# Opposition Brief — Johnson v. Anderson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0873%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1020

## Text

FILED
FFR 1 6 onno

fs)
iaptl CLERK
No. 99-1189 NL ORR
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

THERESSA RAINS JOHNSON,
Petitioner,
Vv.

ANN W. ANDERSON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITE
STATES SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI

Ralph V. Hadley, III, Esq.
Attorney for Respondent
SWANN, HADLEY & ALVAREZ, P.A.
1031 W. Morse Boulevard, Suite 270
Winter Park, FL 32789
(407) 647-2777

Wright Appellate Services 0202
(215) 733-9870 @ (800) 507-9020 @ Fax (215) 733-9872

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does a state probate statute, which states that no bona fide
purchaser of real property from an estate shall be required to
examine any proceedings before the order of sale, violate an
heir's right to due process as guaranteed by the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments?

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

All of the parties to this proceeding are set forth in the
caption.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
SERIES eo a Oe a CT ee a PCE Ce ill
si aka ssisahentgnnuis il
a cca ond nduneibaoonbavectonss l
Nee eae cu shecctbncbantmmace l
GOURD) MUU ENUUIND MIWOUUOU 6oi5..occcccsecncccssccascccccscsccccesasesessscceoces’ |
NI III Gators 1s cs on ccisdaceeceesenidnsedssSndeticcbmccavssucbonoisscdones 3

EE REE AERIS PR eet PE 3
ea eiiarh stabs tctaita dinate cdaldiidiis eidichipilcthskeensDbaniitdaeeSeadiintibihinanissnin as

ARGUMENT - A STATE PROBATE STATUTE, WHICH
STATES THAT NO BONA FIDE PURCHASER OF REAL
PROPERTY FROM AN ESTATE SHALL BE REQUIRED
TO EXAMINE ANY PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE
ORDER OF SALE, DOES NOT VIOLATE AN HEIR'S
RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS AS GUARANTEED BY THE
FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS ..............0...... 6

A. This Court should decline to consider this constitutional issue,
as it was not raised in the pleadings in the state court. ............. 6

B. The Statues of which the Petition complains represent a
constitutional exercise of the State's power with which this
RNID II, RII oso cadascccchoccecsscvessincisscnnsedennicsenacccese 7

ek ss bskdipahegeannetbatsinasieeuneeenis 12

iv

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:
Anderson v. Johnson, 732 So. 2d 423 (1999) ....ccccccesscceeeseseees l
Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 438 (1969) .....ccccc000- 7
Irving Trust Co. v. Day, 314 U.S. 556, 562:(1942) .....cccccc000+ 8
Johnson v. Anderson, 744 So. 2d 454 (1999) ......ccccscccseeeseeeees ]
Labine v. Vincent, 401 U.S. 532, 536 (1971) ....cccccccsccseseeeeeees 9
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306,

FR Ee cachidtibidenciak tedteoniduindihéeiniedinana Ricasncakmiaeeintinn 8,9,10
Tulsa Professional Collection Services, Inc. v. Pope, 485
1, Wes He TE corcincnniss tees tecinabanentocacobeenriclsetavaceits 8
Statutes
Fe Rees Ae a rrcicteinscinvinciseeiebinsatidsareininiiaiatibased l

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Florida in Johnson v.
Anderson, Case No. 95,867, may be found at 744 So. 2d 454
(1999). The opinion of the Florida District Court of Appeal
in Anderson v. Johnson, Case No. 98-1781, may be found at
732 So. 2d 423 (1999).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction over this proceeding under 28
U.S.C. 0 1257(a).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fla. Stat. ) 733.613 (1999) (Personal representative's right
to sell real property) provides:

(1) | When a personal representative of a decedent
dying intestate, or whose testator has not con-
ferred upon him or her a power of sale or
whose testator has granted a power of sale but
his or her power is so limited by the will or by
operation of law that it cannot be conve-
niently exercised, shall consider that it is for
the best interest of the estate and of those in-
terested in it that real property be sold, the
personal representative may sell it at public or
private sale. No title shall pass until the sale is

(2)

authorized or confirmed by the court. Petition
for authorization or confirmation of sale shall
set forth the reasons for the sale, a description
of the property sold or to be sold, and the
price and terms of the sale. Except when in-
terested persons have joined in the petition for
sale of real property or have consented to the
sale, notice of the petition shall be given. No
bona fide purchaser shall be required to ex-
amine any proceedings before the order of
sale.

