# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tuxedo Union Free School District v. Cullen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1634%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 985

## Text

No. es -* U.S.
\ 93190 6 MAY 27 1994
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

>_>

THE TUXEDO UNION FREE SCHOOL DISTRICT, et al.,
Petitioners,

BRIAN CULLEN,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CAROLE O’BLENES

(Counsel of Record)

PROSKAUER ROSE GOETZ
& MENDELSOHN

1585 Broadway

New Yerk, New York 10036

(212) 969-3000

Attorneys for Petitioners
Of Counsel

SAUL G. KRAMER
STEPHANIE L. ORATZ

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the enforcement of an otherwise valid state statute that
prohibits electioneering within 100 feet of a polling place violate the
free speech clause of the First Amendment in the absence of
distance markers defining the boundaries of the no electioneering
zone even if the person against whom the statute is enforced: (a)
admittedly received actual notice of the prohibition on election-
eering, and (b) knowingly and deliberately violated it after receiving
such notice?

2. Does the “bad faith” exception to the Abstention Doctrine
enunciated in Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), permit a
federal district court to enjoin a pending state administrative
proceeding, initiated to determine the validity of disciplinary
charges against a public employee, based on nothing more than: (a)
the existence of two previous disciplinary proceedings against the
employee both of which resulted in the imposition of disciplinary
penalties by a state administrative panel, and (b) the “chilling
effect” on the conduct that is the subject of the disciplinary charges?

il

LIST OF PARTIES

of the District (the “Board”): and Bernard Modder, Constance
Jones Phelps, Robert Quinn, Joseph Ribando and Michael
Santoianni, members of the Board. Neither the District nor the
Board has any Parent Company or subsidiary.

The parties to the Proceeding before the U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit were the same.

i

ili
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................___- i

a ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................____ vi
ee l
Ee ae l
STATEMENT OF THECASE................___ I
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE aor 14
I. THE DECISION BELOW IS IN CONFLICT WITH
BURSON V. FREEMAN AND OTHER DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT, AS WELL AS THE FIFTH

CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN SCHIRMER V. EDWARDS;

IT ALSO CALLS INTO QUESTION THE
CONSTITUTIONALITY OF ELECTION LAWS IN

ee Gack iis... 15

Il. THE DECISION BELOW IS sO FUNDAMENTALLY
AT ODDS WITH THE TEACHINGS OF THIS
COURT IN YOUNGER V. HARRIS AND ITS
PROGENY THAT SUMMARY REVERSAL IS

MI 8 he ees wis ics.a........ 21
a SSE ——
Appendix A

Opinion and Judgment of the U.S. Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit ...........__. la

Appendix B

Judgment of the U.S. District Court for
the Southern District Of New York _..__-

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

of the U.S. District Court for the

Southern District of New York...
Stipulated Statement of Facts by Counsel

and Order of the U.S. District Court for

the Southern District of New se

Appendix C

Memorandum and Order of the U.S. District
Court for the Southern District of New York

Appendix D

Finding in Education Proceeding #2598.

Pursuant to New York Education Law § 3020-a,

on Respondent's Motion to Dismiss... _ |

Appendix E

Text of Statutes wy siae EE

Appendix F

Complaint, filed April 20, 1993,
with Exhibits A,BandC...)

Answer to Complaint, filed May 27, 1993,
wah ExhibisAamMdB...... 0° |

| '

Appendix G

Excerpt from Transcript of February 26,
1993 Hearing Before Panel Constituted
Pursuant to New York Education Law § 3020-4 .... 117a

Appendix H

Decision of the Commissioner of the
New York State Education Department,
dated May 5, 1994

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Abramovich v. Board of Educ.,
386 N.E.2d 1077 (N_Y sg TP eee esp 2

Ambach vy. Norwick,
441 U.S. 68 op gs fh CAC a ea 29

Bethel Sch. Dist No. 403 v. Fraser,
478 U.S. 675 Mos tesco, tees Le 18, 29

Broadrick y. Oklahoma,
413 U.S. 601 fy SA orem nt 19

Brockett y. Spokane Arcades. Inc.,
472 U.S. 49] 6 gill Ae ee ele earls Bes 28

Brown v. Board of Educ.,
347 U.S. 483 (1954) __ MSS Uae ie Woda eal 29

Burson v. Freeman,
112 S. Ct. th oa Se Ns ae Passim

CE. Carlson, Inc. y. Securities Exch. Comm'n,
859 F.2d 1429 (10th Cir. sein ET OEE TT SES 20

Cameron. y. Johnson,
390 U.S. 611 ME ice 5h eu td eee 25, 27

Christ the King Regional High Sch. y. Culvert,
815 F.2d 219 (24 Cir.), cert. denied,
Bil cn. 5 A 3

Clayton v. Board of Educ.,
49 A.D.2d 343 (34 cthctrcbnian CETL EE ee Rare 3

vii Page

Collins v. County of Kendall,
807 F.2d 95 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied.

RE Re ea eS 26
Dombrowski v. Pfister,

| 26
Grandco Corp. v. Rochford,

536 F.2d 197 (7th Cir. 1976) ............... 24, 27
Hicks v. Miranda,

S22 UB. S52 (1975) 0 ww ce 24, 26, 28

Holt v. Board of Educ.,
422 N.E.2d 499 (N.Y. 1981) ................... 2

Huffman v. Pursue, Lid.,
ee 23

Jerry v. Board of Educ.,
324 N.E.2d 106 (N.Y. 1974) ................... 3

Kloepfer v. Commissioner of Educ.,
82 A.D.2d 974 (3d Dep’t 1981),

aff'd without op., 436 N.E.2d 1334 (N.Y. EE Se oe 3
Krahm v. Graham,
461 F.2d 703 (9th Cir. 1972) ............. es

Kugler v. Helfant,
eee 23

Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing Co.,
Ge WI PD Ss nn ov cin coc nee cc ccnn. 19

Lewellen v. Raff,
843 F.2d 1103 (8th Cir. 1988),
reh’g denied, 851 F.2d 1108,
cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1033 (1989) _......__.. 13, 14

Viii Page

Literature, Inc. y. Quinn

“SUMMA Ge Wy... 23
McGuire y. Roebuck,

347 F. Supp. 1111 (C.D. Tex. 1972) ............. 23
Middlesex County Ethics Comm. y. Garden State Bar Ass n,

457 U.S. 423 ( Be F. fo Ry, | re 20

United States v. Mangieri,
oS Bee Fi! oto A + | ar ire 20

United States v. Schoolcraft,
879 F.2d 64 (3d Cir.),
cert. denied, 493 U.S. 995 (1989) ............... 20

United States v. Scott,
521 F.2d 1188 (9th Cir. 1975),
cert. denied, 424 U.S. 955 (1976) ............... 20

University Club v. City of New York,
ee I oa ss Saw oe eee 3

Video Store, Inc. v. Holcomb,
tar ©. eee See Gee Cee 19D) on 0 i eee es 23

Whyte v. United States,
oa aa ogy dk ek 15, 19, 20

Westin v. McDaniel,
760 F. Supp. 1563 (M.D. Ga. 1991),
aff'd without op., 949 F.2d 1163
ar La! foe ag Swe ge 23

Williams v. Red Bank Bd. of Educ.,
Gus Fae tops GO Cer 1981) .. wn cea: 22, 28, 29

Wisconsin v. Yoder,
ee She Eo ace ed ee oe 29

xi

Young v. American Mini Theatres, Inc.,
ESE ID. os ewes 3 ee ERE EE 19

Younger v. Harris,
Me A ok 8 nn RN AS Ee passim

STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

tie Re OUD be cs ee a SR Oe oe 1
MME ME. yg 5 58 ew RAS OPS ORT SP TS 10
Ci OE 2 gg ca ade sneer eT Tee 10
i eg ha SN et 10
eR NE es yea eas eee ee ee te 10
Ark. Code Ann. § 7-1-103 (Michie 1993) ...-------°°° 21
Cal. Elec. Code § 29470 (Wet 190). eee 21
Del. Code Ann. tit. 15, § RE CONN) 5k 5 5 21
{ll. Comp. Stat. ch. 10, para. 5/4-7

eemietbeih S900) sc 52 4-4-2 s stent 21
Ind. Code Ann. § 5.44-3-16 Ghee 1995). -- +--+ > - 2" 21
lowa Code Ann. § 49.107 (West 1991 & Supp. 1994) ..--- 21
Kansas Stat. Ann. § 25-2430 PS cota 2 tee 21
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 117.235 (Baldwin 1982) ..-------° 21

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18:1462
(West 1979 & Supp. SR (2. Deke ae oe FO 21

xii Page

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 168.744

kr ear er ee ee rer eter br 21
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 168.931

PS SE ke 0b a a oe Se Ae eee 21
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 211B.11

ie oe Sf OR ee rrr a er a 21
wae. S000 AMM. § Z>-iS Gee (IPRs) acs Ce 21
Mo. Ann. Stat. 8-A § 115.635

