# Opposition Brief — American Broadcasting Cos. v. BankAtlantic Financial Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1188%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 867

## Text

Paes’ re ED
uk! (| wet We
mepreetinis EK

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANI2ZS, INC., a New York
corporation, and WILLIAM H. WILLSOon, an individual,
. Petitioners,
BANKATLANTIC FINANCIAL CORPORATION, a Florida cor-
poration, ALAN LEVAN, an individual, JoHN D. and
DEBRA A. PURCELL, as Class Representatives, WILLIAM
A. and-Exsz M. Situ, as Class Representatives, and
TimMoTHY J. CHELLING, as Class Representative,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
OF BANKATLANTIC FINANCIAL CORPORATION
AND ALAN LEVAN

Of Counsel: EUGENE E. STEARNS
BRADFORD SWING STEARNS WEAVER MILLER
ALAN H. FEIN WEISSLER ALHADEFF &
STEARNS WEAVER MILLER SITTERSON, P.A.
WEISSLER ALHADEFF & Suite 2200, Museum Tower
SITTERSON, P.A. 150 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida Miami, FL 33130
(305) 789-3200
Counsel of Record for
BankAtlantic Financial
Corporation and
Alan B. Levan

WILSON - Epgs PRINTING Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioners have framed their questions based upon an
erroneous version of the facts. The appropriate question
is:

May a non-party whose only interest in a case is a
potential collateral estoppel effect intervene as of
right in that case in an attempt to prevent a dis-
trict court from setting aside its own prior interlocu-
tory order, an action necessary to effectuate a settle-
ment agreement between the parties reached after a
jury verdict but prior to entry of a final, appealable
judgment?

(i)

ii

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The Respondent BankAtlantic Financial Corporation is
now known as BFC Financial Corporation, which is the
largest shareholder in BankAtlantic Bancorp, Inc., which
in turn wholly owns BankAtlantic, a Federal Savings
Bank.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED 2oo..o.o...--cccccccccoccccocs-.-.--..... i
RULE, 20.6 STATICMIENT i. ccccccciccsocceccceccscosesecscocoene.ne. i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIBS 2. iv
I I 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..................................... 3
A. The Underlying Purcell Class Action... 3
B. The Trial Judge Enters An Interlocutory Order.. 5
C. The Trial Court Encourages Settlement...._. 5
D. BFC Files A Defamation Action Against ABC.. 7

E. ABC Seeks Intervention To Block The Settle-
ag a eset Gent NI SAK Lic ast A ea 8

F, The Hearing To Approve Class Settlement...

G. The Court Finds The Settlement Fair, Reason-
eee ee Se 5 eS oe Se 10

H. The Magistrate’s Report In Levan Is Referred
GNP NEE T= O te Odes oe ee 12

I. The Magistrate’s Second Report And Recommen-
nN Oe OE eee) i rs 13

J. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision In This Case.... 14

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT... 16
A. U.S. Bancorp Does Not Apply To This Case. 16

B. ABC Had No Basis To Intervene In The Purcell
eter staiie nalts ii i ls ai a aaa 19
Se SRS aes Se 24

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Athens Lumber Co., Inc. v. Federal Elections Com-
mission, 690 F.2d 1864 (11th Cir. 1982) -........... 21
Cascade Natural Gas Corp. v. El Paso Natural Gas
Oe Bit RB Fi: RE ie nee 21
Chiles v. Thornburgh, 865 F.2d 1197 (11th Cir.
ROD acviecsseninrerccictptledeaidinsiendenmieialiidaccaititecaspiasis 15
Clarendon Ltd. v. Nu-West Industries, Inc., 936
A 8 i fs 2. | eae 17-18
County of Fresno v. Andrus, 622 F.2d 436 (9th
Cir. 1980) 21-22

Donaldson v. United States, 400 U.S. 517 (1971).. 21, 22
In re Memorial Hospital, 862 F.2d 1299 (7th Cir.

1988) 18
In re United States, 927 F.2d 626 (D.C. Cir.

1991) . 18
Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisa v. U.S.

Philips Corp., 114 S.Ct. 425 (1998) -................. 17, 19-20
Mateo v. M/S Kiso, 805 F.Supp. 761 (N.D. Cal.

1008) Ne Ca See 18
Nuesse v. Camp, 385 F.2d 694 (D.C. Cir. 1967) ...... 22
Smuck v. Hobson, 408 F.2d 175 (D.C. Cir. 1969) .... 21
U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall Part-

nership, 115 S. Ct. 886 (1994) ..............-........-2.....4 passim
United States v. Jerry, 487 F.2d 600 (8d Cir.

1973) = ‘3 18
Virginia Bankshares v. Sandberg, 111 S.Ct. 2749

RII scciieichaeeninodcietas mm adie 10

Rules
Fed.R.Civ.P.
| TEIN LACES ENT TE LE OTE MeO Te ate ee eT Fe 8 22
Rule 60(b), Advisory Committee Notes, 1946
BID stack cacicttsaciteheinidguncicteitliiuscuditnuldaannete 18
Other
Judicial Code

Ee AN EO ces cniscinnsdecaniiniibbinennnictninicts ie 17

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-124

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC., a New York
corporation, and WILLIAM H. WILLSon, an individual,
; Petitioners,
BANKATLANTIC FINANCIAL CORPORATION, a Florida cor-
poration, ALAN LEVAN, an individual, JoHN D. and
DEBRA A. PURCELL, as Class Representatives, WILLIAM
A. and Ese M. Smitu, as Class Representatives, and
TIMOTHY J. CHELLING, as Class Representative,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
OF BANKATLANTIC FINANCIAL CORPORATION
AND ALAN LEVAN

