# Opposition Brief — Stege v. Girard

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0743%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 1045

## Text

Bupreme Court, US
it. E D

: oe — 19
te tn a

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

2D and MITCHI

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENTS

SMITH

Ys ha > x Irorermr
CAMERON PETERS

McCLAUGHERTY, SILVER & Di

Post Office Box 8680

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-8680
(505) GS88-8804

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON,

Mm BEST AVAILABLE COPY;

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

(1) Whether a reasonable police officer under the
doctrine of qualified immunity and under the cir-
cumstances of this case could have believed the
warrantless entry to be lawful in light of clearly
established law and the information the searching
officers possessed at the time.

It was the decision of the Tenth Circuit that the
law at the time of this incident did not clearly es-
tablish whether the offenses being committed by the
Petitioners were sufficient to justify a warrantless
entry based on probable cause and exigent circum-
stances. The Tenth Circuit agreed with the United
States District Court for the District of New Mexico
that an objectively reasonable officer would have be-
lieved that the warrantless entry was lawful.

Petitioners mistakenly imply that the decision of
the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals was based on the
conclusion by the Tenth Circuit that the offense of
contributing to the delinquency of a minor (a fourth
degree felony under New Mexico statutes) was im-
plicated by the Respondents as the reason for making
the warrantless search. The issue of whether a puulic
official is entitled to qualified immunity is determined
by an objective standard in light of clearly established
law and the information possessed by the searching
officers. The searching officer’s subjective belief about
the search is irrelevant to a determination of whether
a public official is entitled to qualified immunity.

ee 4
, |

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ..........csecceeeeess i
TABLE OF COMBWIUD cicccobismccacssenemiumbehesieion ii
TABLE OF AtlTORGUOUOD sicccccscsstdicteicinenssteiinianvinnns ili
STATEMENT OF TOME CRI vicciccccearsteeserrtteteensenss 1
SUMMARY GF ADUIIIIGD accicsscascsnsscacscmssvessiecesntoces
PIERIBINY ccciansisincsiguacadeammaa aaa
COORRCRASIIGIRE 5:e.1ecisssuicidicnnneuaansaaalaaieen aan aaemianade 11
pN 5 1.) GRMN eR Mt hy rE la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 97 L.Ed. 2d
523, 107 S.Ct. 3034 (1987) ......eeseceeeereeeerees 5,8,11

Bledsoe v. Garcia, 742, F.2d 1237, 1241 (10th Cir.
1984) .o.....ceccccscsccccsssseeeesscssssressssceeeesnneesssesereres

Cooledge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 29

L.Ed.2d 564, 91 S.Ct. 2022, 2032 (1971) ....... 7
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200; 60 L.Ed. 2d

824, 99 S.Ct. 2248 (1979) ........ceeereeerreeeerereees 10
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 73 L.Ed. 2d

396, 102 S.Ct. 2727 (1982) .......scseeseceerreeererees 4,5
Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 89 L.Ed.2d 271,

106 S.Ct. 1092 (1986) ..........:ccccccceeereeeeeeeeeees 11
Patrick v. Miller, 953 F.2d 1240 (10th Cir.

1992) .......c.ceccccsscccccsssscscrccnncsssscssccssscsesercsnnseeses 5
Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573, 63 L.Ed. 2d

639, 100 S.Ct. 1371 (1980) .........esceeeereeereeeeees 5,6
United States v. Aquino, 836 F.2d 1268 (10th Cir.

1988) .........ccccsscssccesscsssessscsecssssncssesssssseensennsecess 7,9,10
United States v. Chavez, 812 F.2d 1295 (10th Cir.

TOBT) cccrcccnrerscrscssecnsssccssesocconccesoscnsssccsconssocessoees 9,10
United States v. Herring, 582 F.2d 535 (10th Cir.