I i a se x aca kk a eee 21
Mo. Ann. Stat. 8-A § 115.637

CVEUR Eore Oe . TPE) i a Oe ee ee 21
FOOD, DUP. OM. BOS ESE AIG) ok ee a Fenian 21
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:14-46 (West 1969) ........2..%. 21
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:14-72 (West 1989) ............. 21
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:14-73 (West 1989)-............. 21
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 18A:14-81 (West 1989) ............. 21
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 19:34-6 (West 1989) ............... 21
NJ. Stat. Amu. § 19:34-7 (We IDG) 2 ww ieee ee 21
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 19:34-15 (West 1989) .............. 21
N.M. Stat. Ann. § 3-8-77 (Michie 1991) ............. 21
N.M. Stat. Ann. § 20-1-20-16 (Michie 1991)........... 21

N.Y. Elec. Law § 8-104
(McKinney 1978 & Supp. 1994) ................. 3

xill

Page

N_Y. Educ. Law § 2031-a (McKinney 1988) ...----- passim
N.Y. Educ. Law § 2609(4-a)(b) (McKinney ES ere 25
N.Y. Educ. Law §§ 3012 et seq. (McKinney 1981) is
N_Y. Educ. Law § 3012(2) (McKinney 1981) ....-- oe
N_Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a (McKinney 1981) ..... _ passim
N.Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(1) (McKinney 1981) .... _9
N.Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(2) (McKinney en)... a
N.Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(3}{c) (McKinney 1981) . a
N_Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(4) (McKinney 1981)... - - . oy
N_Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(5) (McKinney 1981)... . 3, 22
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 163-147 (1993) ....------- a
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 26, § 7-108 (West 1991) 21
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 26, § 16-111 (West 1991)...------ 21
Or. Rev. Stat. § 260.695 (1993) ..------ sss 00> 21
S.C. Code Ann. § 7-25-180 (Law. Co-op. 1991) .....- 21
S.D. Codified Laws § 12-18-3 (1982) .....---- 21
Utah Code Ann. § 20A-3-501 (Supp. 1993) ...-------> 21
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 29.51.020 (West 1993) 21
W. Va. Code Ann. § 3-3-2a (1994) ...----- sss 21
Wisc. Stat. Ann. § 7.37 (West 1986 & Supp. ee 21

Xiv Page
Wisc. Stat. Ann. § 12.03 (West 1986) ............... 21
Wyo. Saat. § 22-20-1139 CIGSE) ow wk ct ct ew ee 21
N.Y. Civ. Prac. L. & R. §§ 7801-7806 (McKinney 1981) ... . 3

N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 8A,
Pe SUES AG eee ke ae ee 2

Courtney D. Gifford & William P. Hobgood,
Directory of U.S. Labor Arbitrators: A Guide
for Finding and Using Arbitrators 48 (BNA 1985) ......... 9

‘
i
a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit entered on February 28, 1994.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, reported at 18 F.3d 96, are reprinted as Appendix
A hereto. They affirm a judgment of the U.S. District Court for the
Southern District of New York, which is not reported; the judgment
of the district court, the stipulated statement of facts so ordered by
the district court and the transcript of its findings of fact and
conclusions of law are reprinted as Appendix B hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit was entered on February 28, 1994. This petition is filed
within ninety (90) days of that date. The jurisdiction of this Court
to review the judgment on petition for certiorari rests upon 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves an unseemly intervention by a federal district
court to enjoin a pending state administrative proceeding initiated
to determine whether disciplinary charges by a school district
against a tenured teacher for insubordination are valid and, if so,
what penalty should be imposed. The intervention was approved by
a panel majority of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit—over a dissent by Judge Amalya L. Kearse—based on a
novel First Amendment theory that not only conflicts with the
applicable decisions of this Court but also calls into question the
constitutionality of election laws in dozens of states.

Equally important, the decision below is a dramatic departure
from the principles of federalism and comity articulated by this
Court in Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), and its progeny.
If allowed to stand, it will engender widespread doubt and

2

uncertainty regarding the scope and force of the Abstention
Doctrine—especially as it applies to state disciplinary proceedings.

The State Statutory Context

1. The State Tenure Statute: The New York legislature has
enacted a comprehensive system that provides substantial job
security for tenured teachers. N.Y. Educ. Law §§ 3012 ef seg.
(McKinney 1981). An integral part of the state statutory scheme is
Section 3020-a, which provides a vehicle for disciplinary
proceedings against tenured teachers upon a finding of probable
cause by the Board of Education.!

A tenured teacher may be disciplined only after a full due
process hearing (if requested) and only on the specific grounds set
forth in the Education Law. Id. § 3012(2). Proceedings under
Section 3020-a are decided by impartial three-member panels. The
school district and the teacher each choose one member from a list
of panelists established by the Commissioner of Education. Those
panelists agree upon a third panel member who is selected from a
list supplied by the American Arbitration Association and who
serves as chair of the panel. Jd. § 3020-a(3)(c).

The hearing before the panel must be conducted in accordance
with the law and the regulations of the Commissioner. (See N.Y.
Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 8A, Part 82 (1991).) The teacher has
the right to an attorney, to issue subpoenas and to call witnesses
N.Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(3)(c). If the charges are sustained, the
panel decides on the appropriate penalty to be imposed—which must
be selected from those enumerated in the statute. Jd. § 3020-a(4).
If they are not sustained, the teacher must be restored to his/her
position and the charges removed from the teacher’s personnel
record. The panel’s determinations on the charges and the penalty
are binding on the school district. Jd.

' Section 3020-a has been recognized by the New York Court of Appeals as “a
critical part of the system of contemporary protections that safeguard tenured
teachers from official or bureaucratic caprice.” Abramovich v. Board of Educ.,
386 N.E.2d 1077, 1079 (N.Y. 1979); see also Holt v. Board of Educ., 422
N.E.2d 499, 502 (N.Y. 1981).

4
:
:
:
’
5

3

A teacher (or the school district) may seek review of the panel
decision and/or the penalty by appeal to the Commissioner of
Education under Section 310 of the Education Law or to the courts
under Article 78 of the New York Civil Practice Law and Rules
(“CPLR”). Id. § 3020-a(5). Under the Education Law, the Com-
missioner may substitute his judgment for that of the panel.’ The
decision of the Commissioner on appeal is subject to review by the
New York State courts. CPLR §§ 7801-7806 (McKinney 1981).°
A teacher may be suspended by the school district pending
resolution of the charges. N.Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(2) (McKinney
1981). Absent special circumstances, however, the school district
must continue to provide full pay and benefits during the
suspension.“

2. The State Electioneering Statute: As early as 1888, in
order to prevent voter intimidation and election fraud, New York
law “prohibited any person from ‘electioneering on election day
within any polling-place, or within one hundred feet of any polling
place.”” Burson v. Freeman, 112 S. Ct. 1846, 1854 (1992).
Essentially the same prohibition remains in place today. N.Y. Elec.
Law § 8-104 (McKinney 1978 & Supp. 1994). Section 2031-a of

the Education Law specifically addresses school board elections.”

2 Shurgin v. Ambach, 436 N.E.2d 1324 (N.Y. 1982); Kloepfer v. Commissioner
of Educ., 82 A.D.2d 974 (Gd Dep't 1981), aff'd without op., 436 N.E.2d 1334
(N.Y. 1982).

3 It is well settled that an Article 78 proceeding provides an adequate avenue for
judicial review of constitutional issues raised in or by administrative
proceedings. See, €.8., University Club v. City of New York, 842 F.2d 37, 40-
41 (2d Cir. 1988); Christ the King Regional High Sch. v. Culvert, 815 F.2d
219, 224-25 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 830 (1987); see also Puentes v.
Board of Educ., 250 N.E.2d 232. 233 (N.Y. 1969); Clayton v. Board of Educ.,
49 A.D.2d 343, 349-50 (3d Dep't 1975).

* Jerry v. Board of Educ., 324 N.E.2d 106 (N.Y. 1974).
It reads in pertinent part:
§ 2031-a. Electioneering within one hundred feet of polling place

prohibited; distance markers.
1. At every election held for the office of trustee or member of a

board of education ... there shall be conspicuously placed, by the
inspectors of election, distance markers at a distance of one hundred feet
(continued...)

———————__

4

Section 203l-a—the construction of which divided the court
below—has not been interpreted by the New York State courts.

The Controlling Facts®

The fuxedo Union Free School District (the “District”) is
located in the County of Orange, State of New York. Dr. Herbert
Fliegner is the Superintendent of the District. Brian Cullen
(“Cullen”) is a tenured high school teacher of science who has been
employed by the District for 18 years.

We turn first to the past “charges and hearings” on which the
courts below relied in concluding that the disciplinary proceeding
at issue was brought “in bad faith.”

1. The Past Disciplinary Proceedings: On February 15, 1990,
the District filed charges against Cullen pursuant to Education Law
§ 3020-a alleging: (i) that during a weekend—in violation of
previous directives—Cullen took students on an unauthorized trip in
an aircraft; and (ii) that he encouraged students to expose
themselves in one of his classes. After a hearing at which Cullen
was represented by counsel, the three-member panel found Cullen
guilty of the first charge and fined him $1,250.’ It stated: “This

*(...continued)
from the polling place. Such distance markers shall indicate the prohibition
contained herein and shall be so placed at least one-half hour before the
opening of the polls and shall remain until the polls are closed.

2. Atsuch elections . . . while the polls are open no person shall do
any electioneering within the polling place, or within one hundred feet
therefrom in any public street, or within such distance in any place in a
public manner and no banner, poster or piacard on behalf of or in
opposinon to any candidate or issue to be voted upon shall be allowed in
or upon the poiling place or within one hundred feet therefrom during the
election.

