# Opposition Brief — Bockes v. Fields

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0811%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 1092

## Text

Court, U >
r wae EI

&

a) | DEC 2 7 1993

No. 93-818 |
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1993

NANCY BOCKES,

Petitioner,

BETTYE LOU FIELDS, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fourth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Rosert V. Warp

Warp & BisHop

P. O. Box 1809
Bristol, VA 24203-1809
(703) 466-8033

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

_|BEST AVAILABLE LE COPY; ub

SE AR ar at ONT R ae a ER 3 ARE ote WN

a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) WHETHER A LOCAL BOARD OF SOCIAL SER-
VICES IS AN AGENT OF THE STATE FOR ELEVENTH
AMENDMENT PURPOSES WHEN A JUDGMENT
AGAINST THE LOCAL BOARD WOULD NECESSARILY
EFFECT THE STATE TREASURY?

(2) WHETHER A COUNTY MAY BE HELD LIABLE
FOR THE ACTIONS OF A LOCAL BOARD OF SOCIAL
SERVICES WHEN THE ACTIONS SURROUND THE
IMPLEMENTATION OF STATE POLICY RATHER THAN
COUNTY POLICY?

LIST OF PARTIES

MS. NANCY BOCKES, Petitioner

MS. BETTYE LOU FIELDS, in her official capacity as
member and Chairman of the Grayson County Board of
Social Services,

MR. ROBERT WELLS, in his official capacity as member
of the Grayson County Board of Social Services,

MR. DENNIS COOLEY, in his official capacity as member
of the Grayson County Board of Social Services,

GRAYSON COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SER-
VICES,

and
GRAYSON COUNTY, VIRGINIA,

Respondents.

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
LIST OF PARTIES i}
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES tii

CONSTILUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STA

RULES INVOLVED
STATEMENT OF THE CASI
SUMMARY OF Tt

ARGUMENT 12

CONCLUSION 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Blaylock v. Schwinden, 862 F.2d 1352 (9th Cir.
SG a iN aaa ea eee oe eae ee eee 14
Benning v. Board of Regents of Regency Univer-
sity, S20 F.20 Fo CEN CE. FOP) one ks ke ches cee us 14
Bockes v. Fields, 798 F.Supp. 1219 (W.D. Va. 1992) ..... 8
City of St. Louis v. Propotnik, 485 U.S. 112 (1988) .... 26
Coon v. Ledbetter, 780 F.2d 1158 (5th Cir. 1986)..... 23
County of Fairfax v. Southern Iron Works, Inc. 242
Va. 435, 410 S.E.20 G74 C1991) «onc cccwccccvssccas 25
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974)........... 10, 15
Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908).......... it, 34,45
Ford Motor Co. v. Department of Treasury 323
SEs EE 2 ca os oa cae ees be ek 12
Great Northern Life Insurance Company v. Read,
ee Ss EE CEE ooh rs oak ede eae 12, 15
Hawaii v. Gordon, 373 U.S. 57 (1963) ............... 12
Holland v. Rimmer, Docket No. 93-1447 (4th Cir.
UALS RNR ote ae eae aS of eee, ae ee ee ee eee 18
Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517, 104 S.Ct. 3194
A | IR eR AL ANTE RO a ER Syed Cerda NE Png ch ne tbr 28
Keller v. Prince George’s County (Keller II), 923
Pe er ee Ee es sor aaa ko xh oe eee ees 18
Monell v. Department of Social Services, 436 U.S.
Set. ee ce. eee CPEs oss vacua eoke eked een we

Morrash v. Strobel, 842 F.2d 64 (4th Cir. 1987) ...11, 24

Mt. Healthy City School District Board of Educa-
tien v. Coyne, 429 US. 278 CST a ccc ic cesses 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981)............. 10, 28
Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 106 S.Ct. 1292
ti) ey are rr rer my meen ATs: 23, 24
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman,
S65 US. OP CIR 6 5 shea ee 12
Revene v. Charles County Commissioners, 882
F206 G70 (00h Cie. TPP. bcs cles carseat 12
Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974).............. 15
Wilson v. Beebe, 770 F.2d 578 (6th Cir. 1985)........ 14
STATUTES
42 US... SOCOM TIGR. o6 cao ok bo eee
Code of Virginia, Section 1-13.17.................. 1, 26
Code of Virginia, Section 2.1-526.8:1............... Re
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-25........ 1, 4, 19, 24, 26
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-33.................. 2, 19
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-34.................. Z, 19
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-37..................3, 19
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-44..................... 6
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-50..............3, 19, 24
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-56..................... 4
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-91..................3, 21
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-92............... 3, 5, 21
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-106.................... 4
Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-116................. 6, 19

Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-118................. 7, 20

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES, AND
REGULATIONS INVOLVED

1. U.S. Constitution Amendment XI

The judicial power of the United States shall not be
construed to extend to any suit in law or equity, com-
menced or prosecuted against one of the United States by
citizens of another State, or by citizens or subjects of any
foreign state.

2. Va. Code § 1-13.17.

Ordinances, etc., not to be inconsistent with Consti-
tution and laws.

When the council or authorities of any city or town,
or any corporation, board, or number of persons, are
authorized to make ordinances, bylaws, rules, regulations
or orders, it shall be understood that the same must not
be inconsistent with the Constitution and laws of the
United States or of this Commonwealth.

3. Va. Code § 2.1-526.8:1.

Insurance plans administered by the Department of
General Services, Division of Risk Management, for
political subdivisions and constitutional officers.

See: Petition of Ms. Bockes, 2-3.
4. Va. Code § 63.1-25.
Making rules and regulations.

The State Board shall make such rules and regula-
tions, not in conflict with this title, as may be necessary or

desirable to carry out the true purpose and intent of this
title.

No

The Board also may make such rules and regulations
as may be necessary in authorizing local boards of public
welfare to destroy or otherwise dispose of such records as
the local boards in their discretion deem are no longer
necessary in such offices and which serve no further
administrative historical or financial purpose.

5. Va. Code § 63.1-33.

Requiring reports from local boards; forms and sub-
mission schedule; approval of budgets by Commis-
sioner.

A. The Commissioner shall require of local boards
such reports relating to the administration of this title as
the Commissioner may deem necessary to enable the
State Board and the Commissioner to exercise and per-
form the functions, duties and powers conferred and
imposed by this title. He shall prescribe the form and
submission schedule of applications, reports, affidavits,
budgets and budget exhibits, and such other forms as
may be required in the administration of this title.

B. The Commissioner shall review budget requests
submitted by local boards of public welfare, make mod-
ifications consistent with the requirements of this title
and transmit the approved budget to each local board.

6. Va. Code § 63.1-34.
Access to records of local boards.

The Commissioner or his designated agents shall
have access at all times to the records of the local boards
relating to the appropriation, expenditure and distribu-
tion of funds for, and other matters concerning, assistance

and services under this title.

7. Va. Code § 63.1-37.
Standards for personnel.

The Commissioner shall enforce the entrance and
performance standards established by the State Board for
personnel employed in the administration of this title and
remove each employee who does not meet such stan-

dards.
8. Va. Code § 63.1-50.
Administration of law.

The local boards shall, subject to the rules and regu-
lations of the State Board, administer the provisions of
Chapters 3 (§ 63.1-38 et seq.), 4 (§ 63.1-59 et seq.) and 6
(§ 63.1-86 et seq.) of this title in their respective counties

and cities.

9. Va. Code § 63.1-91.

Local appropriation.

See: Petition, 5.

10. Va. Code § 63.1-92.

Reimbursement of localities by the Commonwealth.

Such funds as are received from the United States
and agencies thereof as grants-in-aid for the purpose of
providing assistance grants shall be paid monthly by the
Commissioner to each county, city or district fiscal officer
as reimbursement of the federal share of such grants as
have been paid by each county and city under the provi-
sions of this law. Within the limits of the appropriations

of state funds, the Commissioner shall also reimburse

monthly each county, city or district fiscal officer to the

extent of sixty-two and one-half percent of the balance of
such assistance grants as have been paid by each county,
city or district fiscal officer after crediting them with the
reimbursement made from federal funds; however, on
and after January 1, 1972, within the limits of the appro-
priations of state funds, the Commissioner shall make
such reimbursements for the entire balance of such grants
as have been paid by each city, county or district fiscal
officer after such credits. Within limitations of state
funds, the Commissioner shall reimburse monthly each
city, county or district fiscal officer to the extent of sixty-
two and one-half percent of such expenditures made in
connection with assistance provided under §§ 63.1-25.1
and 63.1-106. Within the limitations of the appropriations
of state funds for the purpose, the Commissioner shall
reimburse at the end of the fiscal year each city, county or
district fiscal officer to the extent of eighty percent of
expenditures made for auxiliary grants pursuant to
§ 63.1-25.1. Within limitation of state funds appropriated
for the purpose, the Commissioner shall reimburse to
each county, city or district fiscal officer an amount not
less than fifty percent or more than sixty-two and one-
half percent of such expenditures, not federally reimburs-
able, made for the care of children placed in family

homes or institutions pursuant to § 63.1-56.

Administrative expenditures made by the localities in
connection with the providing of assistance grants, other
benefits and related services, including child welfare,
shall be ascertained by the State Board, and the Commis-
sioner shall, within the limits of available federal funds

and state appropriations, reimburse monthly each county,

city or district fiscal officer therefor out of such federal

and state funds in an amount to be determined by the
State Board not less than fifty percent of such administra-

tive costs.

The Commissioner also shall reimburse monthly, to
the extent of funds available for such purpose, each
county, city or district fiscal officer out. of state and fed-
eral funds, to the extent provided in the preceding para-
graph, for monthly rental payments for office space
provided the department of public welfare or social ser-
vices in publicly owned buildings, for payments which
are based on the cost of initial construction or purchase of
a building or a reasonable amount for depreciation of
such building, and/or the cost of repairs and alterations
to either a privately or publicly owned building. How-
ever, no monthly rental payment shall exceed a reason-

able amount as determined by the Commissioner.

In the event the issuance of checks by the Common-
wealth is adopted as provided in § 63.1-92.1, local boards
issuing emergency payments as authorized by law shall
be reimbursed by the Commonwealth for such payments

as provided in this section.

Claims for reimbursement shall be presented by the
local board to the Commissioner, and shall be itemized
and verified in such manner as the Commissioner may
require. Such claim shall, upon the approval of the Com-
missioner, be paid out of funds appropriated by the Com-
monwealth and funds received from the federal
government for the purposes of this law, to the treasurer
or other fiscal officer of the county or city. Wherever two

Or more counties or cities have been combined to form a

welfare district pursuant to § 63.1-44, reimbursements by

the Commissioner under this section shall be paid to the
district fiscal officer or other person designated to receive
such funds by the governing bodies of such counties or
cities. Effective July 1, 1972, however, the Commonwealth
shall reimburse each county and city the full amount of
assistance grants provided for aid to dependent children.

11. Va. Code § 63.1-116.
Right of appeal to State Board.

Any applicant or recipient aggrieved by any decision
of a local board in granting, denying, changing or discon-
tinuing assistance, may, within thirty days after receiving
notice in writing of such decision appeal therefrom to, or
ask for a review of the same by the State Board.

Any applicant or recipient aggrieved by the failure of
the local board to make a decision within a reasonable

time may ask for a review of the same by the State Board.

The Board may, from time to time as it deems appro-
priate, appoint a committee consiscing of any three of its
members to consider and make final determinations on

any such appeal or review

The Board may delegate the duty and authority to
duly qualified hearing officers to consider and make
determinations on any appeal or review by an applicant
for or recipient of public assistance concerning any deci-
sion of a local board. The determination by the hearing
officer may be reviewed by the Board upon the request of
either the applicant, recipient or the local board. A review
of the hearing officer’s determination by the Board shall

/

be governed by such rules and procedure as the Board

shall determine.
12 Va. Code § 63.1-118

Review by State Board on own motion; application

not acted on by local board.

The State Board may, upon its own motion, review
any decision of a local board, and may consider any
application for assistance upon which a decision 1s not

made bv the local board within a reasonable time.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Shortly after Bettye Lou Fields, Robert Wells and
Dennis Cooley were appointed to the Board of Social
Services of Grayson County, Virginia, (“the board”), the
board came to the conclusion that it was no longer in the
best interest of the Grayson County Department of Social
Services, (“the department”), that Nancy Bockes, (“Ms.
Bockes”), continue as the director of the Department.
A53-58. The board consulted an attorney for advice as to
how to terminate the employment of Ms. Bockes. The
advice given to the board was that Ms. Bockes served at
the pleasure of the board and that her employment could
be terminated by the board. A53-58. In accordance with
their attornev’s advice, the board terminated Ms. Bockes

employment on June 8, 1990 A56-57

Ms. Bockes instituted a grievance claiming that her
termination did not comply with Volume 1A of the Local
Personnel Administrative Manual prepared by the Vir-

ginia Department of Social Services A30. A grievance

panel was convened under the state grievance procedure
and the panel reinstated Ms. Bockes with half of her back
pay and the appropriate benefits that would have been
earned for that amount of pay. A35-36.

