# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — In re Lentino

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1017%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1041

## Text

Court,
FILED
9g 98 «621 OCT 14

Orticc UF THE CLERK

y,

N

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1998

IN RE: MARTA A. LENTINO,

Petitioner.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Marta A. LENTINO
Petitioner Pro-Se

99 N. Post Oak Lane # 1207
Houston, Texas 77024
(713) 956-6155

(713) 956-6434 (Fax)

QUESTIONS STATED

Question 1.

Whether the Fifth Circuit’s Court erred by cutting
Petitioners’ only avenue to undo manifest injustice of a
District Court exercising control over a remanded state
court case, enjoining a non-debtor state court defendant
from exercising her legitimate legal rights to defend her-
self, refute the allegations of opposing party, counter-
claim and otherwise participate in the state court
litigation, penalizing such exercise with a jail sentence,
which orders were issued after it had remanded the
removed state court case back to the state court, conflict-
ing with decisions rendered by other circuits, in that
when case is remanded such order is not subject to chal-
lenge in the court of appeals by appeal, mandamus or
otherwise, Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423
U.S. 336, 343, 96 S.Ct. 584, 589 (1976) and is a well settled
principle of law that remand statute divests District
Court of jurisdiction over a case once it mails a certified
copy of the remand order to the clerk of the state court,
conflicting with the decision rendered in Trans Penn Wax
Corp. v. McCandless, 50 F.3d 217 (3rd Cir.1995), in Brown-
ing v. Navarro, 743 F.2d 1069 (5th Cir.1984), rehearing
denied, 747 F.2d 1465, appeal after remand 826 F.2d 335
(Sth Cir.1987), rehearing denied 830 F.2d 1126, rehearing
denied Navarro v. Holloway, 830 F.2d 1126, appeal after
remand 887 F.2d 553, (5th Cir.1989) rehearing denied 894
F.2d 99 (5th Cir.1990) and the decision rendered by this
Honorable Court in Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 517
U.S. 706, 116 S.Ct. 1712 (1996).

ii
QUESTIONS STATED —- Continued

Question 2.

Whether the Fifth Circuit’s court erred by leaving in
place orders which inflict harm, are usurpative in nature
and violate legitimate legal rights, which were issued by
the District Court lacking jurisdiction for it had previ-
ously remanded the removed state court case back to the
state court. Conflicting with 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c), 28 U.S.C.
§ 1447(d).

sitll iaaaaiaaiaaiiaidiatia ii

iii
LIST OF PARTIES

Parties to the Case
1. Petitioner Marta A. Lentino, non Debtor.
2. Eduardo P. Lentino, Debtor
3. Jorge A. Lentino, Debtor

4. Lowell T. Cage, Chapter 7 Trustee of the Bank-
ruptcy Estates of Eduardo P. Lentino, M.D., and Jorge A.
Lentino, M.D.

Counsel in the Case

5. Mrs. Marta A. Lentino, Pro-Se, 99 N. Post Oak
Lane # 1207, Houston, Texas 77024, representing herself.

6. Mrs. Theresa Mobley, Cage, Hill & Niehaus L.L.P.
5851 San Felipe, Suite # 950, Houston, Texas 77057, Attor-
ney for Chapter 7 Trustee Lowell T. Cage.

7. Mr. Scott Rothenberg, Law Offices of Scott
Rothenberg, 4710 Bellaire Blvd., Suite # 160, Bellaire,
Texas 77401, special counsel for Chapter 7 Trustee Lowell
T. Cage.

Other Interested Parties

7. Mr. Richard T. Howell, Jr., Buckley, Mathews,
White, Howell & Janik L.L.P., 2401 Fountainview, Suite
1000, Houston, Texas 77057, Attorney for Cullen Center
Bank and Trust, n/k/a Frost National Bank.

LIST OF PARTIES —- Continued

8. The Honorable Morley H. White, 26600 George
Zeiger Suite # 909, Beechwood, Ohio 44122, Special
Counsel for Chapter 7 Trustee, Lowell T. Cage.

9. Gary S. Tradd, 4731 Ingersoll, Houston, Texas
77027, Special Counsel for Chapter 7 Trustee, Lowell T.
Cage.

10. Neal D. Cannon, Martin and Cannon P.C., 6363
Woodway Suite 902, Houston, Texas 77056, Special Coun-
sel for Chapter 7 Trustee, Lowell T. Cage.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)
bo a Ee so Ser rrr peers i
fo LN PERO OPETS CEPT CTER EPEC OeS for ree iii
pp Bs 5, a Re ee Vv
I ooo aan bad hecanse an wks arb dada as 1
TRON act cok ed sbanwe hanes sgucwetabeeas 1
STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS
REG Acie Wicd aty tees ship's cose nescedse 1
STAT res: SIR BEES CAs do coo vin ce cnseccssons 1
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 5
A. This is an appropriate case in which to grant the
writ in order to maintain uniformity in well-
established principle of law that remand statute
divests District Court of jurisdiction over case, as
soon as remand order is entered, once it mails a
certified copy of the remand order to the clerk of
thee: GUMS. COMING iG hn 5 a ers a i 5
B. This is an appropriate case in which to grant the
writ because it involves an important question of
Federal Law — the extent to which a U.S. District
Court can continue to exercise control and juris-
diction over a non Debtor state court defendant
in a remanded state court case over two and a
half years after it had remanded the removed
state court case to the state court and after it had
lifted the automatic stay allowing the litigation to
OG TONE orn coin ag oc pated Kane ee at M8 0g 6 odae aoe 8
ee ET. 8 | ie Sa tae ri oe eee ee eee 9
APPENDIX 1: FIFTH CIRCUIT ORDER ..... App. 1
APPENDIX 2: FIFTH CIRCUIT ORDER ..... App. 3

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

APPENDIX 3:

APPENDIX 4:

APPENDIX 5:

APPENDIX 6:

APPENDIX 7:

APPENDIX 8:

APPENDIX 9:

APPENDIX 10:

APPENDIX 11:

Page

DISTRICT COURT ORDER

REMANDING CASE ......... App.

DISTRICT COURT ORDER
RECEIVED BY THE STATE

DISTRICT COURT ORDER .. .App.

JUDGMENT AND OPINION
OF THE COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE 14TH DISTRICT,

HOUSTON, TEXAS........... App.

THE SUPREME COURT OF
TEXAS DENIAL OF APPLICA-
TION FOR REHEARING ON
APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF

BRI 6 0 os vinta donsnoap case App.

EXCERPTS FROM THE TRAN-
SCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS OF

IOV. Bly BIOs cccsaubcateses App.

EXCERPTS FROM THE TRAN-
SCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS OF

JAIN. 2ide BFPO a0 020 vevencceces App.

ORDER SETTING SCHEDUL-

ING CONFERENCE.......... App.

28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1), 28 U.S.C.
§ 1334(c)(2), 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c),

20

21

28

31

Vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Browning v. Navarro, 743 F.2d 1069 (5th Cir.1984),
rehearing denied, 747 F.2d 1465, appeal after
remand 826 F.2d 335 (5th Cir.1987), rehearing
denied Navarro v. Holloway, 830 F.2d 1126,
appeal after remand 887 F.2d 553 (5th Cir.1989),
rehearing denied 894 F.2d 99 (5th Cir.1990) ...

