# Amicus Curiae Brief — Green Tree Financial Corp.-Ala. v. Randolph

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0917%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 79

## Text

Supreme Court. U S
@, FILED
No. 99-1235

JUV 8 2ov0
CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Ani

GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CORP.—ALABAMA,
AND GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CORPORATION,
Petitioners,
V.

LARKETTA RANDOLPH,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ANN ELIZABETH REESMAN*

MCGUINESS NORRIS &
WILLIAMS, LLP

1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 789-8600

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Equal Employment Advisory
Council

June 2000 *Counsel of Record

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

——e

Fan Sig

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SARE OP TERRI voces ccdiiosessiinrccessennvecsovscesnais ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE o00....cccccceceseseee. 2
PUR MMOU TE COR” UES CAI oi ian ciscisiccnsecicusinesscceusees 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....0.......c.cccccccscsceseseseeees 4
PEE sonsciespincacnentcvatiniboucecsabebsigilintahicsenasiauiiak >

I. THE VIEW OF THE MAJORITY OF THE
CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS, THAT
AN ORDER COMPELLING ARBITRATION
IN AN “EMBEDDED” PROCEEDING IS
INTERLOCUTORY AND NOT AP-
PEALABLE, IS CORRECT AND SHOULD
BE ADOPTED BY THIS COURT...............0...- 5

Il. AN ARBITRATION AGREEMENT NEED
NOT ALLOCATE THE ARBITRATION
COSTS TO BE ENFORCEABLE .........0..0.0...... 9

A. The Federal Policy Favoring Arbitration
Requires That Doubts Be Resolved in
Favor of Enforcing an Agreement To
POI ciseehisnticsclctnstedbonesisnnislciascntettiwedenatieia: 9

B. It Is Common, and Appropriate, for an
Arbitration Agreement To Permit or
Require Cost-Sharing Among the Parties... 11

rN e schstnisisislibiaassicgnabuonicihiie dsccacwaiubiaadeienteanceiie 19

(i)

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
FEDERAL CASES Page
Cole v. Burns Int’l Sec. Servs., 105 F.3d 1465
(EPA, Ce Pee i eee passim
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500
21.2. de? CRIS ) vinctcestennetsasemetniaiiielolaiaonn 3, 5, 9, 10

Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Mkts., Inc., 167 F.3d
361 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 44

CEFF assscvessisonncnsspeticaldepeaieannamaiaiainmam tans ata a neaan tas 12, 19
Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) oo... 5,6
Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Inc., 170 F.3d 1 (Ast Cir. 1999) wo... 11,19
Shankle v. B-G Maintenance Mgmt. Inc., 163

BS LZ CRA, Fe dcntecnsniciontieecechteminics 11
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,

SEZ US. THAT I sn vvcitsiehiicsinsacibeinicannlteaeens 19

Williams v. CIGNA Fin. Advisors, Inc., 197 F.3d
752 (Sth Cir. 1999}, cert. denied, 120 S. Ct.

EDD GIO) vvcncenniicsssoutitcbiiatiialademmbtaiiataaadliar aides 12
STATUTES
Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967,
29 UA. GET OF R: snccnciaamitaiaeieen 2
Equal Credit Opportunity Act, 15 U.S.C.
B0 BOT LOPES acnicnccccsastpniceinabdtoatiaaalens: 3
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16 (1999
GE UD, FIO scsnnsirncoentniniinissnacharmuabiadaiataiae 4,5
F EBA in ] & cvcisnsranasiarsceecananmemaaie maaan 5-6
PUBL, GB 3 ORS ponrtcniabdemmnan 8
F ABA. & ON scnscrusnstinticinumaiicammemiiae catia 6-7
D USD.C, § FGGmpET) ate DD win sccatisticroenshecremneces 7
DUB A... G RGRAY iss cstecicicinliocinatanan. 8
DULL. § WEG eee vtecicetcctdancacnceetnees 8
F UBL. § Hi nnnncotsisneiiaguaetaiaeamaaen 4,7,8

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
eM I sas nse sriciecsishsinsnesehianavesiansicsnnsonons 7
a OP MI OD cs ausonisisndcanssnuvbnasssasnandnessiii 8
Ps Be ID enics.catinsicneainossiiniicabetiivmionavednasios 8

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
NPs UO OE BID. 5 isvescovsoncccsseserecsncrdvscnisianes 2, il
Truth in Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq. .... 3

MISCELLANEOUS

A Due Process Protocol for Mediation and
Arbitration of Statutory Disputes Arising Out
of the Employment Relationship, Dispute
Resolution Journal 37 (Oct-Dec. 1995)......... 12-13, 16

