# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Stone Consolidated, Inc. v. M/V Kapetan Martinovic

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1016%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1055

## Text

PILED

98 GRO MIIS Ms

No.
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
+

October Term, 1998
STONE CONSOLIDATED, INC.,
Petitioner,

vs.

M/V KAPETAN RNiARTINOVIC, Her Engines, Boilers, etc.,
In Rem, SOUTH ADRIATIC BULK SHIPPING LIMITED and
MILENA SHIP MANAGEMENT LIMITED,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRED S. CLARK
Counsel of Record
CLARK AND CLARK
Attorneys for Petitioner
P.O. Box 8151
Savannah, Georgia 31412
(912) 233-0300

148855 @ Counsel Press LLC
FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

bE
ary S
~

i

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Where there was evidence in the record that service by
mail was successfully made on the agent for service in Chatham
County, Georgia and the acknowledgment was returned and
filed, though unsigned, and there is further evidence in the
record that after service was made the plaintiff was apprised of
the fact that there was an Executive Order in which the
defendant’s assets were a part of sanctions against the Serbs
for the Bosnian situation and, thus, refrained from further
service, and there is further evidence in the record that the
plaintiff can obtain jurisdiction over the defendant within the
Southern District of Georgia and no Motion to Dismiss was
filed, did the Court err in dismissing the action?

ii
LIST OF ALL PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Stone Consolidated, Inc.

M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC

South Adriatic Bulk Shipping, Ltd.

Milena Ship Management, Ltd.

Fred S. Clark

M. Brice Ladson

John H. Clegg
American International Group Insurance Company

The petitioner has reached an agreement to be acquired by
Jefferson Smurlti Corp. Petitioner owns less than 99% of the
following subsidiaries:

Europapel, S.A.

Cannonages Robert Deluboc S.A.R.L.

WWG Weser-Werstoff-Gesellschaft mbH
MacMillan Bathurst

Maritime Containers, Ltd.

Paroco Ronstoffverwertung GmbH
Rohstaffhandel Kiel GmbH

Rosenblum Group Inc.

Stone-Billerud S.A.

GIA (Gessellschaft fuer Altpapier und Rohstaffe mbH)
ICO, Inc.

Indupa Venriebgsellschaft mbH & Co., KG
Indupa Grundstuacksgesellschaft mbH

L & M Corrugated Container Corp.
MacMillan Bathurst, Inc.

Aspsmill Inc.

Associated Paper Mills (Ontario) Ltd.
Compagnie d’Estacades de La Cascapedia Inc.
Stone Container (Hong Kong), Ltd.

Stone Cuntainer Japan Co. Ltd.

ili

Trans-Seal Corp.
Vennebegesellschaft Rohstaffhandel Kiel GmbH
ORPACK-Stone Corp.

Paper Recycling International LP

Produita Forestiers Petit Paris

Interstate Packaging Corp.

Financiere Carton Papier

Venepal-Stone Forestal, S.A.

Laimbeer Packaging Co. LLC

Mannkraft Corp.

Scienes Saugenay Ltee.

Tradpak Internacional S.A. de C.V.

Bridgewater Paper Co. Ltd.

Bridgewater Newsprint Ltd.

Canonnages MGC S.A.

Bridgewater Paper Leasing Ltd.

Cheshire Recycling Ltd.

Compagnie de Flottage due St. Maurico Limitee
Estrella de Osa S.A.

Shanghai Stone Millennium Packaging and Paper Co. Ltd.
Surling Fibre (Holdings) Ltd.

Surling Fibre Ltd.

Surling Recycling Ltd.

Stone-Consolidated Corp.

Stone-Consolidated (Europe) S.A.
Stone-Consolidated (US) Corp.

Cartonex Bernai S.A.

Cartonex S.A. 1.C.F.Y.F.

Comupac S.A.

Florida Coast Paper Corp.

Florida Coast Paper Finance Corp.

Florida Coast Paper Molding Co., LLC
Tradepak International, Inc.

Venepal S.A.C.A.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions Presented for Review .................. i
List of all Parties to the Proceedings ............... ii
eR ik.k oS ia cna Cone eee CIS iv
TORES OE CRIS BOO oo onc ccc cccndiiennseas iv
Senta GC DOOR: is 5:0 0.0 6's hennegcedervnsan 1
NE I 6 6:6. « 6 4.0 cinteheanocduet iacenmas l
el ES Pre l
fe tis EE IRE ee etre 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 4
COMBINE 8.8 SESS RA SS 7
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Brown v. Nichols, 8 F.3d 770 (11th Cir. 1993) ...... 6
Morse v. Elmira Country Club, 752 F.2d 35 (2nd Cir.
SORE souk den a hints Caso nd eae cee nh 4,5
Schnabel v. Wells, 922 F.2d 726 (11th Cir. 1991) .... 4,5

Stanga v. McCormick Shipping Corp., 268 F.2d 544 (Sth
oe BR Gag eae ey eae aia: 4, 5,6

Table of Cited Authorities

Statute:

es DEES on ccs Sed pans cakr ee ies een

Rule:

menamns Court HGP TOUR) ons oc ede es euccedss

Other Authority:

oe Gr eee 40s fas Seine dGAR ee ss

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit Filed March 20,
POET xan ds Mincaitbie ak Bs kas dint Aca em ike © Kea

Appendix B — Order Of The United States District Court
For The Southern District Of Georgia, Savannah
EaeVeeeek PUM BOND EO, SUE vc 4s 0-5 60's bcs vas 40s

Appendix C — Order The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Southern District Of Georgia,
Savannah Division Filed May 19, 1997 ..........

