# Opposition Brief — Tallakson v. Baxter Healthcare Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0829%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1033

## Text

FILE
No. 99-1140 FEB 0 7 2000
CLERK
IN THE )

Supreme Court of the United States

AARON THOMAS TALLAKSON, et ai.,

¥ Petitioners,

BAXTER HEALTHCARE CORPORATION, et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

RESPONDENTS’

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

FRED MAGAZINER

RICHARD A. BERKMAN
DECHERT, PRICE & RHOADS
4000 Bell Atlantic Tower
1717 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 994-4000

Attorneys for Baxter
Healthcare Corporation

PHILIP S. BECK
ANDREW GOLDMAN
BARTLIT, BECK, HERMAN,
PALENCHAR & SCOTT
Courthouse Place
54 West Hubbard Street
Chicago, IL 60610
(312) 494-4411
Attorneys for
Alpha Therapeutic Corp.

February 7, 2000

SARA J. GOURLEY
EUGENE A. SCHOON *
SUSAN A. WEBER
CATHERINE V. BARRAD
ROBERT C. VARNELL
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
Bank One Plaza
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 853-7000
Attorneys for Armour
Pharmaceutical Company
and Rhoéne-Poulenc
Rorer Inc.

GEOFFREY R.W. SMITH
Suite 455 West
1025 Thom. Jefferson St., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20007
(202) 625-1224
Attorney for
Bayer Corporation

* Counsel of Record

WILSON-EPzs PRINTING Co., INc. -

(202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioners, who explicitly stated their inten-
tion to participate in a nationwide class settlement by
electing to file claims for payment under the settlement,
may, after two years, change their minds and seek, on
collateral attack, to have the final judgment that approved
the settlement declared void so petitioners can pursue the
individual litigation against defendants that the settlement
was intended to end?

(i)

ii

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of this Court,
respondents state the following:

The parent company of Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer Inc. is
Aventis S.A. All subsidiaries of Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer
Inc. are wholly owned.

The parent company of Armour Pharmaceutical Com-
pany is Rhér»-Poulenec Rorer Inc. All subsidiaries of
Armour are wholly owned.

The parent company of Bayer Corporation is Bayer
A.G. Schein Pharmaceutical, Inc., Onyx Pharmaceuticals,
Inc., Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc., and Myriad Gen-
etics, Inc. are non-wholly-owned subsidiaries of Bayer
Corporation.

Baxter Healthcare Corporation’s parent company is Bax-
ter International, Inc. Baxter owns stock in certain pub-
licly-traded companies and is filing this information under
seal with the Clerk of the Court.

The parent company of Alpha Therapeutic Corporation
is Green Cross International, Inc. Business Travel Spe-
cialists, Inc., G.C. Pharmaceutical (Singapore) Ptc Ltd.,
Grifols UK Ltd., and Grifols Italia SpA are non-wholly-
owned subsidiaries of Alpha Therapeutic Corporation.

QUESTION PRESENTED
RULE 29.6 STATEMENT
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
INTRODUCTION

COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE CASE

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee ee ee ee ee ee
ee ee ee ee ee
ee
ee

errr ee etree er ee)

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED.

CONCLUSION

tiie

(iii)

ii

iv

11

24

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Amalgamated Sugar Co. v. NL Indus., Inc., 825
F.2d 634 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 992

RIRUIPER sconctnnsdiverasacinnisacednbdeiocsieee neon eet Pie: 22
Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591

CTD tccbiaaiihinineseresrsneinnendel teat Se ke - passim
Barney v. Holzer Clinic, Ltd., 110 F.3d 1207 (6th

tS. , ype REO DRM MR Ly. BT 33
Croyden Assocs. v, Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675 (8th

Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 908 (1998).... 17
Dowling v. Alpha Therapeutic Corp., No. 97-2410

(7th Cir., appeal dismissed July 16, 1997)........ 7

Epstein v. MCA, Inc., 126 F.3d 1235 (9th Cir.
1997), opinion withdrawn and superseded on
rehearing, 179 F.3d 641 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

tS a. RRR cirri ate erase bea 16, 20
Gottlieb v, Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir. 1998) .... 17
Harper v, Virginia Dep’t of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86

i) SRP RRM reese ASME ATL OMe Aah | te ee PS 19

In re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig., 996 F.2d

1425 (2d Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1140

| RRS ETERB re cage ptec i ge ES sli / SER SE 18
In re Edwards, 962 F.2d 641 (7th Cir. 1992) ........ 15
In re Factor VIII or 1X Concentrate Blood Prod.

Liab. Litig. (MDL-986), 853 F. Supp. 454

Gees REE ih 4,21
In re Factor VIII or 1X Concentrate Blood Prod.

Litig., Appeals of Spece, Ibanez, and Mull &

Mull and In re Mull & Mull, 159 F.3d 1016 (7th

Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 1488 (1999) ..passim
In re Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 51 F.3d 1298 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 867 (1995) .............. 22-23
Kansas City S. Ry. Co. v. Great Lakes Carbon

Corp., 624 F.2d 822 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 449

eis WRU I ica ee ee 19
Liljeberg v. Health Servs. Acquisition Corp., 486
Wile UE RED lente ahaa hiastocs niente eee 13

Matter of Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 51 F.3d 1298
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 867 (1995)...... 4

aaed

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Matter of VMS Sec. Litig., 108 F.8d 1817 (7th
| Re Se st PAR ERS MP OMET 23
Neuberg v. Michael Reese Hosp. Found., 123 F.3d
OL. Cree Cai Ae Baba a 15
Norgaard v. DePuy Orthopaedics, Inc., 121 F.3d
ee ge. gp Ne beddli enn galase Aenea 15,19

Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999) ..19-20, 22
Otis v. Bayer Corp., No. 97-2556 (7th Cir., appeal

Gigentesed duly 84; 1007) ..0iksie ec... 7
Phillips Petroleum Co, v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797
PRIUIIIE Sisaicinschanimcdricet cam te De es pele 13, 20

SEC v, Randolph, 736 F.2d 525 (9th Cir. 1984)... 21-22
Shults v. Champion Int'l Corp., 35 F.3d 1056 (6th

ae CIE aR Ee EN ed 17
Twigg v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 153 F.8d 1222
CGR Cie. TG) cei 13

Wadleigh v. Rhéne-Poulene Rorer Inc., 157 F.R.D.

410 (N.D. Ill. 1994), rev’d, Matter of Rhéne-

Poulene Rorer Inc., 51 F.8d 1293 (7th Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 867 (1995) ..... EPS 4
Walker v. Bayer Corp., 96-C-5024 (N.D. Ill.)........ 5
Williams v. Gen. Elec. Capital Auto Lease, Inc.,

159 F.3d 266 (7th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119

hae Se Cee ab ie bio shea 16
Zablocki v. Redhail, 434 U.S. 874 (1978) .............. 13

FEDERAL STATUTES
Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Pub. L. No. 105-33,

I 6

i ee Z, ii
FEDERAL RULE

Pear aa as Ce a a hd el, passim

OTHER AUTHORITY

Herbert Newberg & Alba Conte, Newberg on Class
Jf RARE me 18

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 99-1140

AARON THOMAS TALLAKSON, ef al.,

* Petitioners,

BAXTER HEALTHCARE CORPORATION, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

INTRODUCTION

The petition arises from the second in a series of col-
lateral attacks upon the final judgment that approved the
nationwide factor concentrate class settlement. Under the
terms of that settlement, respondent fractionators’ paid
more than $600 million for claims that individuals con-
tracted HIV from the plasma therapies used to treat hemo-
philia, a bleeding disorder. A year ago, this Court de-
clined to review a previous collateral attack on this judg-
ment, brought by certain plaintiffs’ attorneys. In re
Factor VIII or 1X Concentrate Blood Prod. Liab. Litig.,

1“Fractionation” is the process by which plasma is separated
into its different components. Fractionators are Armour Pharma-
ceutical Co., Bayer Corp., Baxter Healthcare Corp., and Alpha
Therapeutic Corp. Also named as a defendant is Rhéne-Poulenc
Rorer Inc., the indirect parent corporation of Armour.

2

Appeals of Spece, Ibanez, and Mull & Mull and In re
Mull & Mull, 159 F.3d 1016 (7th Cir. 1998) (Opp.
App. 15a-22a), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 1488 (1999).?

The present petition is brought by a few class members,
most of whom are represented by the same attorneys in-
volved in that prior collateral attack. These class members
did not timely opt out of the class and settlement; to the
contrary, they filed claim forms seeking payment under
the terms of the settlement. The final judgment that
approved the class and settlement in May of 1997 ex-
plicitly extinguished their tort claims against fractionaiors.
Pet. App. 92.

Nevertheless, these class members have continued to liti-
gate their individual claims against fractionators in state
court. They claimed that 1) the judgment that approved
the class settlement was void and 2) the individual re-
leases required to receive payment under that judgment
should be treated as individual settlement offers. These
class members assert that, by refusing to sign their releases,
they can simply walk away from the settlement.

The district court—which had heard all these argu-
ments in the prior collateral attack—observed that “[t]his
case is the paradigm situation to employ the All Writs
Act,” 28 U.S.C § 1651(a). Opp. App. 6a. The court

2 Petitioners’ Statement of the Case begins with a pastiche of
truths, half-truths, and outright lies that are (a) devoid of any
citations to the record below and (b) in any event, irrelevant to
the issues presented in their petition. See Pet. 2-4. To support
fractionators’ Counter Statement of the Case, fractionators have
reproduced certain key materials in the appendix to this brief
(“Opp. App.”) and have lodged with the Clerk of the Court copies
of fractionators’ appendix to their brief in the court of appeals
(“FA”), which reproduces additional settlement documents and
excerpts from the record of this case. Fractionators have moved
to lodge this appendix under seal because it contains the medical
records of petitioners.

