# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Flinn v. Plummer

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1845%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1029

## Text

0) “Froese
@5°6 39001 16 oy

‘ OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

THE IN RE GENE FLINN, ESQ.
FEDERAL CASE. NO. 94-5101

GENE FLINN, ESQ., et al.,

Petitioners,
vV.

LAWRENCE PLUMMER, a non certified
opponent designated by the
Circuit as Appellee

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THE GENE FLINNS/ Unit
In Proper Persons

5100 SW 87 Avenue
(Galloway Road)

Miami, Florida 33165

(305) 274-0033

(305) 852-8100 (Keys)

September 304 995 2 or

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Whether the U. S. District Courts
are constitutionally (or statutorily)
empowered to authorize Standing of
an independent counsel to _ prosecute

cases.

Whether a non appearance
‘appearing’ counsel who lacks a
Presidential appointment in becoming
the District's U. S. Attorney and
who fails to comply with such
established Rules and statutory
requirements for an otherwise
identifiable Standing nullifies a
District Court conducted In _ Re

proceeding disbarring Petitioner.

LIST OF PARTIES

Contrary to Constitutional Due
Process, there has never existed
a Federal Complaint, nor any other
document informing Petitioner of
(1) who made the charges and (2)
of what charges were being lodged
against him as an attorney enrolled
in the U. S. Judicial System.

The Petitioner stands as_ the
only Party to these so described
In Re proceedings.

The Respondent, LAWRENCE PLUMMER,
is represented by a LAWRENCE KAINE,
ESQ., though never a party, as more
fully described in the requested

Writ stated hereafter.

ii

Se ee ee Ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i
LIST OF PARTIES ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Vv
OPINION BELOW 1
JURISDICTION 1
PROLOGUE TO STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3
PRECIPITATING EVENTS AND

STATEMENT OF CASE 6
REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

AND ARGUMENT 9
CONCLUSION 13
APPENDIX 19

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT GRANTED
MOTION FOR ATTORNEYS’ FEES

AND REMANDED TO DISTRICT COURT
APPELLANT'S REQUEST FOR FEES 19
MEMORANDUM DATED AUGUST 14,

1995 FROM ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

COURT OF APPEALS 21

iii

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
Fifth Amendment,
Due Process Clause 2
Sixth Amendment - Confrontation 2

Fourteenth Amendment - Underlying

Case 2
STATUTES

18 U.S.C. §1951 et seq. 5

18 U.S.C. §1962(c) and (d) 2, 30

28 U.S.C. §546 12

28 U.S.C. §2101(c) 2

28 U.S.C. §2101(d) 2

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
Rule 24 11

FEDERAL RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE

Rule 40(a) 21

LOCAL RULES FOR THE SOUTHERN
DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Rule III 4

CASES
GENE FLINN V. ESM Government

Securities, Inc., Case

Number 84-0014 7

New York Chinese TV Programs,

Inc. v. U.E. Enterprises, 153

F.R.D. 69, 71 (S.D. N.Y. 1994) 10

New York News, Inc. v. Kheel,

972 F.2d 482 (2nd Cir. 1992 10

United States v. Busher,

817 F.2d 1409, 1412 (9th
Cir. 1987) 14
United States v. Wunsch,

54 F.3d 579 (9th Cir. 1995) 10

United States Securities &

Exchange Commission v.

ESM Government Securities,

Inc., 645 F.2d 310 (5th Cir.
1981) 7

vi

The Petitioners pray that a
Writ of Certiorari issue to review
the judgement and opinion of _ the
United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit entered in the
above entitled proceeding August
7, 1995, and the action taken by
this Court on August 14, 1995 rejecting
Petitioner's right to file a response,

thereto, upon rehearing.

OPINION BELOW
The Opinion of the Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Court and the subsequently issued
Court Memorandum are unpublished
and is reprinted in the appendix

hereto.

JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction

based upon constitutional questions

presented pursuant to the _ Fifth,
Sixth Amendments as applied to _ the
State of Florida initiated action
through the Fourteenth Amendment
to the United States Constitution,
and the Federal Rules of Civil and
Appellate Procedure. This Petition
for Writ of Certiorari is filed under
the provisions of 28 U.S.C. 2101(c)
and (d). The Petition has been filed

within the time allowed by law.

PROLOGUE TO STATEMENT
OF THE CASE

Over Memorial Day weekend of
1990, the psychiatrist who had
testified just a year before to the
Referee that Petitioner suffers from
irreversible brain damage, was found
dead with a bullet in the brain.
Dr. Arthur Stillman had agreed for
‘flipping’ to becoming the Star Witness
before the impaneled Federal Grand
Jury investigating Operation ‘Court
Broom ' involving those who had engaged
in an [18 U.S.C.] Section 1962(c)
racketeering enterprise to
eliminate/liquidate, among others,
the Flinns and other’ enforcement
personnel, including a key Government
informant. Stillman had been shot
with a 38 calibre, and what had been
stuffed in his pocket obviously as

a pro forma Mafia warning to. the

investigator, William Santner, and

to Petitioner was a newspaper article
on the Bar Grievance pertaining to
"Gene Flinn - Former’ Legislator".

This was a jolt to the Bureau
and the reason for one (1) State
Judge going free. Moreover, Florida
Bar Counsel, Paul Gross, had exparteed
the Referee informing him of _ the
probe of State officials on March
22, 1989 in: a transcript, beginning
"Your Honor, I don't know if you
want this on the _ Record”. There
is where it ceases. The Referee
rules there exist no corruption prior
to that trial.

Thereafter Petitioner sought

the issuance of federal subpoenas,

as the Respondent in 1989 had been
excused from testifying by the Referee.
This request has been_ repeatedly

denied and, on one occasion, by the

Circuit's Chief Judge and as _ late

as October 12, 1994. As a consequence,
the Petitioners suffer further setbacks
in their top notch investigator being
gunned down; Coordinator Patricia
Marshall Smith being shot at on June
7; 1993, and, additionally, for
this District's (then) U. Ss.
Attorney, Dexter Lehtinen, refusing
to prosecute two (2) ‘Hobbs’ cases
[18 U.S.C. §1951, et seq.] prepared
for presentment by the ATF/Bureau
in 1989, which ‘alert’ to the
widespread drug crime/corruption

in the tri-state area was sounded

by Petitioner, as stenographically
recorded, in testifying before a
U. S. Magistrate Judge, on June
25, 1990.

5

PRECIPITATING EVENTS AND

STATEMENT OF CASE

The problem of dealing with
Petitioner up front is that he lacks
a criminal record, even a_ police
blotter notation. Further, such
circumstances are exacerbated by
his [their] recommending’ successes.
The Flinns were the Florida managers

and a security attache’ to LBJ, and

"Bobby' Kennedy in 1960. Here,
Petitioner, joined by others,
recommends Charles ‘'Bud' Stack to

fill the vacancy created by a Circuit
Judge taking Senior Status. The
Florida Bar which had its own groomed
candidate was ignored. The President
nominated Stack for the Eleventh.

In what would be termed as a
move towards a ‘full circle
exoneration’, Petitioner attempts

to take Respondent 's deposition,

who obtains a protective order, and

proceeds to relitigate the State
entered grievance Order.