N.Y. Educ. Law § 2031-a (McKinney 1988) (emphasis added).

® These facts are largely drawn from the Stipulated Statement of Facts by
Counsel, which was adopted by the district court and is included in Appendix
B hereto. The pages of the Appendices hereto are referred to as“ a.”
The second charge was dismissed. The panel emphasized that, although students
Claumed that Cullen talked about “mooning” in his classroom, he responded
appropriately to the “mooning” incident by, inter alia, reporting it to the Dean
of Students. (93a)

'
i
5

ae
3
4
3

siesta a

5

violation of established policy, which [Cullen] well knew . . . is
serious. He did put the lives of four students at risk and subjected
the District as well as himself . . . to a tremendous liability.” (93a)
Explaining why they decided not to impose a higher fine, the panel
described Cullen as a “very fine teacher” and opined: “we believe
that he has learned his lesson from this unfortunate incident.” (94a)
Cullen did not appeal the decision on the charge or the fine.

On February 13, 1992, the District again filed Section 3020-a
charges against Cullen, alleging: ( i) that he ignited an aerosol spray
in the presence of elementary school students while he was serving
as a lunchtime supervisor; and ( ii) that such conduct amounted to
insubordination in that Cullen had received a prior directive not to
engage in such conduct. After a hearing at which Cullen was
represented by counsel, the three-member panel found Cullen guilty
of both charges and imposed a disciplinary suspension of four
months without pay.* Explaining the rationale for the penalty it
imposed, the panel observed: “Unfortunately, [the prior] fine did
not have its desired effect. . . . Aside from exercising poor
judgment in performing the experiment in the first instance,
[Cullen] reaffirmed the perception that he feels free to disregard
certain directives of the District.” (111a)

The District appealed to the Commissioner of Education. On
May 5, 1994, he ruled that the penalty recommended by the panel
was “too lenient” (124a) and instead imposed a one-year suspension
without pay (125a). The Commissioner reasoned:

[Cullen’s] conduct . . . , coupled with his prior action of
taking students on an unauthorized airplane ride, indicates a
pattern of irresponsible conduct with students.

Moreover, . . . both involve actions taken by [Cullen]
after he had been specifically directed by district supervisors
not to take such actions. The record of this appeal, therefore,
also indicates a pattern of insubordination by [Cullen]. (124a)

8 The decision on the charges (98a-109a) was dated July 21, 1992 and announced
on or about September 1, 1992 (31a-32a). The penalty determination was made
on October 26, 1992. (110a-1 16a)

6

2. The Events That Gave Rise to the Disciplinary Pro-
ceeding at Issue: On May 6, 1992, an election of candidates for the
Board of Education of the District (the “School Board”) was held
at the District High School.’ It was governed by Section 2031-a of
the Education Law, which prohibits electioneering within 100 feet
of the entrance to the polling place. (See note 5, supra.)

At about 3:30 p.m., after his workday, Cullen went to the front
steps of the High School (about 41 feet from the entrance) and
began handing out fliers protesting the election." After a member
of the District staff advised Superintendent Fliegner that Cullen was
distributing fliers on the steps of the High School, the Superin-
tendent approached Cullen. At the time, Cullen was distributing
fliers at or about the bottom of the High School steps. Super-
intendent Fliegner directed him to move from the steps, explaining
that, under the election law, he must be at least 100 feet away from
the entrance of the High School if he wanted to electioneer. (34a)
Cullen responded that the Superintendent could not tell him to do
anything after school hours and that he would not move unless
instructed by the police to do so. The Superintendent repeated his
direction and Cullen again refused. (34a) The Superintendent then
called the Tuxedo Police, requesting a unit to instruct Cullen to
move to an appropriate distance from the polling place.

During the next hour or so, Cullen was told three times that he
could not electioneer on the front steps to the High School, at the
foot of the steps or on or next to the concrete apron at the bottom
of the steps because those locations were not outside the statutorily
prescribed distance from the polling place. (34a-36a)'' When

* The election took place while the February 13, 1992 charges were pending.

‘© The flier (reprinted at 78a) charged that the election “denie[d] democratic
process” because three candidates were running for the same vacancy while two
candidates were running unopposed; it also urged a vote against the
candidates. The district court characterized the flier as “rather juvenile” (27a),
observing that m “is rather a foolish thing tw ask anyone tw [vote against
unopposed candidates} because it’s of no consequence” (25a).

' At about 3:40, while Cullen was distributing fliers on the concrete apron at the
bottom of the steps to the High School, Joseph Zanetti, Business Administrator
for the District, told Cullen that what he was doing was illegal, that he was not

(continued...)

Seed SO ere ntee IS RA teal IMS MOL 0S ARN rl aaa Me ot

ne ee ee ee

7

Police Officer John J. Kelly was dispatched to the High School, for
example, he found Cullen handing out fliers near the curb leading
to the concrete apron in front of the stairs to the High School.
Officer Kelly told Cullen that under the election law, he could not
pass out the fliers there because he was not 100 feet from the poll-
ing place. (36a) Officer Kelly atso told Cullen that if he went to the
intersection of Tornado Drive and School House Lane, he would be
well outside the 100 feet, and escorted Cullen there. (36a)"?

At about 4:30, District Clerk Nancy Bourke went to the front
entrance of the High School and saw Cullen approach an automobile
as it was parked immediately to the right of the bottom of the front
steps of the school (approximately 70 feet from the entrance to the
High School) and hand the driver one of his fliers. (37a) Ms.
Bourke then called the Tuxedo Police Department to report that
Cullen was again electioneering in front of the High School and was
advised that a Police Officer would be sent. When Officer Gannon
arrived, he spoke with Cullen inside the High School and told him
that the doorways to the High School were the entrance to the
polling place. Officer Gannon also gave Cullen a copy of New
York State Election Law § 8-104, which prohibits electioneering
within a 100-foot radius from the entrances to a polling place."

(continued)

outside the statutory distance and that he must leave the location. Cullen refused
to move. (35a) Soon after that, the Superintendent returned to the front of the
High School and, in Mr. Zanetti’s presence, directed Cullen to move to 100
feet from the front door of the High School. Cullen repeated that he would
move only if so instructed by the police. (35a) Thereafter, Mr. Zanetti
telephoned the Commissioner of Elections and confirmed that electioneering
was prohibited within 100 feet of the front door of the polling place. The
Commissioner also informed Mr. Zanetti of the provision for distance markers.
(35a) Superintendent Fliegner then inquired of the School Custodian whether
there were any distance markers but was told there were none. (36a)

2 Soon afterward, Superintendent Fliegner told the District Clerk, Nancy Bourke.
that he was leaving: that there had been some electioneering trouble with
Cullen: and that if Ms. Bourke had any problem, she was to call the police.
Both the Superintendent and the District Clerk were responsible for the conduct
of the May 6 election. (38a)

3 Section 8-104(1) of the Election Law is identical in all material respects to
Section 2031-a(2) of the Education Law. (SSa, 53a-54a) However, there is no
criminal! penalty for violation of Secuon 203 1-a(2).

8

(37a) He then escorted Cullen to the intersection of Hillside Avenue
and Tornado Drive, which both agreed was at least 100 feet from
the entrances to the High School.

Superintendent Fliegner returned to the High School at about
8:30 p.m. While he and others were in the High School library
waiting for the polls to close, one or more voters walked in holding
up copies of Cullen’s flier and said that a teacher was handing out
the fliers in front of the steps of the High School. (37a-38a) Several
Board members, the Superintendent and Ms. Bourke then went
outside (between 8:40 and 8:45 p.m.) where they again found
Cullen on the concrete apron in front of the steps of the High
School. (38a) The Superintendent and the then President of the
School Board told Cullen that he was violating the election laws and
asked him to move from the area. When Cullen did not move, they
returned to the High School to summon the police. (38a)

Around 8:50, Mr. Zanetti, returning to the High School, saw
Cullen standing on the concrete apron at the foot of the front steps
in possession of the fliers that he had been handing out. (38a) He
approached Cullen, told him that what he was doing was illegal and
d rected him to leave. Cullen was then on the same concrete apron
where he was standing at about 3:40 when Mr. Zanetti told him he
was within the prohibited zone and was even closer to the entrance
than he had been when directed by Officer Kelly to move.
Nonetheless, Cullen said that he was beyond the 100-foot radius.
Mr. Zanetti said that Cullen would “never learn.” (382)

It was stipulated below that, during the May 6 election, no
distance markers were placed at a distance of 100 feet from the
High School and no written notice of the prohibition on election
activity was posted. (38a)"* It was also stipulated that no one
physically measured the distance of 100 feet from the High School
entrance on or before May 6 or pointed out to Cullen on May 6

The District did not have distance markers and had not used them at previous
elecuons. (33a) The Handbook for School Board Members, which Super-
mtendent Fliegner consulted before the election, explains that “‘electioneering’
iS prohibited within 100 feet of the polling place in school district elections.”
School Law 1990, at 65 (New York State School Boards Association 1990). It
1s Silent, however, on the placement of distance markers. (33a)

ee ee oe

9

specifically where 100 feet from the entrance was. (38a) Nor is
there any evidence that Cullen asked either of the Police Officers
with whom he spoke on May 6 (or anyone else) to tell him
precisely where the 100 foot boundary was.

