# Reply Brief — Satellite Broadcasting & Communications Ass'n of America v. Ringer

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1775%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 823

## Text

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

SATELLITE BROADCASTING & COMMUNICATIONS
ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, éf al.,
¥ Petitioners,
MARYBETH PETERS, in her capacity as

Register of Copyrights, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

CARTER G. PHILLIPS *

R. CLARK WADLOW

MARK D. HOPSON

NATHAN C. SHEERS
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
1722 Eye Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 736-8000

Counsel for Petitioners,
Satellite Broadcasting &
Communications Association
of America, et al.

August 31, 1994 * Counsel of Record

WILBON - EPs PRINTING CO., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHING. ON, D.C. 20001

—————————

S ev F

ee CA es Pah eae a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
ASARCO Inc. v. EPA, 578 F.2d 319 (D.C. Cir.
I ciasapicicicnccussinchircihaca Valcniahd Aa tel ee 3
Alabama Power v. Costle, 636 F.2d 323 (D.C. Cir
SIN iachnsnnicashsuachbnisieda a beck sa MeasiedighaibaC natalia he fat cna 3
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. National Resources Defense
Council, 467 U.S. 887 (1984) ................................. 2,3
Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 112 §S. Ct. 841 (1992)... 2
Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375
bE BERS i ea a 5
NBC v. Satellite Broadcast Networks, Inc., 940
Ue Pe CN Ge BOE raritcscceretntcirtineniecetecnssoe 2

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. Gorsuch,
685 F.2d 718 (D.C. Cir. 1982), rev’d sub nom.
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. National Resources De-

fense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ........... 3
Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 491 U.S. 164
$ | Dea Steels Bete PR Pte Gey eT 5

Variable Annuity Life Ins. Co. v. Clarke, 998 F.2d
1295 (5th Cir. 1993), cert. granted sub nom.,
NationsBank of North Carolina, N.A. v. Variable
Annuity Life Ins. Co., 114 S. Ct. 2161 (1994)... 4,7

STATUTES

A eR a 1
Cable Compulsory License; Definition of Cable
System, 57 Fed. Reg. 3284 (1992) -.......000000000.. 3, 4

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 93-2055

SATELLITE BROADCASTING & COMMUNICATIONS
ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, et al.,

y Petitioners,

MARYBETH PETERS, in her capacity as
Register of Copyrights, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

In the petition for a writ of certiorari, petitioners dem-
onstrated that the Eleventh Circuit’s decision to ignore
circuit precedent construing 17 U.S.C. § 111(f) and to
defer to the Copyright Office’s later interpretation of that
statutory language (1) contradicts this Court’s decisions
in Chevron and Lechmere, and (2) conflicts with de-
cisions in three other circuits. Respondents’ brief in op-
position ignores this Court’s decision in Lechmere and
manifestly mischaracterizes both the principle of stare
decisis and the bases for decision in the court of appeals
cases cited by petitioners. Moreover, respondents never
dispute the grave consequences to the satellite broadcast-
ing industry if the erroneous decision of the court below
is allowed to stand.

1. Respondents, like the court below, seek to ignore
this Court’s decisions in Chevron and Lechmere in order

2

to reach prematurely the issue of agency deference. Re-
spondents claim that because “[t]he [Copyright] Act does
not specifically address the question whether a satellite
carrier qualifies as a ‘cable system’ under Section 111,”
Opp. 2, the provision is somehow automatically ambig-
uous, and therefore subject to agency interpretation. No
such leap is warranted.

Prior to reviewing an agency’s regulatory interpreta-
tion, a reviewing court must first examine the statute to
determine if the intent of Congress is cleat. Chevron
U.S.A., Inc. v. National Resources Defense Council, Inc.,
467 U.S. 837, 843 (1984). Specifically, this Court stated
that “[i]f a court, employing traditional tools of statutory
construction, ascertains that Congress had an intention on
the precise question at issue, that intention is the law and
must be given effect.” Jd. at 843 n.9 (emphasis added).
Once such a determination has been made, “we adhere
to that determinatioi: under the doctrine of stare decisis,
and we judge an agency’s later interpretation of the stat-
ute against our prior determination of the statute’s mean-
ing.” Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 112 S. Ct. 841, 847-48
(1992) (quoting Maislin Indus., U.S., Inc. v. Primary
Steel, Inc., 497 U.S. 116 (1990) ).