1978) ......cc.cccccsccsssscscsssscscsnccessssosccsscssssccsensersess 9,11

United — vy. Jimenez, 864 F.2d 686 (10th Cir.
19BB) ....c.crccerscssnesecrseccrcescceescsssssccescccccsencseccseess

United States v. Lopez, 777 F.2d 543 (10th Cir.
TOBE) ....cccrceseccesvcessccesccccencoseccanesscscecssocssccsscesees 9,11

United States v. McEachin, 670 F.2d 1139 (D.C.
Cle, 1961) .....ccrcccssccsecccoccsccccccccesccernssscecscescssecees

Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S. 740, 80 L.Ed 2d 732,
104 S.Ct. 2091 (1984) ........cceeceeerrceeeeeeeeeeeeeenes 6

iv

Table of Authorities Continued

STATUTES

ID GE TRI BD isvsccncinsesccecencscesncccosiconns
EE MPI ME INS, nn si sicensenctnapicenenesebaeennseensanse
I i ls cc hcincabundelinnine
icc chcnccsssckcatensdaiibunhanasaain

RESPONDENTS’ APPENDIX

Affidavit of Mitchell B. Trimmer, filed in the United
States District Court for the District of New
Mexico on February 14, 1992 .......... eee

Affidavit of C.. Joseph Girard, filed in the United

States District Court for the District of New
Mexico on October 19, 1992 ..............cce eee eeeeee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners brought this civil rights action for al-
leged violation of their civil rights in the United States
District Court of the District of New Mexico on Oc-
tober 31, 1991. The action arises out of an incident
which occurred on June 29, 1991, shortly before mid-
night, in which Respondents, Los Alamos, New Mex-
ico police officers responded to a report of a party
at Petitioners’ home. Respondents entered Petitioners
home without search warrants during the course of
the party which involved underage individuals con-
suming alcohol and subsequently arrested Petitioners.
At the trial on the merits, following the close of
Petitioners case-in-chief, the District Court directed
a verdict in favor of Respondents based upon its de-
termination that Respondents were entitled to qual-
ified immunity. The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals
affirmed the District Court on grounds that at the
time of the incident, the law did not clearly establish
whether the offenses involved were sufficient to jus-
tify a warrantless entry based upon probable cause
and exigent circumstances and that an objectively rea-
sonable officer could have believed that the warrant-
less entry was lawful.

In addition to the Statement of Facts in Petitioners’
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, the following facts
are material to the consideration of the question pre-
sented.

1. Upon arrival at the Stege residence, Lieutenant
Girard observed a large number of automobiles parked
in front of the residence. (Appendix, p. 5a).

2. Lieutenant Girard believed a number of offenses
were being committed in the Stege residence includ-

ing the offenses of disorderly conduct, minor in pos-
session of alcohol, tampering with evidence and giving
alcohol to a minor. (Appendix, p. 6a).

3. Lieutenant Girard believed evidence was being
destroyed once persons inside the Stege residence
found out police were outside. Jd.

4. A number of persons at the party in question
were apprehended attempting to flee the party from
the back door of the residence by officers assisting
Respondents’ in response to the report of a loud party
in progress. (Appendix, pp. 6a).

5. Open beer cans and bottles were scattered every-
where in the residence. (Appendix, p. 6a).

6. Approximately 10 to 12 underage individuals
were found hiding in bedroom and bathroom closets.
Id.

7. Approximately 25 individuals were present in the
residence at the time of the officers’ entry. (Appendix
7a).

8. Corporal Trimmer had seen David Danforth, an
underage individual, drinking alcohol prior to Trim-
mer’s entry into the house. David Danforth was found
by Officer Trimmer in an upstairs closet hiding behind
a pile of clothes. (Appendix, pp. la, 2a).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari fails to dem-
onstrate that this case is appropriate for review by
this Court. The authorities relied upon by Petitioners
do not establish that the decision of the Tenth Circuit
Court of Appeals was in error or in conflict with
federal or state law. None of the general considera-
tions governing review on writ of certiorari outlined

“ica acaallaaliaiaaaiiaeiiiiael

3

in Supreme Court Rule 10 or other special reasons
exist to justify review by this Court.

In this case involving whether Respondents were
entitled to qualified immunity, the law in existence
at the time of the incident created a gray area as to
whether the offenses involved were sufficiently seri-
ous to justify a warrantless entry and search.
Petitioners have not met their burden of establishing
that the law clearly established Respondents were not
entitled to qualified immunity based on the circum-
stances surrounding the warrantless search. Because
the law was not clearly established that the conduct
of Respondents was in violation of the law, the Tenth
Circuit correctly concluded that Respondents were en-
titled to qualified immunity.

In light of the circumstances at the time of the
incident, it was reasonable for Respondents to con-
clude that the warrantless entry and search was sup-
ported by probable cause and exigent circumstances
and that their conduct was lawful. Serious crimes
involving the provision to and consumption of alcohol
by minors were committed in plain view of
Respondents and under the circumstances of the case,
the destruction of evidence was likely. Petitioners
have failed to demonstrate that it was unreasonable,
in light of clearly established law and the circum-
stances of the case, for Respondents to conclude that
their actions were consistent with Petitioners Fourth
Amendment rights.

