# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Flynn v. Kornwolf

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1309%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 930

## Text

Supreme Court, ULB.
(1) FILED
96 254 Aue 13 1996,

rFICc Ur ie CLERK
No. wre

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995
.

JOAN FLYNN, ROBERT BERTERMANN, EVA
CHRISTOPHERSON, SALLY GUZEK, PAUL
ROSENQUIST, JAY WILDFONG, ED BOWMAN,
SHIRLEY DANDENEAU, BONNIE FULLER, HELEN
HESS, JOHN GRECO and JOSEPH PORCARO,

Petitioners,

VS.

DENNIS KORNWOLF and STEPHEN SIMANEK,
in their individual capacities, and RACINE COUNTY,
a municipal corporation,

Respondents.

S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit
7

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
¢

EuizaseTtH ADELMAN
Counsel of Record

LYNN ADELMAN
Counsel for Petitioners

ADELMAN, ADELMAN & Murray, S.C.
308 East Juneau Avenue
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 225-2920

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 442-283)

73 pp

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1) Where state law provides that employment for a
specified duration creates a property interest and triggers
due process protections, does a court order appointing
individuals to positions as bailiffs for a specified duration
create a property interest, or must the order also include
“explicitly mandatory language” whereby the court
expressly prohibits itself from terminating the bailiffs
without cause?

2) May federal courts apply the “explicitly manda-
tory language” standard to questions regarding the cre-
ation of property interests even though this Court has
never approved the use of the standard in the property
interest context and has now rejected the standard in the
only context in which it was formerly applied, that of
prisoners’ rights?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
OCusstions PupeeRee | oo isos 6k 50h4 dun beh eeekeneeee i
Tabbe OF CRO ica inc ic isa vex) ibe aeaa weakest ii
Table of Amtnonlek... cdi rae iv
COMUIONE TRIO oes ci char eacawsnee peebadecranad ee 1
Stahement GE Tris x 355 csc ceed 103 hho ss bk 1
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved... 2
Statement OF the CARS ox cc cy ccacibscpesssesaeannses 3
Summary Of ATguWO « os oso siancsensnes es ta cancens 7
Reasons for Granting the Writ..................05. 9

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
MAKE CLEAR THAT THE SEVENTH CIR-
CUIT COURT OF APPEALS’ USE OF THE
“EXPLICITLY MANDATORY LANGUAGE”
STANDARD TO DETERMINE WHETHER
THE PETITIONERS HAD A PROPERTY
INTEREST IN THEIR EMPLOYMENT WAS
ERROR BECAUSE STATE LAW PROVIDES
THE SOLE REFERENCE FOR DETERMINING
SUITE INIBROCLO 60 iensa cesexedanbeusestese 9

A. This Court Has Consistently Held That
State Law Is The Sole Reference By Which
Property Interests In Employment Are To
eg ee Perr ry peer ee Pee eye 9

B. Wisconsin Law Provides That A Property
Interest In Employment Exists Where The
Employment Is For A Specified Duration .. 10

C. There Is No Requirement In Wisconsin
Law That Language Creating A Property
Interest In Employment Must, In Addition
To Specifying The Duration Of Employ-
ment, Contain “Explicitly Mandatory Lan-
QURRS wc cick uoccavnceesdasedaePeeenenn’ 12

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

D. The Seventh Circuit Court Of Appeals
Refused To Follow State Law To Deter-
mine Whether The Petitioners Had A
Property Interest In Their Employment ..

Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
MAKE CLEAR THAT THE “EXPLICITLY
MANDATORY LANGUAGE” STANDARD,
WHICH THIS COURT HAS NEVER
APPROVED IN THE PROPERTY INTEREST
CONTEXT, AND HAS RECENTLY REJECTED
IN THE PRISONERS’ RIGHTS CONTEXT,
SHOULD NOT BE USED BY FEDERAL
COURTS TO DETERMINE WHETHER A
PROPERTY INTEREST EXISTS...............

EE <. coc haa is oh hb op ha'ne'ed ae cGeat oSKss

14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Federal
Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341 (1976)..............0005. 9
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972).......... 9
Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470 U.S.

Dae ROOOOE cvs he b04 4a Cow ake as Capea keene Kes. 9, 10
Fittshur v. Village of Menomonee Falls, 31 F.3d 1401

(FU SE FROG ik ances ce aeeaaw tener ecdaseiaaeeess 16
Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460 (1983).............. 16, 17
Jago v. Van Curen, 454 U.S. 14 (1981)................ 18
Kentucky Dept. of Corrections v. Thompson, 490 U.S.

GOR CRD 60 vk bab es AA Wee nek cLe ROR SUERTE Vhs 16
Listenbee v. City of Milwaukee, 976 F.2d 348 (7th Cir.

ROI 56 Kes Ee ic ain in ee eS VA re aia 16
Miller v. Crystal Lake Park Dist., 47 F.3d 865 (7th

Ce 2OGOP Knccinkcaivaaes eee eee reece 16, 17
Sandin v. Conner, 115 S. Ct. 2293 (1995) .......... 13, 19

State
Brockmeyer v. Dun & Bradstreet, 335 N.W.2d 834

ee PE ere rr Seer) errr 10, 13
Casteel v. McCaughtry, 500 N.W.2d 277 (Wis. 1993) .... 13
Heinritz v. Lawrence University, 535 N.W.2d 81

(Whe. CR: aes. RIGS) vis v0 ha vines Fees ses cwtvane 10, 13
In re Guardianship of Eberhardy, 307 N.W.2d 881

CUUND: TORN oaks Packs see pbavakesk aun een eneaasebnus 12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Irby v. Macht, 522 N.W.2d 9 (Wis. Ct. App. 1991) .... 13
Larson v. City of Tomah, 532 N.W.2d 726 (Wis.

Scho kebtave ued Obes be oe eee bee ke 10, 13
Stevenson v. Milwaukee County, 121 N.W. 654 (Wis.
Res Ged & ute Bae Sea ab ares oko SEE Ce we os ce a 11

Vorwald v. School Dist. of River Falls, 482 N.W.2d 93
(Wis. 1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 941 (1992) .. 10, 11, 13

Wandry v. Bull’s Eye Credit Union, 384 N.W.2d 325

Baers Seng errr ere ee 10, 13
Wisconsin ex rel. Friedrich v. Cir. Ct. of Dane County,

en EUAUUGE. ee CUT ROWE) s fib vcd shwaeeasiueneds 12
Yoder v. Palmeri, 502 N.W.2d 903 (Wis. Ct. App.

SPOOEs santana soeennn vd hevesuticcnessesieeeneras 13

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
State
oe ee eS Perea err err er 2 mere 2. an

MISCELLANEOUS

Lawrence E. Blades, Employment at Will vs. Individ-
ual Freedom: On Limiting the Abusive Exercise of
Employer Power, 67 Colum. L. Rev. 1404 (1967) .... 11

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Petitioners, Joan Flynn, Robert Bertermann, Eva
Christopherson, Sally Guzek, Paul Rosenquist, Jay Wild-
fong, Ed Bowman, Shirley Dandeneau, Bonnie Fuller,
Helen Hess, John Greco and Joseph Porcaro, herein pray
that the United States Supreme Court grant a Writ of
Certiorari to review the opinion and judgment of the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in this matter, entered
May 15, 1996.

OPINIONS BELOW

The May 15, 1996, opinion of the Seventh Circuit
Court of Appeals, whose judgment is herein sought to be
reviewed, is reported at 83 F.3d 924, and is reprinted in
the separate Appendix to this Petition, pp. 1-7. The prior
opinion of the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Wisconsin, entered and dated June 1, 1995,
bears Case No. 94-C-0908 and is unpublished, but is
reprinted in the separate Appendix to this Petition, pp.
8-17.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Seventh Circuit Court of
Appeals was entered on May 15, 1996. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

¢

U.S.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Const. amend. XIV, § 1.

All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United States and of
the State wherein they reside. No State shall
make or enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within
its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

42 U.S.C. § 1983.

Wis.

Every person who, under color of any statute,
ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any
State or Territory or the District of Columbia,
subjects or causes to be subjected, any citizen of
the United States or other person within the
jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the
party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,
or other proper proceeding for redress. For the
purpose of this section, any Act of Congress
applicable exclusively to the District of Colum-
bia shall be considered to be a statute of the
District of Columbia.

Const. art. VII, § 8.

Circuit court: jurisdiction. Except as otherwise
provided by law, the circuit court shall have
original jurisdiction in all matters civil and crim-
inal within this state and such appellate jurisdic-
tion in the circuit as the legislature may

f

prescribe by law. The circuit court may issue all
writs necessary in aid of its jurisdiction.

Wis. Stat. § 753.10(3) (1991-1992).

Attendance of officers, pay; opening court. (3)
Unless otherwise directed by the presiding
judge, no officer, other than the clerk, shall be
paid for attending court or the judge if the court
is not engaged in the trial of jury cases. Every
officer attending court upon the order of the
presiding judge shall have the same powers and
authority as the sheriff, and shall be paid out of
the County treasury, upon the certificate of the
judge, compensation equal to that fixed by the
County board. No such officer may be paid for
any day when the court is not in session unless
specially ordered by the presiding judge.

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Beginning in May of 1991, Racine County Circuit
Court judges instituted a practice of issuing serial court
orders appointing certain individuals, the Petitioners
among them, to employment as bailiffs. The Clerk of
Courts, who had formerly appointed such individuals,
notified the bailiffs of this change in procedure.

Each of the appointing orders contained a specified
duration in which the order would be in effect. The first
order was dated May 15, 1991, and was to be “effective
for a period of sixty (60) day (sic) from the date of
signature.” (App. 20.) The second order was “effective
immediately this date, December 19, 1991 and shall
expire January 31, 1993.” (App. 23.) The third order was

signed by each of the nine county judges in March of
1993, and stated, “[t]his order expires on 12-31-93.” (App.
25.)

In 1992, Racine County officials were notified that the
county had failed to provide pension benefits to the
Wisconsin Retirement System on the bailiffs’ behalf. Wis-
consin law required that all employees working more
than 600 hours for those municipalities opting into the
system must be included in the system. Wis. Stat.
§ 40.22(2m) (1991-1992). Although they were part-time
employees, the bailiffs had each worked in excess of 600
hours per year prior to 1992.