Alternative Dispute Resolution: Employers’
Experiences With ADR in the Workplace,
United States General Accounting Office,
GAO/GGD-97-157 (August 1997) oo... 17, 18

American Arbitration Association, National
Rules for the Resolution of Employment
Disputes (eff. January 1, 1999) woo. i4

Administrative Fee Schedule, .................0000.. 14-15

Commission on the Future of Worker-
Management Relations, U.S. Dept. of Labor
and U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Report and
Recommendations (December 1994) ................ 12
Employment Discrimination: Most Private-
Sector Employers Use Alternative Dispute
Resolution, United States General Accounting
Office, GAO/HEHS-95-150 (July 1995) .......... 17
Expanded Use of Alternative Dispute Resolution
in Programs Administered by the Department
of Labor, 62 Fed. Reg. 6690 (February 12,
iNT cil GibdladinuhiNihkahsiivichohiidshinninjimianiniakanseeasrakincrsees 16

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
JAMS Arbitration Rules and Procedures for
Employment Disputes (2000) .........:ccscceesceeeseees 15
JAMS Comprehensive Arbitration Rules and
PIE es nuntieicciestceisisictstennstaneubisnticcctinn 15

JAMS Minimum Standards of Procedural
Fairness Policy on _ Financial Services
PE SI satiiavictinicnnscteccmniietedeaen 15

JAMS Policy on Employment Arbitration —
Principles of Neutrality and Minimum
Standards of Procedural Fairness (2000) ........ 15, 16

National Academy of Arbitrators, “Guidelines on
Arbitration of Statutory Claims Under
Employer-Promulgated Systems” (May 21,

FPO D: scesisininssinisaicsnanenistpnliliabuaisieidiaaionei inicteatsnienitegiae 14

Russell Evans, Engalla vy. Permanente Medical
Group, Inc.: Can Arbitration Clauses in

Employment Contracts Survive a “Fairness”
Analysis, 50 Hastings L.J. 635 (March 1999) ... 18

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 99-1235

GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CORP.—ALABAMA,
AND GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Petitioners,
Vv.

LARKETTA RANDOLPH,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

The Equal Employment Advisory Council respectfully
submits this brief amicus curiae.’ The written consent of all
parties has been filed with the Clerk of this Court. The brief
urges reversal of the decision below and thus supports the
position of Petitioners before this Court.

‘

' Counsel for amicus curiae authored this brief in its entirety. No
person or entity, other than the amicus curiae, its members, or its counsel,
made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of the
brief.

,
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Equal Employment Advisory Council (EEAC) is a
nationwide association of employers organized in 1976 to
promote sound approaches to the elimination of
discriminatory employment practices. Its membership now
includes more than 325 of the nation’s largest private sector
companies, collectively providing employment to more than
17 million people throughout the United States. EEAC’s
directors and officers include many of industry’s leading
experts in the field of equal employment opportunity. Their
combined experience gives EEAC an unmatched depth of
knowledge of the practical, as well as legal, considerations
relevant to the proper interpretation and application of equal
employment policies and requirements. EEAC’s members
are firmly committed to the principles of nondiscrimination
and equal employment opportunity.

All of EEAC’s members are employers subject to the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA), as
amended, 29 U.S.C. § 621 et seq., Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII), as amended, 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e et seq., and other equal employment statutes and
regulations. Many of EEAC’s members have contracts with
their employees governing some or all terms and conditions
of employment. Some of these contracts include agreements
to arbitrate disputes arising out of the employment
relationship including statutory claims of discrimination.

EEAC’s members have an ongoing interest in preserving
the enforceability of agreements calling for arbitration of
employment-related disputes. Arbitration provides a fair,
efficient, and effective means of resolving discrimination
claims and other employment-related issues that otherwise
would clog the courts. Because of its interest in this subject,
EEAC has filed friend-of-the court briefs in numerous cases

3

supporting the enforceability of arbitration agreements, as
well as many other important issues of employment law.’

Thus, the issues presented in this appeal are extremely
important to the nationwide constituency that EEAC
represents. While the case arose in the context of a
commercial arbitration agreement, this Court’s decision is
likely to affect agreements to arbitrate employment-related
claims as well. EEAC thus has an interest in, and a
familiarity with, the legal and public policy issues presented
to the Court in this case. Because of its significant experience
in these matters, EEAC is uniquely situated to brief this Court
on the importance of the issues beyond the immediate
concerns of the parties to the case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Larketta Randolph financed her purchase of a
mobile home through Petitioner Green Tree Financial Corp.
—Alabama, which is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Petitioner
Green Tree Financial Corporation (hereinafter collectively
“Green Tree.”). Pet. App. 2a. Her retail installment contract
with the seller of the mobile home, which names Green Tree
as the assignee, provides for binding arbitration of “[aJll
disputes, claims, or controversies arising from or relating to
this Contract... .” Pet. App. 2a-3a.

