# Appendix — Jones v. Georgia Pacific Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1004%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1055

## Text

i,
‘ A) Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED

98S COS iury 1%

In The

Supreme Court of the United” States

October Term, 1998
*

CLEO JONES, et al.,
FRANCIS PATRICK NORWOOD, et al.,
JAY OTIS MeKELLIPS, et al.,
JERRY PAUL TERRY, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

GEORGIA PACIFIC CORPORATION, et al.,

Respondents.
[Four Cases]

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari Or,

In The Alternative, Writ Of Mandamus And/Or
Prohibition To The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit
+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI, OR,

IN THE ALTERNATIVE FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS
AND/OR PROHIBITION, and APPENDIX
VOLUME II, PAGES H-1 TO I-61
.

ALAN B. Ricu, Esa.

(Counsel of Record)

BARON & Bubb, P.C.

3102 Oak Lawn Avenue,
Suite 1100

Dallas, Texas 75219

(214) 521-3605

Attorneys for the Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

H-1

APPENDIX H

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ATLANTA DIVISION

CLEO JONES, Individually and §
as Personal Representative of §
the Heirs and Estate of ISAIAH §
JONES, JR., Deceased, ET AL., §
Plaintiffs, : CIVIL ACTION
VS. § FILE NO.
GEORGIA PACIFIC S
CORPORATION (successor to §
BESTWALL GYPSUM §
COMPANY), ET AL.; ;

98-CV-745

Defendants. ~

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION OF ORDER
DENYING REMAND, OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE,
FOR CERTIFICATION. UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1292(B)

COME NOW all plaintiffs in the above-styled and
numbered case, and respectfully move the Court to

reconsider its order denying remand entered April 27,
1998. In the alternative, plaintiffs respectfully urge the
Court to certify its order denying remand for immediate
interlocutory appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

Because a suggestion that these cases should be
transferred to the Eastern District of Pennsylvania is
pending before the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litiga-
tion, and because tramsfer [sic] would be improper if this

H-2

Court does not have removal jurisdiction over the case,
plaintiffs request expedited consideration of this motion.

Respectful!y submitted,

BARON & BUDD

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION
The Centrum

Suite 1100

3102 Oak Lawn Avenue

Dallas, Texas 75219

(214) 521-3605

FAX: (214) 520-1181

By: /s/ Brent M. Rosenthal
Brent M. Rosenthal
Texas State Bar No. 17281075

AND

DOFFERMYRE, SHIELDS, CANFIELD,
KNOWLES & DEVINE

Suite 1600

1355 Peachtree Street

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

By: /s/ Kenneth S. Canfield
Kenneth S. Canfield
Georgia State Bar No. 10774

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

H-3

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ATLANTA DIVISION

CLEO JONES, Individually and §

as Personal Representative of
the Heirs and Estate of ISAIAH
JONES, JR., Deceased, ET AL.,
CIVIL ACTION
Plaintiffs, FILE NO.
: 98-CV-745

VS.

GEORGIA PACIFIC
CORPORATION (successor to
BESTWALL GYPSUM
COMPANY), ET AL.;

MMMM MM MM MM GN Ww)

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF MOTION FOR
RECONSIDERATION OF ORDER
DENYING REMAND, OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE,
FOR CERTIFICATION UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1292(B)

On March 9, 1998, Defendant General Motors Corpo-
ration (“GMC”) removed this action to this Court on the
basis of diversity of citizenship, despite the presence of
Georgia-Pacific Corporation as a local defendant, on the
theory that plaintiffs’ answers to interrogatories estab-
lished that plaintiffs had fraudulently joined Georgia-
Pacific and that the case was therefore properly remov-
able under 28 U.S.C. § 1441. Plaintiffs filed an emergency
motion for remand, pointing out that their interrogatory
answers, although arguably uninformative, did not estab-
lish that plaintiffs had “no possibility” of recovering from
Georgia-Pacific Corporation under their product liability

H-4

or civil conspiracy theories. On April 27, 1998, the Court
overruled plaintiffs’ motion for remand based on its
observation that “the plaintiffs have come forward with
no specific factual allegations against Georgia-Pacific
whatsoever,” Order at 6, and on its determination that
“conspiracy itself is not a tort under Georgia law.” Id. at
fe

The Court should rescind its order, and should
remand these cases to Georgia state court immediately,
for three reasons.

First — although the law regarding removal and
“fraudulent joinder” does not require them to do so -
plaintiffs have attached to this motion the precise factual
basis for their indisputably actionable allegations that
they were injured by exposure to Georgia-Pacific
asbestos-containing products. This documentation estab-
lishes beyond question that the allegations of each plain-
tiff’s exposure to Georgia-Pacific products were not only
not “fraudulent,” but were viable at the time that they
were made.

Second, should the Court choose not to consider the
evidence submitted with this motion, the Court should
reconsider its denial of remand because the Court did not
apply the correct burden of proof in accepting GMC’s
claim of fraudulent joinder. The law in the Eleventh Cir-
cuit, and nationwide, places the burden on defendants to
establish fraudulent joinder, not on the plaintiffs to
defend the viability of their suit against the local defen-
dant. Neither the nonspecific nature of the complaint
itself, nor plaintiffs’ method of responding to premature

: H-6

overt act by one of the co-conspirators in furtherance of
the conspiracy injured the plaintiffs. Plaintiffs clearly
made the necessary allegations in their complaints, and
these allegations should defeat any contention that Geor-
gia-Pacific has been fraudulently joined.

Finally, in the event that the Court declines to recon-
sider its order denying remand, plaintiffs ask the Court to
certify the order for permissive interlocutory appeal!
under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

I. THE EVIDENCE ATTACHED TO THIS MOTION
SHOWS THAT THE COURT ERRED IN CONCLUD-
ING THAT PLAINTIFFS “FRAUDULENTLY
JOINED” GEORGIA-PACIFIC.

As shown below, plaintiffs continue to maintain that
GMC did not bear their heavy burden of demonstrating
that plaintiffs fraudulently joined Georgia-Pacific in this
litigation. Plaintiffs’ product liability allegations, while
nonspecific, did not itself indicate that the claim against
Georgia-Pacific lacked factual or legal merit, and plain-
tiffs’ answers to interrogatories did not estabiish or sug-
gest that plaintiffs would be unable, following an
adequate time for discovery, to prove that they were
exposed to and injured by defective Georgia-Pacific prod-
ucts. The Court should have granted plaintiffs’ emer-
gency motion to remand on the record before it.

Nevertheless, plaintiffs attach documentation of each
plaintiff's exposure to Georgia-Pacific products —- in the
form of either a complete work history sworn to by the
individual plaintiff, or an attorney’s affidavit indicating
with specificity the evidence of Georgia-Pacific exposure

a ieaenaeiatiiniaitilaeeninneniena iam

H-7

that plaintiffs’ counsel expects to develop - to this mem-
orandum, along with a chart summarizing the evidence
of Georgia-Pacific exposure for each plaintiff. The infor-
mation attached to this motion for reconsideration con-
firms that the product libility claims asserted against
Georgia-Pacific in the original complaint were not fraud-
ulent or factually baseless. Plaintiffs reiterate that they
should not be required to come forward with such infor-
mation to defeat GMC’s allegation that plaintiff fraudu-
lently joined Georgia-Pacific in this litigation, but
Produce it to demonstrate that-their product liability
claims against Georgia-Pacific are clearly viable. The
information attached to this memorandum absolutely
precludes a finding that there is “no possibility” that
plaintiffs can recover on their product liability theories
against Georgia-Pacific. The Court should therefore
reconsider and reverse its finding that plaintiffs fraudu-
lently joined Georgia-Pacific, and should remand these
cases to the circuit court of Fulton County, Georgia for
disposition on the merits.

Il. THE COURT ERRED IN SHIFTING THE BURDEN
TO PLAINTIFFS TO ESTABLISH THAT GEOR-
GIA-PACIFIC WAS NOT FRAUDULENTLY
JOINED IN THESE CASES.

Plaintiffs also urge the Court to reconsider its conclu-
sion that remand should be denied because plaintiffs
“presented no facts whatsoever to show that they have a
cause of action against Georgia-Pacific.” Order at 7. In the
Eleventh Circuit, as in every other circuit, the burden is
not on plaintiffs to present facts Showing that they have a
cause of action, but on defendants to show by “clear and

H-8

convincing evidence” that plaintiffs do not have a cause of
action. El Chico Restaurants, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty and
Surety Co., 980 F. Supp. 1474, 1478 (S.D. Ga. 1997). The
Eleventh Circuit has made clear that the focus is on the
plaintiffs’ complaint, not on the plaintiffs’ ability to prove
the allegations in the complaint: “If there is even a possi-
bility that a state court would find that the complaint states
a cause of action against any one of the resident defen-
dants, the federal court must find that joinder was proper
and remand the case to state court.” Crowe v. Coleman, 113
F.3d 1536, 1538 (11th Cir. 1997) (emphasis added), quoting
Coker v. Amoco Oil Co., 709 F.2d 1433, 1440-41 (11th Cir.
1983). Only after defendants make an initial showing that
plaintiffs cannot prevail — such as showing that plaintiffs’
complaint does not allege a viable cause of action! or
presenting facts afttirmatively showing that plaintiffs’
allegations could not be true,? - do plaintiffs need to
respond with an evidentiary showing supporting their
claims.

1 See, e.g., Cabalceta v. Standard Fruit Co., 883 F.2d 1553,
1561-62 (11th Cir. 1989) (affirming finding that defendant had
been fraudulently joined under Florida law, because Florida did
not recognize alter ego theory alleged by plaintiffs; reversing,
however, because district court did not consider whether Costa
Rica law applied and viability of theory under Costa Rica law).

2 See, e.g., El Chico Restaurants, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty and
Surety Co., 980 F. Supp. 1474, 1477-81 (S.D. Ga. 1997) (finding
fraudulent joinder in case alleging wrongful conduct in Georgia
because defendants submitted affirmative, unrebutted proof
that non-diverse defendant did not issue any policy covering
Georgia risks and did not engage in any conspiracy regarding
Georgia rates).

arr eeseenieneenenseinaeees

Sr ats ct de Ge A 0

H-9

In this case, the defendants did not dispute that
plaintiffs’ complaint stated a viable cause of action
against Georgia-Pacific. See Notice of Removal at 3 (from
the complaint itself, “the case did not appear remov-
able”). Indeed, if removal is based to any degree on
deficiencies in plaintiffs’ complaint, the removal was
untimely, because GMC concededly removed the case
more than 30 days after it was served with the complaint.
28 U.S.C. § 1446(b). Thus, the “shotgun approach” and
“careless draftsmanship” in the complaint condemned by
the Court (Order at 4 & n.2) do not provide a basis for
finding that plaintiffs’ cannot recover from, and therefore
fraudulently joined, Georgia-Pacific.

Defendants’ only showing that plaintiffs fraudulently
joined Georgia-Pacific, then, is the plaintiffs’ refusal, or

plaintiffs’ interrogatory answers — even if characterized
as unresponsive, evasive, or an outright abuse of discov-
ery — do not establish that their claims cannot ultimately
be proved, particularly in the absence of any order compelling
discovery or the expiration of a discovery deadline. Any inad-
equacy in plaintiffs’ discovery responses can be remedied
through motions to compel. Careless or inadequate
responses to discovery do not confer federal jurisdiction.

To be clear, plaintiffs are not taking the position that a
plaintiff in an asbestos case could invariably defeat fed-
eral jurisdiction by merely alleging exposure to the prod-
ucts of the local defendant. Removal might have been
appropriate here if GMC had come forward with proof
that plaintiffs could not have been exposed to Georgia-

H-10

Pacific's product because, for example, Georgia-Pacific’s
products were manufactured after the period of plaintiffs’
exposure or Georgia-Pacific’s products could not have
reached the locations where plaintiffs were exposed. But
GMC has not attempted to make such a showing, because
they could not do so. Georgia-Pacific is a routine defen-
dant in asbestos litigation across the country, and has
sold asbestos products since the mid-1950’s. See Georgia-
Pacific’s Answers to Interrogatories attached to Emer-
gency Motion for Remand.

The Eleventh Circuit has expressly counseled that
“{iJn the remand context, the district court’s authority to
look into the ultimate merit of the plaintiff’s claims must
be limited to checking for obviously fraudulent or frivolous
claims.” Crowe, 113 F.3d at 1542 (emphasis added). The
very purpose of limiting the trial court’s inquiry in this
area is to ensure that the court is “certain of its jurisdic-
tion before embarking on a safari in search of a judgment
on the merits.” Id. at 1538. But the Court’s demand for
specific factual corroboration of plaintiffs’ general allega-
tions of exposure to Georgia-Pacific products in this case
is inconsistent with this limited role. There are scores of
similar asbestos cases pending in Fulton County, with
similar claims against Georgia-Pacific. Unless the Court
modifies the reasoning expressed in its order denying
remand, each of these cases will require the Court to
embark on a “safari,” scrutinizing detailed evidence simi-
lar to that attached to this motion, to determine whether
the plaintiffs have sufficiently documented their allega-
tions of exposure to Georgia-Pacific products to avoid a
finding that they fraudulently joined Georgia-Pacific as a
defendant. This time-consuming exercise is unauthorized

SA ei AE hii ti A NEBR LAER Ni RAL RE A NA IAI

H-il1

by the federal law governing removal as described by the
Eleventh Circuit in Crowe. So long as plaintiffs alleged a
viable claim against Georgia-Pacific (here, they indisputa-
bly did or else the removal was untimely) and so long as
the defendants have not shown that there is no meaning-
ful possibility that plaintiffs will be able to recover on
that claim (here, the defendants made no such showing),
plaintiffs’ choice of a state forum cannot be disturbed.