Burnham v. Superior Court of California, 110 S.Ct.
eee SRO AONE ih ae Ve TEKS Stinks Fhe tives
In re Cathedral of Incarnation in Diocese of Long
Island, 90 F.3d 28 (2nd Cir.1996) rehearing denied,
eo & hr Fe 4. Re Serer err

In re Conejo Enterprises, Inc., 96 F.3d 346 (9th
LED cicctneatsnrticandudetatandehscae sas

In re Lowe, 102 F.3d 731 (4th Cir.1996)...........
Lentino v. Cullen Center Bank and Trust, 919 S.W.2d
743 (Tex.App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 1996, writ
Cae hin bh iexere sc ete bi awudiceheuses 0

Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Ward Trucking Corp., 48 F.3d
PR MOUER 60 cS GV eUseesdcadccenecsecees

Litkey v. U.S., 510 U.S. 540 (1994)...............

Matter of U.S. Brass Corp., 110 F.3d 1261 (7th
oe Pe ee ryt et ee ey oe eee eee

Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 517 U.S. 706, 116
SE ein a dt tee Ler ncantectan «

Seedman v. U.S. Dist. Court For Cent. D. of Cal., 837
i § Fs | Sr errr

Page(s)

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
State Bank of Lombard v. Charthouse, Inc., 46 B.R.

ee NS in. ban Woes vnpedGhn boncg soceae¥sos 2
Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S.

Sa Ns Ew cS esi cccensPecatesceaewsnse 7
Thompson v. Radosta, 906 F.Supp. 367 (E.D.La.1995) ..... 6
Trans Penn Wax Corp. v. McCandless, 50 F.3d 217

Ce ER eae ciakke ote eaten bea dk eee kd bas ned eens 6
U.S. v. Jordan, 49 F.3d 152 (5th Cir.1995) ............. 4

STATUTES
Be CE Be henge Sens lvg ues eek state seceteeeebs 2
Pi te a ey rere rey 23
BE Rc Ee EE ras ns bbe se SE ae a euircdgiehdces sa 6, 8
Bp MPa Se fais, 0 Cad dca sve Scch vices tckeues 8
CF. CE I FUND six tin biek'd Seis os aac de te 5

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Marta A. Lentino, respectfully requests
that the Court grant the Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

¢

ORDERS BELOW

Petitioners’ Appendices provide the pertinent
Orders.

JURISDICTION
Jurisdiction exists under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

¢

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Petitioners’ Appendices provide the pertinent Section
of the United States Code.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit entered its order denying Petitioners’ Petition for
Writ of Mandamus on June 29, 1998. Petitioner filed a
Petition for Rehearing and a Suggestion for Rehearing En
Banc, which the Fifth Circuit denied on August 10, 1998.

Petitioner is the non debtor wife of Eduardo P. Len-
tino, M.D. a general surgeon, and is a co-defendant in

state court case No. 91-18878 styled Cullen Center Bank
and Trust v. Eduardo P. Lentino et al., which was filed on
May 3, 1991, and is currently pending, after its reversal,
in the 281st Judicial District Court of Harris County,
Texas. Petitioner attended Law School overseas, although
not yet licensed to practice in the State of Texas.

On October 26, 1993 Cullen bank obtained a judg-
ment, said usurious and fraudulent judgment was later
reversed by the Court of Appeals for the 14th District,
Houston, Texas, and Writ of Error was denied by the
Supreme Court of Texas. Lentino v. Cullen Center Bank and
Trust, 919 S.W.2d 743 (Tex. App. - Houston [14th Dist.]
1996, writ denied).

On August 24, 1994 Eduardo P. Lentino, M.D. and his
brother Jorge A. Lentino, M.D. filed for Chapter 7 bank-
ruptcy following the entrance of said erroneous judgment
and the seizure of all of their business and termination of
their employment contracts. 7

On August 30, 1994 Debtor Eduardo P. Lentino, M.D.,
a state court defendant, removed the state court Case No.
91-18878 to the U.S. District Court, the Honorable Judge
Lynn N. Hughes presiding. On September 27, 1994 Cullen
Bank, n/k/a Frost National Bank filed a motion for
remand and abstention stating that the case should be
remanded mandatorily to state court or in the alternate
that the Federal Court should abstain and remand, rely-
ing therein on 28 U.S.C. § 1334, also stating in its motion
that courts must abstain under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(2)
relying therein on State Bank of Lombard v. Charthouse, Inc.,
46 B.R. 468, 470-71 (N.D. Ill. 1985), or alternatively that

the District Court exercise its discretionary power to abs-
tain in the interest of justice, or in the interest of comity
with state courts or respect for State law, relying on
1334(c)(1). Further Cullen Bank informed the District
Court that there were non-debtors parties involved in the
state court proceeding.

On January 25, 1995 the District Court granted Cullen
bank’s motion and abstention was entered, said order
was mailed to the state court by certified mail on January
25, 1995. The Chapter 7 Trustee of the bankruptcy estates
of Debtors Lentino did not intervene and/or appeal said
order to remand the removed state court case to the state
court.

Well over two and a half years after the state court
case had been remanded the District Court entered a
series of orders at the instance and request of the joint
bankruptcy case Trustee Lowell T. Cage, which orders
totally precluded this Petitioner from defending herself in
said siate court litigation. Petitioner was ordered to with-
draw her pleadings in the state court case where she is
still a defendant, was orally instructed “not to file any-
thing” under threat of being sent either to the Harris
County jail or the Montgomery County jail if she tries to
represent and defend herself in said litigation. Petitioner
already was incarcerated for several hours in the Federal
Court building jail for filing pleadings in the state court
litigation to defend and protect her interest. Petitioners’
interests are not represented by anyone and has other-
wise not retained counsel, and has dismissed her pre-

vious trial attorney.

‘iia

On May 13, 1998 the District Court lifted the auto-
matic Stay allowing the litigation to go forward, but
keeping in place the injunctive orders issued against this
Petitioner, which orders precluded Petitioner from filing
any pleadings in her own defense in said remanded case
where she is still a defendant.

The District Court made improper biased and derog-
atory remarks regarding this Petitioner and her family
and improperly imported into the trial court its personal
view about the Hispanic people by stating that “One of
the real tragedies of American Life is the exploitation of
physicians. They are just put upon by everybody. You
know, illiterate Hispanic housewives and physicians, who
own hospitals and live in houses of more than a million
dollars of value, those are the tragic people in our soci-
ety” and further stating “I just don’t know how these
people can stand to live with themselves”. To the extent
that a judge has become biased due to opinions formed
during the judicial proceeding, disqualification is
required if the Judge displays a high degree of favoritism
or antagonism that would make a fair judgment impossi-
ble. Litkey v. U.S., 510 U.S. at 554, U.S. v. Jordan, 49 F.3d at
155.

The Fifth Circuit did not enter its opinion stating its
rationale for denying Petitioners’ Writ of Mandamus.
Petitioner ask the Court to exercise its certiorari jurisdic-
tion and resolve these issues and settle an important
question of Federal law - the extent to which a US.
District Court can continue to exercise control and juris-
diction over a non Debtor state court defendant in a
remanded state court case over two and a half years after
it had remanded the removed state court case to the state

court and after it had lifted the automatic stay allowing
the litigation to go forward.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. This is an important case in which to grant the writ
in order to maintain uniformity of well-established
principle of law that remand statute divests District
Court of jurisdiction over case, as soon as remand
order is entered, once it mails a certified copy of the
remand order to the clerk of the state court.

Because the Fifth Circuit Court allowed the District
Court to keep in place injunctive orders towards this
Petitioner, issued over two and a half years after it had
remanded the removed state court case to the state court,
which orders penalize the lawful exercise of legitimate
legal rights to defend oneself against the opposing party
allegations and otherwise participate in the litigation like
any other defendant that has been afforded equal protec-
tion of the laws guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amend-
ment of the U.S. Constitution, to a jail sentence, and
subjects this Petitioner to an imposed default leaving the
floor open for Cullen Center Bank and Trust, n/k/a Frost
National Bank, to proceed unhampered towards a devas-
tating judgment against this Petitioner, in essence, inflict-
ing a sanction without any hearing or adjudication
thereon. It is appropriate for this-honorable Court to
maintain in place the decisions rendered by other circuits
including the Fifth Circuit.