Two years later, Randolph sued Green Tree, claiming (1)
that the financing documents violated the Truth in Lending
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seg. (TILA), because the required
TILA disclosure statement did not state that she was required
to obtain “vendor’s single interest insurance,” (2) that the
documents violated the Equal Credit Opportunity Act, 15
U.S.C. §§ 1691-1691f, by requiring arbitration of disputes,
and (3) that TILA precludes arbitration of TILA claims. Pet.
App. 4a. Green Tree moved to compel arbitration and to stay

? E.g., Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991).

4

or dismiss the action. Jd. The district court granted the
motion to compel and dismissed all of Randolph’s claims
with prejudice. Pet. App. 4a-5a. Randolph appealed, and
Green Tree moved to dismiss the appeal for lack of
jurisdiction. Pet. App. Sa.

The Eleventh Circuit heard the appeal and reversed the
district court’s ruling. First, the Court of Appeals concluded
that it had jurisdiction, holding that the district court’s order ‘
was an appealable “final decision” under § 16(a)(3) of the
Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3). Pet.
App. 15a. Second, the Court of Appeals ruled that the
arbitration agreement was unenforceable because it was silent
as to the payment of arbitration fees and costs, making it
possible that “Randolph might be required to bear substantial
costs of the arbitration even if she were to prevail... .” Pet.
App. 19a. This Court granted certiorari. ;

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ~- .

The majority view, that an order compelling arbitration
under the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16, is an
appealable order only if it is issued in an “independent”
proceeding, is the only logical approach. Under that view,
the order in the instant case, which was “embedded” in a
broader proceeding, was interlocutory and not appealable, so
that the court below lacked jurisdiction to hear the appeal.

The court below further erred in concluding that an
arbitration agreement that is “silent” on the allocation of fees
and costs is unenforceable. First, the federal policy favoring
arbitration requires that doubts be resolved in favor of
enforcing the agreement, and the court below did just the
opposite. Second, the court below mistakenly assumed that
cost-sharing among the parties, at least initially, prevents
complainants from being able to vindicate their statutory
rights. This view is contrary to the opinions of three other
Circuit courts of appeals as well as a respected government

5

Commission, a multifactional task force that issued “due
process” standards for employment arbitration, the primary
national organizations supplying arbitrators, and others.

ARGUMENT

I. THE VIEW OF THE MAJORITY OF THE
CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS, THAT AN
ORDER COMPELLING ARBITRATION IN AN
“EMBEDDED” PROCEEDING IS_ INTER-
LOCUTORY AND NOT APPEALABLE, IS
CORRECT AND SHOULD BE ADOPTED BY
THIS COURT

As the court below acknowledged, a substantial majority of
the circuit courts of appeals would have concluded that they
lacked jurisdiction to hear the appeal in the instant case. By
adopting the opposite view, the Court of Appeals placed itself
in the minority and outside the realm of logic.

The Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16, was
intended “to reverse the longstanding judicial hostility to
arbitration agreements that had existed at English common
law and had been adopted by American courts, and to place
arbitration agreements upon the same footing as other
contracts.” Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500
U.S. 20, 24 (1991) (citations omitted). The FAA “was
designed to overcome an anachronistic judicial hostility to
agreements to arbitrate, which American courts had borrowed
from English common law.” Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v.
Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 625 n.14 (1985)
(citations omitted). The Act reflects a “‘liberal federal

> The key provision of the FAA is Section 2, which provides;

A written provision in any maritime transaction or a contract
evidencing a transaction involving commerce to settle by arbitration
a controversy thereafter arising out of such contract or transaction,
or the refusal to perform the whole or any part thereof, or an

a ee Re EN gt ce ON AR ee ee ee eae

6
policy favoring arbitration agreements’ . . . guaranteeing the
enforcement of private contractual arrangements ... .” Jd. at

625 (citations omitted). Indeed, “‘[t]he preeminent concern
of Congress in passing the Act was to enforce private
agreements into which parties had entered,’ a concern which
‘requires that [this Court] rigorously enforce agreements to
arbitrate.’” Jd. at 625-26 (citation omitted).