ARGUMENT

A. Petitioners Have Failed To Establish Sufficient
Grounds For Review Of This Case On Writ Of
Certiorari

A petitioner for writ of certiorari must demonstrate
that there are ‘‘special and important reasons’ why
this Court should review the case. Sup. Ct. R. 10.1.
The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals determined that
Respondents were entitled to qualified immunity be-
cause the law at the time of the incident did not
clearly establish that the warrantless entry and the
subsequent arrests by Respondents was in violation
of the law. As is demonstrated more fully below, the
authorities relied upon by Petitioners do not support
a conclusion that the Court of Appeals decision is in
error. The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be
denied because Petitioners have failed to show that
this case involves any of the general considerations
governing review on writ of certiorari outlined in
Supreme Court Rule 10 or that other special reasons
exist to justify review by this Court.

B. Petitioners Failed To Establish That The Conduct

Of Respondents Violated Law Clearly Established At
The Time Of The Incident

An assertion of qualified immunity is properly eval-
uated under the standard enunciated by this Court in
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 73 L.Ed. 2d 396,
102 S.Ct. 2727 (1982). In Harlow, this Court held
that government officials performing discretionary
functions are generally shielded from liability for civil
damages insofar as their conduct does not violate
clearly established statutory or constitutional rights
of which a reasonable person would have know. Zd.
at 818, 73 L.Ed. 2d 396, 102 S.Ct. at 2738. Operation

5

of the objective standard established in Harlow de-
pends upon whether the contours of the constitutional
or statutory right are sufficiently clear that a rea-
sonable officer would understand that what he is doing
violates that right; ‘‘in light of pre-existing law the
unlawfulness must be apparent.”’ Anderson v. Creigh-
ton, 483 U.S. 635, 689, 97 L.Ed. 2d 523, 107 S.Ct.
3034, 3039 (1987). The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals
correctly concluded that the law at the time of the
incident in question did not clearly establish that the
offenses were not sufficiently serious to justify a war-
rantless entry and that an objectively reasonable of-
ficer could have believed that the warrantless entry
was lawful.

Once a defendant asserts qualified immunity, it be-
comes the plaintiff's burden to show that the law was
clearly established. Patrick v. Miller, 953 F.2d 1240,
1243 (10th Cir. 1992). Petitioners failed to meet this
burden by doing precisely what this Court has indi-
cated is insufficient. Petitioners have failed to do more
than identify in the abstract a clearly established right
to be free from a warrantless search of one’s home
which Respondents have violated. See Anderson, 483
U.S. at 640, 97 L.Ed. 2d 523, 107 S.Ct. at 3039.
Petitioners have not shown that at the time of the
incident, it was clearly established that the circum-
stances with which Respondents were confronted did
not constitute probable cause and exigent circum-
stances.

Petitioners seem to rely on this Court’s decision in
Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573, 63 L.Ed. 2d 639,
100 S.Ct. 1371 (1980) in support of their position that
the law was clearly established at the time of the
incident. Payton holds “that the Fourth Amendment

tala aia

xk *

prohibits the police from making a warrantless

and non-consensual entry into a suspects home in or-
der to make a routine felony arrest.’’ Jd. at 576, 63
L.Ed. 2d 639, 100 S.Ct. at 1374-75. This Court in
Payton expressly acknowledged that it did not con-
sider the type of exigent circumstances that would
justify a warrantless entry into a home. Jd. at 583,
63 L.Ed. 2d 639, 100 S.Ct. at 1378. Therefore, Payton
did not make clear that the conduct of the
Respondents was a violation of law.