3

therefore granted fractionators’ motion to enjoin the law-
suits and denied petitioners’ cross motions for Rule 60
relief from the final judgment that approved the class
settlement. Opp. App. 1a-2a; Pet. App. 3-9. The United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit affirmed in
an unpublished, one-paragraph order that relied upon rea-
soning set forth in the orders of the district court and the
judgment of the court of appeals that rejected the prior
collateral attack. Pet. App. 1-2.

There is nothing about the decision of the court of
appeals that is remotely worthy of review. The decisions
below do not conflict with the precedents of this or any
other court. Petitioners were not deprived of their day in
court. They simply lost on the merits. The judgments
below were correct and limited to the bizarre procedural
posture of petitioners’ claims (circumstances of petitioners’
own making). Accordingly, certiorari should be denied.

COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Hemophilia is an incurable bleeding disorder caused
by deficiencies of certain clotting factors in the blood. It
is treated by administering the missing clotting factors to
the patient. In the late 1960s and early 1970s, fraction-
ators developed freeze-dried clotting factor concentrates
that resulted in “the return to a full range of activities for
many patients who were previously wheelchair-bound”
and, between 1968 and 1983, a doubling in the life ex-
pectancy of persons with hemophilia.* However, the ad-
vent of the disease now known as AIDS had a tragic
impact on persons with hemophilia. Before anyone knew
that AIDS was transmissible by blood and plasma prod-
ucts, thousands of hemophiliacs were infected with the

3 Leon W. Hoyer, M.D., Medical Progress: Hemophilia A, 330
New Eng. J. Med. 38 (Jan. 6, 1994).

EE a eT ek ee et ee

4

retrovirus now called HIV and known to be the cause of
AIDS. Opp. App. 16a.

2. Lawsuits have been filed in state and federal courts
alleging almost 800 cases of HIV transmission through
factor concentrates. In late 1993, all pending federal
factor concentrate cases were consolidated in the Northern
District of Illinois before Judge John F. Grady. In re
Factor VIII or 1X Concentrate Blood Prod. Litig. (MDL-
986), 853 F. Supp. 454, 456 (J.P.M.L. 1993). In 1994,
the district court certified a nationwide “issue” class for
the purpose of determining in a single trial whether the
fractionators were “guilty of ordinary negligence.” Wad-
leigh v. Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 157 F.R.D. 410, 426
(N.D. Ill. 1994). The court of appeals subsequently
issued a writ of mandamus ordering the district court to
decertify the class. Matter of Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer Inc.,
51 F.3d 1293 (7th Cir. 1995). This Court denied cer-
tiorari, 516 U.S. 867 (1995), and the class was
decertified.

Sy a re ne

3. On April 19, 1996, fractionators proposed a settle-
ment that would pay up to $100,000 for each claimant
group related to (a) each HIV-positive hemophiliac who |
used factor concentrate and (b) certain persons allegedly :
infected with HIV through exposure to such hemophiliacs.
The total value of this part of the April 1996 settlement
proposal was limited to $600 million; if more than the :
anticipated 6,000 claims were filed, then each claimant
would be paid less than $100,000. FA 324, 332. The
Plaintiffs’ Steering Commitiee (“PSC”) rejected fractiona-
tors’ proposal. FA322.

After several months of intense negotiations, fractiona-
tors and PSC agreed to the present class settlement, in
which fractionators agreed to pay $100,000 for each
claim, even if the number of claims exceeded 6,000. Pet.

i ai i ane

5

App. 16 §B. The settlement agreement expressly re-
quired claimants to execute releases in order to receive
payment. Pet. App. 46 §M. Fractionators also under-
took to pay additional monies to resolve federal and state
Medicare and Medicaid claims as well as the claims of
most private health insurers, so that claimants would re-
ceive the settlement payments free and clear of most out-
standing claims. Pet. App. 50 § P(1). Finally, the settle-
ment agreement provided that a separate $40 million
fund, to be established by fractionators, would be the ex-
clusive source for all costs and attorneys’ fees, which
could be awarded by the district court. Pet. App. 44-45
§§ L(2) & (5).

4. In August 1996, PSC sought preliminary certifica-
tion of a nationwide settlement class in the case of Walker
v. Bayer Corp., 96-C-5024 (N.D. Ill.). FA 334-37. The
class notice and settlement agreement clearly stated that (a)
class members who wanted to receive payment under the
settlement (if the class and settlement received final ap-
proval) were required to file claim forms, and (b) per-
sons who wanted to opt out of the class in order to pursue
individual litigation were required to file opt-out forms on
or before October 15, 1996. Pet. App. 67-71; FA 23-27,
59-60. The notice and settlement agreement made equally
clear the consequences of failure to opt oui by that date. If
the class and settlement received final approval, judgment
would be entered barring any claim against fractionators
that an HiV-infected person allegedly suffered as a re-
sult of the use of factor concentrates processed or dis-
tributed during the ciass period. Pet. App. 33 § 6, 72
§ 9. The settlement agreement expressly stated that frac-
tionators would have the opportunity to review the opt-
out forms before making a final determination whether to
go forward with the settlement. Pet. App. 14 § A2(c).
The vast majority of persons who were entitled to file
claims did so.

ii |

6

All of the petitioners now before this Court filed claim
forms seeking payment under the terms of the notice and
settlement agreement. FA 91, 107, 119, 128, 138, 150,
191, 201, 211, 222, 251, 261. In deciding to file their
claim forms, several petitioners received separate legal
advice in addition to that available from class counsel.*

5. On November 25, 1996, the district court held a
day-long fairness hearing. FA 338. None of the peti-
tioners or their attorneys objected to the terms of the
settlement or raised any of the arguments now before
this Court. The district court did not rule immediately
upon the fairness of the settlement because, inter alia,
fractionators were still negotiating with the United States
government, state governments, and dozens of insurers
seeking to compromise claims against settlement monies
that would be paid to class members. FA 348.°

While these negotiations were underway, certain dissi-
dent plaintiffs’ attorneys argued that class members should
be given a new opportunity to opt out of the settlement
based upon “newly discovered” evidence and alleged

4The following claimant groups identified in their claim forms
their individual attorneys: Tallakson and Davon were represented
by Mull & Mull; the Castilles were represented by Barham &
Arceneaux; Jane Doe was represented by Roy Spece, and the
Lindgren claimant group was represented first by Michael Dan and
later by Mull. FA265, 142, 123, 154, 226. Mull, Spece, and 8
Arceneaux were key participants in the prior collateral attack on :
the class settlement. Arceneaux is counsel of record for all peti-
tioners.

5 Fractionators eventually paid more than $30 million to secure i
these compromises. Working with PSC and the hemophilia com-
muunity, fractionators also secured the passage of legislation that
endorsed the factor concentrate class settlement by name and pro-
vided that receipt of the $100,000 settlement payment would not
affect claimants’ eligibility for medical assistance and disability
payments. See Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Pub. L. No. 105-33,
§ 4735, 111 Stat. 251, 522.

oe ha

7

fraud on the part of fractionators and PSC. FA 364,
368-69. The district court addressed these matters at
a second fairness hearing on May 6, 1997. At the conciu-
sion of that hearing, the district court concluded that the
attorneys had not identified any new evidence or colorable
basis for their fraud allegations. FA 400-04. The court
stated that it had received form letters from some class
members, including at least one of the petitioners, seek-
ing to opt out based upon “new” information. FA 401-
03, 242. The court stated that “these letters have the
earmarks of having been written by well-intentioned people
who have simply been misled by erroneous information,”
FA 403, and refused to reopen the opt-out period.

6. On May 8, 1997, the district court entered final
judgment certifying the class, approving the settlement,
and ordering the parties to implement the settlement
agreement according to its terms. Pet. App. 77-94. The
final judgment expressly barred claims against fractiona-
tors by class members who had not filed timely opt-outs.
Pet. App. 92.

However, the district court continued to receive corre-
spondence from class members, again including one of the
petitioners, FA 247-49, and was concerned that “[m]Jany
class members appear to have been misled” about sup-
posed new information “by persons who have been en-
couraging them to request permission for late opt-outs.”
FA 427. Accordingly, on May 15, 1997, the district
court entered an “Order Concerning Requests for Late
Opt-Outs” that stated: “The purpose of this order is to
make clear that the judgment order of May 8 is a bar to
the filing of any individual suits by class members who

6 Two appeals were filed by nonparty class members, but were
voluntarily dismissed. See Dowling v. Alpha Therapeutic Corp.,
No. 97-2410 (7th Cir., appeal dismissed July 16, 1997); Otis v.
Bayer Corp., No. 97-2556 (7th Cir., appeal dismissed July 24, 1997).

8

did not opt out by October 15, 1996.” FA 427. The
court established a mechanism “to permit late opt-outs in
extraordinary circumstances” that “would have prevented
the class member from making an intelligent decision to
opt out prior to the deadline.” FA 426-27. None of the
petitioners sought to avail themselves of this procedure.

7. Thereafter, the dissident plaintiffs’ attorneys collat-
erally attacked the judgment that approved the class set-
tlement. They argued that the class settlement was void
based upon a variety of jurisdictional theories and under
this Court’s decision in Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor,
521 U.S. 591 (June 25, 1997), which was decided after the
judgment that approved the factor concentrate class set-
tlement was final. The dissident attorneys argued that the
class settlement should be recharacterized as more than
6,000 irrevocable individual settlement offers that class
members were free to accept or reject and that the dissi-
dent attorneys should be allowed to collect from fraction-
ators up to $66,000 in attorneys’ fees from fractionators
for each settling client. FA 429, 434-36, 440-46; Opp.
App. 16a-17a.