Respondents, BankAtlantic Financial Corporation
(“BFC”) and Alan Levan (“Levan”) request that the
petition for writ of certiorari be denied. The facts are not
as ABC states them. U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v. Bon-
ner Mall Partnership, 115 S. Ct. 386 (1994) has nothing
to do with this case. Moreover, ABC had no basis,
whether as a matter of right or permissively, to intervene
in the Purcell class action litigation for the purpose of
preventing a settlement between the parties to that litiga-
tion.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

ABC has not included in its appendix the two Reports
and Recommendations of the Magistrate Judge in the
Levan libel case that are referenced in ABC’s petition to
this Court. They are appended to this brief.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. The Underlying Purcell Class Action

The plaintiffs in the underlying class action (the
“Purcell” class action) were investors in three real estate
limited partnerships. R1-1. Each of the Purcell investors
had voted against a proposed exchange transaction in
which the assets of the three partnerships were exchanged
for corporate debentures issued by BFC, a parent of
BankAtlantic, a Federal savings bank. R1-1. As a result
of the exchange transaction, BFC ended up with the as-
sets of the partnerships, including real estate, mortgages
and cash, but it also ended up with the liabilities of the
partnerships, including mortgage debt, payables and en-
vironmental liabilities. R10-343-1106-1112. The ex-
change transaction was consummated, despite the negative
votes of the Purcell plaintiffs, because a majority of the
limited partners in each partnership voted in favor of it.

In connection with the proposed exchange, BFC had
prepared and circulated, after review by the Securities and
Exchange Commission, a detailed offering circular that
was required to fully disclose all of the material facts that
a reasonable investor would want to know about the trans-
action. R1-1-Ex. B. The prospectus, in fact, disclosed in
considerable detail the terms and conditions of the ex-
change, the risks of the exchange, the possible adverse
events that could have occurred, and an opinion of fair-
ness by an investment banking firm. R1-1-Ex. B.

The prospectus also included a statement that BFC and
its principals believed the transaction to be fair, although
BFC qualified that opinion of fairness in a number of

3

particulars. Among other things, BFC noted that its opin-
ion of fairness should be considered in light of its fully
disclosed conflicts of interest and economic interest in the
transaction. R1-1-Ex. B. at 5, 13, 35, 47 and 49. More-
over, BFC stated that in making its determination of fair-
ness, it did not consider that a market would ever develop
for the BFC debentures. R1-1-Ex. B. at 47.

BFC’s fairness statement became the crux of the Purcell
litigation. Initially, the plaintiffs had brought a series of
contract, common-law, and securities claims allegedly aris-
ing out of the exchange. R-1-1. By the time the case
went to the jury, however, only one discrete issue sur-
vived: Did BFC and Levan violate the disclosure require-
ments of federal securities laws by opining in the offering
circular that the transaction was fair when in fact they
believed otherwise?

The essential argument advanced by the plaintiffs as
to the alleged unfairness of the transaction was that the
value of the debentures given in the exchange was neither
the expressly stated face amount of the notes nor some
lesser amount reduced to present value, but, instead, was
the market value for the BFC debentures in a market that
never developed. R6-339-263-265; R9-342-885. Plaintiffs
argued to the jury that since the debentures had little or
no “market value.” as they described it, the exchange
could not possibly have been “fair” and BFC must have
known that “fact” even before stating otherwise in the
offering circular. Plaintiffs advanced this theory despite
full and complete disclosure throughout the offering cir-
cular of the possibility that no market would develop for
the debentures, a disclosure that is conspicuously and re-
peatedly stressed in the first three pages of the circular.
R1-1-Ex. B. In this manner, what had been pleaded as a
“disclosure” case under the securities laws became instead
a case in which the jury was simply allowed to determine
if, with the benefit of hindsight, they thought the trans-
action was fair.

4

The jury found that BFC and Levan falsely stated that
they believed the transaction to be fair and found that the
plaintiffs were damaged by that false opinion. They re-
turned a verdict in favor of the class of plaintiffs, awarding
them a total of $8 million in damages (based on a jury
instruction which stated that such a verdict would have
the effect of cancelling the outstanding debt owed by BFC
to these same plaintiffs, a debt in the face amount of $16.5
million plus interest in excess of 10%). R2-292.

Put most charitably, plaintiffs’ case to the jury was
deficient of relevant evidence. For example, although no
one could argue that essential elements of a securities vio-
lation are materially false or omissive statements that were
relied upon to cause a loss, not one single witness testified
that a single voter who approved the transaction relied
upon Mr. Levan’s opinion of fairness in voting for the
transaction or thought it was material. No evidence was
offered that any investor, much less enough investors to
have swayed the vote, relied upon the heavily qualified
opinion of fairness of BFC and Levan or thought it was
material. Indeed, to the extent there was any evidence
about this element of a securities claim, the plaintiffs testi-
fied that they would never have relied upon or considered
Levan’s opinion of fairness to be material because Mr.
Levan admitted in the disclosures that he had conflicts
of interest, because he said he was not objective, and
because he said, that in giving his opinion, he was not
considering the existence of any market for the debentures.
R9-342-899. Each of the testifying plaintiffs expressly
stated that they formed their opinion to vote against the
proposed exchange by reading the plain language in the
prospectus disclosing the risks and conflicts. R9-342-722,
899; R6-339-206, 218; R12-345-1460.