Ill. THE COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT PLAIN-
TIFFS’ CIVIL CONSPIRACY ALLEGATIONS
AGAINST GEORGIA-PACIFIC ARE SO LACK-
ING IN FACTUAL OR LEGAL BASIS AS TO REN-
DER JOINDER OF GEORGIA-PACIFIC
“FRAUDULENT.”

The Court rejected plaintiffs’ alternative coritention
that their allegations that Georgia-Pacific is liable under
the theory of civil conspiracy precluded a finding of
fraudulent joinder, reasoning that “conspiracy itself is not
a tort under Georgia law.” Order at 7. While plaintiffs do
not dispute the Court’s statement in isolation, it is an
incomplete statement of Georgia’s law of conspiracy.
Although a conspiracy standing alone does not give rise
to a cause of action, a conspiracy, coupled with an overt
tortious act in furtherance of the conspiracy, does furnish
a cause of action against all co-conspirators; “the fact of
conspiracy, if proved, makes any actionable deed by one
of the conspirators chargeable to all.” Cook v. Robinson,
116 S.E.2d 742, 745 (Ga. 1960). As plaintiffs pointed out in
their reply in support of remand, the “actionable deed”
supporting liability under the conspiracy theory was the
tortious marketing of unreasonably dangerous asbestos

H-12

products by all of the co-conspirators. Reply at 5; see
complaint at ¥67(d) (alleging that defendants intended
“to induce the Plaintiffs to rely upon said false and fraud-
ulent representations, omissions, and concealments, to
continue to expose themselves to the dangers inherent in
the use of and exposure to Defendants’ asbestos-contain-
ing products”). The court “must evaluate these factual
allegations in the light most favorable to the plaintiff and
must resolve any uncertainties about state substantive
law in favor of the plaintiff.” Crowe, 113 F.3d at 1538. The
Court erred in finding that plaintiffs’ allegations did not
state a claim for conspiracy against Georgia-Pacific under
Georgia law.

Moreover, it is far from certain that Georgia law
would govern plaintiffs’ conspiracy claims. Plaintiffs are
citizens of Alabama, and it is possible that Alabama sub-
stantive law will apply in these cases. Under Alabama
law, a defendant that is part of a conspiracy is liable for
torts committed by its co-conspirators in furtherance of
the conspiracy. Jones v. BP Oil Co., 632 So.2d 435, 439 (Ala.
1993). Plaintiffs’ original complaint clearly alleges facts
that would impose liability on Georgia-Pacific under Ala-
bama conspiracy law. See Original Complaint at [J 65-70
(alleging that all defendants, including Georgia-Pacific,
concealed and misrepresented medical information con-
cerning the hazards of asbestos, and that these acts prox-
imately caused plaintiffs’ injuries). Other jurisdictions,
applying the same law of conspiracy, have found that
asbestos companies (including, in one case, Georgia-
Pacific itself) were potentially liable to injured plaintiffs
under the conspiracy theory. See Central Wesleyan College
v. W.R. Grace & Co., 6 F.3d 177, 183, 187 (4th Cir. 1993)

H-13

(finding plaintiff’s conspiracy allegations against Geor-
gia-Pacific and other members of the asbestos industry
“non-frivolous” and holding that Georgia-Pacific and
other defendants were potentially liable based on plain-
tiff’s allegation that the defendants “cooperated and
assisted each other in the suppression and active conceal-
ment and misrepresentation of the relationship between
asbestos and various diseases as early as the 1930's”); see
also Adcock v. Brakegate, Inc., 645 N.E.2d 888, 891 (Ill. 1994)
(complaint alleging that asbestos manufacturer engaged
in a conspiracy “to suppress information about the haz-
ards of asbestos exposure and to assert positively claims
that the conspirators knew were false” stated “a legally
recognized cause of action”), and Nicolet, Inc. v. Nutt, 525
A.2d 146, 147 (Del. 1987) (holding that “a cause of action
exists against a party whose asbestos products did not
cause the purported injury, but who allegedly conspired
with other manufacturers to actively suppress and inten-
tionally misrepresent medical evidence warning of the
health hazards of asbestos”). In light of this precedent,
plaintiffs’ conspiracy allegations against Georgia-Pacific
cannot be characterized as “obviously fraudulent or friv-
olous,” Crowe, 113 F.3d at 1542, and require the Court to
remand the case to state court for resolution of these
legally viable claims against Georgia-Pacific on the
merits.

—_—

IV. IN THE ALTERNATIVE, THE COURT SHOULD
CERTIFY ITS ORDER DENYING REMAND FOR
IMMEDIATE INTERLOCUTORY APPEAL.

Should the Court decline to reconsider its order
denying remand, plaintiffs respectfully urge the Court to

H-14

certify its order for immediate interlocutory appeal pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). That statute permits the
prosecution of an appeal of an interlocutory order if the
order “involves a controlling question of law as to which
there is a substantial ground for difference of opinion”
and if “an immediate appeal from the order may mate-
rially advance the ultimate termination of the litigation.”
28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). The order denying remand satisfies
both of these prerequisites. Plaintiffs respectfully submit
that there is a “substantial ground for difference of opin-
ion” on the “controlling question of law” of whether a
defendant may satisfy its heavy burden of proving fraud-
ulent joinder by alleging general deficiencies or omis-
sions in plaintiffs’ pleadings and discovery responses
without making an affirmative showing by “clear and
convincing evidence” that plaintiffs have “no possibility”
of prevailing on their claims against the local defendant.
And immediate review of an order denying remand “may
materially advance the ultimate termination of the litiga-
tion,” because reversal of an erroneous denial of remand
will terminate the case in federal court. The Eleventh
Circuit, as well as the other federal courts of appeals,
have routinely reviewed orders denying remand by per-
missive interlocutory appeal. Michetti Pipe Stringing, Inc.
v. Murphy Bros., Inc., 125 F.3d 1396, 1397 (11th Cir. 1997)
(accepting interlocutory appeal from order denying
remand); see also Carpenters Health and Welfare Trust Fund
for California v. Tri Capital Corp., 25 F.3d 849, 852 (“Where
a motion to remand is denied, the propriety of removal is
reviewable [(i)] on appeal from the final judgment or [(ii)]
by interlocutory appeal if the refusal to remand is certi-
fied.”). Plaintiffs urge the Court to permit interlocutory

H-15

review of its order accepting federal jurisdiction over this

case.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON & BUDD

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION
The Centrum

Suite 1100

3102 Oak Lawn Avenue

Dallas, Texas 75219

(214) 521-3605

FAX: (214) 520-1181

By: /s/ Brent M. Rosenthal
Brent M. Rosenthal
Texas State Bar No. 17281075

AND

DOFFERMYRE, SHIELDS, CANFIELD,
KNOWLES & DEVINE

Suite 1600

1355 Peachtree Street

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

By: /s/ Kenneth S. Canfield
Kenneth S. Canfield
Georgia State Bar No. 10774

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

H-16

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ATLANTA DIVISION

CLEO JONES, Individually and
as Personal Representative of
the Heirs and Estate of ISAIAH
JONES, JR., Deceased, ET AL.,
Plaintiffs, CIVIL ACTION
FILE NO.
ie 98-CV-745
GEORGIA PACIFIC
CORPORATION (successor to
BESTWALL GYPSUM

COMPANY), ET AL.;

Defendants.

MMMMMMMMmM Mm MM MN

AFFIDAVIT OF BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

STATE OF TEXAS §

§
COUNTY OF DALLAS §

BEFORE ME, the undersigned notary public in and for
the aforesaid county and state, personally appeared
BRENT M. ROSENTHAL, who, after being duly sworn by
me, on oath states:

“My name is BRENT M. ROSENTHAL. I am over 18
years of age and being of sound mind, am competent to
make this affidavit. I am an attorney with the firm of
Baron & Budd, P.C., counsel for plaintiffs. Along with
other counsel in the firm, I am participating in the litiga-
tion of the above-entitled and numbered proceeding. I

H-17

have personal knowledge of the facts stated herein, all of
which are true and correct.

"The attached chart reflects detailed information
compiled by the firm of Baron & Budd, P.C. supporting
each plaintiff’s allegation of exposure to asbestos-con-
taining products made and sold by Georgia-Pacific Cor-
poration. For most plaintiffs, the information on the chart
is corroborated by work history forms, based on the
plaintiffs’ own personal knowledge, verified by the plain-
tiff and attached to this affidavit, listing the jobsite, dates,
and asbestos products (including Georgia-Pacific prod-
ucts) to which the plaintiff was exposed. Where the chart
lists a co-worker, the plaintiff expects to demonstrate
exposure to Georgia-Pacific products at the specified
place and time through the testimony of the co-worker.
The information for each Plaintift from which the chart is
compiled is also attached to this affidavit. This prelimi-
nary exposure information indicates beyond question
that plaintiffs did not fraudulently join Georgia-Pacific
Corporation as a defendant in this litigation.”

ee ee

Further affiant sayeth naught.

By: /s/ Brent M. Rosenthal
BRENT M. ROSENTHAL

H-18

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me, on this
the 7th day of May, 1998, to certify which witness my
hand and seal of office.

(SEAL)
/s/ Phyllis G. Grauke
Notary Public in and for
the State of Texas

/s/ Phyllis G. Grauke
(Printed Name of Notary)

My Commission Expires:
12/31/98

_H-19

Jones.1 Group

Plaintiff Co-Worker Jobsite Common Years Georgia Pacific Product
Identified by euher the
Plainuff or Co-Worker

Annie Patton, dec’d William Mathers Brookley Field 1968-1973 All Purpose Joint Compound
Mobile, Alabama

Garland Woods Phillip Kelley Oak Grove Mines 1969-1977 Jout Compound

Re. Oak Grove, Alabama

Isiah Jones, dec'd Dannie Kennedy U.S. Steel 1941-1983 Jount Compound
Fairfield, Alabama

Claude M. Pike, dec'd | Guy Needham Anniston Army Depot 1962-1975 All Purpose Joint Compound

Sims Coats Richard Jackson Alabama State Docks 1953-1959 Jot Compound
Mobile, Alabama

Ruben Robinson Richard Jackson Alabama State Docks 1953-1962 Joint Compound
Mobile, Alabama

Nebraska Greer various sites for Tennesse Valicy 1960-1975 Jomt Compound
Authority see work history

Clayton L. Hall Redstone Arsenal 1965-1980 Jount Compound
Huntsville, Alabama

Barbara Hoffman personal residence 1961-1964 Jomnt Compound
through her father, James Edwards, dec’d, 1964-1967
at US. Steel in Fairfield, Alabama

George W. Raye James River Paper Mill 1960-1990 Jount Compound
Pennington, Alabama

Ray H. Hollingsworth various see attached work history 1963-1975 Jot Compound

mie Ju ~~ e. » - “~@ oe Ae
1 4 Y 4 ; , , 7 Pex:
§ = é bed > :
A _ a Pd S| ¥ * » P|
¥ :
; | : ° ‘ ‘ } t | é
‘ ; he Ps ; - : :
r 3 % ;
LA 4 re a
we “" 4
5 i : ;
’ i p *
é
rs
‘
;
‘
> 1 1
i
A, Ae i
ee ee ——— me 4 7
ee rare: Ne ny lt > i ot ait mt Ek ha bg - ee ko ae ee a ee > . ey 7 ee
ee ee ger Simei eee = = Se ee ee
a ed 6 ane ete ey Ey os ah I er A hg = —— — : pe em
a ew Pe wn at Wa ne = ? 2 aces eae i, a

H-20

Annie Patton, Dec’d
VERIFICATION
STATE OF Alabama
COUNTY OF Mobile

I, the undersigned, state under oath that I am the
Plaintiff in the above-entitled and numbered cause and
that the Supplemental Answers to Master Discovery
Requests (Work History) are within my personal knowl-
edge, and are true and correct to the best of my knowl-
edge.

/s/

EVELYN V. PATTON
Personal Representative of the

Heirs and Estate of
ANNIE KIRKSEY PATTON, Deceased

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME, the
undersigned authority on the 5th day of May, 1998, to
which witness my official hand and seal of office.

My Commission expires: /s/ Mary Middleton
Notary Public in and for
td the State of Alabama

H-21

NAME: ANNIE PATTON, DECEASED

NICKNAME:

GROUP NAME: JONES. I

WORK HISTORY SHEET

EMPLOYER: Lear Siegler, Inc.

