesses testified that they left the lounge
between midnight and 1 a.m.. One witness testified
that she returned to the parking lot around 2 a.m. and
the building appeared to be empty. That witness did
not attempt to enter the building to determine
whether anyone was in fact there. The other witness
testified that he did not return to the lounge after
leaving.

The plaintiff testified that he closed the lounge
around midnight and that he and his girlfriend
cleaned up after closing. He testified that he and his
girlfriend usually spent Sunday nights in a hotel in
chicago but since he had been experiencing car
problems they decided to spend the night at a local
motel. After the defendant had locked the enctrances
to the lounge, he and his girlfriend rode in a cab to

the motel's parking lot. Instead of registering

App. 3

immediately, they went to a restaurant next door for breakfast.
Following breakfast, they proceeded to the motel, checking in
at approximately 3 am.. The motel's records show that the
plaintiff checked in at 3:11 a.m.

A taxi driver testified that he zeceives a call to pick up the
plaintiff and his girlfriend at the lounge at approximately 2:15
a.m.. He drove to the lounge, atriving around 2:30 a.m.. The
plaintiffs girlfriend came out of the building and got into the
cab. They waited approximately 15 minutes for the plaintiff
to appear. When he did not, the driver sent the girlfriend in to

check in the plaintiff. Several minutes after she returned, the
plaintiff appeared. The driver took them to a local motel,
droping them off shortly after 3 a.m..

A police officer testified that he drove past the lounge at
3:08 a.m. and noticed smoke coming from the building. He
informed the dispatcher, and the fire department arrived within -
five minutes.

By that time, flames were visible from the rear of the

App. 4

building.

Another police officer testified that he had interviewed the
plaintiff following the fire.
at the interview, the plaintiff stated that he had checked into
the motel prior to going to breakfast. He also claimed that he
had been living in one of the apartments over the lounge and
had lost furniture and other personal belongings as a result of
the fire. Moreover, he claimed that he had lost approximately
$1000 worth of inventory from the business.

The defendant called two fire investigation experts. cach
expert testified that the fire had been started when someone
poured a flammable liquid on the floor of the lounge and
ignited the liquid. They reached this conslusion based on the
presence of holes in the floor of the lounge. According to the
experts, fires burn up and out. The only way a fire would
cause these kinds of holes would be if there was something

that would act like a wick and hold the flame near the floor. A

flammable liquid would cause that kind of reaction. Laboratory

App. 5

tests for petroleum-based accelerants were negative. No tests
were performed which would detect alcohol-based accelerants.

In addition, one of the experts testified that the apartments
over the lounge were empty. He also testified that the
business; coolers were empty. The other expert testified that
the only inventory he saw was less than one full case of beer.

The defendant tendered proposed instructions for the jury,
all of which were given. The plaintiff objected to three of
these instructions. The first was a standard LP.L instruction.
The other two were instructions that tracked the language of
the insurance policy and explained sow any damages should be
computed. The Plaintiff did not offer instructions of his own.

The plaintiff, again pro se, argues first on appeal that the
trial court erred in instructing the jury.

The test for determining the propriety of submitted
instructions is whether, when taken as a whole, they fully and
fairly apprise the jury of the relevant principles. (Eiliott v.

App. 6

Koch (1990), 200 IIL App. 3d 1, 558 N.E.2d 493.)

Non-pattern instructions should be brief, impartial and free
from argument. Aieger v. Manhattan Coffee Co. (1983), 112
IL App. 3d 518, 445 N.E.2d 844.

After carefully reviewing the instructions given to the jury,
we find that, taken as a whole, they are sufficient to inform the
jury of the principles of law involved in the case. The LP.L
instruction informed the jury that its duty was to determine the
facts of the case from the evidence presented and cautioned
that arguments are not evidence. It fairly and accurately stated
the principles of law which governed the jury's performance.
from argument. Therefore, we hold that the trial court did not
err in instructing the jury.
attacks upon the jury's verdict for the defendant. In the related
argument, he contends that the trial court erred in denying his

motion for a new trial.

App. 7

When testimony is conflicting, it is the jury's duty to
determine the credibility of the witnesses and weigh the
evidence. (Coduti v. Hellwig (1984), 127 IL App. 3d 279,
469 N.E.2d 220.) The jury's findings will not be overtuned on
appeal unless they are against the manifest weight of the
evidence. (Cosmopolitan National Bank v. Cook (1984), 103
Ml. 2d 302, 469 N.E.2d 183.) A judgment is against the
manifest weight of the evidence only when the opposite
conclusion is apparent, or when the findings appear to be
unreasonable, arbitrary or not based on the evidence. (Duffek
v. Vanderhei (1980), 81 IIL App. 34 1078, 401 N.E.2d 1145.)
A new trial may be granted only when the jury's verdict is
against the manifest weight of the evicence. Mizowek v. De
Franco (1976), 64 Il. 2d 303, 356 N.E.2d 32.

In the case at bar, there were many conflicting accounts
facing the jury. The plaintiff claimed that he and his girlfriend
went to breakfast before checking in to the motel. The police
officer who initially questioned the plaintiff testified that the

App. 8

plaintiff told him that they had checked in before cating. The
plaintiff claimed that he had lost furniture, personal belongings
and $1,000 worth of inventory. Other witnesses testified that
the building contained no furniture or personal belongings and
that the inventory destroyed was minimal. In addition, there
was some conflict regarding the time at which the plaintiff and
his girtfriend took a cab to the motel.

It was the jury's duty to sort out these differing
accounts and determine which were credible and
which not. Apparently, the jury chose not to believe
the plaintiff's version of events. We cannot say that
this decision was unreasonable, arbitrary or not
based on evidence. Consequently, we hold that the
jury's verdict was not against the manifest weight of
the evicdence. Moreover, we hold that the trial
court properly denied the plaintiff's motion for a
new trial.

The judgment of the circuit court of Will County

App. 9

is affirmed.
Affirmed.
BRESLIN, J., with LYTTON and SLATER, JJ.,
concurring.
STATE OF ILLINOIS, )
APPELLATE COURT, ) 3,
THIRD DISTRICT, )

As Clerk of the Appellate Court, in
and for said Third District of the State of Ilinois, and keeper
of the Records and Seal thereof, I do hereby Certify that the
foregoing Appellate Court in the above-entitled cause, now of
record in this office.

In Testimony Whereof, I hereunto
set my hand and affix t he seal of
said Appellate Court at Ottawa,
this 16th day of November in the
year of our Lord one thousand
nine hundred and ninety-five.
_/S/ Gist Fleshman
Clerk of the Appellate Court

App. 10

APPENDIX B
FILED DECEMBER 4, 1995
IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
THIRD DISTRICT
NO. 3-95-0225
JAMES PRUITT,
Petitioner
Versus

NATIONAL CAULALTY INSURANCE COMPANY
Respondent

PETITION FOR REHEARING

PETITION FOR REHEARING

To The Honorable Justices of the Appellate Court of Ilinois,
Third District:
Petitioner James Pruitt, Appellant
In the above entitled Case, represents that points were
overlooked or misapprehended by the Court in it's
determination of this Case, Namely:

The Court overlooked the settled rules of Law that
A.44CJ.C.S. Insurance § 254, b. Fire insurance. Fire
insurance is a personal contract with the insured, and not a
contract in REM. It's purpose is not to insure property against
fire, but to insure the owner of the property against loss by
fire. See points and authorities V Page 3 of .«ppellant's brief.

B. 45 C.J.S. Insurance 456 Evidence

The insurance company has the burden of proving the
existence of a binding insurance contract between the parties

and the amount of permiums due thereon, and insured must

App. 12

prove a defense of payment or release. The usual rules as to
admissibility and weight and sufficiency of evidence apply.
Insurance 114 Necessity in General
Ii. App. 1977. In order to collect under an insurance
agreement, one must have an insurable interest in the insured
item. Reznick v. Home Insurance Company, 4 Ill. Dec. $25,
360 N.E. 2d 461, US ILL. App. 3d 1058 IIL App. 1940
The insured is entitled to recover under a fire policy
when he has an "insurable interest” for losses under terms of
the policy not exceeding the amount for which he is insured.
Beddow V. Hicks, 2 S N.E. 2d 93, 303 Il. App. 247
Il. App. 1942. A contract of insurance is on of
"indemnity" merely and any person having an interest in
property may, through an insurance contract, indemnity
himself against loss by fire or other insurable casualty.
LeDoux V. Dettmering, 43 N.E. 2d 862, 316 IIL
The Appellant is entitled to recover on fire policy
because hehad an msurable interest in the property which the

App. 13

appellee had an insurance contract with appellant to insure
personal property and building against loss by fire.
Il.

The Court misaprehended the fact in finding that on or
about February 13, 1992 in the city of Joliet, Will County,
Illinois Appellant and Appellee entered into a written contract,
a copy of which is attached to appendix for Appellant Brief.
Pp Al-16

By the terms of that contract, Appellee agreed to insure a
building and personal property owned by Appellant at 738-40
Collins Street, in the city of Joliet, Will County, Illinois. A
copy of which is attached to appendix for Appellant's brief.