In addition, the plaintiffs offered no evidence that Alan
Levan and BFC did not believe the transaction to be fair.
Instead, they simply offered evidence that they thought
the deal was unfair because it offered long-term debentures
in exchange for their limited partnership interest in real

5

estate. The jury was no doubt swayed by the repeated
‘esiemeny Vi severdi dideriy investors that at their age,
they did not like the long-term aspect of the debentures,
including the comment of one witness that “I don’t even
buy green bananas any more.” R3-447-2-4.

Not only was the jury verdict unusual given the ab-
sence of a proper evidentiary foundation, its practical
effect was also unique. Although the reputations of BFC
and Mr. Levan were no doubt sullied by an adverse ver-
dict in this securities case, the practical result of the case
as a whole—finding liability for $8 million while extin-
guishing liability in the face amount of $16.5 million
plus interest running at well over 10%—was of substan-
tial economic benefit to BFC. R2-345-1555.

B. The Trial Judge Enters An Interlocutory Order

After the jury verdict, but before resolution of the post-
trial motions and several other pending issues, the court
entered an order based upon the verdict, which order was
erroneously entitled “Final Judgment.” R2-314. BFC
believed that the order was not in fact a final judgment
because of the other substantial issues that were still left
to be resolved by the parties and the court. Among the
other matters that had not yet been ruled upon by the
trial judge, there remained complex issues on how to
give effect to the jury instruction that a verdict for dam-
ages in favor of the plaintiff required a return of the out-
standing debentures. R2-292. Given the title of the inter-
locutory order, however, BFC felt compelled, in an abun-
dance of caution to appeal the order. R2-369. On Feb-
ruary 11, 1994, the Eleventh Circuit confirmed BFC’s
belief by formally determining that the order in fact
lacked the requisite finality, and it dismissed the appeal.
R2-419.

C. The Trial Court Encourages Settlement

Throughout the trial and post-trial hearings, the pre-
siding judge pointedly remarked to counsel for the parties

6

about the lack of evidence supporting the verdict. The
court observed that the jury’s verdict “did not comply
with any of the evidence” and did not “rest on solid judi-
cial concepts.” R14-379-13, 31. The court also re-
marked: “If I were a trier of fact I wouldn’t have found
this way” and “I wouldn’t be surprised at all if this case
got turned around.” * R15-409-31, 32.

The court’s comments regarding the lack of support for
the verdict, coupled with the prospect of more litigation
in the district court (and likely appeals), did in fact
prompt the parties to structure a settlement. Settlement
was also facilitated by very unusual circumstances: The
verdict of $8 million was actually millions of dollars less
than the amount which BFC consistently maintained was
owed to the class. R2-345-1555. Indeed, the settlement
provided for the elimination of corporate debt reflected
in the debentures of $16.5 million, earning interest at well
above market. And, as the district court observed, the
verdict was based upon the jury’s erroneous conclusion
that BFC violated the securities laws. R14-379-13, 31;
R3-447-3, 4.

The ground for a settlement was thus established. BFC
was not opposed to paying the $8 million—indeed, it
recognized its obligation to pay much more—but BFC
and Levan simply could not live with the erroneous ver-

1 Having made these telling observations, why did the trial court
deny post-trial motions? The court addressed this issue succinctly:
There are certainly enough legal issues in this case, and I
have already denied the post-trial motions for remittitur and
judgment NOV. My experience with the Eleventh Circuit is
that they don’t like trial judges tampering with jury verdicts.
It’s all right for them to do it, but they don’t want us to do it,
so whether they do it or not, that’s—we will find out, but they
certainly have got enough legal issues to consider and I
wouldn’t be surprised if they did something with it, but every
time I do something they say you are just disagreeing with
the jury.
R14-379-4 (emphasis added).

Sorat! Hee 0

omic WI

7

dict, particularly because their business is in the highly
regulated area of banking. The class wanted to settle
because it knew that the verdict was subject to reversal
on appeal, having been expressly told by the presiding
judge that the judgment stood on very shaky legal
grounds. In sum, the class wanted to settle for the
amount of the verdict, and BFC was willing to settle for
that amount and forego its right to an appeal if the er-
roneous jury verdict and interlocutory order were vacated.

D. BFC Files A Defamation Action Against ABC

In 1991, representatives from ABC’s news magazine
“20/20,” including William H. Willson, a petitioner here,
began to pursue a story about “real-estate roll-ups.”
BFCApp. at la. On November 29, 1991, prior to the
trial in Purcell, the story, entitled “Too Good to Be True,”
was broadcast. BFCApp. at 2a. The story discussed so-
called “roll-ups” in which the real estate holdings of part-
nerships are exchanged for some other investment.
BFCApp. at 2a. BFC’s exchange transaction was deemed
by ABC to be a “roll-up,” and it was the purported focus
of the story. BFCApp. at 2a-3a. In fact, the story was a
very nasty and personal character assassination of Mr.
Levan.

On February 7, 1992, BFC and Levan filed a com-
plaint because of ABC’s broadcast (“the Levan action’).
BFCApp. at 5a. In February 1993, ABC moved for sum-
mary judgment, contending that the interlocutory order
entered in Purcell precluded BFC from bringing its defa-
mation action. BFCApp. at 8a. The Magistrate in Levan
filed his first Report and Recommendation on July 22,
1993, recommending that ABC’s motion for summary
judgment be granted on estoppel grounds because of the
so-called “final judgment” in the Purcell class action.
BFCApp. at 18a.

