# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hale v. Committee on Character & Fitness of the Illinois Bar

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1021%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 1261

## Text

WY FILED

991349 FEB 1 0 2000

No. 99-
O° i: OF Te CLERK
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
MATTHEW F. HALE,
Petitioner,

V.

THE COMMITTEE ON CHARACTER AND FITNESS OF THE
ILLINOIS BAR, and THE ILLINOIS BAR,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT HERMAN ANITA RIVKIN-CAROTHERS
Counsel of Record 33 North LaSalle
SCHWARTZ, HERMAN & DAVIDSON Suite 3300
University Club Tower Chicago, IL 60602
1034 South Brentwood Blvd. (312) 641-2901
Suite 1800

St. Louis, MO 63117
(314) 862-0200

Attorneys for Petitioner

~
cree eamete

157665 @J Counsel Press LLC
(800) 274-3321 +» (800) 359-6859

1)

2)

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Illinois Bar Committee on Character
and Fitness violates the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution by
establishing orthodox religious and political beliefs
to which a Bar applicant must subscribe as a
condition of admission and by refusing admission
to Petitioner because his beliefs are contrary to the
letter and spirit of the Illinois Bar Rules of
Professional Conduct and Petitioner engaged in
offensive speech outside the scope of a legal
professional relationship.

Whether the Illinois Bar Committee on Character
and Fitness violates the First Amendment and the
Equal Protection and Due Process clauses of the
Fourteenth Amendment by broadly defining the bar
admission criteria of good moral character to include
an examination of Petitioner’s religious and political
beliefs and advocacy.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ...............00::; Soe goes

Fame OF Comes 2b i ks eee eee

Fable of AQpemGiete .....c.54.c00< kee

Oprnsons Bae ook ecu kiaae epee

Statement of Jurisdiction .....................

Statement of the Case ....°....ccccccccvccecses

A.

Hale met his burden to establish his good
mores CRMIOUEN.. ..50as oa ke

The Committee’s rejection of Hale turned on
his religious and political beliefs. ........

Reasons for Granting the Wee

The Decision Of The Illinois Committee On
Character And Fitness Conflicts With
Relevant Decisions Of This Court ........

A. The Bar may not exclude Petitioner from
the practice of law on the basis of his
OOO... ... «ss cin dee ae eer ees

nN

6

Contents

B. The Bar cannot exclude Petitioner on the
basis of his political and religious
er ooo 5 eck ed wae x eee e s

C. The Committee’s definition of good
moral character to include Petitioner’s
beliefs and advocacy is overbroad,
intrudes into First Amendment protected
areas, and violates the equal protection
and due process clauses of the
Fourteenth Amendment. ............

This Issue Is Important Because The Attempt
To Enforce Political Orthodoxy Presents A
Danger To The Vitality And Independence
Of The Bar.

ne ene s&s Bee Ss Oe 8 OS SP. ee eb ee

Conclusion

Rae nil tir sah Ah ache ic

9

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:
Baird vy. State Bar of Arizona, 401 U.S. 1,91 S. Ct.

FT hs PU EED Ss ches Sh bas cae 7
Bond v. Floyd, 385 U.S. 116, 87 S. Ct. 339, 17

ae Fe i | ee ed ere rman ae 7
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 60 S. Ct. 900,

ee er eiare ey os ae 6
Gentile v. State Bar of Neveda, 501 U.S. 1030, 111

a 42, Zee, 619 L, BG. SE Cee Ciel) ees eas 8
In Re Primus, 436 U.S. 412, 98 S. Ct. 1893, 56

eS ei. sere ere ere err ere 8
In re Summers, 325 U.S. 561, 65 S. Ct. 1307, 89

ht PORE OEE che dd ca cekw heekbiakenees 2
Konigsherg v. State Bar of California, 353 U.S. 252,

Ti & GA. Cady Ee. BE BO SIC FEED oc iciees 8
Law Students Civil Rights Council, Inc. v. Wadmond,

401 U.S. 154, 915. Ct. 720 (1971) ........... 9
Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232,

Fd a GA, Toes bb BR, FIO AAISE once er ee es. 9

West Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnette,
314 U.S. 624, 63 S. Ct. 1178, 87 L. Ed. 1628
A ares Nese Versa rere aners 7,8

Len 2 ee te

Cited Authorities

Page
Statute:
ae aS Le | ene waar nee Te a.
United States Constitution:
Pie PONE 555s ie ee eee 7, 8,9
Fourteenth Amendment....................... 3,8
Rule:
Illinois Bar Rule 8.4(a)5 ...................... 4

vi

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Letter Order Of The Supreme Court
Of Illinois Dated November 12, 1999 .........

Appendix B — Justice Heiple Dissent From Supreme
RE SOD 5.5 xj 83S s ee ees

Appendix C — Findings And Conclusions Of The
Committee On Character And Fitness Of The
Supreme Court Of Illinois For The Third Judicial
District Dated April 10, 1999 ................

Appendix D — Decision Of Inquiry Panel Of The
Committee On Character And Fitness Of The
Supreme Court Of Illinois For The Third
Appellate District Dated December 16, 1998 ...

l4a

tit, ese

ia MEMO a en

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Illinois Supreme Court is reported at
Ill. M.R. 16075 (App., infra). The opinion of Justice Heiple,
dissenting from the order, is reported at M.R. 16075 (App.,
infra). The findings and conclusions of the Committee on
Character and Fitness are unreported. (App., infra). The
decision of the Inquiry Panel is unreported (App., infra).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Illinois Supreme Court entered its order on
November 12, 1999. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Matthew Hale graduated from the School of Law,
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale in 1998. Mr. Hale
passed the Illinois Bar examination and applied for admission
to the Illinois Bar. The Illinois Bar Inquiry Panel refused to
certify Mr. Hale for admission to the Illinois Bar, because
“[t]he Bar of Illinois cannot certify someone as having good
moral character and general fitness to practice law who has
dedicated his life to inciting racial hatred for the purpose of
implementing those views.” (App., infra). The Inquiry Panel
held that Hale is

free, as the First Amendment allows, to incite as
much racial hatred as he desires and attempt to
Carry out his life’s mission of depriving those he
dislikes of their legal rights. But in our view he
cannot do this as an officer of the court.

2

(App., infra). Following appeal and hearing, the Committee
on Character and Fitness affirmed Hale’s exclusion from the
bar, holding that [t]he question before this panel is whether
Mr. Hale can put aside his beliefs and comply with the rules
of Professional Conduct.” Committee decision p. 4.
(App., infra). The Illinois Supreme Court denied review,
(App., infra) which had the effect of making the Committee’s
decision final. Jn re Summers, 325 U.S. 561, 65 S. Ct. 1307,
89 L. Ed. 1795 (1945). Illinois Supreme Court Justice Heiple,
dissenting from denial of review, opined that review should
have been granted on the grounds that the Committee rejected
Hale for his “open, advocacy of racially obnoxious beliefs.”
Opinion of Illinois Supreme Court (Justice Heiple
dissenting). (App., infra).

A. Hale met his burden to establish his good moral
character.

Hale presented affidavits attached to his bar application
attesting to his good moral character. During the Committee
hearing, Hale presented the testimony of attorney Brian
McPheters, who had employed Hale as a law clerk.
McPheters vouched for Hale’s honesty, integrity, candor,
industriousness, conscientiousness towards his work,
professional responsibility, and trustworthiness. Mr. Hale
also presented testimony from his father, several
acquaintances within his religious/political movement, and
members of his church who testified that Mr. Hale is a man
of principled conviction, a man of honesty and integrity, is
loyal to his country and committed to the principles of the
United States Constitution, the Illinois Constitution and
Illinois law. The Committee did not challenge the credibility
of Hale’s character witnesses.

elt ad ARRAS AUR PN Godelier Ss

4
‘
:
2
4
3
3
4

3

Mr. Hale testified that he is now and always has been
willing to swear to protect and defend both the United States
Constitution and the Constitution of the State of Illinois and
to protect, defend, and comply with the laws of the State of
Illinois and professional rules of the Illinois Bar. Mr. Hale
testified that he would abide by all laws and regulations
respecting all rights of minorities. Mr. Hale testified that he
would work within the system to change the laws with which
he personally disagrees, but rejects unlawful and violent
action as a means of social change.