First passed in 1925, the FAA was amended in 1988 to
specify when an appeal can and cannot be taken from a
district court order. Pub. L. 100-702, Title X, § 1019(a), Nov.
19, 1988, 102 Stat. 4671, § 15 (renumbered Pub. L. 101-650,
Title TI, § 325(a)(1), Dec. 1, 1990, Stat. 5120, now 9 U.S.C.
§ 16). The statute now provides that:

(a) An appeal may be taken from—
(1) an order—

(A) refusing a stay of any action under
section 3 of this title,

(B) denying a petition under section 4 of this
title to order arbitration to proceed,

(C) denying an application under section 206
of this title to compel arbitration,

(D) confirming or denying confirmation of an
award or partial award, or

(E) modifying, correcting or vacating an
award;

agreement in writing to submit to arbitration an existing controversy
arising out of such a contract, transaction, or refusal, shall be valid,
irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist at law
or in equity for the revocation of any contract.

9 U.S.C. § 2 (1999 & Supp. 2000).

7

(2) an interlocutory order granting, continuing, or
modifying an injunction against an arbitration
that is subject to this title; or

(3) a final decision with respect to an arbitration
that is subject to this title.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in section 1292(b) of
title 28, an appeal may not be taken from an
interlocutory order—

(1) granting a stay of any action under section 3 of
this title;

(2) directing arbitration to proceed under section 4
of this title;

(3) compelling arbitration under section 206 of this
title; or

(4) refusing to enjoin an arbitration that is subject
to this title.

9 US.C. §16 (1999 & Supp. 2000). The statute thus
authorizes an appeal in cases in which the district court has
disallowed arbitration, 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(1) and (2), and denies
an appeal where the district court has allowed the arbitration
to proceed. 9 U.S.C. § 16(b).

As the court below observed, the courts of appeals are
divided as to the meaning of § 16(a)(3) and what constitutes a
“final decision” in this context. Indeed, the court below
acknowledged the eight circuits that have ruled that
§ 16(a)(3) does not permit an appeal of an order compelling
arbitration where the arbitration issue is “embedded” in a
broader proceeding. In the view of these circuits, an appeal is
authorized only if the order compelling arbitration is
“independent” —that is, it stands alone as the sole issue in the
case. Pet. App. 7a— 8a. Three circuits—the Sixth, the Tenth,
and now the Eleventh—read § 16(a)(3) as permitting an
appeal even in an “embedded” proceeding where the trial

8

judge has dismissed the case rather than merely granting a
Stay pending arbitration. Pet. App. 9a.

The majority view is more in keeping with the rest of § 16,
since it allows arbitration to proceed without further delay
where there are issues to be arbitrated. Moreover, the
majority view provides a logical, systematic way of
distinguishing which cases are appealable and which are not,
in a way that furthers the federal policy favoring arbitration.

In contrast, the minority’s approach effectively creates an
anomaly that depends solely on how the district court
characterizes the end of its current involvement in the case. If
the district court dismisses the action, in the minority view
the decision is “final” and therefore appealable, but if the
court merely stays the action, it is not. Since in either case
the district court has ruled in favor of arbitration, its
disposition of the remainder of the case, which should not
affect the next stage, in fact dictates how the case should
proceed. This seems illogical.

Sections 3 and 4 of the FAA, 9 U.S.C. §§ 3 and 4, are the
logical comparators here. Section 3 provides for a court to
stay a pending action if it is subject to arbitration. If the court
refuses a stay, the order is immediately appealable under
§ 16 (a)(1)(A). If the court grants the stay, the order is not
appealable, pursuant to § 16(b)(1). Similarly, Section 4
allows a party seeking to enforce an arbitration agreement to
petition the district court for an order compelling arbitration.
If arbitration is denied, the order is immediately appealable
under § 16(a)(1)(B). If the petition is granted, however, the
order is interlocutory and not appealable, pursuant to

§ 16(b)(2).

The entire thrust of the FAA is towards facilitating the
parties’ agreement to arbitrate their disputes. The common
sense interpretation of § 16(a)(3), then, is to allow arbitration
to proceed forthwith if there are merits issues for the

9

arbitrator to decide, and to allow an immediate appeal only if
arbitration has been denied, or if the only issue anywhere near
the table is whether or not to arbitrate, e.g. a declaratory
judgment proceeding concluding that an arbitration
agreement is valid and enforceable as to future disputes that
have yet to arise. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision to the
contrary is illogical, given this Court’s prior interpretations of
the FAA, and should be reversed.

