# Opposition Brief — Stanton v. Bayliner Marine Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1702%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 819

## Text

(5) Supreme Court, U.S.
\ FILED

No. 93-1980 JUL 5 1994

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
Octoker Term, 1994
¢

JAMES H. STANTON, WINNIFRED STANTON,
and their marital community,
and ALBANY INSURANCE COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,

BAYLINER MARINE CORPORATION,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of The State Of Washington

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF
BAYLINER MARINE CORPORATION

+

Dexter A. WASHBURN*

Newe.t D. SmitH

MIKKELBORG, Broz, WELLS & FRYER
1001 Fourth Avenue Plaza
Suite 3600

Seattle, Washington 98154
(206) 623-5890

Attorneys for Respondent
Bayliner Marine Corporation

*Coumsel of Record
July 1, 1994

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Respondent Bayliner submits that the real issues for
review are as follows:

1. Is there a conflict between two or more United
States Courts of Appeals or any state courts of last resort
with respect to Petitioners’ principal issue of whether
East River S.S. Corp. v. Transamerica Delaval, Inc., 476 U.S.
858 (1986) applies to a recreational vessel?

2. Whether this Court should defer to the Washing-
ton State Supreme Court’s decision that the federal inter-
est in having a uniform maritime law of products liability
with respect to the East River rule, outweighs any interest
the State of Washington may have in applying a conflict-
ing state rule?

3. Is review premature where Petitioners still have a
remedy available to them against another party?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I, INTRODUCER « ic4ck acne eee ta 1

II. COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..... 2
III. KEASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT....... +

A.

There Is No Conflict Between Any Federal
or State Appellate Courts on Petitioners’
Principal Issue of Whether East River
Applies To Non-Commercial Vessels... ..

The Court Need Not Reach Petitioners’
Second Issue of Whether the State and
Federal Interests Should be Balanced in
Resolving Conflicts Between State and
Marition® LAW < <.ix cnt k cee cake ie was eee

The Issues Are Not Sufficiently Important
to Warrant this Court’s Attention........

Review is Premature Because Petitioners
Still Have a Remedy for their Warranty
Claims Against the Dealer ..............

Petitioners Misstate the Law When They
Suggest That There is no Strong Federal
Interest in the Uniformity of Maritime
Products Liability Law ..................

The Rationale of East River is not Limited
to Cosneries Ce oS Povey ensk tess

A Unique Washington Maritime Rule of
Economic Loss, Applicable Only to Recre-
ational Vessels, Would Interfere With the
Uniform Maritime Legal System and
Unfairly Prejudice Washington Boat Man-
WRCTIRIE so ss sx ican Bnet enetereuteent

TV. COMCLARISRA 0 vscvcccssesbinenusanepassenes

11

12

13

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Aloe Coe v. Clark Equipment, 816 F.2d 110 (3d Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 853 (1987)............. 17
Anderson v. Whittaker Corp., 692 F. Supp. 764 (W.D.
Mich. 1988), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other
grounds, 894 F.2d 804 (6th Cir. 1990) ............ 8, 13
Best v. Honeyweii !nc., 491 F. Supp. 269 (D. Conn.
1980), aff'd, 679 F.2d 872 (2d Cir. 1981) ........... 13
Betancourt v. W. D. Schock Corp., 907 F.2d 1251 (1st
UNG 8 Sei oul ek cee bee 64 U ned e6ad cscs ess 5
Butler v. American Trawler, 707 F. Supp. 29 (D. Me.
1989) aff'd, 887 F.2d 20 (1st Cir. 1989)............. 17

Casa Clara Condominium Ass’n, Inc. v. Charley Top-
pino & Sons, Inc., 620 So.2d 1244 (Fla. 1993)..... ~ ae

Collins v. Miller, 252 U.S. 364 (1920)................. 11

Complaint of American Export Lines, Inc., 620 F.
SE SI CORA R. RO e os hese ven sa dnwweineas css 13

Consumers Power Co. v. Mississippi Valley Struc.
Steel Corp., 636 F. Supp. 1100 (E.D. Mich. 1986) ..... 6

Dairyland Ins. Co. v. General Motors Corp., 549
I, Ns as oso kos cu ee sha keedeecessres 5

Danforth v. Acorn Structures, Inc., 608 A.2d 1194
oe ad pe vires 6454's 404 be peRAa ds duos 00% 5