JOB SITE: Brookley Field

CITY, STATE: Mobile, Alabama

DATE OF JOB: 1968-1973

EXPOSURE TO
ASBESTOS PRODUCTS:

LENGTH OF JOB: _ 5 years

MY DUTIES AT THIS JOB SITE:
Stripper, Sprayer

WAS JOB NEW CONSTRUCTION ;
REPAIR ; or BOTH

WAS JOB INDOORS? .
OUTDOORS? ; or BOTH

REASON FOR LEAVING:

WAGE RATE/HOUR:

AVERAGE HOURS WORKED/WEEK:

PERCENTAGE OF TIME EXPOSED TO ASBESTOS
PRODUCTS:

ot ee

H-22

SUPERVISOR:

NAMES OF COWORKERS & JOB TITLEs:

ON THIS JOB SITE WERE YOU EXPOSED ANY OF THE
FOLLOWING:

CHEMICALS YES NO
FUMES YES NO
GASES YES NO
CHROMIUM YES NO
CADMIUM YES NO

ANY OTHER PRODUCT YES
LIST:

NO

DID YOU WEAR A RESPIRATOR, MASK OR OTHER
PROTECTIVE DEVICE ON THIS JOB TO AVOID INHA-
LATION OF ANY DUST OR FUMES INCLUDING
ASBESTOS DUST?

YES: Nu:

See eee

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND

SE Le ee ae ae ee

H-23

NAME: William B. Mathers, Sr.

NICKNAME: “Bill” “Billy”

GROUP NAME: Mathers. W

WORK HISTORY SHEET

EMPLOYER:

JOB SITE: Brookley Air Force Base

CITY, STATE: Mobile, Alabama

DATE OF JOB: 1942-1980

EXPOSURE TO
ASBESTOS PRODUCTS:

LENGTH OF JOB:

MY DUTIES AT THIS JOB SITE:
Aircraft Engine Mechanic/Equipment Specialist

WAS JOB NEW CONSTRUCTION ;
REPAIR WORK ; or BOTH X

WAS JOB INDOORS? :
OUTDOORS? ; or BOTH X

REASON FOR LEAVING: Retired

WAGE RATE/HOUR:

AVERAGE HOURS WORKED/WEEK: 40+

PERCENTAGE OF TIME EXPOSED TO ASBESTOS
PRODUCTS: 100%

SUPERVISOR:

NAMES OF COWORKERS & JOB TITLES:

Bornis E. Johnson
Gerald Dixon
James R. Ray
Charles C. Ray

ON THIS JOB SITE WERE YOU EXPOSED ANY OF THE
FOLLOWING:

CHEMICALS YES rae:
FUMES YES xX NO
GASES YES xX NO
CHROMIUM YES NO xX
CADMIUM YES NO xX
ANY OTHER PRODUCT syEs NO xX

|

LIST: Unknown

DID YOU WEAR A RESPIRATOR, MASK OR OTHER
PROTECTIVE DEVICE ON THIS JOB TO AVOID INHA-
LATION OF ANY DUST OR FUMES INCLUDING
ASBESTOS DUST?

YES: X NO:
(3M Mask - early 70's)

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND

SEE ATTACHED LIST.

H-25

NAME: William B. Mathers, Sr.
NICKNAME: “Bill” “Billy”
GROUP NAME: Mathers. W

WORK HISTORY SHEET |

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED |
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND |

INSULATING CEMENT:
Vermont Asbestos 7M
Johns-Manville
Grefco
Quik-Set
Zonolite High Temperature

REFRACTORY CEMENT:
Plastic Chrome Ore xX

FIREPROOFING:
|

~ KK OK OK

Monokote Xx

GASKETS:
Armstrong
Garlock
Victor

ROPE PACKING:
Garlock X

PIPE COVERING: |
Unibestos X :
Pabco X

FIREBRICK: :
A.P. Green Xx

JOINT COMPOUND:
Georgia-Pacific All Purpose X

BOARDS AND PANELS:
Ruberoid

~ ? the State of Alabama

H-61

NAME: ISIAH JONES, JR., DECEASED

NICKNAME:

GROUP NAME: JONES. I

WORK HISTORY SHEET

EMPLOYER: Tennessee Coal and Iron

JOB SITE: U.S. Steel

CITY, STATE: Fairfield, Alabama

DATE OF JOB: 1940-1983

EXPOSURE TO
ASBESTOS PRODUCTS:

LENGTH OF JOB: 43 years

MY DUTIES AT THIS JOB SITE:
Brickmason/ Laborer

WAS JOB NEW CONSTRUCTION
REPAIR ___; or BOTH

WAS JOB INDOORS? )
OUTDOORS? ___ ; or BOTH

pana |

REASON FOR LEAVING:

WAGE RATE/HOUR:

AVERAGE HOURS WORKED/WEEK:

PERCENTAGE OF TIME EXPOSED TO ASBESTOS
PRODUCTS: d

H-62

SUPERVISOR:

NAMES OF COWORKERS & JOB TITLES:

ON THIS JOB SITE WERE YOU EXPOSED ANY OF THE
FOLLOWING:

CHEMICALS YES NO
FUMES YES NO
GASES YES NO
CHROMIUM YES NO
CADMIUM YES NO
ANY OTHER PRODUCT YES NO
LIST:

DID YOU WEAR A RESPIRATOR, MASK OR OTHER
PROTECTIVE DEVICE ON THIS JOB TO AVOID INHA-
LATION OF ANY DUST OR FUMES INCLUDING
ASBESTOS DUST?

YES: NO:

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND

H-63

NAME: DANNIE OTHAL KENNEDY

NICKNAME:

GROUP NAME: KNOX

WORK HISTORY SHEET

EMPLOYER: Tennessee Coal & Iron/USX Corporation

JOB SITE: U.S. Steel

CITY, STATE: Musgota, Alabama; Fairfield, Alabama

DATE OF JOB: 141-1983

EXPOSURE TO
ASBESTOS PRODUCTS:

LENGTH OF JOB: 41 years

MY DUTIES AT THIS JOB SITE:
Electrician

WAS JOB NEW CONSTRUCTION :
REPAIR WORK ; or BOTH X

WAS JOB INDOORS? ‘
OUTDOORS? ; or BOTH X

REASON FOR LEAVING: Retired

WAGE RATE/HOUR:

AVERAGE HOURS WORKED/WEEK: 40

PERCENTAGE OF TIME EXPOSED TO ASBESTOS
PRODUCTS: 100%

SUPERVISOR:

NAMES OF COWORKERS & JOB TITLES:

See Attached List

ON THIS JOB SITE WERE YOU EXPOSED ANY OF THE
FOLLOWING:

CHEMICALS YES NO_ xX
FUMES YES NOX
GASES YES NOX
CHROMIUM YES NOX
CADMIUM YES NO X
ANY OTHER PRODUCT YES NO xX
LIST:

DID YOU WEAR A RESPIRATOR, MASK OR OTHER
PROTECTIVE DEVICE ON THIS JOB TO AVOID INHA-
LATION OF ANY DUST OR FUMES INCLUDING
ASBESTOS DUST?

YES: NO: X
ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND

SEE ATTACHED LIST

NAME:
NICKNAME:

H-65

DANNIE OTHAL KENNEDY

GROUP NAME: KNOX

WORK HISTORY SHEET

Co-Workers:

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED

ON THIS JOB:

FELTS/CLOTH:
Asten

GASKETS:
Armstrong
Flexiallic
Garlock
Victor

CEMENTS:
Johns-Manville
Perf-A-Tape
Calsilite
Pyroscat
Super 711
Pabco
Grefco

Sam Browning
Howard Whaley
Jack Chastain
Merrell Killingsworth
Ray LaBorde

Earl Watson

Ed Brown
William Coleman
John Adams

Roy Flack

A.B. Jones
Raymond Howard
Clay Blake
George Crane

WORKED
WITH AROUND

X

~K KK OK

KK KK OK OK OK

H-66

Quik Set
A. P. Green
Kast-O-Lite

JOINT COMPOUND:
Durabond
Gold Bond
Georgia Pacific
Napko

x KX

x KK OX

NAME: DANNIE OTHAL KENNEDY

NICKNAME:

GROUP NAME: KNOX

WORK HISTORY SHEET

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND

FIREPROOFING:
Zonolite
Cafco Heat Shield

PIPECOVERING:
Unibestos
Kaylo
Pabco
Thermasil

REFRACTORY CEMENT:
Vee Block Mix
Micacrete

GUN MIX:
Narco X

x & or BOT x

H-180

REASON FOR LEAVING: Completed Job
WAGE RATE/HOUR:
AVERAGE HOURS WORKED/WEEK: 40+

PERCENTAGE OF TIME EXPOSED TO ASBESTOS
PRODUCTS: 100%

SUPERVISOR:
NAMES OF COWORKERS & JOB TITLES:
See Attachment “C”

ON THIS JOB SITE WERE YOU EXPOSED ANY OF THE
FOLLOWING:

CHEMICALS YES NO X
FUMES YES X NO

GASES YES NO X
CHROMIUM YES NO xX
CADMIUM YES NO X
ANY OTHER PRODUCT YES NO X

comm ED

LIST: Paint fumes

DID YOU WEAR A RESPIRATOR, MASK OR OTHER
PROTECTIVE DEVICE ON THIS JOB TO AVOID INHA-
LATION OF ANY DUST OR FUMES INCLUDING
ASBESTOS DUST?

YES: X NO:

a

COMMENTS: 3M Mask Worn Occasionally

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB: WITH AROUND

SEE ATTACHMENT “B”
FOR PRODUCTS USED ON COMMERCIAL
& INDUSTRIAL SITES

H-181

NAME: RAY HARDIN HOLLINGSWORTH
NICKNAME:
GROUP NAME: JONES. I

WORK HISTORY SHEET

ATTACHMENT “A”

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB WITH AROUND

FLOOR TILE:
Armstrong X

JOINT COMPOUND:
Durabond
Georgia-Pacific
Gold Bond
Paco
Synko Triple Duty
Triko

PLASTIC CEMENT:
CertainTeed
Flintkote

KK KK OK RK

»
X

H-182

NAME: RAY HARDIN HOLLINGSWORTH

NICKNAME:

GROUP NAME: JONES. I

WORK HISTORY SHEET

ATTACHMENT “B”

ASBESTOS MATERIALS USED WORKED
ON THIS JOB WITH AROUND

INSULATING CEMENTS:
Johns-Manville
Pabco
Grefco
Delta Maid One Shot
Carey
A.P. Green
Quik-Set
Zonolite High Temperature

REFRACTORY CEMENTS:
Vee Block Mix
Micacrete
Insulag

FIREPROOFING:
Monokote
Cafco

GASKETS:
Armstrong
Flexitallic
Garlock
Victor

PACKING:
Anchor

~ KK KK DK OK OC

~x KX

x XK

~~ KK OX

~
;

t

H-184

NAME: RAY HARDIN HOLLINGSWORTH
NICKNAME:
GROUP NAME: JONES. I

WORK HISTORY SHEET

ATTACHMENT “C”

Coworkers: Bobby Hamilton
Sherman Smith
Bobby Joe Smith
H. Eugene Powell
Lawrence Pierce
Melvin Pierce
Eddie Lee
Harry Woods
Fred Phillips
Bill Dumas
Lee Grandquest

ee

I-1

APPENDIX I

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ATLANTA DIVISION

CLEO JONES, Individually §

and as Personal Representative §

of the Heirs and Estate of § CIVIL ACTION
ISAIAH JONES, JR., Deceased, § FILE NO. 98-CF-745

ET AL., 8
Plaintiffs, :

VS. §
GEORGIA PACIFIC §
CORPORATION (successor to §
BESTWALL GYPSUM §
COMPANY), ET AL.; ;
Defendants. S

PLAINTIFFS’ REPLY IN SUPPORT OF
EMERGENCY MOTION FOR REMAND

(Filed April 13, 1998)

Defendant General Motors Corporation (“GM”) has
filed a lengthy memorandum in opposition to plaintiffs’
emergency motion for remand. Plaintiffs tender to the
Court this brief reply.

I. PLAINTIFFS NEED NOT PROVE THEIR PRODUCT
LIABILITY CLAIMS AGAINST GEORGIA-PACIFIC
TO DEFEAT REMOVAL.

In their memorandum in support of their motion for
remand, plaintiffs noted that their right to remand

I-2

depends not on their current ability to support their
allegations against Georgia-Pacific but on vrhether there
is “no possibility” that they will be able to develop evi-
dence to support their claims against that defendant.
Plaintiffs’ Mem. at 2-3, citing Crowe v. Coleman, 113 F.3d
1536, 1538 (11th Cir. 1997). Plaintiffs pointed out that the
Eleventh Circuit has recently noted that the burden for
demonstrating a right to remand is “much lighter” than
that for opposing a summary judgment, and that the
Eleventh Circuit has also pointed out that “the party
opposing a motion for summary judgment should be
permitted an adequate time to complete discovery prior
to consideration of the motion.” Plaintiffs’ Mem. 3, citing
Crowe, 113 F.3d at 1541-42; Plaintiffs’ Mem. 5, citing Jones
v. City of Columbus, Georgia, 120 F.3d 248, 253 (11th Cir.
1997).