In the summer of 1992, Respondent, Racine County
Executive Dennis Kornwolf, decided that the Petitioners
should be laid off to prevent them from obtaining pen-
sion coverage for 1992. (By August of 1992 most of the
bailiffs had not yet worked 600 hours.) In August of 1992,
Respondent, Chief Judge Stephen Simanek, working with
Kornwolf, placed newspaper advertisements in local
newspapers seeking replacements for the bailiffs. (App.
36.) Subsequently, the Respondents hired replacements
for the Petitioners.

Notwithstanding that the court order specifying that
the Petitioners were employed until January 31, 1993,
remained in effect, Kornwolf, in September of 1992, laid
off the Petitioners. Kornwolf undertook these layoffs
despite the bailiffs having offered to work for less pay in
order to keep their jobs (App. 37), and despite the Racine
County Corporation Counsel having advised that the lay-
offs were illegal.

The bailiffs sought unemployment benefits, which
the county opposed. In a strongly-worded decision, an
administrative law judge awarded the bailiffs unemploy-
ment benefits. (App. 38-42.) The county subsequently
recalled the bailiffs in January of 1993, renaming them
“court attendants.”

To keep the court attendants’ hours below 600 per
year, the county retained the replacement workers it had
hired in September of 1992, and instituted a practice of
assigning only one court attendant per jury rather than
the former practice of two. Because of the resulting
reduction in hours of available work, two court atten-
dants were forced to retire. They applied for and received
pension benefits.

At some point thereafter, Kornwolf and Simanek
decided to terminate the court attendants’ employment
and replace them with Kelly Temporary Service
employees. In May of 1993, Simanek terminated the court
attendants. He also notified them that if they wished to
apply to the Kelly Temporary Service, they would be
assigned to the courthouse and would perform the same
duties they had previously performed as county
employees.

The cost to Racine County, per hour, to employ the
part-time court attendants was $6.54 without pension,
and $6.90 with pension. The cost to Racine County, per
hour, to appoint Kelly Temporary Service employees to
the same position was $7.20 per employee.

Following their termination, the Petitioners filed suit
in the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Wisconsin, invoking the court's jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343(a)(4). In their Amended Com-
plaint, the Petitioners claimed, inter alia, that their Sep-
tember 1992 layoff and May 1993 termination, without
notice or hearing in either instance, deprived them of
constitutionally protected rights in violation of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 and the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution. (App. 33-34.) In response, the
Respondents moved to dismiss the Amended Complaint
contending that the Petitioners lacked a property interest
from which they could claim a right to due process.

The district court dismissed the complaint holding
that the court order did not create a property interest.
(App. 14-15.) The Petitioners appealed to the Seventh
Circuit Court of Appeals, invoking the court's jurisdic-
tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. The court of appeals
acknowledged that the court order was for a specified
duration (App. 6), but held that it, nevertheless, did not
create a property interest because “[n]owhere does the
order state in ‘explicitly mandatory language’ that the
appointing judges have limited discretion to terminate
the plaintiffs’ employment at the judges’ will.” (App.
6-7.) The court of appeals went on to hold that “the mere
fact that the plaintiffs allegedly relied on the order as
guaranteeing their employment until the order expired
was not sufficient to create a property interest that would
trigger due process protections.” (App. 7.)

e

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

There are several critical reasons why this Court
should grant the Petition and review this case. The Sev-
enth Circuit Court of Appeals ignored the decisions of
this Court in at least two important areas.

First, this Court’s decisions have established that
property interests in employment are determined solely
by reference to state law. This is an important doctrine
because it represents this Court’s adherence to the funda-
mental principles of federalism which underlie our con-
stitutional jurisprudence.

Wisconsin law provides that a property interest in
employment exists where the employment is for a speci-
fied duration. Such employment is terminable only for
cause.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals ignored Wis-
consin law. If the court had looked to Wisconsin law it
would have had to conclude that a court order creating
employment for a specified duration creates a property
interest and triggers due process protections. Instead, the
court of appeals imposed a requirement which does not
exist in Wisconsin employment law, namely that the court
order include “explicitly mandatory language” in addi-
tion to the appointing judges’ clear statement that the
bailiffs were to be employed for a specified duration of
time.

The court of appeals’ decision that a clear and unam-
biguous court order creating employment for a specified
duration cannot be relied on unless the court includes
language expressly prohibiting itself from violating the

terms of the order is unreasonable. Inasmuch as court
orders are, in fact, a form of law, the decision of the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals suggests that courts are
above the law. The decision, therefore, undermines both
the rule of law and the integrity of the judiciary.

Secondly, the use by the Seventh Circuit Court of
Appeals of the “explicitly mandatory language” standard
was error for another reason. This Court has never
applied the standard to the question of whether a docu-
ment creates a property interest in employment. Indeed,
this Court has recently rejected the “explicitly mandatory
language” standard as inappropriate even in the only
context in which this Court has ever applied it, that of
prisoners’ rights.

It is important that this Court make clear to the
federal judiciary that the “explicitly mandatory lan-
guage” standard is not the appropriate test for determin-
ing whether a property interest in employment exists.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO MAKE
CLEAR THAT THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF
APPEALS’ USE OF THE “EXPLICITLY MANDA-
TORY LANGUAGE” STANDARD TO DETERMINE
WHETHER THE PETITIONERS HAD A PROPERTY
INTEREST IN THEIR EMPLOYMENT WAS ERROR
BECAUSE STATE LAW PROVIDES THE SOLE REF-
ERENCE FOR DETERMINING SUCH INTERESTS.

A. This Court Has Consistently Held That State
Law Is The Sole Reference By Which Property
Interests In Employment Are To Be Deter-
mined.

In Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972),
this Court stated:

Property interests . . . are not created by the
Constitution. Rather, they are created and their
dimensions are defined by existing rules or
understandings that stem from an independent
source such as state law - rules or understand-
ings that secure certain benefits and that sup-
port claims of entitlement to those benefits.

In Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 344 (1976), this Court
again stated that when seeking to determine the existence
of a property interest in employment, “the sufficiency of
the claim of entitlement must be decided by reference to
state law.”

And, in Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470
U.S. 532 (1985), this Court held that although the degree
of due process required before one can be deprived of a
property interest in employment is governed by the Con-
stitution once such an interest is found to exist, it is state

10

law that determines whether such an interest exists in the
first place. See id. at 538, 541. In other words, in the
context of property interests in employment, the state
determines whether process is due while the Constitution
determines how much process is required.

B. Wisconsin Law Provides That A Property Inter-
est In Employment Exists Where The Employ-
ment Is For A Specified Duration.

Wisconsin law provides that if employment is not at-
will, a property interest exists in that employment. Vor-
wald v. School Dist. of River Falls, 482 N.W.2d 93, 96 (Wis.
1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 941 (1992). Wisconsin law
further provides that-where employment is for a specified
duration, it is not employment at will. Larson v. City of
Tomah, 532 N.W.2d 726, 729 n.7 (Wis. 1995) (“An
employee-at-will is one who is hired for an indefinite
period of time and who may be discharged without
cause.”); Heinritz v. Lawrence University, 535 N.W.2d 81, 83
(Wis. Ct. App. 1995) (“Employees hired for an indefinite
term without a formal written contract are employees-at-
will.”); Wandry v. Bull's Eye Credit Union, 384 N.W.2d 325,
326 (Wis. 1986) (“an employee hired for an indefinite
period is dischargeable at the will of the employer”);
Brockmeyer v. Dun & Bradstreet, 335 N.W.2d 834, 837 (Wis.
1983) (“The [employment at will] doctrine recognized
that where an employment was for an indefinite term, an
employer may discharge an employee ‘for good cause, for
no cause, or even for cause morally wrong, without being
thereby guilty of legal wrong.’ ” (quoting Lawrence E.

11

Blades, Employment at Will vs. Individual Freedom: On Lim-
iting the Abusive Exercise of Employer Power, 67 Colum. L.
Rev. 1404, 1405 (1967))).

In Vorwald v. School Dist. of River Falls, supra, the court
restated the traditional doctrine that employment at will
is the rule unless “civil service regulations or laws, or a
contract or collective bargaining agreement” create an
exception. Id., 482 N.W.2d at 96. The context in which the
court made this statement makes clear that the court did
not intend to exclude court orders as potential sources of
property interests. The court was merely identifying the
more typical kinds of documents which create property
rights in employment. The court made clear later in the
opinion that a variety of documents could create property
interests and cited as examples employee handbooks and
personnel policies. Id.

The creation of a property interest under Wisconsin
employment law does not depend on the form of the
document establishing the employment relationship but
on whether the document states that the employment is
for a specified duration. The opinion of the Seventh Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals was correct to the extent that it
recognized that under Wisconsin law a court order could
be the source of a property interest in employment.

Indeed, court orders are recognized as independent
sources of law in Wisconsin. Circuit courts are constitu-
tionally empowered to make such orders as are necessary
to aid them in their jurisdiction. See Wis. Const. art. VII,
§ 8; see also Stevenson v. Milwaukee County, 121 N.W. 654,
656 (Wis. 1909) (“The power to appoint necessary atten-
dants upon the court is inherent in the court in order to

12

enable it to properly perform the duties delegated to it by
the constitution.”); Wisconsin ex rel. Friedrich v. Cir. Ct. of
Dane County, 531 N.W.2d 32, 37 (Wis. 1995) (“In addition
to the powers expressly granted to the courts under the
constitution, courts have inherent, implied and incidental
powers.”); In re Guardianship of Eberhardy, 307 N.W.2d 881,
886 (Wis. 1981) (“Unlike the relationship between the
Congress and the federal courts, under which the Con-
gress may grant or withhold jurisdiction as it pleases, in
Wisconsin the jurisdiction and the power of the circuit
court is conferred not by act of the legislature, but by the
Constitution itself.”).

Thus, under Wisconsin law, a court order employing
court personnel is an example of judges exercising inher-
ent power under the state constitution. Such an order is
accorded no less respect than a legislative enactment. The
Petitioners in this case were entitled to rely on this court
order. Because the order stated that their employment
was for a specified duration, under Wisconsin law, it gave
the Petitioners a property interest in their employment.

C. There Is No Requirement In Wisconsin Law
That Language Creating A Property Interest In
Employment Must, In Addition To Specifying
The Duration Of Employment, Contain “Explic-
itly Mandatory Language.”