The Committee called no witnesses.

B. The Committee’s rejection of Hale turned on his
religious and political beliefs.

The Committee extensively cross-examined Hale about
his beliefs.' The Committee repeatedly challenged Hale
whether his beliefs were consistent with the duties and
responsibilities of lawyers. Hale candidly admitted his
rejection of racial equality, that he is publicly opposed to
the current judicial interpretation of the Equal Protection
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, and that he would
work peaceably and within the system to change the laws to
conform to his own view of racial politics. The Committee
reminded Hale that his beliefs were controversial and asked
for assurance that Hale could comply with his professional
responsibilities, given his beliefs. In his closing argument,

l. See, e.g., Question of Member Perrington: “I’m still not clear
on what you say you believe in and what yqu do and let me ask you
a couple of questions to see if I can help clarify that.” Transcript,
p. 233. Statement of Chairman Lustfeld: “This is really not about
your beliefs except as they might be indicative of your character
and fitness to be a member of the Bar.” Transcript, p. 239.

4

the Committee’s counsel urged the Committee to exclude
Hale from the bar because of his failure to understand that
all men are created equal.

The Committee’s written opinion turned upon its
conclusion that “Mr. Hale’s long standing and strongly held
beliefs are diametrically opposed to the letter and spirit of
[Illinois Bar] Rule 8.4(a)5.” The Committee limited its
discussion of Mr. Hale’s history to three prior acts of
advocacy, specifically relying upon: the Roberson letter; the
order of protection entered against Hale for offensive speech;
and Hale’s academic probation for distributing racist flyers.

The Roberson letter was written by Hale in response to
a newspaper editorial regarding affirmative action. The letter
concluded:

When the Hell are people of your ilk going
to face the fact that the nigger race is inferior in
intellectual capacity? You have examples all
around you and yet you continue to cling to the
misbegotten equality myth, which is not only
destroying our universities but also our whole
country. Is it going to take your rape at the hands
of a nigger beast or your murder before you
become aware of the problem?

The letter addressed Hale’s vehement objection to race-
mixing: the core concern of his political and religious
movement. Hale testified that the letter was written in a
personal and private capacity. In response to the Committee’s
question as to whether he would write such a letter as a
lawyer, Hale replied that “(t]here’s a difference between a
lawyer or party and a personal letter to someone else... .

secenienieeiieiiaiiiibiitiiiiiaiaiaiiiiaaadl

ILE LLL LLL LLL, ALT

5

The rules of professional responsibility, 1 don’t think, apply
to a fellow in his own house writing his own letter to
somebody, to something completely unrelated to law.”

The order of protection was entered ex parte against Hale
and rested solely on the allegation that Hale had, ina strictly
private context and on a single instance, called the
complainant a “mongrel” and a “bitch.” There is no allegation
that this incident represents a pattern of behavior. Further,
there is no allegation: of physical violence or threatening
conduct. The Committee did not indicate that this trivial and
isolated incident would serve as grounds for exclusion apart
from the inflammatory racial rhetoric.

The Committee also cites an academic probation
imposed because Hale distributed racist flyers without prior
approval of the school administration. There is no allegation
that this incident, divorced from the content of Hale’s speech,

would serve as independent grounds for exclusion from the
bar.’

The Committee does not claim that any of these incidents
constitute fighting words, a sanctionable threat of violence,
or, in the applicable context, a violation of any law or
professional rule. The Committee’s objection is to the
offensiveness of the speech content.

2. Hale was examined regarding his appearance at a prayer
breakfast, where he was alleged to have given a Nazi-like salute.
Hale was also examined regarding an obstruction of justice charge
of which he was ultimately exonerated. The Committee did not cite
cither incident in its opinion as a basis for Hale’s exclusion.

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Illinois Bar Committee on Character and Fitness
holds that the content of Hale’s political and religious speech
and beliefs may be used as a basis for excluding him from
the practice of law. In a time when political correctness runs
rampant through our government and academia, and political,
social and religious litmus tests are becoming the norm for
appointment to the Bench, the need for guidance from this
Court is acute. The issues raised herein rest squarely on
Federal Constitutional issues and cannot be resolved on
independent state grounds. This case is a timely and rare
opportunity to provide that guidance, since the opinion of
the Committee, adopted by the Illinois Supreme Court, rests
on Petitioner’s advocacy of politically unpopular beliefs and
speech, conducted entirely outside the scope of any
professional legal relationship. Moreover, the decision below
is an important federal question decided in a way that
conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.

THE DECISION OF THE ILLINOIS COMMITTEE ON
CHARACTER AND FITNESS CONFLICTS WITH
RELEVANT DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

A. The Bar may not exclude Petitioner from the practice
of law on the basis of his beliefs.

Freedom to believe what one will “is absolute.” Cantwell
v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 303, 60 S. Ct. 900, 903, 84
L. Ed. 123 (1940). The state may not constitutionally
condition admission to the Bar upon the applicant swearing
allegiance to social and political principles and professing
them as his own. “If there is any fixed star in our
constitutional constellation, it is that no official high or petty,

Se Se Le Ne

-

can prescribe what shall be orthodox in politics, nationalism,
religion or other matters of opinion or force citizens to
confess by word or act their faith therein.” West Virginia
State Board of Education vy. Barnette, 314 U.S. 624, 642. 63
S. Ct. 1178, 1187, 87 L. Ed. 1628 (1943). Since Bar
admission committees are prohibited from inquiring “about
a man’s views and associations solely for the purpose of
withholding a right or benefit because of what he believes,”
Baird v. State Bar of Arizona, 401 U.S. 1,7, 91 S. Ct. 702,
706, 27 L. Ed. 2d 639 (1971), they should equally be
prohibited from barring an applicant on the basis of his
known beliefs.

The Committee cannot evade the constitutional
proscription against punishing beliefs by claiming Mr. Hale’s
beliefs will likely lead him into conduct violative of the
professional rules, see Bond v. Floyd, 385 U.S. 116, 87
S. Ct. 339, 17 L. Ed. 2d 235 (1966), in which this Court
rejected as unconstitutional the Georgia House of
Representatives’ exclusion of Julian Bond on the supposition
that Mr. Bond’s prior speech demonstrated that he would be
unable to uphold the oath of office.

As in Bond, the speech punished herein is at the core of
the protection afforded by the First Amendment. The
Committee has made it clear in its opinion that Hale is being
excluded expressly because the political, social and religious
convictions he expresses offend the Committee’s notions of
fairness and justice. The Inquiry Panel enumerated
“Fundamental Truths” to which the Bar was committed: those
at odds with those fundamental truths cannot be admitted as
an officer of the court. If the Bar is allowed to establish such
orthodoxy of belief in this case, what will prevent the bar
from establishing orthodox views on other social and

8

constitutional issues such as abortion or state/s rights? “The
very purpose of the Bill of Rights was to withdraw certain
subjects from the vicissitudes of political controversy, to
place them beyond the reach of majorities and officials and
to establish them as legal principles to be applied by the
courts.” Barnette, id. 319 U.S. at 638, 63 S. Ct. at 1185.