In the text of his report, however, the Magistrate ob-
served, with regard to the 20/20 broadcast, that “many

8

of the individual statements in the story were misleading,
if not completely false,” and then he listed “some of the
more egregious examples.” BFCApp. at 16a-17a. In that
context, the Magistrate noted that ABC “took license with
the facts”; that ABC used “tactics [which] allowed [them]
to use Levan’s own words to produce false or misleading
impressions”; and that ABC utilized “reprehensible” and
“crafty” editing techniques to convey false images.
BFCApp. at 16a-17a. Ultimately, the Magistrate con-
cluded that ABC’s practices were “shamefully irresponsi-
ble,” and that ABC “cared more about telling a good
story than an accurate one.” * BFCApp. at 17a.

E. ABC Seeks Intervention To Block The Settlement

By this point, the parties in the Purcell case had de-
cided to settle. BFCApp. at 21a. So, more than five
years after the Purcell action was commenced, and after
the parties had reached settlement of the underlying litiga-
tion, ABC filed a motion for intervention to prevent the
parties from consummating the settlement. R2-419. Sig-
nificantly, ABC failed to request permission to file an
amicus curiae brief to raise any public interest issues.

In its motion for intervention, ABC contended that al-
though it was not a real party in interest in the transac-
tion that was the subject matter of this case—the ex-
change transaction—it should nevertheless be allowed to
intervene because it wanted to preserve fox itself the in-
terlocutory order for its own use in the Levan action.
R2-419-6. In its memorandum, ABC briefed both the
issues of intervention as of right and of permissive in-

2On August 4, 19938, ABC filed objections to the Magistrate’s
Report and Recommendation, specifically asking the court to strike
the Magistrate’s blistering critique of its behavior. In fact, the
Magistrate had been careful to use as examples of ABC’s misbe-
havior facts which were not arguably at issue. On August 31, 1994,
the Levan Court declined to grant ABC’s objections. Order on
Defendants’ Objections to the Magistrate’s July 22, 1992, Report
And Recommendation.

9

tervention. R2-419-20. The district court, however,
recognizing that ABC has no legal right at stake in this
class action, rejected ABC’s novel proposition and denied
its motion to intervene by orders dated June 30, 1994,
and July 15, 1994. R3-423; R3-429. ABC appealed the
latter order on August 3, 1994. R3-441.

F. The Hearing To Approve Class Settlement

The parties in the Purcell action drafted a proposed
settlement in June of 1994. R3-443. Then, on September
12, 1994, the district court held a settlement conference
so that any party could voice objection to the terms of the
proposed settlement. R16-452; R3-447.

ABC’s representative attended the conference, but artic-
ulated no objections when queried by the court. Indeed,
the district court began the hearing by stating: “Have
there been objections or anyone want to be heard on this
matter?” No one responded. R16-452-2. When the
Court later noted its surprise that no one from ABC was
present at the hearing, BFC’s counsel pointed out that an
attorney for ABC was indeed present. When invited to
speak, ABC’s counsel noted that “I don’t believe I have
standing to address this issue right now.” He stated that
“quite frankly, I was not prepared to address the Court
on this topic today.” R16-452-11.

After this exchange, the court inquired what value (be
it evidentiary or estoppel) the vacated “judgment” would
be to ABC. The parties explained in no uncertain terms
that the vacated order would have no value to ABC, and
that if it did have any such value to ABC, then BFC
would prefer to proceed to appeal. R16-452-5-7.

G. The Court Finds The Settlement Fair, Reasonable And
Adequate

Thus, on September 12, 1994, the district court, which
had presided over this class action for more than five
years, entered its Final Judgment Approving Settlement

10

And Order of Dismissal (“Final Judgment”). R16; R3-
447. This was the first true “final judgment” entered in
the Purcell action. The Final Judgment, which approved
the settlement and vacated the earlier interlocutory order
that had been erroneously denominated as a final judg-
ment, includes the following findings of the court:

1. As previously observed by this Court, in the trial
of this cause, the court entertained serious doubt as
to the merit of the case brought by plaintiffs. The
court found during the pre-trial and trial that the
disclosure document distributed to the former limited
partners of the three partnerships fully and ade-
quately disclosed the terms of the proposed trans-
action and the risks of the proposed transaction. The
aspects of the proposed transaction that plaintiffs con-
tended at trial to be unfair, were fully and adequately
disclosed to the plaintiffs in the disclosure docu-
ments. Indeed, these plaintiffs, who each voted
against the transaction, did so in large measure
because what they read about the transaction in the
prospectus persuaded them that it was not in their
best interest.

2. The claim asserted under the principles of Vir-
ginia Bankshares v. Sandberg, 111 S.Ct. 2749
(1991) that, notwithstanding the adequacy of dis-
closure, defendants’ stated opinion of fairness while
allegedly believing otherwise, was a troublesome one
for the court because of the adequacy of risk and
confict disclosure, because the evidence that anyone
relied upon that opinion was scanty at best, and be-
cause the evidence that BankAtlantic Financial Cor-
poration and Alan B. Levan believed the transaction
to be unfair was weak, particularly since Bank-
Atlantic Financial Corporation agreed to pay more
for the former partnership assets than those assets
turned out to be worth, albeit over a lengthy time
period.

3. The court was also concerned that a jury might
make a decision in this case not on legal principles

11

but on their own judgment of whether they thought
the proposal was fair, regardless of the merit of the
claim. That concern was heightened by the fact that
their decision could easily have been influenced by
the progression of elderly claimants who did not want
twenty year debentures regardless of the fairness of
the proposed transaction (“I don’t even buy green
bananas any more”) or by the extensive adverse pre-
trial publicity. In fact, as this court has observed on
several occasions earlier, the evidence offered in sup-
port of the verdict did not persuade the court and,
had the case been tried, non-jury, would have resulted
in a judgment in favor of the defendants.

