# Opposition Brief — Brink's Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1521%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 904

## Text

()

No. 04-589

In the Supreme Court of the Guited States

THE BRINK’S COMPANY, FKA THE PITTSTON COMPANY,
ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Acting Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

PETER D. KEISLER
Assistant Attorney General

MARK B. STERN

JONATHAN H. LEVY
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of
1992, Pub. L. No. 102-486, Tit. XTX, Subtit. C, §§ 19141-
19143, 106 Stat. 3036-3056 (26 U.S.C. 9701 et seq.) (Coal
Act), requires petitioners to make payments into a statu-
torily-created fund. That fund provides health benefits
for retired coal miners and their dependents, including
specified miners assigned to petitioners by the Commis-
sioner of Social Security. The questions presented for
review are as follows:

1. Whether the Coal Act unconstitutionally vests
governmental authority in the private persons who
administer the fund that Congress created to receive
Coal Act payments.

2. Whether this Court’s decision in Kastern Enter-
prises v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498, 511 (1998), which held the
Coal Act to be unconstitutional as applied to certain coal
operators other than petitioners, effectively requires
that the Act be invalidated in its entirety.

3. Whether the Coal Act permits the assignment to
petitioners of liability for retired miners whose original
assignments to other coal operators were voided as
unconstitutional following Kastern Enterprises.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
IEE ee a ee ore
SE Ee 1
EE ES 2
EES ty a 8
aE a ee 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
A.T. Massey Coal Co. v. Massanari, 305 F.3d 226
(4th Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 538 U.S. 1012 (2003) .. 10
Alaska Airlines, Inc. v. Brock, 480 U.S. 678

Ese eee kuhed uuln mhpb ids abo0 00005) 6 en crbs 15
Barnhart v. Peabody Coal Co., 537 U.S. 149

Ee ES es ay nine £0 540% obedhies 6 > knw xe 6, 15, 18
Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co., 534 U.S. 438

TUR RUASURGUNS ay Pues onsuneabanseadsanaccness 15

Bay Area Laundry & Dry Cleaning Pension Trust
Fund v. Ferbar Corp., 522 U.S. 192 (1997) .... 11,12

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S.1(1976) ............ 12, 13
Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 U.S. 238 (1936) ....... 9
Eastern Enters. v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498 (1998) ........ 2
Heckler v. Community Health Servs., 467 U.S. 51

ERR T Uh mahaydavGaus tik Fecknda kadwanvonas 12

Holland v. Big River Minerals Corv., 181 F.3d
597 (4th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1117

Se ned ESL Tau ois ben beantunvdudene succes 2
Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indi-

OIA ROM CRMOED oc cnccccscncsccdenccsecen 14
Shalala v. Guernsey Mem’l Hosp., 514 U.S. 87

bee ASE OR tne ean ne ae aD 12

United States v. La Franca, 282 U.S. 568 (1931) ....10

(IIT)

IV

Case—Continued: Page
Vermont Agency for Natural Res. v. United
States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000) ......... 11

Constitution and statutes:

Sree RCC Sn ce cueucdvinedossaauneekeani 17

Sr I OD Cc vchnaadcadewesabaeaacucs 35

Just Compensation Clause ................ceeeee: 5

Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of
1992, Pub. L. No. 102-486, Tit. XIX , Subtit. C,
§§ 19141-19143, 106 Stat. 3036-3056 (26 U.S.C.
9701 et seq.):

RMA OEY 8605 bude dbcdus sd secdineens 17
ea ED dwn 3 4045540500 54 nk en eeeees 3
BPA PUREE aed ap enededsnaewaainesans 17
26 U.S.C. 9701 note (§ 19142, 106 Stat. 3037) ..... 2
AiR eS | Serer Tyrer ere er ere 2
Be Mla WUD 6 neds dknewsnekscivecnauns 2,7
ee eA PEE hi kbedba saad dadsnwneeen 3,17
ee UD -hasn sacks Wissvacneudabanas 3
PP A OPED 60.68.0055 s5Kd8a esa deeadeees 10
ED hoki ddcbuncwawscdadwanxaunenes 4
Ee EPPO CTTTUT OCCULT CUTER TTC OT TCT CT 4
OU EIAL, DOD 6a cvedcccenesangass 3, 4, 9, 16, 18
BO UTA; FEED. hsbc ccscccasaseses 5, 18, 20
ee UN ED dwubesdidesves Kasakaausaws 19
EAE PUD os 6G 0kS kneaded cccbakanbun 19
ee ER ED 55k nae decaduseecsazwisnnees 4
A SUMED Rabb iced nc keane benannanenes 4,10
Be OE kd see Aden neenneauukanenens 4
ER OEE BAS ape hcewncxenkidebadannones 4,13
UMMM OEE Kiwdeaeedbndaeccdsiaccuranasens 12