Petitioner loses every ruling
and each of the appeals, in a replay
from the dire country-wide collapses
threatening the stability of the
national banking system surfacing
in the mid ‘80s; namely, those
precipitated by a firm of attorneys
called Arky, Freed (Florida, Ohio,
and Tennessee), by Marvin L. Warner
(Florida and Ohio), and Jacob F.
Butcher and a brother, C.H. (Tennessee
and Arkansas). Petitioner (then)
aligned with Commissioner Gray of
the United States Securities and
Exchange Commission both lose every
District Court ruling, and the SEC
loses before the Circuit in Flinn

v. ESM, Case No. 84-0014 (1984),

and SEC v. ESM, 645 F.2d

310 (Sth Cie. 198%). That series
of decisions/opinions cost the _ U.
S. Taxpayers Seven Hundred Million;
this series - if left unmasked will
predictably surpass the One (1) Billion
Dollar mark for the unjust enrichment
of three (3) unsavory segments of

society.

— ac
~~”

REASON FOR GRANTING

WRIT AND ARGUMENT

The Bill of Rights issues stemming
from the State unwarranted interference
obstructing Federal Constabulary
matters are here presented as being
two fold. First, a rejection of
comity and secondly, an interloper's
‘presence’ in the case as a sequel.
A Judge, after a hearing, finds the
Petitioner to be in compliance with
the District Court's issued Rule
to Show Cause, following Local Rule
Ill. Standing is examined and
Petitioner is requalified to continue
practicing. The decision was _ based
upon "a miscarriage of Justice” by
the State authorities. As a result,
the Respondent ‘appears’ with the
avowed objective of prosecuting the
Petitioner to reverse that ruling

but clearly lacks standing. Further,

by the failing to file a formal notice
of appearance, as always required,
Respondent's attorney avoids any
disciplinary proceedings and for
his client (Plummer) any problems
inherent in a service of process.
a discovery deposition, and most

assuredly the lodging of a

counterclaim. Compare: U.S. v. Wunsch,
54 F.3d 579 (9th Cir. 1995).
Therefore, Respondent and his attorney
elude any definition for a defined
legal category, or right of action.
Respondent in a cover-up never
files an application with the three
(3) Judge Panel, pursuant Rule 24,
Fed.R.Civ.P., to reveal this ulterior

purpose. See, also, New York Chinese

TV Programs, Inc. v. U.E. Enterprises.
153 F.R.D. 69, 71 (S.D. N.Y. 1994);
New York News, Inc. v. Kheel, 972
F.2d 482 (2nd Cir. 1992). With these

10

ee mT TT eT |

contrivances in place, the Chair
Judge provided Respondent, who is
there without portfolio, e2 (In Re)
forum for engaging in _ protracted
litigation over a four (4) years
span. Here the interloper further
becomes the de facto U.S. Attorney.
In such recognition, Respondent is
authorized to utilize all of AUSA
tools, including drafting and _ the
mailing out of official notices which
the Court customarily does and to
petition the Chair Judge to enter
a further Rule to Show Cause to trigger
a recommendation at this juncture
adverse to Petitioner by the Committee.

By statute referencing an
inferior officer', only the District's
U.S. Attorney may prosecute accused
individuals in a District Court.
The one exception being the Circuit

Court of Appeals for the District

11

of Columbia which is extraordinarily
empowered by Congress to appoint
an Independent Counsel upon request
of the Attorney General. One such
outside prosecutor was not- asked
for here, and Respondent's’ Lawyer
is not a former Circuit Court of
Appeals Judge. Moreover, there have
been two (2) [28 U.S.C.§ 546] ‘acting'
U.S. Attorneys occupying the office
for this (Southern) District during
this period frame. Neither of the
interim serving Attorneys, nor. the
(now) permanent replacement have
sought permission leading to leave
for intervention, and the’ reason

being is that their lawful role had

been usurped by Respondent. The
fallout is Petitioner relinquishes
a Public Sector’ I1.R.C. 501(c) (6)
because disbarment will be the first

question of him upon cross examination.

12

CONCLUSION

These sequel events akin to
what had taken place on the State
level constitute a second miscarriage
of Justice.