Appendix D — Order Of The United States District Court
For The Southern District Of Georgia, Savannah
eo Oe. | eres re ere

Appendix E — Order Of United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit Denying Petition For
Rehearing En Banc Filed July 14, 1998 ..........

la

6a

10a

13a

19a

l
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment for the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit was entered on March 20, 1998 and the Order denying
the Petition for Rehearing En Banc was entered on July 14,
1998, consequently this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari was
filed within ninety (90) days of that date. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

Appellant sued the Appellee for damage to a cargo of wood
pulp in the amount of $750,000. It was to have been transported
aboard the M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC. On or about June
25, 1992, officials of the United States Department of Treasury
seized the vessel pursuant to the blocked property restrictions
imposed by 31 C.F.R. § 585. The cargo was required to stay on
board until discharged on or about October 11, 1992 which
exposed the cargo to humidity, dampness, mold, dirt, rust and
dust and stains and other damaging conditions. Stone Container
sustained a loss of $399,907.40 as well as incurring expenses
of $18,351.67.

The Appellant filed the above action and served the
Appellees’ local agents, Gulf & Eastern Steamship and
Chartering for South Adriatic Bulk Shipping, Ltd. and Milena
Ship Management, Ltd. by mail. The acknowledgments were
returned unsigned. These were filed with a supporting affidavit.

During that time, John H. Clegg of Chaffe McCall of New
Orleans in November, 1993 called the Appellant’s attorney and
advised he represented the P & I Company covering the
Appellees. He requested a copy of the Complaint and it was
faxed it to him.

2

A contemporaneous note made on December 19, 1993 by
the Appellant’s attorney states that Jack Clegg informed this
attorney of the Executive Orders which blocked any transactions
involving any vessel in which a majority interest is held by an
entity in or operating from the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.
That Order prohibited any action against the property. In the
discussion, it was also noted that Mr. Clegg said he would agree
to have Milena accept service.

Settlement discussions were begun, and on December 21,
1994 a computation of the loss for settlement purposes was
submitted to Mr. Clegg.

Based on the Executive Order, the Appellant refrained from
proceeding with service by a process server on the agent of the
Appellees or any other form of service.

Since the case was progressing in United States District
Court, a Notice of Joint Status Conference was received by the
Appellant’s attorney. In order to protect the claim in the Trial
Court Docket and in fear of a dismissal for failure to prosecute,
the Appellant’s attorney submitted a Motion for Default
Judgment with the proper attachments. A copy was mailed to
the Appellees on March 22, 1994. A Default Judgment Order
dated April 14, 1997 was entered by the Court.

The Defendants filed a Motion to Stay the Proceedings and
Set Aside Default after the Executive Order had been lifted.
There was no Motion to Dismiss. [emphasis ours]. One
contention of the Defendants was that Gulf & Eastern Steamship
and Chartering was not the Defendants’ agent for service of
process. However, the Appellant’s attorney earlier learned the
vessel was in Charleston, South Carolina, and referred the
matter to attorney John Hughes Cooper. Through his office, he
secured the services of the McNair Law Firm of Charleston,

3

South Carolina, to pursue a claim before the United States
Treasury Department Office of Foreign Assets Control. The
notice from that government office indicated that Gulf &
Eastern Steamship and Chartering which was the agent who
received the service by mail was listed as agent for the
Appellees through that process. Likewise Appellant obtained
and filed in the trial Court an affidavit of Stacy Whiddon who
stated he was employed as operations manager of Gulf &
Eastern which at the time served as ship’s agent for the vessel
KAPETAN MARTINOVIC.

B. Proceedings Below

Appellant filed suit on or about October 8, 1993, and
perfected service by mail on the Defendants’ agents. The
acknowledgment was returned unsigned, bur was filed with an
accompanying Affidavit. A default judgment was obtained on
April 14, 1994.

Appellee filed a Motion to Stay the Proceedings and Set
Aside the Default which was granted and, though the Appellee
did not request a dismissal, the Court ordered the action
dismissed.

The Appellee’s Motion which was not supported by any
Affidavit or any form of evidence alleged that service was not
made on the Defendants’ agents for service. The Appellant’s
failure to obtain service had been thwarted as the Plaintiff's
attorney had been apprised by one of the attorneys for the
Appellee that there was a Presidential Order protecting the
Appellants.

