# Opposition Brief — Brooks v. George County

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1321%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 948

## Text

a
2

No. 96-267 | |

IN THE i i)

Supreme Court of the United States sep ie joo,

OCTOBER TERM, 1995
' CLERK
ROBERT W. BROOKS, Le
Petitioner,

Vv. ’

GEORGI © OUNTY, MISSISSIPPI;
EUGENE HOWELL, Individually and in His Official Capacity
as Sheriff of George County, Mississippi;
EARL KOSKELA Individually and in His Official Capacity as
District Attorney; WILBUR WARD, Individually and in His
Official Capacity as Circuit Clerk of George County Mississippi;
DON PARIMON, JAMES COOPER AND GEORGE MILLER,
Individually and in Their Official Capacities as
Deputy Sheriffs of George County, Mississippi;
BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF GEORGE COUNTY, MISSISSIPPI,
BEING NORMAN SEDRICK HOWELL, LARRY HAVARD,
RALPH FAIRLEY, R. WAYNE CHRISTIAN AND
CLYDE W. EUBANKS, SR., Individually and in Their Official
Capacities as Supervisors for George County, Mississippi;
UNITED STATES FIDELITY AND GUARANTY COMPANY,
a Corporation; and UNITED FIRE CASUALTY COMPANY,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

DAN H. FAIRLY
WALTER D. WILLSON
Counsel of Record
WELLS MARBLE & HuRST, PLLC
400 Lamar Life Building
Post Office Box 131
Jackson, Mississippi 39205-0131
Telephone: 601/355-8321
Attorneys for Respondents

o

c

LIST OF INTERESTED PARTIES

The undersigned counsel of record for George County,
Mississippi, Eugene Howell, Sheriff of George County,
Mississippi, James Cooper and George Miller, Deputy Sheriffs
of George County, Mississippi, and the George County Board
of Supervisors, certify that the following listed persons or
entities have an interest in the outcome of this case.

1. Robert W. Brooks, Appellee and Cross-
Appellant

2. George County, Mississippi, Appellant and
Cross-Appellee

3. Eugene Howell, Sheriff of George County,
Mississippi, Appellant and Cross-Appellee

4. James Cooper, Deputy Sheriff of George
County, Mississippi, Appellant and Cross-

Appellee

a George Miller, Deputy Sheriff of George
County, Mississippi, Appellant and Cross-

Appellee

6. Don Parimon, Deputy Sheriff of George
County, Mississippi, Cross-Appellee

7. Earl Koskela, District Attorney, Nineteenth
Judicial District, Cross-Appellee

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Wilbur Ward, Circuit Clerk of George County,
Mississippi, Cross-Appellee

William T. Bailey, Sr., Cross-Appellee

Board of Supervisors of George County,
Mississippi, Cross-Appellee

Larry Havard, Member, Board of Supervisors of
George County, Mississippi, Cross-Appellee

Norman Sedrick Howell, Member, Board of
Supervisors of George County, Mississippi,
Cross-Appellee

Ralph Fairly, Member, Board of Supervisors of
George County, Mississippi, Cross-Appellee

R. Wayne Christian, Member, Board of
Supervisors of George County, Mississippi,
Cross-Appellee

Clyde W. Eubanks, Sr., Member, Board of
Supervisors of George County, Mississippi,
Cross-Appellee

United States Fidelity and Guaranty Company,
Cross-Appellee

United Fire and Casualty Company, Cross-
Appellee

David C. Frazier, attorney for Robert W.
Brooks

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

David A. Roberts, attorney for Robert W.
Brooks

Roy W. Pike, attorney for Robert W. Brooks

Dan H. Fairly, Walter D. Willson and Wells
Marble & Hurst, attorneys for George County,
Mississippi, Eugene Howell, James Cooper,
George Miller and Don Parimon

Gerald A. Dickerson, attorney for Board of
Supervisors of George County, Mississippi

Geoffrey Morgan, attorney for Earl Koskela and
Wilbur Ward

American Justice Insurance Reciprocal

PAGE
LIST OF INTERESTED PERSONS ................. i
Se Ga I a oe oc bk Wee au dn seen iv
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............... Vv
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ................ l
7 yo: gg gs Ce! EP emcee l
REE cs ex Sica ce eee ae ec cares 5
I. The Fifth Circuit's Opinion Does Not
Conflict With the Decisions of Other
Courts and/or The Thirteenth Amendment
to the United States Constitution ............. 7
Il. The Fifth Circuit Correctly Ruled
That No Legitimately-Recognized
Property Interest Protected By the
Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment Exists for Consensual Work
Performed on Private Property ............... 21
Il. The Fifth Circuit Correctly Held That
Sheriff Howell Had No Duty Under
Mississippi Law to Periodically Ascertain
Brooks’ Status as a Pretrial Detainee .......... 26

CRITI 5005 kab oes Week e eee cA Uh eae Kees 30

Cases

Abbott v. Gould, Inc., 443 N.W.2d 591 (Neb. 1989) ... 21

Anderson v. Creighton, 107 S.Ct. 3034 (1987) ....... 10
Baker v. McCollan, 99 S.Ct. 2689 (1979) ........ 25, 27
Barrett v. Miller, 599 So.2d 559 (Miss. 1992) ..... 21, 22
Bell v. Wolff, 496 F.2d 1252

(Oth Cir. 1974) «5 ows cece eee cee ss 7, 9, 10, 20
Borror v. White, 377 F.Supp. 181

(W.D. Va. 1974) . 0... c ccc ee eens 25
Braxton v. U.S., 111 S.Ct. 1854 (1991) ..........---- 7
Brooks v. George County, 84 F.3d 157

(Sth Cir. 1996) on i ce eee eee eees 5
Buckey v. County of Los Angeles, 968 F.2d 791

(Sth Gir. 199Z) .. wwe cee cee eee ees 24
Butler v. Perry, 36 S.Ct. 258 (1916) .........---+--- 9
California v. Hodari, 111 S.Ct. 1547 (1991) ...... 28, 29

Clark v. Link, 855 F.2d 156 (4th Cir. 1988) .......... 22

S (continued) PAGE

Daniels v. Williams, 106 S.Ct. 662 (1986) ...... 23, 24, 25
Davidson v. Cannon, 106 S.Ct. 668

| BR ar ee Ay ere ay a 24
Davis v. Scherer, 104 S.Ct. 3012 (1984) ............ 23
Duckett v. City of Cedar Park, Texas,

DOO Fe AFA CHU Ge, BOUED oc cece vacvvees 27
Durham v. U.S., 91 §.Ct. 858 (1971)... 2... ee ee 5
Ellis v. Dixon, 75 S.Ct. 850 (1955) ................ 23
Garcia v. Reeves County, Texas, 32 F.3d 200

