# Reply Brief — Tefel v. Reno

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0987%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 1228

## Text

> Court, U.S.
() | OP RTLED

MAY 2.6 “ns

IN THE
Supreme Court of the S
ROBERTO TEFEL, et al.,
} Petitioners,
v.
UNITED STATES,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITIONER’S REPLY IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

Of Counsel:

Ira J. Kurzban
KURZBAN, KURZBAN,
WEINGER & TETZELI
2650 S.W. 27” Ave.

2nd Floor

Miami, Florida 33133
(305) 444-0060

(305) 444-3503 (fax)

Robert E. Juceam*

Jay D. Majors

Gejaa Gobena

FRIED, FRANK, HARRIS,
SHRIVER & JACOBSON
1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Suite 800

Washington, DC 20004

(202) 639-7000

(202) 639-7003 (fax)

Counsel for the Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, DC 20005 (262) 682-9829

N

—

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. The Government’s Untested Appellate
Assertion That Some (But Not All) Of
The Class Representatives May Have
Individually Obtained Relief Is Irrelevant
And Does Not Denigrate The Continuing

Legal Importance Of This Class..................s000+
a. Under This Court’s Precedent,
The Claims Of The 40,000

Active And Justifiable Even If
Some Of The Individual Class
Representatives Have Been
SEPT siisciiibhienieiahdinddanneinilinnginenscnesen

They Have Raised A Valid Due-Process
_Claim Worthy Of This Court’s Review ..............

a. The Government’s Response Mis-

Benefit, Even If The Award

Already Paid Over $1.7 Million In
Fees And Had Abandoned Other
Claims For Relief

The Government’s Response Fails To
Overcome Petitioners’ Showing That
They Have Raised Valid Estoppel Claims

Worthy Of This Court’s Review............0-sse0

a. The District Court Expressly
Found That Petitioners Had
Demonstrated A Likelihood Of
Success On The Traditional
Elements Of Estoppel, And
The Eleventh Circuit Did Not

Showing (1) That The Eleventh
Circuit Erred In Concluding
That An Element Of
“Affirmative Misconduct” Was
Required By This Court’s
Precedent And (2) That It
Misapplied That Element In

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
‘ Page Number
Barrett v. United States, 423 U.S. 212 (1976)......c.cececscseoeee. 10
Connecticut Bd. Of Pardons v. Dumschat,

FE es Pe EOE) iitniistiiendibisihiltiscicniivtidcnictnccbtinnecustin 5,6
Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Envtl. Servs.

ER el Ae Oe hs GPF Cee acnserssevesosecencesocccseyecosnes 3
Office of Personnel Mgmt. v. Richmond,

FN AE ER IED hncktniisitsiiescbbtehiiatceesureninbiiioscbanntniianilicenais 9
Ponte v. Real, 471 U.S. 491 (1985)..........cccccccsssscssessssseceeeee 6
Shvartsman v. Apfel, 138 F.3d 1196 (7th Cir. 1998)............. 6
Soae v. Towa, 9 UB. FS (UGTS). vvsccvccccssssceccsssecsoosessocssrsee 2,3
United States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy,

EI: EN IIIT cieiiiscshicschciensddsanbhuedeniiniensesimensenocesicoce 6
United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974)...........cccsceeseeee 6

United States Parole Comm'n v. Geraghty,
DF AAR. FO CAPO ectthccininiitntbiensscibeendievesiiccosncssabcedss 2,3

ARGUMENT

The Government’s response largely ignores Petitioners’
showing that the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion (1) contradicts
prior rulings by this Court as to Petitioners’ due process
claim; (2) misapplies the estoppel precedent of this Court; and .
(3) conflicts with the estoppel jurisprudence of other Circuits.
Instead, the Government devotes the bulk of its brief to an
irrelevant discussion of the status of the individual claims of
the named class representatives. Petitioners are a certified
class of 40,000 plaintiffs, who continue to suffer the threat of
deportation and other related harms. The Government’s
suggestion that this Court’s certiorari review should turn upon
an examination of claims of certain of the class
representatives ignores this Court’s explicit precedent making
Clear that the claims of the class members survive the

resolution of any individual claims and remain
worthy of this Court’s review.

