# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bynam v. Intermet Machining

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1263%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 543 U.S. 1020

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

04 300 AUG 28 2004

NO.: OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

RICKY LEE BYNAM,
PETITIONER

V.

INTERMET MACHINING.,
RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
CASE NO. 03-15051-JJ

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PETER A. DUMBUYA
Counsel of Record
P. O. BOX 3302
PHENIX CITY, ALABAMA 36867
(706) 289-5082

DANA P. GENTRY
Counsel of Record
1507 BROAD STREET
PHENIX CITY, ALABAMA 36867
(334) 297-5640

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

On September 24, 2001, Petitioner, pro se, filed suit
against Respondent, Intermet Machining, seeking damages for
wrongful termination from employment because of his race
(African American) and disability in violation of Title VII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Americans With
Disabilities Act (“ADA”) respectively. On August 22, 2002,
the District Court dismissed Petitioner’s original complaint due
to the inability of Petitioner’s counsel to associate with local
counsel. Bynam refiled the complaint on September 4, 2002,
after local counsel had been retained.

The question presented is whether the 90-day statute of
limitations of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the
ADA should have been equitably tolled when the District Court
dismissed Petitioner’s rr complaint even though

Petitioner’s counsel had filed a pro hac vice petition with the

District Court.

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
Petitioner, Ricky Lee Bynam, states that he is a private
citizen who is not affiliated with any corporation or publicly
held company.
Respondent, Intermet Machining, states that it is a
publicly held company, and that no other publicly held

company owns 10% or more of Intermet Machining’s stock.

~

Be Geel VR, os

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Question Presented ; i
Parties to the Proceeding ; . ii
Table of Contents lil
Table of Cited Authorities. | : iv
Table of Appendices. | vi
Opinions Below . | l
Statement of Jurisdiction . l
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved __. 2
Statement of The Case . / 2
Reasons for Granting the Writ 4

I. The Decision Below Overlooked Two Pro Hac Vice
Petitions Filed By Petitioner’ s Counsel 5

II. Certiorari Is Warranted Because The Decision Below
Conflicts With Decisions of This Court and Of Other
Circuits i 8

Conclusion.” , 18

iv
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Alsaras v. Dominick’s Finer Foods, Inc., 2000 U.S. App.

LEXIS 30183 (7" Cir. 2000) . ; 17
Armstrong v. Martin Marietta Corp., No. 95-3255, _ F.2d _
(11" Cir. 1996) , 10
Davis v. Bryan, 810 F.2d 42 (2™ Cir. 1987) . 17
Graham-Humphreys v. Memphis Brooks Museum of Art, Inc.,
209 F.3d 552 (6" Cir. 2000) . . , 12
Hishon v. Viking & Spalding, 467 U.S. 69, 104 §.Ct. 2229, 81
L. Ed.2d 59(1984) . 8
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 489 F.2d 525 (6"
Cir. 1973) ; ’ 9
Jordan v. Lewis Grocer Co., 467 F. Supp. 113 (1979) 9
Marsh v. Soares, 223 F.3d 1217 (10" Cir. 2000) 11

McClain v. Mack Trucks, Inc., 81 F.R.D. 730 (E.D. Pa. 1979)
15

Nilsen v. City of Moss Point, Miss., 701 F.2d 556 (5" Cir.
1983) . , , , , 10

Nottelson v. A.O. Smith Corp., 423 F. Supp. 1345 (E.D. Wisc.
1976) . . ; 12

Price v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 687 F.2d 74 (5™ Cir.
1982) . ; . 17

Vv

~

Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U. S. 232, 94 S.Ct. 1683, 40 L. Ed.2d
90 (1974) ' 8

Truitt v. County of Wayne, 148 F.3d 644 (6" Cir. 1998) 1]
U.S. v. Glenn, __ 01-5138 ___ (N_D. Ok. 2003). 12
Venters v. City of Delphi, 123 F.3d 956 (7" Cir. 1997) 17

Williams v. Sears, Roebuck and Co., 143 F. ~~ 2d 941 (W.D.
Ten. 2001) ; 12

Woodward v. Williams, 263 F.3d 1135 (10" Cir. 2001) 1]

Zipes v. lrans World Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385, 102 S.Ct.

1127, 71 L. Ed.2d 234 (1982). ; 16
STATUTES:

42 U.S.C. §2000e et seq ’ ee ey Oe
42 U.S.C. §12181 et seq ee Ae Rye

28 U.S.C. §1254(1) | | | | 1

vi
TABLE OF APPENDICES
Page

Appendix A---Opinion and Order of the United States District
Court for the Middle District of Georgia, Columbus Division
and filed September 10, 2003 . la

Appendix B---Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit and Decided March 5, 2004 lla