Neither the Wisconsin Supreme Court nor any Wis-
consin appellate court has ever used the “explicitly man-
datory language” standard to determine whether a
document creates a property interest in employment. The
“explicitly mandatory language” standard is simply not a

13

part of Wisconsin employment law. As discussed above, a
property interest in employment arises in Wisconsin if
the employment is terminable for cause. See Vorwald, 482
N.W.2d at 96. Under Wisconsin law, a document creating
employment for a specified duration is regarded as being,
in itself, sufficiently explicit to justify the employee’s
reliance on it. See generally Larson v. City of Tomah, 532
N.W.2d at 729 n.7; Heinritz v. Lawrence University, 535
N.W.2d at 83; Wandry v. Bull's Eye Credit Union, 384
N.W.2d at 326; Brockmeyer v. Dun & Bradstreet, 335 N.W.2d
at 837.

The only mention of the “explicitly mandatory lan-
guage” standard in Wisconsin case law is in the context
for which the standard was created — the determination of
inmates’ liberty interests in prisoners’ rights cases.! See,
e.g., Casteel v. McCaughtry, 500 N.W.2d 277 (Wis. 1993)
(applying standard to prison regulations to resolve
inmate’s liberty interest claim); Yoder v. Palmeri, 502
N.W.2d 903 (Wis. Ct. App. 1993) (applying standard to
prison regulations to resolve inmate’s liberty interest
claim); Irby v. Macht, 522 N.W.2d 9 (Wis. Ct. App. 1991)
(applying standard to prison regulations to resolve
inmate’s liberty interest claim). Simply put, the standard
which the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals used to deny
the Petitioners’ property interest in their employment is
not part of Wisconsin employment law.

1 As will be discussed in Part II, infra, this Court’s decision
in Sandin v. Conner, 115 S. Ct. 2293 (1995), rejected the “explicitly
mandatory language” standard even for application to liberty
interest questions in prisoners’ rights cases.

14

D. The Seventh Circuit Court Of Appeals Refused
To Follow State Law To Determine Whether
The Petitioners Had A Property Interest In
Their Employment.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals began its anal-
ysis of the Petitioners’ property interest claims with the
following correct statement of the law:

If the plaintiffs had property rights in their
employment, the defendants could not deprive
them of those rights without adequate due pro-
cess. Whether the plaintiffs had a substantive
property interest in their jobs is a question of
state law. The relevant inquiry under Wisconsin
law turns on whether the employment is at-will.
Employment at will, in which the employee has
no property interest, is the rule. On the other
hand, an employee terminable only for cause
has a property interest in his employment.

App. at 3-4 (citations omitted).

The court then went on to ignore state law. The court |
said:

Although the court order appointing them to
their positions did contain an expiration date, it
“place[d] no substantive restriction on the
County’s [or the appointing judges’] authority
to terminate” the plaintiffs before it expired.
Nowhere does the order state in “explicitly
mandatory language” that the appointing
judges have limited discretion to terminate the
plaintiffs’ employment at the judges’ will.
Absent such language, the mere fact that the
plaintiffs allegedly relied on the order as guar-
anteeing their employment until the order
expired was not sufficient to create a property

15

interest that would trigger due process protec-
tions.

Id. at 6-7 (alterations in original).

The “explicitly mandatory language” standard does
not exist in Wisconsin employment law. By using this
standard the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals clearly
violated this Court’s repeated and unambiguous state-
ments that the question of whether a property interest in
employment is created is determined solely by reference
to state law.

Moreover, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals’ use
of this standard in connection with the facts of this case is
bizarre. The document creating the property interest in
this case was an unambiguous court order specifying that
the Petitioners were to be employed as bailiffs for a
specified duration of time. To hold that the Petitioners
could not rely on this court order because the order did
not include language making it “explicitly mandatory” is
unreasonable. What must the court order say? That the
court forbids itself from revoking the order? No court
would ever use such language. It was bad enough for
nine Racine County judges to ignore their own order.
Since then two federal courts have held that, notwith-
standing its clear language, the order meant nothing. This
Court must hear this case if for no other reason than to
vindicate the integrity of the judiciary.

16

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO MAKE
CLEAR THAT THE “EXPLICITLY MANDATORY
LANGUAGE” STANDARD, WHICH THIS COURT
HAS NEVER APPROVED IN THE PROPERTY
INTEREST CONTEXT, AND HAS RECENTLY
REJECTED IN THE PRISONERS’ RIGHTS CON-
TEXT, SHOULD NOT BE USED BY FEDERAL
COURTS TO DETERMINE WHETHER A PROP-
ERTY INTEREST EXISTS.

For the past several years, the Seventh Circuit Court
of Appeals has been using the “explicitly mandatory
language” standard to determine the existence of prop-
erty interests in employment. See, e.g., Miller v. Crystal
Lake Park Dist., 47 F.3d 865, 867 (7th Cir. 1995); Fittshur v.
Village of Menomonee Falls, 31 F.3d 1401, 1406 (7th Cir.
1994); Listenbee v. City of Milwaukee, 976 F.2d 348, 353 (7th
Cir. 1992). The use of this standard in this context is a
practice which this Court has never approved and which
it should now expressly disapprove.

The “explicitly mandatory language” standard was
first used by this Court in Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460
(1983), and reiterated in Kentucky Dept. of Corrections v.
Thompson, 490 U.S. 454 (1989). Neither Hewitt nor
Thompson, however, involved the question of how an
individual gained a property interest in his or her job.
Both cases dealt with the issue of when a prison inmate
had a liberty interest. In Thompson, for example, the ques-
tion was whether suspension of a prisoner’s visitation
privileges implicated a liberty interest which entitled the
prisoner to due process protections. Id., 490 U.S. at 455.

This Court has never cited Hewitt or Thompson as
relevant authority where the question was whether an

os sl 2

Fi
£)
il
'

i tadelenitk iehdan dienes aeece ie

ee

eta tes

17

employee had a property interest in his or her job. More-
over, it is extremely difficult to understand how the
“explicitly mandatory language” standard can be reason-
ably applied in the context of a property interest ques-
tion. In the context of a prison situation where the
security of the prison is obviously a very important
value, it is clear how the “explicitly mandatory language”
standard could serve a useful function. In a prison con-
text it is extremely important that prison authorities have
the power to maintain discipline and order. It was under-
standable that this Court would hold in Hewitt and
Thompson that a prisoner claiming that he or she has an
interest which requires the protections of the Due Process
Clause (a “liberty” interest) meet the highest possible
standard.

When the issue does not involve the rights of prison
inmates but rather the question of whether a document -
whether it be a statute, contract, personnel policy or court
order — conveys a property interest, it is not at all clear
what purpose the “explicitly mandatory language” stan-
dard serves. The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals has
never justified, explained, or even acknowledged that it
imported the “explicitly mandatory language” standard
from the prison context to the property interest context.

The Petitioners are not the first to question the appli-
cation of the “explicitly mandatory language” standard to
property interest questions. In his dissenting opinion in
Miller v. Crystai Lake Park Dist., supra, Judge Cudahy
stated:

The majority cites Thompson’s requirement
of “explicitly mandatory language” in statutes
or regulations to establish a legitimate claim of

18

entitlement. But Thompson offers little help,
because it concerned a liberty interest in a
prison context, and that analysis can differ con-
siderably from the treatment of property inter-
ests, especially those arising in non-prison
settings.

Id., 47 F.3d at 870 (Cudahy, J., dissenting) (citing Jago v.
Van Curen, 454 U.S. 14, 18 (1981)).

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals’ use of the
“explicitly mandatory language” standard in property
interest cases is harmful in a number of ways. First, it
conflicts with this Court’s jurisprudence that state law
determines property interests. Secondly, it represents the
imposition, unauthorized by this Court, of a federally
created standard upon state law the effect of which is to
undermine state law. It is particularly troublesome that
the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals imported the stan-
dard from an entirely different context (prisoners’ rights)
without explanation or justification. :

Third, the use of the “explicitly mandatory language”
standard in property interest cases thwarts the creation of
a property interest even when the words of a document
clearly create one. It prevents individuals from relying on
unambiguous written promises. The use of the “explicitly
mandatory language” standard in the property interest
context leads to results which are unjust and, sometimes,
absurd. It is unjust and absurd for a court to hold that a
court order cannot be relied on unless it contains lan-
guage stating that everything stated in the order is man-
datory. Court orders are by definition mandatory.

Finally, it is both important and ironic that this Court
has recently rejected the “explicitly mandatory language”

19

standard in the only context in which it ever applied, that
of prisoners’ rights. In Sandin v. Conner, 115 S. Ct. 2293
(1995), this Court found that prisoners were using the
“explicitly mandatory language” standard to seek to
extend prisoners’ rights beyond those required to protect
against hardships atypical to the prison environment. Id.
at 2300. The Court determined that the standard was no
longer appropriate to use to determine liberty interests of
inmates. Id.

Thus, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals is using a
standard to dismiss property interest cases that was
never intended to be used in such situations, and that has
now been rejected by this Court in the only situation in
which it was previously applied. This Court should grant
the requested Writ to make clear that the “explicitly man-
datory language” standard does not apply to questions of
property interests in employment. In Sandin, this Court
rejected the standard in the prison context because it was
difficult to apply and tended to produce anomalous
results. Id. at 2300 n.5. The case at bar shows that use of
this standard in the employment law context produces
even more anomalous results.

CONCLUSION

This case raises important questions of federalism
and judicial integrity. Without resolution of these ques-
tions, federal courts in the Seventh Circuit and possibly
in other circuits will continue to undermine state law and
impose a defunct federal standard in cases in which it

ii

20

was never intended to be applied. The Petitioners there-
fore respectfully pray that this Court grant the Writ of
Certiorari they request, so that these questions may be
resolved.

Respectfully submitted,

EvizABETH ADELMAN
Counsel of Record

LYNN ADELMAN
Counsel for Petitioners

ADELMAN, ADELMAN & Murray, S.C.
308 East Juneau Avenue
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 225-2920

App. 1

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-2592

JOAN FLYNN, Rosert BERTERMANN,
Eva CHRISTOPHERSON, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.

DENNIS KORNWOLE, STEPHEN A. SIMANEK,
in their individual capacities and
Racine County, a municipal corporation,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Wisconsin.
No. 94 C 908 - John W. Reynolds, Judge.

ArGueD Decemser 4, 1995 — Decipep May 15, 1996

Before Bauer, Diane P. Woop and Evans, Circuit
Judges.