In the absence of a Presidential
appointment, no amount of exercised
authority by a District Court Judge
will create the position of independent
counsel for the prosecution of persons
sought to be eliminated from_ the
legal/investigative (public) sector.
This aligned (or integrated for
services) enforcement officer has
demonstrated expertise’ in Titles
18 and 26 matters, having received
kudos, and as disclosed here _ for
the first time in balancing competing
interests. One such is, infra.

Early on A Saturday
evening, Flinn [a Title

26 Specialist, who has

13

“ Bi.

since nailed James Robert
Gailey, this District's
Public Defender, for an
out of state Grand Jury
indictment for defrauding
the Atlanta IRS, and _ the
Administrative Offices
of the U. S. Courts grounded

upon a United States vy.

Busher, 817 F.2d 1409,
1412 .. (9th Cir. 1987)
conducted field probe],
was in attendance at a
meeting in the Depository
Room located in the _ U.
s. Attorney's Office
(Stanley Marcus/Leon Kelner)
at 155 South Miami Avenue.
Petitioner is shown documents
and thereupon began reviewing
evidence with CID agents

in the 36 Million Dollar

14

tax fraud case which trial
was to begin the following
week. Flinn was assigned
to seek out defense attorney
Barry Garber (now aU.
Ss. Magistrate Judge),
whom he finally locates
seated in a restaurant
on the corner of WNorth
Kendall Drive and SW /78
Avenue. He interrupts
his former residential
neighbor's dinner to extol

the strong Government case.

The Defendant shortly
thereafter ‘cops a plea’
sparing District Judge

Lenore Nesbitt and the
AUSA Team a six (6) week
long trial. Because of

Petitioner, et al., closing

the deal, the U. Ss.

15

Taxpayers were benefited

through a recoupment’. of

millions in found funds,
fines, and forfeitures.

Upon closing with Respondent's
mission completed, another member
of the [18 U.S.C.] Section 1962(c)
and (d) Enterprise takes up the matter
with the Chief Judge, who, without
a further hearing, disbars Petitioner
on October 24, 1994. Consequently,
the targeted Cali (cartels), the
targeted Foreign based/trained
terrorists and the (probed)
subject/targeted Tax Cheats. prevail
in the second round through a
perpetrated ‘reverse targeting’ of
Petitioner/Unit.

WHEREFORE, the case and all
orders accompanying, including denials
of subpoenas and for disbarment should

be reversed, and remanded with

16

instructions directed to fees and
costs entitlements and, further,
to reinstate Petitioner for legal
practice retroactively.

It submittgd this DY

tember, 95.

Le

NE FLINN, Lead Petitioner

100 SW 87 Avenue (Galloway Road)
Miami, Florida 33165

(305) 274-0033

(305) 852-8100

17

18

APPENDIX
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

FILED
United States Court of Appeals
Eleventh Circuit
Docket NO. 94-5101
D.C. No. 91-00868-CIV-CCA
IN RE:
GENE FLINN,

Petitioner.

On Appeal from the Umited
States District Court for

the Southern District of Florida

Order Entered

August 7, 1995
BEFORE: TJOFLAT, Chief Judge, BIRCH
and DUBINA, Circuit Judges.
BY THE COURT:

Movant's motion for attorneys

19

fees is granted as to entitlement.

This matter is REMANDED to the district
court for a hearing on the amount

of fees to be awarded to Movant.

20

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
56 Forsyth Street, N.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Miguel J. Cortez In Replying
Clerk Give Number of
Case And Names
of Parties
AUGUST 14, 1995
MEMORANDUM TO ADDRESSEES:
RE: 94-5101 Flinn, Gene, IN Re:
DC DKT NO.: 91-00868 CIV-CCA

The following action has been taken
in the referenced case:
Sincerely,
/s/ Miguel J. Cortez
MIGUEL J. CORTEZ,
Clerk
Reply To: Cecelia Williams (404)
331-3833

*The attached briefs are being returned

21

to you unfiled by this court. Please
note that case number 94-5101 was

closed on 5/25/95.

22

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1845%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
