# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Motley v. New Jersey State Police

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1064%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1087

## Text

‘Supreme Court, u.g.
— FILED

991395 JAN 31 2009

No. 99-
seeiunenneniadeimiemaaamaan

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DANIEL C. MOTLEY,
Petitioner,
v.

NEW JERSEY STATE POLICE; THE STATE TROOPERS
FRATERNAL ASSOCIATION OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM STRAZZA
Counsel of Record
Law OFFICE OF WILLIAM STRAZZA
Attorney for Petitioner
Union Professional Building
971 Stuyvesant Avenue, Suite 9
P.O. Box 3806
Union, New Jersey 07083-1891
(908) 688-8005

157097 @ Counsel Press LLC
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

Paar

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether or not the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
decided the present case in a manner that conflicts with this
Court's decision in Cleveland v. Policy Management Sys.
Corp, 526 U.S. 795, 119 S. Ct. 1597 (1999) by failing to
remand plaintiffs American Disabilities Act claim so that
he would have the opportunity to sufficiently explain
perceived inconsistencies between his claim and prior sworn
statements ina disability application.

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CJucntooss FUOGRUNOE

application procedures, the hiring, advancement.
or discharge of employees, employee
compensation, job training, and other terms.
conditions, and privileges of employment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents the story of a man who became
physically disabled in a work related accident and was then
horribly mistreated by his employer. The man is Petitioner,
Daniel C. Motley. The employer is Respondent, the New
Jersey State Police (NJSP). Following his accident,
Mr. Motley was denied promotion for three consecutive years
even though he performed all the tasks of a full duty narcotics
detective. The only reason Dan was denied promotion is that
the NJSP considered him disabled. He was also denied any
reasonable accommodation. Both denials are clear violations
of the Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”). 42 U.S.C.
§ 12101, et seq.

A critical aspect to this case is the internal policy and
procedure of the NJSP regarding promotion. ( App. 42a). The
NJSP has codified Standard Operating Procedures (S.O.P.’s).
S.O.P. C-20 addresses the relationship between promotion
and physical fitness. /d. In order to even be considered for
any promotion, all members of the NJSP must first be cleared
by the NJSP physician to take the required fitness exam.
The member must also pass the exam. /d.

There are three official duty statuses with the NJSP —
full duty, limited or “light” duty, and off duty. Only members
listed by the NJSP physician on full duty status are permitted
to participate in the fitness exam. Members not cleared to
participate have one of two fates awaiting them under S.O.P.

3

C-20. One possibility is that their continued fitness for
employment is reviewed by the Chairman of the Duty Status
Review Board. Specifically, S.O.P. C-20(G)(4)(b) requires:

If the Division physician and the Administration
Section supervisor determine that the member is
unable to participate in the physical fitness test,
the administration shali forward all
documentation to the Chairman (Deputy
Superintendent) of the Duty Status Review Board.
(1) The board, after determining the facts shall
evaluate the member’s fitness for continued
employment in the Division of State Police and
submit appropriate recommendations to the
Superintendent (emphasis supplied).

The second possibility is that the Superintendent, following
a special request from the member, waives the fitness
exam requirement, and the member is considered for
promotion notwithstanding his or her non-participation.
Here, S.O.P. C-20(H)(2)(a) is controlling:

A sworn member who does not satisfactorily
complete any portion of the physical fitness test
due to a temporary medical or physiological
problem will not be automatically excluded from
the promotional process. Promotional eligibility
for such members will be determined by the
Superintendent on a case-by-case basis.

Against this backdrop, we can now present the details of
Dan Motley’s experience with his former employer.

Dan Motley joined the NJSP in February 1982. Like all
rookie members, Mr. Motley began his career at the rank of

4

Detective. Lying ahead were tenure based promotions to
Detective Il and Detective I at seven and nine years
respectively. Beyond that were “rated” or “merit based”
promotions to Sergeant, Sergeant First Class, and so on.

After seven vears, Detective Motley received his first
tenure based promotion. However, S.O.P. C-20 was passed
before Detective Motley’s ninth year. Therefore, promotion
to Detective I became subject to $.O.P. C-20. Although he
did not know it at the ttme, Dan Motley would retire before
ever achieving the rank of Detective I.