Ms. Bockes instituted this action against the County
of Grayson, the members of the board in their individual
and official capacities, and the Grayson County Depart-
ment of Social Services to recover the back pay not
awarded by the grievance panel and attorney fees. After
hearing the evidence, the District Court held as a matter
of law that Ms. Bockes was a “permanent employee”
under the state personnel plan and that because a pre-
termination hearing was not held, Ms. Bockes was denied
due process. A15-16. The District Court allowed the case
to go to the jury on the issue of damages alone and the
jury returned a verdict of $20,000.00 for Ms. Bockes,
approximately $13,000.00 of which had been stipulated
by the parties. Al4. The District Court entered judgment
for Ms. Bockes against the County of Grayson. The Dis-
trict Court entered judgment in favor of the department
and the board. A27.

Accompanying the final order of the District Court
was an opinion which set forth the grounds for the deci-
sion. Bockes v. Fields, 798 F.Supp. 1219 (W.D. Va. 1992).
The opinion held that due primarily to the appointment
of the local board by the county, the county must be liable
for any damages suffered by Ms. Bockes. A25-26. This
finding was a partial basis for Grayson County, Virginia’s
appeal to the Fourth Circuit.

The District Court further determined that the board

and the department were agencies of the Commonwealth.

The basis for this holding was the finding that the struc-
ture and organization of the local department is so inter-
twined with the state department to warrant a finding
that the local department is the alter ego of the state
department. The Court found that the Commonwealth of
Virginia provided 80% of the funding for most of the local
department's operations. The court further found that the
Commonwealth of Virginia would be responsible for 80%
of the payment of any judgment and that this payment of
damages would necessarily affect the state treasury. Thus,
the court concluded, recovery against the local depart-
ment or the board would violate the Eleventh Amend-
ment. A20-22. This finding was the basis for Ms. Bockes

appeal to the Fourth Circuit.

The District Court also held that tne members of the
board in their individual capacity were entitled to quali-
fied immunity. This holding was not appealed by Ms.
Bockes and is scarcely mentioned in her petition, how-
ever, it is crucial to a proper understanding of the opinion

of the Fourth Circuit.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the District Court's
holding of Eleventh Amendment immunity for the Gray-
son County Department of Social Services. The Court of
Appeals concluded that the Commonwealth of Virginia
provided 80% of the funding for most of the local depart-
ment’s operations. The court further found that the Com-
monwealth of Virginia would be responsible for 80% of
the payment of any judgment and that this payment of
damages would necessarily affect the state treasury. As
Ms. Bockes did not appeal the grant of qualified immu-
nity to the board members in their official capacities, the
Court of Appeals was faced only with an official capacity

10

action for damages. As such, the Court of Appeals
affirmed the District Court's ruling that the local board
and local department is an agency of the Commonwealth

of Virginia for Eleventh Amendment purposes. A7-9

With respect to the County, the Court of Appeals held
that due to the domination of personnel policy by the
state, the county was pre-empted from regulating person-
nel policy for the local department. The authority to
regulate personnel policy with respect to personnel mat-
ters is retained by the State Board. A9-10. The respon-
dents contended before the Court of Appeals that under
state law at the time of Ms. Bockes’ termination she had
no reasonable expectation of continued employment
Alternatively, the county contended that if Ms. Bockes
did have such an expectation, the actions of the local
board constituted random and unauthorized actions as
defined under Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981), and
that the grievance procedure remedied any deprivations
suffered by Ms. Bockes. The Court of Appeals did not
address these issues. Al10. The Court of Appeals denied

Ms. Bockes’ petition for rehearing. A28-29

ee +

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Eleventh Amendment bars an action in federal
court for the recovery of money from the state. Edelman v
Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974). It is undisputed that any
recovery in this case would constitute a recovery from the

Commonwealth of Virginia. The reliance of Ms. Bockes

upon the cases which provide that a state may not extend

1]

Eleventh Amendment protection to its employees in their
individual capacities through promises of indemnity is
misplaced. This line of cases, referred to by Ms. Bockes as
the indemnity cases, arose from this Court’s ruling in Ex
Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908). Due to the fact no
officials in their individual capacities were before the

I Darte Youne

Court of Appeals, the rationale of Ex Par zy and the

‘indemnity cases, is not applicable to the present situation
t

[he Virginia State Department of Social Services
extensively regulates policy respecting the personnel of
local departments of soc ial services. By virtue of the state
department's 840 page regulatory personnel manual, the

state pre-empts counties from the entire personnel field

[T]he key issue in identifying a policymaker is
1 question not of who possesses final control
over polic v in form or theory, but rather of who

wields that authority in tact

2d 64. 68 (1987), (Citation omit

It is clear that the State Board, by and through its
personnel regulations wields the actual authority over
personnel policy decisions. Any policy made by the local

board is attributable only to the state

Ms. Bockes presents no true conflict between the
Court of Appeals decision and any decisions of other
Courts of Appeals or state courts ol last resort. The
decision of the Court of Appeals is not in conflict with
any decisions of this Court. The Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit presently has at least one case before it
which will help define the scope of its Eleventh Amend-

ment decision in this case

ARGUMENT

It is well settled that the Eleventh Amendment bars
liability of certain officials when the practical effect of the
liability would be the same as a judgment against the
state. Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 465
U.S. 89, 123, n. 34, (1984). “[W]hen the action is in essence
one for the recovery of money from the state, the state is
the real, substantial party in interest and is entitled to
invoke its sovereign immunity from suit even though
individual officials are nominal defendants.” Ford Motor
Co. v. Department of Treasury, 323 U.S. 459, 464 (1945).
When relief is sought nominally against an officer or
agency of the state it is in fact against the sovereign if the
decree would operate against the state. Hawati v. Gordon,
373 U.S. 57, 58 (1963) (per curiam). The Eleventh Amend-
ment does not bar an action against a state official or
employee individually for his tortious conduct. Great
Northern Life Insurance Co. v. Read, 322 U.S. 47, 50-51
(1944). However, a lawsuit against an official in his offi-
cial capacity only is actually a lawsuit against the office
and the governmental entity itself. Revene v. Charles
County Commissioners, 882 F.2d 870, 874 (4th Cir. 1989).
The District Court determined that the members of the
local board, by consulting an attorney prior to the termi-
nation of Ms. Bockes, acted objectively reasonable and
were entitled to qualified immunity in their individual
capacities. Al3. Ms. Bockes did not appeal this deter-
mination. As such, for Eleventh Amendment purposes,
the only remaining defendants were the local board, and
the local department, both governmental agencies. The

case before the Court of Appeals was an appeal of a

decision in favor of governmental agencies. The question

13

presented was whether these agencies were agencies of
the state for Eleventh Amendment purposes.

The Court of Appeals’ decision was based primarily
upon the Commonwealth of Virginia’s funding of 80% of
the administrative operating costs of local social services
departments, including the refund of 80% of the premium
cost of a state held and operated liability insurance plan.
A7-9. The Public Officials Liability Self-Insurance Plan, or
POLSIP, is administered by the Commonwealth of Vir-
ginia, Department of General Services, Division of Risk
Management. A41-42. The amount of premium paid by
the state, if any, varies with respect to the type of agency
or political subdivision. Although 2.1-526.8:1, the statute
which creates the POLSIP, provides for no state contribu-
tions, the undisputed evidence is that for social services
departments, the state essentially pays 80% of the pre-
mium costs and that any judgment paid under the policy
would be taken from a fund established by payment of

these premiums. A40, 49.

The assets of the plan are invested by the Treasurer of
the Commonwealth and the fund is held in the name of
the Commonwealth. A check for the satisfaction of any
judgment against the plan must be signed by the Trea-
surer of the Commonwealth. A41-42. Any judgments paid
under the POLSIP come directly from the funds that have

been paid in for each type of agency. A41-42.

The District Court found that a judgment against the
department of social services would “inexorably affect
the state treasury as a majority of state money was paid
A21. This holding was

ut

into the insurance fund
affirmed by the Court of Appeals. A8. Ms. Bockes does

™

not contest the determination that state money is paid
into the fund on behalf of the local department. Ms
Bockes does not contend that none of this state money
would be used to satisfy any judgment against the
partment. Rather, Ms. Bockes focuses upon the nature
ot the state payments and argues that under the Court of
AI pe als’ decision, the state essentially allows depart
ments to purchase Eleventh Amendment protec tion
tron, 11. As will be examined, this argument relies

primarily upon assumption and speculation. Ms. Bockes

,
cites no authority which conflicts with the Court of
Appeals’ decision

lhe thrust of Ms. Bockes’ argument on the Eleventh
Amendment issue is based upon comparisons to cases
which have held that the promise by a state to indemnify
its officials can not be held to extend the state’s immunity

to the official if the official is facing liabilitv in his indi

, | | l, soe , ls , - )
vidual capacity. See e.g., Blaylock Schwinden, 862 F.2d
1352 (9th Cir. 1988); Benning v. Board of Regents of Regency

ersities, 928 F.2d 775; Wilson v. Beebe, 770 F.2d 578,

6th Cir. 1985). These cases. referred to by Ms. Bockes as
the indemnity cases simply hold that a state cannot
extend its immunity to officials in their individual] capaci

ties

[he indemnity line of cases are based primarily on

this Court’s decision in Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123

1908). In that case, the Court stated that when a state

otticer acts in a manner violative of the Constitution. he

comes into conflict with the superior authority
of that Constitution, and he is in that case strip-

ped of his official or representative character

16

the Eleventh Amendment would have precluded any
judgment if the judgment was to be paid from state
funds. Further, if there were any doubt in the indemnity
cases as to whether the-official was a state official or a
local official, surely the state’s willingness to indemnify
the official would be a persuasive indication that the
official was a state official. Likewise, in the present case,
it is difficult to imagine why the state would willingly
agree to provide funds for insurance against liability for
the actions of the departments of social services and the
local board members in their official capacities if the state

did not believe itself potentially liable for those actions.

Ms. Bockes relies heavily on her affidavit, which
states that it is her “understanding” that the county
would be liable for the payment of any judgment in the
absence of insurance. The basis of this “understanding” is
not provided. This portion of Ms. Bockes’ affidavit is
essentially a lay opinion and a conclusion of law. It was
provided after a trial on the merits, without an oppor-
tunity for cross-examination. This “understanding” is
especially unpersuasive in light of state law. It is undis-
puted that the state pays the vast majority of all expendi-
tures of local departments. This “understanding” is also
in conflict with the letter of November 14, 1986 from the
State Department of Social Services to local directors
superintendents. A49-50. The letter states that if the local
departments were then covered by the local city or
county's legal liability insurance, this coverage would
cease in the future. A49, paragraph 3. This “understand-

ing” also defies common sense. If a county would be the

responsible party for a judgment against a local depart-
ment, it would not be logical for the state to be willing to
provide the funding for liability insurance when the
county has the authorization and the means to raise its

own funds.

Ms. Bockes further argues that the decision of the
Court of Appeals can be interpreted to extend Eleventh
Amendinent protection to counties, cities, and towns and
that the decision creates a distinction between identica|

agencies with respect to the Eleventh Amendment.
Ms. Bockes states:

“Under the Court of Appeals’ decision, any
political subdivision in the Commonwealth
which buys into the insurance plan of section
2.1-526.8:1 is a state agency protected by the
Eleventh Amendment, regardless of any other
facts about the connection between the entity
and the Commonwealth .. . The decision
creates the potential. that some county social
services boards in Virginia will be protected by
the Eleventh Amendment and others who have
not made the same arrangements for liability
insurance will not.”

Petition, Page 16

'his forecast is dubious. First, the premium rates
paid by the state, if any, vary according to the type of
political subdivision involved. A41-42, Code of Virginia,
Section 2.1-526.8:1. If a party for which the state does not
contribute to the premiums comes before a federal court,
then certainly the policy will be no basis for Eleventh
Amendment protection. Second, Ms. Bockes presumes

that the presence or absence of state funded insurance is

18

the only factor in all cases. This necessarily presumes that
absent state funded insurance, a department of social
services would not have sufficient connection to the state
to be determined a state agency for Eleventh Amendment
purposes. This is simply not the case. Although the effect
of a judgment on the state treasury was the deciding
factor in this case, the absence of such a direct effect will
mandate that other factors be considered. Whether an
agency is an agency of the state for Eleventh Amendment
purposes must be decided on a case by case method. Mt.
Healthy City School District Board of Education v. Doyle, 429
U.S. 274, 280 (1977), (listing factors to be considered in

determination)

As Ms. Bockes correctly points out, the Fourth Circuit
currently has before it Holland v. Rimmer, Docket No.
93-1447. Petition, 16. Also, as Ms. Bockes points out, the
Fourth Circuit will be forced to determine the breadth of
its holding in the present case. In Holland, the appellant
contends that the Buchanan County Department of Social
Services is not entitled to Eleventh Amendment immu-
nity because it did not participate in the POLSIP plan. To
determine whether a non-participating department is an
agency of the state, the Court of Appeals will most likely
examine the characterization of the agency under state
law; the extent of state control over the agency; the
dependence of the agency on state appropriations; and
the effect of a judgment on the state treasury. Keller v.
Prince George's County, 827 F.2d 952, 964 (4th Cir. 1987);
Mt. Healthy, 429 U.S. at 280. This examination will reveal
that regardless of the presence of state funded insurance,
local departments of social services are agencies of the

Commonwealth for Eleventh Amendment purposes and

19

that even if the Fourth Circuit’s reliance on the POLSIP
plan is overstated, this reliance is harmless error.