Appellee’s Motion to set aside the judgment was granted
based on a determination that service was not made on the agent
of the Appellee, even though the evidence showed that service

4

was made on the agent of the Appellee even though the
acknowledgment was returned though unsigned. The action was
also dismissed in its entirety even though there was evidence
in the record showing that the Appellant could serve the
Appellee and that the Appellant could proceed with the action
having jurisdiction in the Southern District of Georgia.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
affirmed the ruling of the lower Court deciding only the issue
of effectiveness of the service. It relied entirely on its decision
in Schnabel v. Wells, 922 F.2d 726 (11th Cir. 1991) which held
that mail service provision required return of the
Acknowledgment Form and rejected the argument that actual
notice eliminates the requirement that the acknowledgment be
returned. No consideration was given in the opinion to the fact
that the Appellant therein had received a copy of the
acknowledgment unsigned and was shortly thereafter subjected
to an Executive Order protecting the Defendant’s assets and

—restricting further action against the assets. Further, the Court
ignored the case of Morse v. Elmira Country Club, 752 F.2d 35
(2nd Cir. 1984) which held that service by mail which was
received but unacknowledged would not constitute service.
Most important, the Court ignored the evidence in the record
that the Plaintiff could perfect service and proceed with the
action, thereby precluding the complete dismissal as is
authorized in Stanga v. McCormick Shipping Corp., 268 F.2d
544 (Sth Cir. 1959). The rehearing was denied without opinion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Rule 10(a) provides consideration governing the selection
of applications to review on certiorari. A reason for the Court
to consider this application which is included in Rule 10(a) is
that one United States Court of Appeals has entered a decision
in conflict with the decision of another United States Court of

5

Appeals on the same important matter. This conflict arises
between the ruling of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit in the instant case, citing in support of its
ruling its decision in the case of Schnabel v. Wells, 922 F.2d
726 (11th Cir. 1991). Conversely, the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit held service to be valid when
the Complaint was received but the mail service was not
acknowledged. Morse v. Elmira Country Club, 752 F.2d 35
(2nd Cir. 1984). Similarly, the ruling in the Court below did
not provide any guidance to a claimant who is confronted with
an Executive Order dealing with the Treasury Department
Regulations prohibiting any transaction that affects property
of a foreign national, especially where the claimant is in
jeopardy as it vvas in this instant case of losing its right to pursue
its claim by having the debtors !eave the country. In addition,
the Court of Appeals ruling conflicts with the decision in the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit of Stanga
v. McCormick Shipping Corp., 268 F.2d 544 (Sth Cir. 1959)
which holds that dismissal for failure to perfect service is
inappropriate unless it appears that “there is simply no
reasonably conceivable means of acquiring jurisdiction over
the person of a defendant”. The record contains uncontradicted
evidence that the Petitioner has the means of acquiring
jurisdiction over the person of each defendant.

I.

The Eleventh Circuit...

a. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the ruling of the Trial
Court setting aside the judgment and dismissing the
case. The ruling setting aside the judgment for improper
service of process was based on its decision in the case
of Schnabel v. Wells, 922 F.2d 726 (11th Cir. 1991)
which declared invalid service by mail for which an

6

acknowledgment had not been signed and filed. This
ruling conflicted with the second circuit case of Morse
v. Elmira Country Club, 752 F2d 35 (2nd Cir. 1984)
which held that service should not be deemed valid when
the Complaint was received, but the mail service was
not acknowledged. Morse v. Elmira Country Club, 752
F2d 35 (2nd Cir. 1984).

In addition the Eleventh Circuit held that the Trial Court
did not err in exercising its discretion in dismissing the case,
citing Brown v. Nichols, 8 F.3d 770 (11th Cir. 1993). This ruling
conflicted with the decision in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the case of Stanga v. McCormick
Shipping Corp., 268 F.2d 544 (Sth Cir. 1959) which holds that
dismissal for failure to perfect service is inappropriate unless
it appears that there is simply no reasonably conceivable means
of acquiring jurisdiction over the person of a Defendant.

oe

ee

ee Oe eee

-
CONCLUSION

This case presents a question of exceptional importance
on the issue of the effectiveness of service for which there is a
conflict in the Circuits, the issue of what action a party should
take when confronted with an Executive Order involving assets
of foreign governments and whether the fact that service is
made, although not perfected, should justify a dismissal where
the evidence in the record reflects that service can be perfected
and jurisdiction obtained against the defendants.

Therefore, for all of the foregoing reasons, we submit that
certiorari should be granted and the judgment and opinion of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
should be subject to review by this Honorable Court.

Respecfully Submitted,

FRED S. CLARK
Counsel of Record
CLARK AND CLARK
Attorneys for Petitioner
P.O. Box 8151

Savannah, Georgia 31412
(912) 233-0300

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH
CIRCUIT FILED MARCH 20, 1998

Ce en a ee ee eee Per

[DO NOT PUBLISH]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-8601
Non-Argument Calendar

D. C. Docket No. CV493-256
STONE CONSOLIDATED, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC, her engines, boilers, etc., in
rem, SOUTH ADRIATIC BULK SHIPPING, LTD., MILENA
SHIP MANAGEMENT, LTD.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Georgia

(March 20, 1998)

Before EDMONDSON, BIRCH and DUBINA, Circuit Judges.