Bauer, Circuit Judge. The plaintiffs, former part-time
bailiffs in Racine County, Wisconsin, brought suit under
42 U.S.C. § 1983, claiming t! at the defendants violated
their due process rights by demoting them and terminat-
ing their employment without cause. The district court
granted the defendants’ motions to dismiss. We affirm.

App. 2

BACKGROUND

We accept as true the facts alleged in the plaintiffs’
complaint. Travel All Over the World, Inc. v. Kingdom of
Saudi Arabia, 73 F.3d 1423, 1428 (7th Cir. 1996). The plain-
tiffs worked as part-time bailiffs in Racine County. Their
duties primarily involved the care and custody of jurors.
Before 1992, they worked more than 600 hours per year.
In the summer of 1992, Dennis Kornwolf, the county
executive, and Stephen Simanek, a Racine County circuit
court judge and the chief judge of the state’s Judicial
District Il, realized that any county employee who
worked more than 600 hours per year became entitled to
pension benefits from the Wisconsin Retirement System.
To save the county the expense of paying $.36 per hour
for the plaintiffs’ pension benefits, Kornwolf and Sim-
anek decided to fire the plaintiffs and replace them with
bailiffs who would work less than 600 hours per year. In
September 1992, Kornwolf laid off the plaintiffs, despite
their willingness to pay for their own pension benefits in
order to keep their jobs.

In January 1993, the county rehired most of the plain-
tiffs as “court attendants” rather than “bailiffs.” The
plaintiffs viewed this as a demotion. Two months later,
the Racine County circuit court judges signed an “order
appointing court attendants” through the end of the year.
The order limited the court attendants’ work to 599 hours
per year. Although the plaintiffs worked fewer hours
than before, they alleged that they actually did more
work as a result of a new county policy assigning one
bailiff per jury rather than two. Because of this policy and
other changes in the conditions of their employment,
several plaintiffs quit their jobs. Despite the County’s

App. 3

opposition, those plaintiffs applied for and received pen-
sion benefits. In May 1993, Simanek told those plaintiffs
still employed as court attendants that they would be
discharged and rehired as Kelly Temporary Services
employees.

In August 1994, the plaintiffs filed this suit pursuant
to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, alleging that Simanek and Kornwolf,
acting in their individual capacities, demoted the plain-
tiffs and terminated their employment without cause,
notice, or a hearing in violation of Wisconsin laws setting
forth employment rules for county civil service. See Wis.
Stat. §§ 63.01 to 63.17. The plaintiffs contended that Sim-
anek and Kornwolf thus deprived them of their constitu-
tional right to due process under the Fourteenth
Amendment. The plaintiffs also sued Racine County,
claiming that it violated their due process rights by
excluding them from civil service protections against
demotion or termination without cause, notice, or a hear-
ing. The district court granted the defendants’ motions to
dismiss because the plaintiffs failed to state a due process
property interest in their employment, and therefore
failed to show any violation of their constitutional or civil
rights. We review de novo the district court’s dismissal for
failure to state a claim. Warzon v. Drew, 60 F.3d 1234, 1238
(7th Cir. 1995).

ANALYSIS
I. Property Interest

If the plaintiffs had property rights in their employ-
ment, the defendants could not deprive them of those

App. 4

rights without adequate due process. See Fittshur v. Vil-
lage of Menomonee Falls, 31 F.3d 1401, 1405 (7th Cir. 1994),
citing Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470 U.S.
532, 541 (1985). See also Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S.
564, 576-77 (1972). Whether the plaintiffs had a substan-
tive property interest in their jobs is a question of state
law. Fittshur, 31 F.3d at 1405. The relevant inquiry under
Wisconsin law turns on whether the employment is at-
will. Id; Listenbee v. City of Milwaukee, 976 F.2d 348, 351
(7th Cir. 1992). Employment at will, in which the
employee has no property interest, is the rule. Warzon, 60
F.3d at 1240. On the other hand, an employee terminable
only for cause has a property interest in his employment.
See Listenbee, 976 F.2d at 351.

a. Racine County Ordinance

The plaintiffs first assert that they were civil servants
terminable only for cause because Racine County inad-
vertently extended civil service coverage to all county
employees by passing an overbroad county ordinance,
Racine County Code §§ 17-1 et seq. Generally, once a
county establishes a civil service commission, the county
must give civil service protections to all county
employees. See Wis. Stat. § 63.03(1). However, a county
may establish a civil service commission for the selection
of deputy sheriffs and limit civil service protections to
deputy sheriffs. See Wis. Stat. § 59.21(8) (providing that if
a civil service commission is decided upon for the selec-
tion of deputy sheriffs, the general rule requiring univer-
sal civil service coverage for county employees does not
apply). The plaintiffs contend that Racine County Code
§ 17-21, by establishing a civil service commission for the

App. 5

sheriff’s department, rather than just for the deputy sher-
iffs, extended civil service coverage to all county
employees.

This argument fails for several reasons. First, it is
inconsistent with a plain reading of Racine County Code
§ 17-21, which establishes a civil service commission for
the sheriff's department “pursuant to W.S.A. §§ 59.21 and
63.01 et seq.” As we already have noted, section 59.21(8)
allows counties to create civil service commissions but
limit civil service coverage to deputy sheriffs. The ordi-
nance’s reference to section 59.21 indicates that the
county intended to limit civil service protections to dep-
uty sheriffs.

Furthermore, the ordinance’s repeated references to
the position of deputy sheriff show that it extended civil
service protections only to deputy sheriffs. For example,
the ordinance requires that each member of the civil
service commission be “highly knowledgeable of the
duties and responsibilities of the deputy sheriff position,”
and “familiar with the important qualifications needed to
become a successful deputy.” Similarly, those sections of
the ordinance addressing the application process and
requirements for covered positions, as well as the prepa-
ration of and hiring from the eligibility list, all refer to the
position of deputy sheriff. Nowhere does the ordinance
state that all department employees, let alone all county
employees, are covered by its civil service protections. In
short, the mere fact that the ordinance uses the word
“department” does not convert it into a county-wide civil
service provision.

App. 6

b. Court Order

Next, the plaintiffs contend that the March 1993 court
order appointing them court attendants gave them a
property interest in their employment. The order lists the
plaintiffs’ names, defines their authority, and states that
the order expires on December 31, 1993. The plaintiffs
argue that the order appointed them for a definite term,
and therefore they had a “legally enforceable expectancy”
in their employment and could be terminated only for
cause.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has held that “[ajbsent
civil service regulations or laws, or a contract or collec-
tive bargaining agreement, a [public] employee is an
employee at will and has no property interest in employ-
ment.” Vorwald v. School Dist. of River Falls, 167 Wis.2d
549, 557, 482 N.W.2d 93, 96, cert. denied, 506 U.S. 941
(1992). The plaintiffs contend that, like civil service regu-
lations or laws, or contracts or collective bargaining
agreements, the court order appointing them abrogated
Wisconsin's general rule of at-will employment and made
their employment terminable only for cause. They assert
that the order gave them a “legitimate claim of entitle-
ment” to their employment during its effective dates, and
that they therefore had a property interest in their jobs.

The plaintiffs’ argument fails. Although the court
order appointing them to their positions did contain an
expiration date, it “place[d] no substantive restriction on
the county’s [or the appointing judges’] authority to ter-
minate” the plaintiffs before it expired. See Warzon, 60
F.3d at 1240. Nowhere does the order state in “explicitly
mandatory language” that the appointing judges have

App. 7

limited discretion to terminate the plaintiffs’ employment
at the judges’ will. See Fittshur, 31 F.3d at 1406. Absent
such language, the mere fact that the plaintiffs allegedly
relied on the order as guaranteeing their employment
until the order expired was not sufficient to create a
property interest that would trigger due process protec-
tions.

Because neither Racine County Ordinance § 17-1 et
seq. nor the court order gave the plaintiffs a property
interest in their employment, the defendants were free to
terminate them “whenever and for whatever reasons
[they] so desire[d].” Wilcox v. Niagara of Wisconsin Paper
Corp., 965 F.2d 355, 358 (7th Cir. 1992). The district court
properly dismissed the plaintiffs’ complaint for failure to
state a claim.!

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the judgment of
the district court.

AFFIRMED.
A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

1 Because we affirm the district court’s dismissal, we need
not address the plaintiffs’ argument that the district court
abused its discretion in staying all discovery pending resolution
of the defendants’ motions to dismiss.

App. 8

Copy mailed to attorneys for
parties by the Court pursuant
to Fed. R. Civ. P.77(d). 6-1-95

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

JOAN FLYNN, ROBERT
BERTERMANN, EVA
CHRISTOPHERSON, SALLY
GUZEK, PAUL ROSENQUIST, JAY
WILDFONG, ED BOWMAN,
SHIRLEY DANDENEAU, BONNIE
FULLER, HELEN HESS, BERNARD
WYNHOFF, JOHN GRECO, and
JOSEPH PORCARO,
eae Civil Action
Plaintiffs, No. 94-C-0908
V.

DENNIS KORNWOLEF, STEPHEN
SIMANEK and RACINE COUNTY,

Defendants.

DECISION AND ORDER
GRANTING MOTIONS TO DISMISS

(Filed Jun. 1, 1995)

Plaintiff, formerly part-time bailiffs in Racine County,
allege that defendants Dennis Kornwolf (“Kornwolf”)
and Judge Stephen Simanek (“Judge Simanek”) demoted
and discharged them in order to avoid paying them pen-
sion benefits. Plaintiffs bring suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
claiming that defendants violated their due process rights

eae

App. 9

as civil service employees against being demoted or ter-
minated without cause. Plaintiffs seek reinstatement, lost
wages and pension benefits, compensatory damages, and
$1 million in punitive damages from Kornwolf. Defen-
dants have filed motions to dismiss, and, for reasons set
forth below, the motions shall be granted. The court has
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343.

I. Factual Allegations

The thirteen plaintiffs were employed by Racine
County as part-time bailiffs. They each worked in excess
of 600 hours per year, and their job duties involved the
care and custody of jurors in the circuit courts of Racine
County. (Am. Compl. {f 8-9.) Plaintiffs were supervised
by the clerk of court but appointed by the judges of the
Racine County Circuit Court by court order. The appoint-
ment extended from December 19, 1991 through January
31, 1993. (Id./Ex. D.)