Appendix C—Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and filed
June 3, 2004. | 25a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
Petitioner respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit in this case.
OPINIONS BELOW
The Opinion and Order of the United States District
Court for the Middle District of Georgia, Columbus Division,
(per Land, Clay D., D. J. ) granting Respondent’s motion for
Judgment on the Pleadings (Appendix (“Pet. App.”) la-10a) is
not otherwise published. The opinion of the Court of Appeals
(per Curiam) (Pet. App. | 1a-24a) is not otherwise published.
The Court of Appeals’ Order denying rehearing and rehearing
en banc (Pet. App. 25a-26a) is not otherwise published.
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION
The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit entered its Opinion and Order on March 5, 2004, and
denied rehearing and rehearing en banc on June 3, 2004. The

Petitioner invokes this Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1)

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §2000e ef seq., and the
- Americans With Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §12181 et seq.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 10, 1999, Bynam sustained injuries arising out
of and in the course of his employment with his employer
Intermet Machining. He became disabled as a result of the
injuries he sustained and was unable to perform essential
functions as a machine operator. Bynam filed a workers’
compensation claim with the State of Georgia Board of
Workers’ Compensation.

During the pendency of Bynam’s compensation claim,
Intermet Machining terminated his employment on November
4, 1999. On June 2, 2000, Bynam filed a charge with the
District Office of the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (EEOC), alleging unlawful employment practice

committed against him because of his race and his disability

3

resulting from injuries sustained while in the course of his
employment with iieiel Machining. The EEOC determined
that Bynam timely filed his charge of discrimination. Bynam
received a “Notice of Suit Rights” (dated 21 June, 2001) on
June 25, 2001, entitling him to institute a civil action with
respect to the charge within 90 days of the date of the receipt
of said Notice.

On September 24, 2001, Bynam, pro se, filed suit
against Intermet Machining seeking damages for wrongful
termination from, employment because of his race
(black/African American) and disability in violation of Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C.
§2000e ef seg., and the Americans With Disabilities Act, 42
U.S.C. §12181 ef seg.

On August 22, 2002, the District Court dismissed the
original complaint without prejudice because, it argued in
footnote 2, that plaintiff's counsel failed to seek admission, pro

hac vice or otherwise associate with local counsel. Bynam re-

4

filed the complaint on September 4, 2002, after local counsel,

Hon. Dana P. Gentry, had been retained. On September 10,
2003, the District Court entered an order granting Intermet
Machining’s motion for judgment on the pleadings under Rule
12(c) of the FRCP. Bynam appealed.

On March 5, 2004, the Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals affirmed the judgment of the District Court. On June
3, 2004, the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals denied Bynam’s
petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc. This petition
followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The petition should be granted for the following
reasons. First, the judgment of the Eleventh Circuit clearly
overlooked the two pro hac vice petitions filed by petitioner’s
counsel in this case. This is in stark contrast to the Court's
affirmation of the District Court’s judgment that petitioner’s
counsel failed to seek admission, pro hac vice, or otherwise.

Pet. App. 4a,n 2). While the pro hac vice petitions were on

5

file, petitioner’s counsel made diligent efforts to locate and
retain local counsel.

Second, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision not only
conflicts with holdings of other circuits in the application of the
doctrine of equitable tolling to employment and disability
discrimination cases, bust also raises novel issues as to when
a District Court can dismiss a timely filed complaint when
petitioner’s counsel is trying to locate and retain local counsel.

I.

_

ARGUMENTS AND AUTHORITIES

I: The Decision Below Overlooked The Two Pro Hac Vice
| Petitions Filed By Petitioner’s Counsel

On September 24, 2001, Bynam, pro se, commenced
this action against Intermet Machining for wrongful
termination from employment in violation of Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e ef seqg., and the
Americans With Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §12181 ef seq.

On August 22, 2002, the District Court dismissed the

original complaint without prejudice to reinstatement because

6

of an alleged failure by Bynam’s attorney to seek admission to

the District Court, pro hac vice or otherwise associate with a
local attorney as required by local rules. Bynam re-filed the
complaint on September 4, 2002, after local counsel, Hon.
Dana P. Gentry, had completed his application for admission
to the District Court. On September 10, 2003, the District
Court entered an order granting Intermet Machining’s motion
for judgment on the pleadings under Rule 12(c) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure.

On November 19, 2001, and again on September 12,
2002, Bynam’s attorney was properly admitted to the District
Court pro hac vice. The District Court’s Civil Docket for the
case contains an entry, dated September 12, 2002, noting the
fact that [.ynam’s attorney was properly admitted to the
District Court with payment of the pro hac vice admission fee
of $50.00.

Furthermore, Bynam’s attorney made diligent efforts to
retain local counsel all to no avail. At the time when Hon.

Dana P. Gentry consented to association as local counsel, he

J

had not yet been admitted to practice before the District Court
even though he was Nconeed to practice in the State of Georgia.
In order to speed up the admission process, Bynam’s attorney
paid the admission fee and forwarded the application materials
to the District Court’s Macon office by Federal Express mail.