II. AN ARBITRATION AGREEMENT NEED NOT
ALLOCATE THE ARBITRATION COSTS TO
BE ENFORCEABLE

The court below ruled that the arbitration agreement was
unenforceable because it was silent as to the allocation of
arbitration fees and costs. This conclusion directly con-
travenes the federal policy favoring arbitration and _ is
unsupportable.

A. The Federal Policy Favoring Arbitration
Requires That Doubts Be Resolved in Favor of
Enforcing an Agreement To Arbitrate

As this Court has recognized repeatedly, “[the FAA’s]
provisions manifest a ‘liberal federal policy favoring
arbitration agreements.’ ” Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane
Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 25 (1991) (quoting Moses H. Cone Mem’l
Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983)).
Accordingly, “ ‘questions of arbitrability must be addressed
with a healthy regard for the federal policy favoring
arbitration.’ ” Jd. at 26 (quoting Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp.
at 24).

This Court’s decision in Gilmer, holding that statutory
discrimination claims may be subject to compulsory
arbitration by agreement, made it clear that as a general rule,
“[hJaving made the bargain to arbitrate, the party should be
held to it unless Congress itself has evinced an intention to

10

preclude a waiver of judicial remedies for the statutory rights
at issue.” Jd. (quoting Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler
Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628 (1985)). Indeed,
this Court unequivocally rejected Gilmer’s general challenges
to the arbitration process as an adequate means of vindicating
statutory rights, even those under statutes “designed to
advance important public policies.” Quoting Mitsubishi
Motors, this Court stated that “[s]o long as the prospective
litigant effectively may vindicate his or her statutory cause of
action in the arbitral forum, the statute will continue to serve
both its remedial and deterrent function.” Gilmer, 500 U.S. at
28 (quoting Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 637).

The lesson of Gilmer and its antecedents is that if there is a
way to enforce the agreement, the court should do so,
resolving doubts in favor of arbitration. The U.S. Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit did exactly that
in Cole v. Burns International Security Services, 105 F.3d
1465 (D.C. Cir. 1997). Despite its disapproval of the
arbitration agreement’s silence on the allocation of costs, the
D.C. Circuit enforced the agreement. Having determined that
“ambiguity in a contract should be resolved against the
drafter—here, the employer—and ambiguity should be
resolved in favor of a legal construction of the parties’
agreement,” id. at 1468, the D.C. Circuit concluded, “we
interpret the arbitration agreement at issue as requiring Burns
to pay all arbitrators’ fees associated with the resolution of
Cole’s claims,” id, and sent the case to arbitration.

The court below took the exact opposite approach. Rather
than construing the agreement in a way that allowed it to be
upheld, the court below resolved its doubts against
arbitration. For this reason alone, the decision below must be
reversed.

11

B. It Is Common, and Appropriate, for an
Arbitration Agreement To Permit or Require
Cost-Sharing Among the Parties

In reaching its erroneous conclusion, the Court of Appeals
started from the mistaken premise, shared by the D.C. Circuit
in Cole and the Tenth Circuit in Shankle v. B-G Maintenance
Mgmt. Inc., 163 F.3d 1230 (10th Cir. 1999) (holding an em-
ployment arbitration agreement unenforceable because it re-
quired the employee to pay half of the arbitrator’s fees), that
requiring complainants to shoulder some of the arbitrator’s
fee somehow trammels their statutory rights. This view is at
odds with the holdings of other courts, as well as with the
prevailing wisdom of those who have studied arbitration
systems.

For example, in Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,
Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 1999), the First
Circuit found the New York Stock Exchange’s (NYSE)
arbitration procedures adequate to resolve employment
discrimination claims under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seg., despite the contention that
“plaintiffs are charged forum fees, which may be as high as
$3,000 per day and tens of thousands of dollars per case.”
170 F.3d at 15. In the First Circuit’s analysis (1) “(njothing
in the choice of arbitration mandates these outcomes, nor are
such outcomes necessary concomitants of the NYSE arbitral
system,” id. (2) “it does not appear to be the usual situation
that a plaintiff is asked to bear forum fees,” id., since “NYSE
arbitrators possess discretion to award costs and fees when
they decide a dispute,” id. at 16; and (3) “if unreasonable
fees were to be imposed on a particular employee, the
argument that this was inconsistent with [the underlying
Statute] could be presented by the employee to the reviewing
court.” Jd. In other words, as the First Circuit explained, just
because plaintiffs theoretically could be required to pay
forum fees is no reason to believe that they ultimately will,

12

and thus is no reason to refuse to enforce the agreement. See
also Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Mkts., Inc., 167 F.3d 361, 366
(7th Cir.) (applying Rosenberg), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 44
(1999); Williams v. CIGNA Fin. Advisors, Inc., 197 F.3d 752,
763 (Sth Cir. 1999) (specifically disagreeing with Cole and
Shankle and concluding that “Gilmer does not so clearly
imply that no part of arbitral forum fees may ever be assessed
against federal anti-discrimination claimants, although it
plainly indicates that an arbitral cost allocation scheme may
not be used to prevent effective vindication of federal
statutory claims”), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 1833 (2000).

