# Reply Brief — City of Chicago v. Evans

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1228%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 1006

## Text

Supreme Court, UG -
FILE Wg

ovis 2

CLERK

RS va eee - ls. 2 RO

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

CrTy OF CHICAGO,

. Petitioner,
SYLVIA EVANS,
Respondent.
CiTy OF CHICAGO,
Petitioner,

Vv.

BERTHA BALARK, et ai.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

SUSAN S. SHER
Corporation Counsel
of the City of Chicago
LAWRENCE ROSENTHAL
Deputy Corporation Counsel
BENNA RUTH SOLOMON *
Chief Assistant Corporation
Counsel
30 N. LaSalle Street
Room 800
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 744-7764
Attorneys for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

WILson - Evrae Prinrine Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.c. 20001

BEST AVAILABLE COP

\Q ey

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Doe v. Busbee, 684 F.2d 1875 (11th Cir. 1982).... 5
Evans v. City of Chicago, 689 F.2d 1286 (7th Cir.

PPAR ERE SSS. SSR SAPP PASE aI CE Ne 2,3
Evans v. City of Chicago, 873 F.2d 1007 (7th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 956 (1990)........... 2, 8, 6, 7

Evans v. City of Chicago, 10 F.3d 474 (7th Cir.
1993) (en banc), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 1831

2 | BRAS NEAR UT Tiere aa UE pret a 2, 3, 6,7
Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992) 0.000... 2
Harrington v. Vandalia-Butler Board of Educa-

tion, 585 F.2d 192 (6th Cir. 1978) 00-002... 5
Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983) —........... 7
Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755 (1987) ........000.0.0.... 2, 5,6
Nadeau v, Helgemoe, 581 F.2d 275 (1st Cir. 1978).. 6

Paimer v. City of Chicago, 806 F.2d 1316 (7th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049 (1987) ............. 5, 6
Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1 (1988) (per

curiam) spaniels coniahdpacigataeaiaiieiataas 2,5
Rufo v. Inmates of the Suffolk County Jail, 502

pba ER MU siecle Sahin dieiniphnrensensi 2-3
Smith v. University of North Carolina, 632 F.2d

eB Be) EM On eR 5

Stewart v. Donges, 379 F.2d 179 (10th Cir. 1992) .. 5
Texas State Teachers Association v. Garland Inde-

pendent School District, 489 U.S. 782 (1989)... 2, 5-6
Ward v. County of San Diego, 791 F.2d 1329 (9th

Ngee SD pennhate riper ch ciensenccbitcssdnsiarcsbiateinciec 5
STATUTE AND RULES:
43 UBC. § 19GB nissan. snes LiseifainipsceidioenLacaiisiiain 1
I i I Ie EID ictal tsa scipnistnocindaiinn nin sous 3
Pe ri See RIED icsenssiccicsstsrislisssinih ceithdensnaavenieancnnianesinac 6

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-167

CITY OF CHICAGO,

. Petitioner,
SYLVIA EVANS,
Respondent.
CITY OF CHICAGO,
Petitioner,

V.

BERTHA BALARK, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

ARGUMENT

Both respondents have ignored the one fact that dis-
tinguishes this case from any of the ones they cite in which
the courts have awarded attorney’s fees under Section
_ 1988. Here, the determination that respondents were
“prevailing parties” was made at a time when respondents
could point to no judgment of any kind constraining the
City’s practices in paying its tort judgments. Indeed, the
judgment on which they rely to obtain fees—the consent
decree—had been vacated because it was based on the

2

erroneous decision Evans I (Evans v. City of Chicago,
689 F.2d 1286 (7th Cir. 1982)). Now, although re-
spondents have been in litigation over the City’s payment
practices for nineteen years, they have absolutely nothing
to point to that survived the en banc decision in Evans
III (Evans v. City of Chicago, 10 F.3d 474 (7th Cir.
1993), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 1831 (1994))—no
declaratory relief, no injunction, no damages, no consent
decree. We are, in fact, under no legal compulsion at all
to pay our tort judgments in any different manner from
the way that we were paying them when this litigation
began. These respondents, in short, have failed miserably
to obtain “actual relief on the merits of [their] claim[s]”
that has “materially altered the legal relationship between
the parties by modifying the defendant’s behavior in a way
that directly benefits the plaintiff.” Farrar v. Hobby, 506
U.S. 103, 111-12 (1992). See Texas State Teachers Asso-
ciation v. Garland Independent School District, 489 U.S.
782, 792-93 (1989); Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1, 3-4
(1988) (per curiam); Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755,
760-61 (1987).