On January 24, 1990, the course of Detective Motley’s
career was forever altered. During an undercover buy-bust
operation, Dan was pulled into the driver’s side window of
a fleeing vehicle. Half his body was hanging out the window
and he was dragged approximately 150 feet.

Detective Motley was seriously injured as a result of
this incident. Between January 24, 1990 and February 8,
1990, he was listed as “off duty.” On February 9, 1990 Dan
was re-assigned to “Temporary Limited On Duty” status by
the NJSP physician. However, due to his “limited duty” or
“light duty” status, Detective Motley was not permitted to
participate in the State Police Fitness exam in 1990.
Therefore, he could not be considered for promotion. In fact,
Detective Motley was not cleared to participate in the fitness
exam in 1991, 1992, 1993 or 1994 — the year he ultimately
retired. In other words, after his accident, he was never again _
permitted to participate in the fitness exam, and therefore
was never again considered for promotion.

Despite persistently preventing Motley from
participating in the fitness exam, the NJSP failed to refer his

5

case to the Chairman of the Duty Status Review Board, an
action mandated by S.O.P. C-20. The NJSP admitted this
fact in answers to interrogatories. Instead, Motley was
continually listed for limited duty, thereby eliminating any
possibility of promotion and corresponding raises in pay.
However, despite his recorded duty status, Motley continued
to receive and perform full duty status assignments. For
almost four years after his accident, but before his retirement,
Detective Motley continued to break down doors, execute
search and arrest warrants, sit on wire-taps, develop
confidential informants and do anything and everything else
required of a full duty status narcotics Detective. Moreover,
he received several commendations for his work during this
time period. In her dissent, Circuit Judge Rendell provides
an excellent summary of Detective Motley’s performance
evaluations, all of which plainly demonstrate the full duty
nature of his work after the accident. Motley v. New Jersey
State Police, 196 F.3d 160, 170-71 and n.6.

The submission of each performance evaluation became
a source of ultimate frustration for Detective Motley. On
the one hand, he was receiving and performing full duty
assignments and his performance was stellar. On the other
hand, the Division Physician continued to categorize
Detective Motley as a “limited duty” member for purposes
of the fitness exam. Therefore, at the section designated for
promotional potential, each performance evaluation states
“no recommendation at this time due to non-participation in
the physical fitness test.”

In response to being painted into a corner of “promotion
purgatory”, Detective Motley did not sit on his hands. In
fact, after being denied his promotion to Detective I in August
1991, Detective Motley immediately filed a grievance

6

through the State Troopers Fraternal Association (“STFA”).
Then, Detective Motley waited. For months he waited
patiently, but there was never any answer from the NJSP or
the STFA regarding the grievance.

A full year after the grievance was filed, no action had
been taken.' During this period of inexplicable delay,
Detective Motley took additional action to protect his
interests. In essence, he forced the NJSP to pick between
retiring him or promoting him — the two choices mandated
by S.O.P. C-20.

On April 7, 1993 he filed an application for accidental
disability retirement pursuant to N.J.S.A. 53:5A-10(a). Less
than one month later, on May 4, 1993 he filed a second
grievance through the STFA which formally complained of
the non-progression of the first grievance. The second
grievance was flatly denied on July 11, 1993. Then, in
November 1993 Detective Motley submitted a written
Request for Determination to Superintendent Dintino
pursuant to S.O.P. C-20(H)(2)(a). In other words, Detective
Motley made a request for reasonable accommodation.
Despite the plain language of the S.O.P., (see text, supra.
at 3) the Superintendent's response amounted to no response
at all. Ina memo dated December 8, 1993 the Superintendent
stated in pertinent part, “[wJith reference to the attached
correspondence; advise Det. D.C. Motley #3655 that it has
been Division policy not to provide written data regarding
his inquiry.”