Indeed, in the view of several respected authorities, an
arbitration program should provide for the individual to pay
part of the arbitrator’s fee in order to meet basic requirements
of fairness. The Commission on the Future of Worker-
Management Relations, known as the “Dunlop Commission,”
concluded that the fairness and quality standards it prescribed
for private arbitration mechanisms required that “[t]o ensure
impartiality of the arbitrator, both the employee and the
employer should contribute to the arbitrator’s fee. Ideally,
the employee contribution should be capped in proportion to
the employee’s pay, so as to avoid discouraging claims by
lower-wage workers.” Commission on the Future of Worker-
Management Relations, U.S. Dept. of Labor and U.S. Dept.
of Commerce, Report and Recommendations (December
1994) at 32. Perhaps even more significantly, the “Due
Process Protocol” issued in 1995 by a multifactional task
force representing dispute resolution organizations, plaintiffs,
management, labor and government, identifies equal shares as
the preferred approach:

Impartiality is best assured by the parties sharing the
fees and expenses of the mediator and arbitrator. In
cases where the economic condition of a party does not
permit equal sharing, the parties should make mutually
acceptable arrangements to achieve that goal if at all
possible. In the absence of such agreement, the

13

arbitrator should determine allocation of fees. The
designating agency, by negotiating the parties’ share of
costs and collecting such fees, might be able to reduce
the bias potential of disparate contributions by
forwarding payment to the mediator and/or arbitrator
without disclosing the parties’ share therein.

A Due Process Protocol for Mediation and Arbitration
of Statutory Disputes Arising Out of the Employment
Relationship, Dispute Resolution Journal 37, 39 (Oct-Dec.
1995).*

* Members of the Task Force and signatories to the Due Process
Protocol were:

Co-Chairs: Christopher A. Barreca, Partner, Paul, Hastings,
Janofsky & Walker, Rep., Council of Labor & Employment Section,
American Bar Association; | Max Zimny, General Counsel,
International Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union Association, Rep.,
Council of Labor & Employment Section, American Bar
Association; Arnold Zack, President, Nat. Academy of Arbitrators.
Members: George H. Friedman, Senior Vice President, American
Arbitration Association; Joseph Garrison, President, National
Employment Lawyers Association; Michael F. Hoellering, General
Counsel, American Arbitration Association: Charles F. Ipavec,
Arbitrator, Neutral Co-Chair, Arbitration Committee of Labor &
Employment Section, ABA; Wilma Liebman, Special Assistant to
the Director, Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service; Lewis
Maltby, Director, Workplace Rights Project, American Civil
Liberties Union; Robert D. Manning, Angoff, Goldman, Manning,
Pyle, Wanger & Hiatt, P.C., Union Co-Chair, Arbitration
Committee of Labor & Employment Section, ABA; W. Bruce
Newman, Rep., Society of Professionals in Dispute Resolution;
Carl E. VerBeek, Partner, Varnum Riddering Schmidt & Howlett,
Management Co-Chair, Arbitration Committee of Labor &
Employment Section, ABA.

Dispute Resolution Journal (October-December 1995) at 39.
Interestingly, the D.C. Circuit in Cole v. Burns, dismisses this diverse
group as “[s]ome commentators” in rejecting their conclusion that fee-
splitting is a benefit rather than a detriment. 105 F.3d at 1485 (D.C. Cir.
1997).

14

Likewise, the procedural rules of the two major private
national organizations supplying arbitrators provide for an
initial split of fees, subject to modification by the parties by
agreement and ultimately subject to reallocation by the
arbitrator in the award.” With respect to the filing fee, the
current rules of the non-profit American Arbitration
Association (AAA) applicable to the arbitration of
employment discrimination claims state that “The filing fee
shall be advanced by the initiating party or parties, subject to
final apportionment by the arbitrator in the award.”
American Arbitration Association, National Rules for the
Resolution of Employment Disputes (eff. January 1, 1999) at
Rule 38.° The arbitrator’s fees “shall be borne equally by the
parties unless they agree otherwise, or unless the law provides
otherwise.” Jd. at Rule 39. Ultimately, however, all “fees,
expenses and compensation” including the arbitrator’s fees
are subject to assessment to “any party” by the arbitrator as
part of the award. Jd. at Rule 34. This point is repeated in the
Administrative Fee Schedule accompanying the AAA Rules,
which states that “Unless the parties agree otherwise,
arbitrator compensation and administrative fees are subject to
allocation by the arbitrator in the award.” Administrative Fee
Schedule, American Arbitration Association, National Rules