3. The Section 3020-a Proceeding: On September 3, 1992,"°
charges were preferred against Cullen based on the election day
events—for “misconduct and/or conduct unbecoming a teacher
and/or insubordination” consisting of three instances on May 6 (at
approximately 4:30, 8:30 and 8:50 p.m.) when he “engaged in
illegal electioneering in violation of Section 203 1-a of the Education
Law .. . after he knew he could not engage in electioneering within
100 feet of the entrance door to the place of the election.” (69a)"”
It was stipulated below that “[djuring each incident forming the
basis of the charges, [Cullen] was situated within 100 feet of the
front doors of the High School.” (39a)

Cullen requested a hearing and a three-member panel, chaired
by James A. Cashen, Esq.,'’ was constituted. The hearing began
on February 26, 1993, at which time the District presented its direct
case. Cullen’s counsel then stated that he had a right to seek a
preliminary injunction staying the hearing on the basis that a First

5 Section 3020-a(1) permits charges to be filed against a teacher only during the
period between the opening and closing of the school year. ‘ 38a-39a)
© The Teacher Handbook for the District sets forth standards for the conduct of
teachers and other staff. Specifically, with respect to “Public Conduct on School
Property,” it provides in pertinent part:
The Board of Education prohibits the following conduct or acts on school
property by students, teachers, staff members, licensees or invitees * * *
(9) The violation of any federal or state statute, local ordinance, or board
policy.
(10) The refusal or failure of any person to comply with a lawful order or
direction of an official of the school district in the performance of his
duties. (32a)

” Mr. Cashen is an attorney, arbitrator and mediator. He is a member of the
panels of the American Arbitration Association, the New York State Public Em-
ployment Relauions Board and the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service.
He is also designated as a panel arbitrator in a number of collective bargamuing
agreements. Courtney D. Gifford & William P. Hobgood, Directory of U.S.
Labor Arbitrators: A Guide for Finding and Using Arbitrators 48 (BNA 1985).

10

Amendment issue was involved but would—“instead”—submit the
constitutionai claim to the panel. (40a) Accordingly, he requested
that the panel decide the constitutional claim on a motion to dismiss
before completing the hearing on the merits of the charges. It was
stipulated that the entire panel would decide the motion, which
would be limited to the First Amendment question. (40a) Both
parties briefed the issue.

On April 16, 1993, Cullen’s counsel was notified by telephone
that his motion to dismiss had been denied, with the Employee
Panel Member dissenting. On April 22, 1993, the panel issued its
written decision, concluding that “charging Brian Cullen . . . for
handing out fliers near the School District polling place, in defiance
of directives . . . not to do so, did not restrict Mr. Cullen’s right
of free speech under the First Amendment.” (47a-48a)'®

The Commencement of This Action
and the District Court Decision

Dissatisfied with the ruling on his motion to dismiss, Cullen
commenced this action in the U.S. District Court for the Southern
District of New York on April 20, 1993.'? Cullen contended, as
he had before the panel, that the charges against him were brought
in bad faith and violated his right to freedom of speech under the
First Amendment. He sought an order enjoining the Section 3020-a
proceeding, as well as attorneys’ fees. The District denied any
violation of Cullen’s First Amendment rights—relying on Burson v.
Freeman, 112 S. Ct. 1846 (1992). It also urged dismissal of the

'® The panel (i) relied on this Court’s decision in Burson v. Freeman, 112 S. Ct.
1846 (1992); (ii) specifically found that the placement of distance markers is
“not a condition precedent to application of the electioneering prohibition under
Section 2031-a(2) of the Education Law”; and (iii) found that “the directives of
the District and Board officials were not intended to, and did not in fact,
prevent [Cullen] from expressing his opinion.” (48a)

'? The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked pursuant to 42 U.S.C.
§§ 1983 and 1985 and 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343.

By order to show cause, the district court stayed all proceedings of the Section
3020-a panel pending further order of the court. The stay was later extended on
consent as a temporary restraining order by order of the court, which also
consolidated the hearing on the request for preliminary injunctive relief with
trial on a permanent injunction.

11

‘
.

rote

action under the Abstention Doctrine enunciated in Younger v.
Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971).

On May 28, 1993, the district court rendered its decision from
the bench, permanently enjoining the Section 3020-a proceeding.
(21a-29a) The court stated that the District could enforce the no
electioneering prohibition in Section 2031-a “if [it] had posted the
content neutral regulation as required by the statute and made it
applicable to everybody and had someone there all day to enforce
it as to everybody.” (27a; emphasis added) In contrast, the court
found the District’s method of enforcement constitutionally
deficient, characterizing it as “not narrowly tailored or content
neutral” and “strictly ad hominfe}m.” (27a) In that regard, the
district court did not rely on evidence of selective enforcement, for
there was none. Instead, it speculated that “there may have been
other people standing within the 100 feet distance” as to whom the
statute was not enforced. (26a; emphasis added)

Ch OM EEE aa 5 ‘i

As is evident from the Court of Appeals treatment of the
abstention issue, it is not clear that the district court considered and
decided that issue. It did, however, refer to “a past history of
personal conflict with [Cullen] resulting in the making of charges
and hearings and imposition of fines” as evidence of “animus.”
(24a) The court also concluded that the pending charges were
brought “in bad faith,” relying on its view that they “clear[ly]”
could not be upheld given the absence of distance markers. (26a)

The Court of Appeals Decision

Over a cogent and pointed dissent by Judge Amalya L. Kearse,
and citing no authority other than Burson v. Freeman, 112 S. Ct.
1846 (1992), a panel majority of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit held that finding Cullen in violation of Section
2031-a(2), absent the posting of distance markers or the functional
equivalent thereof, would infringe upon his free speech rights under
; the First Amendment. The majority so held despite its acknowl-
edgment that “irrespective of where the 100 foot boundary was
located, [Cullen] was well aware that he was inside it when he
continued electioneering on the High School steps after speaking
with the Superintendent and the police.” (9a)

12

The majority’s holding was premised on an assumption that
there is a First Amendment right to electioneer at precisely 100 feet
from a polling place. It also apparently presumed that the mere
susceptibility of a statute to selective enforcement renders it consti-
tutionally defective regardless whether it was in fact selectively
enforced.” In essence, the panel majority concluded that, because
the School District failed to post distance markers at 100 feet from
the polling place, Cullen was privileged—even after he received
actual notice of the electioneering prohibition—to continue to
electioneer at locations he knew were inside the 100-foot zone.

Judge Kearse dissented, disagreeing with the view that there
was no violation of Section § 2031-a because the District did not
provide the notice required by the statute. “Though § 2031-a(1)
requires the posting of notices,” she said, “the prohibition in
§ 2031-a(2) is not conditioned on the posting of notices.” (17a) On
the First Amendment issue, Judge Kearse stated:

I think the majority is far wide of the mark in holding that
the defendants violated the plaintiff's constitutional rights by
seeking to hold him responsible for violating N.Y. Education
Law § 2031-a (McKinney 1988).

.. . I do not agree . . . that the failure of the school board
to post markers showing the plaintiff where to stand in order
to be “just” 100 feet away . . . gave him license to stand 0
feet away in the guise of lack of notice and to hold defen-
dants liable for allegedly violating his right to campaign
exactly 100 feet away. (17a-18a; citations omitted)

© The panel majority stated: “Allowing notice {of the electioneering prohibition]
to be conveyed in the manner employed by the School District would facilitate
(i) the curtailment of Appellee’s First Amendment right to express his views to
the voters as near to the polling place as the statute permits; and (ii) the selec-
tive enforcement of the prohibition on electioneering.” (9a; emphasis added)
With respect to selective enforcement, the majority acknowledged: “It may be
argued that [Cullen] himself was in a position to know if such selective enforce-
ment actually occurred, and would have offered evidence to that effect.”
(10a n.2) The majority went on, however, to quote with apparent approval the
district court’s speculation that “‘there may have been other people standing
within the 100 foot dissance and speaking with each other.’” (10a n.2;
emphasis added) Section 2031-a, however, prohibits only electioneering “in a
public manner.” (54a)

Bite
2 _ es RR

sci Nit Sat et

ARS Sr ORE eA HOE

slats ie , .
deer A aA NR Bear

13

With respect to abstention, the panel majority “assume[d] that
the district court concluded that the bad faith exception to the
Younger doctrine was applicable.” (13a)! Although
acknowledging that the exception is “‘narrow’” (13a), and
expressing uncertainty as to the findings on which the district court
justified its failure to abstain, the majority disposed of the
abstention issue in three cursory paragraphs and with no evident
consideration as to whether there was record support for the
“findings” of the court below. “Presumably,” the majority said, the
findings on which the district court based its decision were: (i) its
“apparent conclusion” that the charges were “in retaliation for the
exercise of Cullen’s right to protest the school board elections” ;
(ii) a “‘past history of personal conflict’ with Cullen”; (iii) the
District's “‘strictly ad hominem’ manner” of enforcing Section
2031-a: and (iv) the “chilling effect” imposed by the charges and
disciplinary proceeding. (13a) Describing the determination
supported by these “findings” as not “clearly erroneous,” the
majority affirmed the district court’s decision not to abstain. ( 13a)

No mention was made of Judge Kearse’s agreement with the
District’s interpretation of Section 2031-a as evidencing that the
charges were brought with a good faith belief that the statute had
been violated; nor did the majority acknowledge that the previous
disciplinary proceedings had resulted in findings of guilt. The
authority cited by the majority on the abstention issue, moreover,
was in stark contrast to the record here.”