DOPE. ox bcs SS alaee whch c cu eneen? 22
Gregory v. City of Rogers, Arkansas, 974 F.2d 1006

gt | Peron er eon re 24, 25
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 102 §.Ct. 2727 (1982) ......... 10
Hull v. City of Duncanville, 678 F.2d 582

oe | eR nies yy 26
Justice v. Dennis, 834 F.2d 380 (4th Cir. 1987) ....... 22
Mitchell v. Forsythe, 105 S.Ct. 2806 (1985) ......... 10

Murray v. Miss. Dept. of Corrections, 911 F.2d 1167
cole B. PPTe Tere errr ery errr ree 8

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES (continued) PAGE
Plaisance v. Phelps, 845 F.2d 107

ee eT eer Te Tere eee ee eee 8
Porter v. City of Detroit, 639 F.Supp. 589

& eS Re rerrerrr Tyee 25
Rochin v. California, 72 S.Ct. 205 (1952) ........... 25
Terry v. Ohio, 88 S.Ct. 1868 (1968) ............... 28
Turner v. Unification Church, 473 F.Supp. 367

es ahs CD vba a Ne send ean 8, 20
U.S. v. Mendenhall, 100 S.Ct. 1870 (1980) ....... 28, 29

United States v. Kozminski, 108 §.Ct. 2751
SEE Sc eca ca Wah aces e Welene 0° 7, 11, 13, 20

United States v. Shackney, 333 F.2d 475
Ee. SNE Ss sacice pe Raed s aes waa ss 9, 13, 19

Watson v. Graves, 909 F.2d 1549
DICTED ie Os Wits ohio sin Wan BN Ws 8, 9, 14

Wendt v. Lynaugh, 841 F.2d 619
Li oa b's nia nated a ewh ban es 8

ABLE OF A (continued) PAGE

Conetinition § 1 Rul

Thirteenth Amendment ......... 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 18, 19, 20
Fourteenth Amendment .......... 4, 5, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
Be ae, EEE ok 508 4 hg ve eee iN ae eee |
EE 5 Fhe cca eR OR aas See ee |
FE Oe Beans eet r. od Meg % 4 Oe One 1
gk Ca | Bee 1, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26, 29
Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-13 (1972) ......... 18, 22, 23, 25
Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-21 (Rev. 1993) ........... 23, 26
Miss. Code Ann. §97-9-37 (Supp. 1996) ............ 29
Mississippi Constitution Art. 10 §226 .............. 22

POI Gan RS. os SESS eae te se a eee 5, 6

l
Stat t of Jurisdicti

The district court had subject matter jurisdiction of this
matter, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1331, inasmuch as the claims
and cause of action arose under and pursuant to the laws of the
United States, specifically, 42 U.S.C. §1983. The United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit had jurisdiction of the
appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1291, since a final judgment and
an amended final judgment were entered on June 20, 1994, and
July 7, 1994, respectively. This Court has jurisdiction to
entertain the instant petition for writ of certiorari pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §1254(1).

Statement of the Case

Robert W. Brooks (Brooks) was initially indicted by a
grand jury of George County, Mississippi on October 29, 1990,
for the separate offenses of grand larceny and felony burglary.’
At the time the indictments were returned and the capias issued
for his arrest, Brooks, out on bond, had fled the state of
Mississippi and was located in Virginia. Brooks was thereafter
arrested by law enforcement authorities in the state of Virginia
who notified the George County, Mississippi Sheriffs office of
his arrest. Between the indictments and his arrest, another
felony warrant issued for Brooks on the charge of automobile
theft. (R.Vol.[Xp.422). Eugene Howell, Sheriff of George
County, Mississippi (Sheriff Howell), traveled to the state of

"Brooks had previously pled guilty to felony burglary on December 9, 1986,
in the state of Virginia, as a result of which he was sentenced to three years in
prison. (R. Vol.IIp.427).

|

2

Virginia and arrested Brooks on the auto theft charge, and re-
turned him to the state of Mississippi. (R. Vol. [IXp.422-423).
On January 21, 1991, Brooks was incarcerated in the George
County jail. (R. Vol. VIIIp.168). Brooks was arraigned on the
indictments for grand larceny and felony burglary on January
28, 1991. (R.Vol. VIp.1580-1582; Vol. IXp.430).

Without notice to anyone, on February 4, 1991, by order
of the Circuit Court of George County, the two felony
indictments returned against Brooks were dismissed by an order
of nolle prosequi. The order of nolle prosequi was presented to
the court by the Assistant District Attorney, Gary Evans, and
was executed by Circuit Judge Clinton E. Lockard.
(R.Vol.IXp.431). This transaction took place in Judge
Lockard’s chambers in Jackson County, Mississippi. The order
was then transmitted to the Circuit Clerk of George County and
placed in Brooks’ court file. (R. Vol. [Xp.432). Brooks was not
notified of the order of nolle prosequi; nor were Sheriff Howell
or his Deputies. (R. Vol.[Xp.436,432). Brooks discovered the
entry of the order while perusing his court file on October 1,
1991. (R.Vol.Xp.607). Brooks presented a copy of the order
to Sheriff Howell, who immediately released him from jail.
(R. Vol.Xp.607).

In March, 1991, during the time period in which he was
confined in the George County jail, Brooks requested and was
granted trusty status. (R.Vol.[Xp.442,608). Brooks
specifically asked that he be made a trusty. (R. Vol.Xp.689).
As @ trusty, Brooks was not locked down in his cell, but was,
instead, allowed the freedom to roam in and out of his cell,
Sheriff Howell's office, the jail, and the surrounding grounds
area. (R.Vol.[Xp.447). Brooks even used Sheriff Howell's

ee

3

personal shower, not the shower in the common area used by
other inmates. (R.Vol.VIIIp.280). While incarcerated,
Brooks performed, at his own request, various services for
Sheriff Howell, George County and others, including several
charitable or benevolent organizations, such as the Red Cross,
a local VFW Post, an area Little League ballpark, and the
George County Community Work Center, among others.
(R. Vol. [Xp.492;Vol.Xp.612,620). Brooks performed these
services on public property as well as private property. Brooks
performed these services for two reasons. First and foremost,
he was able to secure his release from jail during the day.
(R. Vol.Xp.609). Secondly, Brooks earned extra money by
working on the outside. (R. Vol. VIIIp.276). Brooks was not
compensated for those services he performed on public
property, but was, in several instances, paid money or received
property and/or goods in exchange for those services he
performed on private property. (R. Vol. VIIIp.275). The servi-
tude of Brooks on each and every occasion, was entirely
voluntary and was accomplished at his own request in order to
secure his release from confinement. (R. Vol. Xp.688-689,694-
695).