Delta Marine v. Whaley, 813 F. Supp. 414 (E.D.N.C.
ARSE S ey Oia ee ere re gn 13

East River S.S. Corp. v. Transamerica Delaval, Inc.,
Co PN | ee ere are passim

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Employers Ins. of Wausau v. Suwannee River Spa
Lines, Inc., 866 F.2d 752 (5th Cir. 1989). ..........5. 6
Flynt v. Oktio, 451 US. GID (1961) .... 220s esc ee ses 12

Foremost Ins. Co. v. Richardson, 457 U.S. 668 (1982) ..8, 14
Henningsen v. Bloomfield Motors, Inc., 32 N.J. 358,

ee Fei. | rope rrr ror ry err 14, 16
In Re Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d 909 (7th Cir. 1983)...... 13
Ingram River Equipment v. Pott Ind., 816 F.2d 1231

SU AG PUMPER sas sccswieuschetabangbssneegiens so’ 13

Jig the Third Corp. v. Puritan Marine Ins. Underwri-
ters Corp., 519 F.2d 171 (5th Cir. 1975), cert.

embed, SI US. FOG CRs oo ves aware cov csenes 13
Karshan v. Mattituck Inlet Marina and Shipyard, Inc.,

785 F. Supp. 363 (E.D.N.Y. 1992)............. 5, 9, 10
Kossick v. United Fruit Co., 365 U.S. 731 (1961)....... 17
Lewinter v. Genmar Industries, Inc., 1993 AMC 939

(ae. ee GR. BPs scsi enceseencansiar nese. 5, 9
Pennsylvania Glass Sand v. Caterpillar Tractor, 652

ees ek Ee |) ererrrerr err Tee eeeereeee 17
Pope & Talbot v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406 (1953) .......... 17

Rem Cole Co. v. Clark Equipment, 386 Pa. Super. 401,
ee Be Pk | rerrr rrr rT Terr Te eT TEA Tee 17

Richard O’Brien Companies v. Challenge-Cook Bros.,
Inc., 672 F. Supp. 466 (D. Colo. 1987) .............. 6

Rocky Mountain Helicopters, Inc. v. Bell Helicopter
Textron, Inc., ___ F.3d ___, 1994 W.L. 178134 n.2
oe | Sere rr rr re ree 17

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Seely v. White Motor Company, 45 Cal.Rpt. 17, 63

Cal 2d 9, M03 PAd B65 CUS vic cvc nec baccssscuve 15
Sherman v. Johnson & Towers Baltimore Inc., 760 F.

sue. 499 td. MA Wee ences seca sckadvees 5, 6, 10
Simone v. Genmar Industries, 1989 AMC 2627

CERI. S.. Be ocd has hs oe Le 5, 9
Sisson v. Hatteras Yachts, Inc., 1991 W.L. 47543, 778

S. Siege, See Cr Seer BPs be kos sks dedesdane 5, 10
Sisson v. Ruby, 497 U.S. 358 (1989) ............ 8, 14, 18
Waggoner v. Town and County Mobile Homes, Inc.,

Ce Fiaee Ge es Be ei tae einen’ 5
Washington Water Power Co. v. Graybar, 112 Wn.2d

ODEs; FEO Cee LOPE CHMOD 66a os ud eeawhn cs da beann cs 7
Wyatt v. Cadillac Motor Car Division, 145 Cal. App.

Ol ED, Ue Wo WU CRW s 6 vs 00 be chee edusancees 16
STATUTES
Washington Product Liability Act (Chapter 7.72

EE 5463 50d ehh ak ieee ors eee Cees 7
OTHER AUTHORITIES
J. Scowcroft, Case Notes, Journal of Maritime Law

and Commerce, Vol. 22, No. 2 (April, 1991), 299,

A Pee Rr Eee Mer aren te hee ene 14

M. Harrington, Almost Full Circle: Admiralty Juris-
diction Over Pleasure Craft, Journal of Maritime
Law & Commerce, Vol. 24, No. 3 (July 1993) 453,
Ce IS vic 0 6 Ses kkk kee A ee ee be awk 9

R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro and K. Geller,
Supreme Court Practice § 4.3, p. 167 (7th ed. 1993) ..6, 12

xe

I. INTRODUCTION

Petitioners’ first question is whether East River S.S.
Corp. v. Transamerica Delaval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858 (1986)
should apply to recreational vessels. Since East River was
decided in 1986, only one appellate court (the subject
Washington Supreme Court decision) and four reported
trial court decisions have directly addressed this iss»e. Of
these cases all but one have decided that East River does
apply to recreational vessels. Because there is only one
appellate decision addressing the issue, there is no con-
flict for this Court to resolve.

