# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Edenfield v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1687%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 818

## Text

Supreme Court
Pitebe

931965 JUN -8 199
BPPice OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

JOHN M. EDENFIELD end
JAMES C. EDENFIELD,

Petitioners,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN R. MARTIN
MARTIN BROTHERS, P.C.
44 Broad Street, N.W.
500 Grant Building
Atlanta, GA 30303
(404) 522-0400

Counsel for Petitioners

UEST P R REVIEW

I.

WHETHER IN JUDGING A GOVERN-
MENT MISCONDUCT CLAIM UNDER
THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE THE
IMPROPER MOTIVATION OF GOVERN-
MENT AGENTS IN PURSUING A PO-
TENTIAL TARGET, HERE POLITICAL
REVENGE BY A SHERIFF AGAINST
AN IMPORTANT SUPPORTER OF HIS
OPPONENT IN A RECENT ELECTION,
IS IRRELEVANT.

It.

WHETHER IN JUDGING A GOVERN-
MENT MISCONDUCT CLAIM UNDER
THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE THE
DEGREE OF SUSPECTED CRIMINAL
INVOLVEMENT BY THE TARGETS OF
THE INVESTIGATION IS IRRELE-
VANT; I.E. WHETHER THE SAME
LAW ENFORCEMENT CONDUCT IS
PERMISSIBLE WITH RESPECT TO
ALL "DISTRIBUTORS" OF COCAINE,
WHETHER THEY BE “HARD CORE"
PROFESSIONAL DISTRIBUTORS FOR
PROFIT OR "SOCIAL" DISTRIBU-
TORS WHO MERELY SHARE COCAINE
WITH FFIENDS OR "DISTRIBUTE"
SMALL QUANTITIES TO FRIENDS
FOR COST.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions Presented for Review..... i
Table Of AvuthoFities@. ici. .cccccs soe A484
Opinion Below.......... ceovecececeiec 2

Juri sGsOuiae . i ikiG. d. i ee 2
Relevant Constitutional Provision.. 3
Statement of the Cage:

(A) Course of Proceedings and
Disposition Below............ 4

(B) Statement of Facts............ 7
Reasons for Granting Writ.......... 15
Conc lusiomin's. (OU CEE . oe Be cd Ses «686
Certificate of Service............. 32

Apperm@is.. .ciéii. Bi. CH. ee eeace la

ii

Cases Page

Vv. “eee ’
112 S.Ct. 1535 (1992)........--4-- 24a

Vv , 425 U.S.
484, 96 S.Ct. 1646, 48 L.Ed.2d 113
TASTES) ccc tcaeevwveveceee 24,25,26,27,28

United States v. Edenfield, 995 F.2d
197 (11th Cir. 1993)..... 2,6,11,18,28

United States v. Falk, 479 F.2d 616
(F7th Cir. 1973) ..cccccccccccccccee 21

U tat v. Gordon, 817 F.2d 1538
(Lith Cir. 1987) ...ccccccccccccees 21

es v. Rey, 811 F.2d 1453
(Lith Cir. 1987) ....ccccecccccees 6la

United States v. Richardson, 764 F.2d
See Ue Gee BOOED co cccscccoes 62a

United States ». Rochin, 342 U.S. 165
72 S.Ct. 205, 96 L.Ed.2d 183

(1952) -ccccccccccccscccccccccscces 20

United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423,
93 S.Ct. 1637, 36 L.Ed.2d 366