Shortly after his release from confinement, Brooks filed
a complaint in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of Mississippi, Southern Division, on July 1, 1992,
alleging various and sundry violations of his civil rights, seeking
$6,500,000 in damages. (R.Vol.Ip.1). During the discovery
phase, Brooks filed an amended complaint on March 29, 1993,
adding several additional parties and increasing the amount he
demanded to $17,000,000. (R. Vol. IIp.392).

4

On motions for summary judgment filed by all parties,
the lower court denied Brooks’ motion for partial summary
judgment in its entirety, but granted, in part, Respondents’
motion for summary judgment with respect to Brooks’ claim of
unlawful incarceration, Brooks’ pendent state law claims of
negligence and false imprisonment, and Brooks’ claim for
punitive damages in Respondents’ official capacities. (R. Vol. VI
p.1608,1646).

After a five-day trial, the jury returned a verdict for
Brooks on April 26, 1994, against Sheriff Howell, James
Cooper and George Miller, Deputy Sheriffs of George County,
(the Deputies), and George County, awarding compensatory
damages in the amount of $70,000, $50,000 of which
represented damages concerning Brooks’ claim of involuntary
servitude under the Thirteenth Amendment, and $20,000
representing lost wages in connection with Brooks' due process
claim under the Fourteenth Amendment. (R. Vol. VIIp.1763).
The following date, in a bifurcated proceeding, the jury awarded
punitive damages against Sheriff Howell and Deputy Miller in
their individual capacities in the amount of $5,000 and $500, re-
spectively. (R.Vol.VIIp.1770). A judgment was entered
against Sheriff Howell and his Deputies on June 20, 1994.
(R. Vol. VIIp.1777). An amended judgment was thereafter
entered on July 7, 1994, to include George County as a
judgment debtor. (R. Vol. VIIp. 1809).

Respondents timely filed a notice of appeal on
September 6, 1994, thereby perfecting their appeal to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.
(R. Vol. VIip.1926). Brooks then filed a cross-appeal with

respect to the district court's granting of partial summary

5

judgment regarding his claim of unlawful incarceration, his
pendent state law claims and punitive damages in Respondents’
official capacities, and full summary judgment to the other
litigants on each of Brooks’ claims. (R. Vol. VIIp.1935).

This matter was argued orally before the Fifth Circuit on
November 6, 1995. Several months later, the Fifth Circuit
rendered its opinion, which reversed and rendered the jury
award premised upon involuntary servitude under the Thirteenth
Amendment, and reversed and rendered that portion of the jury
award concerning work on private property under the
Fourteenth Amendment. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the district
court's granting of summary judgment on behalf of the
Respondents on Brooks’ claim of unlawful incarceration.

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit that gives rise to
Brooks' petition for writ of certiorari is published at 84 F.3d
157 (Sth Cir. 1996), and is reprinted in full in appendix A to
Brooks' petition for writ of certiorari.

Argument

As this Court is well-aware, the granting of a writ of
certiorari is not a matter of right, but is wholly discretionary and
will be granted only where there are special and important
reasons therefor. Sup.Ct.R. 10.1; Durham v. U.S., 91 S.Ct.

858, 860 (1971). The generally-accepted reasons for granting
a petition for writ of certiorari include the following:

(a) a United States court of appeals has
entered a decision in conflict with the decision

6

of another United States court of appeals on the
same important matter...;

(b} a state court of last resort has decided an
important federal question in a way that
conflicts with the decision of another state court
of last resort or of a United States court of

appeals;

(c) astate court or a United States court of
appeals has decided an important question of
federal law that has not been, but should b.-
settled by this Court, or has decided an
important federal question in a way that
conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.

Sup.Ct.R. 10.1.

A petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely, if ever,
granted when the asserted error consists of nothing more than
erroneous factual findings or the misapplication of a properly
stated rule of law. This is the essence of Brooks’ petition for
writ of certiorari in this case. Indeed, Brooks has utterly failed,
as will be more fully demonstrated hereinbelow, to demonstrate
even a colorable conflict between the Fifth Circuit and an
opinion of any other court of appeals or, for that matter, with
any ruling of this Court. Furthermore, Brooks’ contentions
before this Court do not involve an important question of
federal law, but, at best, involve nothing more than the
interpretation of Mississippi statutory and common law, and
whether a claim was stated thereunder.

7

In essence, Brooks is dissatisfied with the Fifth Circuit’s
opinion, which reversed and rendered most aspects of this case
in Respondents’ favor. Be that as it may, dissatisfaction with
the Fifth Circuit’s opinion does not warrant special review by
the United States Supreme Court. Braxton v. U.S., 111 S.Ct.
1854, 1857 (1991).

L

The Fifth Circuit's Opinion Does Not Conflict
With the Decisions of Other Courts and/or
The Thirteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution

Brooks’ principal claim at trial and on appeal was that he
was coerced or forced to work while incarcerated in the George
County jail. Based upon this alleged compulsion, Brooks
claimed that Respondents allegedly violated his Thirteenth
Amendment right to be free from involuntary servitude. Having
failed to secure relief below, Brooks now contends that the Fifth
Circuit's opinion, as published at 84 F.3d 157 (Sth Cir. 1996),
directly conflicts with the Eighth Circuit's ruling in Bell v.
Wolff, 496 F.2d 1252 (8th Cir. 1974), and is supposedly
contrary to this Court's pronouncement in United States v.
Kozminski, 108 S.Ct. 2751 (1988). (Pet. at 13). Moreover,
Brooks contends that the Fifth Circuit's ruling concerning
involuntary servitude is directly contrary to the Thirteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution. Id. at 13.

The Thirteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides that "[nJeither slavery nor involuntary
servitude, except as punishment for a crime whereof the party

shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the states or in
any place subject to their jurisdiction." U.S. Const., Amend
XI. The Fifth Circuit defines involuntary servitude as “an
action by the master causing the servant to have, or to believe
he has, no way to avoid continued service or confinement."
Watson v. Graves, 909 F.2d 1549, 1552 (Sth Cir. 1990).
"When the employee has a choice, even though it is a painful
one, there is no involuntary servitude. A showing of
compulsion is thus a prerequisite to proof of involuntary
servitude." Id. at 1552.7 The definition of involuntary servitude
articulated by the Fifth Circuit comports with that of other
jurisdictions. See, e.g., Tumer v. Unification Church, 473
F.Supp. 367 (D.C. R.I. 1978). Indeed, the Second Circuit
utilizes an identical standard, defining involuntary servitude

thusly:

But a holding in involuntary servitude means to
us action by the master causing the servant to
have, or to believe he has, no way to avoid
continued service or confinement, in Mr. Justice

*Brooks contends that Watson is inapplicable since Brooks was a pretrial
detainee and not a convicted felon. This is simply wrong. Those convicts
sentenced to hard labor and those persons convicted under laws which allow
for labor as a part the punishment lose their Thirteenth Amendment protection.
SEER ES SO Ee 08 Ea Oe 1168 (Sth Cir. 1990);

845 F.2d 107, 108 (Sth Cir. 1988); Wendt v. Lynaugh,
841 F 24619, 620-21 (Sth Cir. 1988). Pretrial detainees have and retain the
protection of the Thirteenth Amendment. Watson, although a convicted felon,
was not sentenced to hard labor, and, therefore, retained his Thirteenth
Amendment rights. Watson, 909 F.2d at 1552. Therefore, for purposes of a
Thirteenth Amendment analysis, Brooks and Watson are on equal footing, each
protected under the cloak of the Thirteenth Amendment.

el

9

Harlan's language, “superior and overpowering
force, constantly present and threatening,"
[citation omitted] not a situation where the
servant knows he has a choice between
continued service and freedom, even if the
master has led him to believe that the choice
may entail consequences that are exceedingly
bad.

United States v. Shackney, 333 F.2d 475, 486 (2d Cir. 1964).
Undoubtedly, it is difficult to prove a true case of coercion or
compulsion since, as this Court noted almost eighty years ago,
involuntary servitude is considered to be "something akin to
African slavery." Butler v. Perry, 36 S.Ct. 258, 259 (1916).

Brooks’ contentions that the Fifth Circuit's ruling in this
case and in Watson are contrary to Bell are misplaced. In fact,
a good argument can be made that Bell is not even applicable to
Brooks’ claims.

Like Brooks, Bell claimed he was subjected to involun-
tary servitude, because he was, he claimed, compelled to work
as a pretrial detainee. The warden offered to allow Bell to work
rather than be placed in administrative segregation. The plaintiff
was told he would not be paid for his work. Bell worked for a
short period, then refused to obey a work order, and was placed
mS paoegntdednmegsademaebanrtn Id.

award the plaintiff damages. Id. at 1254

The confusion over what Bell stands for is easily under-
stood. The trial court in Bell found that Bell was not a true
volunteer, based upon what he believed was a deficiency in the

10

work paper signed by the plaintiff. The warden did not appeal
this finding, “a conclusion unchallenged by the defendant." Id.
at 1254. Thus, from a precedential viewpoint, the case is
meaningless because, on the issue of whether the facts
constituted involuntary servitude, there was nothing before the
court. While at first blush the case seems to say that mere
confinement can be sufficient coercion, deeper analysis reveals
something much different. For one thing, Bell was placed in
administrative or punitive segregation. Brooks was never
placed in administrative segregation or, as it is sometimes
known, “solitary confinement." Moreover, it is important to
note what was not before the court in Bell. The appellate court
was not asked to review the record to determine whether there
was sufficient evidence to constitute a Thirteenth Amendment
violation. As stated, the court noted that the warden did not
appeal that lower court finding. Additionally, this decision pre-
dated the standard-bearing qualified immunity decisions of
Anderson v. Creighton, 107 S.Ct. 3034 (1987), Mitchell v.

Forsythe, 105 S.Ct. 2806 (1985), and Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 102
S.Ct. 2727 (1982).

If Bell impinges on the case at bar at all, it is more likely
favorable to the Respondents. “With reference to the peti-
tioner's charge the warden had forced him to work, . . . the
record supports, that a a result of warden's conference withthe

on tend aehec Remedi? MA, 12d, Chan en
can be said of Sheriff Howell and his Deputies in this case.

Brooks compares his situation to that of the claimants

in U.S. v. Kozminski, 108 S.Ct. 2751 (1988). In Kozminski,
this Court affirmed the conviction of Kozminski, who was

11

charged with a violation of a federal criminal statute. However,
the case reveals facts much more egregious than those
presented by Brooks. Kozminski took two men in their 60s
with intelligence quotients in the 60s and put them to work on
his dairy farm. The men, who were paid little or nothing, were
subjected to physical and verbal abuse. The defendant ordered
the men not to leave the farm. On several occasions, the men
did leave, were picked up and brought back. Kozminski
isolated the victims from relatives, friends and even other farm-
hands. Without proper food and nutrition, the men were found
in poor health. They were forced to live in squalid conditions.
Id. at 2755-2756. This factual scenario is diametrically opposite
of that experienced by Brooks. Kozminski reveals facts the
record in the instant case does not begin to approach.

It is intellectually dishonest to compare Brooks' situation
to that of the victims in Kozminski. The plaintiffs in Kozminski
were persons of less than normal intelligence who, in the
autumn of their lives, were placed on a farm, subjected to
physical and verbal abuse, were picked up and brought back
when they left the farm, were isolated from their relatives,
friends and other farm hands, were not properly fed or housed,
and were forced to live in horrible conditions and poor health.
Nothing even close to this was experienced by Brooks. As this
Court noted in Kozminski, "we hold only that the jury must be
instructed that compulsion of services by the use or threatened
use of physical or legal coercion is a necessary incident of a
condition of involuntary servitude." Id. at 2765. The Fifth
Circuit's opinion in this case is far from contrary to this Court's

ruling in Kozminski.

12

A review of the record in this case demonstrates that
Brooks was never forced or compelled to do anything. The
record is replete with instances where Brooks acknowledged
that he requested to work and was not forced, ordered or
compelled to work. For example, Brooks admitted on cross-
examination that he requested to work in order to get outside:

Nobody in jail wants to be in jail, do
they?
Right, no, sir.
So the getting out is something that's
done to make life easier for you, true?
Yes, sir.

see
And that's what you asked for in this
case, isn't it?
I asked to get outside, yes, sir.
You wanted to be a trusty.
Want to, yes, sir, get out of my cell.
All right. And you know-- you know
enough about jails and the way things
work in the jail that the sheriff isn't
going to just let you out and let you just
sit on the sidewalk, is he?
A No, sir.

DFA OH FF AY AN

++e%
Q Now, you testified earlier that your
brother, Dale went to Mr. Cooper and
asked him to let you get out and work

some.
Yes, sir.
Is that correct?
Yes, sir.