B. The Bar cannot exclude Petitioner on the basis of his
political and religious speech.

Lawyers do not relinquish their constitutional rights as
a condition of practicing law. /n Re Primus, 436 U.S. 412,
98 S. Ct. 1893, 56 L. Ed. 2d 417 (1978). The Illinois Bar
does not, and cannot, assert a compelling governmental
interest unrelated to the suppression of expression to sanction
the exercise of First Amendment activities wholly unrelated
to the practice of law. Gentile v. State Bar of Neveda, 501
U.S. 1030, 111 S. Ct. 2720, 115 L. Ed. 2d 888 (1991). The
assertion that the Rules of Professional Conduct constrain a
lawyer’s beliefs and speech in every aspect of his life is
astonishingly overbroad and cannot survive strict scrutiny.

C. The Committee’s definition of good moral character
to include Petitioner’s beliefs and advocacy is
overbroad, intrudes into First Amendment protected
areas, and violates the equal protection and due
process clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The term “good moral character” is “[s]uch a vague
qualification, which is easily adapted to fit personal use and
predilections, [it] can be a dangerous instrument for arbitrary
and discriminatory denial of the right to practice law.”
Konigsberg v. State Bar of California, 353 U.S. 252, 262-3,
77S. Ct. 722, 728, 1 L. Ed. 2d 810 (1957). The Committee’s

Biba Phares Re LT SRD ease eee

9

attempt to define beliefs and advocacy as the basis of good
moral character was rejected in Schware vy. Board of Bar
Examiners, 353 U.S. 232,778. Ct. 752, 1 L. Ed. 796 (1957).
“Mere unorthodoxy in the field of political and social ideas
does not as a matter of fair and logical inference, negate
good moral character.” /d. at 353 US. 232, 244, 77S. Ct.
752, 759 (internal brackets and quotations removed).

THIS ISSUE IS IMPORTANT BECAUSE THE

ATTEMPT TO ENFORCE POLITICAL ORTHODOXY

PRESENTS A DANGER TO THE VITALITY AND
INDEPENDENCE OF THE BAR.

The imposition of politically acceptable beliefs and
advocacy as a precondition to Bar membership directly
undermines the core protection of beliefs and advocacy
afforded by the First Amendment. Justice Black’s admonition
in Wadmond is not stripped of its wisdom merely because it
appears in a dissent: “To force the Bar to become a group of
thoroughly orthodox, time-serving, government-fearing
individuals is to humiliate and degrade it.” Law Students
Civil Rights Council, Inc. y. Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154, 181.
91S. Ct. 720, 735 (1971) (Black, dissenting).

10

CONCLUSION

For these compelling reasons of constitutional
importance, the Court should grant this Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT HERMAN ANITA RIVKIN-CAROTHERS
Counsel of Record. 33 North LaSalle
SCHWARTZ, HERMAN & Davipson Suite 3300

University Club Tower Chicago, IL 60602

1034 South Brentwood Blvd. (312) 641-2901

Suite 1800

St. Louis, MO 63117
(314) 862-0200

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A— LETTER ORDER OF THE SUPREME
COURT OF ILLINOIS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1999

SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS
SUPREME COURT BUILDING
SPRINGFIELD 62701

* * *

November 12, 1999

Mr. Robert Herman
Schwartz, Herman and Davidson

1034 South Brentwood Boulevard
Suite 1800

St. Louis, MO 63117
TODAY THE FOLLOWING ORDERS WERE ENTERED:
M.R.16075 - In re: Matthew F-. Hale, petitioner.

Petition by Matthew F. Hale. pursuant to.
Supreme Court Rule 708(d), requesting a full
review by the Illinois Supreme Court of the
findings and conclusions of the Character and
Fitness Committee dated June 30, 1999, and
a request for oral argument. Motion denied.

Order entered by the Court.
Motion by petitioner for leave to file reply to
Character and Fitness Committee’s response.

Motion denied.

Order entered by the Court.

2a

Appendix A

MISCELLANEOUS RECORD

M.R.16075

In re: Matthew F. Hale, petitioner.

Petition by Matthew F. Hale, pursuant to
Supreme Court Rule 708(d), requesting a full
review by the Illinois Supreme Court of the
findings and conclusions of the Character and
Fitness Committee dated June 30, 1999, and
a request for oral argument. Motion denied.

Order entered by the Court.

Motion by Committee on Character and
Fitness for leave to supplement the record
instanter with a proffer and argument
concerning events occurring after the Hearing
Panel’s decision. Motion denied.

Order entered by the Court.

Motion by Illinois State Bar Association
(ISBA) for leave to participate as amicus
curiae and to file instanter brief amicus curiae
in support of the Illinois Supreme Court’s
Committee on Character and Fitness. Motion
denied.

Order entered by the Court.

Motion by petitioner for leave to file reply to
Character and Fitness Committee’s response.
Motion denied.

Order entered by the Court.

— Pee

—— tid oe ee

eee

, 3a

APPENDIX B — JUSTICE HEIPLE DISSENT
FROM SUPREME COURT ORDER

M.R. 16075
In re MATTHEW EF. HALE, Petitioner.
JUSTICE HEIPLE, dissenting:

Petitioner Matthew F. Hale applied for admission to
practice law in Illinois. The Committee on Character and
Fitness concluded that his application should be denied.
Petitioner now asks this court to review the Committee’s
decision. Thus, the question before the court at this juncture
is not whether petitioner should be licensed to practice law.
The question, rather, is whether the Supreme Court should
consider his appeal. Because the petition raises questions of
constitutional significance that should be resolved openly

by this court, | dissent from the majority's refusal to hear
this case.

The crux of the Committee’s decision to deny
petitioner's application to practice law is petitioner's open
advocacy of racially obnoxious beliefs. The Hearing Panel
found that petitioner's “publicly displayed views are
diametrically opposed to the letter and spirit” of the Rules
of Professional Conduct. The Inquiry Panel found that, in
regulating the conduct of attorneys, certain “fundamental
truths” of equality and nondiscrimination “must be preferred
Over the values found in the First Amendment.” Petitioner
contends that the Committee’s use of his expressed views to

justify the denial of his admission to the bar violates his

constitutional rights to free speech. That constitutional
question deserves explicit, reasoned resolution by this court.

4a
Appendix B

Instead, the court silently accepts the conclusion of the
Committee, which asserted that “[t]his case is not about Mr.
Hale's First Amendment rights.” To the contrary, this case
clearly impacts both the first amendment to the federal
Constitution and article I, section 4, of the Illinois
Constitution.

In addition, the Committee’s ruling on petitioner’s
application presents a second important issue which this court
should address. The Committee seems to hold that it may
deny petitioner's application for admission to the bar without
finding that petitioner has engaged in any specific conduct
that would have violated a disciplinary rule if petitioner were
already a lawyer. The Committee merely speculates that
petitioner is “on a collision course with the Rules of
Professional Conduct” and that, if admitted, he will in the
future “find himself before the Attorney Registration and
Disciplinary Commission.” I believe this court should
address whether it 1s appropriate for the Committee to base
its assessment of an applicant’s character and fitness on
speculative predictions of future actionable misconduct.

The question also arises: If all of petitioner’s statements
identified by the Committee had been made after obtaining
a license to practice law, would he then be subject to
disbarment? That is to say, is there one standard for
admission to practice and a different standard for continuing
to practice? And, if the standard is the same, can already-
licensed lawyers be disbarred for obnoxious speech?