To avoid this inevitable conclusion, respondents make
no fewer than five attempts to show that they are prevail-
ing parties. First, the Balark plaintiffs assert that “the
consent decree here was not based on a mistake of law.”
Brief of the Balark Respondents in Opposition to Petition
for Writ of Certiorari 7 [hereafter “Balark Br.”]. This
argument appears to be based on some distinction between
mistakes of law and rulings that are perceived to be cor-
rect when they are entered and later are adjudged to be
incorrect—a distinction that escapes us. When Judge
Ripple, see Evans HI, 10 F.3d at 483 (concurring opin-
ion), and the court below in Evans IV, see Pet. App. Sa,
wrote that Evans II (Evans v. City of Chicago, 873 F.2d
1007 (7th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 US. 956
(1990)), had “changed the prevailing law to such a
degree as to make further enforcement of the consent
decree inappropriate under” Rufo v. Inmates of the

3

Suffolk County Jail, 502 U.S. 367 (1992), what they
meant was that Evans II had recognized that the equal
protection holding in Evans I was so completely incorrect
that it could not support the consent decree. Certainly
neither Judge Ripple nor the panel below could have
meant to suggest that between the 1982 decision in Evans
I and the 1989 decision in Evans II the governing law
for equal protection claims changed to a significant degree.
Indeed, both Evans I and Evans II applied the well-settled
rational basis test. See Evans I, 689 F.2d at 1299; Evans
IT, 873 F.2d at 1015. The only change is that Evans I got
it wrong and Evans I] got it right. Respondents cannot
plausibly argue that the consent decree was not “based
on a mistake of law.” The consent decree, after all, was
based on Evans I, see Evans Ill, 10 F.3d at 476-77
(plurality opinion), and Evans I was “clearly erroneous.”
Evans II, 873 F.2d at 1016.

Second, the Balark respondents point out that the judg-
ment entering the consent decree was a final judgment.
See Balark Br. 9. Evans makes this same general observa-
tion. See Brief of the Respondent, Sylvia Evans, in Op-
position to Petition for Writ of Certiorari 8. This, of
course, is true, but it does not explain why a final judg-
ment based on a mistake of law—in this case Evans ]—
and vacated because it never should have been entered
in the first place should be hardy enough to support a
fee award simply because it was once entered. Whatever
distinction might exist in other cases for final judgments
later set aside under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) and orders
set aside on direct review, surely it does not exist here,
where the reason the judgment was vacated was neither
a change in circumstances nor the accomplishment of the
purposes of the decree but simply that the court has seen
the error of its ways. Respondents seem to concede the
correctness of the cases we cite in which fees are denied
for an erroneous interlocutory ruling. The rule should be
no different for an error that has achieved finality through
no fault of the party aggrieved by that ruling.

4

Third, and along the same lines, the Balark respondents
note that simply because a consent decree is vacated “does
not mean that it was not valid while it existed.” Balark
Br. 9. We have no quarrel with this general proposition,
although it has nothing whatever to do with this case.
This is just more of respondents’ refusal to come to grips
with the fact that this consent decree was vacated pre-
cisely because it was based on an erroneous ruling and,
indeed, should never have been entered in the first place.
Even respondents do not argue that this consent decree
would have been entered but for the court’s error in
Evans I. In common sense terms, that is a consent decree
that was not valid while it existed, even though it was not
judicially pronounced invalid for several years.

Fourth, the Balark respondents assert that “[t]his law-
suit and its consent decree undisputably [sic] affected the
behavior of the City toward the respondents, affording
respondents significant relief, . . . and materially altered
the relationship of the parties.” Balark Br. 12 (citation
omitted). If this is meant to describe the period of time
during which the consent decree was in effect, of course
we quite agree. If it is meant to have any bearing on
respondents’ entitlement to fees after the consent decree
was vacated as based on a mistake of law, then it is
simply incorrect. The legal relationship between the City
and respondents is the precisely same now as before re-
spondents brought these lawsuits nineteen years ago—
except that we have spent inordinate time litigating claims
that have been judged worthless and are now res judicata
for respondents and any class member who might seek
similar relief in the future. Surely that type of alteration

in the relationship of the parties should not be rewarded
with fees.

Finally, the Balark respondents argue that our test
would make the availability of fees turn on a “fortuity.”
Balark Br. 12-13.’ But what respondents call a “fortuity”

1 The Balark respondents go so far as to argue that we seek a
“windfall.” Balark Br. 12. Even if this Court overturns the hold-

5

is actually the statutory touchstone of prevailing party
status. In interpreting that requirement, we do not think
it is too much to ask that the plaintiff be able to point to
some tangible result in the lawsuit at the time that the
district court awards attorney’s fees. As we explain in our
petition for certiorari, temporary victories are routinely
dismissed as insufficient to support a fee award. E.g.,
Stewart v. Donges, 979 F.2d 179, 182 (10th Cir. 1992);
Palmer v. City of Chicago, 806 F.2d 1316, 1321-23 (7th
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049 (1987); Doe
v. Busbee, 684 F.2d 1375, 1381 (11th Cir. 1982);
Smith v. University of North Carolina, 632 F.2d 316,
352-53 (4th Cir. 1980). Indeed, even success not later
branded as error is insufficient if it is illusory. See
Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. at 3-4; Hewitt v. Helms,
482 U.S. at 760; Ward v. County of San Diego, 791 F.2d
1329, 1333-34 (9th Cir. 1986); Harrington v. Vandalia-
Butler Board of Education, 585 F.2d 192, 198 (6th Cir.
1978). Surely if the plaintiff’s “success” is founded, as it
was in this case, on a mistake of law, and the success
achieved longevity measured only by the length of time
that it took the court to recognize and correct its error,
the plaintiff has not prevailed. The district court was not
obliged to shut its eyes to the fact that it had vacated the
decree, and to award fees simply because for a few years
the consent decree had life and, therefore, at some point
in the past plaintiffs had been “prevailing parties.” *