Petitioners rely further on Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466
U.S. 740, 754, 80 L.Ed. 2d 732, 104 S.Ct. 2091 (1984).
As the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals correctly ob-
served, the Supreme Court held in Welsh v. Wisconsin
that a noncriminal civil forfeiture offense for which
no imprisonment was possible was not a sufficiently
serious offense to justify a warrantless entry even if
probable cause and exigent circumstances existed. The
Tenth Circuit had also held that a misdemeanor pun-
ishable by less than one year’s imprisonment could
be a sufficiently serious offense to justify a warrant-
less home entry in Bledsoe v. Garcia, 742 F.2d 1237,
1241 (10th Cir. 1984). The offenses implicated in this
case, which included destruction of evidence, disor-
derly conduct, the possession by and the provision of
liquor and alcoholic beverages to minors (see NMSA
1978, §§ 30-20-1, 60-7B-1D, 60-7B-1.1F), fell within
the gray area between the situation held to constitute
an unlawful entry and seizure in Welsh and the sit-
uation in Bledsoe which was held to constitute a lawful
warrantless entry. It was, therefore, not legally ap-
parent at the time of the incident in light of clearly
established law that a warrantless entry under the
circumstances of this case was a violation of law.

7

Petitioners mistakenly argue that United States v.
Aquino, 836 F.2d 1268 (10th Cir. 1988), provides a
clear statement of when warrantless entries and
searches are lawful in the Tenth Circuit. In Aquino,
the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals noted that the
contours of a sufficient emergency to justify a war-
rantless search for evidence remain unclear. J d. at
1271 citing Cooledge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443,
455, 29 L.Ed. 2d 564, 91 S.Ct. 2022, 2032 (1971).
Aquino established the test in the Tenth Circuit for
warrantless searches where police fear the destruction
of evidence. The court held that an exception to the
warrant requirement under such circumstances should
be:

(1) pursuant to clear evidence of probable cause,
(2) available only for serious crimes and in cir-
cumstances where the destruction of the evidence
is likely, (3) limited in scope to the minimum in-
trusion necessary to prevent the destruction of
evidence, and (4) supported by clearly defined in-
dicators of exigency that are not subject to police
manipulation or abuse.

Id. at 1272. Aquino was decided in the context of a
drug investigation and claimed exigent circumstances.
Aquino did not address other types of ‘‘serious
crimes” which would or would not justify a warrant-
less entry and search. Thus, Aquino provides no fur-
ther guidance to police officers nor does the decision
make it apparent that the crimes of destruction of
evidence, disorderly conduct, possession by and the
provision of liquor and alcoholic beverages to a minor
are not sufficiently serious to justify a warrantless
entry and search.

C. It Was Reasonable For Respondents To Believe That
The Warrantless Entry and Search In This Case Was
Lawful

As noted above, the relevant question where there
is a claim of qualified immunity is whether a reason-
able officer could have believed the warrantless entry
and search to be lawful. Anderson, supra, 482 U.S.
at 641, 97 L.Ed. 2d 523, 107 S.Ct. at 3040. Whether
probable cause and exigent circumstances actually ex-
isted at the time is not the issue. As this Court noted
in Anderson, the Supreme Court has “frequently ob-
served” and “many cases on point amply demon-
strate, the difficulty of determining whether particular
searches or seizures comport with the Fourth Amend-
ment.”’ Anderson, 483 U.S. at 644, 97 L.Ed. 2d 523,
107 S.Ct. 3041. This Court has also recognized that
it is inevitable that law enforcement officials will in
some cases reasonably but mistakenly conclude that
probable cause or exigent circumstances are present
and that in such cases those officials should not be
held personally liable.-Jd. at 641, 97 L.Ed. 2d 523,
107 S.Ct. at 3039-40. Whether a police officer acted
reasonably depends upon the information possessed
by the searching officers at the time of the incident.
Id.

Applying the facts to the law, it was objectively
legally reasonable for the Respondents to conclude
that the warrantless entry and search was supported
by probable cause and exigent circumstances and, as
demonstrated above, it was not clearly established
that the offenses involved were not sufficiently se-
rious to justify a warrantless entry and search. Prob-
able cause exists when known facts and circumstances
are sufficient to warrant a prudent, cautious and

iS el RS AEE SE OES OL a

pba sick cla nibh al NAL ARG A i) nt GO BRIA ined DRRINA sins saaattan 2 aaaed
We ft eee ceil isl RAIMI Ca 8S Ya, WE TAIN ARLE

9

trained police officer to believe that a serious crime
has been, or is being, committed. United States v.
Chavez, 812 F.2d 1295 (10th Cir. 1987), citing United
States v. McEachin, 670 F.2d 1139, 1142 (D.C. Cir.
1981); United States v. Lopez, 777 F.2d 543 (10th Cir.
1985); United States v. Herring, 582 F.2d 535 (10th
Cir. 1978). It is undisputed that Respondents arrived
at the Stege residence in response to a call that a
loud party was in progress and that they heard yelling
when they arrived on the scene. From the front door
of the residence Respondents could see, in plain view,
through a window, that minors were consuming al-
cohol. Inspecting objects which come into plain view
lawfully is not a search. United States v. Jimenez,
864 F.2d 686 (10th Cir. 1988). Respondents knocked
on the door, heard someone shout “cops” and heard
footsteps running toward the back of the house and

upstairs.