The district court rejected the attorneys’ collateral at-
tack upon its judgment. FA 446-48. The court of ap-
peals in a unanimous decision written by Chief Judge
Richard Posner, ruminated, in dicta, that the settlement
“may well be questionable, both in its form ... and in
its terms,” Opp. App. 18a, but then emphatically held:

[T]here is no question of the district court’s having
exceeded its jurisdiction in entering the decree. All
the requirements of Article III were satisfied.

Even if they had not been, it is unlikely that the
settlement could be set aside at this late date... .
The principle that jurisdictional defects may be no-
ticed at any time is limited . . . by the equally im-
portant prinicple that litigation must have an end.

9

After a case has become final by exhaustion of all
appellate remedies, only an egregious want of juris-
diction will allow the judgments to be undone by
someone who, having participated in the case, cannot
complain that his rights were infringed without his
knowledge.

Opp. App. 18a-19a.7 This Court denied certiorari. 119
S. Ct. 1488 (1999).

8. Nevertheless, the dissident attorneys persisted in ar-
guing that the judgment that approved the class and set-
tlement was void and that class members could evade the
judgment of the district court and unilaterally withdraw
from the settlement by refusing to complete the paper-
work necessary to receive their settlement checks. Peti-
tioners’ counsel of record in this Court contended in No-
vember 1998—after the Seventh Circuit had rejected the
first collateral attack—that class members who failed to
opt out of the class settlement were not barred from pur-
suing individual litigiation unless they signed and returned
release forms. FA 463-64. Petitioner Michael Davon
published an Internet posting that stated: “My lawyers
tell me that I have no obligation not to pursue my own
litigation against the fractionators. The legal people I
have consulted feel that even the many people who signed
and returned the releases, but who have not been paid, are
not bound.” FA i148. Another Internet posting stated
that class members could opt out of the settlement in one
of two ways: (1) “[dJo nothing and not sign the release,
and you wili then automatically become an opt-out be-
cause the contract is not final until the check is signed[,]
sealed and delivered” or (2) send a letter to the “Claims
Administrator in Chicago expressing there was a breach

7 The court of appeals further held that the dissident attorneys
were estopped from challenging the class and settlement. Opp. App.
21a.

ee es

10

of contract, as the release is different from the original
documents.” FA 147.

Acting on this bad advice, petitioner claimant groups |
Tallakson, Chappie, Helm, Geraldo, Lindgren, Akers,
Davon, Castille, Robison, and Jane Doe failed to return
release forms. The Lay claimant group returned a re-
lease but subsequently purported to revoke the signature
on that release. FA 221. The Campbell group went so
far as to return settlement monies received after signing
the release. FA 118. Petitioners then filed or sought to

reactivate their state court lawsuits against fractionators.
FA 556-97.

9. On December 21, 1998, fractionators moved to en-
join the state court suits of petitioners. FA 472. Peti-
tioners filed cross motions under Rule 60 seeking relief
from the final judgment that approved the factor concen-
trate settlement. FA 477, 497. The district court ruled
in favor of the fractionators and against petitioners. In
denying the Rule 60 motions, the district court rejected,
inter alia, petitioners’ arguments that (1) the terms of the
release abrogated the class settlement agreement and con-
stituted a new offer that class members were free to re-
ject; (2) the final judgment approving the settlement was
void under Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, £21 U.S.
591 (1997); and (3) the final judgment was void because
there was no Article III case or controversy. Pet. App.
6-7. The district court also concluded that, “[clonsidering
the lapse of time itself, and the substantial changes of posi-
tion made by the numerous participants in the settlement
in the meantime, we believe [petitioners’] delay in pre-
senting these motions is inexcusable.” Pet. App. 8.

In a separate order entered the same day, the district
court granted fractionators’ motion for injunctive relief,
concluding that “[tJhis case is the paradigm situation to

11

employ the All Writs Act.” Opp. App. 6a. Among other
things, the district court rejected petitioners’ challenge to
the requirement that class members execute individual re-
leases in order to receive their settlement checks. The
court observed that the release requirement was “particu-
larly appropriate in this case,” where the settlement was
structured to provide compensation to “claimant groups”
rather than individuals. Opp. App. 7a. Moreover, as the
district court observed, “[n]ot one word was uttered by
these attorneys or their clients, in opposition to the re-
lease requirement” before final judgment was entered ap-
proving the class settlement. Opp. App. 7a. “For these
attorneys to argue at this late date that the requirement
of any release at all renders the order of May 8, 1997,
somehow unenforceable is a repetition of the kind of bad
faith they showed in their delayed challenge to the limi-
tation on their fees.” Opp. App. 7a.’

9. The court of appeals affirmed in an unpublished
order that relied upon the same panel’s opinion in the
prior collateral attack and the underlying orders of the
district court. Pet. App. 1-2.

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

This is not a case in which absent class members
sought to challenge fundamentally unfair provisions of a
class settlement of which they were unaware until after
final judgment was entered. Petitioners received notice of
the proposed class and settlement, chose to forego indi-
vidual litigation and to participate in the class settlement,
and filed claim forms seeking payment under the terms
of that settlement.

8 Additional arguments by petitioner Jane Doe were addressed
in a separate order of the district court. Opp. App. 10a-l4a. Jane
Doe has not raised those arguments before this Court.

12

Petitioners then changed their minds. They now seek
to deprive fractionators of their primary, bargained-for
benefit under this costly class settlement: peace from liti-
gation. The settlement agreement expressly provided that
fractionators would have the opportunity to analyze all
opt-out forms to evaluate their post-settlement litigation
exposure before committing to go forward with the class
settlement. Pet. App. 14 § A2(c). When fractionators
ultimately agreed to pay more than $600 million to class
members in this settlement, they did so with the under-
standing that they had been able to evaluate the litigation
exposure that would remain after the settlement was
implemented.

Petitioners want to change the terms of a done deal.
They bandy about the concepts of due process and Article
LI jurisdiction in an attempt to evade the final judgment
that approved the class and settlement. But the arguments
that petitioners attempt to raise are not properly presented
on the anomalous facts of this case. The petition there-
fore should be denied.

I. Petitioners first argue that the Court should grant
certiorari to “revisit the issue of how the constitutional
rights of class members can be vindicated.” Pet. 14.
They allege that the unpublished decisions below conflict
with judgments of several courts of appeals holding that
absent class members may raise due process challenges to
a final judgment on collateral attack. Pet. 15. See also
Pet. i. This issue does not merit review for at least five
reasons:

A. The decision below does not conflict with the hold-
ing of this or any other court. Neither the district court
nor the court of appeals held that absent class members
are foreclosed from collaterally attacking final judgments.
The courts below simply concluded that the arguments
presented by these petitioners lack merit—a determina-

13

tion that is factbound and does not merit review. See
Pet. App. 1-9; Opp. App. la-14a. The cases cited by
petitioners stand, at best, for the unremarkable proposition
that absent class members are bound by the judgment so
long as they were adequately represented and had sufficient
notice.®

B. The “issue of how the constitutional rights of class
members can be vindicated” is not properly presented be-
cause petitioners’ motions seeking relief from the final
judgment were untimely. Motions under Rule 60(b) (4),
(5), and (6), the provisions on which petitioners relied.1°
must be made “within a reasonable time.” Fed. R. Civ. P.
60(b). See generally Liljeberg v. Health Servs. Acquisi-
tion Corp., 486 U.S. 847, 863 (1988). Petitioners’ deci-
sion to challenge the class settlement more than 25
months after they filed for payment under the settlement
and 18 months after entry of the final judgment that ap-
proved the settlement was unreasonable on its face. In-
deed, as the district court observed, petitioners’ delay dem-

9 See Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 811-12 (1985)
(discussing due proocess requirements to assert jurisdiction over
absent class members); Zablocki v. Redhail, 424 U.S. 374, 380 n.6
(1978) (noting in passing that appellant, having waived it, could
not raise due process challenge on appeal on behalf of absent class
members); Twigg v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 153 F.3d 1222, 1226
(11th Cir. 1998) (collateral attack allowed where notice of settle-
ment was inadequate) ; Barney v. Holzer Clinic, Ltd., 110 F.3d 1207,
1214 n.11 (6th Cir. 1997) (holding that plaintiff was not member
of class: footnote states in passing that adequacy of representation
may be challenged on collateral attack) ; In re Agent Orange Prod.
Liab. Litig., 996 F.2d 1425, 1434-35 (2d Cir. 1993) ( rejecting, for
second time, collateral attack based upon alleged inadequacy of
notice and holding blanket conflict of interest claims against class
counsel to be unpersuasive), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1140 (1994).

10 Rule 60(b) (4) authorizes relief from void judgments; 60(b) (5)
authorizes, inter alia, relief when prospective application of a judg-
ment would be inequitable; 60(b)(6) is the catchall provision of
the rule.

14

onstrated the “bad faith” that was the hallmark of the
previous round of collateral attacks. Opp. App. 7a.

Nothing prevented petitioners from bringing a timely

challenge to the class settiement. Indeed, their principal
arguments—lack of Article III jurisdiction and inadequate
representation—could have been presented before the
judgment that approved the class settlement became final.
Petitioners received individual notice of the provisions of |
the class settlement in the fall of 1996. By October 15, |
1996, each and every one of the petitioners chose to file ae
a claim seeking payment under the terms of the class
settlement. FA 91, 107, 119, 128, 138, 150, 191, 201,
211, 222. 251, 261. Many of the petitioners were repre-
sented by personal counsel as well as class counsel during
this period. FA 265, 142, 123, 154. Several of those
lawyers, including petitioners’ present counsel of record,
expressly told the district court that they did not object to
final approval of the class settlement. FA 364, 380. Peti-
tioners made no effort to appeal the final judgment that
approved the class settlement. They did not challenge the
district court’s May 15, 1997, order, which explicitly
stated that late opt-outs from the class settlement would be
allowed only in extraordinary circumstances. FA 426.
Nor did they attempt to establish such circumstances.