In East River this Court in effect makes a fundamental
policy statement about risk of loss for maritime negli-
gence or products liability actions: absent a contractua’
modification, the risk of pure economic loss is on the
buyer, who is then expected to obtain appropriate insur-
ance protection. In the two subject cases the vessel
buyers, with or without explicit bargaining over risk of
loss, did procure insurance protection, thereby effectuat-
ing the East River policy. Thus the anomaly, that the
claims at issue here are subrogation claims in which the
subrogee, Albany Insurance, contends that this court
should disregard its presence, ignore the fact that it
received a premium for the risk it undertook, repudiate
the policy underlying East River, and fashion a unique
rule of law for the State of Washington, when the Wash-
ington Supreme Court has declined to do so. The sole
reason given is that both vessels were engaged in recre-
ational uses at the time of their casualties.

Petitioners’ second question, whether the Washing-

ton Supreme Court erred in ruling that state law is pre-
empted regardless of the balance of state and federal
interests, is not before the Court because the Washington
Supreme Court did balance state and federal interests
and concluded that the federal interest in the uniformity
of federal maritime law dominates. This Court should
defer to the Washington Supreme Court’s assessment that
the Washington state interests are not paramount when
balanced against federal maritime interests.

Finally, the Petition should be denied because review
is premature. Petitioners still have the potential of a full
remedy on their warranty claims against the dealer,
Olympic Boat Sales, Inc.

Il. COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter arises out of an affirmance by the Wash-
ington Supreme Court of a trial court order granting
partial summary judgment in two consolidated suits
brought by Albany Insurance on its subrogated interests
for monies paid for the constructive total losses of two
nearly identical 45-foot yachts, manufactured by Bayliner
Marine Corporation (Bayliner).

One of the vessels had been purchased by the Stan-
ton Investment Company, ostensibly for the business pur-
poses of charter service and entertaining clients, and for
recreational use by the Stantons. The other vessel was

purchased by a private party.

The subject vessels were each involved in groundings
at cruising speed (12-15 knots) on well-marked and char-
ted shoals and rocks. One of the groundings occurred in
Canadian waters. No one was injured in either incident.

In each case the force of driving the vessel onto rocks
tore away or ground-off parts of the skeg keel.! Peti-
tioners contend that the keel should have been capped,
apparently believing the keel could then be torn away
without disturbing the integrity of the hull.

Bayliner’s expert witness, a yacht designer, averred
that (1) the hull and keel design met industry standards,
(2) the design is consistent with the configuration illus-
trated in the American Bureau of Shipping Classification
criteria, (3) the design specifications meet or exceed ABS
strength criteria, (4) the configuration serves a useful
purpose in providing for drainage and collection of con-
densate, spills, and unwanted liquids inside the hull, and
(5) the design does not present a danger to reasonable
and foreseeable use.

Both casualties occurred relatively close to shore and
in both cases the passengers were evacuated before the
vessels became submerged. According to Coast Guard
records, it took the Stanton vessel 27 minutes to partially
sink, with the Stantons having been transferred within 12
minutes of the initial report of grounding. The other
vessel never did sink because it was firmly grounded on

1 The skeg keel is an integrally-molded portion of the ves-
sel’s one-piece fiberglass hull extending a maximum depth of 14
inches below the bottom of the hull; it is approximately 7 inches
wide. The interior space formed by the skeg keel serves as a
sump for the bilge pumps.

a rock ledge. Though the owners and their passengers
were evacuated by helicopter, they could have safely
waited until the completion of the ebbing tide and then
walked to shore.

Albany brought suit on its subrogation interests as
the insurer for the two vessels. The suits alleged negli-
gence, products liability, and breach of warranty against
Bayliner and the dealer, Olympic Boat Sales, Inc. (Olym-
pic Boat), for allegedly manufacturing and selling vessels
that could not survive being run hard aground without
incurring serious flooding as a result of damage to the
keel.

Ill. REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

A. There Is No Conflict Between Any Federal or
State Appellate Courts on Petitioners’ Principal
Issue of Whether East River Applies To Non-
Commercial Vessels.

This case is neither of national importance nor is it
ripe for review by this Court. The court below is the only
appellate court to decide whether East River should apply
to non-commercial vessels.