Respondents could see, in. plain view, evidence that
serious offenses involving the provision to and con-
sumption of alcohol by minors were being committed.
The destruction of evidence was likely because sus-
pects and potential witnesses were fleeing. The in--
trusion was limited to that necessary to locate the
minors and witnesses hiding, concealing, and/or de-
stroying evidence in the house. It was reasonable for
Respondents to believe that exigent circumstances ex-
‘sted because a prudent, cautious and trained officer
would believe that prompt action was necessary to
prevent escape of suspects and witnesses and destruc-
tion of evidence.

In Aquino case, probable cause to search Aquino’s
home existed despite the fact that the police were
not certain that the cocaine in question came from

10

Aquino. The police followed one suspect to the home
of another who then traveled to and from Aquino’s
home. Consequently,

the facts and circumstances within their . . .
knowledge and of which they had reasonably
trustworthy information [were] sufficient in
themselves to warrant a man of reasonable
caution in the belief that [the cocaine was
located in Aquino’s home].

United States v. Aquino, 836 F.2d at 1272-73, citing
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 208, n. 9; 99
S.Ct. 2248, 2254, n. 9 (1979). In Aquino, the police
had probable cause despite their lack of certainty. In
this case, Respondents were certain, based upon their
non-intrusive observations and actual knowledge of
the ages of the minor consuming alcohol, that a se-
rious crime was being committed.

In United States v. Chavez, 812 F.2d 1295 (10th
Cir. 1987), both probable cause and exigent circum-
stances existed so as to justify a warrantless search,
seizure and arrest. The police were justified in be-
lieving that “buy money” and illegal drugs were lo-
cated at the premises they searched based upon their
surveillance. Even more so in the case at bar,
Respondents actually saw the crime being committed.
Exigent circumstances existed in Chavez because the
police reasonably believed that the drugs and money
would be concealed or destroyed. Likewise, in this
case, Respondents, who heard someone shout “cop”
and then heard running feet, could reasonably con-
clude that suspects were fleeing and/or destroying
evidence.

11

In United States v. Lopez, 777 F.2d 543 (10th Cir.
1985), the officers, smelling a substance associated
with transporting cocaine and observing the curious
way in which the speakers were mounted in an au-
tomobile, had sufficient probable cause to search with-
out a warrant. In the case at bar, the officers actually
observed the crime being committed. In United States
v. Herring, 582 F.2d 535 (10th Cir. 1978), the officer,
smelling marijuana, observing the vehicle in which it
was carried speeding and observing the flight of the
suspects, had sufficient probable cause to justify stop-
ping the vehicle and arresting the occupants.

This Court has held that law enforcement officers
whose judgments in making the difficult determina-
tion of whether a particular search and seizure com-
ports with the Fourth Amendment are objectively
reasonable should be granted qualified immunity from
personal liability. See Anderson, 483 U.S. at 644, 97
L.Ed. 2d 523, 107 S.Ct. at 3041. Qualified immunity
protects “‘all but the plainly incompetent or those who
knowingly violate the law.” Malley v. Briggs, 475 USS.
335, 344-345, 89 L.Ed.2d 271, 106 S.Ct. 1092, 1098
(1986). Respondents have failed to show that
Respondents knowingly violated the law in this case
or that Respondents’ determination that the war-
rantless entry and search was lawful was unreason-
able. This case is, therefore, unsuitable for review by
this Court on a writ of certiorari and Petitioners
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

CONCLUSION

The Tenth Circuit correctly found that the law at
the time of the incident did not clearly establish that
the offenses being committed by Petitioners in the

12

presence of Respondents were insufficiently serious
to justify the warrantless entry and search based upon
probable cause and exigent circumstances. The
Petitioners bore the burden below of establishing that
Respondents’ alleged conduct violated law clearly
proscribing their actions. Petitioners failed to estab-
lish that Respondents’ alleged conduct violated law
clearly established at the time of the incident. At the
time of the incident, probable cause and clear indi-
cators of exigent circumstances existed and an ob-
jectively reasonable officer could have believed that
the warrantless entry and search was lawful.
Respondents are, therefore, entitled to qualified im-
munity and Petitioners’ Writ of Certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN K. SILVER

Counsel of Record for Respondents

JERE K. SMITH

CAMERON PETERS

McCCLAUGHERTY, SILVER & DOWNES, P.C.
Post Office Box 8680

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-8680

(505) 988-8804

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

CIVIL NO. 91-1087SC

JASON STEGE and JUSTIN STEGE,
Plaintiffs,
vs.