Instead, petitioners sat back and waited while fraction-
ators distributed hundreds of millions of dollars to class
members, paid more than $30 million to state and federal
governments and insurers, established a $40 million at-
torney fee fund, and incurred millions of dollars in addi-
tional costs in connection with the implementation of the
class settlement. They waited while dissident plaintiffs’
attorneys (who represent many of the petitioners) liti-
gated the identical issues presented in this petition.

Only after fractionators announced that they would
seek injunctive relief to block petitioners’ state court law-

ee ee eee ee ee ee

15

suits did petitioners decide to file cross motions under
Rule 60. FA 471. Given this record, there is nothing
extraordinary about the court of appeals’ decision that
the district court acted within its discretion in conclud-
ing that petitioners were not entitled to back out of the
settlement.™

C. Petitioners concede that the determination that
their Rule 60 motions were untimely presents an “impedi-
ment” to consideration of their arguments, but contend
that Rule 60(b)(4) claims are “not subject to any time
limit.” Pet. 19-20, n.4.

The court of appeals specifically considered and re-
jected this argument in disposing of the first collateral at-
tack on the factor cor.centrate class settlement:

The appellants argue that “when subject matter juris-
diction is lacking or due process has been denied, the
final judgment is void, and its nullity must be recog-
nized in any collateral proceeding in which it is
asserted as binding.” This is an overstatement. The

11 Before the court of appeals, petitioners attempted to excuse
their tardiness by pointing to post-judgment developments—this
Court’s decision in Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U 5. 591
(1997), and petitioners’ receipt of the release forms that they were
required to sign to receive their settlement payments. But Amchem
was decided on June 25, 1997, just a few weeks after the factor
concentrate judgment became final. See Norgaard v. DePuy Ortho-
paedics, Inc., 121 F.3d 1074, 1075-76 (7th Cir. 1997) (denying Rule |
60(b) relief where appellant relied on a Supreme Court decision
that had been under consideration when judgment was entered, |
noting, inter alia, that appellant could have taken protective ap-
peal); Neuberg v. Michael Reese Hosp. Found., 123 F.3d 951, 955
(7th Cir. 1997) (Rule 60(b) motion filed 21 months after judgment
was untimely where movant had known of problems for 18 months
and Supreme Court decision upon which movant relied “had been
decided several months beforehand”). Moreover, all petitioners had
received their releases by the end of 1997. FA 510. Therefore,
these developments cannot explain petitioners’ failure to file their
Rule 60 motions until December of 1998. FA 477-78.

16

principle that jurisdictional defects may be noticed at
any time is limited, as we explained in /n re Edwards,
962 F.2d 641, 644 (7th Cir. 1992), by the equally
important principle that litigation must have an end.
After a case has become final by exhaustion of all
appellate remedies, only an egregious want of juris-
diction will allow the judgment to be undone by
someone who, having participated in the case, cannot
complain that his rights were infringed without his
knowledge. |

Opp. App. 18a-19a, cited in Pet. App. 1-2.

Petitioners respond that they were “absent” class mem-
bers and therefore had no duty to raise their objections to
the class and settlement before final judgment. Pet. 11-12.
This argument fails on the facts of this case because pe-
titioners were not truly “absent” class members in the
sense that term ordinarily is used. As set forth above,
these petitioners took the affirmative step of filing claim
forms that expressly stated petitioners’ intention to par-
ticipate in the settlement, with the knowledge that fraction-
ators would rely on those claim forms in determining
whether to go forward with the settlement. See Pet. App.
14 §A2(c), 47-48 § 02-3. Petitioners’ attorneys, in-
cluding their present counsel of record, participated in the
fairness hearings. FA 351, 360. Thus, petitioners had
sufficient information before final judgment was entered to
investigate virtually every argument that they now seek to
raise on collateral attack. See Williams v. General Elec.
Capital Auto Lease, Inc., 159 F.3d 266, 274-75 (7th Cir.
1998) (upholding order barring class members, who re-
ceived adequate notice, from relitigating their claims in
another forum), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 2392 (1999).
They chose not to pursue those arguments. the fact that
they later changed their minds about participating in the
class settlement does not excuse their failure to raise these

_ lll

nial

AAR Rn CNP De boa A pe

17

arguments on a timely basis. See Epstein v. MCA, Inc.,
179 F.3d 641, 648 (9th Cir.) (adequacy of representa-
tion is issue for trial court before entry of final judgment
and, where appropriate procedures were followed, should
not be second-guessed on collateral review), cert. denied,
120 S. Ct. 497 (1999).

D. Petitioners’ underlying due process arguments do
not merit this Court’s review. Petitioners contend that
the lower courts never considered their claim that the
class was inadequately represented. Pet. 13 n.2.

That is simply untrue. The district court specifically
found in its final judgment approving the class and settle-
ment that (a) the class had been vigorously represented
by class counsel and a class representative who shared
common interests with the class and (b) no collusion
existed between class counsel and fractionators. Pet. App.
87. The district court reiterated those findings in response
to the first collateral attack by dissident attorneys and the
present collateral attack. FA 437; Pet. App. 6-7; Opp.
App. 4a, 6a-7a. In rejecting the present collateral attack,
the Seventh Circuit explicitly adopted the reasoning of the
district court. Pet. App. 1-2.

1. Petitioners nevertheless complain that the class
could not have been adequately represented because class

12 None of the cases cited by petitioners supports the proposition
that classs members and their counsel can refrain from raising
timely objections to a class settlement and then collaterally attack
the settlement after final judgment has been entered and settlement
monies distributed. See Shults v. Champion International Corp.,
35 F.3d 1056, 1059 (6th Cir. 1994) (unnamed class members who
failed to seek to intervene lacked standing to appeal settlement
order); Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004, 1009 (10th Cir. 1993)
(absent class members appealed from denial of motion to inter-
vene) ; Croyden Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675, 680 (8th
Cir. 1992) (same; noting that unnamed class members have a
variety of options to protect their interests), cert. denied, 507 U.S.
908 (1993).

18

representative Susan Walker stated that approval of the
Class settlement would provide compensation to persons
like herself whose claims were time-barred. Pet. 5-6, 13
n.2. The susceptibility of Walker’s claim to a limitations
defense made her typical of the class that she represented;
not specifically because she was time-barred, but because
she had little chance of recovering any money in individ-
ual litigation. Indeed, the district court found in its judg-
ment approving the class and settlement that “[mJost class
members are faced with significant problems of limita-
tions, proximate cause and product identification, as well
as the task of persuading a jury that defendants should
be found negligent on the basis of acts and omissions that
preceded discovery of the AIDS virus.” Pet. App. 84.
Given these facts, it is not surprising that petitioners’
counsel of record, who was present at the final fairness
hearing at which Walker appeared, found no basis for
objecting to her adequacy as a class representative at that
time.

2. Petitioners urge that class counsel coerced class
members into participating in the settlement because,
under the express terms of the settlement agreement, frac-
tionators retained the option of withdrawing if too many
class members opted out. Pet. 13 n.2. The coercion
charge is unsupported and unsupportable. Class settle-
ment proposals often allow either plaintiffs or defendants
to withdraw from a settlement if the number of claimants
is different than that anticipated by negotiators. Herbert
Newberg & Aiba Conte, Newberg on Class Actions
§ 12.12 at 12-33-34 (3d ed. 1992). Here, hundreds of
people filed timely opt-out forms, and the settlement never-
theless went forward.

3. Petitioners also assert that fractionators have never
claimed that the settlement could survive analysis under
Amchem. Pet. 13-14 n.3. That is simply untrue. In re-

seein hihi Dl Ra a prt ted teil Gelbciel Cah 5

19

sponse to the first collateral attack on the judgment that
approved the class and settlement, fractionators stated:
“Even if Amchem applied to this case—and it did not—the
decision to certify a class and approve the class settlement
constituted a proper exercise of the District Court’s dis-
cretion.” 7% As the district court held in rebuffing that
initial collateral attack, the factor concentrate class settle-
ment is fundamentally different from the putative class
settlement in Amchem. FA 437. Here, the interests of one
group of class members are not being sacrificed in favor
of others. All eligible class members who follow the pro-
cedures for obtaining settlement payments are receiving
substantial compensation. Pet. App. 16-21 § B. Persons
who preferred to opt out on a timely basis have done so
without prejudicing their own interests. Pet. App. 31-
33 § F.

In any event, nothing in Amchem, which was decided
on a direct appeal, suggests that this Court intended to
reopen final judgments. Amchem was decided not on the
basis of constitutional claims, but under Rule 23. 521 U.S.
at 612-13.1* To the extent that Amchem established new
law governing class settlemer:ts, it does not apply to this
case because Amchem was decided after final judgment
was entered approving this class and settlement. Harper
v. Virginia Dep’t of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86, 95 (1993);
see also Norgaard vy. DePuy Orthopaedics, Inc., 121 F.3d
1074, 1075-76 (7th Cir. 1997) (denying Rule 60(b)

13 In re Factor VIII or 1X Concentrate Blood Prods. Litig., Ap-
peals of Spece and Mull & Mull, Nos. 98-1438, 1770, 1629, Brief of
Appellee Fractionators at 3 (7th Cir. 1998).

14 An alleged “error in interpreting a statutory grant of juris-
diction is not equivalent to acting with total want of jurisdiction”
and therefore does not render a final judgment a nullity. Kansas
City S. Ry. Co. v. Great Lakes Carbon Corp., 624 F.2d 822, 825
(8th Cir.), (rejecting collateral attack on final judgment), cert.
denied, 449 U.S. 955 (1980).