The Government’s attacks upon the substance of
Petitioners’ claims are no more well-grounded. Just as the
Eleventh Circuit did, the Government turns this Court’s
precedent on its head to suggest that it bars Petitioners’
procedural due process claim when in fact it squarely supports
it. As to Petitioners’ estoppel claim, the Government entirely
declines to address Petitioners’ rebuttal of the single basis on
which the Eleventh Circuit denied this claim. Moreover, it
simply ignores the conflicts in the law of estoppel arising
between the Eleventh Circuit’s application of the law and that
of several other Circuits.

1. The Government’s Untested Appellate Assertion That
Some (But Not All) Of The Class Representatives May
Have Individually Obtained Relief Is Irrelevant And Does

Not Denigrate The Continuing Legal Importantce Of This
Case.

The Government devotes the bulk of its response to a
suggestion that the validity of Petitioners’ claims is somehow

2

reduced because some (albeit unquestionably not all) of the
named class representatives allegedly may have been awarded
some form of relief. This contention is meaningless to this
Court’s decision to grant certiorari, because (1) the class’s
claims survive any individual relief to the named
representatives, and (2) the Government admits that some of
the named representatives have not resolved their claims.’

a. Under This Court’s Precedent, The Claims Of
The 40,000 Class Members Remain Fully Active
And Justiciable Even If Some Of The Individual
Class Representatives Have Been Mooted

Under the explicit precedent of this Court established in
Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975), the Government’s
remarks that relief may have been obtained by some of the
named class representatives are irrelevant to this Court’s
decision to award certiorari in this case. See Government
Response (“Resp.”) at 14-16. Sosna squarely held that an
action brought by a certified class of plaintiffs survives the
mooting of a named class representative’s claims. This Court
stated specifically that an Article III case or controversy “may
exist ... between a named defendant and a member of the
class represented by the named plaintiff, even though the
_claim of the named plaintiff has become moot.” Sosna, 419
US. Id. at 402. In United States Parole Comm'n v. Geraghty,
the Court extended the rationale of Sosna to cases in which
class certification has been denied. 445 U.S. 388, 404 (1980).
In this case, of course, the Petitioners constitute a duly
certified class, so the class’s claims plainly survive any
resolution of the individual representatives’ claims, under
Sosna. Moreover, even if the class certification is as flawed
as the Government alleges (but Petitioners dispute), this
Court’s holding in Geraghty unquestionably states that the

' Moreover, the Government’s remarks as to the relief obtained by
some of the named class representatives do not rely upon any evidence
properly introduced at trial. These assertions were only introduced as the
arguments of coumsel on appeal, and they thus carry no weight.

3

claims of the Petitioners’ class are still fully worthy of
certiorari.

This Court fecently reiterated the principles that
animated Sosna and Geraghty, noting that “a defendant
Claiming that its voluntary compliance moots a case bears tine
formidable burden of showing that it is absolutely clear the
allegedly wrongful behavior could not reasonably be-expected
to recur.” Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidiaw
Environmental Servs. (TOC), Inc., 120 S. Ct. 693, 709 (2000).
The Government has not even attempted to make any such
showing in this case. Plainly, the district court recognized
that the 40,000 Petitioners in the certified class faced
enormous harm beyond the individualized claims of the
named class representatives. It found “powerfully
persuasive” the claims detailed in its opinion as representing
“a cross-section of the Plaintiff class. There are thousands of
other cases that could be developed at the ultimate trial in this
case.” Petition Appendix (“Pet. App.”) B at 83a. That court
was fully aware that the relief afforded to some of the
individual named Petitioners is hardly indicative of the
treatment of the class as a whole. The district court
specifically found that “The Defendants have respectfully, but
forcefully, made it clear that they will continue to deport class
members.” Id. at 84a. Moreover, the class of 40,000
Petitioners has suffered other unredressed harms besides the
threat of deportation, in such forms as denial of access to
employment while proceedings were pending, expiration of
claims by aged-out parties, and inability to pursue claims or
benefits on behalf of family members.