GM's response completely ignores these principles.
Instead, GM essentially repeats the non sequitur asserted
in its notice of removal, arguing that plairsi‘is, by stating
their intent to conduct discovery and further investiga-
tion on the issue of product identification, “have effec-
tively admitted that they have no grounds for suing
Georgia-Pacific individually.” GM Mem. 12. Of course,
plaintiffs have admitted no such thing; all they have
“effectively admitted” is the difficulty of providing speci-
fic product exposure and work history information for
workers who were exposed over decades (often ending
many years ago) to hundreds, or perhaps even thou-
sands, of products. Their inability to provide product
information at this early Stage in the litigation does not
conceivably provide a basis for a finding that plaintiffs

I-3

have “no possibility” of developing this information
within a reasonable time through discovery.

GM analogizes its allegation of “fraudulent joinder”
in this case with the motion for summary judgment based
on inadequate product identification granted by the dis-
trict court and affirmed by the Eleventh Circuit in Black-
ston v. Shook & Fletcher Ins. Co., 764 F.2d 1480 (11th Cir.
1985). Of course, as the Eleventh Circuit made crystal
clear in Crowe, different legal standards govern the dispo-
sition of fraudulent joinder and summary judgment
claims. Crowe, 113 F.3d 1541-42. Moreover, the court in
Blackston explicitly recognized that “plaintiffs who did
not work directly with asbestos, but instead were
exposed to it because it was used in proximity to their
workplace, face formidable proof problems in their
attempts to show causation.” Blacxston, 764 F.2d at 1485. It
therefore affirmed summary judgment only after noting
that the district court had “provided every opportunity
for Blackston to produce such evidence” of exposure to
the moving defendant’s product. Id. at 1484. Neither
Blackston, nor any other case cited by GM, suggests that
plaintiffs may be deprived of the opportunity to develop,
through formal discovery, evidence of their exposure to
Georgia-Pacific products.

GM nevertheless claims that the Court should find
that plaintiffs fraudulently joined Georgia-Pacific because
Rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the
“governing rules” of Georgia procedure “do not allow
plaintiffs to bring claims against any defendant without
having a reasonable factual basis to support that claim.”
GM Mem. 9. But neither Rule 11 nor any other rule of
procedure requires the plaintiff in an asbestos case to

ee EE eSreEsE=SEOarrrrrrrrree—eeee eae ee eer

I-4

possess proof of exposure to each defendant’s products at
the time of filing. Obviously, the plaintiff in Blackston did
not possess such proof, yet there is nothing in Blackston
suggesting that the plaintiff was guilty of a Rule 11
violation. Instead, “in view of the length of time between
exposure and perceived injury and the migratory nature
of much of the employment involving asbestos expo-
sure,” (Blackston, 764 F.2d at 1486), the rules require only
that the plaintiff has a good faith basis to believe that
discovery might reveal exposure to each defendant's
products. The Rule 11 cases cited by GM are patently
distinguishable, and do not support removal in this case.
See Jones v. Int'l Riding Helmets, Ltd., 49 F.3d 692 (11th Cir.
1995) (Rule 11 sanctions warranted by counsel’s knowl-
edge when he filed complaint that defendant could not
have manufactured the sole product that injured plaintiff
because defendant came into existence after helmet was
manufactured); Albright v. Upjohn Co., 788 F.2d 1217 (Rule
11 sanctions warranted because plaintiff’s attorney knew
that medical records revealed that the products to which
the plaintiff was exposed were manufactured by com-
panies other than the moving defendants); Kendrick v.
Funderburk, 1998 WL 128476 (Ga. Ct. App. Mar. 2, 1998)
(recognizing — in language omitted by GM in its quota-
tion from the case — that sanctions are appropriate “where
a claim having arguable factual or legal support is filed in
good faith for the purpose of pursuing discovery, but contin-
ued by the attorney after discovery reveals there is no
basis for the claim.” (emphasis added))

Finally, GM seems to argue that because plaintiffs’
answers to GM’s discovery requests were allegedly eva-
sive and inadequate, plaintiffs’ inability to prove their

I-5

allegations of exposure to Georgia-Pacific products must
be conclusively presumed. GM-Mem. 9, quoting Atlanta
Coca-Cola Bottling Co. v. Transamerica Ins. Co., 61 F.R.D.
115, 119 (N.D. Ga. 1972) for the proposition that “[i}]ncor-
poration by reference of the allegations of a pleading is
not a responsive and sufficient answer to an interroga-
tory.” The proper course for a party aggrieved by an
opponent's failure to respond properly to discovery is to
file a motion to compel. If GM desired an early deadline
by which plaintiffs must complete all investigation and
discovery concerning the products to which plaintiffs
were exposed, they were free to seek one from the state
court. Removal is an inappropriate “discovery sanction”
to impose on plaintiffs — and indirectly on the federal
courts — for serving allegedly unresponsive answers to
discovery requests.

A trial on the merits, or even a summary judgment
proceeding, on plaintiffs’ allegations of exposure to Geor-
gia-Pacific products would be premature and inappropri-
ate. GM has failed to carry its heavy burden of
establishing that plaintiffs have “no possibility” of estab-
lishing exposure to Georgia-Pacific products. The motion
for reinand should be granted on that basis.

il. PLAINTIFFS HAVE ADEQUATELY ALLEGED A
VIABLE CIVIL CONSPIRACY CASE AGAINST
GEORGIA-PACIFIC.

As GM admits, under Georgia law a conspiracy is “a
combination between two or more persons either to do
some act which is a tort or else to do some lawful act by
methods which constitute a tort.” GM Mem. 13, quoting

Pe eS aa ee ee ere yet es

pe a ae, ©

1-6

Savannah College of Art & Design, Inc. v. School of Visual
Arts of Savannah, Inc., 464 S.E.2d 895, 896 (Ga. Ct. App.
1995). The rule is the same in Alabama, Jones v. BP Oil Co.,
632 So.2d 435, 439 (Ala. 1993), and in Texas (Massey v.
Armco Steel Co., 652 S.W.2d 932, 934 (Tex. 1983)). Unques-
tionably, the marketing of an unreasonably dangerous
product is a tort. And although it is true that the underly-
ing tort in a conspiracy case must be intentional in
nature, GM Mem. 13, there is no doubt that a manufac-
turer can intend to market an unreasonably dangerous
product. In this case, plaintiffs have alleged that Georgia-
Pacific, with other manufacturers, conspired to manufac-
ture and market intentionally defective and unreasonably
dangerous products. Complaint, [] 67-72.

The viability of this conspiracy theory is demon-
strated by a recent asbestos case tried by plaintiffs’ coun-
sel in Texas. In Mary Beth “Maisie” Wheat v. Raymark Corp.,
et al., No. 95-12812-D, in the 95th District Court of Dallas
County, Texas, the plaintiff sued Raymark for fatal
asbestos-related injuries sustained by her husband. The
plaintiff was unable to develop evidence that her dece-
dent was exposed to a Raymark product, but alleged that
Raymark was nonetheless liable for the death because (1)
Raymark had conspired with Johns-Manville to suppress
medical and scientific data concerning the hazards of
asbestos, (2) Johns-Manville’s act of marketing its
asbestos products with an “intentional defect” was a
tortious overt act in furtherance of the conspiracy, and (3)
the decedent’s death was proximately caused by Johns-
Manville’s overt act in furtherance of its conspiracy with
Raymark. See Judgment (Amended) in Mary Beth “Maisie”
Wheat v. Raymark Corp. signed Mar. 3, 1998 (copy attached

SAMMI SI tre

I-7

hereto as Exhibit “A”) at 2-3. The jury found for the
plaintiff on this theory, and the trial court entered judg-
ment on the verdict. Id. Raymark has since filed for
protection under the Bankruptcy Code.

Neither the Georgia nor the Alabama courts have
addressed the viability of the type of conspiracy theory
upon which the plaintiff prevailed in the Wheat case. The
very existence of the Wheat case, and the legion of other
cases which recognize the viability of the theory of civil
conspiracy for marketing an asbestos product with an
intentional defect, (see cases cited in plaintiffs’ Memoran-
dum in Support of Motion for Remand at 6-7), simply
forecloses the contention that plaintiffs have “no possi-
bility” of recovery on the conspiracy theory alleged in
their complaint. See Lane v. Champion Int'l Corp., 827 F.
Spp.. 701, 706 (S.D. Ala. 1993) (“If plaintiffs’ allegations
set forth a good faith claim under state law, no matter
how doubtful, the presence of the non-diverse defendant
will defeat removal.”).

The potential viability of plaintiffs’ civil conspiracy
claims against Georgia-Pacific is further demonstrated by
the Fourth Circuit’s decision in Central Wesleyan College v.
W.R. Grace & Co., 6 F.3d 177 (4th Cir. 1993). In that case,
the plaintiff college sought to serve as a representative
plaintiff in a property damage class action brought by
colleges and universities against suppliers of asbestos
products. 6 F.3d at 183. The defendants claimed that the
college did not meet the prerequisites for serving as a
representative plaintiff, because the evidence indicated
that the products of only one manufacturer, which had
filed for bankruptcy, were used in its buildings. Id. & n.1.
The district court, and the Fourth Circuit on appeal,

I-8

rejected the defendants’ objection, in part because the
college’s allegation that the defendants “cooperated and
assisted each other in the suppression and active conceal-
ment and misrepresentation of the relationship between
asbestos and various diseases as early as the 1930's,” id.
at 187, stated “non-frivolous conspiracy claims that gave
[the college] standing against all members of the asbestos
industry.” Id. at 183. Georgia-Pacific is identified as a
defendant in that case. Id. at 178-79.

GM asserts that plaintiffs’ allegations of conspiracy
against Georgia-Pacific are ineffectual because plaintiffs
did not plead any acts of fraud with Specificity as
required by both Rule 9(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure and its Georgia analog. Contrary to GM’s
assumption, however, fraud is not a necessary component
of plaintiffs’ civil conspiracy claim. Rather, as plaintiffs
explain above, the conspiracy as alleged in plaintiffs’
complaint was to suppress knowledge of the hazards of
asbestos from the consuming public (for the Purpose of
maximizing profits from the Sale of asbestos Products),
and the tortious acts undertaken by the conspirators was
to market intentionally defective Products (i.e., products
without adequate warnings). These allegations are
unquestionably actionable without Proof of fraud and,
under the literal language of the federal and Georgia
rules, need not be pleaded with specificity.

GM’s emphasis on the failure of plaintiffs to provide
details of “all statements or omissions of Georgia-Pacific
Corporation (including precise time, place and content)
claimed to have harmed [plaintiff]” (GM Mem. 19) only
highlights its misunderstanding of plaintiffs’ conspiracy
theory. Plaintiffs’ claim here is not that the defendants

1-9

affirmatively made fraudulent statements, but that they
wrongfully suppressed information regarding the hazards
of asbestos. Rule 9(b) and its Georgia analog do not, and
cannot require plaintiffs to allege the circumstances of
these “non-statements” with particularity. !

Finally, plaintiffs would alert the court to information
that they have recently obtained indicating that Georgia-
Pacific Corporation was indeed engaged in a conspiracy
to suppress the hazards of asbestos from the general
public, and that plaintiffs were injured as a result of the
conspiracy.

As plaintiffs pointed out in their initial memorandum
in support of remand, Georgia-Pacific Corporation manu-
factured asbestos-containing wallboard and gypsum

1 Because plaintiffs’ conspiracy theory is based not on
defendants’ statements but on their “non-statements,” the only
facts that plaintiffs could conceivably plead relate to
defendants’ conduct within the conspiracy. It is obvious that,
contrary to GM’s assertion, these facts would not be “uniquely
known to plaintiffs prior to filing the complaint” (GM’s Mem.
19); therefore, they cannot be required to plead them with
particularity.