By operation of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia
Department of Social Services dominates the welfare SyS-
tem in Virginia. By statute, the Commissioner of Social
Services for the Commonwealth of Virginia may require
local boards to file any reports the Commissioner may
deem necessary relating to the administration of the wel-
fare system in Virginia. Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-33.
[he Commissioner mandates the form and submission
schedule of applications, reports, affidavits, budgets and
any other forms required to be filed by the local boards.
ld. The Commissioner is charged with review of budget
requests by the local boards and the commissioner may
make any modifications consistent with the require-
ments of the Code. Id. Section B. (Emphasis added). The
Commissioner shall have access at all times to the records
of the local boards concerning virtually every aspect of
the administration of the welfare system. Code of Virginia,
Section 63.1-34. The Commissioner shall enforce the
entrance and performance standards established by the
State Board for personnel employed in the administration
of the welfare system and remove each employee who
does not meet such standards. Code of Virginia, Section
63.1-37.

The State Board of Social Services mandates rules
and regulations necessary or desirable to carry out the
purposes and intent of the welfare system in Virginia.
Local boards are subject to those rules and regulations.
Code of Virginia, Sections 63.1-25, 63.1-50. Any person
aggrieved by a decision of a local board may appeal to
the State Board. Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-116. The

20

State Board, upon its own motion, may review any action
by a local board, and may consider any application for
assistance upon which a decision is not made by the local
board within a reasonable time. Code of Virginia, Section

63.1-118. (Emphasis added).

Volume 1A, the Virginia Department of Social Ser-
vices publication from which the District Court found
that Ms. Bockes gained a property interest in her employ-
ment, is an extensive body of rules and regulations con-
cerning every facet of personnel management for the
local boards. A43-48. Volume 1A consists of two separate
volumes, each approximately three inches thick, consist-

ing of a total of more than 840 pages.

Volume 1A states as its purpose:

“The State Board of Social Services establishes
and maintains the standards and policies that
provide the foundation of the Local Personnel
System. Administrative rules and procedures for
implementation of the State Board policies are
developed by the State Department of Social
Services. The Commissioner of the State Depart-
ment of Social Services is responsible for mak-
ing certain that the personnel polices,
administrative rules and procedures are prop-
erly maintained and administered. He must also
ensure that local welfare/social services depart-
ments comply with the provisions of the person-
nel plan.”

Volume 1A, Chapter A, Page 1, A43.

Volume 1A contains a statement of State Board Policy
within each section. One such statement of policy pro-

vides:

21
“The Virginia Department of Social Services is
responsible for providing a personnel system
encompassing all aspects of personnel; selection,
classification, compensation, administration,
and employee relations which complies with
appropriate federal and State laws and regula-
tions.”

Volume 1A, Chapter A, Page 2, A45.

The Grayson County Department of Social Services 1s
dependant upon funding from the Commonwealth of
Virginia. While Section 63.1-91 of the Code of Virginia
provides that local board’s of supervisors shall appropri-
ate such sums of money as shall be sufficient to provide
for the full range of social services, Section 63.1-92 pro-
vides for reimbursement from the Commonwealth of
expenditures by the localities. The Commonwealth pays
80% of the salaries of the local departments. The Com-
monwealth pays 80% of the employees health insurance
premiums. A60-61, 63. The Commonwealth even pays the
rent and overhead for office space for the local depart-
ment. Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-92. Where localities
qualify for federal assistance grants and appropriate local
money in reliance on these grants, the Commonwealth
has, since 1972, reimbursed localities fully for the
amounts of the grants after crediting the amount of the
federal grant. Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-92. There can

be no doubt that the local departments’ ability to function

and provide services depends primarily upon state fund-

ing.

As

a he

Further, as the District Court found, “local boards of
social services have not attained the local, independent
status traditionally afforded other local boards.” A22. No
statutory provisions exist to create the board of social
services as a body corporate. No statutory provisions
exist for the local board or department to raise funds.
[hey can not issue bonds or levy taxes. They depend

exclusively upon funding from other sources.

The statutory foundation, financial support, and
intensive regulation of social services in Virginia estab-
lishes that local departments of social services are agen-
cies of the state for Eleventh Amendment purposes. The
statutory feundation also establishes that if the Court of
Appeals was in error with respect to the insurance policy,

the error was harmless.

Ms. Bockes argues “if the Court of Appeals decision
is not reversed, this two-headed position by the Division
of Risk Management allows the Local Depart-
ments ... the best of both worlds: a Local Department
cannot be sued in state court because it is not a state
agency as to which sovereign immunity has been waived,
yet at the same time it could not be sued in federal court
because it is a state agency protected by the Eleventh
Amendment.” Petition, 20. This argument is pure specula-
tion. The position of the Division of Risk Management
referred to by Ms. Bockes is contained in a letter from a
claims adjuster at the Division of Risk Management. A51.
The letter states that it is simply the adjuster’s “opinion”
that the local department is not a state agency for pur-
poses of the Virginia Tort Claims Act. The letter also
mysteriously states that the addressee was referred to the

Division of Risk Management because “this office now

a

23

handles claims made against agencies of the Common-
wealth.” A51. In any event, this “opinion” has apparently
not been tested in either federal or state court. It is truly
novel for Ms. Bockes to give the opinion of an insurance
claims adjuster, in an adversarial situation, the weight of
judicial authority.

Ms. Bockes cites no authority which conflicts with
the Court of Appeals’ decision in this case. Her reliance
on the indemnity cases is misfocused. Any misconcep-
tions about the breadth of the Court of Appeals’ decision
will most likely be resolved in the near future in the cases
presently before the Court of Appeals.

ANY POLICY MADE BY THE LOCAL BOARD IN
THE TERMINATION OF MS. BOCKES IS
ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE STATE RATHER THAN TO
GRAYSON COUNTY

For municipal liability to be found under 42 U.S.C.
Section 1983, it must be shown that the execution of a
municipal policy or custom inflicts an injury. Monell v.
Department of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018
(1978). A county can be held responsible for a violation of
Section 1983 if it can be shown that the violation occurred
because of persistent widespread practice of county offi-
cials that becomes so well settled as to constitute custom
that fairly represents county policy. Coon v. Ledbetter, 780
F.2d 1158 (5th Cir. 1986).

The decision of a single policy making official may
give rise to municipal liability if that official is respons-

ible for establishing final government policy respecting
such activity. Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 482, 483,

N
>

106 S.Ct. 1292, 1299, 1300 (1986). However, the fact that a
policy-making official or policy making body has discre-
tion in the exercise of particular function does not, with-
out more, give rise to municipal liability. Pembaur, 475
U.S. at 481-482.

As the Court of Appeals correctly determined, the
local board is not responsible for establishing final gov
ernmental policy with regards to personnel. Due to the
massive volume of personnel regulations promulgated
and enforced by the State Board, it is clear that the State
Board, and not the County or local board, wields the

actual authority over personnel policy decisions

“[T]he key issue in identifying a policymaker is
a question not of who possesses final control
over policy in form or theory, but rather of who
wields that authority in fact

Morrash v. Strobel, 842 F.2d 64, 68 (1987), (Citation omit-

ted).

he local board is subject to the rules and regulations
of the State Board of Social Services. Code of Virginia
Section 63.1-50. Volume 1A falls under this category of
rules and regulations. Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-25, 50
Volume 1A regulates virtually every facet of personnel

administration for the local departments

“The State Board of Social Services establishes
and maintains the standards and policies that
provide the foundation of the Local Personnel
System. Administrative rules and procedures for
implementation of the State Board policies are
developed by the State Department of Social

N
JI

Services. The Commissioner of the State Depart-
ment of Social Services is responsible for mak-
ing certain that the personnel polices,
administrative rules and procedures are prop-
erly maintained and administered. He must also
ensure that local welfare/sociai services depart-
ments comply with the provisions of the person-
nel plan.”

Volume 1A, Chapter A, Page 1, A43. It is clear that the
State Board mandates personnel policy for the local
departments and that local boards are subject to state
control with respect to personnel policy. Through a selec-
tive listing of statutory provisions, Ms. Bockes attempts
to show that the County has control over the actions of
the Local Department. Petition, 21-24. As was set out
above, it is clear that the State has the authority to exhibit
greater control than the County. See supra, 19-22.
Nowhere in the list of statutes cited by Ms. Bockes has
the County been given the authority or control to effect
personnel decisions of the local board. This is because
control over personnel policy has been retained by the
State Board of Social Services and the control is wielded
through its massive body of personnel regulations, Vol-

ume 1A.

The County could not effect the personnel decisions of
the Local Department even if it wanted to do so. In
Virginia, the authority of municipal bodies to act is
expressly limited to the authority granted to them by the
general assembly, the authority necessarily implied from
the grant, and the authority which is essential and indis-

pensable. County of Fairfax v. Southern Iron Works, Inc., 242
Va. 435, 410 S.E.2d 674 (1991). The authority of municipal

bodies to act is expressly limited to actions not in conflict

26

1

with State law. Code of Virginia, Section 1-13.17. Where
Volume 1A is not in conflict with the laws and Constitu-
tion of the United States or the Commonwealth, it has the
effect of state law. Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-25. Per-
sonnel! policy of the local departments has been left to the
State Board and the County has been pre-empted from

the entire personnel field.

Ms. Bockes argues that the local board’s decision to
terminate her is “final” in that Ms. Bockes had no further
avenue with which to appeal this decision. She argues
that the finality of this decision makes the board the
“final arbiter” of policy for Grayson County. Petition
27-28. Ms. Bockes’ argument is flawed because it neces-
sarily presumes that the Local Department is always an
agency of the County. It is clear that with respect to
decisions respecting personnel, if the local board makes
policy, it is making policy only for the state. In other
words, as the Court of Appeals correctly found, if the
decision of the local board is attributable to anyone other
than the local board, it is attributable to the State Depart-
ment of Social Services, which establishes and maintains
the standards and policies that provide the foundation of
the Local Personnel System

Ms. Bockes’ reliance on the plurality opinion in City
of St. Louis v. Propotnik, 485 U.S. 112 (1988), is simply
misplaced. In Propotnik, the Court essentially held that
when a municipality’s actual practices differ from its
expressly stated policies, the practices represent the
actual policy. 485 U.S. at 130-31, 145 n.7. In that case, the
practices in question were within the realm of the munici-
pality’s ability to control policy, even if the effect of the
control violated the Constitution. In the present case, it is

27

clear that the county had no ability to affect personnel
policy.

Nowhere does Ms. Bockes cite authority in which a
municipal body been held accountable for implementa-
tion of a policy which was explicitly reserved to another
governmental body. In each case cited by Ms. Bockes, the
municipal body was held accountable because the policy
contested was within the realm of the municipal body’s
authority to effect and control, even if the effect of the
policy violated law or the Constitution. Except to aliege
that Ms. Bockes was terminated by a board with members
appointed by the Grayson County Board of Supervisors
(in violation of a policy enacted by an agency of the
Commonwealth of Virginia), the petitioner has cited no
policy of the county was followed, or violated, in the
termination of Ms. Bockes.

mn

CONCLUSION

As the Court of Appeals correctly found, it is clear
that Ms. Bockes is seeking recovery of money from the
Commonwealth of Virginia through the Grayson County
Department of Social Services. The Grayson County
Department of Social Services is an agency of the state for
Eleventh Amendment purposes. It is also abundantly
clear that any policy made by the Grayson County Board
of Social Services was policy of the state and not policy of
Grayson County. For these reasons, the petition for writ
of certiorari should not be granted.

In the District Court and before the Court of Appeals,
the respondents contended that under state law at the
time of Ms. Bockes’ termination, she had no reasonable

expectation of continued employment and that no due
process deprivation arose as a result of her termination
Alternatively, the respondents contended that if Ms
Bockes had a reasonable expectation of continued
employment, the failure of the local board to comply with
state regulations in the manner of her termination was a
random and unauthorized act, as detined by the Court in
Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527, 101 S.Ct. 1908 (1981) and
Hudson Palmer, 468 U.S. 517, 104 S.Ct. 3194 (1984), and
that the post-deprivation process remedied any depriva-
tion suffered by Ms. Bockes. Although these arguments
were not addressed by the Court of Appeals and are not
issues raised in Ms. Bockes’ Petition, the respondents
hereby request permission to address these issues if the
'

Court grants a Writ of Certiorari in this case

Respectfully ubmitted

Al

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Ts i. j
I | ]
nember 1 ¢ irm
+ + 2 } -; & _
lé DOoaTa O 0 CI Ices
. “
son County, Vir RR \ j2-204
4 . ] ]
\ Individually and as
j
t noder of the Boa Ui rt >
oervices, Grayson Count
|
ltila DD (
; , ;
Ind dually and as nembe
—
nd Vice-Chairman of the Board
— >» ces, Ul SON
s |
‘ \ ’ 1)
S ( S ( t
]

.
.
Bett t 1S Individu \
na member nd Chairmar
f the Board of Social Services
ravyson County, Virgin! IR
V Individually and as a
member of the Board of So
SET es, Grayvson Count
Virginia; D
Individually and as membe!
1 \ Ch Irfman O} the Bo rd
Of SOC! SeT Ices (,ravson
County, Virginia; D ‘
5 ~ Ct on Count
'
j f
if
\ppeal ron he United State iWistrict Court

tor the Western District of Virginia, a
imuel G. Wilson, District Judgé
(CA-91-62-A)

Argued lune 8, 1993

»]

Decided luly 26, 1993

Before WILKINSON, Circuit Judge, SPROUSE, Senior Cir
cuit Judge, and G. ROSS ANDERSON, JR., United States

A3

District Judge for the District of South Carolina, sitting by
designation.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded with
instructions to dismiss by published opinion. Judge Wilk-
inson wrote the opinion, in which Senior Judge Sprouse

and Judge Anderson joined.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Kurt Joseph Pomrenke, WHITE, ELLIOTT &
BUNDY, P.C., Bristol, Virginia, for Appellant. Robert Vin-
cent Ward, LAW OFFICES OF ROBERT V. WARD, P.C.,
Bristol, Virginia, for Appellees. ON BRIEF: Steven R.
Miner, WHITE, ELLIOTT & BUNDY, P.C., Bristol, Vir-

ginia, for Appellant.