ing below that respondents are prevailing parties, we will not think
ourselves lucky to have been embroiled in this litigation. This case
has brought us no sudden and unexpected good fortune. To the
contrary, it has taken a long time and considerable energy to extract
ourselves from a case that should have been over long ago.

2 Texas State Teachers is not to the contrary. There the Court
explained its reasons for rejecting the central issue test applied by
the Fifth Circuit, including that it failed to account for success on
an issue pendente lite. The Court’s statement that “Congress can-
not have meant ‘prevailing party’ status to depend entirely on the
timing of a request for fees,” 489 U.S. at 791, was therefore in-
tended to accommodate those cases in which the plaintiff “ha[d]
succeeded on any significant claim affording it some of the relief

6

The Balark respondents offer two grounds in support
of their judgment that do not relate to the question de-
cided below, but these are insufficient to insulate the
judgment from review. First, they argue that attorney’s
fees can be awarded in this case on the theory that they
were the “catalyst” of what they call a permanent change
in the City’s payment practices. Tellingly they cite no case
from this Court for that proposition—this Court has never
embraced the notion of a “catalyst” where a lawsuit was
said to have caused a change in the defendant’s policies.
See Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 763. In any event, because this
theory was never reached by the court below, and re-
spondents cite only cases from that court, this Court
Should, at a minimum, vacate the judgment below and
remand the case to the court of appeals for its considera-
tion in the first instance of respondents’ alternative theory.*

Finally, the Balark respondents offer the now legally
irrelevant notion that the consent decree should not have
been vacated in Evans III. Respondents did not make
this argument to the court below, and they did not ask
that court to depart from the law of the case as estab-
lished in Evans II and Evans Ill. The issue is now waived.
Nor may respondents seek reinstatement of the decree
without a cross-petition, which they did not file. See this
Court’s Rule 14.1(a).

sought,” ibid., other than in the final judgment. Here, respondents
have not succeeded on any of their claims.

% Respondents presented their catalyst theory to the court of ap-
peals, which did not reach the question. Pet. App. 7a. Yet it is
unlikely that the court below reached out to decide the harder
question in the case and bypassed a theory under which respondents
would easily prevail. In fact, as we explain in our petition, respond-
ents would not be catalysts under the test used by the Seventh
Circuit. See Palmer v. City of Chicago, 806 F.2d at 1822. Indeed,
Palmer makes clear that in cases that have concluded on the merits,
a plaintiff who has not altered the legal relationship is not a
catalyst either. The catalyst theory, to the extent that it means
something other than a change in the legal relationship of the
parties, is best reserved for those cases in which the plaintiff pre-
vails before judgment on the merits. See, e.g., Nadeau v. Helge-
moe, 581 F.2d 275, 281 (1st Cir. 1978).

T

In the final analysis, as Evans I. and III make clear,
the consent decree here protected no federal rights and
was not mecessary to’ restrain: any unconstitutional con-
duct. Thus, the congressional policy of compensating pre-
vailing parties. in civil rights. cases is surely not at play
when a plaintiff in fact vindicates no federal right. Con-
versely, there is surely serious violence to our system of
federalism when local taxpayers must foot the bill for
litigation that accomplished. nothing but to restrain their
elected officials for years because of the erroneous deci-
sion of a federal court. Ailthough the Balark respondents
question whether the fee award will really be $1 million,
see Balark Br. 14, they do not dispute that this is the
amount that they and Evans have asked the district court
to award.* And. although they think that this affront,
whether it be $300,000 or $1 million, or something in
between, is. not important enough to warrant review, it
is surely grounds. for summary reversal—relief that we
explicitly suggested and that neither brief in opposition
even discusses.

* The district court’s determination on the fee petitions would be
subject to review only for abuse of discretion. See Hensley v.
Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 486-87 & n.12 (1983).

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
The Court may wish to consider summary reversal.

Respectfully submitted,

SUSAN S. SHER
Corporation Counsel
of the City of Chicago
LAWRENCE ROSENTHAL
Deputy Corporation Counsel
BENNA RUTH SOLOMON *
Chief Assistant Corporation
Counsel
30 N. LaSalle Street
Room 800
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(812) 744-7764

Attorneys for Petitioner
November 12, 1996 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1228%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