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
29 U.S.C. 1001 et seq.:

DAE ie RED 44 daKaks hed ssa eedcataensaxavin 3

Statutes—Continued: Page
£9 U.S.C. 1002(87) (§ B(87)) on. ccc ccc ccccnncce 3
Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.
i EES Ee ER EY CAO Pye ALA Ll 2
Se RE -ks 05k bade eae 11
BP Wa 4. thc ieee cae ae ee 13
BEE ME kb cee ee 20
SP ath RED “eeixedeskink cise 13
Miscellaneous:
138 Cong. Rec. (1992):
i eee EET Ce ee Meer ra npr te nu 15, 18
ee Oe rr Tee tk 15

Nonna A. Noto, Congressional Research
Service, Coal Industry: Use of Abandoned
Mine Reclamation Fund Monies for UMWA
“Orphan Retiree” Health Benefits (Sept. 10,
SUOUD 50006543.s d0bncckwa eee Lee 15

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 04-589

THE BRINK’S COMPANY, FKA THE PITTSTON COMPANY,
ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-41a)
is reported at 368 F.3d 385. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 42a-65a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 18, 2004. A petition for rehearing was denied on
August 5, 2004 (Pet. App. 66a-7la). The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on November 2, 2004. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Congress enacted the Coal Industry Retiree
Health Benefit Act of 1992, Pub. L. No. 102-486, Tit.
XIX, Subtit. C, §§ 19141-19143, 106 Stat. 3036-3056 (26
U.S.C. 9701 et seq.) (Coal Act), “to provide coal industry
retirees with the lifetime benefits they had been prom-
ised.” Holland v. Big River Minerals Corp., 181 F.3d
597, 604 (4th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1117
(2000). The Coal Act represents Congress’s response to
the inadequate funding of health-care benefits promised
by coal operators over a period of decades, and to the
efforts of many such operators to avoid their benefits
obligations by switching to non-union labor or by leaving
the coal industry. See, e.g., Eastern Enterprises v.
Apfel, 524 U.S. 498, 511 (1998) (plurality opinion); see
generally id. at 504-515 (providing detailed historical
background of the Coal Act).

In enacting the Coal Act, Congress sought “to
identify persons most responsible” for the liabilities of
the underfunded private health-care benefit plans then
in existence, and to provide a private funding stream “to
stabilize plan funding and allow for the provision of
health care benefits” to retired coal miners and their
dependents. Coal Act § 19142, 106 Stat. 3037. The Coal
Act created the Combined Fund, a private entity whose
trustees are designated by representatives of coal
miners and coal industry operators. 26 U.S.C. 9702.
The Combined Fund is the product of the merger of
prior benefit plans that were created by collective bar-
gaining agreements. See 26 U.S.C. 9702(a)(2); Eastern
Enterprises, 524 U.S. at 514 (plurality opinion). Con-
gress specified that the Combined Fund shall be a plan
described in Section 302(c)(5) of the Labor Management

3

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 186(¢)(5); an employee welfare
benefit plan within the meaning of Section 3(1) of the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
(ERISA), 29 U.S.C. 1002(1); and a multiemployer plan
within the meaning of Section 3(37) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.
1002(37). See 26 U.S.C. 9702(a)(3). The Coal Act
directs the Combined Fund to provide retired miners
and their dependents with “substantially the same”
health benefits as were provided under previous plans.
26 U.S.C. 9703(b)(1).

Under the Coal Act, the Commissioner of Social
Security (Commissioner) assigns each eligible retired
miner to a coal operator, making that operator and a
broad class of “related persons” (e.g., other entities
under common ownership) liable to pay the Combined
Fund premiums for that miner and his or her depend-
ents. See 26 U.S.C. 9701(c)(2), 9706(a). The assign-
ment is to a coal operator (or to any “related person” of
such an operator) that “remain[ed] in business” on the
Coal Act’s effective date, according to the following
order of preference:

(1) First, to the signatory operator which—

(A) was a signatory to the 1978 coal wage
agreement or any subsequent coal wage agree-
ment, and

(B) was the most recent signatory operator to
employ the coal industry retiree in the coal
industry for at least two years.

(2) Second, if the retiree is not assigned under
paragraph (1), to the signatory operator which—

(A) was a signatory to the 1978 coal wage
agreement or any subsequent coal wage agree-
ment, and

(B) was the most recent signatory operator to
employ the coal industry retiree in the coal
industry.

(3) Third, if the retiree is not assigned under para-
graph (1) or (2), to the signatory operator which
employed the coal industry retiree in the coal
industry for a longer period of time than any
other signatory operator prior to the effective
date of the 1978 coal wage agreement.