> While the National Academy of Arbitrators’ “Guidelines on
Arbitration of Statutory Claims Under Employer-Promulgated Systems”
do not specifically address the question of costs, it refers arbitrators to the
“Due Process Protocol” for guidance on questions of due process.
National Academy of Arbitrators, “Guidelines on Arbitration of Statutory
Claims Under Employer-Promulgated Systems” (May 21, 1997) at IL.F.

° The current filing fee for a single-arbitrator case is $500 “unless the
plan provides otherwise.” Administrative Fee Schedule, American
Arbitration Association, National Rules for the Resolution of Employment
Disputes (eff. January 1, 1999).

15

for the Resolution of Employment Disputes (eff. January 1,
1999),’

Similarly, the for-profit JAMS organization provides in its
procedural rules for employment arbitration that “Each Party
will pay its pro-rata share of JAMS fees and expenses... .
unless the parties agree on a different allocation of fees and
expenses.” JAMS Arbitration Rules and Procedures for
Employment Disputes at Rule 27(a).® While JAMS requires a
pre-hearing deposit, it “may waive the deposit requirement
upon a showing of good cause.” Jd. at Rule 27(b). JAMS
takes the position that “[a]n employee’s access to arbitration
must not be precluded by the employee’s inability to pay any
costs or by the location of the arbitration.” JAMS Policy on
Employment Arbitration—Principles of Neutrality and
Minimum Standards of Procedural Fairness at § B, Standard
No. 6.”- At the same time, JAMS clarifies that “[a]s a general
matter, the sharing of arbitration costs does not violate the
Minimum Standards unless the arrangement effectively
precludes access by the employee.” Jd. (emphasis added).
Accordingly, while JAMS “encourages employers to bear all
or most of the costs of arbitration”, it also gives employers
the responsibility to “assure the employee that the arbitrator’s

’ Notably, as the dissent in Cole v. Burns pointed out, 105 F.3d at
1490, the identical language appears in the Administrative Fee Schedule
accompanying the 1996 version of the AAA rules at issue, so that the
majority erred in concluding that “the AAA hedged on this question.”
105 F.3d at 1481.

* JAMS Comprehensive Arbitration Rules and Procedures applicable
to commercial, real estate and construction cases contain similar language

at Rule 30. http://www.jamsadr.com/comprehensive_arb rules.asp.

2 Similarly, JAMS Minimum Standards of Procedural Fairness Policy
on Financial Services Arbitrations provide that “With respect to the cost
of the arbitration, the procedure must allocate costs in a way that does not
preclude access by the consumer to the procedures” at Rule 6.

http://www.jamsadr.com/fin_minimum stds.asp.

16

neutrality will not be affected by the fee arrangements” and
tequires the employer to “make clear that the employee has
the right to contribute up to one-half of all administrative and
arbitrator fees and expenses.” Jd. (emphasis added). JAMS,
too, endorses the Due Process Protocol. Id. at § D.

Indeed, the federal government also has supported fee-
sharing for employment arbitrations. When the U.S. Depart-
ment of Labor proposed a pilot program to explore the use of
alternative dispute resolution under the laws it enforces, it
expressly supported fee-splitting and inquired whether any
other option would even be a good idea:

The Department believes that requiring the parties to
share the fees and expenses of the mediator or arbitrator
helps ensure impartiality. In cases in which the
Department is a party or a participant, DOL generally
expects that it would pay one-half of the mediator or
arbitrator’s fees and expenses. The Department invites
comment on whether permitting the negotiation of a
different arrangement is advisable. To reduce the
possibility of bias based on disparate contributions,
payment would be forwarded to the mediator or
arbitrator by the sponsor of the roster (or by the
Department, when it is not a party or participant),
without disclosing the parties’ respective shares.

Expanded Use of Alternative Dispute Resolution in Programs
Administered by the Department of Labor, 62 Fed. Reg.
6690, 6694 (February 12, 1997).

Not surprisingly, then, both reports by the U.S.-General
Accounting Office (GAO) on the degree of use of alternative
dispute resolution in private employment observe that cost-
Sharing is the norm. In preparing a 1995 report to Congress
based on a random sample of 2,000 private sector employers,
the GAO followed up with companies that reported using
arbitration, and compared those companies’ policies to the
quality standards identified by the Dunlop Commission.