2 GM asserts that the Court should disregard any
additional material that plaintiffs provide to the Court to rebut
GM’s claim that plaintiffs fraudulently joined Georgia-Pacific,
because plaintiffs did not provide the material to GM in
response to the state court discovery requests. GM Mem. 20.
Contrary to GM’s assumption, however, the record is not closed;
plaintiffs are entitled to provide information to the Court
establishing the viability of their claims. Crowe, 113 F.3d at 1538.
And even if plaintiffs’ failure to provide this information to GM
upon its initial request was improper, which plaintiffs deny, GM
cites no case holding that the consequence of such a discovery
violation is automatic federal jurisdiction.

paso PE eb a

Red
By
¥
if

I-10

products, and, along vith other manufacturers of
asbestos products, was a member of the Gypsum Associa-
tion since the mid-1960’s. Minutes of the Gypsum Asso-
ciation confirm that the members of the Association were
aware of the relationship between asbestos and lung can-
cer as early as 1967, and worried that related pollution
problems might have “a dramatic effect on all indus-
tries.” Minutes of the Safety Committee Meeting of the
Gypsum Association, September 19, 1967 (Ex. “B” to this
Reply). In 1973, representatives af the Gypsum Associa-
tion attempted, without success, to convince OSHA rep-
resentatives to relieve manufacturers of asbestos-
containing joint compound from the requirements of
placing warning labels on their products and monitoring
the job sites where joint compound products were used.
Report of Special Task Force on Joint Treatment Com-
pound, November, 1973 (Ex. “C”). In November of 1973,
the Gypsum Association conducted a study “to determine
the concentrations of airborne asbestos to which workers
were exposed during mixing and sanding of joint cement
compounds and to interpret the results in terms of poten-
tial health hazards with Particular reference to regula-
tions promulgated” under OSHA. Evaluation of Exposure
to Asbestos During Mixing and Sanding of Joint Com-
pounds, Gypsum Association, November 19, 1973 (Ex.
“D” to this Reply), at 1. The study concluded, inter alia,
that “[i]t is clear that persons engaged in the mixing and
sanding of joint compounds similar to those used during
this test would be exposed to concentrations of airborne
asbestos in excess of two fibres per cubic centimeter
during the entire course of their work,” which was the
Proposed acceptable limit to become effective July 1,

I-11

1976. Id. at 6. Nevertheless, in August of 1976, members
of the Association suggested preparing a “position
paper” showing that “to the best of our information,
there is no carcinogenetic relationship with gypsum,” and
advising that the industry should establish a position that
any blanket mineral fiber standard is totally out of
order.” Special Meeting, Manufacturing and Mining Com-
mittee, August 10, 1976 (Ex. “E”). These facts establish at
least a “possibility” that Georgia-Pacific conspired with
other manufacturers to suppress from the public informa-
tion concerning the hazards of asbestos, and that the
conspiracy caused injury to the plaintiffs.

Georgia-Pacific has already been found to have con-
spired with other members of the Gypsum Association. In
the early 1970’s, Georgia-Pacific, along with three other
companies, was convicted of having “engaged in a
nationwide conspiracy to fix the prices, the terms and
conditions of sale, and the method of handling gypsum
board products.” United States v. United States Gypsum
Co., 600 F.2d 414, 416 (3d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S.
884 (1979). It is certainly reasonable to expect that these
- same companies conspired to promote the sale of their
asbestos-containing products by concealing the hazards
of such products from the public. Further discovery may
or may not reveal such information, but for purposes of
deciding the motion for remand, all that is important is
that defendants have not shown there is “no possibility”
that plaintiffs can recover from Georgia-Pacific under

their conspiracy theory.

I-12

Ill. THE LYONS OPINION DOES NOT SUPPORT
REMOVAL IN THIS CASE.

GM relies heavily on the recent decision of this Court
in Lyons v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., Civil Action
No. 97-CV-1850-CC (N.D. Ga. Mar. 23, 1998), but the case
is clearly distinguishable. Lyons was a class action on
behalf of all Georgia residents who are cigarette smokers
or survivors of cigarette smokers against the tobacco
industry. In addition to the cigarette manufacturers and
their trade associations, the plaintiffs also sued an indi-
vidual who was a former tobacco executive and three
local distributor defendants. The individual and distribu-
tor defendants were the only Georgia residents named in
the complaint. The district court found that the plaintiffs
had fraudulently joined the Georgia residents because
“the distribution Defendants have nothing to do with the
manufacture or advertising of cigarettes, or the conceal-
ment of the products’ allegedly hazardous effects” and
because the plaintiffs’ “general allegations of fraud and
RICO violations” against the individual tobacco executive
“are wholly insufficient to Satisfy the pleading require-
ments of either the federal] (or Georgia) rules or the RICO
Statute, not to mention the obvious statute of limitations
Problems that arise when a corporate officer is sued over
eight years after he held the Position at issue.” Lyons, slip
op. at 7-8.

In contrast, Georgia-Pacific is an undisputed member
of the asbestos industry and is alleged to be liable to
plaintiffs for Precisely the same reasons that all the other
defendants are alleged to be liable. The only alleged
problem with plaintiffs’ joinder of Georgia-Pacific is that
plaintiffs have not yet proved that Georgia-Pacific is

I-13

actually liable for their injuries. This is an insufficient
basis upon which to find fraudulent joinder.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and for the reasons stated
in plaintiffs’ motion for remand and supporting mem-
orandum, plaintiffs respectfully urge the Court to remand
this case to the Superior Court for Fulton County, Geor-
gia, and to award such fees and costs as it deems just.

Respectfully submitted,

BARON & BUDD

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION
The Centrum

Suite 1100

3102 Oak Lawn Avenue

Dallas, Texas 75219

(214) 521-3605

FAX: (214) 520-1181

By: /s/ Brent M. Rosenthal
Brent M. Rosenthal
Texas State Bar No. 17281075

AND

DOFFERMYRE, SHIELDS,
CANFIELD, KNOWLES &
DEVINE

Suite 1600

1355 Peachtree Street

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

By: /s/ Kenneth S. Canfield

by #750415
Kenneth S. Canfield
Georgia State Bar No. 10774

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

=
a
Es
*
we
:
ie
e

I-14

NO. 95-12812-D

MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT, § IN THE

Individually and as Personal § DISTRICT
Representative of the Heirs and § COURT

Estate of SAMUEL JOE WHEAT, §

Deceased, ET AL.: §

Plaintiffs pony
; COUNTY, TEXAS

VS.

RAYMARK CORPORATION (as
successor to ASBESTOS
LITIGATION MANAGEMENT
CORPORATION); and
RAYMARK INDUSTRIES (as
successor to RAYMARK
FRICTION COMPANY, INC. and
UNIVERSAL FRICTION
COMPOSITES), ET AL.;

Defendants.

95TH JUDICIAL
DISTRICT

PAM nn nn an Mn aM un En nr

JUDGMENT (AMENDED)

CAME ON FOR TRIAL BY JURY the claims of Plain-
tiffs MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT, Individually and as
Personal Representative of the Heirs and Estate of SAM-
UEL JOE WHEAT, Deceased, and KENNETH WHEAT,
TAMARA MOORE, TARA MARTZ, and NINA MAE
WHEAT, Individually as Heirs and Beneficiaries of SAM-
UEL JOE WHEAT, against Defendants Raymark Corpora-
tion and Raymark Industries, who all appeared in person
and by attorney of record and announced ready for trial.
All matters of fact and things in controversy were submit-
ted, and a jury having been Previously demanded, a jury

TA REN tae OA es 7

NE aad *t

I-15

consisting of twelve good and lawful jurors was duly
empaneled, and the case proceeded to trial.

The claims of WILLIAM LUTHER DOUGLAS,
LAURA JO HERRIDGE, ROBERT EARL STEEL, EFFIE
JEAN EURINE, Individually and as Personal Representa-
tive of the Heirs and Estate of ANTHONY RAY EURINE,
Deceased and MATTIE CHARLENE ALLEN did not pro-
ceed to trial, as the claims of these Plaintiffs against all
Defendants were settled and dismissed prior to trial. At
the conclusion of the evidence, in the first phase of this
bifurcated trial, the Court submitted the case to the jury
on special issues. The jury deliberated and announced its
verdict to the Court on February 19, 1998, as follows:

1. Do you find SAM WHEAT sustained an
asbestos-related injury or disease that
caused his death?

Answer “YES” or “NO”.
YES NO
xX

If you have answered Question No. 1 “YES,”
answer Question No. 2; otherwise, do ot
answer Question No. 2.

2. Was there an intentional defect in
Johns-Manville’s marketing of an asbestos-
containing product at the time the product
left the possession of Johns-Manville that
was a proximate cause of the death of SAM
WHEAT?

A “defect in the marketing” with respect to
the product means the failure to give ade-
quate warnings of the product’s dangers

I-16

that were known or by the application of
reasonably developed human skill and fore-
sight should have been known or failure to
give adequate instructions to avoid such
dangers, which failure rendered the product
unreasonably dangerous as marketed.

“Adequate” warnings and 38N

88 ZEc’P6e’l (€S°726'Z6) (€S°'7Z6'%6) (€S°7Z6'Z6) (SI'se9’Zss) (SI'SEs’ZSs) SJ9S}JO

00°0000SZ’€ 00°000’0SZ 00°000‘0SZ 00°0000SZ 00°000’00$’I 00'000 ‘00S‘T ‘duo
‘PIPsaA

[2IOL ZyIePW eiel s100O/ZFW eIeUWel yPOUM yyoUuUsy yPOUM yeOUM wes
%0Z JO ‘gq Arey jo

e/, sya3 “ey | %OF 9321S %OF

I-26

Accordingly, based on the verdict of the jury as
recited herein, the Court’s rulings during trial, the appli-
cable law, and taking into account the prior settlements
received by Plaintiffs listed herein, as well as offset calcu-
lations, it is

ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and DECREED:

1. That Plaintiff MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT, as
Personal Representative of the Heirs and Estate of SAM-
UEL JOE WHEAT, Deceased, shall have and recover from
Defendants Raymark Corporation and Raymark Indus-

tries compensatory damages in the amount of
$942,164.85.

2. That Plaintiff MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT,
Individually, shall have and recover from Defendants
Raymark Corporation and Raymark Industries, compen-
satory damages in the amount of $942,164.85.

3. That Plaintiff KENNETH WHEAT, Individually,
shall have and recover from Defendants Raymark Corpo-
ration and Raymark Industries, compensatory damages
in the amount of $157,027.47.

4. That Plaintiff TAMARA MOORE, Individually,
shall have and recover from Defendants Raymark Corpo-
ration and Raymark Industries, compensatory damages
in the amount of $157,027.47.

5. That Plaintiff TARA MARTZ, Individually, shall
have and recover from Defendants Raymark Corporation
and Raymark Industries, compensatory damages in the
amount of

$157,027.47.

1-27

6. That Plaintiff MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT,
Individually, shall have and recover from Defendants
Raymark Corporation and Raymark Industries, punitive
damages in the amount of $500,000.00.

7. That Plaintiff NINA MAE WHEAT, Individually,
shall take nothing on her claims against Defendants
Raymark Corporation and Raymark Industries.

8. That pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.Stat.Ann. Art.
5069-1E.101, et seq., (formerly Art. 5069-1.05 § 6), Plaintiff
MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT, as Personal Representa-
tive of the Heirs and Estate of SAMUEL JOE WHEAT,
Deceased, shall recover prejudgment interest at the rate
of 10% per annum from March 6, 1996, the date the suit
was filed, until the date vefore this judgment was signed,
in the amount of $186,626.08.

9. That pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.Stat.Ann. Art.
5069-1E.101, et seq., (formerly Art. 5069-1.05 § 6), Plaintiff,
MARY BETH “MAISIE” WHEAT, Individually, shall
recover prejudgment interest at the rate of 10% per
annum from March 6, 1996, the date the suit was filed,
until the date before this judgment was signed, in the
amount of $186,626.08.

10. That pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.Stat.Ann. Art.
5069-1E.101, et seq., (formerly Art. 5069-1.05 § 6), Plaintiff,
KENNETH WHEAT, Individually, shall recover prejudg-
ment interest at the rate of 10% per annum from March 6,
1996, the date the suit was filed, until the date before this
judgment was signed, in the amount of $31,104.35.

11. That pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.Stat.Ann. Art.
5069-1E.101, et seq., (formerly Art. 5069-1.05 § 6), Plaintiff,

a

I-28

TAMARA MOORE, Individually, shall recover prejudg-
ment interest at the rate of 10% per annum from March 6,
1996, the date the suit was filed, until the date before this
judgment was signed, in the amount of $31,104.35.

12. That pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.Stat Ann. Art.
5069-1E.101, et seq., (formerly Art. 5069-1.05 § 6), Plaintiff,
TARA MARTZ, Individually, shall recover prejudgment
interest at the rate of 10% per annum from March 6, 1996,
the date the suit was filed, until the date before this
judgment was signed, in the amount of $31,104.35.

13. That postjudgment interest on the amounts
owed by Defendants to Plaintiffs shall accrue at the rate
of TEN PERCENT (10%) per annum, compounded annu-
ally, from the date the judgment is signed until it is
Satisfied pursuant to Tex.Rev.Civ.Stat.Ann. Art.
5.069-1E.001-5069-1E.006 (formerly Art. 5069-1.05 §§ 2
and 3).

14. That Plaintiffs’ claims against all other Defen-
dants in this action have been settled and Dismissed.

15. Costs of this suit shall be taxed against each
Party as incurred by them.

16. All other relief not expressly granted herein is
hereby denied.

LET EXECUTION LIE IF NOT TIMELY PAID.

1
|
+
|

1-29

SIGNED this 3 day of March, 1998.