Plaintiffs allege that in the summer of 1992, Kornwolf
and Judge Simanek decided they could save money for
the County if they fired the plaintiffs and replaced them
with bailiffs who would work fewer than 600 hours per
year, thus enabling the County to avoid paying $.36 per
hour to cover the plaintiffs’ state-mandated pension ben-
efits. In August 1992, Judge Simanek placed advertise-
ments in local newspapers for part-time bailiffs willing to
work no more than 540 hours per year. (Id./Ex. A.) Korn-
wolf allegedly vowed that as long as he was county
executive, there would be no retirement benefits for part-
time employees. (Jd. { 12.) In September 1992, Kornwolf

App. 10

laid off the plaintiffs, even though they offered to pay
their own pension benefits to retain their jobs.

In January 1993, most of the plaintiffs were rehired as
“court attendants” rather than “bailiffs,” which plaintiffs
viewed as a demotion. In March 1993, the Racine County
circuit court judges signed an “order appointing court
attendants” through the end of 1993. The court order
limited plaintiffs’ work to 599 hours per vear. Plaintiffs
allege that despite working fewer hours, they were
assigned more work, because the county instituted a new
policy of assigning one bailiff per jury rather than two.
(Id. { 17.) In addition, plaintiffs could no longer receive
travel reimbursement or a uniform allowance. As a result
of these changes in conditions, several of the plaintiffs
quit their jobs, which they allege constituted constructive
discharge. They applied for and received pension bene-
fits, despite the County’s opposition. (Id. { 19.) In May
1993, Judge Simanek informed the plaintiffs still on the
job that they would be discharged and rehired as Kelly
Temporary Services employees.

In August 1994, plaintiffs filed this lawsuit, alleging
that Judge Simanek and Kornwolf, acting in their individ-
ual and official capacities, demoted and terminated them
without cause, notice, or a hearing, and that they con-
spired to do so, in violation of Chapter 63 of the Wiscon-
sin Statutes, which sets forth employment rules for
county and city civil service. Plaintiffs assert that viola-
tions of this chapter resulted in the deprivation of their
constitutional rights to due process under the Fourteenth
Amendment. Plaintiffs further allege that Racine County
violated their due process rights by transgressing the

eR an eter

App. 11

court orders signed by the Racine County circuit court
judges setting forth plaintiffs’ terms of appointment.

II. Analysis

A complaint should not be dismissed for failure to
state a claim unless it is “beyond doubt that the plaintiff
can prove no set of facts in support of his claim.” Conley
v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957). When considering
motions to dismiss, this court must accept as true the
plaintiff’s factual allegations and must draw all reason-
able inferences from the pleadings in favor of the plain-
tiff. Gillman v. Burlington N. R.R., 878 F.2d 1020, 1022 (7th
Cir. 1989).

Defendants have moved the court to dismiss plain-
tiffs’ suit chiefly on the ground that plaintiffs did not
have a constitutional due process property interest in
their employment as bailiffs.1 The court agrees that plain-
tiffs have failed to state a property interest.

A. Due Process Property Interest

Plaintiffs contend they possessed a property interest
in their employment as bailiffs of which defendants
deprived them without due process of law. The existence
of a substantive property interest in public employment
is a question of state law. Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S.
564, 577 (1972). When asked to decide whether employees

1 In addition, defendants Simanek and Kornwolf argue that
they are qualifiedly immune from damages, but the court need
not address this claim.

App. 12

have a property interest in their jobs, Wisconsin courts
have “generally resolved the matter by providing a sim-
ple yes or no answer based on whether the employment
is at-will or for cause.” Fittshur v. Village of Menomonee
Falls, 31 F.3d 1401, 1405 (7th Cir. 1994). The Wisconsin
Supreme Court has held: “Under Wisconsin law, employ-
ment at will is the rule. Absent civil service regulations or
laws, or a contract or collective bargaining agreement, a
municipal employee is an employee at will and has no
property interest in employment.” Vorwald v. School Dist.
of River Falls, 167 Wis. 2d 549, 557, 482 N.W.2d 93 (1992).

Plaintiffs assert that they have a property interest in
their employment on two fronts: (1) civil service laws,
and (2) court order. The court shal! assess each of these
claims in turn.

1. Civil Service Laws

While there is no state statute that expressly provides
plaintiffs with civil service or “for cause” protection,
plaintiffs contend that they are civil service employees.
entitled to civil service protection because Racine County
passed an overbroad ordinance, Racine County Code
§§ 17-1 et seq. Racine County Code § 17-21 declares:
“There is hereby established a civil service commission
for the sheriff's department with duties, functions and
authority as herein set forth pursuant to W.S.A. §§ 59.21
and 63.01 et seq.” Plaintiffs argue that by passing this
ordinance, the County inadvertently created civil service
protection for all county employees because the ordi-
nance goes beyond the authority of the County pursuant
to Wisconsin Stat. § 59.21(8)(d), which states, in pertinent

App. 13

part: “The civil service provisions of this section shall
apply only to such deputies or traffic patrolmen who are
regularly employed by the county or sheriff.”

The court does not accept plaintiffs’ contention that
Racine County Code §§ 17-1 et seq. creates civil service
protection for all county employees. Wisconsin Stat.
§ 59.21 empowers a county to establish civil service pro-
tection for sheriff's department personnel. Wisconsin
Stat. §§ 63.01 ef seq. enumerate rules regarding county-
wide civil service, which counties are empowered to
establish pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 59.07(20). In passing
Racine County Code §§ 17-1 et seq., the County exercised
its discretion and authority to establish civil service pro-
tection for sheriff's personnel but not for all county
employees. Even if plaintiffs are correct that Racine
County Code §§ 17 et seq. goes beyond the power of the
county to establish civil service protection for sheriff's
personnel under Wis. Stat. § 59.21(8), that would merely
be an argument against extending civil service protection
to non-deputy sheriffs within the sheriff's department.
But it does not support plaintiffs’ argument that all
county employees are entitled to civil service protection,
in the absence of the County’s express intent to create
such protection pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 59.07(20).?

2 Wisconsin Stat. § 59.07(20) states in pertinent part:

The board of each county may exercise the following
powers, which shall be broadly and liberally
construed and limited only by express language:

(20) Civil service system. (a) Establish a civil
service system of selection, tenure and status, and the

App. 14

Plaintiffs are not protected by civil service laws where
Racine County has not expressly provided for such pro-
tection.

2. Court Order

In addition, plaintiffs maintain that they have a prop-
erty interest based on a court order appointing civilian
bailiffs for a specific period of time, which was signed by
the judges of the Racine County circuit.court. The “order
appointing civilian bailiffs” lists plaintiffs’ names and
limitations of their authority, and states: “The order is
effective immediately this date, December 19, 1991 and
shall expire January 31, 1993.” The order was established
pursuant to Wis. Const. art. VIL, § 8, which states inter alia
that “[t]he circuit court may issue all writs necessary in
aid of its jurisdiction,” and Wis. Stat. § 753.10, which
states inter alia that “[e]very officer attending court upon
the order of the presiding judge . . . shall be paid out of
the county treasury.” Plaintiffs argue that the court order
created a property interest in their employment as bai-
liffs.

This argument is not persuasive. As noted previ-
ously, the Wisconsin Supreme Court has held that
employment at will for public employees is the rule in
Wisconsin, absent civil service regulations or laws, a col-
lective bargaining agreement, or a contract. Vorwald v.

system may be made applicable to all county
personnel, except the members of the board,
constitutional officers and members of boards and
commissions.

App. 15

School Dist. of River Falls, 167 Wis. 2d 549, 557, 482 N.W.2d
93 (1992). The “court order appointing bailiffs” consti-
tutes neither a civil service law nor a collective bargain-
ing agreement. Plaintiffs were not civil service
employees, as explained above, nor were they members
of a union or parties to a collective bargaining agreement.
Nor was the court order a contract. Unlike cases in which
plaintiffs have argued that they were employed by virtue
of an implied contract,? plaintiffs in this action have
made no argument that they had an implied contract or
any type of contract. Plaintiffs do not use the word “con-
tract” in their complaint, filed August 15, 1994, nor in
their amended complaint, filed October 11, 1994. In their
response brief to defendants’ motions to dismiss, plain-
tiffs state that “[a] court order in Wisconsin is a binding
document, more venerable than a contract” (Pls.’ Resp.
Br. at 18), which further highlights plaintiffs’ position that
they did not have a contract. Without any evidence or
assertion by plaintiffs that an express or implied contract
existed, the court can only conclude that one did not.
Harris v. City of Auburn, 27 F.3d 1284, 1286 (7th Cir. 1994).
Thus, plaintiffs did not have a property interest by con-
tract.

B. Substantive Due Process

Plaintiffs amended their complaint in order to add a
cause of action based on Fourteenth Amendment substan-
tive due process. But this claim fails as well. Plaintiffs

3 See, e.g., Garvey v. Buhler, 146 Wis. 2d 281, 430 N.W.2d 616
(1988).

App. 16

argue that their right to substantive due process was
violated because their termination was arbitrary and
capricious. But this is not enough to state such a violation
because “[a] claim based on substantive due process must
be based on the deprivation of an underlying protected
life, liberty or property interest.” Zorzi v. County of Put-
nam, 30 F.3d 885, 894 (7th Cir. 1994). Plaintiffs do not
assert a life or liberty interest, and, as explained here-
tofore, plaintiffs fail to state facts constituting a property
interest deprivation. In the absence of a property interest,
a plaintiff may be terminated for arbitrary and capricious
reasons. Id. at 895.

C. Civil Conspiracy

Finally, plaintiffs allege that defendants Kornwolf
and Judge Simanek conspired to violate their Fourteenth
Amendment rights, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Plain-
tiffs assert that Kornwolf and Judge Simanek “agreed to
terminate Plaintiffs from Racine County employment”
(Compl. { 20) and that these two defendants “conspired
and combined to demote and dismiss Plaintiffs without
cause, notice or hearing.” (Compl. { 26.) To adequately
state a claim for civil conspiracy under § 1983, a plaintiff
must allege that defendants directed themselves toward
an unconstitutional action by virtue of a mutual under-
standing that suggests a meeting of the minds. Kunik v.
Racine County, 946 F.2d 1574, 1580 (7th Cir. 1991). Because
plaintiffs’ constitutional rights were not violated, it can-
not be said that Kornwolf and Judge Simanek conspired
toward an unconstitutional action.