5. The court previously observed and continues to
believe that an appeal of the judgment in this case is
hardly frivolous. The court has serious reservations
about the award and has serious reservations about
the legal rulings upon which it is based. In denying
directed verdict and motions to set aside the verdict,
the court was hardly convinced that the result rested
on a solid legal or factual base, but was persuaded to
allow the verdict to stand believing that the issues
were well formed for appellate review.

6. The terms of the settlement of this case are con-
ditioned upon setting aside the verdict of the jury
and the final judgment in this cause. This court has
no reservation whatsoever in doing so.

R3-447-2-4.
Based on these findings, the court ruled as follows:

4. Having balanced the competing values of finality
versus the right to relitigate an unreviewed dispute
in light of the circumstances of this action as set out
more fully in the Settlement Agreement, the De-
cember 18, 1992 judgment, December 17, 1992
verdict, and all findings and conclusions embodied
therein, are hereby set aside, vacated, dissolved, and
nullified and shall have absolutely no force or effect,
including, but not limited to, any res judicata, col-

12

lateral estoppel, or other preclusive effect whatsoever,
for use against defendants, its successors or assigns,
by plaintiffs or any third parties.

R3-447-6-7.

The district court, very much aware of the weak under-
pinnings of the jury’s verdict, had “no reservation what-
soever” about vacatur, or holding that it “shall have abso-
lutely no force or effect, including, but not limited to any
res judicata, collateral estoppel, or other preclusive effect
whatsoever.” R3-447-4, 7. While the Final Judgment
was prepared by Levan’s counsel and approved by Pur-
cell’s counsel, a fact which ABC argues diminishes its
significance, in fact, the statements of the trial court
criticizing the jury deliberations and the evidence came
directly from comments made by the trial court during the
trial and thereafter on the record.

Although the trial court had previously denied ABC’s
motion for intervention, ABC nonetheless filed an appeal
of this Final Judgment as well. R3-453. By contrast, no
party to the Purcell action appealed the Final Judgment.

H. The Magistrate’s Report In Levan Is Referred Back

In an order dated June 6, 1994, the Levan court recog-
nized that the settlement and vacatur of the interlocutory
order in Purcell would impact whatever collateral estoppel
effect the order might have had, thus eliminating the sole
basis for the Magistrate’s recommendation for summary
judgment. R3-427-Ex. I. In its order, therefore, the
Levan court rejected the collateral estoppel portion of the
Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation relating to
ABC’s motion for summary judgment and referred the
matter back to the Magistrate for further consideration.
R3-427-Ex. I.

Upon reconsideration by the Magistrate of ABC’s mo-
tion for summary judgment, ABC claimed, as it does here,
that the Purcell record established that the Final Judg-

13

ment and vacatur was nothing more than a “buy-off” of
the verdict by BFC, and therefore violated the general
principles of U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall
Partnership, 115 S. Ct. 386 (1994). BFCApp. at 24a.

I. The Magistrate’s Second Report And Recommendation In
Levan

After a thorough review of the record, the Magistrate
in Levan filed his second Report and Recommendation
on April 17, 1995, which recommended that ABC’s mo-
tion for summary judgment be denied. BFCApp. at 32a.
The Magistrate specifically rejected ABC’s “buyout” argu-
ment, and held that, even if he had the equitable power
to review the district court’s decision to vacate the inter-
locutory order in Purcell, he would find that the “vacatur
was proper even under the reasoning set forth in U.S.
Bancorp.” BFCApp. at 28a.

Specifically, the Magistrate held that:

the record in Purcell indicates that the vacatur was
based on more than a wealthy litigant’s buy out of
an unfavorable judgment. Rather, the Purcell final
judgment included specific findings in which the [trial
court] expressed its belief that the judgment had
weak underpinnings, was likely to be overturned on
appeal, and noted the possibility of jury bias. These
findings were consistent with the court’s commentary
made throughout the trial.

BFCApp. at 28a (emphasis added).

Based upon his own review of the Purcell record. the
Magistrate further stated that “the record here shows that
the Purcell consent decree received careful scrutiny.”
BFCApp. at 28a n.2. He added: “[T]he vacated judg-
ment in Purcell is insufficient to preclude the litigation of
any of the issues in the instant case. To hold otherwise
would prevent a trial on the merits of this action based
upon a judgment in a separate action which neither the

14

parties to the prior litigation, nor the trial judge, believes
is valid.” BFCApp. at 28a-29a.

The Magistrate concluded his report with the following
observation:

Finally, the undersigned believes that the public
interest dictates that the merits of Levan be decided
by a jury at trial. The First Amendment guarantees
the press a right to engage in rasping and controver-
sial discussions on all topics of public interest. How-
ever, it does not guarantee a defense against libel.
So far, the public has only heard one side of the
story, that is, the “20/20” broadcast. Certainly, pub-
lic interest dictates that both the content of the broad-
cast and its production deserve scrutiny on the merits.
In such cases summary judgment is not appropriate.

BFCApp. at 32a.

J. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision In This Case

Not surprisingly, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the Pur-
cell court’s denial of ABC’s attempt to scuttle the settle-
ment in the underlying class action case. App. 12a. Re-
lying upon well-established precedent, considering the very
limited interest ABC had in the class action case, and
recognizing the absence of any direct authority to sup-
port ABC’s “unprecedented” claim for intervention, the
Eleventh Circuit held “that ABC lacks sufficient interest
in the class action to permit intervention as of right, and
that the district court did not abuse its discretion in deny-
ing ABC’s motion for permissive intervention.” App. 2a.