The Illinois Supreme Court is the licensing authority for
all Illinois lawyers. Its rules cover all aspects of admission

A RSE SS Sete BASIS HR TE RNR ERD

SED ASP sy

basiiaadabepidsst Secas

pte

RESID Er SOE TG ONL Sa OR dlancen hea

Sa

Appendix B

to the bar and professional conduct thereafter. It has the
power to license, regulate, and to disbar. The issues presented
by Mr. Hale’s petition are of such significant constitutional
magnitude that they deserve a judicial review and
determination by this court.

For the reasons given, | respectfully dissent from the
denial of the petition for review.

6a

APPENDIX C — FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS OF
THE COMMITTEE ON CHARACTER AND FITNESS
OF THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS FOR THE
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT DATED APRIL 10, 1999

BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON
CHARACTER AND FITNESS
SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

In Re: Application of Matthew F. Hale
Commissioners present: Gordon L. Lustfeldt

Thomas Dunn

Clark Erickson

Charles Marshall

L. Lee Perrington
Hearing date: April 10, 1999

Counsel for Applicant: Robert Herman

Counsel adverse to

Applicant: George Murtaugh
Decision: Not recommended for certification
Vote: 5 no; 0 yes

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

A hearing was held April 10, 1999 at the Will County
Courthouse. All the above listed persons were present,
pursuant to prior notice. The hearing was open to the public,

SN es ey oe ee dan

dala Nattide wis bikifate 2s Sees

7a

Appendix C

at the applicant’s request. Due to the illness of Committee
member Louis Bertani, L. Lee Perrington, a member of the

Second District Character and Fitness Committee, was
substituted, without objection.

The commissioners (hereinafter referred to as the panel),
heard the evidence and arguments of counsel. At the
conclusion of the April 10 hearing, counsel for the applicant
requested an opportunity to file briefs, which was allowed
without objection. The panel has considered the briefs
submitted by both sides. The panel also granted the motion
of the American Civil Liberties Union of Illinois to file an
amicus curiae brief, and has considered same.

Because counsel were allowed a total of 20 days after
the hearing to submit briefs, there was no way the panel could
vote within 21 days of the hearing. Therefore, after allowing
the filing of briefs, the panel decided to defer their vote for
an additional 21 days, pursuant to Rule 5.3(e) of the Rules
of Procedure for Character and Fitness Committees. This
was known by the parties at the conclusion of the April 10
hearing. The members of the panel later conferred within

the period set by the Rules, and voted prior to the end of the
extended voting period.

This case is not about Mr. Hale’s First Amendment
rights. He is certainly entitled to his own beliefs, and the
free expression thereof. The issue here is whether Mr. Hale
possesses the requisite character and fitness for admission
to the practice of law. The applicant has the burden of proving
by clear and convincing evidence that he has the requisite

Sa
Appendix C

_character and fitness to be admitted to the practice of law.
(Rule 4.1, Rules of Procedure; /n Re Loss 119 Ill. 2d 186
(1987)).

. Having considered all the evidence, and having observed
the witness® testimony, including that of the applicant, it 1s
the unanimous decision of this panel that the applicant has
not met his burden of proof, and that he should not be
recommended tor certification. While relying on the entire
record in support of its decision, the panel specifically notes
the tollowing:

|. The applicant expressed no difficulty in taking the
necessary oath to become an attorney. However, a
Willingness to take the oath does not end our inquiry.
Attorneys are also required to comply with the Illinois Rules
of Professional Conduct (Article VIII, Supreme Court Rules).
It is axiomatic that an applicant who will not or cannot abide
by the Rules of Professional Conduct, should not be admitted
to the bar. Such a person will quickly run afoul of these rules,
often leaving a victim in his wake. Having considered the
evidence, and having observed Mr. Hale's testimony, the
panel tinds that he has failed to show that he will abide by
the Rules of Professional Conduct.

In the first instance, Mr. Hale has an incorrect view as
to the application of the Rules to his behavior. The substance
of his testimony was that he believed these rules only applied
to him when he was actually working as a lawyer, and not at
any other time. This view is, of course, incorrect. The Rules
of Professional Conduct govern the conduct of lawvers in
all their actions. Many attorneys have been disciplined over

CD Rta De ab FeO i CNY

ohare) pe tew ey

ltl

heh dlnsie tree ah

:
4
:
E |
a |
:

9a
Appendix C

the years for actions outside of traditional legal activities.
ven more troubling to the panel is Mr. Hale's belief that he
alone will decide when the rules applied to him, and when
they didn’t. |

Mr. Hale also made the statement (Hearing Transcript,
p.269-270) that the Rules of Professional Conduct
(specifically Rule 8.4(a)5 which forbids adverse
discriminatory treatment of others) did not apply to his
“private behavior in the exercise of his religion”. In other
words, 1f Mr. Hale believed that what he was doing was in
the exercise of his religion (as determined by himself) then
the Rules of Professional Conduct would not apply to him.
Mr. Hale’s own words lead to the conclusion that he intends
to follow the Rules only when he feels like it, and feels free
to disregard them at any time, as he deems necessary.

Rule $.4(a)5 of the Rules of Professional Conduct states
as tollows:

(a) A lawyer shall not:

(5) engage in conduct that is prejudicial to
the administration of justice. In relation thereto,
a lawyer shall not engage in adverse
discriminatory treatment of litigants, jurors,
witnesses, lawyers, and others, based on race, sex,
religion, or national origin. This subsection does
not preclude legitimate advocacy when these or
similar factors are issues in the proceeding;

10a
Appendix C

Mr. Hale is the leader of an organization called the
Worldwide Church of the Creator. In this capacity he
maintains and supports an Internet website which details his
views. Mr. Hale’s publicly displayed views are diametrically
opposed to the letter and spirit of Rule 8.4(a)5. One document
that Mr. Hale believes in is entitled “The Sixteen
Commandments of Creativity”. This document ts part of the
record herein. Commandment 4 states: “The guiding
principle of all your actions shall be: What 1s best for the
White Race?”. Commandment 6 states: “Your first loyalty
belongs to the White Race.” Commandment 7 states: “Show
preferential treatment in business dealings with members of
your own race. Phase out all dealings with Jews as soon as
possible. Do not employ niggers or other coloreds.”. In
another document on his website entitled “The Essence of
the one and only true White Racial Religion — Creativity”
he states: “What is good for the White race 1s the highest
virtue; What is bad for the White Race is the ultimate sin”.

Mr. Hale’s long standing and strongly held belicfs are
in absolute contradiction to the letter and spirit of Rule
8.4(a)5. He is absolutely entitled to hold these beliefs, but at
the same time the public and the bar are entitled to be treated
fairly and decently by attorneys. The question before this
panel is whether Mr. Hale can put aside his beliefs and
comply with the Rules of Professional Conduct.

Mr. Hale’s statement that he can comply with the Rules,
cannot be the end of the inquiry. If it is, then there is no
need for a Character and Fitness hearing; the applicant's
statement 1s conclusive. This panel believes that where there
is evidence of other character and fitness problems that an

Appendix C

inquiry into whether the applicant can comply with the Rules
of Professional Conduct is justified. The panel is aware of
the United States Supreme Court cases cited by the applicant
on this issue, but in all of them there was no evidence of bad
character of the applicant; there is such evidence in this case
(eg. academic probation, an Order of Protection, the
Roberson letter). Under such circumstances, Mr. Hale cannot
wrap himself in the First Amendment and avoid any inquiry
into his character and fitness. Mr. Hale’s beliefs do not
exempt him from obeying the same rules as every other
attorney. '

Having considered the evidence, and after observing Mr.
Hale's testimony, the panel finds insufficient evidence that
he will uphold the Rules of Professional Conduct.