Therefore, the 90-day statute of limitations under 42
U.S.C. §2000e-5(f)(1) was tolled when Bynam filed and then
re-filed the complaint because of an error on the part of the
District Court in dismissing the original complain in the first
place. The problems which led to the dismissal of Bynam’s
original complaint were not the result of inaction on Bynam’s
part. Moreover. adequate notice was provided to Intermet
Machining by the original complaint and the District Court’s
dismissal of that complaint without prejudice to reinstatement.

In light of the above, Bynam’s original complaint
should not have been dismissed by the District Court. Once
dismissed, however, the statute of limitations should have been

equitably tolled.

_— ee

8

II. Certiorari Is Warranted Because The Decision

Below Conflicts With Decisions of This Court And

Of Other Circuits.

Under Rule 12(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure (FRCP), a court can dismiss a complaint for failure
to state a chien under which relief can be granted. The factual
allegations in a complaint must be taken as true and viewed in
the light most favorable to the plaintiff. Scheuer v. Rhodes,
416 U.S. 232, 94 §.Ct. 1683, 40 L. Ed.2d 90 (1974).

In addition, the reviewing court does not have to accept
any legal conclusions alleged in_ plaintiffs complaint.
However, dismissal of the allegations contained in the
complaint is appropriate only if it appears beyond doubt that
plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of a claim that
would entitle her to relief. Hishon v. King Spalding, 467 U.S.
69, 104 §.Ct. 2229, 81 L.Ed.2d 59 (1984).

On September 24, 2001, Bynam, pro se, filed the

original complaint asserting Title VII and ADA claims

9

against Intermet Machining. Bynam received the “Notice of
Suit Rights,” dated June 21, 2001, on June 25, 2001.
Bynam’s clams are not time-bared simply because he filed
suit on September 24, 2001. In fact, September 23, 2001, the
ninetieth day from the time the plaintiff received the “Notice
of Suit Rights” fell on a Sunday. Under Rule 6(a) of the
FRCP, the plaintiff timely filed his suit on Monday,
September 24, 2001. Jordan v. Lewis Grocer Co., 467 F.
Supp. 113 (1979).

Furthermore, after the District Court dismissed the
original complaint without prejudice to reinstatement on
August 22, 2002, Bynam re-filed the complaint on
September 4, 2002, less than 30 days after dismissal. In
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 489 F.2d 525 (6"
Cir. 1973), the Court dismissed without prejudice to
reinstatement Willie Johnson’s original complaint, and

ordered him to obtain a new attorney or have his suit

10

dismissed without prejudice. Although Johnson failed to re-
file his suit in 30 days, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals
held that the District Court was correct in ordering Johnson
to file the new case within 30 days at a minimum. The 90-
‘ day statute of limitations was tolled when the Court
dismissed the original complaint without prejudice to
reinstatement and ordered Johnson to obtain a new attorney.
Here, as in Armstrong v. Martin Marietta Corp., No.
95-3255, F.2d (11 Cir. 1996), the Court dismissed
the plaintiffs case without prejudice, and without
adjudication - the merits. Nilsen v. City of Moss Point,
Miss., 701 F.2d 556 (5™ Cir. 1983). The plaintiffs refiled
their class action suit more than 90 days after the Court’s
order of dismissal. The 11" Circuit Court of Appeals held
that the order of dismissal without prejudice was not a final
judgment under Rule 54(b) of the FRCP, and that the tolling

of the 90-day statute of limitations of Title VII remained

11

tolled when the Court dismissed the original complaint. In
this case, petitioner refiled the complaint on September 4,
2002, less than 30 days after the Court’s order of dismissal
during which the statute of limitations remained tolled
pursuant to Johnson and Armstrong.

The applicability of equitable tolling must
necessarily be undertaken on a case-by-case basis. /ruift v.
County of Wayne, 148 F.3d 644 (6" Cir. 1998). Title VII's
and the ADA’s statute of limitations is subject to equitable
tolling only when a complainant such as Bynam diligently
pursues his claims and demonstrates that the dismissal of the
original complaint was caused by extraordinary
circumstances beyond his control, Marsh v. Soares, 223
F.3d 1217 (10 Cir. 2000), cert denied, 121 S.Ct. 1195
(2001), Woodward v. Williams, 263 F.3d 1135 (10 Cir.

2001), or by procedural fault on the part of the District

12
Court. Nottelson v. A.O. Smith Corp., 423 F.Supp. 1345
(E.D. Wisc. 1976).

Among the factors to be considered in determining
the appropriateness of equitably tolling a statute of
limitations are diligence in pursuing one’s rights, and
absence of prejudice to the defendant. Williams V. Sears,
Roebuck and Co., 143 F. Supp. 2d 941 (W.D. Ten. 2001),
citing Graham-Humphreys v. Memphis Brooks Museum of
Art, Inc., 209 F.3d 552 (6" Cir. 2000). In considering the
issue Of equitable tolling, this Court must also assume the
truth of Bynam’s assertion that the undersigned counsel was
duly admitted in the District Court pro hac vice, and that he
made diligent efforts to retain local counsel. U.S. v. Glenn, _ —
01-5138 (N.D. Ok. 2003). Respondent has not shown
that it would be prejudiced by the tolling of the statute of

limitations. In light of the facts presented in this case, equity

demands an evaluation and reversal of the Eleventh Circuit’s

13
opinion affirming the District Court’s order dismissing
Bynam’s original complains in August 2002.