= s 2

App. 17

Ill. Conclusion

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the motion to
dismiss filed by Dennis Kornwolf and Racine County is
GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Judge Stephen Sim-
anek’s motion to dismiss is GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this case is dis-
missed.

Dated at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, this lst day of June,
1995.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

By /s/ John W. Reynolds
John W. Reynolds
Judge

App. 18

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

JOAN FLYNN, et al.,
V.

DENNIS KORNWOLF,
et al.

JUDGMENT IN A
CIVIL CASE

(Filed Jun. 1, 1995)
CASE NUMBER: 94-C-908

{ ] Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for
a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the
jury has rendered its verdict.

[X] Decision by Court. This action came to trial or
hearing before the Court. The issues have been
tried or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the defendants
motions to dismiss are granted and this action is hereby

DISMISSED.
June 1, 1995 SOFRON B. NEDILSKY
Date Clerk

Copy mailed to Attorneys
for parties by the court
pursuant to rule 87(D) fed-
eral rules of civil pro-
cedure.

/s/ Rita Zvers
(By) Deputy Clerk

App. 19

STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT
RACINE COUNTY

’

ORDER APPOINTING CIVILIAN BAILIFFS

Pursuant to the Racine County Circuit Courts’ inhe--
ent power to make rules and orders necessary to properly
perform their function and,

Pursuant to Section 8, Article VIi of the Wisconsin
Constitution and,

Pursuant to Wisconsin Stats. Sec. 753.10,
The Racine County Circuit Court Judges order:

1. The following named individuals are appointed
as civilian bailiffs to attend upon the Racine County
Courts:

Robert Bertermann Jay Wildfong

Eva Christopherson Ed Bowman

Joan M. Flynn Shirley Dandeneau
John Greco Bonnie Fuller
Helen Hess Sally Guzek

Paul Rosenquist Joe Porcaro
Florence Stupar Margaret Schmaling

Bernard J. Wynhoff

2. The authority of the above-named individuals is
limited to:

a) The administration of case flow,
b) Taking charge of juries, and

c) Any other duties specifically requested
by the presiding judge.

App. 20

3. The above-appointed bailiffs are specifically not
authorized to take any individual into custody; not
authorized to physically evict any individual from the
courts; and not authorized to guard criminal defendants.

4. The order is to be effective for a period of sixty
(60) day from the date of signature.

5. The order is, however, retroactive to January 1,

1991.

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

5/16/91

5/15/91

5/15/91

5/15/91

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Gerald P. Ptacek
Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek
Branch I

/s/ Stephen A. Simanek
Honorable Stephen A. Simanek
Branch II

Honorable Jon B. Skow
Branch III

/s/ Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Honorable Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Branch IV

/s/ Dennis J. Barry
Honorable Dennis J. Barry
Branch V

/s/ Wayne J. Marik
Honorable Wayne J. Marik
Branch VI

/s/ Nancy E. Wheeler
Honorable Nancy E. Wheeler
Branch VII

App. 21

Dated: 15 MAY 91 /s/ Dennis J. Flynn

Honorable Dennis J. Flynn
Branch VIII

App. 22

STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT
RACINE COUNTY

ORDER APPOINTING CIVILIAN BAILIFFS

Pursuant to the Racine County circuit Courts’ inher-
ent power to make rules and orders necessary to properly
perform their function and,

Pursuant to Section 8, Article VII of the Wisconsin
Constitution and,

Pursuant to Wisconsin Stats. Sec. 753.10,
The Racine County Circuit Court Judges order:

1. The following named individuals are appointed
as civilian bailiffs to attend upon the Racine County

Courts:

Robert Bertermann Jay Wildfong

Eva Christopherson Ed Bowman

Joan M. Flynn Shirley Dandeneau
John Greco Bonnie Fuller
Helea Hess Sally Guzek

Paul Rosenquist Joe Porcaro
Florence Stupar Bernard J. Wynhoff

2. The authority of the above-named individuals is
limited to:

a) The administration of case flow,
b) Taking charge of juries, and

c) Any other duties specifically requested
by the presiding judge.

OS

App. 23

3. The above-appointed bailiffs are specifically not

authorized to take any individual into custody; not
authorized to physically evict any individual from the
courts; and not authorized to guard criminal defendants.

4. The order is effective immediately this date,
December 19, 1991 and shall expire January 31, 1993.

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Jan. 9, 1992

12-23-91

Jan. 7, 1992

12/26/91

Jan. 7, 1992

Jan. 9, 1992

9 JAN 92

21 JAN 92

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Gerald P. Ptacek
Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek
Branch I

/s/ Stephen A. Simanek
Honorable Stephen A. Simanek
Branch II

/s/ Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Honorable Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Branch IV

/s/ Dennis J. Barry
Honorable Dennis J. Barry
Branch V

/s/ Wayne J. Marik
Honorable Wayne J. Marik
Branch VI

/s/ Nancy E. Wheeler
Honorable Nancy E. Wheeler
Branch VII

/s/ Dennis J. Flynn
Honorable Dennis J. Flynn
Branch VIII

/s/ Allan B. Torhorst
Honorable Allan B. Torhorst
Branch IX

App. 24

STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT
RACINE COUNTY

ORDER APPOINTING COURT ATTENDANTS

Pursuant to the Racine County Circuit Courts’ inher-
ent power to make rules and orders necessary to properly
perform their function and,

Pursuant to Section 8, Article VII of the Wisconsin
Constitution and,

Pursuant to Wisconsin Stats. Sec. 753.10,
The Racine County Circuit Court Judges order:

1. The following named individuais are appointed
as court attendants to attend upon the Racine County
Courts:

George Janosik Sharon Mullen Robert Bertermann
Maureen Eckert John Swan James Vernon
Bernice Christensen Donald Bostick Jay Wildfong

Eva Christopherson Ed Bowman Mickey Turkowski
John Greco Bonnie Fuller Judy Winsall

Joe Pocaro Bernard J. Wynhoff Greta Andersen
Janet Gergen Paul Rosenquist Sally Guzek

2. The authority of the above-named individuals is
limited to:

a) The administration of case flow,

b) Taking charge of juries, and

c) Any other duties specifically requested
by the presiding judge.

App. 25

3. The above-appointed court attendants are speci-
fically not authorized to take any individual into custody;
not authorized to physically evict any individual from the
courts; and not authorized to guard criminal defendants.

4. Court Attendants’ work shall be limited to 599
hours of work in any 12 month period.

5. This order expires on 12-31-93.
BY THE COURT:

Dated: 3/18/93 /s/ Gerald P. Ptacek
Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek
Branch I

Dated: 3/18/93 /s/ Stephen A. Simanek
Honorable Stephen A. Simanek
Branch Il

Dated: 3/18/93 /s/ Emily S. Mueller
Honorable Emily S. Mueller
Branch III

Dated: 3-29-93 /s/ Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Honorable Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Branch IV

Dated:

MARCH 19, 1993 /s/ Dennis J. Barry
Honorable Dennis J. Barry

Branch V
Dated:
March 18, 1993 /s/ Wayne J. Marik
Honorable Wayne J. Marik
Branch VI
Dated: 3-19-93 /s/ Nancy E. Wheeler

Honorable Nancy E. Wheeler
Branch VII

Dated:
18 MARCH 1993

Dated: 3-18-93

App. 20

/s/ Dennis J. Flynn

Honorable Dennis J. Flynn
Branch VII

/s/ Allan B. Torhorst

Honorable Allan Pat Torhorst
Branch IX

ee ee

App. 27

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

JOAN FLYNN, ROBERT
BERTERMANN, EVA
CHRISTOPHERSON, SALLY
GUZEK, PAUL ROSENQUIST, JAY
WILDFONG, ED BOWMAN,
SHIRLEY DANDENEAU, BONNIE
FULLER, HELEN HESS, BERNARD
WYNHOFF, JOHN GRECO, and
JOSEPH PORCARO,

Plaintiffs Case No. 94-C-0908

V.

DENNIS KORNWOLF, and
STEPHEN SIMANEK, in their
individual capacities,

and RACINE COUNTY,

a municipal corporation,

Defendants.

AMENDED COMPLAINT

Plaintiffs, by their attorneys, Adelman, Adelman &
Murray, by Elizabeth Adelman, allege as follows:

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. This is a civil action in which Plaintiffs seek
reinstatement to their jobs as bailiffs with Defendant
Racine County as well as back pay and other damages
and a permanent injunction restraining all Defendants
from terminating the employment of the Plaintiffs;

App. 28

2. This action arises under 42 U.S.C. §1983 and the
14th Amendment to the United States Constitution;

3. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. §§1331 and 1343(a)(4);

4. Plaintiffs Joan Flynn, Robert Bertermann, Eva
Christopherson, Sally Guzek, Paul Rosenquist, Jay Wild-
fong, Ed Bowman, Shirley Dandeneau, Bonnie Fuller,
Helen Hess, Bernard Wynhoff, John Greco and Joseph
Porcaro are residents of Racine County, Wisconsin, and
were employed by Racine County as bailiffs until 1993.