As a practical matter the issue of whether to apply
East River to a recreational vessel most often, if not
always, arises in the context of a subrogation claim by the
insurance carrier of an expensive yacht. The economics of
damages to smaller vessels such as ski or “bass” boats
will not support such litigation because of the relatively
small monetary amounts involved. Not unsurprisingly,
the specific issue presented to the Court for review has

been reported in court proceedings on only five occasions
and has not been presented to any federal court of
appeals nor has it come before any state court of last
resort with the exception of the Washington State
Supreme Court.

With one exception, the courts that have specifically
addressed the issue of whether East River applies to recre-
ational vessels have uniformly held that the reasoning
underlying the East River decision applies equally to com-
mercial and consumer situations and have applied the
East River holding to recreational vessels. Karshan v. Mat-
tituck Inlet Marina and Shipyard, Inc., 785 F. Supp. 363
(E.D.N.Y. 1992); Sisson v. Hatteras Yachts, Inc., 1991 W.L.
47543 (N.D. Ill. 1991), 778 F. Supp. 959 (N.D. Ill. 1991);
Lewinter v. Genmar Industries, Inc., 1993 AMC 939 (Cal.
Super. Ct. 1993); see also, Betancourt v. W. D. Schock Corp.,
907 F.2d 1251, 1255 (1st Cir. 1990) (applied East River to
sailboat re: statute of limitations); Simone v. Genmar Indus-
tries, 1989 AMC 2627 (S.D.N.Y. 1989) (in dicta stated that
East River applied to a recreational vessel); contra, Sher-
man v. Johnson & Towers Baltimore Inc., 760 F. Supp. 499 (D.
Md. 1990). In addition to these maritime cases, the Wash-
ington Supreme Court also cited three land-based cases
that held that East River applies to consumer products.
Danforth v. Acorn Structures, Inc., 608 A.2d 1194, 1200
(Del. 1992); Waggoner v. Town and County Mobile Homes,
Inc., 808 P.2d 649 (Okla. 1990); Dairyland Ins. Co. v. General
Motors Corp., 549 So.2d 44 (Ala. 1989); accord, Casa Clara
Condominium Ass‘n, Inc. v. Charley Toppino & Sons, Inc.,
620 So.2d 1244 (Fla. 1993) (decided after the Washington
Supreme Court opinion).

Petitioners inaccurately contend that there are four
cases which have held that East River should not apply to

non-commercial vessels. Only in Sherman, supra, was the
court specifically asked to apply East River to a non-
commercial vessel. The other three opinions cited by Peti-
tioners deal with plaintiffs engaged in commerce and
discuss East River’s application to non-commercial prod-
ucts only in dicta.2 Only Employers Ins. involves maritime
facts. Of the cases cited by Petitioners, only Sherman is on
point and adopts their theory that East River should apply
exclusively to commercial vessels.

The only appellate court which has directly
addressed the specific issue of whether to apply East
River to a recreational vessel is the Washington Supreme
Court. The only conflicting opinion on point is the district
court opinion in Sherman, supra. The only contrary appel-
late decision is Employers Ins., supra, which is inconsistent
only in dicta. To justify the grant of certiorari there should
be a real conflict on the same matter of law or fact, “not
merely an inconsistency in dicta or in the general princi-
ples utilized.” R. Stern, E. Gressman, S. Shapiro and K.
Geller, Supreme Court Practice § 4.3, p. 167 (7th ed. 1993).
Because there is no conflict amongst the appellate courts,
certiorari should not be granted.

B. The Court Need Not Reach Petitioners’ Second
Issue of Whether the State and Federal Interests
Should be Balanced in Resolving Conflicts
Between State and Maritime Law.

Petitioners at page 32 state their second issue: “The
Washington Supreme Court erred in ruling that state law

2 Employers Ins. of Wausau v. Suwannee River Spa Lines, Inc.,
866 F.2d 752 (5th Cir. 1989); Richard O’Brien Companies v. Chal-
lenge-Cook Bros., Inc., 672 F. Supp. 466 (D. Colo. 1987); Consumers
Power Co. v. Mississippi Valley Struc. Steel Corp., 636 F. Supp. 1100
(E.D. Mich. 1986).

~

is preempted without the need to balance state and fed-
eral interests.”