2a

Appendix A
PER CURIAM:

Plaintiff-Appellant Stone Consolidated, Inc. (“Stone”)
appeals the district court order granting the motion of judgment
debtors/deiendants South Adriatic Bulk Shipping, Ltd. and
Milena Ship Management, Ltd. — the owner and manager of
the defendant vessel M/V Kapetan Martinovic (“Defendants”)
— to set aside a default judgment and to dismiss Stone’s
complaint raising claims in admiralty or maritime within the
meaning of Fed.R.Civ.P. 9(h). No reversible error has been
shown; we affirm.

The facts are set forth fully in the district court’s orders
dated 12 May 1997, 19 May 1997, and 18 June 1997. In
summary, Stone filed a complaint on 8 October 1993 and sought
to effect service upon Defendants (they are Maltese
corporations) by serving Gulf & Eastern Steamship Chartering
(“Gulf”), as agent for Defendants, by mail.' No signed
acknowledgment of receipt was returned. Stone, again
attempting to obtain the requisite executed forms, sent copies
of the acknowledgment and forms to an attorney for Defendants,
but no executed papers were returned. Stone claims that defense
counsel agreed to have Milena Ship Management, Ltd. accept
service. This claim, as well as the agency status of Gulf for
service of process, is disputed. Undisputed, however, is that no
written waiver of service was obtained. For over three years,
Stone made no further effort to serve Defendants.

1. Whether Gulf was the properly appointed agent of Defendants
for service of process is the subject of some dispute. Because, as
discussed below, we find no abuse of discretion in the district court’s
dismissal for failure to perfect service on Gulf, to resolve this disputed

point is not necessary.

3a

Appendix A

Effective 1 December 1993, Rule 4 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, which governs service of summons, was
amended. Whether assessed under old Rule 4(c)(2)(C) or under
new Rule 4(d), Stone’s purported service was defective.
Schnabel v. Wells, 922 F.2d 726, 728 (11th Cir. 1991), held
that the mail-service provisions of old Rule 4(c)\(2)(C) required
return of the acknowledgment form. Schnabel expressly rejected
the argument that actual notice to a defendant eliminates the
requirement that the acknowledgment be returned; we held that
alternate service must be effected when a defendant refuses to
respond to mailed service. Jd. Rule 4(d) changed the mail
provisions of the old rule to a “waiver” procedure but does not
obviate the need for return of the enclosed forms; return of the
executed requested waiver form renders further service efforts
unnecessary.”

Stone’s claim on appeal that the return of the unexecuted
acknowledgment form was sufficient to accomplish effective
service was considered fully by the district court. For the reasons
set forth in the district court’s orders of 12 May 1997 and 19
May 1997, we agree that an unsigned acknowledgment form
constitutes a legal nullity. Because Stone’s service was
defective, the district court properly set aside the default
judgment pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 60(b)(4).

2. As explained by D.D. Siegel, “The New (Dec. 1, 1993) Rule 4
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure: Changes in Summons Service
and Personal Jurisdiction,” 151 F.R.D. 441, 455 (1994):

The mail service under the old rule was a category of actual
service of process, albeit (in the majority view) it took a
voluntary acknowledgment to effectuate it. The waiver
provision under Rule 4(d) . .. is not process service at all
and can’t be taken as such in any sense. It’s just a request
that the defendant make formal service unnecessary.

4a
Appendix A

Stone advances several arguments to the effect that service
was valid and, if not valid, good cause exists to excuse
noncompliance. Therefore, Stone claims error in the dismissal
of the complaint. We review the district court’s dismissal for
failure to achieve timely service pursuant to Rule 4(m) under
an abuse of discretion standard. See Brown v. Nichols, 8 F.3d
770, 775 (11th Cir. 1993) (applying abuse of discretion standard
of review under Rule 4(j), predecessor to Rule 4(m)).
Negligence, inadvertence, and mistake do not constitute good
cause for excusing timely service.’ See Prisco v. Frank, 929
F.2d 603, 604 (11th Cir. 1991).

The absence of good cause, however, no longer is
dispositive of a motion to dismiss for ineffective service. Under
Rule 4(j), the predecessor to Rule 4(m), a district court had
“no discretion to salvage an action once the court has found a
violation of Rule 4(j) and a lack of good cause.” Jn re Cooper,
971 F.2d 640, 641 (11th Cir. 1992). With the 1993 amendments,
in addition to redesignating Rule 4(j) as Rule 4(m), substantive
change was made to empower courts with discretion to extend
the time for service with no predicate showing of good cause.
See Henderson v. United States, 116 S.Ct. 1638, 1643-44
(1996). The district court concluded that Stone’s “salutary
neglect” in failing to address meaningfully the service
requirements or to seek an extension of the 120-day period
militated against relief.

3. Thus, as explained by the district court, Stone's mistaken
protestations that certain Executive Orders, which blocked further
passage of vessels owned by targeted entities — including the M/V
Kapetan Martinovic, excused Stone's failure to perfect service, are
unavailing.

Sa

Appendix A

We find no abuse of discretion in the district court’s
determination that no good cause existed to excuse Stone’s
failure. We also find no abuse of discretion in the district court’s
dismissal of the action without prejudice. Although Rule 4(m)
provides discretion to allow a permissive extension of time,
Stone advances no justification for permissive extension that
would cause us to conclude that the district court’s dismissal
was an abuse of discretion.