21 Cullen submitted sub judice that all three Younger abstention factors were
present. Accordingly, the panel majority assumed that the factors were present
and confined its affirmance to the district court's (presumed) decision as to the
applicability of the “bad faith” exception. (1 1la-12a n.4)

2 E.g., Rowe v. Griffin, 676 F.2d 524 (11th Cir. 1982) (per se bad faith based
on prosecution, in violation of immunity agreement, brought 13 years after
plaintiff testified in exchange for immunity); Shaw v. Garrison, 467 F.2d 113,
117-19 (Sth Cir.) (enjoiming perjury prosecution because, imler alia,
prosecutor's pre-trial conduct showed a “total disregard of” the plainuff’s
rights, state witnesses had clearly committed perjury but were not prosecuted
and prosecutor had a financial interest in prosecution), cert. denied, 409 U.S.
1024 (1972); Lewellen v. Raff, 843 F.2d 1103 (8th Cir. 1988) (approving a
temporary injunction based inter alia on allegations of “pervasive racism and

(continued...)

14

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

During the more than two decades since Younger v. Harris, 401
U.S. 37 (197"), was decided, this Court has not approved a single
intervention by the federal courts in a pending state proceeding on
the basis of the “bad faith” exception so casually applied by the
court below. Nonetheless, apparently failing to appreciate the
significance of the principles that animate the Abstention Doctrine,
the panel majority chose to decide a question of first impression
under a New York State election law—without benefit of any New
York State court interpretation of the law—and in effect declared
that law (as well as the election laws of dozens of other states)
unconstitutional as written. On that basis, the majority approved the
enjoining of a disciplinary proceeding pursuant to the New York
State Education Law involving charges against a teacher who admit-
tedly defied repeated directives from school officials with respect to
his conduct on school property. The majority justified that
injunction by reference to a finding of “animus” based solely on
prior disciplinary charges against the teacher—charges that the
Commissioner of Education has found were warranted by the
teacher’s “pattern of irresponsible conduct with students” and “his
pattern of insubordination.” (124a)

Thus, this case is paradigmatic of the compelling considerations
that underlie the federal restraint dictated by Younger and its
progeny. The disregard by the panel majority below of important

2(_ continued)

discriminatory treatment of blacks” in court system and direct evidence that
prosecution was in retaliation for plaintiff's defense of a black minister in a
State trial), reh’g denied, 851 F.2d 1108, cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1033 (1989).
The majority also cited Lewellen v. Raff for the proposition that “the
expectations for success of the party bringing the action need not be relevant.”
(14a) It apparently overlooked a later decision in that case in which the Eighth
Circuit pointed out that the district court had found a substaritial likelihood that
the plaintiff “would establish that the prosecutor ‘had no reasonable expectation
of getting a conviction.”” 851 F.2d at 1110. In that later decision, the Eighth
Circuit cited with approval Smith v. Hightower, 693 F.2d 359, 369 (Sth Cir.
1982), which specifically held “that it is erroneous for a district court to refuse
to consider evidence as to whether the prosecutors entertained a reasonable
expectation of obtaining a conviction.” 851 F.2d at 1109.

:
3
2
i
d

15

state interests, the legitimate authority of the state courts with
respect to questions of state law and established principles of comity
and federalism demonstrates a compelling need for guidance from
this Court.

On the First Amendment question, which should not even have
been reached by the courts below, the panel majority’s decision
rests on three fundamentally erroneous premises:

o That there is a First Amendment right to electioneer at
precisely 100 feet from a polling place—a contention
implicitly rejected by this Court in Burson v. Freeman, 112
S. Ct. 1846 (1992) and expressly rejected by the Fifth
Circuit in Schirmer v. Edwards, 2 F.3d 117 (Sth Cir.
1993), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 1396 (1994),

© That the School District’s failure to delineate the precise
boundaries of the no electioneering zone constitutionally
insulated Cullen from a hearing on his refusal to cease
electioneering at locations known by him to be within the
proscribed zone—a conclusion properly rejected by the
dissent below and in conflict with the applicable decisions
of this Court; and

o That an enforcement method is constitutionally deficient
simply because it “make[s] possible” selective enforcement
(lla) even if there is no evidence of selective
enforcement—a notion at odds with this Court’s holding in
Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598, 609 (1985), and
decisions of virtually all the Circuit Courts of Appeal.

I. THE DECISION BELOW IS IN CONFLICT WITH
BURSON V. FREEMAN AND OTHER DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT, AS WELL AS THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S
DECISION IN SCHIRMER V. EDWARDS; 1T ALSO
CALLS INTO QUESTION THE CONSTITUTIONALITY
OF ELECTION LAWS IN HALF THE STATES.

A. In Burson v. Freeman, 112 S. Ct. 1846 (1992) (“Burson”),
this Court upheld Tennessee’s election-day prohibition on political
speech within 100 feet of polling places. Based on the history of
election law regulation in this country, the plurality concluded that

16

a “wide-spread and time-tested consensus demonstrates that some
restricted zone is necessary in order to serve the States’ compelling
interest in preventing voter intimidation and election fraud.” 112 S.
Ct. at 1855. It then proceeded to the question of “how large a
restricted zone is permissible or sufficiently tailored.” Jd. at 1856.

On that question, given the compelling state interest at stake, a
majority of the Court rejected the contention that the 100-foot
boundary must be shown to be empirically necessary or “perfectly
tailored” to achieve the state’s purpose. /d. at 1857.” Rather, the
test applied was whether the boundary is “‘reasonable and does not
significantly impinge on constitutionally protected rights.’” Jd.
(quoting Munro v. Socialist Workers Party, 479 U.S. 189, 195-96
(1986)). The plurality continued:

We do not think that the minor geographic limitation
prescribed by § 2-7-11(b) constitutes such a significant
impingement. Thus, we simply do not view the question
whether the 100-foot boundary line could be somewhat
tighter as a question of “constitutional dimension.” Reducing
the boundary to 25 feet, as Suggested by the Tennessee
Supreme Court is a difference only in degree, not a less
restrictive alternative in kind.

Id. (citations omitted). The plurality acknowledged that “[a]t some
measurable distance from the polls . . . government regulation of
vote solicitation could effectively-become an impermissible burden.”
Id. Declining to apply any “‘litmus-paper test,’” however, the
plurality found it “sufficient to say” that a 100-foot boundary is “on
the constitutional side of the line.” Jd.

Thus, Burson established that there is no constitutionally
protected right to political speech within a Statutory 100-foot
campaign-free zone while the polling place is open. Equally
important, Burson did not establish that there is a constitutionally
protected right to electioneer at precisely 100 feet—or at 110 feet—
from the polling place. To the contrary, issues such as the outer

% Justice Scalia, concurring in the judgment, found the statute constitutional as a
“reasonable, viewpoint-neutral regulation of a nonpublic forum.” Jd. at 1859.

7
+
x
5
j

;
;

17

limit of the campaign-free zone and how the distance limitations are
enforced are simply not questions of “constitutional dimension”
(id.), provided that they are reasonable and do not significantly
impinge on constitutionally protected rights (id.). Plainly, given the
reasoning in Burson, it cannot be inferred that a statutory campaign-
free zone suddenly poses an issue of constitutional dimension, or
suddenly becomes a significant impingement on First Amendment
rights, at 105 feet or even at 125 feet, from the polling place.
Indeed, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit recently
upheld the constitutionality of a Louisiana statute that proscribes
campaign activity within a 600-foot radius of polling places.
Schirmer v. Edwards, 2 F.3d 117 (Sth Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 114
S. Ct. 1396 (1994).”

Thus, even assuming arguendo that the absence of distance
markers “effectively prevented” Cullen from standing “just 100 feet
from the polling place” (9a), that is not a matter of constitutional
dimension. It may have been error for the District not to place the
distance markers required by Section 2031-a(1) of the Educa.ion
Law. Such an error, however, no more gives rise to a constitutional
issue than would the mistaken placement of distance markers at a
point 105 feet rather than 100 feet from the polling place. To
paraphrase the Court in Poulos v. New Hampshire, 345 U.S. 395,
409 (1953), “[i]t would be unreal to say that such [a failure by the
District] to act in accordance with state law, redressable by state
judicial procedures, are state acts violative of the Federal
Constitution.”

B. The panel majority concluded that the School District's
method of enforcing Section 2031l-a did not provide “adequate
notice” of “the parameters of the campaign free zone.” (9a, 8a)
Whatever the merit of that conclusion in the abstract, it is irrelevant
here given the unanimous finding of the court below that Cullen

* The Fifth Circuit emphasized the reasoning of the Burson plurality that the
precise size of the campaign free zone is not a matter of “constitutional
dimension” and that “‘{rjeducing the boundary . . . is a difference only m
degree, not a less restrictive alternative in kind.’” 2 F.3d at 122 (quoting
Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 1857). On that basis, it concluded that the 600-foot
limitation was permitted by Burson.