By the terms of that contract, agreed to construct abuilding
and property owed by Appellant has performed all the
condition on his part under the terms of the contract.

Appellee failed to fulfill the contract on his part, in that he
failed to pay Appellant or make any offer which he was
obligated to, by the contract that Appellant and Appelice

App. 14

entered into,February 13, 1992.

Appellant has been damaged for more than the $75,000
for the building and the $50,000 for personal property that the
contract was entered into, by Appellant and Appellee. Also
Appellant has lost his businesses by reason of the breach.

iL.

The court overlooked the settled rules of Law:

1. Insurance 560 (3) If a fire insurance company objects
to the notice or proof of loss on specified ground it
cannot afterward urge any other ground of objection.

2. Insurance § 1300, Denial of Liability or refusal to pay.

A. Original - A fire insurance company denial of
liability or refusal to pay constitutes a waiver
of policy requirements as to notice and
proof of loss.

B. A denial of Liability on a fire insurance
proof of loss where the denial is unqualified

in character.

App. 15

a

Insurance S 1261 Denial of liability or refusal to pay:

A denial of liability by an insurance company on the
grounds is a waiver as to a want of, or defects in notice and
proof of loss.

Insurance 559,559 (1)

Broadly stated, the nule is that, if the company denies
liability for a loss, and refuses to pay it either, for that or
another reason placing its refusal on a definite ground other
than want of notice and proof of loss or defects in their form
or substance, it waives the right to insist on the failure to give
notice and make request proofs as a defense to an action on
the policy, although it has been said that denial of liability is
evidence of waiver rather than a waiver itself.

Trial handbood for Illinois Lawyers-Civil § 62.18.
Damages for breach of contract.

The measure of damages for breach of contract is the

amount which will compensate the injured person for the loss
which fulfillment of the contract would have prevented or the
break of it has entailed. 22 AmJar 2d. Damages § 46.

App. 16

Damages § 62.20. Damages to Personal Property.

If the property is destroyed, the measure is the value just
before the occurence, New York, C. S.L.R.W. V American
Transit Lines, Inc. (1951) 408 Ill 336, 97 N.E. 2d 264, unless
there is salvage value, in which case, such value is deducted
from the value before the occurrence. LP.I. Civil 30.14

IV.

The court overlooked the settled rule of law that
insurance § 1249 - Fraud, False Swearing, Misrepresentation,
or Concealment. Insurance 552-553 (2),562.3, 562.3 (1-3),
563.4, 562.4 (1).

To establish the defense of misrepresentation of proof of
loss, an insurance company must demonstrate that
representations made by insured were relevant, material and
intentionally false.

The Appellee did not establish a preponderance of
evidence the defense of fraud or misrepresentation or

concealment of material facts in the proof of loss.

App. 17

a

“

Insurance 544 Issues, Proof and Variance

Material allegations in the pleadings in an action of an
insurance policy must be proved if but in issue. The
Appellee's attorney or the court did not deliver into issues of
the complaintsy and to the burden of proof. No witnesses or
any evidence was introduced by the Appellce's attorney for the
complaints.

In Appellant Brief Argument IV. Appellant argues that
as a direct and approximate result of Appellee vexations delay
in settling claim, Mohr V. Dix Mut Country: Fire Insurance
Company, (1986 4th District) 143 II App. 3d 998,97. Illinois
Dec.831, 493. N.E. 2d .638, Appellant has been denied the
use of the settlement proceeds, has been denied the interest to
App. 17be earned from said settlement proceeds; and has had
to incursubstantial legal expenses and court costs to bring forth
this suit to recover said insurance benefits to which he is
rightfully entitled, Illinois Revised Statutes, 1989, Chapter 73,
paragraph 767. Insurance § 1261 "A denial of liability by an
insurance company of other grounds is a waiver as to a want

App. 18

of or defect in, notice and proof of loss."

Illinois Revised Statutes, 1989 Sets forth the following:
In any action by or against a company wherein is an issue
the liability of a company on a policy or policies of insurance
or the amount not to exceed any on of the following amounts: ss
A. 25% of the amount which the court or jury finds
such party is entitled to recover against the company
exclusive of all costs:
B. $25,000
C. The excess of the amount which the court or jury
finds such party is entitled to recover, exclusive of |
costs, over the amount, if any, which the company
offered to pay in settlement of the claim prior to the
action.
The trial court never presented the issue of whether the
insurers refusal to pay insured is vexatious or unreasonable,

therefore it was not acted upon by the trial court.

App. 19

15.1 Trial Handbook for Illinois Lawyers - Civil Burden of
Proof, Generally - Normally, in civil cases the party having the
burden of proof is required to prove his case by a
preponderance of the evidence. Reivitz V. Chicago Rapid
Transit Company (1927) 327 ILL 207, 158 NE 380. The test
is whether one having the burden of proof has proved that his
position "is the more probably true than not true.” See 64.26
for a discussion of instruction on the burden of proof in civil
cases.

64.26 Instructions on Burden of Proof - It is the duty of
the court to instruct the jury as to the burden of proof and
preponderance of the evidence. Smith V. Metropolitan Life
Ins. Co. (1943) 317 Il App 624 47 NE 2d 330. Normally , it
is also the duty of the court to give instructions to guide the
jury in determining the credibility of the witnesses, if
requested. DesPlaines V. Winkleman (1995) 270 Il 149,
IIONE 417.

The court did not instruct the jury as to the burden of

App. 20

proof and preponderance of the evidence of a breach of
contract. Neither did the judge instruct the jury as to the
Appelice's complaint of intentionally setting a fire or
misrepresentation as claimed by the Appellee. Nor were there
agency hired by the Appellee did not appear in court to testify
of the complaints claimed by the Appellee.
V.

The court overlooked the settled rules of post - trial
motions a Common Law.

Arest of Judgement was denied, and should have been
granted, because the common law records was inadequate to

The complaints made by the Appellee “on it's face fails to
state a proper cause of action (as distinguished from a
defective statement of a good cause of action) See CCP
2-1204.

Judgement notwithstanding the verdict was denied and

App. 21

should have been granted, because, mo evidence was
introduced in the court that the Appellee did not breach the
contract, according to S. Ct. Rule 133 (C). The Appellant was
entitled to judgement as a matter of law, because Appellee
Appellee submitted no proof on an essential clement of the
cause of action to support a verdict and judgement. The
motion asks the court to set aside the verdict rendered by the
jury, review all evidence and pray for a final judgement in
favor of the Appellant.

A new trial should have been granted because, the jury
verdict was contrary, to the :manifest weight of evidence."

A new trial should have been granted because, the jury
verdict was unreasonable arbitrary, and unsupported by the
evidence."

A new trial should have been granted because of the
misconduct of the Appellee's Counsel:

1. Conduct of Appellee's Counsel was improper and
resulted in undue prejudice to Appeliant and to he

App. 22

a

trial of the cause in the following specifics:

a. Appelice's Counsel in rebuttal argument made
repeated references to facts not in evidence.

b. Appeliece's Counsel persisted in a line of
no witnesses or evidence viewed in aspect
most favorable to the Appellee.

c. Appellee's Counsel used the A.T.F. agent with
photographs taken by the Jolict Fire Depart-
ment that did not show the cause and origin of
the fire. They only showed the jury the extent
of the loss and the quantities of the property in
the building. They made repeated statements
to the jury that they knew to be improper, and
which matters had no place in the Breach of
Contract Complaint.

Trial Handbook for Illinois Lawyers - Civil

Chapter 63.22 Demonstration or Reenactment of Evidence.

App. 23

a
t
'
i

Counsel may not, during arguments have a party or
witness demonstrate the manner in which an event occurred
See motion for judgement Notwithstanding, the Verdict,
Motion in Arrest of Judgement, and Motion for New Trial in
Appendix for Appellant Brief pages A 54 - A 65. also see
Appallant Brief, "Points and Authorities,” pages 2 - 3.

VL

The court misapprehended the fact in finding that the
case at bar is a Breach of Contract case, not an ARSON case
to find Appellant guilty. The Appellee refused to pay the
policy proceeds. That the Appellant signed a contract which
became effective in March 1992. According to the Appelice,
the Appellant intentionally set the fire and made material
misrepresentations about the losses he sustained 2s the result of
the fire.

LE.P. § 3451 - Failure to prove material allegations of

pleading. There was no evidence or even one essential issue

in favor of the Appellee holding the burden of proof on the
App. 24

issues the Appellee refused to pay over the policy proceeds.
The court should have directed the verdict. LC.P. 3502.
L.C.P.§ 3451 - Lack of evidence by Appellee.
LC.P. § 3508 - Lack of evidence to support counter
‘claim.

In the Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial Circuit, the
Appellee did not offer proof or evidence of these complaints.
The court misapprehended the fact that Appellant had a
contract with the Appellee to provide insurance for his building
and personal property against loss by fire. Once Appellant
fulfilled his obligations of the contract, the Appellee refused to
pay over the policy proceeds, not to prove what time Appellant
left his business what time he arrived at the restaurant for
breakfast or what time he checked into motel. The witnesses
the Appellee called to the stand, made statements speculating
arson, without proof of evidence or cye witnesses.