OPINION

WILKINSON, Circuit Judge:

This case poses two questions about the amenability
of governmental bodies to suit in federal court — here an
action claiming termination from employment without
due process. The first question is whether the Board of
Social Services for Grayson County, Virginia and the
Department of Social Services for Grayson County are
state entities, and thus immune from suit in federal court
under the Eleventh Amendment. We hold that they are
immune, because their liability to plaintiff would be cov-
ered by an insurance plan funded by the state. The sec-
ond question is whether Grayson County can be held
responsible under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for the personnel

decisions of the Board. We hold that it cannot, because

A.4
4%

the Board did not dismiss plaintiff pursuant to any
County policy. We accordingly affirm the district court on
the first question, reverse it on the second question, and
remand with instructions that plaintiff’s claim be dis-
missed. Plaintiff must be satisfied with the extensive
grievance procedures provided by the Commonwealth of
Virginia, which she has already pursued with some suc-

CeSs.

The Commonwealth of Virginia has established a
complicated scheme for administering its social services
programs. At the top is the Commissioner of Social Ser-
vices, who is appointed by the Governor of Virginia. Va.
Code § 63.1-2. The Commissioner manages the Depart-
ment of Social Services for the entire state. Id. at
§ 63.1-1.1. A nine-member State Board of Social Services
also appointed by the Governor, advises the Commis-

sioner. Id. at §§ 63.1-14, 63.1-24.

he counties and cities in Virginia have local depart-
ments of social services as well, which help to implement
the programs enacted by the Commonwealth. Va. Code
§ 63.1-38.1. The local departments are overseen by local
boards of social services, which are appointed by the
counties or cities. Id. at §§ 63.1-38, 63.1-38.1. The local
board selects a local director, who administers social ser-

vices on a day-to-day basis. Id. at §§ 63.1-59, 63.1-60

The Commissioner and State Board of Secial Services
retain ultimate authority over personnel decisions at both
the state and local level, however. The State Board has the

duty to “establish minimum entrance and performance

A5

standards for the personnel employed by the Commis-
sioner, local boards and local superintendents.” Va. Code
§ 63.1-26. The Commissioner is required to “remove each
employee who does not meet such standards.” Id. at
§ 63.1-37. While local department employees “serve at the

id

pleasure of the local board,” the local board must adhere
to guidelines promulgated by the State Board when it
hires and fires personnel. Id. at § 63.1-61. “Members of
any local board may be suspended or removed for cause

by the State Board.” Id. at § 63.1-45.

Plaintiff Nanc-’ Bockes served for thirteen years as
Director of the Grayson County Department of Social
Services (the “Department”’). In June of 1990, she was
fired by the Grayson County Board of Social Services (the
“Board”), without notice and without a pre-termination
hearing. She then filed a grievance, using procedures
prescribed by the Virginia Department of Social Services.
A grievance panel ordered the Board to reinstate her as
Director and to give her one-half backpay for the period

during which she had no job.

Dissatisfied with the award, Bockes filed this § 1983
action seeking the other half of her backpay, plus dam-
ages for pain and suffering. She named the members of
the Board as defendants, both in their individual and
official capacities. She also named the Department and
the County itself.

Bockes’ case ultimately went to trial. At the close of
the evidence on liability, the district court ruled that
Bockes’ position as Director was “permanent,” and thus
that the Fourteenth Amendment required the Board to

A6

have given her a pre-termination hearing.! The court
submitted the issue of damages to the jury, which
awarded Ms. Bockes a total of $20,000: $13,000 for lost

wages and benefits; $7,000 for pain and suffering.

[he Board and the Department maintained that they
were immune from suit in federal court because they
were state entities under the Eleventh Amendment. The
County maintained that it was not liable because the
Board had not fired Ms. Bockes pursuant to any County
policy. The district court granted judgment as a matter of
law both to the Board and to the Department, agreeing
that they Were immune from suit under the Eleventh
Amendment. Bockes v. Fields, 798 F. Supp. 1219, 1222-24
(W.D. Va. 1992). The court upheld the $20,000 verdict
against the County, however, ruling that the Board’s fir-
ing of Ms. Bockes was an official policymaking act attrib-
utable to the County. Id. at 1224-26.

Both sides appeal this judgment. Bockes appeals the
ruling that the Board and the Department are immune
from suit. The County cross-appeals the ruling that it is
liable for the acts of the Board. All defendants maintain
alternatively that the district court erred in ruling that
Ms. Bockes was denied due process. We shall address

each issue in turn.

| The court also ruled that the Board members had qualli-
fied immunity in their individual capacities. Bockes does not
appeal this ruling.

I].

“The judicial power of the United States shall not be
construed to extend to any suit in law or equity, com-
menced or prosecuted against one of the United States by
citizens of another State, or by citizens or subjects of any
foreign state.” U.S. Const. amend. XI. This Amendment
serves to curb overreaching by the federal judiciary into
the internal affairs of a sovereign state. While the Elev-
enth Amendment on its face applies only to suits by
citizens of a foreign state, it is now well established that
an unconsenting state is immune from suits in federal
court brought by its own citizens as well. Edelman v.
Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 662-63 (1974); Hans v. Louisiana, 134
U.S. 1 (1890). It is also well established that this immunity
extends to state agencies and officials, when a monetary
judgment against them would be paid from the state
treasury. “[W]hen the action is in essence one for the
recovery of money from the state, the state is the real,
substantial party in interest and is entitled to invoke its
sovereign immunity from suit even though individual
officials are nominal defendants.” Ford Motor Co. v.
Department of Treasury, 323 U.S. 459, 464 (1945). “Thus the
rule has evolved that a suit by private parties seeking to
impose a liability which must be paid from public funds
in the state treasury is barred by the Eleventh Amend-
ment.” Edelman, 415 U.S. at 663.

In this case, were we to hold the Board and the
Department liable to Ms. Bockes, a substantial portion of
that liability would be paid by the Commonwealth of
Virginia. The Board and the Department subscribe to the
Commonwealth’s Public Officials Liability Self-Insurance
Plan. Under this Plan, the Treasurer of Virginia manages a

A8&

separate trust fund which covers liability that subscribing
agencies incur in the discharge of their duties. The Com-
monwealth pays 80% of the premiums that fund this
Plan; the agencies the other 20%. Of the $20,000 judgment
against the Board and the Department, the Pian would
cover $10,500: $13,000 for Bockes’ lost wages and bene-
fits,2 minus a $2,500 deductible.* And since the Common-
wealth funds 80% of the Plan, 80% of this $10,500, or
$8,400, would come ultimately from the Virginia treasury

The Eleventh Amendment bars this recovery.

Ms. Bockes attempt to avoid this conclusion. She asks
us to consider other factors that this court has previously
identified as relevant to determining whether an agency
is a state entity for Eleventh Amendment purposes: the
characterization of the agency under state law; the extent
of state control over the agency; and the dependence of
the agency on state appropriations. See Keller v. Prince
George's County, 827 F.2d 952, 964 (4th Cir. 1987); Ram
Ditta v. Maryland Nat'l Capital Park & Planning Comm’‘n,
822 F.2d 456, 457-58 (4th Cir. 1987). Certainly these factors
should be considered in actions that seek remedies other
than damages from state treasuries. See, e.g., Ram Ditta,
822 F.2d at 458-60 (considering other factors after deter-
mining that judgment against Planning Commission

would not be paid from Maryland treasury). When the

The Plan does not cover Ms. Bockes’ damages for mental
anguish

> It is not clear from the record whether the deductible

would apply to this particular claim. We assume arguendo that it

does

AY

action seeks damages that would be satisfied by state
funds, however, no further inquiry is necessary.

We thus conclude that the Board and the Department
are immune from suit in federal court by Ms. Bockes.
That the Commonwealth would pay only part of the
judgment against these defendants does not restrict our
holding. Defendants’ Eleventh Amendment immunity
cannot turn on whether Bockes seeks damages for emo-
tional distress, or other damages ancillary to her core
claim that defendants denied her due process. The insur-
ance plan funded by the Commonwealth covers this core
claim. The Eleventh Amendment therefore bars the suit.

ITI.

Under Monell v. Department of Social Services, 436 U.S.
658 (1978), a county may be liable for acts done pursuant
to its “policy or custom, whether made by its lawmakers
or by those whose edicts or acts may fairly be said to
represent official policy.” Id. at 694. The district court
found the Board’s firing of Ms. Bockes to represent the
“official policy” of Grayson County, because the County
had the power to hire and fire the members of the Board.
The County argues that this analysis is misfocused,
because the Commonwealth, not the County, sets person-
nel policy for the Board.

We agree with the County. The relevant question is
whether the Board acted as the County’s designated “pol-
icymaking authority” when it fired Nancy Bockes.
“{P]lolicymaking authority’ implies authority to set and
implement general goals and programs of municipal gov-

ernment, as opposed to discretionary authority in purely

Al0

operational aspects of government.” Spell v. McDaniel, 824
F.2d 1380, 1386 (4th Cir. 1987). In Virginia, neither the
County nor the local boards have authority to set “gen-
eral goals and programs” for social services personnel;
that authority is reserved for the State Board. See Va.
Code §§ 63.1-26. The State Board has wielded this author-
ity by publishing a comprehensive personnel handbook,
which the local boards must follow. Among other things,
this handbook requires the local boards to apply merit
criteria in their personnel decisions. It even prescribes the
grievance procedure that Ms. Bockes used in this case. In
short, the Grayson County Board enjoyed its discretion to
fire Ms. Bockes at the prerogative of and within the
constraints imposed by the Commonwealth. Such
bounded, state-conferred discretion is not the “poli-

,7

cymaking authority” for which a county may be held

responsible under § 1983.

IV.

In sum, we hold that the Board and the Department
are immune from suit in federal court, and that the
County is not liable for the actions of the Board. We thus
need not address whether Ms. Bockes was deprived of
due process by being fired without a pre-termination
hearing, because none of the defendants are amenable to
federal suit. Ms. Bockes must settle for the remedy
afforded her by state law. The judgment of the district

court is

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART,
AND REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS TO DISMISS.

All

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
ABINGDON DIVISION

NANCY BOCKES,
Plai f, ‘ivi
laintif Civil Action No.
91-0062-A
FINAL ORDER

(Filed
July 30, 1992)

V

BETTYE LOU FIELDS,
ROBERT WELLS, AND
DENNIS COOLEY,
individually and in their
official capacities as
members of the Board of
Social Services, Grayson
County, Virginia,
DEPARTMENT OF
SOCIAL SERVICES,
GRAYSON COUNTY, )
VIRGINIA, and COUNTY |
)
)

OF GRAYSON, VIRGINIA,

Defendants.

In accordance with the court’s rulings at trial and the
court’s memorandum opinion entered on this date, it is
ADJUDGED and ORDERED that judgment be entered in
favor of plaintiff, Nancy Bockes, and against defendant,
Grayson County, Virginia, in the amount of $20,000, and
that judgment be and the same is, hereby, entered in
favor of defendants, the Department of Social Services of
Grayson County, Virginia, and Bettye Lou Fields, Robert
Wells, and Dennis Cooley in their individual and official
capacities as members of the Board of Social Services of
Grayson County, Virginia, and this case is ORUERED

stricken from the docket of the court.

|

Al2

ENTER this 29th day of July, 1992.
s/ legible
DISTRICT JUDGE

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
ABINGDON DIVISION

NANCY BOCKES, )
Plaintiff, 7 |

os ) Civil Action No.
V. ) 91-0062-A
BETTYE LOU FIELDS, ) MEMORANDUM
ROBERT WELLS, AND OPINION |
DENNIS COOLEY, ce

(Filed

individually and in their

ep ) luly 30, 1992)
official capacities as

members of the Board of
Social Services, Grayson
County, Virginia, ,
DEPARTMENT OF |
SOCIAL SERVICES, )
GRAYSON COUNTY,
VIRGINIA, and COUNTY ?
OF GRAYSON, VIRGINIA, ?