Finally, Defendants’ arguments are an invitation to abuse
of the class action form. If they prevail, any defendant facing
class litigation could escape accountability to the class by
granting even small relief to the representatives.

4

b. As The Government Itself Concedes, At Least
Two Of The Individual Class Representatives
Indisputably Remain Active Plaintiffs

Even if the status of the individual class representatives’
causes of action were in some way relevant to the Court’s
decision to grant certiorari in this matter, it is clear from the
Government’s own brief that this point is a diaphanous issue.
Concededly, at least two of the named class representatives
have not obtained any form of relief from deportation. Resp.
at 14, 16.

Indeed, the district court had examined the claims of the
named class representatives at length in its opinion, including
one of the individuals whom the Government admits is stili
facing deportation, and found that each one had asserted valid
claims through which to seek suspension of deportation. Pet.
App. B at 74a-84a. The district court specifically described
the situation faced by Ms. Khadijeh Aidinezhad, One of the
two individual class representatives whose claims the
Government admits are still unquestionably unresolved and
unredressed. It noted that the “attorney for INS agreed that
Ms. Aidinezhad would suffer extreme hardship if deported to
Iran.” The district court further found that Ms. Aidinezhad
was an adequate class representative, because, inter alia,

. Aidinezhad is the sole care-giver and financial

vider to her 79-year-old mother, a U.S. resident .
. . Ms. Aidinezhad’s mother requires constant
medical attention and care and relies entirely on Ms.
Aidinezhad to provide her with basic necessities
and medicine . .. Ms. Aidinezhad hoped to continue
her education in the United States and complete her
master’s degree, an opt'on not available to women
in Irap.
If Ms. Aidinezhad is deported, she will lose the
chance to. continue her education, and more
importantly, her elderly and dependent mother will

—

5

lose the only financial support and care giver she
has.

Id. at 79a. There has been no showing that any of these facts
have changed. The same remains true for Subalecthumy
Vengadasalam, the other named class representative conceded
by the Government still to be in danger of deportation. See
Resp. at 19 n.13. Even if this Court were inclined to review
the status of the named class representative, the adequacy of
those representatives is not in doubt.
2. The Government’s Response Fails To Overcome
Petitioners’ Showing That They Have Raised A Valid
Due-Process Claim Worthy Of This Court’s Review

a. The Government’s Response Misstates The
Holding In Dumschat, Where This Court
Squarely Stated That Due Process Protection
Can Attach To The Right To Seek A Benefit,
Even if The Award Thereof Is Discretionary

The Government’s response attempts to craft a new due
process rule in conflict with this Court’s jurisprudence by ignoring
the clear language of Connecticut Bd. of Pardons yv.
Dumschat, 452 U.S. 458 (1981). Repeating the error made by
the Eleventh Circuit, the Government simply posits without
support the notion that, because Petitioners do not have a due
process right to obtain suspension of deportation, they must
therefore have no protectable right to seek suspension. Resp.
at 23. Dumschat, respectfully, reached precisely the opposite
conclusion.

As Petitioners noted in their Petition, the Court in
Dumschat affirmed the legal basis for distinguishing between
the right to receive relief and the property or liberty interest in
the right to seek relief: “We hold that the power vested in the
Connecticut Board of Pardons to commute sentences
conferred no rights on respondents beyond the right to seek
commutation.” Petition (“Pet.”) at 11; Dumschat at 467
(emphasis added). Petitioners further showed that, in so
ruling, Dumschat was one of a string of cases reaching

6

essentially this conclusion. Pet. at 11; United States ex rel.
Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260, 268 (1954); United
States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 695-69 (1974); Ponte v. Real,
471 U.S. 491, 498-99 (1985). The Government’s attempt to
distinguish some of these cases simply reiterates the same
fallacy it made in discussing Dumschat, by incorrectly
equating the right to obtain relief with the right to seek it.’
Resp. at 23 n.14.