At trial, the Appellant, pro se, called two witnesses to the

stand, who had not been in the lounge the evening before

App. 25

TTF

ei i a ee, a

the fire, but worked and assisted Appellant's business for three
years. These witnesses knew as much about Appellant's
business as the Appellant. There were times during the three
years of buslaces these witnesses opened and closed
Appellant's businesses.

Both witnesses returned to their cars, not parked in a
parking lot, because Appellant business did not have a parking
lot, parked less than twenty feet of the entry into Appellant's
business, they knew Appellant's businesses were closed and he
was gone when they returned to their cars around 2am. A
usual routine is if plaintiff is leaving the business premises
temporarily after closing and returns later, these witnesses will
close and remain there until the Appellant returns. If the
Agpdlinit Goss sth oneen, evecyene leaves toapiteee

The evening of April 26, 1992, Appellant had a birthday
party in the lounge that lasted until 12:00 midnight, which left
a lot of garbage to be cleaned up. Eugene Massey, the witness
who did not show up in court to testify but issued a statement

App. 26

that had been taken by the Appelice's investigating team
previous to the trial day was motioned to be read by the
Appelice's attorney to the jury. See Appellant's Brief Page 15,
and R.C. 235, this witness helped clean up after the party was
over, not the girlfriend. The girlfriend cleaned the restaurant
after she sold out of stock around 10:00 p.m. See appendis

for brief A 39 - A 45.

The Appellant's businesses -were never opened on
Sunday past 12:00 midnight Sunday until 4:00 p.m. Monday.
Other days Appellant would open his business at 10:00 a.m.
and close Monday, Tuesday, | Wednesday, Thursday at 2:00
a.m. Friday and Saturday closed lounge at 3:00 am. and
restaurant at 4:00 a.m. The reason Appellant chose to leave at
12:00 midnight every Sunday night was his only day off from
12:00 a.m. Sunday until 4:00 p.m. Monday evening. If
Appellant stayed opened his friends and relatives would come
by not ready to go home and knock on the doors

App. 27

;

and windows. The only reason he called a cab and went to a
local restaurant and motel is that two days prior to Appellant
businesses being destroyed by fire, Appellant's car was struck
and totalled by a drunk driver while parked in front of
businesses.

The court misapprehended the facts in finding that
testimony of the cab driver ant the police officer who drove
past the lounge at 3:08 a.m. and noticed smoke coming from
the building. The NIPS taxi driver testified he received a call
to pick-up Appellant at approximately 2:15 a.m. arriving
around 2:30 a.m. He waited approximately 15 minutes for the
Appellant to appear. At 2:45 a.m. the driver sent the girlfriend
for the Appeilant. Several minutes after she returned, the
Appellant appeared, making it approximately 3:00 a.m. before
the driver left Appellant's business to drop them off at the
restaurant, not the motel which would have made it
approximately 3:15 a.m. The motel record indicated that
Appellant checked in at 3:11 a.m., which is correct. However

App. 28

Appellant and girlfriend had already spent approximately one
hour at the restaurant next door to the motel prior to check in.
In reply brief of Appellant, P-13, Exhibit A which
Officer Underwood advised that approximately 15 minutes
prior the fire being discovered he observed a brown cab
belonging to Circle Cab Co. parked in front of 738 Collins
Street, Appellant's businesses, at approximately 2:45 a.m.
The Nips cab driver testified that by the time he arrived at |
2:30 a.m. and waited for the Appellant to come out it was
approximately 3:00 a.m. The cab driver, the Appellant nor
the girlfriend ever saw a Circle Cab parked in from of the
| businesses at any time. Neither did the police officer see
NIPS Cab parked in front waiting for the Appellant to
come out. The reason the officer did not see a NIPS cab
parked in front of Appellant's businesses and NIPS <ab did
not see Circle cab parked in front of Appellant's businesses is
because Appellant closed the businesses and left the premises
in NIPS cab at 1:45 a m. arrived at Georgio's restaurant

App. 29

approximately 2:00 am. The Appellant remained at the
restaurant for about an hour and then checked in to the motel
at 3:11 am. When Appellant's witnesses returned to their
cars at 2:00 am. which was twenty feet from Appellant's
businesses, if business was still open they would have come in.
However, witnesses knew the business was. closed and the
Appellant was gone so they got in their cars an d left. The
front of Appellant's businesses were all glass and you could see
into them a block away. The NIPS cab driver stated in his
testimony that he did not see any smoke at 3:00 a.m.
However, if he was there between 2:45 a.m. and 3:00 a.m. he
would have seen smoke like Officer Underwood. There is a
discrepancy between the time the NIPS cab actually left the
Appellant's businesses which was 1:45 a.m. not 2:45 a.m. The
cab driver also stated he did not have a record of fares the
night of the fire.

The Mayor, the liquor commissioners, the police
department, the insurance agent, salesmen, friends, relatives

App. 30

and most of the customers knew the Appellant lived in the
building that housed his two businesses. People would come
by after Appellant closed and knock on the windows and doors
to buy ribs and rib tips that had been put away in the coolers to
take home to heat up. That is why Appellant would leave on
Sunday nights and return Monday evening with my stock,
because people would not let Appellant rest if Appellant stayed
there. Anytime Appellant wanted to rest Appellant would
have to leave the building. The Electric, Gas, Telephone and
Joliet Water Department all knew Appellant lived in the
building for more than a year. Appellant did not have a lot of
household furniture in the building, which Appellant did not
need since all entertainment was done in the lounge. But
Appellant did have a bed, two sofas, a love seat, table and
chairs, refrigerator, stove, a lot of clothes and other
personal items that Appellant had collected and saved most of
his life. On occasion Appellant would go upstairs and rest for
4 or 5 hours, no more than that, because Appellant spent

App. 31

Pe ee ee eee

|

hours a day, six days a week cunning his businesses. So
Appellant did not have much time to spend in a house.
Appellant had a bed in his office, sometimes after businesses
would close, Appeliant would sleep in the office until it was
How did the investigation experts expect to come to the
building the next day, which was completely destroyed by the
fire. The roof burned off, the second floor bumed up
collapsing onto the first floor burning everything. How did
they expect to find furniture or anything else except four brick
walls standing with no support. Everything that was loose that
was burned was thrown out on the side walks by the Joliet Fire
Department. There was so much Tubbish on the sidewalks
so people could walk on it. The remaining walls were
dangerous with no support that the City of Joliet
| Neighborhood Services had them torn down within six days
after the fire.
Sunday night, April 27, 1992, Approximately 12:30 a.m.
App. 32

ee

Ba he ates OT tA a Frat ay

Eugene Massey helped the Appellant clean the lounge after the
party ended. He gathered all garbage from party and from
Saturday's birthday party that had been put in storage rooms.
Empty beer boxes that had been left behind the bar plus three
large garbage containers and placed all of them in back of the

lounge near the back door to be taken out Monday evening
when Appellant returns to the business. It was in that area in
which the investigating experts claimed holes were burned in
the floor. After he finished cleaning up and vacuuming he
went into the restaurant and sat at the counter with Appellant's
girlfriend while the Appellant went into the washroom to wash
up and to the office which was located next to the washroom
to change clothing. During that time the Appellant's girlfriend
called out to say the cab had arrived. Appellant said to her,
"Go on out so that the cab won't leave." Three or four
schasai Wie in eopals Wa te Wai ili neat Wd Oil in
my tie and said “you better hurry up or the cab is going to

leave." Appellant said "O.K. go back out, I'm on my way, I have to

App. 33

ee eee

tum out the lights.” Eugene Masscy was standing inside the
restaurant at the door we went out to get into the cab. He
asked where we were going and Appellant said "I don't know,
probably to a restaurant on the west side and have coffee and a
sandwich and unwind for a while before going to the motel to
rest because I am very tired from the three birthday parties
and I need a lot of rest before I open on Monday evening.” So
he went across the street to a lounge where Martha Jean
Rainey, Remy Richards and some other customers that had
been at Appellant's lounge. That was about 1:45 am.
because the lounge across the street and all bars in Joliet close

at 2:00 a.m. not 3:00 a.m. as the cab driver stated. If that
was true Eugene Massey would have not been able to go
across the street to that lounge because it would have been

closed.
VIL.
The court overlooked the settled rule of the Supreme

Court, Rule 366. Purpose of instructions is to convey to the
App. 34

monds of the jurors the correct principles of law applicable to
the evidence submitted to them. No evidences were submitted
to the Jury and no witnesses testified as to the Appellant
intentionally set the fire and made material misrepresentations
about the losses he sustained as a result of the fire. The court
errored in instructing the jury pursuant to the Appellant's
testimonies of the investigating experts who did not submit any
evidence to the Jury of a witness to testify of the investigating
experts who did not submit any evidence to the Jury or a
witness to testify of the Appellee's pleading, directed the Jury
tat Appellant may have been responsible and compromised
the Appellant of fair trial treatment by the Jury. The Jury was
misled by improper arguments not predicated and evidence
confined to the issues of the case, LC.D. § 3553, 3554. The
instructions or the testimonies were not in accord with the
pleading of the case. No time during the trial, did the court

deect On Aeiediind w oitgen Gulapitnd tannatinn, 00

App. 35

— se WK ttn.

fate BP vs

.
R|
4
:
;
%
-
}
f
;
*

stated in S. Ct. Rule 239, Instructions (G). See Appellant -
Brief p. 17.
VII

The court misapprehended the fact that the Appellant's
burden of proof wasproved by a preponderance of evidence.
He had an insurance contract with the Appellee to insure his
loss by fire, see sppendix for Appellant - Appellant's Brief
Al7. Appellant's business and personal properties were
destroyed by fire April 27, 1992. The Appellant reported the
fire as the contract required.