AFFIRMED.

6a

APPENDIX B — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF
GEORGIA, SAVANNAH DIVISION FILED JUNE 18, 1997

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
SAVANNAH DIVISION

CV 493-256
~ STONE CONSOLIDATED, INC.,
Plaintiff,
v.

M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC, her engines, boilers, etc.,
in rem, South Adriatic Shipping, Ltd., and Milena Ship
Management, Ltd.,

Defendants.
ORDER

Over defendants’ objection, plaintiff Stone Consolidated,
Inc. (“Stone”) again moves this Court for reconsideration, this
time with respect to both its 5/12/97 and 5/19/97 Orders. Doc.
## 25-28. On 5/12/97, the Court set aside, for lack of service, a
4/14/94 Default Judgment that it had previously granted to
Stone. In its 5/19/97 Order, the Court rejected Stone’s argument
that service by mail is perfected simply by a defendant’s return
of an unexecuted, Rule 4 acknowledgment form. Stone now
seeks to “perfect the record” and show that it at least did send
its Complaint and process to the defendant vessel’s agent. See
doc. # 25 (brief) at i-2 & Exh. A.

Ta

Appendix B

To that end, it offers an affidavit from the agent’s
“Operations Manager,” who describes the 1993 “procedure for
receiving suit papers in the ordinary course of business. .. .”
Doc. #25 (brief) Exh. A. Apparently one is supposed to assume
that, in light of that routine, Stone’s process must have been
forwarded to that defendant. The manager cites no personal
knowledge, however, nor the particular process employed in
this case.' And none of this, of course, overcomes the fact that
no defendant ever returned an executed Rule 4
Acknowledgment form. Hence, even if it were competent
evidence, the affidavit does not salvage Stone’s position.

Citing Stanga v. McCormick Shipping Corp., 268 F.2d 544,
554 (Sth Cir. 1959), Stone next contends that the Court should
not have dismissed its case some three years after the expiration
of Rule 4(j)’s (now 4(m)’s) 120-day limit; rather, it should have
at the very most quashed the defective service and granted Stone
another chance to perfect service. Though its facts and legal
basis are distinguishable on several grounds, Stanga can be read

1. In that regard, “[a]gency cannot be proved by evidence of mere
declarations of the alleged agent.” Wofford Oil Co. v. Story, 52 Ga. App.
496 (1936); Borg-Warner Acceptance Corp. v. Davis, 804 F.2d 1580,
1583 (11th Cir. 1986) (applying Georgia law) (“It is insufficient, as a
matter of law, to find that an agency relationship exists when the evidence
shows either that an agency was assumed or that an inference was drawn
based on a purported agent’s actions”) (citing Hinely v. Barrow, 169
Ga. App. 529 (1984)); see also US. v. Ziergler Bolt and Parts Co., 111
F.3d 878, 881 (Fed.Cir. 1997) (while an agent’s authority to accept
service on his principal’s behalf may be implied in fact, a party cannot
fabricate such implied authority from whole cloth in order to cure
deficient service, but must present facts and circumstances showing the
proper relationship between defendant and its alleged agent); Kral, Inc.
v. Southwestern Life Ins. Co., 999 F.2d 101, 104 n. 3 (Sth Cir. 1993)
(“authority is not created by the mere statements of the purported agent”).

8a

Appendix B

to support the result Stone now seeks. See also Jim Fox
Enterprises, Inc. v. Air France, 664 F.2d 63, 65 (Sth Cir. 1981);
Harris v. Browning-Ferris Industries Chem. Serv., 100 F.R.D.
775, 778 (M.D.La. 1984).

However, none of those cases involved the salutary neglect
exhibited by Stone in this case. For over three years Stone sat

still, not bothering to make any meaningful attempt to perfect _

service, despite the black-letter law set forth in Schnabel v,
Wells, 922 F.2d 726, 728 (11th Cir. 1991) (“If a defendant
receives mail service, but chooses not to respond, the plaintiff
must effect personal service. The defendant’s actual notice of
the lawsuit does not eliminate this requirement”) (emphasis
added); see also 5/12/97 Order at 2-3 (collecting cases in
accord). Indeed, Stone all along has steadfastly argued the
validity of its service, notwithstanding its abject failure to
adhere to Schnabel’s dictates.

Nor did Stone ever seek an extension under Rule 4(m).
See 4A Wright & Miller, Fep. Prac. & Proc.: Civit 2p § 1137
(1997 Supp. ) (“a plaintiff's failure to move for a Rule 6(b)
extension may be construed as an absence of good cause for
delay”). In its 5/12/97 Order, the Court found that Stone showed
no good cause for its failure to timely perfect service. See Brown
v. Nichols, 8 F.3d 770, 774-75 (11th Cir. 1993). Other courts
have held likewise where litigants have simply misread, or were
ignorant of, the rules governing service. See Tuke v. U.S., 76
F.3d 155, 157 (7th Cir. 1996) (failure to read a rule, and simple
legal ignorance, does not supply “good cause” for belated
service; upholding 120-day “bright line” rule under Rule 4(m));
Hunt v. Dept. of Air Force. Div. of USA, 29 F.3d 583, 587 (11th
Cir. 1994) (affirming district court’s dismissal, without
prejudice, of FTCA complaint where process was served on
United States 184 days after filing of original complaint).