Defendants. )

After thirteen years as Director of Social Services of
Grayson County, Virginia, a position classified as “perma-
nent” by the Department of Social Services personnel
manual, plaintiff, Nancy Bockes (“Bockes”), was termi-

nated without notice and a pre-termination hearing.

Al3

Following a post-termination hearing nearly a year later,
a grievance panel found the termination to be improper.
The grievance panel, however, did not order full backpay.
Alleging that she was entitled to notice and a hearing
before being discharged, Bockes brought this action
against Grayson County, Virginia (the “County”), the
Grayson County, Virginia Department of Social Services
(the “Local Department”), and the members of the Gray-
son County, Virginia Board of Social Services, Bettye Lou
Fields, Robert Wells, and Dennis Cooley, individually and
in their official capacities (collectively “the Local Board”).
The case was tried by a jury. At the conclusion of the
evidence on liability, the court found that Bockes had a
property interest, which entitled her to the protections of
procedural due process under the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. The court found, however, that the Local Board
members had qualified immunity in their individual

capacities.

The Local Department and the Local Board members
in their official capacities argued that the Eleventh
Amendment precluded an award of damages against
them. They also argued that even if they had no Eleventh
Amendment immunity, they could not be held liable
because Bockes was not fired “pursuant to a policy, cu--
tom or usage,” a prerequisite to liability under Monell v.
Department of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 694 (1978). The
County argued that it could not be held liable because the
Local Department is a state agency, not a county agency,
and that even if the Local Department were not a state
agency, Bockes was not fired “pursuant to a policy-cus-
tom or usage” of the County. The court took the matter

fen

L114
inder advisement and submitted the question of dam-
iges to the jury Dy way OF special interrogatory [he jury
warded compensatory damages of $20,000. For the rea
, +} + + tA +} rt 7 ' : h s+ } le rth
i Pili VV it OUT now rminas tnat tne Ele ventn
An nament pre ides a dan ve award against the Lox i]
epartment nd the | il | rd but concludes that the
{ wine ‘ ; , agar iry era , , >)
|
Kes \ em{ ved lirector of the Lo Depart
ment tron 177 90. The | Personnel Administ!
tive Manu Volun LA for the Local Department
ifies the position as “permanent According to Vol
ime lA. a permanent position is a position of! indefinite
lroratior thers , eX] r becvre : te or = } positior C
nd a permanent employee may be terminated only for
La (rn | re w 1QQ thes lo ] Board met with Bo ke
ind told her ft} t they } id loct ontidencs in her The
Local Board then gave Bockes th option of resigning I
re ny rire i Betore Té [ ondirt , Bockes isked to make i
phone ll. After receiving advice from her lawyer
Bocke isked the Li | Board to list the reasons for het
lismissal in writing and to give her an opportunity to
rred by | Ki
Travel 141
( irt Keportel! S$ ] 207
| t T2 © QO 771) RO
Tota $13,161.28

A15

respond. The Local Board declined on advice of counsel,
and after Bockes refused to resign, the Local Board fired
her. Bockes filed a grievance pursuant to Va. Code Ann.
S§ 2.1-110-116. The grievance panel ordered the Local
Board to reinstate Bockes and awarded her one-half of
her backpay. Bockes then filed this-suit to recover her
remaining backpay as well as compensatory damages,
alleging that the Local Board had violated her due pro-
cess rights by not notifying her of the reasons for her
termination and by not giving her an opportunity to

respond to those reasons before her termination.

[|

As the court stated at trial, based upon the evidence
presented, Bockes was a “permanent employee” with the
Local Department, which gave Bockes a property interest
in her job.2 This property interest entitled Bockes to

receive procedural due process. See Cleveland Bd. of Educ

Che wisdom of insulating a department head by classify-
ing his or her position as a “permanent’ position might be
subject to debate. This, however, is not the forum for that
debate. This court’s role is limited to determining whether
Bockes had a legitimate expectation of continued employment
founded in state law, Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341 (1976),
whether by statute, Detweiler v. Virginia Dep't of Rehabilitative
Services, 705 F.2d 557, 590-60 (4th Cir. 1983), by contract, Perry 7
Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 601 (1972), or by rules or mutually
explicit understandings that support a claim of entitlement. At
trial, the court determined as a matter of law that the depart-
ment personnel manual created a mutually explicit understand-
ing supporting a claim of entitlement. See Bradley v. Colonial
Mental Health & Retardation Services Bd., 856 F.2d 703, 707-08 (4th
Cir. 1988)

Al6

4

v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 541 (1985). Procedural due
process required that Bockes receive notice and “some
kind of a hearing” before discharge. See id. at 542. Bockes

received neither.

At trial the defendants argued that the actions of the
Local Board were “random and unauthorized,” and
therefore, Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981), overruled in
part by, Daniels v. Williams, 474 U.S. 327 (1986), not Louder
mill, governs. Under Parratt, post-deprivation remedies
may be sufficient to satisfy due process if the conduct
complained of is random and unauthorized. Id. at 543-44.
However, as the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

stated, to apply Parratt

the deprivation must truly have been unpredict-
able or unforeseeable; the pre-deprivation pro-
cedures must have been impotent to counter the
state actors’ particular conduct; and the conduct
must have been “unauthorized” in the sense
that it was not within the officials’ express or
implied authority.
Caine v. Hardy, 943 F.2d 1406, 1413 (5th Cir. 1991) (citing
Zinermon v. Burch, 494 U.S. 113, 132-35 (1990)). As noted
bv the court at trial, the absence of any one of those
elements would preclude the court from applying Parratt

See id

t

Plumer v. Maryland, 915 F.2d 927 (4th Cir. 1990), is
instructive. Following an informal administrative hearing
in which Plumer was shown an anonymous letter that
accused Plumer of continual drunk driving, Tami
Plumer’s motor vehicle license was suspended by the
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration “pending clear-

ance by the Medical Advisory Board.” Rather than appeal

A117

the suspension to the circuit court, Plumer filed a § 1983
action in the United States District Court for the District
of Maryland claiming that her due process rights under
the Fourteenth Amendment had been violated. The dis-
trict court dismissed Plumer’s due process claim, finding
that the suspension of Plumer’s license was a result of a
“random and unauthorized act” for which Maryland pro-
vided an adequate post-deprivation remedy by way of
appeal to the circuit court. Although the court of appeals
affirmed because it found no due process violation, it

concluded that Parratt could not be applied.

According to the Fourth Circuit, “[i]n response to
some confusion in the courts of appeal regarding the
scope of the Parratt doctrine, the Supreme Court recently
reemphasized Parratt’s narrow scope” in Zinermon v.
Burch, 494 U.S. 113 (1990). Plumer, 915 F.2d at 929 (foot-
note omitted). The Fourth Circuit expressly agreed with

the Fifth Circuit as to “[t]he lesson of Zinermon”:

“{T]he Parratt/Hudson doctrine is restricted to
cases where it truly is impossible for the state to
provide predeprivation procedural due process
before a person unpredictably is deprived of his
liberty or property through the unauthorized
conduct of a state actor.” Caine v. Hardy, 905 F.2d
858, 862 (5th Cir. 1990). We agree, and so con-
clude that Parratt is inapplicable to Plumer’s
suit against the state. Under Zinermon, as we
concluded recently, we must “first ask whether
the risk of an erroneous deprivation was fore-
seeable, and next whether predeprivation safe-
guards would have any value in guarding
against the kind of deprivation . . . allegedly
suffered.” Fields v. Durham, 909 F.2d 94, 97 (4th

2
Be
<<
z

Al18

Cir. 1990) (Fields II) (quoting Zinermon, 110 S.Ct.
at 988).

Id. at 930. In the Fourth Circuit’s opinion, “the risk of an
erroneous license deprivation clearly was foreseeable”
and procedural safeguards were practicable making Par-
ratt inapplicable. Id. at 931. Moreover, according to the

court:

the conduct of the state employees here was not
“unauthorized,” for the state has delegated to
its employees “the power and authority to effect
the very deprivation complained of here,

. and also delegated to them the concomitant
duty to initiate the procedural safeguards set up
by state law to guard against unlawful [termina-
tion].”

Id. (quoting Zinermon, 110 S. Ct. 975, 990 (1990)). Thus,
Bockes’ termination without a sufficient pre-termination
hearing coes not fall within, in the words of the Fourth
Circuit, “Psrratt’s narrow scope.” Id. at 929. As in Plumer,
pre-deprivaticn process, rather than a post-deprivation
remedy, was required under Zinerinon because pre-depri-
vation process was possible and the state delegated to the
Local Board the power to effect the very deprivation

about which Bockes complained.

ITI.

The court next must consider whether the Eleventh

Amendment precludes Bockes from recovering a judg-

ment against the Local Department and the Local Board

Alg9

because the Local Department is a state agency.> The
Eleventh Amendment protects unconsenting states
“against a private party’s suit for damages.” Keller v.
Prince George's County (Keller II), 923 F.2d 30, 32 (4th Cir.
1991) (citations omitted). It is well settled that “any arm
of the state is protected by such immunity.” Id. (citations
omitted). “On the other hand, a municipality or other
local government unit does not enjoy the protection of
the eleventh amendment and may be sued under § 1983
for constitutional deprivations.” Keller v. Prince George's
County (Keller [), 827 F.2d 952, 963 (4th Cir. 1987) (cita-
tions omitted). Because the bar of the Eleventh Amend-
ment cannot extend to the County, the question before the
court on this score is whether the Local Department is the
alter ego of the state for Eleventh Amendment purposes.

Bockes suggests the following factors are considered
in determining the status of the Local Department under
the Eleventh Amendment: “the characterization of the
Department under state law; the extent of state control
over the Department; the extent to which it depends on
state appropriations; and whether a damage award
would come from state funds.” Keller I, 827 F.2d at 964

* It is well recognized that suits against individuals in their
official capacity are actually suits against the go,ernmental
entity itself. Revene v. Charles County Comm'rs, 882 F.2d 870, 874
(4th Cir. 1989) (citations omitted); Giancola v. West Virginia Dep't
of Public Safety, 830 F.2d 547, 550 (4th Cir. 1987). Therefore,
Bockes’ suit against the Local Board members in their official
capacities is nothing more than a suit solely against the Depart-
ment. The court will couch its Eleventh Amendment analysis in
terms of the County and the Department, but the analysis wil!
necessarily encompass the Local Board as well.

A20

(citation omitted). These factors all probe an entity’s rela-
tive degree of autonomy from the state. Ram Ditta v.
Maryland Nat'l Capital Park and Planning Comm'n, 822 F.2d
456, 457-58 & n.4 (4th Cir. 1987). However, “the most
important consideration is whether the state treasury will
be responsible for paying any judgment.” Ram Ditta, 822
F.2d at 457; see also Keller I, 827 F.2d at 964.

According to the evidence presented in this case, if
the Local Department were found liable, most of the
judgment would be paid by the state. Of the $20,000 jury
verdict in favor of Bockes, the state would be responsible
for approximately $13,000. This amount would be paid
out of the state’s Public Officials Liability Self-Insurance
Plan, which is managed by the Treasurer of Virginia, who
holds the money for the plan in a separate insurance
fund. All political subdivisions in Virginia, including the
Local Department, are allowed to participate in the insur-
ance plan, although participation is voluntary. Since the
Local Board decided that the Local Department would
participate in this state self-insurance plan, the Local
Department pays a premium into the insurance fund
“using a combination of state and local funds,” with the
state reimbursing the Local Department for 80% of the

premiu m.

Bockes argues that since the damage award would be
paid from a separate fund, there is no effect on the state
treasury so as to afford the Local Department the protec-
tion of the Eleventh Amendment. That argument is mis-
placed on the record before the court. According to the
evidence, the Local Department is reimbursed by the
state for 80% of its premium payments. Due to the dispa-
rate amount of money provided by the state for the

A21

premium payments, any judgment from the insurance
fund will inexorably affect the state treasury as a majority
of state money was paid into the insurance fund and
would, therefore, be used to cover a judgment award
against the Local Department. The fact that the insurance
fund is separate from the general treasury is of no conse-
quence. See, e.g., Paschal v. Jackson, 936 F.2d 940, 944-45
(7th Cir. 1991) (segregating state money into separate
fund does not change fact that recovery is out of state
treasury), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 992 (1992). The crucial
inquiry is whether state funds will be used to pay for a
damage award, which is clearly the case here. Accord-
ingly, the court finds that a recovery of the $13,000 would
be, in effect, a recovery of funds from the state prohibited
by the Eleventh Amendment.4

The structure and organization of the Local Depart-
ment and its relationship with the Virginia Department of
Social Services (“the Virginia Department”) also favors
the finding that the Local Department should be treated
as the states’ alter ego for Eleventh Amendment pur-
poses. First, although in Virginia, the Grayson County
Board of Supervisors (“the County Board”) appoints and

* The court recognizes that the court of appeals has held
that a damage award that would be satisfied from a separate
unemployment compensation fund did not violate the Eleventh
Amendment. Brown v. Porcher, 660 F.2d 1001, 1006-07 (4th Cir.
1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1150 (1983). However, Brown
involved no state money and, therefore, is not controlling. See
id.; see also Dyson v. Lavery, 417 F. Supp. 103, 107-09 (E.D. Va.
1976) (college had judgment against it that could be satisfied out
of student activities fee fund, which contained no state money,
and therefore, college could not invoke Eleventh Amendment to
prohibit retroactive damage award).