C. JOSEPH GIRARD and MITCHELL B. TRIMMER,
Defendants.

AFFIDAVIT OF MITCHELL B. TRIMMER

I, Mitchell B. Trimmer, having been first duly sworn
and upon oath state as follows:

1. On June 29, 1991, I served as and am presently a
member of the Police Department of the City of Los Ala-
mos, State of New Mexico. This affidavit is directed to
occurrences of that date.

2. At approximately 11:43 p.m., a female citizen called
the Los Alamos Police Department to report a loud party
at the 3200 block of Walnut Street. Lieutenant Girard,
Detective Mazuranich, Officer Corcoran and I responded
to the area. I was the first officer to arrive at the area
and I heard several people yelling profanities or obscenities
loudly inside 3272-A Walnut. The other officers arrived
and we approached the residence. Officer Corcoran and
Detective Mazuranich went to the rear of the house and
Lieutenant Girard and I went to the front door.

3. I looked in the window of the front door and observed
an individual later identified as David Danforth who I knew
to be under the age of 21 years old. He was holding a
can of Miller Genuine Draft beer in his hand and I ob-

2a

served him open the can. I also observed Eric Hall sitting
on the couch in the living room playing cards. There were
several open beer containers in front of Eric Hall on the
table he was playing on. I knew Eric Hall was under the
, age of 21.

4. When I knocked on the door of the house someone

looked through the window in the door and yelled “‘cops.”’

Everyone in the house began running either upstairs or

out the back door. Another individual later identified as

Jason Stege looked through the window in the door. I

identified myself as a police officer and ordered him to
open the door.

5. After a short period of time, Jason Stege opened the
door part way and blocked the entrance with his body. I
informed Mr. Stege that I had observed minors in pos-
session of alcohol in the residence and told him to move
away from the door so that we could come in. He told us
we could not enter the house so Lieutenant Girard and I
both told him that we were coming in and told him to
move. Lieutenant Girard and I had to push the door open
as Mr. Stege continued to try and force the door closed.
As I entered the house I placed Jason Stege under arrest
for resisting an officer.

6. I was informed by Jason Stege that this was his
house. I identified another individual in the living room as
Justin Stege. He told me he also lived in this house and
that the house belonged to their mother who was out for
the evening. I then placed Justin Stege under arrest for
buying, selling or giving alcohol to minors.

7. After rounding up all the people at the party I was
unable to find David Danforth. I went upstairs to look for
him and found him in a closet in one of the bedrooms,
concealed behind a large pile of clothes.

8. Due to the overwhelming evidence, a hundred or so
containers of beer, Lieutenant Girard and I decided to

3a

arrest all present for the offense of minor in possession
of alcohol.

9. Due to extenuating circumstances involving numerous
priority calls, all individuals were released from the resi-
dence after giving their names, date of birth, and address
and phone numbers to an officer. All were released with
the understanding that they would be summoned to court
or contacted later for referral or criminal citation.

10. Lieutenant Girard and I picked up approximately 70
opened cans and bottles of beer, most of which had some
quantity of alcohol in them. These were stored in two
coolers that were in the living of the residence. The evi-
dence was transported to the police department.

11. Jason and Justin Stege were transported to the Los
Alamos Police Department jail and booked.

12. In entering the Stege residence without a warrant
I was carrying out my duties as a law enforcement officer
utilizing my own discretion in carrying out my duties. I
believe I was acting within the law in entering the resi-
dence without a warrant based on the facts and circum-
stances stated above.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NAUGHT.

/s/ Mitchell B. Trimmer
MITCHELL B. TRIMMER

STATE OF NEW MEXICO )
) ss.
COUNTY OF SANTA FE )

The foregoing Affidavit of Mitchell B. Trimmer was ac-
knowledged before me this 13 day of February, 1992, by
Mitchell B. Trimmer.