/s/ Sally T. Montgomery
THE HONORABLE
JUDGE SALLY MONTGOMERY
AGREED AS TO FORM:

DEFENDANT:

RAYMARK CORPORATION &
RAYMARK INDUSTRIES

* /s/ Mike Maddox
Mike Maddox
William Sxepnek
SKEPNEK & MADDOX
Mercantile Bank Tower, Ste. 601
900 Massachusetts
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone No: 785-331-0300
Fax No: 785-331-0303
PLAINTIFFS:

/s/ Brent M. Rosenthal
Lisa Blue
Brent M. Rosenthal
Lisa Kivett
Michael L. Kaeske
BARON & BUDD, P.C.
3102 Oak Lawn, Suite 1100
Dallas, TX 75219-4281
Phone No: 214-521-3605
Fax No: 214-550-1181

*

objects to punitive damages

I-30

MINUTES OF THE
SAFETY COMMITTEE MEETING

SEPTEMBER 19, 1967

Mr. F.H. Zimmerman, Chairman of the Gypsum
Association Safety Committee, called the meeting to
order at the Marriott Motor Hotel, Saddle Brook, New
Jersey, at 8:30 a.m. Those in attendance were:

C. J. Saturnia Celotex Corporation

M. F. Fink Georgia-Pacific Corporation
Gypsum Division

J. Gregg Kaiser Gypsum Company,
Inc.

R. W. Henly The Flintkote Company

J. Tuffy The Flintkote Company

T. D. Tolin National Gypsum Company

F. H. Zimmerman National Gypsum Company

P. Kipp United States Gypsum
Company

A. V. Abnee, Jr. Gypsum Association

F. J. Rogers Gypsum Association

1. GYPSUM ASSOCIATION SAFETY BULLETIN

A. The chairman requested that the secretary relate
the member company response for Safety articles to be
used in the Bulletin. Following a brief discussion by the

3

I-31

committee, it was their recommendation that each mem-
ber company stimulate employee participation by urging
the plant employees to write and submit safety articles to
the Association.

B. The committee reviewed the Bulletin format and
it was the consensus that it was satisfactory in its present
form. One member suggested that a possible change be
considered when the next Bulletin mast head is printed.
The secretary indicated that present Bulletin stock supply
would be depleted at the end of the fiscal year, and at
that time, committee suggestions would be solicited.

The committee requested that the secretary construct
a chart showing the industry frequency rating over the
past four years, as related to the all industry frequency
rating reported by the National Safety Council, and print
this chart in the Safety Bulletin. The secretary indicated
that such a chart was already being considered for the
October issue.

The committee directed that this item be carried on
the docket.

2. “CERTIFICATE OF MERIT” AWARD

The secretary submitted a “Certificate of Merit”
award plaque for committee investigation. He informed
the committee that the award cost the Association $20.00
to purchase and mail, and requested that they might
consider adopting an award that might have greater util-
ity for the winner, such as an ash tray or pen set. the
committee, after much discussion, directed the secretary

I-32

to obtain a les costly certificate and also purchase an ash
tray for the award winners.

Following a thorough review of the last three edi-
tions of the Safety Bulletin, the committee selected one
article by ballot. The article “Did You Bet Your Life?” by
Val Robertson, Assistant Production Superintendent, The
Flintkote Company, Blue Diamond Gypsum Division, Fre-
mont, California (August 1967) won the award. Mr.
Robertson will receive a certificate and inscribed ash tray
for his contribution to safety.

3. AIR AND STREAM POLLUTION

The chairman cited a few pollution problems involv-
ing plants on a local level. He stressed the importance of
all committee members keeping abreast with local, state,
and federal pollution programs.

One member noted a recent problem involving the
asbestos industry where a number of lung carcinoma
cases had been reported by inhabitants of the neighbor-
hood surrounding an asbestos plant. It was further noted
that clinical tests and investigations had resulted in legal
action against the manufacturer by the claimants.

The chairman indicated that air and water pollution
problems would have a dramatic effect on all industries
and that the committee should take the initiative to meet
any such problems head on if they should occur in the
gypsum industry.

Following a discussion of pollution problems in var-
ious industries, it was the consensus that the safety com-
mittee should have a more active program in this area,

i

I-33

outlining the problems that exist and what steps have
been taken to solve them.

On a motion seconded and carried, the committee
recommended that the chairman advise the directors of
the pollution problem, and suggest that they have plant
managers join local groups studying pollution problems,
so as to give our industry greater control of the problems.

The committee directed that this subject be carried on
the docket.

REPORT OF SPECIAL TASK FORCE ON
JOINT TREATMENT COMPOUND

This is the first report on the proceedings and status of
the work being done by the Special Committee on
Asbestos in Joint Compound. As you will recall, a recom-
mendation was made to the Gypsum Association that it
involve itself in the assessment of release of asbestos
fibers during the use of the joint treatment products by
the customer. This recommendation was based on the
stringent regulations of the Occupational Safety and
Health Act. At the annual meeting, all committees and
the Board supported a basic program and funds were
appropriated to conduct a field test program to determine
what level of asbestos fibers are released in mixing and
sanding operations when using joint compound products.
It was further stipulated that an independent laboratory
would serve to monitor this type of program in order to
minimize cost due to duplicate individual efforts by the
membership.

1-34

In May of this year, representatives from the Gypsum
Association met with OSHA representatives in Washing-
ton to discuss regulations pertaining to asbestos. The two
Purposes for this meeting were (1) a hope to obtain an
interpretation of the law which would preclude the need
for placing labels on containers of joint compound if the
asbestos fiber environment generated during its normal
use would not exceed the OSHA limits, and (2) a variance
from the regulations which would eliminate the need for
the contractor to Provide monitoring at each job site.
Although OSHA was impressed with our interest in our
consumers use of the product, they verbally denied any
general relief from either the labeling or the monitoring
requirement.

Subsequent to the meeting with OSHA, a special Associa-
tion committee was formed from member designates who
were skilled in air sampling techniques and evaluations.
This committee formulated a test program and selected
George D. Clayton and Associates as the independent
laboratory to do the monitoring for the test. The actual
test work was conducted by Gardineer Drywall Com-
Pany, Aurora, Colorado, and they provided excellent
cooperation in order that the monitoring of dust and
asbestos fibers could be evaluated.

Ten dry powder and ready mix topping grade joint com-
pounds from five manufacturers were delivered tc the
site by the Association members. Containers were
unmarked except for a code number assigned by the
Association’s confidential depository. Ten test houses, in
close Proximity to each other and of relatively compara-
ble size were designated for the test program. One

me Waren ee

PAAR

0. i Nad a

EAN Ra Re RR NN iy 4

1-35

product was assigned for each house for the mixing and
sanding procedures.

The mixing tests required about 15 minutes per product
and the sanding required an average of one hour per
house; sanding was accomplished in a manner typical of
flat work.

Although a final report has not been submitted by Clay-
ton, there was a special committee meeting held October
3 and a discussion of preliminary results indicated that
there might be some area of inconsistency or incomple-
tion of data obtained from this test program. The Com-
mittee recommends that certain portions of this program
be redone to assure the Association that results which are
to be published in the final report are accurate, complete
and consistent.

The phase II program has already been established and
the Committee is ready td proceed. It is estimated that
this phase will cost no more than $2,000 and it is
requested that the Board of Directors approve such
expenditures. If funds are appropriated, Phase II can
complete their work and submit a comprehensive report
of findings and recommendations by the end of January
1974. It is not possible as of now to predict if additional
testing will be required after Phase II.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ J. Volk
Joseph Volk, Chairman
Special Committee on
Joint Compounds

November 1973

1-36

EVALUATION OF EXPOSURE TO ASBESTOS DURING
MIXING AND SANDING OF JOINT COMPOUNDS

GYPSUM ‘ASSOCIATION
Denver, Colorado

November 19, 1973
INTRODUCTION

The Gypsum Association retained George D. Clayton and
Associates to conduct an industrial hygiene Survey at a
test site located in Denver, Colorado. The Purpose of the
survey was to determine the concentrations of airborne
asbestos to which workers were exposed during mixing
and sanding of joint cement compounds and to interpret
the results in terms of potential health hazards with
Particular reference to regulations Promulgated under
authority of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of
1970. This Study was conducted on November 19, 1973 by
Mr. Robert D. Soule of Clayton and Associates. Results of
that study are reported herein.

BACKGROUND

The Gypsum Association, located at 1603 Orrington Ave-
nue in Evanston, Illinois is a trade association which
represents ten to fifteen industrial companies which are
engaged in the manufacture of products incorporating
Sypsum or gymsum-like materials. As with most indus-

have become more broad with the passage and imple-
mentation of federal regulations such as the Metal and
Non-Metallic Mine Safety Act and the Occupational
Safety and Health Act. Technical committees composed of

I-37

personnel from companies comprising the Gypsum Asso-
ciation have been established with particular interest in
the occupational safety and health field. Of particular
concern in this respect was the potential hazard associ-
ated with exposure of workers to airborne asbestos dur-
ing mixing and sanding of compounds used to seal cracks
and joints formed during installation of wallboard mate-
rial. Although the specific formulations used by the var-
ious companies manufacturing and supplying the joint
compound vary, it is understood that essentially all of
them incorporate asbestos in the product whether as a
dry compound or a ready-mix product.

In order to evaluate the exposure of workers to asbestos
during handling and use of the joint compound products,
the Gypsum Association decided to undertake a test pro-
gram during which several products would be mixed and
sanded. George D. Clayton and Associates was retained
to collect and analyze samples which would represent the
exposure of workers engaged in the study. The tests were
performed on November 19, 1973 in a development of
townhouses known as King’s Mill Townhouses, which
were under construction in a suburban area north of
Denver, Colorado.

POTENTIAL HEALTH HAZARD ASSOCIATED
WITH EXPOSURE TO ASBESTOS

Asbestos is a generic term referring to various mineral
silicates. The types used most widely in industrial appli-
cations include chrysotile, or “white asbestos” (a
hydrated magnesium silicate), amosite, or “grey
asbestos” (an iron magnesium silicate), crocidolite, or

I-38

“blue asbestos” (a sodium iron Silicate), tremolite (a cal-
cium magnesium Silicate), and anthophyllite (another
iron magnesium silicate), Of these, chrysotile accounts for
over 90 percent of the total usage of asbestos in this
country, with amosite and crocidolite being the only other
types used to any significant extent.

Asbestos exists naturally in bundles of extremely fine
fibers which can be subdivided easily into many smaller
fibers. The potential health hazard associated with expo-
sure to asbestos is that of inhalation of airborne fibers
resulting in a type of pneumoconiosis referred to as
“asbestosis.” Small asbestos fibers can Pass readily
through the upper respiratory tract and be deposited in
the terminal bronchioles of the lung. There, they produce
a local irritation which the body attempts to overcome by
initiating a tissue response resulting in the encapsulation

membranes and result in respiratory insufficiencies, or
even cardia failure. It has been determined, through tox-
icological and epidemiological studies, that long fibers,
20 to 50 micrometers in length, are most active in the
Production of the fibrosis. Fibers shorter than about two
micrometers in length, are practically without an irritat-
ing effect. There is some evidence that other minerals
having fibrous characteristics can Produce similar reac-
tions.

Many recent studies have indicated an association
between exposure to asbestos in both industrial and

NEON TOMA EH 2.20 nar

hed ee menenon

eee

1-39

urban atmospheres and an increase in a relatively rare
type of lung cancer known as mesothelioma. Although it
has not been possible to establish a connection with
asbestos in all cases of this disease, there is a strong
correlation between exposure to crocidolite and occur-
rence of mesotheliomas. Other types of asbestos have
been implicated to a much lesser extent. However, this
“new hazard” has received much public attention
because it has been suggested that very minimal, non-
occupational exposure can be sufficient to produce the
disease in some individuals.

For many years the American Conference of Govern-
mental Industrial Hygienists has recommended a thresh-
old limit value (TLV) of five million particles per cubic
foot of air (mppcf) for all types of asbestos-bearing dusts
containing less than one percent crystalline silica. The
threshold limit value is defined as the concentration of an
airborne contaminant to which it is believed that nearly
all workers can be exposed for continuous and repeated
work days without experiencing adverse effects. The TLV
of five mppcf was based on the impinger sampling tech-
nique which was selected as the standard method in the
early epidemiological studies of occupational exposure to
asbestos. With this method, air is drawn through an
impinger containing water and the total particles (both
grains and fibers) in an aliquot of the sample, are counted
using light-field microscopic techniques.

Within recent years, because of the increasing concern
about asbestos in the environment and the resulting need
for a more relevant sampling method, the American Con-
ference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists has pro-
posed TLV of five fibers (greater than five micrometers in

I-40

length) per cubic centimeter of air. This standard is based
on the membrane filter technique with actual microscopic
fiber counting at 400-450X magnification using phase con-
tract illumination.

The Occupational Safety and health Administration
(OSHA) has established the above concentration (five
fibers, greater than five micrometers in length, per cubic
centimeter of air) as an emergency standard and have
announced that, effective July 1, 1976, the acceptable limit
for an eight-hour, time-weighted average exposure will
be reduced to two fibers/cc. In addition, OSHA has
established the concentration of ten fibers (greater than
five micrometers in length) per cubic centimeter of air as
an acceptable ceiling concentration. Workers shall not be
exposed to concentrations of asbestos in excess of this
value, regardless of duration of exposure.

SAMPLING AND ANALYTICAL METHODS

The air sampling conducted to evaluate exposures of
workers to asbestos was all of the “breathing zone” type.
These samples were collected by drawing air through 37-
mm diameter membrane filters (Millipore Type AA) at a
rate of about two liters per minute using small, battery-
Operated pumps (Mine Safety. Appliances Company,
Model G). The sampling units were worn by the workers
engaged in either mixing or sanding the joint compound;
the pump was attached to the belt and the sampler head
fastened on the outside of the worker’s shirt at approxi-
mate breathing zone height. Thus, these Samples were
representative of the time-weighted average conditions to
which the men were exposed during the sampling period.