When a decedent's will confers specific power
to sell or mortgage real property or a general
power to sell any asset of the estate, the per-
sonal representative may sell, mortgage, or
lease, without authorization or confirmation
of court, any real property of the estate or any
interest therein for cash or credit, or for part
cash and part credit, and with or without secu-
rity for unpaid balances. The sale, mortgage,
or lease need not be justified by a showing of
necessity, and the sale pursuant to power of
sale shall be valid.

3

Fla. Stat. 0 733.614 (1999) (Powers and duties of successor
personal representative) states:

A successor personal representative has the
same power and duty as the original personal
representative to complete the administration
and distribution of the estate as expeditiously
as possible, but he or she shall not exercise
any power made personal to the personal rep-
resentative named in the will.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Procedural History

The Petitioner Theressa Rains Johnson brought an action
for partition against the Respondent Ann W. Anderson in the
| Circuit Court for Marion County, Florida (Case No. 98-
. 1781). Anderson counterclaimed to quiet title to the prop-
erty, which she had purchased from the estate of Edward
Williams pursuant to a conveyance executed in conformance
with 0733.613, Florida Statutes (1996). After a nonjury trial,
the court declared the statute unconstitutional and ruled that
B Johnson owned an undivided 20 percent interest in the prop-
erty. The court appointed commissioners “to make partition

4

or make a finding to the Court that the property is indivisi-
ble" and denied Anderson's counterclaim.

Anderson appealed to the Florida District Court of Appeal,
Fifth District. In an opinion filed April 23, 1999, the court
reversed the partition order. It found no basis for declaring
0733.613 unconstitutional and concluded that Anderson had
taken title to the real property pursuant to a probate court or-
der on which, by statute, she was entitled to rely. The court
denied Johnson's Motion for Rehearing in an order dated
May 20, 1999. In an order filed October 22, 1999, the Su-
preme Court of Florida denied to accept jurisdiction and de-
nied Anderson's Petition for Review. It stated that it would
not entertain a Motion for Rehearing.

Johnson then filed this Petition for Writ of Certiorari in
this Court on January 18, 2000.

Facts

The real property in question was owned by Edward Wil-
liams, who died in 1960. He was survived by several chil-
dren, including Davis Williams. Although probate
proceedings were begun, the estate of Edward Williams was
closed without a final disposition of the real property.

Davis Williams died testate in October, 1995. His step-
daughter Theressa Rains Johnson, the Respondent, was his

5

sole survivor and sole named beneficiary. In November,
1995, the will of Davis Williams was filed with the Clerk of
the Circuit Court for safekeeping, although a petition to ad-
mit the will to probate was not filed at that time.

In early 1996, Bert Coleman, acting on behalf of the heirs
of Edward Williams, entered into a contract to sell the prop-
erty to Anderson. In March, 1996, Johnson informed Cole-
man that she wanted her interest in the land to build a home.
Coleman then petitioned the Probate Court to reopen the
Edward Williams estate for a determination of heirs and the
appointment of a successor personal representative. Johnson
was not given any notice of the petition. In an order dated
June 5, 1996, the Probate Court reopened the estate, ap-
pointed Coleman as successor personal representative, and
determined the heirs of Edward Williams. Johnson was not
listed as an heir. The court also authorized the sale of the
real property to Anderson. She took title to the property on
June 28, 1996, pursuant to a deed from Coleman. Coleman
directed the closing agent to send a check to Johnson for her
interest, but she rejected it.

In August, 1996, Johnson filed a petition to admit the will
of Davis Williams to probate and to amend the order deter-
mining heirs and authorizing the sale of the property. An-
derson did not receive notice of this action. The Probate
Court ruled, by order dated February 4, 1997, that Coleman
lacked authority to sell the interest of the estate of Davis
Williams in the property and that the conveyance to Ander-
son excluded that interest.