PEPE cheese e66666 8 0606 15,20,59a, 64a
United States v. Shearer, 794 F.2d 1545
CR Ree Gees BEOOP ccccccecccces 3la,6la

iii

United States v. Steele, 461 F.2d 1148
(9th Ciz. Bea beh asasaweesasrecneas 21

United States v. Tobias, 662 F.2d 381
(Sth Cir. 1981)..........20,25a, 29a, 30a,

36a,40a,59a, 64a

United States v. Twiggs, 588 F.2d 373
(3rd Cir. 1978)........29a,30a,40a,60a

United States v. Williams, 954 F.2d 668
CZEGE GES. BORE) 6 cd eesedvssrreevee 63a
Statutes
LO: Bi Oe .. GA? . ncccnws eo ccvese jae ce. 57a
26 U.B.C. BFTadccccccvcecosescssese 3
ZL GU.B.C. BOE4L. cccccccvevcssceseosecs 57a
21 U.S.C. §841(A) (1) .......-2-2-ee 5
21 U.B.C. 8 BOC cccescccccccccce os S78
28 U.S.C. §$1254(1)......... secowe 3
O.C.G.A. 816-139-311. ccccccccsccecs 14a

0O.C.G.A. §16-13-31 (a) (1) (A) eee 9, 15a, S4a

iv

a a RO + - PUD § RDP wd

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

JOHN M. EDENFIELD and
JAMES C. EDENFIELD,

Petitioners,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

The potitionsue, JOHN M. EDENFIELD
and JAMES C. EDENFIELD, respectfully pray
that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

re

Circuit, entered in the above entitled
proceeding on July 14, 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States
District Court for the Northern District
of Georgia dismissing the indictment
against Petitioners on due process
grounds is not reported. The decision of
the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit reversing and vacating the deci-
sion of the District Court for the North-
ern District of Georgia is reported at
995 F.2d 197 (llth Cir. 1993). Both
opinions are set forth in the appendix

hereto.

JURISDICTION
On May 26, 1992, the District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia

diemissed the indictment against the
Petitioners John M. Edenfield and James
C. Edenfield due to law enforcement
misconduct in violation of the Due Pro-
cess Clause. The United States appealed
to the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals,
pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §3731. On July 17,
1993, the Eleventh Circuit reversed the
District Court. On March 28, 1994, the
Eleventh Circuit denied a timely filed
petition for rehearing and suggestion for
rehearing en banc. This Court has juris-
diction to review the decision of the
Eleventh Circuit under 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

Fifth Amendment to the United States
Constitution. :

"No person shall be held to answer

for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or indict-
ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases
arising in the land or naval forces, or
in the Militia, when in actual service in
time of War or public danger; nor shall
any person be subject for the same of-
fense to be twice put in jeopardy of life
or limb; nor shall he be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liber-
ty, or property, without due process of
law; nor shall private property be taken

for public use, without just compensa-

tion."
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
(A) Course of Proceedings and Dis-
position in the Courts Below

Petitioners John M. Edenfield and
James C. Edenfield (hereinafter also
referred to as "Defendants" or "John

a

Edenfield" or "James ("Jim") Edenfield")
were charged by the United States in a
four count indictment with conspiracy and
possession with intent to distribute
cocaine under 21 U.S.C. §§841(a)(1) and
846. (R1:1; R2:1) To this indictment
they pled not guilty. (R1:3; R2 74).

The Defendants filed timely motions
to dismiss the indictment under the Due
Process Clause because of law enforcement
misconduct in the investigation of their
case. (R1:9, 34; R2:22, 34). Three days
of testimony was heard and 53 exhibits
received into evidence. (R3; R4; R5). The
magistrate recommended that the motions
be denied. (R1:58; R2:58). On May 26,
1992, District Court Judge Robert lL.
Vining, Jr., however, rejected the magis-
trate’s recommendation and dismissed the

indictment on due process grounds.

(R1:62; R2:62). Appendix Exhibit "A".
The Government appealed to the Court
of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.
(R1:66; R2:66). On July 14, 1993, a
panel of the Eleventh Circuit granted the
Government’s appeal, vacating the Dig-
trict Court’s order dismissing the in-
dictment and remanding the case for
further proceedings. United States v.
Edenfield, 995 F.2d 197 (11th Cir. 1993).
Appendix Exhibit "B". The Defendants
filed a timely petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing en banc, which
was denied on March 28, 1994. Appendix
Exhibit "Cc". A stay of the mandate
pending a petition for writ of certiorari
to this Court was granted on May 16,
1994. Petitioners now file a timely

petition for writ of certiorari.