1. In fact, Detective Motley’s first grievance was not resolved
until more than a year after he retired. The determination was in
favor of the NJSP. Originally, Motley joined the STFA as defendants
in this action. The count against the STFA was dismissed, but that
aspect was never appealed.

in short, for almost four years, the NJSP used S.O.P.
C-20 to stop Motley from taking the fitness exam, thereby
blocking the possibility of promotion. However, the outfit
also refused to either waive the requirement or submit his
case to the duty status review board. Insicad, the NJSP was
more than happy to extract superior full Guty performance
while only having to pay Mr. Motley at the rank of Detective
'| for the rest of his life.

Fed up with this stonewalling, in January 1994 Detective
Motley filed complaints concurrently with the New Jersey
Division of Civil Rights (*NJDCR”) and with the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”). He also
allowed his application for disability benefits to go forward.

In February 1994, Motley’s application for disability was
vranted. However, there is an administrative waiting period
between the application being granted, actual retirement, and
receipt of first payment. During this period, Motley realized
his initial application was not entirely accurate. Therefore,
before he ever received a payment, Mr. Motley amended his
application, thus providing the board an opportunity to
reverse its initial decision. This aspect of the case warrants
detailed explanation.

As indicated, there are two disability applications
involved in this case. The first was signed by Mr. Motley on
April 7, 1993 and contains three critical portions, namely
items 19, 20 and 23. (App. 56a). A pre-printed item, number
19 compels the applicant to state, “I declare | am permanently
and totally disabled as a direct result of a traumatic event
occurring during and as a result of the performance of my
regular or assigned duties ...”” The applicant must simply
fill in the date, time and place of the incident. Item 20 asked

S

Mr. Motley to state his symptoms. On the April 7, 1993
application, Mr. Motley replied:

Since my accident | have had extremely painful
and recurring headaches. | also have intense back
pain whenever | sit for prolonged periods (1.e. 20
minutes or more). | have difficulty sleeping at
night and wake up almost every 2-3 hours because
of pain in my lower back. Before | start my day |
must take an extremely long and hot shower to
loosen the spasms in my back. Finally, | have
extreme pain in my left knee. | cannot stand on it
without pain and I have extreme difficulty with
running.

Finally, item 23 asked “Have you performed regular duty
since the traumatic event?” On April 7, 1993 Mr. Motley’s
answer was “No.”

On March 15, 1994 Mr. Motley filed his amended
application for disability. (App. 63a). The form was identical
to the one filed April 7, 1993 with two exceptions. First, at
item 20 regarding his sympioms, Mr. Motley, filling the
application out by hand and on his own, wrote “I have
received severe injuries to my knees, back and neck.” Second,
and most important, at item 23 regarding the performance
of regular duty, Mr. Motley changed his answer of “No” to
“Since the event | have been on light duty.”

Now retired, Dan anxiously waited to hear from the
EEOC regarding the complaint he filed in January 1994.
Eventually, he became frustrated with the snail’s pace of
that process, retained predecessor counsel and filed a
complaint in the United States District Court for the District

7]

of New Jersey. Pertinent to this case is the count alleging a
violation of the ADA.

Respondent NJSP moved for summary judgment and
argued Mr. Motley was judicially estopped from asserting
his ADA claim due to the representations made in his
disability application. The District Court granted defendant's
motion (App. 40a-41a) and Motley appealed.

In a two to one decision, The United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit affirmed the decision of the
District Court. Motley, 196 F.3d atl60. Significantly, the
Circuit Court withheld its decision pending this Court's
decision in Cleveland vy. Policy Management Systems Corp.,
526 U.S. 795 (1999). In affirming the decision of the District
Court, the majority purports to follow this Court’s directives
in Cleveland. However, in her dissent, Circuit Judge Rendell
argues that the Circuit did not properly followed Cleveland
at all. Motley, 196 F.3d at 168-71. Accordingly, Mr. Motley
respectfully presents this Petition for Writ of Certiorart.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Dan Motley is requesting the extraordinary remedy of a
writ of certiorari for one reason. The Third Circuit decided
his case, one which presents an important question of federal
law, in a manner that conflicts with a relevant decision of
this Court. Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States,
Rule 10(c).? Specifically, and not withstanding its assertions

2. See also Army & Air Force Exchange v. Sheehan, 456 U.S.

728, 733 (1982) (certiorari granted because ruling below “appeared
to be in conflict with [Court's] precedents”); Schlaude v.
Commissioner, 372 U.S. 128, 130 (1968) (brought case back a

(Cont'd)

10

to the contrary, in deciding Mr. Motley’s case the Third
Circuit failed to follow this Court’s holding in Cleveland vy.
Policy Management, 526 U.S. at, 119 S. Ct. at 1604.
Accordingly, it is respectfully urged that Mr. Motley’s
petition for certiorari be granted.