26 U.S.C. 9706(a).

The Commissioner notifies the relevant signatory
operator or related person of the assignment. 26 U.S.C.
9706(e)(2). The assignee may ask the Commissioner to
review an allegedly erroneous assignment, and the
miner is reassigned if the assignment is determined to
be erroneous. 26 U.S.C. 9706(f). An assignee is subject
to statutory penalties if it fails to pay premiums. 26
U.S.C. 9706(f)(5), 9707. An assignment is made for
every miner under Section 9706(a) unless no former coal
industry employer or related person remains in busi-
ness. The health benefits of an “unassigned” miner are
funded by transfers of funds from other sources or, if
those sources are insufficient, from a premium imposed
on the signatory operators to whom assignments have
been made. 26 U.S.C. 9704(d), 9705.

2. The miners whose benefits are at issue in this case
were all employed by petitioners at some point in the
past. Some of those miners were originally assigned to
petitioners by the Commissioner after the Coal Act was
enacted. The Commissioner reassigned 95 additional

5

miners to petitioners following this Court’s decision in
Eastern-Enterprises, which held that the Coal Act is
unconstitutional insofar as it authorizes the imposition
of liability on coal operators that had not signed, and
were not related persons to operators that had signed,
collective-bargaining agreements in or after 1974, the
year that miners were first explicitly promised lifetime
health benefits.’

In implementing the Court’s decision, the Commis-
sioner voided all assignments to coal operators, like
Eastern Enterprises, that had not signed the 1974 or
later agreements and were not related persons to such
operators. Pet. App. lla. The Commissioner then
reassigned each such miner based on the statutory order
of priority (see 26 U.S.C. 9706(a)(1)-(3)), while excluding
Eastern Enterprises and similarly-situated operators
from the pool of potential assignees. See Pet. App. 11a.
“As a result of this reevaluation and interpretation of
the Coal Act, the Commissioner reassigned to [petition-
ers] 95 beneficiaries whose earlier assignments had been
invalidated.” Ibid.

3. Petitioners filed suit against the United States,
challenging Coal Act assignments made to them and

Although a majority of this Court agreed that the imposition of
Coal Act liability on Eastern Enterprises (which had not signed, and
was not a related person to any entity that had signed, the 1974 or later
wage agreement) was unconstitutional, no majority agreed on the
precise rationale for that holding. Four Justices concluded that the
Coal Act’s application to Eastern Enterprises violated the Just Com-
pensation Clause. 524 U.S. at 522-537 (opinion of O’Connor, J.). Jus-
tice Kennedy found that the assignments to Eastern Enterprises did
not violate the Just Compensation Clause but did violate the Due Pro-
cess Clause. /d. at 539-550 (Kennedy, J., concurring). The remaining
four Members of the Court found no constitutional infirmity. /d. at 553-
568 (Breyer, J., dissenting).

6

seeking a refund of premiums. Petitioners argued, inter
alia, that (1) the Coal Act unconstitutionally vests
governmental power in the private persons who adminis-
ter the Combined Fund, see Pet. App. lla, 12a; (2) the
decision in Kastern Enterprises has the effect of invali-
dating the entire Coal Act because the application of the
Act to Eastern Enterprises and _ similarly-situated
operators is not severable from the remainder of the
Act’s applications, see id. at 12a, 22a; and (3) the Coal
Act by its terms does not permit the reassignment to
petitioners of those miners whose initial assignments
were voided on the basis of the Eastern Enterprises
decision, see id. at 12a, 27a.” Because Coal Act pay-
ments are made directly to the Combined Fund, the
United States filed a third-party complaint against the
Fund and its Trustees, seeking indemnification for any
amounts that it might be ordered to pay to petitioners.
See zd. at 44a.

The district court granted respondents’ motion for
summary judgment. Pet. App. 42a-65a. The court held
that the Coal Act does not effect an unconstitutional
delegation of Executive power because the Act ade-
quately constrains the discretion of the Combined Fund

* Petitioners also argued that the application of the Coal Act to them
violated the Fifth Amendment. See Pet. App. lla, 34a. That claim was
rejected by the district court and the court of appeals, see td. at 34a-
35a, 59a-60a, and petitioners do not pursue it in this Court. Petitioners
also alleged that they had been overcharged for the beneficiaries
assigned to them. /d. at lla. That claim was ultimately settled, see ?d.
at 12a, and it is not at issue here. In addition, petitioners contended
that any original assignments made after October 1, 1993, were invalid
by reason of the Commissioner’s failure to meet that statutory deadline.
The district court deferred ruling on that contention, see id. at 65a,
which was subsequently rejected by this Court in Barnhart v. Peabody
Coal Co., 5387 U.S. 149 (2008).