This issue need not be reached because the Washing-
ton Supreme Court did specifically balance the respective
federal and state interests, stating:

. assuming arguendo that there was no con-
flict of laws, the determination of whether the
Graybar rule disrupts federal maritime harmony
depends on the balance of federal and state
interest involved. (Citations omitted) Washing-
ton’s interest in providing a remedy for these
plaintiffs does not outweigh federal interests in
maritime uniformity. A-59, A-60.

The Washington Supreme Court detailed the basis of
its reasoning. The court engaged in statutory interpreta-
tion of the Washington Product Liability Act (RCW 7.72),
observing that it was the intention of the Washington
State legislature to provide a remedy for personal injuries
and to protect businesses located in the State of Washing-
ton “from the substantially increasing product liability
insurance costs and unwarranted exposure to product
liability litigation.” A-61-A-63. The court recognized that
there was a state interest in protecting a manufacturer
and a lessened state interest to protect the consumer from
purely property loss. The court also acknowledged that it
had recognized the East River decision as being the admi-
ralty rule in Washington Water Power Co. v. Graybar, 112
Wn.2d 847, 774 P.2d 1199 (1989), and that neither legisla-
tive action nor its prior decisions would support a find-
ing that Washington’s interest in deterring the
manufacture and dissemination of dangerous products

outweighs the need for a uniform maritime law of prod-
ucts liability. Id.

The Washington Supreme Court also examined the
extent of the federal interests in a uniform maritime rule.
In doing so, the court appropriately reviewed Sisson v.
Ruby, 497 U.S. 358 (1989) and Foremost Ins. Co. v. Rich-
ardson, 457 U.S. 668 (1982) in which this Court found
maritime jurisdiction in actions involving recreational
vessels in order to further the uniformity of rules of
maritime liability as between commercial and non-com-
mercial vessels. A-63. The Washington S:preme Court
quoted Sisson v. Ruby as stating “the need for uniform
rules of maritime conduct and liability is not limited to
navigation, but extends at least to any other activities
traditionally undertaken by vessels, commercial or non-
commercial.” Sisson v. Ruby, supra, 497 U.S. at 367. A-63.
The court also cited Anderson v. Whittaker Corp., 692 F.
Supp. 764, 767 (W.D. Mich. 1988), aff'd in part, rev'd in part
on other grounds, 894 F.2d 804 (6th Cir. 1990) for the policy
consideration that “there is a strong federal interest in
providing uniform standards for the design and manufac-
ture of products that have the potential to affect tradi-
tional maritime activities.” A-67. After carefully
reviewing this Court’s and lower federal court opinions
addressing the need for uniformity of maritime law, the
Washington Supreme Court concluded that federal inter-
ests in having a uniform economic loss rule for maritime
products liability outweighed any relevant state interests.
A-63-A-67.

eeepeeues =

The Washington Supreme Court did engage in the
“interest analysis” that Petitioners have asked for and con-
cluded, based on its interpretation of the Washington Prod-
uct Liability Act, prior federal and Washington state court
opinions and public policy considerations, that Washington's
interests do not predominate over the federal maritime inter-
ests involved. Because the Washington Supreme Court did
balance state and federal interests, this Court need not reach
the issue of if and when “interest analysis” is indicated and
should defer to the Washington Supreme Court’s own
assessment of its state’s interests, particularly where the
Washington court concluded that the federal interests pre-
dominate.

C. The Issues Are Not Sufficiently Important to
Warrant this Court’s Attention.

The issue of whether or not East River should apply
to recreational vessels has arisen in only five reported
decisions, despite the fact that there are over 16 million
recreational vessels in the United States.* Because most
recreational vessels are insured or do not have sufficient
value to warrant litigation, typically the few cases that
actually come before the courts involve large expensive
yachts. See, e.g., Karshan, supra ($480,000, 50-foot Chris-
Craft which sustained $90,000 in damage); Lewinter v.
Genmar Industries, supra (61-foot motor yacht); Simone v.

3 M. Harrington, Almost Full Circle: Admiralty Jurisdiction
Over Pleasure Craft, Journal of Maritime Law & Commerce, Vol. 24,
No. 3 (July 1993) 453, 498 n.259, referencing Statistical Abstract
of the United States, Nos. 395, 397 and 989 (1992).

10

Genmar Industries, supra (“large motor yacht”); Sherman v.
Johnson, supra (“yacht”).