Johnson then sued Anderson for partition; Anderson
counterclaimed to quiet title. The county circuit court, sit-

6

ting without a jury, ruled that Johnson owned an undivided
20 percent interest in the property and declared that Fla. Stat.
0733.613 was unconstitutional.

The Florida District Court of Appeal, Fifth District, held
that the trial court erred in finding the statute unconstitution-
al. Finding that Anderson had no knowledge of Johnson's
existence or of her claim, the court concluded that Anderson
was in no way at fault. Anderson's only notice of Johnson's
interest would have been constructive notice, stemming from
the recording of the will, which did not indicate to Anderson
that Johnson had refused to authorize the sale of her interest
in the property. The court concluded that Anderson was en-
titled to rely on the June 6, 1996, order of the Probate Court
that gave Coleman the right to sell the property.

ARGUMENT -A STATE PROBATE STATUTE, WHICH
STATES THAT NO BONA FIDE PURCHASER OF
REAL PROPERTY FROM AN ESTATE SHALL BE
REQUIRED TO EXAMINE ANY PROCEEDINGS
BEFORE THE ORDER OF SALE, DOES NOT
VIOLATE AN HEIR'S RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS
AS GUARANTEED BY THE FIFTH AND
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS

The Petitioner takes the position in this case that the Flor-
ida District Court of Appeal improperly reversed the trial
court's partition order in her favor and should have affirmed
the trial court's holding that Fla. Stat. [733.613 was uncon-
stitutional under the circumstances of this case. The Peti-
tioner's contentions are unsupported by the prior decisions of

€ ~ Pe ee le wy ee
cari ie pais tsa eS apt :

7

this Court, and her Petition should be denied for the follow-
ing reasons.

A. This Court should decline to consider this
constitutional issue, as it was not raised in the
pleadings in the state court.

The review of a state court decision by this Court may be
barred by a petitioner's failure to raise constitutional claims
in the state court. In Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437,
438 (1969), this Court stated that "[it] was very early estab-
lished that the Court will not decide federal constitutional
issues raised here for the first time on review of state court
decisions."

Although the Florida trial court did consider the constitu-
tionality of Fla. Stat. 0733.613, the Petitioner never raised
this issue in her pleadings. In addition, the Petitioner seems
to have raised for the first time in her Petition to this Court
the issue of the constitutionality of Fla. Stat. 0733.614,
which provides that a successor personal representative of an
estate has the same power and duty as the original personal
representative.

In short, only now does the Petitioner seek to hang her hat,
jurisprudentially speaking, on the peg of unconstitutionality.
In that sense, she has raised the constitutionality issues here
for the first time, and this Court should decline to consider
them for that reason.

B. The statutes of which the Petition complains
represent a constitutional exercise of the State's
power with which this Court should not
interfere.

This Court has long recognized that nothing in the Con-
stitution forbids a state legislature from limiting, condition-
ing, or abolishing the power of testamentary disposition over
property within its jurisdiction. See Irving Trust Co. v. Day,
314 U.S. 556, 562 (1942). Due process requires, of course,
that a state action affecting property must generally be ac-
companied by notification of that action. In Mullane v.
Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 314
(1950), this Court observed:

An elementary and fundamental requirement
of due process in any proceeding which is to
be accorded finality is notice reasonable cal-
culated, under all circumstances, to apprise
interested parties of the pendency of the ac-
tion and afford them an opportunity to present
their objections.

Mullane cautioned, however, that "if with due regard for
the practicalities and peculiarities of the case these condi-
tions are reasonably met, the constitutional requirements are
satisfied." Id., at 314-15.

In applying the principles of Mullane in the years since
that decision was rendered, this Court has balanced the inter-

9

est of the State and the individual interest sought to be pro-
tected by the Fourteenth Amendment. See Tulsa Profes-
sional Collection Services, Inc. v. Pope, 485 U.S. 478, 484
(1988). The Court recognized that, as the State "undeniably
has a legitimate interest in the expeditious resolution of pro-
bate proceedings,” a State could reasonably conclude that the
swift settlement of estates is of considerable importance. Id.,
at 489.