7

and its Board of Trustees. /d. at 47a-59a. The court
further held that the applications of the Coal Act de-
clared to be unconstitutional in Kastern Enterprises
could be severed from the Act’s remaining valid applica-
tions, id. at 60a-62a, and that miners originally assigned
to “Eastern and Eastern-like companies” (id. at 64a)
could validly be reassigned to operators like petitioners,
id. at 62a-65a.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-41a.

a. The court of appeals held that the Coal Act does
not unconstitutionally delegate governmental functions
to the Combined Fund or its Board of Trustees. Pet.
App. 12a-22a. The court explained that “the Coal Act or
the Social Security Commissioner defines the nature of
the Combined Fund and who must contribute to it;
specifies the amount of each premium payable by a coal
operator to the Combined Fund; specifies with particu-
larity each beneficiary who is entitled to receive benefits
from the Combined Fund; and designates the nature and
amount-of the benefits.” /d. at 16a-17a. The court
concluded that the functions assigned to the Trustees
are sufficiently ministerial and/or advisory that they
may properly be entrusted to a private entity. Jd. at
17a-22a.

b. The court of appeals rejected petitioners’ conten-
tion that this Court’s decision in Fastern Enterprises
had the effect of invalidating the entire Coal Act. Pet.
App. 22a-27a. The court noted that the background
presumption of severability, which applies to federal
statutes generally, is reinforced by Congress’s enact-
ment of a severability clause applicable to the Coal Act.
See id. at 24a-25. The court further explained that the
Act can function independently even if Eastern Enter-
prises and similarly-situated operators are excluded

8

from the pool of potential assignees (and indeed has
continued so to function since the Court decided Eastern
Enterprises in 1998); that the Act’s legislative history
reflects a congressional intent to assign as many miners
as possible to responsible coal operators; and that
Congress has continued to appropriate funds for the
implementation of the Coal Act since the decision in
Eastern Enterprises. Id. at 25a-27a.

ec. The court of appeals held that the Coal Act
authorized the Commissioner to reassign miners whose
original assignments were invalid under Eastern Enter-
prises. Pet. App. 27a-34a. The court explained that
Eastern Enterprises had created a statutory gap, which
the Commissioner had reasonably chosen to fill by
“remov[ing] Eastern-like coal companies from the pool
of qualified signatory operators and reassign[ing] their
beneficiaries to other companies.” /d. at 28a.

d. Chief Judge Wilkins filed an opinion concurring in
part and dissenting in part. Pet. App. 37a-4la. Chief
Judge Wilkins agreed with the majority that the Coal
Act does not effect an unconstitutional delegation of
governmental power, and that the decision in Eastern
Enterprises does not require that the Act be invalidated
in its entirety. See 7d. at 37a. He would have held,
however, that miners originally assigned to Eastern
Enterprises and similarly-situated operators must be
treated as “unassigned” rather than assigned to particu-
lar operators such as petitioners. /d. at 37a-41a.

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals is correct and
does not conflict with any decision of this Court or of any
other court of appeals. The retiree health benefits plan
established by the Coal Act has been in effect and paid

9

much-needed benefits to retired miners and their
beneficiaries for more than 14 years, and for more than
seven years since this Court’s decision in Eastern
Enterprises. Petitioners’ efforts at this late date to
invalidate the Coal Act in its entirety, or to undo the
Commissioner’s manifestly reasonable response to the
Eastern Enterprises decision, lack merit. Further
review is not warranted.

A. The court of appeals correctly rejected petition-
ers’ contention (see Pet. 13-16) that the Coal Act uncon-
stitutionally delegates governmental power to the
Combined Fund and its Board of Trustees. The decision
in Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 U.S. 238 (1936), repre-
sents the last occasion on which this Court has relied on
nondelegation principles to invalidate a_ statutory
provision vesting governmental authority in a private
entity. The provision that was struck down in Carter
Coal authorized private actors within the coal industry
to fix the minimum wages and maximum hours of labor
for coal miners. See id. at 310-311. This Court charac-
terized the power conferred as the power to regulate the
production of coal, which the Court held was “necessar-
ily a governmental function.” /d. at 311. The Court
concluded that “[t]he delegation is * * * clearly
arbitrary, and * * * clearly a denial of rights safe-
guarded by the due process clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment.” bid.

The powers vested in the Combined Fund and its
Board of Trustees are not remotely comparable to the
powers at issue in Carter Coal. The pertinent regula-
tory functions under the Coal Act are performed by a
public official—the Commissioner of Social Security.
The Commissioner assigns beneficiaries to coal opera-
tors pursuant to the statutory criteria. 26 U.S.C.