The original compiaint should not have been
dismissed because Bynam’s counsel was properly admitted
pro hac vice to the District Court, Bynam was diligent in
pursuing his rights, and Intermet Machining offered no proof
that it had_been prejudiced. On November 19, 2001, and
again on September 12, 2002, Bynam’s counsel properly
filed petitions for admission to plead and practice pro hac
vice in the District Court. The District Court’s Civil Docket
for the case includes an entry, dated September 12, 2002,
noting the fact that Bynam’s counsel was properly admitted
to the District Court with payment of the admission fee of
$50.00.

Furthermore, Bynam’s counsel made diligent efforts
to retain local counsel. During the pre-trial conference on

August 15, 2002, Bynam’s counsel informed the District

14

Court of efforts being made to associate local counsel,
including, among others, Hon. Robert D. Wilson and Hon.
Pete Quezada both of Columbus, Georgia. For various
reasons, none of the counsel contacted expressed a
willingness to associate with Bynam’s counsel.

At the time when Hon. Dana P. Gentry consented to
associate with Bynam’s counsel, the clerk of the District
Court in Columbus, Georgia, informed Bynam’s counsel that
Hon. Gentry had not yet been admitted to practice before the
District Court. In order to speed up the admission process,
the undersigned counsel paid the admission fee and
forwarded the application for admission to the District
Court’s Macon office by Federal Express mail. The District
Court dismissed the original complaint before the District

Court clerk had processed Hon. Dana P. Gentry’s application

for admission.

15

The facts of this case, therefore, warrant the equitable
tolling of the statute of limitations under Title VII and the
ADA. The District Court’s dismissal of Bynam’s original
complaint was clearly erroneous, and was not the result of
inaction on Bynam’s part. Moreover, !ntermet Machining
was not prejudiced by the dismissal. In fact it received
adequate notice of the action by the timely filing of the
charge with the EEOC, the original complaint, and by the
District Court’s dismissal of that complaint without
prejudice to reinstatement.

In McClain v. Mack Trucks, Inc., 81 F.R.D. 730
(E.D. Pa. 1979), McClain sued his former employer, Mack
Trucks, Inc., alleging, inter alia, harassment and discharge
from employment because of race. In dismissing the
complaint because it was not filed within the 90-day period

provided by 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(f), the Court held that:

“However, significantly, he did not file the complaint within

16

ninety days of the dismissal without prejudice. This he
could have done.” Id at 732. In the case sub judice, Bynam
re-filed the complaint less than two weeks after the dismissal
of the original complaint. Therefore, the 90-day statute of
limitations was tolled when Bynam filed and then re-filed
the complaint because of an error on the part of the District
Court.

In Zipes v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385,
102 S.Ct. 1127, 71 L.Ed.2d 234 (1982), female flight
attendants brought suit against Trans Worid Airlines, Inc.,
alleging unlawful sex discrimination in violation of Title VII
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 by its policy of grounding all
female flight cabin attendants who became mothers; male
counterparts who became fathers were allowed to continue
flying. The Court held that filing a timely charge of
discrimination with the EEOC is a requirement that, like a

statute of limitations, is subject to waiver, estoppel, and

17

tolling when equity so requires. The facts of the case swh
judice warrant application of the doctrine of equitable tolling
to the 90-day statute of limitations for Bynam’s Title VII and
ADA claims. Price v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 687
F.2d 74 (5™ Cir. 1982). See also Alsaras vy. Dominick's
liner Foods, Inc., 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 30183 (7" Cir.
2000).

In Femters v. City of Delphi, 123 F.3d 956 (7" Cir.
1997), the Seventh Circuit held that an affirmative defense
predicated upon the statute of limitations must be pleaded”in
the answer to the complaint, that the defendant remains
obligated to act in a timely fashion, and that “A defendant
should no be permitted to ‘lie behind a log’ and ambush a
plaintiff with an unexpected defense.” Citing Perez v. united
States, 830 F.2d 54, 57 (5" Cir. 1987), and Davis v. Bryan,

810 F.2d 42 (2™ Cir. 1987). In this case, respondent raised

the statute of limitations defense in the motion for judgment

18

on the pleadings on August 12, 2003, three days before the
pre-trial conference on August 15, 2003. A trial date had
aiready been set by the District Court. Therefore, it was not
appropriate for the District Court to grant respondent’s
motion for judgment on the pleadings when respondent
invoked the statute of limitations in its brief to the Court.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be granted

Respectfully submitted,

ae hs Haha
Peter A. Dumbuva |

Counsel of Record
P.O. Box 3302

Phenix City, AL 30807
(706) 289-5082

APPENDIX

la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

COLUMBUS DIVISION

RICKY LEE BYNAM. ’
Plaintiff *
VS * CASE NO 4.02-CV-139-]

INTERMET MACHINING, *

Defendant ”

ORDER

The Court presently has pending before it Defendant
Intermet Machining’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings
The Court finds that Plaintiff's federal law claims are barred
by the applicable statute of limitations Therefore.
Defendant's Motion is granted as to those clams.) The Court
declines to exercise supplemental! jurisdiction over Plaintiff s
remaining state law claims, and those claims are dismissed

without prejudice.