20

relief where appellant relied upon a Supreme Court deci-
sion that had been under consideration when judgment
was entered, noting, inter alia, that appellant could have
taken protective appeal) .}°

E. In an attempt to suggest the existence of circuit con-
flict where none exists, petitioners engage in page after
page of rumination about the Ninth Circuit’s decision in
Epstein v. MCA, Inc., 126 F.3d 1235 (9th Cir. 1997),
opinion withdrawn and superseded by Epstein v. MCA,
Inc., 179 F.3d 641 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct.
497 (1999). Petitioners rely heavily upon a 1997 panel
opinion that was later withdrawn. The Ninth Circuit
ultimately held that class members do not have a broad
right to challenge collaterally the adequacy of repre-
sentation if the certifying court makes a determination
of the adequacy of representation in accordance with this
Court’s precedent. 179 F.3d at 648 (discussing Phillips
Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985). That
holding is wholly consistent with the decisions below in the
present case.

II. Petitioners next argue that the final judgment ap-
proving the class and settlement was void because the
district court lacked Article III jurisdiction. They claim
that the judgment derived from a “fake,” “false and
fraudulent” complaint. Pet. 20-21. The record does not
support their wild allegations, much less provide a basis for
a grant of certiorari.

1° Petitioners also rely on Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 119 8. Ct.
2295, 2307 (1999). Ortiz is not instructive here because it deals
only with a Rule 23(b)(1)(B) class. See 119 S. Ct. at 2307. Peti-
tioners here are Rule 23(b)(3) class members, to whom, as this
Court recognized in Ortiz, the requirements of a limited fund do
not apply. See id. at 2315 (noting the difference in procedural
protections for the two types of class members).

21

A. As the court of appeals previously concluded, “{a]J]
the requirements of Article III were satisfied” with respect
to the final judgment approving the class settlement. Opp.
App. 18a. It cannot be disputed that a genuine contro-
versy exists between HIV-infected hemophiliacs and frac-
tionators. FA 530-31. The class settlement was negotiated
and approved in the context of multidistrict litigation that
had been underway since 1993. In re Factor VIII or IX
Concentrate Blood Prod. Liab. Litig. (MDL-986), 853 F.
Supp. 454 (J.P.M.L. 1993). That litigation was hotly con-
tested. As the district court observed in approving the final
settlement, “[t]he docket is over 70 single-spaced pages,
one indicator of the extent of this controversy.” Pet. App.
86. Dozens of hearings and pretrial conferences had been
held and the court had ruled upon numerous contested is-
sues, including almost 100 discovery motions, Pet. App. 86.

The class action complaint asserted that fractionators
were liable under a number of negligence and strict liability
theories. FA 269, 281-83. Fractionators answered the
complaint and denied those claims. FA 286-319. The
settlement proposal negotiated by fractionators and plain-
tiffs’ class counsel was subject to two fairness hearings after
conditional certification of the class. FA 338, 357. The
district court stated that it would reject the class settle-
ment if certain issues relating to government and insurer
reimbursement claims against class members were not
promptly resolved. FA 348, 351. Had the class not been
finally certified and the settlement approved, then the frac-
tionators would have litigated Susan Walker’s case, just
as they are litigating numerous other cases in state and
federal court.

B. Petitioners nevertheless assert that there was no
case or controversy because the parties had reached a
tentative settlement agreement before the complaint was
filed. Pet. 20-22. If that were the law, then courts would

22

lack jurisdiction over most consent decree litigation. See
SEC v. Randolph, 736 F.2d 525, 527 (9th Cir. 1984)
(reversing district court judgment “holding that no case
or controversy existed because the parties arrived in court
with the proposed judgment in hand”). Courts also would
lack jurisdiction to approve settlements in cases that had
been litigated for years; under petitioners’ theory, courts
overseeing such cases would lose jurisdiction the moment
the parties came to terms. “The fact that the parties have
arrived at a settlement agreement, however, does not lead
inevitably to the conclusion that no controversy exists be-
tween the parties up to the time the judgment is entered.”
Amalgamated Sugar Co. v. NL Indus., Inc., 825 F.2d
634, 640 (2d Cir.) (holding consent judgment was en-
titled to res judicata effect), cert denied, 484 U.S. 992
(1987).

In direct appeals in Amchem and Ortiz, this Court
declined to address similar arguments, that, if accepted,
would effect major changes in the law. Certainly, peti-
tioners’ collateral attempts to rewrite jurisdictional law
should be rejected.

C. Petitioners also suggest that the class representative’s
comment that her individual claim might be time-barred
deprived the district court of jurisdiction. Pet. 5-6, 13 n.2.
The strengths and weaknesses of the class representative’s
individual claim have nothing to do with Article III’s re-
quirement that there be a case or controversy. If a de-
fendant prevails on a motion for summary judgment on
limitations grounds, the plaintiff's case is dismissed; the
court does not lose jurisdiction. Therefore, the possibility
that fractionators could have asserted limitations as an
affirmative defense against the class representative did not
deprive the district court of jurisdiction.

D. Similarly, it is irrelevant that the Seventh Circuit
had previously decertified an inventive but fatally flawed

ee eee en ee

23

attempt to litigate the issue of negligence in a single class
trial involving the law of nearly every state. See In re
Rhéne-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 51 F.3d 1293, 1296 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 867 (1995). The Walker
class simply did not present the same Seventh Amend-
ment and other infirmities inherent in the district court’s
earlier trial plan. Nothing about that decision deprived
the district court of jurisdiction over a subsequent class
action complaint.

III. Finally, petitioners ask this Court to grant cer-
tiorari because fractionators allegedly engaged in a “bait
and switch” by requiring class members to sign individual
releases that purportedly did not coincide with the scope
of the settlement agreement and the notice provided to
Class members. This inherently factbound claim does not
warrant review.

The settlement agreement expressly provided that claim-
ants would be required to sign releases in order to receive
payment. Pet. App. 46 §M. The district court carefully
reviewed the terms of the releases, the settlement agree-
ment, and the final judgment approving the class settle-
ment, and concluded that the releases were consistent with
the settlement. FA 440-43; Pet. App. 6; Opp. App.
6a-7a."© Over 6,000 claimant groups signed that release. In
rejecting the first collateral attack on the final judgment,
the Seventh Circuit found no support for the claim that
fractionators had engaged in “bait-and-switch” tactics.
Opp. App. 17a. In rebuffiing petitioners’ present collateral
attack, the court of appeals relied on the reasoning of the
district court. Pet. App. 1-2. There is nothing about
these determinations that merits the review of this Court.

16 See Mo’ ‘er of VMS Sec. Litig., 103 F.3d 1317, 1321 (7th Cir.
1996) (“Gi\en that the power to implement a settlement agreement
between the parties inheres in the district court’s role as supervisor
of the litigation, the exercise of that power is particularly appro-
priate for deferential review”).

24

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of cer-

tiorari should be denied.

FRED MAGAZINER

RICHARD A. BERKMAN
DECHERT, PRICE & RHOADS
4000 Bell Atlantic Tower
1717 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 994-4000

Attorneys for Baxter
Healthcare Corporation

PHILIP 8. BECK

ANDREW GOLDMAN

BARTLIT, BECK, HERMAN,
PALENCHAR & SCOTT

Courthouse Place

54 West Hubbard Street

Chicago, IL 60610

(312) 494-4411

Attorneys for

Alpha Therapeutic Corp.

February 7, 2000

Respectfully submitted,

SARA J. GOURLEY
EUGENE A. SCHOON *
SuSAN A. WEBER
CATHERINE V. BARRAD
RoBerT C. VARNELL
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
Bank One Plaza
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 853-7000
Attorneys for Armour
Pharmaceutical Company
and Rhéne-Poulenc
Rorer Inc.

GEOFFREY R.W. SMITH
Suite 455 West
1025 Thom. Jefferson St., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20007
(202) 625-1224
Attorney for
Bayer Corporation

* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A
; March 3, 1999

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
EASTERN DIVISION

MDL-986

IN RE FAcToR VIII on IX CONCENTRATE
BLoop Propucts LITIGATION

No. 96 C 5024

SUSAN WALKER, Administratrix of the
Estate of Steven Walker, Deceased,

Plaintiff,
Vv.

BAYER CORPORATION, BAXTER HEALTHCARE
CORPORATION, ALPHA THERAPEUTIC CORPORATION and
ARMOUR PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY,

Defendants.

INJUNCTION ORDER

Consistent with the Final Order and Judgment in this
case on May 8, 1997, and the Order Concerning Requests
for Late Opt-Outs entered by the Court on May 15, 1997,
and pursuant to this Court’s authority under the All Writs
Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED
THAT:

2a

1. The putative class action, Diaz v. Alpha Therapeu-
tic Corporation, Nos. 97 C 8468 and 98 C 627 (N.D.
Ill.), is permanently enjoined. Named plaintiffs Celeste
Diaz, Mark Laam, Judy Trullinger, Shirley Carlise, and
Scott Carthey, who filed timely opt-outs from the Walker
class settlement, remain free to file individual lawsuits in
appropriate venues. Named plaintiffs Michael and Mary
Castille and Joseph Singler are permanently enjoined from
instituting, assigning, maintaining, collecting or prosecut-
ing claims against defendants, or any of them, arising out
of any injury, disease, or harm of any kind that the HIV
infected person and members of such person’s Claimant
Group allegedly suffered as a result of use of factor con-
centrate processed and distributed during the period from
1978 through 1985, as described in the Settlement Agree-
ment and this Court’s final judgment of May 8, 1997.