9a

Appendix B

Because the degree of laxity exhibited here easily falls
within the continuum illuminated by, inter alia, Tuke and Davis
v. Belk-Hudson Company of Tifton, Inc., __ F.Supp. _, 1997
WL 254185 (M.D.Ga. 5/12/97). (Rule 4(m) dismissal where
plaintiff, inter alia, failed to perfect service by mail, then waited
until 117th day to attempt personal service, and used an
incompetent process server); see also Patterson v. Johnson,
No. A97A0208, __ Ga. App. __, 97 FCDR 1932 (5/9/97), no
“Stanga” second chance is warranted here. Exercising its
discretion, the Court instead reaffirms its earlier dismissal of
this case.

Given this result, it is not necessary to reach defendants’
remaining arguments concerning “re-reconsideration” motions.
Accordingly, plaintiff Stone Consolidated, Inc.’s “Motion For
Further Reconsideration” (doc. # 25) is DENIED. In that Stone
has appealed this case, see doc. # 26, the Clerk is directed to
include this latest round of filings in the record on appeal.

SO ORDERED, this 18 day of June, 1997.

s/ B. Avant Edenfield

B. AVANT EDENFIELD, JUDGE
UNITED STATES DIXTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

10a

APPENDIX C — ORDER THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF
GEORGIA, SAVANNAH DIVISION FILED MAY 19, 1997

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
SAVANNAH DIVISION

CV 493-256

STONE CONSOLIDATED, INC.,

Plaintiff,
¥.

M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC, her engines, boilers, etc.,
in rem, South Adriatic Shipping, Ltd., and Milena Ship
Management, Ltd.,

Defendant..

ORDER

Plaintiff Stone Consolidated, Inc. (“Stone”) moves for
reconsideration of this Court’s 5/12/97 Order, which set aside
a 4/14/94 Default Judgment for lack of service. Stone first
argues that its service upon defendants was not defective
because “the Notice and Request for Waiver of Service was
returned to Plaintiff's Counsel unsigned.” Doc. # 22 at 2 | 4
(emphasis added). Stone reasons that, because F.R.C.P. 4(d)
does not spell out a signature requirement, service by mail is
perfected simply by a defendants return of an unexecuted
acknowledgment form.

lla

Appendix C

This contention is fatally flawed. Under either the pre- or
post-12/1/93 version of Rule 4, an unsigned acknowledgment
form constitutes a legal nullity. See Rule 4, 1982 Amendment
Legislative Statement, H.R. 7154 (“Section-By-Section
Analysis”) Section 3 (Rule 4(c)(2)(c)(ii) requires substantial
compliance with “Form 18A,” which “advises [the recipient]
“to sign and date the acknowledgment form and indicate
authority to receive service if the person served is not the party
to the action (e.g., the person served is an officer of the
organization being served). . .”) (emphasis added) , reproduced
in Federal Civil Judicial Procedure and Rules at 57 (West 1997)
id. at 48-49 (Rule 4 “1993 Amendments” Notes) (under the
1993 revision, new Rule 4(d) imported the old Rule 4(c) regime,
altering unrelated aspects, and replaced Form 18A with Forms
IA and 1B, which both require the recipient to return a “signed
waiver” form) (emphasis added).

Stone next argues that defendants’ “proper agent was
served” according to “unrefuted sworn testimony in the
record... .” Doc. # 22 at 2 § 7. That “testimony” consists of
two affidavits from Stone’s counsel. However, Stone’s 5/9/97
affidavit (doc. # 15) is as legally insufficient as its pre-default
affidavit (doc. #3), which specifies that Stone effected service
by mail on what it claims to be defendant M/V KAPTAN
MARTINOVIC’s “agents.” Doc. # 3 at 3. While the Notices
were returned, Stone concedes that “acknowledgments were
not signed.” Jd. (emphasis added).

Such omission spells doom for Stone. What is implicit in
the rule is made explicit by its prescribed forms: all
acknowledgments must be signed. Hence, whether the named
agents in fact were defendants’ is of no consequence because,
by counsel’s own admission, Stone never perfected service.
Accordingly, Stone’s Motion For Reconsideration is DENIED.

12a

Appendix C

SO ORDERED, this 19th day of May, 1997.

s/ B. Avant Edenfield

B. AVANT EDENFIELD, JUDGE
UNITED STATES STRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

13a

APPENDIX D — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF
GEORGIA, SAVANNAH DIVISION FILED MAY 12, 1997

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
SAVANNAH DIVISION

CV 493-256
STONE CONSOLIDATED, INC.,
Plaintiff,
v.