As a matter of federal statute, remand is effected
when the Federal Court clerk sends a certified copy of the

order of remand to the clerk of the state court, and it may
proceed with the case, 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c).

Remand statute divests District Court of jurisdiction
over case as soon as remand order is entered and from
that point on it cannot reconsider its ruling even if dis-
trict court clerk fails to mail certified copy of remand
order to state court. In re Lowe, 102 F.3d 731 (4th Cir.1996).
Further in Trans Penn Wax Corp. v. McCandless, 50 F.3d 217
(3rd Cir.1995) the Third Circuit stated that physical mail-
ing of certified copy of remand order to state court is key
event to divest District Court of jurisdiction, which con-
curs with this Circuits’ opinion in Browning v. Navarro,
743 F.2d 1069 (Sth Cir.1984), rehearing denied, 747 F.2d
1465, appeal after remand 826 F. 2d 335 (5th Cir. 1987),
rehearing denied, Navarro v. Holloway, 830 F.2d 1126,
appeal after remand 887 F.2d 553 (5th Cir.1989) rehearing
denied 894 F.2d 99 (5th Cir.1990).

Furthermore, reconsideration will be impermissible
for order remanding case to state court based on lack of
diversity jurisdiction, remand order coinpletely divested
court of subject matter jurisdiction, Thompson v. Radosta,
906 F.Supp. 367 (E.D.La.1995).

Further when District Court remands case which has
been removed to state court, district-court disassociates
itself from case entirely, retaining nothing of the matter
on federal court’s docket Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co.,
517 U.S. 706, 116 S.Ct. 1712 (1996).

Court of Appeals lacks jurisdiction to review district
court’s remand order which was based on lack of jurisdic-
tion over state breach of contract claim, where state
action was removed from state court pursuant to statute

governing removal of claims relating to bankruptcy cases,
and district court ordered the case remanded to state
court on mandatory abstention grounds. In re Conejo
Enterprises, Inc. 96 F.3d 346 (9th Cir.1996). Further, the
Court of Appeals lacked jurisdiction over appeal from
district court order remanding eminent domain proceed-
ings, regardless whether decision to remand was based
on legal or equitable determination. In re Cathedral of
Incarnation in Diocese of Long Island, 90 F.3d 28, (2nd
Cir.1996), rehearing denied, 99 F.3d 66 (2nd Cir.1996).

The mere fact that bankruptcy court may have erred
in concluding that there was equitable ground to remand
removed proceeding did not permit review of remand
order, pursuant to statute providing for remand on any
equitable ground and providing that decision to remand
would not be reviewable, where court’s stated ground for
remand was equitable one. Matter of U.S. Brass Corp., 110
F.3d 1261 (7th Cir.1997).

Federal judges can remand with impunity if they
don’t state their reasons: “if a trial judge purports to
remand a case on the ground that it was removed
improvidently and without jurisdiction, his order is not
subject to challenge in the courts of appeal by appeal, by
mandamus, or otherwise Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Her-
mansdorfer, 423 U.S. 336, 343, 96 S.Ct. 584, 589 (1976),
(emphasis added). There is usually no right of appeal
from an order remanding a removed action, because the
remand order is not a final judgment on the merits,
Thermtron, supra, at 352-353, 96 S.Ct. 594. Further, after
certification to state court, federal court can not vacate
remand order and once it has certified the remand order

to state court it is divested of jurisdiction and can take no
further action on case. Seedman v. U.S. Dist. Court For
Cent. D. of Cal., 837 F.2d 413 (9th Cir.1988).

When a District Court exercises its power to remand
under 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c), § 1447(d) its order is non-
reviewable. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Ward Trucking Corp., 48
F.3d 742, 750 (3rd Cir.1995). The panel decision is erro-
neous for it allows to remain in place orders which inflict
irreparable harm, which were issued by the District Court
after it had relinquished jurisdiction to the state district
court, it also allows the crushing of fundamental legiti-
mate legal rights and legitimizes an erroneous abusive
preclusion and sanction imposing a sure destiny of
default and damages and subjects Petitioner to incur in
multiple litigation to defend and protect Petitioners’
rights, defenses and counterclaims. Petitioner respectfully
requests that this Court grant the Writ and reverses the
Fifth Circuit’s denial of granting mandamus and dissolve
the injunctive orders issued against this Petitioner, non
Debtor state court defendant, which were issued lacking
jurisdiction and/or exceeding its prescribed jurisdiction.

B. This is an appropriate case in which to grant the
writ because it involves an important question of
Federal Law - the extent to which a U.S. District
Court can continue to exercise control and jurisdic-
tion over a non Debtor state court defendant in a
remanded state court case over two and a half years
after it had remanded the removed state court case
to the state court and after it had lifted the auto-
matic stay allowing the litigation to go forward.

The Panel did not state in its orders its rationale
when it denied Petitioners’ petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing en banc. This honorable Court
has stated that judgment entered by a court lacking juris-
diction is void (per Justice Scalia with three Justices con-
curring and five Justices concurring in the judgment)
Burnham v. Superior Court of California, 110 S.Ct. 2105
(1990), supra, [n.1] at 2106. Therefore, orders entered lack-
ing jurisdiction are also void.

¢

CONCLUSION

The Fifth Circuits’ denial of Petitioner’s Petition for
Writ of Mandamus given the extraordinary circumstances
in this case injects uncertainty into an area of the law in
which certainty and stability are critical regarding juris-
dictional issues and because it leaves in place injunctive
orders which inflict irreparable harm, allows the crushing
of fundamental legitimate legal rights and condones the
manifest injustice by precluding this non-Debtor state
court defendant from defending herself and participate in
the litigation in which she is a named defendant. This can
not be condoned in our judicial system. The exercise of
legitimate legal rights can not be negated, conditioned or
penalized with a jail sentence. For these reasons Peti-
tioner asks the Court to grant writ of certiorari and
reverse the denial of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

Marta A. LENTINO

Petitioner Pro-Se

99 N. Post Oak Lane # 1207
Houston, Texas 77024

(713) 956-6155

(713) 956-6434 (FAX)

App. 1

APPENDIX 1
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 98-20491

In Re: MARTA A LENTINO

Petitioner

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, Houston

(Filed Aug. 10, 1998)

ON MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION AND SUGGES-
TION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Before JOLLY, HIGGINBOTHAM, and DeMOSS, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(“) The Motion for Reconsideration is DENIED and no
member of this panel nor judge in regular active service
on the court having requested that the court be polled on
Rehearing Er. Banc, (Fep. R. App. P. and 5TH Cir. R. 35) the
Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) The Motion for Reconsideration is DENIED and the
court having been polled at the request of one of the
members of the court and a majority of the judges who
are in regular active service not having voted in favor.

App. 2

(Feo. R. Apr. P. and 51x Cir. R. 35) the Suggestion for
Rehearing En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) A member of the court in active service having
requested a poll on the reconsideration of this cause en
banc, and a majority of the judges in active service not
having voted in favor, Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ P. Higginbotham
United States Circuit Judge

REHG-4

App. 3

APPENDIX 2
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 98-20491

In Re: MARTA A LENTINO

Petitioner

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, Houston

(Filed Jun. 29, 1998)

Before JOLLY, HIGGINBOTHAM, and DeMOSS, Circuit
Judges.