With respect to recreational vessels being covered by
insurance, Karshan observed:

. in a maritime context, vessel owners can,
and generally do, insure against losses to the
value of the vessel, see [East River, 476 U.S.] at
871, 106 S. Ct. at 2302, and .. . “(s)ociety need
not presume that a customer needs special pro-
tection” id. at 871-872, 106 S. Ct. at 2302. Indeed,
in the instant case Karshan is insured and,
except as to its deductible, the real plaintiff in
interest is his insurance carrier. “The increased
cost to the public that would result from holding
a manufacturer liable in tort for injury to the
product itself is not justified.” Id. at 872, 106 S.
Ct. at 2302. Karshan, 785 F. Supp. at 366.

Sisson v. Hatteras, supra, involved a 56 foot Hatteras
motor yacht. The suit was brought as a subrogation
action by American Home Assurance Company. The
court, recognizing that under East River there was no tort
claim for economic losses to the vessel itself, stated:

There is no reason to believe that he would not
be able to pursue whatever contractual remedies
he may have against the seller for economic
losses due to the destruction of the ULTORIAN
or that he was not otherwise protected by insur-
ance. Sisson v. Hatteras, supra, 1991 W.L. 47543 at

SD. &.

The two vessels which are the subject of this action
were both 45 foot Bayliner yachts, each costing well over
$200,000. Both vessels were insured by Albany Insurance.

11

Petitioners’ principal issue of whether the East River
economic loss rule applies to recreational vessels arises
infrequently and usually, if not always, in the context of
expensive yachts, whose owners have insurance and
other remedies under breach of contract or warranty
causes of action against the dealer. The few recreational
vessel cases where the issue of the application of East
River does arise, do not warrant the attention of this
Court, particularly where there has not yet been a conflict
between any appellate courts.

D. Review is Premature Because Petitioners Still
Have a Remedy for their Warranty Claims
Against the Dealer.

Petitioners’ actions were brought against both
Bayliner and the dealer who sold the owners their boats,
Olympic Boat. The subject opinion recognizes that Peti-
tioners can still pursue their remaining warranty claims
against Olympic Boat at trial. A-28 n.1, A-29, A-67.

This Court has observed that for certiorari to be
granted the underlying judgment “should be final not
only as to all parties, but as to the whole subject matter
and as to all causes of action irwwolved.” Collins v. Miller,
252 U.S. 364, 370 (1920).

The only exception that might apply is:

.. . [w]here the federal issue has been finally
decided in the state courts with further proceed-
ings pending in which the party seeking review
here might prevail on the merits on non federal
grounds, thus rendering unnecessary review of

12

the federal issue by this Court, and where rever-
sal of the state court on the federal issue would
be preclusive of any further litigation on the
relevant cause of action rather than merely con-
trolling the nature and character of, or deter-
mining the admissibility of evidence in, the state
proceeding still to come. In these circumstances,
if a refusal immediately to review the state-court
decision might seriously erode federally policy,
the Court has entertained and decided the fed-
eral issue, which itself has been finally deter-
mined by the state courts for purposes of the
state litigation. Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619, 621,
622 (1981).

However, here, as in Flynt, there is “no identifiable
federal policy that will suffer if the state . . . proceeding
goes forward.” Flynt, 451 U.S. at 622. Rather, the identifia-
ble tederal interest is in the uniformity of maritime law,
which is served by denying certiorari.

Although the parties did stipulate to the finality of
the trial court’s decision for purposes of state court
appellate review, the test is not whether under local rules
of practice the judgment is final, rather whether the
record shows that the adjudication is sufficiently final to
warrant the exercise of this Court’s jurisdiction. See R.
Stern, Supreme Court Practice, § 3.3, pgs. 93-94.

E. Petitioners Misstate the Law When They Sug-
gest That There is no Strong Federal Interest in
the Uniformity of Maritime Products Liability
Law.

Petitioners at pages 51-54 suggest that because a
contract for the construction of a vessel is non-maritime

13

and subject to state law, there is no strong interest in the
uniformity of maritime product liability law. To the con-
trary, East River observed that state law only extends to a
plaintiff's breach of warranty action. East River, 476 US.
at 872, 872 n.7. The decision makes it very clear that in a
maritime action grounded upon negligence or products
liability, federal maritime law applies. Even though a
maritime plaintiff’s breach of contract and warranty
claims are governed by state law, concerns for uniformity
and federal supremacy require that maritime tort claims
for negligence and products liability be governed by fed-
eral maritime law.4

F. The Rationale of East River is not Limited to
Commercial Cases.

Petitioners rely upon two principal arguments for the
proposition that East River should be limited to vessels
that are engaged in commercial service: (1) East River's
repeated use of the word “commercial” and (2) a per-
ceived inequality in bargaining power between recre-
ational vessel purchasers and boat manufacturers.