At trial, the witnesses that the Appellant called or the
Appellant told the Jury what happened. Appellant told the
Jury exactly what was taking place the evening prior to the
fire. Appellant told the court exactly the routines of his
businesses for the past three years, but it was approximately
12:30 a.m. by the time the people left the birthday party. The
Appellant and a friend cleaned the lounge before Appellant

App. 36

and girlfriend left about 1:45 a.m. in a cab, (see Appendix p.
A 40) because the Appellant's car was totalled by a drunk
driver two nights before the fire, nothing else was unusual.

The two witnesses Appellant called gave their testimonies
to the court and submitted written statements that were taken
by the Appeliee's investigators to the court. The Appellee's
counsel had the opportunity to cross examine them for
anything that would relate to his pleading. See: testimony of
Jean Rainy, Report of proceedings p. 50. Written statement
Appendix for Appellant, Brief A 46 - 48. Remy Richards
testimony, Report of proceedings p. 54. Cross examination
Report of proceedings p. 56. Written statement appendix for
Appellant, Brief A 49 - 50. Eugene Massey written statement
Stipulate - Report of proceedings p. 235.

The conflicting testimonies were the testimonies of the
Appellaee's witnesses making statements with unsupported
evidences.

The Taxi driver that testified in court, did not submit into

App.37

court any evidence material for the jury to review. In his
telephone statement taken by Joe Mazzone, a fire investigator.
june 16, 1992 the cab driver stated that he did not log the time
that night, April 27, 1992. He stated that he thought the call
came in about , 2:00, 2:35, 2:40 or "something like that.” He
got over to Allen Street around 2:45. He also stated that he
met his wife when he was returning from the motel and she
told him “the place you just picked the people up from bumed
to the ground.” The fire department report shows that they
did not get the fire under control until about 6:00 or 7:00 am.
So here is a conflicting testimony with out evidence.

A police officer testified he drove past the lounge at
3:08 a.m. He had no written report to submit to the court for

Another police officer testified that he had interviewed
the Appellant following the fire, he did not bring his report to
App. 38

submit to the court for evidence. Again he answered only
questions that Appellee's counsel had previously reviewed with
him outside the court room.

The two fire investigating experts that the Appcilee
called, neither one of them submitted a written report, lab tests
or anything else into court for <vidence. One of the
investigating experts used the photographs that were taken by
the Fire Department. The investigating expert had no
knowledge of these photographs because he did not direct the
photographer in taking the photographs. The photographs
used were not taken until the day after the fire. The photographs
that were shown and discussed to Jury by the Appelice's
extent of loss not the cause.

If the photographer and firemen had discussed the
photographs, they could have stated that the photos fairly and
accurately portrayed the scene as they saw it during and
immediately after the fire. Instead the A.T.F. officer and the

App. 39

* siinieniceeatmancomenneietl

PAS ie + vtegR Did

ee oe ee ee wee

cole s pieteclniat Pg Itt BATRA actin’ 2°, hha spray tt

oto AL Te Ta eb rity Phe 40

Appelice's counsel put on a show to the Jury with photographs
that neither one had any knowledge of. See Reply brief pp. 1 - 2.

In addition, one of the experts testified that the
apartments over the lounge were empty. The Appellant stated
how could he expect to find anything in the apartments when
the building burned to the ground and the second floor
collapsed onto the first floor. The same goes for the stock.
Everything that was burned or broken was thrown out onto the
sidewalk.

If the original investigators that were hired by the
Appellee would have come to court with their reports then
there would not have been conflicting testimony. They did not
have anything to report so there was no reason to testify. That
left the Appellee’s counsel with no one to testify. Appellee's
counsel had to make phone calls to ask other witnesses to
come and testify about the fire which they had little or no
knowledge about. These witnesses did not have time to
prepare or bring any prepared statements or evidence with

App. 40

them. That is where the conflicting testimonies come in. The
Appellant filed a con:plaint for Breach of Contract July 14,
1992, Appendix A 21, and an amended complaint September
27, 1993, Appendix A 26 - 31. Of the complaints filed. It
was the burden of proof for the Appellee to come to trial and
submit evidence and present witnesses to the Jury and he did
not do so. Therefore, the Jury's verdict for the Appellee was
improper.

In view of the matters overlooked or misrepresented by
the court as previously pointed out. Petitioner, requests that
rehearing be granted in this case, and that upon the rehearing,
the Judgement of this court be reversed and that of trial court
be remanded for a new trial or that the Appellate Court enter a
finding that the Appellee, National Casualty Company, is liable
for the Appellant's losses under the said policy of insurance.
In respect to the subject premises, building and personal
property.

Dated_/2-¢ _, 1995

APPENDEIX C
FILED DECEMBER 20, 1995
IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
THIRD DISTRICT
JAMES PRUITT
PETITIONER
VERSUS
NATIONAL CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY

RESPONDENT

ORDER Denying Petition For Rehearing
Be it remembered, That, to wit: On the 20th day of
December, 1995, certain proceedings were had and orders
made and entered of record by said Court, among which is the

App. 42

Now on this day this cause coming on for hearing upon
the petition for rehearing filed by the Appellant, herin, and the
Court having duly considered said petition, as well as the
matters and things alleged in support thereof, and being now
fully advised in the premeses;

It is ordered by the Court that said petition for rehearing
be and the same is hereby overruled and denied.

Petition for Certificate of Importance is also denied.

/S/Gist Fleshman_
Clerk of the Court

App. 43

APPENDIX D
[FILED DECEMBER 30, 1995]
IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
THIRD DISTRICT
JAMES PRUITT
PETITIONER
VERSUS
NATIONAL CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY
RESPONDENT
AFFIDAVIT OF INTENT TO FILE PETITION FOR

LEAVE TO APPEAL

JAMES PRUITT, on oath states:

The opinion of the appellate Court of Illinois for the

Third District in "James Pruitt v. National Casualty Insurance

Company,” No. 3-95-0225 was rendered on November 16,

1995.

I am the Plaintiff - Appellant of record.

Plaintiff - Appellant intends in good faith to file a petition

for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court of Illinois within the

time provided by law.

WAN
‘G Oa

Joliet, Mlinois 60435

815-723-7586

App. 45

APPENDIX E
FILED JANUARY 11, 1996
IN THE SUPREME COURT, OF THE
STATE OF ILLINOIS
NO. 80439
JAMES PRUITT,
Petitioner
Versus
NATIONAL CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent
PETITION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL

PLAINTIFF PETITIONER, JAMES PRUITT, PURSUANT
TO ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT RULE 315S(a),
RESPECTFULLY PETITION THIS COURT FOR LEAVE
TO APPEAL FROM THE JUDGMENT OF THE
APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS, THIRD DISTRICT.
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT AND
JUDGEMENT BELOW

On february 8, 1995, the Will County Circuit Court granted
Defendant-Respondent, National Casualty Insurance Company
a Jury Verdict against Plaintiffs Complaint which sets forth
Cause of Action for Breach of Contract. James Pruitt filed a
Notice to Defendant for post-trial or a new trial February 22,
1995. On March 3, 1995 an amended motion was filed. On
March 6, 1995, plaintiff's post trial motion, motion for a new
trial and motion for judgment notwithstanding verdict was
denied. On March 27, 1995 a

Notice of Appeal was filed. True and accurate copies of
motions, complaints, notices and denials is filed, ¢.g. as Exhibit

App. 47

4
4

i eer ads RAC SS EAE PL tains CR CUS “AACR GET ta DO Ee 0 cans anlar

We Ue lag ee oT Late ©

A 22, A 54, A 55, A 56 - 64, A 65, and A66. On November
16, 1995, the Appellate Court of the Third District, Will
County, Illinois affirmed the Judgment of Trial Court of the
Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Will county Illinois. A true and
accurate copy of opinion is attached, PLEX. A. P. 1-8
December 4, 1995, a Petition for Rehearing was filed in the
Appellate Court. A true and Accurate copy is attached PL.
EX. C. P. 9- 19. On December 6, 1995, a Petition for
Certificate of Importance was filed in the Appellate Court. On
December 20, 1995, said Petition for Rehearing and
Certificate of Importance was denied by the Appellate Court.
A true and accurate copy is attached PL. EX. C. P. 20. On
December 30, 1995 Plaintiff filed an Affidavit of Intent to file
a Potliion for Leave-to Appeal A true and Accurate copy is
attached, PL. EX. D.P. 21.