(B) Statement Of Facts Necessary
to Argument Of The Issues

The District Court found that in the
| summer and early fall of 1989, Merrill
| Greathouse, Sheriff of Upson County,
Georgia, and other law enforcement
officials, believed that the Edenfields,
who are fraternal twins, were recreation-
al users of cocaine who had made rela-
tively small purchases and who on occa-
sion gave cocaine to friends or sold
small amounts (a gram or less) at cost.
It was known that the Edenfields were not
drug traffickers for profit. (R1:62:2,19;
R2:62:2,19).

In 1988, Sheriff Greathouse had
stood for re-election in largely rural
Upson County. John Edenfield, Sr., the
father of the Defendants, had been a
previous supporter of Sheriff Greathouse,
but there had been an angry "falling out"

7

— a a i

over what John Edenfield, Sr. thought,
rightfully, was an unwarranted and base-
less investigation of a loyal employee.
John Edenfield, Sr. became a supporter of
Sheriff Greathouse’s opponent, who lost
to Sheriff Greathouse in an acrimonious
and close election.

The District Court found that the
subsequent investigation of the Eden-
fields in 1989 by Sheriff Greathouse and
others to implicate the Edenfields in a
cocaine trafficking charge under Georgia
law was motivated by political and per-
sonal revenge by Sheriff Greathouse
against the Edenfields due to the politi-
cal opposition of the Edenfields to
Sheriff Greathouse during the re-election
campaign. The Court specifically found
that Sheriff Greathouse and others were

seeking "to improperly employ their

significant power and resources to settle

personal scores." (R1-62:3, 15; R2-
62:3,15).

The District Court further found
that in order to extract vengeance on the
Edenfields, Sheriff Greathouse and others
entered into a contingent fee arrangement
with an informant, Tony Watson. Sheriff
Greathouse promised Watson a sizable
reward if he were able to lure or to
engineer an Edenfield to be in sole
possession of more than an ounce of
cocaine. Possession of more than an
ounce was critical, because under the
Georgia drug trafficking statute, the
possession of this amount or more re-
quires a minimum term of imprisonment of
10 years and a $100,000 fine, without the
possibility of probation. 0.C.G.A. §16-

13-31(a) (1) (A). No effort was made to

train or control the informant. He was
never advised not to entrap the Defen-
dants. Indeed, Sheriff Greathouse knew
that the informant was often drunk and
probably using cocaine himself while
working undercover for the Sheriff. (R1-
62:7-8, 15-17; R2-62:7-8, 15-17).
Finally, the District Court found
that although law enforcement officials
knew that the Edenfields were not drug
traffickers for profit, they nevertheless
endeavored to "get" an Edenfield in
possession of an amount of cocaine suffi-
cient to make a trafficking case under
Georgia law. The agents arranged for
their informant to purchase more than an
ounce of cocaine on November 10, 1989,
from a source unknown to Jim Edenfield,
but arranged by the informant. The

informant’s ruse was that he wanted to

10

ASI crag A gh A SAR tet AA Chinas Nh

buy over half an ounce for himself in
addition to what Jim Edenfield wanted to
purchase so that more than an ounce would
be obtained. Instead of keeping the

packages separate, however, the informant

_gave all of the cocaine to Jim Edenfield

for his transportation back to their

‘homes in Upson County and formulated an

excuse to exit the car so that Jim Eden-

field would be by himself with over an
ounce of cocaine at the time that the
arrest signal was given. (R1-62:8-10,
17-20; R2-62:8-10, 17-20).

Prior to the November 10, 1989
incident, there had been at least 4
separate "controlled" buys of cocaine by

the informant from the Edenfields.* On

1Although the Court of Appeals in-
correctly states that these were buys of
"one-eighth ounce amounts of cocaine"
(995 F.2d at 199), im fact only two of
(continued...)