2. The panel is also concerned about a letter that Mr.
Hale sent to a Ms. Roberson on July 22, 1995. At that time,
Mr. Hale was a 24 year old college graduate, about to enter
law school that fall. The letter was in response to Ms.
Roberson’s published comments in support of Affirmative
Action programs. The actual letter is part of the record herein.
To say that the letter is insulting and totally inappropriate,
is to put it mildly. To suggest, as the applicant did in his
brief, that the letter does not contain “fighting words” and is
therefore protected from our scrutiny by the First Amendment
is simply erroneous.

Mr. Hale was questioned about the letter by the panel.
He had the chance to clearly and positively repudiate it, to
attribute it to youth, or poor judgment — he did not do so.
In fact, he stated that this letter, referring to Ms. Roberson’s

l2a
Appendix C

rape or murder at the hands of a “nigger beast” was not
beyond the pale of a letter a lawyer would write. (This
statement is contained on p. 243 of the transcript at lines 21
and 22. The word “payoff” on line 22 is incorrect, it should
be “pale of’). Mr. Hale also testified that he did not feel that
the reference to a rape or murder by a “nigger beast” was
insulting. (Transcript p. 217).

This statement shows a monumental lack of sound
judgment. This lack of judgment will surely set the applicant,
if admitted to the bar, on a collision course with the Rules of
Professional Conduct. Is there any doubt that a lawyer who
wrote such a letter would find himself before the Attorney
Registration and Disciplinary Commission? Yet, based on
the evidence, and his own statements it is clear to the panel
that Mr. Hale would do this kind of thing again if admitted
to the bar.

Finally, the panel believes that Mr. Hale was not candid
and open with the panel during the hearing. The panel heard
his testimony, but more importantly observed his demeanor
while testifying. There are many occasions in the record when
he answered a question with a question, or answered with a
speech or narrative which was not responsive to the question.
A good example of this lies in his testimony about his alleged
disruption of a prayer breakfast at Bradley University
(Transcript pp. 226-232; 245-247).

In the preamble to the Rules of Professional Conduct it
is stated: “The practice of law is a public trust. Lawyers are
the trustees of the system by which citizens resolve disputes
among themselves, punish and deter crime, and determine

ee ee ens

enn

i
3

I3a
Appendix C

their relative rights and responsibilities toward each other
and their government.” Because of the power and influence
that lawyers have over others, and because of their vital
position in our system of justice, there is a high standard for
admission to the bar, and the burden is on the applicant to
prove he should be admitted.

The panel has reviewed the entire record, and based on
that record, and in light of the foregoing finds that Mr. Hale
has not met his burden of proof and therefore has voted that
he not be recommended for certification.

l4a

APPENDIX D — DECISION OF INQUIRY PANEL OF
THE COMMITTEE ON CHARACTER AND FITNESS
OF THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS FOR THE
THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT
DATED DECEMBER 16, 1998

BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON
CHARACTER AND FITNESS
FOR THE THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT OF THE
SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

IN THE MATTER OF:

THE APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR
OF MATTHEW F. HALE

DECISION OF INQUIRY PANEL
Introduction

Matthew F. Hale has applied for admission to the Bar of
Illinois after having passed its examination conducted in the
summer of 1998. Pursuant to Rule 5.la of the Rules of
Procedure for the Committees on Character and Fitness his
application was referred to a member of the Third District
Committee for consideration. After reviewing the application
that member was not prepared to recommend the certification
of Mr. Hale to the Illinois Board of Admissions.

Accordingly, pursuant to Rule 5.2a, the Chairperson of
the Third District Committee assigned the application to this
Inquiry Panel for further review and examination. Because
a majority of the members of the Inquiry Panel have voted
to withhold the certification of the applicant, the matter will

1

pe Re ee a hae

15a

Appendix D

now be referred to a Hearing Panel pursuant to Rule 5.3a. In
declining to certify the applicant and thereby causing the
matter to be referred to a Hearing Panel, we are setting forth
our reasons for this decision in some detail.

Rule 4.1 of the Rules of Procedure places the burden on
the applicant to prove by clear and convincing evidence that
he has the requisite character and fitness for admission to
the practice of law. Nonetheless, the denial of a request for
admission results in serious adverse consequences for the
applicant, as noted by the United States Supreme Court in
Konigsberg v. State Bar of California, 353 U.S. 252.
257-258, 1 L Ed. 2d 810, 816, 77 S.Ct. 722 (1957):

The Committee’s action prevents him from
eaming a living by practicing law. This deprivation
has grave consequences for a man who has spent
years of study and a great deal of money in
preparing to be a lawyer.

Additionally, as discussion will demonstrate, the reasons
for our decision relate to the applicant’s active advocacy of
his core beliefs. When an issue of that type is injected into
the reasons for denial of certification, “a heavy burden lies”
upon the State to demonstrate that “‘a legitimate state interest”
is sought to be protected. Baird y. Arizona, 401 U.S. 1, 6-7,
27 L.Ed. 2d 639, 647, 91 S.Ct. 702 (1971). Under these
circumstances, the reasons for voting to deny certification
Should be carefully explained.

There is an additional reason for carefully explaining
the Inquiry Panel’s decision in advance of an opinion to be

16a

Appendix D

issued by the Hearing Panel. While the Hearing Panel may
well develop in greater detail the evidence which will inform
its decision, based upon a review of the applicant’s record
to date, our expectation is that the evidence will be largely
undisputed, and that the ultimate decision will rest primarily
upon an analysis of constitutional principles, as well as the
role of courts and the Bar in American society and our system
of government. Therefore, an early start at a discussion of
these overarching issues 1s appropriate.

The Facts

Matthew F. Hale 1s 27 years old, attended undergraduate
school at Bradley University in Peoria and received a J.D.
degree in 1998 from Southern Illinois University School of
Law at Carbondale. By his frank admission he is an avowed
racist who, since his teenage days, has been actively involved
in promoting white supremacy through organizations and by
the distribution of literature. This literature portrays blacks,
Jews, and other minorities in an extreme negative light.
Attached to this decision is a short autobiography of Mr.
Hale.

Mr. Hale is currently the head of an organization called
the World Church of the Creator which is claimed to be a
religious organization. His title as head of this church is
Pontifex Maximus (Supreme Leader). In the attached
autobiography, Mr. Hale has stated that “he would dedicate
his life to Creativity,” referring to the World Church of the
Creator. This religion, according to its founder, Ben Klassen,
has as one of its major tenets the hatred of Jews, blacks and
other colored people.

17a

Appendix D

Mr. Hale’s church admires Adolph Hitler and the
National Socialism movement as practiced in Germany,
except that it holds Hitler was mistaken in promoting only
German nationalism. Instead, his church believes that Hitler’s
ideas relating to racial superiority should have been applied
for the benefit of the entire “white race as opposed to just
Germans.

Mr. Hale and his church disavow violence and an
intention to seek the forcible overthrow of the United States
Government. However, Mr. Hale stated in his interview with
us that if his organization would gain power by peaceable
means it would call for the deportation of Jews, blacks and
others whom his church refers to as “mud races.” The United
States would then become a country for members of the
“white race” only.

The Inquiry Panel’s interview with Mr. Hale occurred
November 25, 1998. At that time, Mr. Hale was extremely
polite and answered all questions quite candidly. He is
intelligent and articulate. He stated that after becoming a
lawyer he would continue his activities as leader of his
church, including his distribution of racist literature. He also
plans to be active on the Internet to promote his church’s
racist views. (See p. 11, infra.)

On the issue of moral character, he argued that his frank
and open admission of the advocacy of racism shows greater
moral character than do lawyers and others who are in fact
racist but who utter such thoughts only in privacy.