BY THE COURT:

IT IS ORDERED that petitioner’s writ of mandamus
is denied.

App. 4

APPENDIX 3

Unrrep States District Court
SouTHERN District oF TExAs

Cutten Center BANK & Trust, §
Plaintiff, ;
— § Civ. ACTION
Epuarvo P. Lentino, et al., § H-94-3007
Defendants. ;

Orper To REMAND

The removal having been an abusive misuse of the
bankruptcy system, this case is remanded to the 269th
Judicial District Court of Texas, Harris County (#4).

Signed January 25, 1995, at Houston, Texas.

/s/ Lynn N. Hughes
Lynn N. Hughes
United States District Judge

TRUE COPY I CERTIFY
ATTEST: 7-2-98
MICHAEL N. MILBY, Clerk

By /s/ L. Babbitt

Deputy Clerk

App. 5

APPENDIX 4
91-18878

Unrtep States District Court
SOUTHERN District oF TEXAS

Cutten Center BANK & Trust, §
Plaintiff, :
versus § Crvit ACTION
Epuarpbo P. LEentiNno, et al., § H-94-3007
Defendants. ;

Orper To REMAND
(Filed Feb. 3, 1995)

The removal having been an abusive misuse of the
bankruptcy system, this case is remanded to the 269th
Judicial District Court of Texas, Harris County (#4).

Signed January 25, 1995, at Houston, Texas.

/s/ Lynn N. Hughes
Lynn N. Hughes
United States District Judge

App. 6

[Envelope]
[Post Office Stamp — Feb. 2, 1995]

CLERK
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
POST OFFICE BOX 61010
HOUSTON, TEXAS 77208

OFFICIAL BUSINESS
PENALTY FOR PRIVATE USE $300

Katherine Tyra

269th JDC of Harris County
301 Fannin Room 400
Houston, Tx 77002

CERTIFIED MAIL
P 714 717 285

STATE OF TEXAS
COUNTY OF HARRIS

I, Charles Bacarisse, District Clerk of
Harris County, Texas, do hereby certify
that the foregoing data is a true and
correct copy of the original record,
now in my lawful orderly and posses-
sion as appears of record in my office.

a) filed on 2/3/95

b) recorded under Vol. ___ Judge __
in the minutes of said court

c) abstracted from the file record in
my lawful possession electron-
ically stored in digital form and

App. 7

pertaining to the in reference
to cause number , or

d) abstracted from the original record
in my lawful possession electron-
ically stored in digital form per-
taining to __ from ___ to the
present date.

Witness my office hand and seal of
office this SEP 03 1998

CHARLES BACARISSE,
DISTRICT CLERK
Harris County, Texas

By /s/ Deputy
O. FLORES

App. 8

APPENDIX 5

Unitrep States District Court
SOUTHERN District OF TEXAS

IN Re Jorce A. LENTINO, §
Epuarpbo P. LENTINO, §
Marta LENTINO, § Civit ACTION
Debtors. S ca -S0
§
Order

1. The automatic stay is lifted for Cullen Center to sue
on the debt.

2. The counter-claim in usury is by the estate; no auto-
matic stay existed.

Signed at Houston, Texas, on May 12, 1998.

/s/ Lynn N. Hughes
Lynn N. Hughes
United States District Judge

App. 9

APPENDIX 6
FEBRUARY 29, 1996

[LOGO]
JUDGMENT

The Fourteenth Court of Appeals

MARTA A. LENTINO, EDUARDO P. LENTINO, AND
JORGE A. LENTINO, APPELLANTS

NO. 14-94-00175-CV
V.
CULLEN CENTER BANK AND TRUST, APPELLEE

This cause, an appeal from the partial summary judg-
ment and jury verdict in favor of appellee, Cullen Center
Bank and Trust signed October 26, 1993, came on to be
heard on the transcript of the record. We have inspected
the record and find error in the judgment. We therefore
order the judgment of the court below REVERSED and
REMAND the cause for proceedings in accordance with
the court’s opinion.

We order appellee, Cullen Center Bank and Trust,
jointly and severally, to pay all costs incurred because of
this appeal.

We order this decision certified below for obser-
vance.

App. 10

Reversed and Remanded; opinion filed February 29, 1996.

[LOGO]

In The
Fourteenth Court of Appeals

NO. 14-94-00175-CV

MARTA A. LENTINO, EDUARDO P. LENTINO,
AND JORGE A. LENTINO,

Appellants
¥,
CULLEN CENTER BANK AND TRUST, Appellee

ee

On Appeal from the 269th District Court
Harris County, Texas
Trial Court Cause No. 91-18878

OPINION

Appellants, Marta A. Lentino, Eduardo P. Lentino,
M.D., and Jorge A. Lentino, M.D., appeal from a partial
summary judgment and jury verdict in favor of appellee,
Cullen Center Bank and Trust. Appellants bring six
points of error, contending: (1) the trial court improperly
granted appellee’s motion for partial summary judgment;
and (2) the trial court erred by overruling appellants’
motion to modify, correct, or reform the judgment when
there was insufficient evidence or no evidence to support
the jury’s verdict. Appellants also request that in ‘he
event this case is reversed and remanded, this Cou’
reverse the awards of prejudgment and postjudgment

App. 11

interest, attorney’s fees, costs of court, and several post-
judgment orders by the trial court relating to the seizure
of appellants’ property. We reverse and remand for a trial
on the merits.

In November 1982, Eduardo and Jorge Lentino indi-
vidually executed separate promissory notes for $150,000
to appellee in order to finance their bank stock purchases.
Both notes were renewed in November 1983. On Decem-
ber 14, 1984, Eduardo and Jorge Lentino and four other
parties, jointly and severally, executed a new promissory
note to appellee in the original amount of $2,252,250.
Also on that day, Eduardo and Jorge Lentino executed
guarantee agreements in favor of Cullen that uncondi-
tionally guaranteed payment of the $2,252,250 note.
Appellee advanced no additional funds to appellants as
consideration for increasing their obligation.

In February 1986, appellee filed individual suits
against Jorge and Eduardo Lentino for default on the
December 1984 note, which matured on November 30,
1985. In March 1987, both Eduardo and Jorge Lentino
entered into separate compromise settlement agreements
with appellee. According to the terms of these agree-
ments, Eduardo and Jorge agreed to execute new prom-
issory notes to pay appellee $148,842 and $171,186.29,
respectively. The compromise settlement agreements fur-
ther provided that: (1) appellee would pay Eduardo and
Jorge each $10 and release them of their joint and several
liability under the 1984 note and guaranty agreements; (2)
if Eduardo or Jorge defaulted on their notes, the default-
ing party could be liable for the outstanding balance on
the original 1984 note; and (3) Eduardo and Jorge waived

App. 12

all affirmative defenses and causes of action relating to
the loan documents in the underlying lawsuit.

Both Eduardo and Jorge subsequently defaulted on
their 1987 notes, and in 1990, appellee filed separate
lawsuits to collect on these notes. The trial court entered
final judgments in favor of appellee and awarded actual
damages, prejudgment interest, attorneys fees, costs of
court, and postjudgment interest. During postjudgment
discovery, however, appellee allegedly discovered fraud-
ulent transfers by Jorge, Eduardo and Marta Lentino
made during the time the compromise settlement agree-
ments were executed. Appellee subsequently filed this
suit, claiming fraud, fraudulent transfers, breach of con-
tract, conspiracy, negligence, and negligent misrepresen-
tation. The appellants responded with a general denial
and asserted several affirmative defenses, including
usury. The appellants also filed counterclaims alleging
usury, slander of title, unreasonable collection efforts,
and intentional infliction of emotional distress.