10

9706(a); see Pet. 6; Pet. App. 10a, 16a; A.7. Massey Coal
Co. v. Massanari, 305 F.3d 226, 232 (4th Cir. 2002), cert.
denied, 538 U.S. 1012 (2003). At the request of the
assignee, the Commissioner may review an allegedly
erroneous assignment and may reassign the miner if the
initial assignment is found to be in error. 26 U.S.C.
9706(f). The Commissioner also calculates the per-
beneficiary annual premiums, applying “specific formu-
las” set forth in the statute. Pet. App. 15a; accord
26 U.S.C. 9704(b)(2); Pet. 6 (Commissioner “calculate[s]
a per beneficiary health benefit premium for each plan
year”). As a result, a coal operator’s liability under the
Act is determined by the Commissioner pursuant to
criteria established by Congress, not by the Fund or its
trustees. Pet. App. 15a; accord 2d. at 17a, 21a.

Petitioners contend that the Coal Act effects an
unconstitutional delegation of governmental power by
authorizing the Combined Fund “to collect and spend
taxes” (Pet. 16), “to sue to collect public funds” (Pet. 14),
and “to write its own rules for implementing the Coal
Act” (Pet. 15). Petitioners’ arguments lack merit.

1. Even assuming for purposes of argument that the
Coal Act premiums are “taxes,” neither the collection
of funds owed to a private party nor the expenditure of
such funds is an inherently governmental function.
Petitioners do not contest the court of appeals’ conclu-

3

Although some courts of appeals have characterized Coal Act
yremiums as taxes for some purposes (see Pet. 12), the government has
consistently argued that the premium is not a tax because it is not “an
enforced contribution to provide for the support of government.”
United States v. La Franca, 282 U.S. 568, 572 (1931). The consti-
tutionality of the Coal Act provisions at issue here, however, does not
depend on whether the premiums are properly characterized as taxes.

11

sion that “the power to receive taxes (premiums) and
other federal revenues (which private employers do with
every paycheck) does not violate the nondelegation
doctrine.” Pet. App. 18a-19a. To the contrary, they
acknowledge that “private parties routinely collect taxes
from other private parties.” Pet. 2; see 26 U.S.C. 429]
(requiring the providers of certain products and services
to collect federal taxes from certain purchasers). And
even if Coal Act premiums were properly regarded as
taxes in some constitutionally significant sense, petition-
ers have failed to identify any basis on which the Consti-
tution would prohibit Congress from assigning the
resulting revenue stream to a private party. Cf. Ver-
mont Agency of Natural Res. v. United States ex rel.
Stevens, 529 U.S. 765, 773-774 (2000) (analogizing qui
tam provision to assignment of government’s claim).
Private entities may also validly be authorized to
spend funds collected pursuant to statutory mandate.
For example, the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amend-
ments Act of 1980 (MPPAA) requires the payment of
statutorily-mandated withdrawal liabilities to private
pension funds, which then spend those penalties. See 29
U.S.C. 1381-1461; Bay Area Laundry & Dry Cleaning
Pension Trust Fund v. Ferbar Corp., 522 U.S. 192, 195
(1997) (The MPPAA “requires employers who withdraw
from underfunded multiemployer pension plans to pay
a ‘withdrawal liability’ * * * by making a series of
periodic payments according to a postwithdrawal sche-
dule set by the pension fund’s trustees, or [by] pre-
payling] the entire debt at any time.”).! Similarly,

* Petitioners seek (Pet. 16) to distinguish the MPPAA from the Coal
Act on the ground that the former codified preexisting contractual
obligations, while the latter imposes a new tax. Even assuming that
distinction is accurate, it is irrelevant to the question whether a private

id

12

under the Medicare statute, private entities known as
“fiscal intermediaries” disburse and account for funds
used in making Medicare payments. Heckler v. Com-
munity Health Servs., 467 U.S. 51, 54 (1984); Shalala v.
Guernsey Mem'l Hosp., 514 U.S. 87, 91 (1995).

2. The Combined Fund’s authority to file and prose-
cute lawsuits to recover funds owed to it pursuant to
statute is not a uniquely governmental prerogative. See
Pet. App. 18a (noting that the Coal Act grants the
Combined Fund “the power to sue for monies owed to
itself, which is not a governmental power, but a private
one”). Private actors routinely sue for money to which
they allege an entitlement under federal law. Indeed,
the Coal Act provision that authorizes the Combined
Fund to bring suit specifically refers to the provision
under which a private pension plan may sue an employer
for withdrawal liability under the MPPAA. See 26
U.S.C. 9721 (referring to “section 4301 of the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974”). As this
Court has noted, the MPPAA authorizes private pension
funds to pursue a variety of means, including the filing
of lawsuits, to enforce participants’ statutory payment
obligations. See Bay Area Laundry, 522 U.S. at 197.