/s/ John S. Silver

NOTARY PUBLIC

&
3
&
%
:
:
2

sf)
=
a
nN
re

5a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

CIVIL NO. 91-1087SC

JASON STEGE and JUSTIN STEGE,

Plaintiffs,
vs.
C. JOSEPH GIRARD and MITCHELL B. TRIMMER,
Defendants.

AFFIDAVIT OF C. JOSEPH GIRARD

I, C. Joseph Girard, having been first duly sworn and
upon oath state as follows:

1. On June 29, 1991, I served as a police officer of the
City of Los Alamos, State of New Mexico. This affidavit
is directed to occurrences of that date.

2. At approximately 11:43 p.m., I responded to the 3200
block of Walnut Street in Los Alamos, New Mexico on a
report of a loud party in progress. Corporal Trimmer ad-
vised me by radio that he had located a party at 3272-A
Walnut. Approaching the residence on foot, I could hear
loud talking obviously coming from young voices and music
coming from the open windows. After arrival I observed
a large number of automobiles parked in front of the res-
idence in question. After verifying the disorderly conduct,
my intention was to request the inhabitants of the Stege
residence to cease and desist the breach of the peace.
Corporal Trimmer went to the front door and a moment
later advised that he could see an individual, who he rec-
ognized to be a minor, with a can of beer in his hand.

3. I felt at this point it was appropriate to have Cor-
poral Trimmer knock on the door and attempt to enter

6a

the residence as I felt a number of serious crimes were
being committed including the offenses of disorderly con-
duct, minor in possession of alcohol, tampering with evi-
dence, and giving alcohol to a minor.

4. After Corporai Trimmer knocked on the door there
was a shout of “cops” from inside and many footsteps
could be heard running toward the back of the house and
other footsteps going up the stairway. In my opinion at
this time, it was important that we enter this residence
immediately as it was apparent that evidence was being
destroyed and that there was a possibility that the people
attending the party would attempt to leave the residence
to avoid the police officers who were present. If this were
to happen, that would mean the potential for a humber
of minors who had been drinking intoxicating liquors to
be driving on the streets of Los Alamos. Based on prior
experience and training, when I heard running in the res-
idence, I believed that the persons fleeing may be arming
themselves with weapons and feared for the safety of my
officers if I did not take immediate action.

5. Corporal Trimmer knocked two or three more times
and the door was finally opened by Jason Stege. Mr. Stege
was informed that a minor had been observed drinking
and that the police officers were coming in. Mr. Stege
refused to step aside and it was necessary to forcibly move
him back from the door. He was placed under arrest by
Corporal Trimmer. Two other police officers, Corcoran and
Mazuranich, had gone around the back door at the sound
of running feet and they had controlled a number of kids
in the back yard. Almost everyone visible in the residence
appeared to be a minor or juvenile. There were open beer
cans and bottles scattered everywhere in the residence. {
went upstairs and found approximately 10 to 12 more kids
hiding in the bathroom and bedroom closets.

6. After entering the residence and considering the cir-
cumstances I considered that contributing to the delin-

7a

quency of minors might be an appropriate charge against
the Stege brothers.

7. After organizing the people at the party, it appeared
that we were dealing with approximately 25 individuals.

The two Stege brothers were taken into custody and trans-
ported to the station.

8. Corporal Trimmer and I picked up most of the beer
containers in the residence. Most had some quantity of
beer in them and they weve dumped in the sink. I could
see beer containers in the back porch and a trash can on
the back porch was half full of beer containers.

9. In instructing my officers to enter the Stege resi-
dence I was carrying on my duties as a law enforcement
officer using my own discretion in carrying out my duties.
I believe I was acting within the law and could enter the
residence without a warrant based on the circumstances.
which I described herein. I believe that I had probable
cause to believe a serious crime was being committed at
the Stege residence and that the circumstances which I
described above would legally allow me to enter the res-
idence without a warrant.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NAUGHT.

/s/ C. Joseph Girard
C. JOSEPH GIRARD

STATE OF NEW MEXICO )
)
COUNTY OF SANTA FE }

The foregoing Affidavit of C. Joseph Girard was ac-
knowledged before me this 9 day of October, 1992, by C.
Joseph Girard.

SS.

eeeeeeeveeene

NOTARY PUBLIC

My commission expires:
12/26/96

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386003_0743%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