POINTS RELIED UPON FOR REVERSAL

To the Honorable Justices of the Supreme Court of Ilinois:
Plaintiff-Petitioner in the above-entitled cause represents that

App. 48

Points were overlooked or misapprehended by the Court in
determination of this cause, namely:
I
THE COURT MISAPPREHENDED THE FACT IN
FINDING THAT EXECUTION OF THE INSURANCE
CONTRACT NO. MP 022170 AND DELIVERED BY
DEFENDANT TO THE PLAINTIFF BEFORE MARCH 14,
1992 CONSTITUTED THE ONLY ACT TO WHICH
DEFENDANT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY PLAINTIFF FOR
LOSS OF BUILDING, PERSONAL PROPERTY AND
LOSS PROFITS, ATTACHED AS EXHIBIT E., P. 29 - 45
IN FACT, EXHIBIT E IS DATED MARCH 14, 1992,
WELL BEFORE THE DATE PLAINTIFF HAS SUFFERED
LOSS IN DIRECT VIOLATIONS AND BREACH OF
SAID MULTI-PERIL INSURANCE POLICY AND THE
ILLINOIS REVISED STATUTES, 1989, CHAPTER 73,
PARAGRAPH 767.
Plaintiff, after execution of Exhibit E.. March 14, 1992
App. 49

:
|
.

and after loss of building and loss of personal property April
27, 1992, provided defendant with all documentation that was
required by the insurance contract to date, defendant has
unreasonably and vexatiously denied said claim and
unreasonably and vexatiously delayed in settling said claim and
caused plaintiff to lose two businesses, loss of property and
loss of profit. The violations of which defendant pleaded are
by no means limited for denial to execution of_Exhibit E

The Judgment of the Appellate Court of Illinois (Third
District) Conflicts with the decision of the Appellate Court of
the First District, Third Division in Latex Glove Co., Inc. V
Alfred J. Gruen, 146 IL APP. 3d 868, 100 ILL. Dec.488 (ist
Dist.1986). The Appellate Court of the First District held that
a Compiaint which sets forth Cause of Action for Breach of
Contract must allege facts sufficient to indicate offer,
acceptance and consideration, as well as Plaintiff's
performance of all provisions.

The Third District Appellate Court is incompatible with

App. 50

this Court and Created a conflict of interest between the
insurer and the insured. Therefore, regardless, of the conflicts
in the testimonies this Court places upon the witnesses at trial,
that gave this Court reasons to affirm the decision of the Trial
Court, ExhibitA attached to the petition, the defendant is
guilty of Breach of Contract executed March 14, 1992 that
gives Plaintiff the nght to any recovery.
I

IN AFFIRMING THE DECISION OF THE TRIAL
COURT, THE APPELLATE COURT HAS MISAPPLIED
THE LAWS GOVERNING DAMAGES FOR LOSS OF
BUILDING, PERSONAL PROPERTY. LOSS OF PROFITS
DUE TO BREACH OF CONTRACT.

While the Latex Glove Co. Enc. decision holds that a
prayer for damages against Alfred J. Gruen, the Appellate
Court of the First District held that seeking damages for loss of
profits due to Breach of Contract must allege facts which show

that allegedly lost profits can be proved with reasonable

App. 51

certainty, were proximately caused by wrongful act of
defendant, and were reasonable within coutemplation of

i
s
4
;
:
x
}

parties at the time Contract was formed. The Appellate Court

PMT, ATI tain

of the Third District overlooked the settled rules of law of the
State of Illinois affirming the decision of the Trial Court

allowing an insurance company to execute insurance contracts

tits oe ite & Rak it

and refuse to pay for loss for any reason they want.
. The Plaintiff's businesses, building and personal property
was completely destroyed by fire, so there is no questions of
, allegedly lost profits, building and personal property being
proved with reasonable certainty.
i

THE APPELLATE COURT HAS MISPLACED THE
BURDEN OF PROOF IN THE CAUSE IN REQUIRING
THE PLAINTIFF TO PROVE ESSENTIAL ELEMENTS
OF PLAINTIFF'S CASE, WHEN DEFENDANT PROOF
ITSELF FAILED TO ESTABLISH THE SAME.

The judgement of the Appellate Court of Illinois (Third

App. 52

District) conflicts with the trial handbook for Illinois Lawyers
-CIVIL, Ch. 15.1 which states - Normally, in civil cases, the
party having the burden of proof is required to prove his case
by the preponderance of the evidence. In James Pruitt vs.
National Casualty Insurance Co. the decision holds that a
prayer for punitive damages against an insurer docs not
inherently create a conflict of interest between the insurer and
the insured, the Third District's decision is to the contrary
because the decision allows the insured to execute contracts
and not pay claims based on their own discretion, regardless to
evidence, proof or witness. In James Pruitt Vs. National
Casualty Insurance Co. the defendant refused to pay over the
policy proceeds, because of discretions that plaintiff
about the losses he sustained as a result of the fire. The
Plaintiff sued the Defendant for Breach of Contract because
the Defendant did not present any proof, witness or evident to
deny the claim.

App. 53

ee

ee er re ee me ae

IV

IN AFFIRMING THE DECISION OF THE TRIAL
COURT, THE APPELLATE COURT HAS MISAPPLIED
THE LAWS GOVERNING THE POWER OF A TRIAL
JUDGE TO ENTER JUDGMENT, NOTWITHSTANDING
THE VERDICT OF THE JURY AND GRANT A NEW
TRIAL.

The defendants pleadings were that the Plaintiff
intentionally set the fire and made material misrepresentations
about the losses he sustained as a result of the fire. No witness
testified at the trial that the fire was intentionally set.
Laboratory tests for petroleum-based accelerants were
negative. The only evidence adduced at the trial was that
Plaintiff's building and personally property was destroyed by
fire. The Joliet Fire Department and the Bureau of Alcohol,
Tobacco and Firearms only made discretion about the fire.
Either one adduced any evidence at trial that the fire was
intentionally set. The defendant plead that Plaintiff made
material misrepresentations about the losses he sustained as a

App. 54

result of the fire. This defense was not presented to the jury,

nor were any jury instructions regarding this defense tendered.

The Appellate Court affirming the decision of the Trial
Court. Conflicts with the rule of the Illinios Civil practice,
Volume III (14.39).

All of the evidence adduce at the trial by the Plaintiff
was so overwhelmingly favor that no verdict for the defendant
could ever stand. Plaintiff's Complaint was that defendant
violated and breached the subject riulti-peril insurance policy.
Plaintiff submitted the insurance policy to the Court for
evidence and submitted a Sworn Statement in proof of loss to
the Court for evidence. The defendant submitted no proof on
an essential element of the Cause of Action. Therefore, the
post-trial motion that prayed for judgment notwithstanding the
verdict and a new trial was proper.

Vv
IN AFFIRMING THE DECISION OF THE TRIAL
COURT, THE APPELLATE COURT HAS MISAPPLIED

App. 55

.
.

nt ell held Bw om

© edly te i peg: wend pari dae, 2

»
z
%
a
m”
;
%
nf
%
¥
Ay
¥
4
j
%
}

THE LAW GOVERNING THE POWER OF A TRIAL
JUDGE TO ENTER JUDGMENT OF WHETHER AN
INSURER'S REFUSAL TO PAY IS VEXATIOUS OR
UNREASONABLE.
The judgment of the Appellate Court of Illinois (Third

District) conflicts with the decision of the Fifth District in
Kohlimeier V . Shelter Insurance Company, 170 ILL. APP.

30 643, 121 ILL. Dec 288, 525, NE 20 94 (Sth Dist. 1988).
The decision holds that the determination of whether an
insurer's refusal to pay is vexatious or unreasonable is for the
Trial Court, not the jury. In the Amended Complaint filed in
the Circuit Court, September 27, 1993, EX. H, Count I
VEXATIOUS DENIAL/DELAY. The Trial Judge never
mentioned anything of Plaintiff's complaints to the court in

order to make determinations. Therefore, the Appellate Court

utterly failed to review the conditional ruling of the Trial Court

of whether an insurer's refusal to pay is vexatious or
unreasonable.

App. 56

STATEMENT OF FACTS
Appellant was for three years, from 1989 - 1992, a
business owner duly organized and existed under the laws of
the State of Illinois. The Plaintiff owned and operated a
restaurant and lounge under the name of "The Other Place”
upon the premises and building located at 738 - 740 Collins
Street, Joliet, Will County, Illinois.

The Plaintiff maintained and had in effect a special
multi-peril insurance policy which on February 13, 1992
approximately 3:30 p.m. at Appellant's business, David
McElwee, Agent from O'Dell and Watham Insurance Agency
Inc. sat together and executed a contract.

On March 14, 1992, Defendant, National Casualty
Insurance Company executed and delivered to Plaintiff his
insurance policy, No. MP 002 170. Under the terms,
Defendant insured Plaintiff against loss or damages by fire to
the premises described in the policy in the amount of $75,000

for the building and $50,000 for personal property of the

App. 57

for the term of March 14, 1992 until March 14, 1993. A
copy of the policy is attached, PL. EX. F., P. 38.