A22

is authorized to remove the members of the Local Board,
who, in turn, select the local director and employees, the
Virginia Commissioner of Social Services (“the Commis-
sioner”) is expressly authorized to remove them. Va.
Code Ann. § 63.1-45, -62. Second, the County must follow
state procedures and guidelines in organizing its Local
Department. See, e.g., Va. Code Ann. § 63.1-26. Third, the
Local Board is required to submit its budget to the Com-
missioner. Va. Code Ann. § 63.1-54. Fourth, local boards
of social services have not attained the local, independent
status traditionally afforded other local boards. Compare
Va. Code Ann. § 22.1-71 (code section entitled “School
board constitutes body corporate; corporate powers”);
Ram Ditta, 822 F.2d at 458. Finally, the County contributes
no more than 20% of the funding for the Local Depart-
ment, with the remainder coming from varying combina-
tions of state and federal funds.

In sum, the Local Department’s structure and organi-
zation and its relationship with the Virginia Department,
coupled with the fact that most of the judgment would be
paid from state funds, preponderate in favor of the con-
clusion that the Local Department is, in essence, the
states’ alter ego, and thus, protected by the Eleventh
Amendment from a damage award in a § 1983 action in
federal court.5 Compare Ram Ditta, 822 F.2d at 458-59
(Parks & Planning Commission was designated as body
corporate, was not required to submit budget to state,
was not represented by state attorney general’s office,

° Neither party raised nor does the court find any waiver of
Eleventh Amendment immunity with regard to the Department
or the Board.

A23

and state exercised no control over Commission person-
nel matters, and, therefore, court found it to be local
agency). That conclusion, however, does not end the
court's inquiry because the County, nevertheless, may be
subject to liability if the Local Board’s actions may be
fairly attributed to the County.®

IV.

A county is subject to municipal liability “when exe-
cution of a government's policy or custom, whether made
by its lawmakers or by those whose edicts or acts may
fairly be said to represent official policy, inflicts the
injury.” Spell v. McDaniel, 824 F.2d 1380, 1385 (4th Cir.
1987) (quoting Monell v. Department of Social Services, 436
U.S. 658, 694 (1978)), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1027 (1988).
““[P]olicymaking authority’ implies authority to set and

® The reasoning of Keller II, which held that a local depart-
ment of social services in Maryland was, in effect, an agency of
the state and, therefore, immune from suit, provides some sup-
port. In Keller II, the court of appeals stated:
[t]he Department is a local department of social ser-
vices operated by the Maryland Department of
Human Resources, an agency of the executive branch
of state government. The employees of the Depart-
ment receive fringe benefits and paychecks from the
state and perform their duties subject to state person-
nel policy. State law and procedure dictate how the
Department operates and organizes its programs.
Only two percent of the Department's funding comes
from the county with the remainder coming from the
state and federal governments.
923 F.2d at 32.

A24

implement general goals and programs of municipal gov-
ernment, as opposed to discretionary authority in purely
operational aspects of government.” Spell, 824 F.2d at
1386; see, e.g., Bennett v. City of Slidell, 728 F.2d 762, 769
(5th Cir. 1984) (“policymakers act in the place of the
governing body in the area of their responsibility”), cert.
denied, 472 U.S. 1016 (1985). Final authority is “a neces-
sary attribute of ‘policymaking authority.’ ” Spell, 824
F.2d at 1386. However, “a municipal agency or official
may have final authority to make and implement policy
despite a municipality’s retention of powers of ultimate
control over both policy and policymaker. The question is
one of authority-in-fact.” Id. A single decision by an
official exercising such authority is sufficient to subject a
municipality to § 1983 liability. Morrash v. Strobel, 842 F.2d
64, 67 (4th Cir. 1987) (citing Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati,
475 U.S. 469, 479-80 (1986)).

Though the definition of policymaker is a matter of
federal law, the determination of which official or offi-
cials fall within this definition is necessarily guided by
state law. Dotson v. Chester, 937 F.2d 920, 924 (4th Cir.
1991) (citing City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 485 U.S. 112,
124 (1988)). Examining state law, which can include valid
local ordinances and regulations, will usually “direct a
court to some official or body that has the responsibility
for making law or setting policy in any given area of a
local government’s business.” Jd. From an examination of
the control in fact exercised by the County Board through
its appointment of Local Board members, the court
readily concludes that the Local Board's actions, at least
as to personnel matters, are fairly attributable to the
County Board and, therefore, the County.

A25

The County maintains that a finding by the court that
the Local Department is a state agency for Eleventh
Amendment purposes would preclude the County from
being held liable because it did not employ the
tortfeasors — the board members of the Local Department
that discharged Bockes without affording her due pro-
cess. That argument, however, begs the question. In
determining whether the County is liable, the question is
not by whom are the tortfeasors employed. Rather, the
question is whether the tortfeasors were Carrying out
official County policy — that is, whether their conduct is
fairly attributable to the County. See Witt v. Harbour, 508
F. Supp. 378, 380 n.5 (W.D. Va. 1980), aff'd, 644 F.2d 883
(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 879 (1981). The court has
concluded that because the Local Board exercised author-
ity that it was expressly authorized by law to exercise and
because ultimate local control over the Local Board is
given to the County Board, the decision to discharge
Bockes is fairly attributable to the County.

The structure of the chain of command of the Local
Department is somewhat unigue. As previously men-
tioned, the Local Board, which is expressly authorized to
hire and fire the local director, is appointed and can be
removed by the County Board. At the Same time, the
Virginia Department retains Oversight responsibilities
and is authorized to discharge Local Board members as
well as Local Department employees who fail to meet
state standards. Thus, authority over day-to-day person-
nel matters is exercised at the local level with ultimate
local control resting with the County Board, which is

expressly authorized to discharge members of the Local
Board at will. Cf. Dotson, 937 F.2d at 928-32 (concluding

that sheriff who was designated as state official was
acting as county official, and thus, subjected county to
§ 1983 liability); Hughes v. Halifax County Sch. Bd., 855 F.2d
183, 185 (4th Cir. 1988) (school board, not maintenance
supervisor lacking authority to control and supervise per-
sonnel, is policymaker for school personnel decisions),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1042 (1989); Morrash v. Strobel, 842
F.2d 64, 67-68 (4th Cir. 1987) (city council, not director of
public safety, is policymaker, because council retains right
to decide how to utilize personnel). Given such a struc-
ture, it is not inconsistent to find that the discharge of the
local director by the Local Board is an act fairly attributa-
ble to the County.” On the one hand, the County cannot,
in effect, maintain control over the personnel decisions of
the Local Department and, on the other hand, escape
accountability simply because the Local Department tech-
nically can be classified as an agency of the state for
Eleventh Amendment purposes. See Dotson, 937 F.2d at
928 (“the Sheriff is not always a state employee or always
a county employee. He may, on occasion, be both, or
sometimes one and sometimes the other. It all depends on
the particular function the Sheriff is performing.”) (emphasis
added).

? Additional authority indicates clearly that the Local
Board is the policymaker for personnel matters. According to
the terms of Volume IA, a publication of the Virginia Depart-
ment, the Local Board is the “appointing authority” for all
personnel actions. Volume 1A, Chapter A at 11. Moreover, the
Handbook for Local Boards of Social Services notes that the
Local Board is a policymaking body. Handbook at 17.

V.

For the above-stated reasons, the court finds that
Bockes was entitled to but did not receive procedurai due
process before she was discharged, that the Eleventh
Amendment precludes a judgment award against the
Local Department and the Local Board, and that the
County is liable for the Local Board’s decision to dis-
charge Bockes without affording her procedural due pro-
cess. In accordance with the jury’s verdict, therefore, the
court will enter judgment against the County in the
amount of $20,000.

ENTER this 29th day of July, 1992.

/s/ Ille gible
DISTRICT JUDGE

A28

-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
FILED

23, 1993

August

CA-91-62-A
NANCY BOCKES

Plaintiff Appellant

BETTYE LOU FIELDS, Individually and as a member
and Chairman of the Board of Social Services, Grayson
County, Virginia; ROBERT WELLS, Individually and as
member of the Board of Social Services, Grayson
County Virginia; DENNIS COOLEY, Individually and
as a member and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Social
Services, Grayson County, Virginia; DEPARTMENT OI!
SOCIAL SERVICES, Grayson County, Virginia
Defendants - Appellees
and

COUNTY OF GRAYSON, VIRGINIA

Detendant

NANCY BOCKES

COUNTY OF GRAYSON, VIRGINIA
Detendant Appellant

and

A29

BETTYE LOU FIELDS, Individually and as a member
and Chairman of the Board of Social Services, Grayson
County, Virginia; ROBERT WELLS, Individually and as
a member of the Board of Social Services, Grayson
County Virginia; DENNIS COOLEY, Individually and
as a member and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Social
Services, Grayson County, Virginia; DEPARTMENT OF
SOCIAL SERVICES, Grayson County, Virginia

Defendants

On Petition for Rehearing with

Suggestion for Rehearing in Banc

~i

Appellant Bockes’ petition for rehearing and sugges-
tion for rehearing in banc were submitted to this Court.
\s no member of this Court or the panel requested a poll

on the suggestion for rehearing in banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing

and is of the opinion that it should be denied,

7

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing in banc are denied.

For the Court,

S Bert M Montague

CLERK

A30

JOINT EXHIBIT #2
91-62

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
STATE EMPLOYEE PROCEDURES
JUN 20 1990
GRIEVANCE FORM A
EMPLOYEE Nancy Bockes

Name
State Job Classification Agency
Vork Facility Section
Geographic Location Work Phone No.

NATURE OF GRIEVANCE I was discharged by the Gray-

son County Social Services Board on June 8, 1990. The

only reason given me was poor employee morale. This

reason was pretextual. My job performance was exem-

Slory [sic] in the view of most employees, clients, state
if

and regional social service personnel, and citizens.

DATE GRIEVANCE OCCURRED June 8, 1990 RELIEF
KEQUESTED Reinstatement to position of Director; back

pay; reinstatement and/or compensation for lost benefits;

compensation for attorney fees

‘s/ Nancy Bockes

Nancy Bockes

A31

MANAGEMENT STEPS
STEP 1 EMPLOYEE-IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR

DATE OF VERBAL PRESENTATION TO
SUPERVISOR

DATE OF SUPERVISOR’S VERBAL REPLY

DATE FORM A SUBMITTED TO SUPERVISOR 06/20/90

SUPERVISOR’S FIRST STEP REPLY 06/25/90

The Employee serves as Director of the Department

of Social Services at the pleasure of the Board. Employee

did not keep the Board properly informed and the Board

does not think Employee can properly manage the

Department within guidelines of Virginia Law and Regu-

lation of the State Dept. of Social Services.

SUPERVISOR’S SIGNATURE /s/ Bettye Lou Fields,
DATE 6-25-90 Chairman

{ |] I consider this grievance concluded and do not wish
to advance my grievance to the next step.

EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE ———_—_sdDATE ere
[X] I do not accept the first step supervisor’s reply and
wish to advance my grievance to the next step.

[ ] I wish to appeal the first step supervisor’s non-
grievable reply to the Office of Employee Relations
Counselors.

EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE _
TO NEXT STEP

___ DATE SUBMITTED

A32

STEP 2 EMPLOYEE-SECOND STEP MANAGER

DATE OF SECOND STEP MEETING MANAGER'S
SECOND STEP REPLY |

MANAGER’S SIGNATURE DATE |

[ ] Iconsider this grievance concluded and do not wish
to advance my grievance to the next step.
EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE _ DATE _

[ |] I do not accept the second step manager’s reply and
wish to advance my grievance to the next step.

[ ] I wish to appeal the second step manager’s non-
grievable reply to the Office of Employee Relations
Counselors.

EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE ___ DATE SUBMITTED
TO NEXT STEP

OERC FORM 01-0185

A33

DENE & DENE
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
158 COURT STREET, N.E.
POST OFFICE BOX 1135
ABINGDON, VIRGINIA 24210
January 28, 1991

LOUIS DENE TELEPHONE (703) 628-8644
HOPE DENE FACSIMILE (703) 628-8846

Ms. Nancy Bockes
P.O. Box 434
Independence, VA 24348

Grayson County Department of Social Services
P.O. Box 434
Independence, VA 24348

Mr. William Wells
Grayson County Board of Supervisors
Independence, VA 24348

Department of Personnel and Training
700 East Franklin Street, Suite 910
Richmond, VA 23219

Joseph S. Tate, Esq.
Gwyn, Tate & Tate

Bank of Marion Building
Marion, VA 24354-2599

Kurt J. Pomrenke, Esq.
White, Elliott & Bundy
P.O. Box 8400

Bristol, Virginia 24201

Mr. Roy F. Rose
Box. 417
Clintwood, VA 24228

A34

Mr. Harold Williams
P.O. Box 967
Galax, VA 24333

Re: Grayson County Department of Social Services and
Nancy Bockes

Enclosed please find your copy of the Panel Decision in

the above-referenced matter.