18

was “well aware” that he was inside the proscribed zone when he
continued to electioneer after being directed by the Superintendent
and the police to cease doing so. (9a, 18a) Thus, the adequacy of
the notice that Cullen received must be assessed in light of the
conduct with which he was charged. As Judge Kearse stated in
dissent, “the failure of the school board to post markers showing
[Cullen] where to stand in order to be ‘just’ 100 feet away . . . [did
not give] him license to stand 0 feet away in the guise of lack of
notice and to hold defendants liable for allegedly violating his right
to campaign exactly 100 feet away.” (18a)

Judge Kearse’s dissent is supported by this Court’s decision in
Bethel Sch. Dist. No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675 (1986), where
a student was suspended based on the content of a speech he
delivered to a school assembly. The School Handbook contained a
disciplinary rule forbidding “the use of obscene, profane language
or gestures.” /d. at 678. In addition, before he delivered the
speech, two teachers advised the student that the speech was
“inappropriate” and that delivering it might have “severe
consequences.” /d. The student challenged his suspension on due
process grounds, arguing that he did not receive adequate notice
that the speech would subject him to discipline. Rejecting that
argument, this Court stated: “The school disciplinary rule
proscribing ‘obscene’ language and the prespeech admonitions of
teachers gave adequate warning to Fraser that his lewd speech could
subject him to sanctions.” Jd. at 686 (emphasis added).

In other circumstances as well, where a statute is challenged as
void for vagueness, this Court has refused to accept hypothetical
lack of notice arguments urged by persons whose conduct was
Squarely within the proscribed zone. As stated in Parker v. Levy,
417 U.S. 733, 756 (1974):

None of [the distinctions we have drawn with respect to the
required degree of precision in. drafting] suggests that one
who has received fair warning of the criminality of his own
conduct from the statute in question is nonetheless entitled to
attack it because the language would not give similar fair
warning with respect to other conduct which might be within
its broad and literal ambit. One to whose conduct a statute

eg aie Re ee Ome ho et ae

3
%
;
:
4

eR eee ee ee

eres

SPSS

19

clearly applies may not successfully challenge it for
vagueness.

See also Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 608 (1973) (“even
if the outermost boundaries of [the statute] may be imprecise, any
such uncertainty has little relevance here, where appellants’ conduct
falls squarely within the ‘hard core’ of the statute’s proscriptions”);
Young v. American Mini Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S. 50, 59 (1976)
(rejecting vagueness challenge because “any element of vagueness
in [the] ordinances has not affected these respondents”).

C. A passive enforcement policy is not unconstitutional merely
because it “make[s] possible” (11a) selective enforcement.” In
Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598 (1985), for example, this
Court rejected a constitutional challenge to a policy of passive
enforcement under which the Selective Service System investigated
and prosecuted only persons who reported themselves, or were
reported by others, as having violated the law requiring registration
with the Selective Service. It was contended that this policy
discriminated against “vocal” opponents of the registration
program. Applying equal protection standards, the Court held that
the party alleging selective enforcement was required “to show both
that the passive enforcement system had a discriminatory effect and
that it was motivated by a discriminatory purpose.” Jd. at 608.

5 ‘the panel majority seems to have treated this case as if it involved a facial
challenge to a statute under the void-for-vagueness doctrine. Thus, rather than
finding selective enforcement (of which there was no evidence), the panel
majority spoke of the enforcement method used by the District as
“facilitat{ing]” and “mak{ing] possible . . . selective enforcement.” (9a, 11a)
Whatever the scope and complexity of the doctrine that governs facial
challenges to state laws (e.g., Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing Co., 486
U.S. 750 (1988)), it is clear that this case does not involve a facial challenge
to Section 2031-a of the Education Law. Beyond question, the gravamen of the
Complaint is a challenge to the District’s application of the no electioneering
law to Cullen. (57a-68a) Moreover, this case does not—and could not—involve
any contention that, in Section 2031-a(2) of the Education Law, the New York
legislature failed to provide adequate standards for those who apply it or vested
unfettered discretion in election officials to determine whether the no
electioneering law has been violated. By its terms, Section 203 1-a(2) establishes
clear guidelines as to the parameters of the no electioneering zone as well as the
public conduct that is not permitted within that zone.

20

Equally significant, under the enforcement policy at issue in
Wayte, nonregistrants were told of their obligations under the law,
given a grace period to comply and told that, if they refused, they
would face possible prosecution. In concluding that vocal
nonregistrants were not subjected to any special burden, the Court
stated in words particularly apt here: “Indeed, those prosecuted in
effect selected themselves for prosecution by refusing to register
after being reported and warned by the Government.” Jd. at 610.
Here too, Cullen in effect selected himself for discipline when he
deliberately refused—after warnings—to cease electioneering at
locations he knew to be within the statutorily proscribed zone.

In any event, in order to make a prima facie showing of
Selective enforcement, the plaintiff is required to demonstrate (i)
that others similarly situated have generally not been prosecuted
because of conduct that forms the basis for the charges against him,
and (ii) that the government's discriminatory selection of him for
prosecution was based upon an impermissible ground.* Here,
there was no showing whatsoever of other “similarly situated”
persons (i.e., others electioneering within the 100-foot zone), let
alone of similarly situated persons against whom the electioneering
law was not enforced.

D. The implications of this case go far beyond the New York
electioneering law and the Section 3020-a proceeding enjoined
below. Election laws in as many as 26 states—like Section 2031-
a(2) of the Education Law—esiablish a geographic zone around
polling places in which campaigning is not permitted on election
day, but do not require that the boundaries of the zone be defined

*° See Rybachek v. United States, No. 91-33160, 1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 26404,
at *12 n.S (9th Cir. Sept. 29, 1993) (“Unless similarly-situated nonvocal
violators were not prosecuted, there has not been selective prosecution.”); see
also United States v. Berrios, 501 F.2d 1207, 1211 (2d Cir. 1974); United
States v. Schoolcraft, 879 F.2d 64, 68 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 995
(1989); United States v. Johnson, 577 F.2d 1304, 1308 (Sth Cir. 1978); United
States v. Hazel, 696 F.2d 473, 474-75 (6th Cir. 1983); United States v. Catlett,
584 F.2d 864, 866 (8th Cir. 1978); United States v. Scott, 521 F.2d 1188, 1195
(9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 955 (1976); C.E. Carlson, Inc. v.
Securities Exch. Comm’n, 859 F.2d 1429, 1437 (10th Cir. 1988): United States
v. Mangieri, 694 F.2d 1270, 1273 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

a

A aa enliven.

ee ee ae ee Nas Ao

OE BOM ae P-L S bbe aly Wek, BL I, et a Be

+ ~~

21

by distance markers or signs.” All these states appear to contem-
plate enforcement of their campaign-free zones by (i) actual notice
to the person engaged in electioneering within the zone and (ii) en-
forcement by the police of a request to leave the zone in the face of
a refusal to do so. The panel majority nonetheless concluded that
enforcing a no electioneering statute in this manner, “[a]bsent the
posting of distance markers, or the functional equivalent thereof”
(8a), would infringe upon the First Amendment right to electioneer
at the statutorily permitted distance from the polling place (11a).

Thus, the decision below calls into question the constitutionality
of election laws in fully half the states. If allowed to stand without
review by this Court, it will at the very least engender widespread
uncertainty regarding the enforceability of those laws—and perhaps
encourage disruption at polling places throughout those states,
thereby jeopardizing the very integrity and reliability of elections
that the laws are intended to protect.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW IS SO FUNDAMENTALLY AT
ODDS WITH THE TEACHINGS OF THIS COURT IN
YOUNGER V. HARRIS AND ITS PROGENY THAT
SUMMARY REVERSAL IS WARRANTED.

A. In Younger, this Court held, based on long-standing
principles of comity and federalism, that federal courts should

7 Ark. Code Ann. § 7-1-103 (Michie 1993); Cal. Elec. Code § 29470 (West
1989); Del. Code Ann. tit. 15, § 4942 (1993); Ill. Comp. Stat. ch. 10, para.
5/4-7 (Smith-Hurd 1993); Ind. Code Ann. § 3-14-3-16 (Burns 1993); lowa
Code Ann. § 49.107 (West 1991 & Supp. 1994); Kansas Stat. Ann. § 25-2430
(1993); Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 117.235 (Baldwin 1982); La. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 18:1462 (West 1979 & Supp. 1994); Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §§ 168.744,
168.931 (West 1989); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 211B.11 (West 1992 & Supp. 1994);
Miss. Code Ann. § 23-15-895 (1993); Mo. Ann. Stat. 8-A §§ 115.635, 115.637
(Vernon 1980 & Supp. 1994); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 32-1221 (1988); N.J. Stat.
Ann. §§ 18A:14-46, 18A:14-72, 18A:14-73, 18A:14-81, 19:34-6, 19:34-7,
19:34-15 (West 1989); N.M. Stat. Ann. §§ 20-1-20-16, 3-8-77 (Michie 1991);
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 163-147 (1993); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 26, §§ 7-108, 16-111
(West 1991); Or. Rev. Stat. § 260.695 (1993); S.C. Code Ann. § 7-25-180
(Law. Co-op. 1991); S.D. Codified Laws § 12-18-3 (1982); Utah Code Ann.
§ 20A-3-501 (Supp. 1993); Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 29.51.020 (West 1993);
W. Va. Code Ann. § 3-3-2a (1994); Wisc. Stat. Ann. §§ 12.03, 7.37 (West
1986 & Supp. 1993); and Wyo. Stat. § 22-26-113 (1992).