18a
Appendix D

Mr. Hale was asked whether or not he could take the
oath to support the United States Constitution and the
Constitution of the State of Illinois in good conscience. See
705 ILCS 205/4. He unhesitatingly answered that he would
have no difficulty even though, based on his beliefs, he
obviously would be in substantial disagreement with current
interpretations of the constitutions. He likened his situation
to that of a judge or jury whose duty it is to follow the law
even though they may disagree with it.

In connection with the oath, he was shown Article 1,
§ 20 of the Constitution of the State of Illinois which
condemns “communications that portray criminality,
depravity or lack of virtue in, or that incite violence, hatred,
abuse or hostility toward, a person or group of persons by
reason of or by reference to religious, racial, ethnic, national
or regional affiliation.” In response, Mr. Hale said that to
the extent this Illinois constitutional provision limited
“communications,” it would run afoul of the First
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States and
therefore would not be binding on him. '

Additionally, Rule 8.4(a)(5) of the Rules of Professional
Conduct for lawyers was brought to his attention. Mr. Hale
was asked if he could abide by that rule if admitted to the
Bar. The rule, in part, states that a lawyer shall not

engage in conduct that is prejudicial to the
administration of justice. In relation thereto, a

1. This Illinois constitutional provision appears to be advisory
only and not susceptible of being violated.

19a

Appendix D

lawyer shall not engage in adverse discriminatory
treatment of litigants, jurors, witnesses, lawyers,
and others, based on race, sex, religion, or national
origin.

Again, Mr. Hale stated that he would have no problem
with following this rule, reaffirming his statements that he
would follow the law until such time as he could have it
changed by peaceful means. He also said that in a recent
employment in Champaign where he worked as a law clerk
for a few months, he dealt with black clients and engaged in
no acts of racism toward them. The accuracy of this statement
was confirmed by independent inquiry.

Analysis Of Moral Character

As noted, the applicant must establish his “good moral
character and general fitness to practice law” “by clear and
convincing evidence.” (Supreme Court Rules 708(b), 709(b)
and Rule 4.1 of Rules of Procedure of Committees on
Character and Fitness.) If these requisites may be established
by simply showing an absence of criminal conduct in the
past and having one or more persons vouch for one’s
character, Mr. Hale has established these requisites by clear
and convincing evidence.”

2. Mr. Hale was convicted of two city ordinance violations
related to the advocacy of his beliefs. The Inquiry Panel attaches no
significance to these convictions because countless individuals have
been admitted to the Bar with more serious criminal violations.
Additionally, the Inquiry Panel has doubts as to the legality or at
least the appropriateness of these convictions because they related
to the exercise of constitutionally protected activity and Mr. Hale
may have been selectively prosecuted on account of his views.

20a
Appendix D

On the other hand, if the lack of good moral character
and general fitness to practice law may be judged on the
basis of active advocacy that attempts to incite hatred of
members of various groups by vilifying and portraying them
as inferior and robbing them of human dignity, Mr. Hale has
not established good moral character or general fitness to
practice law. As indicated, Mr. Hale’s life mission is to bring
about peaceable change in the United States in order to deny
the equal protection of the laws to all Americans except
perhaps those that his church determines to be of the “white
race.” Under any civilized standards of decency,’ the
incitement of racial hatred for the ultimate purpose of
depriving selected groups of their legal rights shows a gross
deficiency in moral character, particularly for lawyers who
have a special responsibility to uphold the rule of law for all
persons.”

3. See references in the United Nations Charter and the UN’s
Universal Declaration of Human Rights at notes 8 & 9 on p. 13,
infra.

4. In the recent case of Jn re A.L., No. 3-98-96 (3rd Dist.
11/13/98), the Appellate Court cited bigotry as evidence of depravity
which has been defined as the opposite of good moral character.
See /n re Abdullah, 85 Il.2d 300, 53 Ill.Dec. 246, 248, 423 N.E.2d
915,917 (1991), which held that “depravity is ‘an inherent deficiency
of moral sense and rectitude.””

Bigotry, as well as evil generally, is bottomed on irrationality.

By contrast, our legal system is designed to produce rational results.
Individual rights are at the cornerstone of law and justice. These
rights are extolled in the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of
Rights and other documents cited in this opinion. In our courts, facts
(Cont'd)

2la

Appendix D

However, even if the Illinois standards for considering
moral character and general fitness to practice law allows
the Committee to make a determination in this manner, the
question remains as to whether or not denying certification
for admission to the Bar is constitutional on that basis.

The Constitutional Analysis

At an earlier time the Committee on Character and
Fitness might have desired to disqualify Mr. Hale on the
ground that, despite his statements to the contrary, his views
make it impossible for him to take the required oath “in good
conscience.” See, e.g., /n Re Anastaplo, 3 I\l.2d 471, 476,
121 N.E.2d 826 (1954) and Jn Re Latimer. 11 Ill.2d an,
336, 143 N.E.2d 20 (1957). Also see In Re Anastaplo,
18 Ill.2d 182, 163 N.E.2d 429 & 928 (1959), aff'd 366 US.
82, 6 L.Ed.2d, 135, 81 S.Ct. 978 (1961).

Moreover, the Membership Manual for his church, which
is on the Internet, describes 15 attributes of a church member
under a heading entitled, “The Essence of a Creator,” The

(Cont'd)

matter so that each individual is entitled to be rationally judged on
the particular circumstances of his or her case, with an impartial
application of the law to the facts.

But the applicant regards these considerations as irrelevant. All
that matters to him is whether someone is or is not a member of the
“white race,” as defined by his church. Such an irrational worship
of race for the ultimate purpose of determining legal rights is not
only depraved and immoral, but a rejection of all that law, lawyering
and judging is meant to accomplish.

22a
Appendix D

number I essence listed is that “A CREATOR puts loyalty
towards his own race above every other loyalty.”
(http://www.rahowa.com/manual.htm.) A reasonable
question for the applicant is what happens when that loyalty
conflicts with his oath to support the United States and
Illinois Constitutions?

Additionally, even though Mr. Hale claimed to be able
to abide by the Rules of Professional Conduct relating to
non-discriminatory treatment, his activities in this regard
arguably cast doubt on these representations. For example,
in 1995, only a few weeks before he started law school, he
wrote a letter to a woman who apparently had made
comments in the Peoria Journal Star on racial issues that
were contrary to his. In this letter he referred to “the nigger
race” as “inferior in intellectual capacity” and condemned
the “misbegotten equality myth” as “garbage” that was
“destroying” “our whole country.” (Emphasis in original.)
He also suggested that this woman’s rape or murder by a
“nigger beast” might enlighten her.

With the applicant capable of such outrageous and
intemperate conduct, one might have concluded thai he was
insincere when he said he could comply with the Rules of
Professional Conduct and conscientiously take the oath.
However, later cases of the United States Supreme Court
suggest that these very real questions about the applicant
might be a frail reed upon which to deny certification. See,
e.g., Bond v. Floyd, 385 U.S. 116, 132, 17 L.Ed.2d 235, 245,
87 S.Ct. 339 (1966) and Law Students Research Counsel v.
Wadmond, 401 U.S. 154, 163-164, 27 L.Ed.2d 749, 759, 91
S.Ct. 720 (1971), which appear to hold that once an oath to

23a

Appendix D

support the Constitution is taken, others cannot urge that it
was not taken sincerely.

| Finally, an applicant cannot be denied admission to the

| Bar on a ground formerly announced by the Illinois Supreme
Court — “that the practice of law is a privilege, not a right.7>~—
In Re Anastaplo, 3 11.2d 471 , 482 (1954). On the contrary,
the United States Supreme Court later stated that “the practice
of law is not a matter of grace, but of right for one who is
qualified by his learning and his moral character.” Baird y.
Arizona, supra, 401 U.S. 1 at 8, 27 L.Ed.2d 639 at 648.