A. The Directives of Cleveland

The question before this Court just last term in Cleveland
was “whether the law erects a special presumption that would
significantly inhibit [a Social Security Disability Insurance]
recipient from simultaneously pursuing an action for
disability discrimination under the [ADA], claiming that
‘with ... reasonable accommodation’ she could ‘perform
the essential functions of her job.’ ” Cleveland, 526 US.

(Cont'd)

second time on certiorari “to consider whether the lower court
misapplied the scope of American Automobile Ass'n v. United States,
367 U.S. 687 (1961)); United States v. Rands, 389 U.S. 121 (1967)
(granting certiorari because of seeming conflict between decision
below and existing precedent); Wilkinson v. United States, 365 U.S.
399 (1961) (granting certiorari because of petitioner's claim that
Court of Appeals misconceived meaning of controlling precedent);
Wilson v. Schnettler, 365 U.S. 381 (1961) (certiorari granted to
consider petitioner’s claim that “judgment was repugnant to
controlling” precedent); Braen v. Pfeifer Transportation Co., 361
U.S. 129, 130 (1959) (granting certiorari because Circuit Court's
decision reversing judgment for plaintiff “seemed to be out of line
with the authorities); Upshaw v. United States, 335 U.S. 410 (1948)
(reversing decision of D.C. Circuit due to majority's misapplication
of holding in McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943)); and
McCandles v. Furland, 296 U.S. 140, 156 (1935) (before the Court
on a second writ of certiorari to consider Second Circuit’s application
of Old Dominion Copper Co. v. Lewishon, 210 U.S. 206 (1908)).
See generally, Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Practice, 7"
Edition 1993 at § 4.5.

1 |

at =, 1119S. Ct. at 1599-1600 (citations omitted). In taking
on this question, the Court sought to resolve conflict among
the Circuits on the issue of judicial estoppel as applied in
ADA cases. Cleveland, 526 U.S. at, 119 S. Ct. at 160]
(citations omitted).

The simple answer to the question presented in Cleveland
was no — the law does not erect any special presumption.
Specifically, this Court held:

We believe that, in context, these two seemingly
divergent statutory contentions are often
consistent, each with the other. Thus pursuit, and
receipt, of SSDI benefits does not automatically
estop the recipient from pursuing an ADA claim.
Nor does the law erect a strong presumption
against the recipient’s success under the ADA.
Nonetheless, an ADA plaintiff cannot simply
ignore her SSDI contention that she was too
disabled to work. To survive a defendant’s motion
for summary judgment, she must explain why that
SSDI contention is consistent with her ADA claim
that she could “perform the essential functions”
of her previous job, at least with “reasonable
accommodation.”

Cleveland, 526 U.S. at, 119 S. Ct. at 1600.

In crafting its decision, this Court drew a critical
distinction between context related legal conclusions asserted -
in disability applications and “directly conflicting statements
about purely factual matters.” Cleveland, 526 U.S. at __

119S. Ct. at 1601. The former was the subject of this Court's
ruling whereas the law regarding the latter was left

12
undisturbed. Cleveland, 526 U.S. at , 119 S. Ct. at
1602-03. However, as it relates to the reason for granting
Mr. Motley’s petition, the most critical aspect of this Court's
decision in Cleveland is what I will call a “decision not to
decide.”