In June 1993, Cullen filed a motion for partial sum-
mary judgment, requesting the trial court to hold that the
compromise settlement agreements barred appellants’
“affirmative causes of action” which relate to the under-
lying loan documents. Following the appellants’
response, appellee filed its reply, clarifying that the com-
promise settlement agreement barred all of the Lentinos’
claims and affirmative defenses. See Stiles v. Resolution
Trust Corp., 867 S.W.2d 24, 26 (Tex.1993) (indicating that
specific grounds for summary judgment may be stated in
movant’s reply in order to comply with rule of civil
procedure 166a(c)). The trial court subsequently granted
appellee’s motion and held the compromise settlement

App. 13

agreements barred all of appellants’ causes of action and
affirmative defenses.

The parties proceeded to trial and at the close of
evidence, the trial court directed a verdict in favor of
appellee as to its claims for breach of the compromise
settlement agreements. The trial court also rendered judg-
ment on the jury’s verdict, which addressed other issues,
and awarded $1,817,525.42 in actual damages and
$2,500,000 in exemplary damages against each Jorge and
Eduardo Lentino, along with attorneys’ fees, prejudgment
interest, postjudgment interest and costs of court.

In their first point of error, appellants contend the
trial court improperly granted appellee’s motion for par-
tial summary judgment, in part, because a fact issue
exists as to whether the 1984 note was usurious. Appel-
lants argue that if the 1984 note was usurious, the com-
promise settlement agreements were void because they
failed to purge the usury contained in the 1984 note. See
Commerce Trust Co. v. Ramp, 138 S W.2d 531, 534
(Tex.1940), overruled on other grounds, 561 S.W.2d 777
(Tex.1977); see also Tex. Rev. Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 5069-1.02
(Vernon 1987) (stating that all usurious contracts are con-
trary to public policy); Ferguson v. Tanner Development Co.,
541 S.W.2d 483, 493 (Tex. Civ. App. - Hovston [1st Dist.]
1976), rev'd on other grounds, 561 S.W.2d 777 (Tex.1977)
(stating that contracts which are contrary to public policy
are void). Accordingly, appellants maintain that no sum-
mary judgment could be based on a void instrument.

The movant for summary judgment has the burden to
show that no genuine issues of material fact exist and that
it is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Nixon v. Mr.

App. 14

Property Management Co., 690 S.W.2d 546, 548-49
(Tex.1985). In deciding whether there is a disputed mate- |
rial fact issue precluding summary judgment, proof
favorable to the non-movant must be taken as true. Id.;
O’Bryant v. Century 21 S. Cent. States, 899 S.W.2d 270, 271
(Tex.App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 1995, no writ). Further, |
we indulge every reasonable inference in favor of the
non-movant and resolve any doubts in his favor.
O’Bryant, 899 S.W.2d at 271; Edwards v. Garcia-Gregory, 866 |
S.W.2d 780, 783 (Tex.App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 1993, |
writ denied). If the movant’s motion and summary judg-
ment proof facially establishes his right to judgment as a
matter of law, then the burden shifts to the non-movant to |
raise fact issues precluding summary judgment. See City |
of Houston v. Clear Creek Basin Auth., 589 S.W.2d 671, 678

(Tex.1979). Moreover, if the non-movant relies on an affir-

mative defense to defeat summary judgment, he must

present summary judgment proof sufficient to raise a fact

issue as to each element of that defense. Brownlee v.

Brownlee, 665 S.W.2d 111, 112 (Tex.1984); see also Wilson v.

General Motors Acceptance Corp., 897 S.W.2d 818, 823

(Tex.App. — Houston [1st Dist.] 1994, no writ).

The essential elements of a usurious transaction are:
(1) a loan of money; (2) an absolute obligation to repay
the principal; and (3) the exaction of a greater compensa-
tion than allowed by law for the use of the money by the
borrower. First Bank v. Tony’s Tortilla Factory, 877 S.W.2d
285, 287 (Tex.1994); Holley v. Watts, 629 S.W.2d 694, 696
(Tex.1982); Blasdell v. Catalina, 858 S.W.2d 653, 655
(Tex.App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 1993), rev’d on other
grounds, 881 S.W.2d 295 (Tex.1994). In the present case,
neither side disputes that appellee loaned Eduardo and

App. 15

Jorge Lentino only $150,000 each, with obligations to
repay the entire amounts. Appellee, however, contends
that appellants failed to present sufficient summary judg-
ment proof demonstrating usurious interest.

In support of its argument, appellee relies heavily on
Sorrells v. Gilberson, 780 S.W.2d 936, 938 (Tex.App. — Aus-
tin 1989, writ denied), which stands for the proposition
that a possessor of a promissory note who moves for
summary judgment against the maker of the note must
present certain proof to establish he is entitled to judg-
ment as a matter of law. Specifically, the possessor of a
note must either: (1) include the note in the summary
judgment proof; or (2) establish the terms of the note by
affidavit or other proper summary judgment proof. Id.
Appellee now contends that appellants’ proof was insuf-
ficient to support their usury defense because: (1) the
1982 and 1983 notes were absent from the summary judg-
ment record; and (2) appellants’ affidavits failed to state
the relevant terms of the 1982 and 1983 notes. See id.

Upon review of the record, however, we find Sorrells
to be inapposite. In the present case, appellants were the
non-movants, and thus, their only burden was to demon-
strate a fact issue as to each element of their usury
defense. See Brownlee, 665 S.W.2d at 112. Unlike the
movant for summary judgment in Sorrells, appellants were
not required to establish conclusively each element of
their defense. Accordingly, appellants were not required
to show the terms of the notes, such as payment schedule,
maturity date, interest rate, default provisions, accelera-
tion terms, and notice, demand and presentment require-
ments to preclude partial summary judgment. As we

App. 16

discuss below, the proof presented by appellants suffi-
ciently established a fact issue as to the existence of
usurious interest. That should have precluded partial

summary judgment.

When a lender requires, as a condition to making a
loan, that a borrower assume a third party’s debt, such
debt must be included in the interest computation to
determine usury. Alamo Lumber Co. v. Gold, 661 S.W.2d
926, 928 (Tex.1983). In this case, the summary judgment
record shows that as a condition to renew appellants’
1983 notes, appellee required them to sign the 1984 note,
making them jointly and severally liable with third par-
ties for $2,252,250. The record also shows that: (1) the
1984 note had a one-year maturity; and (2) appellee did
not advance additional funds to appellants other than the
original $150,000 loan made in 1982. Thus, although the
interest rates on the 1982 and 1983 notes are not in the
record, appellants’ computed interest on the 1984 note
under Alamo Lumber would likely exceed two million
dollars for one year, even though appellants never
received more than $150,000 from appellee.

Further, the maximum lawful rate of interest for a
contract is 24% per annum. Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. ANn. art.
5069-1.04(a), (b)(1) (Vernon 1987). Interest rates exceeding
the maximum lawful rate are deemed to be usurious. See
Tex. Rev. Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 5069-1.02 (Ver..on 1987).
Therefore, we find that there is, at least, a fact issue as to
whether the 1984 note obligated appellants to pay interest

App. 17

exceeding the maximum lawful rate.’ See also Catalina v.
Blasdel, 881 S.W.2d 295, 296 (Tex.1994) (stating that usury
is a question of fact when not evident from the face of the
instrument); Dryden v. City Nat'l Bank of Laredo, 666
S.W.2d 213, 216 (Tex.App. —- San Antonio 1984, writ ref’d
n.r.e.) (stating that usury, where not apparent from the
face of the instrument, is a question of fact for the jury).
Appellee, nonetheless, argues that even if a fact issue
exists, partial summary judgment was proper because the
1987 compromise settlement agreements released any
claims or defenses that the appellants may have had for
usury under the 1984 note. We disagree.