Moreover, Petitioners demonstrated that the Eleventh
Circuit’s opinion was both contrary to all of these cases from
this Court and sharply at variance with cases from other
Circuits. Pet. at 13-14. The Government attempts to address
only a few of these cases and to distinguish them on factual
grounds, but it cannot escape the ciear holdings of these cases,
which harmonize with Dumschat.’

" For the same reason, the various cases cited by the Government in
support of the proposition that Petitioners have no due process right to
receive suspension of deportation are irrelevant to this Court’s decision as
to the granting of certiorari, because the right to receive suspension was
and is, simply, not the issue in either Dumschat or this case. See Resp. at
21-22.

‘ The only case that the Government cites for of its suggestion that

due process cannot attach to a right to seek a benefit is Shvartsman v.
Apfel, 138 F.3d 1196 (7th Cir. 1998). The Seventh Circuit’s opinion, of
course, is not controlling upon this Court, and it is significantly limited in
its analysis, insofar as it entirely fails to mention Dumschat or Ponte.
Nonetheless, even Shvartsman recognized that, upon a sufficient showing
of a property interest, due process protection can attach to particular
procedures for seeking benefits. Jd. at 1200. In that case, the plaintiffs
were not able to show any such property interest, whereas the Petitioners
in this case have presented considerable evidence of fees paid and
worthwhile claims relinquished in order to seek suspension.

siemens

7

b. As The Eleventh Circuit And The District Court
Found, The Petitioners’ Claim Sounds In
Procedural Due Process, Because The Harm
Stems From The Government’s Decision To

Assign A Different Legal Significance To The
Issuance Of An INS Order

The Government attempts to confuse the issue tendered
for this Court’s review by seeking, in contravention of the
findings of both the Eleventh Circuit and the district court, to
-characterize Petitioners’ due process claim as arising from
“substantive,” as opposed to procedural, due process. Resp.
at 21. On its face, this suggestion is belied by the facts of this-
case. Petitioners’ claims for relief, after all, arise from the
Government’s decision to assign a different legal significance
to the Government’s procedural act of sending an Order to
Show. Cause to Petitioners. Pet. App. B at 67a. In other
words, as the district court found, the due-process “analysis . .
.' turns on whether someone is served with a charging
document.” Id. This is plainly a procedural distinction.

The Eleventh Circuit reached the same conclusion and
squarely rejected the Government’s contention. The section
of its opinion dealing with Petitioners’ claims is entitled
“Procedural-Due-Process Ciaim,” and the first sentence
- thereof analyzes “the procedural component of the Fifth
Amendment’s Due Process Clause.” Pet. App. A at 24a, 27a,
28a.

c. The Statatory Change Referred To In The
Government’s Response Did Not Abrogate
Petitioners’ Property Interest, Because They Had
Already Paid Over $1.7 Million In Fees And Had
Abandoned Other Claims For Relief

The Government’s response attempts to suggest that
Petitioners have demonstrated no property interest protectable
by due process. Resp. at 24-25. The district court, however,
made extensive findings establishing protected property
interests. It found that, collectively, individuals in the plaintiff

8

class had paid the Government over $1.7 million in fees
seeking suspension of deportation, before the Government
changed the stop-time' rule and retroactively sought to bar
these Petitioners from pursuing relief. Pet. App. B at 64a. It
also found that many of the Petitioners abandoned other legal
claims in order to pursue suspension. For instance, the district
court noted with regard to one of the named class
representatives that “[bJefore the Immigration Judge reviewed
Ms. Aidenezhad’s application for asylum, Ms. Aidenezhad
withdrew her application for asylum and applied for and was
granted suspension of deportation.” Jd. at 79a. These
substantial payments and sacrifices, undertaken at the
Government’s encouragement, were held in the district court
to have vestec valuable property interests, protectable by
procedural due process, in the 40,000 individuals in the class.
Id.