2. The following persons who failed timely to opt out
of the Walker class settlement are permanently enjoined
from instituting, assigning, maintaining, collecting or pros-
ecuting any such claims against defendants as those de-
scribed above in paragraph 1: Michael Akers; Michael
Harrington; Lan Dusty Nguyen; Michael and Carolyn
Coons; Phillip Campbell; Matthew Damon Chappie;
Michael Davon; Trina Geraldo; Mark S. Helm; Sylvan
Hart; Victor K. Horr; mother of Henry Lay; Anthony
Lindgren; Shawn A. Robison; Eric Sommes, Aaron
Tallakson; Victoria Tody; Carl Weixler; and Lillian D.
Noblett and Enid F. Eckert, the heirs of Ross Eckert.

DATE: March 3, 1999 ENTER:
/s/ John F. Grady

Joun F. GRADY
United States District Judge

3a

APPENDIX B
March 3, 1999

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
EASTERN DIVISION

MDL-986

IN RE FACTOR VIII orn IX CONCENTRATE
BLoop Propucts LITIGATION

No. 96 C 5024

SusAN WALKER, Administratrix of the
Estate of Steven Walker, Deceased,
Plaintiff,
Vv.

BAYER CORPORATION, ef al.,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION ON FRACTIONATOR
DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO ENJOIN CERTAIN
CLASS MEMBERS FROM LITIGATING
DUPLICATIVE LAWSUITS

In a separate order entered this date, the court is deny-
ing the motions of certain class members to relieve them
from the bar against proceeding with other lawsuits that
was contained in the order of May 8, 1997, approving
the class settlement in this case. We now turn to a mo-
tion the fractionator defendants have made to enjoin the

4a

lawsuits these same plaintiffs have filed or may intend to
file in other courts.

In today’s companion order, we pointed out that the
arguments advanced by the Rule 60 movants were essen-
tially the same ones their attorneys had made in the litiga-
tion over attorneys fees. That is, they argued that the
Walker settlement was void under Amchem Products,
Inc. v. Windsor, 117 S. Ct. 2231 (1997), and that the
settlement is not binding on these plaintiffs in any event
because defendants abandoned the settlement and ex-
tended “new offers” to the plaintiffs, which they were free
to refuse. We noted that we have previously addressed
these arguments and found it unnecessary to do so again.
We will treat the “voidness” and “new offer” arguments
in the same way here, referring to them only to the extent
necessary for context.

The present motion seeks to enjoin the prosecution of
lawsuits brought by these attorneys in state and federal
courts on behalf of class members who elected not to opt
out of the class and on behalf of opt-outs who purport to
serve as class representatives of class members who did
not opt out. Defendants’ argument is that these plaintiffs
are barred by the order of May 8, 1997, from proceeding
with these separate actions, either individually or as pur-
ported class representatives. Defendants invoke our au-
thority to enforce the terms of the settlement pursuant to
Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as well
as our power under the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C.
§ 1651(a). We enjoined the attorneys from seeking fees
apart from the cost and fee fund under the same author-
ity. See Order of February 18, 1998 at 20 n.8. In its
mandamus decision, the Seventh Circuit approved the
injunction as a proper exercise of this court’s authority
under the All Writs Act. In re Factor VIII or 1X Blood
Prods. Litig., 159 F.3d at 1020.

Sa

Realizing that this court has previously considered and
rejected their basic arguments, the plaintiffs, while renew-
ing those arguments, oppose the requested injunction on
additional grounds, as well. The new arguments still de-
pend upon the basic notion that the May 8, 1997, order
is void under Amchem and that the “new offers” have
abrogated the settlement.

Plaintiffs contend that the injunction requested by de-
fendants under the All Writs Act is inappropriate because
an alternative exists: defendants could assert the May 8,
1997, order as res judicata in each of the actions they
seek to enjoin. Plaintiffs point to certain statements of
this court at the status conference of November 18, 1998,
where we suggested that this approach would be prefer-
able to an injunction.

In retrospect, the court’s remarks at the November 18
status conference were premature. The issue had not been
briefed at that time, and we had not fully considered the
ramifications of our suggstion. Defendants correctly point
out that it would be unreasonable for them to have to
raise a res judicata defense in each of the cases these
plaintiffs have filed or might file in the future. Raising
the defense would involve the need to acquaint a number
of different judges with the complex legal and factual is-
sues in this litigation and, of necessity, the possibility of
inconsistent rulings. The party who lost the argument in
each trial court would be sure to appeal, adding further
expense and the possibility of inconsistent appellate rul-
ings. In short, the plaintiffs propose an inordinately ex-
pensive, duplicative, and ineffective means of resolving the
question of whether the order of May 8, 1997, bars addi-
tional litigation by these plaintiffs. In contrast, an in-
junction by this court, reviewable only by an appellate
court already familiar with the controversy, provides an

6a

incomparably better alternative. This case is the paradigm
situation to employ the All Writs Act.

The attorneys who represent these plaintiffs could have
asserted the same kind of argument in the fee controversy.
They could have argued that an injunction was not neces-
sary because there was an available alternative: defend-
ants could raise the May 8, 1997, order as a bar to the
collection of any percentage fees where the attorneys might
obtain a judgment against the defendants on behalf of a
client, or as a defense to any suit brought ‘rectly against
the defendants by the attorneys on one or more of the
theories of liability (interference with contract, fraud, etc.)
they had asserted in that controversy. However, the
attorneys did not make that argument, nor did the Court
of Appeals suggest that this court should have stayed its
hand because of the availability of such an alternative.

Plaintiffs argue that in order to invoke the All Writs
Act, this court must have independent jurisdiction over
the persons to be enjoined. Plaintiffs are wrong. The
Act applies to them because it extends to all persons who
wrongfully seek to frustrate a federal court order, whether
or not they were ever parties to the case in which the
order was entered. United States v. New York Tel. Co.,
434 U.S. 159, 174 (1977): In re Baldwin-United Corp.,
770 F.2d 328, 338 (2d Cir. 1985). Some of these plain-
tiffs are members of the settlement class who did not opt
out, and there can be no question of our jurisdiction over
them. The All Writs Act gives us jurisdiction over the
other plaintiffs who did opt out but have filed class actions
in which they purport to represent class members who did
not opt out.

The second major argument made by the plaintiffs is a
farrago of previous contentions attacking the validity and
continued viability of the settlement. They contend that
the settlement is void under Amchem, that the tendered

7a

releases departed from the terms of the settlement and
therefore constituted new offers, and that there is no con-
sideration for the releases as tendered. Therefore, plain-
tiffs argue the settlement is a nullity as applied to them,
and this court has no authority to enforce the settlement
order.

Plaintiffs contend in this connection that to require any
release in the settlement of a class action is “virtually
unheard of.” The contention that no release can be re-
quired as a condition of payment is another example of
something plaintiffs’ attorneys could have raised on behalf
of their clients before the settlement was approved. The
settlement agreement approved by the court after exten-
sive hearings specifically provided for releases. That re-
quirement was particularly appropriate in this case, where
entitlement to the payments would belong not only to in-
dividuals but sometimes to “claimant groups.” The possi-
bility of disputes among group members was easily fore-
seeable. Obtaining releases from each member of the
group was an obvious way of extinguishing all claims in
the group. Not one word was uttered by these attorneys
or their clients, in opposition to the release requirement
and we entered the order of May 8, 1997, in the belief
that the settlement agreement was satisfactory to all class
members who had not objected to it. For these attorneys
to argue at this late date that the requirement of any
release at all renders the order of May 8, 1997, somehow
unenforceable is a repetition of the kind of bad faith they
showed in their delayed challenge to the limitation on their
fees.

We continue to believe that the order of May 8, 1997,
is valid and enforceable. Defendants bargained for the
benefit of the order, and they are entitled to that benefit.
The only sensible way to enforce the portion of the order

that bars the filing of other lawsuits is to enjoin these
plaintiffs from filing or prosecuting such suits. Accord-
ingly, the proposed injunction order tendered by the de-
fendants will be entered, with one modification.’

Two of the cases that defendants seek to enjoin, the
Diaz and Harrington suits, were removed from state court
to federal court and then transferred here as part of the
MDL. Plaintiffs have pending motions to remand those
cases to state court for an alleged lack of federal subject
matter jurisdiction. Defendants argue that it is unneces-
sary to decide the remand motions if the suits are en-
joined, and we agree. But something has to be done with
the remand motions. Denying them as moot would seem
inappropriate where there is an unresolved challenge to
federal jurisdiction. We suggest that defendants withdraw
their opposition to remand. This court could then remand
the cases to the state courts where they were filed. The
cases would be subject to the injunction, and plaintiffs
would be unable to prosecute them. Defendants could
then file in the state courts whatever motions would be
appropriate in light of the injunction.

Defendants should notify the court and the Diaz and
Harrington plaintiffs by March 9, 1999, as to whether they
withdraw their opposition to plaintiffs’ remand motions.
If they do, the court will grant the motions.

1 The modification is that instead of limiting the opt-out plaintiffs
to filing individual suits “in their home states” they will be per-
mitted to file individual suits “in appropriate venues.”

9a

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Fractionator Defendants’
Motion to Enjoin Certain Class Members from Litigating
Duplicative Lawsuits is allowed. The injunction will be
entered this date.”

DATE: March 3, 1999 ENTER:

/s/ John F. Grady
JOHN F. Grapy
United States District J udge

2The plaintiff Jane Doe, represented by Roy G. Spece, has a
separate motion pending which seeks relief from the May 8, 1997
order, on the ground that the defendants agreed to allow her to opt
out of the settlement class. The court has requested further briefs
on that motion. In the event the motion is granted, we will vacate
the injunction as to plaintiff Jane Doe. If we deny the motion, the
injunction will remain in effect as to her.