Before this Court in Cleveland was a ruling from the
Fifth Circuit which upheld summary judgment for defendant
on the grounds that an “ADA plaintiff's representation to
the SSA that she was totally disabled created a rebuttable
presumption sufficient to estop her later representation that

. she could perform the essential functions of her job.”
Cleveland, 526 U.S. at __, 119 S. Ct. at 1602. This Court
left no question that such rebuttable presumptions have no
place in ADA judicial estoppel analysis. Instead, future ADA
plaintiffs must be able to provide a sufficient explanation
for any perceived inconsistency that can overcome well
settled summary judgment standards. But what does this
mean for ADA plaintiffs, such as Mr. Motley, whose cases
were pending in the Court of Appeals when Cleveland was
decided and were disposed of on defendant’s motion for
summary judgment under what Cleveland deemed improper
legal standards? In Cleveland this Court provided the answer

remand for further proceedings.

Despite having a record before it which included
explanations for Ms. Cleveland’s change in positions, this
Court did not make a determination regarding the sufficiency
of those explanations. Instead, this Court specifically
directed,

[t]he parties should have the opportunity in the
trial court to present, or to contest, these
explanations, in sworn form where appropriate.

‘i

13

Accordingly, we vacate the judgment of the Court
of Appeals and remand the case for further
proceedings consistent with this opinion.

Cleveland, 526 U.S. at _, 1198. Ct. at 1604.

The requirement to remand for further proceedings,
particularly when a pending pre-Cleveland case was decided
under improper judicial estoppel law, was underscored by
this Court’s treatment of the Eighth Circuit’s decision in
Moore v. Payless Shoe Source, Inc., 139 F.3d 1210 (8" Cir.
1998) (Moore 1). In Moore J, the Eighth Circuit affirmed the
dismissal of plaintiffs ADA claim on summary judgment
employing a standard set out in Dush v. Appleton Elec. Co..,
124 F.3d 957, 963 (8" Cir. 1997) (ADA plaintiff must present
“strong countervailing evidence” to defeat defendant’s
motion for summary judgment premised on judicial estoppel
theory). /d. The Dush standard was negated by Cleveland.
Therefore, in a memorandum opinion, this Court granted
plaintiffs petition for certiorari, vacated the decision of the
Court of Appeals and remanded for further proceedings
consistent with its holding in Cleveland. Moore v. Payless
Shoe Source, Inc., U.S. | , 119 S. Ct. 2017 (1999) (mem. ).

It is the directive to remand which was flatly ignored by
the majority in Motley.

B. The Third Circuit’s Misinterpretation of Cleveland

The first reported decision out of the Third Circuit citing
Cleveland was Klein v. Stahl GMBH & Co. Machinefabrik,
185 F.3d. 98 (3d Cir. 1999). Admittedly, K/ein is not directly
on point. For one thing, the underlying cause was a products
liability action, not an ADA claim. Klein, 185 F.3d at 100.

14

Therefore, the holding was not directly premised upon
Cleveland. In fact, the court specifically noted that its
decision rested upon the principles set forth in McNemar vy.
Disney Store, 91 F.3d 610, 617 (3d Cir. 1996). Nevertheless,
the case it noteworthy because it is the Third Circuit’s first
treatment of a judicial estoppel issue in the post-Cleveland
era. In that first treatment, the court vacated the Magistrate
Judge’s dismissal of plaintiff's claim and remanded for
further proceedings so that, among other things, the plaintiff
would have the opportunity to offer a sufficient explanation
for certain factual inconsistencies presented in varying
affidavits. Klein, 185 F.3d at 111. Despite this Cleveland-
like approach in anon-ADA case, in the Third Circuit’s first
treatment of an ADA case post-Cleveland, the majority of
the panel misinterpreted this Court’s holding. Motley, 196
F.3d at 162-67.

The Motley majority certainly did not misstate this
Court’s Cleveland holding. Motley, 196 F.3d at 164-65.
Moreover, the opinion does not try to distinguish Cleveland
as inapplicable. In fact, the majority goes out of its way three
times to insist or imply that its ruling is premised upon the
new rules set forth in Cleveland.’ However, a careful

3. For example, the court announced, “[wJe will affirm [the
decision of the District Court], not because he was estopped, but
because Motley was simply not entitled to survive summary
judgment in light of his prior assertions of total disability, and his
failure to adequately reconcile his wholly inconsistent positions.”
Motley, 196 F.3d at 162. Additionally, the majority wrote, “[t]he
Supreme Court in Cleveland v. Policy Management Sys. Corp
explained how cases of this type should be handled, and it is that
framework we apply here. Motley, 196 F.3d at 164. Finally, writing
for the majority, Circuit Judge Nygaard declared, “Our decision is
based squarely on the standard set out by the Supreme Court in
Cleveland.” Motley, 196 F.3d at 167.

sunt alia

15

examination of the majority opinion demonstrates the Third
Circuit’s misinterpretation of this Court’s ruling.