> OY

13

Did you ask Mr. Cooper?

Yes, sir. After Cooper come back there,
he asked me did I-- he said, would you
like to get out and do some work
around here and I said, yes, sir.

Okay. Mr. Cooper didn't make you do
that, did he?

No, sir.

You wanted to do it, didn't you?

Yes, sir, I wanted to get out of my cell.
And you wanted to get out and work.

I wanted to get out of my cell, you
know, if I had to work to do it, that's--
You were willing to do it.

Yes, sir. It wasn't that big of a deal to
you.

No, sir.

»> 0

DH FPAPAPY A

>

(R. Vol. Xp.688-689,694-695).

The above passages from Brooks’ own testimony
demonstrate that the evidence, at best, shows that Brooks, in a
desire to obtain freedom from his cell, asked to perform tasks
and jobs for Sheriff Howell and his Deputies. Given this
testimony, there is no conceivable scenario under which Brooks
could demonstrate the requisite force or compulsion required by
Watson, Kozminski, or Shackney. Interestingly enough,
Brooks’ court-appointed attorney testified that Brooks told him
he did not want to get out of jail, since Brooks presumably
wanted to accrue time in county jail toward his expected prison
sentence. Brooks’ counsel, William Bailey, was so surprised by
this announcement that he had Brooks put it in writing.
(R.Vol.Xp.779; Ex. D-12). While Brooks denied that this

1 SE a en ee ea

14

conversation took place, he did not dispute that the document
in question (Ex. D-12), which bore the words, "Don't want to
get out of jail," contained his signature. (R. Vol. Xp.698-700).

The position Brooks was in is no different from the
plaintiffs in Watson. Brooks requested to be let out of his cell
to do some work, sending his brother Dale, a fellow inmate, to
Deputy Cooper as his intermediary.’ (R. Vol.Xp.608,695). In
Watson, "...both (plaintiffs) testified they requested work
outside the jail and took work release whenever possible." Id.
at 1552. On direct examination at trial, Brooks testified that he
wanted to be a trusty and that he wanted to get outside.
(R.Vol.Xp.609). The same was true for the plaintiffs in
Watson. Brooks claimed, notwithstanding his acknowledgment
and admission that he requested all of his work, that it was
understood by him that, if he had not performed the labor, he
would have been returned to his cell. ("If we didn't do the
work, you know, I just had the basic understanding that I was
going back to my cell." (R. Vol. Vp.720).

For this Court to fully appreciate the setting in which
Brooks found himself, further examination of the record is
necessary. Brooks was allowed freedoms and privileges
broader and more liberal than any other inmate. Brooks took
his showers in the Sheriff's personal shower, not in the ones
used by the other inmates. (R. Vol. VIIIp.280). He would ride

*Brooks’ brother and alleged.co-conspirator, Dale Brooks, had previously pled
guilty to the offenses of felony burglary and grand larceny, and was in the
George County jail awaiting sentencing and transfer to the state penitentiary
at Parchman. (R. Vol. Vp.1228).

15

in a patrol car with narcotics agents while they were out
working. (R.Vol.Xp.704). He would ride with Deputy Tanner
while Tanner was out serving papers. (R.Vol.Xp.704-705). He
even rode some with a Lucedale city policy officer, Ronnie
Lambert. (R.Vol.Xp.705). Chief Deputy Miller and Brooks
lifted weights together at a makeshift weight room at the old
school superintendent's building across from courthouse.
(R. Vol. [Xp.376). Brooks "worked out" with weights two
nights per week. (R.Vol.Xp.706). Brooks was later provided
a key to the "weight room" so that he could, when Miller was
unavailable, lifts weights on his own. (R. Vol. [Xp.378). Miller
loaned Brooks his radio so Brooks would have music while he
was in his cell. (R. Vol. [Xp.380-381). Brooks and Miller even
went jogging together one time. (R. Vol. Xp.706).

The record is utterly silent as to any abuse, physical or
otherwise, subjected on Brooks to make him work. Not once
did Brooks imply or insinuate that physical, mental or emotional
harm was done to him to encourage him to work. More to the
point, Brooks never said that the Respondents slapped, kicked,
beat or struck him. He did not say he was cursed or belittled.
He does not claim that the Respondents mistreated him in any
way. Nothing is present in the record to show that Brooks
worked out of fear of abuse, mistreatment or physical or
emotional pain. The record does not reveal that Brooks worked
for any reason other than a personal desire to be outside his jail
cell. On each occasion when asked about why he worked,
Brooks stated that he did so because work gave him the
Opportunity to get out of the jail (e.g. "Q. Okay. Now from the
standpoint of the cookout issues, why would you do this? A.

So I could get out of jail". (R_Vol.Xp.621). "Q. All right.

16

Why would you want to be a trusty? A. To get out -- to get
outside. I didn't like the jail." (R. Vol. Xp.609).

Brooks had a choice. He may not have found the
options pleasant ones; nevertheless, he had a choice. Brooks
could have simply stayed in jail had he not wanted to work.
Brooks’ decision to work was his own. Nothing these
Respondents did or did not do motivated him to work. There
was no substantial evidence upon which to arrive at any other
conclusion, and the Fifth Circuit correctly so found. The above
facts demonstrate one simple, clear concept. Brooks had as free
a run of the George County jail as any outsider could imagine.
He enjoyed freedoms and liberties not had by others. He took
full advantage of all opportunities to gain freedom out of the
jail. Given this, it is incomprehensible that this environment,
this surrounding, this atmosphere could cause Brooks to believe
he had no way to avoid continuing to work. Reasonable minds
simply could not differ in this regard, and the Fifth Circuit
properly so held.

It requires no citation of authority to state that, during
his confinement, Brooks had only one right - to stay confined in
his cell (absent release on bond and subject to certain
constitutional restrictions not pertinent here). These
Respondents were under no obligation to allow Brooks the
freedoms he enjoyed. Moreover, Sheriff Howell was under no
duty at all to afford Brooks the opportunity to work outside his
cell. It offends and defies all notions of common sense to say
that Brooks somehow had the right to be outside the jail when,
as everyone believed, he was awaiting trial on two felony
indictments. Brooks claims his treatment was tantamount to
slavery because, he says, if he did not work, he would have been

17

placed in his cell. Such an argument presupposes that Brooks
had some right superior to that had by all other persons arrested
and awaiting trial. Implicit in Brooks’ argument is that he had
the right to be free and roam around when then the sole purpose
of his being incarcerated there was to hold him until his trial
This was the only place he had the right to be. Sheriff Howell
was not obliged to release Brooks or let him out of jail
Brooks, through his testimony, acknowledged this:

Q Let me see if I can say it where-- I think
you and I will understand each other.
The only-- you didn't have a right to be
a trusty; do you agree with that?