I-41

The sampling head consisted of a three piece cassette
(Millipore); during sampling the face cap was removed
and the filter was used in an “open face” mode with the
filter positioned slightly downward so as to minimize
dust falling directly onto the filter.

Sampling was conduced for the entire duration of the
mixing operations but because of the higher anticipated
concentrations associated with sanding of the joint com-
pounds it was decided to change filters approximately
every ten minutes. Sampling during the sanding on the
various joint compounds was conducted over a total
period of sixty minutes. Therefore six consecutive ten-
minute samples were obtained for each sanding test. In
addition to the ten-minute tests, samples were collected
over thirty-minute periods as well, i.e., two consecutive
30-minute samples for each sanding test. After collection
of each sample the filter cap was replaced and the cas-
sette, or sampler head, was sealed immediately and pre-
pared for transfer to the analytical laboratory.

The method of counting asbestos fibers was essentially
the same as that used by the U.S. Public Health Service
for the enumeration of asbestos dust on membrane filters.
The description of this method first appeared in an article
written by G.H. Edwards and J.R. Lynch and appeared in
the Annals of Occupational Hygiene, Volume 2, pages 106
(1968).

In summary, the method consisted of the following steps.

A pie-shaped section of each sample was
mounted on a standard microscope slide using a
high viscosity solution of membrane filter in a

I-42

1:1 mixture of diethyl oxalate and dimethyl pht-
halate to render the filter transparent. The
asbestos fibers which were on the surface of the
filter were then counted using a 10X eyepiece
and a 40X objective with phase contrast illu-
mination.

A number of fields, selected at random across
the sample, sufficient to reveal a minimum of
100 fibers were examined and fibers greater
than five micrometers in length were counted.
Any particle having an aspect ratio of three or
greater was considered to be a fiber. Although it
was conceivable that there would be fibers of
Paper or other materials present on the filters
which would have been dislodged from the
wallboard during the sanding operation it did
not appear that these were of any adverse con-
sequence during the analysis of the samples.
Although it is realized that the counting tech-
nique is not specific in terms of being able to
identify the chemical nature of the fibers present
in the sample, all of the fibers observed in these
Samples appeared to have physical features
characteristic of asbestos fibers.

For those samples collected over a thirty-minute
period, and which were too heavily loaded to
evaluate directly under the microscope, the col-
lected material on the filters was dislodged in a
highly purified distilled water bath using an
ultrasonic unit (Dynasonic Corporation, Model
Go generator and Model T6 tank) and diluted to
one liter. An aliquot of the resulting suspension
was drawn, passed through a membrane filter
(Millipora Type HA) and was then analyzed
according to the procedure described above.

1-43

PRESENTATION OF RESULTS

A total of four joint compound products were used dur-
ing this study. These products (two dry mix and two
“ready mix”) were supplied by two manufacturers whose
identities were not known to the investigator. The prod-
ucts were identified by code (2D, 2R, 4D and 4R), a
number referring to the supplier and the latter indicating
whether the product was a “dry” or “ready-mix” com-
pound.

The results of the sampling program conducted during
the mixing of the two dry mix products and sanding tests
on all four joint compounds are presented in Tables |
through IV. Examination of these data reveals the follow-

ing:

1. During mixing of Joint Compound 2D, the
worker was exposed to a concentration of
31.4 fibers, greater than five micrometers in
length, per cubic centimeter of air.

2. The amount of total particulate generated
during the sanding operation on Joint Com-
pound 2D was so great that direct analysis
of the ten-minute samples was not possible.
Analysis of the thirty-minute samples,
which were redeposited, indicated an aver-
age concentration of 39.4 fibers, greater than
five micrometers in length, per cubic centi-
meter of air.

3. The results of analyzing four of the six ten-
minute samples collected during sanding on
Joint Compound 2R indicated an average
concentration of 4.2 fibers per cubic centi-
meter; two of the samples were too heavily

™ _—

VI

I-44

loaded to analyze directly. Results of anal-
ysis of the two thirty-minute samples col-
lected during the sanding on Joint
Compound 2R indicated an average concen-
tration of 11.1 fibers per cubic centimeter, a
factor of over 2.5 times as high as the aver-
age obtained from analysis of the ten-minute
samples.

The sample obtained during the mixing of
Joint Compound 4D indicated a concentra-
tion of 7.6 fibers, greater than five microme-
ters in length, per cubic centimeter of air

Results of analyzing four of the six ten-min-
ute samples collected during the sanding on
Joint Compound 4D indicated an average
concentration of 4.4 fibers per cubic centi-
meter. Analysis of the two thirty-minute
samples, which were subjected to the
redepositing procedure, indicated an aver-
age concentration of 14.8 fibers per cubic
centimeter, a factor of 3.4 times as high as
results obtained from the ten-minute sam-
ples.

The results of analysis of five of the six
samples obtained during the sanding on
Joint Compound 4R indicated an average
concentration of 10.8 fibers per cubic centi-
meter. Results of analysis of the two thirty-
minute samples indicated an average con-
centration of 9.7 fibers per cubic centimeter,
a value essentially the same as that obtained
from analysis of the ten-minute samples.

Six of the thirteen ten-minute samples
obtained during sanding on the four joint
compounds indicated concentrations in
excess of five fibers per cubic centimeter.

I-45

Both mixing operations generated asbestos
concentrations in excess of five fibers per
cubic centimeter.

8. Two of the thirteen ten-minute samples col-
lected during the sanding tests indicated
concentrations in excess of ten fibers per
cubic centimeter, the acceptable ceiling con-
centration. One of the two mixing opera-
tions generated an asbestos-in-air
concentration in excess of ten fibers per
cubic centimeter.

9. Of the four products tested, sanding on 2R
and 4D resulted in concentrations less than,
but approaching, the current acceptable limit
for continuous exposure of workers, five
fibers per cubic centimeter. Product 4R con-
sistently produced very high concentrations
of total dust which obscured the asbestos
fibers on the samples.

CONCLUSIONS

The following conclusions are presented on the basis of
observations and measurements made during the study
reported herein.

1. Based on the results of the ten-minute sam-
ples, it is apparent that the exposures of
workers engaged in mixing and sanding of
the various joint compounds used during
this test would be to concentrations
approaching or exceeding five fibers, greater
than five micrometers in length, per cubic
centimeter of air.

2. It is clear that persons engaged in the mix-
ing and sanding of joint compounds similar

I-46 -

to those used during this test would be
exposed to concentrations of airborne
asbestos in excess of two fibers per cubic
centimeter during the entire course of their
work. This value is the proposed acceptable
limit for an eight-hour time-weighted aver-
age exposure to asbestos which is scheduled
to become effective July 1, 1976.

With the exception of the tests conducted
during sanding on joint compound 4R the
results of analysis of the thirty-minute sam-
ples, using the redeposition technique, were
consistently higher than those obtained by
direct analysis of the ten-minute samples by
a factor of 21/2 to 31/2. Therefore, it appears
that use of the redeposition technique would
result in the apparent concentrations of
asbestos in air being higher than actually
present and would therefore err on the “con-
servative” side.

Discounting the results obtained by analysis
of the thirty-minute samples, for which the
redeposition technique was used, three of
the samples collected (mixing of 2D and
sanding on 4R) indicated concentrations in
excess of ten fibers per cubic centimeter and
are therefore a concern as peak exposures.
With those exceptions, the problem is one of
controlling the time-weighted average expo-
sures of workers to asbestos. In that respect,
it must be pointed out that the sampling
results reported herein are indicative of the
exposures of workers during the mixing or
sanding operations and not their time-
weighted average exposure for a full work-
day.

1-47

RECOMMENDATIONS

The results of sampling reported herein
should be analyzed in conjunction with a
study of the work practices and routine of
persons engaged in mixing, sanding or oth-
erwise being exposed to joint compounds
similar to those used in this study. In this
way a true evaluation of the time-weighted
average exposure of such workers to
asbestos can be made. If it is true that, as
reported by workers used during this test, it
would be unlikely for an individual to mix
or sand on the joint compounds for greater
than two hours per workday, then the time-
weighted average exposure of such workers
to asbestos likely would be within accept-
able limits. Of course, the problem of con-
trolling any exposures to below ten fibers
per cubic centimeter would still have to be
contended with.

From the standpoint of being able to elimi-
nate or minimize the problem of excessive
concentrations of asbestos being generated
by handling and use of the joint compounds,
consideration should be given to the follow-
ing aspects.

a. The most effective means of eliminating
the asbestos problem obviously would
be to eliminate asbestos from the joint
compound formulations if this is feas-
ible. although the specific role that
asbestos plays in the joint compound
formulations is not clear it is understood
that manufacturers of joint compounds
consider it necessary that asbestos be in
the formulations.

¢

*

BF pap) iin eek eke: Mom

I-48

From an engineering standpoint, it may
be necessary to implement the following
measures in conjunction with mixing
and sanding of the joint compounds con-
taining asbestos.

li.

Mixing of the joint compounds
could be done in such a way that
the material is more effectively wet-
ted as it is removed from the con-
tainers or could be done within an
enclosure, with or without mechani-
cal ventilation, so as to minimize
the amount of asbestos fibers
released into the breathing zone of
the workers.

Although the results of the air sam-
pling reported herein indicate con-
centrations of asbestos fibers in
excess of acceptable limits, either
those currently enforced or those
proposed to be made effective in
July, 1976, it was obvious during the
study that the sanding process in
general has associated with it expo-
sure of the worker to tremendously
high concentrations of total dust.
Therefore, if means were imple-
mented to maintain the exposure of
the workers to total particulate to
within acceptable limits there
would be an inherent control of the
asbestos problem as well. Although
more extensive in nature, engineer-
ing control of the total dust gener-
ated by the sanding operations is
feasible. Such control techniques

1-49

would include, but not be limited
to, the use of a wet sanding tech-
nique and/or use of a portable local
exhaust ventilation system incor-
porating, as the air moving device,
a unit similar to common industrial
vacuum cleaners and bag collectors.

3. The next phase of the testing program to
control workers’ exposures to asbestos dur-
ing use of the joint cement compounds log-
ically would be evaluations of the various
potential engineering control concepts indi-
cated or inferred above.

This report prepared by: /s/ Robert D. Soule
Robert D. Soule, P.E.
‘Vice-President, Industrial
Hygiene Services

I-50 TABLE f

GEORGE D. CLAYTON & ASSOCIATES
INDUSTRIAL BYCIENE SAMPLING SUMMARY
Client Gypsum Association Material Asbestos
Sampling Sample Sauple Concentration

1973 JOINT COMPOUND 2D Period Weight Volume/| ribers
Dete — Description vi Start | Stop Litere |>5us/ce
11/19 | 2D-™ Mixing of esnaitinant®) 09:28)09:34 13 31.4
11/19 | 2pD-Ss-1 Sanding on compound (©) 11:57}12:27 60 35 .2*%%
11/19 | 2D-S-2 Sanding on eonpeuna ‘*? 11:57})12:07 ae. bad

11/19 |2D-S-3 Sanding on utmened*”? 12:07 12:17 - *

11/19 |2D-S-4 Sanding on compound (¢) 12:17)12:27 - *

11/19 |2p-s-5 | Sanding on compound ‘°) 12:27|12:57 60 43.6%
AL/19 1|2D-S-6 Sanding on compound (©) 12:27)12:37 - m

it 2D-S-7 Sanding on compound ‘°) 12:37 412:47 - bd

11/19 |2D-S-8 Sanding on compound (©) 12:47112:57 -

| ty (b)
> (c)
3
7}
g
p
6
NN
+ .

Townhouse Unit U-81.

Townhouse Unit U-77.

redeposited for analysis

too heavily loaded for direct analysis
material on filter was taken into suspension and an aliquot

All samples were obtained in the breathing sone of the workers.
Mixing of Compound 2D was done by Mr. Harold McDowell in King's Mill

Sanding of Compound 2D was done by Mr. James Pasquariello in King's Mill
Psychrometric conditions in U-77 at 11:45 were
56°F dry bulb, 41°F wet bulb (222% relative humidity)

I-51

TABLE I!

GEORGE D. CLAYTON & ASSOCIATES
INDUSTRIAL BYCIENE SAMPLING SUMMARY
Client Gypsum Association Materiel Asbestos
Sanwpling Sample Seuple Concentration
1973 JOINT COMPOUND 2R Period Weight Volume! ribers
Saaple (a)
Dete No. Description Start | Stop Litere |>Sua/ce
11/19 | 2R-s-1 | Sanding compound (>) 15:48|16:18 60 12.3*4
11/19 | 2R-S-2 Sanding compound (>) 15:48)15:58 20 4.5
11/19 | 2R-S-3 Sanding compound (>) 15:58)16:08 _ 20- 4.2
11/19 |2R-S-4 | Sanding compound ‘”? 16:08)16:18 20 4.1
11/19 | 2R-S-5 Sarding compound (>) 16:186/16:48 60 9.984
11/19 | 2R-S-6 Sanding compound (>) 16:18116:28 20 *
11/19 |2R-S-7 | Sanding compound ‘>) 16:28)16:38 20 3.8
11/19 |2R-S-8 | Sanding compound (>) 16:38116:48 20 >
(a) All seeamples were obtained in the breathing sone of the workers.
) \(b) Sanding of Compound 2R was done by Mr. David Potter in King’s Mill
, iS Townhouse Unit U-79. Psychrometric conditions ‘in U-79 at 15:45
*. were 39°F dry bulb, 35°F wet bulb (662% relative humidity).