11

each of these occasions the investigating
officers had clear evidence of the Eden-
fields’ involvement in cocaine. However,
no search warrant was executed, or arrest
made, because the investigative agents
were not content with a simple possession
or a small distribution case against the
Edenfields. Instead, they would be
satisfied with no less than a trafficking
charge, i.e. possession of more than an
ounce, the contingent fee arrangement
they had made with their informant. (R1-
62:4-7, 16; R2-62:7, 16).

The District Court found that al-
though no particular circumstance was
controlling, the totality of the above
actions constituted misconduct "so egre-

gious as to offend principles of due

*(...continued)
the purchases were for that amount. The
other two were significantly less.

12

process" and require dismissal. (Rl-
61:20; R2-62:20). This conclusion made
it unnecessary for the Court to consider
other evidence of misconduct marshalled
by the Defendants, including efforts to
prevent the defense from learning of the
improper scheme of the investigating
officers, destruction of evidence by law
enforcement officials and perjury by law
enforcement witnesses regarding their
misconduct.

The District Court summarized its
findings as follows:

While no one factor is con-

trolling in this matter the

Court finds that given the

political and personal inter-

est of law enforcement offi-

cials involved in this case,

the preselection of the inves-

tigatory target, the govern-

ment’s entering into a contin-

gent fee agreement with an

informant to get an Edenfield,

and the over-involvement of

the informant as an agent of
the government in the planning

13

and execution of the crime
charged, law enforcement mis-
conduct in this case is so
egregious as to offend princi-
ples of due process. The gov-
ernment whether state or fed-
eral, is supposed to be in the
business of investigating and
intercepting crime in order to
punish and deter wrongdoers.
The government may not initi-
ate crimes. A sense of order-
ed justice does not allow for
law enforcement activity which
results in the preselection of
a particular individual for
investigation and which re-
sults in law enforcement
agents acting to ensure that a
more serious crime is commit-
ted by that targeted individu-
al as a result of the investi-
gation than would have been
committed without the acts of
the government. (R1-62:20;
R2-62:20). (Appendix Exhibit
"As, p. 26).

14

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
A. Introduction

Petitioners recognize that due
process challenges for outrageous govern-
ment conduct are by their very nature
fact-specific. What might be shocking to
the "universal sense of justice", United
States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 432, 93
S.Ct. 1637, 1643, 36 L.Ed.2d 366 (1973),
to one judge might not be similarly
shocking to the same "univerral sense of
justice" of another. This point was
never made more clearly than in this
case, where the District Court was of-
fended by the circumstances of the gov-
ernment investigation, while the Circuit
Court, adopting the factual conclusions
of the District Court, was unimpressed
with the Petitioners’ claims of outra-

geous misconduct.

15

Ce

Of course, resolution of fact-spe-
cific questions are not typically subject
to Supreme Court review. However, here,
in diminishing the significance of sever-
al of the factors of government miscon-
duct found by the District Court, the
Circuit Court applied questionable legal
analyses contrary to Supreme Court au-
thority or without legal precedent and of

doubtful validity.

16

B. Political Motivation

THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED AND
MISAPPLIED SUPREME COURT AU-
THORITY IN HOLDING THAT THE
| MOTIVATION OFr GOVERNMENT
| AGENTS IN PURSUING A POTENTIAL
: TARGET, HERE POLITICAL REVENGE
BY A SHERIFF AGAINST AN IMPOR-
TANT SUPPORTER OF HIS OPPONENT
IN A RECENT ELECTION, IS IR-
RELEVANT IN JUDGING THE *“"TO-
TALITY OF CIRCUMSTANCES" OF
GOVERNMENT MISCONDUCT INVOLVED
IN THE INVESTIGATION AND PROS-
ECUTION OF A DEFENDANT.