Petitioners’ reliance (Pet. 13) on Buckley v. Valeo,
424 U.S. 1 (1976) (per curiam), is misplaced. The Court
in Buckley addressed the constitutional status of the
Federal Election Commission (FEC), which wielded
“extensive rulemaking and adjudicative powers,” id. at
110, and exercised “primary and substantial responsi-
bility for administering and enforcing” the federal elec-
tion laws, id. at 109. The governmental status of the

entity may validly be authorized to collect and spend mandatory
statutory fees.

13

FEC was undisputed; the issue was whether that body’s
members could be appointed by congressional officers
rather than in conformity with the Appointments
Clause. See id. at 124-143. It was in that context that
the Court struck down the statutory provisions “vesting
in the [FEC] primary responsibility for conducting civil
litigation in the courts of the United States for vindicat-
ing public rights.” Id. at 140 (emphasis added).

The role of the Combined Fund under the Coal Act
cannot plausibly be analogized to that of the FEC.
Enforcement of the Coal Act on behalf of the govern-
ment is entrusted to Executive Branch officials, and
primarily to the Commissioner. See pp. 9-10, supra.°
When the Combined Fund sues under the Act, it does so
to vindicate its discrete interest as a multiemployer
benefits plan in receiving the payments to which it is
entitled by statute, not to vindicate the general public
interest in the Act’s enforcement. N othing in Buckley
purports (or has been construed by this Court) to cast
doubt on Congress’s frequent practice of creating
private rights of action for persons who are injured by
violations of federal statutes. his

3. Petitioners offer no plausible rationale for their
assertion (Pet. 15) that the Combined Fund’s ability “to
write its own rules for implementing the Coal Act”
violates the Constitution. The Commissioner, not the

° The Secretary of the Treasury enforces the payment of Coal Act
premiums through penalties that are treated as taxes. See 26 U.S.C.
9707 (providing for penalty for failure to pay Coal Act premiums, and
treating that penalty as a tax under 26 U.S.C. 4980B). The Secretary
of Labor enforces the proper operation of the Combined Fund as a plan
under ERISA. See 26 U.S.C. 9702(a)(3) (stating that the Combined
Fund is an ERISA plan); 29 U.S.C. 1132(a) (Secretary of Labor may
bring suit to enforce ERISA requirements).

14

Fund, assigns beneficiaries to coal operators and cal-
culates the per-beneficiary premiums pursuant to a
statutory formula. The Combined Fund has the author-
ity to establish its own internal rules, but that authority
is possessed by many private entities and is not govern-
mental in character. See Pet. App. 18a.

4. Petitioners have identified no cognizable injury to
themselves resulting from any action taken by the
Combined Fund or its Board of Trustees. The imple-
mentation of the Coal Act affects petitioners only to the
extent that the Act itself requires them to pay premi-
ums. Those premiums are calculated by the Commis-
sioner pursuant to statutory direction. Petitioners have
experienced no harm resulting from the Coal Act’s
directive that premiums be paid to the Fund rather than
to the Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of
Social Security, or from decisions made by the Fund
regarding expenditures on behalf of its beneficiaries.

B. Petitioners contend (Pet. 16-21) that the Coal Act
provisions struck down in Eastern Enterprises are not
severable from the remainder of the statute, and that
the Court’s decision in that case therefore effectively
invalidated the Coal Act in its entirety. That claim lacks
merit. “The inquiry into whether a statute is severable
is essentially an inquiry into legislative intent.” Minne-
sota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians, 526 U.S.
172, 191 (1999); accord Pet. App. 24a. As the court of
appeals explained, there is generally a “presumption
that when an application of a statute is determined to be
unconstitutional, courts seek to preserve as much of the
statute as is still consistent with legislative intent.” Pet.
App. 24a; see Alaska Airlines, Inc. v. Brock, 480 U.S.
678, 684 (1987). That presumption is especially strong
where, as here, implementation of the relevant statute

15

is governed by a severability clause. See Pet. App. 24a-
25a; Alaska Airlines, 480 U.S. at 686.