A Yes, sir.

Q The only thing that you had the right to
do was to stay in that cell. That's true,
isn't it?

A Yes, sir.

Q That is, if you couldn't make bond. Do
you agree with that?

A Yes, sir.

Q You know how this process works, if
you're arrested you go to jail and your
bond set and if you can make that bond
then you get out, correct?

A Yes, sir.

Q So that your getting out of jail is
something that's done as a favor to you.
Do you agree with that?

A Yes, sir.

(R. Vol.Xp.687-688).

18

Brooks’ counsel agreed that this was the only right
Brooks had. “Unfortunately, the sheriff was absolutely right, he
has a right to sit in jail or make a bond." (R_Vol.Xp.758).
Indeed, release from jail to work is a decision contingent upon
the discretion, and, to a large extent, the grace of the sheriff.
Sheriff Howell could have elected to allow or disallow Brooks
to work outside the jail under the authority of one or more
statutes. For example, Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-13 (1972),
provides that any person in jail awaiting trial for non-violent
offenses may be allowed to work on county public works, if the
sheriff deems it proper. The sheriff is not obligated, mandated,
or required to allow a prisoner to work.

Admittedly, this case is complicated by the fact that
during the time Brooks was out of jail working, no criminal
charges existed. However, for purposes of a Thirteenth
Amendment analysis, for purposes of determining whether
Brooks was compelled to work, for purposes of deciding
whether the facts of this case constitute involuntary servitude,
it simply makes no difference. First, it is uncontradicted that no
one holding Brooks, even Brooks himself, knew of the
existence and entry of the order of nolle prosequi. The trial
court so found. (R. Vol. VIp.1629). It would be unconscionable
and patently unjust to hold Sheriff Howell accountable with the
knowledge of the order when he had positively no notice of its
entry. Second, the trial court ruled, in deciding the numerous
motions for summary judgment, that Sheriff Howell had no
legal liability to Brooks because of the entry of the order.
(R.Vol. VIp. 1627-1629). How, then, could this one factor, the
entry of the order, convert this case from one not violative of
the Thirteenth Amendment to one that is, when both courts
below specifically held that the entry of the order imposed no

19

liability on the Respondents? To reverse the Fifth Circuit
regarding the Thirteenth Amendment feature of this case, this
Court will have to fashion a bizarre standard which would, not
only violate fundamental notions of fair play, but would also
violate sensible logic and basic human reasoning. This is not the
intention or purpose of the Thirteenth Amendment. The
Thirteenth Amendment proscribes a certain kind and type of
conduct by public officials. The record does not reveal the
force, compulsion or coercion necessary to support any such
claims. Because of Brooks’ failure to adduce any evidence at
trial to support a claim under the Thirteenth Amendment, the
Fifth Circuit correctly reversed and remanded this aspect of
Brooks' claims.

That Brooks completely failed to present a case
sufficient for the jury to consider is dramatically demonstrated
by comparison to other cases. In Abbott v. Gould, Inc., 443
N.W.2d 591 (Neb. 1989), the court held it not to be involuntary
servitude absent "the use or threat of physical force or legal
coercion to extract labor from an unwilling worker." Id. at 596.
There, employees claimed their employer intentionally deceived
them into believing exposure to certain chemicals was not
harmful when it actually was. The court rejected the plaintiffs’
Thirteenth Amendment claim. Similarly, in United States y.
Shackney, 333 F.2d 475 (2d Cir. 1964), the court held that an
employer, who recruited Mexicans to work on his farm in
Connecticut and threatened them unless they worked for an
agreed period of time, was not guilty under a federal criminal
Statute incorporating the Thirteenth Amendment provisions.
"While a credible threat of deportation may come close to the
line, it still leaves the employee with a choice... ." Id. at 486.

20

The plaintiff in Turmer_v. Unification Church, 473
F.Supp. 367 (D.C. R.I. 1978), claimed that Reverend Moon
induced her to join the church and then conspired to hold her in
involuntary servitude. She alleged constant threats forced her
to work more than 12 hours per day. The court rejected the
plaintiffs claims saying, “It is unclear whether [18 U.S.C.]
section 1853 should be expanded to include the type of involun-
tary servitude alleged in this case, namely psychological control
or dominance over the servant. raph rere er ORC

suaidbaink detain” Id. at 375,

One vital, critical and essential element is lacking in the
case presented by Brooks, as was present in Kozminski, supra,
and Bell, supra. The record fails to reveal that Brooks did not
desire to work, or that he refused or was unwilling to work, but
was made to do so. Suppose, for example, Brooks had been in
his cell early one morning and Sheriff Howell or one of his
Deputies came to Brooks' cell to get him to work. Suppose
further that Brooks, not willing to work, told the sheriff he
would not work. Suppose further, the sheriff had advised
Brooks that he could stay in his cell. (This is the feature of the
case that, according to Brooks, triggers the Thirteenth
Amendment violation.) Where does the compulsion arise?
Where is it demonstrated? Had this very scenario occurred,
which it did not, how could it be said that Brooks was
compelled to do anything, except, possibly, remain in his cell?

Absent is any evidence that Sheriff Howell threatened
to beat, kick, whip, kill or hurt Brooks to force him to work.
There is no oral or documentary testimony or evidence which
even intimates that the sheriff or any Respondent threatened

21

Brooks with isolation, administrative segregation, or to deny
him food or water, or threatened a deprivation or punishment at
all. Conspicuously silent from the record is any mention by any
witness of any suggestion or innuendo to Brooks by one of the
Respondents that, should he decline to work, he would suffer
retribution, punishment or violence. The utter failure of the
proof, including the absence of any coercion or compulsion,
mandates that this Court deny Brooks’ petition for writ of
certiorari on the issue of whether the Fifth Circuit’s opinion
conflicts with an opinion of the Eighth Circuit or this Court.

IL

The Fifth Circuit Correctly Ruled
That No Legitimately-Recognized
Property Interest Protected
By the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment Exists for

Ww ;

The United States Constitution does not create property
interests; consequently, Brooks must look to Mississippi law to
determine whether a constitutionally-cognizable property
interest in wages exists. Garcia v. Reeves County, Texas, 32
F.3d 200, 203 (Sth Cir. 1994). The Mississippi Supreme Court
had occasion to address this concept in Barrett v. Miller, 599
So.2d 559, 564 (Miss. 1992), wherein the court noted that 42
U.S.C. §1983 imposed liability "for the violation of rights
protected by the Constitution, not for violations of duties of
care arising out of tort law." Id. at 564. The court continued
by noting that the remedy for violation of a duty of care must be
sought in state court under traditional tort law principles. Id. at

22

564. The court concluded by reiterating the following well-
settled proposition:

While liability may be assessed under §1983
when the limits of privileged force are exceeded,
the threshold for that liability is higher than that

set for a normal tort action. Justice v. Dennis,
834 F.2d 380, 382 (4th Cir. 1987). A mere lack

of care by a state official does not deprive an
individual of life, liberty, or property under the
Fourteenth Amendment and create liability
under §1983.