A claim or defense of usury may be compromised
and released if done in good faith and if the settlement
instrument is purged of the usury contained in the under-
lying note. See Finn v. Alexander, 163 S.W.2d 714, 716 (Tex.
1942); Ramp, 138 S.W.2d at 534. For this to occur, there
must be: (1) cancellation of the obligation tainted by the
usury; and (2) the creation of a new obligation free of

‘ If we apply the maximum lawful interest rate for
contracts, compounded annually for two years, and assume that
Eduardo and Jorge Lentino failed to make any payments on
their 1982 notes, our calculations show that each would owe
appellee $222,000 at the time they signed the 1984 note for
$2,250,000. Because the 1984 note had a one year maturity,
under Alamo Lumber, the Lentinos’ computed interest charge
would have been approximately $2,028,000 each for one year.
This amount, notwithstanding the interest owed by the Lentinos
on the 1984 note itself, clearly exceeds the maximum lawful rate
for contracts, and therefore, would be usurious. Although these
calculations incorporate certain assumptions, they, nonetheless,
illustrate the existence of a fact issue as to appellant’s usury
defense.

App. 18

usury. See Southwestern Inv. Co. v. Hockley County S. & D.,
Inc., 516 S.W.2d 136, 137 (Tex.1974); Ramp, 138 S.W.2d at
534; O’Quinn v. Beanland, 540 S.W.2d 526, 527 (Tex.Civ.
App. - San Antonio 1976, no writ). On the other hand,
when the original usurious obligation transcends into the
subsequent agreement, such agreement is void and unen-
forceable. See Ramp, 138 S.W.2d at 535.

Under the terms of the compromise settlement agree-
ment, both Jorge and Eduardo Lentino agreed to execute
new promissory notes payable to appellee. In return,
appellee paid Jorge and Eduardo $10 each and agreed to
release them from their joint and several liability under
the 1984 note and guaranty agreements. The agreement
also provided, however, that if either Jorge or Eduardo
defaulted on their notes, the defaulting party, at appel-
lee’s sole option, could be liable for the entire outstand-
ing balance on the 1984 note. Because we find that a fact
issue exists as to whether the 1984 note was usurious, we
are unable to determine whether the compromise settle-
ment agreement carried forward the usury contained in
the 1984 note, and thus, was void and unenforceable.
Accordingly, appellants’ first point of error is sustained.

In points two through five, appellants attack the legal
and factual sufficiency of the evidence as it relates to
their alleged breaches of the compromise settlement
agreements. However, given our disposition of appel-
lants’ first point, we need not address the merits of these
issues.

In their sixth point of error, appellants request that,
in the event this case is reversed and remanded, this

App. 19

Court reverse the awards of prejudgment and postjudg-
ment interest, attorney’s fees, costs of court, and several
post judgment orders by the trial court relating to the
seizure of appellants’ property. We decline their request
and reverse and remand this case for a trial on the merits.

/s/ Paul C. Murphy
Chief Justice

Judgment rendered and Opinion filed February 29, 1996.

Panel consists of Chief Justice Murphy, and Justices
Anderson and Fowler.

Publish — Tex. R. App. P. 90.

App. 20

APPENDIX 7

[SEAL] THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS
Post Office Box 12248
Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-1312

February 21, 1997

Mr. Warren W. Harris Ms. Amy Marlyse Wilson
Bracewell & Patterson Porter & Hedges

711 Louisiana, Suite 2900 700 Louisiana, 35th Floor
Houston, TX 77002-2781 Houston, TX 77002-2764

Mr. Richard T. Howell, Jr. Mr. Scott Rothenberg

Moore & Howell Rothenberg & Gunn
520 Post Oak Blvd., 4710 Bellaire Blvd., Suite 160
Suite 600 Bellaire, TX 77401-4505

Houston, TX 77027

RE: Case Number 96-0487
Style: CULLEN CENTER BANK & TRUST

V.

LOWELL T. CAGE, CHAPTER 7 TRUSTEE OF
THE BANKRUPTCY ESTATES OF EDUARDO P.
LENTINO, M.D., and JORGE A. LENTINO, M.D.,
DEBTORS, and MARTA LENTINO

Dear Counsel: |

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas overruled both
motions for rehearing of the application for writ of error
in the above styled case. (Chief Justice Phillips not sit-

ting.)

ae

Sincerely,
John T. Adams, Clerk

by /s/ Michael C. Murphey
Michael C. Murphey, Deputy

App. 21

APPENDIX 8

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

MARTA LENTINO, ET AL CA NO. H-97-499

VS. HOUSTON, TEXAS
JL YORK PLAZA LIVING y
TRUST, ET AL 11:00 A.M.

)
)
NOVEMBER 21, 1997
)
)

(Filed Jan. 26, 1998)

TRANSCRIPT OF SANCTIONS HEARING
BEFORE THE HONORABLE LYNN N. HUGHES

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE PLAINTIFF:
MS. MARTA LENTINO
PRO SE
709 KUHLMAN
HOUSTON, TEXAS

FOR THE DEFENDANT:
MS. TERESA D. MOBLEY
CAGE, HILL & NIEHAUS
59851 SAN FELIPE, STE. 950
HOUSTON, TEXAS 77057

COURT REPORTER:
HERMAN CHESTER
515 RUSK, #8026
HOUSTON, TEXAS 77002
(713) 250-5580

PROCEEDINGS RECORDED BY MECHANICAL
STENOGRAPHY, TRANSCRIPT PRODUCED BY
COMPUTER-AIDED TRANSCRIPTION

HERMAN CHESTER - (713) 250-5580

App. 22

[p. 42] DEFENDING YOUR HONOR, BECAUSE IF YOUR
HONOR SEES WHAT I’M FILING, THE JUDICIAL
NOTICE IS NOT AN ATTEMPT TO GAIN CONTROL OF
THE CASE OR ANYTHING, IT WASN’T ANYTHING
LIKE THAT AT ALL, YOUR HONOR, IT WAS JUST
TELLING THE JUDGE; PLEASE DEAR DISTRICT
STRICT COURT JUDGE, KNOW THAT THE STAY HAS
NOT BEEN LIFTED REGARDING THE UNITED STATES
COURT REGARDING THE ORDER OF JULY 2ND
ENTERED BY THE YOUR HONOR JUDGE WHELESS -
JUDGE HUGHES. THEN I ATTACHED THE DOCKET TO
SHOW THAT MY APPEAL WAS ALREADY DOCKETED
IN THAT LOUISIANA. AND I AM GETTING READY TO
DO THE BRIEF, YOUR HONOR, IN THE NEXT FEW
WEEKS ON THAT CASE.

THE COURT: GOOD.

MS. LENTINO: SO WE SHOULD HAVE AN
ANSWER FROM THE 5TH CIRCUIT WHETHER, LIKE I
TOLD YOUR HONOR, WHETHER YOUR HONOR HAD
EXCEEDED THE SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION BY
ADJUDICATING MY RIGHTS IN A STATE COURT CASE
WHEN YOUR HONOR LACKS IN PERSONAM JURIS-
DICTION OVER MYSELF. BECAUSE I AM A DEFEN-
DANT IN THAT CASE. TO BE HONEST WITH YOUR
HONOR, IT’S VERY CONFUSING, IT’S UNCLEAR TO
ME, IS YOUR HONOR STRIKING MY DEFENSES ALSO,
HAS YOUR HONOR STRIKED MY DEFENSES IN THAT
CASE? BECAUSE I DON’T UNDERSTAND, FROM
READING, FROM PLAINLY READING OF THE ORDER,
IT’S VERY AMBIGUOUS TO ME. DID YOUR HONOR

App. 23

INTEND TO STRIKE MY DEFENSES, TO STRIKE ME
PERIOD, EVEN THOUGH I AM A DEFENDANT IN
THAT CASE? AM I PRECLUDED FOR LIFE? I DON’T
UNDERSTAND.