M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC, her engines, boilers, etc.,
in rem, South Adriatic Shipping, Ltd., and Milena Ship
Management, Ltd.,

Defendants.
ORDER

Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 60(b)(4), judgment debtors/
defendants South Adriatic Bulk Shipping, Ltd. (“SABS”) and
Milena Ship Management, Ltd. (“Milena”) move this Court to
set aside its 4/14/94 Default Judgment. Doc. # 6. They contend
that because plaintiff Stone Consolidated, Inc. (“Stone”) failed
to properly serve them, this Court lacked jurisdiction to render
any such judgment. Doc. # 8. In addition, defendants move for
an expedited hearing and ruling, as well as a Stay of execution
on the judgment. Docs. # 11-13; F.R.Civ.P. 62(b). Plaintiff has
opposed the motions, insisting that service was valid. Doc.
# 14. Stone also requests a bond under F.R.Civ.P. 65(c) in the
event this Court stays execution. Doc. # 17.

l4a
Appendix D

In arguing that the judgment is void, defendants point to
the plaintiffs affidavit in support of entry of default, which
plainly reveals that F.R.Civ.P. 4’s requirements were not met.
See doc. #3 at 3 (noting that service was effected by mail upon
defendants, purported agent, but that the “acknowledgments
[of service] were not signed”; when defense counsel was
subsequently contacted, he also failed to comply); see also doc.
# 9 Exh. C (copy of plaintiff Is original service-by-mail, Rule
4(c)(2)(C)(i1) forms reflecting signed-acknowledgment
requirement).

At the outset, the Court notes that the Complaint was filed
on 10/8/93 (doc. # 1), the Acknowledgments of Service were
evidently mailed to defendants on the same date (doc. # 9 Exh.
C), and Rule 4 was amended on 12/1/93.' Under either version
of Rule 4, however, service on these defendants is defective.
See Schnabel v. Wells, 922 F.2d 726, 728 (11th Cir. 1991) (“If
a defendant receives mail service, but chooses not to respond,
the plaintiff must effect personal service. The defendant’s
actual notice of the lawsuit does not eliminate this
requirement”) (emphasis added);? Jn Re Air Crash Disaster
Near Brunswick, Ga 4/4/91, 158 F.R.D. 693, 698 (N.D.Ga.

1. See generally D.D. Siegel, The New (Dec. 1, 1993) Rule 4 Of
The Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure: Changes in Summons Service
and Personal Jurisdiction, 151 F.R.D. 441 (1994) (Part I); 152 F.R.D.
249 (1994) (Part II).

2. In Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co. v. Ponsoldt, 51 F.3d 938
(11th Cir. 1995), the Eleventh Circuit clarified that, notwithstanding
Schnabel’s “personal service” alternative, the frustrated plaintiff is not
limited to that method of service alone. In fact, he may resort to other
methods, such as those available under State law. /d. at 940-41; see also
Rule 4(e) (1993).

15a

Appendix D

1994) (“a plaintiff must effect personal service upon a defendant
within 120 days of filing a complaint if that defendant elects
not to return the acknowledgment form or otherwise waive
formal service requirements”); accord Jones v. Navix Line, Ltd.,
944 F.Supp. 468, 471-72 (E.D.Va. 1996).

The “Schnabel” rule, though not universally followed, see
Szarejko v. Great Neck School Dist., 795 F.Supp. 81, 84-85
(E.D.N.Y. 1992), was embraced by the Advisory Committee
to the 1993 Rule 4 amendments. See F.R.Civ.P. 4(d)(2) (1993)
(1993 Advisory Committee Notes) (“Unless the addressee
consents, receipt of the request under the revised rule does not
give rise to any obligation to answer the lawsuit, does not
provide the basis for default judgment, and does not suspend
the statute of limitations in those states where the period
continues to run until service”). Indeed, the Committee
expressly noted that plaintiff's present interpretation of former
Rule 4 is flawed:

The provisions in former subdivision (c)(2)(C)(ii)
of this rule may have been misleading to some
parties. Some plaintiffs, not reading the rule
carefully, supposed that receipt by the defendant of
the mailed complaint had the effect of both
establishing the jurisdiction of the court over the
defendant’s person and of iviling the statute of
limitations in actions in which service of the
summons is required to toll the limitations period.
The revised rule is clear that, if waiver is not
returned and filed, the limitations period under such
a law is not tolled and the ac’ >n will not otherwise
proceed until formal service of process is effected.

Id.

l6a

Appendix D

Plaintiffs citation to opinions outside this Circuit, see doc.
# 14 at 6, does not overcome the result dictated by Schnabel.
Nor does the hearsay statement of defense counsel (“that he
would agree to have Milena accept service,” doc. # 14 at 1 4 3;
# 15 at 2) save the day for Stone. At most, it shows that
plaintiff's counsel was lulled into inaction by a defense
counsel’s false promise. While such conduct perhaps ought to
be the subject of a professionalism inquiry, it is not legally
significant here. Upon receipt of an oral assurance, a prudent
attorney follows up by obtaining a written waiver of service. If
that waiver fails to timely appear, the remedy is to pursue
alternative service, not complain of injustice after the expiration
of Rule 4(j)’s (now Rule 4(m)’s) time limit.