The District Court clearly found

that Sheriff Greathouse’s intensive

| investigation of the Edenfields, includ-
| ing the engagement of Tony Watson as a
'contingently motivated informant to be
paid only upon producing all of the

evidence necessary to convict an Eden-

field of trafficking in cocaine under

Georgia law, was motivated by the desire

' to obtain political revenge against the
| Edenfields. This political and personal

| motivation was one of the “totality of

17

circumstances" emphasized by the District
Court in finding a due process violation.
As the District Court found, "While law
enforcement should be given great flexi-
bility in investigating crime, to main-
tain justice, fairness and decency in the
criminal justice process, law enforcement
officials cannot be allowed to improperly
employ their significant power and re-
sources to settle personal scores." (R1-
62:15, 20; R2-62:15, 20). (Appendix
Exhibit "A", p. 15)

The Circuit Court, however, found
the political and personal motivations of
Sheriff Greathouse to be "irrelevant", at
least for "due process purposes." 995
F.2d at 200. (Appendix Exhibit "B").
Without citation to any authority in
support of its position, the Circuit

Court opined that due process claims deal

18

‘ only with "outrageous misconduct" (empha-

sis in original) and "an officer’s possi-
ble motive" is of no concern. 995 F.2d at
200. According to the Circuit Court, the
motivation of law enforcement officers,
no matter how inappropriate or contrary
to principles of "fundamental fairness"
uniformly accepted in a free society,
should not even be considered in judging

the "totality of the circumstances"

| involved in a law enforcement misconduct

claim under the Due Process Clause.

Petitioners know of no case sup-
porting the Circuit Court’s position. No

distinction between "conduct" and "mo-

tive", even if one can intelligently be

drawn, has ever appeared in the case law

regarding government misconduct claims.

| Courts are directed to consider the

"totality of the circumstances" whatever

19

they may be, "with no single factor

controlling". See, e.g., United States
v. Tobias, 662 F.2d 381, 387 (5th Cir.
1981). Moreover, the ultimate question
is whether the actions of the government
violated "that ‘fundamental fairness
shocking to the universal sense of jus-
tice’, mandated by the Due Process
Clause." United States v. Russell, 411
U.S. 423, 431-432, 93 S.Ct. 1637, 1643,

36 L.Ed.2d 366 (1973); United States v.

Rochin, 342 U.S. 165, 172, 72 S.Ct. 205,
209, 96 L.Ed.2d 183 (1952). Under this
test both logic and intuition calls for
consideration of all factors involved,
including the nature of the officer’s
motives.

A typical citizen in judging whether
or not government conduct shocked his or

her “universal sense of justice" would

20

‘certainly not exclude the reasons behind

=

anaes tad

eT nba PSA tes dle! SEPA: Alek a aaa Meal

the officers’ conduct. Why should the
courts? Afterall, the reason that we
want to know whether or not the target of
a contingent fee arrangement was "“pre-
selected" is for fear that improperly
motivated law enforcement officials would

target their guile and substantial re-

> sources to induce someone to commit a

crime they would not otherwise commit.

Moreover, in other contexts the motiva-

tion of investigators or prosecutors,

particularly political motivations which

are rightfully subject to careful scruti-

ny in a democratic society, are of para-

-mount importance. Cé£., United States v.

Gordon, 817 F.2d 1538, 1541 (11th Cir.
1987) (Selective prosecution claim based
upon prosecution motivated by a desire to

punish "the principal political organiza-

21

tion representing blacks" with the assis-
tance of the "rival white political
organization."); United States v. Falk,
479 F.2d 616, 623 (7th Cir. 1973) (en
banc) (Improper selective prosecution of
vocal draft resister in order to punish
him for his opposition to the Vietnam
war); United States v. Steele, 461 F.2d
1148 (9th Cir. 1972) (Selective prosecu-
tion of participant in census resistance
movement).