On October 28, 1992, six months later the defendant
. denied and rejected plaintiff's claim for fire loss and property
. damage for the following reasons:

At the trial two fire investigation experts testified that the
fire had been started when someone poured flammable liquid
on the floor and ignited the liquid. Laboratory tests were
negative. No witness was called at the trial to testify and no
other evidence or proof was submitted to the Court for this
cause,

B. Falsely Swearing in Plaintiffs examination under
oath.

The examination under Oath was not admitted into

evidence and this defense was not presented to the jury, nor

C. Lack of an insurable interest in the property (building
and contents) at the time of the loss. A true and accurate copy
of defendant's pleadings is attached as Exhibit L_ p. 46-48.

The issue of Plaintiffs Insurable Interest in the property
was not presented to the jury nor were any jury instructions
regarding this defense tendered.

No part of the $75,000 for the building nor the $50,000
for Plaintiff's personal property, the amount of the insurance
payable under the terms of the policy in case of loss, has been
paid to the Plaintiff by the Defendant.

As a direct and proximate result of said vexation denied
by the Defendant, Plaintiff has lost his businesses, has been
denied the use of the settlement proceeds, has been denied the
interest earned from said settlement proceeds, and has had to
incur substantial expense to bring forth this suit to recover said
insurance benefits to which he is entitled according to the
‘tie.ois Revised Statutes.

On July 17,1993, Plaintiff proceeded to recover loss of

App. 59

M
4
\
*

De Fk 2 PD a ke OS 2

Forel :

businesses, loss of building and loss of personal property and
extended loss of business profit by the wrongful denial of
insurance claim, by filing a complaint for Breach of Contract
in the Circuit Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Will
County, Ilinois. See PL. EX.G., P. 39 and PL. EX. H., 40 -
45.

ARGUMENT

The Supreme Court should take this case because this
case involved points that were overlooked and misapprehended
by the Appellate Court of the Third District in its
determination of this cause. The points that are involved in the
case are of such importance that they should be decided by the
Supreme Court.

I
THE APPELLATE COURT FAILED TO EXAMINE
ADDUCED EVIDENCE AT TRIAL THAT GAVE THE
TRIAL COURT REASONS TO DENY PLAINTIFF'S

MOTION FOR JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING

App. 60

a

VERDICT / NEW TRIAL WHERE THE DEFENDANT
PRESENTED NO PROOF, NO EVIDENCE, NO WITNESS
TO THE PLEADINGS AND LABORATORY TESTS FOR
ACCELERANTS WERE NEGATIVE.

The Trial Court improperty denied plaintiff's post-trial
motion for judgment notwithstanding verdict/new trial where
the defendant submitted no evidence, no proof, and no
witnésses to the pleadings, that the appellate court affirmed the
decision of the Trial Court misapplied the laws governing
post-trial motion for judgment adduced at trial that gave the
Trial Court reasons to deny Plaintiffs motion for judgment

notwithstanding verdict/new trial where there was no proof or
evidence and no witnesses to the pleadings of defendant. The
reviewing court should have set aside a jury determination.
The motion for N.O.V. and New Trial was addressed to the
Trial Court's discretion. A clear abuse of discretion
affirmatively appears on the record and the reviewing court
should have set aside a jury determination and examined

App. 61

:
i
z
{
a
*
4
|
y
3
%
3
’
t
4
2

rere,
NPRG At.

ee FRETS ES IS Ee WoW Dae ats

Whether the evidence adduced at trial supported the
defendant's affirmative pleadings.

The verdict for the Defendant was not in accord with the
pleadings evidence or findings. Therefore, the evidence
viewed in aspect was not favorable to the Defendant. The
evidence Plaintiff submitted to the trial court was
preponderance of evidence and the complaint of Plaintiff
clearly stated as a Cause of Action. Exhibit E and Exhibit F is
of preponderance of evidence of Plaintiff complaint. The
defendant had a personal contract with the Plaintiff and not a
contract in REM, its purpose being not to insure property
against fire, but to insure the owner of the property against loss
by fire, Insurance 254.

The post trial motion should have been granted because
the motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict essential,
that the evidence was not in accord with the pleadings, or
findings, and it was legally insufficient as required by the Code
of Civil Procedure. _A new trial should have been granted,

App. 62

because the trial judge or the tendered instructions did not fully
and fairty inform the Jury as to the differing burdens of proof
according to $. CT Rule 239, Instructions (G), S. CT Rule
366 Note 657, andi Illinois Civil Practice 3553 and 3554.

In the case at bar, the Trial Courts denial of Plaintiffs
motion for N.O.V. and New Trial was completely abusive and
was not proper in light of the evidence presented to the jury.
The Appellate court should have disturbed the trial court's
ruling, because the evidence adduced at Trial did not prove the
defendant's affirmative pleadings and proved that Plaintiff's
complaint breach of contract was truc.

ARGUMENT
Il
THE TRIAL COURT FAILED TO DETERMINE
WHETHER THE INSURER REFUSED TO PAY IS
VEXATIOUS OR UNREASONABLE. THE APPELLATE
COURT AFFIRMED. THE APPELLATE COURT
EXAMINE NOT WHETHER THE EVIDENCE COULD

App. 63

bepeiacind (Ur end dad egg chedien eal

HAVE SUPPORTED A VERDICT FOR THE
DEFENDANT, BUT FAIL TO EXAMINE WHETHER A
CONTRARY VERDICT IS CLEARLY EVIDENCE.
LIABILITY UNDER THE INSURANCE POLICY
NUMBER MP022170 WAS ESTABLISHED WHEN IT
WAS EXECUTED AND DELIVERED TO PLAINTIFF
MARCH 14, 1992. THE APPELLATE COURT FAILED
TO REVIEW THE TRIAL COURT FINDING UNDER AN
ABUSE OF DISCRETION STANDARD WHERE THE
TRIAL COURT IMPROPERLY DENIED PLAINTIFFS
MOTION FOR NOTWITHSTANDING VERDICT/NEW
TRIAL.

The Trial Court should have determined whether an
insurer's refusal to pay is vexatious or unreasonable.
Kohimeier V. Shelter Insurance Company, 170 Ill. App. 3 d
643, 121 Ml. Dec. 288, 525,NE 2d 94(Sth dist, 1988). The
Appellate Court Affirming the decision of the Trial Court.
Conflicts with the rule of the Ilinois Civil Practice, Volume III

App. 64

(14.39). Plaintiff submitted the insurance policy to the Court
for evidence and submitted a Sworn Statement in proof of loss
to the Court for evidence. The evidence adduce at the trial by
the Plaintiff was so overwhelmingly favor that no verdict for
the defendant could ever stand. The pleadings of defendant

was that the Plaintiff intentionally set or procured the setting of
the fire in question and made false misrepresentations about
the fire. Another one of the Defendant;s affirmatively plead
was that Plaintiff had no insurable interest in the subject
property. These issues were never brought up at trial and
discussed to the jury. Nor were any jury instructions regarding
these pleadings tendered. Although to established the defense
of misrepresentation of proof of loss, an insurance company
must demonstrate that representations made by insured were
relevant, material, and intentionally false Insurance 1249.
The Appellee did not establish the defense of fraud,
misrepresentation or concealment of material fact in the proof

of loss. Material allegations in the pleadings in any action on

App. 65

an insurance policy must be proved if put in issue Insurance
344 Issues, Proof and Variance. The evidence aiduced at
trial clearly did not establish defendant's affirmatively
pleadings, EX.I, p. 46-48. As the record reveal, no
sufficient evidence existed for the jury to return a
verdict in defendant's favor. The Appellate Court
should have examined whether the evidence adduced
at trial supported the Defendant's affirmatively
pleadings for the jury to return a verdict in

Defendant's favor. The test is whether a contrary

verdict is clearly evidence. Johnson V. Chicago
Transit Authority, 248 ILL. App. 3d 91, 287, Ill. Dec
842, 618 NE 2d 433 (1st Dist. 1993). No review of
the records indicates that defense counsel's argument
was based solely upon the defendant's pleadings.
EX.I, P. 46 - 48 or no evidence adduced at trial.

Therefore, the issues were an abuse of discretions.

App. 66

In any action by or against a company where in as
an issue, the liability of a company on a policy or policies of
insurance or the amount of the loss payable there under or for
an unreasonable delay in settling a claim; and it appears to the
court that such action or delay is vexatious and unreasonable,
the court may allow as part of the taxable costs in the action
reasonable attorney fees, other costs, plus an amount not to
exceed any one of the following amounts:

a. 25% of the amount which the court or jury finds such
party is entitled to recover against the company
exclusive of all costs;

b. $25,000.00

C., The excess of the amount which the court or jury finds
such party is entitle to recover, exclusive of costs,

over the amount, if any, which the company offered to

pay in settlement of the claim prior to the action.