2a

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Pursuant to Rule 12(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, any party may move for judgment on the
pleadings “[a]fter the pleadings are closed but within such
time as not to delay the trial” Fed. R. Civ. P. 12 ©).
“Judgment on the pleadings is appropriate where there are no
material facts in dispute and the moving party is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law.” Cannon v. City of W. Palm
Beach, 250 F.3d 1299, 1301 (11" Cir. 2001).. When
reviewing a motion f or judgment on the pleadings, the court
is bound to accept the facts in the plaintiff's complaint as true
and to view those facts in the light most favorable to the
nonmoving party. /d.

FACTS

Plainuff Ricky Lee Bynam (“Bynam”) was

discharged from his employment with Defendant Intermet

Machining (“Intermet’) on November 4, 1999. At that time,

3a

Bynam had a workers’ compensation claim pending with the
State of Georgia Board of Workers’ Compensation, arising
from injuries he suffered on May 10, 1999, while performing
his duties as a machine operator for Intermet. On June 2,
2000, Bynam filed a charge with the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”), alleging Intermet had
discriminated against him based on his race and disability.
The EEOC ultimately issued a Notice of Right to Sue on June
21, 2001. Bynam received this notice on June 25, 2001.

Bynam first filed a Complaint in this Court on
September 24, 2001, asserting Title VII and ADA claims.
Bynam V. Intermet Machining, No. 4:0\-CV-130-1 (M.D. Ga.
filed Sept. 24, 2001). Defendant Intermet does not dispute
that this Complaint was timely filed within ninety days of

Plaintiff receiving his right to sue notice.’ See 42 U.S.C. §

1 September 23, 2001. the ninetieth day following Bynam’s
receipt of a right to sue letter, fell on a Sunday. Pursuant to Rule
6(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Bynam therefore had

4a |

2000e-5(f) (1); see also Zillyette V. Capital One Fin. Corp.,
179 F.3d 1337, 1339 (,,th Cir. 1999) (noting Title VII’s
procedural requirements apply equally to ADA claims).
However, Bynam’s original suit was subsequently dismissed
on August 22, 2002.’

Plaintiff refiled his Complaint on September 4, 2002,
which was beyond the ninety-day statute of limitations period
for his federal claims. Intermet now seeks judgment on the

pleadings as to Plaintiff's federal law claims based upon the

until Monday, September 24, 2001, to file a complaint before
being time-barred from doing so. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(a).

2 The Court dismissed Plaintiff's original Complaint based upon
Plaintiff's counsel’s failure to comply with the Court’s local rules
which require that counsel be admitted to this Court to practice
before it. Plaintiff's counsel, a member of the Alabama bar, was
not a member of the Georgia bar and never sought admission, pro
hac vice or otherwise, to practice before this Court. Moreover,
counsel failed to take advantage of the Court’s several
opportunities to associate local counsel. The Court consequently
dismissed Plaintiff's Complaint without prejudice for failing to
comply with the Court’s Order and local rules.

Daa al

Sa
expiration of the statute of limitations.
DISCUSSION
The Court has federal question jurisdiction over this
case based upon Plaintiff Bynam’s claims under Title VII and
the ADA. See 28 U.S.C. § 1331. Both of these claims must
be brought within ninety days following the receipt by
Plaintiff of a Notice of Right to Sue. See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-
5(f) (1). Defendant seeks judgment on the pleadings based
upon the fact that Plaintiff did not file his Complaint in this
case within the applicable ninety-day statute of limitations
period. Plaintiff Bynam argues that the present motion
should be denied because his original Complaint was timely
filed, and the statute of limitations should be tolled during the
pendency of that action.
The present suit was clearly filed outside of the
ninety-day statute of limitations period. The Plaintiff filed

his original suit on September 24, 2001, the very last day of

6a
the ninety-day limitations period. He refiled the abeve
captioned case on September 4, 2002, almost one year after
the statute of limitations had expired. Accordingly, it is clear
that his federal law claims are untimely. Moreover, “t]he
fact that dismissal of an earlier suit was without prejudice
does not authorize a subsequent suit brought outside of the
otherwise binding period of limitations.” Stein v. Reynolds
Securities, Inc., 667 F.2d 33, 34 (1l~ Cir. 1982).
Plaintiff, relying upon Armstrong v. Martin Marietta
Corp., 93 F.3d 1505 (,,th Cir. 1996), argues that the statute of
limitations should be tolled during the pendency of his
original suit. Unfortunately for Plaintiff, even if the statute
of limitations were tolled, his claim would still be time-
barred because he did not file his claim within the time
remaining on the ninety-day limitation period. Plaintiff
chose to file his original suit on the very last day of the

ninety-day limitation period. Therefore, there was no time

Ta

left to toll during the pendency of that suit. Accordingly,
when his Complaint was dismissed, he had no time left on
the federal limitations period within which to file his federal
claims. Tolling does not start the limitations period anew but
simply suspends the running of the limitations period during
the pendency of the tolling event. See United States v.
Ibarra, 502 U.S. 1, 4n.2 (1991) (highlighting the application
of this principle in equitable tolling situations). Since no
additional time was left at the conclusion of the tolling event,
the tolling does not rescue Plaintiff's federal law claims in
this case.*