22

refrain from enjoining state criminal proceedings. This Abstention
Doctrine has been extended to quasi-criminal proceedings and to
civil proceedings of the type involved here that implicate important
state interests.” One source of the Abstention Doctrine

is the basic doctrine of equity jurisprudence that courts of
equity should not act, and particularly should not act to re-
strain a criminal prosecution, when the moving party has an
adequate remedy at law and will not suffer irreparable injury
if denied equitable relief. . . . [AJn even more vital consider-
ation [is] the notion of “comity,” that is, a proper respect for
state functions, a recognition of the fact that the entire
country is made up of a Union of separate state governments,
and a continuance of the belief that the National Government
will fare best if the States and their institutions are left free
to perform their separate functions in their separate ways.

401 U.S. at 43-44 (emphasis added). A third important reason for
Younger abstention is to avoid unwarranted determination of federal
constitutional questions. Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415, 429-30
(1979); Trainor v. Hernandez, 431 U.S. 434, 445 (1977).

Younger itself recognized that there are exceptions to the
Abstention Doctrine, but emphasized that they are “extremely lim-
ited.” 401 U.S. at 56 (Stewart, J. concurring) “[E]ven irreparable
injury,” the Court said, “is insufficient unless it is ‘both great and
immediate.’” Jd. at 46. Among the circumstances that this Court
has identified as not sufficient, in and of themselves, to warrant the
enjoining of a state proceeding are: (i) “the cost, anxiety, and
inconvenience of having to defend against a single criminal

** Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n v. Dayton Christian Sch., Inc., 477 U.S. 619 (1986);
Middlesex County Ethics Comm. v. Garden State Bar Ass'n, 457 U.S. 423
(1982). The proceeding at issue here was unquestionably an ongoing state
proceeding, judicial in nature (see, e.g., Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n v. Dayton
Christian Sch., Inc., 477 U.S. 619); it implicates educational interests that are
“precisely the sort of [state] interest which notions of comity and federalism
.. . command the federal courts to respect” (Williams v. Red Bank Bd. of
Educ., 662 F.2d 1008, 1017 (3d Cir. 1981)); and if dissatisfied with the ulti-
mate decision of the panel, Cullen had an adequate opportunity for judicial re-
view of his constitutional claim (N.Y. Educ. Law § 3020-a(5) (McKinney
1981)).

23

prosecution” (Younger, 401 U.S. at 46): (ii) “the existence of a
‘chilling effect,’ even in the area of First Amendment rights” (id.
at 51); and (iii) the “facial invalidity of a statute” (Huffman v.
Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 593, 602 (1975)).

The Abstention Doctrine permits intervention in ongoing state
proceedings only in exceptional situations “where the District Court
properly finds that the state proceeding is motivated by a desire to
harass or is conducted in bad faith, or where the challenged statute
is ‘“flagrantly and patently violative of express constitutional
prohibitions in every clause, sentence and paragraph, and in
whatever manner and against whomever an effort might be made to
apply it.”’” Huffman, 420 U.S. at 611 (citations omitted).
“(P]rosecutorial bad faith . . . in this context generally means that
a prosecution has been brought without a reasonable expectation of
obtaining a valid conviction.” Kugler v. Helfant, 421 U.S. 117, 126
n.6 (1975): see also Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82, 85 (1971).”
Similarly, multiple prosecutions, brought without regard to their
outcome, may constitute irreparable harm within the meaning of the
Younger doctrine because, in such circumstances, “the threat to the
plaintiff's federally protected rights . . . cannot be eliminated by his
defense against a single criminal prosecution.” Younger, 401 U.S.
at 46.”

*” E.g., Nobby Lobby, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 970 F.2d 82, 88 (Sth Cir. 1992)
(approving refusal to abstain where multiple seizures of equipment were made
after appellate court had held such seizures invalid); Westin v. McDaniel, 760
F. Supp. 1563, 1573-74 (M.D. Ga. 1991) (enjoining indictment where state had
“no hope” of proving charges), aff'd without op., 949 F.2d 1163 (11th Cir.
1991): McGuire v. Roebuck, 347 F. Supp. 1111 (E.D. Tex. 1972) (accord).

Eg, Literature, Inc. v. Quinn, 482 F.2d 372 (ist Cir. 1973) (seven arrests in
eighteen months and a series of warrantless seizures); Krahm v. Graham, 461
F.2d 703 (9th Cir. 1972) (over 100 charges of violation of anti-obscenity law
im two years and none of eleven cases that had gone to trial resulted in
convictions): Video Store, Inc. v. Holcomb, 729 F. Supp. 579 (S.D. Ohio 1990)
(plaintiffs had successfully defended five criminal prosecutions and twelve more
were pending). In determining whether a state proceeding was brought in bad
faith, some lower courts have considered, inter alia, evidence of selective
prosecution. See, ¢.g., Show-World Ctr., Inc. v. Walsh, 438 F. Supp. 642
(S.D.N.Y. 1977) (granting a motion to preiiminarily enjoin a vacate order
allegedly issued on health and safety grounds where none of the other tenants,

(contunued... )

24

A plaintiff asserting bad faith prosecution as an exception to the
Younger doctrine must allege specific facts to support an inference
of bad faith. “The Younger rule, as applied in Hicks [v. Miranda,
422 U.S. 332 (1975)], requires more than a mere allegation and
more than a ‘conclusory’ finding to bring a case within the
harassment exception.” Grandco Corp. v. Rochford, 536 F.2d 197,
203 (7th Cir. 1976).

B. The “findings” on which the district court based its
conclusion that the disciplinary charges against Cullen were brought
“in bad faith” were few, vague and conclusory. Indeed, the panel
majority found it necessary to engage in surmise as to the basis for
the district court’s determination. “Presumably” (13a), the majority
said, it was based on:

© The district court’s “apparent conclusion that ... the
charges . . . were brought in retaliation for the exercise of
[Cullen’s] right tc protest the school board elections” ;

© A “‘past history of personal conflict’ with Cullen” and a
“desire ‘to do something about’ him [that] rose to the ‘level
of animus’”—particularly the “‘charges and hearings and
impositions of fines’ that preceded the School District’s
attempt to enforce § 2031-a against Cullen”;

o The “‘strictly ad hominem’ manner” of enf-. cing Section
2031-a of the Education Law; and

© The “chilling effect” imposed on Cullen’s First Amendment
rights by the charges and the disciplinary proceeding. (13a;
emphasis added)

The first three of these “findings,” which superficially track
circumstances recognized by some lower courts as constituting bad
faith, do not withstand even minimal scrutiny. The fourth was
expressly rejected by Younger as legally insufficient to warrant a
refusal by the federal courts to abstain.

*(.. continued)
who were not engaged in sexually oriented businesses, were forced to vacate);
but see Palmarozza v. Platt, No. 86-0127, 1986 WL 2438 (E.D. Pa. Feb. 19,
1986) (selective prosecution is not an adequate reason to invoke exception to
Younger doctrine).

25

The district court’s finding that the charges were retaliatory was
predicated solely on its view that there could be no violation of
Section 2031-a in the absence of distance markers.’ In other
words, the district court concluded that the charges could not be
sustained and, on that basis alone, inferred retaliatory motive. The
question for the district court, however, “was not the guilt or
innocence of the person charged; the question was whether the
statute was enforced against [him] with no expectation of
convictions but only to discourage exercise of protected rights.”
Cameron v. Johnson, 390 U.S. 611, 621 (1968).

Here, there is no basis from which it can properly be inferred
that the District had no expectation that the charges would be
sustained. There was (and is) no New York State court decision
holding that the distance markers are a condition precedent to
enforcement of Section 2031-a(2).” A majority of the Section
3020-a panel concluded that the placement of distance markers “was
not a condition precedent to application of the electioneering
prohibition.” (48a) And, if there were any doubt as to the
reasonableness of that view, it should have been eliminated when
Judge Kearse reached the same conclusion. (17a) Thus, to the
extent that the courts below based their determination of bad faith
on a conclusion that the electioneering law had not been violated,
they committed plain error.

The second “finding” relied on by the courts below— “animus”
evidenced by the prior “charges and hearings and imposition of
fines” —is a virtual parody of settled law. Multiple prosecutions,

The district court explicitly so stated: “the Court is convinced that no
disciplinary charges would have been brought except for the content of the
pamphlet, since it’s clear without a posting there was no violation.” (26a;
emphasis added) See also 26a (“the Court finds the disciplinary charges were
brought in bad faith . . . since [Cullen] could not be found to have violated the
law because there were no markers there”) (emphasis added).

As Judge Kearse pointed out, when the New York State Legislature intended
to establish the posting of markers as a condition of enforcing a no
electioneering prohibition, it knew how to do so. (17a) See N.Y. Educ. Law
§ 2609(4-a)(b) (McKinney 1981) (“ Where such markers are so placed and the
polls are open, no person shall do any electioneering within the polling place,
or within one hundred feet therefrom . . . .”) (emphasis added).