Claims that counsel “thought” he served an entity
“believed” to be acting as defendants’ agent similarly fall on
deaf ears. Plaintiff has never shown (and defendants in fact
deny, see doc. # 9 at 3) that the entity in question was
defendants’ agent for service of process. Indeed, Stone never
even obiained an acknowledgment from that purported “agent.”
And, plaintiff's reliance upon Sanderford v. Prudential Ins, Co.
of America, 902 F.2d 897 (11th Cir. 1990), is misplaced. Service
was not disputed in that case, see id. at 898-99; rather, the only
issue was whether a minor defect (i.e., failure to specify within
how many days defendant had to respond to the Complaint)
could be challenged collaterally. Jd. at 901.

Nor is plaintiff's predicament salvaged by Executive
Orders 12808 and 12810, which “blocked” further passage of
former Yugoslavian ships (including the M/V MARTINOVIC).
See Milena Ship Management Co. v. Newcomb, 995 F.2d 620,
623 (Sth Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1071 (1994); doc.
# 16. First, nothing in the Executive Orders prevents- the
perfection of claims held by American citizens against vessels

17a

Appendix D

presumed to be owned by the former Yugoslavia. Instead, the
Orders were aimed at interdicting any further transactions
inuring to the benefit of the Yugoslav government. See, e.g.,
Executive Order No. 12810 § 2(f). Suits against a Yugoslavian
interest could hardly be said to interfere with the Executive
Branch’s purposes.

Second, the “core function of service [under Rule 4] is to
supply notice of the pendency of a legal action, in a manner
and at a time that affords a defendant a fair opportunity to
answer the complaint and present defenses and objections.”
Henderson v. U.S., 116 S.Ct. 1638, 1648-49 (1996). Service of
process is a critical means by which this Court exercises
jurisdiction over parties. The President has no authority to divest
this Court of such function, cf. U.S. v. Noonan, 906 F.2d 952,
955-56 (3rd Cir. 1990) (President’s pardon power does not
authorize him to “tamper with judicial records”).
Notwithstanding any contrary indication by an Executive
Branch agency, see doc. # 16 at 2 (4/18/97 Office of Foreign
Assets Control memo), doubts concerning the Orders’ effect
on service of process could have been resolved by an appropriate
proceeding, see, e.g., Hinton v. Devine, 633 F.Supp. 1023
(E.D.Pa. 1986) (upholding constitutional challenge to Executive
Order), at a far earlier, more appropriate time.

For that matter, the Court finds it curious that Stone relies
upon the Executive Orders as an excuse for failing to perfect
service. If in fact the Orders “barred” proper Rule 4 service,
then they likewise should have prevented plaintiff from moving
for and obtaining its default judgment against defendants.

Finally, SABS and Milena urge this Court to dismiss
plaintiff's Complaint because Stone failed to exercise due
diligence in perfecting service within the 120 days provided

18a

Appendix D

by Rule 4(j) (now Rule 4(m)). This calls for the Court to assess
whether “good cause” excuses Stone’s omission. See Air Crash
Disaster, 158 F.R.D. at 699; see also Thompson v. Brown, 91
P.3d 20, 21 (Sth Cir. 1996) (noting that, in contrast to Rule
4(j), Rule 4(m) authorizes courts to grant extensions of the
120-rule even in the absence of good cause).

To show good cause, Stone must establish more than
“excusable neglect.” Jn Re Tussing, 200 B.R. 314, 317
(Bkrtcy.N.D. Ohio 1996). Mistakes, negligence, inadvertence
or ignorance of counsel do not alone constitute “good cause.”
Id., Indeed, for the same reasons that defendants are entitled to
Rule 60(b)(4) relief, Stone’s Complaint is dismissed without
prejudice pursuant to Rule 4(j). See Bann v. Ingram Micro,
Inc., 108 F.3d 625, 626 (Sth Cir. 1997) (dismissal without, rather
than with, prejudice is the proper remedy under Rule 4(m));
Air Crash Disaster, 158 F.R.D. at 699 (same under Rule 4(j)).
Even were the Court authorized to grant plaintiff relief under
Rule 4(j) without a good cause showing, Stone’s failure to make
even a minimal effort at the time (e.g., by moving this Court
for an extension of time prior to the expiration of Rule 4(j)’s
120-day period) militates against such relief.

Accordingly, defendants’ motions to set aside the default
judgment and to dismiss plaintiff's Complaint (doc. # 8) are
GRANTED. All other motions are DENIED as moot. The
Clerk is directed to promptly notify all counsel of this ruling.

SO ORDERED, this 12th day of May, 1997.

s/ B. Avant Edenfield

B. AVANT EDENFIELD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN D.sTRICT OF GEORGIA

19a
APPENDIX E — ORDER OF UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT DENYING

PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC
FILED JULY 14, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-8601
STONE CONSOLIDATED, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus

M/V KAPETAN MARTINOVIC, her engines, boilers, etc., in
rem, et al,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Georgia

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING AND SUGGESTION(S)
OF REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion ,1ithCir.,19_ , F.2d_).

Before: EDMONDSON, BIRCH, and DUBINA, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no member of
this panel nor other Judge in regular active service on the Court
having requested that the Court be polled on rehearing en banc

20a

Appendix E

(Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Eleventh
Circuit Rule 35-5), the Suggestion(s) of Rehearing En Banc
are DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ J.L. Edmonson
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1016%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