Your cooperation and assistance has been appreciated.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Louis Dene
Louis Dene
LD/ned

A35

DPT Form 01-019

GRIEVANCE FORM B
PANEL DECISION

Grievant Nancy Bockes

Agency Grayson County Department of Social Services

It has been determined by the agency head or the Circuit
Court that this grievance qualifies for a panel hearing.

Panel Chairman Louis Dene

Date January 18, 1991

Place of Hearing Grayson County Courthouse

Date of Hearing January 9, 10, 11, 1991

Panel Members:
1. Employee Selection Roy Rose

2...Agency Selection Harold Williams

3. Third Member Louis Dene

Issue Whether the discharge of grievant, Nancy Bockes,
was proper and in accord with the applicable rules, regu-

lations and policies.

Panel Decision Discharge was not in accord with the

applicable policies, rules and regulations set forth in Vol-
ume IA of the policies and procedure manual. Reinstate-
ment with one-half back pay, excluding any and all
monies earned from wages, vacation pay, sick leave pay,
and any other source. Grievant is to receive any salary
increase she had [sic] would have received as though she

had been working for the entire year of 1990; grievant's

A36

benefits will accrue for 1991 without any interruption or
break in service. Social Services shall make the appropri-
ate contributions to greivant’s [sic] pension limited to the
monies that the agency pays the grievant. Panel recom-
mends the Board of Social Services meet with the griev-
ant and clearly set forth the expectations of that
department, and it is strongly recommended that the
Board and the members deal directly with the Director
when information is needed from that Agency.

Reason for Panel Decision

The evidence presented to the panel shows the Board of
Social Services of Grayson County did not follow the
procedures outlined in Volume IA, and there was not just

cause for discharge.

/s/ Louis Dene /s/ Roy F. Rose
Panel Chairman Panel Member

/s/ Harold L. Williams
Panel Member

Panel to Record the Vote . 2 oo
[x] 2-1

Note: Panel Chairman shall transmit this decision to the
agency head, the employee, and the Department
of Personnel and Training within fifteen (15) work
days following conclusion of the hearing. The
agency head shall transmit copies of this decision
to appropriate supervisors within three (3) work
days following receipt of the decision.

A37

White Elliott & Bundy
ATTORNEYS AT LAW

Dominion Bank Building
601 State Street, Suite 600
Post Office Box 8400
Bristol, VA-TN 24203

Telephone 703-466-8400
Fax 703-466-8161

June 5, 1992

Jackson S. White, Jr.
James Wm. Elliott, Jr.t
John S. Bundy

Mark M. Lawson
Howard C. McElroy
James R. Hodges

Kurt J. Pomrenke

Rick J. Bearfield*
Amelia L. Bland
James E. Green
Pamela Meade Sargent
Mark R. Graham
Steven ¥ Minor

D. Jeffrey Coale
Steven T. Clark

Kyle P. Macionet

tAdmitted in Tennessee

and Virginia
*Admitted in Tennesee

ABINGDON OFFICE
The Dominion Center
330 Cummings Street

P.O. Box 429
Abingdon, VA 24210
Telephone 703-628-9515
Fax 703-628-7808

JOHNSON City OFFICE
Suite 18 Princeton Square
207 Princeton Road
P.O. Box 4210 CRS
Johnson City, TN 37602
Telephone 615-282-1006
Fax 615-282-3081

Thomas C. Phillips, Jr.
Of Counsel

A38

The Hon. Samuel G. Wilson, Judge
United States District Court

P.O. Box 749

Abingdon, VA 24210

Re: Bockes v. Grayson County Board of Social Services,
et. al.
Our File No. 5355-HG-1

Dear Judge Wilson:

Please find enclosed two documents which Bob Ward
and I have stipulated to and which hopefully address
some of the questions you raised. The first document is a
letter dated June 2, 1992, from LaVaun Reedy, Office
Manager for the Grayson County Department of Social
Services, advising Mr. Ward that the premium paid by the
local department for the public officials liability policy
written by the Division of Risk Management is comprised
of 80 percent state funds and 20 percent local funds.

The second document is a letter dated June 4, 1992,
from Robert C. Vogt, Program Manager, Political Subdivi-
sions, Division of Risk Management, in which he pro-
vides some explanatory information concerning the
public officials liability self insurance plan.

I have filed today with the Clerk a supplemental
memorandum regarding our opinion of the significance
to this case of the Division of Risk Management Public

Officials Liability Insurance Program

A39

Should you need any additional information, please
advise. Mr. Ward has not previously seen our supplemen-
tal memorandum, and may desire time to respond.

Sincerely,

/s/ Kurt Pomrenke

Kurt J. Pomrenke
Encs.

c: Mr. Robert V. Ward (w/o enclosure)
Ms. Nancy Bockes (w/o enclosure)

A40

Grayson County Department of Social Services
P.O. Box 434
Independence, Va. 24348

[LOGO] ; 703-773-2452 PUBLIC
SOCIAL SERVICES TO 703-236-9541 ASSISTANCE
CHILDREN AND ADULTS FOOD STAMPS

MEDICAID

June 2, 1992

Mr. Robert V. Ward
Suite 300

Executive Plaza

510 Cumberland St.
P.O. Box 1809

Bristol, VA 24203-1809

Dear Mr. Ward:

Mr. Dennis Cooley requested I send you the information
regarding the Division of Risk Management. This is reim-
bursed at 80% state and 20% local. He stated Judge
Wilson needs this as soon as possible. Would you please
see that he is informed.

If I can be of further assistance, please advise.

Sincerely,

/s/ LaVaun H. Reedy
(Mrs.) LaVaun H. Reedy
Office Manager

cc: Dennis Cooley

A4l1

LOGO
COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES
June 4, 1992

DIVISION OF RISK MANAGEMENT—-
JAMES MADISON BUILDING
4TH FLOOR
109 GOVERNOR STREET
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219
(804) 786-5968
FAX (804) 371-8400
VOICE/TDD (804) 786-6152

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

PUBLIC OFFICIALS LIABILITY SELF-INSURANCE
PLAN (POLSIP)

I am employed by the Commonwealth of Virginia,
Department of General Services, Division of Risk Man-.
agement (DRM).

Under Section 2.1-526.8:1, of the code Virginia, DRM
acts as the administrator and trustee for the POLSIP.

The POLSIP is essentially a group self-insurance that
is non-assessable. All political subdivisions in Virginia
are eligible to participate in the Plan. Such participation
is voluntary.

DRM sets the rates/cost for participation. For Social
Service Departments; a rate is set based on the size of the
agency. Agencies, statewide, have been categorized into
several different groups based on the size of population
served. The larger the population served the larger the
cost.

A42

[he agency, upon a decision to participate, makes
payment directly to DRM. The payment is made using a
combination of state and local funds. The State pays the
majority of the costs. The states share of the costs is 80%
with the locality funding the remaining 20%.

Any judgements paid under the POLSIP come
directly from the funds that have been paid in for each
type of political subdivision.

Che funds paid into the Plan are held in a single self-
insurance trust fund, with the assets invested on the
funds behalf by the Treasurer of Virginia.

Any check making payment out of the Trust Fund
account is signed by the Treasurer of Virginia. The
account is held in the name of the Commonwealth.

I can be reached at (800) 678-4924 extension 5-4616, if

further information is needed.
Sincerely,

/s/ Robert C. Vogt
Robert C. Vogt
Program Manager
Political Subdivisions

A43

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

OF SOCIAL SERVICES PERSONNEL
7/84 VOLUME IA, CHAPTER A, PAGE 1
INTRODUCTION

he material contained in the Local Personnel Adminis-
trative Manual is a comprehensive text comprised of the
policies, administrative rules and procedures to be used
in the administration of local welfare/social service per-
sonnel. This administrative manual provides the basis for
the State Personnel System applicable to all local social

service d epartments.

Ihe State Board of Social Services establishes and main-
tains the standards and policies that provide the founda-
tion of the Local Personnel System. Administrative rules
and procedures for implementation of the State Board
policies are developed by the State Department of Social
Services. The Commissioner of the State Department of
Social Services is responsible for making certain that the
personnel policies, administrative rules and procedures
are properly maintained and administered. He must also
ensure that local welfare/social services departments
comply with the provisions of the personnel plan. Local
boards of welfare/social services must adopt the state
policies or in lieu of these, under the conditions set forth
in the State Personnel Plan, request approval to adopt

local jurisdictional personnel policies. The intent of the

A44

law, the State Board policies and the rules for administra-
tion of the personnel plan, is to provide for the mainte-
nance of an adequate qualified staff essential to the

effective operation of the social service programs.

This document provides the policies, rules and pro-
cedures for the operation of a Personnel System applica-
ble to local welfare/social service employees. It is
divided into the following six Chapters. Chapters B, C,
and D generally conform to the organizational structure
of the State Department of Social Services, Office of Per-
sonnel:

Chapter A General Overview of the Local Personnel

Plan

Chapter B- Classification and Compensation

Chapter C Personnel Management including all aspects
of Employment and Employee Benefits

Chapter D Employee Relations Management
Chapter E Jurisdiction-Wide Personnel Systems

Chapter F Local Agency Personnel System (LAPS)

l. STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

In accordance with federal and State law, the State
Board of Social Services has established personnel
policies which are the basis for a comprehensive
Local Personnel System applicable to employees of
local welfare/social services departments. The per-
sonnel system promulgated by the State Board is in
keeping with the Federal Merit Principles, and federal
and State law. The State Board is ultimately respons-
ible for maintenance of the system and monitoring of
its use by local agencies.

No

A45

All local departments of welfare/social services must
utilize the personnel system established by the Board.
However, there are provisions throughout the plan
that allow local agencies to request approval for local
jurisdictional policies in lieu of the State policy.
Under specific conditions, the State Board has pro-
vided for inclusion of local department of welfare /
social services employees in a comprehensive local
jurisdiction-wide personnel plan. Prior approval of
the jurisdiction-wide plan is required and continued
approval is contingent upon compliance with the
original agreement and conformity with the policies
in the Local Personnel Plan. Refer to Chapter E for
more information.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR PERSONNEL ADMINISTRA-
TION

State Board Policy

The Virginia Department of Social Services is respons-
ible for providing a personnel system encompassing
all aspects of personnel; selection, classification, com-
pensation, administration, and employee relations
which complies with appropriate federal and State
laws and regulations.

a. Federal Requirements

The Federal Standards for a Merit System of Per-
sonnel Administration, Section 5 CFR, Part 900,
subpart F, (b) states that, “Certain Federal grant
programs, require, as a condition of eligibility,
that State and local agencies that receive grants
establish merit personnel systems for their per-
sonnel engaged in administration of the grant-
aided program. These merit personnel systems
are in some cases required by specific federal
grant statutes and in other cases are required by

A46

regulations of the federal grantor agencies. Title II
of the Act [Intergovernmental Personnel Act of
1970, as amended] gives the U. 5S. Office of Per-
sonnel Management authority to prescribe stan-
dards for these federally required merit personnel
standards.”

1)

2)

State Board Policy

The Department of Social Services is commit-
ted to providing a personnel system based
upon merit and fitness applicable to all local
welfare/social service agencies in Virginia
which complies with the federal regulations
set forth in the “Federal Standards for a Merit
System of Personnel Administration,” 5 CFR,
Part 900, subpart F.

The Six Merit Principles

The Federal Standards for a Merit System of
Personnel Administration contain six merit
principles that apply to all systems of person-
nel administration that must comply with the
standards. The six principles are as follows:

a) recruiting, selecting and advancing
employees on the basis of their relative
ability, knowledge and skills, including
open consideration of qualified appli-
cants for initial appointment;

b) providing equitable and adequate com-
pensation;

c) training employees, as needed, to assure
high quality performance;

d) retaining employees on the basis of the
adequacy of their performance, correcting
inadequate performance, and separating

A47

employees whose inadequate perfor-
mance cannot be corrected;

e) assuring fair treatment of applicants and
employees in all aspects of personnel
administration without regard to political
affiliation, race, color, national origin, sex,
religious creed, age or handicap and with
proper regard for their privacy and con-
stitutional rights as citizens. This “fair
treatment” principle includes compliance
with the federal equal employment
opportunity and nondiscrimination laws;
and

f) assuring that employees are protected
against coercion for partisan political pur- _
poses and are prohibited from using their
official authority for the purpose of inter-
ferring [sic] with or affecting the result of
an election or a nomination for office.

State Requirements

The Code of Virginia, Section 63.1-26 delegates
the State Board authority for establishing person-
nel policies which are applicable to employees of
local welfare/social service departments.

1) State Board Policy

The Virginia Department of Social Services is
responsible for establishment and mainte-
nance of administrative policies and pro-
cedures governing personnel administration
in the Virginia social services program. It is
the responsibility of the State Board of Social
Services to establish entrance and perfor-
mance standards for personnel administration
in accordance with the provisions contained
in Section 63.1-26 of the Code of Virginia.

A48

2) Code of Virginia Reference

a)

The standards in Section 63.1-26 include
such rules and regulations as may be
embraced in the development of a system
of personnel administration meeting
requirements of the federal Department
of Health, and Human Services (HHS)
under appropriate federal legislation
relating to programs administered by the
Board; provided,

* * *

A49

LOGO
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
November 14, 1986

TO: Local Directors/Superintendents

SUBJECT: PUBLIC OFFICIALS LIABILITY SELF INSUR-
ANCE PLAN

You were recently mailed information from the State’s
Division of Risk Management concerning the above. If
your agency is not presently covered by Professional
Liability Insurance, you are encouraged to make immedi-
ate application to the Office of Risk Management for such
coverage as is now being offered.