Even if tolling could help Plaintiff, the Court finds

that the doctrine of equitable tolling should not apply in this

3 The Court recognizes that this result in effect made the Court’s
dismissal of Plaintiff's original Complaint without prejudice a
dismissal with prejudice at least as to Plaintiff's federal law
claims. While this result may seem harsh, the Court notes that
Plaintiff had ample opportunity to avoid the original dismissal and
also had recourse to pursue an appeal of that order, which Plaintiff
chose not to do.

a NOS ae:

8a

case. Equitable tolling is available in employment
discrimination cases if the facts support its application. See
Goldsmith v. City of Atmore, 996 F.2d 1155, 1161 (,,th Cir.
1993) (citing Suarez v. Little Havana Activities, 721 F.2d
338, 340 (,,th Cir. 1983)) (noting ninety-day period is subject
to equitable tolling). However, such tolling should be used
sparingly. “Equitable tolling may be justified where the
plaintiff actively pursued judicial remedies by filing a
defective pleading within the Statutory period, or where the
plaintiff has been misled by the court into believing that a
filing was effective.” /d. (internal citations omitted)

The Court finds that Plaintiff did not properly pursue
his original action, which was ultimately dismissed because
of failure of Plaintiff's counsel to follow the Court’s rules
and obey its orders. The Court also finds that although the

Court’s dismissal was stated to be without prejudice, Plaintiff

could not have been misled by that Order because at the time

9a

it was entered Plaintiff should have known that the statute of
limitations had already expired, and Plaintiff made no effort
to oppose the dismissal or seek its reversal on appeal.
Therefore, even if the tolling of the statute of limitations
during the pendency of the original case could rescue
Plaintiff's time-barred federal claims, the Court finds that
equitable tolling should not apply under the facts of this case.

In addition to his claims for employment
discrimination, Plaintiff Bynam also asserts state law claims
for retaliation for filing a workers’ compensation claim and
intentional infliction of emotional distress. Having granted
Defendant Intermet judgment on the pleadings as to Plaintiff
Bynam’s federal claims, the Court declines to exercise
supplemental jurisdiction over these claims. 28 U.S.C. §
1367(c) (3).

CONCLUSION

The Court grants Defendant’s Motion for Judgment

Site i ee ek

Ilda
on the Pleadings as to Plaintiff's federal law Claims, which
are dismissed with prejudice. The Court declines to exercise
supplemental jurisdiction over Plaintiff's remaining state law
claims, which are dismissed without prejudice.

IT IS SO ORDERED, this 10% day of September,
2003.

/s/ CLAY D. LAND
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

lla

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No.03-15051

Non-Argument Calendar

D.C. Docket No. 02-00139-CV-1-CDL-4
RICKY LEE BYNAM,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
INTERMET MACHINING,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Georgia

(March 5, 2004)
Before TJOFLAT, BIRCH and MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Ricky Lee Bynam (“Bynam”) appeals the district

12a

court’s order granting defendant Intermet Machining’s
(“Intermet”) motion for judgment on the pleadings in his
employment discrimination action. The district court ruled
that Bynam’s two federal claims against Intermet were
untimely and then declined to exercise supplemental
jurisdiction over his state-law claims. WE AFFIRM.
I. BACKGROUND

Bynam was employed as a machinist for Intermet and
was injured in a workplace accident in May of 1999. He
filed a claim with the State of Georgia Board of Workers’
Compensation, and on 4 November 1999, while this claim
was pending, Intermet terminated his employment. Bynam
filed a complaint with the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission (“EEOC”), alleging that he was fired because of
his race and his disability. He received a “Notice of Right to

Sue” letter from the EEOC on 25 June 2001.

Upon receipt of this letter, Bynam had 90 days to

13a
initiate his civil lawsuit pursuant to 42 U.S.C. $§ 2000e-
5(f)(1). On 24 September 2001,’ Bynam filed a complaint in
the District Court for the Middle District of Georgia alleging
two federal claims and, two state-law claims: (1) discharge
based on race in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seq; (2)
disc. «ge based on disability in violation of the Americans
with Disabilities Act (“ADA”), 42 U.S.C. § 12111 et seq.; (3)
retaliatory discharge; and (4) intentional infliction of

emotional distress. This complaint (“Bynam I”) was

dismissed on 22 August 2002 after Bynam’s counsel failed to
comply with the local rules requiring him to be admitted to

practice in the Middle District of Georgia bar or to associate

1 24 September 2001 marked the 91st day after Bynam
received his EEOC letter. Because 23 September was a
Sunday, however, Bynam’ s complaint filed on 24 September
was timely filed under Rule 6(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

l4a

with local counsel. Bynam did not appeal. Instead, on 4
September 2002, Bynam filed a second complaint (“Bynam
Ir’) alleging the same four claims.