As previously stated, and as pointed out in Circuit Judge
Rendell's dissent, despite the explanations regarding
inconsistency in the record before it, this Court never decided
whether Ms. Cleveland’s explanations were sufficient to
overcome summary judgment. Supra at 12. Motley, 196 F.3d
at 168. Notwithstanding this fact, the Third Circuit reads
Cleveland as having made that critical decision. Specifically,
Judge Nygaard observed,

In Cleveland, the ADA plaintiff had proffered a
sufficient explanation of the difference in her
statements. * * * Cleveland appears to have made
a factbased argument that her condition changed
to some degree during the applicable time periods.
This amounted to a sufficient explanation under
the facts of Cleveland’s case .. .

Motley, 196 F.3d at 165. Unfortunately, the Third Circuit is
not alone in this misinterpretation of Cleveland. Recently, a
State Court made the same error.4

4. In Pyrez v. Branford College, (1999 WL 706882) a Superior
Court Judge in Massachusetts wrote

In a recent case considering whether an application for
Social Security disability benefits estops a plaintiff from
pursuing a federal claim ... under the [ADA] ... the
Court held that plaintiff's explanation of how the Social
Security disability benefits application could be
reconciled ... sufficed to defeat a summary judgment
motion. The specific explanation the Court found
sufficient was that the plaintiff had requested
accommodation ..., had been denied ..., and had
subsequently been terminated.

16 .

Nevertheless, the simple truth is that when the Third
Circuit decided Motley, no court had made any determination
concerning the sufficiency of Ms. Cleveland’s explanations.
Instead, her explanations were being considered on remand
in the trial court and “in sworn form” pursuant to the mandate
of this Court. As to the reasoning which supports the need
to remand in these cases, Circuit Judge Rendell hits the nail
squarely on the head in her dissent. Her Honor astutely
observes, “Here, we err not only in deciding the issue, but,
even more, we err by deciding it based upon the record made
when the rules of the game were very different.” Motley,
196 F.3d at 169.

No doubt, this Court’s decision to remand was premised
upon what Judge Rendell couches as a “change in rules”
argument. In other words, the record before this Court in
Cleveland was created under Fifth Circuit law which allowed
for a rebuttable presumption on the estoppel issue in
defendant’s favor if ADA plaintiff's had received or merely
applied for social security disability. Cleveland, 526 U.S. at
__. Similarly, the “change in rules” argument” 1s what
presumably caused this Court to grant certiorari, vacate the
judgment of the Eighth Circuit, and remand so that Ms.
Moore could have a new record made under the rule in
Cleveland as opposed to the now defunct rule in Dush. Supra.
at 8-9. See also Moore J, 139 F.3d at 1210 and Moore,
U.S. ,1198. Ct. 2017.

Dan Motley’s record was made under the much criticized
Third Circuit decision in McNemar. Motley, 196 F.3d at 169.
Additionally, the District Court granted summary judgment
relying exclusively on McNemar. See Motley, 196 F.3d at
169 n.4 (Rendell, Circuit Judge dissenting). Despite this fact,
and despite having the opportunity to review this Court’s

17

decision and directives in Cleveland, the Third Circuit did
not remand, but instead tackled the task of assessing
Mr. Motley’s explanations for the statements in his disability
applications and deemed those explanations insufficient to
survive summary judgment. This failure to remand robbed
Mr. Motley of his opportunity to offer a sufficient
explanation for any alleged inconsistencies under the new
rules of the game. Such a result creates a true miscarriage of
justice and is contrary to this Court’s decision in Cleveland.
Once again, Judge Rendell’s observations state the argument
succinctly:

The District Court never considered any
explanation, and the parties’ discovery and
arguments were clearly uninformed as to the need
for an explanation. To now cull the existing record
to make the argument, and resolve it in favor of
the defendant under a new set of rules, is unfair.