32

26

brought without hope of success, may justify a federal court’s
intervention in state proceedings. Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S.
479 (1965); see also note 30, supra. In such circumstances, “the
threat to the plaintiff's federally protected rights [is] one that cannot
be eliminated by his defense against a single criminal prosecution.”
Younger, 401 U.S. at 46. This concern, however, assumes that the
multiple prosecutions are brought without reasonable possibility of
success. Here, in contrast, three of the four previous “charges”
referred to by the district court were unanimously upheld by three-
member panels constituted pursuant to the Education Law and were
not even appealed by Cullen. (See pp. 4-5, supra.) The penalties
previously imposed on Cullen, moreover, were imposed by three-
member panels and by the New York State Commissioner of
Education (not by the District). Absent impeachment of those im-
partial decision-makers (and there was none), there is no basis for
any inference that the charges they sustained were brought for other
than entirely legitimate reasons.**

Indeed, a bad faith claim was rejected by this Court in Hicks v.
Miranda, based on a similar rationale. There, a three-judge court
had allowed film distributors to bring a federal action challenging
California’s obscenity statute while criminal proceedings were
pending against them, based on evidence of muiiiple seizures of
copies of the film at issue as well as cash receipts from its showing.
Characterizing the findings of bad faith and harassment as “vague”
and “conclusory,” the Court emphasized that each of the seizures
had been pursuant to a valid warrant. Accordingly, the Court
concluded, “[aJbsent at least some effort by the District Court to
impeach the entitlement of the prosecuting officials to rely on
repeated judicial authorization for their conduct, we cannot agree
that bad faith and harassment were made out.” 422 U.S. at 351.¥

* It also bears emphasis that Section 3020-a panels do not have access to a
teacher's prior disciplinary record unless and until there has been a finding of
guilt on the current charges. (See 70a, 99a.) e

* See also Collins v. County of Kendall, 807 F.2d 95, 99 (7th Cir. 1986)
(“[{ijnstituting approximately thirty criminal prosecutions over a two-year period
does not constitute bad faith or harassment in or of itself”), cert. denied, 483
U.S. 1005 (1987); United Books, Inc. v. Conte, 739 F.2d 30 (1st Cir. 1984)

(continued...)

27

The “finding” of selective (or “ad hominem”) enforcement is
equally flawed. The burden of showing selective enforcement rests
on the party alleging that a statute has been selectively enforced.
(See pp. 19-20, supra.) The courts below, however, improperly
attempted to shift that burden by in effect requiring the School
District to prove the absence of selective enforcement. A similar
attempt was rejected by this Court in. Cameron v. Johnson, 390
U.S. 611 (1968), where the federal plaintiffs had been arrested for
picketing that obstructed ingress and egress from the courthouse in
violation of an anti-picketing statute. Rejecting an argument that
selective enforcement was shown by evidence of parades in the
vicinity of the courthouse, the Court emphasized that “[t]here was
no evidence of conduct . . . which would have brought the statute
into play, let alone evidence that the authorities allowed such
conduct without enforcing the statute.” /d. at 622. Here, too, there
is no evidence that anyone other than Cullen was electioneering
within 100 feet of the High School, let alone that the Schoo! District
permitted such conduct without enforcing Section 2031-a of the
Education Law. As Judge Kearse stated in dissent, “the majority’s
hypothesis of possible selective enforcement of the prohibition
against electioneering within 100 feet of the High School [is] a
matter that is purely speculative.” (17a)*°

In the final analysis then, the determination that this case falls
within the bad faith exception to the Younger doctrine rests exclus-
ively on the “finding” that the disciplinary charges and the Section
3020-a proceeding “‘imposed a chilling effect’ on [Cullen’s] First
Amendment rights.” (13a) Such a finding, however, cannot support
a determination of bad faith, for “the existence of a ‘chilling effect.’

*(__ continued)
(multiple prosecutions Go not support an inference of harassment where they
generally result in convictions); Grandco, 536 F2d at 204 (“Continued
prosecutions under the ordinance for repeated violations indicates only good
faith enforcement of a judicially approved provision against judicially
disapproved conduct.”).

See also Pincham vy. Illinois Judicial Inquiry Bd., 872 F.2d 1341, 1350 (7th
Cir. 1989) (refusing to find “bad faith” absent allegations that state agencies
were aware of the activities of others similarly situated and treated them more
favorably than the plaintiff as part of a campaign that used prosecutions,
regardless of outcome. to suppress speech).

28

even in the area of First Amendment rights, has never been
considered a sufficient basis, in and of itself, for prohibiting state
action.” Younger, 401 U.S. at 51. As the Seventh Circuit stated in
Pincham, 872 F.2d at 1350, “[bJecause [appellant] alleges nothing
more than that a single state judicial disciplinary proceeding has had
a ‘chilling effect’ on his free speech rights, he has failed to establish
that ‘extraordinarily pressing need for immediate equitable relief
required before coming within the purview of this exception to the
Younger doctrine. ”*

In a sense, every enforcement proceeding seeks to deter or
“chill” the conduct that is the basis of the charge. If bad faith could
be found every time a statute under which an enforcement pro-
ceeding was brought is found unconstitutional, as the Court stated
in Hicks, 422 U.S. at 352, “the rule of Younger v. Harris would be
swallowed up by its exception.” Under the Younger Abstention
Doctrine, there is no access to the federal courts to enjoin a state
enforcement action that is believed in good faith to be valid simply
because the action may be (or is) ultimately found unconstitutional.

Finally, the courts below ignored that the Abstention Doctrine
acknowledges that “federal courts should avoid the unnecessary
resolution of federal constitutional issues and that State courts
provide the authoritative adjudication of questions of state law.”
Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491, 508 ( 1985)
(O’Connor, J. concurring). Here, federal adjudication of Cullen’s
claim entailed “unwarranted determination of federal constitutional
questions” (Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1, 11 (1987))
because the Section 3020-a panel, the New York State Commission-
er of Education, or the New York State Courts may have resolved
this case (and still may) on state Statutory or constitutional grounds.
Thus, the New York State courts were denied the opportunity to

* See also, e.g., United Books, 739 F.2d at 33 (assertion that state prosecution
has had a “chilling effect” on First Amendment rights is insufncient to bring
case within bad faith exception to Younger doctrine); Williams, 662 F2d at
1022 n.14 (claim that state proceeding was brought “in retaliation for exercise
of First Amendment rights” is insufficient to satisfy standards for exception to
the Younger doctrine); Suggs v. Brannon, 804 F.2d 274, 278 (441 Cir. 1986)
(complaint th vad faith enforcement of obscenity laws had a “chulling effect”
on first amendment rights was insufficient to invoke exception to Younger).

29

address their own state law in an area of great interest to the state—
state election practices and tenure disputes—and in a way that might
have obviated the need for further consideration of Cullen’s
constitutional claim.

C. If the decision below is allowed to stand without review by
this Court, it will have serious consequences for school districts
throughout the states encompassed by the Second Circuit, and
perhaps beyond, in an area of profound significance to the states—
namely, the ability to maintain a qualified body of teachers willing
and able to meet acceptable standards of conduct.” As this Court
has stated, “education is perhaps the most important function of
state and local governments.” Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S.
483, 493 (1954): Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 213 (1972)
It is equally clear that “a professional and competent body of
teachers capable of meeting high standards of conduct” is
“le]ssential to the performance of this critically important function.”
Williams, 662 F.2d at 1017." A federal court injunction ordering
school district officials to cease zction on disciplinary charges
against a tenured teacher “cannot have other than a disruptive

impact on the state’s ability to ensure a competent and qualified
body of teachers.” /d. at 1018 n.10.

If review is not granted, the decision below will stand as an
invitation to teachers faced with disciplinary charges to seek the
intervention of the federal courts whenever the conduct that is the
subject of the charges is even arguably protected by the First
Amendment under some constitutional theory, no matter how novel
or unfounded. Under the decision below, the federal court would be
justified in deciding the alleged constitutional question based on
nothing more than the so-called “chilling effect” imposed by the

Indeed, the potential disruptive impact of the decision below is not limited to
school districts but extends as well to all public employers that provide for the:r
employees pre-discipline due process proceedings simular to those afforded bv
Section 3020-a of the New York State Education Law.

“Consciously or otherwise, teachers . . . demonstrate the appropriate form of
civil discourse and political expression by their conduct and deportment in aad
out of class. Inescapably, like parents, they are role models.” Bethel Sch. Dist.
No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675, 683 (1986); Ambach v. Normck, 441 U.S.
68, 78-79 (1979).

30

charges and the disciplinary proceedings themselves—an effect that
will inevitably be present because the very purpose of disciplinary
charges is of course to deter or “chill” the conduct on which it is
based.

Ironically, moreover, given the reasoning of the panel majority,
intervention by the federal courts would more readily be available
to teachers against whom previous disciplinary charges had been
brought—even if the charges had been sustained by impartial
decision-makers such as a Section 3020-a panel or the
Commissioner of Education. In the parlance of the district court,
approved by the panel majority, such charges—no matter how
meritorious—could provide the basis for an inference of “animus.”
(24a, 13a) Thus, as was the case here, teachers who have engaged
in “a pattern of irresponsible conduct with students” or “a pattern
of insubordination” (124a) could rely on their own past misconduct
to justify an exception to the Abstention Doctrine.

CONCLUSION

Whatever the precise contours of the “bad faith” exception to
the Abstention Doctrine, this case clearly does not fall within them.
We therefore urge that the decision below be summarily reversed
in light of Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), and its progeny.
In the alternative, because the questions presented are important,
substantial and likely recurring, we urge that this petition for a writ
of certiorari be granted and that the case be set for plenary review.

Respectfully submitted,

CAROLE O’BLENES
Attorney for Petitioner
SAUL G. KRAMER
STEPHANIE L. QRATZ
Of Counsel

May 27, 1994

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1634%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