: G
2F sz

4} J * too heavily loaded for direct analysis ,

** material on filter was taken into suspension and an aliquot
v redeposited for analysis

A

5
F
3
uN
og

1-52 TABLE I1t ,

GEORGE D. CLAYTON & ASSOCIATES
INDUSTRIAL HYGIENE SAMPLING SUMMARY

\lent Gypeum Association | Meterial Asbestos

1973 JOINT COMPOUND 4D ‘torte’ liatgee [Melee CT
ate — Description gene Start | Stop Liters |>Sye/ece

1/19 | 4D-m Mixing compound (>) __ | 09:09 09:17 14.4 7.6

‘1/19 | 4p-S-1 Sanding compound (©) 10:20] 10:50 60.0 | 15.5**

1/19 | 6D-S-2 | Sanding compound ‘°) 10:20] 10:29 18.0 5.2 ;
1/19 | 4D-S-3 Sanding compound (¢) | 10:29] 10:40 22.0 *

1/19 | 4n-S-4 Sanding eonpound () 10:40] 10:50 . 20.0 3.7

1/19 | 4D-S-5 Sanding compound (¢) 10:50] 11:90 20.0 4.1

1/19 | 4D-S-6 Sanding compound (¢) 10:50) 11:20 (60.0 14.1%*

1/19 | 4D-S-7 Sanding compound ‘°) 11:00] 11:10 20.0 * cae
1/19 | 4n-S-8 Sanding compound (¢) ‘11:10)11:20 20.0 4.7

(a) All samples were obtained in the breathing sone of the workers.

(b) Mixing of Compound 4D was done by Mr. Harold McDowell in King's Mill
Townhouse Unit U-89. : : ;

(c) Sanding of Compound 4D Was done by Mr. James Pasquariello in King's Mill
Townhouse Unit U-76. Psychrometric conditions (dry and wet bulb tempera-
tures) were not recorded. ; :

Ls

;

]

9

RP * too heavily loaded for direct analysis

z ** material on filter was taken into suspension and an aliquot
redeposited for analysis

°
S\ ;
ww

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE IV ‘

GEORGE D. CLAYTON & ASSOCIATES
INDUSTRIAL BHYCIENE SAMPLING SUMMARY

1-53

Client Gypsum Association Material Asbestos
an JOINT COMPOUND 4R entre ORE oe ee
Dete — Description ia Start | Stop Liters |>Sus/ce
11/19 | 4R-S-1 Sending compound (>) 14:31] 15:01 60.0 _ii.3**
11/19 | GR-S-2 Sanding compound (>) 14:31] 14:41 20.0 6.3
11/19 | Gr-s-3 | Sending comvound ‘>? 14:41] 14:51 20.0 7.5
11/19 | 4R-S-4 | Sanding compound (>) 14:51] 15:01 20.0 19.9

| Wists 4GR-S-5 Sanding compound (>) 15:91, 15:31 60.0 8.1%
11/19 | 4R-S-6 | Sanding compound ?) 15:01)15:11 20.0 5.3
11/19 | GR-S-7 Sanding compound (>) 15:11] VOID - -

11/19 |arn-s-8 | Sending compound (>) 15:18)15:31 26.0 15.0
(a) All samples were obtained in the breathing sone of the workers.
(b) Sanding of Compound 4R- was done by Mr. David Potter in King's Mill

Townhouse Unit U-78.

44°F dry bulb,

36°F wet bulb (682% relative humidity).

** material on filter was taken into suspension and an aliquot
redeposited for analysis

Psychrometric conditions’in U-78 at 14:45 were

1-54

SPECIAL MEETING
MANUFACTURING & MINING COMMITTEE
SHERATON BUFFALO-EAST
BUFFALO, NEW YORK

August 10, 1976

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Mr.
W. B. Hoffman, Vice Chairman of the Manufacturing &
Mining Committee. Those in attendance were:

E. R. Kiehl The Celotex Corporation

E. J. Cole Georgia-Pacific Corporation

C. O. Campbell National Gypsum Company

A. H. Fay National Gypsum Company

D. G. Hamme National Gypsum Company

W. B. Hoffman National Gypsum Company

R. G. Moore National Gypsum Company

F. H. Zimmerman National Gypsum Company

J. D. Cornell United States Gypsum —
Company

W. Lewis United States Gypsum
Company

K. E. Mohler United States Gypsum
Company

A. V. Abnee, Jr. Gypsum Association

F. J. Rogers Gypsum Association

B. H. Jackson Legal Counsel

Vice Chairman Hoffman opened the meeting with
self introductions, noting that the special meeting of the

I-55

committee has been called relative to the proposed MESA
mineral fiber standard, and that the purpose of the meet-
ing would be to determine possible action of the Associa-
tion with respect to the proposed standard.

1. REVIEW OF PROPOSED MESA MINERAL FIBER
STANDARD

Mr. Frank H. Zimmerman of the National Gypsum
Company, member of the MESA Federal Metal and Non-
metal Mine Safety Advisory Committee, reviewed the
proposed MESA mineral fiber standard which had been
introduced by MESA at the most recent Advisory Com-
mittee meeting. He noted that the proposed minera! fiber
standard presented to the Advisory Committee by MESA
also included consideration of air quality and ventilation,
for arsenic, berryllium and lead, and would affect well
over 2000 industrial operations in addition to the gypsum
industry. He stated that the proposed mineral fiber stan-
dard was nothing more than the current asbestos stan-
dard with the word “asbestos” removed, and questioned
the need for such a standard in view of the fact that there
are no documented health problems, that he was aware
of, in any of the industries that would be covered by the
proposed standard. Mr. Zimmerman noted that a special
task force of the Advisory Committee consisting of two
labor, two management and one state government repre-
sentative, to which he had been assigned, would be meet-
ing sometime in the future for the purposes of studying
the proposed standard. Mr. Zimmerman said that he had
been notified that the sub-committee would not be meet-
ing prior to the next scheduled Advisory Committee

I-56

meeting August 24 through 26, 1976. He noted that it was
not known at this time when such meeting is held,
whether it would be open to the public. Mr. Zimmerman
concluded his review by noting the importance for indus-
try to study the effect of the proposed standard on their
operations and to prepare data that could be used with
MESA, if it became necessary in the future, to assure
defeat in the promulgation of the proposea standard.
There followed discussions relative to the intent and
wording of the proposed MESA mineral fiber standard,
and it was the consensus that on the basis of our current
industry operational knowledge within the minerological
and employee health areas, that application of the pro-
posed mineral fiber standard in the gypsum industry is
unwarranted.

2. REVIEW OF MEMBER COMPANY MINERAL FIBER
TESTING EXPERIENCE

Industry representatives commented briefly on their
company’s programs to test air quality relative to mineral
concentrations within their gypsum mining, quarrying,
crushing and grinding operations. In general, such mem-
ber company programs were few and limited in scope,
and it was the consensus that there was no current indus-
try data available relative to gypsum mineral fibers. It
was noted of the various varieties of gypsum deposits
that only the Satin Spar variety was found in a fibrous
silky form, and that this variety of gypsum was not
common in North American gypsum deposits.

Mr. A. H. Fay, of National Gypsum Company,
reported on an asbestos fiber study conducted by the

I-57

Asbestos Information Association of North America. He
noted that the Weston Environmental Consultants of
Westchester, Pennsylvania had conducted the AIA study
and he referred to their report entitled: “Technological
Feasibility and Economic Impact of OSHA Proposed
Revision to the Asbestos Standard,” and also “Excerpts
from Asbestos Industry Response to OSHA on Proposed
Revision to Asbestos Standard 29, CFR part 1910,” during
his comments. He stated that he was not attempting to
correlate our current mineral fiber concerns with that of
asbestos, but that the general format and policies fol-
lowed by the AIA in initiating such studies could be quite
beneficial and possibly serve as guidelines for our indus-
try if it was decided that we pursue a similar study
course through the Gypsum Association. He noted that
the AIA study program covered two major areas; one,
relative to actual dust counts taken in industrial opera-
tions, and the second, to analyze the medical justification
given by Labor for the proposed standard. Mr. Fay noted
that the total AIA project had been financed by Associa-
tion dues along with contributions from asbestos opera-
tors outside of the AIA membership.

3. POSSIBLE ASSOCIATION ACTIVITY

Mr. Zimmerman suggested that the Association con-
sider developing a position paper based on current oper-
ational knowledge showing industry action to protect
workers, and that to the best of our information, there is
no carcingenetic [sic] relationship with gypsum. Mr. Fay
noted that MESA’s definition of a mineral fiber is all
important and that our industry should establish a posi-
tion that any blanket mineral fiber standard is totally out

1-58

of order. Mr. Abnee noted that Gypsum Association has
some historical data on gypsum which has been used by
the membership. Mr. Zimmerman commented that the
old data of significant value in the past would be of little
value at this time in view of the new scientific testing
procedures currently in existence to study fibrous mate-
rials. Mr. Zimmerman noted that we should develop a
current data bank upon which to base future defensive
industry testimony if we are to effectively address our-
selves to the proposed MESA mineral fiber standard. It
was once again reiterated that our current industry
knowledge, both mineralogical and medical, is insuffi-
cient to support the consensus that there are no fibrous
problems with our mineral, especially as relates to the 10
or 15 per cent impurity content of gypsum deposits.

It was the consensus that an industry study program
was essential at this time and that it should address itself
to collecting industry dust count data that would give
both fibrous and silica analysis data. It was the consensus
that such a study program should cover both total dust
and total fiber analysis to determine: 1) if we have a fiber
problem from gypsum or impurities associated with gyp-
sum ore deposits, and 2) on the basis of the collected
data, to determine if any of the resulting data can be
associated with Industrial respiratory health problems. In
addition, it was the consensus that each member com-
pany review their company’s historical experience rela-
tive to worker-related illness to determine what, if any,
historical medical problems might have to be considered.
The individual member company historical medical expe-
rience, it was suggested, could be collected by the Asso-
ciation through the development of a questionnaire form.

1-59

The committee briefly discussed several testing labora-
tory possibilities, among which were noted the Clayton
and Nalsco operations, in addition to a private consulting
firra operated by Mr. Jeremiah Lynch.

4. SUMMARY AND COMMITTEE RECOMMENDA-
TIONS

Vice Chairman Hoffman summarized the various dis-
cussions which called for a recommended industry pro-
gram to be coordinated through the Gypsum Association
in two phases: first, the employment of an environmental
consulting firm to conduct an all mineral analysis for
fiber and silica in the mining, quarrying, crushing and
grinding operations for our industry throughout the
United States. The Association would solicit through a
questionnaire form, and compile historical member com-
pany medical data that could be related to either fiber or
silica exposures as the second phase.

On motion made, seconded and unanimously car-
ried, the Manufacturing and Mining Committee recom-
mends to the Board of Directors that the Gypsum
Association interview and hire an environmental consul-
tant firm to conduct an all mineral analysis study cover-
ing both fibers and silica, and to collect historical medical
data in this same area from the industry through an
Association questionnaire form. The following industry
personnel were assigned to the Manufacturing & Mining
Committee task force to assist the Association in accom-
plishing the recommended actions of the committee:

I-60

E. R. Kiehi The Celotex
Corporation

H. E. Beard The Flintkote Company

E. J. Cole Georgia-Pacific
Corporation

A. J. Trommershausen Kaiser Gypsum &
Cement Corporation

J. Volk National Gypsum
Company

J. D. Cornell United States Gypsum
Company

Mr. J. D. Cornell was appointed Chairman of this
special committee study group which is to work with the
Association staff in the development of the necessary
industry questionnaire and interview, hire and work with
the selected consultant firm until such time that this
Project is completed. Mr. Cornell noted that he would
work closely with the Association staff and call a meeting
of this special study group in the near future to interview
and select a consultant laboratory.

Mr. Hoffman thanked everyone in attendance for
their input and direction. Mr. Rogers briefly outlined a
Projects schedule whereby the study committee, consul-
tant and budgetary recommendations would be pre-
sented at the next Manufacturing & Mining Committee
meeting on October 5, 1976, and then subsequently to the
Board for their approval at the semiannual meeting, Octo-
ber 6 and 7. Mr. Rogers noted that this projects schedule
would be followed unless expedited handling of this
study was necessitated by accelerated MESA action other
than that anticipated at this time.

I-61

There being no further discussions, the meeting was
adjourned at 12:15 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,

/s/ FJ. Rogers/ne
F.J. Rogers
Secretary

FJR:nc

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_1004%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