4 East River, supra; accord, Ingram River Equipment v. Pott
Ind., 816 F.2d 1231 (8th Cir. 1987); In Re Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d
909, 914 (7th Cir. 1983); Jig the Third Corp. v. Puritan Marine Ins.
Underwriters Corp., 519 F.2d 171, 174 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
424 U.S. 954 (1976); Delta Marine v. Whaley, 813 F. Supp. 414
(E.D.N.C. 1993); Anderson v. Whittaker, 692 F. Supp. at 768, 768
n.2; Complaint of American Export Lines, Inc., 620 F. Supp. 490,
513, 514 (S.D.N.Y. 1985); Best v. Honeywell Inc., 491 F. Supp. 269,
271 (D. Conn. 1980), aff'd, 679 F.2d 872, 874 (2d Cir. 1981).

14

Though East River does use the term “commercial,”
the decision does not confine its rationale to commercial
facts nor is there any persuasive argument provided that
would justify limiting its application to commercial cases.
Rather, as explained by the Washington Supreme Court,
the East River policy concerns apply equally well to con-
sumer cases. The court observed that the primary consid-
erations in East River were to separate tort and contract
actions, and that the vessel owner can and typically does
further protect himself by insurance, both considerations
apply equally to recreational vessels. A-46. The court also
recognized the problems inherent in trying to make dis-
tinctions between commercial and non-commercial situa-
tions. A-49, A-51; see Foremost, 457 U.S. at 675-676.5

Before this appeal, Petitioners’ counsel of record, Mr.
Scowcroft, in reviewing Sisson v. Ruby, supra, in part
explained the references in East River to the vessels being
in “commerce” as establishing the maritime nexus neces-
sary for federal maritime jurisdiction. J. Scowcroft, Case
Notes, Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce, Vol. 22, No.
2 (April, 1991), 299, 305-306.

Petitioners’ second contention that there may be
unequal bargaining power between recreational vessel
buyers and manufacturers is inapplicable to this case.
Such an analysis applies only in situations where a large
disparity in bargaining power creates overreaching con-
tract provisions. Henningsen v. Bloomfield Motors, Inc., 32

> Petitioners’ suggestion at pp. 11 and 23 that recreational
vessels are analogous to automobiles, was argued by the dissent
and rejected by the majority in Foremost. See Foremost, 457 U.S. at
682, 682 n.7.

15

N.J. 358, 161 A.2d 69 (1960). Here there are no allegations
that Bayliner is seeking to enforce any unconscionable
contract terms nor is there any suggestion of industry-
wide overreaching in the setting of warranty provisions.
On the contrary, there is a large variety of different recre-
ational vessel manufacturers and dealers with whom a
buyer can shop to obtain his best terms. Moreover, in this
case, the owners each had a one year express warranty on
their vessels, and each was able to secure insurance.

Petitioners at pages 11 and 27 indulge in the sweep-
ing generality that recreational vessels owners do not
have the sophistication or bargaining power to negotiate
warranties or to evaluate their risks of property loss. To
the contrary, yachts of a sufficient value to warrant litiga-
tion for solely property loss range in value from approx-
imately $100,000 to millions of dollars. (See discussion
infra at 9, 10).6 In the context of these expensive yachts
the owners have an equal ability to protect themselves
when compared to buyers of commercial vessels, both in
shopping for and negotiating warranties and in ade-
quately insuring their vessels against property damage.
Many of the larger yachts are custom built, where all of
the contract provisions would be specifically negotiated.

A case of significance for the analysis in East River,
Seely v. White Motor Company, 45 Cal.Rpt. 17, 63 Cal.2d 9,
403 P.2d 145 (1965), distinguished the concern for the
potential of unequal bargaining power as can be done in
this case:

6 Several Washington yards specialize in building expen-
sive luxury yachts; a recently completed yacht cost over $21
million.