Id. at 564. Simply put, if no federal rights are implicated, there
is no basis for any action under 42 U.S.C. §1983. Clark v.
Link, 855 F.2d 156, 161 (4th Cir. 1988)(a fundamental flaw
often encountered is the assumption that a §1983 action may be
based upon a violation of state law).

Brooks contended below that Miss. Code Ann.
§47-1-13 (1972), provided the basis for his right to
compensation for work on _ private property.‘
(R. Vol. VIp.1637). Along these lines, the lower court noted in
its summary judgment opinion that Sheriff Howell had a

“Brooks now cites Miss. Const. Art. 10 §226 in support of his position.
Technically speaking, Brooks’ contentions in this regard were not raised
and/or argued at either the district court or Fifth Circuit level. As such,
Brooks’ arguments concerning any claim under the Mississippi Constitution
for work performed on private property has been effectively waived or
abandoned. Ellis v. Dixon, 75 S.Ct. 850, 852 (1955)(questions not raised in
lower court proceedings were not open for consideration on petition for writ
of certiorari).

23

Statutory duty to keep a record of each prisoner and the days he
worked, pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-21 (Rev. 1993).
(R. Vol. VIp.1634). Respondents submit that, even assuming
Sheriff Howell violated the express terms of Miss. Code Ann.
§47-1-13 (1972) and/or Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-21 (Rev.
1993), such violations do not establish or rise to the level of a
constitutional deprivation, since neither statute allows and/or
provides for a private cause of action. See, e.g., Davis v.
Scherer, 104 S.Ct. 3012, 3018 (1984) (no legitimate property
interest protected by the Fourteenth Amendment due process
clause is created by state statute not providing for private
avenue of redress). Couple that with the proposition that a
violation of state law does not automatically amount to
deprivation of a federal right, and it becomes readily apparent
that Brooks failed to prove any constitutional transgression as
a result of his working on private property based upon any
possible violation of these statutes.

This aspect of Brooks’ petition is further without merit
in view of the fact that the due process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment is not implicated by a negligent or inadvertent act
of an official which causes an unintended loss of or injury to life,
liberty or property. Daniels v. Williams, 106 S.Ct. 662, 663
(1986). On the contrary, the focus of the due process clause is
to curb deliberate abuses of government power. Id. at 663. To
hold that negligent inaction, inattention or acquiescence
amounted to a constitutional deprivation within the meaning of

"Sheriff Howell positively and unequivocally testified that he was not aware.

at the time Brooks was working on private property, that such acts may violate
State law. (R. Vol. [Xp.473).

24

the Fourteenth Amendment would trivialize the centuries-old
principle of due process of law. Id. at 667. Even "self-
aggrandizing” or selfish motives are not actionable under the
due process clause if no deliberate intent to harm exists.
Buckey v. County of Los Angeles, 968 F.2d 791, 794 (9th Cir.
1992). In other words, the admission of Sheriff Howell and his
Deputies that Brooks worked on private property, at Brooks’
own request, even if to enhance or bolster Respondents’ own
financial or personal gain, is not the kind of conduct the
Fourteenth Amendment was designed to prevent.
(R. Vol. [Xp.473).

The evidence is uncontroverted that Sheriff Howell and
his Deputies did not know that it may violate state law to allow
inmates to work consensually on private property.
(R. Vol.[Xp.473). The evidence is equally undisputed that no
one, at any time, forced Brooks to work or do anything other
than stay in his cell to await his trial. Even assuming that
Respondents committed some tort cognizable under state law,
it does not rise to the level of a violation of the due process
clause merely because Sheriff Howell and his Deputies were
state officials. Baker v. McCollan, 99 S.Ct. 2689, 2695-96
(1979). The due process clause is simply not implicated by a
state actor's unintended or negligent deprivation of a pretrial
detainee's property interests. Davidson v. Cannon, 106 S.Ct.
668, 670 (1986). As such, many types of harm or injury,
though caused by a state actor, do not fall within the scope of
42 U.S.C. §1983, inasmuch as §1983 "does not turn the Four-
teenth Amendment into a font of tort law that supersedes the
tort systems already available under individual state laws."

Gregory v. City of Rogers, Arkansas, 974 F.2d 1006, 1009 (8th
Cir. 1992). More importantly, the due process clause of the

25

Fourteenth Amendment is not implicated by the lack of due care
of a public official causing an unintended injury to life, liberty or
property.® Id. at 1009; Daniels, 106 S.Ct. at 663.

In each instance, Brooks’ claims are premised solely
upon state law and/or a state statute, none of which provide any
implied private cause of action in Brooks, as correctly noted by
the Fifth Circuit. Regardless of whether Sheriff Howell and/or
his Deputies (1) failed to keep a record of each prisoner and the
days he worked; or (2) failed to pay Brooks' wages for work
performed on private property, these acts, even if true, do not
give rise to a private cause of action in Brooks, and, in par-
ticular, no statute gives Brooks a "right" to be paid for working
on private property. Even assuming there did exist some right
to compensation for consensual work on private property
under Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-13 (1972), the failure to pay
Brooks on a few of the jobs he performed does not create a
constitutional deprivation. That is, if Brooks had some right to
be paid for those services he performed on private property,
that right was not one secured by the Constitution or laws of
the United States within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. §1983.
Borror_v. White, 377 F.Supp. 181, 183 (W.D. Va.

“In order to state a substantive due process claim under the Fourteenth
Amendment, the “official's action must be such that it ‘shocks the conscience,’
or ‘offends the community's sense of fair play and decency.” Porter v. City of
Detroit, 639 F.Supp. 589, 593 (E.D. Mich. 1986); see also, Rochin v.
Califomia, 72 S.Ct. 205 (1952). That is, only conduct which is clearly
“outrageous” invokes the protections afforded by the due process clause. No
act of Sheriff Howell or his Deputies amounts to shocking conduct, nor is it so
patently offensive as to amount to a substantive due process deprivation under
the Constitution, as the Fifth Circuit correctly held.