10a

APPENDIX C
April 16, 1999

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
EASTERN DIVISION

MDL-986

IN RE FACTOR VIII or [IX CONCENTRATE
BLoop PropwuctTs LITIGATION

No. 96 C 5024

SusAN WALKER, Administratrix of the
Estate of Steven Walker, Deceased,
Plaintiff,
v.

BAYER CORPORATION, BAXTER HEALTHCARE
CORPORATION, ALPHA THERAPEUTIC CORPORATION and
ARMOUR PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY,

Defendants.

ORDER

The court has under advisement the Motion of the
Fractionator Defendants to Enjoin the Lawsuit of Jane
Doe and the corresponding Motion of Jane Doe for Re-
lief from judgment. The ultimate issue presented by both
motions is whether Doe should be granted relief from the
order of May 8, 1997 barring other lawsuits by class
members who did not timely opt out of the class settle-

lla

ment and from the injunction order of March 3, 1999,
specifically enjoining the lawsuits which certain class
members, including Doe, have filed in other jurisdictions.
In our memorandum opinion of March 3, 1999 (p. 8 n.2),
we indicated that in the event Jane Doe’s motion were
allowed we would vacate the injunction as to her.

An understanding of the dispute requires revisitation
of a concern the court had at the time it approved the
class settlement. It was the desire of everyone involved,
including the court, to ensure that each settling class mem-
ber, or claimant group, would receive the sum of $100,000
net of attorneys fees and net of any liens or claims for
reimbursement by medical insurers or providers. The
court recognized that the accomplishment of this objec-
tive would be time-consuming, complicated, and, perhaps
in some cases, unsuccessful because the lien or reimburse-
ment claimants might be unwilling to waive their claims.
The court wanted to give the parties adequate time to
exhaust the possibility of obtaining the necessary waivers
but, on the other hand, to provide for a point at which
class members would be free to opt out of the class if the
necessary waivers could not be obtained. Therefore, in
our order of March 5, 1997, we provided,

With respect to class members whose public reimburse
ment/subrogation or eligibility issues are not resolved
by December 31, 1997, the court intends to termi-
nate the settlement as to those class members and
deem them opt-outs from the date of such termina-
tion.

What we intended by the above-quoted provision was to
afford protection to class members who had elected not
to opt out on the assumption that their receipt of a net
of $100,000 could be guaranteed but whose expectation
would be disappointed by an inability to resolve a lien
or reimbursement claim. A class member in such a pre-

12a

dicament could derive no benefit from the settlement
(most of the medical bills incurred by class members far
exceeded the $100,000), and the only thing left to do
would be to proceed with whatever lawsuit could be
maintained. For that purpose, we would terminate the
settlement as to such [a] class member and deem the class
member an opt-out from the date of the termination.

It was not the court’s intent to permit a late opt out
by a class member whose $100,000 settlement would not
be subjected to diminution by a lien or reimbursement
claim, but who nonetheless belatedly decided that he or
she would be better served by proceeding with an indi-
vidual action. The time limit for opt outs was subject to
extension in individual cases based on extraordinary cir-
cumstances, but a mere change of heart about the attrac-
tiveness of the settlement versus opting out was not such
a circumstance.

With this background, we turn to an examination of
the case of Jane Doe, who did not timely opt out but who
has filed a lawsuit in the state of California against the
fractionator defendants and desires to proceed with it
notwithstanding the bar order of May 8, 1997 and the
injunction order of March 3, 1999.

Jane Doe has two arguments. Both of them are based
on the proposition that Inter Valley Health Plan had an
enforceable claim against Jane Doe’s $100,000 settle-
ment for the amounts of the medical benefits it had pro-
vided to Jane Doe’s deceased husband in connection with
the HIV infection that resulted in his death. The first
argument is, that Jane Doe was an automatic opt out by
reason of the fact that the claim of Inter Valley had not
been settled by the “deadline” of December 31, 1997.
The second argument is that by reason of an agreement
arrived at between the counsel for Jane Doe and counsel
for the Fractionators, Jane Doe was entitled to opt out

13a

in return for waiving an appeal from the order of May 8,
1997. These arguments are convoluted, difficult to follow,
and, to the extent they are based upon an alleged agree-
ment with counsel for the Fractionators, not supported
by the record. But most importantly, Doe has failed to
show that Inter Valley has any claim against her per-
sonally, or any claim against the proceeds of her claim
against the defendants for the wrongful death of her hus-
band. The defendants have satisfied the court that under
the law of California Jane Doe’s wrongful death claim
does not entitie her to seek recovery of medical expenses
incurred by or on behalf of the decedent. Therefore,
Inter Valley had no lien or reimbursement claim that had
to be waived before Jane Doe would be entitled to retain
the entire $100,000 settlement.

But more than that, even assuming Inter Valley did
have a claim against Jane Doe or her $100,000 settle-
ment, the Fractionators obtained a waiver of that claim
in return for a payment of $5,000 to Inter Valley. While
Doe suggests that Inter Valley might attempt to set aside
this settlement on the basis that there was a “misrepre-
sentation” by the Fractionators, there is no evidence that
there was any misrepresentation and no reason to suppose
that Inter Valley would have any success in setting aside
the settlement should it ever decide to make the effort.

In short, it does not appear that Jane Doe’s $100,000
settlement was subject to any claim by Inter Valley Health
Plan to begin with, but even if it had been, that claim
has been fully settled.1 The December 31, 1997 “dead-

1 Doe makes the point that there must have been some validity to
Inter Vailey’s claim, otherwise the Fractionators would not have
paid $5,000 to settle it. But in the context of this $600,000,000
settlement, a $5,000 payment is nothing more than nuisance value.
The Fractionators never acknowledged that Inter Valley had a
viable claim, and the $5,000 payment is consistent with a desire

14a

line” which the court intended as a shield for any un-
fortunate class members who could not obtain the neces-
sary waivers, has been seized upon by Jane Doe as a
sword. She relies upon a non-existent lien of Inter Valley
to relieve her of her decision not to opt out of the class
and to accept the settlement. What Doe is attempting
to do is to turn a non-existent lien problem into an excuse
for a late opt out that will permit her to pursue what she
regards as an option more advantageous than the settle-
ment. She has not persuaded us that she has any right
to do that.

Accordingly, the Fractionator[s’] motion to enjoin the
lawsuit of Jane Doe is allowed, and Jane Doe’s motion for
relief from judgment is denied. The effect of these rulings
on the two motions is that this court’s injunction order of
March 3, 1999, remains in effect as to Jane Doe.

DATE: April 16,1999 ENTER:

/s/ John F. Grady
JOHN F. GRADY
United States District Judge

simply to close the matter out. It is Do[e] who needs to explain why,
if Inter Valley thought it did have a viable claim under California
law, it would settle for the trivial sum of $5,000.

2It should be noted that there was nothing self-executing about
the December 31, 1997 date. We provided in our order of March 5,
1997 that any class member whose lien or reimbursement issues had
not been resolved by that date would have the settlement terminated
and would be deemed an opt-out as of the date of the termination.
The court made no such determination as to Jane Doe, nor would
it have made such a determination had she requested it, since there
was no lien or reimbursement issue that was any problem for her.

15a
APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 98-1438 and 98-1770

IN RE FAcToR VIII or [IX CONCENTRATE
BLoop PropuctTs LITIGATION,

APPEALS OF Roy G. SPECE, JR., ROSE MARIE IBANEZ,
and MULL & MULL.

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.
No. 96 C 5024—John F. Grady, Judge.

No. 98-1629

IN RE MULL & MULL.

Petition for a Writ of Mandamus.
No. 94 C 5324—John F. Grady, Judge.

Submitted September 8, 1998—Decided October 19, 1998

16a

Before PosNER, Chief Judge, and BAUER and ROVNER,
Circuit Judges.

PosNER, Chief Judge. Five years ago, a nationwide
class action was filed on behalf of hemophiliacs who had
been infected in the early 1980s with AIDS virus (HIV)
contained in blood solids manufactured and sold by the
defendant drug companies for the treatment of hemo-
philia. Blood solids are manufactured from blood sold or
donated to blood banks and the defendants had failed
either to screen the blood for HIV or to process the blood
in a way that would kill any HIV in it. The class claimed
that the defendants were negligent in not taking these
precautions. After we granted mandamus, on grounds
unnecessary to recite here, to decertify the class, In re
Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 51 F.3d 1293 (7th Cir. 1995),
the parties’ lawyers continued to negotiate over a mass
settlement of the estimated 6,000 suits that either had
been or were expected to be filed by or on behalf of in-
fected hemophiliacs. The negotiations resulted in the cer-
tification of the class, though this time for settlement only,
and the entry, last year, of a consent decree. The decree
provided that each member of the class who was willing
to release the defendants from liability would receive
$100,000 net of attorneys’ fees and that the defendants
would establish a $40 million fund out of which attor-
neys’ fees would be paid in amounts to be determined by
the judge. The decree extinguished the rights of the law-
yers for those class members who signed a release to
enforce their contingent-fee contracts with such members,
because it provided that “no attorney’s fee shall be pay-
able by any class members other than those fees approved
by the Court to be payable from the [$40 million] fund.”
Contingent-fee contracts generally entitle the lawyer to
33 to 40 percent of any judgment or settlement. In the
case of a settlement that yielded a net of $600 million

17a

to the claimants, this would mean lawyers’ fees of $300
to $400 million (since a gross settlement of $900 million
would yield the claimants $600 million if their lawyers
were entitled to 33 percent), not $40 million, actually
less than $40 million since the fund was to be the exclu-
sive source of court costs as well as attorneys’ fees.