Intermet filed a motion for judgment on the pleadings
as to the two federal claims, pursuant to Federal RUle of
Civil Pro~edure 12(c), on the ground that the statute of
limitations for those claims had expired. Bynam, on the other
hand, argued that Intermet’s motion should be denied
because his complaint in Bynam I was timely filed and the
Bynam II complaint was filed within 30 days following the
dismissal of Bynam I.

The district court concluded that the Bynam Il

complaint was filed outside the 90-day statute of limitations
period imposed under 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f)(1).
Accordingly, the district court granted Intermet’s motion for
judgment on the pleadings—dismissing with prejudice the

federal claims—and then declined to exercise supplemental

15a

jurisdiction over Bynam’s state-law claims. Bynam now
appeals.
II. DISCUSSION
On appeal, Bynam argues (a) that his federal claims
should be considered as timely filed and (b) the district court
should have exercised supplemental jurisdiction over his
state-law claims. We discuss these issues in turn.

A. Judgment on the Pleadings

We review de novo the grant of a motion for

judgment on the pleadings. Cannonv. City of West Palm

Beach, 250 F.3d 1299, 1301 (llth Cir. 2001). The district
court dismissed Bynam’ s complaint as untimely and also
declined to apply the doctrine of equitable tolling We
address each issue in turn.

1. Bynam’s Untimely Complaint

Under Title VII and the ADA, after receiving the EEOC’s

“Right to Sue” letter, Bynam had 90 days to initiate a civil

16a

action. 42 U.S.C. §$ 2000e5-(f)( 1), 12117(a); Santini_v.
Cleveland Clinic Florida, 232 F.3d 823, 825 (11th Cir. 2000)
(per curiam); Zillyeftev. Capital One Financial Corp., 179
F.3d 1337, 1339 (11th Cir. 1999). The parties do not dispute
that Bynam’ s complaint in Bynam I, which was dismissed
without prejudice, was timely filed; they dispute whether the
complaint in Bynam II, which was dismissed with prejudice
as to the federal claims, should be considered as similarly
timely filed.

Under our precedent, “[t]he fact that dismissal of an
earlier suit was without prejudice does not authorize a
subsequent suit brought outside of the otherwise binding
period of limitations.” Stein v. Reynolds Sec.. Inc., 667 F.2d
33, 34 (11th Cir. 1982). Because Bynam II was filed almost
one year after the statute of limitations had expired, the
district court correctly concluded that Bynam’s two federal

Claims were untimely.

17a
Bynam argues, however, relying on Johnson v. Ry.
Express Agency. Inc., 489 F.2d 525 (6th Cir. 1973), affd,
421 U.S. 454, 95 S. Ct. 1716 (1975), and Armstrong v.

Martin Marietta Corp., 138 F.3d 1374 (11th Cir. 1998) (en

banc), that his complaint in Bynam II should be considered as
timely because it was filed within 30 days of the dismissal of

the complaint in Bynam I. Bynam misreads the Sixth

Circuit’s analysis in Johnson and his reliance on Armstrong

is similarly misplaced. In Johnson, the

plaintiff—Johnson—filed an employment discrimination
action alleging vioiations under Title VII and state law. 489
F.2d at 526. Prior to trial, Johnson’s appointed counsel
withdrew with permission, and the district court wrote a letter
to Johnson providing him 30 days to obtain new counsel or
have his case dismissed without prejudice. Id. at 527.
Johnson did not obtain new counsel within that time, and the

court dismissed his case without prejudice. Id. When

18a

Johnson filed a second complaint, three months after the
dismissal of the original complaint, the district court
dismissed certain claims on the grounds of res iudicata and
ruled that Johnson’s failure to refile a lawsuit within 30 days
from the date of dismissal resulted in a failure to comply with
the 30-day filing requirement.” Id. When Johnson argued that
he was not required to file suit within 30 days after the
dismissal without prejudice because he fulfilled the statutory
requirement of filing his initial complaint within 30 days of
receiving his right-to-sue letter, the Sixth Circuit expressly
disagreed. Id. at 528. Thus, Johnson is inapposite to this
case.

Bynam’s reliance on Armstrong is_ similarly

misplaced. In that case, we determined that the 90-day

2 The 30-day filing requirement in Johnson was prescribed
under 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e)(1). In contrast, the filing
period applicable to the Bynam II complaint is 90 days
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f)(1).