The Eleventh Circuit in NBC v. Satellite Broadcast
Networks, Inc., 940 F.2d 1467 (11th Cir. 1991)
(“SBN”) (Pet. App. 17a-25a), made just such a deter-
mination of the meaning of Section 111(f). After a
thorough examination of “the words Congress chose,”
Pet. App. 21a, and of what “Congress understood” at the
time, Pet. App. 23a, the court determined that Congress
had intended to include satellite broadcasters, not just
traditional wired cable operators, within the scope of
Section 111(f).* This determination of the meaning of

1In its rulemaking proceeding, the Copyright Office, unlike re-
spondents and the court below, readily admitted that the court in
SBN had concluded “that Congress intended satellite carriers to be

3

Section 111(f), Pet. App. 25a (“SBN is a cable system
as defined under § 111”), derived using traditional tools
of statutory interpretation, “is the law and must be given
effect” under Chevron. 467 U.S. at 843 n.9.* The court
below failed to accept this interpretation, and the decision
below conflicts with this Court’s decisions in Chevron and
Lechmere.

covered by the cable compulsory license. Cable Compulsory License;
Definition of Cable System, 57 Fed. Reg. 3284, 3291 (1992) (em-
phasis added). As noted in the petition, the Copyright Office
promulgated a contrary rule, not because of policy objectives, but
because of a disagreement on how the text of the statute was to be
interpreted. See Pet. App. 7; 57 Fed. Reg. at 3292.

2 Respondents (and the court below) argue that SBN is analogous
to the court of appeals decision reversed by this Court in Chevron.
See Opp. 5, Pet. App. 6a & n.7 (EPA regulation “contradicted prior
D.C. Circuit precedent”). This simply is not the case. In Natural
Resources Defense Council, Inc. Vv. Gorsuch, 685 F.2d 718 (D.C.
Cir. 1982), rev’d sub nom. Chevron U.S.A., Inc. Vv. National Re-
sources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), the court of
appeals did not reach its decision to disallow the EPA’s use of the
“bubble” concept in “nonattainment” schemes on the basis of cir-
cuit precedent that previously had construed the precise statutory
provision in question. National Resources Defense Council instead
attempted to analogize the Clean Air Act scheme at issue in the
case with the “NSPS” regulations at issue in ASARCO Inc. v. EPA,
578 F.2d 319 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (disallowing the use of the “bubble”
concept for “NSPS” regulations).

In an opinion conspicuously absent from the Eleventh Circuit’s
account of the history of Chevron, the D.C. Circuit specifically
held that the “bubble” concept was to be evaluated separately for
each statutory scheme under the Clean Air Act. Alabama Power
Co. Vv. Costle, 636 F.2d 323, 401-02 (D.C. Cir. 1979) (upholding the
use of the “bubble” concept for “PSD” regulations). Thus, D.C.
Circuit precedent permitted the use of the “bubble” concept in
appropriate circumstances. The court in National Resources De-
fense Council extracted general principles from the distinctions it
drew between the types of programs at issue in ASARCO and
Alabama Power and then chose to ignore the agency’s proffered
interpretation. National Resources Defense Council, 685 F.2d at
726 & n.38. Thus, the court of appeals decision reversed in Chevron
was not following binding precedent and the doctrine of stare
decisis.

4

This issue of the interplay between Lechmere and
Chevron in courts of appeals is a matter of fundamental
importance. Not only has the issue spawned a clear con-
flict among the circuits, but it also creates tremendous
uncertainty for litigants and trial costs concerning what
role stare decisis plays in administrative litigation. Ac-
cordingly, for the same reasons this Court decided Lech-
mere, it should review the decision in this case.

2. Respondents fail to distinguish the decisions from
other circuits that conflict with the approach adopted by
the court below. As discussed above, it is simply not
the case that the court in SBN did not consider congres-
sional intent in its interpretation of Section 111(f). Re-
spondent effectively concedes that under the approaches
taken by the Second, Fifth, and Eighth Circuits, once a
court reaches an interpretation based on congressional in-
tent, stare decisis requires subsequent panels to invalidate
later agency promulgations that are contrary to circuit
precedent. Opp. 9-12. It is irrelevant that “the court’s
prior construction of the Copyright Act in SBN did not
purport to review (let alone invalidate) the agency in-
terpretation that was before the court in this case.” Opp.
12. The court construed Section 111(f) of the Copyright
Act and the agency’s subsequent interpretation of that
provision expressly contradicts it. See Cable Compulsory
License; Definition of Cable System, 57 Fed. Reg. 3284
(1992). Therefore, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision to ig-
nore stare decisis and instead to defer to the Copyright
Office’s interpretation squarely conflicts with decisions of
the Second, Fifth, and Eighth Circuits.