The structure of the Coal Act further refutes any
inference of congressional intent to abandon the statu-
tory enterprise solely because assignments cannot be
made to Eastern Enterprises and similarly-situated coal
operators. As this Court recently noted, the “congres-
sional objective” in enacting the Coal Act was “to allo-
cate the greatest number of beneficiaries * * * to a
prior responsible operator.” Barnhart v. Peabody Coal
Co., 537 U.S. 149, 171-172 (2003) (quoting 138 Cong.
Rec. 34,001 (1992) (Sen. Wallop)); accord id. at 172
n.15 (“[T]he Act envisioned that ‘[w]herever possible,
responsibility for individual beneficiaries would be
assigned . . . toaprevious employer still in business.”)
(quoting Nonna A. Noto, Congressional Research
Service, Coal Industry: Use of Abandoned Mine Recla-
mation Fund Monies for UMWA “Orphan Retiree”
Health Benefits (Sept. 10, 1992), reprinted in 138 Cong.
Rec. at 34,005). In furtherance of that goal, the Coal Act
requires the Commissioner to assign each miner to a
coal operator remaining in business unless “no existing
company falls within the [statutory] categories.”
Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co., 534 U.S. 438, 447 (2002);
accord Peabody Coal Co., 537 U.S. at 164-165 (noting
Congress’s assumption that all “beneficiaries matchable
with operators still in business” would be assigned).
That objective is directly served by the assignment to
petitioners of their former employees whose benefits are
at issue in this case, and it would be substantially
disserved by invalidation of the Coal Act in its entirety.
Congress’s intent to maintain the Coal Act regime in
operation is further evidenced by its continued appropri-
ations for implementation of the Act even after this

16

Court’s decision in Kastern Enterprises. See Pet. App.
26a.

Petitioners contend (Pet. 19-20) that the continued
operation of the benefits plan put in place by the Coal
Act is inconsistent with Congress’s intention to assign
Coal Act liability to the specific coal operator “most
responsible for plan liabilities” for each beneficiary. But
while the Act sets forth a hierarchy of the coal operators
to whom a particular miner may be assigned, it directs
the Commissioner to consider only those operators that
“remain in business.” See 26 U.S.C. 9706(a). Congress
clearly understood that the coal operators “most respon-
sible” for some miners would have gone out of business,
and its evident intent was to require such miners to be
assigned to the most responsible coal operators to whom
assignments could be made. The Commissioner’s deci-
sion to treat Eastern Enterprises and similarly-situated
operators in the same manner as operators who had
gone out of business, and to assign their former workers
to other former employers like petitioners, is far more
consistent with that intent than is facial invalidation of
the statutory scheme.

C. Petitioners contend (Pet. 21-22) that the Com-
missioner’s reassignment to them of 95 individual bene-
ficiaries, who had previously been assigned to Eastern
Enterprises or similarly-situated operators, is pre-
cluded by the terms of the Coal Act. That claim lacks
merit.

Section 9706(a)(3) of Title 26 states that any eligible
beneficiary not assigned to an individual coal operator
under Section 9706(a)(1) or (2) should be assigned “to
the signatory operator which employed the coal industry
retiree in the coal industry for a longer period of time
than any other signatory operator prior to the effective

17

date of the 1978 coal wage agreement.” 26 U.S.C.
9706(a)(3). The Coal Act defines the term “signatory
operator” to mean “a person which is or was a signatory
to a coal wage agreement.” 26 U.S.C. 9701(c)(1). Peti-
tioners contend (Pet. 22) that the reassignments at issue
here were inconsistent with the terms of the statute
because petitioners did not in fact employ the relevant
miners “for a longer period of time than any other signa-
tory operator prior to the effective date of the 1978 coal
wage agreement.” 26 U.S.C. 9706(a)(3). Rather, those
miners were employed for longer periods by operators,
like Eastern Enterprises, that had not signed the 1974
or later wage agreements but had signed prior agree-
ments and therefore are “signatory operators” within
the literal terms of Section 9701(c)(1).

The square holding of Eastern Enterprises, however,
is that the Fifth Amendment precludes literal applica-
tion of the Coal Act’s assignment provisions to operators
who did not sign the 1974 or later wage agreements. As
the court of appeals recognized, the Commissioner’s
reassignment of the 95 miners at issue here was a rea-
sonable means of filling the statutory gap created by
this Court’s decision in Eastern Enterprises. See Pet.
App. 31a (explaining that “Congress did not contemplate
that some members of the ‘signatory operators’ group
could not constitutionally be required to contribute to
the Combined Fund,” and that “[t]he situation faced by
the Commissioner was thus the kind of ‘ease unprovided
for’ that allows her to engage in gap-filling”) (quoting
Peabody Coal Co., 537 U.S. at 169). Thus, “after East-
ern Enterprises the Commissioner in fact interpreted
‘signatory operators,’ as used in the Coal Act and in
light of the requirements of the Constitution, to include
only operators that had signed a 1974 [wage agreement]

18

or later agreement.” Jd. at 30a. After eliminating
Eastern Enterprises and similarly-situated coal opera-
tors from the pool of potential assignees, the Commis-
sioner reassigned each retiree whose assignment had
been declared invalid to the appropriate “signatory
operator” (as thus more narrowly defined), based on the
order of priority set forth in 26 U.S.C. 9706(a)(1)-(3).
See Pet. App. 30a. That approach furthered Congress’s
intent “to minimize the number of unassigned beneficia-
ries by assigning each retiree to a coal operator most
responsible for providing benefits.” Jd. at 32a-338a; see
Peabody Coal Co., 537 U.S. at 171-172 (The Coal Act “is
‘designed to allocate the greatest number of beneficia-
ries * * * toa prior responsible operator.”) (quoting
138 Cong. Rec. at 34,001 (Sen. Wallop)).