In so holding, the Eleventh Circuit did not reject U.S.
Bancorp. App. 6a. Instead, the court expressly stated
that it did not reach ABC’s arguments premised upon that
decision because “we are persuaded that the district court
properly denied ABC’s motion to intervene,” which sought
intervention both as of right and permissively. App. 6a.
The court explained that upon a determination the district

15

court’s disposition of the motions to intervene was correct,
its jurisdiction evaporated, citing Chiles v. Thornburgh,
865 F.2d 1197, 1212 (11th Cir. 1989). App. 6a.

The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s deci-
sions on intervention for a number of reasons. Among
other points, the court noted ABC’s own admission that
it was not a real party in interest to the exchange trans-
actions that were the basis of the Purcell class action.
App. 8a. Moreover, the court recognized that “ABC’s
interest in the collateral estoppel effect of the jury’s ver-
dict in this case is too collateral, indirect, and insubstantial
to support intervention as of right.” App. 9a. The court
also recognized that ABC’s argument in support of per-
missive intervention—a claim that no party to the under-
lying class action would be prejudiced by vacating the
jury verdict and the order based upon that verdict—was
“woefully unconvincing.” App. lla. As the court ex-
plained, “the result ABC seeks would effectively vitiate
the settlement agreement through which the plaintiffs are
receiving payments from the damage award.” App. lla.

Finally, the Eleventh Circuit noted that a nonparty
such as ABC “is not necessarily entitled to preserve the
beneficial effects of a jury verdict and judgment, however
much the nonparty may cherish those effects.” App. lla.
An opportunity to preclude issues as a result of litigation
involving other parties is not some absolute right. “More-
over, ABC will have its day in court. In the trial of the
libel lawsuit, ABC will have an opportunity to establish
in the old-fashioned way the defense it sought to pre-
clusively establish with the class action jury verdict and
judgment.” App. 11a.

The jury trial of the libel action referred to by the
Eleventh Circuit is presently set to begin in October 1996.

16

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
A. U.S. Bancorp Does Not Apply To This Case

This case does not raise any question about U.S. Ban-
corp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall Partnership, 115 S.Ct.
386 (1994), let alone some question about “enforcement”
of that ruling. In its excessive zeal to manufacture an
issue for this Court’s review, ABC has attempted to stretch
the “rationale” of U.S. Bancorp beyond the facts, beyond
the question presented, beyond the holding, beyond the
dicta, and even beyond the underlying statutory authority
of that case. In short, ABC has stretched its argument
well beyond the breaking point.

In the first place, the facts in U.S. Bancorp bear no
resemblance to the facts in this case. In U.S. Bancorp,
vacatur was sought in this Court, not in a Court of Ap-
peals, and, even more importantly, not in a district court,
as occurred here. 115 S.Ct. at 389. In U.S. Bancorp,
vacatur was sought by only one of the settling parties and
was opposed by the other settling party, totally unlike the
situation in the present case. 7d. And finally, in U.S.
Bancorp, vacatur was sought only after appellate juris-
diction had vested, whereas no appellate court had juris-
diction in this case when the order in question was set
aside by the district court. /d. The factual patterns in
U.S. Bancorp and the present case could not be more
dissimilar.

Dissimilar, too, are the questions presented. In U.S.
Bancorp, the question was “whether appellate courts in
the federal system should vacate civil judgments of sub-
ordinate courts in cases that are settled after appeal is filed
or certiorari sought.” Jd. at 388-89 (emphasis added).
In the present case, a district court set aside an interlocu-
tory order before any appellate jurisdiction attached. Even
this Court’s express holding in U.S. Bancorp—“mootness
by reason of settlement does not justify vacatur of a judg-
ment under review’—does not, on its face, apply to the

17

present case. Id. at 393 (emphasis added). There was no
review pending when the order on the jury verdict was
set aside by the district court here.

Even the more broadly ranging discussion by this Court
about the effect of its holding in U.S. Bancorp was strictly
limited to situations where appellate review of a final
judgment—totally unlike the situation in the present case
—was ongoing at the time of settlement and vacatur. Id.
at 392-93. Indeed, during the course of that discussion,
the Court specifically distinguished those cases in which
settlement occurred while the case was still before the
district court. Jd. at 393. For example, this Court noted
that “the judicial economies achieved by settlement at the
district-court level are ordinarily much more extensive
than those achieved by settlement on appeal.” /d.

Finally, the statute that supplies “the power of vacatur”
(28 U.S.C. § 2106), which was the focal point of this
Court’s holding and discussion in U.S. Bancorp, has no
application whatsoever to the present case. 115 S.Ct. at
389. That statute, on its face, applies only to “The Su-
preme Court or any other court of appellate jurisdiction.”.
Id. (emphasis added). Moreover, it is a part of Chapter
133 of Title 28, the subject of which is limited to appel-
late review. The statute expressly does not apply to dis-
trict courts, the level of court that set aside the order in
this case.

Perhaps that explains why all of the case authorities
cited by ABC in an attempt to support its argument on
vacatur involved only situations where appellate jurisdic-
tion had been invoked and where appellate courts were
being asked to set aside either appellate court decisions or
lower court decisions. See Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabu-
shiki Kaisa v. U.S. Philips Corp., 114 S.Ct. 425 (1993)
(where even the motion for intervention, as discussed by
ABC, was filed in an appellate court, not the district
court); Clarendon Ltd. v. Nu-West Industries, Inc., 936

18

F.2d 127 (3d Cir. 1991); In re United States, 927 F.2d
626 (D.C. Cir. 1991) (seeking vacatur of an appellate
court decision); In re Memorial Hospital, 862 F.2d 1299
(7th Cir. 1988). Decisions by district courts to set aside
their own orders or judgments constitute an entirely dif-
ferent subject matter.