The Department of Social Services will reimburse 80% of
the premium cost for this insurance. This Department
will not participate in reimbursement of any deductible
amounts that may be charged under policy terms of the
insurance.

If your agency is currently covered by your local city or
county Public Officials and Employees’ Legal Liability
Insurance policy, you will note from the Division of Risk
Management's release that local welfare/social services
agencies will not be insured in any policy Risk Manage-
ment may issue in the future to your local governing
body. This prohibition also seems to be applicable to most
private insurance carriers.

Now that the Division of Risk Management has devel-
oped and published its plan to offer Public Officials Lia-
bility Self Insurance to all local welfare/social services
agencies that make application, we see no reason for any

A50

local agency not to have adequate financial protection
and legal services in the event a professional liability
claim is made against any welfare/social services agency
or its employees.

If you need assistance of any kind in matters relating to
professional liability insurance, please contact Mr. S. P.
Hair, Director, Division of Administration, telephone
(804) 281-9206.

/s/ William L. Lukhard
William L. Lukhard

cc: Regional Directors

A51

LOGO
COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES

July 8, 1993
DIVISION OF RISK MANAGEMENT
JAMES MADISON BUILDING
4TH FLOOR
109 GOVERNOR STREET
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219
(804) 786-5968
FAX (804) 371-8400
VOICE/TDD (804) 786-6152
Daniel R. Bieger, Esq.
Copeland, Molinary & Bieger, P.C.
212 West Valley St.
P.O. Box 1296
Richmond, VA 24210

Re: Clyde and Janice Quick
Dear Mr. Bieger:

This letter will acknowledge receipt of your fax sent
to the Office of the Attorney General. Please be advised
that this office now handles claims made against agencies
of the Commonwealth.

We are of the opinion that the Buchanan County
Department of Social Services is not a State agency for the
purposes of the Tort Claims Act. We will, however, retain
your letter for whatever legal effect it may have.

Sincerely,

/s/ Lynne Noyes
Lynne E. Noyes
Claims Management
Specialist
cc. Kurt J. Pomrenke, Esq.
Bill Jones

A52

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FU® THE
WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
Abingdon Division

snc ocninsnensolhcpsas mma x
NANCY BOCKES,

Plaintiff, . Civil Action No.
ois 91-62-A
: . (Filed Jan. 8, 1993)
BETTYE L. FIELDS, n
mas 9:45 a.m.
individually and as a Member :

EES. : er February 5, 1992
and Chairman of the Board of FOIE = SE
Social Services, Grayson oe
County, Virginia, et al.,

Defendants. |
ccscsssseamsesnissnitiamepasaieiann nn x

PARTIAL TRANSCRIPT OF TRIAL
BEFORE THE HONORABLE SAMUEL G. WILSON
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE, and a jury

APPEARANCES:

KURT J. POMRENKE, Esquire

White, Elliott & Bundy

P.O. Box 8400

Bristol, Virginia 24203-8400
Counsel for the Plaintiff.

ROBERT V. WARD, Esquire

P.O. Box 1809

Bristol, Virginia 24203-1809
Counsel for the Defendants.

Proceedings recorded by mechanical stenography, tran-
script produced by Reporter.

oi ean eee a

A53

BRIDGET A. DICKERT
UNITED STATES COURT REPORTER
P.O. BOX 749
ABINGDON, VIRGINIA 24210
(703) 628-2549

[Robert Wells on Direct Examination by Robert Ward]

* * *

[p. 78] Q. ... Did you reach a point in time where
you reached a decision you didn’t think was in the best
interest of the board for this lady to be a director?

A That’s exactly right.

Q_ Did you have a conversation with these other two
members about that?

A Yes, I did.
Q Did you come upon an agreed course of action?
A Yes, sir.

As a result of that agreed course of action did
you, did you consult an attorney in Marion?

A Yes, I did?

A [sic] About when was that?
A Sometime in May, I think.
[p. 79] Q 1990?

A 1990.

Q All right. On the first occasion with the attorney
did all three members go?

A No, sir, just myself.

Q

A
Q

A54

Did you discuss with the attorney the problems?
Yes, Sif.

How many times were you present at meetings

with your lawyer?

A

QO
A

By myself or with the board?
Both. How many times by yourself -

I think I met with Joe Tate twice, the first time to

discuss with him, you know, about the information that I

had, or if we were correct in what we were trying to do,

to advise us, and then one other time I think I stopped by

there and dropped off some more statements people had

given me, and then one time we three met together.

Q

All right. Did you tell Mr. Tate that you wanted to

fire Mrs. Bockes?

A

No, I don’t think I said it that way. I said, “What

can we do?” I said, “Can we fire her? We need advice.”

Q

Were you told that you had to comply with the

provisions of 1-A, manual 1-A?

[p. 80] A No, sir.

Q

Did you, as a board, decide to terminate Mrs.

Bockes from her employment?

A

Q
A

Q

Yes, sir.
Did you follow Mr. Tate’s advice in doing that?
Yes, sir.

And what advice was that? What specifically did

Mr. Tate tell you you had to do?

A55
A To dismiss her, to tell her that we had lost faith in
her ability to run that agency.

Q Did he give you any instructions as to whether
you should say anything else?

A He told us to keep our mouths shut.
Q Did you follow his instructions?
A Yes, sir.

Q Did you discuss with him the provisions of the
code section that said the superintendent serves at the
pleasure of the board? Did you discuss that with him?

A Yes, sir. | asked him specifically about that.

Q_ Did you know what it meant when it said subject
to the provisions of the merit system?

A No, sir, I did not.

Q_ Did you rely on his advice to comply with what
that meant?

[p. 81j A Yes, sir.

Q The procedure that happened on June 8, 1990,
was that done in accordance with your attorney’s instruc-
tions?

A Yes, it was.
* * *

[Dennis Cooley on Direct Examination by Robert Ward]

* * *

A56

[p. 88] Q Did you reach a point when you fettit was

in the best interests of the Grayson County Department of

Social Services to terminate Mrs. Bockes from her posi-

tion?
A Yes, sir.
© When was that?
A I guess probably May, something to that effect

Q Do you have any written notes to recall specific

dates?
A No.

Q Did you, did you have conversations with Mrs
Fields and Mr. Wells about this?

A Yes, sir.
Q Was there any agreement to contact an attorney?
A Yes, sir

© Before any board action was taken on June 8th of

1990 did you, yourself, also meet with an attorney?
A Yes, sir
Q Who was present?
A The other board members.

Q Okay. Was, at that point in time was a decision
made that you could fire Mrs. Bockes by the procedure
used, June 8th?

[p. 89] A Yes, sir.

Q What were your instructions?

is Ni

A57

A To terminate.
Q What were your instructions as to how?

A That’s what we had to do, simply termination,
since she was an at will employee.

Q Who used the term at will employee?
A Pleasure of the board.

Q What I’m asking you, were those the attorney's
words or were they your words?

A Oh, I’m sorry. Yes, sir. The attorney’s words.

Q All right. If you had been told that you had to
comply with the provisions of 1-A by your attorney
would you have done that?

A Yes, sir.

Q At the time that the action was taken on June 8,
1990 did you believe you were in full compliance with the

law?
A Yes, sir.
* * *

[Bettye Lou Fields on Direct Examination by Robert Ward]

* * *

[p. 94] Q Did you reach a point where you felt it
was in the best interests of the Department of Social
Services of Grayson County to terminate Mrs. Bockes and
replace her with someone else?

A Yes, I did.

A58

Q Was that an easy thing to do?
A No, it was not.

Q When you went on the board did you take an

A Yes, sir.

Q Did you discuss this with Mr. Wells and Mrs.
Cooley?

A Yes, I did.

Q Did there come to be an agreement that some-
thing had to be done?

Ss

A Yes.

Q As a result of that were you present for the
meeting with the attorney?

A Yes, one meeting with the attorney, the three of
us.

QO Pardon?
A The three of us met with the attorney.

[p. 95] Q Okay. At that meeting were you told you
had to comply with the provisions of 1-A?

A No, sir.

Q At that meeting were you told, at least given 1-A,
the appropriate procedure for terminating Mrs. Bockes?

A Yes, we were told that to just tell her that we had
lost confidence in her ability to lead, to say nothing else,
to give no other reasons, that she was, that she would,

A59

she worked at the pleasure of the Board, and that meant
we didn’t even have to have a reason. We certainly
wouldn’t — well, anyway, that’s what we did.

Q Did you follow his advice?
A Yes.

Q When you were asked to name specifics did you
follow his advice and not say anything?

A Yes, sir.

Q_ If you had been told to comply with provisions of
1-A by the attorney would you have done that?

A Yes, sir.

A60

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
: ABINGDON DIVISION

NANCY BOCKES )
Plaintiff?
) CIVIL ACTION NO.

) 91-0062-A
BETTYE LOU FIELDS,
et al,
)
Defendants )

AFFIDAVIT

I, Nancy Bockes, hereby swear and affirm that the

following statements are true:

1. I am employed as the director of the Grayson
County Department of Social Services. The employees of
our agency and myself always have been considered to be
local employees of a local agency, and not state

employees or employees of a state agency.

2. Our Department of Social Services employees are

covered by Grayson County’s Blue Cross/Blue Shield
group health insurance policy. This is the same policy
that all county employees, with the possible exception of
the sheriff's department, participate in. | am unaware of
any provisions in either the state code or state board
policy which would allow employees of a local social
services agency to participate in the state employee group
health insurance policy. Eighty percent of the cost of the
premiums for the health insurance policy are borne by
the state, and twenty percent are paid by Grayson
County. Grayson County pays the premiums for our

Aél

employees, and then receives eighty percent reimburse-
ment from the state of Virginia.

3. The Grayson Department of Social Services rents
office space from Grayson County, and our office is
located in the basement of the Grayson County Court-
house. The rent is 80/20 money. (eighty percent paid by
the state; twenty percent by the county).

4. Room and board expenses for our foster care
program is 50/50 money (fifty percent paid by the state;
fifty percent by the county). Foster care services is paid
with 80/20 money; however, when that money is
exhausted, the ratio then becomes 50/50. We almost
always run out of our state allotment, and are forced to
use 50/50 money.

5. The general relief program is solely a local option
program. That is, our board of social services in Grayson
County has determined that we will offer the general
relief program. This program is totally discretionary on
the part of the local board and is not mandated by the
state of Virginia. The ratio for this program is approx-
imately 62/38 (sixty-two percent paid by the state; thirty-
eight percent by the county). It is my understanding that
most counties have dropped their general relief program
since it is a local option program.

6. Our social services board members are paid a
$30.00 salary per month for attending our board meet-
ings. This money is local only money, meaning there is no
state reimbursement (“local” money means funds allo-
cated to us by the Grayson County Board of Supervisors).
The board members’ mileage expenses are reimbursed
80/20.

A62

7. Our commodity program (the distribution of food
products to the needy) is funded with local only money,
and then we are reimbursed by the federal government.
No state money is used for this program.

8. Our local board of social services is the hiring
authority for our department. In interviewing prospective
employees for our department, our board always informs
those applicants that if hired they would be considered
the same as any other county employee.

9. The Grayson County Social Services Board voted
to allow our employees to participate in the state griev-
ance procedure, as opposed to participating in a local
grievance procedure.

10. The Grayson County Board of Supervisors, in
the past, decided that all county employees, including the
Department of Social Services employees, would be cov-
ered by the state employee retirement fund, and not a
local plan.

11. The employees of the Grayson County Depart-
ment of Social Services do not receive raises unless the
Grayson County Board of Social Services approve such
raises. The Grayson County Department of Social Ser-
vices employee do not receive the same raises that state
employees throughout Virginia receive. Our raises are
totally dependent upon the action of our local board of
social services. 2

12. Our department has five cars which are titled in
our local agency’s name and which have local license
plates. Our cars are serviced at the Grayson County

A63

garage, and we purchase gasoline from the county. Con-
versely, state vehicles have state license plates, are ser-
viced at the Virginia Department of Transportation
garage, and purchase their gasoline from the Department
of Transportation.

13. On several occasions the Grayson County
Administrator, Don Young, and other county officials
have borrowed our automobiles, particularly our van, for

county use.

14. The Chairman of the Grayson County Board of
Social Services signs all warrant registers which are then
sent to the county treasurer for the issuance of payroll

checks. There is no state involvement in this procedure.

15. The County Treasurer signs and issues the pay-
roll checks for our social services employees. The eighty
percent state reimbursement for these costs is paid

directly to the County Treasurer.

16. The County Treasurer handles all of our depart-
ment’s accounts and keeps track of all of our books. Our
agency keeps no money; the County Treasurer handles
everything. The Department of Social Services can write
checks, but the County Treasurer must sign them.

17. The cost for my grievance procedure, which
would have included attorney fees, court reporter fees
and the administrative hearing chairman's fees, was paid
with 100 percent local money. No state funds were
approved or appropriated for this expense

18. The Board of Supervisors for Grayson County
m

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0811%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