This Court has on many occasions given deference to the
actions of the people of a State through their legislature to
regulate property rights. See, e.g., Labine v. Vincent, 401
U.S. 532, 536 (1971)(holding that the Louisiana statutory
intestate succession scheme is within the State's power to
establish rules for, inter alia, the disposition of property).
This Court has also recognized that the Federal Constitution
does not give it the power to overturn the State's choice of
rules merely because the Justices believe that they can pro-
vide better rules. Id., at 538. It is beyond question that a
State has the power to make laws for the distribution of
property that is within the State. Id., at 539. Under the cir-
cumstances of Pope, supra, this Court concluded that "there
is nothing in the vague generalities of the Equal Protection
and Due Process Clauses which empowers this Court to nul-
lify the deliberate choices of the elected representatives of
the people. ..." Id. at 540.

In Mullane, supra, a New York trust company had exclu-
sive management and control of a common trust fund estab-
lished by it under a state banking law to invest assets of
numerous small trusts of which it was trustee. The trust
company petitioned for a judicial settlement of accounts that

10

would be binding and conclusive as to any matter upon eve-
ryone having any interest in the common fund or in any par-
ticipating trust. Although the Court held that the
beneficiaries’ notice by publication, called for by the banking
statute, was inadequate under the circumstances, it stated
that, in general, it was not unreasonable

for the State to dispense with more certain
notice to those beneficiaries whose interests
are either conjectural or future or, although
they could be discovered, upon investigation,
do not in due course of business come to the
knowledge of the common trustee.

339 US. at 317.

The Court explained that the practical difficuities and
costs associated with notifying interested parties must be
considered, because

such impracticable and extended searches are
not required in the name of due process. . . .
These are practical matters in which we
should be reluctant to disturb he judgment of
the state authorities.

Id. at 317-18.

Ditha ali a Nile satel VA Da A, Re kthaws aC Leal te

11

If, as Mullane urges, this Court will give "due regard for
the practicalities and peculiarities of the case," then it will
decline to interfere with Florida's probate scheme that would
appear, on the face of it, to be intended to achieve two im-
portant public policy objectives: (1) to encourage the timely
and efficient settlement of estates; and (2) to facilitate the
marketability of real property passing from an estate by per-
mitting a bona fide purchaser to rely on the order of sale
without having to examine the proceedings that were held
before the issuance of that order.

Chaos would likely ensue if every party wishing to pur-
chase real property from an estate were required to go behind
the order of sale to conduct an exhaustive search of the pro-
bate and real property records to determine whether the per-
sonal representative who is offering the property for sale was
properly authorized to do so

The circumstances of this case clearly demonstrate why
the probate statute of which Johnson complains is necessary.
Anderson could not have been expected to have discovered
the existence of Johnson and of her claim on the real estate
without an unduly lengthy, impractical, and expensive search
of the probate and real property records. Section 733.613
offers the reassurance that is necessary to insure that pro-
spective purchasers of real property from personal represen-
tatives of estates will not be scared away by the expense,
difficulty, and uncertainty associated with verifying for
themselves that nothing was amiss in the settlement of the
estate, the appointment of the personal representative, and

12

the manner in which the personal representative carried out
his or her duties.

In short, a prospective purchaser is entitled to accept at
face value the order of sale authorizing the disposition of the
estate's property. That this may present difficulties for a
particular heir in a highly unusual set of circumstances is un-
fortunate, but it does not justify eliminating a procedure that
serves the vast majority of the population, heirs and bona
fide purchasers alike, well.

13

CONCLUSION

The Respondent respectfully requests that this Court deny
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari for the reasons stated

y above.
Respectfully submitted,

RALPH V. HADLEY, III, ESQUIRE
Swann, Hadley & Alverez, P.A.
Attorney for Respondent

1031 W. Morse Boulevard

Winter Park, Florida 32789

(407) 647-2157

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0873%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