To exclude political motivations, no
matter how inappropriate or dangerous to
a free society, from any consideration in
determining the "totality of the circum-
stances" in a due process challenge to a
prosecution as somehow "irrelevant", as
would the Circuit Court here, eliminates
from the determination of such cases

important evidence particularly relevant

22

Sto the interests at stake, namely the

: "universal sense of justice." This Court

should therefore review this case by

: issuing a Writ of Certiorari to correct

this mistake of the Eleventh Circuit.

La Keele biOs Rue

23

C. Degree of Criminal Involvement

THE CIRCUIT COURT ERRED AND
MISAPPLIED SUPREME COURT AU-
THORITY IN HOLDING THAT IN
JUDGING A GOVERNMENT MISCON-
DUCT CLAIM UNDER THE DUE PRO-
CESS CLAUSE NO DISTINCTION
SHOULD BE DRAWN WITH RESPECT
TO THE DEGREE OF SUSPECTED
CRIMINAL INVOLVEMENT BY THE
TARGETS OF THE INVESTIGATION;
I.E. WHETHER THE SAME CONDUCT
IS PERMISSIBLE WITH RESPECT TO
ALL "DISTRIBUTORS" OF COCAINE,
WHETHER THEY BE "HARD CORE®
PROFESSIONAL DISTRIBUTORS FOR
PROFIT OR "SOCIAL*® DISTRIBU-
TORS WHO MERELY SHARE COCAINE
WITH FRIENDS OR "DISTRIBUTE*
SMALL QUANTITIES TO FRIENDS
FOR COST.

In Hampton v. United States, 425
U.S. 489, 96 S.Ct. 1646, 48 L.Ed.2d 113

(1976) this Court discussed the factors
to be considered in a due. pro-
cess/fundamental fairness challenge to a
cr minal conviction based upon the outra-
geousness of police behavior. There,

three members of the Court, Chief Justice

24

Jpurger, then Justice Rehnquist and Jus-

tice White, opined that due process

principles would never prevent the con-

?viction of a predisposed defendant re-

\gardless of the outrageousness of police
) conduct in investigating and prosecuting
| the case. Justices Powell and Blackmun
| concurred in the judgment of the Court
S ekoléine the convictions of the defen-
dant, but, however, refused "to join the
\ plurality in concluding that, no matter
. what the circumstances, neither due
| process principles nor our supervisory
) power would support a bar to conviction
in any case where the Government is able
_ to prove predisposition." 425 U.S. at
495, 96 S.Ct. at 1653. According to
| Justices Powell and Blackmun, although

the cases would be "rare", a conviction

would nevertheless be barred when police

25

3
1
Z
4
&
3
4
f
3
4
a
;
:

conduct reaches "a demcnstrable level of
outrageousness." 425 U.S. at 495 n.7, 96
§.Ct. at 1653 n.7. The three dissent-
ers, Justice Brennen, Stewart and Mar-
shall, agreed and found sufficient
misconduct in Hampton to vacate the
conviction.’

An important, and often overlooked,
portion of the crucial concurring opinion
of Justices Powell and Blackmun is the
position advanced by the justices that
the outrageousness of police conduct must
be judged in relation to the "widely
varying degrees of criminal involvement"
of the individuals subject to police
investigation. Using narcotics as an

example, the justices noted that the

Justice Stevens took no part in
the consideration or decision of the
case.

26

"criminal involvement of pushers varies
)widely." On one end of the spectrum is
) the "hard core professional in the ‘busi-
: ness’ on a large scale and for years" and
: on the other end of the spectrum is "the
: high school youth whose ‘pushing’ is
| limited to a few of his classmates over
a short span of time." Although in both
situations the defendant is a predisposed
"pusher", the obvious differences in the
circumstances should be relevant in
judging the outrageousness of the govern-
ment conduct "relative to the circunm-
stances." 425 U.S. at 494 fn 5, 96 S.Ct.

at 1652 fn 5. What "fundamental fair-

ness" and the "universal sense of jus-
tice" might countenance in the investiga-
tion of a suspect at one end of the
continuum of "predisposed activity" might

not be similarly acceptable for investi-

A 8A Ce NN Cink wl vite Ri TD batt cc ip Matin hae ida

aE Vie? tet: ihc A

27

+ 24

gation of a suspect at the other end of
the continuum.