5. Defendant Dennis Kornwolf is the County Execu-
tive of Racine County, Wisconsin, and is sued in his
individual capacity for acts done under color of law;

6. Defendant Stephen Simanek is a Circuit Court
Judge in Racine County, Wisconsin, and is the Chief
Judge of Judicial District II of the State of Wisconsin. He
is sued in his individual capacity for acts done under
color of law;

7. Defendant Racine County is a municipal corpora-
tion incorporated under the laws of the State of Wiscon-
sin.

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

8. Plaintiffs were employed by Defendant Racine
County as part-time bailiffs. Their duties primarily
involved the care and custody of jurors, from checking
jurors into court, excusing some jurors from duty, accom-
panying jurors during recesses from deliberations, carry-
ing messages from jurors to the judge, arranging for
meals, accommodations and transportation of jurors and

App. 29

otherwise assuring the sanctity of trial by jury in the
Circuit Courts of Racine County;

9. Prior to 1992 Plaintiffs worked as bailiffs for more
than 600 hours per year;

10. During the summer of 1992, Defendants Dennis
Kornwolf in his position as the Racine County Executive
and Stephen Simanek, in his position as the Chief Judge
of Racine County Circuit Court, realized that once any
county employee, including the bailiffs, works in excess
of 600 hours per year, that employee must be covered by
and receive pension benefits from the Wisconsin Retire-
ment System;

11. In August 1992, Stephen Simanek acting as
Chief Judge, placed an advertisement in the Racine Journal
Times and Burlington Standard for bailiffs to replace the
Plaintiffs. (See attached advertisement, Exhibit A);

12. In August or September, 1992, County Executive
Dennis Kornwolf met with the Clerk of Circuit Courts
and told him he intended to lay the bailiffs off because ii
would cost the county 36 cents per hour to cover the
bailiffs under the pension plan of the Wisconsin Retire-
ment System. Dennis Kornwolf also told the Clerk of
Circuit Courts that so long as he was county executive
there would be no retirement benefits for part-time
employees;

13. In August or September, 1992, a delegation of
three (3) bailiffs met with County Executive Dennis Korn-
wolf and offered to take a cut in pay so that pension plan
coverage for the bailiffs would not cost the county any
money. Dennis Kornwolt refused the offer. (see letter

App. 30

from bailiffs offering to pay the pension plan coverage
attached as Exhibit B);

14. In September, 1992, County Executive Dennis
Kornwolf caused the bailiffs to be laid off and leave their
employment;

15. In October, 1992, Plaintiffs sent a letter to
County Executive Dennis Kornwolf again offering to take
a cut in pay. Plaintiffs received no answer;

16. Plaintiffs sought unemployment compensation.
Defendant Racine County, at the direction of County
Executive Dennis Kornwolf, pursued a meritless contest,
claiming the bailiffs were independent contractors or
state, nor county employees. The administrative law
judge found that Racine County’s arguments were “spe-
cious” and “outrageous,” without a “shred of evidence”
and a “shameful compounding of the ill-use of the more
vulnerable county employees” and awarded benefits.
(Unemployment Compensation decision attached as
Exhibit C);

17. In January, 1993, Plaintiffs were recalled to
work, however, demoted trom “bailiffs” to “court atten-
dants.” The county kept the replacement workers hired
pursuant to the advertisement set forth above in Para-
graph 4, resulting in twice the number of people and
fewer hours of employment for each bailiff. In the past,
two (2) bailiffs were assigned to each jury. In January,
only one bailiff was assigned to each jury, resulting in
double the work and significantly fewer hours for each
bailiff. Defendant Racine County, under the direction of

:
5
|
z
F
a
:
4
a
:

App. 31

County Executive Dennis Kornwolf, attempted to retroac-
tively terminate travel reimbursement and terminated the
uniform allowance which had been provided previously;

18. The demotion from “bailiff” to “court atten-
dant,” the changes in the terms of employment and the
limitation of only one bailiff for each jury resulted in a
constructive discharge. Due to these changes, some of the
Plaintiffs quit work for Racine County;

19. Thereafter, some of the Plaintiffs applied to the
State Retirement System to receive their pensions. Racine
County opposed this. Again, Plaintiffs won and received
notice that the bailiffs were required to be included in the
Wisconsin Retirement System. Racine County was
required to pay to the Wisconsin Retirement System the
required pension contributions which Racine County had
not paid;

20. Dennis Kornwolf and Stephen Simanek agreed
to terminate Plaintiffs from Racine County employment;

21. In May, 1993, Plaintiffs were told to attend a
meeting with Judge Stephen Simanek acting in his official
capacity. At the meeting, Stephen Simanek discharged
Plaintiffs and told Plaintiffs that in the future they would
be employed as Kelly Temporaries;

22. Plaintiffs have a property right to Racine County
employment as bailiffs in that Ch. 63 Wis. Stats. grants
protection to all county employees, with exceptions not
relevant here, against demotion or discharge except upon
a showing of cause, after notice and hearing when the
County has a civil service commission. Racine County has
a civil service commission;

App. 32

23. The above actions demoting and then terminat-
ing the Plaintiffs without cause, without notice and with-
out a hearing violate Chapter 63 of the Wisconsin Statutes
and deprive Plaintiffs of rights secured by the Constitu-
tion and laws of the United States, that is, 42 U.S.C. §1983
and the 14th Amendment.

24. In acting to demote and then discharge Plain-
tiffs, County Executive Dennis Kornwolf acted willfully,
unlawfully, maliciously and in wanton disregard for the
rights of Plaintiffs.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

25. Plaintiffs reallege paragraphs 1-24 as though
fully set forth herein.

26. Defendants Dennis Kornwolf and Stephen Sim-
anek conspired and combined to demote and dismiss
Plaintiffs without cause, notice or hearing, which they
knew or should have known violated Ch. 63 of the Wis-
consin Statutes and deprived ;Plaintiffs of rights secured
by the Constitution and laws of the United States, that is,
42 USC §1983 and the 14th Amendment.

THIRD CAUSE OF ACTION

27. Plaintiffs reallege paragraph 1-26 as though
fully set forth herein.

28. Racine County, by its county board, enacted an
ordinance codified as Chapter 17 of the Racine County
Ordinances. This ordinance establishes a civil service

AR eR ROPE Mi PRE BE Aa OS

FB othe

App. 33

commission, but purports to limit its scope to the Sher-
iff’s Department, thereby excluding Plaintiffs from its
due process protections;

29. Section 63.03 Wis. Stats. requires civil service
protection be awarded to all county employees, with
exceptions not relevant here, when a county appoints a
civil service commission;

30. Racine County’s illegal exclusion of Plaintiffs
from civil service protections against demotion or dis-
missal only for cause, upon notice and after a hearing,
caused the illegal demotion and dismissal of Plaintiffs;

31. Racine County’s illegal exclusion of Plaintiffs
from civil service protections against demotion or dis-
missal only for cause, upon notice after a hearing violates
the 14th Amendment to the United States constitution
and 42 USC §1983;

32. Racine County is also liable for these violations
of 42 U.S.C. §1983 because the actions taken to demote
and dismiss Plaintiffs were taken by Dennis Kornwolf in
his capacity as county executive and Stephen Simanek in
his capacity as chief judge. Racine County gave these
Defendants final authority to make these decisions
regarding the bailiffs, now known as court attendants.

FOURTH CAUSE OF ACTION

33. Plaintiffs reallege paragraphs 1-21 and 24 as
though fully set forth herein;

34. On or about December 19, 1991, Plaintiffs were
appointed as bailiffs for a definite term from December

App. 34

19, 1991, through January 31, 1993. (See attached order
Appointing Civilian Bailiffs, Exhibit D);

35. On or about March 18, 1993, all Plaintiffs except
Joan Flynn and Shirley Dandaneau were again appointed
as bailiffs for a definite term until December 31, 1992 (See
attached Order Appointing Court Attendants, Exhibit E);

36. Despite the above two (2) Orders establishing
definite terms for employment, Defendants Dennis Korn-
wolf and Stephen Simanek laid off, demoted and then
terminated Plaintiffs during the definite terms of employ-
ment.

37. The lay off, demotion and termination are arbi-
trary and capricious, being without a rational basis;

38. There are no adequate state law remedies to
provide relief against the arbitrary lay off, demotion and
termination;

39. The arbitrary lay off, demotion and termination
were done with deliberate indifference to Plaintiffs’ rights
and violate 42 U.S.C. §1983 and substantive due process
as set forth in the 14th Amendment to the United States
Constitution.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs request the following relief:

A. Preliminary and permanent injunctions reinstat-
ing Plaintiffs as bailiffs employed by Racine County
under the same terms of employment as existed prior to
September, 1992.

B. Lost wages and lost pension benefits.

C. $70,000.00 in compensatory damages.

ee tee oe

App. 35

D. $1,000,000.00 in punitive damages from Dennis
Kornwolf.

E. Attorneys fees and costs.
F. Such other relief as is just.
PLAINTIFFS DEMAND TRIAL BY JURY.

DATED this 7 day of October, 1994.

ADELMAN, ADELMAN &
MURRAY, S.C.

By: /s/ Elizabeth Adelman
Elizabeth Adelman
State Bar No. 1014258

P. O. Address:

308 East Juneau Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53202
414-225-2920

App. 36

BAILIFFS FOR STATE OF WISCONSIN
Located in Racine County

Bailiffs are appointed by the circuit Court Judges of
Racine County. They are supervised by the judges and the
Clerk of Courts Office. Their duties include the supervi-
sion of jurors and they provide general assistance to the
court and the public as is necessary. No bailiff may work
more than 540 hours in a calendar year, salary $5.50 per
hour. No benefits are attached to this position.

Persons applying must be able to work flexible hours,
which may include weekends, have good verbal skills,
have the ability to follow and give directions and have a
general knowledge of legal proceedings.

Interested applicants can apply at the Racine County
Personnel Department, 730 Wisconsin Avenue, Racine WI
63403. Your application will be forwarded to the Clerk of
Courts office: Persons applying at this time will be con-
sidered for bailiff positions through December 31, 1992.
The bailiff positions are judicial appointments and bailiffs
are not considered employees of either Racine County or
the State of Wisconsin. Stephen A. Simanek, Chief Judge.

Deadline for accepting applications:
August 21, 1992

SAECO FO MEK?

Ce ee a ee ee See Toe

App. 37

Representatives for Bailiffs
Shirley Dandeneau - 639-620
Joe Porcaro — 639-262

10/11/92

County Executive Dennis Kornwolff:

The Racine County Bailiffs are more than willing to pay
the state retirement cost. We would appreciate a meeting
at your earliest convenience to discuss this matter.

Sincerely,

Shirley Dandeneau
Joe Porcaro

Bonnie E. Fuller
Edward E. Bowmen
Eva J Christopherson
B.J. Wynhoff

Sally Guzek

John J. Greco

Helen L. Hess
Robert P. Bertermann
Jay Wildfong

App. 38

APPEAL TRIBUNAL DECISION

MILWAUKEE HEARING OFFICE

819 N. 6th Street, Room 382

Milwaukee, WI 53203

Telephone: (414) 227-4416

Fax: (414) 227-4264
State of Wisconsin
Department of Industry
Labor and Human Relations
Unemployment Compensation

Mailed to:

SHIRLEY DANDENEAU
4330 N GREEN BAY RD
RACINE, WI 53404-1214

Hearing No. 93602248ROG
In the matter of:

Employee: EDWARD E BOWMAN, ET AL.,
RESPONDENTS

L.O. & S.S. No. 18/390-24-8016
vs.
Employer: COUNTY OF RACINE, APPELLANT

UC Account No. 692049
APPEAL RIGHTS

THIS DECISION WILL BECOME FINAL UNLESS A
WRITTEN APPEAL IS FILED WITHIN 21 DAYS FROM
THE DATE OF THIS DECISION. (SEE DATE BELOW.)
THE APPEAL MAY BE FILED AT A LOCAL UC OFFICE,
A UC HEARING OFFICE, OR THE LABOR AND INDUS-
TRY REVIEW COMMISSION OFFICE. THE COMMIS-
SION WILL REVIEW THE EVIDENCE ALREADY

App. 39

PRESENTED AT THE HEARING TO MAKE A DECI-
SION. NO FURTHER HEARING WILL BE HELD
UNLESS THE COMMISSION SO ORDERS.