Id.

5. Itis worth noting that the Seventh Circuit has also deprived
an ADA plaintiff her opportunity to sufficiently explain any potential
inconsistencies between her disability application and ADA claim.
In Feldman v. American Memorial Life Ins., 196 F.3d 783 (7" Cir.
1999), the District Court granted summary judgment for defendant
because it felt plaintiff could not prove she was disabled. The Court
of Appeals affirmed, but on entirely different grounds namely
judicial estoppel grounds. Even though the issue was never raised
below, which explains why plaintiff never offered any explanation
for the apparent inconsistencies, the court held, “[w]e reserve opinion
on the district court determination that Feldman was not ‘disabled.’
Instead, we evaluate whether Feldman’s contention that she is a
‘qualified individual’ under the ADA is precluded by her earlier
declarations regarding her disability in her applications for SSDI
benefits. We find this question dispositive here.” Feldman, 196 F.3d
at 789.

18

Presumably, the argument could be made that not every
ADA case pending when Cleveland was decided is entitled
to remand. Perhaps there is a case out there wherein the
record is completely devoid of both explanation or even the
possibility for explanation of inconsistency sufficient to
overcome summary judgment. Assuming that is true, this is
not that case.

As Judge Rendell observes, the majority in Motley
misconstrues the explanations offered by petitioner by
ignoring substantial portions of the record. Motley, 196 F.3d
at 169-71. In the first place, the majority places far too much
weight upon the declaration of disability in Mr. Motley’s
first application. The declaration is clearly a context based
legal conclusion, not a specific factual assertion. Second,
the majority also places too much weight on Mr. Motley’s
description of his injuries. Dan described his injuries with
specificity, but he never once stated that those injuries made
him unable to work, with or without accommodation. Surely,
the State Police cannot convincingly argue that they thought
his injuries made him unable to perform, as they continued
to assign regular duties and evaluate his performance
glowingly. Instead, the most respondent can say is that it
thought his injuries made him unfit for promotion.

The majority also completely ignores Mr. Motley’s
request for accommodation, which the State Police saw fit
never to answer, and his amended application. The amended
application is a key fact in this case, particularly because of
its timing. Dan filed the amended and accurate disability
application before receiving any payments under the first
application. His purpose in filing was to provide the NJSP
an opportunity to amend its determination with more accurate
information.

eins» WA

19

The majority also misconstrues the statute under which
State Troopers make disability applications. The majority
presumed that the board which approved Dan’s application
took reasonable accommodation into consideration. Motley,
196 F.3d at 170-71 n.8 (Rendell, Circuit Judge dissenting).
Nothing in the statutory scheme would reasonably lead
someone to this conclusion. /d. In fact, the opposite
conclusion is far more logical in light of other disability
statutes intended specifically for State Troopers which make
reference to reasonable accommodation. /d. The statute under
which Motley’s application had to be filed has no such
provision. /d.

Finally, the majority pays no attention whatsoever to
what Detective Motley was actually doing nor to the NJSP’s
disregard for its own internal policy and procedure in
Motley’s case. The majority never acknowledged that Motley
continued to perform his job as a narcotics detective for all
four years after his accident. The majority never
acknowledged the failure of the NJSP to refer Motley’s
matter to the duty status review board. The majority never
acknowledged Motley’s request for accommodation or the
NJSP’s feeble excuse for a response.

In other words, the majority ignored every fact of record
which makes it abundantly clear that Mr. Motley might very
well be able to provide an explanation in “sworn form”
sufficient to convince a District Court Judge that a jury
should hear this case. Misconstruing Cleveland, the Third
Circuit would deny Mr. Motley his day in court.

20
CONCLUSION

Accordingly, and for the reasons stated above, it Is
respectfully requested that this Court grant Mr. Motley’s
petition for certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM STRAZZA

Counsel of Record

Law OFFICE OF WILLIAM STRAZZA
Attorney for Petitioner

Union Professional Building
971 Stuyvesant Avenue, Suite 9
P.O. Box 3806

Union, New Jersey 07083-1891
(908) 688-8005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1064%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