Absolute First Amendment Rights vs. A Balancing Test

The easiest resolution of Mr. Hale’s application would
be to certify him. This would be in accord with the view that
the First Amendment is virtually absolute. By adhering to
such a view, line drawing problems and degree questions
are avoided, and as the dissenting opinion makes clear, the
analysis for reaching a decision can be simple and direct.

Certainly statements found in some Supreme Court
opinions, taken in isolation and withcut regard to the specific
facts of the cases, might support this view. For example, in
the bar admission case of Re Stolar, 401 U.S. 23, 28-29, 27
L.Ed. 2d 657, 663, 91 S.Ct. 713 (1971), it was stated that
the State cannot “penalize petitioner solely because he
personally . . . ‘espouses illegal aims.’ ”

Nonetheless, on balance, a majority of the Inquiry Panel
has concluded that the constitutional issues involving a case

24a
Appendix D

precisely like this one are open,°* and that the I]linois
requirement for moral character and general fitness to
practice law precludes the applicant from being certified,
(See Analysis of Moral Character, pp. 6-7, supra.)

The latest United States Supreme Court decisions
relating to bar admissions located by the Inquiry Panel are
over 25 years old. In 1971, the year of its most recent cases
on this subject, the Court characterized its earlier opinions
as containing “confusing formulas, refined reasonings, and
puzzling holdings.” Baird v. Arizona, 401 U.S. 1, 4, 27
L.Ed.2d 639, 645, 91 S.Ct. 702 (1971).

In that case, the Court, in a 5 to 4, split decision, held
that “a State may not inquire about a man’s views or
associations solely for the purpose of withholding a right or
benefit because of what he believes.” 401 US. 1 at 7,
27 L.Ed.2d 639 at 647. The Court also said in that case:

5. While First Amendment issues in this case are difficult and
troublesome, we don’t include “the free exercise” of “religion”
among them. Our decision would be the same if Mr. Hale professed
no religion, and his autobiography shows that his racist views
evolved long before he discovered the World Church of the Creator.
For an extensive discussion of the case law on the regulation of
conduct stemming from religious beliefs, see Employment Division
v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872, 108 L.Ed.2d 876, 110 S.Ct. 1595 (1990).
“Smith held that neutral, generally applicable laws may be applied
to religious practices even when not supported by a compelling
governmental interest.” City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, _,
138 L.Ed.2d 624, 635, 117 S.Ct. 2157 (1997). The latter case
invalidated the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993
(42 U.S.C. §§ 2000bb, et seq.) which had been enacted for the
purpose of overturning Smith.

25a

Appendix D

The First Amendment’s protection of
association prohibits a State from excluding a
person from a profession or punishing him solely
because he is a member of a particular political
organization or because he holds certain beliefs.
(Emphasis added.) 401 U.S. 1, at 6, 27 L.Ed.2d
639 at 646-647.

A similar result in another 5 to 4 decision was reached on
the same day in 1971 in the case of Re Stolar, 401 U.S. 23,
31, 27 L.Ed.2d 657, 665, 91 S.Ct. 713 (1971).

Neither of those decisions involved individuals who were
actively involved in inciting racial hatred and who had
dedicated their lives to destroying equal rights under law
that all Americans currently enjoy. On the contrary, the
applicants in those cases refused to reveal their views.

But in this case Matthew Hale has no interest in keeping
his views a secret. In a 1997 interview that appears on the
Internet, he said that “we have several websites going
now.... We are ... hoping to expand all these operations

. to give people full knowledge of Creativity ....”
(http://hatewatch.org/weotc/haleinterview.html.) And his
attached autobiography proclaims “that he looks forward to
leading Creativity to worldwide White Victory!”

The case of Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 362, 49 L.Ed.
247, 559, 96 S.Ct. 2673 (1976), laid down the following
formula for evaluating whether or not a public employee may
have his First Amendment rights curtailed:

26a
Appendix D

It is firmly established that a significant
impairment of First Amendment rights must
survive exacting scrutiny .... The interest
advanced must be paramount, one of vital
importance, and the burden is on the government
to show the existence of such an interest.

Assuming that the courts would apply the stringent Elrod
formula for public employees to bar admission cases,” we
believe that the impairment of First Amendment rights that
the Panel’s decision affects does survive exacting scrutiny
and that the interest advanced with respect to the role of the
legal profession, hereafter to be explained, is paramount. The
Supreme Court has also utilized a balancing test in public
employment cases.’ In Pickering v. Board of Education, 39]
U.S. 563, 568, 20 L.Ed.2d 811, 817, 88 S.Ct. 1731 (1968),
the Court said:

.. It cannot be gainsaid that the State has
interests as an employer in regulating the speech
of its employees that differs significantly from
those it possesses in connection with regulation
of the speech of the citizenry in general. The
problem in any case is to arrive at a balance

6. This formula appears to be in accord with the Supreme
Court’s statement in the bar admission case of Baird v. Arizona,
quoted at p. 2, supra.

7. Public employment cases, unlike bar admission cases,
usually arise where the party seeking relief already holds a
governmental position and is not applying for one. See, e.g., Perry
v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 33 L.Ed.2d 570, 92 S.Ct. 2694 (1972).

27a
Appendix D

between the interests of the teacher, as a citizen,
in commenting upon matters of public concern
and the interest of the State, as an employer, in
promoting the efficiency of the public services it
performs through its employees. (Emphasis
added.)

The Commitment Of The Bar To Fundamental Truths

The balance that the majority chooses requires that a
lawyer cannot, as his life’s mission, do all in his power to
incite racial and religious hatred among the populace so that
it will peaceably abolish the rule of law for all persons save
those of the “white race.” Instead, and by rejecting Matthew
Hale’s application, let it be said that the Bar and our courts
stand committed to these fundamental truths:

* All persons are possessed of individual dignity.’

* As a result, every person is to be judged on the basis
of his or her own individuality and conduct, not by reference
to skin color, race, ethnicity, religion or national origin.’

8. In condemning communications that incite racial hatred, the
Illinois Constitution, Article I, § 20, commences with the phrase,
“To promote individual dignity,....” Similarly, the United Nation’s
Charter refers to “the dignity and worth of the human person” and
the UN’s Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which was 50
years old this month, recognizes “the inherent dignity ... of all
members of the human family.”

9. The documents cited in the preceding footnote condemn
discrimination in all forms and in general echo our Declaration of
Independence which holds that “all men” have “certain unalienable
Rights,” like “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

28a

Appendix D

* The enforcement and application of these timeless
values to specific cases have, by history and constitutional
development, been entrusted to our courts and its officers
— the lawyers — a trust that lies at the heart of our system
of government.'®

¢ Therefore, the guardians of that trust — the judges
and lawyers, or one or more of them — cannot have as their
mission in life the incitement of racial hatred in order to
destroy those values.

Commencing with Jefferson’s ringing declaration that
all men are created equal, and continuing with the adoption
of our Constitution, the Emancipation Proclamation and the
Fourteenth Amendment, the moral, ethical and legal struggle
for the precious values contained in those writings has been
costly, difficult and long. The Bar and our courts, charged
with the duty of preserving those values, cannot allow Mr.
Hale or any other applicant the use of a law license to attempt
their destruction.

Finally, and this is the heart of our analysis, the
majority’s judgment is that to the extent its decision limits
the First Amendment activities of lawyers, the fundamental
truths identified above are so basic to the legal profession

10. The Preamble to the Illinois Rules of Professional Conduct
states that “The practice of law is a public trust.” The Preamble
later refers to lawyers “as officers of the court.” Both of these
concepts appear in Illinois Supreme Court cases throughout this
century. See, e.g., The People v. Payson, 215 Ill. 476, 486-487,
74 N.E. 383 (1905) and Jn re Both, 376 lll. 177, 182, 33 N.E.2d 213
(1941). Also see Justice Frankfurter’s statement above.