19a

period for filing a civil action under the Age Discrimination
in Employment Act was tolled for individual members of a
class until the district court entered an interlocutory order
denying class certification. 138 F.3d at 1378. We also
concluded that the limitations period remained equitably
tolled for four appellants who had been affirmatively
misinformed by the EEOC as to the statute of limitations, but
was not equitably tolled as to other appellants who did not
receive affirmative misinformation. Id. at 1393. Bynam,
however, is neither a member of a class nor was he
misinformed by the EEOC (or the district court) about the
statutory filing period. Thus, Armstrong is also inapposite to
this case, and the district court correctly concluded that the
federal claims contained in the Bynam II complaint were
untimely filed.

2. The Doctrine of Equitable Tolling

The 90-day statute of limitations rule applicable to

20a

actions arising under Title VII and the ADA is not
jurisdictional. Jackson v. Seaboard Coast Line R.R. Co., 678
F.2d 992, 1007 (11th Cir. 1982). As a result, the limitations
period is subject to equitable tolling. Suarez v. Little Havana
Activities, 721 F.2d 338, 340 (11th Cir. 1983) (per curiam).
“Equitable tolling may be justified where the plaintiff
actively pursued judicial remedies by filing a defective
pleading within the statutory period, or where the plaintiff
has been misled by the court into believing that a filing was

effective.” Goldsmith v. City of Atmore, 996 F.2d //55,

1161 (11th Cir. 1993). Neither situation is present in this

case. In Goldsmith, we held that the plaintiff's complaint,

filed on the 94th day after she received her EEOC letter, was
timely filed. 996 F.2d at 1161. Instead of a complaint, the
plaintiff originally filed her EEOC letter and a memorandum
outlining a summary of the allegations against her employer.

Id. at //58. The district court ordered her to file a formal

21a

complaint by a certain date—which was 94 days after she
received her EEOC letter—and the plaintiff complied. Id.
Even though the plaintiff's complaint was filed outside of the
90-day requirement, we determined that it should be
considered as timely filed because the plaintiff “was led by
the district court to believe that her defective filing was
effective for purposes of the 90-day rule.” Id. at 1161. Thus,
we concluded that the 90-day limitations period was toiled
until the date the plaintiff filed her formal complaint. Id.

In contrast to the situation in Goldsmith, Bynam’s

complaint in Bynam I was not defective. Rather, his counsel
was not authorized under the local rules to represent Bynam
in federal district court. The district court expressly notified
Bynam that he was required to comply with the rules by a
certain date or face dismissal of his civil action. When
counsel failed to comply, the court dismissed Bynam’s case.

Therefore, the district court correctly concluded that Bynam

22a
failed to properly pursue his original action. Moreover,
Bynam was not misled by the district court into believing that
he could file his complaint in Bynam II outside the 90-day
statute of limitations. The district court again correctly
concluded that Bynam should have known that the statute of
limitations had already expired when Bynam I was subject to
dismissal, and he made no effort to oppose the dismissal of
Bynam I or seek its, reversal on appeal. Thus, Bynam has
not demonstrated that the doctrine of equitable tolling should
apply to this case.
B. Supplemental Jurisdiction
A decision under 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c) with respect to

the retention of supplemental jurisdiction over state law

3 We note also that, even if the doctrine of equitable tolling
could rescue Bynam’s claims, those claims would still be
time-barred because he filed his complaint on the very last
day of the 90-day limitation period—24 September 2001.
Thus, there is no time left to toll during the pendency of that
suit.

23a
claims is reviewed for abuse of discretion. Shotz v. City of
Plantation, 334 F.3d 1161, 1185 (11th Cir. 2003).

28 U.S.C. § 1367 dictates that the district court may
decline to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over a claim if
“the district court has dismissed all claims over which it has
original jurisdiction.” 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3). In this case,
the district court dismissed Bynam’s two federal claims over
which it had original jurisdiction. Because section 1367
allows the district court to then decline supplemental
jurisdiction over adjacent state-law claims, the court’s
decision to decline such jurisdiction was not an abuse of
discretion.

Ill. CONCLUSION

On appeal, Bynam alleged that the federal claims in
his complaint in Bynam II should not have been dismissed as
untimely and that the district court should have exercised

supplemental jurisdiction over his state-law claims. We

24a
conclude that (1) the district court properly determined that
Bynam’s complaint was filed outside the 90-day statute of
limitations period, thus barring his federal claims; (2)
equitable tolling of the 90-day limitations period is not
warranted in this case; and (3) the district court acted in
accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 1367 in declining to exercise
supplemental jurisdiction over the state law claims after
dismissing the federal claims over which it had original
jurisdiction. Accordingly, the judgment of the district court

is AFFIRMED.

25a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 03-15051-JJ

RICKY LEE BYNAM,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
INTERMET MACHINING,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Georgia

ON PETITION (S) FOR REHE AND PETITION (S

FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion , 19° Cr. 19. F. 2d ).

Before: TIOFLAT, BIRCH and MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

- “

26a
The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no Judge in

regular active service on the Court having requested that the
Court be polled on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules
of Appellate Procedure), the Petition(s) for Rehearing EN

BANC and DENIED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1263%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