17

Employment Discrimination: Most Private-Sector Employers
Use Alternative Dispute Resolution, United States General
Accounting Office, GAO/HEHS-95-150 (July 1995) at 2-3.
The GAO reported that, of the nineteen policies reviewed that
addressed costs, fifteen provided for some contribution by the
employee:

To ensure impartiality of the arbitrator, the Commission
proposes that both the employee and the employer
contribute to the arbitrator’s fee. Ideally, the employee
contribution should be capped in proportion to the
employee’s salary to avoid discouraging claims by low-
wage workers.

Seven policies do not address cost Sharing. In four
policies, the employer pays for all arbitration costs: costs
are to be shared equally in nine policies; and the
employee share is either capped or limited to less than
haif the costs in the remaining six policies. For example,
one employer pays all costs in excess of $50. Another
firm pays 80 percent of the arbitration costs, while the
employee is responsible for 20 percent.

Id. at 14.

Two years later, the GAO profiled the alternative dispute
resolution programs of five private sector employers, as well
as those of six federal agencies. Alternative Dispute
Resolution: Employers’ Experiences With ADR in the
Workplace, United States General Accounting Office,
GAO/GGD-97-157 (August 1997). The GAO reported that
all five of the companies it studied “required their employees
to share in the costs of arbitration.” Id. at 24. One requires
only a $50 processing fee, id. at 38, one requires an employee
contribution of $100 towards expenses, which is refunded if
the employee prevails, id. at 46-47, one provides for equal
Shares but will cap the cost at two weeks net pay in cases of
hardship, id. at 43, one divides costs equally but allows the
arbitrator to make the final allocation, id. at 49-50, and one

18

pays all costs if the employee prevails and shares costs
equally if the employee does not, but caps the employee’s
share at two days’ base pay. Id. at 53-54.

The D.C. Circuit in Cole scoffed at the concern that
payment of the arbitrator’s fee by the employer would
compromise the neutrality of the process. 105 F.3d at 1485.
The concern is not necessarily that all arbitrators are
potentially unethical and bound to rule in the direction of
their paychecks, although such an outcome is conceivable.
On the contrary, however, the relevant concern may be the far
likelier occurrence-that an employee will perceive the process
as biased if the employer pays the “judge.” See Russell
Evans, Engalla v. Permanente Medical Group, Inc.: Can
Arbitration Clauses in Employment Contracts Survive a
“Fairness” Analysis, 50 Hastings L.J. 635, 665 (March 1999)
(noting that “the perception of arbitrator partiality could arise
where the employer alone pays all arbitration costs and
fees’).

As a practical matter, any party who knows that the
arbitrator is being paid entirely by the other side cannot help
but question whether he or she is getting a fair hearing.
Where the rights involve statutory claims of employment
discrimination, for example, the employee undoubtedly will
view the entire process, from inception to outcome, as
dominated and controlled by the employer who from the
beginning is footing the bills. This explains, for example,
positions such as that of JAMS, which requires that the
employee be permitted to pay his or her fair share of the costs
if so inclined. So, too, the Department of Labor’s inquiry
whether allowing the parties to negotiate some payment
scheme other than fifty-fifty would ever be advisable.

The success or failure of an employer’s internal arbitration
program is dependent in large part upon both parties’ faith in
the fairness and neutrality of the process. For this reason, it
makes far more sense to provide for each party to be

ee

19

responsible at the outset for some of the cost, subject to a
final allocation by the arbitrator in the award. Only in this
way can each party feel that he or she is an equal participant
in a neutral forum.

The availability of judicial review then serves as a
safeguard against the imposition of unreasonable fees, as the
First Circuit pointed out in Rosenberg. 170 F.3d at 16. See
also Koveleskie, 167 F.3d at 366. This Court already has
concluded that “although judicial scrutiny of arbitration
awards necessarily is limited, such review is sufficient to
ensure that arbitrators comply with the requirements of the
Statute.” Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482
U.S. 220, 232 (1987) (quoted in Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 32 n.4).

Given the prevailing wisdom that each party to an
arbitration agreement can reasonably be expected to bear
some of the cost, the court below erred in concluding that an
arbitration clause that does not allocate fees is unenforceable.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the amicus curiae EEAC
respectfully submits that the decision below should be
reversed. ;

Respectfully submitted,

ANN ELIZABETH REESMAN*

MCGUINESS NORRIS &
WILLIAMS, LLP

1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 789-8600

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Equal Employment Advisory
Council

June 2000 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0917%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