The present case is not, therefore, a U.S. Bancorp-type
case or even a potential extension of it; the present case
is an entirely different situation. ABC wants this Court
to simply gloss over that fact, however, and extend the
holding of U.S. Bancorp to a territory where it has no
application. In essence, ABC asks this Court to take a
giant, blind leap over a grand canyon and, on new soil,
firmly implant rules designed to guide appellate courts
onto district court judges.

ABC asks this Court to use those inapplicable appellate
court principles for the purpose of severely restricting, or
nearly abolishing, the power of trial judges to alter, amend,
or set aside their own orders and judgments or the verdic‘s
of juries. Moreover, ABC wants this Court to take that
giant step without any consideration of the numerous
rules, statutes, and decisions covering the power of dis-
trict courts to affect their own prior decisions, especially
the broad power to alter or set aside interlocutory orders
and judgments. See, e.g., Advisory Committee Notes to
the 1946 Amendment to Rule 60(b), Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure (“interlocutory judgments are not brought
within the restrictions of the rule, but rather they are left
subject to the complete power of the court rendering them
to afford such relief from them as justice requires”);
United States v. Jerry, 487 F.2d 600, 605 (3d Cir. 1973)
(“so long as the district court has jurisdiction over the
case, it possesses inherent power over interlocutory orders,
and can reconsider them when it is consonant with justice
to do so”); Mateo v. M/S Kiso, 805 F.Supp. 761, 785-86
(N.D. Cal. 1991).

Thus, even if this Court were inclined to elaborate on
the vacatur issue or to consider means to enforce its hold-

19

ing on vacatur in U.S. Bancorp, this would not be the ap-
propriate case in which to do so. To consider ABC’s
petition, this Court would have to extend U.S. Bancorp
well beyond vacatur of final judgments to the point of
considering, under rules designed for appellate courts, the
setting aside by a district court of its own interlocutory
orders. Moreover, this Court would be required to under-
take its review in a case where the circuit court never
even reached the issue. Needless to say, ABC’s radical
and thoroughly unprecedented request to throttle district
court judges without even adequate consideration of the
consequences should be summarily rejected.*

B. ABC Had No Basis To Intervene In The Purcell Class
Action

As this Court has previously explained, the question of
“(w]hether petitioner should have been granted leave to
intervene is quite distinct, both analytically and factually,
from the question of whether the Court of Appeals should
vacate judgments where the parties have so stipulated.”
Izumi, 114 S.Ct. at 427. A question concerning interven-
tion is “akin to a question regarding a party’s standing,

* ABC repeatedly invokes the argument that injustice results
when wealthy parties can “buy off” judgments. Totally apart from
the fact that nothing ever happened to any truly final judgment in
this case, it is highly ironic that ABC should be trying to cloak
itself in the garb of the poor or the weak.

Not only is the “buy off” argument not factually supported, the
claimed preclusive effect in this case has value only to ABC, a
corporate colossus whose power and wealth vastly exceed that of
all the plaintiffs and defendants in the Purcell action combined.
Only the private economic interest of ABC’s even more powerful
and wealthy shareholders is at stake here.

ABC simply wants to avoid the expense and—given its truly
egregious misbehavior in the broadcast attack on BFC and Mr.
Levan—the likelihood of a loss when it faces a jury. In its zeal
to promote its own economic interest, ABC has been quite willing to
utterly destroy the settlement that the district court judge expressly
approved. ABC’s claim to be promoting the public interest is hollow
indeed.

20

which [this Court has] described as a ‘threshold inquiry’
that ‘in no way depends on the merits’ of the case.” I/d.
In a case such as the present one, where a district court
rather than a Court of Appeals vacated an interlocutory
order, any questions relating to intervention are even more
“distinct” from the “merits” of vacatur than as discussed
in Izumi.

Moreover, as this Court has further explained, deci-
sions on any particular motion to intervene are “always
to some extent bound up in the facts of the particular
case.” Id. at 428. That being the case, this Court has
concluded it would have to be a very unusual situation to
warrant the grant of certiorari to review solely the “rela-
tively factbound issue” of intervention in a Court of Ap-
peals decision. /d.

There is absolutely nothing unusual in the Eleventh
Circuit’s review of ABC’s motion for intervention in this
case. In fact, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision is solely a
garden variety intervention decision. As explained above,
enforcement of the vacatur decision by this Court in U.S.
Bancorp is not implicated in the present situation. Nor
were there any issues of broad public interest or impor-
tance involved in Purcell, the underlying case in which
ABC sought to intervene. Indeed, the only issue impli-
cated by ABC’s motion to intervene was ABC’s economic
self-interest. The fact that ABC will have to face a jury
in the Levan case is hardly an issue of sufficient impor-
tance to warrant review by this Court.

Although ABC argues that a conflict between the cir-
cuits exists as to the standards for intervention as of
right,* ABC does not argue that the alleged conflict is
itself a sufficiently significant issue to warrant this Court
granting the requested writ. It is only in the context of
the inappropriately claimed need to “enforce” U.S. Ban-

* ABC raises no issue in this Court about the denial of its motion
for permissive intervention.

21

corp that ABC contends the “conflict” attains such signifi-
cance. Considering that U.S. Bankcorp is fundamentally
irrelevant to the present case, the significance, if any, of
the alleged conflict for this case diminishes to the vanish-
ing point.