I WAS SANCTIONED BECAUSE I DISMISSED MY
[p. 43] ATTORNEY. ISN’T IT MY RIGHT TO DISMISS MY
ATTORNEY WHEN HE SOLD ME DOWN THE RIVER,
WHEN HE HAD EVIDENCE THAT WOULD PRECLUDE
THE BANK FROM OBTAINING A JUDGMENT AND HE
DECIDED NOT TO PRESENT IT, YOUR HONOR. YOU
KNOW WHAT, YOUR HONOR SANCTIONED ME ON
THE 2ND, YOUR HONOR SANCTIONED ME FOR DIS-
MISSING MY ATTORNEY ACCORDING TO RULE 76 OF
RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE, THAT’S WHAT YOUR
HONOR SANCTIONED ME FOR. AND BECAUSE |
MOVED FOR SEVERANCE OF MY OWN CAUSES OF
ACTION, YOUR HONOR NEVER TOLD ME YOU CAN-
NOT GO ON ON YOUR OWN CAUSES OF ACTION,
YOUR HONOR TOLD ME THAT USURY THAT’S PART
OF THE STATE. I DIDN’T MESS AROUND, I ABAN-
DONED THAT. I FILED COMPLETE ABANDONMENT
OVER THERE. I ABIDED BY THIS COURT’S ORDER
THE BEST I COULD. AND I UNDERSTOOD.

THE COURT: NO, YOU HAVEN’T. YOU HAVE
FILED THINGS, EVERY TIME I TURN AROUND YOU
FILE SOMETHING. THEN YOU GO OFF AND GET
YOUR FRIEND KAMINETSKY BACK THERE TO FILE
THINGS. AND YOU ARE SAYING YOU ARE NOT A
PARTY, BUT THEN YOU ARE A PARTY. AND, OF
COURSE, WE LET YOU APPEAR HERE OUT OF COUR-
TESY.

App. 24

MS. LENTINO: I AM AN AGGRIEVED PER-
SON, YOUR HONOR, AN AGGRIEVED PERSON THAT
THE PECUNIARY WAS AFFECTED. THERE IS AN
EFFECT WHEN A PERSON THAT IS NOT A PARTY TO
THE BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDING CAN INTERVENE.

THE COURT: YOU ARE A PARTY TO THIS
PROCEEDING.

MS. LENTINO: I HAVE BEEN A PARTY BY
BEING AN INTERVENOR, YES. BUT WHERE MY
STANDING COMES FROM BEING AN

* * *

[p. 50] PROMISE YOUR HONOR I DIDN’T THINK IT
WAS A PLEADING. HONESTLY, I TELL YOUR HONOR
I DIDN’T THINK IT WAS A PLEADING.

THE COURT: AND WAS THERE SOME REA-
SON THAT YOU COULDN'T FILE A MOTION IN THIS
CASE FOR LEAVE TO FILE A NOTICE IN THE OTHER
CASE?

MS. LENTINO: THAT DIDN’T OCCUR TO ME.
THE COURT: THAT DIDN’T OCCUR TO YOU.

MS. LENTINO: WHAT HAPPENED, YOUR
HONOR, IS THINGS WERE HAPPENING TOO RAPIDLY
IN THE STATE COURT AND I REALLY, I REALLY
DIDN’T —- HOW CAN I TELL YOU - I THOUGHT YOUR
HONOR’S ORDER IS AMBIGUOUS TO ME.

THE COURT: MY ORDER IS AMBIGUOUS?

MS. LENTINO: I DO HAVE A SINCERE QUES-
TION, BECAUSE I DON’T KNOW IF YOUR HONOR IS

App. 25

PRECLUDING ME FROM MY DEFENSES IN THAT
CASE. I AM STILL A DEFENDANT.

THE COURT: I TOLD YOU NOT TO FILE ANY-
THING WITH THAT COURT, DIDN'T IT?

MS. LENTINO: SO THAT WOULD HAVE
INCLUDED JUDICIAL NOTICE?

THE COURT: DID I TELL YOU NOT TO DO
ANYTHING WITH THAT COURT?

MS. LENTINO: WELL, I FILED A COUNTER-
CLAIM, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: PARDON?

MS. LENTINO: IT WAS DIFFERENT. WHEN
YOUR HONOR

[p. 54] BY -

MS. MOBLEY: THE TYPICAL MANNER OF
ADOPTING, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: I’M GOING TO LOOK AT THESE
DOCUMENTS, BUT IT IS MANIFEST TO THE COURT
THAT THE LENTINOES CANNOT ABIDE THE ORDER
AND THEY HAVE DIRECTLY VIOLATED THE ORDER
AND INTEND TO CONTINUE TO DIRECTLY VIOLAT-
ING MY ORDER, AND MS. LENTINO, JORGE LEN-
TINO, AND EDUARDO LENTINO, I AM NOW TAKING
YOU INTO CUSTODY FOR CONTEMPT OF COURT.

WE WILL RECONVENE AT FOUR O’CLOCK TO
DISCUSS FURTHER SANCTIONS. THE MARSHAL IN
THE BACK OF THE ROOM WILL TAKE YOU INTO

App. 26

CUSTODY AND TAKE YOU TO THE i0TH FLOOR
NOW.

IS THERE ANY QUESTIONS?

MS. LENTINO: I OBJECT TO THE RULING OF
THE COURT, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: ALL RIGHT. MR. GOLDBERG,
YOU ARE WELCOME TO COME BACK, I AM NOT
SURE YOU ARE NECESSARY.

MS. LENTINO: IS THERE ANY POSSIBILITY,
YOUR HONOR, THAT I SERVE THE TIME, WHATEVER
TIME YOUR HONOR DECIDES I SHOULD SERVE,
VERSUS MY HUSBAND. BECAUSE WE HAVE A SMALL
DAUGHTER AND NOBODY TO TAKE CARE OF HER.
AND DR. JORGE IS UNDER THE SAME SITUATION.
WE HAVE GOT MINOR DAUGHTERS AT HOME AND -

THE COURT: YOU ARE NOW GOING INTO
THE CUSTODY OF THE MARSHAL UNTIL FOUR
O’CLOCK, AS AN INITIAL SANCTION ON YOUR [p.
55] CONTINUED VIOLATION OF THE LAW.

MARSHAL, I WANT THEM SEPARATbkW.
THE DEPUTY MARSHAL: EXCUSE ME?

THE COURT: I WANTED THEM SEPARATED,
IT IT’S REASONABLY POSSIBLE.

THE DEPUTY MARSHAL: YES, YOUR
HONOR.

App. 27

THE COURT: IF IT’S NOT, LOCK THEM ALL
UP TOGETHER.

FOUR O’CLOCK.
(RECESS HELD)

THE COURT: IN THE INTEREST OF SAVING
THE TAXPAYERS MONEY, THE MARSHALS ARE
GOING TO BRING YOUR PROPERTY UP SO THEY
DON’T HAVE TO BE PAID OVERTIME.