App. 67

|
i
4
{
|
|
¥
q
:

cai Nihari ANIA i te NAR MBE EE Bet i WS A te nib ebb

ARGUMENT
i
THE JURY SHOULD HAVE VOTED FOR
PLAINTIFF, BECAUSE, DEFENDANT NATIONAL
CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY VIOLATED AND
BREACHED THE SUBJECT MULTI-PERIL. INSURANCE
POLICY EXECUTED AND DELIVERED TO PLAINTIFF
MARCH 14, 1992
The defendant violated and breached the subject multi-peril
insurance policy by unreasonably refusing to pay for loss of building
and personal property. A denial of liability by an insurance
company on the grounds is a waivery as to a want of, or defect in
notice and proof of loss Insurance 1261 Denial of Liability of
Refusal to Pay. The defendant submitted no proof on an essential
element of the Cause of Action.
Broadly stated, if the company denies liability for a loss
and refuses to pay if either, for that or another person placing

its refusal on a definite ground other than want of notice

App. 68

and proof of loss and defects in their forms or substance, it
waves the right to insist on the failure to give notice and make
request proofs as a defense to an action on policy, Insurance
559, 559 (1). The pleadings made by the defendant on its
face fail to state a proper cause of action, (as distinguished
from a defective statement of a good cause of action,CCP
2-1204, P.12

In Plaintiff's complaint filed July 14, 1992, in Circuit
Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit, for Breach of Contract,
Amended Complaint, September 27, 1993, Plaintiff sued the
Defendant for Breach of Contract because the Defendant did
not present any proof, witness, or evident to deny the claim.
Mohr V. Dix Mut. Country Fire Ins. Co. 143 ILL. App 3 d
998, 97 ILL. Dec 831,493 NE 2d 638 (4th Dist. 1986)
Plaintiff pays for judgment against National Casualty
Company, defendant for judgment, in the sum of $75,000 for
the building, $50,000 for personal property and $2,000 per -

week for net lost business profit from August 5, 1993 and

App. 69

thereafter, plus reasonable attorney's fees, plus cost of suit,

plus , an amount not to exceed one of the following:

1. 25% of the amount which the Court or Jury finds
such party is entitle to recover against the

company, exclusive of all costs:

2. $25,000;

3. the excess of the amount which the Court or Jury
finds such party is entitled to recover exclusive of
all costs, over the amount, if any, which the
company offered to pay in settlement of the
claim prior to actions. A true and accurate copy
of Plaintiffs COMPLAINT is Attached = as

ibit 40 - 45.

A fire insurance company’s denial of liability or refusal to
pay constitutes a waiver of policy requirements as to notice
and proof of loss Insurance 1300. A denial: of liability on a
fire insurance policy will constitute a waiver of notice and

proof of loss where the denial is unqualified in character.

App. 70

The measure of damages, for Breach of Contract is the
amount which will compensate the injury person for the loss
which fulfillment of the Contract would have prevented the
Breach if it has entailed, Trial Handbook for Dlinois Lawyer -
Civil_ 62.18

CONCLUSIONS
Wherefore, James Pruitt, Plaintiff-Petitioner prays for the
Supreme Court to take this case because this case involved
points that were overlooked and misapprehended by the
Appellate Court of the Third District in its determination of
this cause and prays that this Court provides Plaintiff with such
relief as it may deem proper.

Respectfully Submitted,

es Pruitt
304 Broadway
Joliet, Ilinois 60435

(815) 723-7586

App. 71

i

ng a LN LO ee

POs ee ae

LE VARESE ARTE RSG NNAS DASE LEI EA ham ANI OT Be BB

APPENDIX F
FILED APRIL 3, 1996
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF ILLINOIS
NO. 80439
James Pruitt
Petitioner
Versus
National Casualty Insurance Company
Respondent

ORDER Denying Petition for Leave to Appeal

No. 80439 - James Pruitt, petitioner, v. National Casualty

Insurance Company, respondent. Leave to appeal, Appellate
The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition for leave
Court, Third District.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition for leave
to appeal in the above entitled cause.

The mandate of this Court will issue to the Appellate Court
on April 25, 1996.

App. 72

APPENDIX G
FILED JULY 14, 1993
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
TWELFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

WILL COUNTY, ILLINOIS

NO. 93-L-8851
James Pruitt,
Petitioner
versus
National Casualty Insurance Company,
Respondent

PETITIONER COMPLAINT AND AMENDED
COMPLAINT

THIS CAUSE IS BEFORE THE CIRCUIT COURT of
the CIRCUIT COURT of the TWELFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
WILL COUNTY, ILLINOIS, upon the conclusion of a Jury
trial, February 6, 1995 and Commenced on February 8, 1995
The Court heard the testimony of numerous witnesses and had

before it a number of documents and personnel records to

App. 73

examine. The Court did not advise the Jury of the nature of the

case, nor did it consider all the evidence and submit it to the

Jury to make a decision on the following findings of fact and

consideration of law.”

Wherefore, James Pruitt, Plaintiff, prays that the Circuit
Court of the Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Will County, Hlinois will
enter the Post Trial Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding
. Verdict/nNew Trial, and prays for Judgment against National
Casualty Compagny in the sum of $75,000 for damages to the
subject building, $50,000 fur damages to his personal property
and $2,000 for weekly lost net business profit from August 8,
a993 and each week thereafter and such other relief as this
| Court may deem proper.

. Respectfully Submitted,

pacts Nai

Johet, Ilincis 60435
815-723-7586

App. 74

FINDING OF FACT
COMPLAINT

See Attached Pages
APPENDIX H
MENDED COMPLAINT

FILED SEPTEMBER 27, 1993

See Attached Pages

App. 75

a
Sa
+
3
“
\
a
Fd
:
a
Bd
4
F
é

COMPLAINT

Suing For Breach Of Contract
A. Designated Premises: 738 Collins St., Joliet, Illinois -
Restaurant & Tavern. Property Covered: Building $75,000.00
Limits of Liability. General Building form MPOO1O Section1.
B. Designated Premises: 738 Collns St, Joliet, Illinois.
Restaurant & Tavern. P)property Covered: Personal Property of
Insured. $50,000.00 Limit of Liability. General Personal
Property form MPOO12 Section 1
Suing for Damages Caused To Business
$2,000.00 per week for damages caused to The Other Place
Bar-B-Q and Lounge business since the presentation and
acceptance of the proof of loss. Special Multi-Peril Policy
Conditions and definitions MPOO9O, Section 1, Company
options. The Company did not give notice within thirty (30)
days after it had received a signed sworn statement of loss of the

option to take all or any of the property damaged at an agreed

oa

value or to repair, rebuild or replace it with equivalent property.
App. 76

Suing The Company For Denying The Claim On Insufficient
Evidence
Conditions Applicable to section 1 MPOO90 Mortgage

CERTIFICATION
I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that all facts set
forth in this complaint are true and correct, except those facts
stated upon information and belief, and as to those facts, I
believe them to be true.

Notary Public

AMENDED COMPLAINT
COUNT I

DECLARATORY JUDGMENT
Now comes the plaintiff, JAMES PRUITT, by and
through his attorneys, WRIGHT & BABCOCK, LTS., and
for Count I of his Complaint against the defendant,
NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY, states as follows:

1. The plaintiff resides in Joliet, Will County, Ilinois,
and the defendant, NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY, is
a registered Illinois insurance company which does business in
Will County, Ilinois.

2. On April 27, 1992, the plaintiff, JAMES PRUITT,
owned and operated a restaurant and lounge under the nameof
"The Other Place" upon the premises and building located at
738-740 Collins Street, Joliet, Will County, Illinois, further
plaintiff possessed liquor licenses in his name for said business
issued by the State of Illinois and the City of Joliet.

3. On April 27, 1992, there was in effect an office

App. 78

lease for the subject premises and building located at 738 - 740
Collins Street, Joliet, Ilinois with the plaintiff, JAMES
PRUITT, as lessee and Roberto Olivas as lessor, copy attached
hereto as Exhibit A. :

4. That the plaintiff owned and operated the restaurant
and lounge upon the subject premises and building which also
contained apartments on the second floor where the plaintiff
maintained his personal residence on April 27, 1992.

5. On April 27, 1992, the plaintiff maintained and had
in effect a special multi-peril insurance policy with property
coverage for the subject building in the sum of $75,000.00
and personal property in the sum of $50,000.00.

6. On April 27, 1992, a fire occurred upon the
premises and building of the subject property thereby
destroying said building, plaintiffs personal property and
plaintiff's business.

7. The plaintiff, JAMES PRUITT, promptly proceeded
to file a claim with the defendant, NATIONAL CASUALTY

App. 79

iiriyiadie tin! A 72D wciee kak eh:

oe 5 At ‘a

COMPANY, and submitted a Sworn Statement In Proof Of
Loss,

8. On October 28, 1992, the defendant, NATIONAL
CASUALTY COMPANY, denied and rejected plaintiff's
claim for fire loss and property damage for the following
reasons:

A. Intentionally setting or procuring the setting of the
fire in question, and,

B. Falsely swearing in plaintiffs examination under
oath , and,

C. Lack of an insurable interest in the property
(building and contents ) at the time of loss.

9. As a result of the fire damage to his business and
the subject building, the plaintiff has incurred substantial loss
of business, loss of profit and loss of property, and, further,
that plaintiff has suffered further and ¢..tended loss of business
profit in the sum of $2,000 per week by the wrongful denial of

his insurance claim since he has not received the insurance

App. 80

proceeds which are necessary for plaintiff to rebuild the
subject building and to restore the operation of his business.
10. _ It is the position of the plaintiff, JAMES PRUITT,
that he has a proper claim under said insurance policy for
property loss for the subject building and for his personal
property in respect to the occurrence of April 27, 1992 and
that the defendant's denial of the insurance coverage is unfounded.
11. That an actual controversy exists between the
parties hereto.