A CLAIMANT WHO IS STILL UNEMPLOYED
SHOULD CONTINUE TO FILE CLAIMS WHILE THE
REVIEW IS PENDING. IF THIS DECISION ALLOWS
BENEFIT PAYMENT, PAYMENTS WILL BE MADE AND
WILL CONTINUE UNLESS A LATER DECISION
DENIES BENEFIT PAYMENT. IF THIS DECISION OR
ANY HIGHER LEVEL DECISION REVERSES AND
RESULTS IN A DENIAL OF BENEFIT PAYMENT, THE
CLAIMANT WILL BE REQUIRED TO REPAY PREVI-
OUSLY PAID BENEFITS.

ANOTHER HEARING WILL NOT BE SCHEDULED
UNLESS A PARTY WHO FAILED TO APPEAR SHOWS
GOOD CAUSE FOR NOT APPEARING AT THE HEAR-
ING ORIGINALLY SCHEDULED. THE REQUEST FOR
RESCHEDULING MUST BE IN WRITING, MUST
FEXPLAIN THE REASON FOR FAILING TO APPEAR,
AND SHOULD BE MAILED IMMEDIATELY TO THE UC
HEARING OFFICE ABOVE. IF YOU DO NOT UNDER-
STAND THE PROCEDURE, CALL THE UC HEARING
OFFICE FOR ASSISTANCE.

DECISION: SEE ATTACHED DECISION WHICH
AFFIRMS THE INITiIAL DETERMINA-
TION.

Employee appeared by: IN PERSON

Pe ee

App. 40

Employer appeared by:
SUSAN C. JOHNSTON
ASST CORPORATION COUNSEL

Administrative Law Judge
KEVIN CARR

Dated and Mailed
APRIL 19, 1993

Appeal Must Be Received Or Postmarked by:
MAY 10, 1993

(SEE REVERSE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION)

Decision mailed to:
GROUP APPENDIX (ATTACHED)
COUNTY OF RACINE, % COUNTY CLERK,
RACINE CTY CTHSE, RACINE, WI 53403

THE DEPARTMENT'S INITIAL DETERMINATION
HELD: that in the case of each of the claimants the
services of the claimants were performed in employment
covered by Wisconsin unemployment compensation law,
that the claimants’ services were not excluded employ-
ment as appointed public officials, and allowed benefits
based on services for the employing unit, a governmental
subdivision.

Based on the applicable records and evidence in this
case, the appeal tribunal makes the following

FINDINGS OF FACT and CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The claimants performed services as bailiffs, or court
attendants as they had been renamed beginning in 1993.
Their primary function is to assist the court in jury trials
with the managing of the juries. The bailiffs were hired
by the clerk of courts. Their hiring was approved by the

App. 41

chief judge and was formalized by an appointment order.
The bailiffs work under the direct supervision of the clerk
of courts. When a bailiff is not immediately working with
the court or a jury, the clerk of courts would, on occasion,
assign clerical duties to the bailiffs.

The rate of pay for the bailiffs was set by county
board resolution. The bailiffs are given a set of rules that
were written by the clerk of courts and reviewed by the
chief judge. The bailiffs would wear a suit jacket pro-
vided by the county as a type of uniform. The bailiffs
were paid with a county payroll check from which taxes
were withheld. They received a W-2 Form at the end of
the year.

In September of 1992 the bailiffs were laid off by
directive of the county executive. The purpose of the
layoff was to prevent the bailiffs from working a certain
number of hours after which the bailiffs would be eligible
for state mandated benefits.

in questioning benefit eligibility the employer origi-
nally alleged that the bailiffs were excluded under
§ 108.02(15)(f)3 of the statutes, “As members of a legisla-
tive body or the judiciary of a state or political subdivi-
sion.” The initial determination rejected that argument.
On appeal the employer abandoned that allegation but
raised the allegation that the bailiffs performed their
services as independent contractors, or in the alternative,
as employes [sic] of the court and/or for the state instead
as employes [sic] of the county.

The arguments of the county-appellant are specious.
The county provided not a shred of evidence to demon-
strate that the services of the bailiffs were performed free

App. 42

from the direction and control of the county or in an
independently established trade, business or profession.
Moreover, the services of the bailiffs accrued directly to
the county and not to the state. The court served country
cases. The supervision was done by county employes
[sic]. The county board set compensation. The county
executive ordered the layoff. The county personnel
department provided the paychecks. The most outra-
geous factor is that court clerks, whose employment is
similarly at the pleasure of the circuit court judges, are
considered by the county to be county employes. The
only differences is that the court clerks are unionized and
the bailiffs are not. The issues raised by the employer
before and after the appeal demonstrated a shameful
compounding of the ill-use of the more vulnerable county
employes [sic].

The appeal tribunal therefore finds that as of week 38
of 1992, the claimants performed their services for the
employer in an employment covered by Wisconsin unem-
ployment compensation law, within the meaning of
§§ 108.02(12), 108.02(15) and 108.09(2) of the statutes.

DECISiON

The department's initial determination are affirmed.
Accordingly, benefits are allowed, if the claimants are
otherwise qualified.

APPEAL TRIBUNAL

By /s/ Kevin Carr
Kevin Carr
Administrative

Law Judge

App. 43

EXHIBIT D

STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT
RACINE COUNTY

ORDER APPOINTING CIVILIAN BAILIFFS

Pursuant to the Racine County Circuit Courts’ inher-
ent power to make rules and orders necessary to properly
perform their function and,

Pursuant to Section 8, Article VII of the Wisconsin
Constitution and,

Pursuant to Wisconsin Stats. Sec. 753.10,
The Racine County Circuit Court Judges order:

1. The following named individuals are appointed
as civilian bailiffs to attend upon the Racine County
Courts:

Robert Bertermann Jay Wildfong

Eva Christopherson Ed Bowman

Joan M. Flynn Shirley Dandeneau
John Greco Bonnie Fuller
Helen Hess Sally Guzek

Paul Rosenquist Joe Porcaro
Florence Stupar Bernard J. Wynhof{f

2. The authority of the above-named individuals is
limited to:

a) The administration of case flow,
b) Taking charge of juries, and

c) Any other duties specifically requested
by the presiding judge.

App. 44

3. The above-appointed bailiffs are specifically not
authorized to take any individual into custody; not
authorized to physically evict any individual from the
courts; and not authorized to guard criminal defendants.

4. The order is effective immediately this date,
December 19, 1991 and shall expire January 31, 1993.

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Dated:

Jan. 9, 1992

12-23-91

Jan. 7, 1992

12/26/91

Jan. 7, 1992

Jan. 9, 1992

9 JAN 92

21 JAN 92

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Gerald P. Ptacek
Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek
Branch I

/s/ Stephen A. Simanek
Honorable Stephen A. Simanek
Branch II

/s/ Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Honorable Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Branch IV

/s/ Dennis J. Barry
Honorable Dennis J. Barry
Branch V

/s/ Wayne J. Marik
Honorable Wayne J. Marik
Branch VI

/s/ Nancy E. Wheeler
Honorable Nancy E. Wheeler
Branch VII

/s/ Dennis J. Flynn
Honorable Dennis J. Flynn
Branch VIII

/s/ Allan B. Torhorst
Honorable Allan B. Torhorst
Branch IX

App. 45

EXHIBIT E

STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT
RACINE COUNTY

ORDER APPOINTING COURT ATTENDANTS

Pursuant to the Racine County Circuit Courts’ inher-
ent power to make rules and orders necessary to properly
perform their function and,

Pursuant to Section 8, Article VII of the Wisconsin
Constitution and,

Pursuant to Wisconsin Stats. Sec. 753.10,
The Racine County Circuit Court Judges order:

1. The “ollowing named individuals are appointed
as court attendants to attend upon the Racine County
Courts:

George Janosik Sharon Mullen Robert Bertermann

Maureen Eckert John Swan James Vernon
Bernice Christensen Donald Bostick Jay Wildfong

Eva Christopherson Ed Bowman Mickey Turkowski
John Greco Bonnie Fuller Judy Winsall

Joe Pocaro Bernard J. Wynhoff Greta Andersen
Janet Gergen Paul Rosenquist Sally Guzek

2. The authority of the above-named individuals is
limited to:

a) The administration of case flow,
b) Taking charge of juries, and

c) Any other duties specifically requested
by the presiding judge.

App. 46

3. The above-appointed court attendants are speci-
fically not authorized to take any individual into custody;
not authorized to physically evict any individual from the
courts; and not authorized to guard criminal defendants.

4. Court Attendants’ work shall be limited to 599
hours of work in any 12 month period.

5. This order expires on 12-31-93.
BY THE COURT:

Dated: 3/18/93 -/s/ Gerald P. Ptacek
Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek
Branch I

Dated: 3/18/93 /s/ Stephen A. Simanek
Honorable Stephen A. Simanek
Branch II

Dated: 3/18/93 /s/ Emily S. Mueller
Honorable Emily S. Mueller
Branch III

Dated: 3-29-93 /s/ Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Honorable Emmanuel J. Vuvunas
Branch IV

Dated:

MARCH 19, 1993 /s/ Dennis J. Barry
Honorable Dennis J. Barry
Branch V

Dated:
March 18, 1993 /s/ Wayne J. Marik
Honorable Wayne J. Marik
Branch VI

Dated: 3-19-93 /s/ Nancy E. Wheeler
Honorable Nancy E. Wheeler
Branch VII

App. 47

Dated:
18 MARCH 1993 /s/ Dennis J. Flynn

Honorable Dennis J. Flynn
Branch VII

Dated: 3-18-93 /s/ Allan B. Torhorst

Honorable Allan Pat Torhorst
Branch IX

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1309%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