MS. LENTINO, THE FACILITY WHERE YOU’VE
JUST SPENT THE AFTERNOON IN IS NOT VERY
PLEASANT, IS IT?

MS. LENTINO: NO. YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: IT IS INFINITELY MORE PLEAS-
ANT THAN THE PLACE WHERF YOU WOULD GO IF I
SERIOUSLY HOLD YOU IN CONTEMPT. YOU WOULD
GO EITHER TO THE HARRIS COUNTY JAIL OR THE
MONTGOMERY COUNTY JAIL. YOU WOULD BE HELD
IN COMMON WITH LARGE GROUPS OR PEOPLE OF A
CLASS YOU’RE NOT USED TO ASSOCIATING WITH. I
CANNOT GIVE YOU UNDERSTANDING, BUT IF YOU
WILL NOT QUIT MESSING IN THE LITIGATION AND
THE PROGRESS OF THIS BANKRUPTCY, I WILL ISO-
LATE YOU FROM IT. I'LL PUT YOU VERY CLOSE Tro
THE STATE COURT LITIGATION, YOU’LL ONLY BE
TWO BLOCKS AWAY, BUT YOU WILL BE WHERE YOU
CANNOT INTERFERE WITH

+ * +

App. 28

APPENDIX 9

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

IN RE:

JORGE A. LENTINO, DB

CIVIL NO. 97-498

Houston, Texas
January 20, 1998
1:30 p.m.

(Filed Jan. 30, 1998)

eo 6¢ €)4 32 SS

HEARING
BEFORE THE HONORABLE LYNN N. HUGHES
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

APPEARANCES: -

For Jorge A. Lentino: Jorge A. Lentino, Pro se

For Eduardo P. Lentino: Eduardo P. Lentino, Pro se

For Marta Lentino: Marta Lentino, Pro Se
For Pro Care of

Houston LLC, et al.: Edgar Ahron Goldberg
For National Loan

Investors, LP: James Louis Hordern, Jr.
For Marta Lentino: Marta Lentino, Pro se
For the Trustee: Theresa D. Mobley

Neal D. Cannon, Jr.
Scott Rothenberg

Court Reporter: Ed Reed

__ Proceedings recorded by computer stenography
Produced by computer-aided transcription

App. 29
* * *

[p. 15] my husband will sign that the world is a square.

But what has happened in the past, and Your Honor
needs to understand this, is that attorneys have made by
husband sign affidavits or -

THE COURT: One of the real tragedies of
American life is the exploitation of physicians. They are
just put upon by everybody. You know, illiterate Hispanic
housewives and physicians, who own hospitals and live
in houses of more than a million dollars of value, those
are the tragic people in our society.

MRS. LENTINO: Your Honor, I don’t know
what is so tragic —

THE COURT: I just don’t know how these peo-
ple can stand to live with themselves.

MRS. LENTINO: I don’t know what is so tragic
about earning your living the old fashion way, by earning
your money and living whatever your means lets you to
live.

THE COURT: Or telling the truth.
MRS. LENTINO: We are telling the truth.
THE COURT: Then what is false?

MRS. LENTINO: You have to look at it in the
whole context.

App. 30

THE COURT: No, I’m going to look at individ-
ual facts. Is it not true that Cullen Bank sued him for
$2,252,250 against him?

* * *

App. 31

APPENDIX 10
Cause No. 9118878
CULLEN CENTER BANK
& TRUST
VS.

~LENTINO, EDUARDO P
(MD)

* IN THE DISTRICT

* COURT OF HARRIS

* COUNTY, TEXAS 281ST
* JUDICIAL DISTRICT

ORDER SETTING SCHEDULING CONFERENCE
To All Counsel and Pro Se Parties:

Pursuant to Rule 166, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure,
you are ordered to appear at a Scheduling Conference in
the THE COURTROOM
ON 07-31-1998 at 11:30 o’clock A.M.

Be prepared to discuss and set pretrial and trial dates.

If you do not appear, the court will sign an order of
DISMISSAL FOR WANT OF PROSECUTION or other
appropriate order.

If you have any questions regarding this notice,
please contact the court coordinator Rick Torres, at (713)
755-8268.

Signed JANE BLAND
JUDGE, 281ST DISTRICT
COURT
Generated on: JUNE 17, 1998
MARTA A. LENTINO PRO-SE

709 KUHLMAN RD.
HOUSTON, TX 77024

App. 32

APPENDIX 11
28 U.S.C. § 1334. Bankruptcy cases and proceedings

* * *

(c)(1) Nothing in this section prevents a district
court in the interest of justice, or in the interest of comity
with State courts or respect for state law, from abstaining
from hearing a particular proceeding arising under title
11 or arising in or related to a case under title 11.

(2) Upon timely motion of a party in a proceeding
based upon a State law claim or State law cause of action,
related to a case under title 11 but not arising under title
11 or arising in a case under title 11, with respect to
which an action could not have been commenced in a
court of the United States absent jurisdiction under this
section, the district court shall abstain from hearing such
proceeding if an action is commenced, and can be timely
adjudicated, in a State forum of appropriate jurisdiction.
Any decision to abstain or not to abstain made under this
subsection is not reviewable by appeal or otherwise by
the court of appeals under section 158(d), 1291, or 1292 of
this title or by the Supreme Court of the United States
under section 1254 of this title. This subsection shall not
be construed to limit the applicability of the stay pro-
vided for by section 362 of title 11, United States Code, as
such section applies to an action affecting the property of
the estate in bankruptcy.

* * *

App. 33

(As amended Oct. 22, 1994, Pub.L. 103-394, Title I,
§ 104(b), 108 Stat. 4109.)

(c)(1) Nothing in this section prevents a district
court in the interest of justice, or in the interest of comity
with State courts or respect for State law, from abstaining
from hearing a particular proceeding arising under title
11 or arising in or related to a case under title 11.

(2) Upon timely motion of a party in a proceeding
based upon a State law claim or State law cause of action,
related to a case under title 11 but not arising under title
11 or arising in a case under title 11, with respect to
which an action could not have been commenced in a
court of the United States absent jurisdiction under this
section, the district court shall abstain from hearing such
proceeding if an action is commenced, and can be timely
adjudicated, in a State forum of appropriate jurisdiction.

* * +

28 U.S.C. § 1447. Procedure after removal generally

* * e

(c) A motion to remand the case on the basis of any
defect in removal procedure must be made within 30
days after the filing of the notice of removal under sec-
tion 1446(a). If at any time before final judgment it
appears that the district court lacks subject matter juris-
diction, the case shail be remanded. An order remanding
the case may require payment of just costs and any actual

App. 34

expenses, including ettorney fees, incurred as a result of
the removal. A certified copy of the order of remand shall
be mailed by the clerk to the clerk of the State court. The
State court may thereupon proceed with such case.

(d) An order remanding a case to the State court
from which it was removed is not reviewable on appeal
or otherwise, except that an order remanding a case to
the State court from which it was removed pursuant to
section 1443 of this title shall be reviewable by appeal or
otherwise.

(As amended Oct. 1, 1996, Pub.L. 104-219, § 1, 110
Stat. 3022.)

(c) A motion to remand the case on the basis of any
defect other than lack of subject matter jurisdiction must
be made within 30 days after the filing of the notice of
removal under section 1446(a). If at any time before final
judgment it appears that the district court lacks subject
matter jurisdiction, the case shall be remanded. An order
remanding the case may require payment of just costs
and any actual expenses, including attorney fees,
incurred as a result of the removal. A certified copy of the
order of remand shall be mailed by the clerk to the clerk
of the State court. The State court may thereupon proceed
with such case.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1017%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