WHEREFORE, for Court I of his Complaint, the

plainuff, JAMES PRUITT, prays as follows:

A. That the court declare the rights and liabilities of
the parties under the policy of insurance aforementioned.

B. That the court enter a finding that the defendant,
NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY, is liable for plaintiff's
losses under the said policy of insurance in respect to the
subject premises, building and personal property.

C. That the court enter a finding that the defendant,

App. 81

ae ee eae

NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY, in the sum of
$75,000.00 for loss of the subject building, $50,000.00 for
loss of the plaintiff's personal property and lost business
weekly net profit in the sum of $2,000.00 for each week from
August 5, 1992 until the final decision of the court.
D. That this court provide the plaintiff with such
relief as it may deem proper.
COUNT II
VEXATIOUS DENIAL/DELAY

Now comes JAMES PRUITT, plaintiff, by and through
his attorney, WRIGHT & BABCOCK, LTD., and for Count
II of his Complaint against NATIONAL CASUALTY
COMPANY, defendant, states as follows:

1-11 Plaintiff states and realleges paragraph 1 through
11 of Count I of his Complaint as and for paragraphs 1
through 11 of Count II of his complaint.

12. With disregard for the documentation provided by

JAMES PRUITT, plaintiff, to date, NATIONAL

App. 82

CASUALTY COMPANY, defendant, has unreasonably and
vexatiously denied said claim and unreasonably and
vexatiously delayed in settling said claim for property loss in
direct violation and breach of said multi - peril insurance policy
and the Illinois Revised Statutes.

13. That as a direct and proximate result of said
vexatious delay by NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY,
JAMES PRUITT has been denied the use of the settlement
proceeds, had been denied the interest to be earned from said
settlement proceeds, and has had to incur substantial legal
expenses and court costs to bring forth this suit to recover said
insurance benefits to which he is rightfully entitled.

14. That the Illinois Revised Statutes, 1989, Chapter

73, Paragraph 767, provides, inter alia:

In any action by or against a company wherein is

in issue the lability of a company on a policy or

policies of insurance or the amount of the loss

payable thereunder, or for an unreasonable

App. 83

i
4
4
:
4
{
y
$

ms S QPB RN DATA BALI elt ke BD

we ib decid sili cites gti $i DOA 5 ca SE aged te

. delay in settling a claim, and it appears to the

Court that such action or delay is vexatious and
unreasonable, the Court may allow as part of the
taxable costs, plus an amount not to exceed any
one of the following amounts:

a. 25% of the amount which the Court or Jury
finds such party is entitled to recover against the
company, exclusive of all costs;

b. $25,000.00;

¢. The excess of the amount which the Court
or jury finds such party is entitled to recover,
exclusive of costs, over the amount, if any,

which the company offered to pay in

settlement of the action.

WHEREFORE, for Count II of his complaint, the
plaintiff, JAMES PRUITT, prays for judgment against
NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY, defendant, as
follows:

App. 84

A. For a judgment in the sum of $75,000.00 for
the building, $50,000.00 for personal property
and $2,000.00 per week for net lost business
profit from August 5, 1993 and thereafter, plus,
B. Reasonable attorneys fees, plus,
C. Costs of suit, plus,
D. An amount not to exceed one of the following:
1. 25% of the amount which the Court or jury
finds such party is entitled to recover against
the company, exclusive of all costs;
2. $25,000.00
3. The excess of the amount which the Court or
jury finds such party is entitled to recover,
exclusive of costs, over the amount, if any,
which the company offeredto pay in
settlement of the claim prior to the action.

E. Such other relief as this Court may deem proper.

App. 85

:
2
4
4
co
$
-
Ps
2
a
ak
2
~
A
Bs
x
na
he
:
h
&
a
‘

COUNT I
BREACH OF CONTRACT
Now comes JAMES PRUITT, plaintiff, and for Count I
of his Complaint against NATIONAL CASUALTY
COMPANY, defendant, states as follows:
1 - 11. Plaintiff states and realleges paragraphs 1
through 11 of his Complaint as and for
paragraphs 1 through 11 of Count III of
his Complaint.

12. that NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY
defendant, in violation and breach of the
subject multi-peril insurance policy with
JAMES PRUITT, plaintiff, has now
denied overage with disregard for JAMES
PRUITT, plaintiff, having met the policy
criteria for the subject property damage
coverage.

WHEREFORE, JAMES PRUITT, plaintiff for COUNT I

App. 86

of his Complaint prays for judgment against NATIONAL
CASUALTY COMPANY in the sum of $75,000 for damage
to the subject building, $50,000 for damage to his personal
property and $2,000.--for weekly lost net business profit from

August 8, 1993 and each week thereafter and such other relief

as this Court may deem proper. 77) ees aw aa

James Pruitt

304 N. Broadway

Joliet, Dlinois 60435

(815) 723-7586

App. 87

APPENDIX I
FILED OCTOBER 28, 1992
RESPONDENT'S PLEADINGS
Claim No. 212142-74
James Pruitt, d/b/a THE OTHER PLACE
Policy No. MP022170
Date of Loss 4-27-92

See Attached Pages

App. 88

Dear Mr. Pruitt:

National Casualty Company hereby rejected and returns to you
the instrument purported to be a Sworn Statement in Proof of
Loss rendered by you to the undersigned insurance company
in connection with an alleged loss caused by fire on April 27,

1992.

The policy of insurance upon which your claim is made
contains the following provisions:
Concealment or Fraud.
Thig policy is void if any insured has intentionally
concealed or misrepresented any material fact or
circumstance relating to his msurance.
This company shall not be liable for loss by fire or
other perils insured against in this policy caused
directly or indirectly, by: neglect of the insured to use
all reasonable means to save and preserve the property

at and after a loss.

App. 89

Conditions suspending or restricting insurance.

Unless otherwise provided in writing added hereto, this

company shall not be liable for loss occurring:

(a) while the hazard is increased by any means within
the control or knowledge of the insured;

We also deny any and all liability for your violation of the

following Warranty contained in your Swom Statement in
Proof of Loss:

Said loss was not caused by design or procurement on
the part of the insured or this affiant: nothing had been
done by or with the privity or consent of the insured or
9 this affiant to violate the conditions of the policy

or render it void...
You have violated the aforementioned terms and conditions of

the policy of insurance, the warranty of the Sworn Statement

in Proof of Loss and the public policy of the State of Illinois
by cither intentionally setting or procuring the setting of the

fire in question and by falsely swearing in your examination

8
x
Ry
ms 4
a
%
a
‘ba
thd
:
o

App. 90

under oath.

We also deny any and all liability to you for your lack of an
insurable interest in the property at the time of loss.

You are hereby notified that the above-noted policy of
insurance also contains the following provision:

SUIT. _No suit or action on this policy for the recovery
equity unless all requirements of this policy shall have
twelve (12) months nest after inception of loss.

Section 9.19.80(b) (8) (c) of the Rules and Regulations of the
Illinois Department of Insurance requires that our company
advise you that the above-noted time period to bring suit has
been tolled from August 11, 1992 until the date of this notice.
This time period has been tolled 78 days. You have until
July 16, 1993 to comply with this provision.

Neither this rejection of your purported Sworn Statement in
Proof of Loss, nor this denial of liability is to be construed as a
waiver of any of the rights of National Casualty Company

App. 91

under its policy of insurance number MP 022170, nor is it our
purpose by this letter to waive any additional defenses which
further investigation or discovery procedures, if suit is instituted,
may reveal

Part 919 af the Rules af the Ilinois Department of Insurance requires
that our company advise you that if you wish to take this
matter up with the Illinois Department of Insurance, it
maintains a Consumer Division in Chicago at 100 West
Randolph Street, Chicago, Illinois 60601 and in Springfield at
320 West Washington Street, Springfield, Illinois 62767.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Shirlee Blount

Shirlee Blount

Sr. Claims Examiner

App. 92

APPENDIX J

FILED FEBRUARY 22, 1995

AMENDED MARCH 3, 1995
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
TWELFTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT WILL COUNTY
ILLINOIS
NO. 93-L 8851
James Pruitt
Petitioner Versus
National Casualty Insurance Company,
Respondent
POST TRIAL MOTION for Judgment Notwithstanding
Verdict and For a New Trial
Petitioner, for this motion requests that this court
reinstate the Cause of Action in the above referenced matter
and that a Status date be set to reappear before this court for a
New Trial because the Respondent did not prove the reason
to refuse to pay over the policy proceeds. The Respondent

App. 93

i aa elacal

nor his witnesses furnished information to the jury for such
verdict.

1) On January 9, 1995, on the courts own motion case
was reset to Jury status trial call . Cause was set for
status 2-6-95 at 9:30 a.m. Judge Grabiec, 1-18-95

status call case scheduled for 2-3-95, at 1:35 p.m..

2) On February 6, 1995, trial began with a witness

called to the stand to testify for the plaintiff bought

the property from, testified that there was n

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1364%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