Here, the Circuit Court totally
ignored these admonitions in the opinion
of Justices Powell and Blackmun, critical
to the majority in Hampton. The Circuit
Court described the defendants as "long-
time and admitted distributors", 995 F.2d
at 201, as if all cocaine "distributors"
are the same. The Edenfields, who the
District Court found "were users of
cocaine and would sometimes distribute
cocaine to others in amounts of a gram or
less, purely on a social basis" and never
"for profit or in large amounts" (R1-
62:2; R2-62:2), may not qualify as a
"high-school youth" whose "pushing is
limited to a few of his classmates over
a short span of time," but their criminal

involvement was much closer to the "high-

28

; school youth" end of the spectrum than
} the "hard core professional" at the other
; end of the spectrum in the concurring
3 opinion of Justices Powell and Blackmun.

The District Court in judging the
totality of the circumstances of the law
enforcement conduct in this case followed
the directions of Justices Powell and

Blackmun by considering the degree of the

A a jae

nly

suspected criminal involvement of the
+Defendants in deciding the due process
claim. The Circuit Court in determining
\the outrageousness of the law enforcement

officials misconduct ignored the direc-
'tions of this Court, lumped all "distrib-
utors" together, and failed to weigh the
investigative techniques used against the
seriousness of the suspected criminal
_ involvement of the Defendants. This was

}a fundamental misapplication of binding

E 29

authority of the Supreme Court which
should be corrected by this Court through
granting the requested Writ of Certiora-

ri.

The opinion of the Eleventh Circuit
in this case carved out an important new
evidentiary rule in government misconduct
claims, namely that the motivation of law
enforcement officers is in all cases
irrelevant, which is not only without
precedent but is illogical and unwise.
This holding should be corrected. Simi-
larly, in reaching its decision, the
Eleventh Circuit refused to apply or
misapplied the directions of this Court
that the degree of the suspected criminal
involvement of a defendant should be

factored into the decision regarding the

30

ee ee ee ee

outrageousness of the investigative tech-

niques employed. Again, this erroneous

conclusion by the Circuit Court should be

a - eo

corrected by this Court. For each of

ithese reasons, and in combination, the

Noe ST

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should

‘be granted.

ss

Respectfully submitted,
MARTIN BROTHERS, P.C.

— ,
J R. Martin
ar No. 473325

'44 Broad Street, N.W.
'500 Grant Building
Atlanta, GA 30303

' (404) 522-0400

31

IN THE
OF THE UNITED STATES
TERM 1993

SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER

JOHN M. EDENFIELD and
JAMES C. EDENFIELD,

Petitioners,
vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PROOF OF SERVICE
I, JOHN R. MARTIN, do declare that

on this date, June 7, 1994, pursuant to
Supreme Court Rules 29.3 and 29.4, I have
served the attached PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT on each
party to the above proceeding, or that

party’s counsel, and on every other

32

\person required to be served by deposit-

Jing an envelope containing the above
document in the United States mail prop-

J erly addressed to each of them and with

_first-class postage prepaid.

|
A The names and addressed of those
i served are as follows:

|

Mary Jane Stewart
: Assistant United States Attorney
; 1800 Richard Russell Building
: 75 Spring Street, S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303
Counsel for Respondent

3

é

é

Hon. Drew Days, III

3 Solicitor General

3 Main Justice Building, Room 5143
10th & Constitution

Washington, D.C. 20530

Counsel for Respondent

Oe a ee ae

John M. Edenfield
James C. Edenfield
P.O. Box 1057
Thomaston, GA 30286
Petitioners

Jo . Martin
Counkél for Petitioners

33

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1687%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