The few appeals from the consent decree were volun-
tarily dismissed. The process of obtaining releases from
members of the class began and is now substantially com-
pleted, with some 5,200 class members having executed
releases and been paid $100,000 each. Several hundred of
these class members are represented by the lawyers who
have filed, on their own behalf and not on behalf of their
clients, the two appeals and the petition for mandamus
that are before us for decision today.

These lawyers accuse the lawyers for the class and for
the defendants—groundlessly, as far as we can tell—of
defamation, bait-and-switch tactics, hoodwinking, infamy,
dishonesty, illegality, intimidation, extortion, hypocrisy,
hysteria, and Marxism. Yet they did not oppose the set-
tlement. They objected initially to the amount of the set-
tlement but their objection was rejected after a hearing
and they did not renew their opposition or appeal from
the consent decree, of which their clients have, as we have
noted, taken full advantage. And at no time did they
object to the attorney’s fee provision of the settlement.
Only after the time for appealing from the consent decree
had run did these lawyers advise the district court of
their view that the consent decree was invalid insofar as
it limited their fees and barred them from trying to en-
force their contingent-fee contracts with their clients.
They also instituted collateral attacks on the settlement in
the state courts of Louisiana, which resulted in a tem-
porary cessation of payments by the defendants to the
clients of these lawyers. The district judge responded to

[8a

these shenanigans by enjoining the lawyers from attempt-
ing to enforce their contingent-fee contracts or liens based
upon them, and he declared the contracts void to the ex-
tent that they are inconsistent with the consent decree.
The lawyers have challenged his actions both by appeal-
ing and by seeking mandamus.

The injunction is appealable without regard to finality,
28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1), and if the appellants are correct
that the consent decree is “void,” then the injunction,
being ancillary to it, would fall with it. If the consent
decree were truly void, the injunction based on it would
presumably also be void, and so unappealable because a
void order imposes no obligations; but in that event man-
damus would lie to vacate the injunction. DDI Seam-
less Cylinder Int'l, Inc. v. General Fire Extinguisher Corp.,
14 F.3d 1163, 1166 (7th Cir. 1994). The settlement em-
bodied in the consent decree may well be questionable,
both in its form (cf. Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor,
117 S. Ct. 2231 (1997), disapproving “settlement
classes,” albeit in different circumstances from those of
this case) and in its terms. That all the members of the
class should receive the identical payment, even though
the strength of their cases (some of which appear to be
barred by the statute of limitations) and the amount of
their damages must vary greatly, is downright weird. But
there is no question of the district court’s having exceeded
its jurisdiction in entering the decree. All the require-
ments of Article III were satisfied.

Even if they had not been, it is unlikely that the settle-
ment could be set aside at this late date. The appellants
argue that “when subject matter jurisdiction is lacking or
due process has been denied, the final judgment is void,
and its nullity must be recognized in any collateral pro-
ceeding in which it is asserted as binding.” This is an
overstatement. The principle that jurisdictional defects

19a

may be noticed at any time is limited, as we explained in
In re Edwards, 962 F.2d 641, 644 (7th Cir. 1992), by
the equally important principle that litigation must have
an end. After a case has become final by exhaustion of
all appellate remedies, only an egregious want of jurisdic-
tion will allow the judgment to be undone by someone
who, having participated in the case, cannot complain
that his rights were infringed without his knowledge. Stoll
v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 171-72 (1938); In re Edwards,
supra, 962 F.2d at 644: Restatement (Second) of Judg-
ments §12 (1982). (On the Significance of participa-
tion, see, e.g., Williams v. General Electric Capital Auto
Lease, Inc., No. 97-1321, 1998 WL at * .

(7th Cir. Oct. 2, 1998).)

The practical wisdom of this rule is shown by the pres-
ent case. The defendants have paid out more than $500
million. Are they now to go around to all 5,200 class
members whom they have paid and ask for their $100,000
back so that this litigation can return to its starting
point? Not that the appellants are asking for this. They
just want more fees. But the $40 million cap on attor-
neys’ fees was an important part of the deal from the de-
fendants’ stand-point, given their commitment to pay each
class member a net of $100,000, so that the attorneys’
fees would have to come out of the defendants’ pockets.
If the cap is to be lifted the entire settlement must be re-
scinded and the parties returned to Square one by the
return of the moneys paid out under it. This would also
have to happen if the appellants decided to seek addi-
tional fees not from the defendants but from their own
clients; the defendants wouldn’t care, but of course the
clients would be entitled to rescind their releases, which
had been premised on the receipt of $100,000 net.

We are mindful that Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) (4) author-
izes, and the cases interpreting it require, “void” judg-

20a

ments to be set aside at any time. United States v. Indoor
Cultivation Equipment, 55 F.3d 1311, 1317 (7th Cir.
1995); Bally Export Corp. v. Balicar, Ltd., 804 F.2d
398, 400 (7th Cir. 1986). But set aside by the district
court; it is there that the motion must be filed; and the
appellants have never filed such a motion. But we don’t
want to give them false hopes. They will gain nothing by
trying to file such a motion in the future. For “void” is
just the name we give to those judgments that can be set
aside without regard to the usual limitations on challeng-
ing judgments after they have become final by exhaustion
of appellate remedies; and as the authorities cited in the
preceding paragraph make clear, a judgment is not to be
pronounced void merely because the court that entered
it may not have had jurisdiction. And, needless to say,
substituting for a 60(b)(4) motion in the district court
a petition for a writ of mandamus in the court of appeals
(cf. Cohen v. Illinois Institute of Technology, 581 F.2d
658, 662 (7th Cir. 1978); Cinerama, Inc. v. Sweet Music,
S.A., 482 F.2d 66, 71 n.3 (2d Cir. 1973) (Friendly,
J.)) shouldn’t enlarge the meaning of “void.” Indeed,
given the rule, the only occasion for using mandamus—a
last resort, a safety hatch where no other vehicle for ob-
taining judicial relief is available, e.g., Allied Chemical
Corp. v. Daiflon, Inc., 449 U.S. 33, 35 (1980) (per
curiam)—to get rid of void judgments would be where
Rule 60(b) (4) relief had been sought in the district court
and denied there, and the order denying it was unappeal-
able, as in Moses v. Banco Mortgage Co., 778 F.2d 267,
275 (5th Cir. 1985). That is not this case.

Rule 60(b)(3) allows judgments to be set aside on the
ground of fraud, and the appellants argue that the settle-
ment was procured by fraud. But this rule (unlike
60(b)(4)) has a time limit of one year, which the appel-
lants have now exceeded, for as we have said they never
filed a Rule 60(b) motion, and so it is now too late for

re) oe Ree eee

2la

them to file such a motion bottomed on subsection (3).
Anyway their allegations of fraud are fantastic and even
preposterous. The most fantastic is the claim by one of
them that he was on the verge of negotiating a $1.8
billion settlement with the defendants when the class law-
yers by a dastardly maneuver preempted him by agreeing
to accept a measly $600 million. If this were true, which
we do not for a moment believe, the lawyer would have
been ethically obligated, as well as impelled by powerful
motives of self-interest, to bring this to the attention of
the district judge in the hearing that the judge conducted
(and the lawyer attended) on the fairness of the proposed
settlement.

Even if someone might have been or might still be able
to challenge the settlement, presumably someone who had
not had notice of or a fair opportunity to participate in
the proceeding yet had been adversely affected by it,
it is not these lawyers. Having participated in the settle-
ment proceeding and having failed to make timely ob-
jection to it, they are barred by the principles of waiver
and equitable estoppel from challenging the settlement
after it has become final and the defendants have paid
and the class members have received hundreds of mil-
lions of dollars. Skelton v. General Motors Corp., 860
F.2d 250, 259 (7th Cir. 1988).

Since the settlement stands, the judge’s power to issue
the injunction (and related declaratory relief) against
these lawyers’ enforcing the contingent-fee contracts or
liens based upon them was a proper exercise of the
court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1651 (“all writs” )
to prevent interference with its orders. E.g., United States
v. New York Telephone Co., 434 U.S. 159, 172 (1977);
Williams v. General Electric Capital Auto Lease, Inc.,
Supra, at * ; United States v. Silva, 140 F.3d 1098,
1103 (7th Cir. 1998); In re VMS Litigation, 103 F.3d
1317, 1324 (7th Cir. 1996); In re Agent Orange Product

22a

Liability Litigation, 996 F.2d 1425, 1431 (2d Cir. 1993).
The settlement agreement guaranteed all acceding class
members $100,000 free of attorneys’ fees. The appellant
lawyers are now claiming the right to sue their clients
for a third or more (whatever the contingent-fee contract
provides) of the $100,000. This claim is not only a dag-
ger aimed at the heart of the settlement and therefore
properly enjoinable; it raises serious ethical concerns.
Having induced their clients to sign releases under the im-
pression that the consideration for the release was
$100,000 net, the lawyers now assert a right to turn on
the clients and take for their own benefit a substantial
fraction of that purportedly net recovery. It is true that
they don’t want to sue their clients, or even to undo the
settlement; they would be quite content to take the $15
million or so that they think their contingent-fee contracts
entitle them to out of the $40 million costs and attorneys’
fees fund, and indeed would greatly prefer this route to
having to sue hundreds of individuals. But if they did get
what they are seeking out of the fund, the settlement
would come apart, to the detriment of their clients, be-
cause there wouldn’t be enough money for the other law-
yers. In any event, the appellants’ insistence that not-
withstanding the consent decree the contingent-fee con-
tracts remain valid and enforceable—which means en-
forceable against the clients who signed them—created a
sufficient danger to the clients (as well as causing the
delay in payment to them that we mentioned earlier) to
warrant the district court’s enjoining these lawyers from
trying to enforce the contracts.

The order of the district court is
AFFIRMED.
A true Copy:
Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386004_0829%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