While arguing that reassignment of the 95 retirees
violated the terms of the Coal Act, petitioners conspicu-
ously fail to specify how the Commissioner ought to have
treated those miners after the Court’s decision in
Eastern Enterprises (assuming that the Coal Act is not
declared invalid in its entirety). Petitioners do not dis-
pute that each of those individuals is an “eligible benefi-
clary” within the meaning of 26 U.S.C. 9706(a). Petition-
ers recognize, moreover, that “there is no provision
authorizing the Commissioner or the Combined Fund to
declare a beneficiary unassigned” in the circumstances
presented here. Pet. 18; see 26 U.S.C. 9706(a) (“[T]he
Commissioner of Social Security shall * * * assign
each coal industry retiree who is an eligible beneficiary
to a signatory operator which (or any related person
with respect to which) remains in business.”); Pet. App.
32a n.3 (court of appeals explains that “Section 9706(a)
leaves unassigned only those retirees who were never
employed by a signatory operator that was ‘in business’

19

at the enactment of the Coal Act”). In light of petition-
ers’ failure to identify any alternative approach that
would have fully comported with the literal require-
ments of the Coal Act, their textual objection to the
reassignments at issue here is without force.
Petitioners also object (Pet. 22) that “[t]he reassign-
ments are going not to the employer which employed the
retiree ‘for a longer period of time than any other
signatory operator,’ but to companies which may have
employed the retiree for only few months, a few days, or
even a few hours.” But while the Coal Act authorizes
assignment of a retired miner only to an operator that
previously employed the individual (ef. Pet. App. 25a-
26a), the Act does not require any minimum length of
service with the particular operator as a condition of
assignment. See 26 U.S.C. 9706(a)(2) and (3) (authoriz-
ing assignment to former employer regardless of the
length of employment). Even apart from this Court’s
decision in Eastern Enterprises, the Act will sometimes
require that a miner be assigned to a particular operator
based on a very short period of prior employment if, for
example, the other operators for whom the miner
worked had gone out of business before the Coal Act was
enacted. See Pet. App. 31a n.3 (court of appeals notes
that “Congress intended to include in the [assignment]
pool only those companies then ‘in business’”). The
practical effect of the Commissioner’s approach is that
operators to whom retirees may not constitutionally be
assigned under Eastern Enterprises will be treated, for
purposes of 26 U.S.C. 9706(a)(1)-(3), as though they
were not in business as of the Act’s effective date. See
Pet. App. 3la n.3. The fact that petitioners have been
assigned retirees whom they employed for short periods

20

of time cannot properly be regarded as an unintended
consequence of the statute Congress drafted.

Finally, petitioners contend (Pet. 22) that the Com-
missioner’s approach is inconsistent with the sever-
ability provision applicable to the Coal Act. That pro-
vision states that, “[i]f any provision of [the Act], or the
application thereof to any person or circumstances, is
held invalid, the remainder of the [Act], and the applica-
tion of such provision to other persons or circumstances,
shall not be affected thereby.” 26 U.S.C. 7852(a). In
petitioners’ view (Pet. 22), Section 7852(a) precludes the
assignment of additional retirees to remaining coal
operators as a result of the Court’s holding in Eastern
Enterprises.

The court of appeals correctly rejected that argu-
ment. Pet. App. 33a-34a. As the court explained, Sec-
tion 7852(a)’s directive that the Coal Act’s “application”
to petitioners “shall not be affected” by its invalidation
as to others does not require that the amount of petition-
ers’ liability must remain unchanged. /d. at 34a. After
Eastern Enterprises as before, petitioners will be
treated as “signatory operator[s]” to whom their former
employees may be assigned, and the assignment of
retirees to individual operators will be governed by the
order of priorities set forth in 26 U.S.C. 9706(a)(1)-(3).
The elimination of certain operators (7.e., those who did
not sign the 1974 or later wage agreements) from the
pool of potential assignees may cause some former
miners to be reassigned, but “the fact and method of
applying the Coal Act to [petitioners] have not changed.”
Pet. App. 34a.

21

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Acting Solicitor General

PETER D. KEISLER
Assistant Attorney General

MARK B. STERN

JONATHAN H. LEVY
Attorneys

FEBRUARY 2005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1521%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