Additionally, the “conflict” may actually be, more than
anything, a result of the “relatively factbound” nature of
motions for intervention, to use this Court’s term, than a
true conflict in legal principles. That is, the “conflict” may
be more linguistic than real, with the real problem being
the difficulty of setting forth black letter rules for a sub-
ject matter that depends heavily on the facts of each case.
See, Smuck v. Hobson, 408 F.2d 175, 179 (D.C. Cir.
1969) (“Since this task [deciding whether intervention
of right is warranted] will depend upon the contours of
the particular controversy, general rules and past decisions
cannot provide uniformly dependable guides.” ).

After all, as ABC points out, this Court has itself al-
ready twice addressed the issue of the interest necessary
for intervention as of right. Cascade Natural Gas Corp.
v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 386 U.S. 129 (1967);
Donaldson v. United States, 400 U.S. 517 (1971). And
the most recent of those decisions (Donaldson) was even
cited by the Eleventh Circuit as one of the authorities for
its adoption of the standard that intervention of right
“must be supported by ‘direct, substantial, legally pro-
tectible interest in the proceeding.’” Athens Lumber Co.,
Inc. v. Federal Elections Commission, 690 F.2d 1364,
1366 (11th Cir. 1982).

Moreover, even if one were to accept that a conflict
exists, the notion of “interest” in the “less restrictive” cases
cited by ABC is far different than the type of interest
advanced by ABC in this case. The “interest” involved
in those cases focuses on the extent or degree to which
there must be a real involvement of some kind by a
prospective intervenor in the subject matter of the under-
lying lawsuit to intervene as of right. See County of

22

Fresno v. Andrus, 622 F.2d 436 (9th Cir. 1980); Nuesse
v. Camp, 385 F.2d 694 (D.C. Cir. 1967).

ABC has absolutely no such interest. ABC has not
claimed to be an investor in any kind of real estate limited
partnership for which an exchange offer has been made.
Nor has ABC claimed to be engaged in the business of
real estate limited partnerships, let alone ever actually
been involved in an exchange transaction of any kind.
ABC’s claimed interest—in a jury verdict against BFC
and Levan—is collateral and far more remote. That is
not the kind of “interest” contemplated by Rule 24. See
Donaldson, 400 U.S. at 531.°

Even if this “conflict;” despite its relative insignificance
compared to other issues faced by the Court, were to be
a subject of review, this is not an appropriate case in
which to undertake the review. As ABC itself admits,
it has no direct interest in the subject matter of the under-
lying Purcell case. ABC is a total stranger to that litiga-
tion, never having had any stake, however remote, in the
exchange transaction. If review of this particular case
were undertaken, therefore, the Court would have no
factual basis with which to even attempt further refine-
ment of the meaning of an “interest” sufficient to grant
intervention as of right. Even if the Court were prepared
to take the extreme position that the mere possibility of
collateral estoppel effect without more is sufficient to allow
intervention of right, the Court, to accept this case, would

5 This Court’s opinion in Donaldson strongly suggests that the
Court would hold against ABC if it were to hear the case on the
merits. The Court rejected, as not “the kind [of interest] con-
templated by Rule 24(a),” a movant’s argument that he should be
allowed to intervene because a lower tribunal’s decision whether to
require production of certain documents from a third party would
have a collateral effect on his own subsequent trial. 400 U.S. at
581. The Court further noted, in a manner similar to the observa-
tion of the Eleventh Circuit in this case, that the movant’s inter-
ests may be asserted “at its proper place in any subsequent
trial.” Jd.

23

also have to be prepared to take a still more extreme step
and hold that upon the return of a jury verdict, even be-
fore entry of a final judgment, anyone who might be able
to claim some form of preclusive effect is entitled to inter-
vene as a matter of right.

This is also not an appropriate case to consider the
“conflict” because there were no questions of great gen-
eral importance or broad public interest in the issues that
were actually litigated in the underlying class action. It
was a “disclosure” case under well-established securities
law. Although highly important to the parties, it was of
no interest to the public. Not even the general issue of
“roll-ups,” a subject of the libelous ABC broadcast, was
featured in the trial. The only question considered by the
jury was whether BFC and Levan actually thought the
exchange transaction was fair. As evidence of the lack
of public importance, it should be noted that ABC did
not even try to file an amicus brief. There is, therefore,
no basis at all in this case for the Court to hold, even if it
were so inclined, that the mere existence of important
policy issues in a case could support intervention as of
right.

It comes down to this: ABC wants the Court to in-
struct all district courts that they must allow intervention
as of right whenever any party claims that a jury verdict
(or, at least, a jury verdict followed by some form of
interlocutory order) might afford that party some pre-
clusive effect. For ABC it is not enough that district
courts can, in the exercise of their sound discretion, permit
intervention on a permissive basis to promote judicial
economy or other objectives. ABC seeks an absolute
right of intervention in the most extreme of circumstances
to promote its own self-interest. That is, ABC wants this
Court to expend its valuable resources to create an out-
landish rule of sweeping and unprecedented impact so that
ABC will not have to face a jury in one particular case.

24

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Of Counsel:

BRADFORD SWING

ALAN H. FEIN

STEARNS WEAVER MILLER
WEISSLER ALHADEFF &
SITTERSON, P.A.

Miami, Florida

Dated: August 22, 1996

Respectfully submitted,

EUGENE E. STEARNS

STEARNS WEAVER MILLER
WEISSLER ALHADEFF &
SITTERSON, P.A.

Suite 2200, Museum Tower

150 West Flagler Street

Miami, FL 33130

(305) 789-8200

Counsel of Record for
BankAtlantic Financial
Corporation and
Alan B. Levan

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1188%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