3. Respondents argue that this petition should not be
held pending the decision in Variable Annuity Life In-
surance Co. v. Clarke, 998 F.2d 1295 (Sth Cir. 1993),
cert. granted sub nom., NationsBank, N.A. v. Variable
Annuity Life Insurance Co., 114 §S. Ct. 2161 (1994).
Respondents argue that the petition filed on behalf of the
Comptroller of the Currency in that case “raises no ques-
tion about the stare decisis effect of the [prior panel]

5

decision.” Opp. 10 n.4. Respondents fail to note, how-
ever, that the case is a consolidated action and that
the private petitioners—as well as the respondent in op-
position—presented as their first question whether the
Fifth Circuit had failed to apply correctly Chevron by
refusing to adopt the Comptroller's construction of the
statute at issue, an interpretation contrary to circuit pre-
cedent. Variable Annuity, No. 93-1612, Cert. Pet. at i.;
Variable Annuity, Nos. 93-1612, 93-1613, Br. Opp. at i.

4. The approach taken by the Eleventh Circuit of
summarily dismissing circuit precedent and the rule of
law it evinces is unwarranted. Respondents, like the
panel below, ignore the existing mechanisms for review of
prior panel decisions that petitioners set out at Pet. 15-16.
The circuit courts can review prior decisions en banc
and this Court can resolve conflicts among the circuits by
granting certiorari in appropriate cases. Congress is also
free to intervene and change the law, giving the applica-
tion of stare decisis “special force in the area of statutory
interpretation.” Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 491
U.S. 164, 172-73 (1989). Respondents’ suggested ap-
proach of total deference to agency interpretations, Opp.
9, would effectively preclude judicial review of agency
statutory interpretafions and is unnecessary.

Furthermore, Congress is not currently considering leg-
islation to amend Section 111(f) and it is that statutory
provision which the court below and the Copyright Office
have interpreted. It begs the question at issue in this case
to assume that the current compulsory licensing provision
of Section 119 will—or will not—be extended to protect
satellite broadcasters. As this Court has noted, “[t]he
mere possibility of future legislation in this field does not,
of course, affect the legal merits of petitioner’s claim.”
Moragne Vv. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 405
n.17 (1970).

6

5. There could be no clearer indication of the im-
portance of the question presented to the satellite broad-
casting industry than the filing of an amicus curiae brief
in opposition to certiorari by the Motion Picture Associa-
tion of America. Unsurprisingly, the MPAA, the largest
recipient of copyright royalties, seeks to dissuade this
Court from reviewing the decision below so that it can
fully “exploit” satellite broadcasters. Amicus Br. 4. Al-
though the policy issues addressed in the amicus brief are
not properly raised in this case, the MPAA amicus brief
does not accurately portray the problems facing the satel-
lite broadcasting industry if this Court does not review
the decision be:ow. While satellite broadcasters may re-
transmit approximately 20 different broadcast signals to
their subscribers, Amicus Br. 6, these broadcast signals
contain programs whose rights are held by literally hun-
dreds of rightholders. Absent Section 111(f) compulsory
licensing, every broadcast program, not just every signal,
would be the subject of copyright licensing before retrans-
mission would be permitted. Unlike nonbroadcast chan-
nels like HBO, local broadcasters do not hold national
distribution rights for the programs they broadcast—other
than those programs they produce themselves.

7
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and those stated in the peti-
tion, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted. In the alternative, the petition should be held
pending this Court’s decision in Variable Annuity Life
Insurance Co. Vv. Clarke, 998 F.2d 1295 (Sth Cir. 1993),
cert. granted sub nom., NationsBank, N.A. v. Variable
Annuity Life Insurance Co., 114 S. Ct. 2161 (1994).

Respectfully submitted,

CARTER G. PHILLIPS *

R. CLARK WADLOW

MARK D. Hopson

NATHAN C. SHEERS
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
1722 Eye Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 736-8000

Counsel for Petitioners,
Satellite Broadcasting &
Communications Association
of America, et al.

August 31, 1994 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1775%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