3. The Government’s Response Fails To Overcome
Petitioners’ Showing That They Have Raised Valid
Estoppel Claims Worthy Of This Court’s Review

a. The District Court Expressly Found That
Petitioners Had Demonstrated A Likelihood Of
Success on The Traditional Elements Of
Estoppel, And The Eleventh Circuit Did Not
Disturb That Holding

The Government’s only response to the Petitioners’
arguments in favor of certiorari on their estoppel claim
attempts to raise an issue that even the Eleventh Circuit did
not find persuasive: the suggestion that the traditional
_elements of estoppel are not present. Resp. at 27-28. This
contention has no record support; the district court analyzed at
great length each of the elements traditionally necessary to an
estoppel claim and found that Petitioners had demonstrated a
likelihood of success on every element. Pet. App. B at 68a-
74a. The Eleventh Circuit apparently agreed, as it left these
findings undisturbed. See, e.g., Pet. App. A at 30a.

9

b. The Government’s Response Fails To Address
Petitioners’ Showing (1) That The Eleventh Circuit
Erred In Concluding That An Element Of
“Affirmative Misconduct’ Was Required By This
Court’s Precedent And (2) That It Misapplied That
Element In Conflict With The Law In Other Circuits

The Government apparently concedes the Petitioners’
central argument for certiorari on their estoppel claim by
offering no response. As Petitioners pointed out, the Eleventh
Circuit overturned the injunction as to Petitioners’ estoppel
claim on the sole grounds that, as a matter of first impression
in that Circuit, this Court’s jurisprudence required a showing
of “affirmative misconduct” to estop the Government. Pet. at
16. Despite the absence of any findings by the district court,
the Eleventh Circuit found that element lacking in this case as
a matter of law.

As a threshold matter, Petitioners demonstrated that this
Court’s precedent did not require “affirmative misconduct” by
the Government beyond the traditional elements of estoppel.
Pet. at 17. Rather, this Court has explicitly declined to adopt
an affirmative-misconduct element. Office of Personnel
Mgmt. v. Richmond, 496 U.S. 414, 421 (1990).

Even if some form of “affirmative misconduct” were
necessary to estop the Government as a general rule,
Petitioners further showed that the Eleventh Circuit’s
application of that element was both erroneous under the
circumstances of this case and in conflict with the manner in
which several other Circuits had applied it. The Government
did not address this point in its Response. Simply, the
Second, Third, and Ninth Circuits had defined “affirmative
misconduct” as including omissive conduct (such as the INS’
failure to advise the Petitioners in this case) where an
individual loses a right to benefits. See Pet. at 17-18. The
First and Ninth Circuits additionally based the determination
of affirmative misconduct upon a factual evaluation, which
the Eleventh Circuit ignored by ruling, in the absence of

10

factual findings by the district court, that affirmative
misconduct was not established as a matter of law. See Pet. at
19. Earlier, the. Seventh Circuit ruled that affirmative
misconduct may be found even if the Government did not
violate its own applicable regulations. See id. These variant
standards produce sharply differing results. They make
certiorari as to Petitioners’ estoppel claim appropriate in the
interest of clarity, fairness and uniformity. Barrett v. United
States, 423 U.S. 212, 215 (1976) (certiorari appropriate in
case revealing “overtones of conflict” among the Circuits).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and for all of the reasons set
forth in their Petition, Petitioners respectfully request that a
writ of certiorari be issued to the U.S. Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit.

Of Counsel:

Ira J. Kurzban
KURZBAN, KURZBAN,
WEINGER & TETZELI
2650 S.W. 27th Ave.

2nd Floor

Miami, Florida 33133
(305) 444-0060

(305) 444-3503 (fax)

DATE: May 26, 2000

11

Respectfully submitted,

Robert E. Juceam*

Jay D. Majors

Gejaa Gobena
FRIED, FRANK, HARRIS, |
SHRIVER & JACOBSON

1001 Pennsylvania Ave. NW

Suite 800 |
Washington, DC 20004 |
(202) 639-7000

(202) 639-7003 (fax)

Counsel for the Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0987%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