29a
Appendix D

that, in the context of this case, they must be preferred over
the values found in the First Amendment. The relationship
of the profession to those truths was eloquently described in
Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 US. 232, 246,
| L.Ed.2d 796, 806, 77 S.Ct. 752, 64 A.L.R.2d 288, 299
(1957), by the late Justice Felix Frankfurter in a concurring
opinion:

... all the interests of man that are comprised
under the constitutional guarantees given to “life,
liberty and property” are in the professional
keeping of lawyers.

The balance of values that we strike leaves Matthew Hale
free, as the First Amendment allows. to incite as much racial
hatred as he desires and to attempt to carry out his life’s
mission of depriving those he dislikes of their legal rights.!!
But in our view he cannot do this as an officer of the court.

A preference for antidiscriminatory values over the First
Amendment would not be new to Supreme Court decision
making. Only five years ago the Court unanimously rejected
First Amendment claims that “hate crimes” penalty
enhancement statutes were invalid. The Court described
Wisconsin’s statute:

11. Under the First Amendment, a state may not criminalize
Mr. Hale’s actions in preaching racial hatred “except where such
advocacy is directed to inciting or producing imminent lawless action
and 1s likely to incite or produce such action.” Brandenburg v. Ohio,
395 U.S. 444, 447, 23 L.Ed.2d 430, 434, 89 S.Ct. 1827 (1969).

30a

Appendix D

Thus, although the statute punishes criminal
conduct, it enhances the maximum penalty for
conduct motivated by a discriminatory point of
view more severely than the same conduct
engaged in for some other reason or for no reason
at all. Wisconsin v. Mitchell, 508 U.S. 476, 485,
124 L.Ed.2d 436, 445, 113 S.Ct. 2194 (1993).

Nonetheless, the Supreme Court had no difficulty in
finding the statute constitutional because “hate crimes” are
“thought to inflict greater individual and societal harm.” 508
U.S. 476 at 488, 124 L.Ed.2d 436 at 447. Arguably, the
rationale in this case for preventing the applicant from
becoming an officer of the Court is stronger than it was in
the “hate crimes” case.

CONCLUSION

The late Supreme Court Justice Robert Jackson,
America’s chief war crimes prosecutor at Nuremberg, wrote
during World War II in West Virginia Board of Education v,
Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 638, 87 L.Ed. 1628, 1638 (1943);

The very purpose of a Bill of Rights was to
withdraw certain subjects from the vicissitudes
of political controversy, to place them beyond the
reach of majorities and officials and to establish
them as legal principles to be applied by the
courts. One’s right to life, liberty, and property,
to free speech, a free press, freedom of worship
and assembly, and other fundamental rights may
not be submitted to vote; they depend on the
outcome of no elections.

31a
Appendix D

Jackson’s statement that the immutable principles of the
Bill of Rights are to be “applied by the courts” has
significance because “[{t]here ... comes from the [legal]
profession the judiciary.” /n re Anastaplo, 3 Ill.2d 471, 479,
121 N.E.2d 826 (1954). Mr. Hale’s life mission, the
destruction of the Bill of Rights, is inherently incompatible
with service as a lawyer or judge who is charged with
safeguarding those rights.

The quotation from Barnette is important for another
reason. Justice Jackson concluded that “fundamental rights
may not be submitted to vote.” But Mr. Hale wants to do
exactly that, and it is a chilling thought indeed, considering
that he and his church are admirers of Adolph Hitler, who
acquired his absolute power peacefully, “quite legally” and
“in a perfectly constitutional manner.”"””

12. The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, A History of Nazi
Germany, by William L. Shirer, Simon and Schuster, New York
1960, pp. 199 and 187.

For purposes of our discussion, we find no meaningful
difference between a destruction of the Bill of Rights that would
accompany an election, as opposed to one that would follow a
forcible overthrow of the government. As noted, Nazi Germany was
created legally, but the Soviet Union arose out of revolution.

Regardless, merely holding private theoretical beliefs favoring
either form of change is not a legal basis for disqualifying a bar
applicant. Again, see Baird v. Arizona, supra, and Re Stolar, supra.
Also see Keyishian v. Board of Regents of New York, 385 U.S. 589,
599-600, 17 L.Ed.2d 629, 638-639, 87 S.Ct. 675 (1967). However,
as Mr. Hale candidly admits, he has crossed a threshold from merely

(Cont'd)

324
Appendix D

If the civilized world had no experience with Hitler,
Matthew Hale might be dismissed as a harmless “crackpot.”
However, history teaches a different lesson. In his defining
study of Nazi Germany, William L. Shirer concluded his
discussion of Hitler’s death camps with the following
passage:

There were some ten million Jews living in
1939 in the territories occupied by Hitler’s forces.
By any estimate it is certain that nearly half of
them were exterminated by the Germans. This was
the final consequence and the shattering cost of
the aberration which came over the Nazi dictator
in his youthful gutter days in Vienna and which
he imparted to — or shared with — so many of
his German followers."

(Cont'd)

believing to actively inciting racial hatred for the avowed purpose
of abolishing the Bill of Rights except for those of the “white race,”
and he plans to continue to do this as a lawyer.

Therefore, contrary to the dissent’s statement, the majority
decision does not require that future applications be scoured to
determine each applicant’s beliefs and opinions. Clearly, and as
discussed, the foregoing Supreme Court cases preclude such an
activity by a bar committee. Similarly, the majority concludes,
contrary to the dissent, that there is a significant qualitative difference
between a bar applicant who may disagree with some of our laws,
like the Dram Shop Act for example, and one whose life mission is
the incitement of racial hatred for the purpose of abolishing equal
justice under law — the very principle that the Bar and our courts
are charged with preserving.

13. /d., pp. 978-979.

33a
Appendix D

While Matthew Hale has not yet threatened to
exterminate anyone, history tells us that extermination is
sometimes not far behind when governmental power is held
by persons of his racial views. The Bar of IIlinois cannot
certify someone as having good moral character and general
fitness to practice law who has dedicated his life to inciting
racial hatred for the purpose of implementing those views.

Respectfully submitted this
16th day of December, 1998.

Judge Gregory McClintock,
Chairperson of Inquiry Panel

Stuart Lefstein,
Member of Inquiry Panel

34a
Appendix D
Dissenting Opinion

Matthew Hale, in his application and interview, plausibly
asserts he can hold racist views and practice law in
accordance with his oath as an attorney and there’s no
evidence of any conduct otherwise.

Until there is such conduct, the holding and even active
advocacy of beliefs, no matter how repugnant to current law,
cannot be the basis for denial of certification to an applicant
who will subscribe to the oath. All lawyers disagree with
some laws. Otherwise, character and fitness evaluations will
have to review the beliefs and scrutinize the papers, speeches
and opinions of every applicant to the bar. This type of
scrutiny is not a requirement. It is replaced by the applicant’s
promise to subscribe to the oath and to comply with the Code
of Professional Responsibility.

Time will tell if Matthew Hale can in fact practice law
in accordance with his oath while holding extremist views.
The Rules of the Attorney Registration and Disciplinary
Commission of the Illinois Supreme Court are the
profession’s and the public’s protection against any abuse.
That such abuse may occur is only speculation at this time.
Matthew Hale clearly understands the distinction.

Respectfully submitted this
16th day of December, 1998.

Lawrence W. Baxter,
Member of Inquiry Panel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_1021%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