16

Unlike the defendant in Henningsen (citation
omitted) White is not seeking to enforce an
industry-wide disclaimer of liability for per-
sonal injuries. Here, plaintiff, whose business is
trucking, could have shopped around until he
found the truck that would fulfill his business
needs. He could be fairly charged with the risk
that the product would not match his economic
expectations, unless the manufacturer agreed
that it would. Seely, 403 P.2d at 151, 152.7

7 The reasoning adopted by the Seely case further demon-
strates the logic of not limiting East River to commercial situa-
tions:

He (manufacturer) cannot be held for the level of
performance of his products in the consumer’s busi-
ness unless he agrees that the product was designed
to meet the consumer’s demands. A consumer should
not be charged at the will of the manufacturer with
bearing the risk of physical injury when he buys a
product on the market. He (consumer) can, however,
be fairly charged with the risk that the product will
not match his economic expectations unless the man-
ufacturer agrees that it will. Even in actions for negli-
gence, a manufacturer’s liability is limited to
damages for physical injuries, and there is no recov-
ery for economic loss alone. Seely, 403 P.2d at 151,
citing Wyatt v. Cadillac Mctor Car Division, 145 Cal.
App. 2d 423, 302 P.2d 665 (1956) (a consumer action
involving complaints about a personal automobile).

17

G. A Unique Washington Maritime Rule of Eco-
nomic Loss, Applicable Only to Recreational
Vessels, Would Interfere With the Uniform Mar-
itime Legal System and Unfairly Prejudice
Washington Boat Manufacturers.

If this Court were to grant the relief Petitioners ask
for and hold that the State of Washington should have a
unique rule governing economic loss for non-commercial
vessels,® there would be a direct affect on Bayliner in its
ability to compete with out-of-state manufacturers.
Bayliner and other State of Washington manufacturers
could be sued in Washington state for greater products
liability exposures than their competitors situated in
other states or countries, thereby increasing their costs.
Such a unique Washington rule would also have the effect
of impermissibly encouraging forum shopping. See, Pope
& Talbot v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 411 (1953); Butler v. Ameri-
can Trawler, 707 F. Supp. 29, 31 (D. Me. 1989) aff'd, 887
F.2d 20 (ist Cir. 1989).

The issue of recovery for economic loss in products
liability cases involving non-commercial vessels is not
“peculiarly a matter of state and local concern.” Kossick v.

8 The “risk of harm” test that Petitioners seek to apply is a
minority view which has not been adopted in any maritime
cases. See Rocky Mountain Helicopters, Inc. v. Bell Helicopter Tex-
tron, Inc., __ F.3d ___, 1994 W.L. 178134 n.2 (10th Cir. 1994); Casa
Clara, 620 So.2d at 1245 n.2. The principal case relied upon by
the Washington Supreme Court in Graybar, supra, in adopting
the risk of harm test, Pennsylvania Glass Sand v. Caterpillar Trac-
tor, 652 F.2d 1165 (3d Cir. 1981), has been overruled. Aloe Coe v.
Clark Equipment, 816 F.2d 110 (3d Cir. 1987) cert. denied, 484 U.S.
853 (1987); see Rem Cole Co. v. Clark Equipment, 386 Pa. Super.
401, 563 A.2d 128 (1989).

18

United Fruit Co., 365 U.S. 731, 741 (1961). Bayliner boats
and yachts are distributed throughout the world. Recre-
ational vessels, like the two involved here, routinely
travel in the Pacific Northwest between Washington, Ore-
gon and Canada (one of the two subject vessels grounded
in Canada). They also travel from other locations in the
United States to Mexico, the Caribbean and Canada and
state to state on the Western and Eastern seaboards, Ches-
apeake Bay, Gulf of Mexico, Great Lakes, and on the
Mississippi River. As an example, the yacht in Lewinter,
supra, sustained its hull failure in waters off Jamaica.
Because of the high mobility of recreational vessels and
their potential effect on maritime commerce, it is neces-
sary to have uniform rules of maritime tort liability. Sis-
son v. Ruby, supra; Foremost, supra.

IV. CONCLUSION

Certiorari should be denied because (1) there is no
conflict between the federal circuit courts of appeals or
state courts of last resort, (2) this Court should defer to
the Washington Supreme Court’s subordination of its
own state interests to the federal need for uniformity of
maritime tort law, (3) certiorari is premature because the
warranty remedies against the dealer have not yet been
resolved, and (4) the Washington State Supreme Court
carefully analyzed the applicable law and made the right
decision.

Respectfully submitted,

Dexter A. WASHBURN*
Newetit D. SmitH
MIKKELBORG, Broz, WELLS & FRYER

*Counsel of Record Attorneys for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1702%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