26

1974)(petitioner's right to payment for his services as barber
was derived from the laws of the state of Virginia, and was not
a right secured by the Constitution).

In order to rise to the level of a constitutional claim, the
conduct of the public official or employee must be “sufficiently
egregious as to be constitutionally tortious." Hull v. City of
Duncanville, 678 F.2d 582, 584 (Sth Cir. 1982)(§1983 imposes
liability for violation of rights protected by the Constitution, not
for violations of state tort or statutory law). Allowing a pretrial
detainee to work on private property is patently innocuous from
a constitutional standpoint and is, at most, a mere violation of
state law. Clearly, no important question of federal law is
involved in this aspect of Brooks’ petition for writ of certiorari.

Til.

The Fifth Circuit Correctly Held That
Sheriff Howell Had No Duty Under
Mississippi Law to Periodically Ascertain

Brooks’ Stat Pretrial Detai

Brooks contends that the Fifth Circuit incorrectly ruled
that Sheriff Howell had no duty under state law to ascertain
Brooks’ status as a pretrial detainee, and that this is supposedly
an “important question of federal law." (Pet. at 16).
Specifically, Brooks contends that Miss. Code Ann. §47-1-21
(Rev. 1993), allegedly requires that Sheriff Howell "present for
approval for hiring a pretrial detainee to the board of
supervisors of the county," and that a review of Brooks' file for
this purpose would have revealed the dismissal of all charges.
(Pet. at 16). In addition, Brooks maintains that Sheriff Howell
and his Deputies had a duty to determine whether his criminal

27

charges had been dismissed, even though not dismissed in open
court in George County. Contrary to Brooks’ protestations,
none of the Respondents had any duty to periodically ascertain
or verify his status as a pretrial detainee under Mississippi law.

The Fifth Circuit recently clarified the continuing “duty”
owed to inmates who were initially incarcerated pursuant to a
valid capias or warrant in the case of Duckett v. City of Cedar
Park, Texas, 950 F.2d 272 (Sth Cir. 1992). There, the Fifth
Circuit stated that a police officer who arrests and incarcerates
someone pursuant to a valid warrant acted reasonably, even it
is later determined that the arrest was improper. Id. at 280.
More importantly, the court continued by noting that a law
enforcement official was under no duty to release an inmate
from confinement unless he ascertained "beyond a reasonable
doubt" that the inmate should no longer be confined. Id. at
279. Only by being notified of the entry of the order of
dismissal could these Respondents have known "beyond a
reasonable doubt" that Brooks should have been released.

In this case, Sheriff Howell and his Deputies lawfully,
properly and rightfully incarcerated Brooks in the George
County jail pursuant to a valid capias and indictment on two
felony charges. There is simply no dispute about this.
(R. Vol. VIp. 1580-1582; Vol.[Xp.430). Unlike the situation in

Baker v. McCollan, 99 S.Ct. 2689 (1979), no claim of

innocence was ever made by Brooks.’ Furthermore, there was

"The public policy considerations for imposing a duty to “independently
investigate” in a factual scenario like Baker are greater than they are in the
instant case. There, the sheriff had some notice of possible wrongful detention

28

no constitutional duty to “investigate independently" the
possibility of an order of dismissal. Because Sheriff Howell and
his Deputies were under no legal or constitutional duty to
determine whether an order of nolle prosequi existed, or to
routinely, regularly, or even occasionally survey and examine
the records of the Circuit Clerk of George County, Brooks’
claim in this regard must fail, and the Fifth Circuit properly
affirmed the district court's granting of summary judgment in
this respect. Nevertheless, even assuming that a duty were
imposed upon Sheriff Howell and his Deputies to make
themselves aware of the entry of the nolle prosequi order, their
failure to discover the existence of the order is tantamount to
nothing more than simple negligence. Simple negligence, as
previously discussed, does not give rise to a constitutional claim
as a matter of law.

Brooks contends that the Fifth Circuit’s reliance on
Valencia v. Wiggins, 981 F.2d 1440, 1449 (Sth Cir. 1993), is
allegedly contrary to this Court’s prior pronouncements in
California _v. Hodari, 111 S.Ct. 1547 (1991), US. v
Mendenhall, 100 S.Ct. 1870 (1980), and Terry v. Ohio, 88
S.Ct. 1868 (1968). Brooks’ contentions aside, Hodari,
Mendenhall and Terry are not relevant to any issue before the
Fifth Circuit or this Court since there was no dispute below
concerning Brooks’ initial arrest and incarceration under the
Fourth Amendment. Both Hodari and Mendenhall involved
questions concerning the claimant’s arrest and initial seizure,
while Terry addressed the issue of whether a law enforcement

due to the plaintiff's loud protestations of innocence. Here, Brooks never
claimed that he was innocent and remained totally silent (and ignorant) about
the nolle prosequi order.

29

officer was permitted to conduct a physical search of a person
for weapons when the officer had reasonable suspicion to
believe the detainee may be armed. Hodari, 111 S.Ct. at 1550;
Mendenhall, 100 S.Ct. at 1877; Terry, 88 S.Ct. at 1877-78.

To argue that Sheriff Howell and his Deputies had a
duty to regularly or routinely inspect the records of the Circuit
Clerk leads to the absurd. Such a duty would require a
tremendous amount of time and manpower.’ It would require
Sheriff Howell and his Deputies to read and comprehend all
court orders, some of which employ Latin phrases not of
common understanding, and may be subject to the lay
interpretation of Sheriff Howell and his Deputies. More
importantly, should Sheriff Howell and his Deputies misunder-
stand the substance of an order and mistakenly release a
dangerous inmate, they could be subjected to a criminal sanction
or independent tort liability. Miss. Code Ann. §97-9-37 (Supp.
1996).

Based on the foregoing, Sheriff Howell and his Deputies
respectfully submit that the Fifth Circuit properly rejected
Brooks’ claims concerning some non-existent duty allegedly
imposed upon Sheriff Howell and/or his Deputies.

“Suppose, for example, that Sheriff Howell and/or his deputies were required
to independently learn of the existence of all orders of dismissal. Under
Brooks’ analysis, a daily inspection would be required, since the moment
judicial authorization for an inmate's incarceration ceased to exist that inmate
would, according to Brooks, no longer be lawfully confined, thereby
purportedly subjecting the public official to liability under 42 U.S.C. §1983
and state tort law. This is simply not the law in Mississippi, and neither Sheriff
Howell nor his Deputies were under any duty or obligation to conduct the
routine review of court records that Brooks contends was required.

30

Conclusion

For all of the foregoing reasons, Respondents submit
that Brooks’ petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1321%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
